STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

Representative Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00PM on January 23rd, 2023 in Room 10 of the State Office Building. It was broadcast via House Public Information Services.

Members Present: STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice-Chair O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BIERMAN, Robert CHA, Ethan DAUDT, Kurt DOTSETH, Jeff FREIBERG, Mike KLEVORN, Ginny KOEGEL, Erin KRAFT, Larry LIEBLING, Tina NEU BRINDLEY, Anne NISKA, Harry PERRYMAN, Bernie PFARR, Brian TABKE, Brad

A quorum was present.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved approval of the minutes from January 18th, 2023. The motion prevailed.

HF30 (Richardson); Catalytic converter purchase requirements established, and penalties provided.

Representative Stephenson moved HF30 be recommended to be referred to the Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee.

The following testified on HF30: Brian Sturgeon, Chief of Police, West St. Paul Jeff Tate, Chief of Police, Shakopee The following testified in opposition to HF30: Jeremy Estenson, ESRI Representative Stephenson renewed his motion that HF30 be recommended to be referred to the Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee. The motion prevailed and HF30 was recommended to be referred to the Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn assumed the gavel at 1:36 PM.

HF17 (Stephenson); Excessive price increases by manufacturers to generic or off-patent drugs prohibited, attorney general authorized to take action against manufacturers for price increases, withdrawal prohibited of generic or off-patent drug sales, prescription drug affordability board and prescription drug affordability advisory council established, prescription drug cost reviews and remedies provided, appointments provided, civil penalties imposed, report required, and money appropriated.

Representative Stephenson moved that HF17 be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.

Representative Stephenson moved the HF17A1 (Stephenson) amendment. The motion prevailed the amendment was adopted.

Representative Perryman moved the HF17A3 (Perryman) amendment. The motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted.

Representative Dotseth moved the HF17A4 (Dotseth) amendment. The motion did not prevail and the amendment was not adopted.

The following testified on HF17: Jason Pleggenkuhle, Assistant Attorney General Mary Jo George Bob Miller Linda Larson, MFU

The following testified in opposition to HF17: Judy Cook Bentley Graves, Chamber of Commerce Peter Nelson, Center for the American Experiment Kristina Moorhead, PhRMA Mark Hughes

Representative Stephenson renewed his motion that HF17 be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee. The motion prevailed and HF17 was recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee, as amended.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:41 PM.

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair

Jack Dockendorf, Committee Legislative Assistant