.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3467, the second engrossment, as follows:
Page 180, after line 24, insert:
Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 609.66, is amended by adding a subdivision
1.5 Subd. 1i. Transfer without background check. A transferor who voluntarily
1.6transfers a firearm, or a transferee who voluntarily receives a firearm, in violation of
1.8(1) for a first conviction, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor; and
1.9(2) for a second or subsequent conviction, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced
1.10to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than
1.11$5,000, or both.
Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 624.7132, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
Subd. 12. Exclusions.
Except as otherwise provided in section
, this section shall not apply to transfers of antique firearms as curiosities or for their
historical significance or value, transfers to or between federally licensed firearms dealers,
transfers by order of court, involuntary transfers, transfers at death or the following
(1) a transfer by a person other than a federally licensed firearms dealer;
(2) a transfer facilitated by a federally licensed firearms dealer as provided in
a loan to a prospective transferee if the loan is intended for a period of no more
than one day;
the delivery of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a
person for the purpose of repair, reconditioning or remodeling;
a loan by a teacher to a student in a course designed to teach marksmanship
or safety with a pistol and approved by the commissioner of natural resources;
a loan between persons at a firearms collectors exhibition;
a loan between persons lawfully engaged in hunting or target shooting if the
loan is intended for a period of no more than 12 hours;
a loan between law enforcement officers who have the power to make arrests
other than citizen arrests; and
a loan between employees or between the employer and an employee in a
business if the employee is required to carry a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault
weapon by reason of employment and is the holder of a valid permit to carry a pistol.
Sec. 6. [624.7134] TRANSFERS BY UNLICENSED PERSONS; BACKGROUND
2.11 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have
2.12the meanings given them.
2.13(b) "Federally licensed firearms dealer" means a person who is licensed by the
2.14United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and
2.15Explosives, under United States Code, title 18, section 923(a).
2.16(c) "Firearm" has the meaning given in section 609.666, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
2.17(d) "Law enforcement agency" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision
2.181, paragraph (f).
2.19(e) "Peace officer" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph
2.21(f) "Person" means an individual; corporation; business trust; estate; trust;
2.22partnership; limited liability company; association; joint venture; government;
2.23governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality; or any other legal or commercial
2.25(g) "Transfer" means a sale, gift, loan, assignment, or other delivery to another,
2.26whether or not for consideration, of a firearm.
2.27(h) "Transferee" means an unlicensed person who wishes or intends to receive a
2.28transfer from another unlicensed person, whether or not for consideration.
2.29(i) "Transferor" means an unlicensed person who wishes or intends to make a
2.30transfer to another unlicensed person, whether or not for consideration.
2.31(j) "Unlicensed person" means a person who does not hold a license under United
2.32States Code, title 18, section 923(a).
2.33 Subd. 2. Background check required. Except as provided in this section:
2.34(1) each transfer of a firearm occurring in whole or in part in the state shall be
2.35preceded by a background check on the transferee; and
3.1(2) no transferor shall transfer a firearm, and no transferee shall receive a firearm,
3.2unless the transferee first complies with this section.
3.3 Subd. 3. Background check conducted by federally licensed firearms dealer.
3.4Where both parties to a prospective firearm transfer are unlicensed persons, the transferor
3.5and transferee shall appear jointly before a federally licensed firearms dealer with the
3.6firearm and request that the federally licensed firearms dealer conduct a background check
3.7on the transferee and facilitate the transfer.
3.8 Subd. 4. Compliance with law. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a
3.9federally licensed firearms dealer who agrees to facilitate a transfer under this section shall:
3.10(1) process the transfer as though transferring the firearm from its own inventory to
3.11the transferee; and
3.12(2) comply with all requirements of federal and state law that would apply if the
3.13firearms dealer were making the transfer, including at a minimum all background check
3.14and record keeping requirements.
3.15 Subd. 5. Transfer prohibited. If the transferee is prohibited by federal law from
3.16purchasing or possessing the firearm, or not entitled under state law to possess the firearm,
3.17neither the federally licensed firearms dealer nor the transferor shall transfer the firearm to
3.19 Subd. 6. Leaving firearm with federally licensed dealer. Notwithstanding any
3.20other law to the contrary, this section shall not prevent the transferor from:
3.21(1) removing the firearm from the premises of the federally licensed firearms dealer,
3.22or the gun show or event where the federally licensed firearms dealer is conducting
3.23business, as applicable, while the background check is being conducted, provided that the
3.24transferor must return to the federally licensed firearms dealer with the transferee before
3.25the transfer takes place, and the federally licensed firearms dealer must take possession of
3.26the firearm in order to complete the transfer; and
3.27(2) removing the firearm from the business premises of the federally licensed
3.28firearms dealer if the results of the background check indicate the transferee is prohibited
3.29by federal law from purchasing or possessing the firearm, or not entitled under state
3.30law to possess the firearm.
3.31 Subd. 7. Report of transfer not required. As provided under section 624.7132,
3.32subdivision 12, paragraph (1), where both parties to a firearm transfer are unlicensed
3.33persons, there is no requirement to make a transfer report either for the unlicensed persons
3.34or for the federally licensed firearms dealer facilitating the transfer.
4.1 Subd. 8. Dealer fee. A federally licensed firearms dealer may charge a reasonable
4.2fee for conducting a background check and facilitating a transfer between the transferor
4.3and transferee pursuant to this section.
4.4 Subd. 9. Exclusions. This section shall not apply to the following transfers:
4.5(1) a transfer by or to a federally licensed firearms dealer;
4.6(2) a transfer by or to any law enforcement agency or, to the extent an employee
4.7of the agency is acting within the course and scope of employment and official duties, a
4.8peace officer; law enforcement officer; corrections officer; member of the armed forces
4.9of the United States, the National Guard, or the Reserves of the United States armed
4.10forces; federal law enforcement officer; or security guard employed by a protective agent
4.11licensed pursuant to chapter 326;
4.12(3) a transfer between immediate family members, which for the purposes
4.13of this section means spouses, domestic partners, parents, step-parents, children,
4.14step-children, siblings, step-siblings, grandparents, step-grandparents, grandchildren,
4.16(4) a transfer to an executor, administrator, trustee, or personal representative of
4.17an estate or a trust that occurs by operation of law upon the death of the former owner
4.18of the firearm;
4.19(5) a transfer of an antique firearm as defined in section 624.712, subdivision 3;
4.20(6) a transfer of a curio or relic, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 27,
4.21section 478.11, if the transfer is between collectors of firearms as curios or relics as defined
4.22by United States Code, title 18, section 921(a)(13), who each have in their possession
4.23a valid collector of curio and relics license issued by the United States Department of
4.24Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives;
4.25(7) a temporary transfer to a transferee who is not prohibited by federal law from
4.26purchasing or possessing firearms, and is entitled under state law to possess firearms,
4.27if the transfer:
4.28(i) is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm; and
4.29(ii) lasts only as long as immediately necessary to prevent imminent death or great
4.30bodily harm; and
4.31(8) a temporary transfer if the transferor has no reason to believe that the transferee
4.32will use or intends to use the firearm in the commission of a crime and the transfer occurs
4.33and the transferee's possession of the firearm following the transfer is only:
4.34(i) at a shooting range that operates in compliance with the performance standards
4.35under chapter 87A or is a nonconforming use under section 87A.03, subdivision 2; or, if
5.1compliance is not required by the governing body of the jurisdiction, at an established
5.2shooting range operated consistently with local law in the jurisdiction;
5.3(ii) at a lawfully organized competition involving the use of a firearm, or while
5.4participating in or practicing for a performance by an organized group that uses firearms
5.5as part of the performance;
5.6(iii) while hunting or trapping if the hunting or trapping is legal in all places where
5.7the transferee possesses the firearm and the transferee holds all licenses or permits
5.8required for hunting or trapping; or
5.9(iv) while in the actual presence of the transferor; provided that any transfer under
5.10this clause is permitted only if the transferor has no reason to believe that the transferee is
5.11prohibited by federal law from buying or possessing firearms or not entitled under state law
5.12to possess firearms, or if the transferee is under 18 years of age and is receiving the firearm
5.13under direct supervision and control of an adult, that the adult is prohibited by federal law
5.14from buying or possessing firearms or not entitled under state law to possess firearms.
Page 181, after line 22, insert:
Sec. 10. REPEALER.
5.17Minnesota Statutes 2014, sections 609.66, subdivision 1f; and 624.7132, subdivision
5.1814, are repealed.
Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
Amend the title accordingly