STATE OF MINNESOTA

SPECIAL SESSION — 2005

TWENTY-FIRST DAY

SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA, THURSDAY, JULY 7, 2005

The House of Representatives convened at 1:00 p.m. and was called to order by Ron Abrams, Speaker pro tempore.

Prayer was offered by the Reverend Lonnie E. Titus, House Chaplain.

The members of the House gave the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was called and the following members were present:

Abeler	Dill	Hilstrom	Lesch	Paymar	Slawik
Abrams	Dittrich	Hilty	Liebling	Pelowski	Smith
Anderson, I.	Dorn	Holberg	Lieder	Penas	Soderstrom
Atkins	Eastlund	Hoppe	Lillie	Peppin	Solberg
Beard	Eken	Hornstein	Loeffler	Peterson, A.	Sykora
Bernardy	Ellison	Hortman	Magnus	Peterson, N.	Thao
Blaine	Emmer	Hosch	Mahoney	Peterson, S.	Thissen
Bradley	Entenza	Howes	Marquart	Poppe	Tingelstad
Brod	Erhardt	Jaros	McNamara	Powell	Urdahl
Buesgens	Erickson	Johnson, J.	Moe	Rukavina	Vandeveer
Carlson	Finstad	Johnson, R.	Mullery	Ruth	Wagenius
Charron	Fritz	Johnson, S.	Murphy	Ruud	Wardlow
Clark	Garofalo	Juhnke	Nelson, M.	Sailer	Welti
Cornish	Goodwin	Kahn	Nelson, P.	Samuelson	Westerberg
Cox	Greiling	Kelliher	Newman	Scalze	Westrom
Cybart	Gunther	Knoblach	Nornes	Seifert	Wilkin
Davnie	Hackbarth	Koenen	Olson	Sertich	Zellers
Dean	Hamilton	Krinkie	Opatz	Severson	Spk. Sviggum
DeLaForest	Hansen	Lanning	Otremba	Sieben	
Demmer	Hausman	Latz	Ozment	Simon	
Dempsey	Heidgerken	Lenczewski	Paulsen	Simpson	

A quorum was present.

Anderson, B.; Davids; Gazelka; Huntley; Klinzing; Kohls; Larson; Mariani; Meslow and Walker were excused.

The Chief Clerk proceeded to read the Journal of the preceding day. Finstad moved that further reading of the Journal be suspended and that the Journal be approved as corrected by the Chief Clerk. The motion prevailed.

MOTION TO FIX TIME TO CONVENE

Paulsen moved that when the House adjourns today it adjourn until 10:00 a.m., Friday, July 8, 2005. The motion prevailed.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF HOUSE BILLS

The following House Files were introduced:

Erickson introduced:

H. F. No. 127, A bill for an act relating to health; providing an exception to the hospital construction moratorium; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144.551, subdivision 1.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration.

Sertich, Carlson and Solberg introduced:

H. F. No. 128, A bill for an act relating to appropriations; appropriating money for continued, temporary operation of state government.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration.

Erhardt introduced:

H. F. No. 129, A bill for an act relating to taxation; imposing a surcharge on individual income tax liability; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 290.06, by adding a subdivision; 290.0675, by adding a subdivision.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration.

Bernardy introduced:

H. F. No. 130, A bill for an act relating to education finance; modifying the calculation of revenue for transition revenue; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 126C.10, subdivision 31.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

MOTION TO SUSPEND RULES

Olson moved that the rules be so far suspended that House Concurrent Resolution No. 5 be recalled from the Committee on Ways and Means and be placed upon its adoption.

A roll call was requested and properly seconded.

The question was taken on the Olson motion and the roll was called. There were 67 yeas and 56 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Abeler	Ellison	Hornstein	Krinkie	Peterson, A.	Smith
Atkins	Entenza	Hortman	Lenczewski	Peterson, N.	Thao
Buesgens	Erhardt	Hosch	Lesch	Peterson, S.	Thissen
Carlson	Erickson	Howes	Liebling	Poppe	Tingelstad
Clark	Fritz	Jaros	Lillie	Rukavina	Urdahl
Cox	Goodwin	Johnson, J.	Marquart	Ruud	Welti
Davnie	Greiling	Johnson, R.	Moe	Sailer	Westerberg
Demmer	Hansen	Johnson, S.	Olson	Scalze	
Dill	Hausman	Juhnke	Opatz	Sertich	
Dittrich	Heidgerken	Kahn	Otremba	Sieben	
Dorn	Hilstrom	Knoblach	Paymar	Simon	
Eken	Holberg	Koenen	Pelowski	Slawik	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Abrams	Dean	Hilty	Mullery	Powell	Wagenius
Anderson, I.	DeLaForest	Hoppe	Murphy	Ruth	Wardlow
Beard	Dempsey	Kelliher	Nelson, M.	Samuelson	Westrom
Bernardy	Eastlund	Lanning	Nelson, P.	Seifert	Wilkin
Blaine	Emmer	Latz	Newman	Severson	Zellers
Bradley	Finstad	Lieder	Nornes	Simpson	Spk. Sviggum
Brod	Garofalo	Loeffler	Ozment	Soderstrom	
Charron	Gunther	Magnus	Paulsen	Solberg	
Cornish	Hackbarth	Mahoney	Penas	Sykora	
Cybart	Hamilton	McNamara	Peppin	Vandeveer	

Not having received the required two-thirds vote, the motion did not prevail.

MOTION TO SUSPEND RULES

Sertich moved that the rules of the House be so far suspended that H. F. No. 126 be recalled from the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, be given its second and third readings and be placed upon its final passage.

A roll call was requested and properly seconded.

The question was taken on the Sertich motion and the roll was called. There were 71 yeas and 51 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Abeler	Davnie	Eken	Hansen	Hortman	Juhnke
Anderson, I.	Dempsey	Ellison	Hausman	Hosch	Kahn
Atkins	Dill	Entenza	Heidgerken	Howes	Kelliher
Bernardy	Dittrich	Fritz	Hilstrom	Jaros	Koenen
Carlson	Dorman	Goodwin	Hilty	Johnson, R.	Krinkie
Clark	Dorn	Greiling	Hornstein	Johnson, S.	Latz

Lenczewski	Mahoney	Olson	Poppe	Sieben	Thissen
Lesch	Marquart	Otremba	Rukavina	Simon	Tingelstad
Liebling	Moe	Paymar	Ruud	Slawik	Urdahl
Lieder	Mullery	Pelowski	Sailer	Smith	Wagenius
Lillie	Murphy	Peterson, A.	Scalze	Solberg	Welti
Loeffler	Nelson, M.	Peterson, S.	Sertich	Thao	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Abrams	Cybart	Garofalo	Magnus	Powell	Wardlow
Beard	Dean	Gunther	McNamara	Ruth	Westerberg
Blaine	DeLaForest	Hackbarth	Nelson, P.	Samuelson	Westrom
Bradley	Demmer	Hamilton	Newman	Seifert	Wilkin
Brod	Eastlund	Holberg	Nornes	Severson	Zellers
Buesgens	Emmer	Hoppe	Paulsen	Simpson	Spk. Sviggum
Charron	Erhardt	Johnson, J.	Penas	Soderstrom	
Cornish	Erickson	Knoblach	Peppin	Sykora	
Cox	Finstad	Lanning	Peterson, N.	Vandeveer	

Not having received the required two-thirds vote, the motion did not prevail.

ADJOURNMENT

Paulsen moved that the House adjourn. The motion prevailed, and Speaker pro tempore Abrams declared the House stands adjourned until 10:00 a.m., Friday, July 8, 2005.

ALBIN A. MATHIOWETZ, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives