Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
2021-2022 Regular Session

New law makes slight changes to a few newly drawn districts

A new law will make minor changes to boundaries in legislative districts 15, 16 and 58, along with congressional districts 7 and 8.

The changes follow the recent redrawing of the state’s legislative and congressional district boundaries in the wake of the 2020 census, a process required by the Minnesota Constitution each decade to reflect population growth and shifts.

After the Legislature failed to agree on new maps by the deadline which officials said must be met for the 2022 election cycle to proceed on schedule, a five-judge panel stepped in and released new legislative and congressional district maps in February 2022.

Sponsored by Rep. Mary Murphy (DFL-Hermantown) and Sen. Mark Johnson (R-East Grand Forks), the law makes further tweaks to those maps.

For example, during the redistricting process the legislative district for Granite Falls Township was split in two, with almost all residents assigned to District 16A. But a census block containing three registered voters was also assigned to District 15A. Left uncorrected, this would have required a separate voting precinct for those three voters, raising privacy issues as it would be obvious how they had voted.

The law moves those voters back to District 16A.

The law is effective for the 2022 state primary and general elections and requires any city, county or town that needs to reestablish a boundary to conform with these adjustments to do so no later than June 17, 2022.


New Laws 2023

Main About Search
SF4476* / HF4709 / CH92
House Chief Author: Murphy
Senate Chief Author: Johnson
Effective Dates: See chapter summary in the file link above.
* The legislative bill marked with an asterisk denotes the file submitted to the governor.