EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 23, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Representative Erickson moved the minutes from the committee meeting on March 21, 2022, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Edelson moved HF4233 to be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF4233:

- Anne Tozer, Special Education Teacher, Edina Public Schools
- Stacy Schroeder, Special Education Teacher, Moorhead Public Schools
- Maren Hulden, Staff Attorney, Legal Services Advocacy Project, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid
- Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education

Representative Edelson renewed the motion to refer HF 4233 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS
ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead
BENNETT, Peggy
BOE, Greg
MUELLER, Patricia
POSTON, John
SCOTT, Peggy

ABSENT DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

With a vote of 12 AYES, 6 NAYS, and 1 ABSENT, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The following presented a walk-through of Amendment H3401DE1:

• Cristina Parra, Nonpartisan Researcher, Minnesota House of Representatives

The following testified on Amendment H3401DE1:

- Zeke Jackson, Executive Director, People for PSEO
- Heather Mueller, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education
- Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies

The meeting adjourned at 2:13pm.

- Kevion Ellis, Policy Strategist, Education Minnesota
- Richard Terrell, Interventionist and Equity Specialist for Eastern Carver County Schools
- Kate Lynne Snyder, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota
- Maren Hulden, Staff Attorney, Legal Services Advocacy Project, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair

Isabel Rolfes, Committee Legislative Assistant