Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
2021-2022 Regular Session

Minnesota joins interstate compact to expand access to mental health services

To expand access to mental health services and create better continuity of care, a new law effective May 26, 2021, allows Minnesota to join several other states in a Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact.

With Minnesota as a member of the interstate compact, psychologists licensed in Minnesota will be allowed to provide telepsychology services, or temporary, in-person psychological services in other compact member states without having to become licensed in those states.

The new law will also provide reciprocity for psychologists licensed in other member states to provide telepsychology or temporary, in-person psychological services in Minnesota without being licensed by the Board of Psychology, which may help address the unmet need for mental health services.

Anyone practicing as part of the compact is required to maintain an awareness of local resources, should an emergency arise, and must be culturally competent to serve within a community.

Sponsored by Rep. Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake), the law also aims to improve continuity of care by allowing Minnesota psychologists to continue working with patients who move out of state for college, serve in the military and are highly mobile, or live in another state part of the year.

Other components of the new law aim to:

• improve access to care in underserved or geographically isolated communities;

• promote cooperation between states regarding regulation and licensure;

• improve consumer protection across state lines; and

• decrease the logistical burden for psychologists.


New Laws 2023

Main About Search
SF0193* / HF0269 / CH27
House Chief Author: Morrison
Senate Chief Author: Benson
Effective Dates: See chapter summary in the file link above.
* The legislative bill marked with an asterisk denotes the file submitted to the governor.