1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 1683 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"ARTICLE 1
1.4	TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS
1.5	Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.
1.6	The sums shown in the column under "Appropriations" are added to the appropriations
1.7	in Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 1, to the agencies and for the purposes
1.8	specified in this article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway fund, or another
1.9	named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. Amounts for
1.10	"Total Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked "Appropriations
1.11	by Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. The figures "2022" and "2023"
1.12	used in this article mean that the addition to the appropriations listed under them is available
1.13	for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. Supplemental
1.14	appropriations and reductions to appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022,
1.15	are effective the day following final enactment.
1.16 1.17 1.18 1.19	APPROPRIATIONSAvailable for the YearEnding June 3020222023
1.20 1.21	Sec. 2. <u>DEPARTMENT OF</u> TRANSPORTATION
1.22	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation § 197,423,000 § 435,090,000
1.23	Appropriations by Fund
1.24	<u>2022</u> <u>2023</u>
1.25	General -0- 189,715,000

H1683DE1

- 5,500,000 2.1 Airports -0-197,423,000 2.2 Trunk Highway 239,875,000 The appropriations in this section are to the 2.3 commissioner of transportation. 2.4 The amounts that may be spent for each 2.5 purpose are specified in the following 2.6 subdivisions. 2.7 Subd. 2. Multimodal Systems 2.8 (a) Aeronautics 2.9 (1) Aviation Support Services -0-7,000,000 2.10 This appropriation is from the general fund to 2.11 purchase two utility aircraft for the 2.12 Department of Transportation. This is a 2.13 onetime appropriation. 2.14 (2) IIJA Match 5,500,000 -0-2.15 This appropriation is from the state airports 2.16 fund for expenditure in accordance with 2.17 Minnesota Statutes, section 360.205, 2.18 2.19 subdivision 4. This is a onetime appropriation. (b) Transit and Active Transportation 2.20 (1) IIJA Match / Operating Adjustment 10,000,000 2.21 -0-This appropriation is from the general fund 2.22 for the public transit assistance program under 2.23 Minnesota Statutes, section 174.24. This is a 2.24 onetime appropriation. 2.25 (2) Active Transportation -0-12,500,000 2.26 This appropriation is from the general fund 2.27 2.28 for the active transportation program under Minnesota Statutes, section 174.38. This is a 2.29 onetime appropriation and is available until 2.30
- 2.31 June 30, 2024.

	04/03/22 03:45 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/MV	H1683DE1
3.1	The base is \$6,150,000 in each of fiscal	years		
3.2	<u>2024 and 2025.</u>			
3.3	(c) Safe Routes to School		<u>-0-</u>	1,859,000
3.4	This appropriation is from the general f	fund		
3.5	for the safe routes to school program un	nder		
3.6	Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40. The	is is a		
3.7	onetime appropriation.			
3.8	(d) Passenger Rail			
3.9	(1) Rail Service		<u>-0-</u>	740,000
3.10	This appropriation is from the general f	fund		
3.11	for operating costs related to second da	ily		
3.12	passenger rail train service between			
3.13	Minneapolis and St. Paul and Chicago.			
3.14	The base is \$1,490,000 in fiscal year 202	24 and		
3.15	\$2,200,000 in fiscal year 2025.			
3.16	(2) Northern Lights Express		<u>-0-</u>	51,000,000
3.17	This appropriation is from the general f	fund		
3.18	for capital improvements and betterment	nts		
3.19	including preliminary engineering, desi	gn,		
3.20	engineering, environmental analysis an	<u>d</u>		
3.21	mitigation, acquisition of land and			
3.22	right-of-way, and construction of the			
3.23	Minneapolis-Duluth Northern Lights Ex	kpress		
3.24	inter-city passenger rail project. This			
3.25	appropriation is available until June 30,	2027.		
3.26	The base is \$17,000,000 in each of fiscal	years		
3.27	2024 and 2025, and \$0 in fiscal year 202	26 and		
3.28	thereafter.			
3.29	(e) Freight		<u>-0-</u>	1,000,000
3.30	This appropriation is from the general f	fund		
3.31	for Minnesota rail service improvement	<u>t</u>		
3.32	program grants under Minnesota Statut	es,		

HOUSE RESEARCH

4.1	section 222.50. This is a onetime		
4.2	appropriation.		
4.3	Subd. 3. State Roads		
4.4	(a) Operations and Maintenance	4,000,000	8,805,000
4.5	Appropriations by Fund		
4.6	<u>2022</u> <u>2023</u>		
4.7	<u>General</u> <u>-0-</u> <u>1,000,000</u>		
4.8	<u>Trunk Highway</u> <u>4,000,000</u> <u>7,805,000</u>		
4.9	\$330,000 in fiscal year 2023 from the trunk		
4.10	highway fund is to acquire, build, plant, and		
4.11	improve living snow fences consisting of trees,		
4.12	shrubs, native grasses, and wildflowers. This		
4.13	appropriation includes costs of acquiring and		
4.14	planting trees and shrubs that are climate		
4.15	adaptive to Minnesota, contracts, easements,		
4.16	rental agreements, and program delivery.		
4.17	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 from the		
4.18	general fund is for the highways for habitat		
4.19	program under Minnesota Statutes, section		
4.20	160.2325. This is a onetime appropriation.		
4.21	The base is \$367,681,000 in each of fiscal		
4.22	years 2024 and 2025.		
4.23	(b) Program Delivery	<u>-0-</u>	10,802,000
4.24	This appropriation includes use of consultants		
4.25	to support development and management of		
4.26	projects.		
4.27	The base is \$242,920,000 in fiscal year 2024		
4.28	and \$244,101,000 in fiscal year 2025.		
4.29	(c) State Road Construction	191,223,000	218,019,000
4.30	Appropriations by Fund		
4.31	<u>2022</u> <u>2023</u>		
4.32	<u>General</u> <u>-0-</u> <u>2,000,000</u>		
4.33	<u>Trunk Highway</u> <u>191,223,000</u> <u>216,019,000</u>		

5.1	This appropriation is for the actual		
5.2	construction, reconstruction, and improvement		
5.3	of trunk highways, including design-build		
5.4	contracts, internal department costs associated		
5.5	with delivering the construction program,		
5.6	consultant usage to support these activities,		
5.7	and the cost of actual payments to landowners		
5.8	for lands acquired for highway rights-of-way,		
5.9	payment to lessees, interest subsidies, and		
5.10	relocation expenses.		
5.11	\$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 from the		
5.12	general fund is to acquire, build, plant, and		
5.13	improve living snow fences consisting of trees,		
5.14	shrubs, native grasses, and wildflowers. This		
5.15	appropriation includes costs of acquiring and		
5.16	planting trees and shrubs that are climate		
5.17	adaptive to Minnesota, contracts, easements,		
5.18	rental agreements, and program delivery. This		
5.19	is a onetime appropriation and is available		
5.20	until June 30, 2026.		
5.21	The base for the trunk highway fund is		
5.22	\$1,148,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and		
5.23	\$1,160,413,000 in fiscal year 2025.		
5.24	(d) Highway Debt Service	<u>-0-</u>	1,511,000
5.25	Any excess appropriation cancels to the trunk		
5.26	highway fund.		
5.27	(e) Statewide Radio Communications	<u>-0-</u>	2,000,000
5.28	This appropriation is from the general fund to		
5.29	predesign, design, construct, equip, and		
5.30	furnish the system backbone of the public		
5.31	safety radio and communication system plan		
5.32	under Minnesota Statutes, section 403.36. This		
5.33	is a onetime appropriation and is available		
5.34	<u>until June 30, 2025.</u>		

	04/03/22 03:45 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/MV	H1683DE1
6.1	Subd. 4. Local Roads			
6.2	(a) County State-Aid Highways			
6.3	(1) IIJA Match		<u>-0-</u>	30,868,000
6.4	This appropriation is from the general f	iund		
6.5	for county state-aid highways, to be distri	ibuted		
6.6	in the manner provided under Minnesor	ta		
6.7	Statutes, chapter 162. This is a onetime			
6.8	appropriation.			
6.9	(2) Town Roads		<u>-0-</u>	4,000,000
6.10	This appropriation is from the general f	fund		
6.11	for town roads, to be distributed in the m	anner		
6.12	provided under Minnesota Statutes, sec	tion		
6.13	162.081. This is a onetime appropriation	<u>n.</u>		
6.14	(b) Municipal State-Aid Streets - IIJA	A Match	<u>-0-</u>	9,748,000
6.15	This appropriation is from the general f	fund		
6.16	for municipal state-aid streets, to be distr	ibuted		
6.17	in the manner provided under Minnesor	ta		
6.18	Statutes, chapter 162. This is a onetime			
6.19	appropriation.			
6.20	(c) Small Cities Assistance		-0-	10,000,000
6.21	This appropriation is from the general f	ìund		
6.22	for the small cities assistance program	under		
6.23	Minnesota Statutes, section 162.145.			
6.24	The base is \$10,000,000 in each of fiscal	years		
6.25	<u>2024 and 2025.</u>			
6.26	Subd. 5. Agency Management			
6.27	(a) Agency Services		<u>-0-</u>	3,378,000
6.28	The base for the trunk highway fund is			
6.29	\$66,784,000 in fiscal year 2024 and			
6.30	\$67,192,000 in fiscal year 2025.			
6.31	(b) Buildings	2,	200,000	<u>-0-</u>

7.1	This appropriation is to predesign, design,		
7.2	construct, and equip the Hutchinson Area		
7.3	Transportation Services addition.		
7.4	(c) IIJA Match and Funding Maximization		
7.5	(1) Federal Funds Local Assistance	<u>-0-</u>	36,800,000
7.6	This appropriation is from the general fund		
7.7	for the federal funds local assistance program		
7.8	under Minnesota Statutes, section 174.125.		
7.9	This is a onetime appropriation and is		
7.10	available until June 30, 2026.		
7.11	(2) Federal Grants Technical Assistance	<u>-0-</u>	400,000
7.12	This appropriation is from the general fund		
7.13	for federal grants technical assistance under		
7.14	Minnesota Statutes, section 174.127.		
7.15	The base is \$400,000 in each of fiscal years		
7.16	<u>2024 and 2025.</u>		
7.17	(3) Electric Vehicle Infrastructure	<u>-0-</u>	6,800,000
7.17 7.18	(3) Electric Vehicle Infrastructure This appropriation is from the general fund	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
		<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
7.18	This appropriation is from the general fund	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
7.18 7.19	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
7.18 7.19 7.20	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
7.187.197.207.21	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act,	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
7.187.197.207.217.22	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors.	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 7.24 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors. From this amount, the commissioner may	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 7.24 7.25 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors. From this amount, the commissioner may make grants to local units of government. This	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 7.24 7.25 7.26 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors. From this amount, the commissioner may make grants to local units of government. This is a onetime appropriation and is available	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 7.24 7.25 7.26 7.27 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors. From this amount, the commissioner may make grants to local units of government. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026. If the match requirements	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 7.24 7.25 7.26 7.27 7.28 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors. From this amount, the commissioner may make grants to local units of government. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026. If the match requirements are met, the commissioner may expend any	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 7.24 7.25 7.26 7.27 7.28 7.29 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors. From this amount, the commissioner may make grants to local units of government. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026. If the match requirements are met, the commissioner may expend any unspent portion of this appropriation under	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>
 7.18 7.19 7.20 7.21 7.22 7.23 7.24 7.25 7.26 7.27 7.28 7.29 7.30 	This appropriation is from the general fund for the match requirements for formula and discretionary grant programs enacted in the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 117-58, related to electric vehicle infrastructure and alternative fuel corridors. From this amount, the commissioner may make grants to local units of government. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026. If the match requirements are met, the commissioner may expend any unspent portion of this appropriation under the federal funds local assistance program in	<u>-0-</u>	<u>6,800,000</u>

	04/03/22 03:45 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/MV	H1683DE1
8.1	(4) Climate Funding Maximization		<u>-0-</u>	2,000,000
8.2	This appropriation is from the general f	und		
8.3	for implementation of climate-related			
8.4	programs under the federal Infrastructur	re		
8.5	Investment and Jobs Act, Public Law 11	7-58.		
8.6	The base is \$2,000,000 in each of fiscal	years		
8.7	2024 and 2025.			
8.8	Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL	_		
8.9	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	31,180,000
8.10	The appropriations in this section are fro	m the		
8.11	general fund to the Metropolitan Counc	<u>il.</u>		
8.12	The amounts that may be spent for each	<u>l</u>		
8.13	purpose are specified in the following			
8.14	subdivisions.			
8.15	Subd. 2. Transit System Operations			
8.16	(a) IIJA Match / Operating Adjustme	ent	<u>-0-</u>	20,075,000
8.17	This appropriation is for transit system			
8.18	operations under Minnesota Statutes, see	ctions		
8.19	473.371 to 473.449. This is a onetime			
8.20	appropriation.			
8.21	\$75,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for transits	signal		
8.22	priority systems planning.			
8.23	(b) Zero-Emission Bus Transition		<u>-0-</u>	5,000,000
8.24	This appropriation is for zero-emission	bus		
8.25	procurement, charging infrastructure, an	nd		
8.26	associated costs, in conformance with the	ne		
8.27	zero-emission and electric transit vehicl	e		
8.28	transition plan under Minnesota Statute	<u>s,</u>		
8.29	section 473.3927.			
8.30	The base is \$5,000,000 in each of fiscal	years		
8.31	2024 and 2025, and \$0 in fiscal year 202	6 and		
8.32	thereafter.			

	04/03/22 03:45 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/MV	H1683DE1
9.1	(c) Arterial Bus Rapid Transit Plann	ing	<u>-0-</u>	<u>500,000</u>
9.2	This appropriation is for arterial bus rap	bid		
9.3	transit planning on the J, K, and L Line			
9.4	projects.			
9.5	The base is \$500,000 in each of fiscal y	vears		
9.6	2024 and 2025.			
9.7	(d) Transit Shelter Improvements		<u>-0-</u>	2,000,000
9.8	This appropriation is for transit shelter			
9.9	replacement and improvements under			
9.10	Minnesota Statutes, section 473.41. Thi	is is a		
9.11	onetime appropriation.			
9.12	Subd. 3. Microtransit Service		<u>-0-</u>	1,300,000
9.13	This appropriation is for financial assist	tance		
9.14	to replacement service providers under			
9.15	Minnesota Statutes, section 473.388, to			
9.16	provide expansion and improvements to	<u>0</u>		
9.17	demand response transit service. The co	ouncil		
9.18	must make grants to Maple Grove Tran	sit,		
9.19	Minnesota Valley Transit Authority, Plyn	nouth		
9.20	Metrolink, and SouthWest Transit in the	<u>e</u>		
9.21	amounts specified by the Suburban Tra	nsit		
9.22	Association. The council must not retai	n any		
9.23	portion of the funds under this appropri	ation.		
9.24	This is a onetime appropriation.			
9.25	Subd. 4. Transit Fare Temporary Red	luction	-0-	2,305,000
9.26	(a) This appropriation is for transit syst	em		
9.27	operations under Minnesota Statutes, se	ctions		
9.28	473.371 to 473.449, to provide for fore	gone		
9.29	revenue due to the requirements in para	graph		
9.30	(b). From this amount, the Metropolitar	<u>1</u>		
9.31	Council must provide grants to replace	ment		
9.32	service providers under Minnesota Stat	utes,		
9.33	section 473.388, in amounts that reflect			
9.34	calculated foregone revenue for each pro	ovider		

H1683DE1

7,766,000

10.1	due to the requirements in paragraph (b). This
10.2	is a onetime appropriation.
10.3	(b) From July 1, 2022, to August 31, 2022,
10.4	the Metropolitan Council must (1) establish a
10.5	uniform fare schedule that does not exceed \$1
10.6	for all bus and light rail transit service during
10.7	peak and nonpeak service hours, including but
10.8	not limited to express bus and bus rapid
10.9	transit; and (2) establish a discount under the
10.10	student, collegiate, and Metropass transit pass
10.11	programs. The Metropolitan Council may
10.12	adjust any other reduced, discounted, and
10.13	circulation fares accordingly.
10.14	(c) After accounting for foregone revenue, the
10.15	Metropolitan Council may use any remaining
10.16	funds from the appropriation in this
10.17	subdivision for transit shelter replacement and
10.18	improvements under Minnesota Statutes,
10.19	section 473.41.
10.20	Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
10.21	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation\$4,325,000\$
10.22	Appropriations by Fund
10.23	<u>2022</u> <u>2023</u>
10.24	<u>General</u> <u>400,000</u> <u>3,705,000</u>
10.25	<u>Special Revenue</u> <u>3,925,000</u> <u>2,061,000</u>
10.26	<u>Trunk Highway</u> <u>-0-</u> <u>2,000,000</u>

- 10.27 The appropriations in this section are from the
- 10.28 general fund, or another named fund, to the
- 10.29 <u>commissioner of public safety.</u>
- 10.30 The amounts that may be spent for each
- 10.31 purpose are specified in the following
- 10.32 subdivisions.
- 10.33 Subd. 2. Administration and Related Services

	04/03/22 03:45 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/MV	H1683DE1
11.1	(a) Public Safety Officer Survivor Ber	nefits	<u>-0-</u>	1,000,000
11.2	This appropriation is from the general fu	und		
11.3	for payment of public safety officer surv	vivor		
11.4	benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section	<u>on</u>		
11.5	<u>299A.44.</u>			
11.6	The base is \$1,640,000 in each of fiscal	years		
11.7	2024 and 2025.			
11.8	(b) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements	<u>S</u>	400,000	205,000
11.9	This appropriation is from the general fu	und		
11.10	for soft body armor reimbursements und	ler		
11.11	Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38.			
11.12	The base is \$950,000 in each of fiscal ye	ears		
11.13	2024 and 2025.			
11.14 11.15	Subd. 3. State Patrol - Commercial Ve Enforcement	hicle	<u>-0-</u>	2,000,000
11.16	This appropriation is from the trunk high	nway		
11.17	fund.			
11.18	The base is \$15,110,000 in each of fiscal	years		
11.19	2024 and 2025.			
11.20	Subd. 4. Driver and Vehicle Services			
11.21	(a) Driver Services		<u>-0-</u>	1,870,000
11.22	This appropriation is from the driver ser	vices		
11.23	operating account in the special revenue	fund		
11.24	under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A	.705,		
11.25	subdivision 2.			
11.26	\$414,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for collect	ction		
11.27	of race and ethnicity data on application	<u>s for</u>		
11.28	credentials issued by Driver and Vehicle	<u>-</u>		
11.29	Services.			
11.30	\$1,029,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for			
11.31	installation and maintenance of security			
11.32	cameras at Driver and Vehicle Services	exam		

H1683DE1

12.1	sites that are open five or more days per week
12.2	and for replacement of existing security
12.3	cameras at the St. Paul examination station.
12.4	This is a onetime appropriation.
10.5	
12.5	\$153,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the ongoing
12.6	costs, including costs of staff and information
12.7	technology operations, of the security cameras
12.8	installed at Driver and Vehicle Services
12.9	examination sites.
12.10	\$100,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for
12.11	reimbursement to deputy registrars and driver's
12.12	license agents for the purchase and installation
12.13	of security cameras at deputy registrar or
12.14	driver's license agent office locations. Deputy
12.15	registrars and driver's license agents may
12.16	submit an application to the commissioner for
12.17	reimbursement of funds spent to purchase and
12.18	install security cameras. Upon approval of an
12.19	application for reimbursement, the
12.20	commissioner must pay the applicant the lesser
12.21	of one-half the purchase and installation price
12.22	or \$5,000. When approving applications, the
12.23	commissioner must prioritize offices that do
12.24	not currently have security cameras installed.
12.25	This is a onetime appropriation.
12.26	\$91,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for data auditing
12.27	capacity enhancements, including costs of staff
12.28	and equipment.
12.29	\$83,000 in fiscal year 2023 is only available
12.29	if legislation is enacted in the 2022 regular
12.30	legislative session that establishes
12.31	requirements for the commissioner of public
12.33	safety governing a watercraft operator's permit
12.34	indicator on drivers' licenses and Minnesota

13.1	identification cards, and this amount is for the		
13.2	applicable implementation costs.		
13.3	The base is \$36,881,000 in each of fiscal years		
13.4	<u>2024 and 2025.</u>		
13.5	(b) Vehicle Services	3,925,000	191,000
13.6	This appropriation is from the vehicle services		
13.7	operating account in the special revenue fund		
13.8	under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705.		
13.9	\$3,925,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for the		
13.10	mailing and production costs of license plates.		
13.11	\$90,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for data auditing		
13.12	capacity enhancements, including costs of staff		
13.13	and equipment.		
13.14	\$101,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for an appeals		
13.15	process for information technology system		
13.16	data access revocations, including costs of		
13.17	staff and equipment.		
13.18	The base is \$33,970,000 in each of fiscal years		
13.19	<u>2024 and 2025.</u>		
13.20	Subd. 5. Traffic Safety	<u>-0-</u>	2,500,000
13.21	This appropriation is from the general fund		
13.22	for traffic safety activities, including for staff		
13.23	and operating costs of the Traffic Safety		
13.24	Advisory Council under Minnesota Statutes,		
13.25	section 4.075, and to expand public outreach		
13.26	and education, coordination and assistance on		
13.27	traffic safety initiatives, grants, and program		
13.28	and project management.		
13.29	The commissioner may expend up to \$20,000		
13.30	in fiscal year 2023 from the driver and vehicle		
13.31	services technology account in the special		
13.32	revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes,		
13.33	section 299A.705, for records access		

04/03/22 03:45 pm HOUSE RESEARCH MB/MV H1683DE1 enhancements to the MNCrash information 14.1 technology system. 14.2 The base for the general fund is \$2,978,000 14.3 in each of fiscal years 2024 and 2025. 14.4 Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 1, section 4, subdivision 3, is 14.5 amended to read: 14.6 14.7 Subd. 3. State Patrol (a) Patrolling Highways 113,823,000 112,170,000 14.8 Appropriations by Fund 14.9 2022 2023 14.10 General 37,000 37,000 14.11 H.U.T.D. 92,000 92,000 14.12 14.13 Trunk Highway 113,694,000 112,041,000 \$3,524,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$2,822,000 14.14 in fiscal year 2023 are from the trunk highway 14.15 fund for the purchase, deployment, and 14.16 management of body-worn cameras. 14.17 14.18 \$7,718,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$6,767,000 in fiscal year 2023 are from the trunk highway 14.19 fund for staff and equipment costs of 14.20 additional patrol troopers. 14.21 10,180,000 (b) Commercial Vehicle Enforcement 10,046,000 14.22 \$494,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$360,000 in 14.23 fiscal year 2023 are for the purchase, 14.24 deployment, and management of body-worn 14.25 14.26 cameras. 20,610,000 (c) Capitol Security 16,667,000 14.27 This appropriation is from the general fund. 14.28 \$449,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$395,000 in 14.29 fiscal year 2023 are for the purchase, 14.30 deployment, and management of body-worn 14.31 cameras. 14.32

- 15.1 Up to \$8,863,000 in fiscal year 2022 and
- 15.2 **\$4,420,000** in fiscal year 2023 are available
- 15.3 for staff and equipment costs of additional
- 15.4 troopers and nonsworn officers.
- 15.5 The commissioner must not:
- 15.6 (1) spend any money from the trunk highway
- 15.7 fund for capitol security; or
- 15.8 (2) permanently transfer any state trooper from
- 15.9 the patrolling highways activity to capitol
- 15.10 security.
- 15.11 The commissioner must not transfer any
- 15.12 money appropriated to the commissioner under
- 15.13 this section:
- 15.14 (1) to capitol security; or
- 15.15 (2) from capitol security.
- (d) Vehicle Crimes Unit 888,000 884,000 15.16 This appropriation is from the highway user 15.17 15.18 tax distribution fund to investigate: (1) registration tax and motor vehicle sales tax 15.19 liabilities from individuals and businesses that 15.20 currently do not pay all taxes owed; and 15.21 (2) illegal or improper activity related to the 15.22 sale, transfer, titling, and registration of motor 15.23 vehicles. 15.24
- 15.25 \$22,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$18,000 in
- 15.26 fiscal year 2023 are for the purchase,
- 15.27 deployment, and management of body-worn
- 15.28 cameras.
- 15.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

H1683DE1

	ARTICLE 2		
	TRUNK HIGHWAY BONDS		
	Section 1. BOND APPROPRIATIONS.		
	The sums shown in the column under "Appropriations" are app	propriated	from the bond
]	proceeds account in the trunk highway fund to the state agencies	or official	s indicated to
	be spent for public purposes. Appropriations of bond proceeds mu	ist be sper	nt as authorized
	by the Minnesota Constitution, articles XI and XIV. Unless otherw	wise speci	fied, money
	appropriated in this article for a capital program or project may be	used to p	ay state agency
	staff costs that are attributed directly to the capital program or pro	ject in ac	cordance with
	accounting policies adopted by the commissioner of management	and budg	get.
	SUMMARY		
	Department of Transportation	<u>\$</u>	149,000,000
	Department of Management and Budget	<u>\$</u>	149,000
	TOTAL	<u>\$</u>	149,149,000
		APPI	ROPRIATIONS
	Sec. 2. <u>DEPARTMENT OF</u> TRANSPORTATION		
	Subdivision 1. High Priority Bridges	<u>\$</u>	80,000,000
	(a) This appropriation is to the commissioner		
	of transportation for land acquisition,		
	environmental analysis, predesign, design,		
	engineering, construction, reconstruction, and		
	improvement of priority trunk highway		
	bridges, including design-build contracts,		
	internal department costs associated with		
	delivering the construction program,		
	consultant usage to support these activities,		
	and costs of payments to landowners for lands		
	acquired for highway rights-of-way. The		
	commissioner must conform with the		
	investment priorities identified in the		
	Minnesota state highway investment plan		
	under Minnesota Statues, section 174.03,		
	subdivision 1c.		

- (b) The commissioner may use up to 17 17.1 percent of the amount for program delivery. 17.2 Subd. 2. Facilities Capital Improvement 17.3 69,000,000 17.4 Program (a) This appropriation is to the commissioner 17.5 of transportation for construction, renovation, 17.6 and expansion of Department of 17.7 Transportation buildings and facilities. 17.8 (b) The commissioner may use up to 17 17.9 percent of the amount for program delivery. 17.10 17.11 Sec. 3. BOND SALE EXPENSES \$ 149,000 17.12 This appropriation is to the commissioner of management and budget for bond sale 17.13 17.14 expenses under Minnesota Statutes, sections 16A.641, subdivision 8, and 167.50, 17.15 subdivision 4. 17.16 Sec. 4. BOND SALE AUTHORIZATION. 17.17 To provide the money appropriated in this article from the bond proceeds account in the 17.18 trunk highway fund, the commissioner of management and budget shall sell and issue bonds 17.19 of the state in an amount up to \$149,149,000 in the manner, upon the terms, and with the 17.20 effect prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 167.50 to 167.52, and by the Minnesota 17.21 Constitution, article XIV, section 11, at the times and in the amounts requested by the 17.22 commissioner of transportation. The proceeds of the bonds, except accrued interest and any 17.23 premium received from the sale of the bonds, must be deposited in the bond proceeds account 17.24 in the trunk highway fund. 17.25 Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 2, section 2, subdivision 1, is 17.26 17.27 amended to read: Subdivision 1. Corridors of Commerce \$ 200,000,000 17.28 (a) This appropriation is to the commissioner 17.29 of transportation for the corridors of commerce 17.30 program under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.31
- 17.32 161.088.

H1683DE1

- 18.1 (b) This appropriation is available in the
- 18.2 amounts of:
- 18.3 (1) \$100,000,000 in fiscal year 2024; and

18.4 (2) \$100,000,000 in fiscal year 2025.

- 18.5 (c) For all available funds under paragraph
- 18.6 (b), the commissioner must commence the
- 18.7 project selection process under the program
- 18.8 by August 1, 2022 February 1, 2023.
- 18.9 (d) The commissioner may use up to 17
- 18.10 percent of the amount for program delivery.
- 18.11 (e) The appropriation in this subdivision
- 18.12 cancels as specified under Minnesota Statutes,
- 18.13 section 16A.642, except that the commissioner
- 18.14 of management and budget must count the
- 18.15 start of authorization for issuance of state
- 18.16 bonds as the first day of the fiscal year during
- 18.17 which the bonds are available to be issued as
- 18.18 specified under paragraph (b), and not as the
- 18.19 date of enactment of this section.

18.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
18.21	ARTICLE 3
18.22	TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY
18.23	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 4.075, is amended by adding a subdivision
18.24	to read:
18.25	Subd. 4. Traffic Safety Advisory Council; established. The Traffic Safety Advisory

18.26 Council is established to advise, consult with, coordinate, and make program

18.27 recommendations to the commissioners of public safety, transportation, and health on the

- 18.28 development and implementation of projects and programs intended to improve traffic
- 18.29 safety on all Minnesota road systems. The advisory council serves as the lead for the state
- 18.30 Toward Zero Deaths program.

	04/03/22 03:45 pm HOUSE RESEARCH MB/MV H1085DE1
19.1	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 4.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to
19.2	read:
19.3	Subd. 5. Traffic Safety Advisory Council; membership. The advisory council consists
19.4	of the following members:
19.5	(1) the chair, which is filled on a two-year rotating basis by:
19.6	(i) a designee from the Office of Traffic Safety in the Department of Public Safety;
19.7	(ii) a designee from the Office of Traffic Engineering in the Department of Transportation;
19.8	and
19.9	(iii) a designee from the Injury and Violence Prevention Section in the Department of
19.10	Health;
19.11	(2) two vice chairs, which must be filled by the two designees who are not currently
19.12	serving as chair of the advisory council under clause (1);
19.13	(3) the director of the state Toward Zero Deaths program;
19.14	(4) the chief of the State Patrol or a designee;
19.15	(5) a regional coordinator from the Toward Zero Deaths program;
19.16	(6) the state traffic safety engineer in the Department of Transportation or a designee;
19.17	(7) a law enforcement liaison from the Department of Public Safety;
19.18	(8) a representative from the Department of Human Services;
19.19	(9) a representative from the Department of Education;
19.20	(10) a representative from the Council on Disability;
19.21	(11) a Tribal liaison;
19.22	(12) a representative from the Center for Transportation Studies at the University of
19.23	Minnesota;
19.24	(13) a representative from the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;
19.25	(14) a representative from the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;
19.26	(15) a representative from the Minnesota Safety Council;
19.27	(16) a representative from AAA Minnesota;

- 19.28 (17) a representative from the Minnesota Trucking Association;
- 19.29 (18) a representative from the Insurance Federation of Minnesota;

Article 3 Sec. 2.

20.1	(19) a representative from the Association of Minnesota Counties;
20.2	(20) a representative from the League of Minnesota Cities;
20.3	(21) the American Bar Association State Judicial Outreach Liaison;
20.4	(22) a representative from the City Engineers Association of Minnesota;
20.5	(23) a representative from the Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota;
20.6	(24) an individual representing vulnerable road users, including pedestrians, bicyclists,
20.7	and other operators of a personal conveyance, appointed by the Bicycle Alliance of
20.8	Minnesota; and
20.9	(25) a representative from Our Streets Minneapolis.
20.10	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 4.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to
20.11	read:
20.12	Subd. 6. Traffic Safety Advisory Council; administration. (a) The Department of
20.13	Public Safety Office of Traffic Safety, in cooperation with the Departments of Transportation
20.14	and Health, must serve as the host agency for the advisory council and must manage the
20.15	financial, administrative, and operational aspects of the advisory council's activities.
20.16	(b) The Traffic Safety Advisory Council must meet no less than four times per year or
20.17	more frequently as determined by the chair, a majority of the council members, or any of
20.18	the designated commissioners.
20.19	(c) The chair must regularly report to the respective commissioners on the activities of
20.20	the advisory council and on the state of traffic safety in Minnesota.
20.21	(d) The terms, compensation, and appointment of members are governed by section
20.22	<u>15.059.</u>
20.23	(e) The advisory council may appoint subcommittees and working groups. Subcommittees
20.24	must consist of council members. Working groups may include nonmembers. Nonmembers
20.25	on working groups must be compensated pursuant to section 15.059, subdivision 3, only
20.26	for expenses incurred for working group activities.
20.27	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 4.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to
20.28	read:
20.29	Subd. 7. Traffic Safety Advisory Council; duties. The Traffic Safety Advisory Council
20.30	<u>must:</u>

	1005E RESEARCH MID/MV H1085DET
21.1	(1) advise the governor and heads of state departments and agencies about policy,
21.2	programs, and services affecting traffic safety;
21.3	(2) advise the director of the state Toward Zero Deaths program and state department
21.4	representatives on the activities of the Toward Zero Deaths program, including informing
21.5	and educating the public about traffic safety;
21.6	(3) encourage state departments and other agencies to conduct needed research in the
21.7	field of traffic safety;
21.8	(4) review recommendations of the subcommittees and working groups; and
21.9	(5) review and comment on all grants dealing with traffic safety and on the development
21.10	and implementation of state and local traffic safety plans.
21.11	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 4.075, is amended by adding a subdivision to
21.12	read:
21.13	Subd. 8. Traffic safety report. Annually by January 2, the commissioner of public
21.14	safety must provide a traffic safety report to the governor and the chairs and ranking minority
21.15	members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over traffic safety. The report must
21.16	analyze the safety of Minnesota's roads and transportation system, including but not limited
21.17	<u>to:</u>
21.18	(1) injuries and fatalities that occur on or near a roadway or transportation system facility;
21.19	(2) the factors that caused crashes resulting in injuries and fatalities;
21.20	(3) roadway and system improvements broadly and at specific locations that could reduce
21.21	injuries and fatalities;
21.22	(4) enforcement and education efforts that could reduce injuries and fatalities;
21.23	(5) other safety improvements, programs, or features that will improve the quality of
21.24	the roadway and transportation use experience; and
21.25	(6) existing and needed resources to make roadway and transportation system safety
21.26	improvements.
21.27	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
21.28	Subdivision 1. Classifications. (a) The following government data of the Department
21.29	of Public Safety are private data:

(1) medical data on driving instructors, licensed drivers, and applicants for parking 22.1 certificates and special license plates issued to physically disabled persons; 22.2

(2) other data on holders of a disability certificate under section 169.345, except that (i) 22.3 data that are not medical data may be released to law enforcement agencies, and (ii) data 22.4 necessary for enforcement of sections 169.345 and 169.346 may be released to parking 22.5 enforcement employees or parking enforcement agents of statutory or home rule charter 22.6 cities and towns; 22.7

(3) Social Security numbers in driver's license and motor vehicle registration records, 22.8 except that Social Security numbers must be provided to the Department of Revenue for 22.9 purposes of tax administration, the Department of Labor and Industry for purposes of 22.10 workers' compensation administration and enforcement, the judicial branch for purposes of 22.11 debt collection, and the Department of Natural Resources for purposes of license application 22.12 administration, and except that the last four digits of the Social Security number must be 22.13 provided to the Department of Human Services for purposes of recovery of Minnesota health 22.14 care program benefits paid; and 22.15

(4) data on persons listed as standby or temporary custodians under section 171.07, 22.16 subdivision 11, except that the data must be released to: 22.17

(i) law enforcement agencies for the purpose of verifying that an individual is a designated 22.18 caregiver; or 22.19

(ii) law enforcement agencies who state that the license holder is unable to communicate 22.20 at that time and that the information is necessary for notifying the designated caregiver of 22.21 the need to care for a child of the license holder-; and 22.22

(5) race and ethnicity data on driver's license holders and identification card holders 22.23 under section 171.06, subdivision 3. The Department of Public Safety's Office of Traffic 22.24 Safety is authorized to receive race and ethnicity data from Driver and Vehicle Services for 22.25 the purposes of research, evaluation, and public reports only. 22.26

The department may release the Social Security number only as provided in clause (3) 22.27 and must not sell or otherwise provide individual Social Security numbers or lists of Social 22.28 Security numbers for any other purpose. 22.29

(b) The following government data of the Department of Public Safety are confidential 22.30 data: data concerning an individual's driving ability when that data is received from a member 22.31 of the individual's family. 22.32

- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for driver's license and identification 23.1 card applications received on or after January 1, 2023. 23.2 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.08, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 23.3 Subd. 7. No commercial establishment within right-of-way; exceptions. No 23.4 commercial establishment, including but not limited to automotive service stations, for 23.5 serving motor vehicle users shall be constructed or located within the right-of-way of, or 23.6 on publicly owned or publicly leased land acquired or used for or in connection with, a 23.7 controlled-access highway; except that: 23.8 (1) structures may be built within safety rest and travel information center areas; 23.9 (2) space within state-owned buildings in those areas may be leased for the purpose of 23.10 providing information to travelers through advertising as provided in section 160.276; 23.11 (3) advertising signs may be erected within the right-of-way of interstate or 23.12 23.13 controlled-access trunk highways by franchise agreements under section 160.80; (4) vending machines may be placed in rest areas, travel information centers, or weigh 23.14 23.15 stations constructed or located within trunk highway rights-of-way; and (5) acknowledgment signs may be erected under sections 160.272 and 160.2735-; and 23.16 23.17 (6) electric vehicle charging stations may be installed, operated, and maintained in safety rest areas. 23.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 23.19 Sec. 8. [160.2325] HIGHWAYS FOR HABITAT PROGRAM. 23.20 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have 23.21 the meanings given. 23.22 (b) "Integrated roadside vegetation management" means an approach to right-of-way 23.23 maintenance that combines a variety of techniques with sound ecological principles to 23.24 establish and maintain safe, healthy, and functional roadsides. Integrated roadside vegetation 23.25 management includes but is not limited to judicious use of herbicides, spot mowing, 23.26 23.27 biological control, prescribed burning, mechanical tree and brush removal, erosion prevention and treatment, and prevention and treatment of other right-of-way disturbances. 23.28
 - 23.29 (c) "Program" means the highways for habitat program established in this section.

24.1	Subd. 2. Program establishment. The commissioner must establish a highways for
24.2	habitat program to enhance roadsides with pollinator and other wildlife habitat and vegetative
24.3	buffers.
24.4	Subd. 3. General requirements. In implementing the program, the commissioner must:
24.5	(1) identify and prioritize highways for habitat installations under an integrated roadside
24.6	vegetation management plan with priority given to new construction and reconstruction;
24.7	(2) develop and erect signage that identifies highways for habitat projects and clearly
24.8	marks the habitat and management restrictions;
24.9	(3) develop and require training for road authorities on the use of integrated roadside
24.10	vegetation management and native plant identification;
24.11	(4) assess, in consultation with the commissioners of natural resources and agriculture,
24.12	the categorization and management of noxious weeds to reduce the use of mowing and
24.13	pesticides;
24.14	(5) maintain a website that includes information on program implementation, integrated
24.15	roadside vegetation management, and related best management practices; and
24.16	(6) identify funding sources and develop proposals for ongoing funding for the program.
24.17	Subd. 4. Management standards. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with the
24.18	commissioner of natural resources and the Board of Water and Soil Resources, must develop
24.19	standards and best management practices for integrated roadside vegetation management
24.20	plans under the program.
24.21	(b) The standards and best management practices must include:
24.22	(1) guidance on seed and vegetation selection based on the Board of Water and Soil
24.23	Resources' native vegetation establishment and enhancement guidelines;
24.24	(2) requirements for roadside vegetation management protocols that use the least toxic
24.25	methods first;
24.26	(3) restrictions on broadcast herbicide spraying and mowing that are designed to avoid
24.27	habitat destruction and protect nesting birds and pollinators; and
24.28	(4) identification of appropriate right-of-way areas for wildflower propagation.

25.1	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, is amended by adding a subdivision to
25.2	read:
25.3	Subd. 7. North Star Bikeway. The North Star Bikeway is designated as a state bicycle
25.4	route. It must originate in the city of St. Paul in Ramsey County, then proceed north and
25.5	east to Duluth in St. Louis County, then proceed north and east along the shore of Lake
25.6	Superior through Grand Marais in Cook County to Minnesota's boundary with Canada, and
25.7	there terminate.
25.8	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.088, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
25.9	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
25.10	the meanings given:
25.11	(1) (b) "Beyond the project limits" means any point that is located:
25.12	(i) (1) outside of the project limits;
25.13	(ii) (2) along the same trunk highway; and
25.14	(iii) (3) within the same region of the state;
25.15	(2) (c) "City" means a statutory or home rule charter city;
25.16	(d) "Department" means the Department of Transportation.
25.17	(3) (e) "Program" means the corridors of commerce program established in this section;
25.18	and.
25.19	(4) (f) "Project limits" means the estimated construction limits of a project for trunk
25.20	highway construction, reconstruction, or maintenance, that is a candidate for selection under
25.21	the corridors of commerce program.
25.22	(g) "Screening entity" means an area transportation partnership, the Metropolitan Council
25.23	in consultation with the transportation advisory board under section 473.146, subdivision
25.24	4, or a specified county.
25.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
25.26	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.088, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
25.27	Subd. 2. Program authority; funding. (a) As provided in this section, the commissioner
25.28	shall must establish a corridors of commerce program for trunk highway construction,
25.29	reconstruction, and improvement, including maintenance operations, that improves commerce
25.30	in the state.

26.1	(b) The commissioner may expend funds under the program from appropriations to the
26.2	commissioner that are:
26.3	(1) made specifically by law for use under this section;
26.4	(2) at the discretion of the commissioner, made for the budget activities in the state roads
26.5	program of operations and maintenance, program planning and delivery, or state road
26.6	construction; and
26.7	(3) made for the corridor investment management strategy program, unless specified
26.8	otherwise.
26.9	(c) The commissioner shall must include in the program the cost participation policy
26.10	for local units of government.
26.11	(d) The commissioner may use up to 17 percent of any appropriation to the program
26.12	under this section for program delivery and for project scoring, ranking, and selection under
26.13	subdivision 5.
26.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
26.15	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.088, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
26.16	Subd. 4. Project eligibility. (a) The eligibility requirements for projects that can be
26.17	funded under the program are:
26.18	(1) consistency with the statewide multimodal transportation plan under section 174.03;
26.19	(2) location of the project on an interregional corridor the national highway system, as
26.20	provided under Code of Federal Regulations, title 23, part 470, and successor requirements,
26.21	for a project located outside of the Department of Transportation metropolitan district;
26.22	(3) placement into at least one project classification under subdivision 3;
26.23	(1) project construction work will commonce within three four years or a longer longth
26.24	(4) project construction work will commence within three four years, or a longer length
	of time as determined by the commissioner; and
26.25	
26.25 26.26	of time as determined by the commissioner; and
	of time as determined by the commissioner; and (5) for each type of project classification under subdivision 3, a maximum allowable
26.26	of time as determined by the commissioner; and (5) for each type of project classification under subdivision 3, a maximum allowable amount for the total project cost estimate, as determined by the commissioner with available
26.26 26.27	of time as determined by the commissioner; and (5) for each type of project classification under subdivision 3, a maximum allowable amount for the total project cost estimate, as determined by the commissioner with available data <u>; and</u>
26.26 26.27 26.28	of time as determined by the commissioner; and (5) for each type of project classification under subdivision 3, a maximum allowable amount for the total project cost estimate, as determined by the commissioner with available data <u>; and</u> (6) determination of a total project cost estimate with a reasonable degree of accuracy.

Article 3 Sec. 12.

- (c) A project may be, but is not required to be, identified in the 20-year state highway 27.1 investment plan under section 174.03. 27.2 (d) For each project, the commissioner must consider all of the eligibility requirements 27.3 under paragraph (a). The commissioner is prohibited from considering any eligibility 27.4 requirement not specified under paragraph (a). 27.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 27.6 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.088, is amended by adding a subdivision 27.7 to read: 27.8 27.9 Subd. 4a. Project funding; regional balance. (a) To ensure regional balance throughout the state, the commissioner must distribute all available funds under the program within the 27.10 following funding categories: 27.11 (1) Metro Projects: at least 30 percent and no more than 35 percent of the funds are for 27.12 27.13 projects that are located within, on, or directly adjacent to an area bounded by marked
- 27.14 Interstate Highways 494 and 694;
- 27.15 (2) Metro Connector Projects: at least 30 percent and no more than 35 percent of the
 27.16 funds are for projects that:
- 27.17 (i) are not included in clause (1); and
- 27.18 (ii) are located within the department's metropolitan district or within 40 miles of marked
 27.19 Interstate Highway 494 or marked Interstate Highway 694; and
- 27.20 (3) Regional Center Projects: at least 30 percent of the funds are for projects that are not
- 27.21 included in clause (1) or (2).
- 27.22 (b) The commissioner must calculate the percentages under paragraph (a) using total
- 27.23 <u>funds under the program for (1) the current project selection round, and (2) to the extent</u>
- 27.24 applicable, the two most recent prior selection rounds performed on or after the effective
- 27.25 date of this section.
- 27.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- 27.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 161.088, subdivision 5, is amended
 27.28 to read:
- Subd. 5. Project selection process; criteria. (a) The commissioner must establish a
 process to identify, evaluate, and select projects under the program. The process must be

28.1	consistent with the requirements of this subdivision and must not include any additional
28.2	evaluation scoring criteria. The process must include phases as provided in this subdivision.
28.3	(b) As part of the project selection process, the commissioner must annually accept
28.4	recommendations on candidate projects from area transportation partnerships and other
28.5	interested stakeholders in each Department of Transportation district. The commissioner
28.6	must determine the eligibility for each candidate project identified under this paragraph.
28.7	For each eligible project, the commissioner must classify and evaluate the project for the
28.8	program, using all of the criteria established under paragraph (c). Phase 1: Project
28.9	solicitation. Following enactment of each law that makes additional funds available for the
28.10	program, the commissioner must undertake a public solicitation of potential projects for
28.11	consideration. The solicitation must be performed through an Internet recommendation
28.12	process that allows for an interested party, including an individual, business, local unit of
28.13	government, corridor group, or interest group, to submit a project for consideration.
28.14	(c) Phase 2: Local screening and recommendations. The commissioner must present
28.15	the projects submitted during the open solicitation under Phase 1 to the appropriate screening
28.16	entity where each project is located. A screening entity must:
28.17	(1) consider all of the submitted projects for its area;
28.18	(2) solicit input from members of the legislature who represent the area, for project
28.19	review and nonbinding approval or disapproval; and
28.20	(3) recommend projects to the commissioner for formal scoring, as provided in Phase
28.21	<u>3.</u>
28.22	(d) Each screening entity may recommend up to three projects to the commissioner,
28.23	except that (1) the Metropolitan Council may recommend up to four projects, and (2) each
28.24	of the following counties may independently recommend up to two projects: Anoka, Carver,
28.25	Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington. A screening entity may
28.26	recommend a replacement project for one that the commissioner determines is ineligible
28.27	under subdivision 4. Each recommendation must identify any approvals or disapprovals
28.28	provided by a member of the legislature.
28.29	(e) Phase 3: Project scoring. The commissioner must confirm project eligibility under
28.30	subdivision 4 and perform a complete scoring assessment on each of the eligible projects
28.31	recommended by the screening entities under Phase 2.
28.32	(f) Projects must be evaluated scored using all of the following criteria:
28.33	(1) a return on investment measure that provides for comparison across eligible projects;

29.1	(2) measurable impacts on commerce and economic competitiveness;
29.2	(3) efficiency in the movement of freight, including but not limited to:
29.3	(i) measures of annual average daily traffic and commercial vehicle miles traveled, which
29.4	may include data near the project location on that trunk highway or on connecting trunk
29.5	and local highways; and
29.6	(ii) measures of congestion or travel time reliability, which may be within or near the
29.7	project limits, or both;
29.8	(4) improvements to traffic safety;
29.9	(5) connections to regional trade centers, local highway systems, and other transportation
29.10	modes;
29.11	(6) the extent to which the project addresses multiple transportation system policy
29.12	objectives and principles;
29.13	(7) support and consensus for the project among members of the surrounding community;
29.14	and
29.15	(8) the time and work needed before construction may begin on the project; and.
29.16	(9) regional balance throughout the state.
29.17	The commissioner must give the criteria in clauses (1) to (8) equal weight in the selection
29.18	scoring process.
29.19	(g) Phase 4: Project ranking and selection. On completion of project scoring under
29.20	Phase 3, the commissioner must develop a ranked list of projects based on total score, and
29.21	must select projects in rank order for funding under the program, subject to subdivision 4a.
29.22	The commissioner must specify the amounts and known or anticipated sources of funding
29.23	for each selected project.
29.24	(d) The list of all projects evaluated must be made public and must include the score of
29.25	each project.
29.26	(h) Phase 5: Public information. The commissioner must publish information regarding
29.27	the selection process on the department's website. The information must include:
29.28	(1) lists of all projects submitted for consideration and all projects recommended by the
29.29	screening entities;
29.30	(2) the scores and ranking for each project; and
29.31	(3) an overview of each selected project, with amounts and sources of funding.

30.1	(e) As part of the project selection process, the commissioner may divide funding to be
30.2	separately available among projects within each classification under subdivision 3, and may
30.3	apply separate or modified criteria among those projects falling within each classification.
30.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
30.5	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.115, is amended by adding a subdivision
30.6	to read:
30.7	Subd. 271. Route No. 340. Beginning at a point in or adjacent to Upper Sioux Agency
30.8	State Park; thence extending in a general northwesterly direction to a point on Route No.
30.9	67 at or near Granite Falls.
30.10	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
30.11	read:
30.12	Subd. 102. John Schlegel Memorial Highway. The segment of marked U.S. Highway
30.13	71 from Willmar to the intersection with marked Trunk Highway 7 in Kandiyohi County
30.14	is designated as "John Schlegel Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the
30.15	commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.
30.16	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
30.17	read:
30.18	Subd. 103. Prince Rogers Nelson Memorial Highway. The segment of marked Trunk
30.19	Highway 5 within the city limits of Chanhassen is designated "Prince Rogers Nelson
30.20	Memorial Highway." The commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark this highway
30.21	that conforms to the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices adopted by the
30.22	commissioner under section 169.06, except that to the extent feasible, the sign must include
30.23	the symbol associated with the artist and be purple in color. Subject to section 161.139, the
30.24	commissioner must erect appropriate signs.
30.25	Sec. 18. [161.369] INDIAN EMPLOYMENT PREFERENCE.
30.26	As authorized by United States Code, title 23, section 104, paragraph (d), the
30.27	commissioner may implement an Indian employment preference for members of federally
30.28	recognized Tribes on projects carried out under United States Code, title 23, on or near an

- 30.29 Indian reservation. For purposes of this section, a project is near an Indian reservation if
- 30.30 the project is within the distance a person seeking employment could reasonably be expected

31.1 to commute to and from each workday. The commissioner, in consultation with federally 31.2 recognized Minnesota Tribes, may determine when a project is near an Indian reservation.

31.3 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 162.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Money needs defined. For the purpose of this section, money needs of each 31.4 county are defined as the estimated total annual costs of constructing, over a period of 25 31.5 years, the county state-aid highway system in located and established by that county. Costs 31.6 incidental to construction, or a specified portion thereof as set forth in the commissioner's 31.7 rules may be included in determining money needs. To avoid variances in costs due to 31.8 differences in construction policy, construction costs shall be estimated on the basis of the 31.9 engineering standards developed cooperatively by the commissioner and the county engineers 31.10 of the several counties. 31.11

31.12 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 162.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Money needs defined. For the purpose of this section money needs of each 31.13 city having a population of 5,000 or more are defined as the estimated cost of constructing 31.14 and maintaining over a period of 25 years the municipal state-aid street system in located 31.15 and established by such city. Right-of-way costs and drainage shall be included in money 31.16 needs. Lighting costs and other costs incidental to construction and maintenance, or a 31.17 specified portion of such costs, as set forth in the commissioner's rules, may be included in 31.18 determining money needs. To avoid variances in costs due to differences in construction 31.19 and maintenance policy, construction and maintenance costs shall be estimated on the basis 31.20 of the engineering standards developed cooperatively by the commissioner and the engineers, 31.21 or a committee thereof, of the cities. 31.22

31.23 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 162.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Screening board. On or before September 1 of each year, the engineer of each 31.24 city having a population of 5,000 or more shall must update their data and forward to the 31.25 commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner, all information relating to the money 31.26 needs of the city that the commissioner deems necessary in order to apportion the municipal 31.27 state-aid street fund in accordance with the apportionment formula heretofore set forth. 31.28 31.29 Upon receipt of the information the commissioner shall must appoint a board of city engineers. The board shall must be composed of one engineer from each state highway 31.30 construction district, and in addition thereto,: (1) two city engineers from the metropolitan 31.31 district; (2) one city engineer from each nonmetropolitan district; and (3) one engineer from 31.32 each city of the first class. The board shall must investigate and review the information 31.33

submitted by each city. On or before November 1 of each year, the board shall must submit 32.1 its findings and recommendations in writing as to each city's money needs to the 32.2 commissioner on a form prepared by the commissioner. Final determination of the money 32.3 needs of each city shall must be made by the commissioner. In the event that any city shall 32.4 fail fails to submit the required information provided for herein, the commissioner shall 32.5 must estimate the money needs of the city. The estimate shall must be used in solving the 32.6 apportionment formula. The commissioner may withhold payment of the amount apportioned 32.7 32.8 to the city until the information is submitted.

32.9 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.1235, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

32.10 Subdivision 1. General requirements; fees. (a) The commissioner shall issue a special
32.11 plate emblem for each plate to an applicant who:

32.12 (1) is a member of a congressionally chartered veterans service organization and is a
32.13 registered owner of a passenger automobile, pickup truck, van, or self-propelled recreational
32.14 vehicle;

32.15 (2) pays the registration tax required by law;

32.16 (3) pays a fee in the amount specified for special plates under section 168.12, subdivision
32.17 5, for each set of two plates, and any other fees required by this chapter; and

32.18 (4) complies with this chapter and rules governing the registration of motor vehicles and32.19 licensing of drivers.

32.20 (b) The additional fee is payable at the time of initial application for the special plate 32.21 emblem and when the plates must be replaced or renewed. An applicant must not be issued 32.22 more than two sets of special plate emblems for motor vehicles listed in paragraph (a) and 32.23 registered to the applicant.

32.24 (c) The applicant must present a valid card indicating membership in the American
32.25 Legion or, Veterans of Foreign Wars, or Disabled American Veterans.

32.26 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.1253, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. No fee. The commissioner shall issue a set of Gold Star plates, or a single plate
for a motorcycle, to an eligible person free of charge, and shall replace the plate or plates
without charge if they become damaged. If the eligible person requests personalized Gold
Star plates, the commissioner must not charge the fees listed in section 168.12, subdivision
2a.

33.1 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.27, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Dealers' licenses; location change notice; fee. (a) Application for a dealer's
license or notification of a change of location of the place of business on a dealer's license
must include a street address, not a post office box, and is subject to the commissioner's
approval.

(b) Upon the filing of an application for a dealer's license and the proper fee, unless the
application on its face appears to be invalid, the commissioner shall grant a 90-day temporary
license. During the 90-day period following issuance of the temporary license, the
commissioner shall inspect the place of business site and insure compliance with this section
and rules adopted under this section.

33.11 (c) The commissioner may extend the temporary license 30 days to allow the temporarily
33.12 licensed dealer to come into full compliance with this section and rules adopted under this
33.13 section.

33.14 (d) In no more than 120 days following issuance of the temporary license, the dealer33.15 license must either be granted or denied.

33.16 (e) A license must be denied under the following conditions:

(1) The license must be denied if within the previous ten years the applicant was enjoined 33.17 due to a violation of section 325F.69 or convicted of violating section 325E.14, 325E.15, 33.18 325E.16, or 325F.69, or convicted under section 609.53 of receiving or selling stolen 33.19 vehicles, or convicted of violating United States Code, title 15, sections 1981 to 1991 49, 33.20 sections 32701 to 32711, or pleaded guilty, entered a plea of nolo contendere or no contest, 33.21 or has been found guilty in a court of competent jurisdiction of any charge of failure to pay 33.22 state or federal income or sales taxes or felony charge of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining 33.23 money under false pretenses, theft by swindle, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or bribery-; 33.24

33.25 (2) A license must be denied if the applicant has had a dealer license revoked within the
33.26 previous ten years-; or

33.27 (3) if, at the time of inspection, the applicant is not in compliance with location
 33.28 requirements or has intentionally or negligently misrepresented any information on the
 33.29 application that would be grounds for suspension or revocation under subdivision 12.

(f) If the application is approved, the commissioner shall license the applicant as a dealer
for one year from the date the temporary license is granted and issue a certificate of license
that must include a distinguishing number of identification of the dealer. The license must
be displayed in a prominent place in the dealer's licensed place of business.

(g) Each initial application for a license must be accompanied by a fee of \$100 in addition
to the annual fee. The annual fee is \$150. The initial fees and annual fees must be paid into
the state treasury and credited to the general fund except that \$50 of each initial and annual
fee must be paid into the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund
under section 299A.705.

34.6 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Records. Every dealer shall maintain for three years at an established place of 34.7 business a record in the form the department prescribes of every vehicle bought, sold, or 34.8 exchanged, or received for sale or exchange, which shall be open to inspection by a 34.9 representative of the department or peace officer during reasonable business hours inspection 34.10 hours as listed on the initial dealer license application or as noted on the dealer record. With 34.11 respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the record shall 34.12 include either the true mileage as stated by the previous owner or the fact that the previous 34.13 34.14 owner stated the actual cumulative mileage was unknown; the record also shall include either the true mileage the dealer stated upon transferring the vehicle or the fact the dealer 34.15 stated the mileage was unknown. 34.16

34.17 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

34.18 Subd. 3. Retrieval of contents; right to reclaim. (a) For purposes of this subdivision:
34.19 (1) "contents" does not include any permanently affixed mechanical or nonmechanical
34.20 automobile parts; automobile body parts; or automobile accessories, including audio or
34.21 video players; and

34.22 (2) "relief based on need" includes, but is not limited to, receipt of MFIP and Diversionary
34.23 Work Program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance,
34.24 Minnesota supplemental aid, MSA-emergency assistance, MinnesotaCare, Supplemental
34.25 Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
34.26 Program (SNAP) benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota working family tax credit.

34.27 (b) A unit of government or impound lot operator shall must establish reasonable
34.28 procedures for retrieval of vehicle contents, and may establish reasonable procedures to
34.29 protect the safety and security of the impound lot and its personnel.

34.30 (c) At any time before the expiration of the waiting periods provided in section 168B.051,
34.31 a registered owner of a vehicle who provides proof of identity that includes photographic
34.32 identification and documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or legal aid office

35.1	that the registered owner is homeless, receives relief based on need, or is eligible for legal
35.2	aid services, has the unencumbered right to retrieve any and all contents without charge and
35.3	regardless of whether the registered owner pays incurred charges or fees, transfers title, or
35.4	reclaims the vehicle. A refusal by the impound lot operator to allow the registered owner
35.5	to retrieve the vehicle contents after the owner provides valid documentation is a violation
35.6	of this paragraph.
35.7	(d) An impound lot operator may make copies of the documents presented by the
35.8	registered owner under paragraph (c), and the impound lot operator must return all of the
35.9	original documents to the registered owner immediately after copying them.
35.10	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision
35.11	to read:
35.12	Subd. 3a. Retrieval of contents; identification, medicine, and medical equipment. An
35.13	impound lot operator must allow a registered vehicle owner, or another individual on behalf
35.14	of the registered owner, to retrieve the following from an impounded vehicle: proof of
35.15	identification, prescription medicine, and durable medical equipment, including wheelchairs,
35.16	prosthetics, canes, crutches, walkers, and external braces.
35.17	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision
35.18	to read:
35.19	Subd. 3b. Retrieval of contents; notice of denial. (a) This subdivision applies to an
35.20	impound lot operator who operates a nonpublic impound lot or who exclusively contracts
35.21	with a unit of government under section 168B.09 to operate a public impound lot solely for
35.22	public use.
35.23	(b) An impound lot operator who denies a request of a registered vehicle owner to retrieve
35.24	vehicle contents after the registered owner presents documentation pursuant to subdivision
35.25	3, paragraph (c), must, at the time of denial, provide the registered owner with a written
35.26	statement that identifies the specific reasons for the denial.
35.27	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision
35.28	to read:
35.29	Subd. 3c. Retrieval of contents; public notice. (a) This subdivision applies to an
35.30	impound lot operator who operates a nonpublic impound lot or who exclusively contracts
35.31	with a unit of government under section 168B.09 to operate a public impound lot solely for
35.32	public use.

36.1	(b) An impound lot operator must post a conspicuous notice at its place of operation in
36.2	the following form:
36.3	"If you receive government benefits, are currently homeless, or are eligible for legal aid
36.4	services, you have the right to get the contents out of your car free of charge IF you give
36.5	<u>us:</u>
36.6	(1) a photo ID (such as a driver's license, passport, or employer ID); AND
36.7	(2) documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or from a legal aid office that
36.8	you get benefits from a government program based on your income; you are homeless; or
36.9	you are eligible for legal aid services. Examples of this documentation includes BUT IS
36.10	NOT LIMITED TO:
36.11	- an EBT card;
36.12	- a Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare card;
36.13	- a Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) card;
36.14	- a letter, e-mail, or other document from a government agency, a nonprofit organization,
36.15	or a legal aid organization showing that you get benefits from a government program based
36.16	on your income, you are homeless, or you are eligible for legal aid services."
36.17	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision
36.18	to read:
36.19	Subd. 3d. Retrieval of contents; remedy. (a) An aggrieved registered vehicle owner
36.20	has a cause of action as provided in this subdivision against an impound lot operator who
36.21	operates a nonpublic impound lot or who exclusively contracts with a unit of government
36.22	under section 168B.09 to operate a public impound lot solely for public use if the impound
36.23	lot operator denies the registered owner the right to retrieve the vehicle contents in violation
36.24	of subdivision 3, paragraph (c).
36.25	(b) If the vehicle and its contents remain in the possession of the impound lot operator
36.26	and retrieval of the vehicle contents was denied in violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (c),
36.27	an aggrieved registered vehicle owner is entitled to injunctive relief to retrieve the vehicle
36.28	contents as well as reasonable attorney fees and costs.
36.29	(c) If an impound lot operator sells or disposes of the vehicle contents after the registered
36.30	owner has provided the documentation required under subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an
36.31	aggrieved registered vehicle owner is entitled to statutory damages in an amount of \$1,000

37.1	and reasonable attorney fees and costs. An action brought pursuant to this paragraph must
37.2	be brought within 12 months after disposal of the vehicle contents.
37.3	Sec. 31. [169.4476] EMERGENCY RESPONSE SCHOOL BUS USE.
37.4	Subdivision 1. Emergency school bus use authority. A school bus, when operated by
37.5	a school district or by an operator under an agreement with a school district, may be used
37.6	to assist in the response to an emergency or disaster as defined in section 12.03 for the
37.7	purpose of evacuating a region or community.
37.8	Subd. 2. Requirements. (a) A school district or operator may operate a school bus under
37.9	this section if:
37.10	(1) an emergency or disaster has been declared by the chief fire or law enforcement
37.11	officer overseeing the response;
37.12	(2) immediate emergency evacuation or relocation is required to remove individuals
37.13	from an imminent threat to health or safety; and
37.14	(3) the transportation of individuals takes place only within the state of Minnesota.
37.15	(b) Nothing in this section exempts the school bus driver from the licensing requirements
37.16	under section 171.02.
37.17	Subd. 3. Registration exemption. A school bus operated under this section and displaying
37.18	registration in accordance with section 168.012, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), or
37.19	168.013, subdivision 18, may be operated without reregistration of the bus, issuance of new
37.20	plates, or payment of additional taxes and fees, as may be required under chapter 168.
37.21	Subd. 4. Annual inspection requirement. For purposes of this section, a school bus
37.22	displaying a current inspection certificate issued in accordance with section 169.451,
37.23	subdivision 2, is exempt from the inspection requirements under section 169.781, subdivision
37.24	<u>2.</u>
37.25	Subd. 5. School bus equipment. (a) Notwithstanding section 169.441, subdivision 3,
37.26	paragraph (b), or 169.448, subdivision 1, a school bus operated under this section may be:
37.27	(1) painted national school bus glossy yellow; and
37.28	(2) equipped with school bus-related equipment and printing.
37.29	(b) A school bus operated under this section is prohibited from using the equipment
37.30	required under section 169.442.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.8261, is amended to read: 38.1 169.8261 GROSS WEIGHT LIMITATIONS; FOREST PRODUCTS SPECIAL 38.2 PERMIT. 38.3 Subdivision 1. Exemption Definition. (a) For purposes of this section, "raw or unfinished 38.4 forest products" include wood chips, paper, pulp, oriented strand board, laminated strand 38.5 lumber, hardboard, treated lumber, untreated lumber, or barrel staves. 38.6 (b) In compliance with this section, a person may operate a vehicle or combination of 38.7 vehicles to haul raw or unfinished forest products by the most direct route to the nearest 38.8 paved highway on any highway with gross weights permitted under sections 169.823 to 38.9 169.829. 38.10 Subd. 1a. Six-axle vehicle permit. (a) A road authority may issue an annual permit 38.11 authorizing a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a total of six or more axles to haul 38.12 raw or unfinished forest products by the most direct route to the nearest paved highway on 38.13 any highway with gross weights permitted under sections 169.823 to 169.829, and be 38.14 38.15 operated with a gross vehicle weight of up to: (1) 90,000 pounds; and 38.16 (2) 99,000 pounds during the period set by the commissioner under section 169.826, 38.17 subdivision 1. 38.18 (b) A vehicle or combination of vehicles with a permit under this subdivision must not 38.19 be operated on an interstate highway, except as provided under United States Code, title 38.20 23, section 127(q), for operation on the specified segment of marked Interstate Highway 38.21 35. 38.22 Subd. 1b. Six-axle and over-width vehicle permit. (a) A road authority may issue an 38.23 annual permit authorizing a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a total of six or more 38.24 axles to haul raw or unfinished forest products by the most direct route to the nearest paved 38.25 38.26 highway on any highway with gross weights permitted under sections 169.823 to 169.829, and be operated with: 38.27 38.28 (1) a gross vehicle weight of up to: (i) 90,000 pounds; and 38.29 38.30 (ii) 99,000 pounds during the period set by the commissioner under section 169.826, subdivision 1; and 38.31 (2) a total outside width of the vehicle or the load that does not exceed 114 inches. 38.32

39.1	(b) In addition to the conditions in subdivision 2, a vehicle or combination of vehicles
39.2	operated with a permit under this subdivision must:
39.3	(1) display red or orange flags, 18 inches square, as markers at the front and rear and on
39.4	both sides of the load; and
39.5	(2) not be operated on any road in a metropolitan county, as defined in section 473.121 ,
39.6	subdivision 4.
39.7	(c) A vehicle or combination of vehicles with a permit under this subdivision may only
39.8	be operated on an interstate highway:
39.9	(1) as provided under United States Code, title 23, section 127(q), for operation on the
39.10	specified segment of marked Interstate Highway 35; or
39.11	(2) if the gross vehicle weight does not exceed 80,000 pounds.
39.12	Subd. 2. Conditions. (a) A vehicle or combination of vehicles described in subdivision
39.13	1 operated under this section must:
39.14	(1) comply with seasonal load restrictions in effect between the dates set by the
39.15	commissioner under section 169.87, subdivision 2;
39.16	(2) comply with bridge load limits posted under section 169.84;
39.17	(3) be equipped and operated with six or more axles and brakes on all wheels;
39.18	(4) not exceed 90,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, or 99,000 pounds gross vehicle
39.19	weight during the time when seasonal increases are authorized under section 169.826;
39.20	(5) not be operated on interstate highways;
39.21	(6) obtain an annual permit from the commissioner of transportation;
39.22	(4) be operated under a permit issued by each road authority having jurisdiction over a
39.23	road on which the vehicle is operated, if required;
39.24	(7) (5) obey all road and bridge postings, including those pertaining to lane or roadway
39.25	width; and
39.26	(8) (6) not exceed 20,000 pounds gross weight on any single axle.
39.27	(b) A vehicle operated under this section may exceed the legal axle weight limits listed
39.28	in section 169.824 by not more than 12.5 percent; except that, the weight limits may be
39.29	exceeded by not more than 23.75 percent during the time when seasonal increases are
39.30	authorized under section 169.826, subdivision 1.

- 40.1 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), clause (5), a vehicle or combination of vehicles
- 40.2 hauling raw or unfinished forest products may operate on the segment of marked Interstate
- 40.3 Highway 35 provided under United States Code, title 23, section 127(q)(2)(D).
- 40.4 Subd. 3. Expiration date. Upon request of the permit applicant, the expiration date for 40.5 a permit issued under this section must be the same as the expiration date of the permitted 40.6 vehicle's registration.

40.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022.

- 40.8 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 169A.60, subdivision 13, is amended
 40.9 to read:
- Subd. 13. Special registration plates. (a) At any time during the effective period of an
 impoundment order, a violator or registered owner may apply to the commissioner for new
 registration plates, which must bear a special series of numbers or letters so as to be readily
 identified by traffic law enforcement officers. The commissioner may authorize the issuance
 of special plates if:
- 40.15 (1) the violator has a qualified licensed driver whom the violator must identify;
- 40.16 (2) the violator or registered owner has a limited license issued under section 171.30;
- 40.17 (3) the registered owner is not the violator and the registered owner has a valid or limited
 40.18 driver's license;
- 40.19 (4) a member of the registered owner's household has a valid driver's license; or
- 40.20 (5) the violator has been reissued a valid driver's license.
- 40.21 (b) The commissioner may not issue new registration plates for that vehicle subject to
 40.22 plate impoundment for a period of at least one year from the date of the impoundment order.
 40.23 In addition, if the owner is the violator, new registration plates may not be issued for the
 40.24 vehicle unless the person has been reissued a valid driver's license in accordance with chapter
 40.25 171.
- 40.26 (c) A violator may not apply for new registration plates for a vehicle at any time before
 40.27 the person's driver's license is reinstated.
- (d) The commissioner may issue the special plates on payment of a \$50 fee for each
 vehicle for which special plates are requested, except that a person who paid the fee required
 under paragraph (f) must not be required to pay an additional fee if the commissioner issued
 an impoundment order pursuant to paragraph (g).

41.1 (e) Paragraphs (a) to (d) notwithstanding, the commissioner must issue upon request
41.2 new registration plates for any vehicle owned by a violator or registered owner for which
41.3 the registration plates have been impounded if:

41.4 (1) the impoundment order is rescinded;

41.5 (2) the vehicle is transferred in compliance with subdivision 14; or

41.6 (3) the vehicle is transferred to a Minnesota automobile dealer licensed under section

41.7 168.27, a financial institution that has submitted a repossession affidavit, or a government41.8 agency.

(f) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (d), the commissioner, upon request and payment
of a \$100 fee for each vehicle for which special plates are requested, must issue new
registration plates for any vehicle owned by a violator or registered owner for which the
registration plates have been impounded if the violator becomes a program participant in
the ignition interlock program under section 171.306. This paragraph does not apply if the
registration plates have been impounded pursuant to paragraph (g).

(g) The commissioner shall issue a registration plate impoundment order for new
registration plates issued pursuant to paragraph (f) if, before a program participant in the
ignition interlock program under section 171.306 has been restored to full driving privileges,
the program participant:

41.19 (1) either voluntarily or involuntarily ceases to participate in the program for more than
41.20 30 days; or

41.21 (2) fails to successfully complete the program as required by the Department of Public41.22 Safety due to:

(i) two or more occasions of the participant's driving privileges being withdrawn for
violating the terms of the program, unless the withdrawal is determined to be caused by an
error of the department or the interlock provider; or

41.26 (ii) violating the terms of the contract with the provider as determined by the provider.

41.27 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended
41.28 to read:

41.29 Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:

41.30 (1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
41.31 applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;

42.1	(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
42.2	any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
42.3	applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;
42.4	(3) state:
42.5	(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or
42.6	(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
42.7	Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
42.8	that the applicant certifies that the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number;
42.9	(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
42.10	directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and
42.11	(5) include a method for the applicant to:
42.12	(i) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
42.13	and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision 5a;
42.14	(ii) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under subdivision 3b, paragraph (e);
42.15	(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
42.16	subdivision 3c; and
42.17	(iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b-; and
42.18	(v) indicate the applicant's race and ethnicity.
42.19	(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:
42.20	(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and
42.21	(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
42.22	the REAL ID Act:
42.23	(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
42.24	unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;
42.25	(ii) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
42.26	(iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.
42.27	(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
42.28	be accompanied by:
42.29	(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
42.30	citizenship; and

(2) a photographic identity document. 43.1 (d) A valid Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons identification card 43.2 containing the applicant's full name, date of birth, and photograph issued to the applicant 43.3 is an acceptable form of proof of identity in an application for an identification card, 43.4 instruction permit, or driver's license as a secondary document for purposes of Minnesota 43.5 Rules, part 7410.0400, and successor rules. 43.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for all driver's license and identification 43.7 card applications submitted on or after January 1, 2023. 43.8 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.0605, subdivision 5, is amended 43.9 43.10 to read: Subd. 5. Evidence; residence in Minnesota. (a) Submission of two forms of 43.11 documentation from the following is satisfactory evidence of an applicant's principal 43.12 residence address in Minnesota under section 171.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (b): 43.13 (1) a home utility services bill issued no more than 12 months before the application; 43.14 43.15 (2) a home utility services hook-up work order issued no more than 12 months before the application; 43.16 (3) United States bank or financial information issued no more than 12 months before 43.17 the application, with account numbers redacted, including: 43.18 (i) a bank account statement; 43.19 (ii) a credit card or debit card statement; 43.20 43.21 (iii) a brokerage account statement; or (iv) a money market account statement; 43.22 (4) a certified transcript from a United States high school, if issued no more than 180 43.23 days before the application; 43.24 (5) a certified transcript from a Minnesota college or university, if issued no more than 43.25 180 days before the application; 43.26 (6) an employment pay stub issued no more than 12 months before the application that 43.27 lists the employer's name and address; 43.28 (7) a Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement issued no more than 12 43.29 months before the application; 43.30

44.1	(8) a statement from an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G, nursing
44.2	home licensed under chapter 144A, or a boarding care facility licensed under sections 144.50
44.3	to 144.56, that was issued no more than 12 months before the application;
44.4	(9) a current policy or card for health, automobile, homeowner's, or renter's insurance;
44.5	(10) a federal or state income tax return for the most recent tax filing year;
44.6	(11) a Minnesota property tax statement for the current or prior calendar year or a
44.7	proposed Minnesota property tax notice for the current year that shows the applicant's
44.8	principal residential address both on the mailing portion and the portion stating what property
44.9	is being taxed;
44.10	(12) a Minnesota vehicle certificate of title;
44.11	(13) a filed property deed or title for current residence;
44.12	(14) a Supplemental Security Income award statement issued no more than 12 months
44.13	before the application;
44.14	(15) mortgage documents for the applicant's principal residence;
44.15	(16) a residential lease agreement for the applicant's principal residence issued no more
44.16	than 12 months before the application;
44.17	(17) a valid driver's license, including an instruction permit, issued under this chapter;
44.18	(18) a valid Minnesota identification card;
44.19	(19) an unexpired Minnesota professional license;
44.20	(20) an unexpired Selective Service card;
44.21	(21) military orders that are still in effect at the time of application;
44.22	(22) a cellular phone bill issued no more than 12 months before the application; or
44.23	(23) a valid license issued pursuant to the game and fish laws.
44.24	(b) In lieu of one of the two documents required by paragraph (a), an applicant under
44.25	the age of 18 may use a parent or guardian's proof of principal residence as provided in this
44.26	paragraph. The parent or guardian of the applicant must provide a document listed under
44.27	paragraph (a) that includes the parent or guardian's name and the same address as the address
44.28	on the document provided by the applicant. The parent or guardian must also certify that
44.29	the applicant is the child of the parent or guardian and lives at that address.

45.1	(c) A document under paragraph (a) must include the applicant's name and principal
45.2	residence address in Minnesota.
45.3	(d) For purposes of this section and Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0410, Internet service
45.4	is a home utility service.
45.5	Sec. 36. [171.301] REINTEGRATION LICENSE.
45.6	Subdivision 1. Conditions of issuance. (a) The commissioner may issue a reintegration
45.7	driver's license to any person:
45.8	(1) who has been released from a period of at least 180 consecutive days of confinement
45.9	or incarceration in:
45.10	(i) an adult correctional facility under the control of the commissioner of corrections or
45.11	licensed by the commissioner of corrections under section 241.021;
45.12	(ii) a federal correctional facility for adults; or
45.13	(iii) an adult correctional facility operated under the control or supervision of any other
45.14	state;
45.15	(2) whose license has been suspended, revoked, canceled, or denied under the
45.16	circumstances listed in section 171.30, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), for
45.17	a violation that occurred before the individual was incarcerated for the period described in
45.18	clause (1); and
45.19	(3) who has not committed a violation after the person was released from custody that
45.20	results in the suspension, revocation, or cancellation of a driver's license, including suspension
45.21	for nonpayment of child support or maintenance payments as described in section 171.186,
45.22	subdivision 1.
45.23	(b) If the person's driver's license or permit to drive has been revoked under section
45.24	169.792 or 169.797, the commissioner may only issue a reintegration driver's license to the
45.25	person after the person has presented an insurance identification card, policy, or written
45.26	statement indicating that the driver or owner has insurance coverage satisfactory to the
45.27	commissioner.
45.28	(c) The commissioner must not issue a reintegration driver's license to any person
45.29	described in section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (7), (8), or (11).
45.30	(d) The commissioner must not issue a class A, class B, or class C reintegration driver's
45.31	license.

46.1	(e) The commissioner must not issue a reintegration driver's license if the issuance would
46.2	conflict with the requirements of the nonresident violator compact.
46.3	Subd. 2. Application. (a) Application for a reintegration driver's license must be made
46.4	in the form and manner approved by the commissioner.
46.5	(b) A person seeking a reintegration driver's license who was released from confinement
46.6	or incarceration on or after July 1, 2022, must apply for the license within one year of
46.7	release. A person seeking a reintegration driver's license who was released from confinement
46.8	or incarceration before July 1, 2022, must apply for the license by July 1, 2023.
46.9	Subd. 3. Fees prohibited. (a) For a reintegration driver's license under this section:
46.10	(1) the commissioner must not impose:
46.11	(i) a fee, surcharge, or filing fee under section 171.06, subdivision 2; and
46.12	(ii) an endorsement fee under section 171.06, subdivision 2a; and
46.13	(2) a driver's license agent must not impose a filing fee under section 171.061, subdivision
46.14	<u>4.</u>
46.15	(b) Issuance of a reintegration driver's license does not forgive or otherwise discharge
46.16	any unpaid fees or fines.
46.17	Subd. 4. Cancellation of license. (a) The commissioner must cancel the reintegration
46.18	driver's license of any person who commits a violation that would result in the suspension,
46.19	revocation, or cancellation of a driver's license, including suspension for nonpayment of
46.20	child support or maintenance payments as described in section 171.186, subdivision 1. The
46.21	commissioner must not cancel a reintegration driver's license for payment of a fine or
46.22	resolution of a criminal charge if the underlying incident occurred before the reintegration
46.23	driver's license was issued, unless the conviction would have made the person ineligible to
46.24	receive a reintegration driver's license. Except as described in paragraph (b), a person whose
46.25	reintegration driver's license is canceled under this subdivision may not be issued another
46.26	reintegration driver's license and may not operate a motor vehicle for the remainder of the
46.27	period of suspension or revocation, or 30 days, whichever is longer.
46.28	(b) A person whose reintegration driver's license is canceled under paragraph (a) may
46.29	apply for a new reintegration driver's license if the person is incarcerated or confined for a
46.30	period of at least 180 consecutive days after the cancellation and the person meets the
46.31	conditions described in subdivision 1.

- 47.1 (c) Nothing in this section prohibits cancellation and reinstatement of a reintegration
- 47.2 driver's license for any other reason described in section 171.14 provided any factor making
- 47.3 the person not eligible for a driver's license under section 171.04 occurred or became known
- 47.4 to the commissioner after issuance of the reintegration driver's license.
- 47.5 Subd. 5. Reinstatement of full driving privileges. Notwithstanding any statute or rule
- 47.6 to the contrary, the commissioner must reinstate full driving privileges of a person who was
- 47.7 issued a reintegration driver's license provided:
- 47.8 (1) the person has possessed the reintegration driver's license for one full year;
- 47.9 (2) the reintegration driver's license has not been canceled pursuant to subdivision 4;
- 47.10 (3) the person pays the applicable fees, surcharge, and filing fee under sections 171.06,
- 47.11 subdivisions 2 and 2a, and 171.061, subdivision 4; and
- 47.12 (4) reinstatement of full driving privileges does not conflict with the requirements of
- 47.13 <u>the nonresident violator compact.</u>
- 47.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023.
- 47.15 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.306, subdivision 4, is amended
 47.16 to read:
- 47.17 Subd. 4. Issuance of restricted license. (a) The commissioner shall issue a class D
 47.18 driver's license, subject to the applicable limitations and restrictions of this section, to a
 47.19 program participant who meets the requirements of this section and the program guidelines.
 47.20 The commissioner shall not issue a license unless the program participant has provided
 47.21 satisfactory proof that:
- 47.22 (1) a certified ignition interlock device has been installed on the participant's motor
 47.23 vehicle at an installation service center designated by the device's manufacturer; and
- (2) the participant has insurance coverage on the vehicle equipped with the ignition
 interlock device. If the participant has previously been convicted of violating section 169.791,
 169.793, or 169.797 or the participant's license has previously been suspended revoked or
 canceled under section 169.792 or 169.797, the commissioner shall require the participant
 to present an insurance identification card that is certified by the insurance company to be
 noncancelable for a period not to exceed 12 months.
- (b) A license issued under authority of this section must contain a restriction prohibiting
 the program participant from driving, operating, or being in physical control of any motor
 vehicle not equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device certified by the

48.1 commissioner. A participant may drive an employer-owned vehicle not equipped with an
48.2 interlock device while in the normal course and scope of employment duties pursuant to
48.3 the program guidelines established by the commissioner and with the employer's written
48.4 consent.

(c) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked under section 48.5 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 4, paragraph 48.6 (a), clause (1), (2), or (3); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (1), (2), (3), or (4); or 171.177, 48.7 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause 48.8 (1), (2), or (3); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause 48.9 (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 48.10 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or 48.11 (4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, 48.12 clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or 48.13 great bodily harm, where the participant has fewer than two qualified prior impaired driving 48.14 incidents within the past ten years or fewer than three qualified prior impaired driving 48.15 incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of the driver's license, subject to 48.16 the ignition interlock restriction. 48.17

(d) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked, canceled, or 48.18 denied under section 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or 48.19 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (5), (6), 48.20 or (7); or 171.177, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or subdivision 5, 48.21 paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, 48.22 paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 48.23 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), 48.24 item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 48.25 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4), resulting in bodily harm, 48.26 substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm, where the participant has two or more qualified 48.27 prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years or three or more qualified prior 48.28 48.29 impaired driving incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of the driver's license, subject to the ignition interlock restriction, if the program participant is enrolled in 48.30 a licensed chemical dependency treatment or rehabilitation program as recommended in a 48.31 chemical use assessment. As a prerequisite to eligibility for eventual reinstatement of full 48.32 driving privileges, a participant whose chemical use assessment recommended treatment 48.33 or rehabilitation shall complete a licensed chemical dependency treatment or rehabilitation 48.34 program. If the program participant's ignition interlock device subsequently registers a 48.35

positive breath alcohol concentration of 0.02 or higher, the commissioner shall extend the 49.1 time period that the participant must participate in the program until the participant has 49.2 49.3 reached the required abstinence period described in section 169A.55, subdivision 4. (e) Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, the commissioner has authority 49.4 to determine when a program participant is eligible for restoration of full driving privileges, 49.5 except that the commissioner shall not reinstate full driving privileges until the program 49.6 participant has met all applicable prerequisites for reinstatement under section 169A.55 and 49.7 49.8 until the program participant's device has registered no positive breath alcohol concentrations of 0.02 or higher during the preceding 90 days. 49.9 Sec. 38. [174.125] FEDERAL FUNDS LOCAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM. 49.10 49.11 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meaning given. 49.12

49.13 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of transportation.

49.14 (c) "Program" means the federal funds local assistance program established in this
49.15 section.

49.16 Subd. 2. Program established. The commissioner must implement a federal funds local
 49.17 assistance program to provide local match aid in an application for federal discretionary or
 49.18 competitive grants.

49.19 Subd. 3. Program administration. (a) The commissioner must establish program

49.20 requirements, including but not limited to: eligibility of projects; solicitation procedures;

49.21 an application process that is designed to minimize requirements and applicant burdens and

49.22 to align with federal application requirements; criteria to evaluate applications and select

49.23 <u>aid recipients subject to subdivision 6; procedures to commit and pay financial assistance;</u>

49.24 and a schedule that allows for application, evaluation, and awards of aid on a biannual or

- 49.25 <u>more frequent basis.</u>
- 49.26 (b) The commissioner must make reasonable efforts to publicize each solicitation among
 49.27 all eligible grant recipients. The commissioner must assist applicants to create and submit
 49.28 applications.
- 49.29 (c) The commissioner may expend up to five percent of available funds in a fiscal year
 49.30 under this section on program administration.
- 49.31 Subd. 4. Local match aid. (a) From funds made available under the program, the
- 49.32 commissioner must provide aid to an eligible recipient as provided under subdivision 5.

50.1	The aid may be provided as direct financial assistance or as a commitment to provide a
50.2	specific amount of financial assistance contingent on an award of a federal grant to the
50.3	eligible grant recipient.
50.4	(b) Aid under the program:
50.5	(1) must provide for a match requirement under a federal discretionary or competitive
50.6	grant in a manner that meets federal requirements;
50.7	(2) must be for a transportation-related project, program, or expenditure;
50.8	(3) may equal a portion or the entire amount necessary for the federal match requirement;
50.9	and
50.10	(4) may exceed the amount necessary for the federal match requirement if the
50.11	commissioner determines that an additional local match is:
50.12	(i) materially likely to increase the competitiveness of the federal application; and
50.13	(ii) anticipated to be generally comparable to competing applications for the federal
50.14	grant.
50.15	(c) If a federal grant award amount differs from the amount anticipated at the time of
50.16	application for aid under the program, the commissioner may adjust the aid amount provided
50.17	for the project or leave the aid amount unchanged.
50.18	Subd. 5. Aid recipient eligibility. The following are eligible aid recipients under the
50.19	program:
50.20	(1) a local unit of government, including but not limited to metropolitan planning
50.21	organizations;
50.22	(2) a Tribal government of a Tribe recognized by the United States Department of the
50.23	Interior Bureau of Indian Affairs;
50.24	(3) a partnership of entities identified in clauses (1) and (2);
50.25	(4) the commissioner on behalf of or acting as the agent of a local unit of government
50.26	or a Tribal government; and
50.27	(5) an entity that is eligible for a federal grant under the applicable federal program.
50.28	Subd. 6. Project evaluation. The commissioner must establish criteria to evaluate
50.29	projects for aid under the program. At a minimum, the criteria must provide for prioritization
50.30	and project selection based on:
50.31	(1) the extent to which the project provides an identifiable impact in the following:

51.1	(i) improvements to traffic safety;
51.2	(ii) improvements to pedestrian and bicyclist safety;
51.3	(iii) reduction in vehicle miles traveled;
51.4	(iv) providing for increased use of low-emission or zero-emission vehicles;
51.5	(v) reduction in greenhouse gas emissions; and
51.6	(vi) increases in equity for transportation facilities or programs in communities that are
51.7	historically or currently underrepresented in local or regional transportation planning or
51.8	projects, including indigenous communities, communities of color, low-income households,
	people with disabilities, and people with limited English proficiency;
51.9	people with disabilities, and people with minited English proficiency,
51.10	(2) anticipated competitiveness of the project for a federal grant or the existence of a
51.11	federal grant award for the project;
51.12	(3) measurable benefits with respect to transportation system performance targets or
51.13	system plans; and
51.14	(4) alignment with the transportation system goal under section 174.01, subdivision 2,
51.15	<u>clause (9).</u>
51.16	Subd. 7. Allocation categories. (a) The commissioner must categorize projects into one
51.17	of the allocation categories under paragraph (b). For a project that may be reasonably
51.18	categorized into more than one of the allocation categories, the commissioner must determine
51.19	the allocation category that reflects the predominant purpose of the project.
51.20	(b) In each fiscal year in which local match aid is provided under the program, the
51.21	commissioner must apportion the aid among the following allocation categories:
51.22	(1) 15 percent for local road and bridge projects;
51.23	(2) ten percent for transit projects outside the metropolitan area, as defined in section
51.24	<u>473.121, subdivision 2;</u>
51.25	(3) five percent for active transportation projects;
51.26	(4) three percent for electric vehicle infrastructure projects; and
51.27	(5) 67 percent on a flexible basis, which includes projects that are not otherwise
51.28	categorized under this paragraph and projects that are categorized under clauses (1) to (4).
51.29	(c) The commissioner may reallocate funds that remain in an allocation category under

51.30 paragraph (b) following the conclusion of aid awards in a fiscal year.

52.1	Subd. 8. Legislative report. (a) Annually by December 15, the commissioner must
52.2	submit a report on the program to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over
52.3	transportation policy and finance. At a minimum, the report must include:
52.4	(1) an overview of program implementation;
52.5	(2) a review of the project evaluation criteria established under subdivision 6;
52.6	(3) a fiscal review that includes a summary of aid awarded under the program with a
52.7	breakout by allocation category under subdivision 7 and the associated federal grants;
52.8	(4) an amount that is recommended to appropriate for the program in each of the
52.9	upcoming two fiscal years, including an analysis of development of the recommended
52.10	amount and an estimated breakout of aid by transportation mode or similar categorization;
52.11	and
52.12	(5) any recommendations for legislative changes to the program.
52.13	(b) This subdivision expires June 30, 2026.
52.14	Sec. 39. [174.127] FEDERAL GRANTS TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE.
52.15	(a) Subject to funds made available for purposes of this section, the commissioner must
52.16	establish a process that provides for technical assistance to a requesting local unit of
52.17	government or Tribal government that seeks to evaluate or submit an application for a
52.18	federal discretionary grant for a transportation project, program, or expenditure.
52.19	(b) As necessary, the commissioner must prioritize requests for technical assistance
52.20	based on applicant capacity to effectively complete a competitive federal grant application
52.21	and history of prior federal grant applications.
52.22	(c) Technical assistance includes but is not limited to:
52.23	(1) providing support for grant writing, analysis, technical review, application finalization,
52.24	or similar activities;
52.25	(2) providing general programmatic or legal information necessary to complete an
52.26	application; and
52.27	(3) making information available on general actions to enhance the competitiveness of
52.28	federal applications.

53.1	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
53.2	Subd. 3. Advisory committee. (a) The commissioner shall must establish a local road
53.3	improvement program advisory committee consisting of five the following members,
53.4	including:
53.5	(1) one county commissioner;
53.6	(2) one county engineer;
53.7	(3) one city engineer;
53.8	(4) one city council member or city administrator representing a city with a population
53.9	over 5,000; and
53.10	(5) one city council member or city administrator representing a city with a population
53.11	under 5,000 <u>; and</u>
53.12	(6) one town board member appointed by the Minnesota Association of Townships.
53.13	(b) The advisory committee shall must provide recommendations to the commissioner
53.14	regarding expenditures from the accounts established in this section.
53.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
53.15	
53.15 53.16	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
53.1553.1653.17	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
53.1553.1653.1753.18	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting.</u> (a) Each operator must
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting.</u> (a) Each operator must submit a report to the Office of Pipeline Safety on a quarterly basis, using a form or database
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting.</u> (a) Each operator must <u>submit a report to the Office of Pipeline Safety on a quarterly basis, using a form or database</u> <u>entry designated by the Office of Pipeline Safety. The report must contain the following</u>
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting.</u> (a) Each operator must <u>submit a report to the Office of Pipeline Safety on a quarterly basis, using a form or database</u> <u>entry designated by the Office of Pipeline Safety. The report must contain the following</u> <u>information:</u>
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting.</u> (a) Each operator must <u>submit a report to the Office of Pipeline Safety on a quarterly basis, using a form or database</u> <u>entry designated by the Office of Pipeline Safety. The report must contain the following</u> <u>information:</u> (1) the total number of notifications and the number of notifications itemized by type;
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 53.22 53.23 	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting.</u> (a) Each operator must submit a report to the Office of Pipeline Safety on a quarterly basis, using a form or database entry designated by the Office of Pipeline Safety. The report must contain the following <u>information</u> : (1) the total number of notifications and the number of notifications itemized by type; (2) for each notification type, the percentage of notifications marked by the start time
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 53.22 53.23 53.24 	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting. (a) Each operator must submit a report to the Office of Pipeline Safety on a quarterly basis, using a form or database entry designated by the Office of Pipeline Safety. The report must contain the following information: (1) the total number of notifications and the number of notifications itemized by type; (2) for each notification type, the percentage of notifications marked by the start time on the notice; and
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 53.23 53.24 53.25 	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 216D.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 5. Excavation notice system performance reporting. (a) Each operator must</u> submit a report to the Office of Pipeline Safety on a quarterly basis, using a form or database entry designated by the Office of Pipeline Safety. The report must contain the following <u>information:</u> (1) the total number of notifications and the number of notifications itemized by type; (2) for each notification type, the percentage of notifications marked by the start time <u>on the notice; and</u> (3) the number of utility damages, itemized by the cause of the damages.

54.1

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 219.1651, is amended to read:

54.2 **219.1651 GRADE CROSSING SAFETY ACCOUNT.**

A Minnesota grade crossing safety account is created in the special revenue fund, consisting of money credited to the account by law. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of transportation for rail-highway grade crossing safety projects on public streets and highways, including engineering costs <u>and other costs associated with</u> <u>administration and delivery of grade crossing safety projects</u>. At the discretion of the commissioner of transportation, money in the account at the end of each biennium may cancel to the trunk highway fund.

54.10 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 221.025, is amended to read:

54.11 **221.025 EXEMPTIONS.**

54.12 The provisions of this chapter requiring a certificate or permit to operate as a motor 54.13 carrier do not apply to the intrastate transportation described below:

(1) the transportation of students to or from school or school activities in a school bus
inspected and certified under section 169.451 and, the transportation of children or parents
to or from a Head Start facility or Head Start activity in a Head Start bus inspected and
certified under section 169.451, and the use of a school bus while operating in accordance
with section 169.4476;

(2) the transportation of solid waste, as defined in section 116.06, subdivision 22,
including recyclable materials and waste tires, except that the term "hazardous waste" has
the meaning given it in section 221.012, subdivision 18;

54.22 (3) a commuter van as defined in section 221.012, subdivision 9;

(4) authorized emergency vehicles as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 3, including
ambulances; and tow trucks equipped with proper and legal warning devices when picking
up and transporting (i) disabled or wrecked motor vehicles or (ii) vehicles towed or
transported under a towing order issued by a public employee authorized to issue a towing
order;

54.28 (5) the transportation of grain samples under conditions prescribed by the commissioner;

54.29 (6) the delivery of agricultural lime;

54.30 (7) the transportation of dirt and sod within an area having a 50-mile radius from the 54.31 home post office of the person performing the transportation;

(8) the transportation of sand, gravel, bituminous asphalt mix, concrete ready mix,
concrete blocks or tile and the mortar mix to be used with the concrete blocks or tile, or
crushed rock to or from the point of loading or a place of gathering within an area having
a 50-mile radius from that person's home post office or a 50-mile radius from the site of
construction or maintenance of public roads and streets;

(9) the transportation of pulpwood, cordwood, mining timber, poles, posts, decorator
evergreens, wood chips, sawdust, shavings, and bark from the place where the products are
produced to the point where they are to be used or shipped;

(10) the transportation of fresh vegetables from farms to canneries or viner stations,
from viner stations to canneries, or from canneries to canneries during the harvesting,
canning, or packing season, or transporting sugar beets, wild rice, or rutabagas from the
field of production to the first place of delivery or unloading, including a processing plant,
warehouse, or railroad siding;

(11) the transportation of unprocessed dairy products in bulk within an area having a
100-mile radius from the home post office of the person providing the transportation;

(12) the transportation of agricultural, horticultural, dairy, livestock, or other farm
products within an area having a 100-mile radius from the person's home post office and
the carrier may transport other commodities within the 100-mile radius if the destination
of each haul is a farm;

(13) the transportation of newspapers, telephone books, handbills, circulars, or pamphlets
in a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or less; and

(14) transportation of potatoes from the field of production, or a storage site owned orotherwise controlled by the producer, to the first place of processing.

55.24 The exemptions provided in this section apply to a person only while the person is 55.25 exclusively engaged in exempt transportation.

55.26 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

55.27 Subd. 3. **Killed in the line of duty.** (a) "Killed in the line of duty" does not include 55.28 deaths from natural causes, except as provided in this subdivision. In the case of a public 55.29 safety officer, killed in the line of duty includes the death of a public safety officer caused 55.30 by accidental means while the public safety officer is acting in the course and scope of 55.31 duties as a public safety officer.

(b) Killed in the line of duty also means if a public safety officer dies as the direct and 56.1 proximate result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture, that officer shall be presumed 56.2 to have died as the direct and proximate result of a personal injury sustained in the line of 56.3 duty if: 56.4 (1) that officer, while on duty: 56.5 (i) engaged in a situation, and that engagement involved nonroutine stressful or strenuous 56.6 physical law enforcement, fire suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency 56.7 medical services, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity; or 56.8 (ii) participated in a training exercise, and that participation involved nonroutine stressful 56.9 or strenuous physical activity; 56.10 (2) that officer died as a result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture suffered: 56.11 (i) while engaging or participating under clause (1); 56.12 (ii) while still on duty after engaging or participating under clause (1); or 56.13 (iii) not later than 24 hours after engaging or participating under clause (1); and 56.14 (3) the presumption is not overcome by competent medical evidence to the contrary. 56.15 (c) Killed in the line of duty includes the death of a public safety officer that is: 56.16 (1) the result of a disabling cancer of a type caused by exposure to heat, radiation, or a 56.17 known or suspected carcinogen, as defined by the International Agency for Research on 56.18 Cancer, and the carcinogen is reasonably linked to the disabling cancer; or 56.19 (2) the result of suicide secondary to a diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder as 56.20 described in the most recently published edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 56.21 of Mental Disorders by the American Psychiatric Association. 56.22

56.23 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299D.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Traffic fines and forfeited bail money. (a) All fines and forfeited bail money 56.24 collected from persons apprehended or arrested by officers of the State Patrol shall be 56.25 transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines, forfeited bail money, or installments 56.26 thereof, on or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which these moneys 56.27 were collected, to the commissioner of management and budget. Except where a different 56.28 disposition is required in this subdivision or section 387.213, or otherwise provided by law, 56.29 56.30 three-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state general fund. The other five-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state 56.31

treasury and credited as follows: (1) the first \$1,000,000 \$2,500,000 in each fiscal year must 57.1 be credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account in the special revenue fund, and 57.2 (2) remaining receipts must be credited to the state trunk highway fund. If, however, the 57.3 violation occurs within a municipality and the city attorney prosecutes the offense, and a 57.4 plea of not guilty is entered, one-third of the receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury 57.5 and credited to the state general fund, one-third of the receipts shall be paid to the 57.6 municipality prosecuting the offense, and one-third shall be deposited in the state treasury 57.7 and credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account or the state trunk highway fund 57.8 as provided in this paragraph. When section 387.213 also is applicable to the fine, section 57.9 387.213 shall be applied before this paragraph is applied. All costs of participation in a 57.10 nationwide police communication system chargeable to the state of Minnesota shall be paid 57.11 from appropriations for that purpose. 57.12

(b) All fines and forfeited bail money from violations of statutes governing the maximum 57.13 weight of motor vehicles, collected from persons apprehended or arrested by employees of 57.14 the state of Minnesota, by means of stationary or portable scales operated by these employees, 57.15 shall be transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines or forfeited bail money, on 57.16 or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which the collections were made, 57.17 to the commissioner of management and budget. Five-eighths of these receipts shall be 57.18 deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state highway user tax distribution fund. 57.19 Three-eighths of these receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the 57.20 state general fund. 57.21

57.22 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299F.60, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Money penalty. Any person who violates any provision of sections
299F.56 to 299F.641, or any rule issued thereunder, is subject to a civil penalty to be imposed
by the commissioner not to exceed \$100,000 for each violation for each day that the violation
persists, except that the maximum civil penalty must not exceed \$1,000,000 for any related
series of violations the maximum penalties listed in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49,
part 190.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299J.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Civil penalty. (a) A pipeline operator who violates section 299J.07,
subdivision 1, or 299J.15, or the rules of the commissioner implementing those sections,
shall forfeit and pay to the state a civil penalty in an amount to be determined by the court,
up to \$100,000 for each day that the operator remains in violation, subject to a maximum

58.1	of \$1,000,000 for a related series of violations the maximum penalties listed in Code of
58.2	Federal Regulations, title 49, part 190.
58.3	(b) The penalty provided under this subdivision may be recovered by an action brought
58.4	by the attorney general at the request of the commissioner, in the name of the state, in
58.5	connection with an action to recover expenses of the director under section 299J.13,
58.6	subdivision 4:
58.7	(1) in the District Court of Ramsey County; or
58.8	(2) in the county of the defendant's residence.
58.9	Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 360.55, subdivision 9, is amended
58.10	to read:
58.11	Subd. 9. Small unmanned aircraft systems. (a) Any small unmanned aircraft system
58.12	in which the unmanned aircraft weighs less than 55 pounds at takeoff, including payload
58.13	and anything affixed to the aircraft, either, as defined in section 360.013, subdivision 57b:
58.14	(1) must be registered in the state for an annual fee of \$25; or
58.15	(2) is not subject to registration or an annual fee if the unmanned aircraft system is owned
58.16	and operated solely for recreational purposes.
58.17	(b) An unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements under paragraph (a) is
58.18	exempt from aircraft registration tax under sections 360.511 to 360.67.
58.19	(c) Owners must, at the time of registration, provide proof of insurability in a form
58.20	acceptable to the commissioner. Additionally, owners must maintain records and proof that
58.21	each flight was covered by an insurance policy with limits of not less than \$300,000 per
58.22	occurrence for bodily injury or death to nonpassengers in any one accident. The insurance
58.23	must comply with section 60A.081, unless that section is inapplicable under section 60A.081,
58.24	subdivision 3.
50.05	See 40 Minnagete Statutes 2021 Symplement section 260 50 subdivision 10 is such d
58.25	Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 360.59, subdivision 10, is amended
58.26	to read:

Subd. 10. Certificate of insurance. (a) Every owner of aircraft in this state when applying
for registration, reregistration, or transfer of ownership shall supply any information the
commissioner reasonably requires to determine that the aircraft during the period of its
contemplated operation is covered by an insurance policy with limits of not less than
\$100,000 per passenger seat liability both for passenger bodily injury or death and for

property damage; not less than \$100,000 for bodily injury or death to each nonpassenger
in any one accident; and not less than \$300,000 per occurrence for bodily injury or death
to nonpassengers in any one accident. The insurance must comply with section 60A.081,
unless that section is inapplicable under section 60A.081, subdivision 3.

59.5 The information supplied to the commissioner must include but is not limited to the 59.6 name and address of the owner, the period of contemplated use or operation, if any, and, if 59.7 insurance coverage is then presently required, the name of the insurer, the insurance policy 59.8 number, the term of the coverage, policy limits, and any other data the commissioner requires. 59.9 No certificate of registration shall be issued pursuant to subdivision 3 in the absence of the 59.10 information required by this subdivision.

(b) In the event of cancellation of aircraft insurance by the insurer, the insurer shall
notify the Department of Transportation at least ten days prior to the date on which the
insurance coverage is to be terminated. Unless proof of a new policy of insurance is filed
with the department meeting the requirements of this subdivision during the period of the
aircraft's contemplated use or operation, the registration certificate for the aircraft shall be
revoked forthwith.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to require an owner of aircraft to
maintain passenger seat liability coverage on aircraft for which an experimental certificate
has been issued by the administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration pursuant to
Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, sections 21.191 to 21.195 and 91.319, whereunder
persons operating the aircraft are prohibited from carrying passengers in the aircraft or for
an unmanned aircraft. Whenever the aircraft becomes certificated to carry passengers,
passenger seat liability coverage shall be required as provided in this subdivision.

(d) The requirements of this subdivision shall not apply to any aircraft built by the original manufacturer prior to December 31, 1939, and owned and operated solely as a collector's item, if the owner files an affidavit with the commissioner. The affidavit shall state the owner's name and address, the name and address of the person from whom the aircraft was purchased, the make, year, and model number of the aircraft, the federal aircraft registration number, the manufacturer's identification number, and that the aircraft is owned and operated solely as a collector's item and not for general transportation purposes.

(e) A small unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements of section 360.55,
subdivision 9, is not subject to the requirements under paragraphs (a) and (b). Owners of
small unmanned aircraft systems that meet the requirements of section 360.55, subdivision
9.34 9, must, at the time of registration, provide proof of insurability in a form acceptable to the

60.1	commissioner. Additionally, such operators must maintain records and proof that each flight
60.2	was insured for the limits established in paragraph (a).
60.3	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.375, is amended by adding a subdivision
60.4	to read:
60.5	Subd. 9b. Safe accessibility training. (a) The council must ensure that vehicle operators
60.6	who provide bus service receive training on assisting persons with disabilities and mobility
60.7	limitations to enter and leave the vehicle. The training must cover assistance in circumstances
60.8	where regular access to or from the vehicle is unsafe due to snow, ice, or other obstructions.
60.9	This subdivision applies to vehicle operators employed by the Metropolitan Council or by
60.10	a replacement service provider.
60.11	(b) The council must consult with the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee
60.12	on the training.
60.13	EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
60.14	final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
60.15	Scott, and Washington.
60.16	Sec. 51. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 274 REMOVED.
60.17	(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 205, is repealed effective the day
60.18	after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
60.19	commissioner and the governing body of Yellow Medicine County to transfer jurisdiction
60.20	of a segment of Legislative Route No. 274 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph
60.21	<u>(b).</u>
60.22	(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
60.23	Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
60.24	or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.
60.25	Sec. 52. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 301 REMOVED.
60.26	(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 232, is repealed effective the day
60.27	after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
60.28	commissioner and the governing body of the city of St. Cloud to transfer jurisdiction of
60.29	Legislative Route No. 301 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

61.1	(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota					
61.2	Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically					
61.3	or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.					
61.4	Sec. 53. TRANSIT SIGNAL PRIORITY SYSTEM PLANNING.					
61.5	Subdivision 1. Establishment. By August 1, 2022, the Metropolitan Council must					
61.6	convene a working group to perform planning on transit signal priority systems and related					
61.7	transit advantage improvements on high-frequency and high-ridership bus routes in the					
61.8	metropolitan area, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision 2.					
61.9	Subd. 2. Membership. The Metropolitan Council must solicit the following members					
61.10	to participate in the working group:					
61.11	(1) one member representing Metro Transit, appointed by the Metropolitan Council;					
61.12	(2) one member representing the Department of Transportation, appointed by the					
61.13	commissioner of transportation;					
61.14	(3) one member representing Minneapolis, appointed by the Minneapolis City Council;					
61.15	(4) one member representing St. Paul, appointed by the St. Paul City Council;					
61.16	(5) one member representing Hennepin County, appointed by the Hennepin County					
61.17	Board;					
61.18	(6) one member representing Ramsey County, appointed by the Ramsey County Board;					
61.19	(7) one member from a city participating in the replacement service program under					
61.20	Minnesota Statutes, section 473.388, appointed by the Suburban Transit Association;					
61.21	(8) one member from the Center for Transportation Studies at the University of					
61.22	Minnesota;					
61.23	(9) one member from Move Minnesota; and					
61.24	(10) other members as identified by the Metropolitan Council.					
61.25	Subd. 3. Duties. At a minimum, the working group must:					
61.26	(1) assess the current status and capability of transit signal priority systems among the					
61.27	relevant road authorities;					
61.28	(2) identify key barriers and constraints and measures to address the barriers;					
61.29	(3) explore methods for ongoing coordination among the relevant road authorities;					

61.30 (4) estimate costs of potential improvements; and

Article 3 Sec. 53.

62.1	(5) develop a proposal or recommendations to implement transit signal priority systems
62.2	and related transit advantage improvements, including a prioritized listing of locations or
62.3	routes.
62.4	Subd. 4. Administration. Upon request of the working group, the Metropolitan Council
62.5	and the commissioner of transportation must provide administrative and technical support
62.6	for the working group.
62.7	Subd. 5. Report. By December 15, 2022, the Metropolitan Council must submit a report
62.8	on transit signal priority system improvements to the chairs and ranking minority members
62.9	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance. At a
62.10	minimum, the report must summarize the results of the working group and provide
62.11	information on each of the activities specified in subdivision 3.
62.12	Subd. 6. Expiration. The working group under this section expires December 31, 2022.
62.13	EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
62.14	final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
62.15	Scott, and Washington.
62.16	Sec. 54. ROAD USAGE CHARGE TASK FORCE.
02.10	
62.17	Subdivision 1. Definition. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
62.18	meaning given.
62.19	(b) "Road usage charge" means a tax, fee, or other charge imposed on a motor vehicle
62.20	on the basis of distance traveled or other measure of vehicle use of public highways.
62.21	(c) "Task force" means the Road Usage Charge Task Force established in this section.
62.22	Subd. 2. Establishment. The Road Usage Charge Task Force is established to develop
62.23	recommendations on implementation of a road usage charge in Minnesota.
62.24	Subd. 3. Membership. (a) The task force consists of the following members:
62.25	(1) two members of the senate, with one appointed by the senate majority leader and
62.26	one appointed by the senate minority leader;
62.27	(2) two members of the house of representatives, with one appointed by the speaker of
62.28	the house and one appointed by the house minority leader;
62.29	(3) one member from the Department of Transportation, appointed by the commissioner
62.30	of transportation;

63.1	(4) one member from the Driver and Vehicle Services Division of the Department of		
63.2	Public Safety, appointed by the commissioner of public safety;		
63.3	(5) one member from the Public Utilities Commission, appointed by the Minnesota		
63.4	Public Utilities Commission;		
63.5	(6) one member representing public utilities, as defined in section 216B.02, subdivision		
63.6	4, that provide electric service to retail customers in Minnesota, appointed by the		
63.7	commissioner of transportation;		
63.8	(7) one member appointed by the Alliance for Automotive Innovation;		
63.9	(8) one member appointed by the Center for Transportation Studies of the University		
63.10	of Minnesota;		
63.11	(9) one member appointed by the Minnesota Transportation Alliance;		
63.12	(10) one member appointed by the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce;		
63.13	(11) one member appointed by the Great Plains Institute;		
63.14	(12) one member appointed by Fresh Energy; and		
63.15	(13) one member appointed by the Minnesota Electric Vehicle Owners chapter of the		
63.16	Electric Vehicle Association.		
63.17	(b) Appointing authorities must make initial appointments to the task force by August		
63.18	<u>1, 2022.</u>		
63.19	Subd. 4. Duties. The task force must:		
63.20	(1) identify and analyze road usage charge options and considerations, including with		
63.21	respect to technical constraints, revenue impacts, equity across highway system users, data		
63.22	privacy, and impacts to motorists;		
63.23	(2) review road usage charge implementation in other states;		
63.24	(3) evaluate road usage charge implementation in Minnesota for electric vehicles or		
63.25	all-electric vehicles, as the terms are defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011,		
63.26	subdivisions 1a and 26a, and for other vehicles with high fuel economy; and		
63.27	(4) develop recommendations for a pilot program or for phased or full road usage charge		
63.28	implementation, including proposed legislation.		
63.29	Subd. 5. Meetings; chair. (a) By September 15, 2022, the chair of the Legislative		
63.30	Coordinating Commission must convene the first meeting of the task force.		

64.1	(b) At the first meeting, the task force must elect a chair or cochairs by a majority vote					
64.2	of those members present.					
64.3	(c) The meetings of the task force are subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13D.					
64.4	Subd. 6. Administration. (a) The Legislative Coordinating Commission must provide					
64.5	administrative assistance to the task force.					
64.6	(b) Upon request of the task force, the commissioners of transportation and public safety					
64.7	must provide general informational and technical support to the task force.					
64.8	Subd. 7. Compensation. Public members of the task force are compensated as provided					
64.9	in Minnesota Statutes, section 15.059, subdivision 3.					
64.10	Subd. 8. Report. By January 15, 2023, the task force must submit a report to the chairs					
64.11	and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over					
64.12	transportation policy and finance. At a minimum, the report must summarize the activities					
64.13	of the task force and provide information on the duties specified in subdivision 4.					
64.14	Subd. 9. Expiration. The task force expires on January 15, 2023.					
64.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.					
64.16	Sec. 55. REPORT; HIGHWAYS FOR HABITAT PROGRAM.					
64.17	By January 15, 2025, the commissioner of transportation must submit a report to the					
64.18	chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over					
64.19	transportation and the environment and natural resources on the implementation of the					
64.20	highways for habitat program under Minnesota Statutes, section 160.2325. At a minimum,					
64.21	the report must include an overview of program implementation and information on					
64.22	expenditure of funds under the program.					
64.23	Sec. 56. <u>REPEALER.</u>					
64.24	Minnesota Rules, part 8835.0350, subpart 2, is repealed.					
64.25	ARTICLE 4					
64.26	INDEPENDENT EXPERT REVIEW PROVISIONS					
64.27	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, is amended by adding a subdivision					
64.28	to read:					
64.29						
	Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is					
64.30	Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's					

65.1 <u>license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International</u>
 65.2 Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions.

65.3 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended
65.4 to read:

Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this
section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any
driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record,
vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.

(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records
governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of \$10
for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of \$9 for each record that is not
certified.

(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in
paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format
is \$1 for each page of the historical record.

(d) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for driver's license, 65.16 instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records, must be paid into the state 65.17 65.18 treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund-, and the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to must be deposited in the the driver 65.19 services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705. Of the fee 65.20 collected by a full-service provider under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction 65.21 permit, and Minnesota identification card records, the provider must transmit 50 cents to 65.22 the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and the provider must retain the 65.23 remainder. 65.24

(e) Fees_Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund-, and the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund specified in section 299A.705. Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, the provider must transmit 50 cents of each fee to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and

65.32 <u>the provider must retain the remainder.</u>

(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall or full-service
provider must permit a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means
for a fee of \$4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester
is the subject of the data.
(g) Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraph (f):

66.6 (1) \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund;

66.7 (2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the
66.8 remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue
66.9 fund under section 299A.705; and

66.10 (3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle
66.11 services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.

(h) Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraph (f), the provider must
 transmit \$2.70 to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, and the provider
 must retain the remainder.

 $\begin{array}{ll} 66.15 & (\underline{g})(\underline{i}) \end{array} \\ \text{Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by} \\ 66.16 & \text{section 169.09, subdivision 13.} \end{array}$

66.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests 66.18 for records made on or after that date.

66.19 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

66.20 Subd. 2. **Requests for information; surcharge on fee.** (a) Except as otherwise provided 66.21 in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge 66.22 of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner or full-service provider under section 66.23 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the 66.24 registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, 66.25 or Minnesota identification card.

(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person
or, by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem <u>online</u>. The surcharge
does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's
license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or
titled in the individual's name.

(c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited 67.1 to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted 67.2 to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund. 67.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests 67.4 for records made on or after that date. 67.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 67.6 Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section 67.7 13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information 67.8 about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied 67.9 that: 67.10 (1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit 67.11 organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and 67.12 (2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled 67.13 substance law violators, or health code violators. 67.14 67.15 (b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a 67.16 maximum number of data requests. 67.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests 67.18 for records made on or after that date. 67.19 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 67.20 Subd. 7. Filing fees; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a 67.21 filing fee of: 67.22 67.23 (1) \$7 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions; and 67.24 67.25 (2) \$11 is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor carrier fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions. 67.26 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a): 67.27 (1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction 67.28 of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and 67.29

(2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for avehicle.

68.3 (c) The filing fee must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices68.4 sent out by the commissioner.

(d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may
be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the
statutory fees, taxes, and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or
debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner
of public safety. The surcharge must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit
card transactions.

(e) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department for in-person transactions
must be allocated as follows:

- 68.13 (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
- (i) \$5.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and
- 68.15 (ii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
- 68.16 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
- 68.17 (i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
- 68.18 (ii) \$6.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and

(iii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account.

- 68.20 (f) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department for mail or online
- 68.21 transactions must be allocated as follows:
- 68.22 (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
- 68.23 (i) \$2.75 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account;
- (ii) \$0.75 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
- 68.25 (iii) \$3.50 must be deposited in the full-service provider account; and
- 68.26 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
- 68.27 (i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
- 68.28 (ii) \$3.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account;
- 68.29 (iii) \$0.75 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and

69.1

(iv) \$3.75 must be deposited in the full-service provider account.

- 69.2 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.345, is amended to read:
- 69.3

168.345 USE OF VEHICLE REGISTRATION INFORMATION.

69.4 Subdivision 1. Information by telephone. Information about vehicle registrations shall
69.5 <u>must</u> not be furnished on the telephone to any person except the <u>owner of the vehicle</u>,
69.6 personnel of law enforcement agencies, and the personnel of governmental motor vehicle
69.7 and registration offices.

Subd. 2. Lessees; information. The commissioner may not furnish information about 69.8 registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180 69.9 days or more to any person except the owner of the vehicle, the lessee, personnel of law 69.10 enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section 69.11 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the 69.12 commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automobile 69.13 recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary 69.14 data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistical 69.15 analysis and market research. 69.16

69.17 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended69.18 to read:

Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports
and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the
commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal
governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:

(1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as
 defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must
 disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:

(i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate,
or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under
section 573.02;

(ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs
other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;

69.31 (iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii);

70.1

(iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or

- (v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent
 action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result
 of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;
- 70.5 (2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver
 70.6 filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;
- (3) (2) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle
 insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;
- 70.9 (4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of
 70.10 transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial
 70.11 motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;
- (5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the
 commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident
 involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection
 under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and
- 70.16(6) (5) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of70.17Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant70.18programs relating to safety.
- (b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any 70.19 provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in 70.20 any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out 70.21 of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the 70.22 demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any 70.23 court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the 70.24 70.25 commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the commissioner. 70.26
- (c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under
 this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their
 representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident,
 as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render
 privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which
 the reports relate.

- (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in
 this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
- (e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section 71.3 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a \$5 71.4 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the \$5 fee collected by the 71.5 commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and 71.6 credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten 71.7 percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the \$5 fee collected by a full-service 71.8 provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the 71.9 general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner or full-service 71.10 provider may also furnish an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which 71.11 must not contain personal or private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided 71.12 in paragraph (g), for not less than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided 71.13 in section 13.03, subdivision 3. 71.14

(f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner, a full-service 71.15 provider, and law enforcement agencies shall must charge commercial users who request 71.16 access to response or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per 71.17 record. "Commercial user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more 71.18 than five accident reports per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a 71.19 commercial purpose. Of the money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 71.20 90 percent must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services 71.21 operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the 71.22 general fund. Of the fees collected by a full-service provider under this paragraph, the 71.23 provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, 71.24 and the provider must retain the remainder. 71.25

(g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall or 71.26 full-service provider must provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to 71.27 the public on a case-by-case basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 71.28 71.29 13.03, subdivision 3. The database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However, unless the accident records database includes the vehicle 71.30 identification number, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must include the 71.31 vehicle registration plate number if a private agency certifies and agrees that the agency: 71.32 (1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles; 71.33

72.1	(2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have								
72.2	been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access								
72.3	to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and								
72.4	(3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.								
72.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests								
72.6	for records made on or after that	date.							
72.7	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to								
72.8	read:								
72.9	Subd. 33a. Full-service prov	vider. "Full-servic	e provider" m	eans a person	who is				
72.10	appointed by the commissioner a	as both a driver's l	icense agent v	who provides a	all driver				
72.11	services excluding International	Registration Plan	and Internatio	onal Fuel Tax	Agreement				
72.12	transactions under this chapter and deputy registrar services under chapter 168.								
72.13	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 202	0, section 171.06,	, subdivision 2	2, is amended	to read:				
72.14	Subd. 2. Fees. (a) The fees for a license and Minnesota identification card are as follows:								
72.15 72.16 72.17	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Classified Driver's License	D-\$21.00	C-\$25.00	B-\$32.00	A-\$40.00				
72.17 72.18 72.19 72.20	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Classified Under-21 D.L.	D-\$21.00	C-\$25.00	B-\$32.00	A-\$20.00				
72.21	Enhanced Driver's License	D-\$36.00	C-\$40.00	B-\$47.00	A-\$55.00				
72.22 72.23 72.24	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Instruction Permit				\$5.25				
72.25 72.26	Enhanced Instruction Permit				\$20.25				
72.27 72.28	Commercial Learner's Permit				\$2.50				
72.29 72.30 72.31	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Provisional License				\$8.25				
72.32 72.33	Enhanced Provisional License				\$23.25				
72.34 72.35 72.36 72.37	Duplicate REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant License or duplicate REAL ID Compliant or								
72.38 72.39	Noncompliant identification card				\$6.75				

	04/03/22 03:45 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/MV	H1683DE1
73.1	Enhanced Duplicate			
73.2	License or enhanced			
73.3	duplicate identification card			\$21.75
73.4	REAL ID Compliant or			
73.5	Noncompliant Minnesota			
73.6	identification card or REAL			
73.7	ID Compliant or			
73.8	Noncompliant Under-21			
73.9	Minnesota identification			
73.10	card, other than duplicate,			
73.11	except as otherwise			
73.12	provided in section 171.07,			
73.13	subdivisions 3 and 3a			\$11.25
73.14	Enhanced Minnesota			
73.15	identification card			\$26.25

From August 1, 2019, to June 30, 2022, the fee is increased by \$0.75 for REAL ID compliant
or noncompliant classified driver's licenses, REAL ID compliant or noncompliant classified
under-21 driver's licenses, and enhanced driver's licenses.

(b) In addition to each fee required in paragraph (a), the commissioner shall must collect

a surcharge of \$2.25. Surcharges collected under this paragraph must be credited to the
driver and vehicle services technology account under section 299A.705.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an individual who holds a provisional license and
has a driving record free of (1) convictions for a violation of section 169A.20, 169A.33,
169A.35, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, or section 171.177, (2) convictions for crash-related
moving violations, and (3) convictions for moving violations that are not crash related, shall
<u>must have a \$3.50 credit toward the fee for any classified under-21 driver's license</u>. "Moving
violation" has the meaning given it in section 171.04, subdivision 1.

(d) In addition to the driver's license fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner
shall <u>must</u> collect an additional \$4 processing fee from each new applicant or individual
renewing a license with a school bus endorsement to cover the costs for processing an
applicant's initial and biennial physical examination certificate. The department shall <u>must</u>
not charge these applicants any other fee to receive or renew the endorsement.

(e) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), a driver's license agent may charge
and retain a filing fee as provided under section 171.061, subdivision 4.

(f) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall must
charge a filing fee at the same amount as a driver's license agent under section 171.061,
subdivision 4. Revenue collected under this paragraph for in-person transactions must be
deposited in the driver services operating account under section 299A.705. Revenue collected
under this paragraph for mail or online transactions must be allocated as follows:

74.1	(1) 50 percent must be deposited in the driver services operating account un	nder	section
74.2	299A.705, subdivision 2; and		
74.3	(2) 50 percent must be deposited in the full-service provider account under	sect	ion
74.4	299A.705, subdivision 3a.		
74.5	(g) An application for a Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, p	rovi	sional
74.6	license, or driver's license, including an application for renewal, must contain a	a pro	vision
74.7	that allows the applicant to add to the fee under paragraph (a), a \$2 donation for t	he pı	urposes
74.8	of public information and education on anatomical gifts under section 171.075		
74.9	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a sul	bdivi	ision to
74.10	read:		
74.11	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. (a) The commissioner must establish a	proc	cess for
74.12	an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driv	ver's	license
74.13	or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the pre-	eapp	lication
74.14	so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The pre	eappl	ication
74.15	must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in pe	rson	at the
74.16	time of the application. The commissioner must provide a link to the preapplicat	tion	vebsite
74.17	at the time an individual schedules an appointment to apply for a REAL ID-co	mpli	ant
74.18	driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card.		
74.19	(b) An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in pe	rson	before
74.20	a driver's license agent to submit a completed application for the REAL ID-compl	iant	driver's
74.21	license or REAL ID-compliant identification card.		
74.22	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended	d to 1	ead:
74.23	Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of	\$8 f	or each
74.24	application-, as follows:		
74.25 74.26	(1) New application for noncompliant driver's license or noncompliant Minnesota identification card	<u>\$</u>	<u>11.00</u>
74.27	(2) New application for REAL ID compliant driver's license, REAL	<u>\$</u>	16.00
74.28 74.29	ID compliant Minnesota identification card, enhanced driver's license, or enhanced Minnesota identification card		
74.30	(3) Renewal application for noncompliant driver's license or	<u>\$</u>	11.00
74.31	noncompliant Minnesota identification card		
74.32 74.33	(4) <u>Renewal application for REAL ID compliant driver's license</u> , REAL ID compliant Minnesota identification card, enhanced	<u>\$</u>	11.00
74.34	driver's license, or enhanced Minnesota identification card		

Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall must cover all expenses involved in
receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required
under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions
3 and 3a.

(b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by
credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the
statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit
card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card
and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this
paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386,
paragraph (b), does not apply.

(c) The department shall must maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents 75.12 appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance 75.13 of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to 75.14 Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part 75.15 7404.0400, the department shall must provide and maintain photo identification equipment 75.16 without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided 75.17 the equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment 75.18 must be compatible with standards established by the department. 75.19

(d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the
county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not
an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or
salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under
the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement
Association.

(e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period
established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications
and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).

75.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to applications
 75.30 made on or after that date.

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision
 to read:
- Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish
 the driver's manual on the department's website. The commissioner must also publish study
 support materials for the written exam and skills exam, with a focus on the subjects and
 skills that are most commonly failed by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that
 the driver's manual and study support materials are easily located and available for no cost.
- ^{76.8} Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Driver and vehicle services information system; security and auditing. (a) 76.9 The commissioner must establish written procedures to ensure that only individuals 76.10 authorized by law may enter, update, or access not public data collected, created, or 76.11 maintained by the driver and vehicle services information system. An authorized individual's 76.12 ability to enter, update, or access data in the system must correspond to the official duties 76.13 or training level of the individual and to the statutory authorization granting access for that 76.14 purpose. All queries and responses, and all actions in which data are entered, updated, 76.15 76.16 accessed, shared, or disseminated, must be recorded in a data audit trail. Data contained in the audit trail are public to the extent the data are not otherwise classified by law. 76.17

(b)The commissioner must not revoke the authorization of any individual who properly 76.18 accessed data to complete an authorized transaction or to resolve an issue that does not 76.19 result in a completed authorized transaction. The commissioner must immediately and 76.20 permanently revoke the authorization of any individual who willfully entered, updated, 76.21 accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of state or federal law. If an individual 76.22 willfully gained access to data without authorization by law, the commissioner must forward 76.23 the matter to the appropriate prosecuting authority for prosecution. The commissioner must 76.24 establish a process that allows an individual whose access was revoked to appeal that 76.25 decision. 76.26

(c) The commissioner must arrange for an independent biennial audit of the driver and 76.27 vehicle services information system to determine whether data currently in the system are 76.28 classified correctly, how the data are used, and to verify compliance with this subdivision. 76.29 The results of the audit are public. No later than 30 days following completion of the audit, 76.30 the commissioner must provide a report summarizing the audit results to the commissioner 76.31 of administration; the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house 76.32 of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance, 76.33 public safety, and data practices; and the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and 76.34

Personal Data Privacy. The report must be submitted as required under section 3.195, except
that printed copies are not required.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended
to read:

Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,
 disabled veterans. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall
 <u>must</u> examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner
 directs. This examination must include:

(1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission
of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;

(2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,
warning, and directing traffic;

77.13 (3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal 77.14 penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the 77.15 operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad 77.16 grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil 77.17 77.18 transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and 77.19 dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning; 77.20

(4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in theoperation of a motor vehicle; and

(5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to
determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to a license, must be granted such license.

(c) The commissioner shall must make provision for giving the examinations under this
subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto
reasonably convenient to the applicant.

- (d) The commissioner shall <u>must</u> ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment
 for an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days
 of the applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner,
 the applicant is eligible to take the examination.
- (e) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website
 about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next
 available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an
 option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam
 at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided. The information must
 be easily accessible and must not require a person to sign in or provide any other information,
 except an address, in order to see available exam dates.

78.12 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

78.13 Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner

78.14 determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license issued

78.15 by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining a

78.16 <u>driver's license, the commissioner may must</u> waive the requirement requirements that the

78.17 applicant pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary

and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle on determining that the applicant

78.19 possesses a valid driver's license issued by a jurisdiction that requires a comparable

78.20 demonstration for license issuance.

(b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses
a valid driver's license with a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state or
jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining the endorsement, the
commissioner must waive the requirements that the applicant for a two-wheeled vehicle
endorsement pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate the ability to exercise
ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces, and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's separation or discharge.

79.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to applications
79.2	made on or after that date.
79.3	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.705, is amended by adding a subdivision
79.4	to read:
79.5	Subd. 3a. Full-service provider account. (a) The full-service provider account is created
79.6	in the special revenue fund, consisting of fees described in sections 168.33, subdivision 7,
79.7	and 171.06, subdivision 2, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise
79.8	provided to the account.
79.9	(b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety
79.10	to distribute to full-service providers, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 12a. At
79.11	least quarterly, the commissioner must distribute the money in the account to each full-service
79.12	provider that was in operation during that quarter based proportionally on the number of
79.13	transactions completed by each full-service provider.
79.14	Sec. 17. REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'
79.15	LICENSES.
79.16	By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and
79.17	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation
79.18	policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital
79.19	versions of the same documents. At a minimum, the report must:
79.20	(1) include information on how other states have implemented the transition to digital
79.21	documents;
79.22	(2) make recommendations on how to ensure the security, integrity, and privacy of data;
79.23	(3) include an estimate of the costs for transitioning to digital documents;
79.24	(4) include an estimated timeline for transitioning to digital documents; and
79.25	(5) identify statutory changes necessary to implement the transition to digital documents.
79.26	Sec. 18. EFFECTIVE DATE.
79.27	Except where otherwise specified, this article is effective August 1, 2022.

80.2 SALVAGE AND PRIOR SALVAGE TITLE BRANDS 80.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 80.4 to read: 80.5 Subd. 16b. Recovered intact vehicle. "Recovered intact vehicle" means a vehicle that was: 80.6 was: 80.7 (1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and 80.8 (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value immediately before it was stolen. 80.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read 80.11 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage ertificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the collision of repairs exceeds 80 percent of the value of the vehicle immediately before the damage
 to read: <u>Subd. 16b.</u> Recovered intact vehicle. "Recovered intact vehicle" means a vehicle that was: (1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value immediately before it was stolen. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the context of the salvage vehicle in a collision or other event in which the context of the salvage vehicle.
 to read: <u>Subd. 16b.</u> Recovered intact vehicle. "Recovered intact vehicle" means a vehicle that was: (1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value immediately before it was stolen. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the context of the salvage vehicle in a collision or other event in which the context of the salvage vehicle.
80.5 Subd. 16b. Recovered intact vehicle. "Recovered intact vehicle" means a vehicle that 80.6 was: 80.7 (1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and 80.8 (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value 80.9 immediately before it was stolen. 80.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read 80.11 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage 80.12 certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a 80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the collision
 80.6 was: 80.7 (1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and 80.8 (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value 80.9 immediately before it was stolen. 80.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read 80.11 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage 80.12 certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a 80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the context of the section is a salvage in the section of the sectio
 (1) verified by the vehicle insurer to be stolen and declared a total loss; and (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its valu immediately before it was stolen. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage eertificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the co
 80.8 (2) subsequently recovered with damage that is not in excess of 80 percent of its value 80.9 immediately before it was stolen. 80.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read 80.11 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage 80.12 certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a 80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the context of the section of t
 80.9 immediately before it was stolen. 80.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read 80.11 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage 80.12 certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a 80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the co
 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 17b, is amended to read Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the co
80.11 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage 80.12 certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a 80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the co
80.11 Subd. 17b. Salvage vehicle. (a) "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that has a salvage 80.12 certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a 80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the co
 80.12 certificate of title (1) for which an insurance company has declared a total loss or paid a 80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the co
80.13 total loss claim, or (2) that has been involved in a collision or other event in which the co
80.14 of repairs exceeds 80 percent of the value of the vehicle immediately before the damage
80.15 <u>occurred</u> .
80.16 (b) Salvage vehicle does not include a recovered intact vehicle.
80.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
80.18 Subdivision 1. Contents. The application for the first certificate of title of a vehicle of
80.19 manufactured home in this state, or for reissuance of a certificate of title for a manufacture
80.20 home under section 168A.142, shall must be made by the owner to the department on the
80.21 form prescribed by the department and shall <u>must</u> contain:
(1) the first, middle, and last names, the dates of birth, and addresses of all owners wh
are natural persons, the full names and addresses of all other owners;
(2) a description of the vehicle or manufactured home including, so far as the following
data exists, its make, model, year, identifying number in the case of a vehicle or serial
number in the case of a manufactured home, type of body, and whether new or used;
(3) the date of purchase by applicant, the name and address of the person from whom
80.28 the vehicle or manufactured home was acquired, the names and addresses of any secured
80.29 parties in the order of their priority, and the dates of their respective security agreements

(4) with respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the true
cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the actual mileage is unknown if the
odometer reading is known by the owner to be different from the true mileage;

(5) with respect to vehicles subject to section 325F.6641, whether the vehicle sustained
damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeded 70 percent of the actual cash value
that meets the disclosure requirements under section 325F.6641, subdivision 1; and

(6) any further information the department reasonably requires to identify the vehicle
or manufactured home and to enable it to determine whether the owner is entitled to a
certificate of title, and the existence or nonexistence and priority of any security interest in
the vehicle or manufactured home.

81.11 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Vehicle last registered out of state. If the application refers to a vehicle last
previously registered in another state or country, the application shall must contain or be
accompanied by:

81.15 (1) any certificate of title issued by the other state or country;

(2) any other information and documents the department reasonably requires to establish
the ownership of the vehicle and the existence or nonexistence and priority of any security
interest in it;

(3) the certificate of a person authorized by the department that the identifying number
of the vehicle has been inspected and found to conform to the description given in the
application, or any other proof of the identity of the vehicle the department reasonably
requires; and

(4) with respect to vehicles subject to section 325F.6641, whether the vehicle sustained
damage by collision or other occurrence which exceeded 70 percent of actual cash value
that meets the disclosure requirements under section 325F.6641, subdivision 1. Damage,
for the purpose of this the calculation under this clause, does not include the actual cost
incurred to repair, replace, or reinstall inflatable safety restraints and other vehicle
components that must be replaced due to the deployment of the inflatable safety restraints.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Content of certificate. (a) Each certificate of title issued by the department
shall must contain:

82.1 (1) the date issued;

(2) the first, middle, and last names and the dates of birth of all owners who are naturalpersons, and the full names of all other owners;

82.4 (3) the residence address of the owner listed first if that owner is a natural person or the82.5 address if that owner is not a natural person;

(4) the names of any secured parties, and the address of the first secured party, listed in
the order of priority (i) as shown on the application, or (ii) if the application is based on a
certificate of title, as shown on the certificate, or (iii) as otherwise determined by the
department;

(5) any liens filed pursuant to a court order or by a public agency responsible for childsupport enforcement against the owner;

82.12 (6) the title number assigned to the vehicle;

(7) a description of the vehicle including, so far as the following data exists, its make,
model, year, identifying number, type of body, whether new or used, and if a new vehicle,

82.15 the date of the first sale of the vehicle for use;

(8) with respect to a motor vehicle subject to section 325E.15, (i) the true cumulative
mileage registered on the odometer or (ii) that the actual mileage is unknown if the odometer
reading is known by the owner to be different from the true mileage;

- 82.19 (9) if applicable, one or more of the following:
- 82.20 (i) with respect to a vehicle subject to sections 325F.6641 168A.151 and 325F.6642, the
 82.21 appropriate term brand "flood damaged," "rebuilt," "salvage," "prior salvage," or
 82.22 "reconstructed";

82.23 (10) (ii) with respect to a vehicle contaminated by methamphetamine production, if the
82.24 registrar has received the certificate of title and notice described in section 152.0275,
82.25 subdivision 2, paragraph (g), the term brand "hazardous waste contaminated vehicle"; and

82.26 (11) (iii) with respect to a vehicle subject to section 325F.665, the term brand "lemon 82.27 law vehicle"; and

82.28 (12)(10) any other data the department prescribes.

(b) For a certificate of title on a vehicle that is a restored pioneer vehicle:

82.30 (1) the identifying number must be the valid identifying number as provided under
82.31 section 168A.04, subdivision 5;

83.1	(2) the year of the vehicle must be the year of original vehicle manufacture and not the
83.2	year of restoration; and
83.3	(3) the title must not bear a "reconstructed vehicle" brand.
83.4	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
83.5	Subdivision 1. Salvage titles and prior salvage brands. (a) When an insurer, licensed
83.6	to conduct business in Minnesota, acquires ownership of a late-model or high-value vehicle,
83.7	excluding a recovered intact vehicle, through payment of damages, the insurer shall must:
83.8	(1) for a late-model or high-value vehicle, immediately apply for a salvage certificate
83.9	of title that bears a "salvage" brand or shall stamp the existing certificate of title with the
83.10	legend "SALVAGE salvage CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" in a manner prescribed by the
83.11	department <u>; or</u>
83.12	(2) for a vehicle that is not subject to clause (1), immediately apply for a certificate of
83.13	title that bears a "prior salvage" brand or stamp the existing certificate of title with "prior
83.14	salvage" in a manner prescribed by the department.
83.15	(b) Within ten days of obtaining the title of a vehicle through payment of damages, an
83.16	insurer must notify the department in a manner prescribed by the department.
83.17	(b) (c) Except as provided in section 168A.11, subdivision 1, a person shall must
83.18	immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand if the person
83.19	acquires a damaged late-model or high-value vehicle with an out-of-state title and the vehicle
83.20	that:
83.21	(1) is a vehicle that was acquired by an insurer through payment of damages;
83.22	(2) is a vehicle for which the will incur a cost of repairs that exceeds the value of the
83.23	damaged vehicle; or
83.24	(3) has an out-of-state salvage certificate of title as proof of ownership-; or
83.25	(4) bears the brand "damaged," "repairable," "salvage," or any similar term on the
83.26	certificate of title.
83.27	(d) Except as provided in section 168A.11, subdivision 1, a person must immediately
83.28	apply for a certificate of title that bears a "prior salvage" brand if the person acquires a
83.29	damaged vehicle and:
83.30	(1) a "salvage" brand is not required under paragraph (c); and
83.31	(2) the vehicle:

84.1	(i) bears the brand "damaged," "repairable," "salvage," "rebuilt," "reconditioned," or
84.2	any similar term on the certificate of title; or
84.3	(ii) had a salvage certificate of title or brand issued at any time in the vehicle's history
84.4	by any other jurisdiction.
84.5	(c) (e) A self-insured owner of a late-model or high-value vehicle that sustains damage
84.6	by collision or other occurrence which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value shall
84.7	<u>must:</u>
84.8	(1) for a late-model or high-value vehicle, immediately apply for a salvage certificate
84.9	of title- that bears a "salvage" brand; or
84.10	(2) for a vehicle that is not subject to clause (1), immediately apply for a certificate of
84.11	title that bears a "prior salvage" brand.
84.12	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.152, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
84.13	Subdivision 1. Certificate of inspection. (a) A salvage certificate of title that bears a
84.14	"salvage" brand or stamp authorizes the holder to possess, transport, and transfer ownership
84.15	in a vehicle. A salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp does not
84.16	authorize the holder to register a vehicle. A certificate of title must not be issued for a vehicle
84.17	for which a salvage certificate of title has been issued unless
84.18	(b) For a late-model or high-value vehicle with a certificate of title that bears a "salvage"
84.19	brand or stamp, the commissioner must not issue a certificate of title that bears a "prior
84.20	salvage" brand unless the application for title is accompanied by a certification of inspection
84.21	in the form and content specified by the department accompanies the application for a
84.22	certificate of title.
84.23	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.152, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
84.24	Subd. 1a. Duties of salvage vehicle purchaser. No salvage vehicle purchaser shall
84.25	possess or retain a salvage vehicle which does not have a salvage certificate of title that
84.26	bears a "salvage" or "prior salvage" brand. The salvage vehicle purchaser shall must display
84.27	the salvage certificate of title upon the request of any appropriate public authority.
84.28	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.662, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
84.29	Subd. 3. Exclusions. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2, a dealer is not
84.30	required to provide an express warranty for a used motor vehicle:

85.1

1 (1) sold for a total cash sale price of less than \$3,000, including the trade-in value of

any vehicle traded in by the consumer, but excluding tax, license fees, registration fees, andfinance charges;

85.4 (2) with an engine designed to use diesel fuel;

(3) with a gross weight, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 13, in excess of 9,000
pounds;

(4) that has been custom-built or modified for show or for racing;

(5) that is eight years of age or older, as calculated from the first day in January of the
designated model year of the vehicle;

(6) that has been produced by a manufacturer which has never manufactured more than
10,000 motor vehicles in any one year;

(7) that has 75,000 miles or more at time of sale;

(8) that has not been manufactured in compliance with applicable federal emission
standards in force at the time of manufacture as provided by the Clean Air Act, United
States Code, title 42, sections 7401 through 7642, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto,
and safety standards as provided by the National Traffic and Motor Safety Act, United
States Code, title 15, sections 1381 through 1431, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto;
or

(9) that has been issued a salvage certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp
under section 168A.151.

85.21 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.6641, is amended to read:

85.22 **325F.6641 DISCLOSURE OF VEHICLE DAMAGE.**

Subdivision 1. <u>Prior damage disclosure</u>. (a) If a late-model vehicle, as defined in
section 168A.01, subdivision 8a, has sustained damage by collision or other occurrence
which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value immediately prior to sustaining damage,
the seller must disclose that fact to the buyer, if the seller has actual knowledge of the
damage. The amount of damage is determined by the retail cost of repairing the vehicle
based on a complete written retail repair estimate or invoice.

(b) The disclosure required under this subdivision must be made in writing on the
application for title and registration or other transfer document, in a manner prescribed by
the registrar of motor vehicles. The registrar shall revise must design the certificate of title
form, including the assignment by seller (transferor) and reassignment by licensed dealer

86.1	sections of the form, the separate application for title forms, and other transfer documents
86.2	to accommodate this disclosure. If the seller is a motor vehicle dealer licensed pursuant to
86.3	section 168.27, the disclosure required by this section must be made orally by the dealer to
86.4	the prospective buyer in the course of the sales presentation.
86.5	(c) Upon transfer and application for title to a vehicle covered by this subdivision, the
86.6	registrar shall record the term "rebuilt" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all
86.7	subsequent Minnesota certificates of title used for that vehicle.
86.8	Subd. 2. Form of Disclosure requirements. (a) If a motor vehicle dealer licensed under
86.9	section 168.27 offers a vehicle for sale in the course of a sales presentation to any prospective
86.10	buyer the dealer must provide a written disclosure and, except for sales performed online,
86.11	an oral disclosure of:
86.12	(1) prior vehicle damage as required under subdivision 1;
86.13	(2) the existence or requirement of any title brand under sections 168A.05, subdivision
86.14	3, 168A.151, 325F.6642, or 325F.665, subdivision 14, if the dealer has actual knowledge
86.15	of the brand; and
86.16	(3) if a motor vehicle, which is part of a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory, has
86.17	been submerged or flooded above the bottom dashboard while parked on the dealer's lot.
86.18	(b) If a person receives a flood disclosure as described in paragraph (a), clause (3),
86.19	whether from a motor vehicle dealer or another seller, and subsequently offers that vehicle
86.20	for sale, the person must provide the same disclosure to any prospective subsequent buyer.
86.21	(c) Written disclosure under this subdivision must be signed by the buyer and maintained
86.22	in the motor vehicle dealer's sales file in the manner prescribed by the registrar of motor
86.23	vehicles.
86.24	(d) The disclosure required in this section subdivision 1 must be made in substantially
86.25	the following form: "To the best of my knowledge, this vehicle has has not sustained
86.26	damage in excess of 80 percent actual cash value."
86.27	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.6642, is amended to read:

86.28 **325F.6642 TITLE BRANDING.**

Subdivision 1. Flood damage. If the application for title and registration indicates that
the vehicle has been classified as a total loss vehicle because of water or flood damage, or
that the vehicle bears a "flood damaged" or similar brand, the registrar of motor vehicles

shall must record the term brand "flood damaged" on the certificate of title and all subsequent 87.1 certificates of title issued for that vehicle. 87.2 Subd. 2. Total loss Salvage vehicles. (a) Upon transfer and application for title to all 87.3 total loss vehicles for which the "salvage" brand is required under section 168A.151, 87.4 subdivision 1, the registrar of motor vehicles shall must (1) record the term brand "prior 87.5 salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title, and (2) subject to section 168A.152, 87.6 record the brand "prior salvage" on all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title used issued 87.7 for that vehicle. 87.8 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a "prior salvage" brand is not required for a recovered 87.9 87.10 intact vehicle, as defined in section 168A.01, subdivision 16b. Subd. 3. Out-of-state vehicles. (a) Upon transfer and application for title of all repaired 87.11 vehicles with out-of-state titles that bear the term "damaged," "salvage," "rebuilt," 87.12 "reconditioned," or any similar term, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term 87.13 "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent Minnesota 87.14 certificates of title used for that vehicle. 87.15 (b) The registrar shall mark "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and 87.16 all subsequent certificates of title issued for any vehicle which came into the state unrepaired 87.17 and for which a salvage certificate of title was issued. 87.18 (c) For vehicles with out-of-state titles which bear the term "flood damaged," the registrar 87.19 of motor vehicles shall record the term "flood damaged" on the first Minnesota certificate 87.20 of title and all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title issued for that vehicle. 87.21 (d) the registrar shall mark "prior salvage" on the first Minnesota certificate of title and 87.22 all subsequent certificates of title issued for any vehicle that had a salvage certificate of title 87.23 issued at any time in the vehicle's history by any other jurisdiction. 87.24 87.25 Subd. 2a. **Prior salvage.** Upon application for title to all vehicles for which the "prior salvage" brand is required under section 168A.151, subdivision 1, the registrar of motor 87.26 vehicles must record the brand "prior salvage" on the certificate of title and all subsequent 87.27 certificates of title issued for that vehicle. 87.28 Subd. 2b. Certain damaged vehicles. Upon transfer and application for title to a vehicle 87.29 that is subject to section 325F.6641, subdivision 1, the registrar of motor vehicles must (1) 87.30 record the brand "salvage" on the first certificate of title, and (2) subject to section 168A.152, 87.31 record the brand "prior salvage" on all subsequent certificates of title issued for that vehicle. 87.32

- Subd. 4. Reconstructed vehicles. For vehicles that are reconstructed within the meaning
 of section 168A.15, the registrar shall must record the term brand "reconstructed" on the
 certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title.
- Subd. 5. Manner of branding. The Each brand designation of "flood damaged," "rebuilt,"
 "prior salvage," or "reconstructed" under this section or section 168A.05, subdivision 3,
 <u>168A.151, or 325F.665, subdivision 14, required</u> on a certificate of title shall must be made
 by the registrar of motor vehicles in a clear and conspicuous manner, in a color format
 different from all other writing on the certificate of title.
- Subd. 6. Total loss vehicle; definition. For the purposes of this section, "total loss
 vehicle" means a vehicle damaged by collision or other occurrence, for which a salvage
 certificate of title has been issued. Total loss vehicle does not include a stolen and recovered
 vehicle verified by the insurer who declared the vehicle to be a total loss vehicle unless
 there is more than minimal damage to the vehicle as determined by the registrar.
- 88.14 Subd. 7. Dealer disclosure. If a licensed motor vehicle dealer offers for sale a vehicle
 88.15 with a branded title, the dealer shall orally disclose the existence of the brand in the course
 88.16 of the sales presentation.
- Subd. 8. Flood damage; dealer lots. If a motor vehicle, which is part of a licensed motor
 vehicle dealer's inventory, has been submerged or flooded above the bottom of the dashboard
 while parked on the dealer's lot, the dealer must disclose that fact in writing to any buyer
 and must orally disclose that fact in the course of a sales presentation to any prospective
 buyer. The buyer must also disclose the existence of the flood damage in writing to any
 subsequent buyer.
- 88.23 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.665, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
- Subd. 14. Title branding. (a) Upon transfer and application for title of all vehicles
 subject to this section, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term "lemon law
 vehicle" on the certificate of title and all subsequent certificates of title for that vehicle.
- (b) For vehicles with out-of-state titles that bear the term "lemon law vehicle," or any
 similar term, the registrar of motor vehicles shall record the term "lemon law vehicle" on
 the first Minnesota certificate of title and all subsequent Minnesota certificates of title issued
 for that vehicle.
- (c) The designation of "lemon law vehicle" on a certificate of title must be made by the
 registrar of motor vehicles in a clear and conspicuous manner, in a color different from all
 other writing on the certificate of title.

89.1 Sec. 13. <u>**REPEALER.**</u>

89.2 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 168A.01, subdivision 17a; and 325F.6644, are repealed.

89.3 Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATE.

- 89.4 Unless specified otherwise, this article is effective January 1, 2023."
- 89.5 Amend the title accordingly