TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 8, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Representative Petersburg moved that the March 3 minutes be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF3623 (Hansen): G Line (from Little Canada to West St. Paul)

Chair Hornstein moved to lay over HF 3623 for possible consideration in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Hansen gave an overview of HF 3623.

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 3623.

HF3767 (Jordan): H Line (from downtown Minneapolis to east side of St. Paul)

Chair Hornstein moved to lay over HF 3767 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Chair Hornstein moved that the H3767A1 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Jordan gave an overview of HF 3767, as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 3767, as amended

Elliot Altbaum, ISAIAH

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 3767, as amended.

HF2997 (Bernardy): F Line (from Blaine to Minneapolis)

Chair Hornstein moved to lay over HF 2997 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Bernardy gave an overview of HF 2997.

Public Testimony on HF 2997

Scott Hickok, City of Fridley

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 2997.

General Public Testimony

Suzanne Sobotka, Policy and Research Director, Move Minnesota Will Schroeer, Executive Director, East Metro Strong

Metro Transit Zero-Emission Bus Transition Plan

Nick Thompson, Metro Transit Judd Schetnan, Met Council Government Affairs

Duluth Transit Authority Electric Bus Program Presentation

Nancy Brown, Procurement Manager
Matt Lelou, President, CWA Local 7304
Kathleen Schuler, Policy Director, Health Professionals for a Health Climate
Hieu Le, Sierra Club
Anjali Bains, Lead Director, Energy Access and Equity, Fresh Energy
Nick Martini, Coordinator of Transportation, Osseo Area Schools
Steve Jorrisen, MN350

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 2:24pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant