1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 3191 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 145.4716, subdivision 2, is amended to
1.4	read:
1.5	Subd. 2. Duties of director. The director of child sex trafficking prevention is
1.6	responsible for the following:
1.7	(1) developing and providing comprehensive training on sexual exploitation of
1.8	youth for social service professionals, medical professionals, public health workers, and
1.9	criminal justice professionals;
1.10	(2) collecting, organizing, maintaining, and disseminating information on sexual
1.11	exploitation and services across the state, including maintaining a list of resources on the
1.12	Department of Health Web site;
1.13	(3) monitoring and applying for federal funding for antitrafficking efforts that may
1.14	benefit victims in the state;
1.15	(4) managing grant programs established under sections $145.4716$ to $145.4718_2$
1.16	and 609.3241, paragraph (c), clause (3);
1.17	(5) managing the request for proposals for grants for comprehensive services,
1.18	including trauma-informed, culturally specific services;
1.19	(6) identifying best practices in serving sexually exploited youth, as defined in
1.20	section 260C.007, subdivision 31;
1.21	(7) providing oversight of and technical support to regional navigators pursuant to
1.22	section 145.4717;
1.23	(8) conducting a comprehensive evaluation of the statewide program for safe harbor
1.24	of sexually exploited youth; and
1.25	(9) developing a policy consistent with the requirements of chapter 13 for sharing
1.26	data related to sexually exploited youth, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 31,
1.27	among regional navigators and community-based advocates.

1

- 2.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 145.4716, is amended by adding a subdivision
  2.2 to read:
- 2.3 <u>Subd. 3.</u> Youth eligible for services. Youth 24 years of age or younger shall be
- 2.4 <u>eligible for all services, support, and programs provided under this section and section</u>
- 2.5 <u>145.4717</u>, and all shelter, housing beds, and services provided by the commissioner of
- 2.6 human services to sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation.

2.7 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 609.3241, is amended to read:

2.8

## 609.3241 PENALTY ASSESSMENT AUTHORIZED.

(a) When a court sentences an adult convicted of violating section 609.322 or
609.324, while acting other than as a prostitute, the court shall impose an assessment of
not less than \$500 and not more than \$750 for a violation of section 609.324, subdivision
2, or a misdemeanor violation of section 609.324, subdivision 3; otherwise the court shall
impose an assessment of not less than \$750 and not more than \$1,000. The assessment
shall be distributed as provided in paragraph (c) and is in addition to the surcharge
required by section 357.021, subdivision 6.

(b) The court may not waive payment of the minimum assessment required by
this section. If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court
finds on the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of
the assessment would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's
immediate family, the court may reduce the amount of the minimum assessment to not
less than \$100. The court also may authorize payment of the assessment in installments.

2.22

(c) The assessment collected under paragraph (a) must be distributed as follows:

(1) 40 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the political subdivision that
employs the arresting officer for use in enforcement, training, and education activities
related to combating sexual exploitation of youth, or if the arresting officer is an employee
of the state, this portion shall be forwarded to the commissioner of public safety for those
purposes identified in clause (3);

2.28 (2) 20 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the prosecuting agency that
handled the case for use in training and education activities relating to combating sexual
exploitation activities of youth; and

(3) 40 percent of the assessment must be forwarded to the commissioner of public
safety health to be deposited in the safe harbor for youth account in the special revenue
fund and are appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services
organizations that provide services to sexually exploited youth, as defined in section
260C.007, subdivision 31.

2

3.1 (d) A safe harbor for youth account is established as a special account in the state3.2 treasury.

3.3	Sec. 4. APPROPRIATIONS; SEXUALLY EXPLOITED YOUTH.
3.4	Subdivision 1. Commissioner of human services. (a) \$2,000,000 in fiscal year
3.5	2017 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of human services for
3.6	emergency shelter and transitional and long-term housing beds for sexually exploited
3.7	youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation.
3.8	(b) \$500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is appropriated from the general fund to the
3.9	commissioner of human services for statewide youth outreach workers connecting
3.10	sexually exploited youth and youth at risk of sexual exploitation with shelter and services.
3.11	(c) Youth 24 years of age or younger are eligible for shelter, housing beds, and
3.12	services under this subdivision.
3.13	Subd. 2. Commissioner of health. (a) \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 is appropriated
3.14	from the general fund to the commissioner of health for trauma-informed, culturally
3.15	specific services for exploited youth.
3.16	(b) \$800,000 in fiscal year 2017 is appropriated from the general fund to the
3.17	commissioner of health for:
3.18	(1) statewide training of frontline personnel who encounter sexually exploited youth
3.19	through their work;
3.20	(2) protocol implementation, which includes providing technical assistance in setting
3.21	up best practice-based systems for effectively identifying, interacting with, and referring
3.22	sexually exploited youth to appropriate resources; and
3.23	(3) program evaluation.
3.24	(c) Youth 24 years of age or younger are eligible for services under this subdivision."
3.25	Amend the title accordingly