1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 63 as	s follows	5:	
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:			
1.3	"ARTIC	LE 1		
1.4	APPROPRIA	ATIONS	5	
1.5	Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.			
1.6	The sums shown in the columns marked "App	propriatio	ons" are appropriated	to the agencies
1.7	and for the purposes specified in this article. The	e approp	priations are from the	e general fund,
1.8	or another named fund, and are available for the	e fiscal y	vears indicated for ea	ach purpose.
1.9	The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this artic	le mean	that the appropriatio	ns listed under
1.10	them are available for the fiscal year ending Jun	ne 30, 20	022, or June 30, 202	3, respectively.
1.11	"The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second	d year" i	s fiscal year 2023. "	The biennium"
1.12	is fiscal years 2022 and 2023. Appropriations for	or the fis	scal year ending June	e 30, 2021, are
1.13	effective the day following final enactment.			
1.14 1.15 1.16			APPROPRIAT Available for the Ending June	e Year
1.17			2022	2023
1.18	Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT			
1.19	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>60,487,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>61,582,000</u>
1.20	The amounts that may be spent for each			
1.21	purpose are specified in the following			
1.22	subdivisions.			
1.23	Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations		43,559,000	43,384,000
1.24	(a) Contingent Account			

18,198,000

2.1	\$5,000 each year is for a contingent account	
2.2	for expenses necessary for the normal	
2.3	operation of the court for which no other	
2.4	reimbursement is provided.	
2.5	(b) Justices' Compensation	
2.6	Justices' compensation is increased by 2.5	
2.7	percent in the first year.	
2.8	(c) Courthouse Security Grants	
2.9	\$500,000 the first year is for a competitive	
2.10	grant program established by the chief justice	
2.11	for the distribution of safe and secure	
2.12	courthouse fund grants to governmental	
2.13	entities responsible for providing or	
2.14	maintaining a courthouse or other facility	
2.15	where court proceedings are held. Grant	
2.16	recipients must provide a 50 percent nonstate	
2.17	match. This appropriation is available until	
2.18	June 30, 2024.	
2.19	(d) Neuropsychological Examination	
2.20	Feasibility Study	
2.21	\$30,000 the first year is for the	
2.22	neuropsychological examination feasibility	
2.23	study.	
2.24	Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services	16,928,000
2.25	Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in	
2.26	Family Law Matters. \$1,017,000 each year	
2.27	is to improve the access of low-income clients	
2.28	to legal representation in family law matters.	
2.29	This appropriation must be distributed under	
2.30	Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, to the	
2.31	qualified legal services program described in	
2.32	Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242,	
2.33	subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Any	

	06/27/21 R	EVISOR		KLL/BM	A21-0252
3.1	unencumbered balance remaining in the fir	<u>-st</u>			
3.2	year does not cancel and is available in the	<u>.</u>			
3.3	second year.				
3.4	Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS	<u>9</u>	<u>\$</u>	<u>13,490,000</u> <u>\$</u>	13,574,000
3.5	Judges' Compensation. Judges' compensation	on			
3.6	is increased by 2.5 percent in the first year.	<u>.</u>			
3.7	Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS	3	<u>\$</u>	<u>326,372,000</u> <u>\$</u>	329,146,000
3.8	(a) Judges' Compensation				
3.9	Judges' compensation is increased by 2.5				
3.10	percent in the first year.				
3.11	(b) New Judgeship				
3.12	\$482,000 the first year and \$449,000 the				
3.13	second year are for a new judge unit in the				
3.14	Fifth Judicial District.				
3.15	(c) Interpreter Compensation				
3.16	\$200,000 each year is to increase hourly fe	es			
3.17	paid to qualified certified and uncertified				
3.18	interpreters who are independent contracto	rs			
3.19	and assist persons disabled in communication	on			
3.20	in legal proceedings. This is a onetime				
3.21	appropriation.				
3.22	Sec. 5. GUARDIAN AD LITEM BOARI	<u>D</u>	<u>\$</u>	<u>22,576,000</u> <u>\$</u>	22,815,000
3.23	Sec. 6. TAX COURT	9	<u>\$</u>	<u>1,827,000 \$</u>	<u>1,841,000</u>
3.24	Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSIO	<u>N</u>	<u>\$</u>	<u>100,000</u> <u>\$</u>	100,000
3.25	Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STAND	ARDS S	<u>\$</u>	<u>580,000</u> <u>\$</u>	586,000
3.26	(a) Availability of Appropriation				
3.27	If the appropriation for either year is				
3.28	insufficient, the appropriation for the other				
3.29	fiscal year is available.				
3.30	(b) Major Disciplinary Actions				

	06/27/21		REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
4.1	\$125,000 each year is for	r special invest	tigative		
4.2	and hearing costs for major disciplinary				
4.3	actions undertaken by th	ne board. This			
4.4	appropriation does not c	ancel. Any			
4.5	unencumbered and unsp	ent balances r	emain		
4.6	available for these exper	nditures until J	une 30,		
4.7	<u>2025.</u>				
4.8	Sec. 9. BOARD OF PU	BLIC DEFE	NSE <u>\$</u>	<u>106,381,000 \$</u>	111,409,000
4.9	Public Defense Corpor	ations. \$74,0	00 the		
4.10	first year and \$152,000	the second year	ar are		
4.11	for increases to public d	efense corpora	ations.		
4.12	Sec. 10. <u>HUMAN RIG</u>	HTS	<u>\$</u>	<u>5,433,000 §</u>	5,530,000
4.13	Additional Staffing an	d Administra	tive		
4.14	Costs. \$110,000 in fisca	ıl year 2022 ar	nd		
4.15	<u>\$112,000 in fiscal year 2</u>	023 are for imp	proving		
4.16	caseload processing. Th	e general fund	l base		
4.17	for this activity shall be	\$116,000 per	year		
4.18	beginning in fiscal year	2024.			
4.19	Sec. 11. OFFICE OF T	THE STATE A	AUDITOR §	<u>64,000</u> <u>\$</u>	30,000
4.20	Forfeiture Reporting.	\$64,000 each	year is		
4.21	for costs associated with	n forfeiture rep	oorting		
4.22	requirements.				
4.23 4.24	Sec. 12. <u>LEGISLATIV</u> COMMISSION	E COORDIN	ATING §	<u>60,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>60,000</u>
4.25	\$60,000 each year is for	the Legislativ	<u>/e</u>		
4.26	Commission on Data Pr	actices under			
4.27	Minnesota Statutes, sect	tion 3.8844.			
4.28	Sec. 13. <u>SENTENCINO</u>	G GUIDELIN	NES §	<u>740,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>765,000</u>
4.29	Sec. 14. PUBLIC SAF	ETY			
4.30 4.31	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>1,439,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>214,667,000 §</u>	213,505,000
4.32	General	1,439,000	129,264,000	128,121,000	
4.33	Special Revenue		14,901,000	14,891,000	

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
5.1 5.2	State Government Special Revenue	103,000	103,000	
5.3	Environmental	73,000	73,000	
5.4	Trunk Highway	2,429,000	2,429,000	
5.5	<u>911 Fund</u>	67,897,000	67,888,000	
5.6	The amounts that may be spent for ea	<u>.ch</u>		
5.7	purpose are specified in the following	2		
5.8	subdivisions.			
5.9	Subd. 2. Emergency Management		3,000,000	3,156,000
5.10	Appropriations by Fund	<u>d</u>		
5.11	<u>General</u> <u>2,927,000</u>	3,083,000		
5.12	Environmental 73,000	73,000		
5.13	(a) Supplemental Nonprofit Security	Grants		
5.14	\$225,000 each year is for supplement	al		
5.15	nonprofit security grants under this par	cagraph.		
5.16	Nonprofit organizations whose applic	ations		
5.17	for funding through the Federal Emer	gency		
5.18	Management Agency's nonprofit securi	ity grant		
5.19	program have been approved by the I	Division		
5.20	of Homeland Security and Emergency	<u>y</u>		
5.21	Management are eligible for grants un	der this		
5.22	paragraph. No additional application	shall be		
5.23	required for grants under this paragra	ph, and		
5.24	an application for a grant from the fee	deral		
5.25	program is also an application for fun	ding		
5.26	from the state supplemental program.			
5.27	Eligible organizations may receive gr	ants of		
5.28	up to \$75,000, except that the total re-	ceived		
5.29	by any individual from both the feder	al		
5.30	nonprofit security grant program and t	the state		
5.31	supplemental nonprofit security grant p	orogram		
5.32	shall not exceed \$75,000. Grants shal	<u>l be</u>		
5.33	awarded in an order consistent with the	ne		
5.34	ranking given to applicants for the fee	deral		

6.1	nonprofit security grant program. No grants			
6.2	under the state supplemental nonprofit security			
6.3	grant program shall be awarded until the			
6.4	announcement of the recipients and the			
6.5	amount of the grants awarded under the	he federal		
6.6	nonprofit security grant program.			
6.7	The commissioner may use up to on	e percent		
6.8	of the appropriation received under	this		
6.9	paragraph to pay costs incurred by t	he		
6.10	department in administering the supp	olemental		
6.11	nonprofit security grant program. The	nese		
6.12	appropriations are onetime.			
6.13	(b) School Safety Center			
6.14	\$250,000 each year is for two school	l safety		
6.15	specialists at the Minnesota School	Safety		
6.16	Center.			
6.17	Subd. 3. Criminal			
6.18	Apprehension	1,316,000	78,263,000	77,023,000
6.18 6.19			78,263,000	77,023,000
	Apprehension	ns by Fund	<u>78,263,000</u> <u>74,587,000</u>	77,023,000
6.19	Apprehension <u>Appropriation</u>	ns by Fund		77,023,000
6.19 6.20	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000	ns by Fund		77,023,000
6.19 6.20 6.21	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State Government	ns by Fund 0 75,827,000	74,587,000	<u>77,023,000</u>
6.196.206.216.22	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial Revenue	ns by Fund 0 75,827,000 <u>7,000</u>	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	<u>77,023,000</u>
6.196.206.216.226.23	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway	ns by Fund <u>0</u> <u>75,827,000</u> <u>7,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u>	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	77,023,000
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab Analysis	<u>ns by Fund</u> <u>75,827,000</u> <u>7,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>5, section</u>	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	<u>77,023,000</u>
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 6.25 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab AnalysisNotwithstanding Minnesota Statutes	<u>ns by Fund</u> <u>75,827,000</u> <u>7,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>5, section</u> <u>ach year</u>	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	<u>77,023,000</u>
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 6.25 6.26 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab AnalysisNotwithstanding Minnesota Statutes161.20, subdivision 3, \$2,429,000 e	<u>as by Fund</u> <u>75,827,000</u> <u>7,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>5, section</u> <u>ach year</u> <u>staff and</u>	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	<u>77,023,000</u>
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 6.25 6.26 6.27 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab AnalysisNotwithstanding Minnesota Statutes161.20, subdivision 3, \$2,429,000 eis from the trunk highway fund for s	<u>as by Fund</u> <u>75,827,000</u> <u>7,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>5, section</u> <u>ach year</u> <u>staff and</u>	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	77,023,000
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 6.25 6.26 6.27 6.28 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab AnalysisNotwithstanding Minnesota Statutes161.20, subdivision 3, \$2,429,000 eis from the trunk highway fund for soperating costs for laboratory analys	<u>as by Fund</u> <u>75,827,000</u> <u>7,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>5, section</u> <u>ach year</u> <u>staff and</u>	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	77,023,000
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 6.25 6.26 6.27 6.28 6.29 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab AnalysisNotwithstanding Minnesota Statutes161.20, subdivision 3, \$2,429,000 eis from the trunk highway fund for soperating costs for laboratory analysto driving-while-impaired cases.	$\frac{1}{2} \frac{75,827,000}{7,000}$ $\frac{7,000}{2,429,000}$ $\frac{2,429,000}{3, section}$ $\frac{1}{3} \frac{1}{3} \frac{1}$	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	77,023,000
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 6.25 6.26 6.27 6.28 6.29 6.30 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab AnalysisNotwithstanding Minnesota Statutes161.20, subdivision 3, \$2,429,000 eis from the trunk highway fund for soperating costs for laboratory analysto driving-while-impaired cases.(b) Cybersecurity	$\frac{1}{2}$ $\frac{75,827,000}{7,000}$ $\frac{7,000}{2,429,000}$ $\frac{2,429,000}{2,429,000}$ $\frac{3}{2}$ $\frac{3}{2}$ $\frac{3}{2}$ $\frac{3}{2}$ $\frac{3}{2}$ $\frac{1}{2}$ 1	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	77,023,000
 6.19 6.20 6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24 6.25 6.26 6.27 6.28 6.29 6.30 6.31 	ApprehensionAppropriationGeneral1,316,000State GovernmentSpecial RevenueTrunk Highway(a) DWI Lab AnalysisNotwithstanding Minnesota Statutes161.20, subdivision 3, \$2,429,000 eis from the trunk highway fund for soperating costs for laboratory analysto driving-while-impaired cases.(b) Cybersecurity\$2,611,000 the first year and \$1,558	$\frac{1}{2}$ $\frac{75,827,000}{7,000}$ $\frac{7,000}{2,429,000}$ $\frac{2,429,000}{2,429,000}$ $\frac{3}{2},8$ $\frac{1}{2},8$ $\frac{1}{2},000 \text{ the}}{1}$ $\frac{1}{2},000 \text{ the}}{1}$	<u>74,587,000</u> <u>7,000</u>	<u>77,023,000</u>

7 1	compliance. The base for this is \$1,050,000
7.1 7.2	compliance. The base for this is \$1,050,000 in fiscal years 2024 and 2025.
7.2	
7.3	(c) Rapid DNA Program
7.4	\$285,000 each year is for the Rapid DNA
7.5	Program.
7.6	(d) Body Cameras
7.7	\$397,000 the first year and \$205,000 the
7.8	second year are to purchase body cameras for
7.9	peace officers employed by the Bureau of
7.10	Criminal Apprehension and to maintain the
7.11	necessary hardware, software, and data.
7.12	(e) National Guard Sexual Assault
7.13	Investigations
7.14	\$160,000 each year is for investigation of
7.15	criminal sexual conduct allegations filed
7.16	against members of the Minnesota National
7.17	Guard by another member of the Minnesota
7.18	National Guard. This appropriation is onetime.
7.19	(f) Criminal Alert Network; Alzheimer's
7.20	and Dementia
7.21	\$200,000 the first year is for the criminal alert
7.22	network to increase membership, reduce the
7.23	registration fee, and create additional alert
7.24	categories, including at a minimum a dementia
7.25	and Alzheimer's disease specific category.
7.26	(g) Forfeiture Notices
7.27	\$24,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for costs for
7.28	technological upgrades required for generating
7.29	forfeiture notices and property receipts.
7.30	(h) Drugged Driving Lab Testing Support
7.31	\$825,000 each year is for staffing and supplies

7.32 for drugged driving lab testing.

8,752,000

A21-0252

8,818,000

8.1	Subd. 4. Fire Marshal		
8.2	Appropriation	ons by Fund	
8.3	General	178,000	178,000
8.4	Special Revenue	8,574,000	8,640,000
8.5	The special revenue fund ap	propriation is fr	om
8.6	the fire safety account in the	he special reven	ue
8.7	fund and is for activities up	nder Minnesota	
8.8	Statutes, section 299F.012	. The base	
8.9	appropriation from this acc	ount is \$8,740,0	000
8.10	in fiscal year 2024 and \$8,	640,000 in fisca	al
8.11	<u>year 2025.</u>		
8.12	(a) Inspections		
8.13	\$300,000 each year is for in	spection of nurs	ing
8.14	homes and boarding care f	acilities.	
8.15	(b) Hazmat and Chemica	l Assessment	
8.16	Teams		
8.17	\$950,000 the first year and	1 \$850,000 the	
8.18	second year are from the f	ire safety accou	nt
8.19	in the special revenue func	l. These amount	ts
8.20	must be used to fund the h	azardous materi	ials
8.21	and chemical assessment t	eams. Of this	
8.22	amount, \$100,000 the first	year is for case	<u>es</u>
8.23	for which there is no ident	ified responsibl	e
8.24	party. The base appropriate	ion is \$950,000	in
8.25	fiscal year 2024 and \$850,	000 in fiscal ye	ar
8.26	<u>2025.</u>		
8.27	(c) Bomb Squad Reimbu	rsements	
8.28	\$50,000 each year is from t	he general fund	for
8.29	reimbursements to local go	overnments for	
8.30	bomb squad services.		
8.31	(d) Emergency Response	Teams	
8.32	\$675,000 each year is from	n the fire safety	
8.33	account in the special reven	ue fund to maint	ain

9.1	four emergency response teams: one under the
9.2	jurisdiction of the St. Cloud Fire Department
9.3	or a similarly located fire department if
9.4	necessary; one under the jurisdiction of the
9.5	Duluth Fire Department; one under the
9.6	jurisdiction of the St. Paul Fire Department;
9.7	and one under the jurisdiction of the Moorhead
9.8	Fire Department.
9.9 9.10	Subd. 5.Firefighter Training and EducationBoard5,792,0005,792,000
9.11	Appropriations by Fund
9.12	Special Revenue 5,792,000 5,792,000
9.13	The special revenue fund appropriation is from
9.14	the fire safety account in the special revenue
9.15	fund and is for activities under Minnesota
9.16	Statutes, section 299F.012.
9.17	(a) Firefighter Training and Education
9.18	\$4,500,000 each year is for firefighter training
9.19	and education.
9.20	(b) Task Force 1
9.21	\$975,000 each year is for the Minnesota Task
9.22	Force 1.
9.23	(c) Air Rescue
9.24	\$317,000 each year is for the Minnesota Air
9.25	Rescue Team.
9.26	(d) Unappropriated Revenue
9.27	Any additional unappropriated money
9.28	collected in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated
9.29	to the commissioner of public safety for the
9.30	purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section
9.31	299F.012. The commissioner may transfer
9.32	appropriations and base amounts between
9.33	activities in this subdivision.

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
10.1 10.2	Subd. 6. Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement	123,000	2,681,000	2,702,000
10.3	Appropriations	by Fund		
10.4	<u>General</u> <u>123,000</u>	2,611,000	2,632,000	
10.5	Special Revenue	70,000	70,000	
10.6	\$70,000 each year is from the lawful ga	mbling		
10.7	regulation account in the special revenu	e fund.		
10.8	(a) Legal Costs			
10.9	\$93,000 the first year is for legal costs			
10.10	associated with Alexis Bailly Vineyard	l, Inc.		
10.11	v. Harrington. This is a onetime appropriate the second se	riation.		
10.12	(b) Body Cameras			
10.13	\$16,000 each year is to purchase body c	ameras		
10.14	for peace officers employed by the Ale	cohol		
10.15	and Gambling Enforcement Division a	and to		
10.16	maintain the necessary hardware, softw	ware,		
10.17	and data.			
10.18	Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs		47,817,000	47,737,000
10.18 10.19	Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs Appropriations by Fund		47,817,000	47,737,000
		47,641,000	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
10.19	Appropriations by Fund		<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
10.19 10.20 10.21	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government	47,641,000	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000	47,641,000	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration Costs	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration CostsUp to 2.5 percent of the grant funds	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u> <u>e used</u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24 10.25 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration CostsUp to 2.5 percent of the grant fundsappropriated in this subdivision may be	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u> <u>e used</u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24 10.25 10.26 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration CostsUp to 2.5 percent of the grant fundsappropriated in this subdivision may beby the commissioner to administer the	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u> <u>e used</u> <u>grant</u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24 10.25 10.26 10.27 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration CostsUp to 2.5 percent of the grant fundsappropriated in this subdivision may bby the commissioner to administer theprogram.	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u> <u>e used</u> <u>grant</u> <u>nts</u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24 10.25 10.26 10.27 10.28 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration CostsUp to 2.5 percent of the grant fundsappropriated in this subdivision may beby the commissioner to administer theprogram.(b) Combatting Sex Trafficking Grame	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u> <u>e used</u> <u>grant</u> <u>nts</u> <u>eking</u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24 10.25 10.26 10.27 10.28 10.29 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration CostsUp to 2.5 percent of the grant fundsappropriated in this subdivision may bby the commissioner to administer theprogram.(b) Combatting Sex Trafficking Grae\$250,000 each year is for an antitraffic	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u> <u>e used</u> <u>grant</u> <u>nts <u>eking</u> <u>ment</u></u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>
 10.19 10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24 10.25 10.26 10.27 10.28 10.29 10.30 	Appropriations by FundGeneral47,721,000State Government96,000Special Revenue96,000(a) Administration CostsUp to 2.5 percent of the grant fundsappropriated in this subdivision may bby the commissioner to administer theprogram.(b) Combatting Sex Trafficking Grad\$250,000 each year is for an antitrafficinvestigation coordinator and to imple	<u>47,641,000</u> <u>96,000</u> <u>e used</u> <u>grant</u> <u>nts <u>eking</u> <u>ment</u></u>	<u>47,817,000</u>	<u>47,737,000</u>

11.1	(c) Survivor Support and Prevention
11.2	Grants
11.3	\$400,000 each year is for grants to victim
11.4	survivors and to fund emerging or unmet
11.5	needs impacting victims of crime, particularly
11.6	in underserved populations. This is a onetime
11.7	appropriation.
11.8	(d) Improving Retention in Domestic
11.9	Violence Programs
11.10	\$150,000 the first year is to develop an open
11.11	and competitive grant process to award a grant
11.12	to establish a pilot project to increase the rate
11.13	at which participants voluntarily complete a
11.14	person-centered, trauma-informed violence
11.15	prevention program by addressing the social
11.16	and economic barriers that inhibit program
11.17	completion. This appropriation is available
11.18	until June 30, 2024.
11.19	The grant recipient shall have an established
11.20	program for individuals who have been
11.21	identified as using abusive behaviors within
11.22	a home or community setting. The established
11.23	program must apply evidence-based
11.24	interventions to equip participants with skills
11.25	and techniques to stop abusive behaviors as
11.26	they occur and prevent them from happening
11.27	in the future.
11.28	The pilot project shall address financial,
11.29	transportation, food, housing, or social support
11.30	barriers in order to increase the rate of
11.31	participants completing the program. Money
11.32	may be used to advance program capacity,
11.33	reduce the administrative burden on program
11.34	staff, secure participant consent for

06/27/21 assessment, enhance measurement and 12.1 evaluation of the program, and provide other 12.2 12.3 services and support to increase the rate of program completion while maintaining low 12.4 recidivism rates. 12.5 By January 15, 2023, the grant recipient shall 12.6 provide a report to the Office of Justice 12.7 12.8 Programs identifying: (1) the number of individuals, including the 12.9 12.10 age, race, and sex of those individuals, who were admitted into the program before and 12.11 after the pilot project began; 12.12 (2) the number of individuals, including the 12.13 age, race, and sex of those individuals, who 12.14 completed the program before and after the 12.15 pilot project began; 12.16 (3) the number of individuals, including the 12.17 age, race, and sex of those individuals, who 12.18 12.19 left the program prior to completion before and after the pilot project began; 12.20 (4) information on whether the individuals 12.21 were members of a two-parent or single-parent 12.22 12.23 home; and (5) any other relevant measurement and 12.24 evaluation of the pilot project, including 12.25 information related to social and economic 12.26 barriers that impact program completion rates. 12.27 By January 15, 2024, the grant recipient shall 12.28 provide a report to the Office of Justice 12.29 12.30 Programs identifying the domestic violence recidivism rate of individuals who completed 12.31 the program, including the age, race, and sex 12.32 of those individuals, before and after the pilot 12.33 12.34 project began.

Article 1 Sec. 14.

13.1	By February 15, 2024, the Office of Justice
13.2	Programs shall compile the information
13.3	received from the grant recipient and provide
13.4	that compilation to the senate and house of
13.5	representatives committees and divisions with
13.6	jurisdiction over public safety.
13.7	(e) Innovation in Community Safety Grants
13.8	\$400,000 each year is for innovation in
13.9	community safety grants. This is a onetime
13.10	appropriation.
13.11	(f) Youth Intervention Program Grants
13.12	\$286,000 each year is for youth intervention
13.13	program grants.
13.14	(g) Racially Diverse Youth in Shelters
13.15	\$45,000 each year is for grants to
13.16	organizations to address racial disparity of
13.17	youth using shelter services in the Rochester
13.18	and St. Cloud regional areas. A grant recipient
13.19	shall establish and operate a pilot program to
13.20	engage in community intervention, family
13.21	reunification, aftercare, and follow up when
13.22	family members are released from shelter
13.23	services. A pilot program shall specifically
13.24	address the high number of racially diverse
13.25	youth that enter shelters in the region. This is
13.26	a onetime appropriation.
13.27	(h) Task Force on Missing and Murdered
13.28	African American Women
13.29	\$100,000 the first year and \$50,000 the second
13.30	year are to implement the task force on
13.31	missing and murdered African American
13.32	women. This is a onetime appropriation.

13.33 (i) Body Camera Grant Program

14.1	\$500,000 each year is to provide grants to
14.2	local law enforcement agencies for portable
14.3	recording systems. The commissioner shall
14.4	award grants to local law enforcement
14.5	agencies for the purchase and maintenance of
14.6	portable recording systems and portable
14.7	recording system data. An applicant must
14.8	provide a 50 percent match to be eligible to
14.9	receive a grant. The commissioner must give
14.10	priority to law enforcement agencies located
14.11	outside of the seven-county metropolitan area
14.12	that do not have a portable recording system
14.13	program.
14.14	As a condition of receiving a grant, a law
14.15	enforcement agency's portable recording
14.16	system policy must comply with the standards
14.17	developed by the Legislative Commission on
14.18	Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy. This
14.19	is a onetime appropriation.
14.20	(j) VCETs
14.21	\$1,000,000 each year is for additional violent
14.22	crime enforcement teams. The base for this is
14.23	\$1,000,000 in fiscal years 2024 and 2025.
14.24	Of this amount, \$250,000 each year is a
14.25	onetime appropriation for a team to address
14.26	criminal activities in and around metropolitan

- 14.26 criminal activities in and around metropolitan
- 14.27 transit lines. This team must include members
- 14.28 from the Hennepin County Sheriff's Office,
- 14.29 the Ramsey County Sheriff's Office, the St.
- 14.30 Paul Police Department, the Minneapolis
- 14.31 Police Department, and the Metropolitan
- 14.32 Transit Police Department. The Hennepin
- 14.33 County Sheriff's Office shall serve as the
- 14.34 team's fiscal agent. By February 1, 2022, the
- 14.35 commissioner shall report to the chairs and

67,888,000

15.1	ranking minority members of the legislative
15.2	committees with jurisdiction over criminal
15.3	justice policy and funding on the activities of
15.4	the team. The report must detail the impact
15.5	the team had on reducing criminal activity in
15.6	and around metropolitan transit lines and
15.7	recommend whether to fund the team in the
15.8	future or whether the money for this would be
15.9	better directed toward other violent crime
15.10	enforcement teams.
15.11	(k) Office of Missing and Murdered
15.12	Indigenous Relatives
15.13	\$500,000 each year is to establish and
15.14	maintain the Office of Missing and Murdered
15.15	Indigenous Relatives.
15.16	(l) Hometown Heroes Assistance Program
15.17	\$4,000,000 each year is appropriated for grants
15.18	to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative to fund
15.19	the hometown heroes assistance program
15.20	established in Minnesota Statutes, section
15.21	<u>299A.477.</u>
15.22	(m) Juvenile Justice Unit
15.23	\$200,000 each year is to establish and
15.24	maintain a Juvenile Justice Unit.
15.25	Subd. 8. Emergency Communication Networks67,897,000
15.26	This appropriation is from the state
15.27	government special revenue fund for 911
15.28	emergency telecommunications services.
15.29	This appropriation includes funds for
15.30	information technology project services and
15.31	support subject to the provisions of Minnesota
15.32	Statutes, section 16E.0466. Any ongoing
15.33	information technology costs shall be

- 16.1 incorporated into the service level agreement
- 16.2 and shall be paid to the Office of MN.IT
- 16.3 Services by the Department of Public Safety
- 16.4 <u>under the rates and mechanism specified in</u>
- 16.5 <u>that agreement.</u>

16.6 (a) Public Safety Answering Points

- 16.7 **\$27,328,000 the first year and \$28,011,000**
- 16.8 <u>the second year shall be distributed as</u>
- 16.9 provided in Minnesota Statutes, section
- 16.10 403.113, subdivision 2. The base appropriation
- 16.11 is \$28,011,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
- 16.12 **\$28,011,000 in fiscal year 2025.**

16.13 (b) Medical Resource Communication Centers

- 16.14 **\$683,000 the first year is for grants to the**
- 16.15 Minnesota Emergency Medical Services
- 16.16 Regulatory Board for the Metro East and
- 16.17 Metro West Medical Resource
- 16.18 Communication Centers that were in operation
- 16.19 before January 1, 2000.
- 16.20 (c) ARMER State Backbone Operating
- 16.21 **Costs**
- 16.22 **\$9,675,000** each year is transferred to the
- 16.23 <u>commissioner of transportation for costs of</u>
- 16.24 maintaining and operating the statewide radio
- 16.25 system backbone.

16.26 (d) ARMER Improvements

- 16.27 \$1,000,000 each year is to the Statewide
- 16.28 Emergency Communications Board for
- 16.29 improvements to those elements of the
- 16.30 statewide public safety radio and
- 16.31 communication system that support mutual
- 16.32 <u>aid communications and emergency medical</u>
- 16.33 services or provide interim enhancement of

17.1	public safety communication interoperability			
17.2	in those areas of the state where the statewide			
17.3	public safety radio and communication system			
17.4	is not yet implemented, and grants to local			
17.5	units of government to further the strategic			
17.6	goals set forth by the Statewide Emergency			
17.7	Communications Board strategic plan.			
17.8	(e) 911 Telecommunicator Working Group			
17.9	\$9,000 the first year is to convene, administer,			
17.10	and implement the 911 telecommunicator			
17.11	working group.			
17.12	Subd. 9. Driver and Vehicle Services		465,000	389,000
17.13	\$465,000 the first year and \$389,000 the			
17.14	second year are from the driver services			
17.15	operating account in the special revenue fund			
17.16	for the ignition interlock program under			
17.17	Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306.			
17.18 17.19	Sec. 15. <u>PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AN</u> TRAINING (POST) BOARD	[<u>D</u>		
17.20	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>11,563,000</u> §	<u>11,554,000</u>
17.21	The amounts that may be spent for each			
17.22	purpose are specified in the following			
17.23	subdivisions.			
17.24	Subd. 2. Peace Officer Training Reimbursemen	its		
17.25	\$2,949,000 each year is for reimbursements			
17.26	to local governments for peace officer training			
17.27	<u>costs.</u>			
17.28	Subd. 3. Peace Officer Training Assistance			
17.29	Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund			
17.30	\$6,000,000 each year is to support and			
17.31	strengthen law enforcement training and			
17.32	implement best practices. This funding shall			

18.1	be named the "Philando Castile Memorial
18.2	Training Fund."
18.3	Each sponsor of a training course is required
18.4	to include the following in the sponsor's
18.5	application for approval submitted to the
18.6	board: course goals and objectives; a course
18.7	outline including at a minimum a timeline and
18.8	teaching hours for all courses; instructor
18.9	qualifications, including skills and concepts
18.10	such as crisis intervention, de-escalation, and
18.11	cultural competency that are relevant to the
18.12	course provided; and a plan for learning
18.13	assessments of the course and documenting
18.14	the assessments to the board during review.
18.15	Upon completion of each course, instructors
18.16	must submit student evaluations of the
18.17	instructor's teaching to the sponsor.
18.18	The board shall keep records of the
18.18 18.19	<u>z</u>
	The board shall keep records of the
18.19	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied
18.19 18.20	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall
18.19 18.20 18.21	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board
18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22	<u>The board shall keep records of the</u> <u>applications of all approved and denied</u> <u>courses. All continuing education courses shall</u> <u>be reviewed after the first year. The board</u> <u>must set a timetable for recurring review after</u>
18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor
 18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.24 	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the
 18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.24 18.25 	<u>The board shall keep records of the</u> <u>applications of all approved and denied</u> <u>courses. All continuing education courses shall</u> <u>be reviewed after the first year. The board</u> <u>must set a timetable for recurring review after</u> <u>the first year. For each review, the sponsor</u> <u>must submit its learning assessments to the</u> <u>board to show that the course is teaching the</u>
18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.24 18.25 18.26	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the board to show that the course is teaching the learning outcomes that were approved by the
18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.24 18.25 18.26 18.26	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the board to show that the course is teaching the learning outcomes that were approved by the board.
18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.24 18.25 18.26 18.27 18.28	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the board to show that the course is teaching the learning outcomes that were approved by the board.A list of licensees who successfully complete
 18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.24 18.25 18.26 18.27 18.28 18.29 	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the board to show that the course is teaching the learning outcomes that were approved by the board.A list of licensees who successfully complete the course shall be maintained by the sponsor
 18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.23 18.24 18.25 18.26 18.27 18.28 18.29 18.30 	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the board to show that the course is teaching the learning outcomes that were approved by the board.A list of licensees who successfully complete the course shall be maintained by the sponsor and transmitted to the board following the
 18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22 18.23 18.23 18.24 18.25 18.26 18.27 18.28 18.29 18.30 18.31 	The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the board to show that the course is teaching the learning outcomes that were approved by the board. A list of licensees who successfully complete the course shall be maintained by the sponsor and transmitted to the board following the presentation of the course and the completed

19.1	a data retention schedule for the information
19.2	collected in this section.
19.3	Each year, if funds are available after
19.4	reimbursing all eligible requests for courses
19.5	approved by the board under this subdivision,
19.6	the board may use the funds to reimburse law
19.7	enforcement agencies for other
19.8	board-approved law enforcement training
19.9	courses. The base for this activity is \$0 in
19.10	fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.
19.11	Sec. 16. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD § 282,000 § 288,000
19.12	Sec. 17. CORRECTIONS
19.13 19.14	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation \$ 183,000 \$ 630,943,000 \$ 639,312,000
19.15	The amounts that may be spent for each
19.16	purpose are specified in the following
19.17	subdivisions.
19.18 19.19	Subd. 2. Incarceration and Prerelease Services 183,000 461,538,000 469,578,000
19.20	(a) Healthy Start Act
19.21	\$100,000 each year is to implement the
19.22	healthy start act that shall create a release
19.23	program for pregnant women and new mothers
19.24	who are committed to the commissioner of
19.25	corrections by providing alternatives to
19.26	incarceration and improving parenting skills.
19.27	(b) Prescription Medications
19.28	\$17,000 the first year and \$20,000 the second
19.29	year are to provide a one-month supply of any
19.30	prescribed, nonnarcotic medications and a
19.31	prescription for a 30-day supply of these
19.32	medications that may be refilled twice to
19.33	inmates at the time of their release.

20.1	(c) Incarceration and Prerelease Services		
20.2	Base Budget		
20.3	The general fund base for Department of		
20.4	Corrections incarceration and prerelease		
20.5	services is \$469,883,000 in fiscal year 2024		
20.6	and \$470,331,000 in fiscal year 2025.		
20.7 20.8 20.9	Subd. 3. Community Supervision and Postrelease Services	137,780,000	138,204,000
20.10	(a) Community Corrections Act		
20.11	\$1,220,000 each year is added to the		
20.12	Community Corrections Act subsidy, as		
20.13	described in Minnesota Statutes, section		
20.14	401.14. This is a onetime increase for the		
20.15	biennium and requires the submission of a		
20.16	report to the legislature no later than December		
20.17	15, 2021, with recommendations from a		
20.18	working group established to study		
20.19	supervision services and funding across the		
20.20	state and develop recommendations. This is a		
20.21	onetime appropriation.		
20.22	The commissioner of corrections shall convene		
20.23	a working group to study and report to the		
20.24	legislature on the attributes and requirements		
20.25	of an effective supervision system. The report		
20.26	shall describe how the state and counties can		
20.27	achieve an effective supervision system		
20.28	together, balancing local control with state		
20.29	support and collaboration. The report shall		
20.30	include: a proposal for sustainable funding of		
20.31	the state's community supervision delivery		
20.32	systems; a plan for the potential of future		
20.33	Tribal government supervision of probationers		
20.34	and supervised releasees; a definition of core		
20.35	or base-level supervision standards in		

21

21.1	accordance with the state's obligation to fund
21.2	or provide supervision services that are
21.3	geographically equitable and reflect the
21.4	principles of modern correctional practice; a
21.5	recommended funding model and the
21.6	associated costs as compared to the state's
21.7	current investment in those services;
21.8	alternative funding and delivery models and
21.9	the alternative models' associated costs when
21.10	compared with the state's current investment
21.11	in those services; and mechanisms to ensure
21.12	balanced application of increases in the cost
21.13	of community supervision services.
21.14	The working group shall at a minimum include
21.15	the following members: the commissioner of
21.16	corrections or the commissioner's designee
21.17	and four other representatives from the
21.18	Department of Corrections, five directors of
21.19	the Minnesota Association of Community
21.20	Corrections Act Counties, five directors of the
21.21	Minnesota Association of County Probation
21.22	Offices, three county commissioner
21.23	representatives from the Association of
21.24	Minnesota Counties with one from each
21.25	delivery system, three representatives of the
21.26	Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Tribal
21.27	government members, and two district court
21.28	judge representatives designated by the State
21.29	Court Administrator. The working group may
21.30	include other members and the use of a
21.31	third-party organization to provide process
21.32	facilitation, statewide stakeholder engagement,
21.33	data analysis, programming and supervision
21.34	assessments, and technical assistance through
21.35	implementation of the adopted report
21.36	recommendations.

Article 1 Sec. 17.

22.1	The report shall be submitted to the chairs and
22.2	ranking minority members of the house of
22.3	representatives Public Safety Committee and
22.4	the senate Judiciary and Finance Committees
22.5	no later than December 15, 2021.
22.6	(b) County Probation Officer
22.7	Reimbursement
22.8	\$101,000 each year is for county probation
22.9	officers reimbursement, as described in
22.10	Minnesota Statutes, section 244.19,
22.11	subdivision 6. This is a onetime increase for
22.12	the biennium and requires the submission of
22.13	a report to the legislature no later than
22.14	December 15, 2021, with recommendations
22.15	from a working group established to study
22.16	supervision services and funding across the
22.17	state and develop recommendations. This is a
22.18	onetime appropriation.
22.19	(c) Probation Supervision Services
22.20	\$1,170,000 each year is for probation
22.21	supervision services provided by the
22.22	Department of Corrections in Meeker, Mille
22.23	Lacs, and Renville Counties as described in
22.24	Minnesota Statutes, section 244.19,
22.25	subdivision 1. The commissioner of
22.26	corrections shall bill Meeker, Mille Lacs, and
22.27	Renville Counties for the total cost of and
22.28	expenses incurred for probation services on
22.29	behalf of each county, as described in
22.30	Minnesota Statutes, section 244.19,
22.31	subdivision 5, and all reimbursements shall
22.32	be deposited in the general fund.

- 22.33 (d) Task Force on Aiding and Abetting
- 22.34 Felony Murder

23.1	\$25,000 the first year is to implement the task
23.2	force on aiding and abetting felony murder.
23.3	(e) Alternatives to Incarceration
23.4	\$320,000 each year is for funding to Anoka
23.5	County, Crow Wing County, and Wright
23.6	County to facilitate access to community
23.7	treatment options under the alternatives to
23.8	incarceration program.
23.9	(f) Juvenile Justice Report
23.10	\$55,000 the first year and \$9,000 the second
23.11	year are for reporting on extended jurisdiction
23.12	juveniles.
23.13	(g) Postrelease Employment for Inmates
23.14	Grant; Request for Proposals
23.15	\$300,000 the first year is for a grant to a
23.16	nongovernmental organization to provide
23.17	curriculum and corporate mentors to inmates
23.18	and assist inmates in finding meaningful
23.19	employment upon release from a correctional
23.20	facility. By September 1, 2021, the
23.21	commissioner of corrections must issue a
23.22	request for proposals. By December 1, 2021,
23.23	the commissioner shall award a \$300,000 grant
23.24	to the applicant that is best qualified to provide
23.25	the programming described in this paragraph.
23.26	(h) Homelessness Mitigation Plan
23.27	\$12,000 the first year is to develop and
23.28	implement a homelessness mitigation plan for
23.29	individuals released from prison.
23.30	(i) Identifying Documents
23.31	\$23,000 the first year and \$28,000 the second
23.32	year are to assist inmates in obtaining a copy
23.33	of their birth certificates and provide

Article 1 Sec. 17.

24.1	appropriate Department of Corrections		
24.2	identification cards to individuals released		
24.3	from prison.		
24.4	(j) Predatory Offender Statutory		
24.5	Framework Working Group		
24.6	\$25,000 the first year is to convene,		
24.7	administer, and implement the Predatory		
24.8	Offender Statutory Framework Working		
24.9	Group.		
24.10 24.11	Subd. 4. Organizational, Regulatory, and Administrative Services	31,625,000	<u>31,530,000</u>
24.12	(a) Technology		
24.13	\$1,566,000 the first year and \$1,621,000 the		
24.14	second year are to increase support for		
24.15	ongoing technology needs.		
24.16	(b) Correctional Facilities Security Audit		
24.17	Group		
24.18	\$42,000 the first year and \$69,000 the second		
24.19	year are for the correctional facilities security		
24.20	audit group to prepare security audit standards,		
24.21	conduct security audits, and prepare required		
24.22	reports.		
24.23	(c) Oversight		
24.24	\$992,000 the first year and \$492,000 the		
24.25	second year are to expand and improve		
24.26	oversight of jails and other state and local		
24.27	correctional facilities, including the addition		
24.28	of four full-time corrections detention facilities		
24.29	inspectors and funds for county sheriffs who		
24.30	inspect municipal lockups.		
24.31	(d) Jailhouse Witness Data		

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
25.1	\$20,000 the first year is for costs associa	ited		
25.2	with collecting and reporting on jailhous	e		
25.3	witness data.	_		
25.4 25.5	Sec. 18. OMBUDSPERSON FOR CORRECTIONS	<u>\$</u>	<u>659,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>663,000</u>
25.6 25.7	Sec. 19. <u>DEPARTMENT OF NATURA</u> <u>RESOURCES</u>	<u>AL</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>489,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>387,000</u>
25.8	\$489,000 the first year and \$387,000 the			
25.9	second year are to purchase body camera	<u>s for</u>		
25.10	conservation officers employed by the			
25.11	Department of Natural Resources and to			
25.12	maintain the necessary hardware, softwa	re,		
25.13	and data. The base appropriation is \$387	,000		
25.14	in fiscal year 2024 and \$387,000 in fiscal	year		
25.15	<u>2025.</u>			
25.16 25.17	Sec. 20. <u>CANCELLATION; FISCAL</u>	<u>YEAR</u>		
25.18	(a) Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement	<u>nt</u>		
25.19	\$132,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general	fund		
25.20	appropriation under Laws 2019, First Sp	ecial		
25.21	Session chapter 5, article 1, section 12,			
25.22	subdivision 6, is canceled.			
25.23	(b) Office of Justice Programs			
25.24	\$213,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general	fund		
25.25	appropriation under Laws 2019, First Sp	ecial		
25.26	Session chapter 5, article 1, section 12,			
25.27	subdivision 7, is canceled.			
25.28	Sec. 21. TRANSFER; DISASTER A	SSISTANCE CO	ONTINGENCY A	CCOUNT.
25.29	(a) If the fiscal year 2021 final closin	g balance in the	general fund exceed	ls the closing
25.30	balance projected at the end of the 2021	first special legis	slative session by at	least
25.31	\$30,000,000, the commissioner of manage	gement and budge	et must transfer \$30,	000,000 from
25.32	the general fund to the disaster assistance	contingency acc	ount established und	ler Minnesota
25.33	Statutes, section 12.221, subdivision 6.			

06/27/21

KLL/BM

26.1	(b) If the fiscal year 2021 final closing balance in the general fund exceeds the closing
26.2	balance projected at the end of the 2021 first special legislative session by less than
26.3	\$30,000,000, the commissioner of management and budget must transfer an amount equal
26.4	to the difference between the fiscal year 2021 final closing balance and the closing balance
26.5	projected at the end of the 2021 first special legislative session from the general fund to the
26.6	disaster assistance contingency account established under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.221,
26.7	subdivision 6.
26.8	(c) If a transfer is required under this section, the transfer must be completed before
26.9	September 30, 2021.
26.10	ARTICLE 2
26.11	PUBLIC SAFETY
26.12	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 152.01, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
26.13	Subd. 18. Drug paraphernalia. (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), "drug
26.14	paraphernalia" means all equipment, products, and materials of any kind, except those items
26.15	used in conjunction with permitted uses of controlled substances under this chapter or the
26.16	Uniform Controlled Substances Act, which are knowingly or intentionally used primarily
26.17	in (1) manufacturing a controlled substance, (2) injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise
26.18	introducing into the human body a controlled substance, (3) testing the strength, effectiveness,
26.19	or purity of a controlled substance, or (4) enhancing the effect of a controlled substance.
26.20	(b) "Drug paraphernalia" does not include the possession, manufacture, delivery, or sale
26.21	of: (1) hypodermic needles or syringes in accordance with section 151.40, subdivision $2\frac{1}{2}$.
26.22	or (2) products that detect the presence of fentanyl or a fentanyl analog in a controlled
26.23	substance.
26.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effect July 1, 2021, for acts occurring on or after
26.25	that date.
26.26	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.55, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
26.27	Subd. 2. Reinstatement of driving privileges; notice. Upon expiration of a period of
26.28	revocation under section 169A.52 (license revocation for test failure or refusal), 169A.54
26.29	(impaired driving convictions and adjudications; administrative penalties), or 171.177
26.30	(revocation; search warrant), the commissioner shall notify the person of the terms upon
26.31	which driving privileges can be reinstated, and new registration plates issued, which terms
26.32	are: (1) successful completion of an examination and proof of compliance with any terms

of alcohol treatment or counseling previously prescribed, if any; and (2) any other 27.1 requirements imposed by the commissioner and applicable to that particular case. The 27.2 commissioner shall notify the owner of a motor vehicle subject to an impoundment order 27.3 under section 169A.60 (administrative impoundment of plates) as a result of the violation 27.4 of the procedures for obtaining new registration plates, if the owner is not the violator. The 27.5 commissioner shall also notify the person that if driving is resumed without reinstatement 27.6 of driving privileges or without valid registration plates and registration certificate, the 27.7 27.8 person will be subject to criminal penalties. Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.55, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 27.9 Subd. 4. Reinstatement of driving privileges; multiple incidents. (a) A person whose 27.10 driver's license has been revoked as a result of an offense listed under clause (2) shall not 27.11 be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without an ignition interlock restriction 27.12 until the commissioner certifies that either: 27.13 27.14 (1) the person did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or at any time between the time of the offense and the driver's request for reinstatement, or commit a 27.15 27.16 violation of chapter 169, 169A, or 171 between the time of the offense and the driver's 27.17 request for reinstatement or at the time of the arrest for the offense listed under clause (2), item (i), subitem (A) or (B), or (ii), subitem (A) or (B), as based on: 27.18 (i) a request by the person for reinstatement, on a form to be provided by the Department 27.19 27.20 of Public Safety; (ii) the person's attestation under penalty of perjury; and 27.21 (iii) the submission by the driver of certified copies of vehicle registration records and 27.22 driving records for the period from the arrest until the driver seeks reinstatement of driving 27.23 privileges; or 27.24 (2) the person used the ignition interlock device and complied with section 171.306 for 27.25 a period of not less than: 27.26 (i) one year, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for: 27.27 (A) an offense occurring within ten years of a qualified prior impaired driving incident; 27.28 27.29 or (B) an offense occurring after two qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or 27.30 (ii) two years, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for: 27.31

27

06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 (A) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the test results indicated 28.1 an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more; or 28.2 (B) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the current offense is 28.3 for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 2. 28.428.5 (a) (b) A person whose driver's license has been canceled or denied as a result of three or more qualified impaired driving incidents shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving 28.6 privileges without an ignition interlock restriction until the person: 28.7 (1) has completed rehabilitation according to rules adopted by the commissioner or been 28.8 granted a variance from the rules by the commissioner; and 28.9 (2) has submitted verification of abstinence from alcohol and controlled substances 28.10 under paragraph (c), as evidenced by the person's use of an ignition interlock device or other 28.11 chemical monitoring device approved by the commissioner. 28.12 (b) (c) The verification of abstinence must show that the person has abstained from the 28.13 use of alcohol and controlled substances for a period of not less than: 28.14 (1) three years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 28.15 occurring within ten years of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, or 28.16 occurring after three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; 28.17 (2) four years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 28.18 occurring within ten years of the first of three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or 28.19 (3) six years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 28.20 occurring after four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents. 28.21 (c) The commissioner shall establish performance standards and a process for certifying 28.22 chemical monitoring devices. The standards and procedures are not rules and are exempt 28.23 from chapter 14, including section 14.386. 28.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for revocations occurring 28.25 on or after that date. 28.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.60, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 28.27 28.28 Subd. 2. Plate impoundment violation; impoundment order. (a) The commissioner shall issue a registration plate impoundment order when: 28.29 28.30 (1) a person's driver's license or driving privileges are revoked for a plate impoundment

28.31 violation; or

06/27/21

KLL/BM

- 29.1 (2) a person is arrested for or charged with a plate impoundment violation described in
 29.2 subdivision 1, paragraph (d), clause (5); or
- 29.3 (3) a person issued new registration plates pursuant to subdivision 13, paragraph (f),
 29.4 violates the terms of the ignition interlock program as described in subdivision 13, paragraph
 29.5 (g).

(b) The order must require the impoundment of the registration plates of the motor
vehicle involved in the plate impoundment violation and all motor vehicles owned by,
registered, or leased in the name of the violator, including motor vehicles registered jointly
or leased in the name of the violator and another. The commissioner shall not issue an
impoundment order for the registration plates of a rental vehicle, as defined in section
168.041, subdivision 10, or a vehicle registered in another state.

29.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.60, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Notice of impoundment. An impoundment order is effective when the 29.13 commissioner or a peace officer acting on behalf of the commissioner notifies the violator 29.14 or the registered owner of the motor vehicle of the intent to impound and order of 29.15 29.16 impoundment. The notice must advise the violator of the duties and obligations set forth in subdivision 6 (surrender of plates) and of the right to obtain administrative and judicial 29.17 review. The notice to the registered owner who is not the violator must include the procedure 29.18 to obtain new registration plates under subdivision 8. If mailed, the notice and order of 29.19 impoundment is deemed received three days after mailing to the last known address of the 29.20 violator or the registered owner, including the address provided when the person became a 29.21 program participant in the ignition interlock program under section 171.306. 29.22

29.23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.60, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

29.24 Subd. 13. **Special registration plates.** (a) At any time during the effective period of an 29.25 impoundment order, a violator or registered owner may apply to the commissioner for new 29.26 registration plates, which must bear a special series of numbers or letters so as to be readily 29.27 identified by traffic law enforcement officers. The commissioner may authorize the issuance 29.28 of special plates if:

29.29 (1) the violator has a qualified licensed driver whom the violator must identify;

29.30 (2) the violator or registered owner has a limited license issued under section 171.30;

29.31 (3) the registered owner is not the violator and the registered owner has a valid or limited29.32 driver's license;

KLL/BM

- (4) a member of the registered owner's household has a valid driver's license; or 30.1 (5) the violator has been reissued a valid driver's license. 30.2 (b) The commissioner may not issue new registration plates for that vehicle subject to 30.3 plate impoundment for a period of at least one year from the date of the impoundment order. 30.4 30.5 In addition, if the owner is the violator, new registration plates may not be issued for the vehicle unless the person has been reissued a valid driver's license in accordance with chapter 30.6 171. 30.7 (c) A violator may not apply for new registration plates for a vehicle at any time before 30.8 the person's driver's license is reinstated. 30.9 (d) The commissioner may issue the special plates on payment of a \$50 fee for each 30.10 vehicle for which special plates are requested, except that a person who paid the fee required 30.11 under paragraph (f) must not be required to pay an additional fee if the commissioner issued 30.12 an impoundment order pursuant to paragraph (g). 30.13 (e) Paragraphs (a) to (d) notwithstanding, the commissioner must issue upon request 30.14 new registration plates for a any vehicle owned by a violator or registered owner for which 30.15 the registration plates have been impounded if: 30.16 (1) the impoundment order is rescinded; 30.17 (2) the vehicle is transferred in compliance with subdivision 14; or 30.18 (3) the vehicle is transferred to a Minnesota automobile dealer licensed under section 30.19 168.27, a financial institution that has submitted a repossession affidavit, or a government 30.20 agency. 30.21 (f) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (d), the commissioner, upon request and payment 30.22 of a \$100 fee for each vehicle for which special plates are requested, must issue new 30.23 registration plates for any vehicle owned by a violator or registered owner for which the 30.24 registration plates have been impounded if the violator becomes a program participant in 30.25 the ignition interlock program under section 171.306. This paragraph does not apply if the 30.26 registration plates have been impounded pursuant to paragraph (g). 30.27 (g) The commissioner shall issue a registration plate impoundment order for new 30.28 registration plates issued pursuant to paragraph (f) if, before a program participant in the 30.29 ignition interlock program under section 171.306 has been restored to full driving privileges, 30.30
 - 30.31 the program participant:

06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 (1) either voluntarily or involuntarily ceases to participate in the program for more than 31.1 31.2 30 days; or (2) fails to successfully complete the program as required by the Department of Public 31.3 Safety due to: 31.4 31.5 (i) two or more occasions of the participant's driving privileges being withdrawn for violating the terms of the program, unless the withdrawal is determined to be caused by an 31.6 error of the department or the interlock provider; or 31.7 (ii) violating the terms of the contract with the provider as determined by the provider. 31.8 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.29, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 31.9 Subdivision 1. Examination required. (a) No person whose driver's license has been 31.10 revoked by reason of conviction, plea of guilty, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, under 31.11 section 169.791, 169.797, 171.17, or 171.172, or revoked under section 169.792, 169A.52, 31.12 31.13 or 171.177 shall be issued another license unless and until that person shall have successfully passed an examination as required by the commissioner of public safety. This subdivision 31.14 does not apply to an applicant for early reinstatement under section 169.792, subdivision 31.15 7a. 31.16 31.17 (b) The requirement to successfully pass the examination described in paragraph (a) does not apply to a person whose driver's license has been revoked because of an impaired 31.18 driving offense. 31.19 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.30, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 31.20 Subdivision 1. Conditions of issuance. (a) The commissioner may issue a limited license 31.21 to the driver under the conditions in paragraph (b) in any case where a person's license has 31.22 been: 31.23 (1) suspended under section 171.18, 171.173, 171.186, or 171.187; 31.24 (2) revoked, canceled, or denied under section: 31.25 (i) 169.792; 31.26 (ii) 169.797; 31.27 (iii) 169A.52: 31.28 (A) subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2); or 31.29

32.1	(B) subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance with section
32.2	171.306;
32.3	(C) (B) subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), if the test results indicate an
32.4	alcohol concentration of less than twice the legal limit;
32.5	(D) subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance with section
32.6	171.306;
32.7	(iv) 171.17; or
32.8	(v) 171.172;
32.9	(3) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 169A.54:
32.10	(i) subdivision 1, clause (1), if the test results indicate an alcohol concentration of less
32.11	than twice the legal limit;
32.12	(ii) subdivision 1, clause (2); or
32.13	(iii) subdivision 1, clause (5), (6), or (7), if in compliance with section 171.306; or
32.14	(iv) (iii) subdivision 2, if the person does not have a qualified prior impaired driving
32.15	incident as defined in section 169A.03, subdivision 22, on the person's record, and the test
32.16	results indicate an alcohol concentration of less than twice the legal limit; or
32.17	(4) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 171.177:
32.18	(i) subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2); or
32.19	(ii) subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance with section
32.20	171.306;
32.21	(iii) (ii) subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), if the test results indicate an
32.22	alcohol concentration of less than twice the legal limit; or.
32.23	(iv) subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance with section
32.24	171.306.
32.25	(b) The following conditions for a limited license under paragraph (a) include:
32.26	(1) if the driver's livelihood or attendance at a chemical dependency treatment or
32.27	counseling program depends upon the use of the driver's license;
32.28	(2) if the use of a driver's license by a homemaker is necessary to prevent the substantial
32.29	disruption of the education, medical, or nutritional needs of the family of the homemaker;
32.30	or

32

KLL/BM

(3) if attendance at a postsecondary institution of education by an enrolled student of 33.1 that institution depends upon the use of the driver's license. 33.2

(c) The commissioner in issuing a limited license may impose such conditions and 33.3 limitations as in the commissioner's judgment are necessary to the interests of the public 33.4 safety and welfare including reexamination as to the driver's qualifications. The license may 33.5 be limited to the operation of particular vehicles, to particular classes and times of operation, 33.6 and to particular conditions of traffic. The commissioner may require that an applicant for 33.7 33.8 a limited license affirmatively demonstrate that use of public transportation or carpooling as an alternative to a limited license would be a significant hardship. 33.9

33.10 (d) For purposes of this subdivision:

(1) "homemaker" refers to the person primarily performing the domestic tasks in a 33.11 household of residents consisting of at least the person and the person's dependent child or 33.12 other dependents; and 33.13

(2) "twice the legal limit" means an alcohol concentration of two times the limit specified 33.14 in section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (5). 33.15

(e) The limited license issued by the commissioner shall clearly indicate the limitations 33.16 imposed and the driver operating under the limited license shall have the license in possession 33.17 at all times when operating as a driver. 33.18

(f) In determining whether to issue a limited license, the commissioner shall consider 33.19 the number and the seriousness of prior convictions and the entire driving record of the 33.20 driver and shall consider the number of miles driven by the driver annually. 33.21

(g) If the person's driver's license or permit to drive has been revoked under section 33.22 169.792 or 169.797, the commissioner may only issue a limited license to the person after 33.23 the person has presented an insurance identification card, policy, or written statement 33.24 33.25 indicating that the driver or owner has insurance coverage satisfactory to the commissioner of public safety. The commissioner of public safety may require the insurance identification 33.26 card provided to satisfy this subdivision be certified by the insurance company to be 33.27 noncancelable for a period not to exceed 12 months. 33.28

(h) The limited license issued by the commissioner to a person under section 171.186, 33.29 subdivision 4, must expire 90 days after the date it is issued. The commissioner must not 33.30 issue a limited license to a person who previously has been issued a limited license under 33.31 section 171.186, subdivision 4. 33.32

33

	06/27/21 RE	VISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252	
34.1	(i) The commissioner shall not issue a limited driver's license to any person described				
34.2	in section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (6), (7), (8), (11), or (14).				
34.3	(j) The commissioner shall not issue a class A, class B, or class C limited license.				
54.5	(j) The commissioner shar not issue a ch	uss <i>I</i> , cluss <i>D</i> , of	class c minted nee	1150.	
34.4	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.306, subdivision 2, is amended to read:				
34.5	Subd. 2. Performance standards; certification; manufacturer and provider				
34.6	requirements. (a) The commissioner shall establish performance standards and a process				
34.7	for certifying devices used in the ignition interlock program, except that the commissioner				
34.8	may not establish standards that, directly or indirectly, require devices to use or enable				
34.9	location tracking capabilities without a court order.				
34.10	(b) The manufacturer of a device must apply annually for certification of the device by				
34.11	submitting the form prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall require				
34.12	manufacturers of certified devices to:				
34.13	(1) provide device installation, servicing, and monitoring to indigent program participants				
34.14	at a discounted rate, according to the standards established by the commissioner; and				
34.15	(2) include in an ignition interlock device	contract a provis	ion that a program p	articipant	
34.16	who voluntarily terminates participation in the program is only liable for servicing and				
34.17	monitoring costs incurred during the time the device is installed on the motor vehicle,				
34.18	regardless of whether the term of the contrac	regardless of whether the term of the contract has expired; and			
34.19	(3) include in an ignition interlock device contract a provision that requires manufacturers				
34.20	of certified devices to pay any towing or repair costs caused by device failure or malfunction,				
34.21	or by damage caused during device installation, servicing, or monitoring.				
34.22	(c) The manufacturer of a certified device	e must include wit	h an ignition interlo	ck device	
34.23	contract a separate notice to the program par	contract a separate notice to the program participant regarding any location tracking			
34.24	capabilities of the device.				
34.25	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section	171.306, subdivis	sion 4, is amended t	o read:	
34.26	Subd. 4. Issuance of restricted license.	(a) The commissi	ioner shall issue a cl	lass D	
34.27	driver's license, subject to the applicable lim	driver's license, subject to the applicable limitations and restrictions of this section, to a			
34.28	program participant who meets the requirement	program participant who meets the requirements of this section and the program guidelines.			
34.29	The commissioner shall not issue a license unless the program participant has provided				
34.30	satisfactory proof that:				

06/27/21

A21-0252

(1) a certified ignition interlock device has been installed on the participant's motor 35.1 vehicle at an installation service center designated by the device's manufacturer; and 35.2

(2) the participant has insurance coverage on the vehicle equipped with the ignition 35.3 interlock device. If the participant has previously been convicted of violating section 169.791, 35.4 169.793, or 169.797 or the participant's license has previously been suspended or canceled 35.5 under section 169.792 or 169.797, the commissioner shall require the participant to present 35.6 an insurance identification card, policy, or written statement as proof of insurance coverage, 35.7 35.8 and may require the insurance identification card provided be that is certified by the insurance company to be noncancelable for a period not to exceed 12 months. 35.9

35.10 (b) A license issued under authority of this section must contain a restriction prohibiting the program participant from driving, operating, or being in physical control of any motor 35.11 vehicle not equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device certified by the 35.12 commissioner. A participant may drive an employer-owned vehicle not equipped with an 35.13 interlock device while in the normal course and scope of employment duties pursuant to 35.14 the program guidelines established by the commissioner and with the employer's written 35.15 consent. 35.16

(c) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked under section 35.17 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 4, paragraph 35.18 (a), clause (1), (2), or (3); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (1), (2), (3), or (4); or 171.177, 35.19 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause 35.20 (1), (2), or (3); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause 35.21 (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 35.22 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or 35.23 (4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, 35.24 clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or 35.25 great bodily harm, where the participant has fewer than two qualified prior impaired driving 35.26 incidents within the past ten years or fewer than three qualified prior impaired driving 35.27 incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of the driver's license, subject to 35.28 35.29 the ignition interlock restriction.

(d) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked, canceled, or 35.30 denied under section 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or 35.31 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (5), (6), 35.32 or (7); or 171.177, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or subdivision 5, 35.33 paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, 35.34 paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 35.35

609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), 36.1 item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 36.2 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4), resulting in bodily harm, 36.3 substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm, where the participant has two or more qualified 36.4 prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years or three or more qualified prior 36.5 impaired driving incidents ever; may apply for a limited conditional reinstatement of the 36.6 driver's license, subject to the ignition interlock restriction, if the program participant is 36.7 36.8 enrolled in a licensed chemical dependency treatment or rehabilitation program as recommended in a chemical use assessment, and if the participant meets the other applicable 36.9 requirements of section 171.30. After completing. As a prerequisite to eligibility for eventual 36.10 reinstatement of full driving privileges, a participant whose chemical use assessment 36.11 recommended treatment or rehabilitation shall complete a licensed chemical dependency 36.12 36.13 treatment or rehabilitation program and one year of limited license use without violating the ignition interlock restriction, the conditions of limited license use, or program guidelines, 36.14 the participant may apply for conditional reinstatement of the driver's license, subject to the 36.15 ignition interlock restriction. If the program participant's ignition interlock device 36.16 subsequently registers a positive breath alcohol concentration of 0.02 or higher, the 36.17 commissioner shall cancel the driver's license, and the program participant may apply for 36.18 another limited license according to this paragraph. extend the time period that the participant 36.19 must participate in the program until the participant has reached the required abstinence 36.20 period described in section 169A.55, subdivision 4. 36.21

(e) Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, the commissioner has authority
to determine when a program participant is eligible for restoration of full driving privileges,
except that the commissioner shall not reinstate full driving privileges until the program
participant has met all applicable prerequisites for reinstatement under section 169A.55 and
until the program participant's device has registered no positive breath alcohol concentrations
of 0.02 or higher during the preceding 90 days.

36.28 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243.166, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

36.29 Subd. 1b. **Registration required.** (a) A person shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to
violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted
of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set
of circumstances:

36.34 (i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2);

36

REVISOR

37.1	(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25;
37.2	(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451,
37.3	subdivision 3; or 609.3453;
37.4	(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or
37.5	(v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746,
37.6	subdivision 1, paragraph (f);
37.7	(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or
37.8	aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit any of the following and convicted of or adjudicated
37.9	delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:
37.10	(i) criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);
37.11	(ii) false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2;
37.12	(iii) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in
37.13	the sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322;
37.14	(iv) a prostitution offense in violation of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);
37.15	(v) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352,
37.16	subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1);
37.17	(vi) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or
37.18	(vii) possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of section 617.247;
37.19	(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455,
37.20	subdivision 3a; or
37.21	(4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial,
37.22	violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar
37.23	to the offenses an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in
37.24	clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another
37.25	offense arising out of the same set of circumstances.
37.26	(b) A person also shall register under this section if:
37.27	(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state that would
37.28	be a violation of a law similar to an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense
37.29	described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state, clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted
37.30	of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set
37.31	of circumstances;

(2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and
remains for 14 days or longer or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during
any calendar year; and

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the
person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for
the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration
period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated,
or is subject to lifetime registration.

38.9 If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another 38.10 state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period 38.11 regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated 38.12 delinquent.

38.13 (c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant
38.14 to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter
38.15 253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the
38.16 United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense.

38.17 (d) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate
any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or
the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the
offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United
States;

38.23 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency
38.24 after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in
38.25 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and

38.26 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section
38.27 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States.

38.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to offenders
 38.29 who live in the state or who enter the state on or after that date.

38.30 Sec. 12. [299A.477] HOMETOWN HEROES ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.

38.31 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.

39.1	(b) "Firefighter" means a volunteer, paid on-call, part-time, or career firefighter serving
39.2	a general population within the boundaries of the state.
39.3	(c) "Minnesota Firefighter Initiative" means a collaborative that is established by major
39.4	fire service organizations in Minnesota, is a nonprofit organization, and is tax exempt under
39.5	section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.
39.6	Subd. 2. Program established. The commissioner of public safety shall award a grant
39.7	to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative to administer a hometown heroes assistance program
39.8	for Minnesota firefighters. The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall use the grant funds:
39.9	(1) to provide a onetime critical illness monetary support payment to each firefighter
39.10	who is diagnosed with cancer or heart disease and who applies for the payment. Monetary
39.11	support shall be provided according to the requirements in subdivision 3;
39.12	(2) to develop a psychotherapy program customized to address emotional trauma
39.13	experienced by firefighters and to offer all firefighters in the state up to five psychotherapy
39.14	sessions per year under the customized program, provided by mental health professionals;
39.15	(3) to offer additional psychotherapy sessions to firefighters who need them;
39.16	(4) to develop, annually update, and annually provide to all firefighters in the state at
39.17	least two hours of training on cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma as causes of illness
39.17 39.18	least two hours of training on cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma as causes of illness and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational
39.18	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational
39.18 39.19	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide
39.18 39.19 39.20	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional
39.1839.1939.2039.21	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 39.24 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4).
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 39.24 39.25 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4). <u>Subd. 3. Critical illness monetary support program.</u> (a) The Minnesota Firefighter
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 39.24 39.25 39.26 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4). Subd. 3. Critical illness monetary support program. (a) The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall establish and administer a critical illness monetary support program which
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 39.24 39.25 39.26 39.27 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4). Subd. 3. Critical illness monetary support program. (a) The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall establish and administer a critical illness monetary support program which shall provide a onetime support payment of up to \$20,000 to each firefighter diagnosed with
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 39.24 39.25 39.26 39.27 39.28 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4). Subd. 3. Critical illness monetary support program. (a) The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall establish and administer a critical illness monetary support program which shall provide a onetime support payment of up to \$20,000 to each firefighter diagnosed with cancer or heart disease. A firefighter may apply for monetary support from the program, in
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 39.23 39.24 39.25 39.26 39.26 39.27 39.28 39.29 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4). Subd. 3. Critical illness monetary support program. (a) The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall establish and administer a critical illness monetary support program which shall provide a onetime support payment of up to \$20,000 to each firefighter diagnosed with cancer or heart disease. A firefighter may apply for monetary support from the program, in a form specified by the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative, if the firefighter has a current
 39.18 39.19 39.20 39.21 39.22 39.23 39.24 39.25 39.26 39.26 39.27 39.28 39.29 39.30 	and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4). Subd. 3. Critical illness monetary support program. (a) The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall establish and administer a critical illness monetary support program which shall provide a onetime support payment of up to \$20,000 to each firefighter diagnosed with cancer or heart disease. A firefighter may apply for monetary support from the program, in a form specified by the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative, if the firefighter has a current diagnosis of cancer or heart disease or was diagnosed with cancer or heart disease in the

KLL/BM

- 40.1 criteria to guide disbursement of monetary support payments under this program, and shall
 40.2 scale the amount of monetary support provided to each firefighter according to the severity
 40.3 of the firefighter's diagnosis.
- 40.4 (b) The commissioner of public safety may access the accounts of the critical illness
- 40.5 monetary support program and may conduct periodic audits of the program to ensure that
- 40.6 payments are being made in compliance with this section and disbursement criteria
- 40.7 established by the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative.
- 40.8 <u>Subd. 4.</u> <u>Money from nonstate sources.</u> The commissioner may accept contributions
 40.9 from nonstate sources to supplement state appropriations for the hometown heroes assistance
 40.10 program. Contributions received under this subdivision are appropriated to the commissioner
 40.11 for the grant to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative for purposes of this section.
- 40.12 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 40.13 Subd. 2. Expense recovery. The commissioner shall assess the responsible person for 40.14 the regional hazardous materials response team costs of response. The commissioner may 40.15 bring an action for recovery of unpaid costs, reasonable attorney fees, and any additional 40.16 court costs. Any funds received by the commissioner under this subdivision are appropriated 40.17 to the commissioner to pay for costs for which the funds were received. Any remaining
- 40.18 <u>funds at the end of the biennium shall be transferred to the Fire Safety Account.</u>

40.19 Sec. 14. [299A.783] STATEWIDE ANTITRAFFICKING INVESTIGATION 40.20 COORDINATION.

- Subdivision 1. Antitrafficking investigation coordinator. The commissioner of public 40.21 safety must appoint a statewide antitrafficking investigation coordinator who shall work in 40.22 the Office of Justice Programs. The coordinator must be a current or former law enforcement 40.23 officer or prosecutor with experience investigating or prosecuting trafficking-related offenses. 40.24 The coordinator must also have knowledge of services available to and Safe Harbor response 40.25 for victims of sex trafficking and sexual exploitation and Minnesota's child welfare system 40.26 40.27 response. The coordinator serves at the pleasure of the commissioner in the unclassified service. 40.28
- 40.29 Subd. 2. **Coordinator's responsibilities.** The coordinator shall have the following duties:
- 40.30 (1) develop, coordinate, and facilitate training for law enforcement officers, prosecutors,
- 40.31 courts, child welfare workers, social service providers, medical providers, and other
- 40.32 community members;

41.1	(2) establish standards for approved training and review compliance with those standards;
41.2	(3) coordinate and monitor multijurisdictional sex trafficking task forces;
41.3	(4) review, develop, promote, and monitor compliance with investigative protocols to
41.4	ensure that law enforcement officers and prosecutors engage in best practices;
41.5	(5) provide technical assistance and advice related to the investigation and prosecution
41.6	of trafficking offenses and the treatment of victims;
41.7	(6) promote the efficient use of resources by addressing issues of deconfliction, providing
41.8	advice regarding questions of jurisdiction, and promoting the sharing of data between entities
41.9	investigating and prosecuting trafficking offenses;
41.10	(7) assist in the appropriate distribution of grants;
41.11	(8) perform other duties necessary to ensure effective and efficient investigation and
41.12	prosecution of trafficking-related offenses; and
41.13	(9) coordinate with other federal, state, and local agencies to ensure multidisciplinary
41.14	responses to trafficking and exploitation of youth in Minnesota.
41.15	Sec. 15. [299A.85] OFFICE FOR MISSING AND MURDERED INDIGENOUS
41.16	RELATIVES.
41.17	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings
41.18	given.
41.19	(a) "Indigenous" means descended from people who were living in North America at
41.20	the time people from Europe began settling in North America.
41.21	(b) "Missing and murdered Indigenous relatives" means missing and murdered Indigenous
41.22	people.
41.23	(c) "Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force report" means the report
41.24	titled "Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force: a Report to the Minnesota
41.25	Legislature," published by the Wilder Research organization in December 2020.
41.26	Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish and maintain an office
41.27	dedicated to preventing and ending the targeting of Indigenous women, children, and
41.28	two-spirited people with the Minnesota Office of Justice Programs.
41.29	Subd. 3. Director; staff. (a) The commissioner must appoint a director who is a person
41.30	closely connected to a Tribe or Indigenous community and who is highly knowledgeable

42.1	about criminal investigations. The commissioner is encouraged to consider candidates for
42.2	appointment who are recommended by Tribes and Indigenous communities.
42.3	(b) The director may select, appoint, and compensate out of available funds assistants
42.4	and employees as necessary to discharge the office's responsibilities.
42.5	(c) The director and full-time staff shall be members of the Minnesota State Retirement
42.6	Association.
42.7	Subd. 4. Duties. The office has the following duties:
42.8	(1) advocate in the legislature for legislation that will facilitate the accomplishment of
42.9	the mandates identified in the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force report;
42.10	(2) advocate for state agencies to take actions to facilitate the accomplishment of the
42.11	mandates identified in the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force report;
42.12	(3) develop recommendations for legislative and agency actions to address injustice in
42.13	the criminal justice system's response to the cases of missing and murdered Indigenous
42.14	relatives;
42.15	(4) facilitate research to refine the mandates in the Missing and Murdered Indigenous
42.16	Women Task Force report and to assess the potential efficacy, feasibility, and impact of the
42.17	recommendations;
42.18	(5) develop tools and processes to evaluate the implementation and impact of the efforts
42.19	of the office;
42.20	(6) track and collect Minnesota data on missing and murdered indigenous women,
42.21	children, and relatives, and provide statistics upon public or legislative inquiry;
42.22	(7) facilitate technical assistance for local and Tribal law enforcement agencies during
42.23	active missing and murdered Indigenous relatives cases;
42.24	(8) conduct case reviews and report on the results of case reviews for the following types
42.25	of missing and murdered Indigenous relatives cases: cold cases for missing Indigenous
42.26	people and death investigation review for cases of Indigenous people ruled as suicide or
42.27	overdose under suspicious circumstances;
42.28	(9) conduct case reviews of the prosecution and sentencing for cases where a perpetrator
42.29	committed a violent or exploitative crime against an Indigenous person. These case reviews
42.30	should identify those cases where the perpetrator is a repeat offender;

- (10) prepare draft legislation as necessary to allow the office access to the data required 43.1 for the office to conduct the reviews required in this section and advocate for passage of 43.2 43.3 that legislation; (11) review sentencing guidelines for missing and murdered Indigenous women-related 43.4 43.5 crimes, recommend changes if needed, and advocate for consistent implementation of the guidelines across Minnesota courts; 43.6 (12) develop and maintain communication with relevant divisions in the Department of 43.7 Public Safety regarding any cases involving missing and murdered Indigenous relatives and 43.8 on procedures for investigating cases involving missing and murdered Indigenous relatives; 43.9 43.10 and (13) coordinate, as relevant, with the Bureau of Indian Affairs' Cold Case Office through 43.11 Operation Lady Justice and other federal efforts, as well as efforts in neighboring states and 43.12 Canada. This recommendation pertains to state efforts. Tribes are sovereign nations that 43.13 have the right to determine if and how they will coordinate with these other efforts. 43.14 Subd. 5. Coordination with other organizations. In fulfilling its duties the office may 43.15 coordinate, as useful, with stakeholder groups that were represented on the Missing and 43.16 Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force and state agencies that are responsible for the 43.17 systems that play a role in investigating, prosecuting, and adjudicating cases involving 43.18 violence committed against Indigenous women, those who have a role in supporting or 43.19 advocating for missing or murdered Indigenous women and the people who seek justice for 43.20 them, and those who represent the interests of Indigenous people. This includes the following 43.21 entities: Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association; Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; Bureau 43.22 of Criminal Apprehension; Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; Tribal law 43.23 enforcement; Minnesota County Attorneys Association; United States Attorney's Office; 43.24 juvenile courts; Minnesota Coroners' and Medical Examiners' Association; United States 43.25 43.26 Coast Guard; state agencies, including the Departments of Health, Human Services, Education, Corrections, and Public Safety; the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council; service 43.27 providers who offer legal services, advocacy, and other services to Indigenous women and 43.28 girls; the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition; Mending the Sacred Hoop; 43.29 Indian health organizations; Indigenous women and girls who are survivors; the 11 Tribal 43.30 nations that share geography with Minnesota; and organizations and leadership from urban 43.31 and statewide American Indian communities. 43.32
- 43.33 <u>Subd. 6.</u> <u>Reports.</u> The office must report on measurable outcomes achieved to meet its
 43.34 <u>statutory duties</u>, along with specific objectives and outcome measures proposed for the

44.1	following year. The report must include data and statistics on missing and murdered
44.2	indigenous women, children, and relatives in Minnesota, including names, dates of
44.3	disappearance, and dates of death, to the extent the data is publicly available. The office
44.4	must submit the report by January 15 each year to the chairs and ranking minority members
44.5	of the legislative committees with primary jurisdiction over public safety.
44.6	Subd. 7. Grants. The office may apply for and receive grants from public and private
44.7	entities for purposes of carrying out the office's duties under this section.
44.8	Subd. 8. Access to data. Notwithstanding section 13.384 or 13.85, the director has access
44.9	to corrections and detention data and medical data maintained by an agency and classified
44.10	as private data on individuals or confidential data on individuals to the extent the data is
44.11	necessary for the office to perform its duties under this section.
44.12	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.80, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
44.13	Subd. 3. Additional duty. (a) The unit shall investigate all criminal sexual conduct
44.14	cases:
44.15	(1) involving peace officers, including criminal sexual conduct cases involving chief
44.16	law enforcement officers; and
44.17	(2) where a member of the Minnesota National Guard is the victim, the accused is a
44.18	member of the Minnesota National Guard, and the incident occurred in Minnesota.
44.19	(b) The unit shall assist the agency investigating an alleged sexual assault of a member
44.20	of the Minnesota National Guard by another member of the Minnesota National Guard that
44.21	occurred in a jurisdiction outside of the state, if the investigating agency requests assistance
44.22	from the unit.
44.23	(c) The unit may also investigate conflict of interest cases involving peace officers.
44.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for investigations
44.25	beginning on or after that date.
44.26	Sec. 17. [299F.0115] EXEMPTION FOR MEMBERS OF FEDERALLY
44.27	RECOGNIZED TRIBES.
44.28	(a) The state fire marshal shall issue building-specific waivers for elements of the State
44.29	Fire Code that conflict with a federally recognized Tribe's religious beliefs, traditional
44.30	building practices, or established teachings. Both individual members of federally recognized

45.1	Tribes, direct lineal descendents of federally recognized Tribes, and organizations of members
45.2	of federally recognized Tribes may apply for these waivers.
45.3	(b) Waivers may only be granted for the following types of buildings:
45.4	(1) traditional residential buildings that will be used solely by an individual applicant's
45.5	household or an organizational applicant's members;
45.6	(2) meeting houses; and
45.7	(3) one-room educational buildings.
45.8	(c) To obtain a waiver, an applicant must apply to the state fire marshal on a form
45.9	established by the state fire marshal. The application must:
45.10	(1) identify the building the waiver will apply to;
45.11	(2) identify the Tribe the applicant is a member of; and
45.12	(3) declare that requirements of the State Fire Code conflict with religious beliefs,
45.13	traditional building practices, or established teachings of the identified Tribe, which the
45.14	applicant adheres to.
45.15	(d) Any building for which a waiver is granted may not be sold or leased until:
45.16	(1) the building is brought into compliance with the version of the State Fire Code in
45.17	force at the time of the sale or lease; or
45.18	(2) the prospective buyer or lessee to which the building is being sold or leased to obtains
45.19	a waiver under this section for the building.
45.20	Sec. 18. [326B.125] EXEMPTION FOR MEMBERS OF FEDERALLY
45.21	RECOGNIZED TRIBES.
45.22	(a) The commissioner of labor and industry shall issue building-specific waivers for
45.23	elements of the State Building Code that conflict with a federally recognized Tribe's religious
45.24	beliefs, traditional building practices, or established teachings. Both individual members
45.25	of federally recognized Tribes, direct lineal descendents of federally recognized Tribes, and
45.26	organizations of members of federally recognized Tribes may apply for these waivers.
45.27	(b) Waivers may only be granted for the following types of buildings:
45.28	(1) traditional residential buildings that will be used solely by an individual applicant's
45.29	household or an organizational applicant's members;
45.30	(2) meeting houses; and

REVISOR

46.1	(3) one-room educational buildings.
46.2	(c) To obtain a waiver, an applicant must apply to the commissioner on a form established
46.3	by the commissioner. The application must:
46.4	(1) identify the building the waiver will apply to;
46.5	(2) identify the Tribe the applicant is a member of; and
46.6	(3) declare that requirements of the State Building Code conflict with religious beliefs,
46.7	traditional building practices, or established teachings of the identified Tribe, which the
46.8	applicant adheres to.
46.9	(d) Any building for which a waiver is granted may not be sold or leased until:
46.10	(1) the building is brought into compliance with the version of the State Building Code
46.11	in force at the time of the sale or lease; or
46.12	(2) the prospective buyer or lessee to which the building is being sold or leased to obtains
46.13	a waiver under this section for the building.
	U
46.14	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 340A.504, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
46.15	Subd. 7. Sales after 1:00 a.m.; permit fee. (a) No licensee may sell intoxicating liquor
46.16	or 3.2 percent malt liquor on-sale between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. unless the
46.17	licensee has obtained a permit from the commissioner. Application for the permit must be
46.18	on a form the commissioner prescribes. Permits are effective for one year from date of
46.19	issuance. For retailers of intoxicating liquor, the fee for the permit is based on the licensee's
46.20	gross receipts from on-sales of alcoholic beverages in the 12 months prior to the month in
46.21	which the permit is issued, and is at the following rates:
46.22	(1) up to \$100,000 in gross receipts, \$300;
46.23	(2) over \$100,000 but not over \$500,000 in gross receipts, \$750; and
46.24	(3) over \$500,000 in gross receipts, \$1,000.
46.25	For a licensed retailer of intoxicating liquor who did not sell intoxicating liquor at on-sale
46.26	for a full 12 months prior to the month in which the permit is issued, the fee is \$200. For a
46.27	retailer of 3.2 percent malt liquor, the fee is \$200.
46.28	(b) The commissioner shall deposit all permit fees received under this subdivision in
46.29	the alcohol enforcement account in the special revenue general fund.
46.30	(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of revenue may furnish
46.30	to the commissioner the information necessary to administer and enforce this subdivision.
10.01	to the commissioner the mormation necessary to administer and emotor this subdivision.

47.1	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
47.2	Subd. 16. Metropolitan area. "Metropolitan area" means the counties of Anoka, Carver,
47.3	Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, and Washington.
47.4	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
47.5	Subdivision 1. Emergency response services. (a) Services available through a 911
47.6	system must include police, firefighting, and emergency medical and ambulance services.
47.7	Other emergency and civil defense services may be incorporated into the 911 system at the
47.8	discretion of the public agency operating the public safety answering point.
47.9	(b) In addition to ensuring an appropriate response under paragraph (a), the 911 system
47.10	may shall include a referral to mental health crisis teams, where available.
47.11	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
47.12	Subd. 2. Design standards for metropolitan area. The Metropolitan 911 Emergency
47.13	Services Board shall establish and adopt design standards for the metropolitan area 911
47.14	system and transmit them to the commissioner for incorporation into the rules adopted
47.15	pursuant to this section.
47.15	pursuant to this section.
47.15	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
47.16	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
47.16 47.17	Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer
47.16 47.17 47.18	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21 47.22	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21 47.22 47.23	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21 47.22 47.23 47.24	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21 47.22 47.23 47.24 47.25	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service program, to make distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs,
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21 47.22 47.23 47.24 47.25 47.26	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service program, to make distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs, including administrative and staffing costs, incurred by the State Patrol Division of the
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21 47.22 47.23 47.24 47.25 47.26 47.27	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service program, to make distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs, including administrative and staffing costs, incurred by the State Patrol Division of the Department of Public Safety in handling 911 emergency calls made from wireless phones.
47.16 47.17 47.18 47.19 47.20 47.21 47.22 47.23 47.24 47.25 47.26 47.27 47.28	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service program, to make distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs, including administrative and staffing costs, incurred by the State Patrol Division of the Department of Public Safety in handling 911 emergency calls made from wireless phones. (b) Money remaining in the 911 emergency telecommunications service account after

REVISOR

KLL/BM

A21-0252

06/27/21

(c) The fee may not be less than eight cents nor more than 65 cents a month until June 48.1 30, 2008, not less than eight cents nor more than 75 cents a month until June 30, 2009, not 48.2 less than eight cents nor more than 85 cents a month until June 30, 2010, and not less than 48.3 eight cents nor more than 95 cents a month on or after July 1, 2010, for each customer access 48.4 line or other basic access service, including trunk equivalents as designated by the Public 48.5 Utilities Commission for access charge purposes and including wireless telecommunications 48.6 services. With the approval of the commissioner of management and budget, the 48.7 48.8 commissioner of public safety shall establish the amount of the fee within the limits specified and inform the companies and carriers of the amount to be collected. When the revenue 48.9 bonds authorized under section 403.27, subdivision 1, have been fully paid or defeased, the 48.10 commissioner shall reduce the fee to reflect that debt service on the bonds is no longer 48.11 needed. The commissioner shall provide companies and carriers a minimum of 45 days' 48.12 notice of each fee change. The fee must be the same for all customers, except that the fee 48.13 imposed under this subdivision does not apply to prepaid wireless telecommunications 48.14 service, which is instead subject to the fee imposed under section 403.161, subdivision 1, 48.15 paragraph (a). 48.16

(d) The fee must be collected by each wireless or wire-line telecommunications service
provider subject to the fee. Fees are payable to and must be submitted to the commissioner
monthly before the 25th of each month following the month of collection, except that fees
may be submitted quarterly if less than \$250 a month is due, or annually if less than \$25 a
month is due. Receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a 911
emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue fund. The money in
the account may only be used for 911 telecommunications services.

48.24 (e) Competitive local exchanges carriers holding certificates of authority from the Public
48.25 Utilities Commission are eligible to receive payment for recurring 911 services.

48.26 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.21, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

48.27 Subd. 3. First phase. "First phase" or "first phase of the regionwide public safety radio
48.28 communication system" means the initial backbone which serves the following nine-county
48.29 ten-county metropolitan area: Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey,
48.30 Scott, Sherburne, and Washington Counties.

48.31 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.21, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

48.32 Subd. 12. Greater Minnesota. "Greater Minnesota" means the area of the state outside
48.33 the nine-county ten-county metropolitan area served by the first phase.

49.1

A21-0252

- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) The commissioner of public safety shall convene and
 chair the Statewide Radio Board to develop a project plan for a statewide, shared, trunked
 public safety radio communication system. The system may be referred to as "Allied Radio
 Matrix for Emergency Response," or "ARMER."
- 49.6 (b) The board consists of the following members or their designees:
- 49.7 (1) the commissioner of public safety;
- 49.8 (2) the commissioner of transportation;
- 49.9 (3) the state chief information officer;
- 49.10 (4) the commissioner of natural resources;
- 49.11 (5) the chief of the Minnesota State Patrol;
- 49.12 (6) the chair of the Metropolitan Council;

49.13 (7) two elected city officials, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area
49.14 and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the League of
49.15 Minnesota Cities;

49.16 (8) two elected county officials, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area
49.17 and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the Association of
49.18 Minnesota Counties;

49.19 (9) two sheriffs, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area and one from
49.20 Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;

49.21 (10) two chiefs of police, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area and
49.22 one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governor after considering recommendations
49.23 made by the Minnesota Chiefs' of Police Association;

49.24 (11) two fire chiefs, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area and one
49.25 from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governor after considering recommendations
49.26 made by the Minnesota Fire Chiefs' Association;

49.27 (12) two representatives of emergency medical service providers, one from the
49.28 <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by
49.29 the governor after considering recommendations made by the Minnesota Ambulance
49.30 Association;

(13) the chair of the regional radio board for the metropolitan area Metropolitan 50.1 Emergency Services Board; and 50.2 (14) a representative of Greater Minnesota elected by those units of government in phase 50.3 three and any subsequent phase of development as defined in the statewide, shared radio 50.4 and communication plan, who have submitted a plan to the Statewide Radio Board and 50.5 where development has been initiated. 50.6 (c) The Statewide Radio Board shall coordinate the appointment of board members 50.7 representing Greater Minnesota with the appointing authorities and may designate the 50.8 geographic region or regions from which an appointed board member is selected where 50.9 necessary to provide representation from throughout the state. 50.10 Sec. 27. [604A.06] AID TO SEXUAL ASSAULT VICTIMS. 50.11 Subdivision 1. Person seeking assistance; immunity from prosecution. (a) A person 50.12 50.13 acting in good faith who contacts a 911 operator or first responder to report that a sexual assault victim is in need of assistance may not be charged or prosecuted for: 50.14 (1) the possession, sharing, or use of a controlled substance under section 152.025, or 50.15 possession of drug paraphernalia; and 50.16 (2) if the person is under the age of 21 years, the possession, purchase, or consumption 50.17 of alcoholic beverages under section 340A.503. 50.18 (b) A person qualifies for the immunities provided in this subdivision only if: 50.19 (1) the evidence for the charge or prosecution was obtained as a result of the person's 50.20 seeking assistance for a sexual assault victim; and 50.21 (2) the person seeks assistance for a sexual assault victim who is in need of assistance 50.22 for an immediate health or safety concern, provided that the person who seeks the assistance 50.23 50.24 is the first person to seek the assistance, provides a name and contact information, and remains on the scene until assistance arrives or is provided. 50.25 50.26 (c) This subdivision applies to one or two persons acting in concert with the person initiating contact provided all the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) are met. 50.27 Subd. 2. Person experiencing sexual assault; immunity from prosecution. (a) A 50.28 sexual assault victim who is in need of assistance may not be charged or prosecuted for: 50.29 (1) the possession, sharing, or use of a controlled substance under section 152.025, or 50.30 possession of drug paraphernalia; and 50.31

51.1	(2) if the victim is under the age of 21 years, the possession, purchase, or consumption
51.2	of alcoholic beverages under section 340A.503.
51.3	(b) A victim qualifies for the immunities provided in this subdivision only if the evidence
51.4	for the charge or prosecution was obtained as a result of the request for assistance related
51.5	to the sexual assault.
51.6	Subd. 3. Persons on probation or release. A person's pretrial release, probation,
51.7	furlough, supervised release, or parole shall not be revoked based on an incident for which
51.8	the person would be immune from prosecution under subdivision 1 or 2.
51.9	Subd. 4. Effect on other criminal prosecutions. (a) The act of providing assistance to
51.10	a sexual assault victim may be used as a mitigating factor in a criminal prosecution for
51.11	which immunity is not provided.
51.12	(b) Nothing in this section shall:
51.13	(1) be construed to bar the admissibility of any evidence obtained in connection with
51.14	the investigation and prosecution of other crimes or violations committed by a person who
51.15	otherwise qualifies for limited immunity under this section;
51.16	(2) preclude prosecution of a person on the basis of evidence obtained from an
51.17	independent source;
51.18	(3) be construed to limit, modify, or remove any immunity from liability currently
51.19	available to public entities, public employees by law, or prosecutors; or
51.20	(4) prevent probation officers from conducting drug or alcohol testing of persons on
51.21	pretrial release, probation, furlough, supervised release, or parole.
51.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, and applies to actions
51.23	arising from incidents occurring on or after that date.
51.24	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
51.25	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the
51.26	meanings given.
51.27	(b) "Conviction" means any of the following accepted and recorded by the court: a plea
51.28	of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by the court. The term includes
51.29	a conviction by any court in Minnesota or another jurisdiction.

(c) "Prior conviction" means a conviction that occurred before the offender committed
the next felony resulting in a conviction and before the offense for which the offender is
being sentenced under this section.

(d) "Violent crime" means a violation of or an attempt or conspiracy to violate any of 52.4 the following laws of this state or any similar laws of the United States or any other state: 52.5 sections 152.137; 609.165; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.205; 609.2112; 609.2113; 52.6 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.228; 609.235; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25; 609.255; 52.7 52.8 609.2661; 609.2662; 609.2663; 609.2664; 609.2665; 609.267; 609.2671; 609.268; 609.322; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.498, subdivision 1; 609.561; 609.562; 609.582, 52.9 subdivision 1; 609.66, subdivision 1e; 609.687; and 609.855, subdivision 5; any provision 52.10 of sections 609.229; 609.377; 609.378; 609.749; and 624.713 that is punishable by a felony 52.11 penalty; or any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 52.12 years or more; or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21. 52.13

52.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 52.15 crimes committed on or after that date.

52.16 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.131, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

52.17 Subd. 2. **Certain violations excepted.** Subdivision 1 does not apply to a misdemeanor 52.18 violation of section 169A.20; 171.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (g); 171.306, subdivision 52.19 6; 609.224; 609.2242; 609.226; 609.324, subdivision 3; 609.52; or 617.23, or an ordinance 52.20 that conforms in substantial part to any of those sections. A violation described in this 52.21 subdivision must be treated as a misdemeanor unless the defendant consents to the 52.22 certification of the violation as a petty misdemeanor.

52.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 52.24 crimes committed on or after that date.

52.25 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

52.26 Subdivision 1. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking

52.27 in the first degree. (a) Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron,

52.28 intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more

52.29 than $\frac{20.25}{25}$ years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$50,000, or both:

52.30 (1) solicits or induces an individual under the age of 18 years to practice prostitution;

52.31 (2) promotes the prostitution of an individual under the age of 18 years;

53.1	(3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the
53.2	prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual under the age of 18 years;
53.3	or
53.4	(4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual under the age of 18 years.
53.5	(b) Whoever violates paragraph (a) or subdivision 1a may be sentenced to imprisonment
53.6	for not more than 25 <u>30</u> years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$60,000, or both, if
53.7	one or more of the following aggravating factors are present:
53.8	(1) the offender has committed a prior qualified human trafficking-related offense;
53.9	(2) the offense involved a sex trafficking victim who suffered bodily harm during the
53.10	commission of the offense;
53.11	(3) the time period that a sex trafficking victim was held in debt bondage or forced labor
53.12	or services exceeded 180 days; or
53.13	(4) the offense involved more than one sex trafficking victim.
53.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
55.17	
53.15	crimes committed on or after that date.
53.15	crimes committed on or after that date.
53.15 53.16	crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
53.1553.1653.17	crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking
53.1553.1653.1753.18	crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 	crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 20 years
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 	crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both:
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 	 crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both: (1) solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution;
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 	 crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both: (1) solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution; (2) promotes the prostitution of an individual;
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 53.23 	 <u>crimes committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 45 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both: (1) solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution; (2) promotes the prostitution of an individual; (3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the
 53.15 53.16 53.17 53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 53.23 53.24 	 <u>crimes committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both: solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution; promotes the prostitution of an individual; receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual; or

REVISOR

KLL/BM

54.1

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.221, is amended to read:

54.2 **609.221 ASSAULT IN THE FIRST DEGREE.**

54.3 Subdivision 1. **Great bodily harm.** Whoever assaults another and inflicts great bodily 54.4 harm may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine 54.5 of not more than \$30,000, or both.

54.6 Subd. 2. Use of deadly force against peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or 54.7 correctional employee. (a) Whoever assaults a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, 54.8 or correctional employee by using or attempting to use deadly force against the officer, 54.9 attorney, judge, or employee while the person is engaged in the performance of a duty 54.10 imposed by law, policy, or rule may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 54.11 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$30,000, or both.

(b) A person convicted of assaulting a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or 54.12 correctional employee as described in paragraph (a) shall be committed to the commissioner 54.13 of corrections for not less than ten years, nor more than 20 years. A defendant convicted 54.14 54.15 and sentenced as required by this paragraph is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, work release, or supervised release, until that person has served the full term of imprisonment 54.16 as provided by law, notwithstanding the provisions of sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 54.17 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135. Notwithstanding section 609.135, the court may not stay the 54.18 imposition or execution of this sentence. 54.19

54.20 Subd. 3. Great bodily harm; peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or

54.21 correctional employee. Whoever assaults a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or
54.22 correctional employee and inflicts great bodily harm on the officer, attorney, judge, or
54.23 employee while the person is engaged in the performance of a duty imposed by law, policy,
54.24 or rule may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to payment of a
54.25 fine of not more than \$35,000, or both.

54.26Subd. 4. Use of dangerous weapon or deadly force resulting in great bodily harm54.27against peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or correctional employee. Whoever54.28assaults and inflicts great bodily harm upon a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or54.29correctional employee with a dangerous weapon or by using or attempting to use deadly54.30force against the officer, attorney, judge, or employee while the person is engaged in the54.31performance of a duty imposed by law, policy, or rule may be sentenced to imprisonment54.32for not more than 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both.

54.33 Subd. 5. Mandatory sentences for assaults against a peace officer, prosecuting 54.34 attorney, judge, or correctional employee. (a) A person convicted of assaulting a peace

55.1	officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or correctional employee shall be committed to the
55.2	custody of the commissioner of corrections for not less than:
55.3	(1) ten years, nor more than 20 years, for a violation of subdivision 2;
55.4	(2) 15 years, nor more than 25 years, for a violation of subdivision 3; or
55.5	(3) 25 years, nor more than 30 years, for a violation of subdivision 4.
55.6	(b) A defendant convicted and sentenced as required by this subdivision is not eligible
55.7	for probation, parole, discharge, work release, or supervised release, until that person has
55.8	served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law, notwithstanding the provisions of
55.9	sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135. Notwithstanding section
55.10	609.135, the court may not stay the imposition or execution of this sentence.
55.11	Subd. 6. Definitions. (c) As used in this subdivision section:
55.12	(1) "correctional employee" means an employee of a public or private prison, jail, or
55.13	workhouse;
55.14	(2) "deadly force" has the meaning given in section 609.066, subdivision 1;
55.15	(3) "peace officer" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1;
55.16	(4) "prosecuting attorney" means an attorney, with criminal prosecution or civil
55.17	responsibilities, who is the attorney general, a political subdivision's elected or appointed
55.18	county or city attorney, or a deputy, assistant, or special assistant of any of these; and
55.19	(5) "judge" means a judge or justice of any court of this state that is established by the
55.20	Minnesota Constitution.
55.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
55.22	crimes committed on or after that date.
55.23	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
55.24	Subd. 2. Patrons of prostitution in public place; penalty for patrons. (a) Whoever,
55.25	while acting as a patron, intentionally does any of the following while in a public place is
55.26	guilty of a gross misdemeanor:
55.27	(1) engages in prostitution with an individual 18 years of age or older; or
55.28	(2) hires, offers to hire, or agrees to hire an individual 18 years of age or older to engage
55.29	in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

- 56.1 Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 4, a person who is convicted of violating this
 56.2 subdivision must, at a minimum, be sentenced to pay a fine of at least \$1,500.
- 56.3 (b) Whoever violates the provisions of this subdivision within ten years of a previous
- 56.4 conviction for violating this section or section 609.322 is guilty of a felony and may be
 56.5 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more
 56.6 than \$10,000, or both.
- 56.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
 56.8 crimes committed on or after that date.
- 56.9 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

56.10 Subd. 4. **Community service in lieu of minimum fine.** The court may order a person 56.11 convicted of violating subdivision 2 or 3 to perform community work service in lieu of all 56.12 or a portion of the minimum fine required under those subdivisions if the court makes 56.13 specific, written findings that the convicted person is indigent or that payment of the fine 56.14 would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family. 56.15 Community work service ordered under this subdivision is in addition to any mandatory 56.16 community work service ordered under subdivision 3.

56.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 56.18 crimes committed on or after that date.

56.19 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3241, is amended to read:

56.20 **609.3241 PENALTY ASSESSMENT AUTHORIZED.**

(a) When a court sentences an adult convicted of violating section 609.27, 609.282, 56.21 609.283, 609.322, 609.324, 609.33, 609.352, 617.246, 617.247, or 617.293, while acting 56.22 other than as a prostitute, the court shall impose an assessment of not less than \$500 and 56.23 not more than \$750 for a misdemeanor violation of section 609.27, a violation of section 56.24 56.25 609.324, subdivision 2, a misdemeanor violation of section 609.324, subdivision 3, a violation of section 609.33, or a violation of section 617.293; otherwise the court shall impose an 56.26 assessment of not less than \$750 and not more than \$1,000. The assessment shall be 56.27 distributed as provided in paragraph (c) and is in addition to the surcharge required by 56.28 section 357.021, subdivision 6. 56.29

(b) The court may not waive payment of the minimum assessment required by this
section. If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on
the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the assessment

would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family, 57.1 the court may reduce the amount of the minimum assessment to not less than \$100. The

court also may authorize payment of the assessment in installments. 57.3

57.4

(c) The assessment collected under paragraph (a) must be distributed as follows:

(1) 40 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the political subdivision that 57.5 employs the arresting officer for use in enforcement, training, and education activities related 57.6 to combating sexual exploitation of youth, or if the arresting officer is an employee of the 57.7 state, this portion shall be forwarded to the commissioner of public safety for those purposes 57.8 identified in clause (3); 57.9

(2) 20 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the prosecuting agency that handled 57.10 the case for use in training and education activities relating to combating sexual exploitation 57.11 activities of youth; and 57.12

(3) 40 percent of the assessment must be forwarded to the commissioner of health to be 57.13 deposited in the safe harbor for youth account in the special revenue fund and are 57.14 appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services organizations 57.15 that provide services to sexually exploited youth, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 57.16 31. 57.17

(d) A safe harbor for youth account is established as a special account in the state treasury. 57.18

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 57.19 crimes committed on or after that date. 57.20

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3459, is amended to read: 57.21

609.3459 LAW ENFORCEMENT; REPORTS OF SEXUAL ASSAULTS. 57.22

(a) A victim of any violation of sections 609.342 to 609.3453 may initiate a law 57.23 enforcement investigation by contacting any law enforcement agency, regardless of where 57.24 the crime may have occurred. The agency must prepare a summary of the allegation and 57.25 provide the person with a copy of it. The agency must begin an investigation of the facts, 57.26 or, if the suspected crime was committed in a different jurisdiction, refer the matter along 57.27 with the summary to the law enforcement agency where the suspected crime was committed 57.28 for an investigation of the facts. If the agency learns that both the victim and the accused 57.29 are members of the Minnesota National Guard, the agency receiving the report must refer 57.30 the matter along with the summary to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for investigation 57.31 pursuant to section 299C.80. 57.32

58.1	(b) If a law enforcement agency refers the matter to the law enforcement agency where
58.2	the crime was committed, it need not include the allegation as a crime committed in its
58.3	jurisdiction for purposes of information that the agency is required to provide to the
58.4	commissioner of public safety pursuant to section 299C.06, but must confirm that the other
58.5	law enforcement agency has received the referral.
58.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for investigations
58.7	beginning on or after that date.
58.8	Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.352, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
58.9	Subd. 4. Penalty. A person convicted under subdivision 2 or 2a is guilty of a felony and
58.10	may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three five years, or to payment of a
58.11	fine of not more than \$5,000 <u>\$10,000</u> , or both.
58.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
58.13	crimes committed on or after that date.
58.14	Sec. 38. [609.3775] CHILD TORTURE.
58.15	Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "torture" means the intentional
58.16	infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extreme psychological or physical abuse, when
58.17	committed in an especially depraved manner.
58.18	Subd. 2. Crime. A person who tortures a child is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced
58.19	to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$35,000,
58.20	or both.
58.21	Subd. 3. Proof; evidence. (a) Expert testimony as to the existence or extent of mental
58.22	anguish or psychological abuse is not a requirement for a conviction under this section.
58.23	(b) A child's special susceptibility to mental anguish or psychological abuse does not
58.24	constitute an independent cause of the condition so that a defendant is exonerated from
58.25	criminal liability.
58.26	(c) Proof that a victim suffered pain is not an element of a violation of this section.
58.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
58.28	crimes committed on or after that date.

06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.605, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

59.2 Subd. 2. **Gross misdemeanor.** Whoever trespasses upon the grounds of a facility 59.3 providing emergency shelter services for battered women, as defined under section 611A.31, 59.4 subdivision 3, or providing comparable services for sex trafficking victims, as defined under 59.5 <u>section 609.321</u>, subdivision 7b, or of a facility providing transitional housing for battered 59.6 women and their children or sex trafficking victims and their children, without claim of 59.7 right or consent of one who has right to give consent, and refuses to depart from the grounds 59.8 of the facility on demand of one who has right to give consent, is guilty of a gross

59.9 misdemeanor.

59.1

59.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 59.11 crimes committed on or after that date.

59.12 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.66, subdivision 1e, is amended to read:

59.13 Subd. 1e. Felony; drive-by shooting. (a) Whoever, A person is guilty of a felony who,
59.14 while in or having just exited from a motor vehicle, recklessly discharges a firearm at or
59.15 toward another:

59.16 (1) an unoccupied motor vehicle or a building is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced
59.17 to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than
59.18 \$6,000, or both.;

- 59.19 (2) an occupied motor vehicle or building; or
- 59.20 (3) a person.

(b) Any person who violates this subdivision by firing at or toward a person, or an
occupied building or motor vehicle, may be sentenced <u>A person convicted under paragraph</u>
(a), clause (1), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment
of a fine of not more than \$6,000, or both. A person convicted under paragraph (a), clause
(2) or (3), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of
a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section
609.52, subdivision 1, and "building" has the meaning given in section 609.581, subdivision
2.

59.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 59.31 crimes committed on or after that date.

	06/27/21		REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
60.1	Sec. 41. Laws 2016, chapter	189, artic	le 4, section 7, is	s amended to read:	
60.2	Sec. 7. PUBLIC SAFETY		\$	-0- \$	6,100,000
60.3	Appropriations	by Fund			
60.4	General	-0-	1,600,000		
60.5	Trunk Highway	-0-	4,500,000		
60.6	The amounts that may be spen	t for each			
60.7	purpose are specified in the for	llowing			
60.8	paragraphs.				
60.9	(a) DNA Laboratory				
60.10	\$630,000 is for the Bureau of	Criminal			
60.11	Apprehension DNA laboratory	, includin	g the		
60.12	addition of six forensic scienti	sts. The b	ase		
60.13	for this activity is \$1,000,000	in each of	the		
60.14	fiscal years 2018 and 2019 for	eight fore	ensic		
60.15	scientists.				
60.16	(b) Children In Need of Serv	ices or in			
60.17	Out-Of-Home Placement				
60.18	\$150,000 is for a grant to an or	ganizatior	n that		
60.19	provides legal representation to	o children	in		
60.20	need of protection or services	and childr	en in		
60.21	out-of-home placement. The g	rant is			
60.22	contingent upon a match in an	equal am	ount		
60.23	from nonstate funds. The mate	ch may be	in		
60.24	kind, including the value of vol	unteer atto	orney		
60.25	time, or in cash, or in a combin	nation of t	he		
60.26	two.				
60.27	(c) Sex Trafficking				
60.28	\$820,000 is for grants to state	and local	units		
60.29	of government for the following	ng purpose	es:		
60.30	(1) to support new or existing				
60.31	multijurisdictional entities to in	nvestigate	sex		
60.32	trafficking crimes; and				

- 61.1 (2) to provide technical assistance for sex
- 61.2 trafficking crimes, including training and case
- 61.3 consultation, to law enforcement agencies
- 61.4 statewide.

61.5 (d) State Patrol

- 61.6 \$4,500,000 is from the trunk highway fund to
- 61.7 recruit, hire, train, and equip a State Patrol
- 61.8 Academy. This amount is added to the
- appropriation in Laws 2015, chapter 75, article
- 61.10 1, section 5, subdivision 3. The base
- 61.11 appropriation from the trunk highway fund
- 61.12 for patrolling highways in each of fiscal years
- 61.13 2018 and 2019 is \$87,492,000, which includes
- 61.14 \$4,500,000 each year for a State Patrol
- 61.15 Academy.
- 61.16 Sec. 42. Laws 2017, chapter 95, article 1, section 11, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

61.17	Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs		39,580,000	40,036,000	
61.18	Appropriations by Fund				
61.19	General	39,484,000	39,940,000		
61.20 61.21	State Government Special Revenue	96,000	96,000		
61.22	(a) OJP Administrat	ion Costs			
61.23	Up to 2.5 percent of the	ne grant funds			
61.24	appropriated in this subdivision may be used				
61.25	by the commissioner to administer the grant				
61.26	program.				
61.27	(b) Combating Terrorism Recruitment				
61.28	\$250,000 each year is	for grants to loca	al law		
61.29	enforcement agencies to develop strategies				
61.30	and make efforts to combat the recruitment of				
61.31	Minnesota residents by	y terrorist organiz	ations		
61.32	such as ISIS and al-Shabaab. This is a onetime				
	•				

61.33 appropriation.

62.1 (c) Sex Trafficking Prevention Grants

- 62.2 \$180,000 each year is for grants to state and
- 62.3 local units of government for the following
- 62.4 purposes:
- 62.5 (1) to support new or existing
- 62.6 multijurisdictional entities to investigate sex
- 62.7 trafficking crimes; and
- 62.8 (2) to provide technical assistance, including
- 62.9 training and case consultation, to law
- 62.10 enforcement agencies statewide.

62.11 (d) Pathway to Policing Reimbursement Grants

- 62.12 \$400,000 the second year is for reimbursement
- 62.13 grants to local units of government that operate
- 62.14 pathway to policing programs intended to
- 62.15 bring persons with nontraditional backgrounds
- 62.16 into law enforcement. Applicants for
- 62.17 reimbursement grants may receive up to 50
- 62.18 percent of the cost of compensating and
- 62.19 training pathway to policing participants.
- 62.20 Reimbursement grants shall be proportionally
- allocated based on the number of grant
- 62.22 applications approved by the commissioner.

62.23 Sec. 43. Laws 2020, Seventh Special Session chapter 2, article 2, section 4, is amended62.24 to read:

62.25 Sec. 4. TRANSFER; ALCOHOL ENFORCEMENT ACCOUNT.

(a) By July 15, 2021, the commissioner of public safety must certify to the commissioner
of management and budget the amount of permit fees waived under section 3, clause (2),
during the period from January 1, 2021, to June 30, 2021, and the commissioner of
management and budget must transfer the certified amount from the general fund to the
alcohol enforcement account in the special revenue fund established under Minnesota
Statutes, section 299A.706.

63.1	(b) By January 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must certify to the
63.2	commissioner of management and budget the amount of permit fees waived under section
63.3	3, clause (2), during the period from July 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021, and the
63.4	commissioner of management and budget must transfer the certified amount from the general
63.5	fund to the alcohol enforcement account in the special revenue fund established under
63.6	Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.706.
63.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
63.8	Sec. 44. NEUROPSYCHOLOGICAL EXAMINATION FEASIBILITY STUDY.
63.9	(a) The state court administrator shall conduct a feasibility study on requiring courts to
63.10	order that individuals convicted of felony-level criminal offenses undergo a
63.11	neuropsychological examination to determine whether, due to a stroke, traumatic brain
63.12	injury, or fetal alcohol spectrum disorder, the individual had a mental impairment that caused
63.13	the individual to lack substantial capacity for judgment when the offense was committed.
63.14	(b) In conducting the study, the administrator shall consult with interested parties,
63.15	including but not limited to prosecutors, public defenders, private criminal defense attorneys,
63.16	law enforcement officials, probation officers, judges and employees of the judiciary,
63.17	corrections officials, mental health practitioners and treatment providers, individuals with
63.18	experience in conducting neuropsychological examinations, and individuals who have
63.19	experience in the criminal justice system with people who have suffered strokes, traumatic
63.20	brain injuries, and fetal alcohol spectrum disorder.
63.21	(c) The study must make recommendations on whether the law should be changed to
63.22	require these examinations and, if so, the situations and conditions under which the
63.23	examinations should be required, including but not limited to:
63.24	(1) the types of offenses the requirement should apply to;
63.25	(2) how best to screen individuals to determine whether an examination should be
63.26	required;
63.27	(3) situations in which an examination would not be required, potentially including
63.28	where a recent examination had been conducted;
63.29	(4) the costs involved with requiring examinations and how best to pay for these costs;
63.30	and
63.31	(5) the effect examination results should have on future proceedings involving the
63.32	individual, including sentencing and providing treatment.

64.1	(d) By February 15, 2022, the state court administrator shall report to the chairs and
64.2	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over criminal
64.3	justice policy and funding on the results of the study.
64.4	Sec. 45. 911 TELECOMMUNICATOR WORKING GROUP.
64.5	Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) The commissioner of public safety shall convene a 911
64.6	telecommunicator working group that consists of the commissioner, or a designee, and one
64.7	representative of each of the following organizations:
64.8	(1) the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;
64.9	(2) the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;
64.10	(3) the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association;
64.11	(4) the Emergency Communications Network;
64.12	(5) the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association;
64.13	(6) the Association of Minnesota Counties;
64.14	(7) the League of Minnesota Cities;
64.15	(8) Tribal dispatchers;
64.16	(9) the Metropolitan Emergency Services Board;
64.17	(10) the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board;
64.18	(11) the Statewide Emergency Communications Board;
64.19	(12) each of the Statewide Emergency Communications Board's seven regional boards;
64.20	(13) mental health crisis team providers;
64.21	(14) the Minnesota Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (MN APCO)
64.22	and the National Emergency Number Association of Minnesota (NENA of MN); and
64.23	(15) the Minnesota Ambulance Association.
64.24	(b) The working group must also include a nonsupervisory telecommunicator working
64.25	in a regional center outside of the seven-county metropolitan area, a nonsupervisory
64.26	telecommunicator working in rural Minnesota, and a nonsupervisory telecommunicator
64.27	working in the seven-county metropolitan area.
64.28	(c) The organizations specified in paragraph (a) shall provide the commissioner with a
64.29	designated member to serve on the working group by August 1, 2021. The commissioner

REVISOR

65.1	shall appoint these members to the working group. Appointments to the working group
65.2	must be made by August 15, 2021.
65.3	Subd. 2. Duties; report. The working group must submit a report to the chairs and
65.4	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety
65.5	policy and finance by January 15, 2022. The report must:
65.6	(1) recommend a statutory definition of 911 telecommunicators;
65.7	(2) recommend minimum training and continuing education standards for certification
65.8	of 911 telecommunicators;
65.9	(3) recommend standards for certification of 911 telecommunicators;
65.10	(4) recommend funding options for mandated 911 telecommunicators training;
65.11	(5) recommend best practices in incident response command structure for the state's first
65.12	responders to implement that do not violate either the United States or Minnesota
65.13	Constitutions, after reviewing the various incident response command structures used in
65.14	the field across the nation and world; and
65.15	(6) provide other recommendations the working group deems appropriate.
65.16	Subd. 3. First meeting; chair. The commissioner of public safety must convene the
65.17	first meeting of the working group by September 15, 2021. At the first meeting, the members
65.18	must elect a chair. The working group may conduct meetings remotely. The chair shall be
65.19	responsible for document management of materials for the working group.
65.20	Subd. 4. Compensation; reimbursement. Members serve without compensation.
65.21	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of public safety must provide
65.22	administrative support to the working group.
65.23	Subd. 6. Expiration. The working group expires January 15, 2022.
65.24	
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
65.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 46. SURVIVOR SUPPORT AND PREVENTION GRANTS.
65.25 65.26	
	Sec. 46. SURVIVOR SUPPORT AND PREVENTION GRANTS.
65.26	Sec. 46. SURVIVOR SUPPORT AND PREVENTION GRANTS. Subdivision 1. Meeting victim needs; grants. The Office of Justice Programs shall
65.26 65.27	Sec. 46. <u>SURVIVOR SUPPORT AND PREVENTION GRANTS.</u> <u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Meeting victim needs; grants.</u> The Office of Justice Programs shall award grants to organizations serving victims of crime to (1) provide direct financial

66.1	Subd. 2. Eligibility and awards. (a) For grants to organizations to provide direct financial
66.2	assistance, the director shall establish the eligibility requirements and mechanisms for
66.3	distribution of funds in consultation with Violence Free Minnesota, the Minnesota Coalition
66.4	Against Sexual Assault, Minnesota Alliance on Crime, the Minnesota Indian Women Sexual
66.5	Assault Coalition, and Sacred Hoop Coalition. Eligibility requirements shall prioritize victim
66.6	survivors based on economic need; whether the victim survivor is a member of an
66.7	underserved population; whether the person was a victim of sexual assault, domestic violence,
66.8	child abuse, or other violent crime; and whether the victim was a juvenile.
66.9	(b) For grants to stop the cycles of violence by meeting emerging or unmet needs
66.10	impacting victims of crime, the director shall award grants to individuals or organizations
66.11	who provide direct support to victims, including but not limited to providing support for
66.12	immediate and emerging needs for victims of crime or for domestic abuse transformative
66.13	justice programs. The director shall prioritize applicants seeking to establish, maintain, or
66.14	expand services to underserved populations.
66.15	(c) Of the amount appropriated for survivor support and prevention grants, at least 30
66.16	percent must be awarded to organizations to provide direct financial assistance pursuant to
66.17	paragraph (a) and at least 30 percent must be awarded to individuals or organizations
66.18	providing support to victims pursuant to paragraph (b).
66.19	Subd. 3. Report. (a) By January 15 of each odd-numbered year the director shall submit
66.20	a report to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety on the survivor
66.21	support and prevention grants. At a minimum, the report shall include the following:
66.22	(1) the number of grants awarded to organizations to provide direct financial assistance
66.23	to victims and the total amount awarded to each organization;
66.24	(2) the average amount of direct financial assistance provided to individual victims by
66.25	each organization;
66.26	(3) summary demographic information of recipients of direct financial assistance,
66.27	including the age, sex, and race of the recipients;
66.28	(4) summary information identifying the crimes committed against the recipients of
66.29	direct financial assistance;
66.30	(5) summary information identifying the counties in which recipients of direct financial
66.31	assistance resided at the time they received the assistance;
66.32	(6) the total number of grants issued to individuals or organizations providing support
66.33	for crime victims;

06/27/21

67.1	(7) the amount of grants issued to individuals or organizations providing support for
67.2	crime victims; and
67.3	(8) the services provided by the grant recipients that provided support for crime victims.
67.4	(b) If the director enters into an agreement with any other organization for the distribution
67.5	of funds, the director shall require that organization to provide the information identified
67.6	in paragraph (a).
67.7	Sec. 47. INNOVATION IN COMMUNITY SAFETY.
67.8	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the
67.9	meanings given them.
67.10	(b) "Civilian review board" means a board, commission, or other oversight body created
67.11	to provide civilian oversight of the conduct of peace officers and law enforcement agencies.
67.12	(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety.
67.13	(d) "Local commission" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 363A.03,
67.14	subdivision 23.
67.15	(e) "Metropolitan area" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121,
67.16	subdivision 2.
67.17	(f) "Targeted area" means one or more contiguous census tracts as reported in the most
67.18	recently completed decennial census published by the United States Bureau of the Census
67.19	that has a poverty rate of at least 20 percent and that experiences a disproportionately high
67.20	rate of violent crime.
67.21	Subd. 2. Community engagement. The commissioner shall work with community
67.22	members to develop a strategy to address violence within targeted areas and promote
67.23	community healing and recovery. Additionally, the commissioner shall:
67.24	(1) provide technical assistance or navigation services to individuals seeking to apply
67.25	for grants issued by the office;
67.26	(2) identify targeted areas;
67.27	(3) organize and provide technical assistance to local grant advisory boards;
67.28	(4) assist local grant advisory boards in soliciting applications for grants;
67.29	(5) develop simplified grant application materials;
67.30	(6) identify effective forms of community-led intervention to promote public safety;

REVISOR

KLL/BM

68.1	(7) encourage the use of restorative justice programs, including but not limited to
68.2	sentencing circles; and
68.3	(8) administer grants.
68.4	Subd. 3. Innovation in community safety grants. (a) Pursuant to the advice of
68.5	community grant advisory boards, the commissioner shall award grants to organizations in
68.6	targeted areas for the purposes identified in this subdivision. The commissioner may prioritize
68.7	targeted areas, determine which targeted areas are eligible for grants, and establish the total
68.8	amount of money available for grants in each targeted area. In prioritizing targeted areas,
68.9	the commissioner shall prioritize areas that have the highest rates of violent crime.
68.10	(b) Recipients of youth, young adult, and family antiviolence outreach program grants
68.11	may work with other organizations, including but not limited to law enforcement, state and
68.12	local public agencies, interfaith organizations, nonprofit organizations, and African immigrant
68.13	and African American community organizations and stakeholders; may focus on African
68.14	immigrant and African American youth and young adults; and must:
68.15	(1) identify behaviors indicating that an individual is vulnerable to committing or being
68.16	the victim of bullying or interfamily, community, or domestic abuse;
68.17	(2) identify and assess factors and influences, including but not limited to family
68.18	dysfunction and cultural disengagement that make youth and young adults vulnerable to
68.19	recruitment by violent organizations;
68.20	(3) develop strategies to reduce and eliminate abusive and bullying behaviors among
68.21	youth and adults;
68.22	(4) develop and implement strategies to reduce and eliminate the factors and influences
68.23	that make youth and young adults vulnerable to recruitment by violent organizations;
68.24	(5) develop strategies, programs, and services to educate parents and other family
68.25	members to recognize and address behaviors indicating that youth are being recruited by
68.26	violent organizations; and
68.27	(6) in collaboration with public entities and other community and private organizations
68.28	that provide services to at-risk youth and families, develop strategies, programs, and services
68.29	to reduce and eliminate bullying, abusive behavior, and the vulnerability of youth to
68.30	recruitment by violent organizations, including but not limited to:
68.31	(i) expressive and receptive communications programs, including music, art, theater,
68.32	dance, and play designed to teach and develop appropriate skills for interfaith family

68.33 <u>communication;</u>

69.1	(ii) development of protective skills and positive coping skills to deal with bullying,
69.2	domestic abuse and interfaith family violence, and violent confrontations in the community;
69.3	(iii) culturally appropriate individual and family counseling focusing on communication
69.4	and interpersonal relations with the family and, when appropriate, the African immigrant
69.5	and African American community;
69.6	(iv) after-school and summer programs for youth and young adults that are structured
69.7	and include components offering physical recreation, sports, mentorship, education
69.8	enrichment, art, music, and social activities that are culturally appropriate;
69.9	(v) individual and family-oriented financial planning and management skill building;
69.10	(vi) culturally appropriate individual and family counseling focusing on education and
69.11	employment counseling; and
69.12	(vii) information regarding and direct links to entities that provide employment skills
69.13	training, job search and placement, and employment support activities and services.
69.14	(c) Recipients of grants to implement the Minnesota SafeStreets program must work
69.15	with other organizations and persons in the community to develop community-based
69.16	responses to violence that:
69.17	(1) use and adapt critical incident response methods that have been identified as best
69.18	practices in the field, including violence prevention, situational de-escalation, mitigation
69.19	of trauma, and restorative justice;
69.20	(2) provide targeted interventions to prevent the escalation of violence after the occurrence
69.21	of serious incidents, such as a shooting, murder, or other violent crime;
69.22	(3) de-escalate violence with the use of community-based interventions designed to
69.23	prevent conflict from becoming violent;
69.24	(4) provide an alternative to adjudication through a restorative justice model for persons
69.25	who commit lower level offenses;
69.26	(5) develop working relationships with community providers to enable young people to
69.27	care for themselves and their families in healthy and empowered ways; and
69.28	(6) culminate in a collective action plan that, at a minimum, includes the following:
69.29	(i) increased educational opportunities;
69.30	(ii) meaningful workforce opportunities;
69.31	(iii) leadership-based entrepreneurial and social enterprise opportunities;

REVISOR

A21-0252

70.1	(iv) expanded mental health and chemical health services; and
70.2	(v) access to critically needed human and social services.
70.3	(d) Recipients of grants to promote community healing must provide programs and direct
70.4	intervention to promote wellness and healing justice and may use funds for:
70.5	(1) programmatic and community care support for wellness and healing justice
70.6	practitioners;
70.7	(2) the establishment and expansion of community organizations that provide wellness
70.8	and healing justice services;
70.9	(3) placing wellness and healing justice practitioners in organizations that provide direct
70.10	service to Black, Indigenous, and people of color communities in Minnesota;
70.11	(4) providing healing circles;
70.12	(5) establishing and expanding community coach certification programs to train
70.13	community healers and establish a long-term strategy to build the infrastructure for
70.14	community healers to be available during times of tragedy; or
70.15	(6) restorative justice programs, including but not limited to sentencing circles.
70.16	(e) Recipients of grants to establish or maintain co-responder teams must partner with
70.17	local units of government or Tribal governments to build on existing mobile mental health
70.18	crisis teams and identify gaps in order to do any of the following:
70.19	(1) develop and establish independent crisis response teams to de-escalate volatile
70.20	situations;
70.21	(2) respond to situations involving a mental health crisis;
70.22	(3) promote community-based efforts designed to enhance community safety and
70.23	wellness; or
70.24	(4) support community-based strategies to interrupt, intervene in, or respond to violence.
70.25	(f) Recipients of grants to establish or maintain community-based mental health and
70.26	social service centers must provide direct services to community members in targeted areas.
70.27	Subd. 4. Appropriation; distribution. (a) Of the amount appropriated for grants issued
70.28	pursuant to subdivision 3, two-thirds shall be distributed in the metropolitan area and
70.29	one-third shall be distributed outside the metropolitan area.
70.30	(b) No grant recipient shall receive more than \$1,000,000 each year.

71.1	Subd. 5. Community grant advisory boards; members. (a) The commissioner shall
71.2	work with the chair or director of a local commission, civilian review board, or similar
71.3	organization to establish a community grant advisory board within a targeted area.
71.4	(b) Community grant advisory boards shall review grant applications and direct the
71.5	commissioner to award grants to approved applicants pursuant to subdivision 6.
71.6	(c) The chair or director of a local commission, civilian review board, or similar
71.7	organization shall serve as the chair of a community grant advisory board.
71.8	(d) A community grant advisory board shall include the chair and at least four but not
71.9	more than six other members.
71.10	(e) The membership of community grant advisory boards shall reflect the demographic
71.11	makeup of the targeted area and the members, other than the chair, must reside in the targeted
71.12	area over which a board has jurisdiction. A majority of the members of a board must provide
71.13	direct services to victims or others in the targeted area as a part of the person's employment
71.14	or regular volunteer work.
71.15	(f) Community grant advisory board members may not accept gifts, donations, or any
71.16	other thing of value from applicants.
71.17	Subd. 6. Community grant advisory boards; procedure. (a) Community grant advisory
71.17 71.18	Subd. 6. Community grant advisory boards; procedure. (a) Community grant advisory boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations
71.18	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations
71.18 71.19	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants.
71.1871.1971.20	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines
71.1871.1971.2071.21	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations.
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 71.24 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 71.24 71.25 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines that the award would violate any grant requirements or other law. The commissioner shall
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 71.24 71.25 71.26 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines that the award would violate any grant requirements or other law. The commissioner shall not award grants without the recommendation of a community grant advisory board.
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 71.24 71.25 71.26 71.27 71.28 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines that the award would violate any grant requirements or other law. The commissioner shall not award grants without the recommendation of a community grant advisory board. Sec. 48. <u>TASK FORCE ON MISSING AND MURDERED AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN.</u>
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 71.24 71.25 71.26 71.27 71.28 71.29 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines that the award would violate any grant requirements or other law. The commissioner shall not award grants without the recommendation of a community grant advisory board. Sec. 48. TASK FORCE ON MISSING AND MURDERED AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN. Subdivision 1. Creation and duties. (a) The Task Force on Missing and Murdered
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 71.24 71.25 71.26 71.27 71.28 71.29 71.30 	 boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines that the award would violate any grant requirements or other law. The commissioner shall not award grants without the recommendation of a community grant advisory board. Sec. 48. TASK FORCE ON MISSING AND MURDERED AFRICAN AMERICAN MOMEN. Subdivision 1. Creation and duties. (a) The Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women is established to advise the commissioner of public safety and
 71.18 71.19 71.20 71.21 71.22 71.23 71.24 71.25 71.26 71.27 71.28 71.29 	boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations or individuals to apply for grants. (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. (c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines that the award would violate any grant requirements or other law. The commissioner shall not award grants without the recommendation of a community grant advisory board. Sec. 48. TASK FORCE ON MISSING AND MURDERED AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN. Subdivision 1. Creation and duties. (a) The Task Force on Missing and Murdered

72.1	the commissioner and agencies and nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations that provide
72.2	legal, social, or other community services to victims, victims' families, and victims'
72.3	communities.
72.4	(b) The Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women must examine
72.5	and report on the following:
72.6	(1) the systemic causes behind violence that African American women and girls
72.7	experience, including patterns and underlying factors that explain why disproportionately
72.8	high levels of violence occur against African American women and girls, including
72.9	underlying historical, social, economic, institutional, and cultural factors which may
72.10	contribute to the violence;
72.11	(2) appropriate methods for tracking and collecting data on violence against African
72.12	American women and girls, including data on missing and murdered African American
72.13	women and girls;
50.14	
72.14	(3) policies and institutions such as policing, child welfare, coroner practices, and other
72.15	governmental practices that impact violence against African American women and girls
72.16	and the investigation and prosecution of crimes of gender violence against African American
72.17	people;
72.18	(4) measures necessary to address and reduce violence against African American women
72.19	and girls; and
72.20	(5) measures to help victims, victims' families, and victims' communities prevent and
72.21	heal from violence that occurs against African American women and girls.
72.22	(c) At its discretion, the task force may examine other related issues consistent with this
72.23	section as necessary.
72.24	Subd. 2. Membership. (a) To the extent practicable, the Task Force on Missing and
72.25	Murdered African American Women shall consist of the following individuals, or their
72.26	designees, who are knowledgeable in crime victims' rights or violence protection and, unless
72.27	otherwise specified, members shall be appointed by the commissioner of public safety:
72.28	(1) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed
72.20	by the minority leader;
12.27	
72.30	(2) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
72.31	house and one appointed by the minority leader;
72.32	(3) two representatives from among the following:

REVISOR

73.1	(i) the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;
73.2	(ii) the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;
73.3	(iii) the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; or
73.4	(iv) the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association;
73.5	(4) one or more representatives from among the following:
73.6	(i) the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;
73.7	(ii) the United States Attorney's Office; or
73.8	(iii) a judge or attorney working in juvenile court;
73.9	(5) a county coroner or a representative from a statewide coroner's association or a
73.10	representative of the Department of Health; and
73.11	(6) three or more representatives from among the following:
73.12	(i) a statewide or local organization that provides legal services to African American
73.13	women and girls;
73.14	(ii) a statewide or local organization that provides advocacy or counseling for African
73.15	American women and girls who have been victims of violence;
73.16	(iii) a statewide or local organization that provides services to African American women
73.17	and girls; or
73.18	(iv) an African American woman who is a survivor of gender violence.
73.19	(b) In making appointments under paragraph (a), the commissioner of public safety shall
73.20	consult with the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage.
73.21	(c) Appointments to the task force must be made by September 1, 2021.
73.22	(d) Members are eligible for compensation and expense reimbursement consistent with
73.23	Minnesota Statutes, section 15.059, subdivision 3.
73.24	(e) Members of the task force serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority or until
73.25	the task force expires. Vacancies in commissioner-appointed positions shall be filled by the
73.26	commissioner consistent with the qualifications of the vacating member required by this
73.27	subdivision.
73.28	Subd. 3. Officers; meetings. (a) The task force shall elect a chair and vice-chair and

may elect other officers as necessary. 73.29

KLL/BM

- (b) The commissioner of public safety shall convene the first meeting of the task force 74.1 no later than October 1, 2021, and shall provide meeting space and administrative assistance 74.2 74.3 as necessary for the task force to conduct its work. (c) The task force shall meet at least quarterly, or upon the call of its chair, and may 74.4 hold meetings throughout the state. The task force shall meet sufficiently enough to 74.5 accomplish the tasks identified in this section. Meetings of the task force are subject to 74.6 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13D. 74.7 (d) To accomplish its duties, the task force shall seek out and enlist the cooperation and 74.8 assistance of nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations that provide legal, social, or other 74.9 74.10 community services to victims, victims' families, and victims' communities; community and advocacy organizations working with the African American community; and academic 74.11 researchers and experts, specifically those specializing in violence against African American 74.12 women and girls, those representing diverse communities disproportionately affected by 74.13 violence against women and girls, or those focusing on issues related to gender violence 74.14 and violence against African American women and girls. Meetings of the task force may 74.15 include reports from, or information provided by, those individuals or groups. 74.16 Subd. 4. Report. On or before December 15, 2022, the task force shall report to the 74.17 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over 74.18 public safety, human services, and state government on the work of the task force. The 74.19 report must contain the task force's findings and recommendations and shall include 74.20 institutional policies and practices, or proposed institutional policies and practices, that are 74.21 effective in reducing gender violence and increasing the safety of African American women 74.22 and girls; recommendations for appropriate tracking and collecting of data on violence 74.23 against African American women and girls; and recommendations for legislative action to 74.24 reduce and end violence against African American women and girls and help victims and 74.25 communities heal from gender violence and violence against African American women and 74.26 74.27 girls. Subd. 5. Expiration. The task force expires upon submission of the report required 74.28 under subdivision 4. 74.29 Sec. 49. PUBLIC SAFETY ESCROW ACCOUNT. 74.30 State agencies may accept funds from the public safety escrow account. Funds accepted 74.31 by a state agency must be deposited in an account in the special revenue fund and are 74.32
- 74.33 appropriated to that agency for the purposes for which they are received.

75.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
75.2	applies to funds received by a state agency on or after June 28, 2018.
75.2	Sec. 50. SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION DIRECTED TO INCREASE
75.3	
75.4	THE RANKINGS FOR CERTAIN CHILD PORNOGRAPHY CRIMES.
75.5	The Sentencing Guidelines Commission is directed to increase the severity rankings on
75.6	the sex offender grid for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 617.247, subdivision 3,
75.7	paragraph (b), from severity level D to C, and subdivision 4, paragraph (b), from severity
75.8	level F to E, consistent with the recommendations contained in the minority report in the
75.9	commission's 2021 report to the legislature. The other modifications to the grid relating to
75.10	child pornography crimes proposed in the main report are adopted.
75.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
75.12	crimes committed on or after that date.
75.13	Sec. 51. TASK FORCE ON AIDING AND ABETTING FELONY MURDER.
75.14	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings
75.15	given:
75.16	(1) "aiding and abetting" means a person who is criminally liable for a crime committed
75.17	by another because that person intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired
75.18	with or otherwise procured the other to commit the crime; and
75.19	(2) "felony murder" means a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph
75.20	(a), clause (2), (3), (5), (6), or (7); or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1).
75.21	Subd. 2. Establishment. The task force on aiding and abetting felony murder is
75.22	established to collect and analyze data on the charging, convicting, and sentencing of people
75.23	for aiding and abetting felony murder; assess whether current laws and practices promote
75.24	public safety and equity in sentencing; and make recommendations to the legislature.
75.25	Subd. 3. Membership. (a) The task force consists of the following members:
75.26	(1) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;
75.27	(2) the executive director of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission or a
75.28	designee;
75.29	(3) the state public defender or a designee;
75.30	(4) the statewide coordinator of the Violent Crime Coordinating Council or a designee;

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
76.1	(5) one defense attorney, appo	inted by the Minnesota	Association of Cri	iminal Defense
76.2	Lawyers;			
76.3	(6) two county attorneys, one t	from a county within th	ne seven-county me	etropolitan area
76.4	and the other from outside the seve			
76.5	County Attorneys Association;			
76.6	(7) a peace officer familiar wit	th homicide investigation	ons, preferably felo	ony murder,
76.7	appointed jointly by the Minnesota	Sheriffs' Association, a	and the Minnesota (Chiefs of Police
76.8	Association;			
76.9 76.10	(8) one member representing a <u>majority leader;</u>	a victims' rights organiz	zation, appointed by	y the senate
76.11	(9) one member of a statewide	civil rights organizatio	on, appointed by the	e speaker of the
76.12	house of representatives;	6 6		-1
		is directly related to a	norson who has had	on convicted of
76.13 76.14	(10) one impacted person who felony murder, appointed by the g		person who has bee	
/0.14				
76.15	(11) one person with expertise		-	states relating
76.16	to aiding and abetting felony mure	der, appointed by the g	overnor.	
76.17	(b) Appointments must be made	de no later than July 30) <u>, 2021.</u>	
76.18	(c) Members shall serve witho	ut compensation.		
76.19	(d) Members of the task force	serve at the pleasure of	f the appointing aut	thority or until
76.20	the task force expires. Vacancies s	shall be filled by the ap	pointing authority	consistent with
76.21	the qualifications of the vacating	member required by th	is subdivision.	
76.22	(e) To ensure a balanced task fo	orce, when making appo	pintments, the appoi	inting authority
76.23	shall attempt to appoint members	who do not have undu	ly strong preconcei	ved beliefs on
76.24	the subject of felony murder.			
76.25	Subd. 4. Officers; meetings. ((a) The task force shall	elect a chair and vi	ice-chair and
76.26	may elect other officers as necessary	ary.		
76.27	(b) The commissioner of corre	ctions shall convene th	e first meeting of th	ne task force no
76.28	later than August 1, 2021, and sha	all provide meeting spa	ce and administrati	ve assistance
76.29	as necessary for the task force to o	conduct its work.		
76.30	(c) The task force shall meet at	t least monthly or upon	the call of its chair.	The task force
76.31	shall meet sufficiently enough to a			
76.32	of the task force are subject to Mi	nnesota Statutes, chapt	er 13D.	

KLL/BM

77.1	(d) To compile and analyze data, the task force shall request the cooperation and
77.2	assistance of local law enforcement agencies, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines
77.3	Commission, the judicial branch, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, county attorneys,
77.4	and Tribal governments and may request the cooperation of academics and others with
77.5	experience and expertise in researching the impact of laws criminalizing aiding and abetting
77.6	felony murder.
77.7	Subd. 5. Duties. (a) The task force shall, at a minimum:
77.8	(1) collect and analyze data on charges, convictions, and sentences for aiding and abetting
77.9	felony murder;
77.10	(2) collect and analyze data on sentences for aiding and abetting felony murder in which
77.11	a person received a mitigated durational departure because the person played a minor or
77.12	passive role in the crime or participated under circumstances of coercion or duress;
77.13	(3) collect and analyze data on charges, convictions, and sentences for codefendants of
77.14	people sentenced for aiding and abetting felony murder;
77.15	(4) review relevant state statutes and state and federal court decisions;
77.16	(5) receive input from individuals who were convicted of aiding and abetting felony
77.17	murder;
77.18	(6) receive input from family members of individuals who were victims of felony murder;
77.19	(7) analyze the benefits and unintended consequences of Minnesota Statutes and practices
77.20	related to the charging, convicting, and sentencing of people for aiding and abetting felony
77.21	murder including but not limited to an analysis of whether current statutes and practice:
77.22	(i) promote public safety; and
77.23	(ii) properly punish people for their role in an offense; and
77.24	(8) make recommendations for legislative action, if any, on laws affecting:
77.25	(i) the collection and reporting of data; and
77.26	(ii) the charging, convicting, and sentencing of people for aiding and abetting felony
77.27	murder.
77.28	(b) At its discretion, the task force may examine, as necessary, other related issues
77.29	consistent with this section.
77.30	Subd. 6. Report. On or before January 15, 2022, the task force shall submit a report to
77.31	the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate

Article 2 Sec. 51.

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
78.1	committees and divisions with ju	risdiction over criminal	l sentencing on the f	indings and
78.2	recommendations of the task force	ce.		
78.3	Subd. 7. Expiration. The task	k force expires the day a	after submitting its r	eport under
78.4	subdivision 6.			
T O T	S., 52 SENTENCING CUI		TION	
78.5	Sec. 52. <u>SENTENCING GUII</u>	DELINES WODIFICA	ATION.	
78.6	The Sentencing Guidelines Co	ommission shall compr	ehensively review a	nd consider
78.7	modifying how the Sentencing G	uidelines and the sex of	ffender grid address	the crimes
78.8	described in Minnesota Statutes,	section 609.322.		
78.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This se	ection is effective Augu	st 1, 2021.	
78.10	Sec. 53. <u>TITLE.</u>			
78.11	Section 21 shall be known as	"Travis's Law."		
78.12	Sec. 54. <u>REPEALER.</u>			
78.13	Minnesota Statutes 2020, sect	tion 609.324, subdivisio	on 3, is repealed.	
78.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This see	ection is effective Septe	mber 15, 2021, and	applies to
78.15	crimes committed on or after that	t date.		
78.16		ARTICLE 3		
78.17	JUDICIARY, HUN	IAN RIGHTS, AND I	DATA PRACTICE	S
78.18	Section 1. [3.8844] LEGISLA	FIVE COMMISSION	ON DATA PRACT	ΓICES.
78.19	Subdivision 1. Established. T	he Legislative Commiss	sion on Data Practice	es and Personal
78.20	Data Privacy is created to study is	sues relating to governn	nent data practices a	nd individuals'
78.21	personal data privacy rights and to	o review legislation imp	acting data practices	, data security,
78.22	and personal data privacy. The co	ommission is a continua	ation of the commiss	sion that was
78.23	established by Laws 2014, chapte	er 193, as amended, and	l which expired June	e 30, 2019.
78.24	Subd. 2. Membership. The co	ommission consists of tv	vo senators appointe	d by the senate
78.25	majority leader, two senators app	ointed by the minority	leader in the senate,	two members
78.26	of the house of representatives ap	pointed by the speaker,	, and two members of	of the house of
78.27	representatives appointed by the	minority leader in the h	ouse. Two members	s from each
78.28	chamber must be from the major	ity party in that chambe	er and two members	from each
78.29	chamber must be from the minor	ity party in that chambe	er. Each appointing a	authority must
78.30	make appointments as soon as po	ssible after the beginnin	ng of the regular legi	slative session

A21-0252

79.1	in the odd-numbered year. The ranking senator from the majority party appointed to the
79.2	commission must convene the first meeting of a biennium by February 15 in the
79.3	odd-numbered year. The commission may elect up to four former legislators who have
79.4	demonstrated an interest in, or have a history of working in, the areas of government data
79.5	practices and personal data privacy to serve as nonvoting members of the commission. The
79.6	former legislators must not be registered lobbyists and shall be compensated as provided
79.7	under section 15.0575, subdivision 3.
79.8	Subd. 3. Terms; vacancies. Members of the commission serve for terms beginning upon
79.9	appointment and ending at the beginning of the regular legislative session in the next
79.10	odd-numbered year. The appropriate appointing authority must fill a vacancy for a seat of
79.11	a current legislator for the remainder of the unexpired term.
79.12	Subd. 4. Officers. The commission must elect a chair and may elect other officers as it
79.13	determines are necessary. The chair alternates between a member of the senate and a member
79.14	of the house of representatives in January of each odd-numbered year.
79.15	Subd. 5. Staff. Legislative staff must provide administrative and research assistance to
79.16	the commission. The Legislative Coordinating Commission may, if funding is available,
79.17	appoint staff to provide research assistance.
79.18	Subd. 6. Duties. The commission shall:
79.19	(1) review and provide the legislature with research and analysis of emerging issues
79.20	relating to government data practices and security and privacy of personal data;
79.21	(2) review and make recommendations on legislative proposals relating to the Minnesota
79.22	Government Data Practices Act; and
79.23	(3) review and make recommendations on legislative proposals impacting personal data
79.24	privacy rights, data security, and other related issues.
79.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Initial
79.26	members of the commission serve for a term ending in January 2023. A member of the
79.27	house of representatives shall serve as the first chair of the commission. A member of the
79.28	senate shall serve as chair of the commission beginning in January 2023.
70.20	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.552, is amended by adding a subdivision to
79.29	
79.30	read:
79.31	Subd. 8. Certificate of compliance for public contracts. Access to data relating to

79.32 certificates of compliance for public contracts is governed by section 363A.36.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.7931, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 1b. Data on individuals who are minors. Except for electronic licensing system data classified under section 84.0874, data on individuals who are minors that are collected, created, received, maintained, or disseminated by the Department of Natural Resources are classified under section 84.0873.

80.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.824, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Biennial audit. (a) In addition to the log required under subdivision 5, the law 80.8 enforcement agency must maintain records showing the date and time automated license 80.9 plate reader data were collected and the applicable classification of the data. The law 80.10 enforcement agency shall arrange for an independent, biennial audit of the records to 80.11 determine whether data currently in the records are classified, how the data are used, whether 80.12 they are destroyed as required under this section, and to verify compliance with subdivision 80.13 80.14 7. If the commissioner of administration believes that a law enforcement agency is not complying with this section or other applicable law, the commissioner may order a law 80.15 80.16 enforcement agency to arrange for additional independent audits. Data in the records required under this paragraph are classified as provided in subdivision 2. 80.17

(b) The results of the audit are public. The commissioner of administration shall review 80.18 the results of the audit. If the commissioner determines that there is a pattern of substantial 80.19 noncompliance with this section by the law enforcement agency, the agency must 80.20 immediately suspend operation of all automated license plate reader devices until the 80.21 commissioner has authorized the agency to reinstate their use. An order of suspension under 80.22 this paragraph may be issued by the commissioner, upon review of the results of the audit, 80.23 review of the applicable provisions of this chapter, and after providing the agency a 80.24 reasonable opportunity to respond to the audit's findings. 80.25

(c) A report summarizing the results of each audit must be provided to the commissioner
of administration, to the <u>chair chairs</u> and ranking minority members of the committees of
the house of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over data practices and public
safety issues, and to the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy
no later than 30 days following completion of the audit.

80.31 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

KLL/BM

81.1

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.825, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Biennial audit. (a) A law enforcement agency must maintain records showing 81.2 the date and time portable recording system data were collected and the applicable 81.3 classification of the data. The law enforcement agency shall arrange for an independent, 81.4 biennial audit of the data to determine whether data are appropriately classified according 81.5 to this section, how the data are used, and whether the data are destroyed as required under 81.6 this section, and to verify compliance with subdivisions 7 and 8. If the governing body with 81.7 81.8 jurisdiction over the budget of the agency determines that the agency is not complying with this section or other applicable law, the governing body may order additional independent 81.9 audits. Data in the records required under this paragraph are classified as provided in 81.10 subdivision 2. 81.11

(b) The results of the audit are public, except for data that are otherwise classified under 81.12 law. The governing body with jurisdiction over the budget of the law enforcement agency 81.13 shall review the results of the audit. If the governing body determines that there is a pattern 81.14 of substantial noncompliance with this section, the governing body must order that operation 81.15 of all portable recording systems be suspended until the governing body has authorized the 81.16 agency to reinstate their use. An order of suspension under this paragraph may only be made 81.17 following review of the results of the audit and review of the applicable provisions of this 81.18 chapter, and after providing the agency and members of the public a reasonable opportunity 81.19 to respond to the audit's findings in a public meeting. 81.20

(c) A report summarizing the results of each audit must be provided to the governing
body with jurisdiction over the budget of the law enforcement agency and, to the Legislative
Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy, and to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and the senate with
jurisdiction over data practices and public safety issues no later than 60 days following
completion of the audit.

81.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

81.28 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.851, is amended by adding a subdivision to
81.29 read:

81.30 Subd. 13. Jailhouse witnesses. Data collected and maintained by the commissioner of
 81.31 corrections regarding jailhouse witnesses are governed by section 634.045.

82.1	Sec. 7. [84.0873] DATA ON INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE MINORS.
82.2	(a) When the Department of Natural Resources collects, creates, receives, maintains, or
82.3	disseminates the following data on individuals who the department knows are minors, the
82.4	data are considered private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12,
82.5	except for data classified as public data according to section 13.43:
82.6	<u>(1) name;</u>
82.7	(2) date of birth;
82.8	(3) Social Security number;
82.9	(4) telephone number;
82.10	(5) e-mail address;
82.11	(6) physical or mailing address;
82.12	(7) location data;
82.13	(8) online account access information;
82.14	(9) data associated with the location of electronic devices; and
82.15	(10) other data that would identify participants who have registered for events, programs,
82.16	or classes sponsored by the Department of Natural Resources.
82.17	(b) Access to data described in paragraph (a) is subject to Minnesota Rules, part
82.18	1205.0500. Data about minors classified under this section maintain their classification as
82.19	private data on individuals after the individual is no longer a minor.
82.20	(c) When data about minors is created, collected, stored, or maintained as part of the
82.21	electronic licensing system described in section 84.0874, the data is governed by section
82.22	84.0874 and may be disclosed pursuant to the provisions therein.
82.23	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.99, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
82.24	Subd. 1c. Notice of surcharge. All parts of the uniform traffic ticket must give provide
82.25	conspicuous notice of the fact that, if convicted, the person to whom it was issued must may
82.26	be required to pay a state-imposed surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision 6, and the
82.27	current amount of the required surcharge.
82.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022. The changes to the
82.29	uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time
82.30	it is revised.

- 83.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.99, is amended by adding a subdivision to
 83.2 read:
 83.3 Subd. 1d. Financial hardship. The first paragraph on the reverse side of the summons
- on the uniform traffic ticket must include the following, or substantially similar, language:
 "All or part of the cost of this summons may be waived on a showing of indigency or undue
 hardship on you or your family. You may schedule a court appearance to request a waiver
 based on your ability to pay by calling the Minnesota Court Payment Center (CPC) [followed
 by the Court Payment Center telephone number]. For more information, call the CPC or
 visit www.mncourts.gov/fines."
- 83.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022. The changes to the
 83.11 uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time
 83.12 it is revised.

83.13 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.021, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of management and budget. (a) Every 83.14 person, including the state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall 83.15 83.16 transact any business in the district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court the sundry fees prescribed in subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court 83.17 administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner of management and budget 83.18 for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund. \$30 of each fee collected in 83.19 a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be deposited by the commissioner 83.20 of management and budget in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the 83.21 commissioner of employment and economic development for the Minnesota Family 83.22 Resiliency Partnership under section 116L.96. 83.23

(b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant 83.24 to this subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the 83.25 fees first to reimburse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector 83.26 position. The balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of 83.27 management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. 83.28 In a county in a judicial district under section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which 83.29 has a screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to 83.30 the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited 83.31 to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an 83.32 employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the incomes 83.33 of potential clients of the public defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service. 83.34

84.1	(c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public
84.2	authority represents in an action for:
84.3	(1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or
84.4	establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;
84.5	(2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;
84.6	(3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under
84.7	chapters 252A and 525;
84.8	(4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery
84.9	of overpayments of public assistance;
84.10	(5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C;
84.11	(6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317;
84.12	(7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under
84.13	sections 246.52, 252.27, 256.045, 256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37,
84.14	260B.331, and 260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance;
84.15	(8) restitution under section 611A.04; or
84.16	(9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D.14,
84.17	subdivision 5.
84.18	(d) \$20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2,
84.19	clause (13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general
84.20	fund and \$35 from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be
84.21	used by the county to pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys.
84.22	(e) No fee is required under this section from any federally recognized Indian Tribe or
84.23	its representative in an action for:
84.24	(1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or
84.25	establishment of parentage in the district court or in a proceeding under section 484.702;
84.26	(2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;
84.27	(3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under
84.28	chapters 252A and 525; or
84.29	(4) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, 260C, and 260D.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.021, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 85.1

Subd. 6. Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders. (a) Except as provided in this 85.2 paragraph subdivision, the court shall impose and the court administrator shall collect a \$75 85.3 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or 85.4 petty misdemeanor offense, other than a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle 85.5 parking, for which there shall be a \$12 surcharge. When a defendant is convicted of more 85.6 than one offense in a case, the surcharge shall be imposed only once in that case. In the 85.7 Second Judicial District, the court shall impose, and the court administrator shall collect, 85.8 an additional \$1 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, 85.9 misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, including a violation of a law or ordinance 85.10 relating to vehicle parking, if the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes the 85.11 \$1 surcharge. The surcharge shall be imposed whether or not the person is sentenced to 85.12 imprisonment or the sentence is stayed. The surcharge shall not be imposed when a person 85.13 is convicted of a petty misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed. 85.14

(b) If the court fails to impose a surcharge as required by this subdivision, the court 85.15 administrator shall show the imposition of the surcharge, collect the surcharge, and correct 85.16 the record. 85.17

(c) (b) The court may not reduce the amount or waive payment of the surcharge required 85.18 under this subdivision. Upon on a showing of indigency or undue hardship upon the convicted 85.19 person or the convicted person's immediate family, the sentencing court may authorize 85.20 payment of the surcharge in installments. Additionally, the court may permit the defendant 85.21 to perform community work service in lieu of a surcharge. 85.22

(d) (c) The court administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge shall forward it to 85.23 the commissioner of management and budget. 85.24

(e) (d) If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment and has not paid the surcharge 85.25 before the term of imprisonment begins, the chief executive officer of the correctional 85.26 facility in which the convicted person is incarcerated shall collect the surcharge from any 85.27 85.28 earnings the inmate accrues from work performed in the facility or while on conditional release. The chief executive officer shall forward the amount collected to the court 85.29 administrator or other entity collecting the surcharge imposed by the court. 85.30

(f) (e) A person who enters a diversion program, continuance without prosecution, 85.31 continuance for dismissal, or stay of adjudication for a violation of chapter 169 must pay 85.32 the surcharge described in this subdivision. A surcharge imposed under this paragraph shall 85.33 be imposed only once per case. 85.34

86.1	(g) (f) The surcharge does not apply to administrative citations issued pursuant to section
86.2	169.999.
86.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.
86.4	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
86.5	Subdivision 1. Freedom from discrimination. (a) It is the public policy of this state to
86.6	secure for persons in this state, freedom from discrimination:
86.7	(1) in employment because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital
86.8	status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, familial status,
86.9	and age;
86.10	(2) in housing and real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,
86.11	sex, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, and
86.12	familial status;
86.13	(3) in public accommodations because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,
86.14	sex, sexual orientation, and disability;
86.15	(4) in public services because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital
86.16	status, disability, sexual orientation, and status with regard to public assistance; and
86.17	(5) in education because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,
86.18	disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, and age.
86.19	(b) Such discrimination threatens the rights and privileges of the inhabitants of this state
86.20	and menaces the institutions and foundations of democracy. It is also the public policy of
86.21	this state to protect all persons from wholly unfounded charges of discrimination. Nothing
86.22	in this chapter shall be interpreted as restricting the implementation of positive action
86.23	programs to combat discrimination.
86.24	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.08, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
86.25	Subd. 6. Reasonable accommodation. (a) Except when based on a bona fide occupational
86.26	qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an employer with a number of part-time
86.27	or full-time employees for each working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the
86.28	current or preceding calendar year equal to or greater than 25 effective July 1, 1992, and
86.29	equal to or greater than 15 effective July 1, 1994, an employment agency, or a labor
86.30	organization, not to make provide a reasonable accommodation to the known disability of

86.31 a qualified disabled person or job applicant for a job applicant or qualified employee with

REVISOR

KLL/BM

a disability unless the employer, agency, or organization can demonstrate that the 87.1 accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the business, agency, or organization. 87.2 "Reasonable accommodation" means steps which must be taken to accommodate the known 87.3 physical or mental limitations of a qualified disabled person individual with a disability. 87.4 To determine the appropriate reasonable accommodation the employer, agency, or 87.5 organization shall initiate an informal, interactive process with the individual with a disability 87.6 in need of the accommodation. This process should identify the limitations resulting from 87.7 87.8 the disability and any potential reasonable accommodations that could overcome those limitations. "Reasonable accommodation" may include but is not limited to, nor does it 87.9 necessarily require: (1) making facilities readily accessible to and usable by disabled persons 87.10 individuals with disabilities; and (2) job restructuring, modified work schedules, reassignment 87.11 to a vacant position, acquisition or modification of equipment or devices, and the provision 87.12 87.13 of aides on a temporary or periodic basis. (b) In determining whether an accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the 87.14 operation of a business or organization, factors to be considered include: 87.15 (1) the overall size of the business or organization with respect to number of employees 87.16 or members and the number and type of facilities; 87.17 (2) the type of the operation, including the composition and structure of the work force, 87.18 and the number of employees at the location where the employment would occur; 87.19 (3) the nature and cost of the needed accommodation; 87.20 (4) the reasonable ability to finance the accommodation at each site of business; and 87.21 (5) documented good faith efforts to explore less restrictive or less expensive alternatives, 87.22 including consultation with the disabled person or with knowledgeable disabled persons or 87.23 organizations. 87.24

A prospective employer need not pay for an accommodation for a job applicant if it is available from an alternative source without cost to the employer or applicant.

87.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

87.28 Subdivision 1. Actions. Any person aggrieved by a violation of this chapter may bring 87.29 a civil action as provided in section 363A.33, subdivision 1, or may file a verified charge

87.30 with the commissioner or the commissioner's designated agent. A charge filed with the

87.31 commissioner must be in writing by hand, or electronically with an unsworn declaration

87.32 <u>under penalty of perjury</u>, on a form provided by the commissioner and signed by the charging

87.33 party. The charge must state the name of the person alleged to have committed an unfair

A21-0252

discriminatory practice and set out a summary of the details of the practice complained of. 88.1 The commissioner may require a charging party to provide the address of the person alleged 88.2 to have committed the unfair discriminatory practice, names of witnesses, documents, and 88.3 any other information necessary to process the charge. The commissioner may dismiss a 88.4 charge when the charging party fails to provide required information. The commissioner 88.5 within ten days of the filing shall serve a copy of the charge and a form for use in responding 88.6 to the charge upon the respondent personally, electronically with the receiving party's 88.7 consent, or by mail. The respondent shall file with the department a written response setting 88.8 out a summary of the details of the respondent's position relative to the charge within $\frac{20}{20}$ 88.9 30 days of receipt of the charge. If the respondent fails to respond with a written summary 88.10 of the details of the respondent's position within 30 days after service of the charge, and 88.11 service was consistent with rule 4 of the Rules of Civil Procedure, the commissioner, on 88.12 behalf of the complaining party, may bring an action for default in district court pursuant 88.13 to rule 55.01 of the Rules of Civil Procedure. 88.14

88.15 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.28, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Charge processing. (a) Consistent with paragraph (h), the commissioner shall
promptly inquire into the truth of the allegations of the charge. The commissioner shall
make an immediate inquiry when a charge alleges actual or threatened physical violence.
The commissioner shall also make an immediate inquiry when it appears that a charge is
frivolous or without merit and shall dismiss those charges.

(b) The commissioner shall give priority to investigating and processing those charges,
in the order below, which the commissioner determines have the following characteristics:

(1) there is evidence of irreparable harm if immediate action is not taken;

(2) there is evidence that the respondent has intentionally engaged in a reprisal;

(3) a significant number of recent charges have been filed against the respondent;

(4) the respondent is a government entity;

(5) there is potential for broadly promoting the policies of this chapter; or

(6) the charge is supported by substantial and credible documentation, witnesses, orother evidence.

88.30 The commissioner shall inform charging parties of these priorities and shall tell each88.31 party if their charge is a priority case or not.

89.1 On other charges the commissioner shall make a determination within 12 months after
89.2 the charge was filed as to whether or not there is probable cause to credit the allegation of
89.3 unfair discriminatory practices.

(c) If the commissioner determines after investigation that no probable cause exists to 89.4 credit the allegations of the unfair discriminatory practice, the commissioner shall, within 89.5 ten days of the determination, serve upon the charging party and respondent written notice 89.6 of the determination. Within ten 30 days after receipt of notice, the charging party may 89.7 89.8 request in writing, on forms prepared by the department, that the commissioner reconsider the determination. The request shall contain a brief statement of the reasons for and new 89.9 evidence in support of the request for reconsideration. At the time of submission of the 89.10 request to the commissioner, the charging party shall deliver or mail to the respondent a 89.11 copy of the request for reconsideration. The commissioner shall reaffirm, reverse, or vacate 89.12 and remand for further consideration the determination of no probable cause within 20 days 89.13 after receipt of the request for reconsideration, and shall within ten days notify in writing 89.14 the charging party and respondent of the decision to reaffirm, reverse, or vacate and remand 89.15 for further consideration. 89.16

A decision by the commissioner that no probable cause exists to credit the allegations of an unfair discriminatory practice shall not be appealed to the court of appeals pursuant to section 363A.36 363A.34 or sections 14.63 to 14.68.

(d) If the commissioner determines after investigation that probable cause exists to credit 89.20 the allegations of unfair discriminatory practices, the commissioner shall serve on the 89.21 respondent and the respondent's attorney if the respondent is represented by counsel, by 89.22 first class mail, or electronically with the receiving party's consent, a notice setting forth a 89.23 short plain written statement of the alleged facts which support the finding of probable cause 89.24 and an enumeration of the provisions of law allegedly violated. Within 30 days after receipt 89.25 of notice, the respondent may request in writing, on forms prepared by the department, that 89.26 the commissioner reconsider the determination. If the commissioner determines that attempts 89.27 to eliminate the alleged unfair practices through conciliation pursuant to subdivision 8 have 89.28 89.29 been or would be unsuccessful or unproductive, the commissioner shall may issue a complaint and serve on the respondent, by registered or certified mail, or electronically with the 89.30 receiving party's consent, a written notice of hearing together with a copy of the complaint, 89.31 requiring the respondent to answer the allegations of the complaint at a hearing before an 89.32 administrative law judge at a time and place specified in the notice, not less than ten days 89.33 after service of said complaint. A copy of the notice shall be furnished to the charging party 89.34 and the attorney general. 89.35

REVISOR

(e) If, at any time after the filing of a charge, the commissioner has reason to believe 90.1 that a respondent has engaged in any unfair discriminatory practice, the commissioner may 90.2 file a petition in the district court in a county in which the subject of the complaint occurs, 90.3 or in a county in which a respondent resides or transacts business, seeking appropriate 90.4 temporary relief against the respondent, pending final determination of proceedings under 90.5 this chapter, including an order or decree restraining the respondent from doing or procuring 90.6 an act tending to render ineffectual an order the commissioner may enter with respect to 90.7 90.8 the complaint. The court shall have power to grant temporary relief or a restraining order as it deems just and proper, but no relief or order extending beyond ten days shall be granted 90.9 except by consent of the respondent or after hearing upon notice to the respondent and a 90.10 finding by the court that there is reasonable cause to believe that the respondent has engaged 90.11 in a discriminatory practice. Except as modified by subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, 90.12 subdivision 4, the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply to an application, and 90.13 the district court shall have authority to grant or deny the relief sought on conditions as it 90.14 deems just and equitable. All hearings under subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, 90.15 subdivision 4, shall be given precedence as nearly as practicable over all other pending civil 90.16 actions. 90.17

90.18 (f) If a lessor, after engaging in a discriminatory practice defined in section 363A.09,
90.19 subdivision 1, clause (1), leases or rents a dwelling unit to a person who has no knowledge
90.20 of the practice or of the existence of a charge with respect to the practice, the lessor shall
90.21 be liable for actual damages sustained by a person by reason of a final order as provided in
90.22 subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, subdivision 4, requiring the person to be evicted
90.23 from the dwelling unit.

90.24 (g) In any complaint issued under subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, subdivision
90.25 4, the commissioner may seek relief for a class of individuals affected by an unfair
90.26 discriminatory practice occurring on or after a date one year prior to the filing of the charge
90.27 from which the complaint originates.

90.28 (h) The commissioner may adopt policies to determine which charges are processed and
90.29 the order in which charges are processed based on their particular social or legal significance,
90.30 administrative convenience, difficulty of resolution, or other standard consistent with the
90.31 provisions of this chapter.

90.32 (i) The chief administrative law judge shall adopt policies to provide sanctions for
90.33 intentional and frivolous delay caused by any charging party or respondent in an investigation,
90.34 hearing, or any other aspect of proceedings before the department under this chapter.

91.2

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 91.1

Subd. 2. Rescission of waiver. A waiver or release of rights or remedies secured by this chapter which purports to apply to claims arising out of acts or practices prior to, or 91.3 concurrent with, the execution of the waiver or release may be rescinded within 15 calendar 91.4 days of its execution, except that a waiver or release given in settlement of a claim filed 91.5 with the department or with another administrative agency or judicial body is valid and final 91.6 upon execution. A waiving or releasing party shall be informed in writing of the right to 91.7 rescind the waiver or release. To be effective, the rescission must be in writing and delivered 91.8 to the waived or released party either by hand, electronically with the receiving party's 91.9 consent, or by mail within the 15-day period. If delivered by mail, the rescission must be: 91.10

91.11 (1) postmarked within the 15-day period;

(2) properly addressed to the waived or released party; and 91.12

(3) sent by certified mail return receipt requested. 91.13

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.33, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 91.14

91.15 Subd. 3. Summons and complaints in a civil action. A charging party bringing a civil action shall mail by registered or certified mail, or electronically with the receiving party's 91.16 consent, a copy of the summons and complaint to the commissioner, and upon their receipt 91.17 91.18 the commissioner shall terminate all proceedings in the department relating to the charge. No charge shall be filed or reinstituted with the commissioner after a civil action relating 91.19 to the same unfair discriminatory practice has been brought unless the civil action has been 91.20 dismissed without prejudice. 91.21

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 91.22

Subdivision 1. Scope of application. (a) For all contracts for goods and services in 91.23 excess of \$100,000, no department or agency of the state shall accept any bid or proposal 91.24 for a contract or agreement from any business having more than 40 full-time employees 91.25 91.26 within this state on a single working day during the previous 12 months, unless the commissioner is in receipt of the business' affirmative action plan for the employment of 91.27 minority persons, women, and qualified disabled individuals. No department or agency of 91.28 91.29 the state shall execute any such contract or agreement until the affirmative action plan has been approved by the commissioner. Receipt of a certificate of compliance issued by the 91.30 commissioner shall signify that a firm or business has an affirmative action plan that has 91.31 been approved by the commissioner. A certificate shall be valid for a period of four years. 91.32

KLL/BM

92.1	No department, agency of the state, the Metropolitan Council, or agency subject to section
92.2	473.143, subdivision 1, shall execute a contract for goods or services in excess of \$100,000
92.3	with a business that has 40 or more full-time employees in this state or a state where the
92.4	business has its primary place of business on a single day during the prior 12 months, unless
92.5	the business has a workforce certificate from the commissioner of human rights or has
92.6	certified in writing that it is exempt. Determinations of exempt status shall be made by the
92.7	commissioner of human rights. A certificate is valid for four years. A municipality as defined
92.8	in section 466.01, subdivision 1, that receives state money for any reason is encouraged to
92.9	prepare and implement an affirmative action plan for the employment of minority persons,
92.10	people with disabilities, people of color, and women, and the qualified disabled and to
92.11	submit the plan to the commissioner.
92.12	(b) This paragraph applies to a contract for goods or services in excess of \$100,000 to
92.13	be entered into between a department or agency of the state and a business that is not subject
92.14	to paragraph (a), but that has more than 40 full-time employees on a single working day
92.15	during the previous 12 months in the state where the business has its primary place of
92.16	business. A department or agency of the state may not execute a contract or agreement with
92.17	a business covered by this paragraph unless the business has a certificate of compliance
92.18	issued by the commissioner under paragraph (a) or the business certifies that it is in
92.19	compliance with federal affirmative action requirements.
92.20	(c) (b) This section does not apply to contracts entered into by the State Board of
92.21	Investment for investment options under section 356.645.
92.22	(d) (c) The commissioner shall issue a certificate of compliance or notice of denial within
92.23	15 days of the application submitted by the business or firm.
92.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to contracts
92.25	entered into on or after that date.
92.26	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
92.27	Subd. 2. Filing fee; account; appropriation. The commissioner shall collect a \$150
92.28	$\underline{\$250}$ fee for each certificate of compliance issued by the commissioner or the commissioner's

92.29 designated agent. The proceeds of the fee must be deposited in a human rights fee special
92.30 revenue account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner to fund the cost
92.31 of issuing certificates and investigating grievances.

92.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications received on or after July 92.33 <u>1, 2021.</u>

KLL/BM

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 93.1 Subd. 3. Revocation of certificate Violations; remedies. Certificates of compliance 93.2 may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner if a holder of a certificate has not made 93.3 a good faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan that has been approved by the 93.4 commissioner. If a contractor does not effectively implement an affirmative action plan 93.5 approved by the commissioner pursuant to subdivision 1, or fails to make a good faith effort 93.6 to do so, the commissioner may refuse to approve subsequent plans submitted by that firm 93.7 93.8 or business. If a certificate holder is in violation of this section, the commissioner may
- 93.9 impose one or both of the following actions:
- 93.10 (1) issue fines up to \$5,000 per calendar year for each contract; or
- 93.11 (2) suspend or revoke a certificate of compliance until the contractor has paid all
- 93.12 outstanding fines and otherwise complies with this section.
- 93.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to all certificates
 93.14 of compliance in effect on or after that date.
- 93.15 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Revocation of contract. A contract awarded by a department or agency of the 93.16 state, the Metropolitan Council, or an agency subject to section 473.143, subdivision 1, may 93.17 be terminated or abridged by the department or agency awarding entity because of suspension 93.18 or revocation of a certificate based upon a contractor's failure to implement or make a good 93.19 faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan approved by the commissioner under 93.20 this section. If a contract is awarded to a person who does not have a contract compliance 93.21 certificate required under subdivision 1, the commissioner may void the contract on behalf 93.22 of the state. 93.23

93.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to contracts 93.25 entered into on or after that date.

- 93.26 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, is amended by adding a subdivision
 93.27 to read:
- 93.28 Subd. 6. Access to data. Data submitted to the commissioner related to a certificate of
 93.29 compliance are private data on individuals or nonpublic data with respect to persons other
- 93.30 than department employees. The commissioner's decision to issue, not issue, revoke, or
- 93.31 suspend or otherwise penalize a certificate holder of a certificate of compliance is public
- 93.32 data. Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business seeking a certificate

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
94.1	of compliance are public data. The	e commissioner may di	sclose data classifie	ed as private or
94.2	nonpublic under this subdivision	to other state agencies,	statewide systems,	and political
94.3	subdivisions for the purposes of a	chieving compliance w	vith this section.	
94.4	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 202	0, section 363A.44, sul	bdivision 2, is amer	nded to read:
94.5	Subd. 2. Application. (a) A be	usiness shall apply for a	an equal pay certific	cate by paying
94.6	a \$150 \$250 filing fee and submit	ting an equal pay comp	bliance statement to	the
94.7	commissioner. The proceeds from	the fees collected under	this subdivision sha	ll be deposited
94.8	in an equal pay certificate special	revenue account. Mono	ey in the account is	appropriated
94.9	to the commissioner for the purpo	ses of this section. The	commissioner shall	issue an equal
94.10	pay certificate of compliance to a	business that submits t	o the commissioner	a statement
94.11	signed by the chairperson of the b	ooard or chief executive	officer of the busin	ness:
94.12	(1) that the business is in comp	pliance with Title VII o	of the Civil Rights A	Act of 1964,
94.13	Equal Pay Act of 1963, Minnesota	a Human Rights Act, ar	ıd Minnesota Equal	Pay for Equal
94.14	Work Law;			
94.15	(2) that the average compensa	tion for its female empl	loyees is not consis	tently below
94.16	the average compensation for its i	male employees within	each of the major j	ob categories
94.17	in the EEO-1 employee information	on report for which an	employee is expect	ed to perform
94.18	work under the contract, taking in	to account factors such	as length of service	, requirements
94.19	of specific jobs, experience, skill,	effort, responsibility, v	vorking conditions	of the job, or
94.20	other mitigating factors;			
94.21	(3) that the business does not r	estrict employees of on	e sex to certain job	classifications
94.22	and makes retention and promotio	on decisions without reg	gard to sex;	
94.23	(4) that wage and benefit dispa	arities are corrected whe	en identified to ensu	re compliance
94.24	with the laws cited in clause (1) a	nd with clause (2); and		
94.25	(5) how often wages and benef	its are evaluated to ensu	are compliance with	the laws cited
94.26	in clause (1) and with clause (2).			
94.27	(b) The equal pay compliance	statement shall also inc	dicate whether the b	ousiness, in
94.28	setting compensation and benefits	s, utilizes:		
94.29	(1) a market pricing approach;	;		
94.30	(2) state prevailing wage or un	nion contract requireme	ents;	
94.31	(3) a performance pay system;	;		
94.32	(4) an internal analysis; or			

Article 3 Sec. 23.

A21-0252

- 95.1 (5) an alternative approach to determine what level of wages and benefits to pay its
 95.2 employees. If the business uses an alternative approach, the business must provide a
 95.3 description of its approach.
- 95.4 (c) Receipt of the equal pay compliance statement by the commissioner does not establish
 95.5 compliance with the laws set forth in paragraph (a), clause (1).

95.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications received on or after July
95.7 <u>1, 2021.</u>

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 95.8 95.9 Subd. 4. Revocation of certificate Violations; remedies. An equal pay certificate for a business may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner when the business fails to 95.10 make a good-faith effort to comply with the laws identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), 95.11 clause (1), fails to make a good-faith effort to comply with this section, or has multiple 95.12 violations of this section or the laws identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (1). 95.13 The commissioner may also issue a fine due to lack of compliance with this section of up 95.14 95.15 to \$5,000 per calendar year for each contract. The commissioner may suspend or revoke an 95.16 equal pay certificate until the business has paid all outstanding fines and otherwise complies with this section. Prior to issuing a fine or suspending or revoking a certificate, the 95.17 commissioner must first have sought to conciliate with the business regarding wages and 95.18

95.19 benefits due to employees.

95.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to all equal pay 95.21 certificates in effect on or after that date.

95.22 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Access to data. Data submitted to the commissioner related to equal pay 95.23 95.24 certificates are private data on individuals or nonpublic data with respect to persons other than department employees. The commissioner's decision to issue, not issue, revoke, or 95.25 suspend or otherwise penalize a certificate holder of an equal pay certificate is public data. 95.26 Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business seeking an equal pay 95.27 certificate are public data. The commissioner may disclose data classified as private or 95.28 nonpublic under this subdivision to other state agencies, statewide systems, and political 95.29 subdivisions for the purposes of achieving compliance with this section. 95.30

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 477A.03, subdivision 2b, is amended to read: 96.1 Subd. 2b. Counties. (a) For aids payable in 2018 and 2019, the total aid payable under 96.2 section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is \$103,795,000, of which \$3,000,000 shall be allocated 96.3 as required under Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 6. For aids payable in 2020, 96.4 the total aid payable under section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is \$116,795,000, of which 96.5 \$3,000,000 shall be allocated as required under Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 96.6 6. For aids payable in 2021 through 2024, the total aid payable under section 477A.0124, 96.7 96.8 subdivision 3, is \$118,795,000, of which \$3,000,000 shall be allocated as required under Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 6. For aids payable in 2025 and thereafter, the 96.9 total aid payable under section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is \$115,795,000. Each calendar 96.10 year, On or before the first installment date provided in section 477A.015, paragraph (a), 96.11 \$500,000 of this appropriation shall be retained transferred each year by the commissioner 96.12 of revenue to make reimbursements to the commissioner of management and budget the 96.13 Board of Public Defense for payments made the payment of service under section 611.27. 96.14 The reimbursements shall be to defray the additional costs associated with court-ordered 96.15 counsel under section 611.27. Any retained transferred amounts not used for reimbursement 96.16 expended or encumbered in a fiscal year shall be certified by the Board of Public Defense 96.17 to the commissioner of revenue on or before October 1 and shall be included in the next 96.18 distribution certification of county need aid that is certified to the county auditors for the 96.19 purpose of property tax reduction for the next taxes payable year. 96.20

(b) For aids payable in 2018 and 2019, the total aid under section 477A.0124, subdivision 96.21 4, is \$130,873,444. For aids payable in 2020, the total aid under section 477A.0124, 96.22 subdivision 4, is \$143,873,444. For aids payable in 2021 and thereafter, the total aid under 96.23 section 477A.0124, subdivision 4, is \$145,873,444. The commissioner of revenue shall 96.24 transfer to the commissioner of management and budget \$207,000 annually for the cost of 96.25 preparation of local impact notes as required by section 3.987, and other local government 96.26 activities. The commissioner of revenue shall transfer to the commissioner of education 96.27 \$7,000 annually for the cost of preparation of local impact notes for school districts as 96.28 96.29 required by section 3.987. The commissioner of revenue shall deduct the amounts transferred under this paragraph from the appropriation under this paragraph. The amounts transferred 96.30 are appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget and the commissioner of 96.31 education respectively. 96.32

06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 524.2-503, is amended to read: 97.1 524.2-503 HARMLESS ERROR. 97.2 (a) If a document or writing added upon a document was not executed in compliance 97.3 with section 524.2-502, the document or writing is treated as if it had been executed in 97.4 compliance with section 524.2-502 if the proponent of the document or writing establishes 97.5 by clear and convincing evidence that the decedent intended the document or writing to 97.6 constitute: 97.7 (1) the decedent's will; 97.8 (2) a partial or complete revocation of the will; 97.9 (3) an addition to or an alteration of the will; or 97.10 (4) a partial or complete revival of the decedent's formerly revoked will or of a formerly 97.11 revoked portion of the will. 97.12 (b) This section applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020, 97.13 97.14 but before February 15, 2021. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 13, 2020, and 97.15 applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020. 97.16 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.101, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 97.17 97.18 Subd. 5. Waiver prohibited; reduction and installment payments. (a) The court may not waive payment of the minimum fine required by this section. 97.19 (b) If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on 97.20 the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the fine would 97.21 create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family, the court 97.22 may reduce the amount of the minimum fine to not less than \$50. Additionally, the court 97.23 may permit the defendant to perform community work service in lieu of a fine. 97.24 (c) The court also may authorize payment of the fine in installments. 97.25 (d) Before sentencing a person convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, 97.26 or petty misdemeanor to pay money for a fine, fee, or surcharge, the court shall make a 97.27 finding on the record as to indigency or the convicted person's ability to comply with an 97.28 order to pay without undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate 97.29 family. In determining indigency or whether the defendant is able to comply with an order 97.30

KLL/BM

98.1	to pay a fine, fee, or surcharge without undue hardship to the convicted person or that
98.2	person's immediate family, the court shall consider:
98.3	(1) income;
98.4	(2) dependents;
98.5	(3) financial resources, including assets and liabilities;
98.6	(4) basic living expenses;
98.7	(5) receipt of means-tested public assistance program; and
98.8	(6) any special circumstances that may bear on the person's ability to pay.
98.9	(e) Paragraph (d) shall not apply when a conviction for a violation that is included on
98.10	the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101, subdivision 4, is entered without
98.11	a hearing before the court.
98.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.21, is amended to read: 98.13
- 98.14

611.21 SERVICES OTHER THAN COUNSEL.

98.15 (a) Counsel appointed by the court for an indigent defendant, or representing a defendant who, at the outset of the prosecution, has an annual income not greater than 125 percent of 98.16 the poverty line established under United States Code, title 42, section 9902(2), may file 98.17 an ex parte application requesting investigative, expert, interpreter, or other services necessary 98.18 to an adequate defense in the case. Upon finding, after appropriate inquiry in an ex parte 98.19 proceeding, that the services are necessary and that the defendant is financially unable to 98.20 obtain them, the court shall authorize counsel to obtain the services on behalf of the 98.21 defendant. The court may establish a limit on the amount which may be expended or promised 98.22 for such services. The court may, in the interests of justice, and upon a finding that timely 98.23 procurement of necessary services could not await prior authorization, ratify such services 98.24 after they have been obtained, but such ratification shall be given only in unusual situations. 98.25 The court shall determine reasonable compensation for the services and direct payment by 98.26 the county in which the prosecution originated, to the organization or person who rendered 98.27 them, upon the filing of a claim for compensation supported by an affidavit specifying the 98.28 time expended, services rendered, and expenses incurred on behalf of the defendant, and 98.29 the compensation received in the same case or for the same services from any other source. 98.30

98.31 (b) The compensation to be paid to a person for such service rendered to a defendant under this section, or to be paid to an organization for such services rendered by an employee, 98.32

^{99.1} may not exceed \$1,000, exclusive of reimbursement for expenses reasonably incurred,

99.2 unless payment in excess of that limit is certified by the court as necessary to provide fair
99.3 compensation for services of an unusual character or duration and the amount of the excess
99.4 payment is approved by the chief judge of the district. The chief judge of the judicial district
99.5 may delegate approval authority to an active district judge.

(c) If the court denies authorizing counsel to obtain services on behalf of the defendant,
the court shall make written findings of fact and conclusions of law that state the basis for
determining that counsel may not obtain services on behalf of the defendant. When the court
issues an order denying counsel the authority to obtain services, the defendant may appeal
immediately from that order to the court of appeals and may request an expedited hearing.

99.11 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

99.12 Subd. 9. Request for other appointment of counsel. The chief district public defender
99.13 with the approval of may request that the state public defender may request that the chief
99.14 judge of the district court, or a district court judge designated by the chief judge, authorize
99.15 appointment of counsel other than the district public defender in such cases.

99.16 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Addition of permanent staff. The chief public defender may not request the
eourt nor may the court order state public defender approve the addition of permanent staff
under subdivision 7.

99.20 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Appointment of counsel. If the court state public defender finds that the 99.21 provision of adequate legal representation, including associated services, is beyond the 99.22 ability of the district public defender to provide, the court shall order state public defender 99.23 may approve counsel to be appointed, with compensation and expenses to be paid under 99.24 the provisions of this subdivision and subdivision 7. Counsel in such cases shall be appointed 99.25 by the chief district public defender. If the court issues an order denying the request, the 99.26 court shall make written findings of fact and conclusions of law. Upon denial, the chief 99.27 district public defender may immediately appeal the order denying the request to the court 99.28 of appeals and may request an expedited hearing. 99.29

100.1 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Correctional facility inmates. All billings for services rendered and ordered 100.2 under subdivision 7 shall require the approval of the chief district public defender before 100.3 being forwarded on a monthly basis to the state public defender. In cases where adequate 100.4 representation cannot be provided by the district public defender and where counsel has 100.5 been appointed under a court order approved by the state public defender, the state public 100.6 100.7 defender Board of Public Defense shall forward to the commissioner of management and 100.8 budget pay all billings for services rendered under the court order. The commissioner shall pay for services from county program aid retained transferred by the commissioner of 100.9 revenue for that purpose under section 477A.03, subdivision 2b, paragraph (a). 100.10

The costs of appointed counsel and associated services in cases arising from new criminal charges brought against indigent inmates who are incarcerated in a Minnesota state correctional facility are the responsibility of the state Board of Public Defense. In such cases the state public defender may follow the procedures outlined in this section for obtaining court-ordered counsel.

100.16 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. Costs of transcripts. In appeal cases and postconviction cases where the 100.17 appellate public defender's office does not have sufficient funds to pay for transcripts and 100.18 other necessary expenses because it has spent or committed all of the transcript funds in its 100.19 annual budget, the state public defender may forward to the commissioner of management 100.20 100.21 and budget all billings for transcripts and other necessary expenses. The commissioner shall Board of Public Defense may pay for these transcripts and other necessary expenses from 100.22 county program aid retained transferred by the commissioner of revenue for that purpose 100.23 under section 477A.03, subdivision 2b, paragraph (a). 100.24

100.25 Sec. 35. [611A.95] CERTIFICATIONS FOR VICTIMS OF CRIMES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given:

100.28 (1) "certifying entity" means a state or local law enforcement agency;

100.29 (2) "criminal activity" means qualifying criminal activity pursuant to section

100.30 <u>101(a)(15)(U)(iii) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, as amended through June 1,</u>

100.31 2021, and includes the attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit such crimes; and

101.1	(3) "certification" means any certification or statement required by federal immigration
101.2	law, as amended through June 1, 2021, including, but not limited to, the information required
101.3	by United States Code, title 8, section 1184(p), and United States Code, title 8, section
101.4	1184(o), including current United States Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-918,
101.5	Supplement B, and United States Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-914,
101.6	Supplement B, and any substantively similar successor forms.
101.7	Subd. 2. Certification process. (a) A certifying entity shall process a certification
101.8	requested by a victim of criminal activity or a representative of the victim, including the
101.9	victim's attorney, family member, or domestic violence or sexual assault violence advocate,
101.10	within the time period prescribed in paragraph (b).
101.11	(b) A certifying entity shall process the certification within 90 days of request, unless
101.12	the victim is in removal proceedings, in which case the certification shall be processed
101.13	within 14 days of request. Requests for expedited certification must be affirmatively raised
101.14	at the time of the request.
101.15	(c) An active investigation, the filing of charges, or a prosecution or conviction are not
101.16	required for the victim of criminal activity to request and obtain the certification, provided
101.17	that the certifying entity initiated an investigation and the victim cooperated in it.
101.18	Subd. 3. Certifying entity; designate agent. (a) The head of a certifying entity shall
101.19	designate an agent to perform the following responsibilities:
101.20	(1) timely process requests for certification;
101.21	(2) provide outreach to victims of criminal activity to inform them of the entity's
101.22	certification process; and
101.23	(3) keep a written or electronic record of all certification requests and responses.
101.24	(b) All certifying entities shall implement a language access protocol for
101.25	non-English-speaking victims of criminal activity.
101.26	Subd. 4. Disclosure prohibited; data classification. (a) A certifying entity is prohibited
101.27	from disclosing the immigration status of a victim of criminal activity, except to comply
101.28	with federal law or legal process, or if authorized by the victim of criminal activity or
101.29	representative requesting the certification.
101.30	(b) Data provided to a certifying entity under this section is classified as private data
101.31	pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 12.

102.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivisions 1, 2, and 4 are effective the day following final
102.2	enactment. Subdivision 3 is effective July 1, 2021.
102.3	Sec. 36. [634.045] JAILHOUSE WITNESSES.
102.4	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the
102.5	meanings given.
102.6	(b) "Benefit" means any plea bargain, bail consideration, reduction or modification of
102.7	sentence, or any other leniency, immunity, financial payment, reward, or amelioration of
102.8	current or future conditions of incarceration offered or provided in connection with, or in
102.9	exchange for, testimony that is offered or provided by a jailhouse witness.
102.10	(c) "Jailhouse witness" means a person who (1) while incarcerated, claims to have
102.11	obtained information from a defendant in a criminal case or a person suspected to be the
102.12	perpetrator of an offense, and (2) offers or provides testimony concerning statements made
102.13	by that defendant or person suspected to be the perpetrator of an offense. It does not mean
102.14	a codefendant or confidential informant who does not provide testimony against a suspect
102.15	or defendant.
102.16	(d) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.
102.17	Subd. 2. Use of and benefits provided to jailhouse witnesses; data collection. (a)
102.18	Each county attorney shall report to the commissioner, in a form determined by the
102.19	commissioner:
102.20	(1) the name of the jailhouse witness and the district court file number of the case in
102.21	which that witness testified or planned to testify;
102.22	(2) the substance and use of any testimony of a jailhouse witness against the interest of
102.23	a suspect or defendant, regardless of whether such testimony is presented at trial; and
102.24	(3) the jailhouse witness's agreement to cooperate with the prosecution and any benefit
102.25	that the prosecutor has offered or may offer in the future to the jailhouse witness in connection
102.26	with the testimony.
102.27	(b) The commissioner shall maintain a statewide database containing the information
102.28	received pursuant to paragraph (a) for 20 years from the date that the jailhouse witness
102.29	information was entered into that statewide record.
102.30	(c) Data collected and maintained pursuant to this subdivision are classified as confidential
102.31	data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 3. Only the commissioner may

KLL/BM

103.1	access the statewide record but shall provide all information held on specific jailhouse
103.2	witnesses to a county attorney upon request.
103.3	Subd. 3. Report on jailhouse witnesses. By September 15 of each year, beginning in
103.4	2022, the commissioner shall publish on its website an annual report of the statewide record
103.5	of jailhouse witnesses required under subdivision 2. Information in the report must be limited
103.6	to summary data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 19, and must include:
103.7	(1) the total number of jailhouse witnesses tracked in the statewide record; and
103.8	(2) for each county, the number of new reports added pursuant to subdivision 2, paragraph
103.9	(a), over the previous fiscal year.
103.10	Subd. 4. Disclosure of information regarding jailhouse witness. (a) In addition to the
103.11	requirements for disclosures under rule 9 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure, and within
103.12	the timeframes established by that rule, a prosecutor must disclose the following information
103.13	to the defense about any jailhouse witness:
103.14	(1) the complete criminal history of the jailhouse witness, including any charges that
103.15	are pending or were reduced or dismissed as part of a plea bargain;
103.16	(2) any cooperation agreement with the jailhouse witness and any deal, promise,
103.17	inducement, or benefit that the state has made or intends to make in the future to the jailhouse
103.18	witness;
103.19	(3) whether, at any time, the jailhouse witness recanted any testimony or statement
103.20	implicating the suspect or defendant in the charged crime and, if so, the time and place of
103.21	the recantation, the nature of the recantation, and the names of the persons who were present
103.22	at the recantation;
103.23	(4) whether, at any time, the jailhouse witness made a statement implicating any other
103.24	person in the charged crime and, if so, the time and place of the statement, the nature of the
103.25	statement, and the names of the persons who were present at the statement; and
103.26	(5) information concerning other criminal cases in which the jailhouse witness has
103.27	testified, or offered to testify, against a suspect or defendant with whom the jailhouse witness
103.28	was imprisoned or confined, including any cooperation agreement, deal, promise, inducement,
103.29	or benefit that the state has made or intends to make in the future to the jailhouse witness.
103.30	(b) A prosecutor has a continuing duty of disclosure before and during trial. If, after the
103.31	omnibus hearing held pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure, a prosecutor
103.32	discovers additional material, information, or witnesses subject to disclosure under this
103.33	subdivision, the prosecutor must promptly notify the court and defense counsel, or, if the

104.1

defendant is not represented, the defendant, of what was discovered. If the court finds that

KLL/BM

- the jailhouse witness was not known or that materials in paragraph (a) could not be discovered 104.2 104.3 or obtained by the state within that period with the exercise of due diligence, the court may order that disclosure take place within a reasonable period. Upon good cause shown, the 104.4 court may continue the proceedings. 104.5 (c) If the prosecutor files a written certificate with the trial court that disclosing the 104.6 information described in paragraph (a) would subject the jailhouse witness or other persons 104.7 104.8 to physical harm or coercion, the court may order that the information must be disclosed to the defendant's counsel but may limit disclosure to the defendant in a way that does not 104.9 unduly interfere with the defendant's right to prepare and present a defense, including limiting 104.10 disclosure to nonidentifying information. 104.11 Subd. 5. Victim notification. (a) A prosecutor shall make every reasonable effort to 104.12 notify a victim if the prosecutor has decided to offer or provide any of the following to a 104.13 jailhouse witness in exchange for, or as the result of, a jailhouse witness offering or providing 104.14 testimony against a suspect or defendant: 104.15 104.16 (1) reduction or dismissal of charges; (2) a plea bargain; 104.17 (3) support for a modification of the amount or conditions of bail; or 104.18 (4) support for a motion to reduce or modify a sentence. 104.19 (b) Efforts to notify the victim should include, in order of priority: (1) contacting the 104.20 victim or a person designated by the victim by telephone; and (2) contacting the victim by 104.21 mail. If a jailhouse witness is still in custody, the notification attempt shall be made before 104.22 the jailhouse witness is released from custody. 104.23 (c) Whenever a prosecutor notifies a victim of domestic assault, criminal sexual conduct, 104.24 or harassment or stalking under this section, the prosecutor shall also inform the victim of 104.25 the method and benefits of seeking an order for protection under section 518B.01 or a 104.26 104.27 restraining order under section 609.748 and that the victim may seek an order without paying a fee. 104.28 (d) The notification required under this subdivision is in addition to the notification 104.29 requirements and rights described in sections 611A.03, 611A.0315, 611A.039, and 611A.06. 104.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021. 104.31
 - Article 3 Sec. 36.

105.1	Sec. 37. INITIAL APPOINTMENTS AND MEETINGS.
105.2	Appointing authorities for the Legislative Commission on Data Practices under Minnesota
105.3	Statutes, section 3.8844, must make initial appointments by July 15, 2021. The speaker of
105.4	the house of representatives must designate one member of the commission to convene the
105.5	first meeting of the commission by August 1, 2021.
105.6	ARTICLE 4
105.7	CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT
105.8	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2.722, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
105.9	Subdivision 1. Description. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial
105.10	districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts
105.11	judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:
105.12	1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 36 judges; and four
105.13	permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe
105.14	and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district;
105.15	2. Ramsey; 26 judges;
105.16	3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower,
105.17	and Fillmore; 23 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert
105.18	Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;
105.19	4. Hennepin; 60 judges;
105.20	5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood,
105.21	Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 16 17 judges; and
105.22	permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and
105.23	Mankato;
105.24	6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;
105.25	7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and
105.26	Wadena; 30 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus
105.27	Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;
105.28	8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big
105.29	Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers
105.30	shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar;

KLL/BM

106.1 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin,

106.2 Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and

106.3 Koochiching; 24 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief

106.4 River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls; and

106.5 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; 45
106.6 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places
106.7 designated by the chief judge of the district.

106.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243.166, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

106.9 Subd. 1b. **Registration required.** (a) A person shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to
violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted
of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set
of circumstances:

106.14 (i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2);

106.15 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25;

(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451,
subdivision 3, paragraph (b); or 609.3453;

106.18 (iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or

(v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746,
subdivision 1, paragraph (f);

106.21 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or 106.22 aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit any of the following and convicted of or adjudicated 106.23 delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:

(i) criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);

106.25 (ii) false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2;

(iii) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in
the sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322;

106.28 (iv) a prostitution offense in violation of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);

106.29 (v) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352,

106.30 subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1);

KLL/BM

(vi) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or
(vii) possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of section 617.247;
(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455,

107.4 subdivision 3a; or

(4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial,
violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar
to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent
for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances.

107.9 (b) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state that would
be a violation of a law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state and convicted
of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set
of circumstances;

(2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and
remains for 14 days or longer or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during
any calendar year; and

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the
person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for
the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration
period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated,
or is subject to lifetime registration.

If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another
state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period
regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated
delinquent.

(c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant
to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter
253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the
United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense.

107.30 (d) A person also shall register under this section if:

107.31 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate 107.32 any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or

the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the
offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United
States;

(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency
after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in
states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and

108.7 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States.

108.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 108.10 crimes committed on or after that date.

108.11 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.135, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Stay of sentence maximum periods. (a) If the conviction is for a felony other than section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or 2, Θr 609.2114, subdivision 2, <u>or section 609.3451</u>, <u>subdivision 1</u>, or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b) or (c), the stay shall be for not more than four years or the maximum period for which the sentence of imprisonment might have been imposed, whichever is longer.

(b) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20, 609.2113, subdivision 3, or 609.3451, or for a felony described in section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or $2, \frac{108.19}{108.20}$ 2, $\frac{109.2114}{108.20}$ subdivision 2, <u>or 609.3451</u>, subdivision 1, the stay shall be for not more than six years. The court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the last year of the stay unless the court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the last year.

(c) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (b), the stayshall be for not more than two years.

(d) If the conviction is for any misdemeanor under section 169A.20; 609.746, subdivision
1; 609.79; or 617.23; or for a misdemeanor under section 609.2242 or 609.224, subdivision
1, in which the victim of the crime was a family or household member as defined in section
518B.01, the stay shall be for not more than two years. The court shall provide for
unsupervised probation for the second year of the stay unless the court finds that the
defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the second year.

(e) If the conviction is for a misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (d), the stay shallbe for not more than one year.

(f) The defendant shall be discharged six months after the term of the stay expires, unless
the stay has been revoked or extended under paragraph (g), or the defendant has already
been discharged.

(g) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under
paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to one year
if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1a, that:

109.7 (1) the defendant has not paid court-ordered restitution in accordance with the payment109.8 schedule or structure; and

(2) the defendant is likely to not pay the restitution the defendant owes before the termof probation expires.

109.11 This one-year extension of probation for failure to pay restitution may be extended by the 109.12 court for up to one additional year if the court finds, at another hearing conducted under 109.13 subdivision 1a, that the defendant still has not paid the court-ordered restitution that the 109.14 defendant owes.

Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections undersection 609.104.

(h) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under
paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to three
years if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1c, that:

109.20 (1) the defendant has failed to complete court-ordered treatment successfully; and

(2) the defendant is likely not to complete court-ordered treatment before the term ofprobation expires.

109.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 109.24 crimes committed on or after that date.

109.25 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.2325, is amended to read:

109.26 **609.2325 CRIMINAL ABUSE.**

109.27 Subdivision 1. Crimes. (a) A caregiver who, with intent to produce physical or mental 109.28 pain or injury to a vulnerable adult, subjects a vulnerable adult to any aversive or deprivation 109.29 procedure, unreasonable confinement, or involuntary seclusion, is guilty of criminal abuse 109.30 and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3.

109.31 This paragraph subdivision does not apply to therapeutic conduct.

A21-0252

110.1 (b) A caregiver, facility staff person, or person providing services in a facility who

engages in sexual contact or penetration, as defined in section 609.341, under circumstances
 other than those described in sections 609.342 to 609.345, with a resident, patient, or client

of the facility is guilty of criminal abuse and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision
3.

Subd. 2. Exemptions. For the purposes of this section, a vulnerable adult is not abusedfor the sole reason that:

(1) the vulnerable adult or a person with authority to make health care decisions for the 110.8 vulnerable adult under sections 144.651, 144A.44, chapter 145B, 145C, or 252A, or sections 110.9 110.10 253B.03 or 524.5-101 to 524.5-502, refuses consent or withdraws consent, consistent with that authority and within the boundary of reasonable medical practice, to any therapeutic 110.11 conduct, including any care, service, or procedure to diagnose, maintain, or treat the physical 110.12 or mental condition of the vulnerable adult or, where permitted under law, to provide nutrition 110.13 and hydration parenterally or through intubation; this paragraph does not enlarge or diminish 110.14 rights otherwise held under law by: 110.15

(i) a vulnerable adult or a person acting on behalf of a vulnerable adult, including an
involved family member, to consent to or refuse consent for therapeutic conduct; or

(ii) a caregiver to offer or provide or refuse to offer or provide therapeutic conduct; or

(2) the vulnerable adult, a person with authority to make health care decisions for the vulnerable adult, or a caregiver in good faith selects and depends upon spiritual means or prayer for treatment or care of disease or remedial care of the vulnerable adult in lieu of medical care, provided that this is consistent with the prior practice or belief of the vulnerable adult or with the expressed intentions of the vulnerable adult; or.

(3) the vulnerable adult, who is not impaired in judgment or capacity by mental or
emotional dysfunction or undue influence, engages in consensual sexual contact with: (i) a
person, including a facility staff person, when a consensual sexual personal relationship
existed prior to the caregiving relationship; or (ii) a personal care attendant, regardless of
whether the consensual sexual personal relationship existed prior to the caregiving
relationship.

110.30 Subd. 3. **Penalties.** (a) A person who violates subdivision 1, paragraph (a), may be 110.31 sentenced as follows:

(1) if the act results in the death of a vulnerable adult, imprisonment for not more than
110.33 15 years or payment of a fine of not more than \$30,000, or both;

- (2) if the act results in great bodily harm, imprisonment for not more than ten years or payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both;
 (3) if the act results in substantial bodily harm or the risk of death, imprisonment for not more than five years or payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both; or
 (4) in other cases, imprisonment for not more than one year or payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both.
- (b) A person who violates subdivision 1, paragraph (b), may be sentenced to imprisonment
 for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
 crimes committed on or after that date.

111.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

111.12 Subdivision 1. Engaging in, hiring, or agreeing to hire minor to engage in

111.13 **prostitution; penalties.** (a) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be

sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not morethan \$40,000, or both:

111.16 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of $\frac{13}{14}$ years;

(2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 13 14 years to engage
in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or

(3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to
be under the age of 13 14 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact.

(b) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonmentfor not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both:

(1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 16 years but at least 13
111.24 <u>14</u> years;

(2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 16 years but at least
111.26 <u>13</u> 14 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or

(3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to
be under the age of 16 years but at least 13 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual
contact.

(c) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment
for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both:

- (1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 18 years but at least 16years;
- (2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 18 years but at least
 112.4 16 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or
- (3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to
 be under the age of 18 years but at least 16 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual
 contact.

112.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 112.9 crimes committed on or after that date.

112.10 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

112.11 Subd. 3. Force. "Force" means <u>either: (1)</u> the infliction, by the actor of bodily harm; or

112.12 (2) the attempted infliction, or threatened infliction by the actor of bodily harm or commission

112.13 or threat of any other crime by the actor against the complainant or another, which (a) causes

112.14 the complainant to reasonably believe that the actor has the present ability to execute the

112.15 threat and (b) if the actor does not have a significant relationship to the complainant, also

112.16 causes the complainant to submit.

112.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 112.18 crimes committed on or after that date.

112.19 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

112.20 Subd. 7. Mentally incapacitated. "Mentally incapacitated" means:

112.21 (1) that a person under the influence of alcohol, a narcotic, anesthetic, or any other

112.22 substance, administered to that person without the person's agreement, lacks the judgment

112.23 to give a reasoned consent to sexual contact or sexual penetration; or

112.24 (2) that a person is under the influence of any substance or substances to a degree that

112.25 renders them incapable of consenting or incapable of appreciating, understanding, or

112.26 controlling the person's conduct.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 11, is amended to read: Subd. 11. Sexual contact. (a) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f) (e), and subdivision 1a, clauses (a) to (f) and (i), and 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), (d) and (h) to (p) (i), and subdivision 1a, clauses (a) to (e), (h), and (i), includes any of the following acts committed without the complainant's consent, except in those cases where consent is not a defense, and committed with sexual or aggressive intent:

(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts, or

(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimate
parts effected by a person in a current or recent position of authority, or by coercion, or by
inducement if the complainant is under 13 14 years of age or mentally impaired, or

(iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts effected by coercion orby a person in a current or recent position of authority, or

(iv) in any of the cases above, the touching of the clothing covering the immediate areaof the intimate parts, or

(v) the intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm by the actor of the complainant's
body or the clothing covering the complainant's body.

(b) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision <u>11a</u>, clauses (g)
and (h), and 609.345, subdivision <u>11a</u>, clauses (f) and (g), and 609.3458, includes any of
the following acts committed with sexual or aggressive intent:

(i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts;

(ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimateparts;

(iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts;

(iv) in any of the cases listed above, touching of the clothing covering the immediatearea of the intimate parts; or

(v) the intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm by the actor of the complainant's
body or the clothing covering the complainant's body.

(c) "Sexual contact with a person under $\frac{13}{14}$ " means the intentional touching of the complainant's bare genitals or anal opening by the actor's bare genitals or anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent or the touching by the complainant's bare genitals or anal opening of the actor's or another's bare genitals or anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent.

06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 114.1 crimes committed on or after that date. 114.2 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 114.3 Subd. 12. Sexual penetration. "Sexual penetration" means any of the following acts 114.4 committed without the complainant's consent, except in those cases where consent is not a 114.5 defense, whether or not emission of semen occurs: 114.6 (1) sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse; or 114.7 (2) any intrusion however slight into the genital or anal openings: 114.8 (i) of the complainant's body by any part of the actor's body or any object used by the 114.9 actor for this purpose; 114.10 (ii) of the complainant's body by any part of the body of the complainant, by any part 114.11 of the body of another person, or by any object used by the complainant or another person 114.12 for this purpose, when effected by a person in a current or recent position of authority, or 114.13 by coercion, or by inducement if the child is under 13 14 years of age or mentally impaired; 114.14 114.15 or (iii) of the body of the actor or another person by any part of the body of the complainant 114.16 or by any object used by the complainant for this purpose, when effected by a person in a 114.17 current or recent position of authority, or by coercion, or by inducement if the child is under 114.18 13 14 years of age or mentally impaired. 114.19 114.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 114.21 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 14, is amended to read: 114.22 114.23 Subd. 14. Coercion. "Coercion" means the use by the actor of words or circumstances that cause the complainant reasonably to fear that the actor will inflict the infliction of bodily 114.24 harm upon the complainant or another, or the use by the actor of confinement, or superior 114.25 size or strength, against the complainant that causes the complainant to submit to sexual 114.26

114.27 penetration or contact against the complainant's will to accomplish the act. Proof of coercion

114.28 does not require proof of a specific act or threat.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

- 115.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
- Subd. 15. Significant relationship. "Significant relationship" means a situation in which
 the actor is:

115.4 (1) the complainant's parent, stepparent, or guardian;

(2) any of the following persons related to the complainant by blood, marriage, or

adoption: brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, first cousin, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece,

115.7 grandparent, great-grandparent, great-uncle, great-aunt; or

(3) an adult who jointly resides intermittently or regularly in the same dwelling as the
complainant and who is not the complainant's spouse; or

(4) an adult who is or was involved in a significant romantic or sexual relationship with

115.11 the parent of a complainant.

115.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
 115.13 crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivisionto read:

115.16 Subd. 24. Prohibited occupational relationship. A "prohibited occupational

115.17 relationship" exists when the actor is in one of the following occupations and the act takes

115.18 place under the specified circumstances:

115.19 (1) the actor performed massage or other bodywork for hire, the sexual penetration or

115.20 sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor performed or was

115.21 <u>hired to perform one of those services for the complainant, and the sexual penetration or</u>

115.22 sexual contact was nonconsensual; or

(2) the actor and the complainant were in one of the following occupational relationships
at the time of the act. Consent by the complainant is not a defense:

- (i) the actor was a psychotherapist, the complainant was the actor's patient, and the sexual
- 115.26 penetration or sexual contact occurred during a psychotherapy session or during a period
- 115.27 of time when the psychotherapist-patient relationship was ongoing;
- 115.28 (ii) the actor was a psychotherapist and the complainant was the actor's former patient
- 115.29 who was emotionally dependent on the actor;

06/27/21

116.1	(iii) the actor was or falsely impersonated a psychotherapist, the complainant was the
116.2	actor's patient or former patient, and the sexual penetration or sexual contact occurred by
116.3	means of therapeutic deception;
116.4	(iv) the actor was or falsely impersonated a provider of medical services to the
116.5	complainant and the sexual penetration or sexual contact occurred by means of deception
116.6	or false representation that the sexual penetration or sexual contact was for a bona fide
116.7	medical purpose;
116.8	(v) the actor was or falsely impersonated a member of the clergy, the complainant was
116.9	not married to the actor, the complainant met with the actor in private seeking or receiving
116.10	religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor, and the sexual penetration or
116.11	sexual contact occurred during the course of the meeting or during a period of time when
116.12	the meetings were ongoing;
116.13	(vi) the actor provided special transportation service to the complainant and the sexual
116.14	penetration or sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor
116.15	transported the complainant;
116.16	(vii) the actor was or falsely impersonated a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84,
116.17	the actor physically or constructively restrained the complainant or the complainant did not
116.18	reasonably feel free to leave the actor's presence, and the sexual penetration or sexual contact
116.19	was not pursuant to a lawful search or lawful use of force;
116.20	(viii) the actor was an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county,
116.21	city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility,
116.22	or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and
116.23	dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including but
116.24	not limited to jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant
116.25	was a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system;
116.26	(ix) the complainant was enrolled in a secondary school and:
116.27	(A) the actor was a licensed educator employed or contracted to provide service for the
116.28	school at which the complainant was a student;
116.29	(B) the actor was age 18 or older and at least 48 months older than the complainant and
116.30	was employed or contracted to provide service for the secondary school at which the
116.31	complainant was a student; or

117.1	(C) the actor was age 18 or older and at least 48 months older than the complainant, and
117.2	was a licensed educator employed or contracted to provide services for an elementary,
117.3	middle, or secondary school;
117.4	(x) the actor was a caregiver, facility staff person, or person providing services in a
117.5	facility, and the complainant was a vulnerable adult who was a resident, patient, or client
117.6	of the facility who was impaired in judgment or capacity by mental or emotional dysfunction
117.7	or undue influence; or
117.8	(xi) the actor was a caregiver, facility staff person, or person providing services in a
117.9	facility, and the complainant was a resident, patient, or client of the facility. This clause
117.10	does not apply if a consensual sexual personal relationship existed prior to the caregiving
117.11	relationship or if the actor was a personal care attendant.
117.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
117.13	crimes committed on or after that date.
117.14	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision
117.15	to read:
117.16	Subd. 25. Caregiver. "Caregiver" has the meaning given in section 609.232, subdivision
117.17	<u>2.</u>
117.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
117.19	crimes committed on or after that date.
117.20	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision
117.21	to read:
117.22	Subd. 26. Facility. "Facility" has the meaning given in section 609.232, subdivision 3.
117.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
117.24	crimes committed on or after that date.
117.25	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision
117.26	to read:
117.27	Subd. 27. Vulnerable adult. "Vulnerable adult" has the meaning given in section
117.28	<u>609.232</u> , subdivision 11.
117.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
117.30	crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.342, is amended to read: 118.1 609.342 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FIRST DEGREE. 118.2 Subdivision 1. Adult victim; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual penetration 118.3 with another person, or in sexual contact with a person under 13 years of age as defined in 118.4 section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (c), is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the 118.5 first degree if any of the following circumstances exists: 118.6 (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older 118.7 than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by 118.8 the complainant is a defense; 118.9 118.10 (b) the complainant is at least 13 years of age but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of 118.11 authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to 118.12 the act by the complainant is a defense; 118.13 (e) (a) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a 118.14 reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another; 118.15 (d) (b) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in 118.16 a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and 118.17 uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit; 118.18 (e) (c) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either any of the following 118.19 circumstances exist: 118.20 118.21 (i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the act; or (ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or 118.22 118.23 (iii) (iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 118.24 (d) the actor uses force as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (1); or 118.25 (f) (e) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of 118.26 section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists: 118.27 (i) the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; 118.28 118.29 or (ii) the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or 118.30 fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant reasonably to believe it to be a dangerous 118.31

119.1	weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to
119.2	submit ; .
119.3	(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was
119.4	under 16 years of age at the time of the act. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor
119.5	consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or
119.6	(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under
119.7	16 years of age at the time of the act, and:
119.8	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the act;
119.9	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
119.10	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
119.11	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is
119.12	a defense.
119.13	Subd. 1a. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in
119.14	penetration with anyone under 18 years of age or sexual contact with a person under 14
119.15	years of age as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (c), is guilty of criminal
119.16	sexual conduct in the first degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
119.17	(a) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a
119.18	reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;
119.19	(b) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a
119.20	manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses
119.21	or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
119.22	(c) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and any of the following
119.23	circumstances exist:
119.24	(i) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the act;
119.25	(ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or
119.26	(iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,
119.27	mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
119.28	(d) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of
119.29	section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:
119.30	(i) the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit;
119.31	<u>or</u>

06/27/21

KLL/BM

120.1	(ii) the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or
120.2	fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous
120.3	weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
120.4	(e) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older
120.5	than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by
120.6	the complainant is a defense;
120.7	(f) the complainant is at least 14 years of age but less than 16 years of age and:
120.8	(i) the actor is more than 36 months older than the complainant; and
120.9	(ii) the actor is in a current or recent position of authority over the complainant.
120.10	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a
120.11	defense;
120.12	(g) the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the act and the actor has a
120.13	significant relationship to the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor
120.14	consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;
120.15	(h) the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the act, and the actor has
120.16	a significant relationship to the complainant and any of the following circumstances exist:
120.17	(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the act;
120.18	(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or
120.19	(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.
120.20	Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a
120.21	defense; or
120.22	(i) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (1).
120.23	Subd. 2. Penalty. (a) Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455; or Minnesota
120.24	Statutes 2004, section 609.109, a person convicted under subdivision 1 or subdivision 1a
120.25	may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 30 years or to a payment of a fine of
120.26	not more than \$40,000, or both.
120.27	(b) Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law or the
120.28	Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall
120.29	presume that an executed sentence of 144 months must be imposed on an offender convicted
120.30	of violating this section. Sentencing a person in a manner other than that described in this
120.31	paragraph is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines.

(c) A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under section 609.3455.
Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, if a person is convicted under subdivision <u>+ 1a</u>,

121.5 clause (g), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that:

121.6 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and

(b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and canrespond to a treatment program.

121.9 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 121.10 conditions of probation:

121.11 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse;

121.12 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and

(3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant
until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by
the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent.

121.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to

121.17 crimes committed on or after that date.

121.18 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.343, is amended to read:

121.19 **609.343 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE SECOND DEGREE.**

Subdivision 1. <u>Adult victim</u>; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual contact with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second degree if any of the following circumstances exists:

(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older
than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by
the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to
prove that the sexual contact was coerced;

(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than
48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority over
the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the
complainant is a defense;

122.1 (c) (a) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a 122.2 reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;

122.3 (d) (b) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in

a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon anduses or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the complainant to submit;

122.6 (e)(c) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either any of the following 122.7 circumstances exist:

122.8 (i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; or

(ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or

(ii) (iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,
 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;

(d) the actor uses force as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (1); or

122.13 (f) (e) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of 122.14 section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:

(i) <u>the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit;</u>
or

(ii) <u>the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or</u>
fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous
weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to
submit;.

(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was
under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to the complainant's
age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or

(h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under
122.25 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:

122.26 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;

122.27 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

122.28 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.

122.29 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is

122.30 a defense.

123.1	Subd. 1a. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual
123.2	contact with anyone under 18 years of age is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second
123.3	degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
123.4	(a) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a
123.5	reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another;
123.6	(b) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a
123.7	manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses
123.8	or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the complainant to submit;
123.9	(c) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and any of the following
123.10	circumstances exist:
123.11	(i) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the sexual contact;
123.12	(ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or
123.13	(iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,
123.14	mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;
123.15	(d) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of
123.16	section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists:
123.17	(i) the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit;
123.18	or
123.19	(ii) the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or
123.20	fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous
123.21	weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit;
123.22	(e) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older
123.23	than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by
123.24	the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to
123.25	prove that the sexual contact was coerced;
123.26	(f) the complainant is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than
123.27	<u>36 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority over</u>
123.28	the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the
123.29	complainant is a defense;
123.30	(g) the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact and the
123.31	actor has a significant relationship to the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's

123.32 age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;

124.1 (h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under

124.2 <u>16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:</u>

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;

124.4 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

124.5 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.

124.6 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a

124.7 defense; or

(i) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (1).

Subd. 2. **Penalty.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, a person convicted under subdivision 1 <u>or subdivision 1a</u> may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to a payment of a fine of not more than \$35,000, or both.

(b) Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume that an executed sentence of 90 months must be imposed on an offender convicted of violating subdivision 1, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e), (f), or subdivision 1a, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), Θf (h), or (i). Sentencing a person in a manner other than that described in this paragraph is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines.

(c) A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release undersection 609.3455.

Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or
Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, if a person is convicted under subdivision <u>+ 1a</u>,
clause (g), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that:

(a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and

(b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and canrespond to a treatment program.

124.27 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 124.28 conditions of probation:

124.29 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse;

124.30 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and

(3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant 125.1 until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by 125.2 the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent. 125.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 125.4 125.5 crimes committed on or after that date. Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.344, is amended to read: 125.6 609.344 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE THIRD DEGREE. 125.7 125.8 Subdivision 1. Adult victim; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual penetration with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree if any of the 125.9 following circumstances exists: 125.10 (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months 125.11 125.12 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant shall be a defense; 125.13 125.14 (b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more than 120 125.15 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, which must be proved 125.16 by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to 125.17 125.18 be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not be a defense. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 125.19 (c) (a) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the penetration; 125.20 (d) (b) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 125.21 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 125.22 (c) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or 125.23 (d) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the 125.24 complainant. 125.25 Subd. 1a. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual 125.26 penetration with anyone under 18 years of age is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the 125.27 third degree if any of the following circumstances exists: 125.28 (a) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months 125.29 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the 125.30 act by the complainant shall be a defense; 125.31

126.2

KLL/BM

(b) the complainant is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than

126.3 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, which must be proved

24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more than 60

126.4 by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to

126.5 be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not

126.6 be a defense. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

126.7 (c) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the penetration;

(d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,
mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;

(e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than
48 36 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority
over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by
the complainant is a defense;

(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was
at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither mistake
as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;

(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was atleast 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and:

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration;

126.20 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

126.21 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant isa defense;

(h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist
and the sexual penetration occurred: the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341,
subdivision 3, clause (2); or

(i) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the
 <u>complainant.</u>

126.29 (i) during the psychotherapy session; or

(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship
 exists.

REVISOR

127.1	Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
127.2	(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the
127.3	psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;
127.4	(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and
127.5	the sexual penetration occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the
127.6	complainant is not a defense;
127.7	(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual penetration by means of deception or false
127.8	representation that the penetration is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the
127.9	complainant is not a defense;
127.10	(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married
127.11	to the actor, and:
127.12	(i) the sexual penetration occurred during the course of a meeting in which the
127.13	complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor
127.14	in private; or
127.15	(ii) the sexual penetration occurred during a period of time in which the complainant
127.16	was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual
127.17	advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
127.18	(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county,
127.19	city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility,
127.20	or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and
127.21	dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but
127.22	not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant
127.23	is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the
127.24	complainant is not a defense;
127.25	(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation
127.26	service, the complainant used the special transportation service, and the sexual penetration
127.27	occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent
127.28	by the complainant is not a defense;
127.29	(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user
127.30	of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual penetration occurred during or
127.31	immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services
127.32	for the complainant; or

128.2

KLL/BM

128.1 (p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the officer physically

128.3 to leave the officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense. This paragraph

or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably feel free

128.4 does not apply to any penetration of the mouth, genitals, or anus during a lawful search.

Subd. 2. Penalty. Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455, a person convicted
under subdivision 1 or subdivision 1a may be sentenced:

(1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to a payment of a fine of not morethan \$30,000, or both; or

(2) if the person was convicted under subdivision $4 \underline{1a}$, paragraph (b), and if the actor was no more than $48 \underline{36}$ months but more than 24 months older than the complainant, to imprisonment for not more than five years or a fine of not more than \$30,000, or both.

A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under section609.3455.

Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or
Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, if a person is convicted under subdivision <u>+ 1a</u>,
clause (f), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that:

128.17 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and

(b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and canrespond to a treatment program.

128.20 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 128.21 conditions of probation:

128.22 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse;

128.23 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and

(3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant
until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by
the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent.

128.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 128.28 crimes committed on or after that date.

129.1 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.345, is amended to read:

129.2 **609.345 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FOURTH DEGREE.**

Subdivision 1. <u>Adult victim;</u> crime defined. A person who engages in sexual contact
with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree if any of the
following circumstances exists:

(a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months
 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the
 act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not

129.9 required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;

(b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than

129.11 48 months older than the complainant or in a current or recent position of authority over

129.12 the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense. In any such case,

129.13 if the actor is no more than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative

129.14 defense which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the actor reasonably

129.15 believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the

129.16 complainant's age shall not be a defense;

129.17 (c) (a) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact;

(d) (b) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,
 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;

(c) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or

129.21 (d) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the 129.22 complainant.

Subd. 1a. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual
 contact with anyone under 18 years of age is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth
 degree if any of the following circumstances exists:

(a) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months

129.27 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the

129.28 act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not

129.29 required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;

(b) the complainant is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than

129.31 <u>36 months older than the complainant or in a current or recent position of authority over</u>

129.32 the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense.

130.1 Mistake of age is not a defense unless actor is less than 60 months older. In any such case,

130.2 if the actor is no more than 60 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative

130.3 defense which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the actor reasonably

130.4 believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the

130.5 complainant's age shall not be a defense;

130.6 (c) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the sexual contact;

130.7 (d) The actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired,
 130.8 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless;

(e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than
48 36 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority
over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by
the complainant is a defense;

(f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was
at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to
the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense;

(g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was atleast 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and:

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact;

130.19 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or

130.20 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time.

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant isa defense;

130.23 (h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist

130.24 and the sexual contact occurred: the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341,

- 130.25 <u>subdivision 3, clause (2); or</u>
- (i) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the
 complainant.

130.28 (i) during the psychotherapy session; or

(ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship
 exists. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

131.1 (i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the

131.2 psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;

(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and
the sexual contact occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the complainant
is not a defense;

(k) the actor accomplishes the sexual contact by means of deception or false representation
that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the complainant is not a
defense;

(1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married
to the actor, and:

(i) the sexual contact occurred during the course of a meeting in which the complainant
sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor in private; or
(ii) the sexual contact occurred during a period of time in which the complainant was
meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual advice,
aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
(m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county,

city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility,
or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and
dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but
not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant
is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the
complainant is not a defense;

(n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation
service, the complainant used the special transportation service, the complainant is not
married to the actor, and the sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after
the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

(o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user
 of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual contact occurred during or immediately
 before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services for the
 complainant; or

(p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the officer physically
 or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably feel free
 to leave the officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense.

Subd. 2. Penalty. Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455, a person convicted 132.1 under subdivision 1 or subdivision 1a may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 132.2 ten years or to a payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both. A person convicted 132.3 under this section is also subject to conditional release under section 609.3455. 132.4 Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or 132.5 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, if a person is convicted under subdivision + 1a, 132.6 clause (f), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 132.7 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and 132.8 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and can 132.9 respond to a treatment program. 132.10 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 132.11 conditions of probation: 132.12 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 132.13 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and 132.14 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant 132 15 until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by 132.16 the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent. 132.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 132.18 crimes committed on or after that date. 132.19 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3451, is amended to read: 132.20 609.3451 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FIFTH DEGREE. 132.21 Subdivision 1. Sexual penetration; crime defined. A person is guilty of criminal sexual 132.22 conduct in the fifth degree: if the person engages in nonconsensual sexual penetration. 132.23 Subd. 1a. Sexual contact; child present; crime defined. A person is guilty of criminal 132.24

- 132.25 sexual conduct in the fifth degree if:
- 132.26 (1) if the person engages in nonconsensual sexual contact; or
- 132.27 (2) the person engages in masturbation or lewd exhibition of the genitals in the presence
- 132.28 of a minor under the age of 16, knowing or having reason to know the minor is present.
- 132.29 For purposes of this section, "sexual contact" has the meaning given in section 609.341,
- 132.30 subdivision 11, paragraph (a), clauses (i), (iv), and (v). Sexual contact also includes the
- 132.31 intentional removal or attempted removal of clothing covering the complainant's intimate

A21-0252

parts or undergarments, and the nonconsensual touching by the complainant of the actor's 133.1 intimate parts, effected by the actor, if the action is performed with sexual or aggressive 133.2 133.3 intent.

Subd. 2. Gross misdemeanor. A person convicted under subdivision 1 la may be 133.4 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to a payment of a fine of not more 133.5 than \$3,000, or both. 133.6

Subd. 3. Felony. (a) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment 133.7

for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both, if 133.8

the person violates subdivision 1. 133.9

(b) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 133.10 than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$14,000, or both, if the person 133.11

violates this section subdivision 1 or 1a within seven ten years of: 133.12

(1) a conviction under subdivision 1; 133.13

(2) a previous conviction for violating subdivision + 1a, clause (2), a crime described 133.14 in paragraph (b) (c), or a statute from another state in conformity with any of these offenses; 133.15

133.16 or

(2) (3) the first of two or more previous convictions for violating subdivision + 1a, clause 133.17 (1), or a statute from another state in conformity with this offense. 133.18

(b) (c) A previous conviction for violating section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 133.19

609.3453; 617.23, subdivision 2, clause (2), or subdivision 3; or 617.247 may be used to 133.20

enhance a criminal penalty as provided in paragraph (a) (b). 133.21

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 133.22 crimes committed on or after that date. 133.23

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3455, is amended to read: 133.24

609.3455 DANGEROUS SEX OFFENDERS; LIFE SENTENCES; CONDITIONAL 133.25 **RELEASE.** 133.26

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 133.27 meanings given. 133.28

(b) "Conviction" includes a conviction as an extended jurisdiction juvenile under section 133.29 260B.130 for a violation of, or an attempt to violate, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 133.30 609.3453, or 609.3458, if the adult sentence has been executed. 133.31

(c) "Extreme inhumane conditions" mean situations where, either before or after the 134.1 sexual penetration or sexual contact, the offender knowingly causes or permits the 134.2 complainant to be placed in a situation likely to cause the complainant severe ongoing 134.3 mental, emotional, or psychological harm, or causes the complainant's death. 134.4 (d) A "heinous element" includes: 134.5 (1) the offender tortured the complainant; 134.6 134.7 (2) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm upon the complainant; (3) the offender intentionally mutilated the complainant; 134.8 134.9 (4) the offender exposed the complainant to extreme inhumane conditions; (5) the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned 134.10 in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and 134.11 used or threatened to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit; 134.12 (6) the offense involved sexual penetration or sexual contact with more than one victim; 134.13 (7) the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging in sexual penetration or 134.14 sexual contact with the complainant; or 134.15 (8) the offender, without the complainant's consent, removed the complainant from one 134.16 place to another and did not release the complainant in a safe place. 134.17 (e) "Mutilation" means the intentional infliction of physical abuse designed to cause 134.18 serious permanent disfigurement or permanent or protracted loss or impairment of the 134.19 functions of any bodily member or organ, where the offender relishes the infliction of the 134.20 abuse, evidencing debasement or perversion. 134.21 (f) A conviction is considered a "previous sex offense conviction" if the offender was 134.22 convicted and sentenced for a sex offense before the commission of the present offense. 134.23 (g) A conviction is considered a "prior sex offense conviction" if the offender was 134.24 convicted of committing a sex offense before the offender has been convicted of the present 134.25 offense, regardless of whether the offender was convicted for the first offense before the 134.26

134.27 commission of the present offense, and the convictions involved separate behavioral134.28 incidents.

(h) "Sex offense" means any violation of, or attempt to violate, section 609.342, 609.343,
609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, <u>609.3458</u>, or any similar statute of the United States,
this state, or any other state.

A21-0252

(i) "Torture" means the intentional infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extremepsychological or physical abuse, when committed in an especially depraved manner.

(j) An offender has "two previous sex offense convictions" only if the offender was
convicted and sentenced for a sex offense committed after the offender was earlier convicted
and sentenced for a sex offense and both convictions preceded the commission of the present
offense of conviction.

Subd. 2. Mandatory life sentence without release; egregious first-time and repeat offenders. (a) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person convicted under section 609.342, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e), (f), or (h); or 609.342, subdivision 1a, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i); 609.343, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e), (f),; or (h) 609.343, subdivision 1a, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i), to life without the possibility of release if:

135.14 (1) the fact finder determines that two or more heinous elements exist; or

(2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction for a violation of section 609.342,
609.343, or 609.344, or 609.3458, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and the fact finder determines
that a heinous element exists for the present offense.

(b) A fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlying
specified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343. In addition, when determining whether
two or more heinous elements exist, the fact finder may not use the same underlying facts
to support a determination that more than one element exists.

135.22 Subd. 3. Mandatory life sentence for egregious first-time offenders. (a)

Notwithstanding the statutory maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for life if the person is convicted under section 609.342, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e), (f), or (h), or; 609.342, subdivision 135.26 <u>1a</u>, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i); 609.343, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or 135.27 (e), (f), or (h); or 609.343, subdivision 1a, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i); and the fact 135.28 finder determines that a heinous element exists.

(b) The fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlyingspecified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343.

Subd. 3a. Mandatory sentence for certain engrained offenders. (a) A court shall
commit a person to the commissioner of corrections for a period of time that is not less than
double the presumptive sentence under the sentencing guidelines and not more than the

statutory maximum, or if the statutory maximum is less than double the presumptive sentence,for a period of time that is equal to the statutory maximum, if:

(1) the court is imposing an executed sentence on a person convicted of committing or
attempting to commit a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453,
or 609.3458;

136.6 (2) the fact finder determines that the offender is a danger to public safety; and

(3) the fact finder determines that the offender's criminal sexual behavior is so engrained
that the risk of reoffending is great without intensive psychotherapeutic intervention or other
long-term treatment or supervision extending beyond the presumptive term of imprisonment
and supervised release.

(b) The fact finder shall base its determination that the offender is a danger to publicsafety on any of the following factors:

(1) the crime involved an aggravating factor that would justify a durational departurefrom the presumptive sentence under the sentencing guidelines;

(2) the offender previously committed or attempted to commit a predatory crime or aviolation of section 609.224 or 609.2242, including:

(i) an offense committed as a juvenile that would have been a predatory crime or a
violation of section 609.224 or 609.2242 if committed by an adult; or

(ii) a violation or attempted violation of a similar law of any other state or the UnitedStates; or

136.21 (3) the offender planned or prepared for the crime prior to its commission.

(c) As used in this section, "predatory crime" has the meaning given in section 609.341,
subdivision 22.

Subd. 4. **Mandatory life sentence; repeat offenders.** (a) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for life if the person is convicted of violating section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453, or 609.3458 and:

136.28 (1) the person has two previous sex offense convictions;

136.29 (2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction and:

(i) the fact finder determines that the present offense involved an aggravating factor that
would provide grounds for an upward durational departure under the sentencing guidelines
other than the aggravating factor applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions;

(ii) the person received an upward durational departure from the sentencing guidelinesfor the previous sex offense conviction; or

(iii) the person was sentenced under this section or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section
609.108, for the previous sex offense conviction; or

(3) the person has two prior sex offense convictions, and the fact finder determines thatthe prior convictions and present offense involved at least three separate victims, and:

(i) the fact finder determines that the present offense involved an aggravating factor that
would provide grounds for an upward durational departure under the sentencing guidelines
other than the aggravating factor applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions;

(ii) the person received an upward durational departure from the sentencing guidelinesfor one of the prior sex offense convictions; or

(iii) the person was sentenced under this section or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section
609.108, for one of the prior sex offense convictions.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may not sentence a person to imprisonment
for life for a violation of section 609.345, unless the person's previous or prior sex offense
convictions that are being used as the basis for the sentence are for violations of section
609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.3453, or 609.3458, or any similar statute of the United
States, this state, or any other state.

Subd. 5. Life sentences; minimum term of imprisonment. At the time of sentencing under subdivision 3 or 4, the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based on the sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum sentence, that must be served before the offender may be considered for supervised release.

Subd. 6. **Mandatory ten-year conditional release term.** Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense and unless a longer conditional release term is required in subdivision 7, when a court commits an offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453, <u>or 609.3458</u>, the court shall provide that, after the offender has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the offender on conditional release for ten years.

Subd. 7. Mandatory lifetime conditional release term. (a) When a court sentences an
offender under subdivision 3 or 4, the court shall provide that, if the offender is released
from prison, the commissioner of corrections shall place the offender on conditional release
for the remainder of the offender's life.

(b) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense, when the court commits an offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453, <u>or 609.3458</u>, and the offender has a previous or prior sex offense conviction, the court shall provide that, after the offender has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the offender on conditional release for the remainder of the offender's life.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an offender may not be placed on lifetime conditional
release for a violation of section 609.345, unless the offender's previous or prior sex offense
conviction is for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.3453, or 609.3458,
<u>subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any</u>
other state.

Subd. 8. **Terms of conditional release; applicable to all sex offenders.** (a) The provisions of this subdivision relating to conditional release apply to all sex offenders sentenced to prison for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453, <u>or 609.3458</u>. Except as provided in this subdivision, conditional release of sex offenders is governed by provisions relating to supervised release. The commissioner of corrections may not dismiss an offender on conditional release from supervision until the offender's conditional release term expires.

(b) The conditions of release may include successful completion of treatment and aftercare 138.23 in a program approved by the commissioner, satisfaction of the release conditions specified 138.24 in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other conditions the commissioner considers 138.25 appropriate. The commissioner shall develop a plan to pay the cost of treatment of a person 138.26 released under this subdivision. The plan may include co-payments from offenders, 138.27 third-party payers, local agencies, or other funding sources as they are identified. This 138.28 section does not require the commissioner to accept or retain an offender in a treatment 138.29 program. Before the offender is placed on conditional release, the commissioner shall notify 138.30 the sentencing court and the prosecutor in the jurisdiction where the offender was sentenced 138.31 of the terms of the offender's conditional release. The commissioner also shall make 138.32 reasonable efforts to notify the victim of the offender's crime of the terms of the offender's 138.33 conditional release. 138.34

A21-0252

the offender's conditional release and order that the offender serve all or a part of the
remaining portion of the conditional release term in prison. An offender, while on supervised

release, is not entitled to credit against the offender's conditional release term for time servedin confinement for a violation of release.

Subd. 9. Applicability. The provisions of this section do not affect the applicability of
Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, to crimes committed before August 1, 2005, or
the validity of sentences imposed under Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108.

Subd. 10. Presumptive executed sentence for repeat sex offenders. Except as provided 139.9 in subdivision 2, 3, 3a, or 4, if a person is convicted under sections 609.342 to 609.345 or 139.10 609.3453 within 15 years of a previous sex offense conviction, the court shall commit the 139.11 defendant to the commissioner of corrections for not less than three years, nor more than 139.12 the maximum sentence provided by law for the offense for which convicted, notwithstanding 139.13 sections 242.19, 243.05, 609.11, 609.12, and 609.135. The court may stay the execution of 139.14 the sentence imposed under this subdivision only if it finds that a professional assessment 139.15 indicates the offender is accepted by and can respond to treatment at a long-term inpatient 139.16 program exclusively treating sex offenders and approved by the commissioner of corrections. 139.17 If the court stays the execution of a sentence, it shall include the following as conditions of 139.18 probation: 139.19

139.20 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; and

(2) a requirement that the offender successfully complete the treatment program andaftercare as directed by the court.

139.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
 139.24 crimes committed on or after that date.

139.25 Sec. 22. [609.3458] SEXUAL EXTORTION.

Subdivision 1. Crime defined. (a) A person who engages in sexual contact with another
person and compels the other person to submit to the contact by making any of the following
threats, directly or indirectly, is guilty of sexual extortion:

(1) a threat to withhold or harm the complainant's trade, business, profession, position,
 employment, or calling;

(2) a threat to make or cause to be made a criminal charge against the complainant,
whether true or false;

06/27/21

KLL/BM

140.1	(3) a threat to report the complainant's immigration status to immigration or law
140.2	enforcement authorities;
140.3	(4) a threat to disseminate private sexual images of the complainant as specified in
140.4	section 617.261, nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images;
140.5	(5) a threat to expose information that the actor knows the complainant wishes to keep
140.6	confidential; or
140.7	(6) a threat to withhold complainant's housing, or to cause complainant a loss or
140.8	disadvantage in the complainant's housing, or a change in the cost of complainant's housing.
140.9	(b) A person who engages in sexual penetration with another person and compels the
140.10	other person to submit to such penetration by making any of the following threats, directly
140.11	or indirectly, is guilty of sexual extortion:
140.12	(1) a threat to withhold or harm the complainant's trade, business, profession, position,
140.13	employment, or calling;
140.14	(2) a threat to make or cause to be made a criminal charge against the complainant,
140.15	whether true or false;
140.16	(3) a threat to report the complainant's immigration status to immigration or law
140.17	enforcement authorities;
140.18	(4) a threat to disseminate private sexual images of the complainant as specified in
140.19	section 617.261, nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images;
140.20	(5) a threat to expose information that the actor knows the complainant wishes to keep
140.21	confidential; or
140.22	(6) a threat to withhold complainant's housing, or to cause complainant a loss or
140.23	disadvantage in the complainant's housing, or a change in the cost of complainant's housing.
140.24	Subd. 2. Penalty. (a) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment
140.25	for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both, if the
140.26	person violates subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
140.27	(b) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more
140.28	than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$30,000, or both, if the person violates
140.29	subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
140.30	(c) A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under
140.31	section 609.3455.

06/27/21

KLL/BM

1 4 1 1	Subd 2 No attempt abarra Naturithaten ding section 600 17 no narran may be abarrad
141.1	Subd. 3. No attempt charge. Notwithstanding section 609.17, no person may be charged
141.2	with or convicted of an attempt to commit a violation of this section.
141.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to
141.4	crimes committed on or after that date.
141.5	Sec. 23. [609.3469] VOLUNTARY INTOXICATION DEFENSE.
141.6	(a) The "knows or has reason to know" mental state requirement for violations of sections
141.7	609.342 to 609.345 involving a complainant who is mentally incapacitated, as defined in
141.8	section 609.341, subdivision 7, clause (2), involves specific intent for purposes of determining
141.9	the applicability of the voluntary intoxication defense described in section 609.075. This
141.10	defense may be raised by a defendant if the defense is otherwise applicable under section
141.11	609.075 and related case law.
141.12	(b) Nothing in paragraph (a) may be interpreted to change the application of the defense
141.13	to other crimes.
141.14	(c) Nothing in paragraph (a) is intended to change the scope or limitations of the defense
141.15	or case law interpreting it beyond clarifying that the defense is available to a defendant
141.16	described in paragraph (a).
141.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. The section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to crimes
141.17 141.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. The section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
141.18	committed on or after that date.
141.18 141.19	committed on or after that date. Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
141.18 141.19 141.20	 <u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit
141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21	 <u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 	 <u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 141.23 	<u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work.
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 141.23 141.24 	<u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 141.23 141.24 141.25 	<u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000,
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 141.23 141.24 141.25 141.26 	<u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 141.23 141.24 141.25 141.26 141.27 	<u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both. (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 141.23 141.24 141.25 141.26 141.27 141.28 	 committed on or after that date. Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both. (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both, if: (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section
 141.18 141.19 141.20 141.21 141.22 141.23 141.24 141.25 141.26 141.27 141.28 141.29 	 <u>committed on or after that date.</u> Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both. (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both, if:

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section
243.166; or

142.3 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 14 years.

142.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 142.5 crimes committed on or after that date.

142.6 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Operation or ownership of business. (a) A person who owns or operates a
business in which a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is disseminated to an
adult or a minor or is reproduced, and who knows the content and character of the
pornographic work disseminated or reproduced, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than
\$20,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000,
or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this sectionor section 617.247;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section243.166; or

142.20 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of $\frac{13}{14}$ years.

142.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 142.22 crimes committed on or after that date.

142.23 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Dissemination.** (a) A person who, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, disseminates for profit to an adult or a minor a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000,
or both, if:

- (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section
 or section 617.247;
- 143.3 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section143.4 243.166; or
- 143.5 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 14 years.

143.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 143.7 crimes committed on or after that date.

143.8 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.247, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Dissemination prohibited.** (a) A person who disseminates pornographic work to an adult or a minor, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000,
or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this sectionor section 617.246;

143.18 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section143.19 243.166; or

143.20 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of $\frac{13}{14}$ years.

143.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 143.22 crimes committed on or after that date.

143.23 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.247, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Possession prohibited.** (a) A person who possesses a pornographic work or a computer disk or computer or other electronic, magnetic, or optical storage system or a storage system of any other type, containing a pornographic work, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000,
or both, if:

- (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section
 or section 617.246;
- 144.3 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section144.4 243.166; or
- 144.5 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 14 years.

144.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 144.7 crimes committed on or after that date.

144.8 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 628.26, is amended to read:

144.9 **628.26 LIMITATIONS.**

(a) Indictments or complaints for any crime resulting in the death of the victim may befound or made at any time after the death of the person killed.

(b) Indictments or complaints for a violation of section 609.25 may be found or madeat any time after the commission of the offense.

(c) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 may be found or made at
any time after the commission of the offense if the victim was under the age of 18 at the
time of the offense.

(d) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 where the victim was 18
years of age or older at the time of the offense, or 609.42, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2),
shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission
of the offense.

(e) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.322 and 609.342 to 609.345,
if the victim was under the age of 18 years at the time the offense was committed, shall may
be found or made and filed in the proper court within the later of nine years after the
commission of the offense or three years after the offense was reported to law enforcement
authorities at any time after the commission of the offense.

(f) Notwithstanding the limitations in paragraph (e), indictments or complaints for
violation of sections 609.322 and 609.342 to 609.344 may be found or made and filed in
the proper court at any time after commission of the offense, if physical evidence is collected
and preserved that is capable of being tested for its DNA characteristics. If this evidence is
not collected and preserved and the victim was 18 years old or older at the time of the
offense, the prosecution must be commenced within nine years after the commission of the

 $\frac{(g)(f)}{(f)}$ Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.466 and 609.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), item (iii), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission of the offense.

(h) (g) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.2335, 609.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), items (i) and (ii), (4), (15), or (16), 609.631, or 609.821, where the value of the property or services stolen is more than \$35,000, or for violation of section 609.527 where the offense involves eight or more direct victims or the total combined loss to the direct and indirect victims is more than \$35,000, shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.

(i) (h) Except for violations relating to false material statements, representations or
 omissions, indictments or complaints for violations of section 609.671 shall be found or
 made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.

 $\begin{array}{ll} \begin{array}{ll} \begin{array}{ll} \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} (i) \\ (i) \end{array} \end{array} \\ \begin{array}{l} \text{Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.561 to 609.563, shall be} \\ \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} 145.13 \\ 145.14 \end{array} \\ \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} \text{found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the} \\ \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} 145.15 \end{array} \\ \begin{array}{l} \end{array} \\ \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} \begin{array}{l} \end{array} \\ \begin{array}{l} \end{array} \\ \end{array} \end{array}$

145.16(k) (j) In all other cases, indictments or complaints shall be found or made and filed in145.17the proper court within three years after the commission of the offense.

145.18(h) (k) The limitations periods contained in this section shall exclude any period of time145.19during which the defendant was not an inhabitant of or usually resident within this state.

 $\frac{(m)(l)}{(m)(l)}$ The limitations periods contained in this section for an offense shall not include any period during which the alleged offender participated under a written agreement in a pretrial diversion program relating to that offense.

 $\frac{(n)(m)}{(m)}$ The limitations periods contained in this section shall not include any period of time during which physical evidence relating to the offense was undergoing DNA analysis, as defined in section 299C.155, unless the defendant demonstrates that the prosecuting or law enforcement agency purposefully delayed the DNA analysis process in order to gain an unfair advantage.

145.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 145.29 violations committed on or after that date.

06/27/21

KLL/BM

146.1 Sec. 30. <u>PREDATORY OFFENDER STATUTORY FRAMEWORK WORKING</u> 146.2 GROUP; REPORT.

146.3 Subdivision 1. Direction. By September 1, 2021, the commissioner of corrections shall convene a working group to comprehensively assess the predatory offender statutory 146.4 146.5 framework. The commissioner shall fully coordinate with the commissioner of public safety 146.6 to invite and convene a working group that includes members that have specific expertise on juvenile justice and representatives from city and county prosecuting agencies, statewide 146.7 crime victim coalitions, the Minnesota judicial branch, the Minnesota Board of Public 146.8 Defense, private criminal defense attorneys, the Department of Public Safety, the Department 146.9 of Human Services, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission, and state and local law 146.10 enforcement agencies. The commissioner may also invite other interested parties to participate 146.11 in the working group. The commissioner shall ensure that the membership of the working 146.12 group is balanced among the various representatives and reflects a broad spectrum of 146.13 146.14 viewpoints, and is inclusive of marginalized communities as well as victim and survivor voices. The commissioners of corrections and public safety shall each designate one 146.15 representative to coordinate and provide technical expertise to the working group. 146.16 Subd. 2. Duties. The working group must examine and assess the predatory offender 146.17 registration (POR) laws, including, but not limited to, the requirements placed on offenders, 146.18 the crimes for which POR is required, the method by which POR requirements are applied 146.19 to offenders, and the effectiveness of the POR system in achieving its stated purpose. 146.20 Governmental agencies that hold POR data shall provide the working group with public 146.21 POR data upon request. The working group is encouraged to request the assistance of the 146.22 state court administrator's office to obtain relevant POR data maintained by the court system. 146.23 Subd. 3. Report to legislature. The commissioner shall file a report detailing the working 146.24 group's findings and recommendations with the chairs and ranking minority members of 146.25 the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions having jurisdiction over 146.26 public safety and judiciary policy and finance by January 15, 2022. 146.27

146.28 Sec. 31. <u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>

(a) In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes, in consultation with the House Research Department and the Office of Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis, shall:

146.31 (1) make necessary cross-reference changes and remove cross-references consistent with

146.32 the changes to Minnesota Statutes, sections 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, and

146.33 <u>609.3451</u>, in sections 16 to 20; and

- 147.1 (2) add cross-reference to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3458, in the following sections:
- 147.2 (i) 13.82, subdivision 17;
- 147.3 (ii) 145.4711, subdivision 5;
- 147.4 (iii) 245C.15, subdivision 1;
- 147.5 (iv) 253B.02, subdivision 4e;
- 147.6 (v) 253D.02, subdivision 8;
- 147.7 (vi) 260C.007, subdivisions 5, 13, 14, and 31;
- 147.8 (vii) 260E.03, subdivisions 20 and 22;
- 147.9 (viii) 299C.67, subdivision 2;
- 147.10 (ix) 504B.206, subdivisions 1 and 6;
- 147.11 (x) 518B.01, subdivision 2;
- 147.12 (xi) 541.073, subdivision 1;
- 147.13 (xii) 609.02, subdivision 16;
- 147.14 (xiii) 609.135, subdivision 5a;
- 147.15 (xiv) 609.3457, subdivision 4;
- 147.16 (xv) 609.347, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6;
- 147.17 <u>(xvi) 609.3471;</u>
- 147.18 <u>(xvii) 609.353;</u>
- 147.19 (xviii) 609.749, subdivision 5;
- 147.20 (xix) 611A.036, subdivision 7;
- 147.21 (xx) 611A.039, subdivision 1;
- 147.22 (xxi) 611A.08, subdivision 6;
- 147.23 (xxii) 611A.19, subdivision 1;
- 147.24 (xxiii) 611A.26, subdivision 6;
- 147.25 <u>(xxiv) 628.26;</u>
- 147.26 (xxv) 629.725;
- 147.27 <u>(xxvi) 629.74;</u>

148.1	<u>(xxvii) 631.045; and</u>
148.2	(xxviii) 631.046, subdivision 2.
148.3	(b) Consistent with paragraph (a), the revisor may make technical and other necessary
148.4	changes to language, grammar, and sentence structure in Minnesota Statutes to preserve
148.5	the meaning of the text.
148.6	ARTICLE 5
148.7	FORFEITURE
148.8	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
148.9	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the
148.10	meanings given them.
148.11	(b) "Appropriate agency" means a law enforcement agency that has the authority to
148.12	make an arrest for a violation of a designated offense or to require a test under section
148.13	169A.51 (chemical tests for intoxication).
148.14	(c) "Asserting person" means a person, other than the driver alleged to have committed
148.15	a designated offense, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or
148.16	restrained under this section.
148.17	$\frac{(c)}{(d)}$ "Claimant" means an owner of a motor vehicle or a person claiming a leasehold
148.18	or security interest in a motor vehicle.
148.19	(d) (e) "Designated license revocation" includes a license revocation under section
148.20	169A.52 (license revocation for test failure or refusal) or 171.177 (revocation; search warrant)
148.21	or a license disqualification under section 171.165 (commercial driver's license
148.22	disqualification) resulting from a violation of section 169A.52 or 171.177; within ten years
148.23	of the first of two or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents.
148.24	(e) (f) "Designated offense" includes:
148.25	(1) a violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under the circumstances
148.26	described in section 169A.24 (first-degree driving while impaired), or 169A.25
148.27	(second-degree driving while impaired); or
148.28	(2) a violation of section 169A.20 or an ordinance in conformity with it: within ten years
148.29	of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents.
148.30	(i) by a person whose driver's license or driving privileges have been canceled as inimical
148.31	to public safety under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), and not reinstated; or

149.1 (ii) by a person who is subject to a restriction on the person's driver's license under

149.2 section 171.09 (commissioner's license restrictions), which provides that the person may

149.3 not use or consume any amount of alcohol or a controlled substance.

149.4 (f) (g) "Family or household member" means:

149.5 (1) a parent, stepparent, or guardian;

(2) any of the following persons related by blood, marriage, or adoption: brother, sister,
stepbrother, stepsister, first cousin, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, grandparent,

149.8 great-grandparent, great-uncle, great-aunt; or

(3) persons residing together or persons who regularly associate and communicate withone another outside of a workplace setting.

(g) (h) "Motor vehicle" and "vehicle" do not include a vehicle which is stolen or taken
 in violation of the law.

 $\frac{(h)(i)}{(i)}$ "Owner" means a person legally entitled to possession, use, and control of a motor vehicle, including a lessee of a motor vehicle if the lease agreement has a term of 180 days or more. There is a rebuttable presumption that a person registered as the owner of a motor vehicle according to the records of the Department of Public Safety is the legal owner. For purposes of this section, if a motor vehicle is owned jointly by two or more people, each owner's interest extends to the whole of the vehicle and is not subject to apportionment.

(i) (j) "Prosecuting authority" means the attorney in the jurisdiction in which the
designated offense occurred who is responsible for prosecuting violations of a designated
offense or a designee. If a state agency initiated the forfeiture, and the attorney responsible
for prosecuting the designated offense declines to pursue forfeiture, the Attorney General's
Office or its designee may initiate forfeiture under this section.

 $\frac{(j)(k)}{(k)}$ "Security interest" means a bona fide security interest perfected according to section 168A.17, subdivision 2, based on a loan or other financing that, if a vehicle is required to be registered under chapter 168, is listed on the vehicle's title.

149.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 149.28 that take place on or after that date.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
Subd. 7. Limitations on vehicle forfeiture. (a) A vehicle is presumed subject to forfeiture
under this section if:

- (1) the driver is convicted of the designated offense upon which the forfeiture is based;
 <u>or</u>
- (2) the driver fails to appear for a scheduled court appearance with respect to the
 designated offense charged and fails to voluntarily surrender within 48 hours after the time
 required for appearance; or

(3)(2) the driver's conduct results in a designated license revocation and the driver fails to seek judicial review of the revocation in a timely manner as required by section 169A.53, subdivision 2, (petition for judicial review), or the license revocation is judicially reviewed and sustained under section 169A.53, subdivision 2.

(b) A vehicle encumbered by a security interest perfected according to section 168A.17, 150.10 subdivision 2, or subject to a lease that has a term of 180 days or more, is subject to the 150.11 interest of the secured party or lessor unless the party or lessor had knowledge of or consented 150.12 to the act upon which the forfeiture is based. However, when the proceeds of the sale of a 150.13 seized vehicle do not equal or exceed the outstanding loan balance, the appropriate agency 150.14 shall remit all proceeds of the sale to the secured party after deducting the agency's costs 150.15 for the seizure, tow, storage, forfeiture, and sale of the vehicle. If the sale of the vehicle is 150.16 conducted in a commercially reasonable manner consistent with the provisions of section 150.17 336.9-610, the agency is not liable to the secured party for any amount owed on the loan in 150.18 excess of the sale proceeds. The validity and amount of a nonperfected security interest 150.19 must be established by its holder by clear and convincing evidence. 150.20

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the secured party's or lessor's interest in a vehicle is
not subject to forfeiture based solely on the secured party's or lessor's knowledge of the act
or omission upon which the forfeiture is based if the secured party or lessor demonstrates
by clear and convincing evidence that the party or lessor took reasonable steps to terminate
use of the vehicle by the offender.

(d) A motor vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section if any of its owners 150.26 who petition the court can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioning 150.27 owner did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or 150.28 operated in any manner contrary to law or that the petitioning owner took reasonable steps 150.29 to prevent use of the vehicle by the offender. If the offender is a family or household member 150.30 of any of the owners who petition the court and has three or more prior impaired driving 150.31 convictions, the petitioning owner is presumed to know of any vehicle use by the offender 150.32 that is contrary to law. "Vehicle use contrary to law" includes, but is not limited to, violations 150.33 of the following statutes: 150.34

- 151.1 (1) section 171.24 (violations; driving without valid license);
- 151.2 (2) section 169.791 (criminal penalty for failure to produce proof of insurance);
- 151.3 (3) section 171.09 (driving restrictions; authority, violations);
- 151.4 (4) section 169A.20 (driving while impaired);
- 151.5 (5) section 169A.33 (underage drinking and driving); and
- 151.6 (6) section 169A.35 (open bottle law).

151.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures

- 151.8 that take place on or after that date.
- 151.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision to151.10 read:
- 151.11 Subd. 7a. Innocent owner. (a) An asserting person may bring an innocent owner claim
- 151.12 by notifying the prosecuting authority in writing and within 60 days of the service of the151.13 notice of seizure.
- (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority may
- 151.15 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with the
- 151.16 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint in the
- 151.17 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle,
- 151.18 specifying that the vehicle was used in the commission of a designated offense or was used
- 151.19 in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation, and specifying the time and place
- 151.20 of the vehicle's unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation
- 151.21 court and the filing fee is waived.
- 151.22 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting person
- 151.23 and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the address
- 151.24 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration records
- 151.25 or by any means permitted by court rules.
- 151.26 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 30 days
- 151.27 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint with a
- 151.28 hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the same
- 151.29 <u>vehicle.</u>
- 151.30 (e) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the prosecuting authority must:

152.1	(1) prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the seizure was incident to a lawful
152.2	arrest or a lawful search; and
152.3	(2) certify that the prosecuting authority has filed, or intends to file, charges against the
152.4	driver for a designated offense or that the driver has a designated license revocation.
152.5	(f) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the asserting person must prove by a
152.6	preponderance of the evidence that the asserting person:
152.7	(1) has an actual ownership interest in the vehicle; and
152.8	(2) did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or
152.9	operated in any manner contrary to law or that the asserting person took reasonable steps
152.10	to prevent use of the vehicle by the alleged offender.
152.11	(g) If the court determines that the state met both burdens under paragraph (e) and the
152.12	asserting person failed to meet any burden under paragraph (f), the court shall order that
152.13	the vehicle remains subject to forfeiture under this section.
152.14	(h) The court shall order that the vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section
152.15	and shall order the vehicle returned to the asserting person if it determines that:
152.16	(1) the state failed to meet any burden under paragraph (e);
152.17	(2) the asserting person proved both elements under paragraph (f); or
152.18	(3) clauses (1) and (2) apply.
152.19	(i) If the court determines that the asserting person is an innocent owner and orders the
152.20	vehicle returned to the innocent owner, an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required
152.21	to release it until the innocent owner pays:
152.22	(1) the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle incurred before
152.23	the innocent owner provided the notice required under paragraph (a); and
152.24	(2) any reasonable costs of storage of the vehicle incurred more than two weeks after
152.25	an order issued under paragraph (h).
152.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
152.27	that take place on or after that date.
152.28	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
152.29	Subd. 8. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) A motor vehicle used to commit a

152.30 designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation is subject

152.31 to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision.

REVISOR

A21-0252

(b) Within 60 days from when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within 153.1 a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of 153.2 the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when 153.3 a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all 153.4 persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must 153.5 be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to 153.6 be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest 153.7 153.8 in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting 153.9 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 153.10 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in 153.11 Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the 153.12 vehicle. For motor vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed 153.13 by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle 153.14 is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest 153.15 in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service 153.16 of a summons in a civil action. 153 17

153.18 (c) The notice must be in writing and contain:

153.19 (1) a description of the vehicle seized;

153.20 (2) the date of seizure; and

(3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for
obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the
appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.

153.24 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:

"WARNING: <u>If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will</u>
automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do
not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your
lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth \$15,000 or less; otherwise, you must
file in district court. You <u>may do</u> not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are
unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is
worth less than \$500.

153.32WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were153.33not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the

above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the

154.2 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days."

(d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b), and no time extension is granted
or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property vehicle
to the person from whom the property was seized, if known owner. An agency's return of
property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence
a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband
or other property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.

(e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this 154.9 154.10 subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court 154.11 administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of 154 12 a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture, 154.13 including the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right to sue 154.14 in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint by certified 154.15 mail or any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is \$15,000 154.16 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle. 154.17 A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim must be served personally or by mail 154.18 on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture, as well as on the 154.19 appropriate agency that initiated the forfeiture, within 60 days following service of the 154.20 notice of seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. If the value of the seized property is 154.21 less than \$500, The claimant does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee. 154.22

154.23 No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may 154.24 be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The prosecuting authority 154.25 may appear for the appropriate agency. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are 154.26 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.

(f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the seized vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.

(g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this
subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided under subdivision
9.

155.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
155.5 that take place on or after that date.

155.6 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Judicial forfeiture procedure. (a) This subdivision governs judicial
determinations of the forfeiture of a motor vehicle used to commit a designated offense or
used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation. An action for forfeiture is a
civil in rem action and is independent of any criminal prosecution. All proceedings are
governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.

(b) If no demand for judicial determination of the forfeiture is pending, the prosecuting authority may, in the name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture, file a separate complaint against the vehicle, describing it, specifying that it was used in the commission of a designated offense or was used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation, and specifying the time and place of its unlawful use.

(c) The prosecuting authority may file an answer to a properly served demand for judicial
determination, including an affirmative counterclaim for forfeiture. The prosecuting authority
is not required to file an answer.

(d) A judicial determination under this subdivision must be held at the earliest practicable date, and in any event no later than 180 days following the filing of the demand by the claimant. If a related criminal proceeding is pending, the hearing shall not be held until the conclusion of the criminal proceedings. The district court administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon as practicable after the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The district court administrator shall establish procedures to ensure efficient compliance with this subdivision. The hearing is to the court without a jury.

(e) There is a presumption that a vehicle seized under this section is subject to forfeiture
if the prosecuting authority establishes that the vehicle was used in the commission of a
designated offense or designated license revocation. A claimant bears the burden of proving
any affirmative defense raised.

(f) If the forfeiture is based on the commission of a designated offense and the person charged with the designated offense appears in court as required and is not convicted of the offense, the court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon that person's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42. If the forfeiture is based on a designated license revocation, and the license revocation is rescinded under section 169A.53, subdivision 3 (judicial review hearing, issues, order, appeal), the court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon that person's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42.

(g) If the lawful ownership of the vehicle used in the commission of a designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation can be determined and the owner makes the demonstration required under subdivision 7, paragraph (d) 7a, the vehicle must be returned immediately upon the owner's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42.

(h) If the court orders the return of a seized vehicle under this subdivision it must order
that filing fees be reimbursed to the person who filed the demand for judicial determination.
In addition, the court may order sanctions under section 549.211 (sanctions in civil actions).
Any reimbursement fees or sanctions must be paid from other forfeiture proceeds of the
law enforcement agency and prosecuting authority involved and in the same proportion as
distributed under subdivision 10, paragraph (b).

156.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 156.18 that take place on or after that date.

156.19 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. **Disposition of forfeited vehicle.** (a) If the vehicle is administratively forfeited under subdivision 8, or if the court finds under subdivision 9 that the vehicle is subject to forfeiture under subdivisions 6 and 7, the appropriate agency shall:

156.23 (1) sell the vehicle and distribute the proceeds under paragraph (b); or

(2) keep the vehicle for official use. If the agency keeps a forfeited motor vehicle for
official use, it shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that the motor vehicle is available for
use by the agency's officers who participate in the drug abuse resistance education program.

(b) The proceeds from the sale of forfeited vehicles, after payment of seizure, towing,
storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction of valid liens against the property,
must be distributed as follows:

(1) 70 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for deposit
as a supplement to the state or local agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in
DWI-related enforcement, training, and education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital
expenses; and

(2) 30 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority
that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund
for prosecutorial purposes, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital
expenses. For purposes of this subdivision, the prosecuting authority shall not include
privately contracted prosecutors of a local political subdivision and, in those events, the
forfeiture proceeds shall be forwarded to the political subdivision where the forfeiture was
handled for the purposes identified in clause (1).

(c) If a vehicle is sold under paragraph (a), the appropriate agency shall not sell the
vehicle to: (1) an officer or employee of the agency that seized the property or to a person
related to the officer or employee by blood or marriage; or (2) the prosecuting authority or
any individual working in the same office or a person related to the authority or individual
by blood or marriage.

(d) Sales of forfeited vehicles under this section must be conducted in a commerciallyreasonable manner.

157.15 (e) If a vehicle is forfeited administratively under this section and no demand for judicial determination is made, the appropriate agency shall provide the prosecuting authority with 157.16 a copy of the forfeiture or evidence receipt, the notice of seizure and intent to forfeit, a 157.17 statement of probable cause for forfeiture of the property, and a description of the property 157.18 and its estimated value. Upon review and certification by the prosecuting authority that (1) 157.19 the appropriate agency provided a receipt in accordance with subdivision 2, paragraph (c), 157.20 (2) the appropriate agency served notice in accordance with subdivision 8, and (3) probable 157.21 cause for forfeiture exists based on the officer's statement, the appropriate agency may 157.22 dispose of the property in any of the ways listed in this subdivision. 157.23

157.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
 157.25 that take place on or after that date.

157.26 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Exception. (a) <u>A forfeiture proceeding is stayed and the vehicle must be</u>
<u>returned if the driver who committed a designated offense or whose conduct resulted in a</u>
designated license revocation becomes a program participant in the ignition interlock program
under section 171.306 at any time before the motor vehicle is forfeited, the forfeiture
proceeding is stayed and the vehicle must be returned and any of the following apply:
(1) the driver committed a designated offense other than a violation of section 169A.20
under the circumstances described in section 169A.24; or

06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 (2) the driver is accepted into a treatment court dedicated to changing the behavior of 158.1 alcohol- and other drug-dependent offenders arrested for driving while impaired. 158.2 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the vehicle whose forfeiture was stayed in paragraph 158.3 (a) may be seized and the forfeiture action may proceed under this section if the program 158.4 158.5 participant described in paragraph (a): (1) subsequently operates a motor vehicle: 158.6 158.7 (i) to commit a violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired); (ii) in a manner that results in a license revocation under section 169A.52 (license 158.8 revocation for test failure or refusal) or 171.177 (revocation; search warrant) or a license 158.9 disqualification under section 171.165 (commercial driver's license disqualification) resulting 158.10 from a violation of section 169A.52 or 171.177; 158.11 (iii) after tampering with, circumventing, or bypassing an ignition interlock device; or 158.12 (iv) without an ignition interlock device at any time when the driver's license requires 158.13 such device; or 158.14 (2) either voluntarily or involuntarily ceases to participate in the program for more than 158.15 30 days, or fails to successfully complete it as required by the Department of Public Safety 158.16 due to: 158.17 (i) two or more occasions of the participant's driving privileges being withdrawn for 158.18 violating the terms of the program, unless the withdrawal is determined to be caused by an 158.19 error of the department or the interlock provider; or 158.20 (ii) violating the terms of the contract with the provider as determined by the provider-; 158.21 158.22 or 158.23 (3) if forfeiture was stayed after the driver entered a treatment court, the driver ceases 158.24 to be a participant in the treatment court for any reason. (c) Paragraph (b) applies only if the described conduct occurs before the participant has 158.25 been restored to full driving privileges or within three years of the original designated offense 158.26 or designated license revocation, whichever occurs latest. 158.27 (d) The requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), that device manufacturers provide 158.28 a discounted rate to indigent program participants applies also to device installation under 158.29 this subdivision. 158.30

A21-0252

(e) An impound or law enforcement storage lot operator must allow an ignition interlock
manufacturer sufficient access to the lot to install an ignition interlock device under this
subdivision.

(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required to release it until the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle have been paid by the vehicle owner.

(g) At any time prior to the vehicle being forfeited, the appropriate agency may require
that the owner or driver of the vehicle give security or post bond payable to the appropriate
agency in an amount equal to the retail value surrender the title of the seized vehicle. If this
occurs, any future forfeiture action against the vehicle must instead proceed against the

159.11 security as if it were the vehicle.

(h) The appropriate agency may require an owner or driver to give security or post bond
payable to the agency in an amount equal to the retail value of the vehicle, prior to releasing
the vehicle from the impound lot to install an ignition interlock device.

(i) (h) If an event described in paragraph (b) occurs in a jurisdiction other than the one
in which the original forfeitable event occurred, and the vehicle is subsequently forfeited,
the proceeds shall be divided equally, after payment of seizure, towing, storage, forfeiture,
and sale expenses and satisfaction of valid liens against the vehicle, among the appropriate
agencies and prosecuting authorities in each jurisdiction.

(j) (i) Upon successful completion of the program, the stayed forfeiture proceeding is
 terminated or dismissed and any vehicle, security, or bond held by an agency must be
 returned to the owner of the vehicle.

 $\frac{(k)(j)}{(j)}$ A claimant of a vehicle for which a forfeiture action was stayed under paragraph (a) but which later proceeds under paragraph (b), may file a demand for judicial forfeiture as provided in subdivision 8, in which case the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided in subdivision 9.

159.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 159.28 that take place on or after that date.

159.29 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision to159.30 read:

159.31Subd. 14. Subsequent unlawful use of seized vehicle; immunity. An appropriate159.32agency or prosecuting authority, including but not limited to any peace officer as defined

159.33 in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); prosecutor; or employee of an appropriate

agency or prosecuting authority who, in good faith and within the course and scope of the

160.2 official duties of the person or entity, returns a vehicle seized under this chapter to the owner

160.3 pursuant to this section shall be immune from criminal or civil liability regarding any event

arising out of the subsequent unlawful or unauthorized use of the motor vehicle.

160.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2022.

160.6 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.531, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purpose of sections 609.531 to 609.5318, thefollowing terms have the meanings given them.

(a) "Conveyance device" means a device used for transportation and includes, but is not
limited to, a motor vehicle, trailer, snowmobile, airplane, and vessel and any equipment
attached to it. The term "conveyance device" does not include property which is, in fact,
itself stolen or taken in violation of the law.

(b) "Weapon used" means a dangerous weapon as defined under section 609.02,subdivision 6, that the actor used or had in possession in furtherance of a crime.

160.15 (c) "Property" means property as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause (1).

160.16 (d) "Contraband" means property which is illegal to possess under Minnesota law.

(e) "Appropriate agency" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, the Department
of Commerce Fraud Bureau, the Minnesota Division of Driver and Vehicle Services, the
Minnesota State Patrol, a county sheriff's department, the Three Rivers Park District park
rangers Department of Public Safety, the Department of Natural Resources Division of
Enforcement, the University of Minnesota Police Department, the Department of Corrections
Fugitive Apprehension Unit, a city, metropolitan transit, or airport police department; or a
multijurisdictional entity established under section 299A.642 or 299A.681.

160.24 (f) "Designated offense" includes:

160.25 (1) for weapons used: any violation of this chapter, chapter 152 or 624;

(2) for driver's license or identification card transactions: any violation of section 171.22;and

(3) for all other purposes: a felony violation of, or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy
to violate, section 325E.17; 325E.18; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.2112; 609.2113;

160.30 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.2335; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25;

160.31 609.255; 609.282; 609.283; 609.322; 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.343,

160.32 subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (j);

609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (j); 609.352; 609.42; 609.425; 609.466; 161.1 609.485; 609.487; 609.52; 609.525; 609.527; 609.528; 609.53; 609.54; 609.551; 609.561; 161.2 609.562; 609.563; 609.582; 609.59; 609.595; 609.611; 609.631; 609.66, subdivision 1e; 161.3 609.671, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 8, and 12; 609.687; 609.821; 609.825; 609.86; 609.88; 609.89; 161.4 609.893; 609.895; 617.246; 617.247; or a gross misdemeanor or felony violation of section 161.5 609.891 or 624.7181; or any violation of section 609.324; or a felony violation of, or a 161.6 felony-level attempt or conspiracy to violate, Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21. 161.7 161.8 (g) "Controlled substance" has the meaning given in section 152.01, subdivision 4. (h) "Prosecuting authority" means the attorney who is responsible for prosecuting an 161.9 offense that is the basis for a forfeiture under sections 609.531 to 609.5318. 161.10

161.11 (i) "Asserting person" means a person, other than the driver alleged to have used a vehicle

in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale,
claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or restrained under this

161.14 section.

161.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2022.

161.16 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.531, is amended by adding a subdivision161.17 to read:

161.18 Subd. 9. Transfer of forfeitable property to federal government. The appropriate

agency shall not directly or indirectly transfer property subject to forfeiture under sections

161.20 <u>609.531 to 609.5318 to a federal agency for adoption if the forfeiture would be prohibited</u>

161.21 under state law.

161.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 161.23 that take place on or after that date.

161.24 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

161.25 Subd. 2. Associated property. (a) All personal property, and real and personal property,

161.26 other than homestead property exempt from seizure under section 510.01, that has been

- 161.27 used, or is intended for use, or has in any way facilitated, in whole or in part, the
- 161.28 manufacturing, compounding, processing, delivering, importing, cultivating, exporting,

161.29 transporting, or exchanging of contraband or a controlled substance that has not been lawfully

161.30 manufactured, distributed, dispensed, and acquired is an instrument or represents the proceeds

- 161.31 of a controlled substance offense is subject to forfeiture under this section, except as provided
- 161.32 in subdivision 3.

- (b) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize real 162.1 property for the purposes of forfeiture under paragraph (a). 162.2 162.3 (c) Money is the property of an appropriate agency and may be seized and recovered by the appropriate agency if: 162.4 162.5 (1) the money is used by an appropriate agency, or furnished to a person operating on behalf of an appropriate agency, to purchase or attempt to purchase a controlled substance; 162.6 162.7 and (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the money for 162.8 identification. 162.9 As used in this paragraph, "money" means United States currency and coin; the currency 162.10 and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a prepaid 162.11 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. 162.12
- 162.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
 162.14 that take place on or after that date.
- 162.15 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 162.16Subd. 3. Limitations on forfeiture of certain property associated with controlled162.17substances. (a) A conveyance device is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the162.18retail value of the controlled substance is \$75 \$100 or more and the conveyance device is162.19associated with a felony-level controlled substance crime was used in the transportation or162.20exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale.
- (b) Real property is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the retail value of thecontrolled substance or contraband is \$2,000 or more.
- (c) Property used by any person as a common carrier in the transaction of business as a
 common carrier is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the owner of the property
 is a consenting party to, or is privy to, the use or intended use of the property as described
 in subdivision 2.
- (d) Property is subject to forfeiture under this section only if its owner was privy to the
 use or intended use described in subdivision 2, or the unlawful use or intended use of the
 property otherwise occurred with the owner's knowledge or consent.
- (e) Forfeiture under this section of a conveyance device or real property encumbered by
 a bona fide security interest is subject to the interest of the secured party unless the secured
 party had knowledge of or consented to the act or omission upon which the forfeiture is

based. A person claiming a security interest bears the burden of establishing that interestby clear and convincing evidence.

(f) Forfeiture under this section of real property is subject to the interests of a good faith
purchaser for value unless the purchaser had knowledge of or consented to the act or omission
upon which the forfeiture is based.

(g) Notwithstanding paragraphs (d), (e), and (f), property is not subject to forfeiture based solely on the owner's or secured party's knowledge of the unlawful use or intended use of the property if: (1) the owner or secured party took reasonable steps to terminate use of the property by the offender; or (2) the property is real property owned by the parent of the offender, unless the parent actively participated in, or knowingly acquiesced to, a violation of chapter 152, or the real property constitutes proceeds derived from or traceable to a use described in subdivision 2.

163.13 (h) Money is subject to forfeiture under this section only if it has a total value of \$1,500

163.14 or more or there is probable cause to believe that the money was exchanged for the purchase

163.15 of a controlled substance. As used in this paragraph, "money" means United States currency

163.16 and coin; the currency and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or

163.17 traveler's check; a prepaid credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order.

 $\begin{array}{ll} & (h) (i) \\ \hline (h) (i)$

(j) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits the seizure, with or without warrant, of any
property or thing for the purpose of being produced as evidence on any trial or for any other
lawful purpose.

163.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
 163.25 that take place on or after that date.

163.26 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Records; proceeds. (a) All books, records, and research products and materials,
including formulas, microfilm, tapes, and data that are used, or intended for use in the
manner described in subdivision 2 are subject to forfeiture.

(b) All property, real and personal, that represents proceeds derived from or traceable
 to a use described in subdivision 2 is subject to forfeiture.

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
164.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section i	s effective Janua	ry 1, 2022, and applies	s to seizures
164.2	that take place on or after that date.			
164.3	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, sect	tion 609.5314, su	bdivision 1, is amend	ed to read:
164.4	Subdivision 1. Property subject to administrative forfeiture; presumption. (a) The			on. (a) The
164.5	following are presumed to be subject to administrative forfeiture under this section:			
164.6	(1) all money totaling \$1,500 or more, precious metals, and precious stones found in			
164.7	proximity to: that there is probable caus	e to believe repro	esent the proceeds of a	a controlled
164.8	substance offense;			
164.9	(i) controlled substances;			
164.10	(ii) forfeitable drug manufacturing o	r distributing equ	ipment or devices; or	
164.11	(iii) forfeitable records of manufactu	re or distributior	of controlled substan	ices;
164.12	(2) all money found in proximity to o	controlled substa	nces when there is pro	bable cause
164.13	to believe that the money was exchange	d for the purchas	e of a controlled subs	tance;
164.14	(2) (3) all conveyance devices contained	ining controlled	substances with a retain	il value of
164.15	\$100 or more if possession or sale of the controlled substance would be a felony under			
164.16	chapter 152 there is probable cause to believe that the conveyance device was used in the			
164.17	transportation or exchange of a controlle	ed substance inte	nded for distribution of	or sale; and
164.18	(3) (4) all firearms, ammunition, and	l firearm accesso	ries found:	
164.19	(i) in a conveyance device used or inte	ended for use to c	ommit or facilitate the	commission
164.20	of a felony offense involving a controlle	ed substance;		
164.21	(ii) on or in proximity to a person fro	om whom a felor	y amount of controlle	d substance
164.22	is seized; or			
164.23	(iii) on the premises where a control	led substance is s	seized and in proximit	y to the
164.24	controlled substance, if possession or sa	le of the controll	ed substance would be	e a felony
164.25	under chapter 152.			
164.26	(b) The Department of Corrections F	Fugitive Apprehe	nsion Unit shall not se	eize items
164.27	listed in paragraph (a), clauses (2) (3) and	(3)(4), for the	purposes of forfeiture	ð.
164.28	(c) A claimant of the property bears	the burden to reb	ut this presumption. <u>N</u>	Ioney is the
164.29	property of an appropriate agency and n	nay be seized and	l recovered by the app	propriate
164.30	agency if:			

and (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the model. (65.3 identification. (65.6 (d) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the c and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a r and coin of a foreign country; or a money order. EFFECTIVE DATE, This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to s that take place on or after that date. Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subc that take place on or after that date. Subd. 1a. Innocent owner, (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alls have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority n release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds wit forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicle greeifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlli <td< th=""><th>165.1</th><th>(1) the money is used by an appropriate agency, or furnished to a person operating on</th></td<>	165.1	(1) the money is used by an appropriate agency, or furnished to a person operating on
 (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the metion (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the metion (3) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the candidation (4) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the candidate coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a period candidate coin (4) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the candidate coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a period candidate coin (4) As used in this section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to set that take place on or after that date. 165.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subolation to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner; (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alle have used a vchicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance internation or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized istribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized istribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized is restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority is release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the seperitying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controll substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vulnawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the face is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other re	165.2	behalf of an appropriate agency, to purchase or attempt to purchase a controlled substance;
165.5 identification. 165.6 (d) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the e 165.7 and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a r 165.8 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. 165.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to s 165.10 that take place on or after that date. 165.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subc 165.12 to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner, (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alle 165.14 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter 165.15 distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized 165.16 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority n 165.17 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority n 165.20 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint 165.21 and of distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v 165.22 unlawful use	165.3	and
 (d) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the c and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a p credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. EFFECTIVE DATE, This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to s that take place on or after that date. Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subc to read: Subd. 1a, Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, allo have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seizer restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting auth writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority proceeds wi forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint unawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the fee is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within in of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the se 	165.4	(2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the money for
165.7 and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a j 165.8 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. 165.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to s 165.10 that take place on or after that date. 165.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subc 165.12 to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alle 165.14 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter 165.15 distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized 165.16 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority in 165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority in 165.19 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds wi 165.20 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint 165.21 substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicle. 165.22 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled at a substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the	165.5	identification.
165.8 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. 165.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to s 165.10 that take place on or after that date. 165.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subc 165.12 to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, allo 165.14 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter 165.15 distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized 165.16 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting auth 165.17 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority proceeds wi 165.20 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint 165.21 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled 165.22 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controll 165.23 unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the 165.24 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be	165.6	(d) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the currency
165.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to section that take place on or after that date. 165.10 that take place on or after that date. 165.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subore to read: 165.12 to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alled have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance interrest distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.14 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority proceeds with forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle. 165.22 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controll substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicle. 165.24 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. 165.30 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within for the filing of the petition. The court	165.7	and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a prepaid
165.10 that take place on or after that date. 165.11 See. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subtered to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, allow have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intered distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority in writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority in release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vulation of the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vulation of an on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. 165.30 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within to of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the set of the set of an ownership interest in the set of	165.8	credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order.
165.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subolation to read: 165.12 Subd. 1a, Innocent owner, (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, allow have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority in writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.13 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority in release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds without forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vulnes. 165.22 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the asserting or by any means permitted by court rules. 165.23 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 165.33 165.34 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 165.33 165.35 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 165.33 165.34 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to of an ownership interest in the set i	165.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
165.12 to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alled 165.14 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter 165.15 distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized 165.16 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting auth 165.17 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority proceeds wi 165.19 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds wi 165.20 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint 165.21 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the v 165.22 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle 165.23 substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v 165.24 unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the 165.25 fc is waived. 165.26 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting 165.27 and on any other register	165.10	that take place on or after that date.
165.12 to read: 165.13 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alled 165.14 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter 165.15 distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized 165.16 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting auth 165.17 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority proceeds wi 165.19 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds wi 165.20 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint 165.21 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the v 165.22 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle 165.23 substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v 165.24 unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the 165.25 fc is waived. 165.26 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting 165.27 and on any other register		
165.13Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, all have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance inter distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting auth writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure.165.17(b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority in release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint 		
 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance internet distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authom writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority in release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle aspecifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicles. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within in the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain involving a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is computering of an ownership interest in the safety is complained for a ownership interest in the safety is complaint of an ownership interest in the safety is complaint of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a specified and any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is complaint of a control in the safety is complaint of a control in the safety is complaint of an ownership interest in the safety is complaint of an ownership interest in the safety is complaint of an ownership interest in the safety is complaint of an ownership interes	165.12	to read:
distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting auth writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority proceeds wi release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds wi forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the v specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controll substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the fee is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 10 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the set <th>165.13</th> <th>Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alleged to</th>	165.13	Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alleged to
165.16 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting auth 165.17 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with 165.19 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with 165.20 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint 165.21 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle 165.22 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle 165.23 substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v 165.24 unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the 165.25 fce is waived. 165.26 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting 165.27 and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a 165.28 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration 165.29 or by any means permitted by court rules. 165.30	165.14	have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for
 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicles as specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicles. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 165.31 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is cownership interest in the safet	165.15	distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or
 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds wi forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle. specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicle. unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the fee is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 165.31 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the satisfies and specifies and on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the satisfies and on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the satisfies and on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the satisfies and on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the satisfies and on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the satisfies and specifies and on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the satisfies and specifies and	165.16	restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority in
 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds wi forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the v specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controll substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and th fee is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 1 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa 	165.17	writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure.
165.20forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint165.21name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle.165.22specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle165.23substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v165.24unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and th165.25fee is waived.165.26(c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting165.27and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a165.28listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration165.29or by any means permitted by court rules.165.30(d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within it165.31of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint165.32hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.18	(b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority may
 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle. specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlle substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the fee is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within a of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the set 	165.19	release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with the
 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlla substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and th fee is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within a of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the safety is provided. 	165.20	forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint in the
 substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the v unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and th fee is waived. (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within a of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa 	165.21	name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle,
165.24unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and th165.25fee is waived.165.26(c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting165.27and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a165.28listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration165.29or by any means permitted by court rules.165.30(d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within a165.31of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint165.32hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.22	specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled
165.25fee is waived.165.26(c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting165.27and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a165.28listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration165.29or by any means permitted by court rules.165.30(d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 1165.31of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain165.32hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.23	substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicle's
165.26(c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting165.27and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a165.28listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration165.29or by any means permitted by court rules.165.30(d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 1165.31of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain165.32hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.24	unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the filing
165.27 and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the a 165.28 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration 165.29 or by any means permitted by court rules. 165.30 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 1 165.31 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain 165.32 hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.25	fee is waived.
 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration or by any means permitted by court rules. (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within a of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa 	165.26	(c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting person
165.29or by any means permitted by court rules.165.30(d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 1165.31of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain165.32hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.27	and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the address
(d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within a of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.28	listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration records
165.31of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complain165.32hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.29	or by any means permitted by court rules.
165.32 hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the sa	165.30	(d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 30 days
	165.31	of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint with a
165.33 <u>vehicle.</u>	165.32	hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the same
	165.33	vehicle.

REVISOR

KLL/BM

166.1	(e) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the state must prove by a preponderance
166.2	of the evidence that:
166.3	(1) the seizure was incident to a lawful arrest or a lawful search; and
166.4	(2) the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance
166.5	intended for distribution or sale.
166.6	(f) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the asserting person must prove by a
166.7	preponderance of the evidence that the asserting person:
166.8	(1) has an actual ownership interest in the vehicle; and
166.9	(2) did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or
166.10	operated in any manner contrary to law or that the asserting person took reasonable steps
166.11	to prevent use of the vehicle by the alleged offender.
166.12	(g) If the court determines that the state met both burdens under paragraph (e) and the
166.13	asserting person failed to meet any burden under paragraph (f), the court shall order that
166.14	the vehicle remains subject to forfeiture under this section.
166.15	(h) The court shall order that the vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section
166.16	and shall order the vehicle returned to the asserting person if it determines that:
166.17	(1) the state failed to meet any burden under paragraph (e);
166.18	(2) the asserting person proved both elements under paragraph (f); or
166.19	(3) clauses (1) and (2) apply.
166.20	(i) If the court determines that the asserting person is an innocent owner and orders the
166.21	vehicle returned to the innocent owner, an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required
166.22	to release the vehicle until the innocent owner pays:
166.23	(1) the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle incurred before
166.24	the innocent owner provided the notice required under paragraph (a); and
166.25	(2) any reasonable costs of storage of the vehicle incurred more than two weeks after
166.26	an order issued under paragraph (h).
166.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures

166.28 that take place on or after that date.

167.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) Forfeiture of property described in 167.2 subdivision 1 that does not exceed \$50,000 in value is governed by this subdivision. Within 167.3 60 days from when seizure occurs, all persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or 167.4 security interest in seized property must be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit 167.5 the property. In the case of a motor vehicle required to be registered under chapter 168, 167.6 notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in Department of Public Safety records 167.7 167.8 is deemed sufficient notice to the registered owner. The notification to a person known to have a security interest in seized property required under this paragraph applies only to 167.9 motor vehicles required to be registered under chapter 168 and only if the security interest 167.10 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or the prosecuting 167.11 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 167.12 167.13 90 days for good cause shown.

(b) Notice may otherwise be given in the manner provided by law for service of asummons in a civil action. The notice must be in writing and contain:

167.16 (1) a description of the property seized;

167.17 (2) the date of seizure; and

(3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for
obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the
appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.

167.21 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:

"WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will
automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do
not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your
lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth \$15,000 or less; otherwise, you must
file in district court. You may do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are
unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is
worth less than \$500.

```
167.29 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were
```

167.30 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the

167.31 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the

167.32 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days."

(c) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (a), and no time extension is granted or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property to the person from whom the property was seized, if known. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband or other property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.

168.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
 168.8 that take place on or after that date.

168.9 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Judicial determination. (a) Within 60 days following service of a notice of 168.10 seizure and forfeiture under this section, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial 168.11 determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and 168.12 must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, 168.13 together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority for 168.14 that county, and the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right 168.15 to sue in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint on 168.16 the prosecuting authority by any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized 168.17 property is \$15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery 168.18 of the seized property. If the value of the seized property is less than \$500, The claimant 168.19 does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of 168.20 the prosecuting authority and no court fees may be charged for the prosecuting authority's 168.21 appearance in the matter. The district court administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon 168.22 as practicable after, and in any event no later than 90 days following, the conclusion of the 168.23 criminal prosecution. The proceedings are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure. 168.24

(b) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the seized property as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant alleges the property was improperly seized and the plaintiff's interest in the property seized. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of property seized under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.

(c) If the claimant makes a timely demand for judicial determination under this
subdivision, the appropriate agency must conduct the forfeiture under section 609.531,
subdivision 6a. The limitations and defenses set forth in section 609.5311, subdivision 3,
apply to the judicial determination.

(d) If a demand for judicial determination of an administrative forfeiture is filed under this subdivision and the court orders the return of the seized property, the court shall order that filing fees be reimbursed to the person who filed the demand. In addition, the court may order sanctions under section 549.211. If the court orders payment of these costs, they must be paid from forfeited money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property from the appropriate law enforcement and prosecuting agencies in the same proportion as they would be distributed under section 609.5315, subdivision 5.

169.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 169.9 that take place on or after that date.

169.10 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

169.11 Subd. 5. **Distribution of money.** The money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited 169.12 property, after payment of seizure, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction 169.13 of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows:

(1) 70 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency
for deposit as a supplement to the agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in law
enforcement, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital expenses;

(2) 20 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority
that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund
for prosecutorial purposes, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital
<u>expenses</u>; and

(3) the remaining ten percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded within 60
days after resolution of the forfeiture to the state treasury and credited to the general fund.
Any local police relief association organized under chapter 423 which received or was
entitled to receive the proceeds of any sale made under this section before the effective date
of Laws 1988, chapter 665, sections 1 to 17, shall continue to receive and retain the proceeds
of these sales.

169.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 169.28 that take place on or after that date.

169.29 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 5b, is amended to read:

169.30 Subd. 5b. Disposition of certain forfeited proceeds; trafficking of persons; report

169.31 **required.** (a) Except as provided in subdivision 5c, for forfeitures resulting from violations

169.32 of section 609.282, 609.283, or 609.322, the money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited

property, after payment of seizure, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction
of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows:

(1) 40 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for depositas a supplement to the agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in law enforcement;

(2) 20 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority that handled
the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund for

170.7 prosecutorial purposes; and

(3) the remaining 40 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the commissioner of
health and are appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services
organizations that provide services to victims of trafficking offenses.

(b) By February 15 of each year, the commissioner of public safety shall report to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees
or divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice funding on the money collected under
paragraph (a), clause (3). The report must indicate the following relating to the preceding
calendar year:

170.16 (1) the amount of money appropriated to the commissioner;

170.17 (2) how the money was distributed by the commissioner; and

170.18 (3) what the organizations that received the money did with it.

170.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures
170.20 that take place on or after that date.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Reporting requirement.** (a) For each forfeiture occurring in the state regardless of the authority for it and including forfeitures pursued under federal law, the appropriate agency and the prosecuting authority shall provide a written record of the forfeiture incident to the state auditor. The record shall include:

170.26 (1) the amount forfeited;

- 170.27 (2) the statutory authority for the forfeiture, its;
- 170.28 (3) the date; of the forfeiture;
- 170.29 (4) a brief description of the circumstances involved, and;
- 170.30 (5) whether the forfeiture was contested.;

171.1	(6) whether the defendant was convicted pursuant to a plea agreement or a trial;
171.2	(7) whether there was a forfeiture settlement agreement;
171.3	(8) whether the property was sold, destroyed, or retained by an appropriate agency;
171.4	(9) the gross revenue from the disposition of the forfeited property;
171.5	(10) an estimate of the total costs to the agency to store the property in an impound lot,
171.6	evidence room, or other location; pay for the time and expenses of an appropriate agency
171.7	and prosecuting authority to litigate forfeiture cases; and sell or dispose of the forfeited
171.8	property;
171.9	(11) the net revenue, determined by subtracting the costs identified under clause (10)
171.10	from the gross revenue identified in clause (9), the appropriate agency received from the
171.11	disposition of forfeited property;
171.12	(12) if any property was retained by an appropriate agency, the purpose for which it is
171.13	used;
171.14	(13) for controlled substance and driving while impaired forfeitures, the record shall
171.15	indicate whether the forfeiture was initiated as an administrative or a judicial forfeiture.
171.16	The record shall also list;
171.17	(14) the number of firearms forfeited and the make, model, and serial number of each
171.18	firearm forfeited. The record shall indicate; and
171.19	(15) how the property was or is to be disposed of.
171.20	(b) An appropriate agency or the prosecuting authority shall report to the state auditor
171.21	all instances in which property seized for forfeiture is returned to its owner either because
171.22	forfeiture is not pursued or for any other reason.
171.23	(c) Each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall provide a written record
171.24	regarding the proceeds of forfeited property, including proceeds received through forfeiture
171.25	under state and federal law. The record shall include:
171.26	(1) the total amount of money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property obtained
171.27	or received by an appropriate agency or prosecuting authority in the previous reporting
171.28	period;
171.29	(2) the manner in which each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority expended
171.30	money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property in the previous reporting period,
171.31	including the total amount expended in the following categories:

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
172.1	(i) drug abuse, crime, and gang prev	vention program	<u>s;</u>	
172.2	(ii) victim reparations;			
172.3	(iii) gifts or grants to crime victim se	rvice organizatio	ons that provide servic	es to sexually
172.4	exploited youth;			
172.5	(iv) gifts or grants to crime victim se	ervice organizati	ons that provide servi	ces to victims
172.6	of trafficking offenses;			
172.7	(v) investigation costs, including bu	t not limited to	witness protection, inf	formant fees,
172.8	and controlled buys;			
172.9	(vi) court costs and attorney fees;			
172.10	(vii) salaries, overtime, and benefits	, as permitted by	y law;	
172.11	(viii) professional outside services, in	ncluding but not	limited to auditing, co	ourt reporting,
172.12	expert witness fees, outside attorney fee	es, and members	ship fees paid to trade	associations;
172.13	(ix) travel, meals, and conferences;			
172.14	(x) training and continuing educatio	<u>n;</u>		
172.15	(xi) other operating expenses, include	ling but not limi	ted to office supplies,	postage, and
172.16	printing;			
172.17	(xii) capital expenditures, including	but not limited	to vehicles, firearms,	equipment,
172.18	computers, and furniture;			
172.19	(xiii) gifts or grants to nonprofit or o	other programs,	indicating the recipier	nt of the gift
172.20	or grant; and			
172.21	(xiv) any other expenditure, indicati	ng the type of e	xpenditure and, if app	licable, the
172.22	recipient of any gift or grant;			
172.23	(3) the total value of seized and forf	eited property h	eld by an appropriate	agency and
172.24	not sold or otherwise disposed of; and			
172.25	(4) a statement from the end of each y	vear showing the	balance of any designa	ated forfeiture
172.26	accounts maintained by an appropriate	agency or prose	cuting authority.	
172.27	(e) (d) Reports under paragraphs (a)	and (b) shall be	made on a monthly <u>q</u>	uarterly basis
172.28	in a manner prescribed by the state aud	itor and reports	under paragraph (c) sl	nall be made
172.29	on an annual basis in a manner prescribe	ed by the state at	<u>iditor</u> . The state audito	or shall report
172.30	annually to the legislature on the nature	and extent of for	feitures., including the	e information
172.31	provided by each appropriate agency or	prosecuting au	thority under paragrap	ohs (a) to (c).

173.1 Summary data on seizures, forfeitures, and expenditures of forfeiture proceeds shall be

173.2 disaggregated by each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority. The report shall be

173.3 <u>made public on the state auditor's website.</u>

173.4 (d) (e) For forfeitures resulting from the activities of multijurisdictional law enforcement 173.5 entities, the entity on its own behalf shall report the information required in this subdivision.

173.6 (e) (f) The prosecuting authority is not required to report information required by this

subdivision paragraph (a) or (b) unless the prosecuting authority has been notified by the
state auditor that the appropriate agency has not reported it.

173.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 173.10 that take place on or after that date.

173.11 Sec. 21. <u>RECIDIVISM STUDY.</u>

173.12 The legislative auditor shall conduct or contract with an independent third-party vendor

173.13 to conduct a comprehensive program audit on the efficacy of forfeiture and the use of ignition

173.14 interlock in cases involving an alleged violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.20.

173.15 The audit shall assess the financial impact of the programs, the efficacy in reducing

173.16 recidivism, and the impacts, if any, on public safety. The audit shall be conducted in

173.17 accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards issued by the United

173.18 States Government Accountability Office. The legislative auditor shall complete the audit

173.19 no later than August 1, 2024, and shall report the results of the audit to the chairs and ranking

173.20 minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public

- 173.21 safety by January 15, 2025.
- 173.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2022.

173.23 Sec. 22. <u>**REPEALER**</u>.

- 173.24 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5317, is repealed.
- 173.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2022.
- 173.26

173.27

ARTICLE 6 CRIME VICTIM NOTIFICATION

173.28 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253B.18, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

173.29 Subd. 5a. Victim notification of petition and release; right to submit statement. (a)

173.30 As used in this subdivision:

(1) "crime" has the meaning given to "violent crime" in section 609.1095, and includes
criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree and offenses within the definition of "crime
against the person" in section 253B.02, subdivision 4e, and also includes offenses listed in
section 253D.02, subdivision 8, paragraph (b), regardless of whether they are sexually
motivated;

(2) "victim" means a person who has incurred loss or harm as a result of a crime the
behavior for which forms the basis for a commitment under this section or chapter 253D;
and

(3) "convicted" and "conviction" have the meanings given in section 609.02, subdivision
5, and also include juvenile court adjudications, findings under Minnesota Rules of Criminal
Procedure, rule 20.02, that the elements of a crime have been proved, and findings in
commitment cases under this section or chapter 253D that an act or acts constituting a crime
occurred or were part of their course of harmful sexual conduct.

(b) A county attorney who files a petition to commit a person under this section or chapter
253D shall make a reasonable effort to provide prompt notice of filing the petition to any
victim of a crime for which the person was convicted. In addition, the county attorney shall
make a reasonable effort to promptly notify the victim of the resolution of the petition and
the process for requesting notification of an individual's change in status as provided in
paragraph (c).

(c) A victim may request notification of an individual's discharge or release as provided
in paragraph (d) by submitting a written request for notification to the executive director of
the facility in which the individual is confined. The Department of Corrections or a county
attorney who receives a request for notification from a victim under this section shall
promptly forward the request to the executive director of the treatment facility in which the
individual is confined.

(c) (d) Before provisionally discharging, discharging, granting pass-eligible status, 174.26 approving a pass plan, or otherwise permanently or temporarily releasing a person committed 174.27 under this section from a state-operated treatment program or treatment facility, the head 174.28 of the state-operated treatment program or head of the treatment facility shall make a 174.29 reasonable effort to notify any victim of a crime for which the person was convicted that 174.30 the person may be discharged or released and that the victim has a right to submit a written 174.31 statement regarding decisions of the medical director, special review board, or commissioner 174.32 with respect to the person. To the extent possible, the notice must be provided at least 14 174.33 days before any special review board hearing or before a determination on a pass plan. 174.34

06/27/21

A21-0252

Notwithstanding section 611A.06, subdivision 4, the commissioner shall provide the judicial
appeal panel with victim information in order to comply with the provisions of this section.
The judicial appeal panel shall ensure that the data on victims remains private as provided
for in section 611A.06, subdivision 4. These notices shall only be provided to victims who
have submitted a written request for notification as provided in paragraph (c).

(d) This subdivision applies only to victims who have requested notification through 175.6 the Department of Corrections electronic victim notification system, or by contacting, in 175.7 175.8 writing, the county attorney in the county where the conviction for the crime occurred. A request for notice under this subdivision received by the commissioner of corrections through 175.9 the Department of Corrections electronic victim notification system shall be promptly 175.10 forwarded to the prosecutorial authority with jurisdiction over the offense to which the 175.11 notice relates or, following commitment, the head of the state-operated treatment program 175.12 or head of the treatment facility. A county attorney who receives a request for notification 175.13 under this paragraph following commitment shall promptly forward the request to the 175.14 commissioner of human services. 175.15

(e) The rights under this subdivision are in addition to rights available to a victim under chapter 611A. This provision does not give a victim all the rights of a "notified person" or a person "entitled to statutory notice" under subdivision 4a, 4b, or 5 or section 253D.14.

175.19 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253D.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

175.20Subd. 2. Notice of filing petition. A county attorney who files a petition to commit a175.21person under this chapter shall make a reasonable effort to provide prompt notice of filing175.22the petition to any victim of a crime for which the person was convicted or was listed as a175.23victim in the petition of commitment. In addition, the county attorney shall make a reasonable175.24and good faith effort to promptly notify the victim of the resolution of the petition process175.25for requesting the notification of an individual's change in status as provided in section175.26253D.14, subdivision 3.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253D.14, is amended by adding a subdivision toread:

Subd. 2a. Requesting notification. A victim may request notification of an individual's
discharge or release as outlined in subdivision 3 by submitting a written request for

175.31 notification to the executive director of the facility in which the individual is confined. The

175.32 Department of Corrections or a county attorney who receives a request for notification from

175.33 a victim under this section following an individual's civil commitment shall promptly forward

the request to the executive director of the treatment facility in which the individual is <u>confined.</u>

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253D.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Notice of discharge or release. Before provisionally discharging, discharging, 176.4 granting pass-eligible status, approving a pass plan, or otherwise permanently or temporarily 176.5 releasing a person committed under this chapter from a treatment facility, the executive 176.6 176.7 director shall make a reasonable effort to notify any victim of a crime for which the person was convicted that the person may be discharged or released and that the victim has a right 176.8 to submit a written statement regarding decisions of the executive director, or special review 176.9 board, with respect to the person. To the extent possible, the notice must be provided at 176.10 least 14 days before any special review board hearing or before a determination on a pass 176.11 plan. Notwithstanding section 611A.06, subdivision 4, the commissioner shall provide the 176.12 judicial appeal panel with victim information in order to comply with the provisions of this 176.13 176.14 chapter. The judicial appeal panel shall ensure that the data on victims remains private as provided for in section 611A.06, subdivision 4. This subdivision applies only to victims 176.15 who have submitted a written request for notification as provided in subdivision 2a. 176.16

176.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611A.039, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Notice required. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 2, 176.18 within 15 working days after a conviction, acquittal, or dismissal in a criminal case in which 176.19 there is an identifiable crime victim, the prosecutor shall make reasonable good faith efforts 176.20 to provide to each affected crime victim oral or written notice of the final disposition of the 176.21 case and of the victim rights under section 611A.06. When the court is considering modifying 176.22 the sentence for a felony or a crime of violence or an attempted crime of violence, the court 176.23 or its designee shall make a reasonable and good faith effort to notify the victim of the 176.24 176.25 crime. If the victim is incapacitated or deceased, notice must be given to the victim's family. If the victim is a minor, notice must be given to the victim's parent or guardian. The notice 176.26 must include: 176.27

176.28 (1) the date and approximate time of the review;

176.29 (2) the location where the review will occur;

(3) the name and telephone number of a person to contact for additional information;and

(4) a statement that the victim and victim's family may provide input to the court 177.1 concerning the sentence modification. 177.2 (b) The Office of Justice Programs in the Department of Public Safety shall develop and 177.3 update a model notice of postconviction rights under this subdivision and section 611A.06. 177.4 177.5 (c) As used in this section, "crime of violence" has the meaning given in section 624.712, subdivision 5, and also includes gross misdemeanor violations of section 609.224, and 177.6 nonfelony violations of sections 518B.01, 609.2231, 609.3451, 609.748, and 609.749. 177.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 177.8 Subdivision 1. Notice of release required. (a) The commissioner of corrections or other 177.9 custodial authority shall make a good faith effort to notify the victim that the offender is to 177.10 be released from imprisonment or incarceration, including release on extended furlough 177.11 and for work release; released and release from a juvenile correctional facility; released 177.12 from a facility in which the offender was confined due to incompetency, mental illness, or 177.13 mental deficiency, or commitment under section 253B.18 or chapter 253D;, or if the 177.14 offender's custody status is reduced, if the victim has mailed to the commissioner of 177.15 177.16 corrections or. These notices shall only be provided to victims who have submitted a written request for notification to the head of the county correctional facility in which the offender 177.17 is confined a written request for this notice, or the victim has made if committed to the 177.18 Department of Corrections, submitted a written request for this notice to the commissioner 177.19 of corrections or electronic request through the Department of Corrections electronic victim 177.20 notification system. The good faith effort to notify the victim must occur prior to the 177.21 offender's release or when the offender's custody status is reduced. For a victim of a felony 177.22 crime against the person for which the offender was sentenced to imprisonment for more

than 18 months, the good faith effort to notify the victim must occur 60 days before the 177.24 offender's release. 177.25

(b) The commissioner of human services shall make a good faith effort to notify the 177.26 victim in writing that the offender is to be released from confinement in a facility due to 177.27 incompetency, mental illness, or mental deficiency, or commitment under section 253B.18 177.28 or chapter 253D if the victim has submitted a written request for notification to the executive 177.29 177.30 director of the facility in which the individual is confined.

177.31 Sec. 7. REPEALER.

177.23

Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 253D.14, subdivision 4; and 611A.0385, are repealed. 177.32

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
178.1		ARTICLE 7		
178.2	CHILD PROTE	CTION BACKGRO	UND CHECKS	
178.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 20	20, section 299C.60, is	s amended to read:	
178.4	299C.60 CITATION.			
178.5	Sections 299C.60 to 299C.64 n	nay be cited as the "M	nnesota Child <u>, Eld</u>	er, and
178.6	Individuals with Disabilities Protect	ction Background Che	ck Act."	
178.7	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020,	section 299C 61 is an	pended by adding a	subdivision to
178.8	read:	section 2770.01, 15 an	lended by adding a	Subarvision to
178.9	Subd. 1a. Authorized agency.	"Authorized agency"	neans the licensing	agency or if
178.10	one does not exist, the Bureau of C			
	are not limited to the:	Apprenension	. Lieensnig agenere	25 merude out
178.11	are not minited to the.			
178.12	(1) Department of Human Serv	ices;		
178.13	(2) Department of Health; and			
178.14	(3) Professional Educator Licer	nsing and Standards B	oard.	
178.15	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020,	section 299C.61, subc	livision 2, is amend	led to read:
178.16	Subd. 2. Background check cr	ime. "Background ch	eck crime" includes	s child abuse
178.17	crimes, murder, manslaughter, felo	ny level assault or any	assault crime com	mitted against
178.18	a minor or vulnerable adult, kidnar	oping, arson, criminal	sexual conduct, and	1
178.19	prostitution-related crimes.			
178.20	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020,	section 299C.61, is an	nended by adding a	subdivision to
178.21	read:			
178.22	Subd. 2a. Care. "Care" means	the provision of care, t	reatment, education	n, training,
178.23	instruction, supervision, or recreation	on to children, the elder	ly, or individuals w	ith disabilities.
178.24	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020,	section 299C.61, subc	livision 4, is amend	led to read:
178.25	Subd. 4. Child abuse crime. "(
1/8.23	Subu. 4. Cinic abuse crime.		ans.	
178.26	(1) an act committed against a m	inor victim that constitu	utes a violation of se	ection 609.185,
178.27	paragraph (a), clause (5); 609.221; 6	509.222; 609.223; 609.	224; 609.2242; 609	.322; 609.324;
178.28	609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.34	45; 609.352; 609.377;	or 609.378; <u>617.24</u>	6; or 617.247;
178.29	or			

179.1	(2) a violation of section 152.021, subdivision 1, clause (4); 152.022, subdivision 1,
179.2	clause (5) or (6); 152.023, subdivision 1, clause (3) or (4); 152.023, subdivision 2, clause
179.3	(4) or (6); or 152.024, subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), or (4).
179.4	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to
179.5	read:
179.6	Subd. 8b. Covered individual. "Covered individual" means an individual:
179.7	(1) who has, seeks to have, or may have access to children, the elderly, or individuals
179.8	with disabilities, served by a qualified entity; and
179.9	<u>(2) who:</u>
179.10	(i) is employed by or volunteers with, or seeks to be employed by or volunteer with, a
179.11	qualified entity; or
179.12	(ii) owns or operates, or seeks to own or operate, a qualified entity.
179.13	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to
179.14	read:
179.15	Subd. 8c. Individuals with disabilities. "Individuals with disabilities" means persons
179.16	with a mental or physical impairment who require assistance to perform one or more daily
179.17	living tasks.
179.18	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to
179.19	read:
179.20	Subd. 8d. National criminal history background check system. "National criminal
179.21	history background check system" means the criminal history record system maintained by
179.22	the Federal Bureau of Investigation based on fingerprint identification or any other method
179.23	of positive identification.
179.24	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to
179.25	read:
179.26	Subd. 8e. Qualified entity. "Qualified entity" means a business or organization, whether
179.27	public, private, for-profit, not-for-profit, or voluntary, that provides care or care placement
179.28	services, including a business or organization that licenses or certifies others to provide care
179.29	or care placement services.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 180.1 Subdivision 1. Generally. The superintendent shall develop procedures in accordance 180.2 with United States Code, title 34, section 40102, to enable a children's service provider 180.3 qualified entity to request a background check to determine whether a children's service 180.4 worker covered worker is the subject of any reported conviction for a background check 180.5 crime. The superintendent shall perform the background check by retrieving and reviewing 180.6 data on background check crimes. The superintendent is authorized to exchange fingerprints 180.7 180.8 with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for purposes of a criminal history the background check. The superintendent shall recover the cost of a background check through a fee charged 180.9 the children's service provider to the qualified entity and make reasonable efforts to respond 180.10 to the inquiry within 15 business days. 180.11

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 180.12

Subd. 2. Background check; requirements. (a) The superintendent may not perform 180.13

a background check under this section unless the children's service provider submits a 180.14

written document, signed by the children's service worker on whom the background check 180.15 180.16 is to be performed, containing the following:

180.17 (1) a question asking whether the children's service worker has ever been convicted of a background check crime and if so, requiring a description of the crime and the particulars 180.18 of the conviction; 180.19

(2) a notification to the children's service worker that the children's service provider will 180.20 request the superintendent to perform a background check under this section; and 180.21

(3) a notification to the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights 180.22 under subdivision 3. 180.23

(b) Background checks performed under this section may only be requested by and 180.24 provided to authorized representatives of a children's service provider who have a need to 180.25 know the information and may be used only for the purposes of sections 299C.60 to 299C.64. 180.26 180.27 Background checks may be performed pursuant to this section not later than one year after the document is submitted under this section. 180.28

The superintendent may not perform a background check of a covered individual under 180.29 this section unless the covered individual: 180.30

(1) completes and signs a statement that: 180 31

181.1	(i) contains the name, address, and date of birth appearing on a valid identification
181.2	document, as defined in United States Code, title 18, section 1028, of the covered individual;
181.3	(ii) the covered individual has not been convicted of a crime and, if the covered individual
181.4	has been convicted of a crime, contains a description of the crime and the particulars of the
181.5	conviction;
181.6	(iii) notifies the covered individual that the entity may request a background check under
181.7	subdivision 1;
181.8	(iv) notifies the covered individual of the covered individual's rights under subdivision
181.9	<u>3; and</u>
181.10	(v) notifies the covered individual that prior to the completion of the background check
181.11	the qualified entity may choose to deny the covered individual access to a person to whom
181.12	the qualified entity provides care; and
181.13	(2) if requesting a national criminal history background check, provides a set of
181.14	fingerprints.
181.15	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
181.16	Subd. 3. Children's service worker Covered individuals rights. (a) The children's
181.17	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's
181.17	
181.17	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's
181.17 181.18 181.19	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b).
181.17 181.18 181.19	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has
181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights:
181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background
181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21 181.22	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background check on the children's service worker:
181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21 181.22 181.23	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background check on the children's service worker: (i) for purposes of the children's service worker's application to be employed by, volunteer
181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21 181.22 181.23 181.24	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background check on the children's service worker: (i) for purposes of the children's service worker's application to be employed by, volunteer with, be an independent contractor for, or be an owner of a children's service provider or for purposes of continuing as an employee, volunteer, independent contractor, or owner;
181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21 181.22 181.23 181.24 181.25	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background check on the children's service worker: (i) for purposes of the children's service worker's application to be employed by, volunteer with, be an independent contractor for, or be an owner of a children's service provider or for purposes of continuing as an employee, volunteer, independent contractor, or owner;
 181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21 181.22 181.23 181.24 181.25 181.26 	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background check on the children's service worker: (i) for purposes of the children's service worker's application to be employed by, volunteer with, be an independent contractor for, or be an owner of a children's service provider or for purposes of continuing as an employee, volunteer, independent contractor, or owner; and
181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21 181.22 181.23 181.24 181.25 181.26 181.27	 service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background check on the children's service worker: (i) for purposes of the children's service worker's application to be employed by, volunteer with, be an independent contractor for, or be an owner of a children's service provider or for purposes of continuing as an employee, volunteer, independent contractor, or owner; and (ii) to determine whether the children's service worker has been convicted of any crime
 181.17 181.18 181.19 181.20 181.21 181.22 181.23 181.24 181.25 181.26 181.27 181.28 	service provider shall notify the children's service worker of the children's service worker's rights under paragraph (b). (b) A children's service worker who is the subject of a background check request has the following rights: (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider will request a background check on the children's service worker: (i) for purposes of the children's service worker's application to be employed by, volunteer with, be an independent contractor for, or be an owner of a children's service provider or for purposes of continuing as an employee, volunteer, independent contractor, or owner; and (ii) to determine whether the children's service worker has been convicted of any crime specified in section 299C.61, subdivision 2 or 4;

182.1	(3) the right to obtain from the superintendent any record that forms the basis for the
182.2	report;
182.3	(4) the right to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained
182.4	in the report or record pursuant to section 13.04, subdivision 4;
182.5	(5) the right to be informed by the children's service provider if the children's service
182.6	worker's application to be employed with, volunteer with, be an independent contractor for,
182.7	or be an owner of a children's service provider, or to continue as an employee, volunteer,
182.8	independent contractor, or owner, has been denied because of the superintendent's response;
182.9	and
182.10	(6) the right not to be required directly or indirectly to pay the cost of the background
182.11	check.
182.12	The qualified entity shall notify the covered individual who is subjected to a background
182.13	check under subdivision 1 that the individual has the right to:
182.14	(1) obtain a copy of any background check report;
182.15	(2) challenge the accuracy or completeness of the information contained in the background
182.16	report or record pursuant to section 13.04, subdivision 4, or applicable federal authority;
182.17	and
182.18	(3) be given notice of the opportunity to appeal and instructions on how to complete the
182.19	appeals process.
182.20	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
182.21	Subd. 4. Response of bureau. The superintendent shall respond to a background check
182.22	request within a reasonable time after receiving a request from a qualified entity or the

182.26 criminal history record at the bureau. It is the responsibility of the service provider qualified
182.27 entity to determine if the applicant covered individual qualifies as an employee, volunteer,
182.28 or independent contractor under this section.
182.29 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

signed, written document described in subdivision 2. The superintendent shall provide the

children's service provider qualified entity with a copy of the applicant's covered individual's

criminal record or a statement that the applicant covered individual is not the subject of a

Subd. 6. Admissibility of evidence. Evidence or proof that a background check of a
volunteer was not requested under sections 299C.60 to 299C.64 by a children's service

182.23

182.24

182.25

183.1 provider <u>qualified entity</u> is not admissible in evidence in any litigation against a nonprofit
183.2 or charitable organization.

183.3 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.63, is amended to read:

183.4 **299C.63 EXCEPTION; OTHER LAWS.**

183.5 The superintendent is not required to respond to a background check request concerning

183.6 a children's service worker covered individual who, as a condition of occupational licensure

183.7 or employment, is subject to the background study requirements imposed by any statute or

rule other than sections 299C.60 to 299C.64. A background check performed on a licensee,

183.9 license applicant, or employment applicant under this section does not satisfy the

183.10 requirements of any statute or rule other than sections 299C.60 to 299C.64, that provides

183.11 for background study of members of an individual's particular occupation.

183.12 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.72, is amended to read:

183.13 **299C.72 MINNESOTA CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECKS.**

183.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the183.15 meanings given.

(a) "Applicant for employment" means an individual who seeks either county or cityemployment or has applied to serve as a volunteer in the county or city.

(b) "Applicant for licensure" means the individual seeks a license issued by the countyor city which is not subject to a federal- or state-mandated background check.

(c) "Authorized law enforcement agency" means the county sheriff for checks conducted
 for county purposes, the police department for checks conducted for city purposes, or the
 county sheriff for checks conducted for city purposes where there is no police department.

(d) "Criminal history check" means retrieval of criminal history data via the secure
network described in section 299C.46.

(e) "Criminal history data" means adult convictions and adult open arrests less than one
year old found in the Minnesota computerized criminal history repository.

(f) "Current employee" means an individual presently employed by either a county or
 city or who presently serves as a volunteer in the county or city.

(g) "Current licensee" means an individual who has previously sought and received a
 license, which is still presently valid, issued by a county or city.

(f) (h) "Informed consent" has the meaning given in section 13.05, subdivision 4,
 paragraph (d).

Subd. 2. Criminal history check authorized. (a) The criminal history check authorized
by this section shall not be used in place of a statutorily mandated or authorized background
check.

(b) An authorized law enforcement agency may conduct a criminal history check of an
 individual who is an applicant for employment or, current employee, applicant for licensure,
 <u>or current licensee</u>. Prior to conducting the criminal history check, the authorized law
 enforcement agency must receive the informed consent of the individual.

(c) The authorized law enforcement agency shall not disseminate criminal history data and must maintain it securely with the agency's office. The authorized law enforcement agency can indicate whether the applicant for employment or applicant for licensure has a criminal history that would prevent hire, acceptance as a volunteer to a hiring authority, or would prevent the issuance of a license to the department that issues the license.

184.15ARTICLE 8184.16LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARIES

184.17 Section 1. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 1, is amended to184.18 read:

184.19 Section 1. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY INCREASES.

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of commerce must
increase the salary paid to commerce insurance fraud specialists positions in positions
represented by the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association by 13.2 percent, and must
increase the salary paid to these commerce insurance fraud specialists that are compensated
at the maximum base wage level by an additional two percent.

(b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement
Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the
legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
section 3.855, the percent increase for salary provided under paragraph (a) shall be reduced
by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same period provided in the collective
bargaining agreement.

184.31 (c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, in addition to the salary increases required 184.32 under paragraph (a), the commissioner of commerce shall increase by 8.4 percent the salary 185.2

185.4

paid to supervisors and managers, and must increase the salary paid to supervisors and 185.1

185.3 percent. For purposes of this paragraph, "supervisors and managers" means employees who

managers who are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two

are employed in positions that require them to be licensed as peace officers, as defined in

Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, who supervise or manage employees 185.5

described in paragraph (a). 185.6

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective retroactively from October 22, 2020. 185.7
- Sec. 2. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 2, is amended to read: 185.8

Sec. 2. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR FISCAL YEAR 185.9 185.10 **2020.**

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 185.11 time during fiscal year 2020 in a position for which the Minnesota Law Enforcement 185.12 Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement payment 185.13 that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position in fiscal year 2020, multiplied 185.14 by 2.25 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state employee" means a person who 185.15 is employed by the state on the effective date of this section and who was employed in fiscal 185.16 year 2020 as a commerce insurance fraud specialist by the Department of Commerce. 185.17

(b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 185.18

Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 185.19

legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 185.20

section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 185.21

- paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 185.22
- period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. 185.23

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special 185.24 Session chapter 4, article 9, section 2. 185.25

Sec. 3. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 3, is amended to read: 185.26

Sec. 3. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR A PORTION OF 185.27 FISCAL YEAR 2021. 185.28

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 185.29 time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, in a position for which the Minnesota Law 185.30 Enforcement Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement 185.31

A21-0252

payment that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, multiplied by 4.8 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state employee" means a person who is employed by the state on the effective date of this section and who was employed at any time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, as a commerce insurance fraud specialist by the Department of Commerce.

186.6 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement

186.7 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the

186.8 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,

186.9 section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under

186.10 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same

186.11 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement.

186.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special 186.13 Session chapter 4, article 9, section 3.

186.14 Sec. 4. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 4, is amended to read:

186.15 Sec. 4. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY INCREASES.

\$214,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of commerce for salary increases under section 1. This appropriation is available until
December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, \$283,000 is appropriated from
the general fund to the commissioner of commerce for this purpose. This amount is in
addition to the base appropriation for this purpose.

186.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special 186.22 Session chapter 4, article 9, section 4.

186.23 Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 5, is amended to read:

186.24 Sec. 5. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY SUPPLEMENTS FROM JULY 1, 2019, TO 186.25 OCTOBER 21, 2020.

\$58,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
of commerce for salary supplements under sections 2 and 3. This appropriation is available
until December 30, 2021. This is a onetime appropriation.

186.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special
 186.30 Session chapter 4, article 9, section 5.

187.1

Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 1, is amended to read:

187.2 Section 1. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY INCREASES.

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of public safety must
increase the salary paid to state patrol troopers in positions represented by the Minnesota
Law Enforcement Association by 13.2 percent and must increase the salary paid to these
state patrol troopers that are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional
two percent.

(b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement
Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the
legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
section 3.855, the percent increase for salary provided under paragraph (a) shall be reduced
by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same period provided in the collective
bargaining agreement.

(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, in addition to the salary increases required 187.14 under paragraph (a), the commissioner of public safety shall increase by 8.4 percent the 187.15 187.16 salary paid to supervisors and managers, and must increase the salary paid to supervisors and managers who are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two 187.17 percent. For purposes of this paragraph, "supervisors and managers" means employees who 187.18 are employed in positions that require them to be licensed as peace officers, as defined in 187.19 Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, who supervise or manage employees 187.20 described in paragraph (a). 187.21

187.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective retroactively from October 22, 2020.

187.23 Sec. 7. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 2, is amended to read:

187.24 Sec. 2. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR FISCAL YEAR 187.25 2020.

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any
time during fiscal year 2020 in a position for which the Minnesota Law Enforcement
Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement payment
that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position in fiscal year 2020, multiplied
by 2.25 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state employee" means a person who
is employed by the state on the effective date of this section and who was employed in fiscal
year 2020 as a state patrol trooper by the Department of Public Safety.

(b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement

Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the

188.3 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,

188.4 section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under

- 188.5 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same
- 188.6 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement.
- 188.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special
 188.8 Session chapter 5, article 3, section 2.

188.9 Sec. 8. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 3, is amended to read:

188.10 Sec. 3. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR A PORTION OF 188.11 FISCAL YEAR 2021.

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 188.12 time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, in a position for which the Minnesota Law 188.13 Enforcement Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement 188.14 payment that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position from July 1, 2020, 188.15 to October 21, 2020, multiplied by 4.8 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state 188.16 employee" means a person who is employed by the state on the effective date of this section 188.17 and who was employed at any time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, as a state patrol 188.18 trooper by the Department of Public Safety. 188.19

(b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement

Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the

188.22 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,

188.23 section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under

188.24 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same

188.25 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement.

188.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special 188.27 Session chapter 5, article 3, section 3.

188.28 Sec. 9. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 4, is amended to read:

188.29 Sec. 4. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY INCREASES.

(a) \$125,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the general fund to the commissioner
 of public safety for state patrol salary increases under section 1. This appropriation is

available until December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, \$464,000 is
appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for this purpose.
This amount is in addition to the base appropriation for this purpose.

(b) \$3,182,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary increases under section 1. This
appropriation is available until December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023,
\$10,363,000 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the commissioner of public
safety for this purpose. This amount is in addition to the base appropriation for this purpose.

(c) \$27,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the highway user tax distribution
fund to the commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary increases under section 1.
This appropriation is available until December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and
2023, \$110,000 is appropriated from the highway user tax distribution fund to the
commissioner of public safety for this purpose. This amount is in addition to the base
appropriation for this purpose.

189.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special
 189.16 Session chapter 5, article 3, section 4.

189.17 Sec. 10. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 5, is amended to189.18 read:

189.19 Sec. 5. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY SUPPLEMENTS FROM JULY 1, 2019, TO
189.20 OCTOBER 21, 2020.

(a) \$105,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the general fund to the commissioner
of public safety for state patrol salary supplements under sections 2 and 3. This is a onetime
appropriation and is available until December 30, 2021.

(b) \$2,538,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary supplements under sections 2 and 3.
This is a onetime appropriation and is available until December 30, 2021.

(c) \$32,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the highway user tax distribution
fund to the commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary supplements under sections
2 and 3. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until December 30, 2021.

189.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special
 189.31 Session chapter 5, article 3, section 5.

190.1	Sec. 11. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY INCREASES.
190.2	(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, salary increases shall apply to the following
190.3	employees whose exclusive representative is the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association:
190.4	(1) the commissioner of public safety must increase the salary paid to Bureau of Criminal
190.5	Apprehension agents and special agents in the gambling enforcement division by 13.2
190.6	percent, and must increase the salary paid to Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agents and
190.7	special agents in the gambling enforcement division that are compensated at the maximum
190.8	base wage level by an additional two percent; and
190.9	(2) the commissioner of corrections must increase the salary paid to fugitive specialists
190.10	positions by 13.2 percent, and must increase the salary paid to fugitive specialists that are
190.11	compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two percent.
190.12	(b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement
190.13	Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the
190.14	legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
190.15	section 3.855, the percent increase for salary provided under paragraph (a) shall be reduced
190.16	by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same period provided in the collective
190.17	bargaining agreement.
190.18	(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, in addition to the salary increases required
190.19	under paragraph (a), each agency described in paragraph (a) shall increase by 8.4 percent
190.20	the salary paid to supervisors and managers, and must increase the salary paid to supervisors
190.21	and managers who are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two
190.22	percent. For purposes of this paragraph, "supervisors and managers" means employees who
190.23	are employed in positions that require them to be licensed as peace officers, as defined in
190.24	Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, who supervise or manage employees
190.25	described in paragraph (a).
190.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from October 22, 2020.
190.27	Sec. 12. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR FISCAL YEAR
190.28	<u>2020.</u>
190.29	(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any
190.30	time during fiscal year 2020 in a position for which the Minnesota Law Enforcement

- 190.31 Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement payment
- 190.32 that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position in fiscal year 2020, multiplied
- 190.33 by 2.25 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state employee" means a person who

191.1	is employed by the state on the effective date of this section and who was employed in fiscal
191.2	year 2020 in one of the following positions:

- 191.3 (1) Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agent, employed by the Department of Public
 191.4 Safety;
- 191.5 (2) special agent in the gambling enforcement division of the Department of Public
- 191.6 <u>Safety; or</u>

191.7 (3) fugitive specialist, employed by the Department of Corrections.

- 191.8 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement
- Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the
- 191.10 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
- 191.11 section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under
- 191.12 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same
- 191.13 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement.
- 191.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

191.15 Sec. 13. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR A PORTION OF 191.16 FISCAL YEAR 2021.

- 191.17 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any
- 191.18 time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, in a position for which the Minnesota Law
- 191.19 Enforcement Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement
- 191.20 payment that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position from July 1, 2020,
- 191.21 to October 21, 2020, multiplied by 4.8 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state
- 191.22 employee" means a person who is employed by the state on the effective date of this section
- and who was employed at any time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, in one of the
- 191.24 following positions:
- 191.25 (1) Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agent, employed by the Department of Public
 191.26 Safety;
- 191.27 (2) special agent in the gambling enforcement division of the Department of Public
 191.28 Safety; or
- 191.29 (3) fugitive specialist, employed by the Department of Corrections.
- 191.30 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement
- 191.31 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the
- 191.32 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes,

06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 192.1 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 192.2 192.3 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 192.4 Sec. 14. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY INCREASES. 192.5 Subdivision 1. Department of Corrections. \$142,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated 192.6 from the general fund to the commissioner of corrections for salary increases. In each of 192.7 fiscal years 2022 and 2023, \$209,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the 192.8 commissioner of corrections for this purpose. This amount is in addition to the base 192.9 appropriation for this purpose. 192.10 192.11 Subd. 2. Department of Public Safety. (a) \$1,076,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for Bureau of Criminal 192.12 Apprehension salary increases. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, \$1,846,000 is 192.13 appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for this purpose. 192.14 This amount is in addition to the base appropriation for this purpose. 192.15 (b) \$99,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner 192.16 of public safety for Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division salary increases. In each 192.17 192.18 of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, \$148,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for this purpose. This amount is in addition to the base 192.19 192.20 appropriation for this purpose. (c) The fiscal year 2021 appropriations in this section are available until December 30, 192.21 192.22 2021. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 192.23 Sec. 15. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY SUPPLEMENTS FROM JULY 1, 2019, 192.24 **TO OCTOBER 21, 2020.** 192.25 192.26 Subdivision 1. Department of Corrections. \$41,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of corrections for salary supplements. This is a 192.27 192.28 onetime appropriation. Subd. 2. Department of Public Safety. (a) \$240,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated 192.29 from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for Bureau of Criminal 192.30 Apprehension salary supplements. This is a onetime appropriation. 192.31

	06/27/21	REVISOR	KLL/BM	A21-0252
193.1	(b) \$24,000 in fiscal year 2021 is a	ppropriated from the	e general fund to the	commissioner
193.2	of public safety for Alcohol and Gam	bling Enforcement	Division salary supp	olements. This
193.3	is a onetime appropriation.			
193.4	(c) The fiscal year 2021 appropria	ations in this section	n are available until	December 30,
193.5	<u>2021.</u>			
193.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	on is effective the da	ay following final er	lactment.
193.7	Sec. 16. INTERPRETATION.			
193.8	If an appropriation in this article	is enacted more that	n once in the 2021 fi	irst special
193.9	legislative session, the appropriation	must be given effec	et only once.	
193.10		ARTICLE 9		
193.11	POLICIN	G AND CORREC	TIONS	
193.12	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020), section 13.41, sub	division 3, is amend	led to read:
193.13	Subd. 3. Board of Peace Officer	Standards and Tra	nining. The followin	g government
193.14	data of the Board of Peace Officer St	tandards and Trainin	ng are private data:	
193.15	(1) personal telephone numbers, a	and home and e-ma	il addresses of licens	sees and
193.16	applicants for licenses; and			
193.17	(2) data that identify the governm	ment entity that empl	oys a licensed peace	e officer .
193.18	The board may disseminate priva	te data on applicant	s and licensees as is	necessary to
193.19	administer law enforcement licensure	e or to provide data u	under section 626.84	5, subdivision
193.20	1, to law enforcement agencies who a	re conducting emplo	oyment background i	nvestigations.
193.21	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, se	ection 13.411 , is am	ended by adding a s	ubdivision to
193.22	read:			
193.23	Subd. 11. Peace officer database.			
193.24	between law enforcement agencies an	nd the Peace Officer	Standards and Train	ning Board for
193.25	purposes of administering the peace of	fficer database requin	red by section 626.84	5, subdivision
193.26	<u>3.</u>			
193.27	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, se	ection 214.10, subdi	vision 11, is amende	ed to read:
193.28	Subd. 11. Board of Peace Office	rs Standards and	Fraining; reasonab	le grounds
193.29	determination. (a) After the investig	ation is complete, th	e executive director	shall convene

at least a three-member four-member committee of the board to determine if the complaint 194.1 constitutes reasonable grounds to believe that a violation within the board's enforcement 194.2 jurisdiction has occurred. In conformance with section 626.843, subdivision 1b, at least two 194.3 three members of the committee must be voting board members who are peace officers and 194.4 one member of the committee must be a voting board member appointed from the general 194.5 public. No later than 30 days before the committee meets, the executive director shall give 194.6 the licensee who is the subject of the complaint and the complainant written notice of the 194.7 194.8 meeting. The executive director shall also give the licensee a copy of the complaint. Before making its determination, the committee shall give the complaining party and the licensee 194.9 who is the subject of the complaint a reasonable opportunity to be heard. 194.10

(b) The committee shall, by majority vote, after considering the information supplied
by the investigating agency and any additional information supplied by the complainant or
the licensee who is the subject of the complaint, take one of the following actions:

(1) find that reasonable grounds exist to believe that a violation within the board's
enforcement jurisdiction has occurred and order that an administrative hearing be held;

194.16 (2) decide that no further action is warranted; or

194.17 (3) continue the matter.

194.18 The executive director shall promptly give notice of the committee's action to the 194.19 complainant and the licensee.

(c) If the committee determines that a complaint does not relate to matters within its
enforcement jurisdiction but does relate to matters within another state or local agency's
enforcement jurisdiction, it shall refer the complaint to the appropriate agency for disposition.

194.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

194.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.016, is amended to read:

194.25 **241.016 ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REPORT REQUIRED.**

Subdivision 1. Biennial <u>Annual report.</u> (a) The Department of Corrections shall submit
a performance report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house
of representatives committees and divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice funding
by January 15 of each odd-numbered year. The issuance and content of the report must
include the following:

194.31 (1) department strategic mission, goals, and objectives;

(2) the department-wide per diem, adult facility-specific per diems, and an average per
diem, reported in a standard calculated method as outlined in the departmental policies and
procedures;

(3) department annual statistics as outlined in the departmental policies and procedures;
and

195.6 (4) information about prison-based mental health programs, including, but not limited

195.7 to, the availability of these programs, participation rates, and completion rates-; and

(5) beginning in 2023, a written aggregate of the state correctional facilities security
 audit group's recommendations based on each security audit and assessment of a state
 correctional facility and the commissioner's responses to the recommendations.

(b) The department shall maintain recidivism rates for adult facilities on an annual basis. 195.11 In addition, each year the department shall, on an alternating basis, complete a recidivism 195.12 analysis of adult facilities, juvenile services, and the community services divisions and 195.13 include a three-year recidivism analysis in the report described in paragraph (a). The 195.14 recidivism analysis must: (1) assess education programs, vocational programs, treatment 195.15 programs, including mental health programs, industry, and employment; and (2) assess 195.16 statewide re-entry policies and funding, including postrelease treatment, education, training, 195.17 and supervision. In addition, when reporting recidivism for the department's adult and 195.18 juvenile facilities, the department shall report on the extent to which offenders it has assessed 195.19 as chemically dependent commit new offenses, with separate recidivism rates reported for 195.20 persons completing and not completing the department's treatment programs. 195.21

(c) The department shall maintain annual statistics related to the supervision of extended
 jurisdiction juveniles and include those statistics in the report described in paragraph (a).

195.24 <u>The statistics must include:</u>

(1) the total number and population demographics of individuals under supervision in
 adult facilities, juvenile facilities, and the community who were convicted as an extended
 jurisdiction juvenile;

(2) the number of individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile who
 successfully completed probation in the previous year;

195.30 (3) the number of individuals identified in clause (2) for whom the court terminated

195.31 jurisdiction before the person became 21 years of age pursuant to section 260B.193,

195.32 subdivision 5;

- (4) the number of individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile whose
 sentences were executed; and
- 196.3 (5) the average length of time individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile
 196.4 spend on probation.

196.5 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Correctional facilities; inspection; licensing. (a) Except as provided 196.6 in paragraph (b), the commissioner of corrections shall inspect and license all correctional 196.7 facilities throughout the state, whether public or private, established and operated for the 196.8 detention and confinement of persons detained or confined or incarcerated therein according 196.9 to law except to the extent that they are inspected or licensed by other state regulating 196.10 196.11 agencies. The commissioner shall promulgate pursuant to chapter 14, rules establishing minimum standards for these facilities with respect to their management, operation, physical 196.12 condition, and the security, safety, health, treatment, and discipline of persons detained or 196.13 confined or incarcerated therein. Commencing September 1, 1980, These minimum standards 196.14

- 196.15 shall include but are not limited to specific guidance pertaining to:
- 196.16 (1) screening, appraisal, assessment, and treatment for persons confined or incarcerated
- 196.17 in correctional facilities with mental illness or substance use disorders;
- 196.18 (2) a policy on the involuntary administration of medications;
- 196.19 (3) suicide prevention plans and training;
- 196.20 (4) verification of medications in a timely manner;
- 196.21 (5) well-being checks;
- 196.22 (6) discharge planning, including providing prescribed medications to persons confined
- 196.23 or incarcerated in correctional facilities upon release;
- 196.24 (7) a policy on referrals or transfers to medical or mental health care in a noncorrectional
- 196.25 <u>institution;</u>
- 196.26 (8) use of segregation and mental health checks;
- 196.27 (9) critical incident debriefings;
- 196.28 (10) clinical management of substance use disorders;
- 196.29 (11) a policy regarding identification of persons with special needs confined or
- 196.30 incarcerated in correctional facilities;
- 196.31 (12) a policy regarding the use of telehealth;

197.1 (13) self-auditing of compliance with minimum standards;

- 197.2 (14) information sharing with medical personnel and when medical assessment must be
 197.3 facilitated;
- 197.4 (15) a code of conduct policy for facility staff and annual training;
- 197.5 (16) a policy on death review of all circumstances surrounding the death of an individual
 197.6 committed to the custody of the facility; and
- 197.7 (17) dissemination of a rights statement made available to persons confined or
- 197.8 incarcerated in licensed correctional facilities.

No individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other private
organization legally responsible for the operation of a correctional facility may operate the
facility unless licensed by it possesses a current license from the commissioner of corrections.
Private adult correctional facilities shall have the authority of section 624.714, subdivision
13, if the Department of Corrections licenses the facility with such the authority and the
facility meets requirements of section 243.52.

197.15 The commissioner shall review the correctional facilities described in this subdivision 197.16 at least once every <u>biennium two years</u>, except as otherwise provided <u>herein</u>, to determine 197.17 compliance with the minimum standards established <u>pursuant according</u> to this subdivision 197.18 <u>or other Minnesota statute related to minimum standards and conditions of confinement</u>.

The commissioner shall grant a license to any facility found to conform to minimum 197.19 standards or to any facility which, in the commissioner's judgment, is making satisfactory 197.20 progress toward substantial conformity and the standards not being met do not impact the 197.21 interests and well-being of the persons detained or confined therein or incarcerated in the 197.22 facility are protected. A limited license under subdivision 1a may be issued for purposes of 197.23 effectuating a facility closure. The commissioner may grant licensure up to two years. Unless 197.24 197.25 otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire at 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license. 197.26

The commissioner shall have access to the buildings, grounds, books, records, staff, and to persons detained or confined or incarcerated in these facilities. The commissioner may require the officers in charge of these facilities to furnish all information and statistics the commissioner deems necessary, at a time and place designated by the commissioner.

All facility administrators of correctional facilities are required to report all deaths of
 individuals who died while committed to the custody of the facility, regardless of whether
 the death occurred at the facility or after removal from the facility for medical care stemming

198.1 from an incident or need for medical care at the correctional facility, as soon as practicable,
 198.2 but no later than 24 hours of receiving knowledge of the death, including any demographic
 198.3 information as required by the commissioner.

All facility administrators of correctional facilities are required to report all other 198.4 emergency or unusual occurrences as defined by rule, including uses of force by facility 198.5 staff that result in substantial bodily harm or suicide attempts, to the commissioner of 198.6 corrections within ten days from the occurrence, including any demographic information 198.7 198.8 as required by the commissioner. The commissioner of corrections shall consult with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association and a representative from the Minnesota Association of 198.9 Community Corrections Act Counties who is responsible for the operations of an adult 198.10 correctional facility to define "use of force" that results in substantial bodily harm for 198.11

198.12 reporting purposes.

The commissioner may require that any or all such information be provided through the Department of Corrections detention information system. <u>The commissioner shall post each</u> inspection report publicly and on the department's website within 30 days of completing the inspection. The education program offered in a correctional facility for the detention or confinement <u>or incarceration</u> of juvenile offenders must be approved by the commissioner of education before the commissioner of corrections may grant a license to the facility.

(b) For juvenile facilities licensed by the commissioner of human services, the
commissioner may inspect and certify programs based on certification standards set forth
in Minnesota Rules. For the purpose of this paragraph, "certification" has the meaning given
it in section 245A.02.

(c) Any state agency which regulates, inspects, or licenses certain aspects of correctional
facilities shall, insofar as is possible, ensure that the minimum standards it requires are
substantially the same as those required by other state agencies which regulate, inspect, or
license the same aspects of similar types of correctional facilities, although at different
correctional facilities.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the commissioner of corrections'
authority to promulgate rules establishing standards of eligibility for counties to receive
funds under sections 401.01 to 401.16, or to require counties to comply with operating
standards the commissioner establishes as a condition precedent for counties to receive that
funding.

(e) The department's inspection unit must report directly to a division head outside of
 the correctional institutions division.

A21-0252

(e) When the commissioner finds that any facility described in paragraph (a), except 199.1 foster care facilities for delinquent children and youth as provided in subdivision 2, does 199.2 not substantially conform to the minimum standards established by the commissioner and 199.3 is not making satisfactory progress toward substantial conformance, the commissioner shall 199.4 promptly notify the chief executive officer and the governing board of the facility of the 199.5 deficiencies and order that they be remedied within a reasonable period of time. The 199.6 commissioner may by written order restrict the use of any facility which does not substantially 199.7 199.8 conform to minimum standards to prohibit the detention of any person therein for more than 72 hours at one time. When, after due notice and hearing, the commissioner finds that any 199.9 facility described in this subdivision, except county jails and lockups as provided in sections 199.10 641.26, 642.10, and 642.11, does not conform to minimum standards, or is not making 199.11 satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance therewith, the commissioner may issue 199.12 an order revoking the license of that facility. After revocation of its license, that facility 199.13 shall not be used until its license is renewed. When the commissioner is satisfied that 199.14 satisfactory progress towards substantial compliance with minimum standard is being made, 199.15 the commissioner may, at the request of the appropriate officials of the affected facility 199.16 supported by a written schedule for compliance, grant an extension of time for a period not 199.17

199.18 to exceed one year.

(f) As used in this subdivision, "correctional facility" means any facility, including a
 group home, having a residential component, the primary purpose of which is to serve
 persons placed therein by a court, court services department, parole authority, or other
 correctional agency having dispositional power over persons charged with, convicted, or
 adjudicated to be guilty or delinquent.

199.24 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to199.25 read:

Subd. 1a. Correction order; conditional license. (a) When the commissioner finds that 199.26 any facility described in subdivision 1, except foster care facilities for delinquent children 199.27 and youth as provided in subdivision 2, does not substantially conform to the minimum 199.28 standards established by the commissioner and is not making satisfactory progress toward 199.29 substantial conformance and the nonconformance does not present an imminent risk of 199.30 199.31 life-threatening harm or serious physical injury to the persons confined or incarcerated in the facility, the commissioner shall promptly notify the facility administrator and the 199.32 governing board of the facility of the deficiencies and must issue a correction order or a 199.33 conditional license order that the deficiencies be remedied within a reasonable and specified 199.34

199.35 period of time.

- 200.1 <u>The conditional license order may restrict the use of any facility which does not</u>
- 200.2 substantially conform to minimum standards, including imposition of conditions limiting
- 200.3 operation of the facility or parts of the facility, reducing facility capacity, limiting intake,
- 200.4 limiting length of detention for individuals, or imposing detention limitations based on the
- 200.5 <u>needs of the individuals being confined or incarcerated therein.</u>
- 200.6 The correction order or conditional license order must clearly state the following:
- 200.7 (1) the specific minimum standards violated, noting the implicated rule or law;
- 200.8 (2) the findings that constitute a violation of minimum standards;
- 200.9 (3) the corrective action needed;
- 200.10 (4) time allowed to correct each violation; and
- 200.11 (5) if a license is made conditional, the length and terms of the conditional license, any
- 200.12 conditions limiting operation of the facility, and the reasons for making the license
- 200.13 <u>conditional.</u>
- (b) The facility administrator may request review of the findings noted in the conditional 200.14 license order on the grounds that satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance with 200.15 minimum standards has been made, supported by evidence of correction, and, if appropriate, 200.16 may include a written schedule for compliance. The commissioner shall review the evidence 200.17 of correction and the progress made toward substantial compliance with minimum standards 200.18 200.19 within a reasonable period of time, not to exceed ten business days. When the commissioner has assurance that satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance with minimum 200.20 standards is being made, the commissioner shall lift any conditions limiting operation of 200.21 the facility or parts of the facility or remove the conditional license order. 200.22 (c) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from ordering a revocation under 200.23 subdivision 1b prior to issuing a correction order or conditional license order. 200.24 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to 200.25 200.26 read: 200.27 Subd. 1b. License revocation order. (a) When, after due notice to the facility administrator of the commissioner's intent to issue a revocation order, the commissioner 200.28 finds that any facility described in this subdivision, except county jails and lockups subject 200.29
- 200.30 to active condemnation proceedings or orders as provided in sections 641.26, 642.10, and
- 200.31 642.11, does not conform to minimum standards, or is not making satisfactory progress
- 200.32 toward substantial compliance with minimum standards, and the nonconformance does not

- 201.2 confined or incarcerated in the facility, the commissioner may issue an order revoking the
- 201.3 <u>license of that facility.</u>
- 201.4 The notice of intent to issue a revocation order shall include:
- 201.5 (1) the citation to minimum standards that have been violated;
- 201.6 (2) the nature and severity of each violation;
- 201.7 (3) whether the violation is recurring or nonrecurring;
- 201.8 (4) the effect of the violation on persons confined or incarcerated in the correctional
- 201.9 <u>facility;</u>
- 201.10 (5) an evaluation of the risk of harm to persons confined or incarcerated in the correctional 201.11 facility;
- 201.12 (6) relevant facts, conditions, and circumstances concerning the operation of the licensed 201.13 facility, including at a minimum:
- 201.14 (i) specific facility deficiencies that endanger the health or safety of persons confined 201.15 or incarcerated in the correctional facility;

201.16 (ii) substantiated complaints relating to the correctional facility; or

201.17 (iii) any other evidence that the correctional facility is not in compliance with minimum 201.18 standards.

- (b) The facility administrator must submit a written response within 30 days of receipt
 of the notice of intent to issue a revocation order with any information related to errors in
 the notice, ability to conform to minimum standards within a set period of time including
 but not limited to a written schedule for compliance, and any other information the facility
 administrator deems relevant for consideration by the commissioner. The written response
 must also include a written plan indicating how the correctional facility will ensure the
- 201.25 transfer of confined or incarcerated individuals and records if the correctional facility closes.
- 201.26 Plans must specify arrangements the correctional facility will make to transfer confined or
- 201.27 incarcerated individuals to another licensed correctional facility for continuation of detention.
- 201.28 (c) When revoking a license, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or
- 201.29 severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety,
- 201.30 or rights of persons confined or incarcerated in the correctional facility.
- 201.31 (d) If the facility administrator does not respond within 30 days to the notice of intent
- 201.32 to issue a revocation order or if the commissioner does not have assurance that satisfactory

- 202.1 progress toward substantial compliance with minimum standards will be made, the
- 202.2 commissioner shall issue a revocation order. The revocation order must be sent to the facility
- 202.3 administrator and the governing board of the facility, clearly stating:
- 202.4 (1) the specific minimum standards violated, noting the implicated rule or law;
- 202.5 (2) the findings that constitute a violation of minimum standards and the nature,
- 202.6 <u>chronicity, or severity of those violations;</u>
- 202.7 (3) the corrective action needed;
- 202.8 (4) any prior correction or conditional license orders issued to correct violations; and
- 202.9 (5) the date at which the license revocation shall take place.
- 202.10 A revocation order may authorize use until a certain date, not to exceed the duration of the
- 202.11 current license, unless a limited license is issued by the commissioner for purposes of
- 202.12 effectuating a facility closure and continued operation does not present an imminent risk
- 202.13 of life-threatening harm or is not likely to result in serious physical injury to the persons
- 202.14 <u>confined or incarcerated in the facility.</u>
- 202.15 (e) After revocation of the facility's licensure, that facility shall not be used until the
- 202.16 license is renewed. When the commissioner is satisfied that satisfactory progress toward
- 202.17 substantial compliance with minimum standards is being made, the commissioner may, at
- 202.18 the request of the facility administrator supported by a written schedule for compliance,
- 202.19 reinstate the license.
- 202.20 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to 202.21 read:
- 202.22 <u>Subd. 1c. Temporary license suspension.</u> The commissioner shall act immediately to 202.23 temporarily suspend a license issued under this chapter if:
- 202.24 (1) the correctional facility's failure to comply with applicable minimum standards or
- 202.25 the conditions in the correctional facility pose an imminent risk of life-threatening harm or
- 202.26 serious physical injury to persons confined or incarcerated in the facility, staff, law
- 202.27 enforcement, visitors, or the public; and
- 202.28 (i) if the imminent risk of life-threatening harm or serious physical injury cannot be
- 202.29 promptly corrected through a different type of order under this section; and
- 202.30 (ii) the correctional facility cannot or has not corrected the violation giving rise to the
- 202.31 imminent risk of life-threatening harm or serious physical injury; or

203.1	(2) while the correctional facility continues to operate pending due notice and opportunity
203.2	for written response to the commissioner's notice of intent to issue an order of revocation,
203.3	the commissioner identifies one or more subsequent violations of minimum standards which
203.4	may adversely affect the health or safety of persons confined or incarcerated in the facility,
203.5	staff, law enforcement, visitors, or the public.
203.6	A notice stating the reasons for the immediate suspension informing the facility
203.7	administrator must be delivered by personal service to the correctional facility administrator
203.8	and the governing board of the facility.
203.9	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to
203.10	read:
203.11	Subd. 1d. Public notice of restriction, revocation, or suspension. If the license of a
203.12	facility under this section is revoked or suspended, or use of the facility is restricted for any
203.13	reason under a conditional license order, the commissioner shall post the facility, the status
203.14	of the facility's license, and the reason for the restriction, revocation, or suspension publicly
203.15	and on the department's website.
203.16	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision
203.17	to read:
203.18	Subd. 1e. Reconsideration of orders; appeals. (a) If the facility administrator believes
203.19	the correction order, conditional license order, or revocation order is in error, the facility
203.20	administrator may ask the Department of Corrections to reconsider the parts of the order or
203.21	action that are alleged to be in error. The request for reconsideration must:
203.22	(1) be made in writing;
203.23	(2) be postmarked and sent to the commissioner no later than 30 calendar days after
203.24	receipt of the correction order, conditional license order, or revocation order;
203.25	(3) specify the parts of the order that are alleged to be in error;
203.26	(4) explain why the correction order, conditional license order, or revocation order is in
203.27	error; and
203.28	(5) include documentation to support the allegation of error.
203.29	The commissioner shall issue a disposition within 60 days of receipt of the facility
203.30	administrator's response to correction, conditional license, or revocation order violations.
203.31	A request for reconsideration does not stay any provisions or requirements of the order.

204.1	(b) The facility administrator may request reconsideration of an order immediately
204.2	suspending a license. The request for reconsideration of an order immediately suspending
204.3	a license must be made in writing and sent by certified mail, personal service, or other means
204.4	expressly stated in the commissioner's order. If mailed, the request for reconsideration must
204.5	be postmarked and sent to the commissioner no later than five business days after the facility
204.6	administrator receives notice that the license has been immediately suspended. If a request
204.7	is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner no later than five
204.8	business days after the facility administrator received the order. The request for
204.9	reconsideration must:
204.10	(1) specify the parts of the order that are alleged to be in error;
204.11	(2) explain why they are in error; and
204.12	(3) include documentation to support the allegation of error.
204.13	A facility administrator and the governing board of the facility shall discontinue operation
204.14	of the correctional facility upon receipt of the commissioner's order to immediately suspend
204.15	the license.
204.16	(c) Within five business days of receipt of the facility administrator's timely request for
204.17	reconsideration of a temporary immediate suspension, the commissioner shall review the
204.18	request for reconsideration. The scope of the review shall be limited solely to the issue of
204.19	whether the temporary immediate suspension order should remain in effect pending the
204.20	written response to commissioner's notice of intent to issue a revocation order.
204.21	The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration of correction, conditional
204.22	license, temporary immediate suspension, or revocation order is final and subject to appeal.
204.23	The facility administrator must request reconsideration as required by this section of any
204.24	correction, conditional license, temporary immediate suspension, or revocation order prior
204.25	to appeal.
204.26	No later than 60 days after the postmark date of the mailed notice of the commissioner's
204.27	decision on a request for reconsideration, the facility administrator may appeal the decision
204.28	by filing for a writ of certiorari with the court of appeals under section 606.01 and Minnesota
204.29	Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure, Rule 115.
204.30	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision
204.31	to read:
204.32	Subd. 1f. Report. By February 15, 2022, and by February 15 each year thereafter, the

204.33 commissioner of corrections shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the

205.1	house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public
205.2	safety and judiciary on the status of the implementation of the provisions in this section
205.3	over the prior year, particularly the health and safety of individuals confined or incarcerated
205.4	in a state correctional facility and a facility licensed by the commissioner. This report shall
205.5	include but not be limited to data regarding:
205.6	(1) the number of confined or incarcerated persons who died while committed to the
205.7	custody of the facility, regardless of whether the death occurred at the facility or after
205.8	removal from the facility for medical care stemming from an incident or need for medical
205.9	care at the correctional facility, including aggregated demographic information and the
205.10	correctional facilities' most recent inspection reports and any corrective orders or conditional
205.11	licenses issued;
205.12	(2) the aggregated results of the death reviews by facility as required by subdivision 8,
205.13	including any implemented policy changes;
205.14	(3) the number of uses of force by facility staff on persons confined or incarcerated in
205.15	the correctional facility, including but not limited to whether those uses of force were
205.16	determined to be justified by the facility, for which the commissioner of corrections shall
205.17	consult with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association and a representative from the Minnesota
205.18	Association of Community Corrections Act Counties who is responsible for the operations
205.19	of an adult correctional facility to develop criteria for reporting and define reportable uses
205.20	of force;
205.21	(4) the number of suicide attempts, number of people transported to a medical facility,
205.22	and number of people placed in segregation;
205.23	(5) the number of persons committed to the commissioner of corrections' custody that
205.24	the commissioner is housing in facilities licensed under subdivision 1, including but not
205.25	limited to:
205.26	(i) aggregated demographic data of those individuals;
205.27	(ii) length of time spent housed in a licensed correctional facility; and
205.28	(iii) any contracts the Department of Corrections has with correctional facilities to provide
205.29	housing; and
205.30	(6) summary data from state correctional facilities regarding complaints involving alleged
205.31	on-duty staff misconduct, including but not limited to the:
205.32	(i) total number of misconduct complaints and investigations;

KLL/BM

206.1	(ii) total number of complaints by each category of misconduct, as defined by the
206.2	commissioner of corrections;
206.3	(iii) number of allegations dismissed as unfounded;
206.4	(iv) number of allegations dismissed on grounds that the allegation was unsubstantiated;
206.5	and
206.6	(v) number of allegations substantiated, any resulting disciplinary action, and the nature
206.7	of the discipline.
206.8	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision
206.9	to read:
206.10	Subd. 1g. Biennial assessment and audit of security practices; state correctional
206.11	facilities. (a) Beginning in 2022, the commissioner shall have the department's inspection
206.12	unit conduct biennial security audits of each state correctional facility using the standards
206.13	promulgated by the state correctional facilities security audit group. The unit must prepare
206.14	a report for each assessment and audit and submit the report to the state correctional facilities
206.15	security audit group within 30 days of completion of the audit.
206.16	(b) Corrections and detention confidential data, as defined in section 13.85, subdivision
206.17	3, and nonpublic security information, as defined in section 13.37, subdivision 1, that is
206.18	contained in reports and records of the group maintain that classification, regardless of the
206.19	data's classification in the hands of the person who provided the data, and are not subject
206.20	to discovery or introduction into evidence in a civil or criminal action against the state
206.21	arising out of the matters the group is reviewing. Information, documents, and records
206.22	otherwise available from other sources are not immune from discovery or use in a civil or
206.23	criminal action solely because they were acquired during the group's audit. This section
206.24	does not limit a person who presented information to the group or who is a member of the
206.25	group from testifying about matters within the person's knowledge. However, in a civil or
206.26	criminal proceeding, a person may not be questioned about the person's good faith
206.27	presentation of information to the group or opinions formed by the person as a result of the
206.28	group's audits.

- 207.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 207.2 to read:
- 207.3 Subd. 1h. State correctional facilities security audit group. (a) Beginning in fiscal
- 207.4 year 2022, the commissioner shall form a state correctional facilities security audit group.
- 207.5 The group must consist of the following members:
- 207.6 (1) a department employee who is not assigned to the correctional institutions division,
- 207.7 appointed by the commissioner;
- 207.8 (2) the ombudsperson for corrections;
- 207.9 (3) an elected sheriff or designee nominated by the Minnesota Sheriffs Association and
 207.10 appointed by the commissioner;
- 207.11 (4) a physical plant safety consultant, appointed by the governor;
- 207.12 (5) a private security consultant with expertise in correctional facility security, appointed
 207.13 by the governor;
- 207.14 (6) two senators, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one appointed by the 207.15 minority leader; and
- 207.16 (7) two representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house and one appointed
- 207.17 by the minority leader of the house of representatives.
- 207.18 (b) By January 1, 2022, the group shall establish security audit standards for state
- 207.19 correctional facilities. In developing the standards, the group, or individual members of the
- 207.20 group, may gather information from state correctional facilities and state correctional staff
- 207.21 and inmates. The security audit group must periodically review the standards and modify
- 207.22 them as needed. The group must report the standards to the chairs and ranking minority
- 207.23 members of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public
- 207.24 safety policy and finance by February 15, 2022.
- 207.25 (c) The group shall review facility audit reports submitted to the group by the agency's
- 207.26 inspection unit. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the group is entitled to review the
- 207.27 full audit reports including nonpublic security information and corrections and detention
- 207.28 confidential data. Within 60 days of receiving an audit report from the department's inspection
- 207.29 <u>unit, the group must make recommendations to the commissioner. Within 45 days of</u>
- 207.30 receiving the group's recommendations, the commissioner must reply in writing to the
- 207.31 group's findings and recommendations. The commissioner's response must explain whether
- 207.32 the agency will implement the group's recommendations, the timeline for implementation

208.1	of the changes, and, if not, why the commissioner will not or cannot implement the group's
208.2	recommendations.
208.3	(d) Beginning in 2023, the commissioner must include a written aggregate of the group's
208.4	recommendations based on each security audit and assessment of a state correctional facility
208.5	and the commissioner's responses to the recommendations in the biennial report required
208.6	under section 241.016, subdivision 1. The commissioner shall not include corrections and
208.7	detention confidential data, as defined in section 13.85, subdivision 3, and nonpublic security
208.8	information, as defined in section 13.37, subdivision 1, in the commissioner's report to the
208.9	legislature.
208.10	(e) The commissioner shall provide staffing and administrative support to the group.
208.11	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision
208.12	to read:
208.13	Subd. 1i. Definition. As used in this section, "correctional facility" means any facility,
208.14	including a group home, having a residential component, the primary purpose of which is
208.15	to serve persons placed in facilities by a court, court services department, parole authority,
208.16	or other correctional agency having dispositional power over persons charged with, convicted,
208.17	or adjudicated guilty or delinquent.
208.18	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision
208.19	to read:
208.20	Subd. 7. Intake release of information. All correctional facilities that confine or
208.21	incarcerate adults are required at intake to provide each person an authorization form to
208.22	release information related to that person's health or mental health condition and when that
208.23	information should be shared. This release form shall allow the individual to select if the
208.24	individual wants to require the correctional facility to make attempts to contact the designated
208.25	person to facilitate the sharing of health condition information upon incapacitation or if the
208.26	individual becomes unable to communicate or direct the sharing of this information, so long
208.27	as contact information was provided and the incapacitated individual or individual who is
208.28	unable to communicate or direct the sharing of this information is not subject to a court
208.29	order prohibiting contact with the designated person.

209.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 209.2 to read:

209.3 Subd. 8. Death review teams. In the event a correctional facility receives information of the death of an individual while committed to the custody of the facility, regardless of 209.4 whether the death occurred at the facility or after removal from the facility for medical care 209.5 stemming from an incident or need for medical care at the correctional facility, the 209.6 administrator of the facility, minimally including a medical expert of the facility's choosing 209.7 209.8 who did not provide medical services to the individual, and, if appropriate, a mental health expert, shall review the circumstances of the death and assess for preventable mortality and 209.9 morbidity, including recommendations for policy or procedure change, within 90 days of 209.10 death. The investigating law enforcement agency may provide documentation, participate 209.11 in, or provide documentation and participate in the review in instances where criminal 209.12 charges were not brought. A preliminary autopsy report must be provided as part of the 209.13 review and any subsequent autopsy findings as available. The facility administrator shall 209.14 provide notice to the commissioner of corrections via the Department of Corrections detention 209.15 information system that the correctional facility has conducted a review and identify any 209.16 recommendations for changes in policy, procedure, or training that will be implemented. 209.17 Any report or other documentation created for purposes of a facility death review is 209.18 confidential as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 3. Nothing in this section relieves the 209.19 facility administrator from complying with the notice of death to the commissioner as 209.20

209.21 required by subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

209.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243.48, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. General searches. The commissioner of corrections, the state correctional 209.23 facilities audit group, the governor, lieutenant governor, members of the legislature, state 209.24 officers, and the ombudsperson for corrections may visit the inmates at pleasure, but no 209.25 other persons without permission of the chief executive officer of the facility, under rules 209.26 prescribed by the commissioner. A moderate fee may be required of visitors, other than 209.27 those allowed to visit at pleasure. All fees so collected shall be reported and remitted to the 209.28 commissioner of management and budget under rules as the commissioner may deem proper, 209.29 and when so remitted shall be placed to the credit of the general fund. 209.30

06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243.52, is amended to read: 210.1 243.52 DISCIPLINE; PREVENTION OF ESCAPE; DUTY TO REPORT. 210.2 Subdivision 1. Discipline and prevention of escape If any inmate of person confined 210.3 or incarcerated in any adult correctional facility either under the control of the commissioner 210.4 of corrections or licensed by the commissioner of corrections under section 241.021 assaults 210.5 any correctional officer or any other person or inmate, the assaulted person may use force 210.6 in defense of the assault, except as limited in this section. If any inmate confined or 210.7 210.8 incarcerated person attempts to damage the buildings or appurtenances, resists the lawful authority of any correctional officer, refuses to obey the correctional officer's reasonable 210.9 demands, or attempts to escape, the correctional officer may enforce obedience and discipline 210.10 or prevent escape by the use of force. If any inmate confined or incarcerated person resisting 210.11 lawful authority is wounded or killed by the use of force by the correctional officer or 210.12 assistants, that conduct is authorized under this section. 210.13 Subd. 2. Use of force. (a) Use of force must not be applied maliciously or sadistically 210.14 for the purpose of causing harm to a confined or incarcerated person. 210.15 210.16 (b) Unless the use of deadly force is justified in this section, a correctional officer working in an adult correctional facility either under the control of the commissioner of corrections 210.17 or licensed by the commissioner under section 241.021 may not use any of the following 210.18 restraints: 210.19 210.20 (1) a choke hold; 210.21 (2) a prone restraint; (3) tying all of a person's limbs together behind the person's back to render the person 210.22 immobile; or 210.23 (4) securing a person in any way that results in transporting the person face down in a 210.24 vehicle, except as directed by a medical professional. 210.25 (c) For the purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given 210.26 them: 210.27 210.28 (1) "choke hold" means a method by which a person applies sufficient pressure to a person to make breathing difficult or impossible, and includes but is not limited to any 210.29 pressure to the neck, throat, or windpipe that may prevent or hinder breathing or reduce 210.30 intake of air. Choke hold also means applying pressure to a person's neck on either side of 210.31 the windpipe, but not to the windpipe itself, to stop the flow of blood to the brain via the 210.32 carotid arteries; 210.33

06/27/21	
----------	--

211.1	(2) "prone restraint" means the use of manual restraint that places a person in a face-down
211.2	position; and
211.3	As used in this section, "use of force" means conduct which is defined by sections 609.06
211.4	to 609.066. (3) "deadly force" has the meaning given in section 609.066, subdivision 1.
211.5	(d) Use of deadly force is justified only if an objectively reasonable correctional officer
211.6	would believe, based on the totality of the circumstances known to the officer at the time
211.7	and without the benefit of hindsight, that deadly force is necessary:
211.8	(1) to protect the correctional officer or another from death or great bodily harm, provided
211.9	that the threat:
211.10	(i) can be articulated with specificity by the correctional officer;
211.11	(ii) is reasonably likely to occur absent action by the correctional officer; and
211.12	(iii) must be addressed through the use of deadly force without unreasonable delay; or
211.13	(2) to effect the capture or prevent the escape of a person when the officer reasonably
211.14	believes that the person will cause death or great bodily harm to another person under the
211.15	threat criteria in clause (1), unless immediately apprehended.
211.16	Subd. 3. Duty to report. (a) Regardless of tenure or rank, staff working in an adult
211.17	correctional facility either under the control of the commissioner of corrections or licensed
211.18	by the commissioner under section 241.021 who observe another employee engage in neglect
211.19	or use force that exceeds the degree of force permitted by law must report the incident in
211.20	writing as soon as practicable, but no later than 24 hours to the administrator of the
211.21	correctional facility that employs the reporting staff member.
211.22	(b) A staff member who fails to report neglect or excessive use of force within 24 hours
211.23	is subject to disciplinary action or sanction by the correctional facility that employs them.
211.24	Staff members shall suffer no reprisal for reporting another staff member engaged in
211.25	excessive use of force or neglect.
211.26	(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "neglect" means:
211.27	(1) the knowing failure or omission to supply a person confined or incarcerated in the
211.28	facility with care or services, including but not limited to food, clothing, health care, or
211.29	supervision that is reasonable and necessary to obtain or maintain the person's physical or
211.30	mental health or safety; or
211.31	(2) the absence or likelihood of absence of care or services, including but not limited to
211.32	food, clothing, health care, or supervision necessary to maintain the physical and mental

212.1 <u>health of the person that a reasonable person would deem essential for health, safety, or</u>
212.2 <u>comfort.</u>

212.3

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

212.5 Subd. 3. Powers and duties. All county probation officers serving a district court shall act under the orders of the court in reference to any person committed to their care by the 212.6 court, and in the performance of their duties shall have the general powers of a peace officer; 212.7and it shall be their duty to make such investigations with regard to any person as may be 212.8 required by the court before, during, or after the trial or hearing, and to furnish to the court 212.9 such information and assistance as may be required; to take charge of any person before, 212.10 during or after trial or hearing when so directed by the court, and to keep such records and 212.11 to make such reports to the court as the court may order. 212.12

All county probation officers serving a district court shall, in addition, provide probation and parole services to wards of the commissioner of corrections resident in the counties they serve, and shall act under the orders of said commissioner of corrections in reference to any ward committed to their care by the commissioner of corrections.

All probation officers serving a district court shall, under the direction of the authority 212.17 212.18 having power to appoint them, initiate programs for the welfare of persons coming within the jurisdiction of the court to prevent delinquency and crime and to rehabilitate within the 212.19 community persons who come within the jurisdiction of the court and are properly subject 212.20 to efforts to accomplish prevention and rehabilitation. They shall, under the direction of the 212.21 court, cooperate with all law enforcement agencies, schools, child welfare agencies of a 212.22 public or private character, and other groups concerned with the prevention of crime and 212.23 delinquency and the rehabilitation of persons convicted of crime and delinquency. 212.24

All probation officers serving a district court shall make monthly and annual reports to the commissioner of corrections, on forms furnished by the commissioner, containing such information on number of cases cited to the juvenile division of district court, offenses, adjudications, dispositions, and related matters as may be required by the commissioner of corrections. The reports shall include the information on individuals convicted as an extended invisidiation inversile identified in section 241 016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c) REVISOR

213.1	Sec. 20. [260B.008] USE OF RESTRAINTS.
213.2	(a) As used in this section, "restraints" means a mechanical or other device that constrains
213.3	the movement of a person's body or limbs.
213.4	(b) Restraints may not be used on a child appearing in court in a proceeding under this
213.5	chapter unless the court finds that:
213.6	(1) the use of restraints is necessary:
213.7	(i) to prevent physical harm to the child or another; or
213.8	(ii) to prevent the child from fleeing in situations in which the child presents a substantial
213.9	risk of flight from the courtroom; and
213.10	(2) there are no less restrictive alternatives to restraints that will prevent flight or physical
213.11	harm to the child or another, including but not limited to the presence of court personnel,
213.12	law enforcement officers, or bailiffs.
213.13	The finding in clause (1), item (i), may be based, among other things, on the child having
213.14	a history of disruptive courtroom behavior or behavior while in custody for any current or
213.15	prior offense that has placed others in potentially harmful situations, or presenting a
213.16	substantial risk of inflicting physical harm on the child or others as evidenced by past
213.17	behavior. The court may take into account the physical structure of the courthouse in
213.18	assessing the applicability of the above factors to the individual child.
213.19	(c) The court shall be provided the child's behavior history and shall provide the child
213.20	an opportunity to be heard in person or through counsel before ordering the use of restraints.
213.21	If restraints are ordered, the court shall make findings of fact in support of the order.
213.22	(d) By April 1, 2022, each judicial district shall develop a protocol to address how to
213.23	implement and comply with this section. In developing the protocol, a district shall consult
213.24	with law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, public defenders within the district, and any
213.25	other entity deemed necessary by the district's chief judge.
213.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) are effective April 15, 2022. Paragraph
213.27	(d) is effective the day following final enactment.
212 20	Sec. 21. [260B.1755] ALTERNATIVE TO ARREST OF CERTAIN JUVENILE
213.28	OFFENDERS AUTHORIZED.
213.29	VITENDENJAU HIVNILED,

- 213.30 (a) A peace officer who has probable cause to believe that a child is a petty offender or
- 213.31 delinquent child may refer the child to a program, including restorative programs, that the
- 213.32 law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the child deems appropriate.

214.1	(b) If a peace officer or law enforcement agency refers a child to a program under
214.2	paragraph (a), the peace officer or law enforcement agency may defer issuing a citation or
214.3	a notice to the child to appear in juvenile court, transmitting a report to the prosecuting
214.4	authority, or otherwise initiating a proceeding in juvenile court.
214.5	(c) After receiving notice that a child who was referred to a program under paragraph
214.6	(a) successfully completed that program, a peace officer or law enforcement agency shall
214.7	not issue a citation or a notice to the child to appear in juvenile court, transmit a report to
214.8	the prosecuting authority, or otherwise initiate a proceeding in juvenile court for the conduct
214.9	that formed the basis of the referral.
214.10	(d) This section does not apply to peace officers acting pursuant to an order or warrant

- 214.11 described in section 260B.175, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or other court order to take a
- 214.12 child into custody.

214.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 401.06, is amended to read:

214.14 401.06 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; STANDARDS OF ELIGIBILITY; 214.15 COMPLIANCE.

No county or group of counties electing to provide correctional services pursuant to 214.16 214.17 sections 401.01 to 401.16 shall be eligible for the subsidy herein provided unless and until its comprehensive plan shall have been approved by the commissioner. The commissioner 214.18 shall, pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, promulgate rules establishing standards 214.19 of eligibility for counties to receive funds under sections 401.01 to 401.16. To remain eligible 214.20 for subsidy counties shall maintain substantial compliance with the minimum standards 214.21 established pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16 and the policies and procedures governing 214.22 the services described in section 401.025 as prescribed by the commissioner. Counties shall 214.23 also be in substantial compliance with other correctional operating standards permitted by 214.24 law and established by the commissioner and shall report statistics required by the 214.25 commissioner including but not limited to information on individuals convicted as an 214.26 extended jurisdiction juvenile identified in section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). 214.27 The commissioner shall review annually the comprehensive plans submitted by participating 214.28 counties, including the facilities and programs operated under the plans. The commissioner 214.29 is hereby authorized to enter upon any facility operated under the plan, and inspect books 214.30 and records, for purposes of recommending needed changes or improvements. 214.31 When the commissioner shall determine that there are reasonable grounds to believe 214.32 that a county or group of counties is not in substantial compliance with minimum standards, 214.33

at least 30 days' notice shall be given the county or counties and a hearing conducted by

the commissioner to ascertain whether there is substantial compliance or satisfactory progress

being made toward compliance. The commissioner may suspend all or a portion of any

subsidy until the required standard of operation has been met.

215.4 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.14, is amended to read:

215.5 626.14 TIME AND MANNER OF SERVICE; NO-KNOCK SEARCH WARRANTS.

<u>Subdivision 1. Time.</u> A search warrant may be served only between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. unless the court determines on the basis of facts stated in the affidavits that a nighttime search outside those hours is necessary to prevent the loss, destruction, or removal of the objects of the search or to protect the searchers or the public. The search warrant shall state that it may be served only between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. unless a nighttime search outside those hours is authorized.

215.12 Subd. 2. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "no-knock search warrant" means

215.13 a search warrant authorizing peace officers to enter certain premises without first knocking

215.14 and announcing the officer's presence or purpose prior to entering the premises. No-knock

215.15 search warrants may also be referred to as dynamic entry warrants.

215.16 Subd. 3. Requirements for a no-knock search warrant. (a) No peace officer shall

215.17 seek a no-knock search warrant unless the warrant application includes at a minimum:

215.18 (1) all documentation and materials the issuing court requires;

215.19 (2) the information specified in paragraph (b); and

215.20 (3) a sworn affidavit as provided in section 626.08.

(b) Each warrant application seeking a no-knock entry must include, in detailed terms,
the following:

(1) why peace officers are seeking the use of a no-knock entry and are unable to detain

215.24 the suspect or search the residence through the use of a knock and announce warrant;

215.25 (2) what investigative activities have taken place to support issuance of the no-knock

215.26 search warrant, or why no investigative activity is needed or able to be performed; and

215.27 (3) whether the warrant can be effectively executed during daylight hours according to
215.28 subdivision 1.

215.29 (c) The chief law enforcement officer or designee and another superior officer must

215.30 review and approve each warrant application. The agency must document the approval of

215.31 both reviewing parties.

- 216.1 (d) A no-knock search warrant shall not be issued when the only crime alleged is
- 216.2 possession of a controlled substance unless there is probable cause to believe that the
- 216.3 <u>controlled substance is for other than personal use.</u>
- 216.4 Subd. 5. Reporting requirements regarding no-knock search warrants. (a) Law
- 216.5 enforcement agencies shall report to the commissioner of public safety regarding the use
- of no-knock search warrants in a format prescribed by the commissioner. An agency must
- 216.7 report the use of a no-knock search warrant to the commissioner no later than three months
- 216.8 after the date the warrant was issued. The report shall include the following information:
- 216.9 (1) the number of no-knock search warrants requested;
- 216.10 (2) the number of no-knock search warrants the court issued;
- 216.11 (3) the number of no-knock search warrants executed;
- 216.12 (4) the number of injuries and fatalities suffered, if any, by peace officers and by civilians
- 216.13 in the execution of no-knock search warrants; and
- 216.14 (5) any other information the commissioner requests.
- 216.15 (b) The commissioner of public safety shall report the information provided under
- 216.16 paragraph (a) annually to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
- 216.17 committees with jurisdiction over public safety.

216.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 1, 2021, and applies to warrants

- 216.19 requested on or after that date.
- 216.20 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.842, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Terms, compensation, removal, filling of vacancies. The membership terms, compensation, removal of members and the filling of vacancies for members appointed pursuant to section 626.841, clauses (1), (2), (4), and (5) on the board; the provision of staff, administrative services and office space; the review and processing of complaints; the setting of fees; and other matters relating to board operations shall be as provided in chapter 214.

216.26 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.8435, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Establishment and membership. The Ensuring Police Excellence and
Improving Community Relations Advisory Council is established under the Peace Officer
Standards and Training Board. The council consists of the following 15 members:

216.30 (1) the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, or a designee;

- 217.1 (2) the executive director of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, or a
 217.2 designee;
- (3) the executive director of the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, or adesignee;

217.5 (4) the executive director of the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, or a designee;

- (5) the executive director of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, or a designee;
- 217.7 (6) six community members, of which:

(i) four members shall represent the community-specific boards established under section
 217.9 257.0768 sections 15.0145 and 3.922, reflecting one appointment made by each board;

(ii) one member shall be a mental health advocate and shall be appointed by the Minnesotachapter of the National Alliance on Mental Illness; and

(iii) one member shall be an advocate for victims and shall be appointed by ViolenceFree Minnesota; and

(7) four members appointed by the legislature, of which one shall be appointed by the
speaker of the house, one by the house minority leader, one by the senate majority leader,
and one by the senate minority leader.

The appointing authorities shall make their appointments by September 15, 2020, and shall ensure geographical balance when making appointments.

217.19 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.845, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Peace officer data. The board, in consultation with the Minnesota Chiefs of
Police Association, Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, and Minnesota Police and Peace
Officers Association, shall create a central repository for peace officer data designated as
public data under chapter 13. The database shall be designed to receive, in real time, the
public data required to be submitted to the board by law enforcement agencies in section
626.8457, subdivision 3, paragraph (b). To ensure the anonymity of individuals, the database
must use encrypted data to track information transmitted on individual peace officers.

217.27 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.8457, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Report on alleged misconduct; database; report.** (a) A chief law enforcement officer shall report annually to the board summary data regarding the investigation and disposition of cases involving alleged misconduct, indicating the total number of

investigations, the total number by each subject matter, the number dismissed as unfounded,and the number dismissed on grounds that the allegation was unsubstantiated.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2021, a chief law enforcement officer, in real time, must submit

individual peace officer data classified as public <u>data on individuals</u>, as defined by section
13.02, subdivision 15, or private data on individuals, as defined by section 13.02, subdivision

218.6 12, and submitted using encrypted data that the board determines is necessary to:

218.7 (1) evaluate the effectiveness of statutorily required training;

(2) assist the Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community Relations Advisory
 Council in accomplishing the council's duties; and

218.10 (3) allow for the board, the Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community

218.11 Relations Advisory Council, and the board's complaint investigation committee to identify 218.12 patterns of behavior that suggest an officer is in crisis or is likely to violate a board-mandated

218.13 model policy.

(c) The reporting obligation in paragraph (b) is ongoing. A chief law enforcement officer
must update data within 30 days of final disposition of a complaint or investigation.

(d) Law enforcement agencies and political subdivisions are prohibited from entering
into a confidentiality agreement that would prevent disclosure of the data identified in
paragraph (b) to the board. Any such confidentiality agreement is void as to the requirements
of this section.

(e) By February 1 of each year, the board shall prepare a report that contains summary
data provided under paragraph (b). The board must post the report on its publicly accessible
website and provide a copy to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and
house of representatives committees and divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice
policy.

218.25 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.8469, is amended by adding a subdivision
218.26 to read:

218.27 Subd. 1b. Crisis intervention and mental illness crisis training; dementia and

218.28 Alzheimer's. The board, in consultation with stakeholders, including but not limited to the

218.29 Minnesota Crisis Intervention Team and the Alzheimer's Association, shall create a list of

218.30 approved entities and training courses primarily focused on issues associated with persons

218.31 with dementia and Alzheimer's disease. To receive the board's approval, a training course

218.32 <u>must:</u>

219.1	(1) have trainers with at least two years of direct care of a person with Alzheimer's
219.2	disease or dementia, crisis intervention training, and mental health experience;
219.3	(2) cover techniques for responding to and issues associated with persons with dementia
219.4	and Alzheimer's disease, including at a minimum wandering, driving, abuse, and neglect;
219.5	and
219.6	(3) meet the crisis intervention and mental illness crisis training standards established
219.7	in subdivision 1a.
219.8	Sec. 29. [626.8476] CONFIDENTIAL INFORMANTS; REQUIRED POLICY AND
219.9	TRAINING.
219.10	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in this
219.11	subdivision have the meanings given them.
219.12	(b) "Confidential informant" means a person who cooperates with a law enforcement
219.13	agency confidentially in order to protect the person or the agency's intelligence gathering
219.14	or investigative efforts and:
219.15	(1) seeks to avoid arrest or prosecution for a crime, mitigate punishment for a crime in
219.16	which a sentence will be or has been imposed, or receive a monetary or other benefit; and
219.17	(2) is able, by reason of the person's familiarity or close association with suspected
219.18	criminals, to:
219.19	(i) make a controlled buy or controlled sale of contraband, controlled substances, or
219.20	other items that are material to a criminal investigation;
219.21	(ii) supply regular or constant information about suspected or actual criminal activities
219.22	to a law enforcement agency; or
219.23	(iii) otherwise provide information important to ongoing criminal intelligence gathering
219.24	or criminal investigative efforts.
219.25	(c) "Controlled buy" means the purchase of contraband, controlled substances, or other
219.26	items that are material to a criminal investigation from a target offender that is initiated,
219.27	managed, overseen, or participated in by law enforcement personnel with the knowledge
219.28	of a confidential informant.
219.29	(d) "Controlled sale" means the sale of contraband, controlled substances, or other items
219.30	that are material to a criminal investigation to a target offender that is initiated, managed,
219.31	overseen, or participated in by law enforcement personnel with the knowledge of a
219.32	confidential informant.

220.2	results in visibly demonstrable manifestations of a disorder of thought or mood that impairs
220.3	a person's judgment or behavior.
220.4	(f) "Target offender" means the person suspected by law enforcement personnel to be
220.5	implicated in criminal acts by the activities of a confidential informant.
220.6	Subd. 2. Model policy. (a) By January 1, 2022, the board shall adopt a model policy
220.7	addressing the use of confidential informants by law enforcement. The model policy must
220.8	establish policies and procedures for the recruitment, control, and use of confidential
220.9	informants. In developing the policy, the board shall consult with representatives of the
220.10	Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, Minnesota Police Chiefs Association, Minnesota Sheriff's
220.11	Association, Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, Minnesota County Attorneys
220.12	Association, treatment centers for substance abuse, and mental health organizations. The
220.13	model policy must include, at a minimum, the following:
220.14	(1) information that the law enforcement agency shall maintain about each confidential
220.15	informant that must include, at a minimum, an emergency contact for the informant in the
220.16	event of the informant's physical or mental harm or death;
220.17	(2) a process to advise a confidential informant of conditions, restrictions, and procedures
220.18	associated with participating in the agency's investigative or intelligence gathering activities;
220.19	(3) procedures for compensation to an informant that is commensurate with the value
220.20	of the services and information provided and based on the level of the targeted offender,
220.21	the amount of any seizure, and the significance of contributions made by the informant;
220.22	(4) designated supervisory or command-level review and oversight in the use of a
220.23	confidential informant;
220.24	(5) limits or restrictions on off-duty association or social relationships by law enforcement
220.25	agency personnel with a confidential informant;
220.26	(6) limits or restrictions on the potential exclusion of an informant from engaging in a
220.27	controlled buy or sale of a controlled substance if the informant is known by the law
220.28	enforcement agency to: (i) be receiving in-patient or out-patient treatment administered by
220.29	a licensed service provider for substance abuse; (ii) be participating in a treatment-based
220.30	drug court program; or (iii) have experienced a drug overdose within the past year;
220.31	(7) exclusion of an informant under the age of 18 years from participating in a controlled
220.32	buy or sale of a controlled substance without the written consent of a parent or legal guardian,
220.33	except that the informant may provide confidential information to a law enforcement agency;

221.1	(8) consideration of an informant's diagnosis of mental illness, substance abuse, or
221.2	disability, and history of mental illness, substance abuse, or disability;
221.3	(9) guidelines for the law enforcement agency to consider if the agency decides to
221.4	establish a procedure to request an advocate from the county social services agency for an
221.5	informant if the informant is an addict in recovery or possesses a physical or mental infirmity
221.6	or other physical, mental, or emotional dysfunction that impairs the informant's ability to
221.7	understand instructions and make informed decisions, where the agency determines this
221.8	process does not place the informant in any danger;
221.9	(10) guidelines for the law enforcement agency to use to encourage prospective and
221.10	current confidential informants who are known to be substance abusers or to be at risk for
221.11	substance abuse to seek prevention or treatment services;
221.12	(11) reasonable protective measures for a confidential informant when law enforcement
221.13	knows or should have known of a risk or threat of harm to a person serving as a confidential
221.14	informant and the risk or threat of harm is a result of the informant's service to the law
221.15	enforcement agency;
221.16	(12) guidelines for the training and briefing of a confidential informant;
221.17	(13) reasonable procedures to help protect the identity of a confidential informant during
221.18	the time the person is acting as an informant;
221.19	(14) procedures to deactivate a confidential informant that maintain the safety and
221.20	anonymity of the informant;
221.21	(15) optional procedures that the law enforcement agency may adopt relating to
221.22	deactivated confidential informants to offer and provide assistance to them with physical,
221.23	mental, or emotional health services;
221.24	(16) a process to evaluate and report the criminal history and propensity for violence of
221.25	any target offenders; and
221.26	(17) guidelines for a written agreement between the confidential informant and the law
221.27	enforcement agency that take into consideration, at a minimum, an informant's physical or
221.28	mental infirmity or other physical, mental, or emotional dysfunction that impairs the
221.29	informant's ability to knowingly contract or otherwise protect the informant's self-interest.
221.30	(b) The board shall annually review and, as necessary, revise the model confidential
221.31	informant policy in collaboration with representatives from the organizations listed under
221.32	paragraph (a).

222.1	Subd. 3. Agency policies required. (a) The chief law enforcement officer of every state
222.2	and local law enforcement agency must establish and enforce a written policy governing
222.3	the use of confidential informants. The policy must be identical or, at a minimum,
222.4	substantially similar to the new or revised model policy adopted by the board under
222.5	subdivision 2.
222.6	(b) Every state and local law enforcement agency must certify annually to the board that
222.7	it has adopted a written policy in compliance with the board's model confidential informant
222.8	policy.
222.9	(c) The board shall assist the chief law enforcement officer of each state and local law
222.10	enforcement agency in developing and implementing confidential informant policies under
222.11	this subdivision.
222.12	Subd. 4. Required in-service training. The chief law enforcement officer of every state
222.13	and local law enforcement agency shall provide in-service training in the recruitment,
222.14	control, and use of confidential informants to every peace officer and part-time peace officer
222.15	employed by the agency who the chief law enforcement officer determines is involved in
222.16	working with confidential informants given the officer's responsibilities. The training shall
222.17	comply with learning objectives based on the policies and procedures of the model policy
222.18	developed and approved by the board.
222.19	Subd. 5. Compliance reviews. The board has the authority to inspect state and local
222.20	agency policies to ensure compliance with this section. The board may conduct the inspection
222.21	based upon a complaint it receives about a particular agency or through a random selection
222.22	process.
222.23	Subd. 6. Licensing sanctions; injunctive relief. The board may impose licensing
222.24	sanctions and seek injunctive relief under section 214.11 for failure to comply with the
222.25	requirements of this section.
222.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
222.27	Sec. 30. <u>TITLE.</u>
222.28	Section 29 shall be known as "Matthew's Law."
222.29	Sec. 31. <u>RULEMAKING AUTHORITY.</u>
222.30	The executive director of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board may adopt

222.31 rules to carry out the purposes of section 3.

223.1

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."

223.2 Delete the title and insert:

223.3

"A bill for an act

relating to public safety; modifying certain provisions relating to public safety, 223.4 courts, corrections, sexual offenders, crime victims, background checks, forfeiture, 223.5 223.6 law enforcement, human rights, and data practices; providing for task forces and working groups; requiring reports; providing for criminal penalties; appropriating 223.7 money for courts, public safety, sentencing guidelines, corrections, human rights, 223.8 Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board, Private Detective Board, 223.9 Guardian ad Litem Board, state auditor, Legislative Coordinating Commission, 223.10 Department of Natural Resources, Uniform Laws Commission, Board on Judicial 223.11 Standards, and Board of Public Defense; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, 223.12 sections 2.722, subdivision 1; 13.41, subdivision 3; 13.411, by adding a subdivision; 223.13 13.552, by adding a subdivision; 13.7931, by adding a subdivision; 13.824, 223.14 subdivision 6; 13.825, subdivision 9; 13.851, by adding a subdivision; 152.01, 223.15 subdivision 18; 169.99, subdivision 1c, by adding a subdivision; 169A.55, 223.16 subdivisions 2, 4; 169A.60, subdivisions 2, 3, 13; 169A.63, subdivisions 1, 7, 8, 223.17 9, 10, 13, by adding subdivisions; 171.29, subdivision 1; 171.30, subdivision 1; 223.18 223.19 171.306, subdivisions 2, 4; 214.10, subdivision 11; 241.016; 241.021, subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions; 243.166, subdivision 1b; 243.48, subdivision 1; 243.52; 223.20 244.19, subdivision 3; 253B.18, subdivision 5a; 253D.14, subdivisions 2, 3, by 223.21 adding a subdivision; 299A.52, subdivision 2; 299C.60; 299C.61, subdivisions 2, 223.22 4, by adding subdivisions; 299C.62, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 6; 299C.63; 299C.72; 223.23 299C.80, subdivision 3; 340A.504, subdivision 7; 357.021, subdivisions 1a, 6; 223.24 363A.02, subdivision 1; 363A.08, subdivision 6; 363A.28, subdivisions 1, 6; 223.25 363A.31, subdivision 2; 363A.33, subdivision 3; 363A.36, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 223.26 by adding a subdivision; 363A.44, subdivisions 2, 4, 9; 401.06; 403.02, subdivision 223.27 16; 403.03, subdivision 1; 403.07, subdivision 2; 403.11, subdivision 1; 403.21, 223.28 subdivisions 3, 12; 403.36, subdivision 1; 477A.03, subdivision 2b; 524.2-503; 223.29 609.101, subdivision 5; 609.1095, subdivision 1; 609.131, subdivision 2; 609.135, 223.30 subdivision 2; 609.221; 609.2325; 609.322, subdivisions 1, 1a; 609.324, 223.31 subdivisions 1, 2, 4; 609.3241; 609.341, subdivisions 3, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, by adding 223.32 subdivisions; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451; 609.3455; 609.3459; 223.33 609.352, subdivision 4; 609.531, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.5311, 223.34 subdivisions 2, 3, 4; 609.5314, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, by adding a subdivision; 223.35 609.5315, subdivisions 5, 5b, 6; 609.605, subdivision 2; 609.66, subdivision 1e; 223.36 611.21; 611.27, subdivisions 9, 10, 11, 13, 15; 611A.039, subdivision 1; 611A.06, 223.37 subdivision 1; 617.246, subdivisions 2, 3, 4; 617.247, subdivisions 3, 4; 626.14; 223.38 626.842, subdivision 2; 626.8435, subdivision 1; 626.845, subdivision 3; 626.8457, 223.39 subdivision 3; 626.8469, by adding a subdivision; 628.26; Laws 2016, chapter 223.40 189, article 4, section 7; Laws 2017, chapter 95, article 1, section 11, subdivision 223.41 7; Laws 2020, Seventh Special Session chapter 2, article 2, section 4; Laws 2021, 223.42 First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, sections 1; 2; 3; 4; 5; Laws 2021, First 223.43 Special Session chapter 5, article 3, sections 1; 2; 3; 4; 5; proposing coding for 223.44 new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 3; 84; 260B; 299A; 299F; 326B; 604A; 223.45 609; 611A; 626; 634; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 253D.14, 223.46 subdivision 4; 609.324, subdivision 3; 609.5317; 611A.0385." 223.47