1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 1711 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"ARTICLE 1
1.4	GENERAL EDUCATION
1.5	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120A.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.6	Subd. 2. Education, residence, and transportation of homeless. (a) Notwithstanding
1.7	subdivision 1, a district must not deny free admission to a homeless pupil solely because
1.8	the district cannot determine that the pupil is a resident of the district.
1.9	(b) The school district of residence for a homeless pupil shall be the school district in
1.10	which the parent or legal guardian resides, unless: (1) parental rights have been terminated
1.11	by court order; (2) the parent or guardian is not living within the state; or (3) the parent or
1.12	guardian having legal custody of the child is an inmate of a Minnesota correctional facility
1.13	or is a resident of a halfway house under the supervision of the commissioner of corrections.
1.14	If any of clauses (1) to (3) apply, the school district of residence shall be the school district
1.15	in which the pupil resided when the qualifying event occurred. If no other district of residence
1.16	can be established, the school district of residence shall be the school district in which the
1.17	pupil currently resides. If there is a dispute between school districts regarding residency,
1.18	the district of residence is the district designated by the commissioner of education.
1.19	(c) Except as provided in paragraph (d), the serving district is responsible for transporting
1.20	a homeless pupil to and from the pupil's district of residence. The district may transport
1.21	from a permanent home in another district but only through the end of the academic school

- 1.22 year. When a pupil is enrolled in a charter school, the district or school that provides1.23 transportation for other pupils enrolled in the charter school is responsible for providing
- transportation for other pupils enrolled in the charter school is responsible for providing
 transportation. When a homeless student with or without an individualized education program

- attends a public school other than an independent or special school district or charter school, 2.1 the district of residence is responsible for transportation. 2.2 (d) For a homeless pupil with an individualized education plan enrolled in a program 2.3 authorized by an intermediate school district, special education cooperative, service 2.4 cooperative, or education district, the serving district at the time of the pupil's enrollment 2.5 in the program remains responsible for transporting that pupil for the remainder of the school 2.6 year, unless the initial serving district and the current serving district mutually agree that 2.7 the current serving district is responsible for transporting the homeless pupil. 2.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019. 2.9 Sec. 2. [120A.21] ENROLLMENT OF A STUDENT IN FOSTER CARE. 2.10 A student who is placed in foster care must be enrolled in school within seven school 2.11 days of their placement in the foster home. According to section 124D.08, subdivision 2b, 2.12 if the student's foster home is in another district, the student may remain enrolled in the 2.13 prior district. 2.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120A.35, is amended to read: 2.15 120A.35 ABSENCE FROM SCHOOL FOR RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCE. 2.16 Reasonable efforts must be made by a school district to accommodate any pupil who 2.17 wishes to be excused from a curricular activity for a religious observance. A school board 2.18 must provide annual notice to parents of the school district's policy relating to a pupil's 2.19 absence from school for religious observance. 2.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later. 2.21 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120A.40, is amended to read: 2.22 120A.40 SCHOOL CALENDAR. 2.23 (a) Except for learning programs during summer, flexible learning year programs 2.24 authorized under sections 124D.12 to 124D.127, and learning year programs under section 2.25 124D.128, a district must not commence an elementary or secondary school year before 2.26 Labor Day, except as provided under paragraph (b). Days devoted to teachers' workshops 2.27 may be held before Labor Day. Districts that enter into cooperative agreements are 2.28 encouraged to adopt similar school calendars. 2.29
- (b) A district may begin the school year on any day before Labor Day: 2.30

3.1	(1) to accommodate a construction or remodeling project of \$400,000 or more affecting
3.2	a district school facility;
3.3	(2) if the district has an agreement under section 123A.30, 123A.32, or 123A.35 with a
3.4	district that qualifies under clause (1); or
3.5	(3) if the district agrees to the same schedule with a school district in an adjoining state.
3.6	(c) A school board may consider the community's religious observance when adopting
3.7	an annual school calendar.
3.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.
3.9	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123A.64, is amended to read:
3.10	123A.64 DUTY TO MAINTAIN ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY SCHOOLS.
3.11	Each district must maintain classified elementary and secondary schools, grades 1
3.12	kindergarten through grade 12, unless the district is exempt according to section 123A.61
3.13	or 123A.62, has made an agreement with another district or districts as provided in sections
3.14	123A.30, 123A.32, or sections 123A.35 to 123A.43, or 123A.17, subdivision 7, has received
3.15	a grant under sections 123A.441 to 123A.445, or has formed a cooperative under section
3.16	123A.482. A district that has an agreement according to sections 123A.35 to 123A.43 or
3.17	123A.32 must operate a school with the number of grades required by those sections. A
3.18	district that has an agreement according to section 123A.30 or 123A.17, subdivision 7, or
3.19	has received a grant under sections 123A.441 to 123A.445 must operate a school for the
3.20	grades not included in the agreement, but not fewer than three grades.
3.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later.

3.22 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123B.143, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

3.23 Subdivision 1. Contract; duties. (a) All districts maintaining a classified secondary
3.24 school must employ a superintendent who shall be must serve as an ex officio nonvoting
3.25 member of the school board. The authority for selection and employment of a superintendent
3.26 must be vested in the board in all cases.

3.27 (b) An individual employed by a board as a superintendent shall must have an initial
3.28 employment contract for a period of time no longer than three years from the date of
3.29 employment. Any subsequent employment contract must not exceed a period of three years.
3.30 A board, at its discretion, may or may not renew an employment contract. A board must
3.31 not, by action or inaction, extend the duration of an existing employment contract. Beginning

4.1 365 days prior to the expiration date of an existing employment contract, a board may
4.2 negotiate and enter into a subsequent employment contract to take effect upon the expiration
4.3 of the existing contract. A subsequent contract must be contingent upon the employee
4.4 completing the terms of an existing contract. If a contract between a board and a
4.5 superintendent is terminated prior to the date specified in the contract, the board may not
4.6 enter into another superintendent contract with that same individual that has a term that
4.7 extends beyond the date specified in the terminated contract.

4.8 (c) A board may terminate a superintendent during the term of an employment contract 4.9 for any of the grounds specified in section 122A.40, subdivision 9 or 13. A superintendent 4.10 shall <u>must</u> not rely upon an employment contract with a board to assert any other continuing 4.11 contract rights in the position of superintendent under section 122A.40. Notwithstanding 4.12 the provisions of sections 122A.40, subdivision 10 or 11, 123A.32, 123A.75, or any other 4.13 law to the contrary, no individual shall have has a right to employment as a superintendent 4.14 based on order of employment in any district.

4.15 (d) If two or more districts enter into an agreement for the purchase or sharing of the
4.16 services of a superintendent, the contracting districts have the absolute right to select one
4.17 of the individuals employed to serve as superintendent in one of the contracting districts
4.18 and no individual has a right to employment as the superintendent to provide all or part of
4.19 the services based on order of employment in a contracting district.

4.20 (e) The superintendent of a district shall must perform the following:

4.21 (1) visit and supervise the schools in the district, report and make recommendations
4.22 about their condition when advisable or on request by the board;

4.23 (2) recommend to the board employment and dismissal of teachers;

4.24 (3) annually evaluate each school principal assigned responsibility for supervising a
4.25 school building within the district, consistent with section 123B.147, subdivision 3, paragraph
4.26 (b);

4.27 (4) superintend school grading practices and examinations for promotions;

- 4.28 (5) make reports required by the commissioner; and
- 4.29 (6) perform other duties prescribed by the board.

4.30 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123B.41, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

4.31 Subd. 2. **Textbook.** (a) "Textbook" means any book or book substitute, including

4.32 electronic books as well as other printed materials delivered electronically, which a pupil

uses as a text or text substitute in a particular class or program in the school regularly 5.1 attended and a copy of which is expected to be available for the individual use of each pupil 5.2 in this class or program. Textbook includes an online book with an annual subscription cost. 5.3 Textbook includes a teacher's edition, teacher's guide, or other materials that accompany a 5.4 textbook that a pupil uses when the teacher's edition, teacher's guide, or other teacher 5.5 materials are required to be purchased with textbooks for student use. 5.6 (b) For purposes of calculating the annual nonpublic pupil aid entitlement for textbooks, 5.7 the term shall be limited to books, workbooks, or manuals, whether bound or in loose-leaf 5.8 form, as well as electronic books and other printed materials delivered electronically, 5.9 intended for use as a principal source of study material for a given class or a group of 5.10 students. 5.11 (c) For purposes of sections 123B.40 to 123B.48, the terms "textbook" and "software 5.12 or other educational technology" include only such secular, neutral, and nonideological 5.13 materials as are available, used by, or of benefit to Minnesota public school pupils. 5.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 5.15 5.16 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123B.41, subdivision 5, is amended to read: Subd. 5. Individualized instructional or cooperative learning materials. (a) 5.17 "Individualized instructional or cooperative learning materials" means educational materials 5.18 which: 5.19 (a) (1) are designed primarily for individual pupil use or use by pupils in a cooperative 5.20 learning group in a particular class or program in the school the pupil regularly attends, 5.21 including teacher materials that accompany materials that a pupil uses; 5.22 (b) (2) are secular, neutral, nonideological and not capable of diversion for religious 5.23 use; and 5.24 (c) (3) are available, used by, or of benefit to Minnesota public school pupils. 5.25 (b) Subject to the requirements in clauses (a), (b), and (c) paragraph (a), "individualized 5.26 instructional or cooperative learning materials" include, but are not limited to, the following 5.27 if they do not fall within the definition of "textbook" in subdivision 2: published materials; 5.28 5.29 periodicals; documents; pamphlets; photographs; reproductions; pictorial or graphic works; prerecorded video programs; prerecorded tapes, cassettes and other sound recordings; 5.30 manipulative materials; desk charts; games; study prints and pictures; desk maps; models; 5.31

5.32 learning kits; blocks or cubes; flash cards; individualized multimedia systems; prepared

6.1

instructional computer software programs; choral and band sheet music; electronic books and other printed materials delivered electronically; and CD-Rom. 6.2

(c) "Individualized instructional or cooperative learning materials" do not include 6.3 instructional equipment, instructional hardware, or ordinary daily consumable classroom 6.4 supplies. 6.5

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 6.6

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123B.42, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 6.7 Subd. 3. Cost; limitation. (a) The cost per pupil of the textbooks, individualized 6.8 instructional or cooperative learning materials, software or other educational technology, 6.9 and standardized tests provided for in this section for each school year must not exceed the 6.10 statewide average expenditure per pupil, adjusted pursuant to elause paragraph (b), by the 6.11 Minnesota public elementary and secondary schools for textbooks, individualized 6.12 instructional materials and standardized tests as computed and established by the department 6.13 by February 1 of the preceding school year from the most recent public school year data 6.14 then available. 6.15

(b) The cost computed in elause paragraph (a) shall be increased by an inflation 6.16 adjustment equal to the percent of increase in the formula allowance, pursuant to section 6.17 6.18 126C.10, subdivision 2, from the second preceding school year to the current school year. Notwithstanding the amount of the formula allowance for fiscal years 2015 and 2016 in 6.19 section 126C.10, subdivision 2, the commissioner shall use the amount of the formula 6.20 allowance for the current year minus \$414 in determining the inflation adjustment for fiscal 6.21 years 2015 and 2016. 6.22

(c) The commissioner shall allot to the districts or intermediary service areas the total 6.23 cost for each school year of providing or loaning the textbooks, individualized instructional 6.24 or cooperative learning materials, software or other educational technology, and standardized 6.25 tests for the pupils in each nonpublic school. The allotment shall not exceed the product of 6.26 the statewide average expenditure per pupil, according to elause paragraph (a), adjusted 6.27 pursuant to elause paragraph (b), multiplied by the number of nonpublic school pupils who 6.28 make requests pursuant to this section and who are enrolled as of September 15 of the current 6.29 6.30 school year.

7.1

Subd. 4. Board control of extracurricular activities. (a) The board may must take
charge of and control all extracurricular activities of the teachers and children of the public
schools in the district. Extracurricular activities means all direct and personal services for
pupils for their enjoyment that are managed and operated under the guidance of an adult or
staff member. The board shall allow all resident pupils receiving instruction in a home
school as defined in section 123B.36, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), to be eligible to fully
participate in extracurricular activities on the same basis as public school students.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123B.49, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

7.9 (b) Extracurricular activities have all of the following characteristics:

7.10 (1) they are not offered for school credit nor required for graduation;

7.11 (2) they are generally conducted outside school hours, or if partly during school hours,
7.12 at times agreed by the participants, and approved by school authorities;

(3) the content of the activities is determined primarily by the pupil participants underthe guidance of a staff member or other adult.

(c) If the board does not take charge of and control extracurricular activities, these 7.15 activities shall be self-sustaining with all expenses, except direct salary costs and indirect 7.16 costs of the use of school facilities, met by dues, admissions, or other student fund-raising 7.17 events. The general fund must reflect only those salaries directly related to and readily 7.18 identified with the activity and paid by public funds. Other revenues and expenditures for 7.19 extra curricular activities must be recorded according to the Manual for Activity Fund 7.20 Accounting. Extracurricular activities not under board control must have an annual financial 7.21 audit and must also be audited annually for compliance with this section. 7.22

(d) If the board takes charge of and controls extracurricular activities, (c) Any or all
costs of these activities may be provided from school revenues and all revenues and
expenditures for these activities shall be recorded in the same manner as other revenues and
expenditures of the district.

(e) If the board takes charge of and controls extracurricular activities, (d) The teachers
or pupils in the district must not participate in such activity, nor shall the school name or
any allied name be used in connection therewith, except by consent and direction of the
board.

(e) A school district must reserve revenue raised for extracurricular activities and spend
the revenue only for extracurricular activities.

8.1

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 126C.126, is amended to read:

8.2 126C.126 USE OF GENERAL EDUCATION REVENUE FOR ALL-DAY 8.3 KINDERGARTEN AND PREKINDERGARTEN.

A school district may spend general education revenue on extended time kindergarten and prekindergarten programs. At the school board's discretion, the district may use revenue generated by the all-day kindergarten pupil count under section 126C.05, subdivision 1,

8.7 paragraph (d), to meet the needs of three- and four-year-olds in the district. A school district

8.8 may not use these funds on programs for three- and four-year-old children while maintaining

- 8.9 **a fee-based all-day kindergarten program.**
- 8.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later.

8.11 Sec. 12. [127A.20] EVIDENCE-BASED EDUCATION GRANTS.

8.12 Subdivision 1. Purpose and applicability. The purpose of this section is to create a

8.13 process to describe, measure, and report on the effectiveness of any prekindergarten through

8.14 grade 12 grant programs funded in whole or in part through funds appropriated by the

8.15 legislature to the commissioner of education for grants to organizations. The evidence-based

evaluation required by this section applies to all grants awarded by the commissioner of

education on or after July 1, 2019.

8.18 Subd. 2. Goals. Each applicant for a grant awarded by the commissioner of education
8.19 must include in the grant application a statement of the goals of the grant. To the extent
8.20 practicable, the goals must be aligned to the state of Minnesota's world's best workforce

8.21 and the federally required Every Student Succeeds Act accountability systems.

8.22 <u>Subd. 3.</u> Strategies and data. Each applicant must include in the grant application a
8.23 description of the strategies that will be used to meet the goals specified in the application.

description of the strategies that will be used to meet the gould specified in the appreation

8.24 The applicant must also include a plan to collect data to measure the effectiveness of the

8.25 strategies outlined in the grant application.

Subd. 4. Reporting. Within 180 days of the end of the grant period, each grant recipient
must compile a report that describes the data that was collected and evaluate the effectiveness
of the strategies. The evidence-based report may identify or propose alternative strategies
based on the results of the data. The report must be submitted to the commissioner of
education and to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
with jurisdiction over prekindergarten through grade 12 education. The report must be filed

8.32 with the Legislative Reference Library according to section 3.195.

Subd. 5. Grant defined. For purposes of this section, a grant means money appropriated
from the state general fund to the commissioner of education for distribution to the grant
recipients.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
Sec. 13. SCHOOL START DATE FOR THE 2020-2021 AND 2021-2022 SCHOOL
YEARS ONLY.
Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 120A.40, or any other law to the contrary,
for the 2020-2021 school year only, school districts may begin the school year on August
31, and for the 2021-2022 school year only, school districts may begin the school year on
August 30.
Sec. 14. REPEALER.
Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 127A.14, is repealed.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
ARTICLE 2
EDUCATION EXCELLENCE
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120A.22, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
Subd. 5. Ages and terms. (a) Every child between seven six and 17 years of age must
receive instruction unless the child has graduated. Every child under the age of seven six
who is enrolled in a half-day kindergarten, or a full-day kindergarten program on alternate
days, or other kindergarten programs shall must receive instruction for the hours established
for that program. Except as provided in subdivision 6, a parent may withdraw a child under
the age of seven six from enrollment at any time.
(b) A school district by annual board action may require children subject to this
subdivision to receive instruction in summer school. A district that acts to require children
to receive instruction in summer school shall must establish at the time of its action the
criteria for determining which children must receive instruction.
(c) A pupil 16 years of age or older who meets the criteria of section 124D.68, subdivision
(c) A pupil 16 years of age or older who meets the criteria of section 124D.68, subdivision2, and under clause (5) of that subdivision has been excluded or expelled from school or
2, and under clause (5) of that subdivision has been excluded or expelled from school or
2, and under clause (5) of that subdivision has been excluded or expelled from school or under clause (11) of that subdivision has been chronically truant may be referred to an area

professional judgment, the referral is in the best educational interest of the pupil. Nothing 10.1

- in this paragraph limits a pupil's eligibility to apply to enroll in other eligible programs 10.2 under section 124D.68. 10.3
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later. 10.4

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120A.22, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 10.5

Subd. 6. Children under seven age six. (a) Once a pupil under the age of seven six is 10.6 enrolled in kindergarten or a higher grade in a public school, the pupil is subject to the 10.7 compulsory attendance provisions of this chapter and section 120A.34, unless the board of 10.8 the district in which the pupil is enrolled has a policy that exempts children under seven six 10.9 from this subdivision. 10.10

(b) In a district in which children under seven the age of six are subject to compulsory 10.11 attendance under this subdivision, paragraphs (c) to (e) apply. 10.12

(c) A parent or guardian may withdraw the pupil from enrollment in the school for good 10.13 cause by notifying the district. Good cause includes, but is not limited to, enrollment of the 10.14 pupil in another school, as defined in subdivision 4, or the immaturity of the child. 10.15

(d) When the pupil enrolls, the enrolling official must provide the parent or guardian 10.16 who enrolls the pupil with a written explanation of the provisions of this subdivision. 10.17

(e) A pupil under the age of seven six who is withdrawn from enrollment in the public 10.18 school under paragraph (c) is no longer subject to the compulsory attendance provisions of 10.19 this chapter. 10.20

(f) In a district that had adopted a policy to exempt children under seven the age of six 10.21 from this subdivision, the district's chief attendance officer must keep the truancy enforcement 10.22 authorities supplied with a copy of the board's current policy certified by the clerk of the 10.23 board. 10.24

10.25

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later.

10.26

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120A.22, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Assessment of performance. (a) Each year the performance of every child 10.27 ages seven six through 16 and every child ages 16 through 17 for which an initial report 10.28 was filed pursuant to section 120A.24, subdivision 1, after the child is 16 and who is not 10.29 enrolled in a public school must be assessed using a nationally norm-referenced standardized 10.30 achievement examination. The superintendent of the district in which the child receives 10.31

11.1

instruction and the person in charge of the child's instruction must agree about the specific examination to be used and the administration and location of the examination. 11.2

(b) To the extent the examination in paragraph (a) does not provide assessment in all of 11.3 the subject areas in subdivision 9, the parent must assess the child's performance in the 11.4 applicable subject area. This requirement applies only to a parent who provides instruction 11.5 and does not meet the requirements of subdivision 10, clause (1), (2), or (3). 11.6

(c) If the results of the assessments in paragraphs (a) and (b) indicate that the child's 11.7 performance on the total battery score is at or below the 30th percentile or one grade level 11.8 below the performance level for children of the same age, the parent must obtain additional 11.9 11.10 evaluation of the child's abilities and performance for the purpose of determining whether the child has learning problems. 11.11

11.12 (d) A child receiving instruction from a nonpublic school, person, or institution that is accredited by an accrediting agency, recognized according to section 123B.445, or recognized 11.13 by the commissioner, is exempt from the requirements of this subdivision. 11.14

11.15

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120A.24, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 11.16

Subdivision 1. Reports to superintendent. (a) The person or nonpublic school in charge 11.17 of providing instruction to a child must submit to the superintendent of the district in which 11.18 the child resides the name, birth date, and address of the child; the annual tests intended to 11.19 be used under section 120A.22, subdivision 11, if required; the name of each instructor; 11.20 and evidence of compliance with one of the requirements specified in section 120A.22, 11.21 subdivision 10: 11.22

(1) by October 1 of the first school year the child receives instruction after reaching the 11.23 age of seven six; 11.24

(2) within 15 days of when a parent withdraws a child from public school after age seven 11.25 six to provide instruction in a nonpublic school that is not accredited by a state-recognized 11.26 accredited agency; 11.27

(3) within 15 days of moving out of a district; and 11.28

(4) by October 1 after a new resident district is established. 11.29

(b) The person or nonpublic school in charge of providing instruction to a child between 11.30 the ages of seven six and 16 and every child ages 16 through 17 for which an initial report 11.31 was filed pursuant to this subdivision after the child is 16 must submit, by October 1 of each 11.32

school year, a letter of intent to continue to provide instruction under this section for all
students under the person's or school's supervision and any changes to the information
required in paragraph (a) for each student.

(c) The superintendent may collect the required information under this section through
an electronic or web-based format, but must not require electronic submission of information
under this section from the person in charge of reporting under this subdivision.

12.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later.

12.8 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120B.024, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Graduation requirements. Students beginning 9th grade in the 2011-2012
 school year and later must successfully complete the following high school level credits for
 graduation:

12.12 (1) four credits of language arts sufficient to satisfy all of the academic standards in12.13 English language arts;

12.14 (2) three credits of mathematics, including an algebra II credit or its equivalent, sufficient
12.15 to satisfy all of the academic standards in mathematics;

(3) an algebra I credit by the end of 8th grade sufficient to satisfy all of the 8th gradestandards in mathematics;

(4) three credits of science, including at least one credit of biology, one credit of chemistry
or physics, and one elective credit of science. The combination of credits under this clause
must be sufficient to satisfy (i) all of the academic standards in either chemistry or physics
and (ii) all other academic standards in science;

(5) three and one-half credits of social studies, <u>including credit for a course in government</u>
 <u>and citizenship, which must include instruction on diverse cultures, in either 11th or 12th</u>
 grade for students beginning 9th grade in the 2020-2021 school year and later, and a

12.25 combination of other credits encompassing at least United States history, geography,

12.26 government and citizenship, world history, and economics sufficient to satisfy all of the12.27 academic standards in social studies;

(6) one credit of the arts sufficient to satisfy all of the state or local academic standardsin the arts; and

(7) for students beginning 9th grade in the 2020-2021 school year and later, a minimum
of seven six elective credits; and

13.1 (8) for students beginning 9th grade in the 2020-2021 school year and later, at least 13.2 one-half credit for a course in personal finance.

13.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120B.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Adopting plans and budgets. A school board, at a public meeting, shall must
adopt a comprehensive, long-term strategic plan to support and improve teaching and
learning that is aligned with creating the world's best workforce and includes:

(1) clearly defined district and school site goals and benchmarks for instruction and
student achievement for all student subgroups identified in section 120B.35, subdivision 3,
paragraph (b), clause (2);

(2) a process to assess and evaluate each student's progress toward meeting state and
local academic standards, assess and identify students to participate in gifted and talented
programs and accelerate their instruction, and adopt early-admission procedures consistent
with section 120B.15, and identifying the strengths and weaknesses of instruction in pursuit
of student and school success and curriculum affecting students' progress and growth toward
career and college readiness and leading to the world's best workforce;

(3) a system to periodically review and evaluate the effectiveness of all instruction and
curriculum, taking into account strategies and best practices, student outcomes, school
principal evaluations under section 123B.147, subdivision 3, students' access to effective
teachers who are members of populations underrepresented among the licensed teachers in
the district or school and who reflect the diversity of enrolled students under section 120B.35,
subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (2), and teacher evaluations under section 122A.40,
subdivision 8, or 122A.41, subdivision 5;

(4) strategies for improving instruction, curriculum, and student achievement, including:
(i) the English and, where practicable, the native language development and the academic
achievement of English learners and (ii) for all learners, access to culturally relevant or
ethnic studies curriculum using culturally responsive methodologies;

(5) a process to examine the equitable distribution of teachers and strategies to ensure
<u>children from</u> low-income and <u>minority children families</u>, families of color, and <u>American</u>
<u>Indian families</u> are not taught at higher rates than other children by inexperienced, ineffective,
or out-of-field teachers;

(6) education effectiveness practices that integrate high-quality instruction; rigorous
curriculum; technology; inclusive and respectful learning and work environments for all
students, families, and employees; and a collaborative professional culture that develops

- 14.1 and supports retains qualified, racially, and ethnically diverse staff effective at working
- 14.2 with diverse students while developing and supporting teacher quality, performance, and
- 14.3 effectiveness; and
- 14.4 (7) an annual budget for continuing to implement the district plan.

14.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for all strategic plans reviewed and

- 14.6 updated after the day of final enactment.
- 14.7 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120B.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. District advisory committee. (a) Each school board shall must establish an 14.8 advisory committee to ensure active community participation in all phases of planning and 14.9 improving the instruction and curriculum affecting state and district academic standards, 14.10 consistent with subdivision 2. A district advisory committee, to the extent possible, shall 14.11 must reflect the diversity of the district and its school sites, include teachers, parents, support 14.12 staff, students, and other community residents, and provide translation to the extent 14.13 appropriate and practicable. The district advisory committee shall must pursue community 14.14 support to accelerate the academic and native literacy and achievement of English learners 14.15 14.16 with varied needs, from young children to adults, consistent with section 124D.59, subdivisions 2 and 2a. The district may establish site teams as subcommittees of the district 14.17

advisory committee under subdivision 4.

- 14.19 (b) The district advisory committee shall must recommend to the school board:
- 14.20 (1) rigorous academic standards;
- 14.21 (2) student achievement goals and measures consistent with subdivision 1a and sections
 14.22 120B.022, subdivisions 1a and 1b, and 120B.35;

14.23 (3) district assessments;

14.24 (4) means to improve students' equitable access to effective and more diverse teachers;

14.25 (5) strategies to ensure the curriculum and learning and work environments are inclusive
14.26 and respectful toward all racial and ethnic groups; and

14.27 (6) program evaluations.

14.28 (c) School sites may expand upon district evaluations of instruction, curriculum,

14.29 assessments, or programs. Whenever possible, parents and other community residents shall

14.30 <u>must</u> comprise at least two-thirds of advisory committee members.

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120B.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 15.1 Subd. 2. Identification; report. (a) Each school district shall must identify before the 15.2 end of kindergarten, grade 1, and grade 2 all students who are not reading at grade level 15.3 before the end of the current school year and shall. Students identified as not reading at 15.4 grade level by the end of kindergarten, grade 1, and grade 2, must be screened for 15.5 characteristics of dyslexia. 15.6 (b) identify Students in grade 3 or higher who demonstrate a reading difficulty to a 15.7 classroom teacher must be screened for characteristics of dyslexia, unless a different reason 15.8 for the reading difficulty has been identified. 15.9 (c) Reading assessments in English, and in the predominant languages of district students 15.10 where practicable, must identify and evaluate students' areas of academic need related to 15.11 literacy. The district also must monitor the progress and provide reading instruction 15.12 appropriate to the specific needs of English learners. The district must use a locally adopted, 15.13 developmentally appropriate, and culturally responsive assessment and annually report 15.14 summary assessment results to the commissioner by July 1. 15.15
- 15.16 (d) The district also must annually report to the commissioner by July 1 a summary of
 15.17 the district's efforts to screen and identify students with:
- (1) dyslexia, using screening tools such as those recommended by the department'sdyslexia specialist; or
- 15.20 (2) convergence insufficiency disorder.
- (b) (e) A student identified under this subdivision must be provided with alternate
 instruction under section 125A.56, subdivision 1.
- 15.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2020.

15.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.41, is amended by adding a subdivision to15.25 read:

15.26 Subd. 12. Nonexclusionary disciplinary policies and practices; alternatives to pupil

15.27 **removal and dismissal.** "Nonexclusionary disciplinary policies and practices" means

15.28 policies and practices that are alternatives to removing a pupil from class or dismissing a

15.29 pupil from school, including evidence-based positive behavioral interventions and supports,

- 15.30 social and emotional services, school-linked mental health services, counseling services,
- 15.31 social work services, referrals for special education or 504 evaluations, academic screening
- 15.32 for Title I services or reading interventions, and alternative education services.

16.1	Nonexclusionary disciplinary policies and practices require school officials to intervene in,
16.2	redirect, and support a pupil's behavior before removing a pupil from class or beginning
16.3	dismissal proceedings. Nonexclusionary disciplinary policies and practices include but are
16.4	not limited to the policies and practices under sections 120B.12; 121A.031, subdivision 4,
16.5	paragraph (a), clause (1); 121A.575, clauses (1) and (2); 121A.61, subdivision 3, paragraph
16.6	(q); 122A.627, clause (3); and 123A.56.
16.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.
16.8	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.41, is amended by adding a subdivision
16.9	to read:
16.10	Subd. 13. Pupil withdrawal agreements. "Pupil withdrawal agreements" means a verbal
16.11	or written agreement between a school or district administrator and a pupil's parent or
16.12	guardian to withdraw a student from the school district to avoid expulsion or exclusion
16.13	dismissal proceedings. The duration of the withdrawal agreement may be no longer than
16.14	<u>12 months.</u>
16.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.
16.16	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.45, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
16.17	Subdivision 1. Provision of alternative programs. No school shall dismiss any pupil
16.18	without attempting to provide alternative educational services use nonexclusionary
16.19	disciplinary policies and practices before a dismissal proceedings proceeding or a pupil
16.20	withdrawal agreement, except where it appears that the pupil will create an immediate and
16.21	substantial danger to self or to surrounding persons or property.
16.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.
16.23	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.46, is amended by adding a subdivision
16.24	to read:
16.25	Subd. 5. Suspensions exceeding five consecutive school days. A school administrator
16.26	must ensure that when a pupil is suspended for more than five consecutive school days,
16.27	alternative education services are provided.
16.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.

17.1	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.46, is amended by adding a subdivision
17.2	to read:
17.3	Subd. 6. Minimum education services. School officials must give a suspended pupil
17.4	a reasonable opportunity to complete all school work assigned during the pupil's suspension
17.5	and to receive full credit for satisfactorily completing the assignments. The school principal
17.6	or other person having administrative control of the school building or program is encouraged
17.7	to designate a district or school employee as a liaison to work with the pupil's teachers to
17.8	allow the suspended pupil to (1) receive timely course materials and other information, and
17.9	(2) complete daily and weekly assignments and receive teachers' feedback. Nothing in this
17.10	subdivision limits the teacher's authority to assign alternative work for the completion of
17.11	assignments during a suspension.
17.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.
17.13	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.47, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
17.14	Subd. 2. Written notice. Written notice of intent to take action shall must:
17.15	(a) (1) be served upon the pupil and the pupil's parent or guardian personally or by mail;
17.16	(b) (2) contain a complete statement of the facts, a list of the witnesses and a description
17.17	of their testimony;
17.18	(e) (3) state the date, time, and place of the hearing;
17.19	(d) (4) be accompanied by a copy of sections 121A.40 to 121A.56;
17.20	(e) (5) describe alternative educational services the nonexclusionary disciplinary policies
17.21	and practices accorded the pupil in an attempt to avoid the expulsion proceedings; and
17.22	(f) (6) inform the pupil and parent or guardian of the right to:
17.23	(1) (i) have a representative of the pupil's own choosing, including legal counsel, at the
17.24	hearing. The district shall must advise the pupil's parent or guardian that free or low-cost
17.25	legal assistance may be available and that a legal assistance resource list is available from
17.26	the Department of Education and is posted on its website;
17.27	(2) (ii) examine the pupil's records before the hearing;
17.28	(3) (iii) present evidence; and
17.29	(4) (iv) confront and cross-examine witnesses.
17.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.

18.1

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.47, subdivision 14, is amended to read:

Subd. 14. Admission or readmission plan. (a) A school administrator shall must prepare 18.2 and enforce an admission or readmission plan for any pupil who is excluded or expelled 18.3 from school. The plan may include must address measures to improve the pupil's behavior, 18.4 including and may include completing a character education program, consistent with section 18.5 120B.232, subdivision 1, and social and emotional learning, counseling, social work services, 18.6 mental health services, referrals for special education or 504 evaluation, and evidence-based 18.7 18.8 academic interventions. The plan must require parental involvement in the admission or readmission process, and may indicate the consequences to the pupil of not improving the 18.9 pupil's behavior. 18.10

(b) The definition of suspension under section 121A.41, subdivision 10, does not apply 18.11 to a student's dismissal from school for one school day or less, except as provided under 18.12 federal law for a student with a disability. Each suspension action may include a readmission 18.13 plan. A readmission plan must provide, where appropriate, alternative education services, 18.14 which must not be used to extend the student's current suspension period. Consistent with 18.15 section 125A.091, subdivision 5, a readmission plan must not obligate a parent or guardian 18.16 to provide psychotropic drugs to their student as a condition of readmission. School officials 18.17 must not use the refusal of a parent or guardian to consent to the administration of 18.18 psychotropic drugs to their student or to consent to a psychiatric evaluation, screening or 18.19 examination of the student as a ground, by itself, to prohibit the student from attending class 18.20 or participating in a school-related activity, or as a basis of a charge of child abuse, child 18.21 neglect or medical or educational neglect. 18.22

18.23

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.

18.24 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.53, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

18.25 Subdivision 1. Exclusions and expulsions; student withdrawals; physical

18.26 **assaults.** <u>Consistent with subdivision 2,</u> the school board must report through the department

18.27 electronic reporting system each exclusion or expulsion and, each physical assault of a

18.28 district employee by a student pupil, and each pupil withdrawal agreement within 30 days

18.29 of the effective date of the dismissal action, pupil withdrawal, or assault to the commissioner

18.30 of education. This report must include a statement of alternative educational services

18.31 nonexclusionary disciplinary policies and practices, or other sanction, intervention, or

18.32 resolution in response to the assault given the pupil and the reason for, the effective date,

18.33 and the duration of the exclusion or expulsion or other sanction, intervention, or resolution.

19.1 The report must also include the student's pupil's age, grade, gender, race, and special

19.2 education status.

19.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.

19.4 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.55, is amended to read:

19.5 **121A.55 POLICIES TO BE ESTABLISHED.**

(a) The commissioner of education shall promulgate guidelines to assist each school
board. Each school board shall <u>must</u> establish uniform criteria for dismissal and adopt written
policies and rules to effectuate the purposes of sections 121A.40 to 121A.56. The policies
shall <u>must</u> include nonexclusionary disciplinary policies and practices consistent with section
<u>121A.41</u>, subdivision 12, and emphasize preventing dismissals through early detection of
problems and shall. The policies must be designed to address students' inappropriate behavior
from recurring.

(b) The policies shall recognize the continuing responsibility of the school for the
education of the pupil during the dismissal period. The <u>school is responsible for ensuring</u>
that the alternative educational services, if provided to the pupil wishes to take advantage
of them, must be are adequate to allow the pupil to make progress towards toward meeting
the graduation standards adopted under section 120B.02 and, help prepare the pupil for
readmission, and are consistent with section 121A.46, subdivision 6.

19.19 (c) For expulsion and exclusion dismissals, as well as pupil withdrawal agreements as
 19.20 defined in section 121A.41, subdivision 14:

19.21 (1) the school district's continuing responsibility includes reviewing the pupil's school

19.22 work and grades on a quarterly basis to ensure the pupil is on track for readmission with

19.23 the pupil's peers. School districts must communicate on a regular basis with the pupil's

19.24 parent or guardian to ensure the pupil is completing the work assigned through the alternative
19.25 educational services;

- 19.26 (2) if school-based mental health services are provided in the district under section
 19.27 245.4889, pupils continue to be eligible for those services until they are enrolled in a new
- 19.28 district; and
- 19.29 (3) The school district must provide to the pupil's parent or guardian a list of mental

19.30 health and counseling services available to the pupil after expulsion. The list must also be

19.31 posted on the district's website.

- (b) (d) An area learning center under section 123A.05 may not prohibit an expelled or
 excluded pupil from enrolling solely because a district expelled or excluded the pupil. The
 board of the area learning center may use the provisions of the Pupil Fair Dismissal Act to
 exclude a pupil or to require an admission plan.
- 20.5 (e) (e) Each school district shall develop a policy and report it to the commissioner on
 20.6 the appropriate use of peace officers and crisis teams to remove students who have an
 20.7 individualized education program from school grounds.
- 20.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.

20.9 Sec. 18. [121A.80] STUDENT JOURNALISM; STUDENT EXPRESSION.

20.10 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this

- 20.11 subdivision have the meanings given them.
- 20.12 (b) "School-sponsored media" means material that is:
- 20.13 (1) prepared, wholly or substantially written, published, broadcast, or otherwise
- 20.14 disseminated by a student journalist enrolled in a school district or charter school;
- 20.15 (2) distributed or generally made available to students in the school; and
- 20.16 (3) prepared by a student journalist under the supervision of a student media adviser.
- 20.17 School-sponsored media does not include material prepared solely for distribution or
- 20.18 transmission in the classroom in which the material is produced.
- 20.19 (c) "School official" means a school principal under section 123B.147 or other person
- 20.20 <u>having administrative control or supervision of a school.</u>
- 20.21 (d) "Student journalist" means a school district or charter school student in grades 6
- 20.22 through 12 who gathers, compiles, writes, edits, photographs, records, or otherwise prepares

20.23 <u>information for dissemination in school-sponsored media.</u>

- 20.24 (e) "Student media adviser" means a person a school district or charter school employs,
- 20.25 <u>appoints</u>, or designates to supervise student journalists or provide instruction relating to
- 20.26 <u>school-sponsored media.</u>
- 20.27 Subd. 2. Student journalists; protected conduct. (a) Except as provided in subdivision
- 20.28 3, a student journalist has the right to exercise freedom of speech and freedom of the press
- 20.29 in school-sponsored media regardless of whether the school-sponsored media receives
- 20.30 financial support from the school or district, uses school equipment or facilities in its
- 20.31 production, or is produced as part of a class or course in which the student journalist is

21.1	enrolled. Consistent with subdivision 3, a student journalist has the right to determine the
21.2	news, opinion, feature, and advertising content of school-sponsored media. A school district
21.3	or charter school must not discipline a student journalist for exercising rights or freedoms
21.4	under this paragraph or the First Amendment of the United States Constitution.
21.5	(b) A school district or charter school must not retaliate or take adverse employment
21.6	action against a student media adviser for supporting a student journalist exercising rights
21.7	or freedoms under paragraph (a) or the First Amendment of the United States Constitution.
21.8	(c) Notwithstanding the rights or freedoms of this subdivision or the First Amendment
21.9	of the United States Constitution, nothing in this section inhibits a student media adviser
21.10	from teaching professional standards of English and journalism to student journalists.
21.11	Subd. 3. Unprotected expression. (a) This section does not authorize or protect student
21.12	expression that: (1) is defamatory; (2) is profane, harassing, threatening, or intimidating;
21.13	(3) constitutes an unwarranted invasion of privacy; (4) violates federal or state law; (5)
21.14	causes a material and substantial disruption of school activities; or (6) is directed to inciting
21.15	or producing imminent lawless action on school premises or the violation of lawful school
21.16	policies or rules, including a policy adopted in accordance with section 121A.03 or 121A.031.
21.17	(b) A school or district must not authorize any prior restraint of school-sponsored media
21.18	except under paragraph (a).
21.19	Subd. 4. Student journalist policy. School districts and charter schools must adopt and
21.20	post a student journalist policy consistent with this section.
21.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2019-2020 school year and later.
21.22	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
21.23	Subdivision 1. Kindergarten instruction. (a) The board may establish and maintain
21.24	one or more kindergartens for the instruction of children and after July 1, 1974, shall must
21.25	provide kindergarten instruction for free of charge to all eligible children, either in the
21.26	district or in another district. All children to be eligible for kindergarten must be A child is
21.27	eligible for kindergarten if the child is at least five years of age on September 1 of the
21.28	calendar year in which the school year commences. In addition all children selected, or is
21.29	<u>admitted</u> under an early admissions policy established by the school board may be admitted.
21.30	(b) If established, a board-adopted early admissions policy must describe the process
21.31	and procedures for comprehensive evaluation in cognitive, social, and emotional
21.32	developmental domains to help determine the child's ability to meet kindergarten grade
21.33	expectations and progress to first grade in the subsequent year. The comprehensive evaluation

must use valid and reliable instrumentation, be aligned with state kindergarten expectations,
and include a parent report and teacher observations of the child's knowledge, skills, and
abilities. The early admissions policy must be made available to parents in an accessible

format and is subject to review by the commissioner of education. The evaluation is subjectto section 127A.41.

(c) Nothing in this section shall prohibit a school district from establishing Head Start,
 prekindergarten, or nursery school classes for children below kindergarten age. Any school
 board with evidence that providing kindergarten will cause an extraordinary hardship on
 the school district may apply to the commissioner of education for an exception.

22.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later.

22.11 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meaningsgiven to them.

(a) "Eligible institution" means a Minnesota public postsecondary institution, a private,
nonprofit two-year trade and technical school granting associate degrees, an opportunities
industrialization center accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
<u>a United States Department of Education recognized accrediting agency</u>, or a private,
residential, two-year or four-year, liberal arts, degree-granting college or university located
in Minnesota.

22.20 (b) "Course" means a course or program.

(c) "Concurrent enrollment" means nonsectarian courses in which an eligible pupil under
subdivision 5 or 5b enrolls to earn both secondary and postsecondary credits, are taught by
a secondary teacher or a postsecondary faculty member, and are offered at a high school
for which the district is eligible to receive concurrent enrollment program aid under section
124D.091.

22.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

22.27 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.165, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Family eligibility. (a) For a family to receive an early learning scholarship,
parents or guardians must meet the following eligibility requirements:

(1) have an eligible child; and

23.1	(2) have income equal to or less than 185 percent of federal poverty level income in the
23.2	current calendar year, or be able to document their child's current participation in the free
23.3	and reduced-price lunch program or Child and Adult Care Food Program, National School
23.4	Lunch Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 1751 and 1766; the Food Distribution
23.5	Program on Indian Reservations, Food and Nutrition Act, United States Code, title 7, sections
23.6	2011-2036; Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act
23.7	of 2007; Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J; child care assistance
23.8	programs under chapter 119B; the supplemental nutrition assistance program; or placement
23.9	in foster care under section 260C.212. Parents or guardians are not required to provide
23.10	income verification under this clause if the child is an eligible child under paragraph (b),
23.11	<u>clause (4) or (5).</u>
23.12	(b) An "eligible child" means a child who has not yet enrolled in kindergarten and is:
23.13	(1) at least three but not yet five years of age on September 1 of the current school year;
23.14	(2) a sibling from birth to age five of a child who has been awarded a scholarship under
23.15	this section provided the sibling attends the same program as long as funds are available;
23.16	(3) the child of a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school degree or a course
23.17	of study for a high school equivalency test; or
23.18	(4) homeless, in foster care, or in need of child protective services.
23.19	(4) a child in need of protective services or in foster care as defined under section
23.20	<u>260C.007; or</u>
23.21	(5) designated as homeless under the federal McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance
23.22	Act, United States Code, title 42, section 11434a.
23.23	(c) A child who has received a scholarship under this section must continue to receive
23.24	a scholarship each year until that child is eligible for kindergarten under section 120A.20
23.25	and as long as funds are available.
23.26	(d) Early learning scholarships may not be counted as earned income for the purposes

of medical assistance under chapter 256B, MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L, Minnesota
family investment program under chapter 256J, child care assistance programs under chapter
119B, or Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of
2007.

(e) A child from an adjoining state whose family resides at a Minnesota address as
assigned by the United States Postal Service, who has received developmental screening
under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19, who intends to enroll in a Minnesota school district,

and whose family meets the criteria of paragraph (a) is eligible for an early learningscholarship under this section.

24.3 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.34, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Creation of foundation. There is created the Minnesota Foundation for Student
Organizations. The purpose of the foundation is to promote vocational career and technical
student organizations and applied leadership opportunities in Minnesota public and nonpublic
schools through public-private partnerships. The foundation is a nonprofit organization.
The board of directors of the foundation and activities of the foundation are under the
direction of the commissioner of education.

24.10 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.34, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Board of directors. The board of directors of the Minnesota Foundation for
Student Organizations consists of:

(1) seven members appointed by the board of directors of the school-to-work career and
technical student organizations and chosen so that each represents one of the following
career areas: agriculture, family and consumer sciences, service occupations, health
occupations, marketing, business, and technical/industrial;

(2) seven members from business, industry, and labor appointed by the governor to
staggered terms and chosen so that each represents one of the following career areas:
agriculture, family and consumer sciences, service occupations, health occupations,
marketing, business, and technical/industrial;

(3) five students or alumni of school-to-work career and technical student organizations
representing diverse career areas, three from secondary student organizations, and two from
postsecondary student organizations. The students or alumni shall be appointed by the
criteria and process agreed upon by the executive directors of the student-to-work career
and technical organizations; and

(4) four members from education appointed by the governor to staggered terms and
chosen so that each represents one of the following groups: school district level
administrators, secondary school administrators, middle school administrators, and
postsecondary administrators.

Executive directors of vocational career and technical education student organizations
are ex officio, nonvoting members of the board.

25.1 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.34, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Foundation programs. The foundation shall advance applied leadership and
intracurricular vocational career and technical learning experiences for students. These may
include, but are not limited to:

(1) recognition programs and awards for students demonstrating excellence in applied
leadership;

25.7 (2) summer programs for student leadership, career development, applied academics,
and mentorship programs with business and industry;

(3) recognition programs for teachers, administrators, and others who make outstanding
 contributions to school-to-work career and technical programs;

25.11 (4) outreach programs to increase the involvement of urban and suburban students;

(5) organized challenges requiring cooperation and competition for secondary andpostsecondary students;

(6) assistance and training to community teams to increase career awareness andempowerment of youth as community leaders; and

25.16 (7) assessment and activities in order to plan for and implement continuous improvement.

To the extent possible, the foundation shall make these programs available to students in all parts of the state.

25.19 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.34, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

25.20 Subd. 5. **Powers and duties.** The foundation may:

25.21 (1) identify and plan common goals and priorities for the various school-to-work career
25.22 and technical student organizations in Minnesota;

25.23 (2) publish brochures or booklets relating to the purposes of the foundation and collect25.24 reasonable fees for the publications;

(3) seek and receive public and private money, grants, and in-kind services and goods
from nonstate sources for the purposes of the foundation, without complying with section
16A.013, subdivision 1;

(4) contract with consultants on behalf of the school-to-work career and technical student
 organizations;

(5) plan, implement, and expend money for awards and other forms of recognition for 26.1 school-to-work career and technical student programs; and 26.2 (6) identifying an appropriate name for the foundation. 26.3 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.34, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 26.4 Subd. 8. Public funding. The state shall identify and secure appropriate funding for the 26.5 basic staffing of the foundation and individual student school-to-work career and technical 26.6 student organizations at the state level. 26.7 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.34, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 26.8

Subd. 12. Student organizations. Individual boards of vocational career and technical
education student organizations shall continue their operations in accordance with section
124D.355 and applicable federal law.

26.12 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.78, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Resolution of concurrence.** Prior to March 1, the school board or American 26.13 26.14 Indian school must submit to the department a copy of a resolution adopted by the American Indian education parent advisory committee. The copy must be signed by the chair of the 26.15 committee and must state whether the committee concurs with the educational programs 26.16 for American Indian students offered by the school board or American Indian school. If the 26.17 committee does not concur with the educational programs, the reasons for nonconcurrence 26.18 and recommendations shall be submitted directly to the school board with the resolution. 26.19 By resolution, the board must respond in writing within 60 days, in cases of nonconcurrence, 26.20 to each recommendation made by the committee and state its reasons for not implementing 26.21 the recommendations. 26.22

- 26.23
- 26.24

ARTICLE 3 TEACHERS

26.25 Section 1. [120B.117] INCREASING THE PERCENTAGE OF TEACHERS OF 26.26 COLOR AND AMERICAN INDIAN TEACHERS IN MINNESOTA.

26.27 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Purpose.** In order to address students' and families' persistent inequitable 26.28 access to diverse teachers, this section sets short-term and long-term state goals for increasing 26.29 the percentage of teachers of color and American Indian teachers in Minnesota toward

26.30 ensuring all students have equitable access to effective and diverse teachers who reflect the

26.31 diversity of students. The goals and report required under this section are also important

27.1	for meeting state goals for the world's best workforce under section 120B.11, achievement
27.2	and integration under section 124D.861, and higher education attainment under section
27.3	135A.012, all of which have been established to close persistent opportunity and achievement
27.4	gaps that limit students' success in school and life and impede the state's economic growth.
27.5	Subd. 2. Equitable access to diverse teachers. The percentage of teachers who are of
27.6	color or American Indian in Minnesota should increase at least two percentage points per
27.7	year to have a teaching workforce that more closely reflects the state's increasingly diverse
27.8	student population and ensure all students have equitable access to effective and diverse
27.9	teachers by 2040.
27.10	Subd. 3. Rights not created. The attainment goal in this section is not to the exclusion
27.11	of any other goals and does not confer a right or create a claim for any person.
27.12	Subd. 4. Reporting. Beginning in 2019 and every odd-numbered year thereafter, the
27.13	Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must collaborate with the Department
27.14	of Education and the Office of Higher Education to collate and summarize reports from the
27.15	programs they each administer and any other programs receiving state appropriations that
27.16	have or include an explicit purpose of increasing the racial and ethnic diversity of the state's
27.17	teacher workforce to more closely reflect the diversity of students. The report must include
27.18	programs under sections 120B.113, 122A.2451, 122A.59, 122A.63, 122A.635, 122A.685,
27.19	122A.70, 124D.09, 124D.861, 136A.1274, 136A.1275, and 136A.1791, along with any
27.20	other programs or initiatives that receive state appropriations to address the shortage of
27.21	teachers of color and American Indian teachers. The board must report on the effectiveness
27.22	of state-funded programs to increase the recruitment, preparation, licensing, hiring, and
27.23	retention of racially and ethnically diverse teachers and the state's progress toward meeting
27.24	or exceeding the goals of this section. The report must also include recommendations for
27.25	state policy and funding needed to achieve the goals of this section, as well as plans for
27.26	sharing the report and activities of grant recipients, and opportunities among grant recipients
27.27	of various programs to share effective practices with each other. The 2019 report must
27.28	include a recommendation of whether or not a state advisory council should be established
27.29	to address the shortage of racially and ethnically diverse teachers and what the composition
27.30	and charge of such an advisory council would be if established. The board must consult
27.31	with the state Indian Affairs and ethnic councils along with other community and stakeholder
27.32	groups, including students of color, in developing the report. By October 1 of each
27.33	odd-numbered year, the board must submit the report to the chairs and ranking minority
27.34	members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over education and higher education
27.35	policy and finance. The report must be available to the public on the board's website.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Teacher. "Teacher" means a classroom teacher or other similar professional employee required to hold a license <u>or permission</u> from the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
Subd. 5. Field. A "field," <u>"licensure area,"</u> or "subject area" means the content area in
which a teacher may become licensed to teach.

28.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.06, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Teacher preparation program. "Teacher preparation program" means a
 program approved by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board for the
 purpose of preparing individuals for a specific teacher licensure field in Minnesota. Teacher
 preparation programs include traditional programs delivered by postsecondary institutions,
 alternative teacher preparation programs, and nonconventional teacher preparation programs.

28.14 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.06, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Teacher preparation program provider. "Teacher preparation program
provider" or "unit" means an entity that has primary responsibility for overseeing and
delivering a teacher preparation program. <u>Teacher preparation program providers include</u>
postsecondary institutions and alternative teacher preparation providers aligned to section
<u>122A.2451.</u>

28.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Appointment of members. The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board consists of <u>11</u> <u>14</u> members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate. Membership terms, compensation of members, removal of members, the filling of membership vacancies, and fiscal year and reporting requirements are as provided in sections 214.07 to 214.09. No member may be reappointed for more than one additional term.

28.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Eligibility; board composition. Each nominee, other than a public nominee,
must be selected on the basis of professional experience and knowledge of teacher education,
accreditation, and licensure. The board must be composed of:

29.1	(1) six eight teachers who are currently teaching in a Minnesota school or who were
29.2	teaching at the time of the appointment, have at least five years of teaching experience, and
29.3	were not serving in an administrative function at a school district or school when appointed.
29.4	The six eight teachers must include the following:
29.5	(i) one teacher in a charter school;
29.6	(ii) one teacher from the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121,
29.7	subdivision 2;
29.8	(iii) one teacher from outside the seven-county metropolitan area;
29.9	(iv) one teacher from a related service category licensed by the board;
29.10	(v) one special education teacher; and
29.11	(vi) three teachers that represent current or emerging trends in education;
29.12	(vi) (2) one teacher from educator currently teaching in a Minnesota-approved teacher
29.13	preparation program; who has previously taught for at least five years in a birth through
29.14	grade 12 setting;
29.15	(2) (3) one superintendent that alternates each term between a superintendent from the
29.16	seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, and a
29.17	superintendent from outside the metropolitan area;
29.18	(3) (4) one school district human resources director;
29.19	(4) (5) one administrator of a cooperative unit under section 123A.24, subdivision 2,
29.20	who oversees a special education program and who has previously taught for at least five
29.21	years in a birth through grade 12 setting;
29.22	(5) (6) one principal that alternates each term between an elementary and a secondary
29.23	school principal; and
29.24	(6) (7) one member of the public that may be a current or former school board member.
29.25	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.07, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:
29.26	Subd. 4a. Administration. (a) The executive director of the board shall must be the
29.27	chief administrative officer for the board but shall must not be a member of the board. The
29.28	executive director shall must maintain the records of the board, account for all fees received
29.29	by the board, supervise and direct employees servicing the board, and perform other services
29.30	as directed by the board.

30.1 (b) The Department of Administration must provide administrative support in accordance
30.2 with section 16B.371. The commissioner of administration must assess the board for services
30.3 it provides under this section.

30.4 (c) The Department of Education must provide suitable offices and other space to the
 30.5 board at reasonable cost until January 1, 2020. Thereafter, the board may contract with
 a.6 either the Department of Education or the Department of Administration for the provision
 30.7 of suitable offices and other space, joint conference and hearing facilities, and examination
 30.8 rooms.

30.9 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
 30.10 read:

30.11 Subd. 6. Public employer compensation reduction prohibited. The public employer
 30.12 of a member must not reduce the member's compensation or benefits for the member's
 30.13 absence from employment when engaging in the business of the board.

30.14 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.09, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

30.15 Subd. 9. Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must adopt rules. (a)
30.16 The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must adopt rules subject to the
30.17 provisions of chapter 14 to implement sections 120B.363, 122A.05 to 122A.09, 122A.092,
30.18 122A.16, 122A.17, 122A.18, 122A.181, 122A.182, 122A.183, 122A.184, 122A.185,
30.19 122A.187, 122A.188, 122A.20, 122A.21, 122A.23, 122A.2451, 122A.26, 122A.28, and
30.20 122A.29.

30.21 (b) The board must adopt rules relating to fields of licensure, including a process for
30.22 granting permission to a licensed teacher to teach in a field that is different from the teacher's
30.23 field of licensure without change to the teacher's license tier level.

30.24 (c) The board must adopt rules relating to the grade levels that a licensed teacher may30.25 teach.

30.26 (d) If a rule adopted by the board is in conflict with a session law or statute, the law or
30.27 statute prevails. Terms adopted in rule must be clearly defined and must not be construed
30.28 to conflict with terms adopted in statute or session law.

30.29 (e) The board must include a description of a proposed rule's probable effect on teacher
 30.30 supply and demand in the board's statement of need and reasonableness under section 14.131.

30.31 (f) The board must adopt rules only under the specific statutory authority.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.091, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 31.1 Subdivision 1. Teacher and administrator preparation and performance data; 31.2 report. (a) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board and the Board of 31.3 School Administrators, in cooperation with board-adopted teacher or administrator 31.4 preparation programs, annually must collect and report summary data on teacher and 31.5 administrator preparation and performance outcomes, consistent with this subdivision. The 31.6 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board and the Board of School Administrators 31.7 annually by June 1 must update and post the reported summary preparation and performance 31.8 data on teachers and administrators from the preceding school years on a website hosted 31.9 jointly by the boards. 31.10

31.11 (b) Publicly reported summary data on teacher preparation programs must include:

31.12 (1) student entrance requirements for each Professional Educator Licensing and Standards
31.13 Board-approved program, including grade point average for enrolling students in the
31.14 preceding year;

31.15 (2) the average board-adopted skills examination or ACT or SAT scores of students
31.16 entering the program in the preceding year;

31.17 (3) summary data on faculty qualifications, including at least the content areas of faculty
31.18 undergraduate and graduate degrees and their years of experience either as kindergarten
31.19 through grade 12 classroom teachers or school administrators;

31.20 (4) the average time resident and nonresident program graduates in the preceding year
31.21 needed to complete the program;

(5) the current number and percentage of students by program who graduated, received
a standard Minnesota teaching license, and were hired to teach full time in their licensure
field in a Minnesota district or school in the preceding year disaggregated by race, except
when disaggregation would not yield statistically reliable results or would reveal personally
identifiable information about an individual;

31.27 (6) the number of content area credits and other credits by undergraduate program that
31.28 students in the preceding school year needed to complete to graduate;

31.29 (7) students' pass rates on skills and subject matter exams required for graduation in
31.30 each program and licensure area in the preceding school year;

31.31 (8) survey results measuring student and graduate program completer satisfaction with
 31.32 the program in the preceding school year disaggregated by race, except when disaggregation

32.1	would not yield statistically reliable results or would reveal personally identifiable
32.2	information about an individual;
32.3	(9) a standard measure of the satisfaction of school principals or supervising teachers
32.4	with the student teachers program completer assigned to a school or supervising teacher;
32.5	and
32.6	(10) information under subdivision 3, paragraphs (a) and (b).
32.7	Program reporting must be consistent with subdivision 2.
32.8	(c) Publicly reported summary data on administrator preparation programs approved by
32.9	the Board of School Administrators must include:
32.10	(1) summary data on faculty qualifications, including at least the content areas of faculty
32.11	undergraduate and graduate degrees and the years of experience either as kindergarten
32.12	through grade 12 classroom teachers or school administrators;
32.13	(2) the average time program graduates in the preceding year needed to complete the
32.14	program;
32.15	(3) the current number and percentage of students who graduated, received a standard
32.16	Minnesota administrator license, and were employed as an administrator in a Minnesota
32.17	school district or school in the preceding year disaggregated by race, except when
32.18	disaggregation would not yield statistically reliable results or would reveal personally
32.19	identifiable information about an individual;
32.20	(4) the number of credits by graduate program that students in the preceding school year
32.21	needed to complete to graduate;
32.22	(5) survey results measuring student, graduate, and employer satisfaction with the
32.23	program in the preceding school year disaggregated by race, except when disaggregation
32.24	would not yield statistically reliable results or would reveal personally identifiable
32.25	information about an individual; and
32.26	(6) information under subdivision 3, paragraphs (c) and (d).

32.27 Program reporting must be consistent with section 122A.14, subdivision 10.

32.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.092, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Reading strategies. (a) All colleges and universities preparation providers
approved by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board to prepare persons
for classroom teacher licensure must include in their teacher preparation programs

research-based best practices in reading, consistent with section 122A.06, subdivision 4, 33.1 that enables the licensure candidate to teach reading in the candidate's content areas. Teacher 33.2 candidates must be instructed in using students' native languages as a resource in creating 33.3 effective differentiated instructional strategies for English learners developing literacy skills. 33.4 These colleges and universities also must prepare early childhood and elementary teacher 33.5 candidates for Tier 3 and Tier 4 teaching licenses under sections 122A.183 and 122A.184, 33.6 respectively, for the portion of the examination under section 122A.185, subdivision 1, 33.7 33.8 paragraph (c), covering assessment of reading instruction.

(b) Board-approved teacher preparation programs for teachers of elementary education
 must require instruction in applying comprehensive, scientifically based, and balanced
 reading instruction programs that:

(1) teach students to read using foundational knowledge, practices, and strategies
consistent with section 122A.06, subdivision 4, so that all students achieve continuous
progress in reading; and

33.15 (2) teach specialized instruction in reading strategies, interventions, and remediations
33.16 that enable students of all ages and proficiency levels to become proficient readers.

33.17 (c) Nothing in this section limits the authority of a school district to select a school's33.18 reading program or curriculum.

33.19 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.092, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

33.20 Subd. 6. **Technology strategies.** All colleges and universities preparation providers 33.21 approved by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board to prepare persons 33.22 for classroom teacher licensure must include in their teacher preparation programs the 33.23 knowledge and skills teacher candidates need to engage students with technology and deliver 33.24 digital and blended learning and curriculum.

33.25 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.17, is amended to read:

33.26 **122A.17 VALIDITY OF CERTIFICATES OR LICENSES.**

33.27 (a) A rule adopted by the Board of Teaching or the Professional Educator Licensing and
33.28 Standards Board must not affect the validity of certificates or licenses to teach in effect on
33.29 July 1, 1974, or the rights and privileges of the holders thereof, except that any such
33.30 certificate or license may be suspended or revoked for any of the causes and by the procedures
33.31 specified by law.

(b) All teacher licenses in effect on January 1, 2018, shall remain valid for one additional 34.1 year after the date the license is scheduled to expire. 34.2

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.175, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 34.3

Subd. 2. Background check account. An educator licensure background check account 34.4 is created in the special revenue fund. The Department of Education, the Professional 34.5 Educator Licensing and Standards Board, and the Board of School Administrators must 34.6 34.7 deposit all payments submitted by license applicants for criminal background checks conducted by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension in the educator licensure background 34.8 check account. Amounts in the account are annually appropriated to the commissioner of 34.9 education for payment to the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 34.10 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board for the costs of background checks 34.11 on applicants for licensure. 34.12

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.18, subdivision 7c, is amended to read: 34.13

Subd. 7c. Temporary military license. The Professional Educator Licensing and 34.14 Standards Board shall establish a temporary license in accordance with section 197.4552 34.15 for teaching. The fee for a temporary license under this subdivision shall be \$87.90 for an 34.16 online application or \$86.40 for a paper application \$57. The board must provide candidates 34.17 for a license under this subdivision with information regarding the tiered licensure system 34.18 provided in sections 122A.18 to 122A.184. 34.19

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.18, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 34.20

Subd. 8. Background checks. (a) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards 34.21 Board and the Board of School Administrators must request obtain a criminal history 34.22 background check from the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension on all 34.23 first-time teaching applicants for licenses under their jurisdiction. Applicants must include 34.24 with their licensure applications: 34.25

(1) an executed criminal history consent form, including fingerprints; and 34.26

(2) a money order or cashier's check payable to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 34.27 for the fee for conducting the criminal history payment to conduct the background check. 34.28

(b) The superintendent of background check for all first-time teaching applicants for 34.29 licenses must include a review of information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 34.30 shall perform the background check required under paragraph (a) by retrieving, including 34.31 criminal history data as defined in section 13.87 and shall must also conduct a search include 34.32

<u>a review</u> of the national criminal records repository. The superintendent <u>of the Bureau of</u>
 <u>Criminal Apprehension</u> is authorized to exchange fingerprints with the Federal Bureau of
 Investigation for purposes of the criminal history check. The superintendent shall recover
 the cost to the bureau of a background check through the fee charged to the applicant under
 paragraph (a).

35.6 (c) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or the Board of School
 35.7 Administrators may issue a license pending completion of a background check under this
 35.8 subdivision, but must notify the individual and the school district or charter school employing
 35.9 the individual that the individual's license may be revoked based on the result of the
 35.10 background check.

35.11 (c) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board may contract with the
 35.12 commissioner of human services to conduct background checks and obtain background
 35.13 check data required under this chapter.

35.14 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.18, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Licensure via portfolio. (a) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards
 Board must adopt rules establishing a process for an eligible candidate to obtain any teacher
 <u>a Tier 3</u> license under subdivision 1, or to add a licensure field, via portfolio. The portfolio
 licensure application process must be consistent with the requirements in this subdivision.

(b) A candidate for a <u>Tier 3 license via portfolio</u> must submit to the board one portfolio
 demonstrating pedagogical competence and one portfolio demonstrating content competence.

35.21 (c) A candidate seeking to add a licensure field <u>via portfolio must submit to the board</u>
35.22 one portfolio demonstrating content competence for each licensure field the candidate seeks
35.23 to add.

(d) The board must notify a candidate who submits a portfolio under paragraph (b) or (c) within 90 calendar days after the portfolio is received whether or not the portfolio is approved. If the portfolio is not approved, the board must immediately inform the candidate how to revise the portfolio to successfully demonstrate the requisite competence. The candidate may resubmit a revised portfolio at any time and the board must approve or disapprove the revised portfolio within 60 calendar days of receiving it.

35.30 (e) A candidate must pay to the board a \$300 fee for the first portfolio submitted for
35.31 review and a \$200 fee for any portfolio submitted subsequently. The revenue generated
35.32 from the fee must be deposited in an education licensure portfolio account in the special
35.33 revenue fund. The fees are nonrefundable for applicants not qualifying for a license. The

board may waive or reduce fees for candidates based on financial need. a fee for a portfolio 36.1 in accordance with section 122A.21, subdivision 4. 36.2

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.181, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 36.3

Subd. 3. Term of license and renewal. (a) The Professional Educator Licensing and 36.4 Standards Board must issue an initial Tier 1 license for a term of one year. A Tier 1 license 36.5 may be renewed subject to paragraphs (b) and (c). The board may submit written comments 36.6 to the district or charter school that requested the renewal regarding the candidate. 36.7

(b) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must renew a Tier 1 36.8 license if: 36.9

(1) the district or charter school requesting the renewal demonstrates that it has posted 36.10 the teacher position but was unable to hire an acceptable teacher with a Tier 2, 3, or 4 license 36.11 for the position; 36.12

36.13 (2) the teacher holding the Tier 1 license took a content examination in accordance with section 122A.185 and submitted the examination results to the teacher's employing district 36.14 or charter school within one year of the board approving the request for the initial Tier 1 36.15 license; and 36.16

(3) the teacher holding the Tier 1 license participated in cultural competency training 36.17 consistent with section 120B.30, subdivision 1, paragraph (q), within one year of the board 36.18 approving the request for the initial Tier 1 license. 36.19

The requirement in clause (2) does not apply to a teacher that teaches a class in a career and 36.20 technical education or career pathways course of study. 36.21

(c) A Tier 1 license must not be renewed more than three times one time, unless the 36.22 requesting district or charter school can show good cause for additional renewals. A Tier 1 36.23 license issued to teach (1) a class or course in a career and technical education or career 36.24 pathway course of study or (2) in a shortage area, as defined in section 122A.06, subdivision 36.25 6, may be renewed without limitation. 36.26

```
Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.181, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
36.27
           Subd. 5. Limitations on license. (a) A Tier 1 license is limited to the content matter
36.28
       indicated on the application for the initial Tier 1 license under subdivision 1, clause (2), and
36.29
       limited to the district or charter school that requested the initial Tier 1 license.
36.30
```
37.1	(b) A Tier 1 license does not bring an individual within the definition of a teacher for
37.2	purposes of section 122A.40, subdivision 1, or 122A.41, subdivision 1, clause (a).
37.3	(c) A Tier 1 license does not bring an individual within the definition of a teacher under
37.4	section 179A.03, subdivision 18.
37.5	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.182, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
37.6	Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards
37.7	Board must approve a request from a district or charter school to issue a Tier 2 license in a
37.8	specified content area to a candidate if:
37.9	(1) the candidate meets the educational or professional requirements in paragraph (b)
37.10	or (c);
37.11	(2) the candidate:
37.12	(i) has completed the coursework required under subdivision 2;
37.13	(ii) (i) is enrolled in a Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program, including an
37.14	alternative preparation program under section 122A.2451 or a state-approved teacher
37.15	preparation program if no licensure program exists in Minnesota; or
37.16	(iii) has a master's degree in the specified content area (ii) has completed a
37.17	Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program but does not meet the requirements for a
37.18	Tier 3 license; and
37.19	(3) the district or charter school demonstrates that a criminal background check under
37.20	section 122A.18, subdivision 8, has been completed on the candidate.
37.21	(b) A candidate for a Tier 2 license must have a bachelor's degree to teach a class outside
37.22	a career and technical education or career pathways course of study.
37.23	(c) A candidate for a Tier 2 license must have one of the following credentials in a
37.24	relevant content area to teach a class or course in a career and technical education or career
37.25	pathways course of study:
37.26	(1) an associate's degree;
37.27	(2) a professional certification; or
37.28	(3) five years of relevant work experience.

38.1

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.182, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Term of license and renewal.** The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must issue an initial Tier 2 license for a term of two years. A Tier 2 license may be renewed three <u>two</u> times. Before a Tier 2 license is renewed for the first time, a teacher holding a Tier 2 license must participate in cultural competency training consistent with section 120B.30, subdivision 1, paragraph (q). The board must issue rules setting forth the conditions for additional renewals after the initial license has been renewed three <u>two</u> times.

38.9 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.183, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

38.10 Subd. 2. Coursework. A candidate for a Tier 3 license must meet the coursework
38.11 requirement by demonstrating one of the following:

38.12 (1) completion of a Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program;

38.13 (2) completion of a state-approved teacher preparation program that includes field-specific 38.14 student teaching equivalent to field-specific student teaching in Minnesota-approved teacher 38.15 preparation programs. The field-specific student teaching requirement does not apply to a 38.16 candidate that has two years of teaching experience;

38.17 (3) submission of a content-specific licensure portfolio; or

38.18 (4) a professional teaching license from another state, evidence that the candidate's
38.19 license is in good standing, and two years of teaching experience; or.

(5) three years of teaching experience under a Tier 2 license and evidence of summative
 teacher evaluations that did not result in placing or otherwise keeping the teacher on an
 improvement process pursuant to section 122A.40, subdivision 8, or section 122A.41,
 subdivision 5.

38.24 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.183, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Mentorship and evaluation.** A teacher holding a Tier 3 license must participate in the employing district or charter school's <u>a</u> mentorship and evaluation program, including an individual growth and development plan. <u>A teacher holding a Tier 3 license may satisfy</u> the mentorship requirement by participating in a mentorship program during the teacher's first year in a new district or charter school, including a school year when the teacher held <u>a Tier 1 or Tier 2 license. No teacher holding a Tier 3 license may be required to serve as</u> a mentor to another teacher in order to fulfill this requirement. 39.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.184, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
39.2 Subdivision 1. Requirements. The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards
39.3 Board must issue a Tier 4 license to a candidate who provides information sufficient to
39.4 demonstrate all of the following:

39.5 (1) the candidate meets all requirements for a Tier 3 license under section 122A.183,
and has completed a teacher preparation program under section 122A.183, subdivision 2,
clause (1) or (2);

39.8 (2) the candidate has at least three years of teaching experience in Minnesota; and

39.9 (3) the candidate has obtained a passing score on all required licensure exams under
39.10 section 122A.185; and.

39.11 (4) the candidate's most recent summative teacher evaluation did not result in placing
 39.12 or otherwise keeping the teacher in an improvement process pursuant to section 122A.40,
 39.13 subdivision 8, or 122A.41, subdivision 5.

39.14 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.184, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Mentorship and evaluation. A teacher holding a Tier 4 license must participate
in the employing district or charter school's <u>a</u> mentorship and evaluation program, including
an individual growth and development plan. A teacher holding a Tier 4 license may satisfy
the mentorship requirement by participating in a mentorship program during the teacher's
first year in a new district or charter school, including a school year when the teacher held
a Tier 1, 2, or 3 license. No teacher holding a Tier 4 license may be required to serve as a
mentor to another teacher in order to fulfill this requirement.

39.22 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.185, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Tests. (a) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board 39.23 must adopt rules requiring a candidate to demonstrate a passing score on a board-adopted 39.24 examination of skills in reading, writing, and mathematics before being granted a Tier 4 39.25 teaching license under section 122A.184 to provide direct instruction to pupils in elementary, 39.26 secondary, or special education programs. An employing school or district may verify 39.27 through satisfactory overall job performance a Tier 3 teacher's skills in reading, writing, 39.28 and mathematics for teaching in the licensure field so the teacher may obtain a Tier 4 license. 39.29 Candidates may obtain a Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3 license to provide direct instruction to 39.30 pupils in elementary, secondary, or special education programs if candidates meet the other 39.31 requirements in section 122A.181, 122A.182, or 122A.183, respectively. All testing centers 39.32

must provide monthly opportunities for untimed skills examinations and must advertise 40.1 those opportunities on the test registration website. 40.2

(b) The board must adopt rules requiring candidates for Tier 3 and Tier 4 licenses to 40.3 pass an examination or performance assessment of general pedagogical knowledge, and 40.4 examinations of licensure field specific content. The content examination requirement does 40.5 not apply if no relevant content exam exists. All testing centers must provide monthly 40.6 opportunities for untimed pedagogy and content examinations and must advertise those 40.7 opportunities on the test registration website. 40.8

(c) Candidates for initial Tier 3 and Tier 4 licenses to teach elementary students must 40.9 pass test items assessing the candidates' knowledge, skill, and ability in comprehensive, 40.10 scientifically based reading instruction under section 122A.06, subdivision 4, knowledge 40.11 and understanding of the foundations of reading development, development of reading 40.12 comprehension and reading assessment and instruction, and the ability to integrate that 40.13 knowledge and understanding into instruction strategies under section 122A.06, subdivision 40.14 4. 40.15

(d) The requirement to pass a board-adopted reading, writing, and mathematics skills 40.16 examination does not apply to nonnative English speakers, as verified by qualified Minnesota 40.17 school district personnel or Minnesota higher education faculty, who, after meeting the 40.18 content and pedagogy requirements under this subdivision, apply for a teaching license to 40.19 provide direct instruction in their native language or world language instruction under section 40.20 120B.022, subdivision 1. 40.21

40.22

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.187, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 40.23

Subd. 3. Professional growth. (a) Applicants for license renewal for a Tier 3 or Tier 4 40.24 license under sections 122A.183 and 122A.184, respectively, who have been employed as 40.25 a teacher during the renewal period of the expiring license, as a condition of license renewal, 40.26 must present to their local continuing education and relicensure committee or other local 40.27 relicensure committee evidence of work that demonstrates professional reflection and growth 40.28 in best teaching practices, including among other things, cultural competence in accordance 40.29 40.30 with section 120B.30, subdivision 1, paragraph (q), and practices in meeting the varied needs of English learners, from young children to adults under section 124D.59, subdivisions 40.31 2 and 2a. A teacher may satisfy the requirements of this paragraph by submitting the teacher's 40.32

most recent summative evaluation or improvement plan under section 122A.40, subdivision 40.33

8, or 122A.41, subdivision 5. 40.34

- 41.1 (b) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must ensure that its teacher
 41.2 relicensing requirements include paragraph (a).
- 41.3 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.187, is amended by adding a subdivision
 41.4 to read:
- 41.5 <u>Subd. 7. Cultural competency training.</u> The Professional Educator Licensing and
 41.6 <u>Standards Board must adopt rules that require all licensed teachers who are renewing a Tier</u>
 41.7 <u>3 or Tier 4 teaching license under sections 122A.183 and 122A.184, respectively, to include</u>
 41.8 <u>in the renewal requirements cultural competency training and meeting the varied needs of</u>
 41.9 <u>English learners from young children to adults under section 124D.59, subdivisions 2 and</u>
 41.10 2a.
- 41.11 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.19, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- 41.12 Subd. 4. Teacher preparation programs. (a) For the purpose of licensing bilingual
 41.13 and English as a second language teachers, the board may approve <u>teacher preparation</u>
 41.14 programs at colleges or universities designed for their training.
- (b) Programs that prepare English as a second language teachers must provide instruction 41.15 in implementing research-based practices designed specifically for English learners. The 41.16 programs must focus on developing English learners' academic language proficiency in 41.17 English, including oral academic language, giving English learners meaningful access to 41.18 the full school curriculum, developing culturally relevant teaching practices appropriate for 41.19 immigrant students, and providing more intensive instruction and resources to English 41.20 learners with lower levels of academic English proficiency and varied needs, consistent 41.21 with section 124D.59, subdivisions 2 and 2a. 41.22
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 Subdivision 1. Grounds for revocation, suspension, or denial. (a) The Professional
 Educator Licensing and Standards Board or Board of School Administrators, whichever
 has jurisdiction over a teacher's licensure, may, on the written complaint of the school board
 employing a teacher, a teacher organization, or any other interested person, <u>issue</u>
 nondisciplinary corrective action, refuse to issue, refuse to renew, suspend, or revoke a
 teacher's license to teach for any of the following causes:
- 41.30 (1) immoral character or conduct;
- 41.31 (2) failure, without justifiable cause, to teach for the term of the teacher's contract;

HOUSE RESEARCH CP

42.1	(3) gross inefficiency or willful neglect of duty;
42.2	(4) failure to meet licensure requirements; or
42.3	(5) fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining a license; or
42.4	(6) engagement in any sexual conduct or contact with a student.
42.5	The written complaint must specify the nature and character of the charges.
42.6	(b) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or Board of School
42.7	Administrators, whichever has jurisdiction over a teacher's licensure, shall refuse to issue,
42.8	refuse to renew, or automatically revoke a teacher's license to teach without the right to a
42.9	hearing upon receiving a certified copy of a conviction showing that the teacher has been
42.10	convicted of:
42.11	(1) child abuse, as defined in section 609.185, provided that a conviction for a violation
42.12	of section 609.224, subdivisions 1 and 2, assault in the fifth degree, or 609.2242, subdivisions
42.13	1 and 2, domestic assault, must not result in the automatic revocation of a teacher's license;
42.14	(2) sex trafficking in the first degree under section 609.322, subdivision $1_{\frac{1}{2}}$
42.15	(3) sex trafficking in the second degree under section 609.322, subdivision $1a_{\frac{1}{2}}$
42.16	(4) engaging in hiring, or agreeing to hire a minor to engage in prostitution, or housing
42.17	an unrelated minor engaged in prostitution under section 609.324, subdivision subdivisions
42.18	1 <u>, and 1a;</u>
42.19	(5) criminal sexual abuse conduct under section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345,
42.20	<u>or</u> 609.3451, subdivision 3 , or ;
42.21	(6) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision subdivisions 2 and 3;
42.22	(7) solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct or communication of sexually
42.23	explicit materials to children under section 609.352;
42.24	(8) interference with privacy under section 609.746 or stalking under section 609.749
42.24	and the victim was a minor;
42.23	and the victim was a minor,2
42.26	(9) using minors in a sexual performance under section 617.246;
42.27	(10) possessing pornographic works involving a minor under section 617.247 ; or
42.28	(11) any other offense not listed in this paragraph that requires the person to register as
42.29	a predatory offender under section 243.166, or a crime under a similar law of another state
42.30	or the United States. The board shall send notice of this licensing action to the district in
42.31	which the teacher is currently employed.

(c) A person whose license to teach has been revoked, not issued, or not renewed under 43.1 paragraph (b), may petition the board to reconsider the licensing action if the person's 43.2 43.3 conviction for child abuse or sexual abuse is reversed by a final decision of the court of appeals or the supreme court or if the person has received a pardon for the offense. The 43.4 petitioner shall attach a certified copy of the appellate court's final decision or the pardon 43.5 to the petition. Upon receiving the petition and its attachment, the board shall schedule and 43.6 hold a disciplinary hearing on the matter under section 214.10, subdivision 2, unless the 43.7 43.8 petitioner waives the right to a hearing. If the board finds that, notwithstanding the reversal of the petitioner's criminal conviction or the issuance of a pardon, the petitioner is disqualified 43.9 from teaching under paragraph (a), clause (1), the board shall affirm its previous licensing 43.10 action. If the board finds that the petitioner is not disqualified from teaching under paragraph 43.11 (a), clause (1), it shall reverse its previous licensing action. 43.12

43.13 (d) <u>The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or Board of School</u>

43.14 Administrators, whichever has jurisdiction over a teacher's licensure, must review and may

43.15 refuse to issue, refuse to renew, or revoke a teacher's license to teach, upon receiving a

43.16 certified copy of a conviction showing that the teacher has been convicted of:

43.17 (1) a qualified, domestic violence-related offense as defined in section 609.02, subdivision
43.18 <u>16; or</u>

43.19 (2) embezzlement of public funds under section 609.54, clause (1) or (2).

43.20 If an offense included in clauses (1) to (2) is already included in paragraph (b), the provisions
43.21 of paragraph (b) apply to the conduct.

43.22 (e) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or Board of School

43.23 Administrators, whichever has jurisdiction over a teacher's licensure, may suspend a teacher's

43.24 license pending an investigation into a report of conduct that would be grounds for revocation

43.25 <u>under paragraph (b)</u>. The teacher's license is suspended until the licensing board completes

43.26 <u>its disciplinary investigation and determines whether disciplinary action is necessary.</u>

43.27 (f) For purposes of this subdivision, The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards
43.28 Board is delegated the authority to suspend or revoke coaching licenses.

43.29 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

43.30 Subd. 2. Mandatory reporting. (a) A school board, a superintendent, a charter school
43.31 board, a charter school executive director, or a charter school authorizer must report to the
43.32 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board, the Board of School Administrators,
43.33 or the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, whichever has

jurisdiction over the teacher's or administrator's license, when its teacher or administrator 44.1 is discharged or resigns from employment after a charge is filed with the school board under 44.2 section 122A.41, subdivisions 6, clauses (1), (2), and (3), and 7, or after charges are filed 44.3 that are grounds for discharge under section 122A.40, subdivision 13, paragraph (a), clauses 44.4 (1) to (5), or when a teacher or administrator is suspended or resigns while an investigation 44.5 is pending under section 122A.40, subdivision 13, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5); 122A.41, 44.6 subdivisions 6, clauses (1), (2), and (3), and 7; or 626.556, or when a teacher or administrator 44.7 44.8 is suspended without an investigation under section 122A.41, subdivisions 6, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), and (3), and 7; or 626.556. The report must be made to the appropriate 44.9 licensing board within ten days after the discharge, suspension, or resignation has occurred. 44.10 The licensing board to which the report is made must investigate the report for violation of 44.11 subdivision 1 and the reporting board, administrator, or authorizer must cooperate in the 44.12 44.13 investigation. Notwithstanding any provision in chapter 13 or any law to the contrary, upon written request from the licensing board having jurisdiction over the license, a board, charter 44.14 school, authorizer, charter school executive director, or school superintendent shall provide 44.15 the licensing board with information about the teacher or administrator from the district's 44.16 files, any termination or disciplinary proceeding, any settlement or compromise, or any 44.17 investigative file. Upon written request from the appropriate licensing board, a board or 44.18 school superintendent may, at the discretion of the board or school superintendent, solicit 44.19 the written consent of a student and the student's parent to provide the licensing board with 44.20 information that may aid the licensing board in its investigation and license proceedings. 44.21 44.22 The licensing board's request need not identify a student or parent by name. The consent of the student and the student's parent must meet the requirements of chapter 13 and Code 44.23 of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 99.30. The licensing board may provide a consent 44.24 form to the district. Any data transmitted to any board under this section is private data 44.25 under section 13.02, subdivision 12, notwithstanding any other classification of the data 44.26 when it was in the possession of any other agency. 44.27

(b) The licensing board to which a report is made must transmit to the Attorney General's 44.28 Office any record or data it receives under this subdivision for the sole purpose of having 44.29 the Attorney General's Office assist that board in its investigation. When the Attorney 44.30 General's Office has informed an employee of the appropriate licensing board in writing 44.31 that grounds exist to suspend or revoke a teacher's license to teach, that licensing board 44.32 must consider suspending or revoking or decline to suspend or revoke the teacher's or 44.33 administrator's license within 45 days of receiving a stipulation executed by the teacher or 44.34 administrator under investigation or a recommendation from an administrative law judge 44.35 that disciplinary action be taken. 44.36

(c) The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board and Board of School 45.1 Administrators must report to the appropriate law enforcement authorities a revocation, 45.2 suspension, or agreement involving a loss of license, relating to a teacher or administrator's 45.3 inappropriate sexual conduct with a minor. For purposes of this section, "law enforcement 45.4 authority" means a police department, county sheriff, or tribal police department. A report 45.5 by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board to appropriate law enforcement 45.6 authorities does not diminish, modify, or otherwise affect the responsibilities of a school 45.7 45.8 board or any person mandated to report abuse under section 626.556.

45.9 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.21, is amended to read:

45.10 **122A.21 TEACHERS' AND ADMINISTRATORS' LICENSES; FEES.**

Subdivision 1. Licensure applications. Each applicant submitting an application to the 45.11 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board to issue, renew, or extend a teaching 45.12 license, including applications for licensure via portfolio under subdivision 24, must include 45.13 a processing fee of \$57. The processing fee for a teacher's license and for the licenses of 45.14 supervisory personnel must be paid to the executive secretary of the appropriate board and 45.15 deposited in the educator licensure account in the special revenue fund. The fees as set by 45.16 the board are nonrefundable for applicants not qualifying for a license. However, the 45.17 commissioner of management and budget must refund a fee in any case in which the applicant 45.18 already holds a valid unexpired license. The board may waive or reduce fees for applicants 45.19 45.20 who apply at the same time for more than one license.

45.21 Subd. 3. Annual appropriations. (a) The amounts collected under subdivision $2 \underline{4}$ and 45.22 deposited in the educator licensure account in the special revenue fund are annually 45.23 appropriated to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.

(b) The appropriations in paragraph (a) must be reduced by the amount of any moneyspecifically appropriated for the same purposes in any year from any state fund.

45.26 Subd. 4. Licensure via portfolio. A candidate must pay to the Professional Educator

45.27 Licensing and Standards Board a \$300 fee for the first portfolio submitted for review and

45.28 <u>a \$200 fee for any portfolio submitted subsequently. The Professional Educator Licensing</u>

- 45.29 and Standards Board executive secretary must deposit the fee in the educator licensure
- 45.30 account in the special revenue fund. The fees are nonrefundable for applicants not qualifying
- 45.31 for a license. The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board may waive or
- 45.32 reduce fees for candidates based on financial need.

45.33 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

46.1

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.22, is amended to read:

122A.22 DISTRICT VERIFICATION AND REPORTING OF TEACHER 46.2 LICENSES. 46.3

Subdivision 1. Verification. No person shall be accounted a qualified teacher until the 46.4 school district or charter school contracting with the person for teaching services verifies 46.5 through the Minnesota education licensing system available on the Professional Educator 46.6 Licensing and Standards Board website that the person is a qualified teacher, consistent 46.7 with sections 122A.16 and 122A.44, subdivision 1. 46.8

Subd. 2. Reporting. No later than October 1 of each school year, the superintendent or 46.9 charter school must provide the school board with the number of teachers in each school 46.10 building who hold Tier 1, 2, 3, and 4 licenses. The school board and the Department of 46.11 Education must publish this data on their respective websites no later than January of each 46.12 school year. 46.13

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.26, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 46.14 Subd. 2. Exceptions. (a) A person who teaches in a community education program 46.15 which that qualifies for aid pursuant to section 124D.52 shall continue to meet licensure 46.16 46.17 requirements as a teacher. A person who teaches in an early childhood and family education program which that is offered through a community education program and which that 46.18 qualifies for community education aid pursuant to section 124D.20 or early childhood and 46.19 family education aid pursuant to section 124D.135 shall continue to meet licensure 46.20 requirements as a teacher. A person who teaches in a community education course which 46.21 that is offered for credit for graduation to persons under 18 years of age shall continue to 46.22 meet licensure requirements as a teacher. 46.23

(b) A person who teaches a driver training course which that is offered through a 46.24 community education program to persons under 18 years of age shall be licensed by the 46.25 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or be subject to section 171.35. A 46.26 license which that is required for an instructor in a community education program pursuant 46.27 to this subdivision paragraph shall not be construed to bring an individual within the 46.28 definition of a teacher for purposes of section 122A.40, subdivision 1, or 122A.41, 46.29 subdivision 1, elause paragraph (a). 46.30

```
46.31
```

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the 2020-2021 school year and later.

47.1

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.40, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Development, evaluation, and peer coaching for continuing contract 47.2 teachers. (a) To improve student learning and success, a school board and an exclusive 47.3 representative of the teachers in the district, consistent with paragraph (b), may develop a 47.4 teacher evaluation and peer review process for probationary and continuing contract teachers 47.5 through joint agreement. If a school board and the exclusive representative of the teachers 47.6 do not agree to an annual teacher evaluation and peer review process, then the school board 47.7 47.8 and the exclusive representative of the teachers must implement the state teacher evaluation plan under paragraph (c). The process must include having trained observers serve as peer 47.9 coaches or having teachers participate in professional learning communities, consistent with 47.10 paragraph (b). 47.11

(b) To develop, improve, and support qualified teachers and effective teaching practices,
improve student learning and success, and provide all enrolled students in a district or school
with improved and equitable access to more effective and diverse teachers, the annual
evaluation process for teachers:

47.16 (1) must, for probationary teachers, provide for all evaluations required under subdivision
47.17 5;

47.18 (2) must establish a three-year professional review cycle for each teacher that includes
47.19 an individual growth and development plan, a peer review process, and at least one
47.20 summative evaluation performed by a qualified and trained evaluator such as a school
47.21 administrator. For the years when a tenured teacher is not evaluated by a qualified and
47.22 trained evaluator, the teacher must be evaluated by a peer review;

47.23 (3) must be based on professional teaching standards established in rule;

47.24 (4) must coordinate staff development activities under sections 122A.60 and 122A.61
47.25 with this evaluation process and teachers' evaluation outcomes;

47.26 (5) may provide time during the school day and school year for peer coaching and teacher47.27 collaboration;

47.28 (6) may include job-embedded learning opportunities such as professional learning
47.29 communities;

(7) may include mentoring and induction programs for teachers, including teachers who
are members of populations underrepresented among the licensed teachers in the district or
school and who reflect the diversity of students under section 120B.35, subdivision 3,
paragraph (b), clause (2), who are enrolled in the district or school;

(8) must include an option for teachers to develop and present a portfolio demonstrating
evidence of reflection and professional growth, consistent with section 122A.187, subdivision
3, and include teachers' own performance assessment based on student work samples and
examples of teachers' work, which may include video among other activities for the
summative evaluation;

(9) must use data from valid and reliable assessments aligned to state and local academic
standards and must use state and local measures of student growth and literacy that may
include value-added models or student learning goals to determine 35 percent of teacher
evaluation results;

(10) must use longitudinal data on student engagement and connection, and other student
outcome measures explicitly aligned with the elements of curriculum for which teachers
are responsible, including academic literacy, oral academic language, and achievement of
content areas of English learners;

(11) must require qualified and trained evaluators such as school administrators to
perform summative evaluations and ensure school districts and charter schools provide for
effective evaluator training specific to teacher development and evaluation;

(12) must give teachers not meeting professional teaching standards under clauses (3)
through (11) support to improve through a teacher improvement process that includes
established goals and timelines; and

(13) must discipline a teacher for not making adequate progress in the teacher
improvement process under clause (12) that may include a last chance warning, termination,
discharge, nonrenewal, transfer to a different position, a leave of absence, or other discipline
a school administrator determines is appropriate.

48.24 Data on individual teachers generated under this subdivision are personnel data under
48.25 section 13.43. The observation and interview notes of peer coaches may only be disclosed
48.26 to other school officials with the consent of the teacher being coached.

48.27 (c) The department, in consultation with parents who may represent parent organizations and teacher and administrator representatives appointed by their respective organizations, 48.28 representing the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board, the Minnesota 48.29 Association of School Administrators, the Minnesota School Boards Association, the 48.30 Minnesota Elementary and Secondary Principals Associations, Education Minnesota, and 48.31 representatives of the Minnesota Assessment Group, the Minnesota Business Partnership, 48.32 the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, and Minnesota postsecondary institutions with 48.33 research expertise in teacher evaluation, must create and publish a teacher evaluation process 48.34

that complies with the requirements in paragraph (b) and applies to all teachers under this
section and section 122A.41 for whom no agreement exists under paragraph (a) for an annual
teacher evaluation and peer review process. The teacher evaluation process created under
this subdivision does not create additional due process rights for probationary teachers under
subdivision 5.

49.6

(d) Consistent with the measures of teacher effectiveness under this subdivision:

(1) for students in kindergarten through grade 4, a school administrator must not place
or approve the placement of a student in the classroom of a teacher who holds a Tier 1 or
<u>Tier 2 license</u>, is in the improvement process referenced in paragraph (b), clause (12), or
has not had a summative evaluation if, in the prior year, that student was in the classroom
of a teacher who received discipline pursuant to paragraph (b), clause (13), unless no other
teacher at the school teaches that grade; and

49.13 (2) for students in grades 5 through 12, a school administrator must not place or approve
49.14 the placement of a student in the classroom of a teacher who holds a Tier 1 or Tier 2 license,
49.15 is in the improvement process referenced in paragraph (b), clause (12), or has not had a
49.16 summative evaluation if, in the prior year, that student was in the classroom of a teacher
49.17 who held a Tier 1 or Tier 2 license, received discipline pursuant to paragraph (b), clause
49.18 (13), unless no other teacher at the school teaches that subject area and grade.

49.19 All data created and used under this paragraph retains its classification under chapter 13.

49.20 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.41, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Development, evaluation, and peer coaching for continuing contract 49.21 teachers. (a) To improve student learning and success, a school board and an exclusive 49.22 representative of the teachers in the district, consistent with paragraph (b), may develop an 49.23 annual teacher evaluation and peer review process for probationary and nonprobationary 49.24 49.25 teachers through joint agreement. If a school board and the exclusive representative of the teachers in the district do not agree to an annual teacher evaluation and peer review process, 49.26 then the school board and the exclusive representative of the teachers must implement the 49.27 state teacher evaluation plan developed under paragraph (c). The process must include 49.28 having trained observers serve as peer coaches or having teachers participate in professional 49.29 49.30 learning communities, consistent with paragraph (b).

49.31 (b) To develop, improve, and support qualified teachers and effective teaching practices49.32 and improve student learning and success, and provide all enrolled students in a district or

school with improved and equitable access to more effective and diverse teachers, the annual
evaluation process for teachers:

50.3 (1) must, for probationary teachers, provide for all evaluations required under subdivision
50.4 2;

(2) must establish a three-year professional review cycle for each teacher that includes
an individual growth and development plan, a peer review process, and at least one
summative evaluation performed by a qualified and trained evaluator such as a school
administrator;

50.9 (3) must be based on professional teaching standards established in rule;

50.10 (4) must coordinate staff development activities under sections 122A.60 and 122A.61
50.11 with this evaluation process and teachers' evaluation outcomes;

50.12 (5) may provide time during the school day and school year for peer coaching and teacher50.13 collaboration;

50.14 (6) may include job-embedded learning opportunities such as professional learning50.15 communities;

50.16 (7) may include mentoring and induction programs for teachers, including teachers who 50.17 are members of populations underrepresented among the licensed teachers in the district or 50.18 school and who reflect the diversity of students under section 120B.35, subdivision 3, 50.19 paragraph (b), clause (2), who are enrolled in the district or school;

(8) must include an option for teachers to develop and present a portfolio demonstrating
evidence of reflection and professional growth, consistent with section 122A.187, subdivision
3, and include teachers' own performance assessment based on student work samples and
examples of teachers' work, which may include video among other activities for the
summative evaluation;

50.25 (9) must use data from valid and reliable assessments aligned to state and local academic 50.26 standards and must use state and local measures of student growth and literacy that may 50.27 include value-added models or student learning goals to determine 35 percent of teacher 50.28 evaluation results;

(10) must use longitudinal data on student engagement and connection and other student
outcome measures explicitly aligned with the elements of curriculum for which teachers
are responsible, including academic literacy, oral academic language, and achievement of
English learners;

(11) must require qualified and trained evaluators such as school administrators to 51.1 perform summative evaluations and ensure school districts and charter schools provide for 51.2

effective evaluator training specific to teacher development and evaluation; 51.3

(12) must give teachers not meeting professional teaching standards under clauses (3) 51.4 through (11) support to improve through a teacher improvement process that includes 51.5 established goals and timelines; and 51.6

(13) must discipline a teacher for not making adequate progress in the teacher 51.7 improvement process under clause (12) that may include a last chance warning, termination, 51.8 discharge, nonrenewal, transfer to a different position, a leave of absence, or other discipline 51.9 a school administrator determines is appropriate. 51.10

Data on individual teachers generated under this subdivision are personnel data under 51.11 51.12 section 13.43. The observation and interview notes of peer coaches may only be disclosed to other school officials with the consent of the teacher being coached. 51.13

51.14 (c) The department, in consultation with parents who may represent parent organizations and teacher and administrator representatives appointed by their respective organizations, 51.15 representing the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board, the Minnesota 51.16 Association of School Administrators, the Minnesota School Boards Association, the 51.17 Minnesota Elementary and Secondary Principals Associations, Education Minnesota, and 51.18 representatives of the Minnesota Assessment Group, the Minnesota Business Partnership, 51.19 the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, and Minnesota postsecondary institutions with 51.20 research expertise in teacher evaluation, must create and publish a teacher evaluation process 51.21 that complies with the requirements in paragraph (b) and applies to all teachers under this 51.22 section and section 122A.40 for whom no agreement exists under paragraph (a) for an annual 51.23 teacher evaluation and peer review process. The teacher evaluation process created under 51.24 this subdivision does not create additional due process rights for probationary teachers under 51.25 51.26 subdivision 2.

51.27

(d) Consistent with the measures of teacher effectiveness under this subdivision:

(1) for students in kindergarten through grade 4, a school administrator must not place 51.28 or approve the placement of a student in the classroom of a teacher who holds a Tier 1 or 51.29 Tier 2 license, is in the improvement process referenced in paragraph (b), clause (12), or 51.30 has not had a summative evaluation if, in the prior year, that student was in the classroom 51.31 of a teacher who received discipline pursuant to paragraph (b), clause (13), unless no other 51.32 teacher at the school teaches that grade; and 51.33

(2) for students in grades 5 through 12, a school administrator must not place or approve
the placement of a student in the classroom of a teacher who holds a Tier 1 or Tier 2 license,
is in the improvement process referenced in paragraph (b), clause (12), or has not had a
summative evaluation if, in the prior year, that student was in the classroom of a teacher
who held a Tier 1 or Tier 2 license, received discipline pursuant to paragraph (b), clause
(13), unless no other teacher at the school teaches that subject area and grade.

52.7 All data created and used under this paragraph retains its classification under chapter 13.

52.8 Sec. 38. [122A.59] CODE OF ETHICS FOR TEACHERS.

52.9 Subdivision 1. Scope. Each teacher, upon entering the teaching profession, assumes a

52.10 <u>number of obligations, one of which is to adhere to principles that define professional</u>

52.11 <u>conduct. These principles are reflected in the code of ethics in subdivision 2, which sets</u>

52.12 forth to the education profession and the public it serves the standards of professional conduct

52.13 and procedures for implementation. This code applies to all persons licensed according to

- 52.14 rules established by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.
- 52.15 Subd. 2. Standards of professional conduct. (a) A teacher must provide professional
 52.16 education services in a nondiscriminatory manner.
- 52.17 (b) A teacher must make reasonable effort to protect a student from conditions harmful
 52.18 to health and safety.
- (c) In accordance with state and federal laws, a teacher must disclose confidential
 information about individuals only when a compelling professional purpose is served or
 when required by law.
- 52.22 (d) A teacher must take reasonable disciplinary action in exercising the authority to
 52.23 provide an atmosphere conducive to learning.
- 52.24 (e) A teacher must not use a professional relationship with a student, parent, or colleague
 52.25 to private advantage.
- 52.26 (f) A teacher must delegate authority for teaching responsibilities only to licensed 52.27 personnel.
- 52.28 (g) A teacher must not deliberately suppress or distort subject matter.
- 52.29 (h) A teacher must not knowingly falsify or misrepresent records or facts relating to the
- 52.30 <u>teacher's own qualifications or other teachers' qualifications.</u>
- 52.31 (i) A teacher must not knowingly make a false or malicious statement about a student
- 52.32 <u>or colleague.</u>

53.1	(j) A teacher must accept a contract for a teaching position that requires licensing only
53.2	if properly or provisionally licensed for that position.
53.3	(k) A teacher must not engage in any sexual conduct or contact with a student.
53.4	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.63, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
53.5	Subdivision 1. Establishment. (a) A grant program is established to assist American
53.6	Indian people to become teachers and to provide additional education for American Indian
53.7	teachers. The commissioner may award a joint grant to each of the following:
53.8	(1) the Duluth campus of the University of Minnesota and Independent School District
53.9	No. 709, Duluth;
53.10	(2) Bemidji State University and Independent School District No. 38, Red Lake;
53.11	(3) Moorhead State University and one of the school districts located within the White
53.12	Earth Reservation; and
53.13	(4) Augsburg College, Independent School District No. 625, St. Paul, and Special School
53.14	District No. 1, Minneapolis.
53.15	(b) If additional funds are available, the commissioner may award additional joint grants
53.16	to other postsecondary institutions and school districts.
53.17	(c) Grantees may enter into contracts with tribal, technical, and community colleges and
53.18	four-year postsecondary institutions to identify and provide grants to students at those
53.19	institutions interested in the field of education. A grantee may contract with partner
53.20	institutions to provide professional development and supplemental services to a tribal,
53.21	technical, or community college or four-year postsecondary institution, including
53.22	identification of prospective students, provision of instructional supplies and materials, and
53.23	provision of grant money to students. A contract with a tribal, technical, or community
53.24	college or four-year postsecondary institution includes coordination of student identification,
53.25	professional development, and mentorship services.
53.26	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.63, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Grant amount. The commissioner may award a joint grant in the amount it
determines to be appropriate. The grant shall must include money for the postsecondary
institution, school district, and student scholarships, and student loans.

54.1

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.63, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

54.2 Subd. 5. **Information to student applicants.** At the time a student applies for a 54.3 scholarship and loan, the student shall <u>must</u> be provided information about the fields of 54.4 licensure needed by school districts in the part of the state within which the district receiving 54.5 the joint grant is located. The information shall <u>must</u> be acquired and periodically updated 54.6 by the recipients of the joint grant <u>and their contracted partner institutions</u>. Information 54.7 provided to students shall <u>must</u> clearly state that scholarship and loan decisions are not 54.8 based upon the field of licensure selected by the student.

54.9 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.63, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

54.10 Subd. 6. **Eligibility for scholarships and loans.** (a) The following <u>American Indian</u> 54.11 people are eligible for scholarships:

54.12 (1) a student having origins in any of the original peoples of North America and
54.13 maintaining cultural identification through tribal affiliation or community recognition;

54.14 (1)(2) a student, including a teacher aide employed by a district receiving a joint grant 54.15 <u>or their contracted partner school</u>, who intends to become a teacher <u>or who is interested in</u> 54.16 <u>the field of education and who is enrolled in a postsecondary institution or their contracted</u> 54.17 partner institutions receiving a joint grant;

54.18 (2)(3) a licensed employee of a district receiving a joint grant or a contracted partner 54.19 institution, who is enrolled in a master of education program; and

54.20 (3) (4) a student who, after applying for federal and state financial aid and an Indian
54.21 scholarship according to section 136A.126, has financial needs that remain unmet. Financial
54.22 need shall must be determined according to the congressional methodology for needs
54.23 determination or as otherwise set in federal law.

54.24A person who has actual living expenses in addition to those addressed by the54.25congressional methodology for needs determination, or as otherwise set in federal law, may54.26receive a loan according to criteria established by the commissioner. A contract shall be54.27executed between the state and the student for the amount and terms of the loan. (b) Priority54.28must be given to a student who is tribally enrolled and then to first- and second-generation54.29descendants.

55.1	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision
55.2	to read:
55.3	Subd. 9. Eligible programming. (a) The grantee institutions and their contracted partner
55.4	institutions may provide scholarships to students progressing toward educational goals in
55.5	any area of teacher licensure, including an associate of arts, bachelor's, master's, or doctoral
55.6	degree in the following:
55.7	(1) any educational certification necessary for employment;
55.8	(2) early childhood family education or prekindergarten licensure;
55.9	(3) elementary and secondary education;
55.10	(4) school administration; or
55.11	(5) any educational program that provides services to American Indian students in
55.12	prekindergarten through grade 12.
55.13	(b) For purposes of recruitment, the grantees or their contracted partner institutions must
55.14	agree to work with their respective organizations to hire an American Indian work-study
55.15	student or other American Indian staff to conduct initial information queries and to contact
55.16	persons working in schools to provide programming regarding education professions to
55.17	high school students who may be interested in education as a profession.
55.18	(c) At least 80 percent of the grants awarded under this section must be used for student
55.19	scholarships. No more than 20 percent of the grants awarded under this section may be used
55.20	for recruitment or administration of the student scholarships.
55.21	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 122A.70, is amended to read:
55.22	122A.70 TEACHER MENTORSHIP AND RETENTION OF EFFECTIVE
55.23	TEACHERS.
55.24	Subdivision 1. Teacher mentoring, induction, and retention programs. (a) School
55.25	districts are encouraged to develop teacher mentoring programs for teachers new to the
55.26	profession or district, including teaching residents, teachers of color, teachers who are
55.27	American Indian, teachers in license shortage areas, teachers with special needs, or
55.28	experienced teachers in need of peer coaching.
55.29	(b) Teacher mentoring programs must be included in or aligned with districts' teacher
55.30	evaluation and peer review processes under sections 122A.40, subdivision 8, and 122A.41,
55.31	subdivision 5. A district may use staff development revenue under section 122A.61, special
55.32	grant programs established by the legislature, or another funding source to pay a stipend to

56.1	a mentor who may be a current or former teacher who has taught at least three years and is
56.2	not on an improvement plan. Other initiatives using such funds or funds available under
56.3	sections 124D.861 and 124D.862 may include:
56.4	(1) additional stipends as incentives to mentors who are of color or who are American
56.5	Indian;
56.6	(2) financial supports for professional learning community affinity groups across schools
56.7	within and between districts for teachers from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups to
56.8	come together throughout the school year;
56.9	(3) programs for induction aligned with the district or school mentorship program during
56.10	the first three years of teaching, especially for teachers from underrepresented racial and
56.11	ethnic groups; or
56.12	(4) grants supporting licensed and nonlicensed educator participation in professional
56.13	development, such as workshops and graduate courses, related to increasing student
56.14	achievement for students of color and American Indian students in order to close opportunity
56.15	and achievement gaps.
56.16	(c) Schools or districts may negotiate additional retention strategies or protection from
56.17	unrequested leave of absences in the beginning years of employment for teachers of color
56.18	and teachers who are American Indian. Retention strategies may include providing financial
56.19	incentives for teachers of color and teachers who are American Indian to work in the school
56.20	or district for at least five years and placing American Indian educators at sites with other
56.21	American Indian educators and educators of color at sites with other educators of color to
56.22	reduce isolation and increase opportunity for collegial support.
56.23	Subd. 2. Applications. The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must
56.24	make application forms available to sites interested in developing or expanding a mentorship
56.25	program. A school district; a group of school districts, or; a coalition of districts, teachers,
56.26	and teacher education institutions; or a coalition of schools, teachers, or nonlicensed educators
56.27	may apply for a teacher mentorship program grant. The Professional Educator Licensing
56.28	and Standards Board, in consultation with the teacher mentoring task force, must approve
56.29	or disapprove the applications. To the extent possible, the approved applications must reflect
56.30	effective mentoring, professional development, and retention components, include a variety

56.31 of coalitions and be geographically distributed throughout the state. The Professional

56.32 Educator Licensing and Standards Board must encourage the selected sites to consider the

56.33 use of its assessment procedures.

- 57.1 Subd. 3. Criteria for selection. At a minimum, applicants must express commitment
 57.2 to:
 57.3 (1) allow staff participation;
 57.4 (2) assess skills of both beginning and mentor teachers;
- 57.5 (3) provide appropriate in-service to needs identified in the assessment;
- 57.6 (4) provide leadership to the effort;
- 57.7 (5) cooperate with higher education institutions;
- 57.8 (6) provide facilities and other resources;

57.9 (7) share findings, materials, and techniques with other school districts; and

57.10 (8) retain teachers of color and teachers who are American Indian.

57.11 Subd. 4. Additional funding. Applicants are required to seek additional funding and 57.12 assistance from sources such as school districts, postsecondary institutions, foundations, 57.13 and the private sector.

Subd. 5. Program implementation. New and expanding mentorship sites that are funded 57.14 to design, develop, implement, and evaluate their program must participate in activities that 57.15 support program development and implementation. The Professional Educator Licensing 57.16 and Standards Board must provide resources and assistance to support new sites in their 57.17 program efforts. These activities and services may include, but are not limited to: planning, 57.18 planning guides, media, training, conferences, institutes, and regional and statewide 57.19 networking meetings. Nonfunded schools or districts interested in getting started may 57.20 participate. Fees may be charged for meals, materials, and the like. 57.21

57.22 Subd. 6. **Report.** By June 30 of each year after receiving a grant, recipients must submit 57.23 a report to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board on program efforts

57.24 that describes mentoring and induction activities and assesses the impact of these programs

- 57.25 on teacher effectiveness and retention.
- 57.26 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.09, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

57.27 Subd. 10. **Courses according to agreements.** (a) An eligible pupil, according to 57.28 subdivision 5, may enroll in a nonsectarian course taught by a secondary teacher or a 57.29 postsecondary faculty member and offered at a secondary school, or another location, 57.30 according to an agreement between a public school board and the governing body of an 57.31 eligible public postsecondary system or an eligible private postsecondary institution, as defined in subdivision 3. All provisions of this section shall apply to a pupil, public school
board, district, and the governing body of a postsecondary institution, except as otherwise
provided.

(b) To encourage students, especially American Indian students and students of color, 58.4 to consider teaching as a profession, participating schools, school districts, and postsecondary 58.5 institutions are encouraged to develop and offer an "Introduction to Teaching" or 58.6 "Introduction to Education" course under this subdivision. An institution that receives a For 58.7 the purpose of applying for grants under this paragraph, "eligible institution" includes schools 58.8 and districts that partner with an accredited college or university in addition to postsecondary 58.9 institutions identified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a). Grant to develop a course recipients 58.10 under this paragraph must annually report to the commissioner in a form and manner 58.11 determined by the commissioner on the participation rates of students in courses under this 58.12 paragraph, including the number of students who apply for admission to colleges or 58.13 universities with teacher preparation programs and the number of students of color and 58.14 American Indian students who earned postsecondary credit. Grant recipients must also 58.15 describe recruiting efforts intended to ensure that the percentage of participating students 58.16 who are of color or American Indian meets or exceeds the overall percentage of students 58.17 of color or American Indian students in the school. 58.18

58.19 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.861, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Plan implementation; components. (a) The school board of each eligible
district must formally develop and implement a long-term plan under this section. The plan
must be incorporated into the district's comprehensive strategic plan under section 120B.11.
Plan components may include:

(1) innovative and integrated prekindergarten through grade 12 learning environments
 that offer students school enrollment choices;

58.26 (2) family engagement initiatives that involve families in their students' academic life 58.27 and success;

(3) professional development opportunities for teachers and administrators focused on
 improving the academic achievement of all students, including teachers and administrators
 who are members of populations underrepresented among the licensed teachers or

administrators in the district or school and who reflect the diversity of students under section

58.32 120B.35, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (2), who are enrolled in the district or school;

(4) increased programmatic opportunities and effective and more diverse instructors 59.1 focused on rigor and college and career readiness for underserved students, including students 59.2 enrolled in alternative learning centers under section 123A.05, public alternative programs 59.3 under section 126C.05, subdivision 15, and contract alternative programs under section 59.4 124D.69, among other underserved students; or 59.5 (5) recruitment and retention of teachers and, administrators with diverse, cultural and 59.6 family liaisons, paraprofessionals, and other nonlicensed staff from racial and ethnic 59.7 backgrounds represented in the student population. 59.8 (b) The plan must contain goals for: 59.9 (1) reducing the disparities in academic achievement and in equitable access to effective 59.10 and more diverse teachers among all students and specific categories of students under 59.11 section 120B.35, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), excluding the student categories of gender, 59.12 disability, and English learners; and 59.13 (2) increasing racial and economic diversity and integration in schools and districts. 59.14 (c) The plan must include strategies to make schools' curriculum and learning and work 59.15 environments more inclusive and respectful of students' racial and ethnic diversity and to 59.16 address issues of structural inequities in schools that create opportunity and achievement 59.17 gaps for students, families, and staff who are of color or who are American Indian, and 59.18 program revenues may be used to implement such strategies. Examples of possible structural 59.19 inequities include but are not limited to policies and practices that unintentionally result in 59.20 disparate referrals and suspension, inequitable access to advanced coursework, 59.21 overrepresentation in lower level coursework, participation in cocurricular activities, parent 59.22 involvement, and lack of access to diverse teachers. Plans may include but are not limited 59.23 to the following activities that may involve collaboration with or support from regional 59.24 centers of excellence: 59.25 (1) creating opportunities for students, families, staff, and community members who are 59.26 of color or who are American Indian to share their experiences in the school setting with 59.27 school staff and administration to develop specific proposals for improving school 59.28 environments to be more inclusive and respectful toward all students, families, and staff; 59.29 59.30 (2) implementing creative programs for increased parent engagement and improving relations between home and school; 59.31 (3) developing or expanding ethnic studies course offerings to provide all students with 59.32 in-depth opportunities to learn about their own and others' cultures and historical experiences; 59.33

60.1	(4) examining and revising curricula in various subjects to be culturally relevant and
60.2	inclusive of various racial and ethnic groups;
60.3	(5) examining academic and discipline data, reexamining institutional policies and
60.4	practices that result in opportunity and achievement disparities between racial and ethnic
60.5	groups, and making necessary changes that increase access, meaningful participation,
60.6	representation, and positive outcomes for students of color, American Indian students, and
60.7	students who qualify for free or reduced-price lunch;
60.8	(6) providing professional development opportunities to learn more about various racial
60.9	and ethnic groups' experiences, assets, and issues and developing cross-cultural competence
60.10	with knowledge, collaborations, and relationships needed to serve students effectively who
60.11	are from diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds; and
60.12	(7) hiring more cultural liaisons to strengthen relationships with students, families, and
60.13	other members of the community.
60.14	(b) (d) Among other requirements, an eligible district must implement effective,
60.15	research-based interventions that include formative assessment practices to reduce the
60.16	disparities in student academic performance among the specific categories of students as
60.17	measured by student progress and growth on state reading and math assessments and as
60.18	aligned with section 120B.11.
(0.10	(a) (a) Elizible districts must areate efficiencies and eliminate during the program and
60.19	(e) (e) Eligible districts must create efficiencies and eliminate duplicative programs and
60.20	services under this section, which may include forming collaborations or a single,
60.21	seven-county metropolitan areawide partnership of eligible districts for this purpose.
60.22	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136A.1275, is amended to read:
60.23	136A.1275 <u>STUDENT TEACHER CANDIDATE GRANTS IN SHORTAGE</u>
60.24	<u>AREAS</u> .
60.25	Subdivision 1. Establishment. (a) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education
60.26	must establish a grant program for student teaching stipends for low-income students enrolled
60.27	in a Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board-approved teacher preparation
60.28	program who intend to teach are student teaching in a licensure shortage area after graduating
60.29	and receiving their teaching license or belong to an underrepresented a racial or ethnic group
60.30	underrepresented in the teacher workforce.
60.31	(b) "Shortage For purposes of this grant program, "licensure shortage area" means a
60.32	license field or economic development region within Minnesota defined as a shortage area

60.33 by the Department of Education using determined by the Professional Educator Licensing

and Standards Board in which the number of surveyed districts or schools within an economic 61.1 development region reporting or predicting hiring a teacher for a specific licensure area as 61.2 61.3 "very difficult" is equal to or greater than the number of districts or schools reporting or predicting such hiring as "easy" in data collected for the teacher supply and demand report 61.4 under section sections 122A.091, subdivision 5, and 127A.05, subdivision 6, or other surveys 61.5 conducted by the Department of Education or Professional Educator Licensing and Standards 61.6 Board that provide indicators for teacher supply and demand. 61.7 61.8 Subd. 2. Eligibility. To be eligible for a grant under this section, a student teacher candidate must: 61.9 61.10 (1) be enrolled in a Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board-approved teacher preparation program that requires at least 12 weeks of student teaching to complete 61.11 the program in order to be recommended for a full professional any Tier 3 teaching license 61.12 from early childhood through grade 12; 61.13 (2) demonstrate financial need based on criteria established by the commissioner under 61.14 subdivision 3; 61.15 (3) intend to teach in be completing a program in a licensure shortage area existing 61.16 within the economic development region where either the candidate's preparation program 61.17 or permanent residence is located, or belong to an underrepresented a racial or ethnic group 61.18 underrepresented in Minnesota's teacher workforce; and 61.19 (4) be meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined under section 136A.101, 61.20 subdivision 10. 61.21 Subd. 3. Administration; repayment. (a) The commissioner must establish an 61.22 application process and other guidelines for implementing this program, including repayment 61.23 responsibilities for stipend recipients who do not complete student teaching or who leave 61.24 Minnesota to teach in another state during the first year after student teaching. 61.25 (b) The commissioner must determine each academic year the stipend amount up to 61.26 \$7,500 based on the amount of available funding, the number of eligible applicants, and the 61.27 financial need of the applicants. 61.28 (c) In order to help improve all students' access to effective and diverse teachers, the 61.29 percentage of the total award reserved for teacher candidates who identify as belonging to 61.30 an underrepresented a racial or ethnic group underrepresented in the Minnesota teacher 61.31 workforce must be equal to or greater than the total percentage of students of from all such 61.32 underrepresented racial or ethnic groups as measured under section 120B.35, subdivision 61.33

3. If this percentage cannot be met because of a lack of qualifying candidates, the remaining 62.1 amount may be awarded to teacher candidates who intend to teach in a shortage area. Student 62.2 62.3 teacher candidates who are of color or American Indian who have made satisfactory academic progress must have priority for receiving a grant from available funds to student teach and 62.4 complete their preparation programs if they meet eligibility requirements and participated 62.5 in the aspiring Minnesota teachers of color scholarship program under section 136A.1274. 62.6 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136A.1791, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 62.7 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The terms used in this section have the meanings given 62.8 them in this subdivision. 62.9 (b) "Qualified educational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation loan 62.10 62.11 for actual costs paid for tuition and reasonable educational and living expenses related to a teacher's preparation or further education. 62.12 (c) "School district" means an independent school district, special school district, 62.13 intermediate district, education district, special education cooperative, service cooperative, 62.14 a cooperative center for vocational education, or a charter school located in Minnesota. 62.15 (d) "Teacher" means an individual holding a teaching license issued by the Professional 62.16 Educator Licensing and Standards Board who is employed by a school district to provide 62.17 62.18 classroom instruction or a Head Start or Early Head Start nonlicensed early childhood professional employed by a Head Start program under section 119A.50. 62.19 (e) "Teacher shortage area" means any of the following experiencing a teacher shortage 62.20 as reported by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board: 62.21 (1) the licensure fields and specific to particular economic development regions reported 62.22 by the commissioner of education as experiencing a teacher shortage; and; 62.23 (2) individual economic development regions; or 62.24

(3) economic development regions where there is a shortage of licensed teachers who 62.25

reflect the racial or ethnic diversity of are of color or who are American Indian where the 62.26

aggregate percentage of this group of teachers is lower than the aggregate percentage of 62.27

students of color and American Indian students in the region as reported by the commissioner 62.28 62.29 of education.

(f) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education unless 62.30 62.31 indicated otherwise.

- 63.1 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136A.1791, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Program established; administration. The commissioner shall must establish
 and administer a teacher shortage loan forgiveness program. A teacher is eligible for the
 program if the teacher is teaching in an identified teacher shortage area for the economic
 development region in which the teacher works as defined in subdivision 1 and reported
 under subdivision 3 and complies with the requirements of this section.

63.7 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136A.1791, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Use of report on teacher shortage areas. The commissioner of education
shall Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must use the teacher supply and
demand report to the legislature to identify the licensure fields and racial or ethnic groups
in economic development regions in Minnesota experiencing a teacher shortage.

63.12 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136A.1791, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

63.13 Subd. 4. Application for loan forgiveness. Each applicant for loan forgiveness, according
63.14 to rules adopted by the commissioner, shall must:

(1) apply for teacher shortage loan forgiveness and promptly submit any additionalinformation required by the commissioner; and

(2) submit to the commissioner a completed affidavit, prescribed by the commissioner,
affirming the teacher is teaching in: (i) a licensure field identified by the commissioner as
experiencing a teacher shortage; or (ii) an economic development region identified by the
commissioner as experiencing a teacher shortage a shortage area.

63.21 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136A.1791, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Amount of loan forgiveness. (a) To the extent funding is available, the annual 63.22 amount of teacher shortage loan forgiveness for an approved applicant shall as a teacher in 63.23 any shortage area must not exceed \$1,000 \$2,000 or the cumulative balance of the applicant's 63.24 qualified educational loans, including principal and interest, whichever amount is less. To 63.25 support the retention of teachers who are of color or American Indian and to the extent there 63.26 are sufficient applications, the percentage of loan repayments granted to teachers of color 63.27 63.28 and American Indian teachers must at least be equivalent to the aggregated percentage of students of color and American Indian students in the state. 63.29

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), applicants who meet both licensure field and
 underrepresented racial or ethnic group eligibility in their economic development region

64.1 <u>may receive an annual amount of up to \$4,000 or the cumulative balance of the applicant's</u>

64.2 <u>qualified educational loans, including principal and interest, whichever amount is less.</u>

64.3 (b) (c) Recipients must secure their own qualified educational loans. Teachers who
64.4 graduate from an approved teacher preparation program or teachers who add a licensure
64.5 field, consistent with the teacher shortage requirements of this section, are eligible to apply
64.6 for the loan forgiveness program.

64.7

(c) (d) No teacher shall may receive more than five ten annual awards.

64.8 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 214.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Non-health-related licensing board. "Non-health-related licensing board" 64.9 means the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board established pursuant to 64.10 section 122A.07, the Board of School Administrators established pursuant to section 122A.14, 64.11 the Board of Barber Examiners established pursuant to section 154.001, the Board of 64.12 Cosmetologist Examiners established pursuant to section 155A.20, the Board of Assessors 64.13 established pursuant to section 270.41, the Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land 64.14 Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience, and Interior Design established pursuant 64.15 64.16 to section 326.04, the Private Detective and Protective Agent Licensing Board established pursuant to section 326.33, the Board of Accountancy established pursuant to section 64.17 326A.02, and the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board established pursuant to section 64.18 626.841. 64.19

64.20 Sec. 54. [245C.125] BACKGROUND STUDY; PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR 64.21 LICENSING AND STANDARDS BOARD.

64.22 <u>The commissioner may contract with the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards</u> 64.23 <u>Board to conduct background studies and obtain background study data as required under</u> 64.24 <u>this chapter and chapter 122A. When required in chapter 122A, the commissioner must</u> 64.25 conduct a national criminal history record check.

64.26 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 626.556, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Duties of local welfare agency and local law enforcement agency upon
receipt of report; mandatory notification between police or sheriff and agency. (a) The
police department or the county sheriff shall immediately notify the local welfare agency
or agency responsible for child protection reports under this section orally and in writing
when a report is received. The local welfare agency or agency responsible for child protection
reports shall immediately notify the local police department or the county sheriff orally and

in writing when a report is received. The county sheriff and the head of every local welfare 65.1 agency, agency responsible for child protection reports, and police department shall each 65.2 designate a person within their agency, department, or office who is responsible for ensuring 65.3 that the notification duties of this paragraph are carried out. When the alleged maltreatment 65.4 occurred on tribal land, the local welfare agency or agency responsible for child protection 65.5 reports and the local police department or the county sheriff shall immediately notify the 65.6 tribe's social services agency and tribal law enforcement orally and in writing when a report 65.7 65.8 is received. When a police department or county sheriff determines that a child has been the subject of physical abuse, sexual abuse, or neglect by a person licensed by the 65.9 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or Board of School Administrators, 65.10 it shall, in addition to its other duties under this section, immediately inform the licensing 65.11 board. Law enforcement must work collaboratively with the board that has jurisdiction over 65.12

65.13 the matter, including sharing documents and evidence to continue the investigation.

(b) Upon receipt of a report, the local welfare agency shall determine whether to conduct
a family assessment or an investigation as appropriate to prevent or provide a remedy for
child maltreatment. The local welfare agency:

65.17 (1) shall conduct an investigation on reports involving sexual abuse or substantial child65.18 endangerment;

(2) shall begin an immediate investigation if, at any time when it is using a family
assessment response, it determines that there is reason to believe that sexual abuse or
substantial child endangerment or a serious threat to the child's safety exists;

(3) may conduct a family assessment for reports that do not allege sexual abuse or
substantial child endangerment. In determining that a family assessment is appropriate, the
local welfare agency may consider issues of child safety, parental cooperation, and the need
for an immediate response;

(4) may conduct a family assessment on a report that was initially screened and assigned
for an investigation. In determining that a complete investigation is not required, the local
welfare agency must document the reason for terminating the investigation and notify the
local law enforcement agency if the local law enforcement agency is conducting a joint
investigation; and

(5) shall provide immediate notice, according to section 260.761, subdivision 2, to an
Indian child's tribe when the agency has reason to believe the family assessment or
investigation may involve an Indian child. For purposes of this clause, "immediate notice"
means notice provided within 24 hours.

If the report alleges neglect, physical abuse, or sexual abuse by a parent, guardian, or 66.1 individual functioning within the family unit as a person responsible for the child's care, or 66.2 sexual abuse by a person with a significant relationship to the child when that person resides 66.3 in the child's household or by a sibling, the local welfare agency shall immediately conduct 66.4 a family assessment or investigation as identified in clauses (1) to (4). In conducting a family 66.5 assessment or investigation, the local welfare agency shall gather information on the existence 66.6 of substance abuse and domestic violence and offer services for purposes of preventing 66.7 66.8 future child maltreatment, safeguarding and enhancing the welfare of the abused or neglected minor, and supporting and preserving family life whenever possible. If the report alleges a 66.9 violation of a criminal statute involving sexual abuse, physical abuse, or neglect or 66.10 endangerment, under section 609.378, the local law enforcement agency and local welfare 66.11 agency shall coordinate the planning and execution of their respective investigation and 66.12 assessment efforts to avoid a duplication of fact-finding efforts and multiple interviews. 66.13 Each agency shall prepare a separate report of the results of its investigation or assessment. 66.14 In cases of alleged child maltreatment resulting in death, the local agency may rely on the 66.15 fact-finding efforts of a law enforcement investigation to make a determination of whether 66.16 or not maltreatment occurred. When necessary the local welfare agency shall seek authority 66.17 to remove the child from the custody of a parent, guardian, or adult with whom the child is 66.18 living. In performing any of these duties, the local welfare agency shall maintain appropriate 66.19 records. 66.20

If the family assessment or investigation indicates there is a potential for abuse of alcohol
or other drugs by the parent, guardian, or person responsible for the child's care, the local
welfare agency shall conduct a chemical use assessment pursuant to Minnesota Rules, part
9530.6615.

(c) When a local agency receives a report or otherwise has information indicating that 66.25 a child who is a client, as defined in section 245.91, has been the subject of physical abuse, 66.26 sexual abuse, or neglect at an agency, facility, or program as defined in section 245.91, it 66.27 shall, in addition to its other duties under this section, immediately inform the ombudsman 66.28 66.29 established under sections 245.91 to 245.97. The commissioner of education shall inform the ombudsman established under sections 245.91 to 245.97 of reports regarding a child 66.30 defined as a client in section 245.91 that maltreatment occurred at a school as defined in 66.31 section 120A.05, subdivisions 9, 11, and 13, and chapter 124E. 66.32

(d) Authority of the local welfare agency responsible for assessing or investigating the
child abuse or neglect report, the agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report,
and of the local law enforcement agency for investigating the alleged abuse or neglect

includes, but is not limited to, authority to interview, without parental consent, the alleged 67.1 victim and any other minors who currently reside with or who have resided with the alleged 67.2 offender. The interview may take place at school or at any facility or other place where the 67.3 alleged victim or other minors might be found or the child may be transported to, and the 67.4 interview conducted at, a place appropriate for the interview of a child designated by the 67.5 local welfare agency or law enforcement agency. The interview may take place outside the 67.6 presence of the alleged offender or parent, legal custodian, guardian, or school official. For 67.7 67.8 family assessments, it is the preferred practice to request a parent or guardian's permission to interview the child prior to conducting the child interview, unless doing so would 67.9 compromise the safety assessment. Except as provided in this paragraph, the parent, legal 67.10 custodian, or guardian shall be notified by the responsible local welfare or law enforcement 67.11 agency no later than the conclusion of the investigation or assessment that this interview 67.12 has occurred. Notwithstanding rule 32 of the Minnesota Rules of Procedure for Juvenile 67.13 Courts, the juvenile court may, after hearing on an ex parte motion by the local welfare 67.14 agency, order that, where reasonable cause exists, the agency withhold notification of this 67.15 interview from the parent, legal custodian, or guardian. If the interview took place or is to 67.16 take place on school property, the order shall specify that school officials may not disclose 67.17 to the parent, legal custodian, or guardian the contents of the notification of intent to interview 67.18 the child on school property, as provided under this paragraph, and any other related 67.19 information regarding the interview that may be a part of the child's school record. A copy 67.20 of the order shall be sent by the local welfare or law enforcement agency to the appropriate 67.21 school official. 67.22

(e) When the local welfare, local law enforcement agency, or the agency responsible 67.23 for assessing or investigating a report of maltreatment determines that an interview should 67.24 take place on school property, written notification of intent to interview the child on school 67.25 property must be received by school officials prior to the interview. The notification shall 67.26 67.27 include the name of the child to be interviewed, the purpose of the interview, and a reference to the statutory authority to conduct an interview on school property. For interviews 67.28 conducted by the local welfare agency, the notification shall be signed by the chair of the 67.29 local social services agency or the chair's designee. The notification shall be private data 67.30 on individuals subject to the provisions of this paragraph. School officials may not disclose 67.31 to the parent, legal custodian, or guardian the contents of the notification or any other related 67.32 information regarding the interview until notified in writing by the local welfare or law 67.33 enforcement agency that the investigation or assessment has been concluded, unless a school 67.34 employee or agent is alleged to have maltreated the child. Until that time, the local welfare 67.35 or law enforcement agency or the agency responsible for assessing or investigating a report 67.36

68.1 of maltreatment shall be solely responsible for any disclosures regarding the nature of the68.2 assessment or investigation.

Except where the alleged offender is believed to be a school official or employee, the 68.3 time and place, and manner of the interview on school premises shall be within the discretion 68.4 of school officials, but the local welfare or law enforcement agency shall have the exclusive 68.5 authority to determine who may attend the interview. The conditions as to time, place, and 68.6 manner of the interview set by the school officials shall be reasonable and the interview 68.7 shall be conducted not more than 24 hours after the receipt of the notification unless another 68.8 time is considered necessary by agreement between the school officials and the local welfare 68.9 or law enforcement agency. Where the school fails to comply with the provisions of this 68.10 paragraph, the juvenile court may order the school to comply. Every effort must be made 68.11 to reduce the disruption of the educational program of the child, other students, or school 68.12 staff when an interview is conducted on school premises. 68.13

(f) Where the alleged offender or a person responsible for the care of the alleged victim
or other minor prevents access to the victim or other minor by the local welfare agency, the
juvenile court may order the parents, legal custodian, or guardian to produce the alleged
victim or other minor for questioning by the local welfare agency or the local law
enforcement agency outside the presence of the alleged offender or any person responsible
for the child's care at reasonable places and times as specified by court order.

(g) Before making an order under paragraph (f), the court shall issue an order to show cause, either upon its own motion or upon a verified petition, specifying the basis for the requested interviews and fixing the time and place of the hearing. The order to show cause shall be served personally and shall be heard in the same manner as provided in other cases in the juvenile court. The court shall consider the need for appointment of a guardian ad litem to protect the best interests of the child. If appointed, the guardian ad litem shall be present at the hearing on the order to show cause.

(h) The commissioner of human services, the ombudsman for mental health and 68.27 developmental disabilities, the local welfare agencies responsible for investigating reports, 68.28 the commissioner of education, and the local law enforcement agencies have the right to 68.29 enter facilities as defined in subdivision 2 and to inspect and copy the facility's records, 68.30 including medical records, as part of the investigation. Notwithstanding the provisions of 68.31 chapter 13, they also have the right to inform the facility under investigation that they are 68.32 conducting an investigation, to disclose to the facility the names of the individuals under 68.33 investigation for abusing or neglecting a child, and to provide the facility with a copy of 68.34 the report and the investigative findings. 68.35

(i) The local welfare agency responsible for conducting a family assessment or 69.1 investigation shall collect available and relevant information to determine child safety, risk 69.2 of subsequent child maltreatment, and family strengths and needs and share not public 69.3 information with an Indian's tribal social services agency without violating any law of the 69.4 state that may otherwise impose duties of confidentiality on the local welfare agency in 69.5 order to implement the tribal state agreement. The local welfare agency or the agency 69.6 responsible for investigating the report shall collect available and relevant information to 69.7 69.8 ascertain whether maltreatment occurred and whether protective services are needed. Information collected includes, when relevant, information with regard to the person reporting 69.9 the alleged maltreatment, including the nature of the reporter's relationship to the child and 69.10 to the alleged offender, and the basis of the reporter's knowledge for the report; the child 69.11 allegedly being maltreated; the alleged offender; the child's caretaker; and other collateral 69.12 sources having relevant information related to the alleged maltreatment. The local welfare 69.13 agency or the agency responsible for investigating the report may make a determination of 69.14 no maltreatment early in an investigation, and close the case and retain immunity, if the 69.15 collected information shows no basis for a full investigation. 69.16

69.17 Information relevant to the assessment or investigation must be asked for, and may69.18 include:

(1) the child's sex and age; prior reports of maltreatment, including any maltreatment
reports that were screened out and not accepted for assessment or investigation; information
relating to developmental functioning; credibility of the child's statement; and whether the
information provided under this clause is consistent with other information collected during
the course of the assessment or investigation;

(2) the alleged offender's age, a record check for prior reports of maltreatment, and
criminal charges and convictions. The local welfare agency or the agency responsible for
assessing or investigating the report must provide the alleged offender with an opportunity
to make a statement. The alleged offender may submit supporting documentation relevant
to the assessment or investigation;

(3) collateral source information regarding the alleged maltreatment and care of the
child. Collateral information includes, when relevant: (i) a medical examination of the child;
(ii) prior medical records relating to the alleged maltreatment or the care of the child
maintained by any facility, clinic, or health care professional and an interview with the
treating professionals; and (iii) interviews with the child's caretakers, including the child's
parent, guardian, foster parent, child care provider, teachers, counselors, family members,

relatives, and other persons who may have knowledge regarding the alleged maltreatmentand the care of the child; and

(4) information on the existence of domestic abuse and violence in the home of the child,and substance abuse.

70.5 Nothing in this paragraph precludes the local welfare agency, the local law enforcement agency, or the agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report from collecting 70.6 other relevant information necessary to conduct the assessment or investigation. 70.7 Notwithstanding sections 13.384 or 144.291 to 144.298, the local welfare agency has access 70.8 to medical data and records for purposes of clause (3). Notwithstanding the data's 70.9 70.10 classification in the possession of any other agency, data acquired by the local welfare agency or the agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report during the course 70.11 of the assessment or investigation are private data on individuals and must be maintained 70.12 in accordance with subdivision 11. Data of the commissioner of education collected or 70.13 maintained during and for the purpose of an investigation of alleged maltreatment in a school 70.14 are governed by this section, notwithstanding the data's classification as educational, 70.15 licensing, or personnel data under chapter 13. 70.16

In conducting an assessment or investigation involving a school facility as defined in
subdivision 2, paragraph (c), the commissioner of education shall collect investigative
reports and data that are relevant to a report of maltreatment and are from local law
enforcement and the school facility.

(j) Upon receipt of a report, the local welfare agency shall conduct a face-to-face contact 70.21 with the child reported to be maltreated and with the child's primary caregiver sufficient to 70.22 complete a safety assessment and ensure the immediate safety of the child. The face-to-face 70.23 contact with the child and primary caregiver shall occur immediately if sexual abuse or 70.24 substantial child endangerment is alleged and within five calendar days for all other reports. 70.25 70.26 If the alleged offender was not already interviewed as the primary caregiver, the local welfare agency shall also conduct a face-to-face interview with the alleged offender in the early 70.27 stages of the assessment or investigation. At the initial contact, the local child welfare agency 70.28 or the agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report must inform the alleged 70.29 offender of the complaints or allegations made against the individual in a manner consistent 70.30 with laws protecting the rights of the person who made the report. The interview with the 70.31 alleged offender may be postponed if it would jeopardize an active law enforcement 70.32 investigation. 70.33

(k) When conducting an investigation, the local welfare agency shall use a question and
answer interviewing format with questioning as nondirective as possible to elicit spontaneous
responses. For investigations only, the following interviewing methods and procedures must
be used whenever possible when collecting information:

71.5 (1) audio recordings of all interviews with witnesses and collateral sources; and

(2) in cases of alleged sexual abuse, audio-video recordings of each interview with thealleged victim and child witnesses.

(1) In conducting an assessment or investigation involving a school facility as defined 71.8 in subdivision 2, paragraph (c), the commissioner of education shall collect available and 71.9 relevant information and use the procedures in paragraphs (j) and (k), and subdivision 3d, 71.10 except that the requirement for face-to-face observation of the child and face-to-face interview 71.11 71.12 of the alleged offender is to occur in the initial stages of the assessment or investigation provided that the commissioner may also base the assessment or investigation on investigative 71.13 reports and data received from the school facility and local law enforcement, to the extent 71.14 those investigations satisfy the requirements of paragraphs (j) and (k), and subdivision 3d. 71.15

71.16 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 626.556, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. **Records.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) and subdivisions 10b, 10d, 71.17 71.18 10g, and 11b, all records concerning individuals maintained by a local welfare agency or agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report under this section, including 71.19 any written reports filed under subdivision 7, shall be private data on individuals, except 71.20 insofar as copies of reports are required by subdivision 7 to be sent to the local police 71.21 department or the county sheriff. All records concerning determinations of maltreatment 71.22 by a facility are nonpublic data as maintained by the Department of Education, except insofar 71.23 as copies of reports are required by subdivision 7 to be sent to the local police department 71.24 or the county sheriff. Reports maintained by any police department or the county sheriff 71.25 shall be private data on individuals except the reports shall be made available to the 71.26 investigating, petitioning, or prosecuting authority, including county medical examiners or 71.27 county coroners. Section 13.82, subdivisions 8, 9, and 14, apply to law enforcement data 71.28 other than the reports. The local social services agency or agency responsible for assessing 71.29 or investigating the report shall make available to the investigating, petitioning, or prosecuting 71.30 authority, including county medical examiners or county coroners or their professional 71.31 delegates, any records which contain information relating to a specific incident of neglect 71.32 or abuse which is under investigation, petition, or prosecution and information relating to 71.33 any prior incidents of neglect or abuse involving any of the same persons. The records shall 71.34

be collected and maintained in accordance with the provisions of chapter 13. In conducting 72.1 investigations and assessments pursuant to this section, the notice required by section 13.04, 72.2 subdivision 2, need not be provided to a minor under the age of ten who is the alleged victim 72.3 of abuse or neglect. An individual subject of a record shall have access to the record in 72.4 accordance with those sections, except that the name of the reporter shall be confidential 72.5 while the report is under assessment or investigation except as otherwise permitted by this 72.6 subdivision. Any person conducting an investigation or assessment under this section who 72.7 72.8 intentionally discloses the identity of a reporter prior to the completion of the investigation or assessment is guilty of a misdemeanor. After the assessment or investigation is completed, 72.9 the name of the reporter shall be confidential. The subject of the report may compel disclosure 72.10 of the name of the reporter only with the consent of the reporter or upon a written finding 72.11 by the court that the report was false and that there is evidence that the report was made in 72.12 bad faith. This subdivision does not alter disclosure responsibilities or obligations under 72.13 the Rules of Criminal Procedure. 72.14

(b) Upon request of the legislative auditor, data on individuals maintained under this
section must be released to the legislative auditor in order for the auditor to fulfill the auditor's
duties under section 3.971. The auditor shall maintain the data in accordance with chapter
13.

(c) The commissioner of education must be provided with all requested data that are 72.19 relevant to a report of maltreatment and are in possession of a school facility as defined in 72.20 subdivision 2, paragraph (c), when the data is requested pursuant to an assessment or 72.21 investigation of a maltreatment report of a student in a school. If the commissioner of 72.22 education makes a determination of maltreatment involving an individual performing work 72.23 within a school facility who is licensed by a board or other agency, the commissioner shall 72.24 provide necessary and relevant information to the licensing entity to enable the entity to 72.25 fulfill with the full investigative file including but not limited to witness statements, all 72.26 documents provided by witnesses or the district, a witness list, the full and complete 72.27 maltreatment determination report including the witness name key, and other information 72.28 72.29 the licensing agency deems necessary in completing its statutory duties. Upon written request from the appropriate licensing board, the commissioner of education may solicit the written 72.30 consent of a student and the student's parent to provide the licensing board with information 72.31 that may aid the licensing board in its investigation and license proceedings, including the 72.32 student's name. Notwithstanding section 13.03, subdivision 4, data received by a licensing 72.33 entity under this paragraph are governed by section 13.41 or other applicable law governing 72.34
- data of the receiving entity, except that this section applies to the classification of and access
 to data on the reporter of the maltreatment.
- 73.3 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 631.40, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Licensed teachers. When a person is convicted of child abuse, as defined in 73.4 section 609.185, or; sexual abuse under section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 73.5 609.3451, subdivision 3, or 617.23, subdivision 3, sex trafficking in the first degree under 73.6 section 609.322, subdivision 1; sex trafficking in the second degree under section 609.322, 73.7 subdivision 1a; engaging in hiring, or agreeing to hire a minor to engage in prostitution 73.8 73.9 under section 609.324, subdivisions 1 and 1a; exposure under section 617.23, subdivisions 2 and 3; solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct or communication of sexually 73.10 explicit materials to children under section 609.352; interference with privacy under section 73.11 609.746; or stalking under section 609.749, and the victim was a minor; using minors in a 73.12 sexual performance under section 617.246; possessing pornographic works involving a 73.13 73.14 minor under section 617.247; or any other offense not listed in this paragraph that requires the person to register as a predatory offender under section 243.166; the court shall determine 73.15 whether the person is licensed to teach under chapter 122A. If the offender is a licensed 73.16 teacher, the court administrator shall send a certified copy of the conviction to the 73.17 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or the Board of School Administrators, 73.18 73.19 whichever has jurisdiction over the teacher's license, within ten days after the conviction. 73.20 Sec. 58. REPEALER. (a) Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 5, article 11, section 6, is repealed. 73.21 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 122A.09, subdivision 1; and 122A.182, subdivision 73.22 2, are repealed. 73.23 (c) Minnesota Rules, part 8710.2100, subparts 1 and 2, are repealed. 73.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 73.25 73.26 **ARTICLE 4 SPECIAL EDUCATION** 73.27 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 125A.08, is amended to read: 73.28 **125A.08 INDIVIDUALIZED EDUCATION PROGRAMS.** 73.29 (a) At the beginning of each school year, each school district shall have in effect, for 73.30 each child with a disability, an individualized education program. 73.31

74.1

(b) As defined in this section, every district must ensure the following:

(1) all students with disabilities are provided the special instruction and services which 74.2 are appropriate to their needs. Where the individualized education program team has 74.3 determined appropriate goals and objectives based on the student's needs, including the 74.4 74.5 extent to which the student can be included in the least restrictive environment, and where there are essentially equivalent and effective instruction, related services, or assistive 74.6 technology devices available to meet the student's needs, cost to the district may be among 74.7 the factors considered by the team in choosing how to provide the appropriate services, 74.8 instruction, or devices that are to be made part of the student's individualized education 74.9 program. The individualized education program team shall consider and may authorize 74.10 services covered by medical assistance according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 26. 74.11 Before a school district evaluation team makes a determination of other health disability 74.12 under Minnesota Rules, part 3525.1335, subparts 1 and 2, item A, subitem (1), the evaluation 74.13 team must seek written documentation of the student's medically diagnosed chronic or acute 74.14 health condition signed by a licensed physician or a licensed health care provider acting 74.15 within the scope of the provider's practice. The student's needs and the special education 74.16 instruction and services to be provided must be agreed upon through the development of 74.17 an individualized education program. The program must address the student's need to develop 74.18 skills to live and work as independently as possible within the community. The individualized 74.19 education program team must consider positive behavioral interventions, strategies, and 74.20 supports that address behavior needs for children. During grade 9, the program must address 74.21 the student's needs for transition from secondary services to postsecondary education and 74.22 training, employment, community participation, recreation, and leisure and home living. In 74.23 developing the program, districts must inform parents of the full range of transitional goals 74.24 and related services that should be considered. The program must include a statement of 74.25 the needed transition services, including a statement of the interagency responsibilities or 74.26 linkages or both before secondary services are concluded. If the individualized education 74.27 program meets the plan components in section 120B.125, the individualized education 74.28 program satisfies the requirement and no additional transition plan is needed; An 74.29 individualized education program team, after affirmative approval of the parent, may 74.30 eliminate benchmarks or short-term objectives, except for students who take alternative 74.31 assessments. The individualized education program may report the student's performance 74.32 on general state or districtwide assessments related to the student's educational needs; 74.33

(2) children with a disability under age five and their families are provided special
 instruction and services appropriate to the child's level of functioning and needs;

(3) children with a disability and their parents or guardians are guaranteed procedural
safeguards and the right to participate in decisions involving identification, assessment
including assistive technology assessment, and educational placement of children with a
disability;

(4) eligibility and needs of children with a disability are determined by an initial
evaluation or reevaluation, which may be completed using existing data under United States
Code, title 20, section 33, et seq.;

(5) to the maximum extent appropriate, children with a disability, including those in
public or private institutions or other care facilities, are educated with children who are not
disabled, and that special classes, separate schooling, or other removal of children with a
disability from the regular educational environment occurs only when and to the extent that
the nature or severity of the disability is such that education in regular classes with the use
of supplementary services cannot be achieved satisfactorily;

(6) in accordance with recognized professional standards, testing and evaluation materials,
and procedures used for the purposes of classification and placement of children with a
disability are selected and administered so as not to be racially or culturally discriminatory;
and

(7) the rights of the child are protected when the parents or guardians are not known ornot available, or the child is a ward of the state.

(c) For all paraprofessionals employed to work in programs whose role in part is to
provide direct support to students with disabilities, the school board in each district shall
ensure that:

(1) before or beginning at the time of employment, each paraprofessional must develop
sufficient knowledge and skills in emergency procedures, building orientation, roles and
responsibilities, confidentiality, vulnerability, and reportability, among other things, to begin
meeting the needs, especially disability-specific and behavioral needs, of the students with
whom the paraprofessional works;

(2) annual training opportunities are required to enable the paraprofessional to continue
to further develop the knowledge and skills that are specific to the students with whom the
paraprofessional works, including understanding disabilities, the unique and individual
needs of each student according to the student's disability and how the disability affects the
student's education and behavior, following lesson plans, and implementing follow-up
instructional procedures and activities; and

(3) a district wide process obligates each paraprofessional to work under the ongoing
direction of a licensed teacher and, where appropriate and possible, the supervision of a
school nurse.

(d) A school district may conduct a functional behavior assessment as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 3525.0210, subpart 22, as a stand-alone evaluation without conducting a comprehensive evaluation of the student.

76.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 125A.091, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Additional requirements for prior written notice. In addition to federal law
requirements, a prior written notice shall:

(1) inform the parent that except for the initial placement of a child in special education,
the school district will proceed with its proposal for the child's placement or for providing
special education services unless the child's parent notifies the district of an objection within
14 days of when the district sends the prior written notice to the parent; and

(2) state that a parent who objects to a proposal or refusal in the prior written noticemay:

(i) request a conciliation conference under subdivision 7 or another alternative dispute
 resolution procedure under subdivision 8 or 9; or

(ii) identify the specific part of the proposal or refusal the parent objects to and request
 a meeting with appropriate members of the individualized education program team.

76.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 125A.091, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

76.21 Subd. 7. Conciliation conference. A parent must have an opportunity to request a meeting of the individualized education program team or meet with appropriate district staff 76.22 in at least one conciliation conference if the parent objects to any proposal of which the 76.23 parent receives notice under subdivision 3a. A district must hold a conciliation conference 76.24 within ten calendar days from the date the district receives a parent's objection to a proposal 76.25 or refusal in the prior written notice request for a conciliation conference. Except as provided 76.26 in this section, all discussions held during a conciliation conference are confidential and 76.27 are not admissible in a due process hearing. Within five school days after the final conciliation 76.28 conference, the district must prepare and provide to the parent a conciliation conference 76.29 memorandum that describes the district's final proposed offer of service. This memorandum 76.30 is admissible in evidence in any subsequent proceeding. 76.31

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 125A.50, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Commissioner approval. The commissioner may approve applications 77.2 from districts initiating or significantly changing a program to provide prevention services 77.3 as an alternative to special education and other compensatory programs. A district with an 77.4 approved program may provide instruction and services in a regular education classroom, 77.5 or an area learning center, to eligible pupils. Pupils eligible to participate in the program 77.6 are pupils who need additional academic or behavioral support to succeed in the general 77.7 77.8 education environment and who may eventually qualify for special education instruction or related services under sections 125A.03 to 125A.24 and 125A.65 if the intervention 77.9 services authorized by this section were unavailable. A pupil with an individualized education 77.10 program may participate in the program in a service area which the individualized education 77.11 program team has determined is not an educational need that results from the pupil's 77.12 disability. Pupils may be provided services during extended school days and throughout the 77.13 entire year and through the assurance of mastery program under sections 125A.03 to 125A.24 77.14

77.15 and 125A.65.

77.16 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136D.01, is amended to read:

77.17 **136D.01 INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT.**

"Intermediate <u>school</u> district" means a district with a cooperative program which has
been established under Laws 1967, chapter 822, as amended; Laws 1969, chapter 775, as
amended; and Laws 1969, chapter 1060, as amended this chapter, offering integrated services
for secondary, postsecondary, and adult students in the areas of vocational education, special
education, and other authorized services.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136D.49, is amended to read:

136D.49 OTHER MEMBERSHIP AND POWERS.

In addition to the districts listed in sections 136D.21, 136D.41, 136D.71, and 136D.81, the agreement of an intermediate school district established under this chapter may provide for the membership of other school districts and cities, counties, and other governmental units as defined in section 471.59. In addition to the powers listed in sections 136D.25, <u>136D.24, 136D.44,</u> 136D.73, and 136D.84, an intermediate school board may provide the services defined in section 123A.21, subdivisions 7 and 8.

78.1	Sec. 7. PRIOR WRITTEN NOTICE WORKING GROUP.
78.2	(a) The commissioner of education must appoint a working group by July 1, 2019, that
78.3	includes the following:
78.4	(1) special education administrators;
78.5	(2) special education teachers;
78.6	(3) school board members;
78.7	(4) parents of children with disabilities receiving special instruction and services in
78.8	accordance with chapter 125A;
78.9	(5) organizations that work with the parents of children with disabilities; and
78.10	(6) Department of Education staff with expertise in special education compliance.
78.11	(b) The commissioner of education must convene the first meeting of the working group
78.12	no later than July 15, 2019, and must provide support and meeting space for the working
78.13	group. The meetings of the working group are subject to the requirements of Minnesota
78.14	Statutes, chapter 13D.
78.15	(c) Members of the working group serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed
78.16	for allowed actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of the member's
78.17	duties for the working group in the same manner and amount as authorized by the
78.18	commissioner's plan under Minnesota Statutes, section 43A.18, subdivision 2.
78.19	(d) The working group must make recommendations for improving alignment between
78.20	state guidance and federal law requirements on prior written notice by January 15, 2020.
78.21	The working group must report its recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority
78.22	members of the legislative committees or divisions with jurisdiction over kindergarten
78.23	through grade 12 education.
78.24	(e) This section expires January 16, 2020, or the day after submitting its report required
78.25	by this section, whichever is earlier.
78.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
78.27	Sec. 8. INDIVIDUALIZED EDUCATION PROGRAM; RULE AMENDMENT.
78.28	The commissioner of education must amend Minnesota Rules, part 3525.2810, subpart
78.29	2, item A, to allow but not require an individualized education program to report a student's
78.30	performance on general state or districtwide assessments.

79.1

Sec. 9. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.

79.2	(a) The revisor of statutes shall renumber the provisions of Minnesota Statutes listed in

79.4	Column A	<u>Column B</u>
79.5	<u>136D.01</u>	<u>123C.01</u>
79.6	<u>136D.21</u>	<u>123C.20</u>
79.7	136D.22, subdivisions 1 and 2	123C.21, subdivisions 1 and 2
79.8	<u>136D.23</u>	<u>123C.22</u>
79.9	<u>136D.24</u>	<u>123C.23</u>
79.10	<u>136D.25</u>	<u>123C.24</u>
79.11	<u>136D.26</u>	<u>123C.25</u>
79.12	<u>136D.29</u>	<u>123C.26</u>
79.13	<u>136D.31</u>	<u>123C.27</u>
79.14	<u>136D.41</u>	<u>123C.30</u>
79.15	<u>136D.42</u>	<u>123C.31</u>
79.16	<u>136D.43</u>	<u>123C.32</u>
79.17	<u>136D.44</u>	<u>123C.33</u>
79.18	<u>136D.45</u>	<u>123C.34</u>
79.19	<u>136D.46</u>	<u>123C.35</u>
79.20	<u>136D.47</u>	<u>123C.36</u>
79.21	<u>136D.48</u>	<u>123C.37</u>
79.22	<u>136D.49</u>	<u>123C.02</u>
79.23	136D.71, subdivision 1	123C.60, subdivision 1
79.24	<u>136D.72</u>	123C.61
79.25	136D.73, subdivision 1	123C.63, subdivision 1
79.26	136D.73, subdivision 2	123C.63, subdivision 3
79.27	136D.73, subdivision 4	123C.63, subdivision 4
79.28	136D.73, subdivision 4a	123C.63, subdivision 5
79.29	136D.73, subdivision 4b	123C.63, subdivision 6
79.30	136D.73, subdivision 4c	123C.63, subdivision 7
79.31	136D.73, subdivision 5	123C.63, subdivision 8
79.32	136D.74, subdivision 1	123C.62, subdivision 1
79.33	136D.74, subdivision 1a	123C.62, subdivision 2
79.34	136D.74, subdivision 1b	123C.62, subdivision 3
79.35	136D.76, subdivision 1	123C.63, subdivision 2
79.36	136D.76, subdivision 2	123C.60, subdivision 2
79.37	136D.81, subdivision 1	<u>123C.70</u>

03/08/19 07:42 pm HOUSE RESEARCH CP/BV H1711DE1 136D.82, subdivisions 1 and 2 123C.71, subdivisions 1 and 2 80.1 80.2 136D.83 123C.72 136D.84 123C.73 80.3 136D.85 123C.74 80.4 136D.86 123C.75 80.5 136D.90, subdivision 1 <u>123C.76</u> 80.6 136D.92 123C.77 80.7 80.8 (b) The revisor of statutes shall make necessary cross-reference changes in Minnesota Statutes consistent with the renumbering in this section, and if Minnesota Statutes, chapter 80.9 136D, is further amended in the 2019 legislative session, shall codify the amendments in a 80.10 manner consistent with this act. The revisor may make necessary changes to sentence 80.11 structure to preserve the meaning of the text. 80.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 80.13 80.14 Sec. 10. **REPEALER.** Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 136D.93, is repealed. 80.15 80.16 **ARTICLE 5 HEALTH AND SAFETY** 80.17 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120B.21, is amended to read: 80.18 **120B.21 MENTAL HEALTH EDUCATION.** 80.19 School districts and charter schools are encouraged to provide mental health instruction 80.20 for students in grades 64 through 12 aligned with local health standards and integrated into 80.21 existing programs, curriculum, or the general school environment of a district or charter 80.22 80.23 school. The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of human services and 80.24 mental health organizations, is encouraged to must, by July 1, 2020, and July 1 of each even-numbered year thereafter, provide districts and charter schools with: 80.25 80.26 (1) age-appropriate model learning activities for grades $\frac{6}{4}$ through 12 that encompass the mental health components of the National Health Education Standards and the 80.27 benchmarks developed by the department's quality teaching network in health and best 80.28 practices in mental health education; and 80.29 (2) a directory of resources for planning and implementing age-appropriate mental health 80.30 curriculum and instruction in grades 6 4 through 12, which includes resources on suicide 80.31 and self-harm prevention. 80.32

81.1	Sec. 2. [120B.211] SEXUAL HEALTH EDUCATION.
81.2	Subdivision 1. Model program. (a) The commissioner of education must, in consultation
81.3	with the commissioner of health and other qualified experts, identify one or more model
81.4	comprehensive sexual health education programs for elementary and secondary school
81.5	students. The commissioner must use the rulemaking process under section 14.389, including
81.6	a hearing under subdivision 5, to identify a model program under this section. The
81.7	commissioner must provide school districts and charter schools with access to the model
81.8	program, including written materials, curriculum resources, and training for instructors by
81.9	June 1, 2021.
81.10	(b) The model program must include medically accurate instruction that is age and
81.11	developmentally appropriate on:
81.12	(1) human anatomy, reproduction, and sexual development;
81.13	(2) consent, bodily autonomy, and healthy relationships, including relationships involving
81.14	diverse sexual orientations and gender identities;
81.15	(3) abstinence and other methods for preventing unintended pregnancy and sexually
81.16	transmitted infections; and
81.17	(4) the relationship between substance use and sexual behavior and health.
81.18	(c) "Consent" as used in this section means affirmative, conscious, and voluntary
81.19	agreement to engage in interpersonal, physical, or sexual activity.
81.20	Subd. 2. School programs. (a) Starting in the 2021-2022 school year, a school district
81.21	or charter school must implement a comprehensive sexual health education program for
81.22	students in elementary and secondary school, including students with disabilities and students
81.23	enrolled in a state-approved alternative program. The sexual health education program must
81.24	include instruction on the topics listed in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and must:
81.25	(1) respect community values and encourage students to communicate with parents or
81.26	guardians; faith, health, and social services professionals; and other trusted adults about
81.27	sexuality and intimate relationships;
81.28	(2) respond to culturally diverse individuals, families, and communities in an inclusive,
81.29	respectful, and effective manner; and
81.30	(3) provide students with information about local resources where students may obtain
81.31	medically accurate information and services related to sexual and reproductive health, dating
81.32	violence, and sexual assault.

82.2	notification to:
82.3	(1) students and school employees regarding criminal penalties for engaging in sexual
82.4	contact with minors and the availability of mistake as to age or consent of the minors as a
82.5	defense; and
82.6	(2) school employees and administrators that a teacher or administrator who engages in
82.7	sexual contact with a student may be found in violation of the teacher code of ethics and
82.8	that such conduct may be grounds for suspension or revocation of a teaching license in
82.9	accordance with section 122A.20, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1).
82.10	(c) The superintendent of a school district or person having administrative control over
82.11	a charter school must submit to the commissioner an annual assurance of compliance with
82.12	the requirements of this section. The assurance must state whether the district or charter
82.13	school adopted a model program identified in accordance with subdivision 1, or whether
82.14	the district or charter school adopted a different program. The assurances must be in the
82.15	form and manner prescribed by the commissioner.
82.16	(d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, instruction in a sexual health education
82.17	program under this section may be provided by a person without a teaching license, who is
82.18	employed by the school district, charter school, or a community organization if the school
82.19	administration determines the school employee or community organization has necessary
82.20	content expertise.
82.21	Subd. 3. Parental review. A school district or charter school must provide instruction
82.22	under this section consistent with the parental curriculum review requirements in section
82.23	<u>120B.20.</u>
82.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
82.25	Sec. 3. [121A.032] SCHOOL SEXUAL HARASSMENT AND SEX
82.26	DISCRIMINATION POLICY COMPLIANCE.
82.27	Subdivision 1. Duties. To support school compliance with state and federal sexual
82.28	harassment and sex discrimination laws, the Department of Education must:
82.29	(1) provide leadership, consultation, and technical assistance to districts on the
82.30	responsibilities of district Title IX coordinators;
82.31	(2) collaborate with state experts on sexual violence, including the Minnesota Department
82.32	of Health Sexual Violence Prevention Unit and Minnesota Department of Human Rights,

83.1	to establish model protocols, material development, and training to district-designated Title
83.2	IX coordinators as appropriate;
83.3	(3) disseminate guidance from the federal government on Title IX, including school-based
83.4	sexual harassment and sexual violence;
83.5	(4) collect and maintain an updated statewide list of Title IX coordinators for all public
83.6	school districts;
83.7	(5) serve as the state lead on Title IX for schools, parents, students, and community
83.8	organizations; and
83.9	(6) upon request from a school district, provide specific training to public schools on
83.10	preventing and responding to sexual violence, conducting trauma-informed investigations,
83.11	and provide redress for victims, including but not limited to accommodations during the
83.12	investigation as requested.
83.13	Subd. 2. Training. The Department of Education must provide training to Title IX
83.14	coordinators on state and federal sexual harassment and sex discrimination laws every other
83.15	year. The training must include responding to allegations, conducting investigations, and
83.16	reviewing and implementing prevention policies focused on changing culture.
83.17	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.22, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
83.17 83.18	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.22, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only:
83.18	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only:
83.18 83.19	Subdivision 1. Applicability. <u>(a)</u> This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine
83.18 83.19 83.20	Subdivision 1. Applicability. <u>(a)</u> This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or
83.1883.1983.2083.21	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child
 83.18 83.19 83.20 83.21 83.22 	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child with a disability.
 83.18 83.19 83.20 83.21 83.22 83.23 	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child with a disability. The request of a parent may be oral or in writing. An oral request must be reduced to
 83.18 83.19 83.20 83.21 83.22 83.23 83.24 	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child with a disability. The request of a parent may be oral or in writing. An oral request must be reduced to writing within two school days, provided that the district may rely on an oral request until
 83.18 83.19 83.20 83.21 83.22 83.23 83.24 83.25 	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child with a disability. The request of a parent may be oral or in writing. An oral request must be reduced to writing within two school days, provided that the district may rely on an oral request until a written request is received.
 83.18 83.19 83.20 83.21 83.22 83.23 83.24 83.25 83.26 	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child with a disability. The request of a parent may be oral or in writing. An oral request must be reduced to writing within two school days, provided that the district may rely on an oral request until a written request is received. (b) If the administration of a drug or medication described in paragraph (a) requires the
 83.18 83.19 83.20 83.21 83.22 83.23 83.24 83.25 83.26 83.27 	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child with a disability. The request of a parent may be oral or in writing. An oral request must be reduced to writing within two school days, provided that the district may rely on an oral request until a written request is received. (b) If the administration of a drug or medication described in paragraph (a) requires the school to store the drugs or medication, the parent or legal guardian must inform the school
 83.18 83.19 83.20 83.21 83.22 83.23 83.24 83.25 83.26 83.27 83.28 	Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies only: (1) when the parent of a pupil requests school personnel to administer drugs or medicine to the pupil; or (2) when administration is allowed by the individualized education program of a child with a disability. The request of a parent may be oral or in writing. An oral request must be reduced to writing within two school days, provided that the district may rely on an oral request until a written request is received. (b) If the administration of a drug or medication described in paragraph (a) requires the school to store the drugs or medication, the parent or legal guardian must inform the school if the drug or medication is a controlled substance. For drugs or medications that are not

medications that are controlled substances, the request must specify that the parent or legal 84.1 guardian is required to retrieve the drug when requested by the school. 84.2 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.22, is amended by adding a subdivision to 84.3 read: 84.4 Subd. 4a. Unclaimed drugs or medications. (a) Each school district shall adopt a 84.5 procedure for the collection and transport of any unclaimed or abandoned prescription drugs 84.6 84.7 or over-the-counter medications left in the possession of school personnel in accordance with this subdivision. The procedure must ensure that before the transportation of any 84.8 84.9 prescription drug under this subdivision, the school district shall make a reasonable attempt to return the unused prescription drug to the student's parent or legal guardian. The procedure 84.10 must provide that transportation of unclaimed or unused prescription drugs or 84.11 over-the-counter medications occur at least annually, or more frequently as determined by 84.12 84.13 the school district. 84.14 (b) If the unclaimed or abandoned prescription drug is not a controlled substance as defined under section 152.01, subdivision 4, or is an over-the-counter medication, the school 84.15 84.16 district may designate an individual who shall be responsible for transporting the drugs or 84.17 medications to a designated drop-off box or collection site or may request that a law enforcement agency transport the drugs or medications to a drop-off box or collection site 84.18 84.19 on behalf of the school district. (c) If the unclaimed or abandoned prescription drug is a controlled substance as defined 84.20 in section 152.01, subdivision 4, a school district or school personnel is prohibited from 84.21 transporting the prescription drug to a drop-off box or collection site for prescription drugs 84.22 identified under this paragraph. The school district must request that a law enforcement 84.23 agency transport the prescription drug or medication to a collection bin that complies with 84.24 Drug Enforcement Agency regulations, or if a site is not available, under the agency's 84.25 procedure for transporting drugs. 84.26 84.27 Sec. 6. [121A.223] POSSESSION AND USE OF SUNSCREEN. A school district must allow a student to possess and apply a topical sunscreen product 84.28 84.29 during the school day, while on school property, or at a school-sponsored event without a

84.30 prescription, physician's note, or other documentation from a licensed health care

84.31 professional. A school district may adopt a policy related to student possession and use of

84.32 sunscreen consistent with this section. Nothing in this section requires school personnel to

84.33 provide sunscreen or assist students in applying sunscreen.

85.1

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 626.556, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings
given them unless the specific content indicates otherwise:

(a) "Accidental" means a sudden, not reasonably foreseeable, and unexpected occurrenceor event which:

(1) is not likely to occur and could not have been prevented by exercise of due care; and

(2) if occurring while a child is receiving services from a facility, happens when the
facility and the employee or person providing services in the facility are in compliance with
the laws and rules relevant to the occurrence or event.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

85.11 (c) "Facility" means:

(1) a licensed or unlicensed day care facility, certified license-exempt child care center,
residential facility, agency, hospital, sanitarium, or other facility or institution required to
be licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58, 241.021, or 245A.01 to 245A.16, or chapter
144H, 245D, or 245H;

(2) a school as defined in section 120A.05, subdivisions 9, 11, and 13; and chapter 124E;
or

(3) a nonlicensed personal care provider organization as defined in section 256B.0625,
subdivision 19a.

(d) "Family assessment" means a comprehensive assessment of child safety, risk of
subsequent child maltreatment, and family strengths and needs that is applied to a child
maltreatment report that does not allege sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment.
Family assessment does not include a determination as to whether child maltreatment
occurred but does determine the need for services to address the safety of family members
and the risk of subsequent maltreatment.

(e) "Investigation" means fact gathering related to the current safety of a child and the risk of subsequent maltreatment that determines whether child maltreatment occurred and whether child protective services are needed. An investigation must be used when reports involve sexual abuse or substantial child endangerment, and for reports of maltreatment in facilities required to be licensed or certified under chapter 245A, 245D, or 245H; under sections 144.50 to 144.58 and 241.021; in a school as defined in section 120A.05,

subdivisions 9, 11, and 13, and chapter 124E; or in a nonlicensed personal care provider
association as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a.

(f) "Mental injury" means an injury to the psychological capacity or emotional stability
of a child as evidenced by an observable or substantial impairment in the child's ability to
function within a normal range of performance and behavior with due regard to the child's
culture.

86.7 (g) "Neglect" means the commission or omission of any of the acts specified under
86.8 clauses (1) to (9), other than by accidental means:

(1) failure by a person responsible for a child's care to supply a child with necessary
food, clothing, shelter, health, medical, or other care required for the child's physical or
mental health when reasonably able to do so;

(2) failure to protect a child from conditions or actions that seriously endanger the child's
physical or mental health when reasonably able to do so, including a growth delay, which
may be referred to as a failure to thrive, that has been diagnosed by a physician and is due
to parental neglect;

(3) failure to provide for necessary supervision or child care arrangements appropriate
for a child after considering factors as the child's age, mental ability, physical condition,
length of absence, or environment, when the child is unable to care for the child's own basic
needs or safety, or the basic needs or safety of another child in their care;

(4) failure to ensure that the child is educated as defined in sections 120A.22 and
260C.163, subdivision 11, which does not include a parent's refusal to provide the parent's
child with sympathomimetic medications, consistent with section 125A.091, subdivision
5;

(5) nothing in this section shall be construed to mean that a child is neglected solely 86.24 86.25 because the child's parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the child's care in good faith selects and depends upon spiritual means or prayer for treatment or care of disease or 86.26 remedial care of the child in lieu of medical care; except that a parent, guardian, or caretaker, 86.27 or a person mandated to report pursuant to subdivision 3, has a duty to report if a lack of 86.28 medical care may cause serious danger to the child's health. This section does not impose 86.29 upon persons, not otherwise legally responsible for providing a child with necessary food, 86.30 clothing, shelter, education, or medical care, a duty to provide that care; 86.31

(6) prenatal exposure to a controlled substance, as defined in section 253B.02, subdivision
2, used by the mother for a nonmedical purpose, as evidenced by withdrawal symptoms in

87.4

the child at birth, results of a toxicology test performed on the mother at delivery or the 87.1 child at birth, medical effects or developmental delays during the child's first year of life 87.2 87.3 that medically indicate prenatal exposure to a controlled substance, or the presence of a fetal alcohol spectrum disorder;

(7) "medical neglect" as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 6, clause (5); 87.5

(8) chronic and severe use of alcohol or a controlled substance by a parent or person 87.6 responsible for the care of the child that adversely affects the child's basic needs and safety; 87.7 or 87.8

(9) emotional harm from a pattern of behavior which contributes to impaired emotional 87.9 functioning of the child which may be demonstrated by a substantial and observable effect 87.10 in the child's behavior, emotional response, or cognition that is not within the normal range 87.11 87.12 for the child's age and stage of development, with due regard to the child's culture.

(h) "Nonmaltreatment mistake" means: 87.13

(1) at the time of the incident, the individual was performing duties identified in the 87.14 center's child care program plan required under Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0045; 87.15

(2) the individual has not been determined responsible for a similar incident that resulted 87.16 in a finding of maltreatment for at least seven years; 87.17

87.18 (3) the individual has not been determined to have committed a similar nonmaltreatment mistake under this paragraph for at least four years; 87.19

(4) any injury to a child resulting from the incident, if treated, is treated only with 87.20 remedies that are available over the counter, whether ordered by a medical professional or 87.21 not; and 87.22

(5) except for the period when the incident occurred, the facility and the individual 87.23 providing services were both in compliance with all licensing requirements relevant to the 87.24 incident. 87.25

This definition only applies to child care centers licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 87.26 9503. If clauses (1) to (5) apply, rather than making a determination of substantiated 87.27 maltreatment by the individual, the commissioner of human services shall determine that a 87.28 nonmaltreatment mistake was made by the individual. 87.29

(i) "Operator" means an operator or agency as defined in section 245A.02. 87.30

87.31 (j) "Person responsible for the child's care" means (1) an individual functioning within the family unit and having responsibilities for the care of the child such as a parent, guardian, 87.32

or other person having similar care responsibilities, or (2) an individual functioning outside
the family unit and having responsibilities for the care of the child such as a teacher, school
administrator, other school employees or agents, or other lawful custodian of a child having
either full-time or short-term care responsibilities including, but not limited to, day care,
babysitting whether paid or unpaid, counseling, teaching, and coaching.

(k) "Physical abuse" means any physical injury, mental injury, or threatened injury,
inflicted by a person responsible for the child's care on a child other than by accidental
means, or any physical or mental injury that cannot reasonably be explained by the child's
history of injuries, or any aversive or deprivation procedures, or regulated interventions,
that have not been authorized under section 125A.0942 or 245.825.

Abuse does not include reasonable and moderate physical discipline of a child administered by a parent or legal guardian which does not result in an injury. Abuse does not include the use of reasonable force by a teacher, principal, or school employee as allowed by section 121A.582. Actions which are not reasonable and moderate include, but are not limited to, any of the following:

(1) throwing, kicking, burning, biting, or cutting a child;

88.17 (2) striking a child with a closed fist;

88.18 (3) shaking a child under age three;

(4) striking or other actions which result in any nonaccidental injury to a child under 18months of age;

(5) unreasonable interference with a child's breathing;

(6) threatening a child with a weapon, as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 6;

(7) striking a child under age one on the face or head;

(8) striking a child who is at least age one but under age four on the face or head, which
results in an injury;

(9) purposely giving a child poison, alcohol, or dangerous, harmful, or controlled
substances which were not prescribed for the child by a practitioner, in order to control or
punish the child; or other substances that substantially affect the child's behavior, motor
coordination, or judgment or that results in sickness or internal injury, or subjects the child
to medical procedures that would be unnecessary if the child were not exposed to the
substances;

(10) unreasonable physical confinement or restraint not permitted under section 609.379,
including but not limited to tying, caging, or chaining; or

- (11) in a school facility or school zone, an act by a person responsible for the child's
 care that is a violation under section 121A.58.
- (1) "Practice of social services," for the purposes of subdivision 3, includes but is not
 limited to employee assistance counseling and the provision of guardian ad litem and
 parenting time expeditor services.

(m) "Report" means any communication received by the local welfare agency, police
department, county sheriff, or agency responsible for child protection pursuant to this section
that describes neglect or physical or sexual abuse of a child and contains sufficient content
to identify the child and any person believed to be responsible for the neglect or abuse, if
known.

(n) "Sexual abuse" means the subjection of a child by a person responsible for the child's 89.13 care, by a person who has a significant relationship to the child, as defined in section 609.341, 89.14 or by a person in a position of authority, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 10, to 89.15 any act which constitutes a violation of section 609.342 (criminal sexual conduct in the first 89.16 degree), 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in the second degree), 609.344 (criminal sexual 89.17 conduct in the third degree), 609.345 (criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree), or 89.18 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree), or 609.352 (solicitation of children 89.19 to engage in sexual conduct; communication of sexually explicit materials to children). 89.20 Sexual abuse also includes any act which involves a minor which constitutes a violation of 89.21 prostitution offenses under sections 609.321 to 609.324 or 617.246. Effective May 29, 2017, 89.22 sexual abuse includes all reports of known or suspected child sex trafficking involving a 89.23 child who is identified as a victim of sex trafficking. Sexual abuse includes child sex 89.24 trafficking as defined in section 609.321, subdivisions 7a and 7b. Sexual abuse includes 89.25 89.26 threatened sexual abuse which includes the status of a parent or household member who has committed a violation which requires registration as an offender under section 243.166, 89.27 subdivision 1b, paragraph (a) or (b), or required registration under section 243.166, 89.28 subdivision 1b, paragraph (a) or (b). 89.29

(o) "Substantial child endangerment" means a person responsible for a child's care, by
act or omission, commits or attempts to commit an act against a child under their care that
constitutes any of the following:

(1) egregious harm as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 14;

(2) abandonment under section 260C.301, subdivision 2;

(3) neglect as defined in paragraph (g), clause (2), that substantially endangers the child's 90.1 physical or mental health, including a growth delay, which may be referred to as failure to 90.2 90.3 thrive, that has been diagnosed by a physician and is due to parental neglect; (4) murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 90.4 90.5 (5) manslaughter in the first or second degree under section 609.20 or 609.205; (6) assault in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 90.6 90.7 (7) solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution under section 609.322; (8) criminal sexual conduct under sections 609.342 to 609.3451; 90.8 (9) solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352; 90.9 (10) malicious punishment or neglect or endangerment of a child under section 609.377 90.10 or 609.378; 90.11 (11) use of a minor in sexual performance under section 617.246; or 90.12 (12) parental behavior, status, or condition which mandates that the county attorney file 90.13 a termination of parental rights petition under section 260C.503, subdivision 2. 90.14 (p) "Threatened injury" means a statement, overt act, condition, or status that represents 90.15 a substantial risk of physical or sexual abuse or mental injury. Threatened injury includes, 90.16 but is not limited to, exposing a child to a person responsible for the child's care, as defined 90.17 in paragraph (j), clause (1), who has: 90.18 (1) subjected a child to, or failed to protect a child from, an overt act or condition that 90.19 constitutes egregious harm, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 14, or a similar law 90.20 of another jurisdiction; 90.21 (2) been found to be palpably unfit under section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph 90.22 (b), clause (4), or a similar law of another jurisdiction; 90.23 (3) committed an act that has resulted in an involuntary termination of parental rights 90.24

90.25 under section 260C.301, or a similar law of another jurisdiction; or

90.26 (4) committed an act that has resulted in the involuntary transfer of permanent legal and
90.27 physical custody of a child to a relative under Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 260C.201,
90.28 subdivision 11, paragraph (d), clause (1), section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or a similar law
90.29 of another jurisdiction.

A child is the subject of a report of threatened injury when the responsible social services
agency receives birth match data under paragraph (q) from the Department of Human
Services.

(q) Upon receiving data under section 144.225, subdivision 2b, contained in a birth 91.4 record or recognition of parentage identifying a child who is subject to threatened injury 91.5 under paragraph (p), the Department of Human Services shall send the data to the responsible 91.6 91.7 social services agency. The data is known as "birth match" data. Unless the responsible 91.8 social services agency has already begun an investigation or assessment of the report due to the birth of the child or execution of the recognition of parentage and the parent's previous 91.9 history with child protection, the agency shall accept the birth match data as a report under 91.10 this section. The agency may use either a family assessment or investigation to determine 91.11 whether the child is safe. All of the provisions of this section apply. If the child is determined 91.12 to be safe, the agency shall consult with the county attorney to determine the appropriateness 91.13 of filing a petition alleging the child is in need of protection or services under section 91.14 260C.007, subdivision 6, clause (16), in order to deliver needed services. If the child is 91.15 determined not to be safe, the agency and the county attorney shall take appropriate action 91.16 as required under section 260C.503, subdivision 2. 91.17

91.18 (r) Persons who conduct assessments or investigations under this section shall take into
91.19 account accepted child-rearing practices of the culture in which a child participates and
91.20 accepted teacher discipline practices, which are not injurious to the child's health, welfare,
91.21 and safety.

91.22 Sec. 8. SEXUAL HEALTH EDUCATION REPORT.

91.23The commissioner of education must submit a report to the committees of the legislature91.24having jurisdiction over kindergarten through grade 12 education on the sexual health91.25education program required under Minnesota Statutes, section 120B.211. The report must91.26include:

91.27 (1) a description of how the model sexual health education program or programs were
91.28 identified;

91.29 (2) assistance provided to school districts and charter schools implementing a sexual
91.30 health education program;

91.31 (3) the number of school districts and charter schools that adopted each model program;
91.32 and

91.33 (4) a list of the school districts and charter schools that did not adopt the model program.

Article 5 Sec. 8.

92.1	The commissioner must submit the report no later than January 15, 2022, and must submit
92.2	the report in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 3.195.
92.3	ARTICLE 6
92.4	FACILITIES
92.5	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.335, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
92.6	Subd. 3. Frequency of testing. (a) The plan under subdivision 2 must include a testing
92.7	schedule for every building serving prekindergarten through grade 12 students. The schedule
92.8	must require that each building be tested at least once every five years. A school district or
92.9	charter school must begin testing school buildings by July 1, 2018, and complete testing of
92.10	all buildings that serve students within five years.
92.11	(b) A school district or charter school that finds lead at a specific location providing
92.12	cooking or drinking water within a facility must formulate, make publicly available, and
92.13	implement a plan that is consistent with established guidelines and recommendations to
92.14	ensure that student exposure to lead is minimized. This includes, when a school district or
92.15	charter school finds the presence of lead at a level where action should be taken as set by
92.16	the guidance in any water source that can provide cooking or drinking water, immediately
92.17	shutting off the water source or making it unavailable until the hazard has been minimized.
92.18	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 121A.335, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
92.19	Subd. 5. Reporting. A school district or charter school that has tested its buildings for
92.20	the presence of lead shall make the results of the testing available to the public for review
92.21	and must notify parents of the availability of the information. School districts and charter
92.22	schools must follow the actions outlined in guidance from the commissioners of health and
92.23	education. If a test conducted under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), reveals the presence of
92.24	lead above a level where action should be taken as set by the guidance, the school district
92.25	or charter must, within 30 days of receiving the test result, either remediate the presence of
92.26	lead to below the level set in guidance, verified by retest, or directly notify parents of the
92.27	test result. The school district or charter school must make the water source unavailable
92.28	until the hazard has been minimized.
92.29	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123B.52, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

92.30 Subd. 6. **Disposing of surplus school computers.** (a) Notwithstanding section 471.345, 92.31 governing school district contracts made upon sealed bid or otherwise complying with the

92.32 requirements for competitive bidding, other provisions of this section governing school

93.1	district contracts, or other law to the contrary, a school district under this subdivision may
93.2	dispose of school computers, including a tablet device.
93.3	(b) A school district may dispose of a surplus school computer and related equipment
93.4	if the district disposes of the surplus property by conveying the property and title to:
93.5	(1) another school district;
,	
93.6	(2) the state Department of Corrections;
93.7	(3) the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; or
93.8	(4) the family of a student residing in the district whose total family income meets the
93.9	federal definition of poverty.
93.10	(c) If surplus school computers are not disposed of under paragraph (b), upon adoption
93.11	of a written resolution of the school board, when updating or replacing school computers,
93.12	including tablet devices, used primarily by students, a school district may sell or give used
93.13	computers or tablets to qualifying students at the price specified in the written resolution.
93.14	A student is eligible to apply to the school board for a computer or tablet under this
93.15	subdivision if the student is currently enrolled in the school and intends to enroll in the
93.16	school in the year following the receipt of the computer or tablet. If more students apply
93.17	for computers or tablets than are available, the school must first qualify students whose
93.18	families are eligible for free or reduced-price meals, and then dispose of the remaining
93.19	computers or tablets by lottery.
93.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
93.21	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 123B.571, is amended to read:

93.22 **123B.571 RADON TESTING.**

Subdivision 1. Voluntary Plan. The commissioners of health and education may jointly
develop a plan to encourage school districts <u>and charter schools</u> to accurately and efficiently
test for the presence of radon in public school buildings serving students in kindergarten
through grade 12. For purposes of this section, buildings also include the Minnesota State
<u>Academies in Faribault and the Perpich Center for Arts Education in Golden Valley.</u> To the
extent possible, the commissioners shall <u>must</u> base the plan on the standards established by
the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Subd. 2. Radon testing. A school district may include radon testing as a part of its
ten-year facility plan under section 123B.595, subdivision 4. If a school district receives
authority to use long-term facilities maintenance revenue to conduct radon testing, the

94.1 district shall conduct the testing according to the radon testing plan developed by the94.2 commissioners of health and education.

Subd. 3. Reporting. A school district that has tested or charter school must test its school
buildings for the presence of radon shall and must report the results of its tests to the
Department of Health in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner of health. A
school district that has tested for the presence of radon shall must also report the results of
its testing at a school board meeting.

94.8 Subd. 4. Testing requirements. (a) A school district or charter school must adopt a
94.9 radon testing schedule requiring a short-term or long-term test be conducted in every building
94.10 serving students at least once every five years. A school district or charter school must begin
94.11 testing school buildings by July 1, 2020, and complete testing of all buildings that serve
94.12 students within five years.

94.13 (b) Tests must be conducted with certified radon testing devices as listed by either the
94.14 National Radon Proficiency Program or the National Radon Safety Board. Tests must test
94.15 all frequently occupied rooms with ground contact and rooms immediately above unoccupied
94.16 spaces that are in contact with the ground, such as crawl spaces and tunnels.

94.17 (c) If a radon test shows that a frequently occupied room has a radon level above four
94.18 picocuries per liter, a school district or charter school must mitigate or take corrective action,
94.19 and retest after corrective measures to show radon reductions. A school district or charter
94.20 school must follow the Radon Mitigation Standards for Schools and Large Buildings released
94.21 by the American National Standards Institute/American Association of Radon Scientists
94.22 and Technologists. The district or charter school must conduct follow-up testing within two

94.23 years.

94.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 471.345, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

94.25 Subdivision 1. **Municipality defined.** For purposes of this section, "municipality" means 94.26 a county, town, city, school district<u>, charter school</u>, or other municipal corporation or political 94.27 subdivision of the state authorized by law to enter into contracts.

95.1	ARTICLE 7
95.2	NUTRITION
95.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 124D.111, is amended to read:
95.4	124D.111 SCHOOL MEALS POLICIES; LUNCH AID; FOOD SERVICE
95.5	ACCOUNTING.
95.6	Subdivision 1. School lunch aid computation meals policies. (a) Each Minnesota
95.7	participant in the national school lunch program must adopt and post to its website, or the
95.8	website of the organization where the meal is served, a school meals policy.
95.9	(b) The policy must be in writing and clearly communicate student meal charges when
95.10	payment cannot be collected at the point of service. The policy must be reasonable and
95.11	well-defined and maintain the dignity of students by prohibiting lunch shaming or otherwise
95.12	ostracizing the student.
95.13	(c) The policy must address whether the participant uses a collections agency to collect
95.14	unpaid school meals debt.
95.15	(d) The policy must ensure that once a participant has placed a meal on a tray or otherwise
95.16	served the meal to a student, the meal may not be subsequently withdrawn from the student
95.17	by the cashier or other school official, whether or not the student has an outstanding meals
95.18	balance.
95.19	(e) The policy must ensure that a student who has been determined eligible for free and
95.20	reduced-price lunch must always be served a reimbursable meal even if the student has an
95.21	outstanding debt.
95.22	(f) If a school contracts with a third party for its meal services, it must provide the vendor
95.23	with its school meals policy. Any contract between the school and a third-party provider
95.24	entered into or modified after July 1, 2019, must ensure that the third-party provider adheres
95.25	to the participant's school meals policy.
95.26	Subd. 1a. School lunch aid amounts. Each school year, the state must pay participants
95.27	in the national school lunch program the amount of 12.5 cents for each full paid and free
95.28	student lunch and 52.5 cents for each reduced-price lunch served to students.
95.29	Subd. 2. Application. A school district, charter school, nonpublic school, or other
95.30	participant in the national school lunch program shall apply to the department for this
95.31	payment on forms provided by the department.

Subd. 2a. Federal child and adult care food program; criteria and notice. The
commissioner must post on the department's website eligibility criteria and application
information for nonprofit organizations interested in applying to the commissioner for
approval as a multisite sponsoring organization under the federal child and adult care food
program. The posted criteria and information must inform interested nonprofit organizations
about:

96.7 (1) the criteria the commissioner uses to approve or disapprove an application, including
96.8 how an applicant demonstrates financial viability for the Minnesota program, among other
96.9 criteria;

96.10 (2) the commissioner's process and time line for notifying an applicant when its
96.11 application is approved or disapproved and, if the application is disapproved, the explanation
96.12 the commissioner provides to the applicant; and

96.13 (3) any appeal or other recourse available to a disapproved applicant.

96.14 Subd. 3. School food service fund. (a) The expenses described in this subdivision must
96.15 be recorded as provided in this subdivision.

(b) In each district, the expenses for a school food service program for pupils must be
attributed to a school food service fund. Under a food service program, the school food
service may prepare or serve milk, meals, or snacks in connection with school or community
service activities.

(c) Revenues and expenditures for food service activities must be recorded in the food
service fund. The costs of processing applications, accounting for meals, preparing and
serving food, providing kitchen custodial services, and other expenses involving the preparing
of meals or the kitchen section of the lunchroom may be charged to the food service fund
or to the general fund of the district. The costs of lunchroom supervision, lunchroom custodial
services, lunchroom utilities, and other administrative costs of the food service program
must be charged to the general fund.

That portion of superintendent and fiscal manager costs that can be documented as attributable to the food service program may be charged to the food service fund provided that the school district does not employ or contract with a food service director or other individual who manages the food service program, or food service management company. If the cost of the superintendent or fiscal manager is charged to the food service fund, the charge must be at a wage rate not to exceed the statewide average for food service directors as determined by the department.

97.1 (d) Capital expenditures for the purchase of food service equipment must be made from
97.2 the general fund and not the food service fund, unless the restricted balance in the food
97.3 service fund at the end of the last fiscal year is greater than the cost of the equipment to be
97.4 purchased.

97.5 (e) If the condition set out in paragraph (d) applies, the equipment may be purchased97.6 from the food service fund.

97.7 (f) If a deficit in the food service fund exists at the end of a fiscal year, and the deficit 97.8 is not eliminated by revenues from food service operations in the next fiscal year, then the 97.9 deficit must be eliminated by a permanent fund transfer from the general fund at the end of 97.10 that second fiscal year. However, if a district contracts with a food service management 97.11 company during the period in which the deficit has accrued, the deficit must be eliminated 97.12 by a payment from the food service management company.

(g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), a district may incur a deficit in the food service fund
for up to three years without making the permanent transfer if the district submits to the
commissioner by January 1 of the second fiscal year a plan for eliminating that deficit at
the end of the third fiscal year.

(h) If a surplus in the food service fund exists at the end of a fiscal year for three
successive years, a district may recode for that fiscal year the costs of lunchroom supervision,
lunchroom custodial services, lunchroom utilities, and other administrative costs of the food
service program charged to the general fund according to paragraph (c) and charge those
costs to the food service fund in a total amount not to exceed the amount of surplus in the
food service fund.

Subd. 4. No fees. A participant that receives school lunch aid under this section must
make lunch available without charge and must not deny a school lunch to all participating
students who qualify for free or reduced-price meals, whether or not that student has an
outstanding balance in the student's meals account attributable to a la carte purchases or for
any other reason.

<u>Subd. 5.</u> Respectful treatment. (a) The participant must also provide meals to students
in a respectful manner according to the policy adopted under subdivision 1. The participant
<u>must</u> ensure that any reminders for payment of outstanding student meal balances do not
demean or stigmatize any child participating in the school lunch program-, including but
not limited to dumping meals, withdrawing a meal that has been served, announcing or
listing students names publicly, or affixing stickers, stamps, or pins. The participant must
not impose any other restriction prohibited under section 123B.37 due to unpaid student

98.1	meal balances. The participant must not limit a student's participation in any school activities,
98.2	graduation ceremonies or other graduation activities, field trips, athletics, activity clubs, or
98.3	other extracurricular activities or access to materials, technology, or other items provided
98.4	to students due to an unpaid student meal balance.
98.5	(b) If the commissioner or the commissioner's designee determines a participant has
98.6	violated the requirement to provide meals to participating students in a respectful manner,
98.7	the commissioner or the commissioner's designee must send a letter of noncompliance to
98.8	the participant. The participant is required to respond and, if applicable, remedy the practice
98.9	within 60 days.
98.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
98.11	ARTICLE 8
98.12	STATE AGENCIES
98.13	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 120B.122, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
98.14	Subdivision 1. Purpose Duties. (a) The department must employ a dyslexia specialist
98.15	to provide technical assistance for dyslexia and related disorders and to serve as the primary
98.16	source of information and support for schools in addressing the needs of students with
98.17	dyslexia and related disorders.
98.18	(b) The dyslexia specialist shall also act to must increase professional awareness and
98.19	instructional competencies to meet the educational needs of students with dyslexia or
98.20	identified with risk characteristics associated with dyslexia and shall must develop
98.21	implementation guidance and make recommendations to the commissioner consistent with
98.22	section 122A.06, subdivision 4, to be used to assist general education teachers and special
98.23	education teachers to recognize educational needs and to improve literacy outcomes for
98.24	students with dyslexia or identified with risk characteristics associated with dyslexia,
98.25	including recommendations related to increasing the availability of online and asynchronous
98.26	professional development programs and materials.
98.27	(c) The dyslexia specialist must provide guidance to school districts and charter schools
98.28	on how to:
98.29	(1) access tools to screen and identify students showing characteristics associated with
98.30	dyslexia in accordance with section 120B.12, subdivision 2, paragraph (a);

99.1	(2) implement screening for characteristics associated with dyslexia in accordance with
99.2	section 120B.12, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), and in coordination with other early childhood
99.3	screenings; and
99.4	(3) participate in professional development opportunities pertaining to intervention
99.5	strategies and accommodations for students with dyslexia or characteristics associated with
99.6	dyslexia.
99.7	(d) The dyslexia specialist must provide guidance to the Professional Educator Licensing
99.8	and Standards Board on developing licensing renewal requirements under section 122A.187,
99.9	subdivision 5, on understanding dyslexia, recognizing dyslexia characteristics in students,
99.10	and using evidence-based best practices.
99.11	(e) Nothing in this subdivision limits the ability of the dyslexia specialist to do other
99.12	dyslexia related work as directed by the commissioner.
99.13	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 127A.052, is amended to read:
99.14	127A.052 SCHOOL SAFETY TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE CENTER.
99.15	(a) The commissioner shall establish a school safety technical assistance center at the
99.16	department to help districts and schools under section 121A.031 provide a safe and supportive
99.17	learning environment and foster academic achievement for all students by focusing on
99.18	prevention, intervention, support, and recovery efforts to develop and maintain safe and
99.19	supportive schools. The center must work collaboratively with implicated state agencies
99.20	identified by the center and schools, communities, and interested individuals and
99.21	organizations to determine how to best use available resources.
99.22	(b) The center's services shall include:
99.23	(1) evidence-based policy review, development, and dissemination;
99.24	(2) single, point-of-contact services designed for schools, parents, and students seeking
99.25	information or other help;
99.26	(3) qualitative and quantitative data gathering, interpretation, and dissemination of
99.27	summary data for existing reporting systems and student surveys and the identification and
99.28	pursuit of emerging trends and issues;
99.29	(4) assistance to districts and schools in using Minnesota student survey results to inform
99.30	intervention and prevention programs;
99.31	(5) education and skill building;

100.1 (6) multisector and multiagency planning and advisory activities incorporating best100.2 practices and research; and

(7) administrative and financial support for school and district planning, schools
 recovering from incidents of violence, and school and district violence prevention education.

100.5 (c) The center shall:

(1) compile and make available to all districts and schools evidence-based elements and
 resources to develop and maintain safe and supportive schools;

(2) establish and maintain a central repository for collecting and analyzing information
about prohibited conduct under section 121A.031, including, but not limited to:

(i) training materials on strategies and techniques to prevent and appropriately addressprohibited conduct under section 121A.031;

100.12 (ii) model programming;

(iii) remedial responses consistent with section 121A.031, subdivision 2, paragraph (i);and

(iv) other resources for improving the school climate and preventing prohibited conductunder section 121A.031;

(3) assist districts and schools to develop strategies and techniques for effectively
communicating with and engaging parents in efforts to protect and deter students from
prohibited conduct under section 121A.031; and

100.20 (4) solicit input from social media experts on implementing this section.

100.21 (d) The commissioner shall provide administrative services including personnel, budget, payroll and contract services, and staff support for center activities including developing 100.22 and disseminating materials, providing seminars, and developing and maintaining a website. 100.23 Center staff shall include a center director, a data analyst coordinator, and trainers who 100.24 provide training to affected state and local organizations under a fee-for-service agreement. 100.25 The financial, administrative, and staff support the commissioner provides under this section 100.26 must be based on an annual budget and work program developed by the center and submitted 100.27 to the commissioner by the center director. 100.28

(e) School safety technical assistance center staff may consult with school safety center
 staff at the Department of Public Safety in providing services under this section.

(f) The center is voluntary and advisory. The center does not have enforcement,rulemaking, oversight, or regulatory authority.

- 101.1 (g) The center expires on June 30, 2019.
- 101.2 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- 101.3 Sec. 3. <u>**REPEALER.**</u>
- 101.4 Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 127A.051, subdivision 7, is repealed.
- 101.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment."