
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 888, the delete everything amendment​

1.2 (H0888DE1), as follows:​

1.3 Page 35, after line 10, insert:​

1.4 "Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.82, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

1.5 Subd. 3. Fees for registration. (a) The fee for registration of each snowmobile, other​

1.6 than those used for an agricultural purpose, as defined in section 84.92, subdivision 1c,​

1.7 those registered by a dealer or manufacturer pursuant to paragraph (b) or (c), or those​

1.8 registered under subdivision 2a shall be as follows: $75 $105 for three years and $10 for a​

1.9 duplicate or transfer.​

1.10 (b) The total registration fee for all snowmobiles owned by a dealer and operated for​

1.11 demonstration or testing purposes shall be $50 per year.​

1.12 (c) The total registration fee for all snowmobiles owned by a manufacturer and operated​

1.13 for research, testing, experimentation, or demonstration purposes shall be $150 per year.​

1.14 Dealer and manufacturer registrations are not transferable.​

1.15 (d) The onetime fee for registration of an exempt snowmobile under subdivision 6a is​

1.16 $6.​

1.17 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.8205, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

1.18 Subdivision 1. Sticker required; fee. (a) A snowmobile that is not registered in the state​

1.19 under section 84.82, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), or that is registered by a manufacturer or​

1.20 dealer under section 84.82, subdivision 3, paragraph (b) or (c), may not be operated on a​

1.21 state or grant-in-aid snowmobile trail unless a snowmobile state trail sticker is affixed to​

1.22 the snowmobile.​

1.23 (b) The commissioner of natural resources shall issue a sticker upon application and​

1.24 payment of a fee. The fee is:​

1​ Sec. 10.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JT/JF H0888A12​03/23/17 12:28 PM ​



2.1 (1) $35 $50 for a one-year snowmobile state trail sticker purchased by an individual;​

2.2 and​

2.3 (2) $15 for a one-year snowmobile state trail sticker purchased by a dealer or​

2.4 manufacturer.​

2.5 (c) In addition to other penalties prescribed by law, an individual in violation of this​

2.6 subdivision must purchase an annual state trail sticker for a fee of $70. The sticker is valid​

2.7 from November 1 through June 30. Fees collected under this section, except for the issuing​

2.8 fee for licensing agents, shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the snowmobile​

2.9 trails and enforcement account in the natural resources fund and, except for the electronic​

2.10 licensing system commission established by the commissioner under section 84.027,​

2.11 subdivision 15, must be used for grants-in-aid, trail maintenance, grooming, and easement​

2.12 acquisition.​

2.13 (d) A state trail sticker is not required under this section for:​

2.14 (1) a snowmobile that is owned and used by the United States, an Indian tribal​

2.15 government, another state, or a political subdivision thereof that is exempt from registration​

2.16 under section 84.82, subdivision 6;​

2.17 (2) a collector snowmobile that is operated as provided in a special permit issued for the​

2.18 collector snowmobile under section 84.82, subdivision 7a;​

2.19 (3) a person operating a snowmobile only on the portion of a trail that is owned by the​

2.20 person or the person's spouse, child, or parent; or​

2.21 (4) a snowmobile while being used to groom a state or grant-in-aid trail.​

2.22 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.83, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

2.23 Subd. 3. Purposes for the account; allocation. (a) The money deposited in the account​

2.24 and interest earned on that money may be expended only as appropriated by law for the​

2.25 following purposes:​

2.26 (1) for a grant-in-aid program to counties and municipalities for construction and​

2.27 maintenance of snowmobile trails, including maintenance of trails on lands and waters of​

2.28 Voyageurs National Park; on Lake of the Woods; on Rainy Lake; on the following lakes in​

2.29 St. Louis County: Burntside, Crane, Little Long, Mud, Pelican, Shagawa, and Vermilion;​

2.30 and on the following lakes in Cook County: Devil Track and Hungry Jack;​

2.31 (2) for acquisition, development, and maintenance of state recreational snowmobile​

2.32 trails;​
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3.1 (3) for snowmobile safety programs; and​

3.2 (4) for the administration and enforcement of sections 84.81 to 84.91 and appropriated​

3.3 grants to local law enforcement agencies.​

3.4 (b) No less than 60 75 percent of revenue collected from snowmobile registration and​

3.5 snowmobile state trail sticker fees must be expended for grants-in-aid to develop, maintain,​

3.6 and groom trails and acquire easements."​

3.7 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

3.8 Amend the title accordingly​
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