
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1172 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 4. Juvenile court records. (a) For a background study conducted by the​

1.5 Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall review records from the juvenile​

1.6 courts for an individual studied under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when​

1.7 the commissioner has reasonable cause.​

1.8 (b) For a background study conducted by a county agency for family child care before​

1.9 the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the commissioner shall review records from the​

1.10 juvenile courts for individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, who are ages 13​

1.11 through 23 living in the household where the licensed services will be provided. The​

1.12 commissioner shall also review records from juvenile courts for any other individual listed​

1.13 under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, when the commissioner has reasonable cause.​

1.14 (c) The juvenile courts shall help with the study by giving the commissioner existing​

1.15 juvenile court records relating to delinquency proceedings held on individuals described in​

1.16 section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when requested pursuant to this subdivision.​

1.17 (d) For purposes of this chapter, a finding that a delinquency petition is proven in juvenile​

1.18 court for an individual certified as an adult shall be considered a conviction in state district​

1.19 court. A finding of a proven delinquency petition in juvenile court for an individual who​

1.20 was not certified as an adult shall disqualify the individual from direct contact services​

1.21 under this chapter for five years, beginning from:​

1.22 (1) the date of conviction or finding of proven delinquency, if the individual was not​

1.23 committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections; or​

1​Section 1.​
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2.1 (2) the date of the discharge of the sentence imposed, if the individual was committed​

2.2 to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.​

2.3 (e) Juvenile courts shall provide orders of involuntary and voluntary termination of​

2.4 parental rights under section 260C.301 to the commissioner upon request for purposes of​

2.5 conducting a background study under this chapter.​

2.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2.7 Subd. 2. 15-year disqualification. (a) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14​

2.8 if: (1) less than 15 years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if any,​

2.9 for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a felony-level violation of any of the​

2.10 following offenses: sections 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 268.182 (fraud);​

2.11 393.07, subdivision 10, paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 609.165 (felon ineligible to​

2.12 possess firearm); 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury);​

2.13 609.215 (suicide); 609.223 or 609.2231 (assault in the third or fourth degree); repeat offenses​

2.14 under 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.229 (crimes committed for benefit of a​

2.15 gang); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of​

2.16 a vulnerable adult); 609.235 (use of drugs to injure or facilitate crime); 609.24 (simple​

2.17 robbery); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the​

2.18 first degree); 609.2665 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.267​

2.19 (assault of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2671 (assault of an unborn child in the​

2.20 second degree); 609.268 (injury or death of an unborn child in the commission of a crime);​

2.21 609.27 (coercion); 609.275 (attempt to coerce); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 609.495​

2.22 (aiding an offender); 609.498, subdivision 1 or 1b (aggravated first-degree or first-degree​

2.23 tampering with a witness); 609.52 (theft); 609.521 (possession of shoplifting gear); 609.525​

2.24 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 609.527 (identity theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen​

2.25 property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored checks); 609.562 (arson in the second degree);​

2.26 609.563 (arson in the third degree); 609.582 (burglary); 609.59 (possession of burglary​

2.27 tools); 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.625 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631​

2.28 (check forgery; offering a forged check); 609.635 (obtaining signature by false pretense);​

2.29 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.67 (machine guns and short-barreled shotguns); 609.687​

2.30 (adulteration); 609.71 (riot); 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining credit);​

2.31 609.821 (financial transaction card fraud); 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving a​

2.32 minor; repeat offenses under 617.241 (obscene materials and performances; distribution​

2.33 and exhibition prohibited; penalty); 624.713 (certain persons not to possess firearms); chapter​

2.34 152 (drugs; controlled substance); or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21; or a​

2.35 felony-level conviction involving alcohol or drug use 152.021, subdivision 1 or 2b,​

2​Sec. 2.​
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3.1 (aggravated controlled substance crime in the first degree; sale crimes); 152.022, subdivision​

3.2 1 (controlled substance crime in the second degree; sale crimes); and 169A.24 (felony​

3.3 first-degree driving while impaired).​

3.4 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed​

3.5 since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the​

3.6 offenses listed in paragraph (a), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes.​

3.7 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed​

3.8 since the termination of the individual's parental rights under section 260C.301, subdivision​

3.9 1, paragraph (b), or subdivision 3.​

3.10 (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed​

3.11 since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the​

3.12 elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of the offenses listed in paragraph​

3.13 (a).​

3.14 (e) If the individual studied commits one of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), but the​

3.15 sentence or level of offense is a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, the individual is​

3.16 disqualified but the disqualification look-back period for the offense is the period applicable​

3.17 to the gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor disposition.​

3.18 (f) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction,​

3.19 the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification​

3.20 is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission​

3.21 in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period​

3.22 begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based​

3.23 on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from​

3.24 the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for​

3.25 a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last.​

3.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for background studies requested on or​

3.27 after August 1, 2024.​

3.28 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

3.29 Subd. 4. Seven-year disqualification. (a) An individual is disqualified under section​

3.30 245C.14 if: (1) less than seven years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed,​

3.31 if any, for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a misdemeanor-level violation​

3.32 of any of the following offenses: sections 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 268.182​

3.33 (fraud); 393.07, subdivision 10, paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 609.2112, 609.2113,​
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4.1 or 609.2114 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.221 (assault in the first degree);​

4.2 609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231​

4.3 (assault in the fourth degree); 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 (domestic​

4.4 assault); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.234 (failure to report​

4.5 maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); 609.2672 (assault of an unborn child in the third degree);​

4.6 609.27 (coercion); violation of an order for protection under 609.3232 (protective order​

4.7 authorized; procedures; penalties); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 609.52 (theft);​

4.8 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 609.527 (identity theft); 609.53 (receiving​

4.9 stolen property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored checks); 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.66​

4.10 (dangerous weapons); 609.665 (spring guns); 609.746 (interference with privacy); 609.79​

4.11 (obscene or harassing telephone calls); 609.795 (letter, telegram, or package; opening;​

4.12 harassment); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining credit); 609.821 (financial transaction card fraud);​

4.13 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving a minor; 617.293 (harmful materials; dissemination​

4.14 and display to minors prohibited); or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21; or violation​

4.15 of an order for protection under section 518B.01 (Domestic Abuse Act).​

4.16 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has​

4.17 passed since a determination or disposition of the individual's:​

4.18 (1) failure to make required reports under section 260E.06 or 626.557, subdivision 3,​

4.19 for incidents in which: (i) the final disposition under section 626.557 or chapter 260E was​

4.20 substantiated maltreatment, and (ii) the maltreatment was recurring or serious; or​

4.21 (2) substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment of a minor under chapter 260E, a​

4.22 vulnerable adult under section 626.557, or serious or recurring maltreatment in any other​

4.23 state, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of maltreatment under​

4.24 section 626.557 or chapter 260E for which: (i) there is a preponderance of evidence that​

4.25 the maltreatment occurred, and (ii) the subject was responsible for the maltreatment.​

4.26 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has​

4.27 passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of​

4.28 the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota​

4.29 Statutes.​

4.30 (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has​

4.31 passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or​

4.32 country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any of the offenses​

4.33 listed in paragraphs (a) and (b).​
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5.1 (e) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction,​

5.2 the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification​

5.3 is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission​

5.4 in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period​

5.5 begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based​

5.6 on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from​

5.7 the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for​

5.8 a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last.​

5.9 (f) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed​

5.10 since the individual was disqualified under section 256.98, subdivision 8.​

5.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for background studies requested on or​

5.12 after August 1, 2024.​

5.13 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

5.14 read:​

5.15 Subd. 4b. Five-year disqualification. (a) An individual is disqualified under section​

5.16 245C.14 if: (1) less than five years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed,​

5.17 if any, for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a felony-level violation of any​

5.18 of the following offenses: 152.021, subdivision 2 or 2a (controlled substance possession​

5.19 crime in the first degree; methamphetamine manufacture crime); 152.022, subdivision 2​

5.20 (controlled substance possession crime in the second degree); 152.023 (controlled substance​

5.21 crime in the third degree); 152.024 (controlled substance crime in the fourth degree); 152.025​

5.22 (controlled substance crime in the fifth degree); 152.0261 (importing controlled substances​

5.23 across state borders); 152.0262 (possession of substances with intent to manufacture​

5.24 methamphetamine); 152.027, subdivision 6, paragraph (c) (sale of synthetic cannabinoids);​

5.25 152.096 (conspiracy to commit controlled substance crime); 152.097 (simulated controlled​

5.26 substances); and 152.137 (methamphetamine-related crimes involving children and vulnerable​

5.27 adults).​

5.28 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) less than five years have​

5.29 passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if any, for the offense; and (2) the​

5.30 individual has committed a misdemeanor-level violation of any of the following offenses:​

5.31 609.52 (theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen property); and 609.535 (issuance of dishonored​

5.32 checks).​

5.33 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than five years have passed​

5.34 since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the​
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6.1 offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota​

6.2 Statutes.​

6.3 (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than five years have passed​

6.4 since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the​

6.5 elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any of the offenses listed in​

6.6 paragraphs (a) and (b).​

6.7 (e) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction,​

6.8 the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification​

6.9 is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission​

6.10 in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period​

6.11 begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based​

6.12 on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from​

6.13 the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for​

6.14 a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last.​

6.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for background studies requested on or​

6.16 after August 1, 2024.​

6.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.17, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

6.18 Subd. 2. Disqualification notice sent to subject. (a) If the information in the study​

6.19 indicates the individual is disqualified from direct contact with, or from access to, persons​

6.20 served by the program, the commissioner shall disclose to the individual studied:​

6.21 (1) the information causing disqualification;​

6.22 (2) instructions on how to request a reconsideration of the disqualification;​

6.23 (3) an explanation of any restrictions on the commissioner's discretion to set aside the​

6.24 disqualification under section 245C.24, when applicable to the individual;​

6.25 (4) a statement that, if the individual's disqualification is set aside under section 245C.22,​

6.26 the applicant, license holder, or other entity that initiated the background study will be​

6.27 provided with the reason for the individual's disqualification and an explanation that the​

6.28 factors under section 245C.22, subdivision 4, which were the basis of the decision to set​

6.29 aside the disqualification shall be made available to the license holder upon request without​

6.30 the consent of the subject of the background study;​

6.31 (5) a statement indicating that if the individual's disqualification is set aside or the facility​

6.32 is granted a variance under section 245C.30, the individual's identity and the reason for the​
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7.1 individual's disqualification will become public data under section 245C.22, subdivision 7,​

7.2 when applicable to the individual;​

7.3 (6) a statement that when a subsequent background study is initiated on the individual​

7.4 following a set-aside of the individual's disqualification, and the commissioner makes a​

7.5 determination under section 245C.22, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), that the previous set-aside​

7.6 applies to the subsequent background study, the applicant, license holder, or other entity​

7.7 that initiated the background study will be informed in the notice under section 245C.22,​

7.8 subdivision 5, paragraph (c):​

7.9 (i) of the reason for the individual's disqualification;​

7.10 (ii) that the individual's disqualification is set aside for that program or agency; and​

7.11 (iii) that information about the factors under section 245C.22, subdivision 4, that were​

7.12 the basis of the decision to set aside the disqualification are available to the license holder​

7.13 upon request without the consent of the background study subject; and​

7.14 (7) the commissioner's determination of the individual's immediate risk of harm under​

7.15 section 245C.16.; and​

7.16 (8) a list of community resources through which the individual studied, license holder,​

7.17 or other entity that initiated the background study can obtain legal advice related to the​

7.18 background study and disqualification, and the request for reconsideration process.​

7.19 (b) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual poses an​

7.20 imminent risk of harm to persons served by the program where the individual will have​

7.21 direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services, the commissioner's notice must​

7.22 include an explanation of the basis of this determination.​

7.23 (c) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied​

7.24 does not pose a risk of harm that requires immediate removal, the individual shall be informed​

7.25 of the conditions under which the agency that initiated the background study may allow the​

7.26 individual to have direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services, as provided​

7.27 under subdivision 3.​

7.28 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.21, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

7.29 Subd. 1a. Submission of reconsideration request. (a) For disqualifications related to​

7.30 studies conducted by county agencies for family child care, and for disqualifications related​

7.31 to studies conducted by the commissioner for child foster care, adult foster care, and family​

7.32 adult day services when the applicant or license holder resides in the home where services​
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8.1 are provided, the individual shall submit the request for reconsideration to the county agency​

8.2 that initiated the background study.​

8.3 (b) For disqualifications related to studies conducted by the commissioner for child​

8.4 foster care providers monitored by private licensing agencies under section 245A.16, the​

8.5 individual shall submit the request for reconsideration to the private agency that initiated​

8.6 the background study.​

8.7 (c) A reconsideration request shall be submitted within 30 days of the individual's receipt​

8.8 of the disqualification notice or the time frames specified in subdivision 2, whichever time​

8.9 frame is shorter.​

8.10 (d) The county or private agency shall forward the individual's request for reconsideration​

8.11 and provide the commissioner with a recommendation whether to set aside the individual's​

8.12 disqualification.​

8.13 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.21, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

8.14 Subd. 2. Time frame for requesting reconsideration. (a) When the commissioner​

8.15 sends an individual a notice of disqualification based on a finding under section 245C.16,​

8.16 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), the disqualified individual must submit the​

8.17 request for a reconsideration within 30 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the notice​

8.18 of disqualification. If mailed, the request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent​

8.19 to the commissioner within 30 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the notice of​

8.20 disqualification. If a request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be​

8.21 received by the commissioner within 30 calendar days after the individual's receipt of the​

8.22 notice of disqualification. Upon showing that the information under subdivision 3 cannot​

8.23 be obtained within 30 days, the disqualified individual may request additional time, not to​

8.24 exceed 30 days, to obtain the information.​

8.25 (b) When the commissioner sends an individual a notice of disqualification based on a​

8.26 finding under section 245C.16, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), the disqualified​

8.27 individual must submit the request for reconsideration within 15 30 calendar days of the​

8.28 individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification. If mailed, the request for reconsideration​

8.29 must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 15 30 calendar days of the​

8.30 individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification. If a request for reconsideration is made​

8.31 by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 15 30 calendar days​

8.32 after the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification.​
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9.1 (c) An individual who was determined to have maltreated a child under chapter 260E​

9.2 or a vulnerable adult under section 626.557, and who is disqualified on the basis of serious​

9.3 or recurring maltreatment, may request a reconsideration of both the maltreatment and the​

9.4 disqualification determinations. The request must be submitted within 30 calendar days of​

9.5 the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification. If mailed, the request for​

9.6 reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 30 calendar days​

9.7 of the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification. If a request for reconsideration​

9.8 is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 30 calendar​

9.9 days after the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification.​

9.10 (d) Except for family child care and child foster care, reconsideration of a maltreatment​

9.11 determination under sections 260E.33 and 626.557, subdivision 9d, and reconsideration of​

9.12 a disqualification under section 245C.22, shall not be conducted when:​

9.13 (1) a denial of a license under section 245A.05, or a licensing sanction under section​

9.14 245A.07, is based on a determination that the license holder is responsible for maltreatment​

9.15 or the disqualification of a license holder based on serious or recurring maltreatment;​

9.16 (2) the denial of a license or licensing sanction is issued at the same time as the​

9.17 maltreatment determination or disqualification; and​

9.18 (3) the license holder appeals the maltreatment determination, disqualification, and​

9.19 denial of a license or licensing sanction. In such cases, a fair hearing under section 256.045​

9.20 must not be conducted under sections 245C.27, 260E.33, and 626.557, subdivision 9d.​

9.21 Under section 245A.08, subdivision 2a, the scope of the consolidated contested case hearing​

9.22 must include the maltreatment determination, disqualification, and denial of a license or​

9.23 licensing sanction.​

9.24 Notwithstanding clauses (1) to (3), if the license holder appeals the maltreatment​

9.25 determination or disqualification, but does not appeal the denial of a license or a licensing​

9.26 sanction, reconsideration of the maltreatment determination shall be conducted under sections​

9.27 260E.33 and 626.557, subdivision 9d, and reconsideration of the disqualification shall be​

9.28 conducted under section 245C.22. In such cases, a fair hearing shall also be conducted as​

9.29 provided under sections 245C.27, 260E.33, and 626.557, subdivision 9d.​

9.30 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.22, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

9.31 Subdivision 1. Time frame; response to disqualification reconsideration requests. (a)​

9.32 The commissioner shall respond in writing or by electronic transmission to all reconsideration​

9.33 requests for which the basis for the request is that the information the commissioner relied​
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10.1 upon to disqualify is incorrect or inaccurate within 30 working days of receipt of a complete​

10.2 request and all required relevant information.​

10.3 (b) If the basis for a disqualified individual's reconsideration request is that the individual​

10.4 does not pose a risk of harm, the commissioner shall respond to the request within 15 working​

10.5 days after receiving a complete request for reconsideration and all required relevant​

10.6 information.​

10.7 (c) If the disqualified individual's reconsideration request is based on both the correctness​

10.8 or accuracy of the information the commissioner relied upon to disqualify the individual​

10.9 and the individual's risk of harm, the commissioner shall respond to the request within 45​

10.10 working days after receiving a complete request for reconsideration and all required relevant​

10.11 information.​

10.12 (d) The commissioner shall give priority consideration to a reconsideration request from​

10.13 an individual who was disqualified based on crimes or conduct listed in section 245C.15,​

10.14 subdivision 4b, and shall respond to such a request within 15 working days after receiving​

10.15 a complete request for reconsideration and all required relevant information.​

10.16 (e) If the commissioner is unable to respond to a request for reconsideration within time​

10.17 frames prescribed under this section, the commissioner shall notify the individual requesting​

10.18 reconsideration and the individual's prospective employer of the delay and take all necessary​

10.19 steps to ensure that the applicant can continue to work while the commissioner completes​

10.20 the response to the request for reconsideration. The commissioner's response to a request​

10.21 for reconsideration shall not, under any circumstances, be delayed beyond six months from​

10.22 the date the commissioner received a complete request for reconsideration and all required​

10.23 relevant information.​

10.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

10.25 Subd. 2. Permanent bar to set aside a disqualification. (a) Except as provided in​

10.26 paragraphs (b) to (f) (g), the commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of any​

10.27 individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed,​

10.28 if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision​

10.29 1.​

10.30 (b) For an individual in the substance use disorder or corrections field who was​

10.31 disqualified for a crime or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and whose​

10.32 disqualification was set aside prior to July 1, 2005, the commissioner must consider granting​

10.33 a variance pursuant to section 245C.30 for the license holder for a program dealing primarily​
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11.1 with adults. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this paragraph must include a​

11.2 letter of recommendation from the license holder that was subject to the prior set-aside​

11.3 decision addressing the individual's quality of care to children or vulnerable adults and the​

11.4 circumstances of the individual's departure from that service.​

11.5 (c) If an individual who requires a background study for nonemergency medical​

11.6 transportation services under section 245C.03, subdivision 12, was disqualified for a crime​

11.7 or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and if more than 40 years have​

11.8 passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, the commissioner may consider granting​

11.9 a set-aside pursuant to section 245C.22. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this​

11.10 paragraph must include a letter of recommendation from the employer. This paragraph does​

11.11 not apply to a person disqualified based on a violation of sections 243.166; 609.185 to​

11.12 609.205; 609.25; 609.342 to 609.3453; 609.352; 617.23, subdivision 2, clause (1), or 3,​

11.13 clause (1); 617.246; or 617.247.​

11.14 (d) When a licensed foster care provider adopts an individual who had received foster​

11.15 care services from the provider for over six months, and the adopted individual is required​

11.16 to receive a background study under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause​

11.17 (2) or (6), the commissioner may grant a variance to the license holder under section 245C.30​

11.18 to permit the adopted individual with a permanent disqualification to remain affiliated with​

11.19 the license holder under the conditions of the variance when the variance is recommended​

11.20 by the county of responsibility for each of the remaining individuals in placement in the​

11.21 home and the licensing agency for the home.​

11.22 (e) For an individual 18 years of age or older affiliated with a licensed family foster​

11.23 setting, the commissioner must not set aside or grant a variance for the disqualification of​

11.24 any individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed,​

11.25 if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision​

11.26 4a, paragraphs (a) and (b).​

11.27 (f) In connection with a family foster setting license, the commissioner may grant a​

11.28 variance to the disqualification for an individual who is under 18 years of age at the time​

11.29 the background study is submitted.​

11.30 (g) The commissioner may set aside or grant a variance for any disqualification that is​

11.31 based on conduct or a conviction in an individual's juvenile record.​

11​Sec. 9.​
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12.1 Sec. 10. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; SET-ASIDE PORTABILITY.​

12.2 The commissioner of human services shall evaluate the process for background study​

12.3 disqualification set-asides to be portable and automatically apply to subsequent background​

12.4 studies each time a background study subject who has been granted a set-aside applies for​

12.5 a position with a license holder. By January 15, 2024, the commissioner must propose​

12.6 statutory changes to improve this process and establish an automatic process for such​

12.7 individuals.​

12.8 Sec. 11. DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; ELECTRONIC​

12.9 RECONSIDERATION REQUESTS AND BLIND REVIEW PROCESS.​

12.10 The commissioner of human services shall develop and implement a process to allow​

12.11 requests for reconsideration of background study disqualifications under Minnesota Statutes,​

12.12 chapter 245C, and related correspondence to be submitted and received via e-mail or through​

12.13 another form of secure online communication that is accessible to individuals requesting​

12.14 reconsideration. In addition, the commissioner shall develop and utilize a blind review​

12.15 process for disqualification reconsideration requests, in which the name, gender, race,​

12.16 address, and any other identifying information is removed from the request, wherever​

12.17 practicable.​

12.18 Sec. 12. APPROPRIATION; BACKGROUND STUDY DATA RETRIEVAL​

12.19 INFRASTRUCTURE IMPROVEMENTS.​

12.20 $....... in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of​

12.21 human services for updates to the Department of Human Services' information technology​

12.22 infrastructure, to improve data retrieval capabilities related to background studies conducted​

12.23 under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245C. The commissioner must also use funds appropriated​

12.24 under this section to create an online dashboard with deidentified background study data,​

12.25 and publish annual public reports on the NetStudy 2.0 background study process that provide​

12.26 summary data on the number of studies conducted, racial breakdown of studies and​

12.27 disqualifications, the average time frame for receiving a determination, the number of​

12.28 disqualifications issued, the number of reconsideration requests submitted, and the number​

12.29 of set-asides granted."​

12.30 Amend the title accordingly​

12​Sec. 12.​
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