STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

HOUSING FINANCE AND POLICY DIVISION

MINUTES

Representative Alice Hausman, Chair of the Housing Finance and Policy Division, calls the fifteenth meeting to order at 8:01 A.M. on Wednesday, April 22nd, 2020. This meeting is being conducted virtually pursuant to House Rule 10.01, the text of which can be found on the MN House website.

The Committee Legislative Assistant notes the roll.

Members Present: Hausman (Chair) Howard (Vice Chair) Theis (Republican Lead) Bierman Fischer Gunther Hassan Her Hornstein Johnson Jurgens Munson Pierson Poppe Sauke

Members excused:

A quorum is present at 8:00 A.M.

Rep. Howard moved the minutes from March 11, 2020 for adoption. THE MOTION PREVAILS AND THE MINUTES ARE ADOPTED.

HF 4541 (Hausman) COVID-19; eviction and mortgage foreclosure protection and emergency housing assistance provided during a public health emergency.

Chair Hausman moved that HF 4541 be referred to the committee on Ways and Means.

Chair Hausman moved the HF4541 DE2 amendment.

AYE:

Hausman Howard Theis Bierman Fischer Gunther Hassan Her Hornstein Johnson Jurgens Munson Pierson Poppe Sauke

NAY:

There being 15 Ayes and 0 Nays, THE MOTION PREVAILS AND THE AMENDMENT IS ADOPTED.

Testifiers:

Jennifer Ho, Commissioner, Minnesota Housing Keith Ellison, Attorney General, State of Minnesota Anne Mavity, Minnesota Housing Partnership Acooa Ellis, Senior Vice President of Community Impact, Greater Twin Cities United Way Cristen Incitti, Executive Director, Habitat for Humanity of Minnesota Jenny Larson, Three Rivers CAP, FHPAP provider Ron Elwood, Legal Aid Cecil Smith, President, MMHA Dana Snell, MN Homeownership Center Toni Carter, Chair, Ramsey County Board of Commissioners Paul Williams, President and CEO, Pride Living Eric Hauge, Executive Director, HOME Line Arthur Alan, Aeon

Chair Hausman renewed her motion that HF 4541, as amended, be referred to the committee on Ways and Means.

Ayes: Hausman Howard Bierman Fischer Hassan Her Hornstein Poppe Sauke

Nay: Theis Johnson Jurgens Munson Pierson

Absent: Gunther

There being 9 Ayes and 5 Nays THE MOTION PREVAILS AND THE BILL IS REFERRED TO WAYS AND MEANS.

The Committee is adjourned at 9:30 A.M.

REP. ALICE HAUSMAN, CHAIR

Blake Wilcox, Committee Legislative Assistant