

February 18, 2020

- To: Members, House Committee on Government Operations
- Fr: Salon and Spa Professional Association (SSPA)
- Re: Support HF 2230 (Masin, Theis)

SSPA urges your support and passage of HF 2230, a bill that clarifies and improves current continuing education offerings provided to licensed practitioners of cosmetology.

All licensees are currently required to complete a total of 8 hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license. This requirement is split equally with four-hours of health, safety, infection control, state law and rule review which is complemented with a separate 4-hours of professional skills instruction within the licensee's scope of practice. This requirement does not change with HF 2230. Rather, this bill addresses current responsibilities and requirements for the approved providers offering continuing education for all cosmetology related practitioner licensees.

HF 2230 will improve and clarify the existing continuing education (CE) offerings by:

- Defining a salon franchisor and a professional association.
- Expands approved CE providers by allowing salon franchisors to also participate and offer.
 - \circ $\;$ Builds upon their existing programs offered to their franchisee employees.
 - Limited to the 4-hour CE component regarding professional practice.
 - Limited only to salon franchisors headquartered in Minnesota.
- Requires all providers offering the four-hour CE pertaining to health, safety, infection control, and state law and rule to also incorporate making available information for attendees on the topic of domestic abuse and violence.
- Requires any professional association offering CE to be headquartered in Minnesota.
- Allows the State Board of Cosmetology unfettered access to view any web-based CE class.
- Clarifies the process by which a provider must surrender documents if their approval is revoked.
- Establishes a custodian for retained documents of a provider who chooses not to continue offering classes and retain required records.
 - Current law requires all providers to retain records for 5 years of CE completion by attendees to verify course completion of licensees with random audits conducted by the State Board.

Continuing education has been extremely well received and appreciated by Minnesota licensees since its creation 10 years ago. It helps instill the important health and safety considerations all practitioners must adhere to with their clients, while also advancing the overall professionalism of our industry.

SSPA is a Minnesota trade association in existence since 1924 that represents and advocates on behalf our state's over 30,000 licensed practitioners of all cosmetology related fields.