..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1677 as follows: 1.1 Page 4, line 3, delete everything after "judge" and insert "before October 1, 2019" 1.2 Page 4, line 4, delete everything before the period 1.3 Page 4, line 19, delete everything after "be" and insert "returned to the public utility 1.4 funding the account under subdivision 2, which must remit them in full to electric ratepayers 1.5 of the public utility." 1.6 1.7 Page 4, delete line 20 Page 4, delete subdivisions 2 and 3 and insert: 1.8 "Subd. 2. Funding the special account. (a) On July 1, 2019, and July 1, 2020, the public 1.9 utility subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 116C.779, subdivision 1, shall deposit 1.10 \$20,000,000 in the account established in subdivision 1. The funds deposited in the account 1.11 are to be used to pay eligible obligations under the biomass business compensation program 1.12 established in section 1. 1.13 (b) The public utility may petition the commission to approve a rate schedule that provides 1.14 for the automatic adjustment of charges to recover costs and expenses related to claims 1.15 awarded under the biomass business compensation process provided for in section 1 and 1.16 administrative costs of the claims process under subdivision 3. The commission shall approve 1.17 the rate schedule upon showing that: (1) the recovery of investments, expenses and costs, 1.18 and earnings on the investments continues to be less than the costs that would have been 1.19 recovered from ratepayers had the utility continued to purchase energy under the power 1.20 purchase agreement in effect under Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 216B.2424, subdivision 1.21 9, that was terminated on May 1, 2017; and (2) recovery of administrative costs is requested 1.22 only for costs certified by the chief administrative law judge. If approved by the commission, 1.23 cost recovery under this paragraph may include all cost recovery allowed for renewable 1.24

facilities under Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.1645, subdivision 2a.

1.25

03/06/19 02:23 pm HOUSE RESEARCH BE/JF H1677A4

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

Subd. 3. Payment of expenses. On a quarterly basis, the chief administrative law judge must certify to the commissioner of management and budget the total costs incurred to administer the biomass business compensation claims process. The commissioner of management and budget must notify the public utility subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 116C.779, subdivision 1, of the amount of certified costs incurred for biomass business compensation claim activities for that quarter. Within 30 days of the notification, the public utility that is subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 116C.779, subdivision 1, must submit a payment in that amount to the commissioner of management and budget, who must deposit the payment in the administrative hearings account under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.54. Deposits may occur quarterly throughout the fiscal year and must be based on quarterly cost and revenue reports, with final certification and reconciliation after each fiscal year. The total amount deposited under this subdivision may not exceed \$200,000."