INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FINANCE & POLICY MINUTES

Representative Gene Pelowski, Chair of the Committee on Industrial Education and Economic Development Finance and Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 8:30 AM on March 17, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

Pelowski, Gene, Chair
Sandell, Steve, Vice Chair
Kiel, Debra, Republican Lead
Bierman, Robert
Bliss, Matt
Burkel, John
Edelson, Heather
Frazier, Cedrick
Hamilton, Rod
Lislegard, Dave
McDonald, Joe
Sandstede, Julie
Sundin, Mike

A quorum was present.

Representative Sandell moved that the minutes of March 10, 2021, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Pelowski moved that HF 380 be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Chair Pelowski moved the H0380A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>. <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED</u>.

Chair Pelowski presented HF 380 as amended, a bill for an act relating to education; creating a pilot project for training career and technical education teachers; appropriating money.

Testifying on HF 380 as amended:

- Scott Olson, President, Winona State University
- Larry Lundblad, Interim President, Minnesota State College Southeast
- Christie Ransom, President, Winona Area Chamber of Commerce

Chair Pelowski renewed the motion that HF 380 as amended be recommended to pass and rereferred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

The clerk took the roll on HF 380 as amended.

AYES

Pelowski

Sandell

Kiel

Bierman

Bliss

Burkel

Edelson

Lislegard McDonald Sandstede Sundin
NAYS
There being 13 ayes and 0 nays, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>
Chair Pelowski moved that HF 14 be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.
Representative Ecklund presented HF 14, a bill for an act relating to telecommunications; transferring money for deposit in the broadband grant program.
 Testifying on HF 14: Vince Robinson, Chair, Minnesota Rural Broadband Coalition Tarryl Clark, County Commissioner, Stearns County Anna Boroff, Executive Director, Minnesota Cable Association Monty Morrow, Regulatory Legislative Coordinator, Nuvera Communications Daniel Larson, Executive Director, Minnesota Rural Counties
Chair Pelowski renewed the motion that HF 14 be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.
The clerk took the roll on HF 14.
AYES Pelowski Sandell Kiel Bierman Bliss Burkel Edelson Frazier Hamilton Lislegard McDonald Sandstede Sundin
NAYS
There being 13 ayes and 0 nays, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u> .
The meeting was adjourned at 9:12 AM.
Representative Gene Pelowski, Chair
Tara Schaefle, Committee Legislative Assistant

Frazier Hamilton