..... moves to amend H.F. No. 984 as follows:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1 23

1.24

1.25

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 3.7371, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. **Authorization.** Notwithstanding section 3.736, subdivision 3, paragraph (e), or any other law, a person who owns an agricultural crop <u>or pasture shall</u> be compensated by the commissioner of agriculture for an agricultural crop, <u>or fence surrounding the crop or pasture</u>, that is damaged or destroyed by elk as provided in this section.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 3.7371, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Compensation.** The crop owner is entitled to the target price or the market price, whichever is greater, of the damaged or destroyed crop plus adjustments for yield loss determined according to agricultural stabilization and conservation service programs for individual farms, adjusted annually, as determined by the commissioner, upon recommendation of the county extension agent for the owner's county. The commissioner, upon recommendation of the agent, shall determine whether the crop damage or destruction or damage to or destruction of a fence surrounding a crop or pasture is caused by elk and, if so, the amount of the crop or fence that is damaged or destroyed. In any fiscal year, a crop an owner may not be compensated for a damaged or destroyed crop or fence surrounding a crop or pasture that is less than \$100 in value and may be compensated up to \$20,000, as determined under this section, if normal harvest procedures for the area are followed. In any fiscal year, the commissioner may provide compensation for claims filed under this section up to the amount expressly appropriated for this purpose.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4982, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. **Containment facility.** "Containment facility" means a licensed facility for salmonids or, catfish, or species on the viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) susceptible

Sec. 3.

03/29/11 REVISOR CKM/RM A11-

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

2.32

2.33

list published by the United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services, that complies with clauses (1), (3), and (4), or clauses (2), (3), and (4): (1) disinfects its effluent to the standards in section 17.4991 before the effluent is discharged to public waters; (2) does not discharge to public waters or to waters of the state directly connected to public waters; (3) raises aquatic life that is prohibited from being released into the wild and must be kept in a facility approved by the commissioner unless processed for food consumption; (4) contains aquatic life requiring a fish health inspection prior to transportation. Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4982, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 10a. Fish collector. "Fish collector" means an individual who has been certified under section 17.4989 to oversee the collection of fish samples from a facility or a water body for disease testing by a certified laboratory. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4982, subdivision 12, is amended to read: Subd. 12. Fish health inspection. (a) "Fish health inspection" means an on-site, statistically based sampling, collection, and testing of fish in accordance with processes in the Fish Health Blue Book for all lots of fish in a facility or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic Animal Diseases, published by the International Office of Epizootics (OIE) to test for causative pathogens. The samples for inspection must be collected by a fish health inspector or a fish collector in cooperation with the producer. Testing of samples must be done by an approved laboratory. (b) The inspection for viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS), infectious pancreatic necrosis (IPN), and infectious hematopoietic necrosis (IHN) in salmonids and for VHS in nonsalmonids must include at least a minimum viral testing of ovarian fluids at the 95 percent confidence level of detecting two percent incidence of disease (ovarian fluids must be sampled for certification of viral hemorrhagic septicemia and infectious hematopoietic necrosis). Bacterial diseases must be sampled at the 95 percent confidence level with a five percent incidence of disease. The inspection must be performed by a fish health inspector in cooperation with the producer with subsequent examination of the collected tissues and fluids for the detection of certifiable diseases. (c) The inspection for certifiable diseases for wild fish must follow the guidelines of the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic Animal Diseases.

Sec. 5. 2

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4982, subdivision 13, is amended to read: 3.1 Subd. 13. Fish health inspector. "Fish health inspector" means an individual 3.2 certified as a fish health inspector or an aquatic animal health inspector by the American 3.3 Fisheries Society or state, federal, or provincial resource management agency, except 3.4 that a certification may not be made by an inspector who has a conflict of interest in 3.5 connection with the outcome of the certification. 3.6 Sec. 7. [17.4989] FISH SAMPLE COLLECTING. 3.7 Subdivision 1. **Training.** Fish collector training may be offered by any organization 3.8 or agency that has had its class and practicum syllabus approved by the commissioner. 3.9 The class and practicum must include the following components: 3.10 (1) accurate identification of licensed water bodies listed according to section 3.11 17.4984 and ensuring that collection is taking place at the correct site; 3.12 (2) identification of fish internal organs; 3.13 (3) fish dissection and sample preparation as identified by the Department of Natural 3.14 Resources based on specific testing requirements or as outlined in the Fish Health 3.15 Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic Animal Diseases, published by the 3.16 International Office of Epizootics (OIE); 3.17 (4) recording and reporting data; 3.18 3.19 (5) sample preparation and shipping; (6) a field collection site test to demonstrate mastery of the necessary skills, overseen 3.20 by a certified fish health inspector; and 3.21 3.22 (7) a certificate of successful completion signed by a certified fish health inspector on a form provided by the commissioner. 3.23 Subd. 2. Certification time period. Fish collector certification is valid for five years 3.24 3.25 and is not transferable. A person may renew certification only by successfully completing certification training. Certification shall be revoked if the certified person is convicted 3.26 of violating any of the statutes or rules governing testing for aquatic species diseases. 3.27 Certification may be suspended during an investigation associated with misconduct or 3.28 violations of fish health testing and collection. The commissioner shall notify the person 3.29 that certification is being revoked or suspended. 3.30 Subd. 3. Conflict of interest. A fish collector may not oversee the collection of fish 3.31 from a facility or a water body when the collector has a conflict of interest in connection 3.32 with the outcome of the testing. 3.33

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4991, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Sec. 8. 3

3.34

Subd. 3. Fish health inspection. (a) An aquatic farm propagating trout, salmon, 4.1 or salmonids, catfish, or species on the viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) susceptible 4.2 list published by the United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health 4.3 4.4 Inspection Services, and having an effluent discharge from the aquatic farm into public waters must have a fish health inspection conducted at least once every 12 months by a 4.5 certified fish health inspector. Testing must be conducted according to approved laboratory 4.6 methods of the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic Animal 4.7 Diseases, published by the International Office of Epizootics (OIE). 4.8 (b) An aquatic farm propagating any species on the VHS susceptible list and having 4.9 an effluent discharge from the aquatic farm into public waters must test for VHS virus 4.10 using the guidelines of the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic 4.11 Animal Diseases. The commissioner may, by written order published in the State Register, 4.12 prescribe alternative testing time periods and methods from those prescribed in the Fish 4.13 Health Blue Book or the OIE Diagnostic Manual if the commissioner determines that 4.14 biosecurity measures will not be compromised. These alternatives are not subject to the 4.15 rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. The commissioner 4.16 must provide reasonable notice to affected parties of any changes in testing requirements. 4.17 (c) Results of fish health inspections must be provided to the commissioner for all 4.18 fish that remain in the state. All data used to prepare and issue a fish health certificate must 4.19 4.20 be maintained for three years by the issuing fish health inspector, approved laboratory, or accredited veterinarian. 4.21 (d) A health inspection fee must be charged based on each lot of fish sampled. The 4.22 4.23 fee by check or money order payable to the Department of Natural Resources must be prepaid or paid at the time a bill or notice is received from the commissioner that the 4.24 inspection and processing of samples is completed. 4.25 (e) Upon receipt of payment and completion of inspection, the commissioner 4.26 shall notify the operator and issue a fish health certificate. The certification must be made 4.27 according to the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic Animal 4.28 Diseases by a person certified as a fish health inspector. 4.29 (d) (f) All aquatic life in transit or held at transfer stations within the state may 4.30 be inspected by the commissioner. This inspection may include the collection of stock 4.31 for purposes of pathological analysis. Sample size necessary for analysis will follow 4.32 guidelines listed in the Fish Health Blue Book or the Diagnostic Manual for Aquatic 4.33

(e) (g) Salmonids and, catfish, or species on the VHS susceptible list must have a

fish health inspection before being transported from a containment facility, unless the

Sec. 8. 4

Animal Diseases.

4.34

4.35

4.36

fish are being transported directly to an outlet for processing or other food purposes or unless the commissioner determines that an inspection is not needed. A fish health inspection conducted for this purpose need only be done on the lot or lots of fish that will be transported. The commissioner must conduct a fish health inspection requested for this purpose within five working days of receiving written notice. Salmonids and catfish may be immediately transported from a containment facility to another containment facility once a sample has been obtained for a health inspection or once the five-day notice period has expired.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 17.4994, is amended to read:

17.4994 SUCKER EGGS.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

5.32

Sucker eggs may be taken from public waters with a sucker egg license endorsement, which authorizes sucker eggs to be taken at a rate of one quart of eggs for each 1-1/2 acres of licensed surface waters except that for intensive culture systems, sucker eggs may be taken at a rate of two quarts per 1,000 muskellunge fry being reared for the fee prescribed in section 97A.475, subdivision 29. The Taking of sucker eggs from public waters is subject to chapter 97C and may be supervised by the commissioner. The commissioner may limit the amount of sucker eggs that a person with a sucker egg license endorsement may take based on the number of sucker eggs taken historically by the licensee, new requests for eggs, and the condition of the spawning runs at those historical streams and rivers that have produced previous annual quotas.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.942, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Preparation.** The commissioner of natural resources shall prepare

a comprehensive fish and wildlife management plans designed to accomplish the
policy of section 84.941. The comprehensive fish and wildlife management plan shall
include a strategic plan as outlined in subdivision 2. The strategic plan must be completed
by July 1, 1986. The management plan must also include the long-range and operational
plans as described in subdivisions 3 and 4. The management plan must be completed by
July 1, 1988.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84.95, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Purposes and expenditures.** Money from the reinvest in Minnesota resources fund may only be spent for the following fish and wildlife conservation enhancement purposes:

Sec. 11. 5

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

5.1	(1) development and implementation of the comprehensive fish and wildlife
5.2	management plang under section 84.942;
5.3	(2) implementation of the reinvest in Minnesota reserve program established by
5.4	section 103F.515;
5.5	(3) soil and water conservation practices to improve water quality, reduce soil
5.6	erosion and crop surpluses;
5.7	(4) enhancement or restoration of fish and wildlife habitat on lakes, streams,
5.8	wetlands, and public and private forest lands;
5.9	(5) acquisition and development of public access sites and recreation easements to
5.10	lakes, streams, and rivers for fish and wildlife oriented recreation;
5.11	(6) matching funds with government agencies, federally recognized Indian tribes and
5.12	bands, and the private sector for acquisition and improvement of fish and wildlife habitat;
5.13	(7) research and surveys of fish and wildlife species and habitat;
5.14	(8) enforcement of natural resource laws and rules;
5.15	(9) information and education;
5.16	(10) implementing the aspen recycling program under section 88.80 and for other
5.17	forest wildlife management projects; and
5.18	(11) necessary support services to carry out these purposes.
5.19	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 84D.11, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
5.20	Subd. 2a. Harvest of bait from infested waters. The commissioner may issue a
5.21	permit to allow the harvest of bait:
5.22	(1) from waters that are designated as infested waters, except those designated
5.23	because they contain prohibited invasive species of fish or certifiable diseases of fish as
5.24	defined in section 17.4982, subdivision 6; and
5.25	(2) from infested waters as allowed under section 97C.341, paragraph (c).
5.26	The permit shall include conditions necessary to avoid spreading aquatic invasive
5.27	species. Before receiving a permit, a person annually must satisfactorily complete aquatic
5.28	invasive species-related training provided by the commissioner.
5.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
5.30	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 24, is amended to read:
5.31	Subd. 24. Game birds. "Game birds" means migratory waterfowl, ring-necked
5.32	pheasant, ruffed grouse, sharp-tailed grouse, Canada spruce grouse, prairie chickens, gray
5.33	partridge, bobwhite quail, wild turkeys, coots, gallinules, sora and Virginia rails, mourning
5.34	dove, sandhill crane, American woodcock, and common snipe.

Sec. 13. 6

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 49, is amended to read: 7.1 Subd. 49. Undressed bird. "Undressed bird" means: 7.2 (1) a bird, excluding migratory waterfowl, a pheasant, Hungarian partridge, wild 7.3 turkey, or grouse duck, with feet and a fully feathered head wing intact; 7.4 (2) a migratory waterfowl, excluding geese, duck with a fully feathered wing and 7.5 head attached; or 7.6 (3) a pheasant, Hungarian partridge, or wild turkey, or grouse with one leg and foot 7.7 or the fully feathered head or wing intact; or. 7.8 (4) a goose with a fully feathered wing attached. 7.9 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 52, is amended to read: 7.10 Subd. 52. Unprotected birds. "Unprotected birds" means English sparrow, 7.11 blackbird, starling, magpie, cormorant, common pigeon, Eurasian collared dove, chukar 7.12 partridge, quail other than bobwhite quail, and mute swan. 7.13 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.015, subdivision 55, is amended to read: 7.14 Subd. 55. **Wild animals.** "Wild animals" means all living creatures, whether dead or 7.15 alive, not human, wild by nature, endowed with sensation and power of voluntary motion, 7.16 and includes mammals, birds, fish, amphibians, reptiles, crustaceans, and mollusks. 7.17 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.028, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 7.18 Subd. 3. Emergency deterrent materials assistance. (a) For the purposes of 7.19 7.20 this subdivision, "cooperative damage management agreement" means an agreement between a landowner or tenant and the commissioner that establishes a program for 7.21 addressing the problem of destruction of the landowner's or tenant's specialty crops or 7.22 7.23 stored forage crops by wild animals, or destruction of agricultural crops by flightless Canada geese, or destruction of agricultural crops or pasture by elk within the native elk 7.24 range, as determined by the commissioner. 7.25 (b) A landowner or tenant may apply to the commissioner for emergency deterrent 7.26 materials assistance in controlling destruction of the landowner's or tenant's specialty 7.27 crops or stored forage crops by wild animals, or destruction of agricultural crops by 7.28 flightless Canada geese, or destruction of agricultural crops or pasture by elk within the 7.29 native elk range, as determined by the commissioner. Subject to the availability of money 7.30 appropriated for this purpose, the commissioner shall provide suitable deterrent materials 7.31 when the commissioner determines that: 7.32 (1) immediate action is necessary to prevent significant damage from continuing; and 7.33

Sec. 17. 7

(2) a cooperative damage management agreement cannot be implemented immediately.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

88

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

8.33

8.34

- (c) A person may receive emergency deterrent materials assistance under this subdivision more than once, but the cumulative total value of deterrent materials provided to a person, or for use on a parcel, may not exceed \$3,000 \$5,000 for specialty crops, \$750 \$1,500 for protecting stored forage crops, or \$500 \$1,000 for agricultural crops damaged by flightless Canada geese. The value of deterrent materials provided to a person to help protect stored forage crops, agricultural crops, or pasture from damage by elk may not exceed \$5,000. If a person is a co-owner or cotenant with respect to the specialty crops for which the deterrent materials are provided, the deterrent materials are deemed to be "provided" to the person for the purposes of this paragraph.
- (d) As a condition of receiving emergency deterrent materials assistance under this subdivision, a landowner or tenant shall enter into a cooperative damage management agreement with the commissioner. Deterrent materials provided by the commissioner may include repellents, fencing materials, or other materials recommended in the agreement to alleviate the damage problem. If requested by a landowner or tenant, any fencing materials provided must be capable of providing long-term protection of specialty crops. A landowner or tenant who receives emergency deterrent materials assistance under this subdivision shall comply with the terms of the cooperative damage management agreement.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.101, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 8.22 Subd. 3. **Fishing may not be restricted.** Seasons or methods of taking fish other than minnows may not be restricted under this section.
 - Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.311, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 5. **Refunds.** (a) The commissioner may issue a refund on a license, not including any issuing fees paid under section 97A.485, subdivision 6, if the request is received within 90 days of the original license purchase and:
 - (1) the licensee dies before the opening of the licensed season. The original license and a copy of the death certificate must be provided to the commissioner;
 - (2) the licensee is unable to participate in the licensed activity because the licensee is called to active military duty or military leave is canceled during the entire open season of the licensed activity. The original license and a copy of the military orders or notice of cancellation of leave must be provided to the commissioner; or
 - (3) the licensee purchased two licenses for the same license season in error-; or

Sec. 19. 8

(4) the licensee was not legally required to purchase the license to participate in the activity.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to lifetime licenses.

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.321, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. **Owner responsibility; penalty amount.** The owner of a dog that pursues but does not kill a big game animal is subject to a civil penalty of \$100 for each violation. The owner of a dog that kills <u>or mortally wounds</u> a big game animal is subject to a civil penalty of \$500 for each violation.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.331, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 4a. Hunting big game while under revocation. Notwithstanding section 97A.421, subdivision 7, a person who takes big game during the time the person is prohibited from obtaining a license to take big game under section 97A.421 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.405, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Personal possession.** (a) A person acting under a license or traveling from an area where a licensed activity was performed must have in personal possession either: (1) the proper license, if the license has been issued to and received by the person; or (2) the proper license identification number or stamp validation, if the license has been sold to the person by electronic means but the actual license has not been issued and received.
- (b) If possession of a license or a license identification number is required, a person must exhibit, as requested by a conservation officer or peace officer, either: (1) the proper license if the license has been issued to and received by the person; or (2) the proper license identification number or stamp validation and a valid state driver's license, state identification card, or other form of identification provided by the commissioner, if the license has been sold to the person by electronic means but the actual license has not been issued and received. A person charged with violating the license possession requirement shall not be convicted if the person produces in court or the office of the arresting officer, the actual license previously issued to that person, which was valid at the time of arrest, or satisfactory proof that at the time of the arrest the person was validly licensed. Upon request of a conservation officer or peace officer, a licensee shall write the licensee's name in the presence of the officer to determine the identity of the licensee.

Sec. 22. 9

(c) If the actual license has been issued and received, a receipt for license fees, a copy of a license, or evidence showing the issuance of a license, including the license identification number or stamp validation, does not entitle a licensee to exercise the rights or privileges conferred by a license.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

by a nonprofit organization.

- (d) A license issued electronically and not immediately provided to the licensee shall be mailed to the licensee within 30 days of purchase of the license. A pictorial migratory waterfowl, pheasant, trout and salmon, or walleye stamp shall be provided to the licensee after purchase of a stamp validation only if the licensee pays an additional \$2 fee that covers the costs of producing and mailing a pictorial stamp. A pictorial turkey stamp may be purchased for a \$2 fee that covers the costs of producing and mailing the pictorial stamp. Notwithstanding section 16A.1283, the commissioner may, by written order published in the State Register, establish fees for providing the pictorial stamps. The fees must be set in an amount that does not recover significantly more or less than the cost of producing and mailing the stamps. The fees are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14, and section 14.386 does not apply.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.415, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

 Subd. 2. **Transfer prohibited.** A person may not lend, transfer, borrow, or solicit

 a license or permit, license identification number, application for a license or permit,

 coupon, tag, or seal, or use a license, permit, license identification number, coupon, tag,

 or seal not issued to the person unless otherwise expressly authorized. A person may

 transfer a license, as prescribed by the commissioner, for use by a person with a severe

 disability or critical illness who is participating in a hunting or fishing program sponsored
 - Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.425, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. **Reports.** Except for persons licensed to mount specimens of wild animals, an annual report covering the preceding license year must be submitted to the commissioner by March 15. The commissioner may require other reports for statistical purposes. The reports must be on forms supplied <u>or approved</u> by the commissioner.
 - Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.433, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 10.31 Subd. 5. Mandatory separate selection. The commissioner must conduct

 10.32 a separate selection for 20 percent of the elk licenses to be issued each year. Only

Sec. 25. 10

individuals who have applied at least ten times for an elk license and who have never 11.1 received a license are eligible for this separate selection. 11.2 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.435, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 11.3 Subdivision 1. Number of licenses to be issued License issuance. The 11.4 11.5 commissioner shall include in a rule setting the dates for a turkey season the number of licenses to be issued rules setting turkey seasons the methods for issuing licenses for 11.6 11.7 those seasons. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.445, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 11.8 Subd. 1a. Angling in a state park. (a) A resident may take fish by angling without 11.9 an angling license: 11.10 (1) when shore fishing or wading on state-owned land within a state park-; or 11.11 (2) when angling from a boat or float, this subdivision applies only to those or 11.12 11.13 through the ice on water bodies completely encompassed within the statutory boundary of the state park. 11.14 (b) The exemption from an angling license does not apply to waters where a trout 11.15 stamp is required. 11.16 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.475, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 11.17 Subd. 2. **Resident hunting.** Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents 11.18 only, are: 11.19 11.20 (1) for persons age 18 or over and under age 65 to take small game, \$12.50; (2) for persons ages 16 and 17 and age 65 or over, \$6 to take small game; 11.21 (3) for persons age 18 or over to take turkey, \$23; 11.22 11.23 (4) for persons under age 18 to take turkey, \$12; (5) for persons age 18 or over to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms 11.24 season, \$26; 11.25 (6) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by archery, \$26; 11.26 (7) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by muzzleloader during the muzzleloader 11.27 season, \$26; 11.28 (8) to take moose, for a party of not more than six persons, \$310; 11.29 (9) to take bear, \$38; 11.30 (10) to take elk, for a party of not more than two persons, \$250; 11.31 (11) to take Canada geese during a special season, \$4; 11.32

Sec. 28.

(12) to take prairie chickens, \$20;

11.33

12.1	(13) for persons under age 18 to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms
12.2	season, \$13;
12.3	(14) for persons under age 18 to take deer by archery, \$13; and
12.4	(15) for persons under age 18 to take deer by muzzleloader during the muzzleloader
12.5	season, \$13 .; and
12.6	(16) to take sandhill cranes, \$4.
12.7	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.475, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
12.8	Subd. 3. Nonresident hunting. (a) Fees for the following licenses, to be issued
12.9	to nonresidents, are:
12.10	(1) for persons age 18 or over to take small game, \$73;
12.11	(2) for persons age 18 or over to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms
12.12	season, \$135;
12.13	(3) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by archery, \$135;
12.14	(4) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by muzzleloader during the muzzleloader
12.15	season, \$135;
12.16	(5) to take bear, \$195;
12.17	(6) for persons age 18 and older to take turkey, \$78;
12.18	(7) for persons under age 18 to take turkey, \$12;
12.19	(8) to take raccoon or bobcat, \$155;
12.20	(9) to take Canada geese during a special season, \$4;
12.21	(10) for persons under age 18 to take deer with firearms during the regular firearms
12.22	season in any open season option or time period, \$13;
12.23	(11) for persons under age 18 to take deer by archery, \$13; and
12.24	(12) for persons under age 18 to take deer during the muzzleloader season, \$13-; and
12.25	(13) to take sandhill cranes, \$4.
12.26	(b) A \$5 surcharge shall be added to nonresident hunting licenses issued under
12.27	paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (8). An additional commission may not be assessed on this
12.28	surcharge.
12.29	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.475, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
12.30	Subd. 7. Nonresident fishing. (a) Fees for the following licenses, to be issued
12.31	to nonresidents, are:
12.32	(1) to take fish by angling, \$37.50;
12.33	(2) to take fish by angling limited to seven consecutive days selected by the licensee,
12.34	\$26.50;

Sec. 30. 12

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

13.1	(3) to take fish by angling for a 72-hour period selected by the licensee, \$22;
13.2	(4) to take fish by angling for a combined license for a family for one or both parents
13.3	and dependent children under the age of 16, \$50.50;
13.4	(5) to take fish by angling for a 24-hour period selected by the licensee, \$8.50;
13.5	(6) to take fish by angling for a combined license for a married couple, limited to 14
13.6	consecutive days selected by one of the licensees, \$38.50; and
13.7	(7) to take fish by spearing from a dark house, \$37.50.
13.8	(b) A \$2 surcharge shall be added to all nonresident fishing licenses, except licenses
13.9	issued under paragraph (a), clause (5), and licenses purchased at the resident fee by
13.10	nonresidents under age 16 under section 97A.451, subdivision 5, paragraph (b). An
13.11	additional commission may not be assessed on this surcharge.
13.12	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.502, is amended to read:
13.13	97A.502 DEER KILLED BY MOTOR VEHICLES.
13.14	(a) Deer killed by a motor vehicle on a public road must be removed by the road
13.15	authority, as defined by section 160.02, subdivision 25, unless the driver of the motor
13.16	vehicle is allowed to possess the deer under paragraph (b). The commissioner of natural
13.17	resources must provide to all road authorities standard forms for statistical purposes and
13.18	the tracking of wild animals.
13.19	(b) The driver of a motor vehicle that has collided with and killed a deer on a public
13.20	road has priority for a possession permit for the entire deer if the facts indicate that the
13.21	deer was not taken illegally.
13.22	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.505, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
13.23	Subd. 2. Possession of unlawful animals brought into state prohibited. (a) A
13.24	person may not possess a wild animal that has been unlawfully taken, bought, sold, or
13.25	possessed outside the state, or unlawfully shipped into the state.
13.26	(b) When entering the state from Canada, a person who possesses fish that were
13.27	unlawfully taken or possessed under paragraph (a) may be charged in the same manner as
13.28	for possessing fish that were unlawfully taken or possessed in the state.
13.29	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97A.545, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
13.30	Subd. 5. Birds must be in undressed condition; exceptions. (a) Except as
13.31	provided in paragraph (b), a person may ship or otherwise transport game birds in an
13.32	undressed condition only.
13.33	(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply if the birds being shipped or otherwise transported:

Sec. 33. 13

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

(1) were taken on a shooting preserve and are marked or identified in accordance with section 97A.121, subdivision 5; (2) were taken, dressed, and lawfully shipped or otherwise transported in another state; or (3) are migratory game birds that were lawfully tagged and packed by a federally permitted migratory bird preservation facility-; or (4) are doves shipped or transported in accordance with federal law. Sec. 34. [97B.0215] PARENT OR GUARDIAN RESPONSIBILITY; VIOLATION. A parent or guardian may not knowingly direct, allow, or permit a person under the age of 18 to hunt without the required license, permit, training, or certification, or in violation of the game and fish laws. Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.022, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Apprentice hunter validation requirements. A resident born after December 31, 1979, who is age 12 or older over and who does not possess a hunter education firearms safety certificate may be issued an apprentice hunter validation. An apprentice hunter validation is valid for only one may be purchased two license year years in a lifetime and used to obtain hunting licenses during the same license year that the <u>validation</u> is <u>purchased</u>. An individual in possession of an apprentice hunter validation may hunt small game and, deer, and bear only when accompanied by an adult licensed to hunt in Minnesota whose license was not obtained using an apprentice hunter validation. An apprentice hunter validation holder must obtain all required licenses and stamps. Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.031, subdivision 5, is amended to read: Subd. 5. Scopes; visually impaired hunters. (a) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the commissioner may issue a special permit, without a fee, to use a muzzleloader with a scope to take deer during the muzzleloader season to a person who obtains the required licenses and who has a visual impairment. The scope may not have magnification capabilities. (b) The visual impairment must be to the extent that the applicant is unable to identify targets and the rifle sights at the same time without a scope. The visual impairment and specific conditions must be established by medical evidence verified in writing by

(1) a licensed physician, or a certified nurse practitioner or certified physician assistant

acting under the direction of a licensed physician; (2) a licensed ophthalmologist; or (3)

Sec. 36.

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225
03/47/11	ILL VIDOR		A11-0443

<u>a licensed</u> optometrist. The commissioner may request additional information from the physician if needed to verify the applicant's eligibility for the permit.

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

156

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

15.26

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.30

15.31

15.32

15.33

15.34

15.35

- (c) A permit issued under this subdivision may be valid for up to five years, based on the permanence of the visual impairment as determined by the licensed physician, ophthalmologist, or optometrist.
- (d) The permit must be in the immediate possession of the permittee when hunting under the special permit.
- (e) The commissioner may deny, modify, suspend, or revoke a permit issued under this subdivision for cause, including a violation of the game and fish laws or rules.
- (f) A person who knowingly makes a false application or assists another in making a false application for a permit under this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor. A physician, certified nurse practitioner, certified physician assistant, ophthalmologist, or optometrist who fraudulently certifies to the commissioner that a person is visually impaired as described in this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.041, is amended to read:

97B.041 POSSESSION OF FIREARMS AND AMMUNITION RESTRICTED IN DEER ZONES.

- (a) A person may not possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during the period beginning the fifth day before the open firearms season and ending the second day after the close of the season within an area where deer may be taken by a firearm, except:
- (1) during the open season and in an area where big game may be taken, a firearm and ammunition authorized for taking big game in that area may be used to take big game in that area if the person has a valid big game license in possession;
 - (2) an unloaded firearm that is in a case or in a closed trunk of a motor vehicle;
- (3) a shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller diameter lead shot or steel shot;
- (4) a handgun or rifle capable of firing only rimfire cartridges of .17 and .22 caliber, including .22 magnum caliber cartridges;
- (5) handguns possessed by a person authorized to carry a handgun under sections 624.714 and 624.715 for the purpose authorized; and
 - (6) on a target range operated under a permit from the commissioner.
- (b) This section does not apply during an open firearms season in an area where deer may be taken only by muzzleloader, except that muzzleloading firearms lawful for the taking of deer may be possessed only by persons with a valid license to take deer by muzzleloader, and those persons may not possess a firearm other than a muzzleloader legal

Sec. 37.

for taking deer under section 97B.031, subdivision 1, or a handgun under paragraph (a), clause (4) or (5), when muzzleloader hunting during that the muzzleloader season.

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

16.32

16.33

16.34

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.055, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Hunting from vehicle by disabled hunters.** (a) The commissioner may issue a special permit, without a fee, to discharge a firearm or bow and arrow from a stationary motor vehicle to a person who obtains the required licenses and who has a permanent physical disability that is more substantial than discomfort from walking. The permit recipient must be:
- (1) unable to step from a vehicle without aid of a wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other mechanical support or prosthetic device; or
- (2) unable to walk any distance because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease that requires the person to use supplemental oxygen to assist breathing.
- (b) The permanent physical disability must be established by medical evidence verified in writing by a licensed physician or, chiropractor, or certified nurse practitioner or certified physician assistant acting under the direction of a licensed physician. The commissioner may request additional information from the physician or chiropractor if needed to verify the applicant's eligibility for the permit. Notwithstanding section 97A.418, the commissioner may, in consultation with appropriate advocacy groups, establish reasonable minimum standards for permits to be issued under this section. In addition to providing the medical evidence of a permanent disability, the applicant must possess a valid disability parking certificate authorized by section 169.345 or license plates issued under section 168.021.
- (c) A person issued a special permit under this subdivision and hunting deer may take a deer of either sex, except in those antlerless permit areas and seasons where no antlerless permits are offered. This subdivision does not authorize another member of a party to take an antlerless deer under section 97B.301, subdivision 3.
 - (d) A permit issued under this subdivision is valid for five years.
- (e) The commissioner may deny, modify, suspend, or revoke a permit issued under this section for cause, including a violation of the game and fish laws or rules.
- (f) A person who knowingly makes a false application or assists another in making a false application for a permit under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. A physician, certified nurse practitioner, certified physician assistant, or chiropractor who fraudulently certifies to the commissioner that a person is permanently disabled as described in this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Sec. 38.

(g) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may issue a permit valid for the entire life of the applicant if the commissioner determines that there is no chance that an applicant will become ineligible for a permit under this section and the applicant requests a lifetime permit.

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.28

17.29

17.30

17.31

17.32

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.106, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Qualifications for crossbow permits.** (a) The commissioner may issue a special permit, without a fee, to take big game, small game, or rough fish with a crossbow to a person that is unable to hunt or take rough fish by archery because of a permanent or temporary physical disability. A crossbow permit issued under this section also allows the permittee to use a bow with a mechanical device that draws, releases, or holds the bow at full draw as provided in section 97B.035, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

- (b) To qualify for a crossbow permit under this section, a temporary disability must render the person unable to hunt or fish by archery for a minimum of two years after application for the permit is made. The permanent or temporary disability must be established by medical evidence, and the inability to hunt or fish by archery for the required period of time must be verified in writing by (1) a licensed physician or a certified nurse practitioner or certified physician assistant acting under the direction of a licensed physician; or (2) a licensed chiropractor. A person who has received a special permit under this section because of a permanent disability is eligible for subsequent special permits without providing medical evidence and verification of the disability.
 - (c) The person must obtain the appropriate license.
- 17.22 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.211, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Possession of firearms prohibited.** (a) A person may not take deer by archery while in possession of a firearm.
- 17.25 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to a person carrying a handgun in compliance with section 624.714.
- 17.27 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.325, is amended to read:

97B.325 DEER STAND RESTRICTIONS.

A person may not take deer from a constructed platform or other structure that is located within the right-of-way of an improved public highway or is higher than 16 feet above the ground. The height restriction does not apply to a portable stand that is chained, belted, clamped, or tied with rope.

Sec. 41. 17

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.405, is amended to read:

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

97B.405 COMMISSIONER MAY LIMIT NUMBER OF BEAR HUNTERS.

(a) The commissioner may limit the number of persons that may hunt bear in an area, if it is necessary to prevent an overharvest or improve the distribution of hunters. The commissioner may establish, by rule, a method, including a drawing, to impartially select the hunters for an area. The commissioner shall give preference to hunters that have previously applied and have not been selected.

(b) In the case of a drawing, the commissioner shall allow a person to apply for a permit in more than one area at the same time and rank the person's choice of area. A person selected through a drawing must purchase a license by August 1. Any remaining available licenses not purchased shall be issued to any eligible person as prescribed by the commissioner on a first-come, first-served basis beginning August 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 43. [97B.4251] BAITING BEAR; USE OF DRUM.

Notwithstanding section 97B.425, a private landowner or person authorized by the private landowner may use a drum to bait bear on the person's private land. The drum must be securely chained or cabled to a tree so that it cannot be moved from the site by a bear and the drum may not include a mechanical device for dispensing feed. The drum must be marked with the name and address of the person who registered the bait site. For purposes of this section, "drum" means a 30 gallon or larger drum.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.515, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 4. Taking elk causing damage or nuisance. The commissioner may authorize licensed hunters to take elk that are causing damage or nuisance from August 15 to March 1 under rules prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner may issue licenses to hunters impartially selected from a list of elk hunt applicants who indicated on their application that they would be interested and available to respond to an elk damage or nuisance situation. Notwithstanding section 97A.433, subdivision 2, clause (2), a person receiving a license to hunt elk under this subdivision does not lose eligibility for future elk hunts.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.667, is amended to read:

Sec. 45. 18

97B.667 REMOVAL OF <u>BEAVERS</u>, <u>BEAVER DAMS</u>, AND LODGES BY ROAD AUTHORITIES.

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

When a drainage watercourse is impaired by a beaver dam and the water damages or threatens to damage a public road, the road authority, as defined in section 160.02, subdivision 25, may remove the impairment and any associated beaver lodge within 300 feet of the road. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the road authority may remove or kill or arrange to have removed or killed by any lawful means a beaver associated with the lodge. A road authority that kills or arranges to have killed a beaver under this section must notify a conservation officer or employee of the Wildlife Division within ten days after the animal is killed. A road authority may, after consultation with the Wildlife Division and the Board of Water and Soil Resources, implement a local beaver control program designed to reduce the number of incidents of beaver interfering with or damaging a public road. The local control program may include the offering of a bounty for the lawful taking of beaver.

Sec. 46. [97B.732] SANDHILL CRANE LICENSE REQUIRED.

A person may not take a sandhill crane without a sandhill crane license.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.803, is amended to read:

97B.803 MIGRATORY WATERFOWL SEASONS AND LIMITS.

- (a) The commissioner shall prescribe seasons, limits, and areas for taking migratory waterfowl in accordance with federal law.
- (b) The regular duck season may not open before the Saturday closest to October 1.
- 19.22 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97B.811, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. **Restrictions on leaving decoys unattended.** During the open season for waterfowl, a person may not leave decoys in public waters between sunset and two hours before lawful shooting hours or leave decoys unattended during other times for more than three consecutive hours unless:
 - (1) the decoys are in waters adjacent to private land under the control of the hunter; and
- 19.29 (2) there is not natural vegetation growing in water sufficient to partially conceal
 19.30 a hunter.
- 19.31 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.005, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Sec. 49.

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20.14

20.15

20.16

20.17

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

20.27

20.28

20.30

20.31

20.32

20.33

20.34

Subd. 3. **Seasons, limits, and other rules.** The commissioner may, in accordance with the procedures in subdivision 2, paragraphs (c) and (e), or by rule under chapter 14, establish open seasons, limits, methods, and other requirements for taking fish on special management waters. The commissioner may, by written order published in the State Register, amend daily, possession, or size limits to make midseason adjustments based on available harvest, angling pressure, and population data to manage the fisheries in the 1837 Ceded Territory in compliance with the court orders in Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa v. Minnesota, 119 S. Ct. 1187 (1999). The midseason adjustments in daily, possession, or size limits are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. Before the written order is effective, the commissioner shall attempt to notify persons or groups of persons affected by the written order by public announcement, posting, and other appropriate means as determined by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 50. [97C.007] NORTHERN PIKE EXPERIMENTAL AND SPECIAL MANAGEMENT WATERS.

The combined number of lakes designated for northern pike under sections 97C.001 and 97C.005 may not exceed 60 at one time. Until August 1, 2021, the designated lakes must be selected from the lakes identified in rules adopted under sections 97C.001 and 97C.005 with northern pike slot limits effective on January 1, 2011. A designation under this section must continue for at least ten years, at which time the commissioner shall determine, based on scientific studies, whether the designation should be discontinued.

- Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.081, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Contests requiring a permit.** (a) <u>Unless subdivision 3a applies,</u> a person must have a permit from the commissioner to conduct a fishing contest that does not meet the criteria in subdivision 2. <u>if:</u>
- (1) there are more than 25 boats for open water contests, more than 150 participants for ice fishing contests, or more than 100 participants for shore fishing contests;
 - (2) entry fees are more than \$25 per person; or
- 20.29 (3) the contest is limited to trout species.
 - (b) The commissioner shall charge a fee for the permit that recovers the costs of issuing the permit and of monitoring the activities allowed by the permit. Notwithstanding section 16A.1283, the commissioner may, by written order published in the State Register, establish contest permit fees. The fees are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply.

Sec. 51. 20

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

21.1	(b) (c) The commissioner may require the applicant to furnish evidence of financial
21.2	responsibility in the form of a surety bond or bank letter of credit in the amount of \$25,000
21.3	if entry fees are over \$25 per person, or total prizes are valued at more than \$25,000, and
21.4	if the applicant has either:
21.5	(1) not previously conducted a fishing contest requiring a permit under this
21.6	subdivision; or
21.7	(2) ever failed to make required prize awards in a fishing contest conducted by
21.8	the applicant, the commissioner may require the applicant to furnish the commissioner
21.9	evidence of financial responsibility in the form of a surety bond or bank letter of credit in
21.10	the amount of \$25,000.
21.11	(e) (d) The permit fee for any individual contest may not exceed the following
21.12	amounts:
21.13	(1) \$60 for an open water contest not exceeding 50 boats and without off-site
21.14	weigh-in;
21.15	(2) \$200 for an open water contest with more than 50 boats and without off-site
21.16	weigh-in;
21.17	(3) \$250 for an open water contest not exceeding 50 boats with off-site weigh-in;
21.18	(4) \$500 for an open water contest with more than 50 boats with off-site weigh-in; or
21.19	(5) \$120 for an ice fishing contest with more than 150 participants.
21.20	Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.081, is amended by adding a
21.21	subdivision to read:
21.22	Subd. 3a. Contests without a permit. A person may conduct a fishing contest
21.23	without a permit from the commissioner if:
21.24	(1) the contest is not limited to specifically named waters;
21.25	(2) all the contest participants are age 18 years or under;
21.26	(3) the contest is limited to rough fish; or
21.27	(4) the total prize value is \$500 or less.
21.28	Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.087, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
21.29	Subd. 2. Application for tag. Application for special fish management tags must
21.30	be accompanied by a \$5, nonrefundable application fee for each tag. A person may not
21.31	make more than one tag application each <u>calendar</u> year. If a person makes more than one
21.32	application, the person is ineligible for a special fish management tag for that season
21.33	<u>calendar year</u> after determination by the commissioner, without a hearing.

Sec. 53. 21

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.205, is amended to read:

97C.205 TRANSPORTING AND STOCKING FISH.

- (a) Except on the water body where taken, a person may not transport a live fish in a quantity of water sufficient to keep the fish alive, unless the fish:
- (1) is being transported under an aquaculture license as authorized under sections 17.4985 and 17.4986;
- (2) is being transported for a fishing contest weigh-in under section 97C.081;
- 22.8 (3) is a minnow being transported under section 97C.505 or 97C.515;
- 22.9 (4) is being transported by a commercial fishing license holder under section 22.10 97C.821; or
- (5) is being transported as otherwise authorized in this section or as prescribed for certifiable diseases under sections 17.46 to 17.4999.
 - (b) The commissioner may adopt rules to allow and regulate:
- 22.14 (1) the transportation of fish and fish eggs; and
- 22.15 (2) the stocking of waters with fish or fish eggs.
- (c) The commissioner must allow the possession of fish on special management or experimental waters to be prepared as a meal on the ice or on the shore of that water body if the fish:
- 22.19 (1) were lawfully taken;

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.4

22.5

22.6

22.7

22.13

22.24

22.27

22.28

22.29

22.30

22.31

22.32

22.33

22.34

22.35

22.36

- 22.20 (2) have been packaged by a licensed fish packer; and
- 22.21 (3) do not otherwise exceed the statewide possession limits.
- 22.22 (d) The commissioner shall prescribe rules designed to encourage local sporting organizations to propagate game fish by using rearing ponds. The rules must:
 - (1) prescribe methods to acquire brood stock for the ponds by seining public waters;
- 22.25 (2) allow the sporting organizations to own and use seines and other necessary equipment; and
 - (3) prescribe methods for stocking the fish in public waters that give priority to the needs of the community where the fish are reared and the desires of the organization operating the rearing pond.
 - (e) A person age 16 or under may, for purposes of display in a home aquarium, transport largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, yellow perch, rock bass, black crappie, white crappie, bluegill pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orange spotted sunfish, and black, yellow, and brown bullheads taken by angling, except as otherwise ordered by the commissioner upon documentation of an emergency fish disease in Minnesota waters, as defined in section 17.4982, subdivision 9. No more than four of each species may be transported at any one time, and any individual fish can be no longer than ten inches in total length. The

Sec. 54. 22

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

23.1	commissioner may, by written order published in the State Register, prohibit transportation
23.2	of live fish under this paragraph to help prevent spread of an emergency fish disease
23.3	documented to occur in Minnesota waters. The order is exempt from the rulemaking
23.4	provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply.
23.5	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.315, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
23.6	Subdivision 1. Lines. An angler may not use more than one line except:
23.7	(1) two lines may be used to take fish through the ice; and
23.8	(2) the commissioner may, by rule, authorize the use of two lines in areas designated
23.9	by the commissioner in Lake Superior.
23.10	Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 97C.341, is amended to read:
23.11	97C.341 CERTAIN AQUATIC LIFE PROHIBITED FOR BAIT.
23.12	(a) A person may not use live minnows imported from outside of the state, game
23.13	fish, goldfish, or carp for bait. The commissioner may, by written order published in
23.14	the State Register, authorize use of game fish eggs as bait and prescribe restrictions on
23.15	their use. The order is exempt from the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section
23.16	14.386 does not apply.
23.17	(b) A person may not import or possess live, frozen, or processed bait from known
23.18	waters where viral hemorrhagic septicemia has been identified as being present, except as
23.19	provided in paragraph (c). For purposes of this paragraph, "bait" includes fish, aquatic
23.20	worms, amphibians, invertebrates, and insects used for angling taking wild animals in
23.21	waters of the state.
23.22	(c) Cisco and rainbow smelt taken under rules adopted by the commissioner may
23.23	be used as:
23.24	(1) fresh or frozen bait only on Lake Superior; or
23.25	(2) bait that has been processed to inactivate viral hemorrhagic septicemia in a
23.26	manner prescribed by rules adopted by the commissioner.
23.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
23.28	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 103B.101, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
23.29	Subd. 9. Powers and duties. In addition to the powers and duties prescribed
23.30	elsewhere, the board shall:
23.31	(1) coordinate the water and soil resources planning and implementation activities of
23.32	counties, soil and water conservation districts, watershed districts, watershed management

Sec. 57. 23

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

organizations, and any other local units of government through its various authorities for approval of local plans, administration of state grants, contracts and easements, and by other means as may be appropriate;

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.9

24.10

24.11

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.21

24.22

24.23

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

24.31

24.32

24.33

24.34

24.35

- (2) facilitate communication and coordination among state agencies in cooperation with the Environmental Quality Board, and between state and local units of government, in order to make the expertise and resources of state agencies involved in water and soil resources management available to the local units of government to the greatest extent possible;
- (3) coordinate state and local interests with respect to the study in southwestern Minnesota under United States Code, title 16, section 1009;
- (4) develop information and education programs designed to increase awareness of local water and soil resources problems and awareness of opportunities for local government involvement in preventing or solving them;
- (5) provide a forum for the discussion of local issues and opportunities relating to water and soil resources management;
- (6) adopt an annual budget and work program that integrate the various functions and responsibilities assigned to it by law; and
- (7) report to the governor and the legislature by October 15 of each even-numbered year with an assessment of board programs and recommendations for any program changes and board membership changes necessary to improve state and local efforts in water and soil resources management.

The board may accept grants, gifts, donations, or contributions in money, services, materials, or otherwise from the United States, a state agency, or other source to achieve an authorized or delegated purpose. The board may enter into a contract or agreement necessary or appropriate to accomplish the transfer. The board may conduct or participate in local, state, or federal programs or projects that have as one purpose or effect the preservation or enhancement of water and soil resources and may enter into and administer agreements with local governments or landowners or their designated agents as part of those programs or projects. The board may receive and expend money to acquire conservation easements, as defined in chapter 84C, on behalf of the state and federal government consistent with the Camp Ripley's Army Compatible Use Buffer Project.

Any money received is hereby deposited in an account in a fund other than the general fund and appropriated and dedicated for the purpose for which it is granted.

Sec. 58. [348.125] COYOTE OR BEAVER CONFLICT MANAGEMENT OPTION.

Sec. 58. 24

03/29/11	REVISOR	CKM/RM	A11-0225

25.1	A county board may, by resolution, offer a bounty for the taking of coyotes (Canis
25.2	latrans) or beaver (Castor canadensis) by all legal methods. The resolution may be made
25.3	applicable to the whole or any part of the county. The bounty must apply during the
25.4	months specified in the resolution and be in an amount determined by the board.
25.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
25.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following infai effactment.
25.6	Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 604A.21, is amended by adding a
25.7	subdivision to read:
25.8	Subd. 7. State walk-in access program. Land enrolled in a state-sponsored walk-in
25.9	access program is deemed, for the purposes of sections 604A.20 to 604A.27, to be land that
25.10	an owner has made available without charge for recreational purposes, notwithstanding
25.11	any payments which may be made to the owner by the state for enrollment of the land in
25.12	such program.
25.13	Sec. 60. RULEMAKING; GAME FARMS.
25.14	(a) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, parts
25.15	6242.0900, subpart 13, and 6242.1000, subpart 1, to allow an option for game farm
25.16	licensees to use approved report and sales receipt formats.
25.17	(b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,
25.18	section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota
25.19	Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes,
25.20	section 14.388.
25.21	Sec. 61. RULEMAKING; SPEARING ON CASS LAKE.
25.22	The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, part
25.23	6264.0400, subpart 69, to allow a person to take fish by spearing on Cass Lake. The
25.24	commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section
25.25	14.388, to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not
25.26	apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388. The commissioner
25.27	shall not adopt restrictions on spearing northern pike on Cass Lake under Minnesota
25.28	Statutes, section 97C.001 or 97C.005.
25.20	See 62 DEED HUNTING DIJLES
25.29	Sec. 62. <u>DEER HUNTING RULES.</u> (a) The commissioner of natural resources shall not adopt a rule applicable for the
25.30	(a) The commissioner of natural resources shall not adopt a rule applicable for the
25.31	Series 300 deer permit areas that:

Sec. 62. 25

26.1	(1) imposes an antler point restriction for taking antlered deer other than that
26.2	imposed under Minnesota Rules, part 6232.0200, subpart 6; or
26.3	(2) prohibits party hunting for antlered deer according to Minnesota Statutes, section
26.4	<u>97B.301, subdivision 3.</u>
26.5	(b) The commissioner of natural resources shall amend Minnesota Rules, part
26.6	6232.1300, subpart 3, item B, to allow legal bucks to be taken in season option A for a
26.7	nine-day period beginning the Saturday nearest November 6. The commissioner may use
26.8	the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause
26.9	(3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, does not
26.10	apply except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.
26.11	Sec. 63. REPEALER.
26.12	Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 84.942, subdivisions 2, 3, and 4; 97A.015,
26.13	subdivisions 26b, 27b, and 27c; 97A.435, subdivision 5; 97B.511; 97B.515, subdivision 3;
26.14	97B.811, subdivision 4; and 97C.081, subdivision 2, are repealed."
26.15	Delete the title and insert:
26.16	"A bill for an act
26.17	relating to game and fish; modifying aquaculture provisions; modifying
26.18	compensation and assistance provisions for crop damage by elk; modifying
26.19	requirements for fish and wildlife management plans; modifying provisions for
26.20	taking, possessing, and transporting wild animals; modifying license provisions;
26.21	modifying authority of Board of Water and Soil Resources; limiting landowner
26.22	liability for state walk-in access program; requiring rulemaking; providing
26.23 26.24	criminal penalties; amending Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 3.7371, subdivisions 1, 3; 17.4982, subdivisions 8, 12, 13, by adding a subdivision;
26.25	17.4991, subdivision 3; 17.4994; 84.942, subdivision 1; 84.95, subdivision
26.26	2; 84D.11, subdivision 2a; 97A.015, subdivisions 24, 49, 52, 55; 97A.028,
26.27	subdivision 3; 97A.101, subdivision 3; 97A.311, subdivision 5; 97A.321,
26.28	subdivision 1; 97A.331, by adding a subdivision; 97A.405, subdivision
26.29	2; 97A.415, subdivision 2; 97A.425, subdivision 3; 97A.433, by adding a
26.30	subdivision; 97A.435, subdivision 1; 97A.445, subdivision 1a; 97A.475,
26.31	subdivisions 2, 3, 7; 97A.502; 97A.505, subdivision 2; 97A.545, subdivision 5;
26.32	97B.022, subdivision 2; 97B.031, subdivision 5; 97B.041; 97B.055, subdivision
26.33	3; 97B.106, subdivision 1; 97B.211, subdivision 1; 97B.325; 97B.405; 97B.515,
26.34	by adding a subdivision; 97B.667; 97B.803; 97B.811, subdivision 3; 97C.005,
26.35	subdivision 3; 97C.081, subdivision 3, by adding a subdivision; 97C.087,
26.36	subdivision 2; 97C.205; 97C.315, subdivision 1; 97C.341; 103B.101, subdivision
26.37	9; 604A.21, by adding a subdivision; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota
26.38	Statutes, chapters 17; 97B; 97C; 348; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 84.942, subdivisions 2, 3, 4; 97A.015, subdivisions 26b, 27b, 27c;
26.39 26.40	97A.435, subdivision 5; 97B.511; 97B.515, subdivision 3; 97B.811, subdivision
26.41	4; 97C.081, subdivision 2."

Sec. 63. 26