

Licensed Child Care Training Requirements

September 2016

Training requirements for licensed child care providers are critical in promoting a minimum level of health, safety, supervision and quality in child care. There are two types of training requirements – pre-service training requirements and on-going training requirements. This fact sheet shows training requirements for licensed child care providers that are set forth in current law.

Pre-service Training

Minnesota law requires licensed child care providers to take pre-service training before caring for children and/or licensure. Pre-service training ensures providers have the knowledge and skills necessary to provide a healthy and safe environment for the children in care. This is why many of the pre-service training requirements are focused on health and safety.

Child Car	Child Care Center (245A.40)					
Training	Who	Hours				
Orientation:	Staff and	No				
Center's philosophy,	volunteers who	minimum				
procedures for	will have direct	specified				
maintaining health	contact or access					
and safety, handling	to children and					
emergencies and	who are not under					
accidents, job	direct supervision					
responsibilities,	of a staff person					
behavior guidance,						
maltreatment						
reporting						
First aid & CPR	Teachers and	8*				
	assistant teachers					
Child passenger	Staff that will	3				
restraint training	place the					
	child/children in a					
	passenger					
	restraint					
Sudden unexpected	Staff and	0.5				
infant death	volunteers that					
	care for infants					
Abusive head	Staff and	0.5				
trauma	volunteers that					
	care for children					
	under school age					

Family Child Care (245A.50)					
Training	Who	Hours			
Supervising for Safety	License holder and adult caregivers**	6			
Child growth and development and behavior guidance	License holders and adult caregivers**	4			
First aid & CPR	License holder	8*			
Child passenger restraint training	Person that will place the child/children in a passenger restraint	3			
Sudden unexpected infant death & abusive head trauma	License holder, adult caregivers and helpers	2			

^{*} A minimum number of hours required for first aid and CPR is not specified. A typical combined first aid and CPR course can be up to 8 hours in length

^{**}For these trainings, "caregiver" means a person who provides care for more than 30 days in any 12-month period



Minnesota Department of Human Services

Ongoing Training

Minnesota law also requires licensed child care providers to take training on an ongoing basis. Ongoing training is required to ensure providers continue to develop knowledge and skills regarding minimum health and safety standards, as well as to promote professional development skills that in turn result in higher quality learning environments. While many of the ongoing requirements are specified, providers have the flexibility to take some of the annually required hours of training on a variety of different topics.

Child Care Center (245A.40)			0)	Fam	nily Child Care (2	45A.50)	
Training	Who	Hours	Frequency	Training	Who	Hours	Freque
In-service	Director	Varies	Every year	On-going	License	16	Every y
and staff			training	holder and			
	20-40			each adult			
					caregiver**		
Providers may take the following required			Providers may take the following required trainings				
trainings as pa			vice training:	as part of their a	nnual 16 hours o		g training
First aid &	Teachers	8*	Every 3	First aid & CPR	License	8*	Every
CPR	and		years		holder		year
	assistant						
	teachers						
Sudden	Staff and	0.5	Every year	Sudden	License	2 on-	Every y
unexpected	volunteers			unexpected	holder, adult	year	
infant death	that care			infant death	caregivers	and 1	
	for infants			training &	and helpers	for	
				abusive head		off-	
				trauma training		year	
Abusive head	Staff and	0.5	Every year	Child	The person	3	Every
trauma	volunteers			passenger	that will		year
	that care			restraint	place		
	for children			training	children in a		
	under				passenger		
	school age				restraint		
Child	The person	3	Every 5	Supervising for	License	2	Every y
passenger	that will		years	Safety	holders and		
restraint	place child				adult		
	in a				caregivers**		
passenger restraint	passenger						
	restraint						
Child growth	Staff	2	Only first	Child growth	License	2	Every y
and			year of	and	holders and		
development			service	development	adult		
				and behavior	caregivers**		
				guidance ed. A typical combined first			

^{*} A minimum number of hours required for first aid and CPR is not specified. A typical combined first aid and CPR course can be up to 8 hours in length ** For these trainings, "caregiver" means a person who provides care for more than 30 days in any 12-month period