ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 3:01 P.M. on Tuesday, March 7, 2023, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BRAND, Jeff BURKEL, John EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven LEE, Fue LISLEGARD, Dave PURSELL, Kristi SCHULTZ, Isaac SKRABA, Roger VANG, Samantha

A quorum was present.

Representative Lee moved to approve the minutes from Wednesday, March 1, 2023. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF2168 (Hemmingsen-Jaeger); Prescribed burning certification-related activities funding provided, and money appropriated.

Representative Jordan moved that HF2168 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill.

Representative Hemmingsen-Jaeger presented HF2168.

Testifying on the bill:

- Matt Graeve, Land Stewardship Lead and Fire Manager, The Nature Conservancy
- Patty Thielen, Director of Forestry, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Representative Jordan renewed the motion that HF2168 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

Presentation of the Governor's Budget Recommendations for the Department of Natural Resources.

Presenters:

- Sarah Strommen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- Mary Robison, Chief Financial Officer, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- Col. Rodman Smith, Director, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Enforcement Division

HF81 (Jordan); Reporting of fish kills and development of protocol for state response required, and money appropriated.

Representative Jordan moved that HF81 be re-referred to the Committee on Public Safety Finance and Policy.

Representative Jordan moved to adopt the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Jordan presented HF81, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

- Carly Griffith, Water Program Director, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy
- Lee Stoe, Member, Land Stewardship Project
- John Lenczewski, Executive Director, Minnesota Trout Unlimited
- Jeff Broberg, Founder and Board Member, Minnesota Well Owners Organization
- Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Representative Jordan renewed the motion that HF81, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Public Safety Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Jordan assumed the gavel at 4:34 P.M.

HF1945 (Hansen); Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) reserve program funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Hansen moved that HF1945 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Chair Hansen presented HF1945.

Testifying on the bill:

• Holly Hatlewick, Administrator, Renville, Soil and Water Conservation District

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF1945 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 4:38 P.M.

<u>. </u>	
	Representative Rick Hansen, Chair
	Sam O'Neill, Committee Legislative Assistant