
03/04/13 03:36 PM HOUSE RESEARCH RC/AHB H0820A1

.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 820 as follows:1.1

Page 3, after line 28, insert:1.2

"Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, is amended to1.3

read:1.4

Subd. 17. Transportation costs. (a) Medical assistance covers medical1.5

transportation costs incurred solely for obtaining emergency medical care or transportation1.6

costs incurred by eligible persons in obtaining emergency or nonemergency medical1.7

care when paid directly to an ambulance company, common carrier, or other recognized1.8

providers of transportation services. Medical transportation must be provided by:1.9

(1) an ambulance, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 2;1.10

(2) special transportation; or1.11

(3) common carrier including, but not limited to, bus, taxicab, other commercial1.12

carrier, or private automobile.1.13

(b) Medical assistance covers special transportation, as defined in Minnesota Rules,1.14

part 9505.0315, subpart 1, item F, if the recipient has a physical or mental impairment that1.15

would prohibit the recipient from safely accessing and using a bus, taxi, other commercial1.16

transportation, or private automobile.1.17

The commissioner may use an order by the recipient's attending physician to certify that1.18

the recipient requires special transportation services. Special transportation providers shall1.19

perform driver-assisted services for eligible individuals. Driver-assisted service includes1.20

passenger pickup at and return to the individual's residence or place of business, assistance1.21

with admittance of the individual to the medical facility, and assistance in passenger1.22

securement or in securing of wheelchairs or stretchers in the vehicle. Special transportation1.23

providers must obtain written documentation from the health care service provider who1.24

is serving the recipient being transported, identifying the time that the recipient arrived.1.25

Special transportation providers may not bill for separate base rates for the continuation of1.26

a trip beyond the original destination. Special transportation providers must take recipients1.27
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to the nearest appropriate their health care provider, using the most direct route, which must2.1

not exceed 30 miles for a trip to a primary care provider or 60 miles for a trip to a specialty2.2

care provider, unless the recipient receives authorization from the local agency. The2.3

minimum medical assistance reimbursement rates for special transportation services are:2.4

(1)(i) $17 for the base rate and $1.35 per mile for special transportation services to2.5

eligible persons who need a wheelchair-accessible van;2.6

(ii) $11.50 for the base rate and $1.30 per mile for special transportation services to2.7

eligible persons who do not need a wheelchair-accessible van; and2.8

(iii) $60 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile, and an attendant rate of $9 per trip, for2.9

special transportation services to eligible persons who need a stretcher-accessible vehicle;2.10

(2) the base rates for special transportation services in areas defined under RUCA2.11

to be super rural shall be equal to the reimbursement rate established in clause (1) plus2.12

11.3 percent; and2.13

(3) for special transportation services in areas defined under RUCA to be rural2.14

or super rural areas:2.15

(i) for a trip equal to 17 miles or less, mileage reimbursement shall be equal to 1252.16

percent of the respective mileage rate in clause (1); and2.17

(ii) for a trip between 18 and 50 miles, mileage reimbursement shall be equal to2.18

112.5 percent of the respective mileage rate in clause (1).2.19

(c) For purposes of reimbursement rates for special transportation services under2.20

paragraph (b), the zip code of the recipient's place of residence shall determine whether2.21

the urban, rural, or super rural reimbursement rate applies.2.22

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "rural urban commuting area" or "RUCA"2.23

means a census-tract based classification system under which a geographical area is2.24

determined to be urban, rural, or super rural.2.25

(e) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, nonemergency2.26

transportation rates, including special transportation, taxi, and other commercial carriers,2.27

are reduced 4.5 percent. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based2.28

purchasing plans must be reduced for services provided on or after January 1, 2012,2.29

to reflect this reduction.2.30

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 256B.0625, subdivision 18f, is amended to2.31

read:2.32

Subd. 18f. Enrollee assessment process. (a) The commissioner shall require that2.33

the administrator of nonemergency medical transportation adhere to the assessment2.34

process recommended by the nonemergency medical transportation advisory committee.2.35
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The commissioner, in consultation with the Nonemergency Medical Transportation3.1

Advisory Committee, shall develop and implement, by July 1, 2013 2014, a the3.2

comprehensive, statewide, standard assessment process for medical assistance3.3

enrollees seeking nonemergency medical transportation services recommended by the3.4

nonemergency medical transportation advisory committee. The assessment process must3.5

identify a client's level of needs, abilities, and resources, and match the client with the3.6

mode of transportation in the client's service area that best meets those needs.3.7

(b) The assessment process must:3.8

(1) address mental health diagnoses when determining the most appropriate mode of3.9

transportation;3.10

(2) base decisions on clearly defined criteria that are available to clients, providers,3.11

and counties;3.12

(3) be standardized across the state and be aligned with other similar existing3.13

processes;3.14

(4) allow for extended periods of eligibility for certain types of nonemergency3.15

transportation when a client's condition is unlikely to change; and3.16

(5) increase the use of public transportation when appropriate and cost-effective,3.17

including offering monthly bus passes to clients."3.18

Page 4, after line 26, insert:3.19

"Sec. 10. REPEALER.3.20

Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0315, subpart 7, item D, is repealed."3.21

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references3.22

Amend the title accordingly3.23
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