
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2539 as follows:​

1.2 Page 2, after line 4, insert:​

1.3 "Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.13, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 5. Costs. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a person seeking a name change​

1.5 under this section may proceed in forma pauperis only when the failure to allow the name​

1.6 change would infringe upon a constitutional right.​

1.7 (b) A court shall not require a person with a felony conviction to pay filing fees for a​

1.8 name change application provided that the person files the action within 180 days after the​

1.9 marriage and submits to the court a certified copy of their marriage certificate."​

1.10 Page 2, after line 31, insert:​

1.11 "Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

1.12 Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall​

1.13 examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the​

1.14 contemplated civil marriage. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar.​

1.15 If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent​

1.16 applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage​

1.17 application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the​

1.18 appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be​

1.19 accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be​

1.20 released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local​

1.21 registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including​

1.22 the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license,​

1.23 containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and​

1.24 state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance.​
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2.1 The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b),​

2.2 the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of $115 for administering the oath,​

2.3 issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state​

2.4 registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license​

2.5 should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating​

2.6 circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case​

2.7 a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A​

2.8 local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other​

2.9 than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed​

2.10 $1,000.​

2.11 (b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of​

2.12 premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must​

2.13 submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated,​

2.14 and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital​

2.15 education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must​

2.16 be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized​

2.17 to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage​

2.18 and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital​

2.19 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.​

2.20 (c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph​

2.21 (b) must be in the following form:​

2.22 "I, .......................... (name of educator), confirm that .......................... (names of both​

2.23 parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital​

2.24 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed​

2.25 or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota​

2.26 Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under​

2.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."​

2.28 The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names​

2.29 of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding​

2.30 section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time​

2.31 it may be destroyed.​

2.32 (d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar​

2.33 shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the​
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3.1 local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the​

3.2 conviction:​

3.3 (1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name​

3.4 change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no​

3.5 objection has been filed under section 259.13; or​

3.6 (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil​

3.7 marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name​

3.8 change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request."​

3.9 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

3.10 Amend the title accordingly​
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