STATE OF MINNESOTA

NINETY-THIRD SESSION — 2024

ONE HUNDRED TWENTIETH DAY

SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA, MONDAY, MAY 20, 2024

The House of Representatives convened at 10:00 a.m. and was called to order by Frank Hornstein, Speaker pro tempore.

Prayer was offered by Rabbi Marcia Zimmerman, Temple Israel, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

The members of the House gave the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was called and the following members were present:

Acomb	Demuth	Hemmingsen-Jaeger	Kozlowski	O'Driscoll	Stephenson
Agbaje	Dotseth	Her	Koznick	Olson, L.	Swedzinski
Backer	Edelson	Hicks	Kraft	Pelowski	Tabke
Bahner	Elkins	Hill	Lawrence	Pérez-Vega	Torkelson
Becker-Finn	Feist	Hollins	Lee, F.	Perryman	Urdahl
Bennett	Finke	Hornstein	Lee, K.	Petersburg	Vang
Berg	Fischer	Howard	Liebling	Pinto	Virnig
Bierman	Franson	Huot	Lillie	Pryor	Wiener
Brand	Frazier	Hussein	Lislegard	Pursell	Wiens
Burkel	Frederick	Igo	Long	Rarick	Witte
Carroll	Freiberg	Jordan	Moller	Rehm	Wolgamott
Cha	Gomez	Joy	Mueller	Reyer	Xiong
Clardy	Greenman	Keeler	Murphy	Robbins	Youakim
Coulter	Hanson, J.	Kiel	Nelson, N.	Schultz	Zeleznikar
Curran	Harder	Klevorn	Neu Brindley	Sencer-Mura	Spk. Hortman
Davids	Hassan	Koegel	Noor	Skraba	
Davis	Heintzeman	Kotyza-Witthuhn	Norris	Smith	

A quorum was present.

Altendorf; Anderson, P. E.; Anderson, P. H.; Bakeberg; Baker; Bliss; Daniels; Engen; Fogelman; Garofalo; Gillman; Grossell; Hansen, R.; Hudella; Hudson; Jacob; Johnson; Knudsen; Kresha; McDonald; Mekeland; Myers; Nadeau; Nash; Nelson, M.; Newton; Niska; Novotny; Olson, B.; Pfarr; Quam; Schomacker; Scott and West were excused.

The Speaker assumed the Chair.

The Chief Clerk proceeded to read the Journal of the preceding day. There being no objection, further reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal was approved as corrected by the Chief Clerk.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF HOUSE BILLS

The following House Files were introduced:

McDonald; Bliss; Nelson, N.; Jacob and Hudson introduced:

H. F. No. 5486, A bill for an act relating to commerce; requiring sellers to accept United States currency for purchases; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 325F.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy.

McDonald introduced:

H. F. No. 5487, A bill for an act relating to education; modifying requirements to bring awareness of library services for blind and print disabled persons; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 134.31, subdivision 6; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 134.31, subdivision 4a.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Education Policy.

Koegel and Hortman introduced:

H. F. No. 5488, A bill for an act relating to transit; establishing a pilot program for free transit service for certain students, educational staff, and attendees of athletic events; requiring a report; appropriating money.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Wolgamott moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 610. The motion prevailed.

Hollins moved that the name of Edelson be added as an author on H. F. No. 1064. The motion prevailed.

Davis moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 1651. The motion prevailed.

Baker moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 1722. The motion prevailed.

Niska moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 1878. The motion prevailed.

Engen moved that the name of Perryman be added as an author on H. F. No. 3648. The motion prevailed.

Baker moved that the names of Zeleznikar and Perryman be added as authors on H. F. No. 3865. The motion prevailed.

Bahner moved that the names of Zeleznikar and Perryman be added as authors on H. F. No. 3902. The motion prevailed.

Anderson, P. H., moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 4071. The motion prevailed.

Baker moved that the name of Perryman be added as an author on H. F. No. 4190. The motion prevailed.

Lislegard moved that the name of Kozlowski be added as an author on H. F. No. 4532. The motion prevailed.

Wolgamott moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 4955. The motion prevailed.

Lislegard moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 4991. The motion prevailed.

Harder moved that the names of Zeleznikar and Perryman be added as authors on H. F. No. 5026. The motion prevailed.

Engen moved that the name of Zeleznikar be added as an author on H. F. No. 5452. The motion prevailed.

Wolgamott moved that the names of Skraba and Engen be added as authors on H. F. No. 5480. The motion prevailed.

Prior to adjournment of the 93rd Legislative Session sine die, Melissa Hortman, Speaker of the House, called upon retiring members who wished to offer remarks about their service to the Minnesota House of Representatives:

MARK WIENS – one term HEATHER EDELSON – three terms HODAN HASSAN – three terms LAURIE PRYOR – four terms ANNE NEU BRINDLEY – four terms JAMIE BECKER-FINN – four terms LIZ OLSON – four terms JOHN PETERSBURG – six terms DEBRA KIEL – seven terms DEAN URDAHL – eleven terms FRANK HORNSTEIN – eleven terms

Long moved that the Chief Clerk be and he is hereby instructed to inform the Senate and the Governor by message that the House of Representatives is about to adjourn this 93rd Session sine die. The motion prevailed.

ADJOURNMENT OF THE NINTY-THIRD SESSION SINE DIE

Long moved that the House adjourn sine die. The motion prevailed, and the Speaker declared the House adjourned sine die.

PATRICK D. MURPHY, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives

19812