CLIMATE AND ENERGY FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Jamie Long, Chair of the Committee on Climate and Energy Finance and Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 10:30 AM on March 3rd, 2022 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

Long, Jamie, Chair Acomb, Patty, Vice Chair Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead Bierman, Robert Boe, Greg Christensen, Shelly Franson, Mary Gruenhagen, Glenn Hollins, Athena Hornstein, Frank Igo, Spencer Lee, Fue Lippert, Todd Lislegard, Dave Mekeland, Shane Munson, Jeremy Stephenson, Zack

A quorum was present.

Presenting on Energy Storage:

- Jason Houck, Sr. Manager, Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Form Energy
- Zac Ruzycki, Director of Resource Planning, Great River Energy
- Greg Ridderbusch, President & CEO, Connexus Energy
- Tim Thompson, CEO, Lake Region Electric Cooperative
- Rolf Weberg, Executive Director, Natural Resources Research Institute UMN Duluth

Representative Hollins presented HF1651, a bill for an act relating to energy; requiring all investor-owned utilities to submit a photovoltaic demand credit rider with the Public Utilities Commission.

Representative Hollins moved that HF1651 be laid over for possible inclusion.

Representative Hollins moved the HF1651DE1 amendment, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testifying on HF1651:

- Peter Teigland, Director of Policy & Regulatory Affairs
- Ross Abbey, Director, Regulatory & Legislative Affairs US Solar
- Michael Allen, CEO of All Energy Solar
- Griffin Dooling, Chief Executive Officer, Blue Horizon Energy
- Thor Underdahl, Government Affairs, Minnesota Power
- Rick Evans, Regional Director of Government Affairs, Xcel Energy
- Andy Snope, Legislative and Political Director, IBEW

Representative Hollins renewed her motion that HF1651, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:01 PM.	
	Representative Jamie Long, Chair
	Mike Hermanson, Committee Legislative Assistant