1.1 moves to amend H.F. No. 90, the first division engrossment, as follows:

1.2 Page 146, after line 10, insert:

"ARTICLE 7

ADMINISTRATOR QUALIFICATIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Administrators.** (a) Each nursing home must employ an administrator who

must be licensed or permitted as a nursing home administrator by the Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators Executives for Long Term Services and Supports. The nursing home may share the services of a licensed administrator. The administrator must maintain a sufficient an on-site presence in the facility to effectively manage the facility in compliance with applicable rules and regulations. The administrator must establish procedures and delegate authority for on-site operations in the administrator's absence, but is ultimately responsible for the management of the facility. Each nursing home must have posted at all times the name of the administrator and the name of the person in charge on the premises in the absence of the licensed administrator.

(b) Notwithstanding sections 144A.18 to 144A.27, a nursing home with a director of nursing serving as an unlicensed nursing home administrator as of March 1, 2001, may continue to have a director of nursing serve in that capacity, provided the director of nursing has passed the state law and rules examination administered by the Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators and maintains evidence of completion of 20 hours of continuing education each year on topics pertinent to nursing home administration.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Criteria.** The Board of <u>Examiners Executives</u> may issue licenses to qualified persons as nursing home administrators, and shall establish qualification criteria

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

for nursing home administrators. No license shall be issued to a person as a nursing home administrator unless that person:

- (1) is at least 21 years of age and otherwise suitably qualified;
- (2) has satisfactorily met standards set by the Board of <u>Examiners Executives</u>, which standards shall be designed to assure that nursing home administrators will be individuals who, by training or experience are qualified to serve as nursing home administrators; and
- (3) has passed an examination approved by the board and designed to test for competence in the <u>subject matters</u> <u>standards</u> referred to in clause (2), or has been approved by the Board of <u>Examiners</u> <u>Executives</u> through the development and application of other appropriate techniques.
 - Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.24, is amended to read:

144A.24 DUTIES OF THE BOARD.

2.13 The Board of Examiners Executives shall:

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

- (1) develop and enforce standards for nursing home administrator licensing, which standards shall be designed to assure that nursing home administrators will be individuals of good character who, by training or experience, are suitably qualified to serve as nursing home administrators;
- (2) develop appropriate techniques, including examinations and investigations, for determining whether applicants and licensees meet the board's standards;
- 2.20 (3) issue licenses and permits to those individuals who are found to meet the board's standards;
- 2.22 (4) establish and implement procedures designed to assure that individuals licensed as nursing home administrators will comply with the board's standards;
 - (5) receive and investigate complaints and take appropriate action consistent with chapter 214, to revoke or suspend the license or permit of a nursing home administrator or acting administrator who fails to comply with sections 144A.18 to 144A.27 or the board's standards;
 - (6) conduct a continuing study and investigation of nursing homes, and the administrators of nursing homes within the state, with a view to the improvement of the standards imposed for the licensing of administrators and improvement of the procedures and methods used for enforcement of the board's standards; and

(7) approve or conduct courses of instruction or training designed to prepare individuals for licensing in accordance with the board's standards. Courses designed to meet license renewal requirements shall be designed solely to improve professional skills and shall not include classroom attendance requirements exceeding 50 hours per year. The board may approve courses conducted within or without this state.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.26, is amended to read:

144A.26 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES AND EQUIVALENCY OF HEALTH SERVICES EXECUTIVE.

Subdivision 1. Reciprocity. The Board of Examiners Executives may issue a nursing home administrator's license, without examination, to any person who holds a current license as a nursing home administrator from another jurisdiction if the board finds that the standards for licensure in the other jurisdiction are at least the substantial equivalent of those prevailing in this state and that the applicant is otherwise qualified.

Subd. 2. Health services executive license. The Board of Executives may issue a health services executive license to any person who (1) has been validated by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards as a health services executive, and (2) has met the education and practice requirements for the minimum qualifications of a nursing home administrator, assisted living administrator, and home and community-based service provider. Licensure decisions made by the board under this subdivision are final.

Sec. 5. [144A.39] FEES.

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

Subdivision 1. Payment types and nonrefundability. The fees imposed in this section shall be paid by cash, personal check, bank draft, cashier's check, or money order made payable to the Board of Executives for Long Term Services and Supports. All fees are nonrefundable.

Subd. 2. Amount. The amount of fees may be set by the board with the approval of Minnesota Management and Budget up to the limits provided in this section depending upon the total amount required to sustain board operations under section 16A.1285, subdivision 2. Information about fees in effect at any time is available from the board office. The maximum amounts of fees are:

(1) application for licensure, \$150;

ESEARCH EK/I	KK HUU	90A16
۷	SEARCH ER/	SEARCH EK/RK H00

4.1	(2) for a prospective applicant for a review of education and experience advisory to the
4.2	license application, \$50, to be applied to the fee for application for licensure if the latter is
4.3	submitted within one year of the request for review of education and experience;
4.4	(3) state examination, \$75;
4.5	(4) licensed nursing home administrator initial license, \$200 if issued between July 1
4.6	and December 31, \$100 if issued between January 1 and June 30;
4.7	(5) acting administrator permit, \$250;
4.8	(6) renewal license, \$200;
4.9	(7) duplicate license, \$10;
4.10	(8) fee to a sponsor for review of individual continuing education seminars, institutes,
4.11	workshops, or home study courses:
4.12	(i) for less than seven clock hours, \$30; and
4.13	(ii) for seven or more clock hours, \$50;
4.14	(9) fee to a licensee for review of continuing education seminars, institutes, workshops,
4.15	or home study courses not previously approved for a sponsor and submitted with an
4.16	application for license renewal:
4.17	(i) for less than seven clock hours total, \$30; and
4.18	(ii) for seven or more clock hours total, \$50;
4.19	(10) late renewal fee, \$50;
4.20	(11) fee to a licensee for verification of licensure status and examination scores, \$30;
4.21	(12) registration as a registered continuing education sponsor, \$1,000; and
4.22	(13) health services executive initial license, \$200 if issued between July 1 and December
4.23	31, \$100 if issued between January 1 and June 30.
4.24	Sec. 6. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
4.25	The revisor of statutes shall change the phrases "Board of Examiners for Nursing Home
4.26	Administrators" to "Board of Executives for Long Term Services and Supports" and "Board
4.27	of Examiners" to "Board of Executives" wherever the phrases appear in Minnesota Statutes
4 28	and apply to the board established in Minnesota Statutes, section 144A 19.

	03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16
5.1	A	ARTICLE 8		
5.2	ASSISTED LIVING LICE	NSURE CONFORMIN	G CHANGE	\mathbf{S}
5.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, se	ection 144.051, subdivisi	on 4, is amen	ded to read:
5.4	Subd. 4. Data classification; public	data. For providers regu	ılated pursuan	nt to sections
5.5	144A.43 to 144A.482 and chapter 1444I,	the following data collec	ted, created, o	r maintained
5.6	by the commissioner are classified as pu	ublic data as defined in so	ection 13.02, s	subdivision
5.7	15:			
5.8	(1) all application data on licensees,	license numbers, and lic	ense status;	
5.9	(2) licensing information about licen	nses previously held under	er this chapter	•
5.10	(3) correction orders, including inform	mation about compliance	with the order	and whether
5.11	the fine was paid;			
5.12	(4) final enforcement actions pursua	nt to chapter 14;		
5.13	(5) orders for hearing, findings of fa	ct, and conclusions of lav	w; and	
5.14	(6) when the licensee and departmen	at agree to resolve the ma	tter without a	hearing, the
5.15	agreement and specific reasons for the a	agreement are public data	1.	
5.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective		
5.17	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, secti	on 144.051, subdivision	5, is amended	l to read:
5.18	Subd. 5. Data classification; confid	l ential data. For provide	rs regulated p	ursuant to

Subd. 5. **Data classification; confidential data.** For providers regulated pursuant to sections 144A.43 to 144A.482 and chapter 144I, the following data collected, created, or maintained by the Department of Health are classified as confidential data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 3: active investigative data relating to the investigation of potential violations of law by a licensee including data from the survey process before the correction order is issued by the department.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.051, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Release of private or confidential data.** For providers regulated pursuant to sections 144A.43 to 144A.482 and chapter 144I, the department may release private or confidential data, except Social Security numbers, to the appropriate state, federal, or local agency and law enforcement office to enhance investigative or enforcement efforts or further a public health protective process. Types of offices include Adult Protective Services, Office

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care and Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, the health licensing boards, Department of Human Services, county or city attorney's offices, police, and local or county public health offices.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

6.26

6.27

6.28

6.29

6.30

6.31

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.057, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Background studies required.** The commissioner of health shall contract with the commissioner of human services to conduct background studies of:
- (1) individuals providing services which that have direct contact, as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 11, with patients and residents in hospitals, boarding care homes, outpatient surgical centers licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58; nursing homes and home care agencies licensed under chapter 144A; residential care homes licensed under chapter 144B, assisted living facilities, and assisted living facilities with dementia care licensed under chapter 144I, and board and lodging establishments that are registered to provide supportive or health supervision services under section 157.17;
 - (2) individuals specified in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, who perform direct contact services in a nursing home, assisted living facilities, and assisted living facilities with dementia care licensed under chapter 144I, or a home care agency licensed under chapter 144A or a boarding care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. If the individual under study resides outside Minnesota, the study must include a check for substantiated findings of maltreatment of adults and children in the individual's state of residence when the information is made available by that state, and must include a check of the National Crime Information Center database;
 - (3) beginning July 1, 1999, all other employees in assisted living facilities licensed under chapter 144I, nursing homes licensed under chapter 144A, and boarding care homes licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. A disqualification of an individual in this section shall disqualify the individual from positions allowing direct contact or access to patients or residents receiving services. "Access" means physical access to a client or the client's personal property without continuous, direct supervision as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 8, when the employee's employment responsibilities do not include providing direct contact services;
 - (4) individuals employed by a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined under section 144A.70, who are providing services in health care facilities; and

(5) controlling persons of a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined under section 144A.70.

If a facility or program is licensed by the Department of Human Services and subject to the background study provisions of chapter 245C and is also licensed by the Department of Health, the Department of Human Services is solely responsible for the background studies of individuals in the jointly licensed programs.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.15

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

7.26

7.27

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 7.9 Subdivision 1. **Statement of rights.** (a) A person client who receives home care services
 7.10 in the community or in an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144I has these
 7.11 rights:
 - (1) the right to receive written information, in plain language, about rights before receiving services, including what to do if rights are violated;
 - (2) the right to receive care and services according to a suitable and up-to-date plan, and subject to accepted health care, medical or nursing standards and person-centered care, to take an active part in developing, modifying, and evaluating the plan and services;
 - (3) the right to be told before receiving services the type and disciplines of staff who will be providing the services, the frequency of visits proposed to be furnished, other choices that are available for addressing home care needs, and the potential consequences of refusing these services;
 - (4) the right to be told in advance of any recommended changes by the provider in the service plan and to take an active part in any decisions about changes to the service plan;
 - (5) the right to refuse services or treatment;
- 7.24 (6) the right to know, before receiving services or during the initial visit, any limits to
 7.25 the services available from a home care provider;
 - (7) the right to be told before services are initiated what the provider charges for the services; to what extent payment may be expected from health insurance, public programs, or other sources, if known; and what charges the client may be responsible for paying;
- (8) the right to know that there may be other services available in the community,
 including other home care services and providers, and to know where to find information
 about these services;

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

(9) the right to choose freely among available providers and to change providers after
services have begun, within the limits of health insurance, long-term care insurance, medical
assistance, of other health programs, or public programs;

- (10) the right to have personal, financial, and medical information kept private, and to be advised of the provider's policies and procedures regarding disclosure of such information;
- (11) the right to access the client's own records and written information from those records in accordance with sections 144.291 to 144.298;
- (12) the right to be served by people who are properly trained and competent to perform their duties;
 - (13) the right to be treated with courtesy and respect, and to have the client's property treated with respect;
 - (14) the right to be free from physical and verbal abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, and all forms of maltreatment covered under the Vulnerable Adults Act and the Maltreatment of Minors Act;
 - (15) the right to reasonable, advance notice of changes in services or charges;
- (16) the right to know the provider's reason for termination of services;
 - (17) the right to at least ten 30 calendar days' advance notice of the termination of a service or housing by a provider, except in cases where:
 - (i) the client engages in conduct that significantly alters the terms of the service plan with the home care provider;
 - (ii) the client, person who lives with the client, or others create an abusive or unsafe work environment for the person providing home care services; or
- (iii) an emergency or a significant change in the client's condition has resulted in service needs that exceed the current service plan and that cannot be safely met by the home care provider;
 - (18) the right to a coordinated transfer when there will be a change in the provider of services;
 - (19) the right to complain to staff and others of the client's choice about services that are provided, or fail to be provided, and the lack of courtesy or respect to the client or the client's property and the right to recommend changes in policies and services, free from retaliation including the threat of termination of services;

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

86

8 7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

9.1	(20) the right to know how to contact an individual associated with the home care provider
9.2	who is responsible for handling problems and to have the home care provider investigate
9.3	and attempt to resolve the grievance or complaint;
9.4	(21) the right to know the name and address of the state or county agency to contact for
9.5	additional information or assistance; and
9.6	(22) the right to assert these rights personally, or have them asserted by the client's
9.7	representative or by anyone on behalf of the client, without retaliation-; and
9.8	(23) place an electronic monitoring device in the client's or resident's space in compliance
9.9	with state requirements.
9.10	(b) When providers violate the rights in this section, they are subject to the fines and
9.11	license actions in sections 144A.474, subdivision 11, and 144A.475.
9.12	(c) Providers must do all of the following:
9.13	(1) encourage and assist in the fullest possible exercise of these rights;
9.14	(2) provide the names and telephone numbers of individuals and organizations that
9.15	provide advocacy and legal services for clients and residents seeking to assert their rights;
9.16	(3) make every effort to assist clients or residents in obtaining information regarding
9.17	whether Medicare, medical assistance, other health programs, or public programs will pay
9.18	for services;
9.19	(4) make reasonable accommodations for people who have communication disabilities,
9.20	or those who speak a language other than English; and
9.21	(5) provide all information and notices in plain language and in terms the client or
9.22	resident can understand.
9.23	(d) No provider may require or request a client or resident to waive any of the rights
9.24	listed in this section at any time or for any reasons, including as a condition of initiating
9.25	services or entering into an assisted living facility and basic care facility contract.
9.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective
9.27	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.45, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
9.28	Subdivision 1. Regulations. The commissioner shall regulate home care providers
9.29	pursuant to sections 144A.43 to 144A.482. The regulations shall include the following:

10.1	(1) provisions to assure, to the extent possible, the health, safety, well-being, and
10.2	appropriate treatment of persons who receive home care services while respecting a client's
10.3	autonomy and choice;
10.4	(2) requirements that home care providers furnish the commissioner with specified
10.5	information necessary to implement sections 144A.43 to 144A.482;
10.6	(3) standards of training of home care provider personnel;
10.7	(4) standards for provision of home care services;
10.8	(5) standards for medication management;
10.9	(6) standards for supervision of home care services;
10.10	(7) standards for client evaluation or assessment;
10.11	(8) requirements for the involvement of a client's health care provider, the documentation
10.12	of health care providers' orders, if required, and the client's service plan agreement;
10.13	(9) the maintenance of accurate, current client records;
10.14	(10) the establishment of basic and comprehensive levels of licenses based on services
10.15	provided; and
10.16	(11) provisions to enforce these regulations and the home care bill of rights.
10.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective
10.18	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.471, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
10.19	Subd. 7. Comprehensive home care license provider. Home care services that may
10.20	be provided with a comprehensive home care license include any of the basic home care
10.21	services listed in subdivision 6, and one or more of the following:
10.22	(1) services of an advanced practice nurse, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse,
10.23	physical therapist, respiratory therapist, occupational therapist, speech-language pathologist,
10.24	dietitian or nutritionist, or social worker;
10.25	(2) tasks delegated to unlicensed personnel by a registered nurse or assigned by a licensed
10.26	health professional within the person's scope of practice;
10.27	(3) medication management services;
10.28	(4) hands-on assistance with transfers and mobility;
10.29	(5) treatment and therapies;

11.3 rec 11.4 ins 11.5 11.6 11.7 S 11.8 11.9 car 11.10 11.11 one	entified in the client record or through an assessment such as difficulty swallowing, current lung aspirations, or requiring the use of a tube or parenteral or intravenous struments to be fed; or (6) (7) providing other complex or specialty health care services. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective
11.4 ins: 11.5 11.6 11.7 S 11.8 11.9 car 11.10 11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det 11.14	struments to be fed; or (6) (7) providing other complex or specialty health care services.
11.5 11.6 11.7 S 11.8 11.9 car 11.10 11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det	(6) (7) providing other complex or specialty health care services.
11.6 11.7 S 11.8 11.9 car 11.10 11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det 11.14	
11.7 S 11.8 11.9 car 11.10 11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective
11.8 11.9 car 11.10 11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det	
11.9 car 11.10 11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det 11.14	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.471, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
11.10 11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det	Subd. 9. Exclusions from home care licensure. The following are excluded from home
11.11 one 11.12 11.13 det 11.14	re licensure and are not required to provide the home care bill of rights:
11.12 11.13 det 11.14	(1) an individual or business entity providing only coordination of home care that includes
11.13 det	e or more of the following:
11.14	(i) determination of whether a client needs home care services, or assisting a client in
	termining what services are needed;
11 15	(ii) referral of clients to a home care provider;
11.10	(iii) administration of payments for home care services; or
11.16	(iv) administration of a health care home established under section 256B.0751;
11.17	(2) an individual who is not an employee of a licensed home care provider if the
11.18 ind	dividual:
11.19	(i) only provides services as an independent contractor to one or more licensed home
11.20 car	re providers;
11.21	(ii) provides no services under direct agreements or contracts with clients; and
11.22	(iii) is contractually bound to perform services in compliance with the contracting home
11.23 car	re provider's policies and service plans;
11.24	(3) a business that provides staff to home care providers, such as a temporary employment
11.25 age	ency, if the business:
11.26	(i) only provides staff under contract to licensed or exempt providers;
11.27	(ii) provides no services under direct agreements with clients; and
11.28	(iii) is contractually bound to perform services under the contracting home care provider's
11.29 dire	(iii) is contractally sound to perform services ander the contracting nome care provider s

03/28/19 03:28 pm HOUSE RESEARCH EK/RK H0090A16 (4) any home care services conducted by and for the adherents of any recognized church or religious denomination for its members through spiritual means, or by prayer for healing; (5) an individual who only provides home care services to a relative; (6) an individual not connected with a home care provider that provides assistance with basic home care needs if the assistance is provided primarily as a contribution and not as a business; (7) an individual not connected with a home care provider that shares housing with and provides primarily housekeeping or homemaking services to an elderly or disabled person in return for free or reduced-cost housing; (8) an individual or provider providing home-delivered meal services; 12.10 (9) an individual providing senior companion services and other older American volunteer 12.11 programs (OAVP) established under the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973, United 12.12 States Code, title 42, chapter 66; 12.13 12.14 (10) an employee of a nursing home or home care provider licensed under this chapter or an employee of a boarding care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56 when 12.15 responding to occasional emergency calls from individuals residing in a residential setting 12.16 that is attached to or located on property contiguous to the nursing home, boarding care 12.17 home, or location where home care services are also provided; 12.18 (11) an employee of a nursing home or home care provider licensed under this chapter 12.19 or an employee of a boarding care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56 when 12.20 providing occasional minor services free of charge to individuals residing in a residential 12.21 setting that is attached to or located on property contiguous to the nursing home, boarding 12.22 care home, or location where home care services are also provided; 12.23 (12) a member of a professional corporation organized under chapter 319B that does 12.24 12.25 12.26

- not regularly offer or provide home care services as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 3;
- (13) the following organizations established to provide medical or surgical services that do not regularly offer or provide home care services as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 3: a business trust organized under sections 318.01 to 318.04, a nonprofit corporation organized under chapter 317A, a partnership organized under chapter 323, or any other entity determined by the commissioner;
- (14) an individual or agency that provides medical supplies or durable medical equipment, except when the provision of supplies or equipment is accompanied by a home care service;

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

13.1	(15)	a p	hysician	licensed	under	chapter	147;
------	------	-----	----------	----------	-------	---------	------

- (16) an individual who provides home care services to a person with a developmental disability who lives in a place of residence with a family, foster family, or primary caregiver;
- 13.4 (17) a business that only provides services that are primarily instructional and not medical services or health-related support services;
- 13.6 (18) an individual who performs basic home care services for no more than 14 hours 13.7 each calendar week to no more than one client;
- 13.8 (19) an individual or business licensed as hospice as defined in sections 144A.75 to 13.9 144A.755 who is not providing home care services independent of hospice service;
- 13.10 (20) activities conducted by the commissioner of health or a community health board 13.11 as defined in section 145A.02, subdivision 5, including communicable disease investigations 13.12 or testing; or
- 13.13 (21) administering or monitoring a prescribed therapy necessary to control or prevent a 13.14 communicable disease, or the monitoring of an individual's compliance with a health directive 13.15 as defined in section 144.4172, subdivision 6.
- 13.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** The amendments to clauses (10) and (11) are effective July 1, 13.17 2021.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.472, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. Fees; application, change of ownership, and renewal, and failure to
- 13.20 <u>notify</u>. (a) An initial applicant seeking temporary home care licensure must submit the
- following application fee to the commissioner along with a completed application:
- 13.22 (1) for a basic home care provider, \$2,100; or
- 13.23 (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, \$4,200.
- 13.24 (b) A home care provider who is filing a change of ownership as required under subdivision 5 must submit the following application fee to the commissioner, along with the documentation required for the change of ownership:
- (1) for a basic home care provider, \$2,100; or
- 13.28 (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, \$4,200.
- (c) For the period ending June 30, 2018, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from

the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted, according to the following schedule:

License Renewal Fee

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

14.4	Provider Annual Revenue	Fee
14.5	greater than \$1,500,000	\$6,625
14.6 14.7	greater than \$1,275,000 and no more than \$1,500,000	\$5,797
14.8 14.9	greater than \$1,100,000 and no more than \$1,275,000	\$4,969
14.10 14.11	greater than \$950,000 and no more than \$1,100,000	\$4,141
14.12	greater than \$850,000 and no more than \$950,000	\$3,727
14.13	greater than \$750,000 and no more than \$850,000	\$3,313
14.14	greater than \$650,000 and no more than \$750,000	\$2,898
14.15	greater than \$550,000 and no more than \$650,000	\$2,485
14.16	greater than \$450,000 and no more than \$550,000	\$2,070
14.17	greater than \$350,000 and no more than \$450,000	\$1,656
14.18	greater than \$250,000 and no more than \$350,000	\$1,242
14.19	greater than \$100,000 and no more than \$250,000	\$828
14.20	greater than \$50,000 and no more than \$100,000	\$500
14.21	greater than \$25,000 and no more than \$50,000	\$400
14.22	no more than \$25,000	\$200

- (d) For the period between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2020, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner in an amount that is ten percent higher than the applicable fee in paragraph (c). A home care provider's fee shall be based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted.
- (e) Beginning July 1, 2020, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted, according to the following schedule:

License Renewal Fee

14.33	Provider Annual Revenue	Fee
14.34	greater than \$1,500,000	\$7,651
14.35	greater than \$1,275,000 and no more than	
14.36	\$1,500,000	\$6,695

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

15.1 15.2	greater than \$1,100,000 and no more than \$1,275,000	\$5,739
15.3 15.4	greater than \$950,000 and no more than \$1,100,000	\$4,783
15.5	greater than \$850,000 and no more than \$950,000	\$4,304
15.6	greater than \$750,000 and no more than \$850,000	\$3,826
15.7	greater than \$650,000 and no more than \$750,000	\$3,347
15.8	greater than \$550,000 and no more than \$650,000	\$2,870
15.9	greater than \$450,000 and no more than \$550,000	\$2,391
15.10	greater than \$350,000 and no more than \$450,000	\$1,913
15.11	greater than \$250,000 and no more than \$350,000	\$1,434
15.12	greater than \$100,000 and no more than \$250,000	\$957
15.13	greater than \$50,000 and no more than \$100,000	\$577
15.14	greater than \$25,000 and no more than \$50,000	\$462
15.15	no more than \$25,000	\$231

- (f) If requested, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner information to verify the provider's annual revenues or other information as needed, including copies of documents submitted to the Department of Revenue.
- (g) At each annual renewal, a home care provider may elect to pay the highest renewal fee for its license category, and not provide annual revenue information to the commissioner.
- (h) A temporary license or license applicant, or temporary licensee or licensee that knowingly provides the commissioner incorrect revenue amounts for the purpose of paying a lower license fee, shall be subject to a civil penalty in the amount of double the fee the provider should have paid.
- 15.25 (i) The fee for failure to comply with the notification requirements in section 144A.473, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), is \$1,000.
- (i) (j) Fees and penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable. Fees collected under paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) are nonrefundable even if received before July 1, 2017, for temporary licenses or licenses being issued effective July 1, 2017, or later.
 - (k) Fines collected under this subdivision shall be deposited in a dedicated special revenue account. On an annual basis, the balance in the special revenue account will be appropriated to the commissioner to implement the recommendations of the advisory council established

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.32

15.33

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

in section 144A.4799. Fines collected in state fiscal years 2018 and 2019 shall be deposited in the dedicated special revenue account as described in this section.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.474, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 9. **Follow-up surveys.** For providers that have Level 3 or Level 4 violations under subdivision 11, or any violations determined to be widespread, the department shall conduct a follow-up survey within 90 calendar days of the survey. When conducting a follow-up survey, the surveyor will focus on whether the previous violations have been corrected and may also address any new violations that are observed while evaluating the corrections that have been made. If a new violation is identified on a follow-up survey, no fine will be imposed unless it is not corrected on the next follow-up survey.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.474, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. **Fines.** (a) Fines and enforcement actions under this subdivision may be assessed based on the level and scope of the violations described in paragraph (e) (b) and imposed immediately with no opportunity to correct the violation first as follows:
- 16.17 (1) Level 1, no fines or enforcement;

16.3

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

- 16.18 (2) Level 2, fines ranging from \$0 to a fine of \$500 per violation, in addition to any of the enforcement mechanisms authorized in section 144A.475 for widespread violations;
- 16.20 (3) Level 3, fines ranging from \$500 to \$1,000 a fine of \$3,000 per incident plus \$100

 16.21 for each resident affected by the violation, in addition to any of the enforcement mechanisms

 16.22 authorized in section 144A.475; and
- (4) Level 4, fines ranging from \$1,000 to a fine of \$5,000 per incident plus \$200 for
 each resident affected by the violation, in addition to any of the enforcement mechanisms
 authorized in section 144A.475-;
- (5) for maltreatment violations as defined in section 626.557 including abuse, neglect,
 financial exploitation, and drug diversion, that are determined against the provider, an
 immediate fine shall be imposed of \$5,000 per incident plus \$200 for each resident affected
 by the violation; and
- 16.30 (6) the fines in clauses (1) to (4) are increased and immediate fine imposition is authorized
 16.31 for both surveys and investigations conducted.

(b) Correction orders for violations are categorized by both level and scope and fines shall be assessed as follows:

(1) level of violation:

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

17.30

17.31

- 17.4 (i) Level 1 is a violation that has no potential to cause more than a minimal impact on 17.5 the client and does not affect health or safety;
- (ii) Level 2 is a violation that did not harm a client's health or safety but had the potential to have harmed a client's health or safety, but was not likely to cause serious injury, impairment, or death;
- (iii) Level 3 is a violation that harmed a client's health or safety, not including serious injury, impairment, or death, or a violation that has the potential to lead to serious injury, impairment, or death; and
- (iv) Level 4 is a violation that results in serious injury, impairment, or death;
- 17.13 (2) scope of violation:
- 17.14 (i) isolated, when one or a limited number of clients are affected or one or a limited 17.15 number of staff are involved or the situation has occurred only occasionally;
- 17.16 (ii) pattern, when more than a limited number of clients are affected, more than a limited 17.17 number of staff are involved, or the situation has occurred repeatedly but is not found to be 17.18 pervasive; and
 - (iii) widespread, when problems are pervasive or represent a systemic failure that has affected or has the potential to affect a large portion or all of the clients.
 - (c) If the commissioner finds that the applicant or a home care provider required to be licensed under sections 144A.43 to 144A.482 has not corrected violations by the date specified in the correction order or conditional license resulting from a survey or complaint investigation, the commissioner may impose a fine. A shall provide a notice of noncompliance with a correction order must be mailed by e-mail to the applicant's or provider's last known e-mail address. The noncompliance notice must list the violations not corrected.
 - (d) For every violation identified by the commissioner, the commissioner shall issue an immediate fine pursuant to paragraph (a), clause (6). The license holder must still correct the violation in the time specified. The issuance of an immediate fine can occur in addition to any enforcement mechanism authorized under section 144A.475. The immediate fine may be appealed as allowed under this subdivision.

(d) (e) The license holder must pay the fines assessed on or before the payment date specified. If the license holder fails to fully comply with the order, the commissioner may issue a second fine or suspend the license until the license holder complies by paying the fine. A timely appeal shall stay payment of the fine until the commissioner issues a final order.

- (e) (f) A license holder shall promptly notify the commissioner in writing when a violation specified in the order is corrected. If upon reinspection the commissioner determines that a violation has not been corrected as indicated by the order, the commissioner may issue a second fine. The commissioner shall notify the license holder by mail to the last known address in the licensing record that a second fine has been assessed. The license holder may appeal the second fine as provided under this subdivision.
- (f) (g) A home care provider that has been assessed a fine under this subdivision has a right to a reconsideration or a hearing under this section and chapter 14.
- (g) (h) When a fine has been assessed, the license holder may not avoid payment by closing, selling, or otherwise transferring the licensed program to a third party. In such an event, the license holder shall be liable for payment of the fine.
- (h) (i) In addition to any fine imposed under this section, the commissioner may assess a penalty amount based on costs related to an investigation that results in a final order assessing a fine or other enforcement action authorized by this chapter.
- (i) (j) Fines collected under this subdivision shall be deposited in the state government a dedicated special revenue fund and credited to an account separate from the revenue collected under section 144A.472. Subject to an appropriation by the legislature, the revenue from the fines collected must be used by the commissioner for special projects to improve home care in Minnesota as recommended by account. On an annual basis, the balance in the special revenue account shall be appropriated to the commissioner to implement the recommendations of the advisory council established in section 144A.4799. Fines collected in state fiscal years 2018 and 2019 shall be deposited in the dedicated special revenue account as described in this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.475, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3b. **Expedited hearing.** (a) Within five business days of receipt of the license holder's timely appeal of a temporary suspension or issuance of a conditional license, the commissioner shall request assignment of an administrative law judge. The request must

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

include a proposed date, time, and place of a hearing. A hearing must be conducted by an administrative law judge <u>pursuant to Minnesota Rules</u>, <u>parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612</u>, within 30 calendar days of the request for assignment, unless an extension is requested by either party and granted by the administrative law judge for good cause. The commissioner shall issue a notice of hearing by certified mail or personal service at least ten business days before the hearing. Certified mail to the last known address is sufficient. The scope of the hearing shall be limited solely to the issue of whether the temporary suspension or issuance of a conditional license should remain in effect and whether there is sufficient evidence to conclude that the licensee's actions or failure to comply with applicable laws are level 3 or 4 violations as defined in section 144A.474, subdivision 11, paragraph (b), or that there were violations that posed an imminent risk of harm to the health and safety of persons in the provider's care.

- (b) The administrative law judge shall issue findings of fact, conclusions, and a recommendation within ten business days from the date of hearing. The parties shall have ten calendar days to submit exceptions to the administrative law judge's report. The record shall close at the end of the ten-day period for submission of exceptions. The commissioner's final order shall be issued within ten business days from the close of the record. When an appeal of a temporary immediate suspension or conditional license is withdrawn or dismissed, the commissioner shall issue a final order affirming the temporary immediate suspension or conditional license within ten calendar days of the commissioner's receipt of the withdrawal or dismissal. The license holder is prohibited from operation during the temporary suspension period.
- (c) When the final order under paragraph (b) affirms an immediate suspension, and a final licensing sanction is issued under subdivisions 1 and 2 and the licensee appeals that sanction, the licensee is prohibited from operation pending a final commissioner's order after the contested case hearing conducted under chapter 14.
- (d) A licensee whose license is temporarily suspended must comply with the requirements for notification and transfer of clients in subdivision 5. These requirements remain if an appeal is requested.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

- 19.31 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.475, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Plan required.** (a) The process of suspending or, revoking, or refusing to renew a license must include a plan for transferring affected clients <u>clients' care</u> to other providers by the home care provider, which will be monitored by the commissioner. Within three

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

business calendar days of being notified of the final revocation, refusal to renew, or suspension action, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner, the lead agencies as defined in section 256B.0911, county adult protection and case managers, and the ombudsman for long-term care with the following information:

- (1) a list of all clients, including full names and all contact information on file;
- 20.6 (2) a list of each client's representative or emergency contact person, including full names and all contact information on file;
 - (3) the location or current residence of each client;

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.8

20.9

20.12

20.13

20.14

20.15

20.16

20.17

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

20.27

20.28

20.29

- (4) the payor sources for each client, including payor source identification numbers; and
- 20.10 (5) for each client, a copy of the client's service plan <u>agreement</u>, and a list of the types of services being provided.
 - (b) The revocation, refusal to renew, or suspension notification requirement is satisfied by mailing the notice to the address in the license record. The home care provider shall cooperate with the commissioner and the lead agencies, county adult protection and county managers, and the ombudsman for long term care during the process of transferring care of clients to qualified providers. Within three business calendar days of being notified of the final revocation, refusal to renew, or suspension action, the home care provider must notify and disclose to each of the home care provider's clients, or the client's representative or emergency contact persons, that the commissioner is taking action against the home care provider's license by providing a copy of the revocation, refusal to renew, or suspension notice issued by the commissioner. If the provider does not comply with the disclosure requirements in this section, the commissioner, lead agencies, county adult protection and county managers and ombudsman for long-term care shall notify the clients, client representatives, or emergency contact persons, about the action being taken. The revocation, refusal to renew, or suspension notice is public data except for any private data contained therein.
 - (c) A home care provider subject to this subdivision may continue operating during the period of time home care clients are being transferred to other providers.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.476, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Prior criminal convictions; owner and managerial officials.** (a) Before the commissioner issues a temporary license, issues a license as a result of an approved

change in ownership, or renews a license, an owner or managerial official is required to complete a background study under section 144.057. No person may be involved in the management, operation, or control of a home care provider if the person has been disqualified under chapter 245C. If an individual is disqualified under section 144.057 or chapter 245C, the individual may request reconsideration of the disqualification. If the individual requests reconsideration and the commissioner sets aside or rescinds the disqualification, the individual is eligible to be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider. If an individual has a disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and the disqualification is affirmed, the individual's disqualification is barred from a set aside, and the individual must not be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider.

- (b) For purposes of this section, owners of a home care provider subject to the background check requirement are those individuals whose ownership interest provides sufficient authority or control to affect or change decisions related to the operation of the home care provider. An owner includes a sole proprietor, a general partner, or any other individual whose individual ownership interest can affect the management and direction of the policies of the home care provider.
- (c) For the purposes of this section, managerial officials subject to the background check requirement are individuals who provide direct contact as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 11, or individuals who have the responsibility for the ongoing management or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the home care provider. Data collected under this subdivision shall be classified as private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.
- (d) The department shall not issue any license if the applicant or owner or managerial official has been unsuccessful in having a background study disqualification set aside under section 144.057 and chapter 245C; if the owner or managerial official, as an owner or managerial official of another home care provider, was substantially responsible for the other home care provider's failure to substantially comply with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482; or if an owner that has ceased doing business, either individually or as an owner of a home care provider, was issued a correction order for failing to assist clients in violation of this chapter.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.4791, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. **Termination of service plan.** (a) If a home care provider terminates a service plan with a client, and the client continues to need home care services, the home care provider

21.1

21.2

21.3

21.4

21.5

21.6

21.7

21.8

21.9

21.10

21.11

21.12

21.13

21.14

21.15

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

21.22

21.23

21.24

21.25

21.26

21.27

21.28

21.29

21.30

21.31

21.33

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

22.1	shall provide the client and the client's representative, if any, with a 30-day written notice
22.2	of termination which includes the following information:
22.3	(1) the effective date of termination;
22.4	(2) the reason for termination;
22.5	(3) a list of known licensed home care providers in the client's immediate geographic
22.6	area;
22.7	(4) a statement that the home care provider will participate in a coordinated transfer of
22.8	care of the client to another home care provider, health care provider, or caregiver, as
22.9	required by the home care bill of rights, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, clause (17);
22.10	(5) the name and contact information of a person employed by the home care provider
22.11	with whom the client may discuss the notice of termination; and
22.12	(6) if applicable, a statement that the notice of termination of home care services does
22.13	not constitute notice of termination of the housing with services contract with a housing
22.14	with services establishment.
22.15	(b) When the home care provider voluntarily discontinues services to all clients, the
22.16	home care provider must notify the commissioner, lead agencies, and ombudsman for
22.17	long-term care about its clients and comply with the requirements in this subdivision.
22.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective
22.19	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.4799, is amended to read:
22.20	144A.4799 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH LICENSED HOME CARE PROVIDER
22.21	ADVISORY COUNCIL.
22.22	Subdivision 1. Membership. The commissioner of health shall appoint eight persons
22.23	to a home care and assisted living program advisory council consisting of the following:
22.24	(1) three public members as defined in section 214.02 who shall be either persons who
22.25	are currently receiving home care services or, persons who have received home care within
22.26	five years of the application date, persons who have family members receiving home care
22.27	services, or persons who have family members who have received home care services within
22.28	five years of the application date;
22.29	(2) three Minnesota home care licensees representing basic and comprehensive levels
22.30	of licensure who may be a managerial official, an administrator, a supervising registered
22.31	nurse, or an unlicensed personnel performing home care tasks;

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

23.1	(3) one member representing the Minnesota Board of Nursing; and
23.2	(4) one member representing the <u>office of</u> ombudsman for long-term care-; and
23.3	(5) beginning July 1, 2021, a member of a county health and human services or county
23.4	adult protection office.
23.5	Subd. 2. Organizations and meetings. The advisory council shall be organized and
23.6	administered under section 15.059 with per diems and costs paid within the limits of available
23.7	appropriations. Meetings will be held quarterly and hosted by the department. Subcommittees
23.8	may be developed as necessary by the commissioner. Advisory council meetings are subject
23.9	to the Open Meeting Law under chapter 13D.
23.10	Subd. 3. Duties. (a) At the commissioner's request, the advisory council shall provide
23.11	advice regarding regulations of Department of Health licensed home care providers in this
23.12	chapter, including advice on the following:
23.13	(1) community standards for home care practices;
23.14	(2) enforcement of licensing standards and whether certain disciplinary actions are
23.15	appropriate;
23.16	(3) ways of distributing information to licensees and consumers of home care;
23.17	(4) training standards;
23.18	(5) identifying emerging issues and opportunities in the home care field, including:
23.19	(6) identifying the use of technology in home and telehealth capabilities;
23.20	(6) (7) allowable home care licensing modifications and exemptions, including a method
23.21	for an integrated license with an existing license for rural licensed nursing homes to provide
23.22	limited home care services in an adjacent independent living apartment building owned by
23.23	the licensed nursing home; and
23.24	(7) (8) recommendations for studies using the data in section 62U.04, subdivision 4,
23.25	including but not limited to studies concerning costs related to dementia and chronic disease
23.26	among an elderly population over 60 and additional long-term care costs, as described in
23.27	section 62U.10, subdivision 6.
23.28	(b) The advisory council shall perform other duties as directed by the commissioner.
23.29	(c) The advisory council shall annually review the balance of the account in the state
23.30	government special revenue fund described in section 144A.474, subdivision 11, paragraph

(i), and make annual recommendations by January 15 directly to the chairs and ranking

minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services regarding appropriations to the commissioner for the purposes in section 144A.474, subdivision 11, paragraph (i). The recommendations shall address ways the commissioner may improve protection of the public under existing statutes and laws and include but are not limited to projects that create and administer training of licensees and their employees to improve residents lives, supporting ways that licensees can improve and enhance quality care, ways to provide technical assistance to licensees to improve compliance; information technology and data projects that analyze and communicate information about trends of violations or lead to ways of improving client care; communications strategies to licensees and the public; and other projects or pilots that benefit clients, families, and the public.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256I.03, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
- Subd. 15. **Supportive housing.** "Supportive housing" means housing with support
- 24.14 services according to the continuum of care coordinated assessment system established
- 24.15 under Code of Federal Regulations, title 24, section 578.3 that is not time-limited and
- 24.16 provides or coordinates services necessary for a resident to maintain housing stability.

24.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective

- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256I.04, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2a. License required; staffing qualifications. (a) Except as provided in paragraph
- 24.20 (b), an agency may not enter into an agreement with an establishment to provide housing
- 24.21 support unless:

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.9

24.10

- 24.22 (1) the establishment is licensed by the Department of Health as a hotel and restaurant;
- a board and lodging establishment; a boarding care home before March 1, 1985; or a
- supervised living facility, and the service provider for residents of the facility is licensed
- 24.25 under chapter 245A. However, an establishment licensed by the Department of Health to
- 24.26 provide lodging need not also be licensed to provide board if meals are being supplied to
- residents under a contract with a food vendor who is licensed by the Department of Health;
- 24.28 (2) the residence is: (i) licensed by the commissioner of human services under Minnesota
- Rules, parts 9555.5050 to 9555.6265; (ii) certified by a county human services agency prior
- to July 1, 1992, using the standards under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5050 to 9555.6265;
- 24.31 (iii) licensed by the commissioner under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0120,
- with a variance under section 245A.04, subdivision 9; or (iv) licensed under section 245D.02,

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

25.1	subdivision 4a, as a community residential setting by the commissioner of human services;
25.2	or
25.3	(3) the establishment facility is registered licensed under chapter 144D chapter 144I and
25.4	provides three meals a day.
25.5	(b) The requirements under paragraph (a) do not apply to establishments exempt from
25.6	state licensure because they are:
25.7	(1) located on Indian reservations and subject to tribal health and safety requirements;
25.8	or
25.9	(2) a supportive housing establishment that has an approved habitability inspection and
25.10	an individual lease agreement and that serves people who have experienced long-term
25.11	homelessness and were referred through a coordinated assessment in section 256I.03,
25.12	subdivision 15 supportive housing establishments where an individual has an approved
25.13	habitability inspection and an individual lease agreement.
25.14	(c) Supportive housing establishments that serve individuals who have experienced
25.15	long-term homelessness and emergency shelters must participate in the homeless management
25.16	information system and a coordinated assessment system as defined by the commissioner.
25.17	(d) Effective July 1, 2016, an agency shall not have an agreement with a provider of
25.18	housing support unless all staff members who have direct contact with recipients:
25.19	(1) have skills and knowledge acquired through one or more of the following:
25.20	(i) a course of study in a health- or human services-related field leading to a bachelor
25.21	of arts, bachelor of science, or associate's degree;
25.22	(ii) one year of experience with the target population served;
25.23	(iii) experience as a mental health certified peer specialist according to section 256B.0615;
25.24	or
25.25	(iv) meeting the requirements for unlicensed personnel under sections 144A.43 to
25.26	144A.483;
25.27	(2) hold a current driver's license appropriate to the vehicle driven if transporting
25.28	recipients;
25.29	(3) complete training on vulnerable adults mandated reporting and child maltreatment
25.30	mandated reporting, where applicable; and
25.31	(4) complete housing support orientation training offered by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE.	This section	is effective
-----------------	--------------	--------------

26.1

26.2

26.3

264

26.5

26.6

26.7

26.8

26.9

26.10

26.11

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.72, is amended to read:

325F.72 DISCLOSURE OF <u>SPECIAL CARE STATUS</u> <u>DEMENTIA CARE</u> SERVICES REQUIRED.

- Subdivision 1. **Persons to whom disclosure is required.** Housing with services establishments, as defined in sections 144D.01 to 144D.07, that secure, segregate, or provide a special program or special unit for residents with a diagnosis of probable Alzheimer's disease or a related disorder or that advertise, market, or otherwise promote the establishment as providing specialized care for Alzheimer's disease or a related disorder are considered a "special care unit." All special care units assisted living facilities with dementia care, as defined in section 144I.01, shall provide a written disclosure to the following:
- 26.12 (1) the commissioner of health, if requested;
- 26.13 (2) the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care; and
- 26.14 (3) each person seeking placement within a residence, or the person's authorized representative, before an agreement to provide the care is entered into.
- Subd. 2. **Content.** Written disclosure shall include, but is not limited to, the following:
- 26.17 (1) a statement of the overall philosophy and how it reflects the special needs of residents with Alzheimer's disease or other dementias;
- 26.19 (2) the criteria for determining who may reside in the special dementia care unit;
- 26.20 (3) the process used for assessment and establishment of the service plan or agreement, 26.21 including how the plan is responsive to changes in the resident's condition;
- 26.22 (4) staffing credentials, job descriptions, and staff duties and availability, including any training specific to dementia;
- 26.24 (5) physical environment as well as design and security features that specifically address 26.25 the needs of residents with Alzheimer's disease or other dementias;
- 26.26 (6) frequency and type of programs and activities for residents of the special care unit;
- 26.27 (7) involvement of families in resident care and availability of family support programs;
- 26.28 (8) fee schedules for additional services to the residents of the special care unit; and
- 26.29 (9) a statement that residents will be given a written notice 30 <u>calendar</u> days prior to changes in the fee schedule.

Subd. 3. **Duty to update.** Substantial changes to disclosures must be reported to the parties listed in subdivision 1 at the time the change is made.

Subd. 4. **Remedy.** The attorney general may seek the remedies set forth in section 8.31 for repeated and intentional violations of this section. However, no private right of action may be maintained as provided under section 8.31, subdivision 3a.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 626.5572, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Facility. (a) "Facility" means a hospital or other entity required to be licensed
- under sections 144.50 to 144.58; a nursing home required to be licensed to serve adults
- under section 144A.02; a facility or service required to be licensed under chapter 245A; an
- assisted living facility required to be licensed under chapter 144I; a home care provider
- 27.12 licensed or required to be licensed under sections 144A.43 to 144A.482; a hospice provider
- licensed under sections 144A.75 to 144A.755; or a person or organization that offers,
- 27.14 provides, or arranges for personal care assistance services under the medical assistance
- program as authorized under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, 256B.0651 to 256B.0654,
- 27.16 256B.0659, or 256B.85.

27.1

27.2

27.3

27.4

27.5

27.6

- (b) For services identified in paragraph (a) that are provided in the vulnerable adult's
- own home or in another unlicensed location, the term "facility" refers to the provider, person,
- or organization that offers, provides, or arranges for personal care services, and does not
- 27.20 refer to the vulnerable adult's home or other location at which services are rendered.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 626.5572, subdivision 21, is amended to read:
- Subd. 21. **Vulnerable adult.** (a) "Vulnerable adult" means any person 18 years of age
- 27.24 or older who:

- 27.25 (1) is a resident or inpatient of a facility;
- 27.26 (2) receives services required to be licensed under chapter 245A, except that a person
- 27.27 receiving outpatient services for treatment of chemical dependency or mental illness, or one
- who is served in the Minnesota sex offender program on a court-hold order for commitment,
- or is committed as a sexual psychopathic personality or as a sexually dangerous person
- 27.30 under chapter 253B, is not considered a vulnerable adult unless the person meets the
- 27.31 requirements of clause (4);

03/28/19 03:28 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	EK/RK	H0090A16

28.1	(3) is a resident of an assisted living facility or an assisted living facility with dementia
28.2	care required to be licensed under chapter 144I;
28.3	(3) (4) receives services from a home care provider required to be licensed under sections
28.4	144A.43 to 144A.482; or from a person or organization that offers, provides, or arranges
28.5	for personal care assistance services under the medical assistance program as authorized
28.6	under section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, 256B.0651, 256B.0653, 256B.0654, 256B.0659,
28.7	or 256B.85; or
28.8 28.9	(4) (5) regardless of residence or whether any type of service is received, possesses a physical or mental infirmity or other physical, mental, or emotional dysfunction:
28.10	(i) that impairs the individual's ability to provide adequately for the individual's own
28.11	care without assistance, including the provision of food, shelter, clothing, health care, or
28.12	supervision; and
28.13	(ii) because of the dysfunction or infirmity and the need for care or services, the individual
28.14	has an impaired ability to protect the individual's self from maltreatment.
28.15	(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "care or services" means care or services for the
28.16	health, safety, welfare, or maintenance of an individual.
28.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective
28.18	Sec. 22. REPEALER.
28.19	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.472, subdivision 4, is repealed July 1, 2019.
28.20	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 144A.441; and 144A.442, are repealed August 1,
28.21	<u>2021.</u> "
28.22	Amend the title accordingly