1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 927 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"ARTICLE 1
1.4	CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES
1.5	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.011, subdivision 13, is amended to
1.6	read:
1.7	Subd. 13. Family. "Family" means parents, stepparents, guardians and their spouses,
1.8	or other eligible relative caregivers and their spouses, and their blood related dependent
1.9	children and adoptive siblings under the age of 18 years living in the same home including
1.10	children temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, foster care, and
1.11	residential treatment facilities or parents, stepparents, guardians and their spouses, or other
1.12	relative caregivers and their spouses temporarily absent from the household in settings
1.13	such as schools, military service, or rehabilitation programs. An adult family member who
1.14	is not in an authorized activity under this chapter may be temporarily absent for up to 60
1.15	days. When a minor parent or parents and his, her, or their child or children are living with
1.16	other relatives, and the minor parent or parents apply for a child care subsidy, "family"
1.17	means only the minor parent or parents and their child or children. An adult age 18 or
1.18	older who meets this definition of family and is a full-time high school or postsecondary
1.19	student may be considered a dependent member of the family unit if 50 percent or more of
1.20	the adult's support is provided by the parents, stepparents, guardians, and their spouses or
1.21	eligible relative caregivers and their spouses residing in the same household.

1.22

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 16, 2012.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.035, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Establishment. A family in which a parent provides care for the
family's infant child may receive a subsidy in lieu of assistance if the family is eligible for

or is receiving assistance under the basic sliding fee program. An eligible family must 2.1 meet the eligibility factors under section 119B.09, except as provided in subdivision 4, 2.2 and the requirements of this section. Subject to federal match and maintenance of effort 2.3 requirements for the child care and development fund, and up to available appropriations, 2.4 the commissioner shall provide assistance under the at-home infant child care program and 2.5 for administrative costs associated with the program. The commissioner shall set aside 2.6 two percent of the basic sliding fee child care appropriation under section 119B.03, for 2.7 purposes of this section. At the end of a fiscal year, the commissioner may carry forward 2.8 any unspent funds under this section to the next fiscal year within the same biennium for 2.9 assistance under the basic sliding fee program. 2.10

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.035, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Assistance. (a) A family is limited to a lifetime total of 12 months of
assistance under subdivision 2. The maximum rate of assistance is equal to 90_64 percent
of the rate established under section 119B.13 for care of infants in licensed family child
care in the applicant's county of residence.

- (b) A participating family must report income and other family changes as specified
 in the county's plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 3.
- 2.18 (c) Persons who are admitted to the at-home infant child care program retain their
 2.19 position in any basic sliding fee program. Persons leaving the at-home infant child care
 2.20 program reenter the basic sliding fee program at the position they would have occupied.
- 2.21 (d) Assistance under this section does not establish an employer-employee2.22 relationship between any member of the assisted family and the county or state.
- 2.23 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.09, is amended by adding a subdivision
 2.24 to read:

2.25 <u>Subd. 9a.</u> Child care centers; assistance. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision,
2.26 <u>"qualifying child" means a child who satisfies both of the following:</u>

- 2.27 (1) is not a child or dependent of an employee of the child care provider; and
 2.28 (2) does not reside with an employee of the child care provider.
- 2.29 (b) Funds distributed under this chapter must not be paid for child care services
- 2.30 that are provided for a child by a child care provider who employs either the parent of
- 2.31 <u>the child or a person who resides with the child, unless at all times at least 50 percent of</u>
- 2.32 <u>the children for whom the child care provider is providing care are qualifying children</u>
- 2.33 <u>under paragraph (a).</u>

(c) If a child care provider satisfies the requirements for payment under paragraph 3.1 (b), but the percentage of qualifying children under paragraph (a) for whom the provider 3.2 is providing care falls below 50 percent, the provider shall have four weeks to raise the 3.3 percentage of qualifying children for whom the provider is providing care to at least 50 3.4 percent before payments to the provider are discontinued for child care services provided 3.5 for a child who is not a qualifying child. 3.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2013. 3.7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.09, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 3.8 Subd. 10. Payment of funds. All federal, state, and local child care funds must 3.9 be paid directly to the parent when a provider cares for children in the children's own 3.10 3.11 home. In all other cases, all federal, state, and local child care funds must be paid directly to the child care provider, either licensed or legal nonlicensed, on behalf of the eligible 3.12 family. Funds distributed under this chapter must not be used for child care services that 3 1 3 are provided for a child by a child care provider who resides in the same household or 3.14 occupies the same residence as the child. 3.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 5, 2012. 3.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.09, is amended by adding a subdivision 3.17 to read: 3.18 Subd. 13. Child care in the child's home. Child care assistance must only be 3.19 authorized in the child's home if the child's parents have authorized activities outside of 3.20 the home and if one or more of the following circumstances are met: 3.21 (1) the parents' qualifying activity occurs during times when out-of-home care is 3 22 not available. If child care is needed during any period when out-of-home care is not 3.23 available, in-home care can be approved for the entire time care is needed; 3.24 (2) the family lives in an area where out-of-home care is not available; or 3.25 (3) a child has a verified illness or disability that would place the child or other 3.26 children in an out-of-home facility at risk or creates a hardship for the child and the family 3.27 to take the child out of the home to a child care home or center. 3.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 5, 2012. 3.29

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) Beginning July 1, 2006, the maximum rate
paid for child care assistance in any county or multicounty region under the child care

SS/RT

4.1 fund shall be the rate for like-care arrangements in the county effective January 1, 2006,
4.2 increased by six percent.

- 4.3 (b) Rate changes shall be implemented for services provided in September 2006
 4.4 unless a participant eligibility redetermination or a new provider agreement is completed
 4.5 between July 1, 2006, and August 31, 2006.
- 4.6 As necessary, appropriate notice of adverse action must be made according to
 4.7 Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0185, subparts 3 and 4.
- 4.8 New cases approved on or after July 1, 2006, shall have the maximum rates under4.9 paragraph (a), implemented immediately.
- 4.10 (c) Every year, the commissioner shall survey rates charged by child care providers in
 4.11 Minnesota to determine the 75th percentile for like-care arrangements in counties. When
 4.12 the commissioner determines that, using the commissioner's established protocol, the
 4.13 number of providers responding to the survey is too small to determine the 75th percentile
 4.14 rate for like-care arrangements in a county or multicounty region, the commissioner may
 4.15 establish the 75th percentile maximum rate based on like-care arrangements in a county,
 4.16 region, or category that the commissioner deems to be similar.
- 4.17 (d) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 or under a
 4.18 school readiness service agreement paid under section 119B.231, may be in excess of the
 4.19 maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.
- 4.20 (e) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The
 4.21 county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum
 4.22 established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care
 4.23 on an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care. The
 4.24 maximum payment to a provider for one day of care must not exceed the daily rate. The
 4.25 maximum payment to a provider for one week of care must not exceed the weekly rate.
- 4.26 (f) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid
 4.27 activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during
 4.28 nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.
- 4.29 (f) (g) When the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed,
 4.30 the parent is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any
 4.31 family co-payment fee.
- 4.32 (g) (h) All maximum provider rates changes shall be implemented on the Monday
 4.33 following the effective date of the maximum provider rate.
- 4.34 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 3, 2012, except the
 4.35 amendments to paragraph (e) are effective April 16, 2012.

5.1

5.2

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Legal nonlicensed family child care provider rates. (a) Legal

nonlicensed family child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must 5.3 be paid on an hourly basis for care provided to families receiving assistance. 5.4 (b) The maximum rate paid to legal nonlicensed family child care providers must be 5.5 80 64 percent of the county maximum hourly rate for licensed family child care providers. 5.6 In counties where the maximum hourly rate for licensed family child care providers is 5.7 higher than the maximum weekly rate for those providers divided by 50, the maximum 58 hourly rate that may be paid to legal nonlicensed family child care providers is the rate 5.9 equal to the maximum weekly rate for licensed family child care providers divided by 50 5.10 and then multiplied by 0.80 0.64. The maximum payment to a provider for one day of care 5.11 must not exceed the maximum hourly rate times ten. The maximum payment to a provider 5.12 for one week of care must not exceed the maximum hourly rate times 50. 5.13 (c) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in 5.14 excess of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision. 5.15 (d) Legal nonlicensed family child care providers receiving reimbursement under 5.16 this chapter may not be paid registration fees for families receiving assistance. 5.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective April 16, 2012, except the 5.18 amendment changing 80 to 64 and 0.80 to 0.64 is effective July 1, 2011. 5.19 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.13, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 5.20 Subd. 7. Absent days. (a) Licensed child care providers may and license-exempt 5.21 centers must not be reimbursed for more than 25 ten full-day absent days per child, 5.22 excluding holidays, in a fiscal year, or for more than ten consecutive full-day absent days, 5.23 unless the child has a documented medical condition that causes more frequent absences. 5.24 Absences due to a documented medical condition of a parent or sibling who lives in the 5.25 same residence as the child receiving child care assistance do not count against the 25-day 5.26 absent day limit in a fiscal year. Documentation of medical conditions must be on the 5.27 forms and submitted according to the timelines established by the commissioner. A public 5.28 health nurse or school nurse may verify the illness in lieu of a medical practitioner. If a 5 29 provider sends a child home early due to a medical reason, including, but not limited to, 5.30 fever or contagious illness, the child care center director or lead teacher may verify the 5.31 illness in lieu of a medical practitioner. Legal nonlicensed family child care providers 5.32 must not be reimbursed for absent days. If a child attends for part of the time authorized to 5.33 be in care in a day, but is absent for part of the time authorized to be in care in that same 5.34 day, the absent time will must be reimbursed but the time will must not count toward the 5.35

ten consecutive or 25 cumulative absent day limits limit. Children in families where at 6.1 least one parent is under the age of 21, does not have a high school or general equivalency 6.2 diploma, and is a student in a school district or another similar program that provides or 6.3 arranges for child care, as well as parenting, social services, career and employment 6.4 supports, and academic support to achieve high school graduation, may be exempt from 6.5 the absent day limits upon request of the program and approval of the county. If a child 6.6 attends part of an authorized day, payment to the provider must be for the full amount 6.7 of care authorized for that day. Child care providers may must only be reimbursed for 68 absent days if the provider has a written policy for child absences and charges all other 6.9 families in care for similar absences. 6.10

(b) Child care providers must be reimbursed for up to ten federal or state holidays
or designated holidays per year when the provider charges all families for these days
and the holiday or designated holiday falls on a day when the child is authorized to be
in attendance. Parents may substitute other cultural or religious holidays for the ten
recognized state and federal holidays. Holidays do not count toward the ten consecutive
or 25 cumulative absent day limits limit.

(c) A family or child care provider <u>may must</u> not be assessed an overpayment for an
absent day payment unless (1) there was an error in the amount of care authorized for the
family, (2) all of the allowed full-day absent payments for the child have been paid, or (3)
the family or provider did not timely report a change as required under law.

(d) The provider and family must receive notification of the number of absent days
used upon initial provider authorization for a family and when the family has used 15
cumulative absent days. Upon statewide implementation of the Minnesota Electronic
Child Care System, the provider and family shall receive notification of the number of
absent days used upon initial provider authorization for a family and ongoing notification
of the number of absent days used as of the date of the notification.

(c) A county may pay for more absent days than the statewide absent day policy
established under this subdivision if current market practice in the county justifies payment
for those additional days. County policies for payment of absent days in excess of the
statewide absent day policy and justification for these county policies must be included in
the county's child care fund plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 3.

6.32

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2013.

6.33 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 245C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

SS/RT

7.1	Subdivision 1. Background studies conducted by Department of Human
7.2	Services. (a) For a background study conducted by the Department of Human Services,
7.3	the commissioner shall review:
7.4	(1) information related to names of substantiated perpetrators of maltreatment of
7.5	vulnerable adults that has been received by the commissioner as required under section
7.6	626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (j);
7.7	(2) the commissioner's records relating to the maltreatment of minors in licensed
7.8	programs, and from findings of maltreatment of minors as indicated through the social
7.9	service information system;
7.10	(3) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for individuals
7.11	listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when there is reasonable cause;
7.12	(4) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension;
7.13	(5) except as provided in clause (6), information from the national crime information
7.14	system when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined under section 245C.05,
7.15	subdivision 5; and
7.16	(6) for a background study related to a child foster care application for licensure, a
7.17	transfer of permanent legal and physical custody under section 260C.201, subdivision 11,
7.18	paragraph (d), clause (1), or adoptions, the commissioner shall also review:
7.19	(i) information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the
7.20	background study subject has resided for the past five years; and
7.21	(ii) information from national crime information databases, when the background
7.22	study subject is 18 years of age or older.
7.23	(b) Notwithstanding expungement by a court, the commissioner may consider
7.24	information obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), unless the commissioner
7.25	received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is
7.26	directed specifically to the commissioner.
7.27	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 245C.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
7.28	Subdivision 1. Background studies conducted by commissioner. (a) Before
7.29	placement of a child for purposes of adoption, the commissioner shall conduct a
7.30	background study on individuals listed in section 259.41, subdivision 3, for county
7.31	agencies and private agencies licensed to place children for adoption.
7.32	(b) Before placement of a child for the purposes of a transfer of permanent legal
7.33	and physical custody to a relative under section 260C.201, subdivision 11, paragraph

- 7.34 (d), clause (1), the commissioner shall conduct a background study on each person over
- 7.35 the age of 13 living in the home. New background studies do not need to be completed

- 8.1 if the proposed relative custodian has a valid foster care license and background studies
 8.2 according to section 245C.08, subdivision 1, were completed as part of the licensure
 8.3 process.
- Sec. 12. [256.987] ELECTRONIC BENEFIT TRANSFER CARD. 8.4 Subdivision 1. Electronic benefit transfer or EBT card. (a) Electronic benefit 8.5 transfer (EBT) cardholders in the general assistance program and the Minnesota 8.6 supplemental aid program under chapter 256D and programs under chapter 256J are 8.7 prohibited from withdrawing cash from an automatic teller machine or receiving cash 8.8 from vendors with the EBT card. The EBT card may only be used as a debit card. 8.9 (b) Beginning July 1, 2011, cash benefits for programs listed under paragraph (a) 8.10 8.11 must be issued on a separate EBT card with the head of household's name printed on the card. The card must also state that "It is unlawful to use this card to purchase tobacco 8.12 products or alcoholic beverages." This card must be issued within 30 calendar days of 8.13 8.14 an eligibility determination. During the initial 30 calendar days of eligibility, a recipient may have cash benefits issued on an EBT card without the recipient's name printed on the 8.15 card. This card may be the same card on which food support is issued and does not need 8.16 to meet the requirements of this section. 8.17 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), EBT cardholders may opt to have up to \$20 8.18 per month accessible via automatic teller machine or receive up to \$20 cash back from 8.19 a vendor. 8.20 Subd. 2. Photo identification. Retailers at a point-of-sale may request a photo 8.21 8.22 identification card when an EBT card is presented for payment. It is unlawful for an EBT cardholder to allow another person to use the cardholder's card. 8.23 Subd. 3. Prohibited purchases. EBT cardholders in programs under subdivision 8.24 8.25 1 are prohibited from using the EBT card to purchase tobacco products and alcoholic beverages, as defined in section 340A.101, subdivision 2. It is unlawful for an EBT 8.26 cardholder to purchase or attempt to purchase tobacco products or alcoholic beverages 8.27 with the cardholder's EBT card. 8.28 Subd. 4. EBT card use restricted to Minnesota vendors. EBT cardholders in 8.29 programs under subdivision 1 are prohibited from using the EBT card at vendors located 8.30 outside of Minnesota. This subdivision does not apply to the food portion. 8.31 Subd. 5. Fraud reports. Retailers who report to the commissioner substantiated 8.32 incidents of EBT card fraud shall receive five percent of any recovered funds. 8.33

read:

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.02, subdivision 12a, is amended to

SS/RT

9.2

9.1

9.3 Subd. 12a. Resident. (a) For purposes of eligibility for general assistance and
9.4 general assistance medical care, a person must be a resident of this state.

9.5 (b) A "resident" is a person living in the state for at least 30 90 days with the
9.6 intention of making the person's home here and not for any temporary purpose. Time
9.7 spent in a shelter for battered women shall count toward satisfying the 30-day 90-day
9.8 residency requirement. All applicants for these programs are required to demonstrate the
9.9 requisite intent and can do so in any of the following ways:

9.10 (1) by showing that the applicant maintains a residence at a verified address, other
9.11 than a place of public accommodation. An applicant may verify a residence address by
9.12 presenting a valid state driver's license, a state identification card, a voter registration card,
9.13 a rent receipt, a statement by the landlord, apartment manager, or homeowner verifying
9.14 that the individual is residing at the address, or other form of verification approved by
9.15 the commissioner; or



9.17

(2) by verifying residence according to Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1219, subpart 3, item C.

9.18 (c) For general assistance medical care, a county agency shall waive the 30-day
9.19 <u>90-day</u> residency requirement in cases of medical emergencies. For general assistance,
9.20 a county shall waive the 30-day 90-day residency requirement where unusual hardship
9.21 would result from denial of general assistance. For purposes of this subdivision, "unusual
9.22 hardship" means the applicant is without shelter or is without available resources for food.

9.23 The county agency must report to the commissioner within 30 days on any waiver
9.24 granted under this section. The county shall not deny an application solely because the
9.25 applicant does not meet at least one of the criteria in this subdivision, but shall continue to
9.26 process the application and leave the application pending until the residency requirement
9.27 is met or until eligibility or ineligibility is established.

9.28 (d) For purposes of paragraph (c), the following definitions apply (1) "metropolitan
9.29 statistical area" is as defined by the United States Census Bureau; (2) "shelter" includes
9.30 any shelter that is located within the metropolitan statistical area containing the county
9.31 and for which the applicant is eligible, provided the applicant does not have to travel more
9.32 than 20 miles to reach the shelter and has access to transportation to the shelter. Clause (2)
9.33 does not apply to counties in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan statistical area.

9.34 (e) Migrant workers as defined in section 256J.08 and, until March 31, 1998, their
9.35 immediate families are exempt from the residency requirements of this section, provided
9.36 the migrant worker provides verification that the migrant family worked in this state

10.4

SS/RT

A11-0177

within the last 12 months and earned at least \$1,000 in gross wages during the time the
migrant worker worked in this state.
(f) For purposes of eligibility for emergency general assistance, the 30-day 90-day

(g) If any provision of this subdivision is enjoined from implementation or found
unconstitutional by any court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining provisions shall
remain valid and shall be given full effect.

residency requirement under this section shall not be waived.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) Each assistance unit with income and resources
less than the standard of assistance established by the commissioner and with a member
who is a resident of the state shall be eligible for and entitled to general assistance if
the assistance unit is:

(1) a person who is suffering from a professionally certified permanent or temporary
illness, injury, or incapacity which is expected to continue for more than 30 90 days and
which prevents the person from obtaining or retaining employment;

10.16 (2) a person whose presence in the home on a substantially continuous basis is
 10.17 required because of the professionally certified illness, injury, incapacity, or the age of
 10.18 another member of the household;

10.19 (3)(2) a person who has been placed in, and is residing in, a licensed or certified 10.20 facility for purposes of physical or mental health or rehabilitation, or in an approved 10.21 chemical dependency domiciliary facility, if the placement is based on illness or incapacity 10.22 and is according to a plan developed or approved by the county agency through its 10.23 director or designated representative;

10.24 (4)(3) a person who resides in a shelter facility described in subdivision 3; 10.25 (5)(4) a person not described in clause (1) or (3)(2) who is diagnosed by a licensed 10.26 physician, psychological practitioner, or other qualified professional, as developmentally 10.27 disabled or mentally ill, and that condition prevents the person from obtaining or retaining 10.28 employment;

(6) a person who has an application pending for, or is appealing termination of
 benefits from, the Social Security disability program or the program of supplemental
 security income for the aged, blind, and disabled, provided the person has a professionally
 certified permanent or temporary illness, injury, or incapacity which is expected to
 continue for more than 30 days and which prevents the person from obtaining or retaining
 employment;

A11-0177

SS/RT

11.1

(7) a person who is unable to obtain or retain employment because advanced age significantly affects the person's ability to seek or engage in substantial work; 11.2

(8) (5) a person who has been assessed by a vocational specialist and, in consultation 11.3 with the county agency, has been determined to be unemployable for purposes of this 11.4 clause; a person is considered employable if there exist positions of employment in the 11.5 11.6 local labor market, regardless of the current availability of openings for those positions, that the person is capable of performing. The person's eligibility under this category must 11.7 be reassessed at least annually. The county agency must provide notice to the person not 11.8 later than 30 days before annual eligibility under this item ends, informing the person of the 11.9 date annual eligibility will end and the need for vocational assessment if the person wishes 11.10 to continue eligibility under this clause. For purposes of establishing eligibility under this 11.11 clause, it is the applicant's or recipient's duty to obtain any needed vocational assessment; 11.12

(9) (6) a person who is determined by the county agency, according to permanent 11.13 rules adopted by the commissioner, to be learning disabled have a condition that qualifies 11.14 11.15 under Minnesota's special education rules as a specific learning disability, provided that if a rehabilitation plan for the person is developed or approved by the county agency, 11.16 the person is following the plan; 11.17

(10) a child under the age of 18 who is not living with a parent, stepparent, or legal 11.18 custodian, and only if: the child is legally emancipated or living with an adult with the 11.19 consent of an agency acting as a legal custodian; the child is at least 16 years of age 11.20 and the general assistance grant is approved by the director of the county agency or a 11.21 designated representative as a component of a social services case plan for the child; or the 11.22 11.23 child is living with an adult with the consent of the child's legal custodian and the county agency. For purposes of this clause, "legally emancipated" means a person under the age 11.24 of 18 years who: (i) has been married; (ii) is on active duty in the uniformed services of 11.25 11.26 the United States; (iii) has been emancipated by a court of competent jurisdiction; or (iv) is otherwise considered emancipated under Minnesota law, and for whom county social 11.27 services has not determined that a social services case plan is necessary, for reasons other 11.28 than the child has failed or refuses to cooperate with the county agency in developing 11.29 the plan; 11.30

- (11) (7) a person who is eligible for displaced homemaker services, programs, or 11.31 assistance under section 116L.96, but only if that person is enrolled as a full-time student; 11.32 (12) a person who lives more than four hours round-trip traveling time from any 11.33
- potential suitable employment; 11.34
- (13) (8) a person who is involved with protective or court-ordered services that 11.35 prevent the applicant or recipient from working at least four hours per day; or 11.36

A11-0177

SS/RT

(14) a person over age 18 whose primary language is not English and who is 12.1 attending high school at least half time; or 12.2

(15) (9) a person whose alcohol and drug addiction is a material factor that 12.3 contributes to the person's disability; applicants who assert this clause as a basis for 12.4 eligibility must be assessed by the county agency to determine if they are amenable 12.5 to treatment; if the applicant is determined to be not amenable to treatment, but is 12.6 otherwise eligible for benefits, then general assistance must be paid in vendor form, for 12.7 the individual's shelter costs up to the limit of the grant amount, with the residual, if 12.8 any, paid according to section 256D.09, subdivision 2a; if the applicant is determined 12.9 to be amenable to treatment, then in order to receive benefits, the applicant must be in 12.10 a treatment program or on a waiting list and the benefits must be paid in vendor form, 12.11 for the individual's shelter costs, up to the limit of the grant amount, with the residual, if 12.12 any, paid according to section 256D.09, subdivision 2a. 12.13

(b) As a condition of eligibility under paragraph (a), clauses (1), $\frac{(3)}{(2)}$, $\frac{(5)}{(4)}$, 12.14 12.15 (8) (5), and (9) (6), the recipient must complete an interim assistance agreement and must apply for other maintenance benefits as specified in section 256D.06, subdivision 12.16 5, and must comply with efforts to determine the recipient's eligibility for those other 12.17 maintenance benefits. 12.18

(c) As a condition of eligibility under this section, the recipient must complete 12.19 at least 20 hours per month of volunteer or paid work. The county of residence shall 12.20 determine what may be included as volunteer work. Recipients must provide monthly 12.21 proof of volunteer work on the forms established by the county. A person who is unable 12.22 12.23 to obtain or retain 20 hours per month of volunteer or paid work due to a professionally certified illness, injury, disability, or incapacity must not be made ineligible for general 12.24 assistance under this section. 12.25

12.26 (c) (d) The burden of providing documentation for a county agency to use to verify eligibility for general assistance or for exemption from the food stamp employment 12.27 and training program is upon the applicant or recipient. The county agency shall use 12.28 documents already in its possession to verify eligibility, and shall help the applicant or 12.29 recipient obtain other existing verification necessary to determine eligibility which the 12.30 applicant or recipient does not have and is unable to obtain. 12.31

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 12.32 Subdivision 1. Eligibility; amount of assistance. General assistance shall be 12.33 granted in an amount that when added to the nonexempt income actually available to the 12.34 assistance unit, the total amount equals the applicable standard of assistance for general 12.35

assistance. In determining eligibility for and the amount of assistance for an individual or
married couple, the county agency shall disregard the first \$50 \$150 of earned income
per month.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.06, subdivision 1b, is amended to read: 13.4 Subd. 1b. Earned income savings account. In addition to the \$50 \$150 disregard 13.5 required under subdivision 1, the county agency shall disregard an additional earned 13.6 income up to a maximum of \$150 \$500 per month for: (1) persons residing in facilities 13.7 licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0690 and 9530.2500 to 13.8 9530.4000, and for whom discharge and work are part of a treatment plan; (2) persons 13.9 living in supervised apartments with services funded under Minnesota Rules, parts 13.10 9535.0100 to 9535.1600, and for whom discharge and work are part of a treatment plan; 13.11 and (3) persons residing in group residential housing, as that term is defined in section 13.12 256I.03, subdivision 3, for whom the county agency has approved a discharge plan 13.13 13.14 which includes work. The additional amount disregarded must be placed in a separate savings account by the eligible individual, to be used upon discharge from the residential 13.15 facility into the community. For individuals residing in a chemical dependency program 13.16 13.17 licensed under Minnesota Rules, part 9530.4100, subpart 22, item D, withdrawals from the savings account require the signature of the individual and for those individuals with 13.18 an authorized representative payee, the signature of the payee. A maximum of \$1,00013.19 \$2,000, including interest, of the money in the savings account must be excluded from 13.20 the resource limits established by section 256D.08, subdivision 1, clause (1). Amounts in 13.21 13.22 that account in excess of \$1,000 \$2,000 must be applied to the resident's cost of care. If excluded money is removed from the savings account by the eligible individual at any 13.23 time before the individual is discharged from the facility into the community, the money is 13.24 13.25 income to the individual in the month of receipt and a resource in subsequent months. If an eligible individual moves from a community facility to an inpatient hospital setting, 13.26 the separate savings account is an excluded asset for up to 18 months. During that time, 13.27 amounts that accumulate in excess of the \$1,000 \$2,000 savings limit must be applied to 13.28 the patient's cost of care. If the patient continues to be hospitalized at the conclusion of the 13.29 18-month period, the entire account must be applied to the patient's cost of care. 13.30

13.31 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.44, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
 13.32 Subd. 5. Special needs. In addition to the state standards of assistance established in
 13.33 subdivisions 1 to 4, payments are allowed for the following special needs of recipients of

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

SS/RT A11-0177 Minnesota supplemental aid who are not residents of a nursing home, a regional treatment center, or a group residential housing facility. (a) The county agency shall pay a monthly allowance for medically prescribed diets if the cost of those additional dietary needs cannot be met through some other maintenance benefit. The need for special diets or dietary items must be prescribed by a licensed physician. Costs for special diets shall be determined as percentages of the allotment for a one-person household under the thrifty food plan as defined by the United States Department of Agriculture. The types of diets and the percentages of the thrifty food plan that are covered are as follows: (1) high protein diet, at least 80 grams daily, 25 percent of thrifty food plan; (2) controlled protein diet, 40 to 60 grams and requires special products, 100 percent of thrifty food plan; (3) controlled protein diet, less than 40 grams and requires special products, 125 percent of thrifty food plan; (4) low cholesterol diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan; (5) high residue diet, 20 percent of thrifty food plan; (6) pregnancy and lactation diet, 35 percent of thrifty food plan; (7) gluten-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan; (8) lactose-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan; (9) antidumping diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan; (10) hypoglycemic diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan; or (11) ketogenic diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan. (b) Payment for nonrecurring special needs must be allowed for necessary home repairs or necessary repairs or replacement of household furniture and appliances using the payment standard of the AFDC program in effect on July 16, 1996, for these expenses,

14.26 as long as other funding sources are not available.

(c) A fee for guardian or conservator service is allowed at a reasonable rate 14.27 negotiated by the county or approved by the court. This rate shall not exceed five percent 14.28 of the assistance unit's gross monthly income up to a maximum of \$100 per month. If the 14.29 guardian or conservator is a member of the county agency staff, no fee is allowed. 14.30

(d) The county agency shall continue to pay a monthly allowance of \$68 for 14.31 restaurant meals for a person who was receiving a restaurant meal allowance on June 1, 14.32 1990, and who eats two or more meals in a restaurant daily. The allowance must continue 14.33 until the person has not received Minnesota supplemental aid for one full calendar month 14.34 or until the person's living arrangement changes and the person no longer meets the criteria 14.35 for the restaurant meal allowance, whichever occurs first. 14.36

(e) A fee of ten percent of the recipient's gross income or \$25, whichever is less,
is allowed for representative payee services provided by an agency that meets the
requirements under SSI regulations to charge a fee for representative payee services. This
special need is available to all recipients of Minnesota supplemental aid regardless of
their living arrangement.

(f)(1) Notwithstanding the language in this subdivision, an amount equal to the 15.6 maximum allotment authorized by the federal Food Stamp Program for a single individual 15.7 which is in effect on the first day of July of each year will be added to the standards of 15.8 assistance established in subdivisions 1 to 4 for adults under the age of 65 who qualify 15.9 as shelter needy and are: (i) relocating from an institution, or an adult mental health 15.10 residential treatment program under section 256B.0622; (ii) eligible for the self-directed 15.11 supports option as defined under section 256B.0657, subdivision 2; or (iii) home and 15.12 community-based waiver recipients living in their own home or rented or leased apartment 15.13 which is not owned, operated, or controlled by a provider of service not related by blood 15.14 15.15 or marriage, unless allowed under paragraph (g).

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an individual eligible for the
shelter needy benefit under this paragraph is considered a household of one. An eligible
individual who receives this benefit prior to age 65 may continue to receive the benefit
after the age of 65.

(3) "Shelter needy" means that the assistance unit incurs monthly shelter costs that
exceed 40 percent of the assistance unit's gross income before the application of this
special needs standard. "Gross income" for the purposes of this section is the applicant's
or recipient's <u>prior month's income</u> as defined in section 256D.35, subdivision 10, or the
standard specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a) or (b), whichever is greater. A recipient
of a federal or state housing subsidy, that limits shelter costs to a percentage of gross
income, shall not be considered shelter needy for purposes of this paragraph.

(g) Notwithstanding this subdivision, to access housing and services as provided
in paragraph (f), the recipient may choose housing that may be owned, operated, or
controlled by the recipient's service provider. In a multifamily building of more than four
or more units, the maximum number of apartments at one address that may be used by
recipients of this program shall be 50 percent of the units in a building. This paragraph
expires on June 30, 2012 2014.

15.33 Sec. 18. [256D.461] EMERGENCY AID.

- Applicants for or recipients of Supplemental Security Income or Minnesota 16.1 supplemental aid who have emergent need may apply for emergency general assistance 16.2 under section 256D.06, subdivision 2. 16.3
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256I.05, is amended by adding a subdivision 16.4 to read: 16.5

Subd. 10a. Supplementary rate for certain facilities receiving a supplementary 16.6 service rate in excess of the state legislated maximum. Notwithstanding subdivisions 16.7 1a and 1c, beginning July 1, 2011, a county agency shall not negotiate a supplementary 16.8 rate in addition to the rate specified in subdivision 1, not to exceed \$495.85 per month, 16.9 including any legislatively authorized inflationary adjustments, for a group residential 16.10 16.11 housing provider that does not include a residency requirement of at least 20 hours per month of volunteer or paid work. A person who is unable to obtain or retain 20 hours per 16.12 month of volunteer or paid work due to a professionally certified illness, injury, disability, 16.13 16.14 or incapacity will not be made ineligible for group residential housing under this section.

- 16.15 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256J.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 16.16 Subd. 1a. 30-day <u>90-day</u> residency requirement. An assistance unit is considered to have established residency in this state only when a child or caregiver has resided in this 16.17 state for at least 30 90 consecutive days with the intention of making the person's home 16.18 here and not for any temporary purpose. The birth of a child in Minnesota to a member 16.19 of the assistance unit does not automatically establish the residency in this state under 16.20 16.21 this subdivision of the other members of the assistance unit. Time spent in a shelter for battered women shall count toward satisfying the 30-day 90-day residency requirement. 16.22
- 16.23 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256J.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Exceptions. (a) A county shall waive the 30-day 90-day residency 16.24 requirement where unusual hardship would result from denial of assistance. 16.25
- (b) For purposes of this section, unusual hardship means an assistance unit: 16.26
- (1) is without alternative shelter; or 16.27
- (2) is without available resources for food. 16.28
- (c) For purposes of this subdivision, the following definitions apply (1) "metropolitan 16.29 statistical area" is as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau; (2) "alternative shelter" includes 16.30 any shelter that is located within the metropolitan statistical area containing the county and 16.31 for which the family is eligible, provided the assistance unit does not have to travel more 16.32

than 20 miles to reach the shelter and has access to transportation to the shelter. Clause (2)
does not apply to counties in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan statistical area.

17.3 (d) Applicants are considered to meet the residency requirement under subdivision17.4 1a if they once resided in Minnesota and:

(1) joined the United States armed services, returned to Minnesota within 30 days of
leaving the armed services, and intend to remain in Minnesota; or

(2) left to attend school in another state, paid nonresident tuition or Minnesota
tuition rates under a reciprocity agreement, and returned to Minnesota within 30 days of
graduation with the intent to remain in Minnesota.

17.10 (e) The 30-day 90-day residence requirement is met when:

17.11 (1) a minor child or a minor caregiver moves from another state to the residence of17.12 a relative caregiver; and

(2) the relative caregiver has resided in Minnesota for at least <u>30_90</u> consecutive
days and:

(i) the minor caregiver applies for and receives MFIP; or

(ii) the relative caregiver applies for assistance for the minor child but does notchoose to be a member of the MFIP assistance unit.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256J.20, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Other property limitations. To be eligible for MFIP, the equity value of
all nonexcluded real and personal property of the assistance unit must not exceed \$2,000
for applicants and \$5,000 for ongoing participants. The value of assets in clauses (1) to
(19) must be excluded when determining the equity value of real and personal property:

(1) a licensed vehicle up to a loan value of less than or equal to $\frac{15,000}{10,000}$ \$10,000. If 17.23 the assistance unit owns more than one licensed vehicle, the county agency shall determine 17.24 17.25 the loan value of all additional vehicles and exclude the combined loan value of less than or equal to \$7,500. The county agency shall apply any excess loan value as if it were 17.26 equity value to the asset limit described in this section, excluding: (i) the value of one 17.27 vehicle per physically disabled person when the vehicle is needed to transport the disabled 17.28 unit member; this exclusion does not apply to mentally disabled people; (ii) the value of 17.29 special equipment for a disabled member of the assistance unit; and (iii) any vehicle used 17.30 for long-distance travel, other than daily commuting, for the employment of a unit member. 17.31

To establish the loan value of vehicles, a county agency must use the N.A.D.A.
Official Used Car Guide, Midwest Edition, for newer model cars. When a vehicle is not
listed in the guidebook, or when the applicant or participant disputes the loan value listed
in the guidebook as unreasonable given the condition of the particular vehicle, the county

REVISOR

A11-0177

agency may require the applicant or participant document the loan value by securing a 18.1 written statement from a motor vehicle dealer licensed under section 168.27, stating 18.2 the amount that the dealer would pay to purchase the vehicle. The county agency shall 18.3 reimburse the applicant or participant for the cost of a written statement that documents 18.4 a lower loan value; 18.5 (2) the value of life insurance policies for members of the assistance unit; 186 (3) one burial plot per member of an assistance unit; 18.7 (4) the value of personal property needed to produce earned income, including 18.8 tools, implements, farm animals, inventory, business loans, business checking and 18.9 savings accounts used at least annually and used exclusively for the operation of a 18.10 self-employment business, and any motor vehicles if at least 50 percent of the vehicle's use 18.11 is to produce income and if the vehicles are essential for the self-employment business; 18.12 (5) the value of personal property not otherwise specified which is commonly 18.13 used by household members in day-to-day living such as clothing, necessary household 18.14 18.15 furniture, equipment, and other basic maintenance items essential for daily living; (6) the value of real and personal property owned by a recipient of Supplemental 18.16 Security Income or Minnesota supplemental aid; 18.17 (7) the value of corrective payments, but only for the month in which the payment 18.18 is received and for the following month; 18.19 (8) a mobile home or other vehicle used by an applicant or participant as the 18.20 applicant's or participant's home; 18.21 (9) money in a separate escrow account that is needed to pay real estate taxes or 18.22 18.23 insurance and that is used for this purpose; (10) money held in escrow to cover employee FICA, employee tax withholding, 18.24 sales tax withholding, employee worker compensation, business insurance, property rental, 18.25 property taxes, and other costs that are paid at least annually, but less often than monthly; 18.26 (11) monthly assistance payments for the current month's or short-term emergency 18.27 needs under section 256J.626, subdivision 2; 18.28 (12) the value of school loans, grants, or scholarships for the period they are 18.29 intended to cover; 18.30 (13) payments listed in section 256J.21, subdivision 2, clause (9), which are held 18.31 in escrow for a period not to exceed three months to replace or repair personal or real 18.32 18.33 property; (14) income received in a budget month through the end of the payment month; 18.34 (15) savings from earned income of a minor child or a minor parent that are set aside 18.35 in a separate account designated specifically for future education or employment costs; 18.36

SS/RT

- A11-0177
- (16) the federal earned income credit, Minnesota working family credit, state and 19.1 19.2 federal income tax refunds, state homeowners and renters credits under chapter 290A, property tax rebates and other federal or state tax rebates in the month received and the 19.3 following month; 19.4 (17) payments excluded under federal law as long as those payments are held in a 19.5 separate account from any nonexcluded funds; 19.6 (18) the assets of children ineligible to receive MFIP benefits because foster care or 19.7 adoption assistance payments are made on their behalf; and 19.8 19.9 (19) the assets of persons whose income is excluded under section 256J.21, subdivision 2, clause (43). 19.10 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256J.53, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 19.11
- 19.13 postsecondary education or training program to be an approved activity in an employment

Subd. 2. Approval of postsecondary education or training. (a) In order for a

- 19.14 plan, the plan must include additional work activities if the education and training
- 19.15 activities do not meet the minimum hours required to meet the federal work participation
- 19.16 rate under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, sections 261.31 and 261.35 participant
- 19.17 <u>must be working in unsubsidized employment at least 20 hours per week</u>.
- (b) Participants seeking approval of a postsecondary education or training planmust provide documentation that:
- 19.20 (1) the employment goal can only be met with the additional education or training;
- (2) there are suitable employment opportunities that require the specific education ortraining in the area in which the participant resides or is willing to reside;
- (3) the education or training will result in significantly higher wages for theparticipant than the participant could earn without the education or training;
- (4) the participant can meet the requirements for admission into the program; and
 (5) there is a reasonable expectation that the participant will complete the training
 program based on such factors as the participant's MFIP assessment, previous education,
 training, and work history; current motivation; and changes in previous circumstances.
- 19.29 (c) The hourly unsubsidized employment requirement does not apply for intensive
 19.30 education or training programs lasting 12 weeks or less when full-time attendance is
- 19.31 <u>required.</u>

19.12

19.32 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 393.07, subdivision 10a, is amended to read:
19.33 Subd. 10a. Expedited issuance of food stamps. The commissioner of human
19.34 services shall continually monitor the expedited issuance of food stamp benefits to ensure

SS/RT

that each county complies with federal regulations and that households eligible for
expedited issuance of food stamps are identified, processed, and certified within the time
frames prescribed in federal regulations.

- 20.4 County food stamp offices shall screen and issue food stamps to applicants on the 20.5 day of application. Applicants who meet the federal criteria for expedited issuance and 20.6 have an immediate need for food assistance shall receive within two working days either:
- 20.7 (1) a manual Authorization to Participate (ATP) card; or

20.8 (2) the immediate issuance of food stamp coupons.

The local food stamp agency shall conspicuously post in each food stamp office a notice of the availability of and the procedure for applying for expedited issuance and verbally advise each applicant of the availability of the expedited process.

20.12 Sec. 25. GRANT PROGRAM TO PROMOTE HEALTHY COMMUNITY

20.13 **INITIATIVES.**

20.14 (a) The commissioner of human services must contract with the Search Institute to help local communities develop, expand, and maintain the tools, training, and resources 20.15 needed to foster positive community development and effectively engage people in their 20.16 community. The Search Institute must: (1) provide training in community mobilization, 20.17 youth development, and assets getting to outcomes; (2) provide ongoing technical 20.18 assistance to communities receiving grants under this section; (3) use best practices to 20.19 promote community development; (4) share best program practices with other interested 20.20 communities; (5) create electronic and other opportunities for communities to share 20.21 experiences in and resources for promoting healthy community development; and (6) 20.22 provide an annual report of the strong communities project. 20.23

(b) Specifically, the Search Institute must use a competitive grant process to select 20.24 20.25 four interested communities throughout Minnesota to undertake strong community mobilization initiatives to support communities wishing to catalyze multiple sectors to 20.26 create or strengthen a community collaboration to address issues of poverty in their 20.27 communities. The Search Institute must provide the selected communities with the 20.28 tools, training, and resources they need for successfully implementing initiatives focused 20.29 on strengthening the community. The Search Institute also must use a competitive 20.30 grant process to provide four strong community innovation grants to encourage current 20.31 community initiatives to bring new innovation approaches to their work to reduce poverty. 20.32 Finally, the Search Institute must work to strengthen networking and information sharing 20.33 activities among all healthy community initiatives throughout Minnesota, including 20.34

REVISOR

21.1	sharing best program practices and providing personal and electronic opportunities for
21.2	peer learning and ongoing program support.
21.3	(c) In order to receive a grant under paragraph (b), a community must show
21.4	involvement of at least three sectors of their community and the active leadership of both
21.5	youth and adults. Sectors may include, but are not limited to, local government, schools,
21.6	community action agencies, faith communities, businesses, higher education institutions,
21.7	and the medical community. In addition, communities must agree to: (1) attend training
21.8	on community mobilization processes and strength-based approaches; (2) apply the assets
21.9	getting to outcomes process in their initiative; (3) meet at least two times during the
21.10	grant period to share successes and challenges with other grantees; (4) participate on an
21.11	electronic listserv to share information throughout the period on their work; and (5) all
21.12	communication requirements and reporting processes.
21.13	(d) The commissioner of human services must evaluate the effectiveness of this
21.14	program and must recommend to the committees of the legislature with jurisdiction over
21.15	health and human services reform and finance by February 15, 2013, whether or not
21.16	to make the program available statewide. The Search Institute annually must report to
21.17	the commissioner of human services on the services it provided and the grant money
21.18	it expended under this section.
21.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
21.20	Sec. 26. CIRCLES OF SUPPORT GRANTS.
21.21	The commissioner of human services must provide grants to community action
21.22	agencies to help local communities develop, expand, and maintain the tools, training, and
21.23	resources needed to foster social assets to assist people out of poverty through circles of
21.24	support. The circles of support model must provide a framework for a community to build
21.25	relationships across class and race lines so that people can work together to advocate for
21.26	change in their communities and move individuals toward self-sufficiency.
21.27	Specifically, circles of support initiatives must focus on increasing social capital,
21.28	income, educational attainment, and individual accountability, while reducing debt,
21.29	service dependency, and addressing systemic disparities that hold poverty in place. The
21.30	effort must support the development of local guiding coalitions as the link between the

- 21.31 <u>community and circles of support for resource development and funding leverage.</u>
- 21.32 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

SS/RT

22.1	Sec. 27. PILOT PROJECT FOR HOMELESS ADULTS TO BE IN-HOME
22.2	CARETAKERS OF FORECLOSED HOMES.
22.3	(a) Stepping Stone Emergency Housing may form a partnership with local banks
22.4	who own foreclosed homes to:
22.5	(1) utilize foreclosed homes for graduates of Stepping Stone Emergency Housing to
22.6	become in-home caretakers of those homes;
22.7	(2) provide the security needed by the homes' banking owners and others to help
22.8	stabilize neighborhoods through carefully maintained homes that will prevent vandalism,
22.9	squatters, and drug houses;
22.10	(3) provide transitional housing to up to four homeless clients per home after they
22.11	graduate from emergency housing allowing the clients time to find permanent housing
22.12	in a tight affordable housing market; and
22.13	(4) provide management of the project to ensure proper oversight for the homes'
22.14	owners and support of the caretakers.
22.15	(b) This section expires June 30, 2013.
22.16	Sec. 28. <u>REQUIREMENT FOR LIQUOR STORES, TOBACCO STORES,</u>
22.17	GAMBLING ESTABLISHMENTS, AND TATTOO PARLORS.
22.18	Liquor stores, tobacco stores, gambling establishments, and tattoo parlors must
22.19	negotiate with their third-party processors to block EBT card cash transactions at their
22.20	places of business and withdrawals of cash at automatic teller machines located in their
22.21	places of business.
22.22	Sec. 29. MINNESOTA EBT BUSINESS TASK FORCE.
22.23	Subdivision 1. Members. The Minnesota EBT Business Task Force includes seven
22.24	members, appointed as follows:
22.25	(1) two members of the Minnesota house of representatives, one appointed by the
22.26	speaker of the house and one appointed by the minority leader;
22.27	(2) two members of the Minnesota senate, one appointed by the senate majority
22.28	leader and one appointed by the senate minority leader;
22.29	(3) the commissioner of human services, or designee;
22.30	(4) an appointee of the Minnesota Grocers Association; and
22.31	(5) a credit card processor, appointed by the commissioner of human services.
22.22	Subd 2 Dution The Minnegete EDT Duringer Tests Force -1-11
22.32	Subd. 2. Duties. The Minnesota EBT Business Task Force shall create a workable
22.33	strategy to eliminate the purchase of tobacco and alcoholic beverages by recipients of the

SS/RT

23.1	general assistance program and Minnesota supplemental aid program under Minnesota
23.2	Statutes, chapter 256D, and programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256J, using EBT
23.3	cards. The task force will consider cost to the state, feasibility of execution at retail, and
23.4	ease of use and privacy for EBT cardholders.
23.5	Subd. 3. Report. The task force will report back to the legislative committees with
23.6	jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance by April 1, 2012, with
23.7	recommendations related to the task force duties under subdivision 2.
23.8	Subd. 4. Expiration. The task force expires on June 30, 2012.
23.9	Sec. 30. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER.
23.10	The commissioner of human services shall issue a request for proposals for a
23.11	third-party credit card processor who will prohibit the ability of EBT cards to be used to
23.12	purchase tobacco products or alcoholic beverages. Based on responses to the request
23.13	for proposals, the commissioner shall enter into a contract for the services specified in
23.14	this section by October 1, 2011.
23.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
23.16	Sec. 31. <u>REPEALER.</u>
23.17	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 256.979, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 10;
23.18	256.9791; and 256.9862, subdivision 2, are repealed.
23.19	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0130, subpart 8, is repealed effective September
23.20	<u>3, 2012.</u>
23.21	ARTICLE 2
23.22	DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
23.23	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62J.495, is amended by adding a
23.24	subdivision to read:
23.25	Subd. 7. Exemption. Any clinical practice with a total annual net revenue of less
23.26	than \$500,000, and that has not received a state or federal grant for implementation
23.27	of electronic health records, is exempt from the requirements of subdivision 1. This
23.28	subdivision expires December 31, 2020.
23.29	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62J.497, is amended by adding a subdivision
23.27	500. 2. mininosota Statutos 2010, socitori 025.497, is amenada by adding a suburvision

23.30 to read:

A11-0177

SS/RT

24.1Subd. 6. Additional standards for electronic prescribing. By January 1, 2012,24.2the commissioner of health, in consultation with the Minnesota e-Health Advisory

24.3 <u>Committee, must develop a method for incorporation of the following transactions into the</u>

- 24.4 requirements and standards for electronic prescribing provided in subdivisions 2 and 3:
- 24.5 (1) submission of requests for a formulary exception based on information required
 24.6 on the form developed according to subdivision 4; and
- 24.7 (2) submission of prior authorization requests based on information required on the
 24.8 form developed according to subdivision 5.
- 24.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62J.692, is amended to read:
- 24.10 **62J.692 MEDICAL EDUCATION.**

24.11 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following definitions24.12 apply:

(a) "Accredited clinical training" means the clinical training provided by a
medical education program that is accredited through an organization recognized by the
Department of Education, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, or another
national body who reviews the accrediting organizations for multiple disciplines and
whose standards for recognizing accrediting organizations are reviewed and approved by
the commissioner of health in consultation with the Medical Education and Research
Advisory Committee.

24.20 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of health.

(c) "Clinical medical education program" means the accredited clinical training of
physicians (medical students and residents), doctor of pharmacy practitioners, doctors
of chiropractic, dentists, advanced practice nurses (clinical nurse specialists, certified
registered nurse anesthetists, nurse practitioners, and certified nurse midwives), and
physician assistants.

(d) "Sponsoring institution" means a hospital, school, or consortium located in
Minnesota that sponsors and maintains primary organizational and financial responsibility
for a clinical medical education program in Minnesota and which is accountable to the
accrediting body.

- (e) "Teaching institution" means a hospital, medical center, clinic, or otherorganization that conducts a clinical medical education program in Minnesota.
- 24.32 (f) "Trainee" means a student or resident involved in a clinical medical education24.33 program.

(g) "Eligible trainee FTE's" means the number of trainees, as measured by full-time
equivalent counts, that are at training sites located in Minnesota with currently active

A11-0177

- medical assistance enrollment status and a National Provider Identification (NPI) number 25.1 where training occurs in either an inpatient or ambulatory patient care setting and where 25.2 the training is funded, in part, by patient care revenues. Training that occurs in nursing 25.3 facility settings is not eligible for funding under this section. 25.4 Subd. 3. Application process. (a) A clinical medical education program conducted 25.5 in Minnesota by a teaching institution to train physicians, doctor of pharmacy practitioners, 25.6 dentists, advanced dental therapists, chiropractors, or physician assistants is eligible for 25.7 funds under subdivision 4 or 11, as appropriate, if the program: 25.8 (1) is funded, in part, by patient care revenues; 25.9 (2) occurs in patient care settings that face increased financial pressure as a result of 25.10 competition with nonteaching patient care entities training activities; and 25.11 (3) emphasizes primary care or specialties that are in undersupply in Minnesota in 25.12 rural areas or for racial, ethnic, or cultural populations in the state experiencing health 25.13 disparities. 25.14 25.15 A clinical medical education program that trains pediatricians is requested to include in its program curriculum training in case management and medication management for 25.16 children suffering from mental illness to be eligible for funds under subdivision 4. 25.17 (b) A clinical medical education program for advanced practice nursing, registered 25.18 nurses, or licensed practical nurses is eligible for funds under subdivision 4 or 11, as 25.19 appropriate, if the program meets the eligibility requirements in paragraph (a), clauses 25.20 (1) to (3), and is sponsored by the University of Minnesota Academic Health Center, 25.21 the Mayo Foundation, or institutions that are part of the Minnesota State Colleges and 25.22 25.23 Universities system or members of the Minnesota Private College Council. (c) Applications must be submitted to the commissioner by a sponsoring institution 25.24 on behalf of an eligible clinical medical education program and must be received by 25.25 25.26 October 31 of each year for distribution in the following year. An application for funds must contain the following information: 25.27 (1) the official name and address of the sponsoring institution and the official 25.28
- name and site address of the clinical medical education programs on whose behalf the
 sponsoring institution is applying;
- 25.31 (2) the name, title, and business address of those persons responsible for25.32 administering the funds;
- (3) for each clinical medical education program for which funds are being sought;
 the type and specialty orientation of trainees in the program; the name, site address, and
 medical assistance provider number or National Provider Identification number (NPI) of

SS/RT

- each training site used in the program; the total number of trainees at each training site; 26.1 and the total number of eligible trainee FTEs at each site; and 26.2 (4) other supporting information the commissioner deems necessary to determine 26.3 program eligibility based on the criteria in paragraphs (a) and (b) and to ensure the 26.4 equitable appropriate distribution of funds. 26.5 (d) An application must include the information specified in clauses (1) to (3) for 26.6 each clinical medical education program on an annual basis for three consecutive years. 26.7 After that time, an application must include the information specified in clauses (1) to (3) 26.8 when requested, at the discretion of the commissioner: 26.9
- (1) audited clinical training costs per trainee for each clinical medical education
 program when available or estimates of clinical training costs based on audited financial
 data;
- 26.13 (2) a description of current sources of funding for clinical medical education costs,
 26.14 including a description and dollar amount of all state and federal financial support,
- 26.15 including Medicare direct and indirect payments; and

26.16

- (3) other revenue received for the purposes of clinical training.
- 26.17 (e) An applicant that does not provide information requested by the commissioner26.18 shall not be eligible for funds for the current funding cycle.
- Subd. 4. Distribution of funds. (a) Following the distribution described under
 paragraph (b), the commissioner shall annually distribute the available medical education
 funds to all qualifying applicants based on a distribution formula that reflects a summation
 of two factors:
- 26.23 (1) a public program volume factor, which is determined by the total volume of
 26.24 public program revenue received by each training site as a percentage of all public
 26.25 program revenue received by all training sites in the fund pool; and.
- 26.26 (2) a supplemental public program volume factor, which is determined by providing
 a supplemental payment of 20 percent of each training site's grant to training sites whose
 public program revenue accounted for at least 0.98 percent of the total public program
 revenue received by all eligible training sites. Grants to training sites whose public
 program revenue accounted for less than 0.98 percent of the total public program revenue
 received by all eligible training sites shall be reduced by an amount equal to the total
 value of the supplemental payment.
- 26.33 Public program revenue for the distribution formula includes revenue from medical 26.34 assistance, prepaid medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and prepaid 26.35 general assistance medical care. Training sites that receive no public program revenue 26.36 are ineligible for funds available under this subdivision. For purposes of determining

training-site level grants to be distributed under paragraph (a), total statewide average 27.1 costs per trainee for medical residents is based on audited clinical training costs per trainee 27.2 in primary care clinical medical education programs for medical residents. Total statewide 27.3 average costs per trainee for dental residents is based on audited clinical training costs 27.4 per trainee in clinical medical education programs for dental students. Total statewide 27.5 average costs per trainee for pharmacy residents is based on audited clinical training costs 27.6 per trainee in clinical medical education programs for pharmacy students. Training sites 27.7 whose training-site level grant is less than \$1,000, based on the formula described in this 27.8 paragraph, are ineligible for funds available under this subdivision. 27.9 (b) \$5,350,000 \$4,900,000 of the available medical education funds in fiscal year 27.10 2012 and \$3,044,000 beginning in fiscal year 2013 shall be distributed to fund training 27.11 designed to address health disparities as follows: 27.12 (1) \$1,475,000 \$500,000 in fiscal year 2012 and \$200,000 beginning in fiscal year 27.13 2013 to the University of Minnesota Medical Center-Fairview the White Earth Band of 27.14 27.15 Ojibwe Indians according to section 145.9271; (2) \$2,075,000 \$600,000 in fiscal year 2012 and \$200,000 beginning in fiscal 27.16 year 2013 to the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry University of Minnesota 27.17 according to section 137.395; and 27.18 (3) \$500,000 in fiscal year 2012 and \$200,000 beginning in fiscal year 2013 shall 27.19 27.20 be distributed to the community health centers development grants program according to section 145.987; 27.21 (4) \$500,000 in fiscal year 2012 and \$200,000 beginning in fiscal year 2013 shall be 27.22 27.23 distributed to the community mental health centers grant program according to section 145.9272; 27.24 (5) \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2012 and \$444,000 beginning in fiscal year 2013 shall 27.25 27.26 be distributed to the health careers opportunities grant program according to section 144.1499; and 27.27 (3) (6) \$1,800,000 to the Academic Health Center. \$150,000 of the funds distributed 27.28 to the Academic Health Center under this paragraph shall be used for a program to assist 27.29 internationally trained physicians who are legal residents and who commit to serving 27.30 underserved Minnesota communities in a health professional shortage area to successfully 27.31 compete for family medicine residency programs at the University of Minnesota. 27.32 (c) Funds distributed shall not be used to displace current funding appropriations 27.33 from federal or state sources. 27.34 (d) Funds shall be distributed to the sponsoring institutions indicating the amount 27.35 to be distributed to each of the sponsor's clinical medical education programs based on 27.36

the criteria in this subdivision and in accordance with the commissioner's approval letter.
Each clinical medical education program must distribute funds allocated under paragraph
(a) to the training sites as specified in the commissioner's approval letter. Sponsoring
institutions, which are accredited through an organization recognized by the Department
of Education or the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, may contract directly
with training sites to provide clinical training. To ensure the quality of clinical training,
those accredited sponsoring institutions must:

(1) develop contracts specifying the terms, expectations, and outcomes of the clinical
training conducted at sites; and

(2) take necessary action if the contract requirements are not met. Action may
include the withholding of payments under this section or the removal of students from
the site.

(e) Any funds not distributed in accordance with the commissioner's approval letter
must be returned to the medical education and research fund within 30 days of receiving
notice from the commissioner. The commissioner shall distribute returned funds to the
appropriate training sites in accordance with the commissioner's approval letter.

(f) A maximum of \$150,000 of the funds dedicated to the commissioner under
section 297F.10, subdivision 1, clause (2), may be used by the commissioner for
administrative expenses associated with implementing this section.

Subd. 5. Report. (a) Sponsoring institutions receiving funds under this section 28.20 must sign and submit a medical education grant verification report (GVR) to verify that 28.21 the correct grant amount was forwarded to each eligible training site. If the sponsoring 28.22 28.23 institution fails to submit the GVR by the stated deadline, or to request and meet the deadline for an extension, the sponsoring institution is required to return the full 28.24 amount of funds received to the commissioner within 30 days of receiving notice from 28.25 28.26 the commissioner. The commissioner shall distribute returned funds to the appropriate training sites in accordance with the commissioner's approval letter. 28.27

(b) The reports must provide verification of the distribution of the funds and mustinclude:

(1) the total number of eligible trainee FTEs in each clinical medical educationprogram;

28.32 (2) the name of each funded program and, for each program, the dollar amount28.33 distributed to each training site;

(3) documentation of any discrepancies between the initial grant distribution notice
included in the commissioner's approval letter and the actual distribution;

A11-0177

SS/RT

(4) a statement by the sponsoring institution stating that the completed grant 29.1 verification report is valid and accurate; and 29.2 (5) other information the commissioner, with advice from the advisory committee, 29.3 deems appropriate to evaluate the effectiveness of the use of funds for medical education. 29.4 (c) By February 15 of each year, the commissioner, with advice from the 29.5 advisory committee, shall provide an annual summary report to the legislature on the 29.6 implementation of this section. 29.7 Subd. 6. Other available funds. The commissioner is authorized to distribute, in 29.8 accordance with subdivision 4, funds made available through: 29.9 (1) voluntary contributions by employers or other entities; 29.10 (2) allocations for the commissioner of human services to support medical education 29.11 and research; and 29.12 (3) other sources as identified and deemed appropriate by the legislature for 29.13 inclusion in the fund. 29.14 29.15 Subd. 7. Transfers from the commissioner of human services. Of the amount transferred according to section 256B.69, subdivision 5c, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), 29.16 \$21,714,000 shall be distributed as follows: 29.17 (1) \$2,157,000 shall be distributed by the commissioner to the University of 29.18 Minnesota Board of Regents for the purposes described in sections 137.38 to 137.40; 29.19 (2) \$1,035,360 shall be distributed by the commissioner to the Hennepin County 29.20 Medical Center for clinical medical education; 29.21 (3) \$17,400,000 shall be distributed by the commissioner to the University of 29.22 29.23 Minnesota Board of Regents for purposes of medical education; (4) \$1,121,640 \$1,021,640 shall be distributed by the commissioner to clinical 29.24 medical education dental innovation grants in accordance with subdivision 7a; and 29.25 29.26 (5) \$100,000 shall be distributed to the health careers opportunities grant program according to section 144.1499; and 29.27 (6) the remainder of the amount transferred according to section 256B.69, 29.28 subdivision 5c, clauses (1) to (4), shall be distributed by the commissioner annually to 29.29 clinical medical education programs that meet the qualifications of subdivision 3 based on 29.30 the formula in subdivision 4, paragraph (a), or subdivision 11, as appropriate. 29.31 Subd. 7a. Clinical medical education innovations grants. (a) The commissioner 29.32 shall award grants to teaching institutions and clinical training sites for projects that 29.33 provide training to increase dental access for underserved populations and promote 29.34 innovative clinical training of dental professionals and for racial, ethnic, or cultural 29.35 populations in the state experiencing health disparities. In awarding the grants, the 29.36

REVISOR

SS/RT

commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of human services, shall consider 30.1 30.2 the following: (1) potential to successfully increase access to an underserved population; 30.3 30.4 (2) the long-term viability of the project to improve access beyond the period of initial funding; 30.5 (3) evidence of collaboration between the applicant and local communities; and 30.6 (4) the efficiency in the use of the funding; and 30.7 (5) (3) the priority level of the project in relation to state clinical education, access, 30.8 and health disparity workforce goals. 30.9 (b) The commissioner shall periodically evaluate the priorities in awarding the 30.10 innovations grants in order to ensure that the priorities meet the changing workforce 30.11 needs of the state. 30.12 Subd. 8. Federal financial participation. The commissioner of human services 30.13 shall seek to maximize federal financial participation in payments for medical education 30.14 and research costs. 30.15 The commissioner shall use physician clinic rates where possible to maximize 30.16 federal financial participation. Any additional funds that become available must be 30.17 distributed under subdivision 4, paragraph (a), or 11, as appropriate. 30.18 Subd. 9. Review of eligible providers. The commissioner and the Medical 30.19 Education and Research Costs Advisory Committee may review provider groups included 30.20 in the definition of a clinical medical education program to assure that the distribution of 30.21 the funds continue to be consistent with the purpose of this section. The results of any 30.22 30.23 such reviews must be reported to the Legislative Commission on Health Care Access. Subd. 11. **Distribution of funds.** (a) Upon receiving federal approval, the 30.24 commissioner shall annually distribute the available medical education funds to all 30.25 30.26 qualifying applicants based on the following distribution formula, which supersedes the formula described in subdivision 4, paragraphs (a) and (b): 30.27 (1) funds received pursuant to section 297F.10 shall be distributed to eligible clinical 30.28 training sites using a public program volume factor, which is determined by the total 30.29 volume of public program revenue received by each eligible training site as a percentage 30.30 of all public program revenue received by all eligible training sites in the fund pool. Only 30.31 clinical training that occurs in a hospital that reports financial, utilization, and services 30.32 data to the commissioner of health, pursuant to sections 144.564 and 144.695 to 144.703 30.33 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4650, is eligible for funding under this clause; and 30.34 30.35 (2) funds transferred according to section 256B.69, subdivision 5c, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), shall be distributed to eligible training sites based on the total number of 30.36

SS/RT

eligible trainee FTEs and the total statewide average costs per FTE, by type of trainee, in 31.1 31.2 each clinical medical education program. The number of eligible trainee FTEs for funds distributed under this clause is determined using the following steps: 31.3 (i) each FTE trainee from an advanced practice nursing, physician assistant, family 31.4 medicine, internal medicine, general pediatrics, or psychiatry program is weighted at 1.25. 31.5 Each FTE trainee from any other eligible training program is weighted at 1.0; 31.6 (ii) each FTE trainee at a clinical training site located in an isolated rural area 31.7 according to the four category classification of the Rural Urban Commuting Area system 31.8 developed for the United States Health Resources and Services Administration (RUCA 31.9 system) shall be weighted at the weight in item (i) multiplied by 1.5; each FTE trainee at 31.10 a clinical training site located in a small rural area according to the RUCA system shall 31.11 31.12 be weighted at the weight in item (i) multiplied by 1.25; each FTE trainee at a clinical training site located in a large rural area according to the RUCA system shall be weighted 31.13 at the weight in item (i) multiplied by 1.1; and each FTE trainee at a clinical training site 31.14 31.15 located in an urban area according to the RUCA system shall be weighted at the weight in item (i) multiplied by 1.0; 31.16 (iii) each FTE trainee at a clinical training site that is a hospital eligible for funding 31.17 under clause (1) shall be weighted at the weight in item (ii) multiplied by 0.85; and each 31.18 FTE trainee at a clinical training site that is an ambulatory, nursing home, or other eligible 31.19 31.20 nonhospital setting shall be weighted at the weight in item (ii) multiplied by 1.15; and (iv) grants to hospitals under this item are limited to a percentage share of the total 31.21 pool of funds available under this item that is no more than 1.5 times the percentage of the 31.22 31.23 hospital's total revenue that comes from public programs. Grants to hospitals in excess of 31.24 this amount will be redistributed to other sites eligible for funding under this item. Each eligible clinical training site's grant under this item will be calculated by multiplying the 31.25 31.26 training site's adjusted FTE count upon completion of items (i) to (iv) by the statewide average cost per trainee for each provider type to determine an adjusted clinical training 31.27 cost for each site. The grant to each eligible clinical training site under this item shall 31.28 equal that site's share of total adjusted clinical training costs for all eligible training sites 31.29 receiving funding under this item. Any clinical training site with fewer than 0.1 FTE 31.30 eligible trainees from all programs upon completion of items (i) to (iv) and any clinical 31.31 training site that would receive less than a cumulative \$1,000 under clauses (1) and (2) 31.32 will be eliminated from the distribution. 31.33 (b) Public program revenue for the distribution formula includes revenue for the 31.34 31.35 relevant MERC reporting period from medical assistance, prepaid medical assistance,

31.36 general assistance medical care, MinnesotaCare, and prepaid general assistance medical

32.1	care, as reported to the Department of Health pursuant to sections 144.562, 144.564,
32.2	and 144.695 to 144.703 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4650, by December 31 of the
32.3	year in which the MERC application is submitted. Training sites that receive no public
32.4	program revenue are ineligible for funds available under this subdivision. For purposes
32.5	of determining training-site level grants to be distributed under paragraph (a), clause
32.6	(2), total statewide average costs per trainee for medical residents is based on audited
32.7	clinical training costs per trainee in primary care clinical medical education programs for
32.8	medical residents. Total statewide average costs per trainee for dental residents is based
32.9	on audited clinical training costs per trainee in clinical medical education programs for
32.10	dental students. Total statewide average costs per trainee for pharmacy residents is based
32.11	on audited clinical training costs per trainee in clinical medical education programs for
32.12	pharmacy students.
32.13	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62Q.735, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
32.14	Subd. 5. Fee schedules. (a) A health plan company shall provide, upon request no
32.15	later than 165 days before the next contract year's effective date, any additional fees
32.16	or fee schedules relevant to the particular provider's practice beyond those provided
32.17	with the renewal documents for the next contract year to all participating providers,
32.18	excluding claims paid under the pharmacy benefit. Health plan companies may fulfill the
32.19	requirements of this section by making the full fee schedules available through a secure
32.20	Web portal for contracted providers no later than 165 days before the next contract year's
32.21	effective date.
32.22	(b) A dental organization may satisfy paragraph (a) by complying with section
32.23	62Q.735, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).
32.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011, and applies to
32.25	contracts entered into, renewed, or amended on or after that date.
32.26	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62Q.75, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
32.27	Subd. 3. Claims filing. Unless otherwise provided by contract for a longer period,
32.28	by section 16A.124, subdivision 4a, or by federal law, the health care providers and
	f_{1}

third-party administrator within six months from the date of service or the date the health 32.30 care provider knew or was informed of the correct name and address of the responsible 32.31 health plan company or third-party administrator, whichever is later. A health care provider

facilities specified in subdivision 2 must submit their charges to a health plan company or

or facility that does not make an initial submission of charges within the six-month period 32.33

shall not be reimbursed for the charge and may not collect the charge from the recipient of 32.34

32.29

32.32

the service or any other payer. The six-month submission requirement may be extended to 33.1 33.2 12 months in cases where a health care provider or facility specified in subdivision 2 has determined and can substantiate that it has experienced a significant disruption to normal 33.3 operations that materially affects the ability to conduct business in a normal manner and to 33.4 submit claims on a timely basis. Any request by a health care provider or facility specified 33.5 in subdivision 2 for an exception to a contractually defined claims submission timeline 33.6 must be reviewed and acted upon by the health plan company within the same time frame 33.7 as the contractually agreed upon claims filing timeline. This subdivision also applies to all 33.8 health care providers and facilities that submit charges to workers' compensation payers 33.9 for treatment of a workers' compensation injury compensable under chapter 176, or to 33.10 reparation obligors for treatment of an injury compensable under chapter 65B. 33.11

33.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011, and applies to
 33.13 contracts entered into, renewed, or amended on or after that date.

33.14 Sec. 6. [62U.15] ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE; PREVALENCE AND SCREENING 33.15 MEASURES.

Subdivision 1. Data from providers. (a) By July 1, 2012, the commissioner 33.16 shall review currently available quality measures and make recommendations for future 33.17 measurement aimed at improving assessment and care related to Alzheimer's disease and 33.18 other dementia diagnoses, including improved rates and results of cognitive screening, 33.19 rates of Alzheimer's and other dementia diagnoses, and prescribed care and treatment 33.20 plans. 33.21 (b) The commissioner may contract with a private entity to complete the 33.22 requirements in this subdivision. If the commissioner contracts with a private entity 33.23 already under contract through section 62U.02, then the commissioner may use a sole 33.24 source contract and is exempt from competitive procurement processes. 33.25 Subd. 2. Learning collaborative. By July 1, 2012, the commissioner shall 33.26 develop a health care home learning collaborative curriculum that includes screening and 33.27 education on best practices regarding identification and management of Alzheimer's and 33.28 other dementia patients under section 256B.0751, subdivision 5, for providers, clinics, 33.29 care coordinators, clinic administrators, patient partners and families, and community 33 30 resources including public health. 33.31 Subd. 3. Comparison data. The commissioner, with the commissioner of human 33.32 services, the Minnesota Board on Aging, and other appropriate state offices, shall jointly 33.33 review existing and forthcoming literature in order to estimate differences in the outcomes 33.34

34.1	and costs of current practices for caring for those with Alzheimer's disease and other
34.2	dementias, compared to the outcomes and costs resulting from:
34.3	(1) earlier identification of Alzheimer's and other dementias;
34.4	(2) improved support of family caregivers; and
34.5	(3) improved collaboration between medical care management and community-based
34.6	supports.
34.7	Subd. 4. Reporting. By January 15, 2013, the commissioner must report to the
34.8	legislature on progress toward establishment and collection of quality measures required
34.9	under this section.
34.10	Sec. 7. [137.395] EDUCATION AND TRAINING FOR HEALTH DISPARITY
34.11	POPULATIONS.
34.12	Subdivision 1. Condition. If the Board of Regents accepts the amount transferred
34.13	under section 62J.692, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (2), then it must be used for the
34.14	purposes provided in this section.
34.15	Subd. 2. Purpose. The Board of Regents, through the Academic Health Center,
34.16	is required to implement a scholarship program in order to increase the number of
34.17	graduates of the Academic Health Center programs who are from racial, ethnic, or cultural
34.18	populations in the state that experience health disparities.
34.19	Subd. 3. Scholarships. The Board of Regents is required to provide full
34.20	scholarships to Academic Health Center programs for students who are from racial, ethnic,
34.21	or cultural populations that experience health disparities. One-third of the scholarship
34.22	funding available under this program must go to students at the University of Minnesota,
34.23	Medical School, Duluth.
34.24	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144.1499, is amended to read:
34.25	144.1499 PROMOTION OF HEALTH CARE AND LONG-TERM CARE
34.26	CAREERS HEALTH CAREERS OPPORTUNITIES GRANT PROGRAM.
34.27	Subdivision. 1. Program. The commissioner of health, in consultation with
34.28	an organization representing health care employers, long-term care employers, and
34.29	educational institutions, may make grants to qualifying consortia as defined in section
34.30	116L.11, subdivision 4, for intergenerational programs to encourage middle and high
34.31	school students to work and volunteer in health care and long-term care settings.
34.32	To qualify for a grant under this section, a consortium shall: health care employers,
34.33	educational institutions, and related organizations for eligible activities intended to

REVISOR

SS/RT

A11-0177

03/21/11 07:39 AM

REVISOR

SS/RT

35.1	increase the number of people from racial, ethnic, or cultural populations that experience
35.2	health disparities who are entering health careers in Minnesota.
35.3	(1) develop a health and long-term care careers curriculum that provides career
35.4	exploration and training in national skill standards for health care and long-term care and
35.5	that is consistent with Minnesota graduation standards and other related requirements;
35.6	(2) offer programs for high school students that provide training in health and
35.7	long-term care careers with credits that articulate into postsecondary programs; and
35.8	(3) provide technical support to the participating health care and long-term care
35.9	employer to enable the use of the employer's facilities and programs for kindergarten to
35.10	grade 12 health and long-term care careers education.
35.11	Subd. 2. Eligible activities. Eligible activities must focus on students from racial,
35.12	ethnic, or cultural populations experiencing health disparities. Eligible activities include
35.13	the following:
35.14	(1) health careers exploration activities for students from racial, ethnic, or cultural
35.15	populations experiencing health disparities;
35.16	(2) elementary, secondary, and postsecondary education activities to improve the
35.17	academic readiness to enter health professions education programs for students from
35.18	racial, ethnic, or cultural populations experiencing health disparities;
35.19	(3) health careers mentoring for students from racial, ethnic, or cultural populations
35.20	experiencing health disparities, including support for faculty involved in mentoring these
35.21	students enrolled in or interested in entering health professions education programs;
35.22	(4) secondary and postsecondary summer health care internships that provide
35.23	students from racial, ethnic, or cultural populations experiencing health disparities with
35.24	formal exposure to a health care profession in an employment setting;
35.25	(5) health careers preparation, guidance, and support for students from racial, ethnic,
35.26	or cultural populations experiencing health disparities who are interested in entering health
35.27	professions education programs;
35.28	(6) health careers preparation, guidance, and support for students from racial,
35.29	ethnic, or cultural populations experiencing health disparities who are enrolled in health
35.30	professions education programs and other activities to improve retention of these students
35.31	in health professions education programs; or
35.32	(7) other activities the commissioner has reason to believe will prepare, attract, and
35.33	educate for health careers students from racial, ethnic, or cultural populations experiencing
35.34	health disparities.
35.35	Subd. 3. Applications. Applicants seeking a grant must apply to the commissioner.
35.36	Applications must include the following:

36.1	(1) a description of the need, challenges, or barriers that the proposed project will
36.2	address;
36.3	(2) a detailed description of the project and how it proposes to address the challenges
36.4	or barriers;
36.5	(3) a budget detailing all sources of funds for the project and how project funds
36.6	will be used;
36.7	(4) baseline data showing the current percentage of program applicants and current
36.8	students who are from racial, ethnic, or cultural populations experiencing health disparities;
36.9	(5) a description of achievable objectives that demonstrate how the project will
36.10	contribute to increasing the number of students from racial, ethnic, or cultural populations
36.11	experiencing health disparities who are entering health professions in Minnesota;
36.12	(6) a timeline for completion of the project;
36.13	(7) roles and capabilities of responsible individuals and organizations, including
36.14	partner organizations;
36.15	(8) a plan to evaluate project outcomes; and
36.16	(9) other information the commissioner believes necessary to evaluate the
36.17	application.
36.18	Subd. 4. Consideration of applications. The commissioner must review each
36.19	application to determine whether or not the application is complete and whether
36.20	the applicant and the project are eligible for a grant. In evaluating applications, the
36.21	commissioner must evaluate each application based on the following:
36.22	(1) the extent to which the applicant has demonstrated that its project is likely
36.23	to contribute to increasing the number of American Indians and underrepresented
36.24	populations of color entering health professions in Minnesota;
36.25	(2) the application's clarity and thoroughness in describing the challenges and
36.26	barriers it is addressing;
36.27	(3) the extent to which the applicant appears likely to coordinate project efforts
36.28	with other organizations;
36.29	(4) the reasonableness of the project budget; and
36.30	(5) the organizational capacity of the applicant and its partners.
36.31	The commissioner may also take into account other relevant factors. During
36.32	application review the commissioner may request additional information about a proposed
36.33	project, including information on project cost. Failure to provide the information requested
36.34	disqualifies an applicant.
36.35	Subd. 5. Program oversight. The commissioner shall determine the amount of a
36.36	grant to be given to an eligible applicant based on the relative strength of each eligible

REVISOR

A11-0177

37.1	application and the funds available to the commissioner. The commissioner may collect
37.2	from grantees any information necessary to evaluate the program.
37.3	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144.1501, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
37.4	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions
37.5	apply.
37.6	(b) "Dentist" means an individual who is licensed to practice dentistry.
37.7	(c) "Designated rural area" means :
37.8	(1) an area in Minnesota outside the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin,
37.9	Ramsey, Scott, and Washington, excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead,
37.10	Rochester, and St. Cloud; or
37.11	(2) a municipal corporation, as defined under section 471.634, that is physically
37.12	located, in whole or in part, in an area defined as a designated rural area under clause (1).
37.13	an area defined as a small rural area or isolated rural area according to the four category
37.14	classifications of the Rural Urban Commuting Area system developed for the United
37.15	States Health Resources and Services Administration.
37.16	(d) "Emergency circumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for
37.17	the participant to fulfill the service commitment, including death, total and permanent
37.18	disability, or temporary disability lasting more than two years.
37.19	(e) "Medical resident" means an individual participating in a medical residency in
37.20	family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
37.21	(f) "Midlevel practitioner" means a nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, nurse
37.22	anesthetist, advanced clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant.
37.23	(g) "Nurse" means an individual who has completed training and received all
37.24	licensing or certification necessary to perform duties as a licensed practical nurse or
37.25	registered nurse.
37.26	(h) "Nurse-midwife" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program of
37.27	study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse-midwives.
37.28	(i) "Nurse practitioner" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program
37.29	of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse practitioners.
37.30	(j) "Pharmacist" means an individual with a valid license issued under chapter 151.
37.31	(k) "Physician" means an individual who is licensed to practice medicine in the areas
37.32	of family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
37.33	(1) "Physician assistant" means a person licensed under chapter 147A.

A11-0177

(m) "Qualified educational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation
loan for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education expenses, and reasonable living
expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.

- (n) "Underserved urban community" means a Minnesota urban area or population
 included in the list of designated primary medical care health professional shortage areas
 (HPSAs), medically underserved areas (MUAs), or medically underserved populations
 (MUPs) maintained and updated by the United States Department of Health and Human
 Services.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144.1501, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 38.9 Subd. 4. Loan forgiveness. The commissioner of health may select applicants 38.10 each year for participation in the loan forgiveness program, within the limits of available 38.11 funding. The commissioner shall distribute available funds for loan forgiveness 38.12 proportionally among the eligible professions according to the vacancy rate for each 38.13 38.14 profession in the required geographic area, facility type, teaching area, patient group, or specialty type specified in subdivision 2. The commissioner shall allocate funds for 38.15 physician loan forgiveness so that 75 percent of the funds available are used for rural 38.16 physician loan forgiveness and 25 percent of the funds available are used for underserved 38.17 urban communities and pediatric psychiatry loan forgiveness. If the commissioner does 38.18 not receive enough qualified applicants each year to use the entire allocation of funds for 38.19 any eligible profession, the remaining funds may be allocated proportionally among the 38.20 other eligible professions according to the vacancy rate for each profession in the required 38.21 38.22 geographic area, patient group, or facility type specified in subdivision 2. Applicants are responsible for securing their own qualified educational loans. The commissioner shall 38.23 select participants based on their suitability for practice serving the required geographic 38.24 38.25 area or facility type specified in subdivision 2, as indicated by experience or training. The commissioner shall give preference to applicants from racial, ethnic, or cultural 38.26 populations experiencing health disparities who are closest to completing their training 38.27 and who agree to serve in settings in Minnesota that provide health care services to at least 38.28 50 percent American Indian or other populations of color, such as a federally recognized 38.29 Native American reservation. For each year that a participant meets the service obligation 38.30 required under subdivision 3, up to a maximum of four years, the commissioner shall make 38.31 annual disbursements directly to the participant equivalent to 15 percent of the average 38.32 educational debt for indebted graduates in their profession in the year closest to the 38.33 applicant's selection for which information is available, not to exceed the balance of the 38.34 participant's qualifying educational loans. Before receiving loan repayment disbursements 38.35

39.1	and as requested, the participant must complete and return to the commissioner an affidavit
39.2	of practice form provided by the commissioner verifying that the participant is practicing
39.3	as required under subdivisions 2 and 3. The participant must provide the commissioner
39.4	with verification that the full amount of loan repayment disbursement received by the
39.5	participant has been applied toward the designated loans. After each disbursement,
39.6	verification must be received by the commissioner and approved before the next loan
39.7	repayment disbursement is made. Participants who move their practice remain eligible for
39.8	loan repayment as long as they practice as required under subdivision 2.
39.9	Sec. 11. [144.1503] HEALTH PROFESSIONS OPPORTUNITIES
39.10	SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM.
39.11	Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following definitions
39.12	<u>apply:</u>
39.13	(a) "Certified clinical nurse specialist" means an individual licensed in Minnesota as
39.14	a registered nurse and certified by a national nurse certification organization acceptable to
39.15	the Minnesota Board of Nursing to practice as a clinical nurse specialist.
39.16	(b) "Certified nurse midwife" means an individual licensed in Minnesota as a
39.17	registered nurse and certified by a national nurse certification organization acceptable to
39.18	the Minnesota Board of Nursing to practice as a nurse midwife.
39.19	(c) "Certified nurse practitioner" means an individual licensed in Minnesota as a
39.20	registered nurse and certified by a national nurse certification organization acceptable to
39.21	the Minnesota Board of Nursing to practice as a nurse practitioner.
39.22	(d) "Chiropractor" means an individual licensed and regulated under sections 148.02
39.23	<u>to 148.108.</u>
39.24	(e) "Dental therapist" means an individual licensed in the state and includes
39.25	advanced dental therapists certified under section 150A.106.
39.26	(f) "Dentist" means an individual licensed in Minnesota as a dentist under chapter
39.27	<u>150A.</u>
39.28	(g) "Eligible scholarship placement site" means a nonprofit, private, or public
39.29	entity located in Minnesota that provides at least 50 percent of its health care services to
39.30	American Indian or other populations of color, such as federally recognized American
39.31	Indian reservations.
39.32	(h) "Emergency circumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for
39.33	the participant to fulfill the contractual requirements, including death, total and permanent
39.34	disability, or temporary disability lasting more than two years.
39.35	(i) "Participant" means an individual receiving a scholarship under this program.

40.1	(j) "Physician assistant" means a person licensed in Minnesota under chapter 147A.
40.2	(k) "Primary care physician" means an individual licensed in Minnesota as a
40.3	physician and board-certified in family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and
40.4	gynecology, pediatrics, geriatrics, emergency medicine, hospital medicine, or psychiatry.
40.5	(1) "Registered nurse" means an individual licensed by the Minnesota Board of
40.6	Nursing to practice professional nursing.
40.7	Subd. 2. Establishment and purpose. The commissioner shall establish a health
40.8	professions opportunities scholarship program. The purpose of the program is to increase
40.9	the number of students from racial, ethnic, or cultural populations experiencing health
40.10	disparities who enter health professions.
40.11	Subd. 3. Eligible students. To be eligible to apply to the commissioner for the
40.12	scholarship program, an applicant must be:
40.13	(1) accepted for full-time study in a program of study that will result in licensure as
40.14	a primary care physician, certified nurse practitioner, certified nurse midwife, certified
40.15	clinical nurse specialist, chiropractor, physician assistant, registered nurse, dentist, or
40.16	dental therapist;
40.17	(2) a Minnesota resident; and
40.18	(3) an individual from a racial, ethnic, or cultural population experiencing health
40.19	disparities in the state.
40.20	Subd. 4. Scholarship. The commissioner may award a scholarship for the cost of
40.21	full tuition, fees, and living expenses up to \$40,000 per year to eligible students. The
40.22	commissioner will subtract the amount of other scholarship, grant, and gift awards to the
40.23	participant from the award made by this program. Scholarship awards will be limited to
40.24	the number of years for full-time enrollment in the applicant's program of study but will
40.25	not include any years completed prior to applying. The commissioner shall determine the
40.26	number of new scholarship awards made per fiscal year based on availability of state
40.27	funding. Scholarship awards will be paid by the commissioner directly to the participant's
40.28	educational institution after full-time enrollment is verified. Appropriations made to the
40.29	scholarship program do not cancel and are available until expended.
40.30	Subd. 5. Obligated service. A participant shall agree in contract to fulfill a
40.31	three-year service obligation at an eligible scholar placement site upon completion of
40.32	training, including residency, and obtaining Minnesota licensure. Participants must
40.33	provide at least 32 hours of direct patient care per week for at least 45 weeks per year.
40.34	Obligated service must start by March 31 of the year following completion of required
40.35	training.

41.1	Subd. 6. Affidavit of service required. Before starting a service obligation and
41.2	annually thereafter, participants shall submit to the commissioner an affidavit of practice
41.3	signed by a representative of their eligible scholar placement site verifying employment
41.4	status and the number of weekly hours of direct patient care provided by the participant.
41.5	Participants must also provide written notice to the commissioner within 30 days of:
41.6	(1) a change in name or address;
41.7	(2) a decision not to fulfill a service obligation; or
41.8	(3) cessation of obligated practice.
41.9	Subd. 7. Penalty for nonfulfillment. If a participant does not complete the
41.10	educational program, successfully obtain licensure, or fulfill the required minimum
41.11	commitment of service according to subdivision 6, the commissioner of health shall collect
41.12	from the participant the total amount awarded to the participant under the scholarship
41.13	program plus interest at a rate established according to section 270C.40. Funds collected
41.14	for nonfulfillment shall be credited to the health professions opportunities scholarship
41.15	program. The commissioner shall allow waivers of all or part of the money owed the
41.16	commissioner as a result of a nonfulfillment penalty due to emergency circumstances.

41.17 Sec. 12. [144.586] PATIENT SAFETY SURVEY.

41.18 Hospitals licensed under section 144.55 must submit necessary information to the

41.19 Leapfrog Group patient safety survey on an annual basis in order to publicly report patient

41.20 safety information and track the progress of each hospital to improve quality, safety,

41.21 and efficiency of care delivery.

41.22 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144.98, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
41.23 Subd. 2a. Standards. Notwithstanding the exemptions in subdivisions 8 and 9, the
41.24 commissioner shall accredit laboratories according to the most current environmental
41.25 laboratory accreditation standards under subdivision 1 and as accepted by the accreditation
41.26 bodies recognized by the National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program
41.27 (NELAP) of the NELAC Institute.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144.98, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
Subd. 7. Initial accreditation and annual accreditation renewal. (a) The
commissioner shall issue or renew accreditation after receipt of the completed application
and documentation required in this section, provided the laboratory maintains compliance
with the standards specified in subdivision 2a, notwithstanding any exemptions under
subdivisions 8 and 9, and attests to the compliance on the application form.

SS/RT

42.1 (b) The commissioner shall prorate the fees in subdivision 3 for laboratories
42.2 applying for accreditation after December 31. The fees are prorated on a quarterly basis
42.3 beginning with the quarter in which the commissioner receives the completed application
42.4 from the laboratory.

42.5 (c) Applications for renewal of accreditation must be received by November 1 and
42.6 no earlier than October 1 of each year. The commissioner shall send annual renewal
42.7 notices to laboratories 90 days before expiration. Failure to receive a renewal notice does
42.8 not exempt laboratories from meeting the annual November 1 renewal date.

42.9 (d) The commissioner shall issue all accreditations for the calendar year for which42.10 the application is made, and the accreditation shall expire on December 31 of that year.

42.11 (e) The accreditation of any laboratory that fails to submit a renewal application
42.12 and fees to the commissioner expires automatically on December 31 without notice or
42.13 further proceeding. Any person who operates a laboratory as accredited after expiration of
42.14 accreditation or without having submitted an application and paid the fees is in violation
42.15 of the provisions of this section and is subject to enforcement action under sections
42.16 144.989 to 144.993, the Health Enforcement Consolidation Act. A laboratory with expired
42.17 accreditation may reapply under subdivision 6.

42.18 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144.98, is amended by adding a subdivision 42.19 to read:

Subd. 8. Exemption from national standards for quality control and personnel 42.20 requirements. Effective January 1, 2012, a laboratory that analyzes samples for 42.21 42.22 compliance with a permit issued under section 115.03, subdivision 5, may request exemption from the personnel requirements and specific quality control provisions for 42.23 microbiology and chemistry stated in the national standards as incorporated by reference 42.24 42.25 in subdivision 2a. The commissioner shall grant the exemption if the laboratory: (1) complies with the methodology and quality control requirements, where 42.26 available, in the most recent, approved edition of the Standard Methods for the 42.27 Examination of Water and Wastewater as published by the Water Environment Federation; 42.28 and 42.29 (2) supplies the name of the person meeting the requirements in section 115.73, or 42.30 the personnel requirements in the national standard pursuant to subdivision 2a. 42.31 A laboratory applying for this exemption shall not apply for simultaneous 42.32

42.33 accreditation under the national standard.

SS/RT

43.1	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144.98, is amended by adding a subdivision
43.2	to read:
43.3	Subd. 9. Exemption from national standards for proficiency testing frequency.
43.4	(a) Effective January 1, 2012, a laboratory applying for or requesting accreditation under
43.5	the exemption in subdivision 8 must obtain an acceptable proficiency test result for each
43.6	of the laboratory's accredited or requested fields of testing. The laboratory must analyze
43.7	proficiency samples selected from one of two annual proficiency testing studies scheduled
43.8	by the commissioner.
43.9	(b) If a laboratory fails to successfully complete the first scheduled proficiency
43.10	study, the laboratory shall:
43.11	(1) obtain and analyze a supplemental test sample within 15 days of receiving the
43.12	test report for the initial failed attempt; and
43.13	(2) participate in the second annual study as scheduled by the commissioner.
43.14	(c) If a laboratory does not submit results or fails two consecutive proficiency
43.15	samples, the commissioner will revoke the laboratory's accreditation for the affected
43.16	fields of testing.
43.17	(d) The commissioner may require a laboratory to analyze additional proficiency
43.18	testing samples beyond what is required in this subdivision if information available to
43.19	the commissioner indicates that the laboratory's analysis for the field of testing does not
43.20	meet the requirements for accreditation.
43.21	(e) The commissioner may collect from laboratories accredited under the exemption
43.22	in subdivision 8 any additional costs required to administer this subdivision and
43.23	subdivision 8.
43.24	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144A.04, is amended by adding a
43.25	subdivision to read:
43.26	Subd. 13. Exemptions. (a) Boarding care homes certified to participate in the
43.27	Medicaid program under title XIX of the Social Security Act are exempt from state
43.28	licensure requirements adopted by the commissioner under Minnesota Rules, chapters
43.29	4668 and 4669.
43.30	(b) Nursing homes certified to participate in the Medicare program under title XVII
43.31	of the Social Security Act or the Medicaid program under title XIX of the Social Security
43.32	Act are exempt from licensure rules adopted by the commissioner under Minnesota Rules,
43.33	chapter 4658.

43.34 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144A.05, is amended to read:

A11-0177

144A.05 LICENSE RENEWAL. 44.1 Unless the license expires in accordance with section 144A.06 or is suspended 44.2 or revoked in accordance with section 144A.11, a nursing home license shall remain 44.3 effective for a period of one year from the date of its issuance. The commissioner of health 44.4 by rule shall establish forms and procedures for the processing of license renewals. The 44.5 commissioner of health shall approve a license renewal application if the facility continues 44.6 to satisfy the requirements, standards and conditions prescribed by sections 144A.01 to 44.7 144A.155 and the rules promulgated thereunder. The commissioner shall not approve 44.8 the renewal of a license for a nursing home bed in a resident room with more than four 44.9 beds. Except as provided in section 144A.08, a facility shall not be required to submit 44.10 with each application for a license renewal additional copies of the architectural and 44.11 engineering plans and specifications of the facility. Before approving a license renewal, 44.12 the commissioner of health shall determine that the facility's most recent balance sheet 44.13 and its most recent statement of revenues and expenses, as audited by the state auditor, 44.14 44.15 by a certified public accountant licensed in accordance with chapter 326A or by a public accountant as defined in section 412.222, have been received by the Department of Human 44.16 Services. The commissioner of health shall renew the license of a boarding care home, 44.17 licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home, licensed under sections 44.18 144A.01 to 144A.10, provided that it maintains certification by the Centers for Medicare 44.19 and Medicaid Services for participation in at least one of the federal programs. 44.20 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144A.61, is amended by adding a 44.21 44.22 subdivision to read: Subd. 9. Electronic transmission. The commissioner of health must accept 44.23

44.24 <u>electronic transmission of applications and supporting documentation for interstate</u>
44.25 endorsement for the nursing assistant registry.

44.26 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 144E.123, is amended to read:

44.27 **144E.123 PREHOSPITAL CARE DATA.**

Subdivision 1. Collection and maintenance. <u>Until July 1, 2014, a licensee shall</u>
<u>may</u> collect and provide prehospital care data to the board in a manner prescribed by the
board. At a minimum, the data must include items identified by the board that are part of
the National Uniform Emergency Medical Services Data Set. A licensee shall maintain
prehospital care data for every response.

45.1	Subd. 2. Copy to receiving hospital. If a patient is transported to a hospital, a copy
45.2	of the ambulance report delineating prehospital medical care given shall be provided
45.3	to the receiving hospital.
45.4	Subd. 3. Review. Prehospital care data may be reviewed by the board or its
45.5	designees. The data shall be classified as private data on individuals under chapter 13, the
45.6	Minnesota Government Data Practices Act.
45.7	Subd. 4. Penalty. Failure to report all information required by the board under this
45.8	section shall constitute grounds for license revocation.
45.9	Subd. 5. Working group. By October 1, 2011, the board must convene a working
45.10	group composed of six members, three of which must be appointed by the board and three
45.11	of which must be appointed by the Minnesota Ambulance Association, to redesign the
45.12	board's policies related to collection of data from licenses. The issues to be considered
45.13	include, but are not limited to, the following: user-friendly reporting requirements; data
45.14	sets; improved accuracy of reported information; appropriate use of information gathered
45.15	through the reporting system; and methods for minimizing the financial impact of data
45.16	reporting on licenses, particularly for rural volunteer services. The working group must
45.17	report its findings and recommendations to the board no later than January 1, 2014.
45.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
45.19	Sec. 21. [145.9271] WHITE EARTH BAND URBAN CLINIC.
45.20	Subdivision 1. Condition. If the White Earth Band of Ojibwe Indians accepts the
45.21	amount transferred under section 62J.692, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (1), then it
45.22	must use the funds for purposes of this section.
45.23	Subd. 2. Establish urban clinic. The White Earth Band of Ojibwe Indians shall
45.24	establish and operate one or more health care clinics in Minneapolis to serve members of
45.25	the White Earth Tribe and may use funds received under section 62J.692, subdivision 4,
45.26	paragraph (b), clause (1), for application to qualify as a federally qualified health center.
45.27	Subd. 3. Grant agreements. Before receiving the funds to be transferred under
45.28	section 62J.692, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (1), the White Earth Band of Ojibwe
45.29	Indians is requested to submit to the commissioner of health a work plan and budget that
45.30	describes its annual plan for the funds. The commissioner will incorporate the work
45.31	plan and budget into a grant agreement between the commissioner and the White Earth
45.32	Band of Ojibwe Indians. Before each successive disbursement, the White Earth Band of
45.33	Ojibwe Indians is requested to submit a narrative progress report and an expenditure
45.34	report to the commissioner.

A11-0177

SS/RT

- Sec. 22. [145.9272] COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH CENTER GRANTS. 46.1 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, "community mental 46.2 health center" means an entity that is eligible for payment under section 256B.0625, 46.3 46.4 subdivision 5. Subd. 2. Allocation of subsidies. The commissioner of health shall distribute, from 46.5 money appropriated for this purpose, grants to community mental health centers operating 46.6 in the state on July 1 of the year 2011 and each subsequent year for community mental 46.7 health center services to low-income consumers and patients with mental illness. The 46 8 amount of each grant shall be in proportion to each community mental health center's 46.9
- 46.10 revenues received from state health care programs in the most recent calendar year for
- 46.11 which data is available.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 145.928, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 46.12 Subd. 2. State-community partnerships; plan. The commissioner, in partnership 46.13 with culturally based community organizations; the Indian Affairs Council under section 46.14 3.922; the Council on Affairs of Chicano/Latino People under section 3.9223; the Council 46.15 on Black Minnesotans under section 3.9225; the Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans 46.16 under section 3.9226; the Alliance for Racial and Cultural Health Equity; community 46.17 health boards as defined in section 145A.02; and tribal governments, shall develop and 46.18 46.19 implement a comprehensive, coordinated plan to reduce health disparities in the health disparity priority areas identified in subdivision 1. 46.20

46.21 Sec. 24. [145.929] PROFESSIONALS FROM POPULATIONS WITH HEALTH 46.22 DISPARITIES.

46.23 <u>The commissioner of health shall survey the diversity of the work force for</u>
46.24 <u>health-related professions and compare proportions in the allied health professions</u>
46.25 <u>among populations experiencing health disparities, including cultural, racial, ethnic,</u>
46.26 <u>and geographic factors, compared to the population of the state. Based on this survey,</u>
46.27 <u>the commissioner shall determine on an annual basis the ratio of training and residency</u>
46.28 <u>positions needed versus those available based on funding capacity.</u>

46.29 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 145.986, is amended by adding a subdivision
46.30 to read:

46.31 Subd. 7. Consultation and engagement of consumers and communities with
 46.32 poorer health and outcomes. Communities who receive statewide health improvement
 46.33 grants must demonstrate to the commissioner that the applicant or grantee consulted

A11-0177

SS/RT

with and engaged local consumers, community organizations, and leaders representing 47.1 the subgroups of the community that experience the greatest health disparities in the 47.2 development of the local plan and that the plan incorporates components and activities 47.3 that reflect the needs and preferences of these communities. The plan must also include 47.4 a process for ongoing consultation and engagement of these consumers, community 47.5 organizations, and leaders in the implementation of the plan and activities funded by 47.6 state grants. 47.7 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 145.986, is amended by adding a subdivision 47.8 to read: 47.9 Subd. 8. Coordination with payment reform demonstration projects. A 47.10 community who received a health improvement plan grant under this section and 47.11 a payment reform demonstration project authorized under section 256B.0755 shall 47.12 coordinate activities to improve the health of the communities and patients served by both 47.13 47.14 the health improvement plan and the demonstration project provider. Sec. 27. [145.987] COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTERS DEVELOPMENT 47.15 47.16 **GRANTS FOR UNDERSERVED COMMUNITIES.** (a) The commissioner of health shall award grants from money appropriated for this 47.17 purpose to expand community health centers, as defined in section 145.9269, subdivision 47.18 1, in the state through the establishment of new community health centers or sites in 47.19 areas defined as small rural areas or isolated rural areas according to the four category 47.20 classification of the Rural Urban Commuting Area system developed for the United States 47.21 Health Resources and Services Administration or serving underserved patient populations 47.22 who experience the greatest disparities in health outcomes. 47.23 47.24 (b) Grant funds may be used to pay for: (1) costs for an organization to develop and submit a proposal to the federal 47.25 government for the designation of a new community health center or site; 47.26 (2) costs of engaging underserved communities, health care providers, local 47.27 government agencies, or businesses in a process of developing a plan for a new center or 47.28 site to serve people in that community; and 47.29 (3) costs of planning, designing, remodeling, constructing, or purchasing equipment 47.30 for a new center or site. 47.31 Funds may not be used for operating costs. 47.32

REVISOR

48.1	(d) A proposal must demonstrate that racial and ethnic communities to be served by
48.2	the community health center were consulted with and participated in the development of
48.3	the proposal.
48.4	(e) The commissioner shall award grants on a competitive basis based on the
48.5	following criteria:
48.6	(1) the unmet need in the underserved community;
48.7	(2) the degree of disparities in health outcomes in the underserved community; and
48.8	(3) the extent to which people from the underserved community participated in
48.9	the development of the proposal.
48.10	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 145A.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
48.11	Subd. 3. Requirements for programs; process. (a) Community health boards
48.12	and tribal governments that receive funding under this section must submit a plan to
48.13	the commissioner describing a multidisciplinary approach to targeted home visiting for
48.14	families. The plan must be submitted on forms provided by the commissioner. At a
48.15	minimum, the plan must include the following:
48.16	(1) a description of outreach strategies to families prenatally or at birth;
48.17	(2) provisions for the seamless delivery of health, safety, and early learning services;
48.18	(3) methods to promote continuity of services when families move within the state;
48.19	(4) a description of the community demographics;
48.20	(5) a plan for meeting outcome measures; and
48.21	(6) a proposed work plan that includes:
48.22	(i) coordination to ensure nonduplication of services for children and families;
48.23	(ii) a description of the strategies to ensure that children and families at greatest risk
48.24	receive appropriate services; and
48.25	(iii) collaboration with multidisciplinary partners including public health,
48.26	ECFE, Head Start, community health workers, social workers, community home
48.27	visiting programs, school districts, and other relevant partners. Letters of intent from
48.28	multidisciplinary partners must be submitted with the plan.
48.29	(b) Each program that receives funds must accomplish the following program
48.30	requirements:
48.31	(1) use a community-based strategy to provide preventive and early intervention
48.32	home visiting services;
48.33	(2) offer a home visit by a trained home visitor. If a home visit is accepted, the first
48.34	home visit must occur prenatally or as soon after birth as possible and must include a
48.35	public health nursing assessment by a public health nurse;

SS/RT

49.1 (3) offer, at a minimum, information on infant care, child growth and development,
49.2 positive parenting, preventing diseases, preventing exposure to environmental hazards,
49.3 and support services available in the community;

49.4 (4) provide information on and referrals to health care services, if needed, including
49.5 information on and assistance in applying for health care coverage for which the child or
49.6 family may be eligible; and provide information on preventive services, developmental
49.7 assessments, and the availability of public assistance programs as appropriate;

49.8

(5) provide youth development programs when appropriate;

49.9 (6) recruit home visitors who will represent, to the extent possible, the races,49.10 cultures, and languages spoken by families that may be served;

49.11 (7) train and supervise home visitors in accordance with the requirements established49.12 under subdivision 4;

49.13 (8) maximize resources and minimize duplication by coordinating or contracting
49.14 with local social and human services organizations, education organizations, and other
49.15 appropriate governmental entities and community-based organizations and agencies;

49.16 (9) utilize appropriate racial and ethnic approaches to providing home visiting49.17 services; and

49.18 (10) connect eligible families, as needed, to additional resources available in the
49.19 community, including, but not limited to, early care and education programs, health or
49.20 mental health services, family literacy programs, employment agencies, social services,
49.21 and child care resources and referral agencies.

(c) When available, programs that receive funds under this section must offer or
provide the family with a referral to center-based or group meetings that meet at least
once per month for those families identified with additional needs. The meetings must
focus on further enhancing the information, activities, and skill-building addressed during
home visitation; offering opportunities for parents to meet with and support each other;
and offering infants and toddlers a safe, nurturing, and stimulating environment for
socialization and supervised play with qualified teachers.

(d) Funds available under this section shall not be used for medical services. The
commissioner shall establish an administrative cost limit for recipients of funds. The
outcome measures established under subdivision 6 must be specified to recipients of
funds at the time the funds are distributed.

49.33 (e) Data collected on individuals served by the home visiting programs must remain
49.34 confidential and must not be disclosed by providers of home visiting services without a
49.35 specific informed written consent that identifies disclosures to be made. Upon request,
49.36 agencies providing home visiting services must provide recipients with information on

disclosures, including the names of entities and individuals receiving the information and
the general purpose of the disclosure. Prospective and current recipients of home visiting
services must be told and informed in writing that written consent for disclosure of data is
not required for access to home visiting services.

50.5(f) Upon initial contact with a family, programs that receive funding under this50.6section must obtain permission from the family to share with other family service

50.7 providers information about services the family is receiving and unmet needs of the family

50.8 <u>in order to select a lead agency for the family and coordinate available resources.</u> For

50.9 purposes of this paragraph, the term "family service providers" includes local public

50.10 <u>health, social services, school districts, Head Start programs, health care providers, and</u>

50.11 <u>other public agencies.</u>

50.12 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 157.15, is amended by adding a subdivision 50.13 to read:

50.14 <u>Subd. 21.</u> Limited food establishment. "Limited food establishment" means a food 50.15 establishment that is low risk, as defined by section 157.20, subdivision 2a, paragraph

50.16 (c), and where the operation consists primarily of combining dry mixes and water or ice

50.17 for immediate service to the consumer. Limited food establishments are exempt from the

50.18 NSF International food service equipment standards and the room finish requirements of

50.19 <u>Minnesota Rules, chapter 4626.</u>

50.20 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 157.20, is amended by adding a subdivision 50.21 to read:

50.22Subd. 5. Waivers during inspection. Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter50.23or Minnesota Rules, chapter 4626, any plumbing or other facility requirement may be50.24waived by the inspector if the inspector deems a waiver appropriate and reasonable and50.25determines that no significant adverse effect on public health, safety, or the environment50.26would result from such waiver.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 297F.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Tax and use tax on cigarettes. Revenue received from cigarette
taxes, as well as related penalties, interest, license fees, and miscellaneous sources of
revenue shall be deposited by the commissioner in the state treasury and credited as
follows:

50.32 (1) \$22,220,000 for fiscal year 2006 and \$22,250,000 for fiscal year 2007 and each
50.33 year thereafter must be credited to the Academic Health Center special revenue fund

A11-0177

- hereby created and is annually appropriated to the Board of Regents at the University of 51.1 51.2 Minnesota for Academic Health Center funding at the University of Minnesota; and (2) \$8,553,000 for fiscal year 2006 and \$8,550,000 for fiscal year 2007 and each year 51.3 thereafter must be credited to the medical education and research costs account hereby 51.4 created in the special revenue fund and is annually appropriated to the commissioner of 51.5 health for distribution under section 62J.692, subdivision 4 or 11, as appropriate; and 51.6 (3) the balance of the revenues derived from taxes, penalties, and interest (under 51.7 this chapter) and from license fees and miscellaneous sources of revenue shall be credited 51.8 to the general fund. 51.9 Sec. 32. TRANSFER OF HEALTH QUALITY DATA COLLECTION. 51.10 Subdivision 1. Transfer. The duties and activities of the commissioner of 51.11 health conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62U, are transferred to the 51.12 commissioner of human services. 51.13 51.14 Subd. 2. Effect of transfer. Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039 applies to the transfer required in subdivision 1. 51.15 51.16 Subd. 3. Effective date. The transfer required in subdivision 1 is effective July 1, 51.17 2011. Subd. 4. Suspended data collection. Data collection under Minnesota Statutes, 51.18 51.19 section 62U.04, subdivision 4, is suspended, effective July 1, 2011. Subd. 5. Commissioner of human services. (a) During the 2012 legislative session, 51.20 the commissioner of human services, in consultation with the revisor of statutes, shall 51.21 submit to the legislature a bill making all statutory changes required by the reorganization 51.22 51.23 required under subdivision 1. (b) By July 1, 2013, the commissioner must make recommendations to the legislature 51.24 51.25 for collection of encounter data for state health care programs, including SEGIP, through a mechanism that allows a third-party contractor to capture data as it is transmitted through 51.26 existing claims processing mechanisms. 51.27 Sec. 33. PATIENT AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT IN PAYMENT 51.28 **REFORM AND HEALTH CARE PROGRAM REFORMS.** 51.29
- 51.30 Subdivision 1. Implementation of data system improvements. The commissioners
- 51.31 of health and human services shall implement the recommendations regarding data on
- 51.32 <u>health disparities that were contained in the report prepared under Laws 2010, First</u>

52.1	Special Session chapter 1, article 19, section 23, in consultation with an advisory work
52.2	group representing racial and ethnic groups and representatives of government and private
52.3	sector health care organizations. Among other activities, the commissioners shall:
52.4	(1) continue engagement with diverse communities on collection of and access to
52.5	racial and ethnic data from state agencies, health care providers, and health plans;
52.6	(2) develop a plan to make data more accessible to communities;
52.7	(3) develop consistent data elements across programs when feasible; and
52.8	(4) develop consistent policies on data sampling.
52.9	Subd. 2. Patient and community engagement. The commissioner of health, in
52.10	cooperation with the commissioners of human services and commerce, shall consult with
52.10	an advisory committee representing racial and ethnic groups regarding the implementation
52.12	of subdivision 1 and major agency activities related to state and federal health care reform,
	payment reform demonstration projects, state health care program reforms, improvements
52.13	
52.14	in quality and patient satisfaction measures, and major changes in state public health
52.15	priorities and strategies. At the request of the advisory committee established under Laws
52.16	2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 19, section 23, the commissioner shall
52.17	designate a private sector organization of multiple racial and ethnic groups to serve as the
52.18	advisory committee under this subdivision.
52.19	Sec. 34. TRANSFER OF HEALTH-FACILITY LICENSING DUTIES.
52.20	Subdivision 1. Transfer. The duties of the commissioner of health related to
52.21	licensing and regulation of health facilities under the following statutory sections are
52.22	transferred to the commissioner of human services: Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.50 to
52.23	144.56 and 144.615; and chapters 144A; 144D; and 144G.
52.24	Subd. 2. Effect of transfer. Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, applies to the
52.25	transfers required in subdivision 1.
52.25	
52.26	Subd. 3. Commissioner of human services. During the 2012 legislative session,
52.27	the commissioner of human services, in consultation with the revisor of statutes, shall
52.28	submit to the legislature a bill making all statutory changes required by the reorganization
52.29	required under subdivision 1.
52.30	Subd. 4. Effective date. The transfers required in subdivision 1 are effective
52.31	July 1, 2011.
52.32	Sec. 35. TRANSFER OF HMO REGULATION.

SS/RT

53.1	Subdivision 1. Transfer. The duties of the commissioner of health related to
53.2	regulation of health maintenance organizations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62D,
53.3	are transferred to the commissioner of commerce.
53.4	Subd. 2. Effect of transfer. Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, applies to the
53.5	transfer required in subdivision 1.
53.6	Subd. 3. Commissioner of commerce. During the 2012 legislative session, the
53.7	commissioner of commerce, in consultation with the revisor of statutes, shall submit to
53.8	the legislature a bill making all statutory changes required by the reorganization required
53.9	under subdivision 1.
53.10	Subd. 4. Effective date. The transfer required in subdivision 1 is effective July 1,
53.11	<u>2011.</u>
53.12	Sec. 36. TRANSFER OF THE HEALTH ECONOMICS PROGRAM.
53.13	Subdivision 1. Transfer. The duties and activities of the health economics program
53.14	at the Minnesota Department of Health conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter
53.15	62J, are transferred to the commissioner of commerce.
53.16	Subd. 2. Effect of transfer. Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, applies to the
53.17	transfer required in subdivision 1.
53.18	Subd. 3. Commissioner of commerce. During the 2012 legislative session, the
53.19	commissioner of commerce, in consultation with the revisor of statutes, shall submit to
53.20	the legislature a bill making all statutory changes required by the reorganization required
53.21	under subdivision 1.
53.22	Subd. 4. Effective date. The transfer required in subdivision 1 is effective July 1,
53.23	2011.
53.24	Sec. 37. STUDY OF FOR-PROFIT HEALTH MAINTENANCE
53.25	ORGANIZATIONS.
53.26	The commissioner of health shall contract with an entity with expertise in health
53.27	economics and health care delivery and quality to study the efficiency, costs, service
53.28	quality, and enrollee satisfaction of for-profit health maintenance organizations, relative to
53.29	not-for-profit health maintenance organizations operating in Minnesota and other states.
53.30	The study findings must address whether the state of Minnesota could: (1) reduce medical
53.31	assistance and MinnesotaCare costs and costs of providing coverage to state employees;

03/21/11 07:39 AM REVISOR SS/RT A11-0177 and (2) maintain or improve the quality of care provided to state health care program 54.1 enrollees and state employees if for-profit health maintenance organizations were allowed 54.2 to operate in the state. The commissioner shall require the entity under contract to report 54.3 study findings to the commissioner and the legislature by January 15, 2012. 54.4 Sec. 38. MINNESOTA TASK FORCE ON PREMATURITY. 54.5 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Minnesota Task Force on Prematurity is 54.6 54.7 established to evaluate and make recommendations on methods for reducing prematurity and improving premature infant health care in the state. 54.8 Subd. 2. Membership; meetings; staff. (a) The task force shall be composed of at 54.9 least the following members, who serve at the pleasure of their appointing authority: 54.10 (1) 15 representatives of the Minnesota Prematurity Coalition including, but not 54.11 limited to, health care providers who treat pregnant women or neonates, organizations 54.12 focused on preterm births, early childhood education and development professionals, and 54.13 families affected by prematurity; 54.14 (2) one representative appointed by the commissioner of human services; 54.15 (3) two representatives appointed by the commissioner of health; 54.16 (4) one representative appointed by the commissioner of education; 54.17 (5) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the 54.18 house of representatives and one appointed by the minority leader; and 54.19 (6) two members of the senate, appointed according to the rules of the senate. 54.20 (b) Members of the task force serve without compensation or payment of expenses. 54.21 (c) The commissioner of health must convene the first meeting of the Minnesota 54.22 Task Force on Prematurity by July 31, 2011. The task force must continue to meet at 54.23 least quarterly. Staffing and technical assistance shall be provided by the Minnesota 54.24 54.25 Perinatal Coalition. Subd. 3. Duties. The task force must report the current state of prematurity in 54.26 Minnesota and develop recommendations on strategies for reducing prematurity and 54.27 improving premature infant health care in the state by considering the following: 54.28 (1) standards of care for premature infants born less than 37 weeks gestational age, 54.29 including recommendations to improve hospital discharge and follow-up care procedures; 54.30 (2) coordination of information among appropriate professional and advocacy 54.31 organizations on measures to improve health care for infants born prematurely; 54.32 54.33 (3) identification and centralization of available resources to improve access and awareness for caregivers of premature infants; 54.34

A11-0177

SS/RT

55.1	(4) development and dissemination of evidence-based practices through networking
55.2	and educational opportunities;
55.3	(5) a review of relevant evidence-based research regarding the causes and effects of
55.4	premature births in Minnesota;
55.5	(6) a review of relevant evidence-based research regarding premature infant health
55.6	care, including methods for improving quality of and access to care for premature infants;
55.7	and
55.8	(7) identification of gaps in public reporting measures and possible effects of these
55.9	measures on prematurity rates.
55.10	Subd. 4. Report; expiration. (a) By November 30, 2011, the task force must submit
55.11	a report on the current state of prematurity in Minnesota to the chairs of the legislative
55.12	policy committees on health and human services.
55.13	(b) By January 15, 2013, the task force must report its final recommendations,
55.14	including any draft legislation necessary for implementation, to the chairs of the legislative
55.15	policy committees on health and human services.
55.16	(c) This task force expires on January 31, 2013, or upon submission of the final
55.17	report required in paragraph (b), whichever is earlier.
55.18	Sec. 39. <u>REPEALER.</u>
55.19	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 144.1464; and 150A.22, are repealed.
55.20	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 145A.14, subdivisions 1 and 2, are repealed
55.21	effective January 1, 2012.
55.22	ARTICLE 3
55.23	HEALTH BOARDS
55.25	
55.24	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.10, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
55.25	Subd. 7. Conviction of a felony-level criminal sexual conduct offense. (a) Except
55.26	as provided in paragraph $(e)(f)$, the board shall not grant or renew a license to practice
55.27	chiropractic to any person who has been convicted on or after August 1, 2010, of any
55.28	of the provisions of sections 609.342, subdivision 1, 609.343, subdivision 1, 609.344,
55.29	subdivision 1, paragraphs (c) to (o), or 609.345, subdivision 1, paragraphs (b) to (o).
55.30	(b) The board shall not grant or renew a license to practice chiropractic to any
55.31	person who has been convicted in any other state or country on or after August 1, 2011,
55.32	of an offense where the elements of the offense are substantially similar to any of the
55.33	offenses listed in paragraph (a).

SS/RT

- A11-0177
- (b) (c) A license to practice chiropractic is automatically revoked if the licensee is
 convicted of an offense listed in paragraph (a) of this section.
 (c) (d) A license to practice chiropractic that has been denied or revoked under this
 subdivision is not subject to chapter 364.
 (d) (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "conviction" means a plea of guilty, a
- verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by the court, unless the court stays
 imposition or execution of the sentence and final disposition of the case is accomplished at
 a nonfelony level.
- 56.9 (c) (f) The board may establish criteria whereby an individual convicted of an offense
 56.10 listed in paragraph (a) of this subdivision may become licensed provided that the criteria:
- 56.11 (1) utilize a rebuttable presumption that the applicant is not suitable for licensing or56.12 credentialing;

56.13 (2) provide a standard for overcoming the presumption; and

56.14 (3) require that a minimum of ten years has elapsed since the applicant was released56.15 from any incarceration or supervisory jurisdiction related to the offense.

- The board shall not consider an application under this paragraph if the board determines that the victim involved in the offense was a patient or a client of the applicant at the time of the offense.
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.191, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 56.19 Subd. 2. Powers. (a) The board is authorized to adopt and, from time to time, revise 56.20 rules not inconsistent with the law, as may be necessary to enable it to carry into effect the 56.21 provisions of sections 148.171 to 148.285. The board shall prescribe by rule curricula 56.22 and standards for schools and courses preparing persons for licensure under sections 56.23 148.171 to 148.285. It shall conduct or provide for surveys of such schools and courses 56.24 56.25 at such times as it may deem necessary. It shall approve such schools and courses as meet the requirements of sections 148.171 to 148.285 and board rules. It shall examine, 56.26 license, and renew the license of duly qualified applicants. It shall hold examinations 56.27 at least once in each year at such time and place as it may determine. It shall by rule 56.28 adopt, evaluate, and periodically revise, as necessary, requirements for licensure and for 56.29 registration and renewal of registration as defined in section 148.231. It shall maintain a 56.30 record of all persons licensed by the board to practice professional or practical nursing and 56.31 all registered nurses who hold Minnesota licensure and registration and are certified as 56.32 advanced practice registered nurses. It shall cause the prosecution of all persons violating 56.33 sections 148.171 to 148.285 and have power to incur such necessary expense therefor. 56.34 It shall register public health nurses who meet educational and other requirements 56.35

- 03/21/11 07:39 AM REVISOR SS/RT A11-0177 established by the board by rule, including payment of a fee. Prior to the adoption of rules, 57.1 57.2 the board shall use the same procedures used by the Department of Health to certify public health nurses. It shall have power to issue subpoenas, and to compel the attendance of 57.3 witnesses and the production of all necessary documents and other evidentiary material. 57.4 Any board member may administer oaths to witnesses, or take their affirmation. It shall 57.5 keep a record of all its proceedings. 57.6 (b) The board shall have access to hospital, nursing home, and other medical records 57.7 of a patient cared for by a nurse under review. If the board does not have a written consent 57.8 from a patient permitting access to the patient's records, the nurse or facility shall delete 57.9 any data in the record that identifies the patient before providing it to the board. The board 57.10 shall have access to such other records as reasonably requested by the board to assist the 57.11 57.12 board in its investigation. Nothing herein may be construed to allow access to any records protected by section 145.64. The board shall maintain any records obtained pursuant to 57.13 this paragraph as investigative data under chapter 13. 57.14 57.15 (c) The board may accept and expend grants or gifts of money or in-kind services
- 57.16 <u>from a person, a public or private entity, or any other source for purposes consistent with</u>
 57.17 <u>the board's role and within the scope of its statutory authority.</u>
- 57.18 (d) The board may accept registration fees for meetings and conferences conducted
 57.19 for the purposes of board activity that are within the scope of its authority.

57.20 Sec. 3. [148.192] REQUIREMENT FOR CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 57.21 CHECK.

- 57.22 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Applicants.</u> The board shall complete a criminal background check
 57.23 <u>on each applicant for licensure prior to the board's issuance of a license. Each applicant</u>
 57.24 <u>for licensure must:</u>
- 57.25 (1) submit a full set of fingerprints to the board or its designee in a form and manner
 57.26 specified by the board; and
- 57.27 (2) provide consent authorizing the board to obtain the applicant's state and national
- 57.28 <u>criminal history record information for the purpose of determining the applicant's</u>
 57.29 <u>suitability and eligibility for licensure.</u>
- 57.30 Subd. 2. Additional background check required. An applicant shall be required
 57.31 to complete a criminal background check if more than one year has elapsed since the
 57.32 applicant last submitted a background check to the board.
- 57.33Subd. 3. Fees. The applicant shall be responsible for all fees associated with57.34preparation of the fingerprints and the criminal background check. The fees for the

REVISOR

SS/RT

58.1	background check are determined by the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
58.2	and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and are not refundable.
58.3	Subd. 4. Refusal to consent. Refusal to consent to a criminal background check or
58.4	to submit fingerprints within 90 days after submission of an application for licensure shall
58.5	constitute grounds for the board to deny licensure to the applicant. If the application is
58.6	denied under this provision, any fees paid by the applicant shall be forfeited.
58.7	Subd. 5. Submission of fingerprints to Minnesota Bureau of Criminal
58.8	Apprehension. The board or its designee shall submit all applicant fingerprints to the
58.9	Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA). The BCA shall perform a check for
58.10	state criminal justice information and shall forward the applicant's fingerprints to the
58.11	Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) to perform a check for national criminal justice
58.12	information regarding the applicant. The BCA shall report to the board the results of the
58.13	state and national criminal justice information checks.
58.14	Subd. 6. Alternatives to fingerprint-based background check. The board may
58.15	require an alternative method of criminal history check for an applicant who has submitted
58.16	at least three sets of fingerprints under this section that the BCA or FBI have been unable
58.17	to read.
58.18	Subd. 7. Temporary permits. An applicant who has submitted fingerprints,
58.19	consented to a background check, and meets all other requirements for issuance of a
58.20	temporary permit may be granted a nonrenewable permit prior to the board's receipt of the
58.21	criminal justice information, but shall not be issued a license until the board receives and
58.22	completes its review of the applicant's criminal justice information.
58.23	Subd. 8. Denial of licensure. The board shall deny licensure to an applicant who
58.24	has been convicted of any of the following crimes or an offense in any other state where
58.25	the elements of the offense are substantially similar:
58.26	(1) murder in the first degree (section 609.185), the second degree (section 609.19),
58.27	or the third degree (section 609.195);
58.28	(2) manslaughter in the first degree (section 609.20);
58.29	(3) kidnapping (section 609.25);
58.30	(4) murder of an unborn child in the first degree (section 609.2661);
58.31	(5) criminal sexual conduct in the first degree (section 609.342), in the second
58.32	degree (section 609.343), in the third degree (section 609.344), in the fourth degree
58.33	(section 609.345), or in the fifth degree (section 609.3451);
58.34	(6) criminal sexual predatory conduct (section 609.3453);
58.35	(7) solicitation of children to engage in sexual conduct; communication of sexually

58.36 <u>explicit materials to children (section 609.352);</u>

59.1	(8) incest (section 609.365);
59.2	(9) felony malicious punishment of a child (section 609.377);
59.3	(10) felony neglect or endangerment of a child (section 609.378);
59.4	(11) arson in the first degree (section 609.561);
59.5	(12) felony stalking (section 609.749, subdivision 3, 4, or 5);
59.6	(13) controlled substance crimes in the first degree (section 152.021) or in the
59.7	second degree (section 152.022);
59.8	(14) violation of predatory offender registration law (section 243.166);
59.9	(15) indecent exposure involving a minor (section 617.23, subdivision 2, clause
59.10	(1), or subdivision 3, clause (1));
59.11	(16) use of minors in sexual performance (section 617.246);
59.12	(17) possession of pornographic work involving minors (section 617.247);
59.13	(18) manslaughter in the second degree (section 609.205);
59.14	(19) assault in the first degree (section 609.221) or in the second degree (section
59.15	609.222);
59.16	(20) assault in the fifth degree (section 609.224, subdivision 2, paragraph (c),
59.17	or subdivision 4);
59.18	(21) felony domestic assault (section 609.2242, subdivision 4);
59.19	(22) domestic assault by strangulation (section 609.2247);
59.20	(23) great bodily harm caused by distribution of drugs (section 609.228);
59.21	(24) mistreatment of persons confined (section 609.23);
59.22	(25) mistreatment of residents or patients (section 609.231);
59.23	(26) criminal abuse (section 609.2325);
59.24	(27) criminal neglect (section 609.233);
59.25	(28) financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult (section 609.2335);
59.26	(29) failure to report (section 609.234);
59.27	(30) simple robbery (section 609.24);
59.28	(31) aggravated robbery (section 609.245);
59.29	(32) false imprisonment (section 609.255);
59.30	(33) murder of an unborn child in the second degree (section 609.2662) or in the
59.31	third degree (section 609.2663);
59.32	(34) solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution (section 609.322);
59.33	(35) patrons; prostitutes; housing individuals engaged in prostitution (minors)
59.34	(section 609.324, subdivision 1);
59.35	(36) presenting false claims to a public officer or body (section 609.465);
59.36	(37) medical assistance fraud (section 609.466);

60.1	(38) felony theft (section 609.52);
60.2	(39) fraud in obtaining credit (section 609.52);
60.3	(40) identity theft (section 609.527);
60.4	(41) arson in the second degree (section 609.562) or in the third degree (section
60.5	<u>609.563);</u>
60.6	(42) burglary (section 609.582);
60.7	(43) insurance fraud (section 609.611);
60.8	(44) aggravated forgery (section 609.625);
60.9	(45) forgery (section 609.63);
60.10	(46) check forgery (section 609.631);
60.11	(47) felony drive-by shooting (section 609.66, subdivision 1e);
60.12	(48) riot (section 609.71);
60.13	(49) terroristic threats (section 609.713);
60.14	(50) disorderly conduct (section 609.72, subdivision 3);
60.15	(51) financial transaction card fraud (section 609.821);
60.16	(52) shooting at or in a public transit vehicle or facility (section 609.855, subdivision
60.17	<u>5);</u>
60.18	(53) controlled substance crimes in the third degree (section 152.023), fourth degree
60.19	(section 152.024), or fifth degree (section 152.025); or
60.20	(54) aiding and abetting, attempting or conspiring to commit any of the above
60.21	offenses.
60.22	Subd. 9. Conviction. For purposes of this section, an applicant is considered to
60.23	have been convicted of a crime if the applicant:
60.24	(1) was convicted or otherwise found guilty;
60.25	(2) was found guilty by a jury but the adjudication of guilt was withheld;
60.26	(3) was convicted but the imposition or execution of a sentence was stayed; or
60.27	(4) pleaded guilty, or entered an Alford plea or plea of nolo contendere.
60.28	Subd. 10. Consideration of other crimes. Nothing in this section shall preclude
60.29	the board from considering an applicant's conviction of a crime that is not enumerated in
60.30	subdivision 8 when determining an applicant's suitability and eligibility for nurse licensure.
60.31	Subd. 11. Order of denial. When an applicant is denied licensure based on
60.32	conviction of a crime enumerated in subdivision 8, the board may issue a public order
60.33	of denial and is not required to provide the applicant a hearing before the board prior to
60.34	denying licensure.
60.35	Subd. 12. Reconsideration of denial. (a) An applicant who is denied licensure
60.36	

REVISOR

A11-0177

61.1	of the board's decision if the applicant believes the information the board relied upon is
61.2	incorrect or that the applicant has been misidentified.
61.3	(b) An applicant denied licensure based on a conviction of a crime enumerated in
61.4	subdivision 8, clauses (1) to (17), may not request reconsideration of the denial of licensure
61.5	except as provided in paragraph (a), and may not reapply for licensure by the board.
61.6	(c) An applicant denied licensure based on a conviction of a crime enumerated in
61.7	subdivision 8, clauses (18) to (54), may request reconsideration of the board's decision to
61.8	deny licensure. The applicant requesting reconsideration shall have the burden of showing
61.9	to the satisfaction of the board that the applicant has been sufficiently rehabilitated and
61.10	does not pose a risk of harm to the public.
61.11	(d) An applicant seeking reconsideration of a denial of licensure under this chapter
61.12	shall present evidence to the board addressing the following factors, which the board may
61.13	consider in determining whether to grant a license to the previously denied applicant:
61.14	(1) the number of crimes for which the applicant has been convicted;
61.15	(2) the nature and seriousness of the crimes and vulnerability of the victims of the
61.16	crimes, including whether the commission of the crimes involved the abuse of trust or the
61.17	exploitation of a unique position or knowledge;
61.18	(3) the relationship between the crimes and the practice of nursing;
61.19	(4) the age of the applicant at the time the crimes were committed;
61.20	(5) the amount of time that has elapsed since the crimes occurred and since the
61.21	completion of the terms of any sentence imposed;
61.22	(6) steps taken by the applicant to address substance abuse or mental or physical
61.23	health issues present at the time of the crimes or subsequent to the crimes;
61.24	(7) evidence of the applicant's work history; and
61.25	(8) evidence demonstrating the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or
61.26	safety of the public.
61.27	(e) The board may impose limitations and conditions on an applicant's license if the
61.28	board grants the applicant a license following reconsideration.
61.29	Subd. 13. Data practices. All state or national criminal history record information
61.30	obtained by the board from the BCA or the FBI is confidential data on individuals,
61.31	under section 13.02, subdivision 3, and restricted to the exclusive use of the board, its
61.32	members, officers, investigative staff, agents, and attorneys for the purpose of evaluating
61.33	an applicant's eligibility or qualification for licensure.
61.34	Subd. 14. Current licensees. The board may request that a licensee who is the
61.35	subject of an investigation by the board submit to a criminal background check if there

REVISOR

62.1	is reason to believe the licensee has been charged with or convicted of a crime in this
62.2	or any other jurisdiction.
62.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2012, or as soon as the
62.4	necessary interagency infrastructure and related business processes are operational,
62.5	whichever is later.
62.6	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.211, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
62.7	Subdivision 1. Licensure by examination. (a) An applicant for a license to practice
62.8	as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse shall apply to the board for a license by
62.9	examination on forms prescribed by the board and pay a fee in an amount determined by
62.10	statute. An applicant applying for reexamination shall pay a fee in an amount determined
62.11	by law. In no case may fees be refunded.
62.12	(b) The applicant must satisfy the following requirements for licensure by
62.13	examination:
62.14	(1) present evidence the applicant has not engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary
62.15	action under section 148.261;
62.16	(2) present evidence of completion of a nursing education program which was
62.17	conducted in English and approved by the board, another United States nursing board,
62.18	or a Canadian province, which prepared the applicant for the type of license for which
62.19	the application has been submitted; and
62.20	(3) pass a national nurse licensure written examination. "Written examination"
62.21	includes paper and pencil examinations and examinations administered with a computer
62.22	and related technology and may include supplemental oral or practical examinations
62.23	approved by the board.
62.24	(c) An applicant who graduated from an approved nursing education program in
62.25	Canada and was licensed in Canada or another United States jurisdiction, without passing
62.26	the national nurse licensure examination, must also submit a verification of licensure from
62.27	the original Canadian licensure authority and from the United States jurisdiction.
62.28	(d) An applicant who graduated from a nursing program in a country other than the
62.29	United States or Canada, excluding Quebec, must also satisfy the following requirements:
62.30	(1) present verification of graduation from a nursing education program which
62.31	prepared the applicant for the type of license for which the application has been submitted
62.32	and is determined to be equivalent to the education required in the same type of nursing
62.33	education programs in the United States as evaluated by a credentials evaluation service
62.34	acceptable to the board. The credentials evaluation service must submit the evaluation and
62.35	verification directly to the board;

SS/RT

63.1 (2) demonstrate successful completion of coursework to resolve identified nursing
63.2 education deficiencies; and

- (3) pass examinations acceptable to the board that test written and spoken English,
 unless the applicant graduated from a nursing education program conducted in English
 and located in an English-speaking country. The results of the examinations must be
 submitted directly to the board from the testing service.
- 63.7

(e) An applicant failing to pass the examination may apply for reexamination.

(f) When the applicant has met all requirements stated in this subdivision, the board
shall issue a license to the applicant. The board may issue a license with conditions and
limitations if it considers it necessary to protect the public.

63.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.212, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
63.12 Subdivision 1. Issuance. Upon receipt of the applicable licensure or reregistration
63.13 fee and permit fee, and in accordance with rules of the board, the board may issue
63.14 a nonrenewable temporary permit to practice professional or practical nursing to an
63.15 applicant for licensure or reregistration who is not the subject of a pending investigation
63.16 or disciplinary action, nor disqualified for any other reason, under the following
63.17 circumstances:

(a) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
1, has graduated from an approved nursing program within the 60 days preceding board
receipt of an affidavit of graduation or transcript and has been authorized by the board to
write the licensure examination for the first time in the United States. The permit holder
must practice professional or practical nursing under the direct supervision of a registered
nurse. The permit is valid from the date of issue until the date the board takes action on
the application or for 60 days whichever occurs first.

(b) (a) The applicant for licensure by endorsement under section 148.211, subdivision
2, is currently licensed to practice professional or practical nursing in another state,
territory, or Canadian province. The permit is valid from submission of a proper request
until the date of board action on the application or for 60 days, whichever comes first.

63.29 (c) (b) The applicant for licensure by endorsement under section 148.211,
63.30 subdivision 2, or for reregistration under section 148.231, subdivision 5, is currently
63.31 registered in a formal, structured refresher course or its equivalent for nurses that includes
63.32 clinical practice.

(d) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (a) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (b) The applicant for licensure of the section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 (c) The applicant for licensection under section und

64.2

- nurse licensure examination for the first time in the United States. The permit holder must 64.1 practice professional nursing under the direct supervision of a registered nurse. The permit
- is valid from the date of issue until the date the board takes action on the application or for 64.3
- 64.4 60 days, whichever occurs first.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.231, is amended to read: 64.5
- **148.231 REGISTRATION; FAILURE TO REGISTER; REREGISTRATION;** 64.6 **VERIFICATION.** 64.7

Subdivision 1. Registration. Every person licensed to practice professional or 64.8 practical nursing must maintain with the board a current registration for practice as a 64.9 registered nurse or licensed practical nurse which must be renewed at regular intervals 64.10 established by the board by rule. No certificate of registration shall be issued by the board 64.11 to a nurse until the nurse has submitted satisfactory evidence of compliance with the 64.12 procedures and minimum requirements established by the board. 64.13

The fee for periodic registration for practice as a nurse shall be determined by the 64.14 board by rule law. A penalty fee shall be added for any application received after the 64.15 required date as specified by the board by rule. Upon receipt of the application and the 64.16 required fees, the board shall verify the application and the evidence of completion of 64.17 64.18 continuing education requirements in effect, and thereupon issue to the nurse a certificate of registration for the next renewal period. 64.19

Subd. 4. Failure to register. Any person licensed under the provisions of sections 64.20 148.171 to 148.285 who fails to register within the required period shall not be entitled to 64.21 practice nursing in this state as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. 64.22

Subd. 5. Reregistration. A person whose registration has lapsed desiring to 64.23 resume practice shall make application for reregistration, submit satisfactory evidence of 64.24 compliance with the procedures and requirements established by the board, and pay the 64.25 registration reregistration fee for the current period to the board. A penalty fee shall be 64.26 required from a person who practiced nursing without current registration. Thereupon, the 64.27 registration certificate shall be issued to the person who shall immediately be placed on 64.28 the practicing list as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. 64.29

Subd. 6. Verification. A person licensed under the provisions of sections 148.171 to 64.30 148.285 who requests the board to verify a Minnesota license to another state, territory, 64.31 or country or to an agency, facility, school, or institution shall pay a fee to the board 64.32 for each verification. 64.33

64.34

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.5301, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

65.1	Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) To be licensed as a licensed professional
65.2	clinical counselor (LPCC), an applicant must provide satisfactory evidence to the board
65.3	that the applicant:
65.4	(1) is at least 18 years of age;
65.5	(2) is of good moral character;
65.6	(3) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a
65.7	related field, as determined by the board based on the criteria in items (i) to (x), that
65.8	includes a minimum of 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours and a supervised field
65.9	experience in counseling that is not fewer than 700 hours. The degree must be from
65.10	a counseling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and
65.11	Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is
65.12	accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher
65.13	Education Accreditation (CHEA). Specific academic course content and training must
65.14	include coursework in each of the following subject areas:
65.15	(i) helping relationship, including counseling theory and practice;
65.16	(ii) human growth and development;
65.17	(iii) lifestyle and career development;
65.18	(iv) group dynamics, processes, counseling, and consulting;
65.19	(v) assessment and appraisal;
65.20	(vi) social and cultural foundations, including multicultural issues;
65.21	(vii) principles of etiology, treatment planning, and prevention of mental and
65.22	emotional disorders and dysfunctional behavior;
65.23	(viii) family counseling and therapy;
65.24	(ix) research and evaluation; and
65.25	(x) professional counseling orientation and ethics;
65.26	(4) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling by passing the National
65.27	Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE), administered by the
65.28	National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC) and ethical, oral, and situational
65.29	examinations as prescribed by the board. In lieu of the NCMHCE, applicants who have
65.30	taken and passed the National Counselor Examination (NCE) administered by the NBCC,
65.31	or another board-approved examination, need only take and pass the Examination of
65.32	Clinical Counseling Practice (ECCP) administered by the NBCC;
65.33	(5) has earned graduate-level semester credits or quarter-credit equivalents in the
65.34	following clinical content areas as follows:
65.35	(i) six credits in diagnostic assessment for child or adult mental disorders; normative
65.36	development; and psychopathology, including developmental psychopathology;

SS/RT

(ii) three credits in clinical treatment planning, with measurable goals;

66.2 (iii) six credits in clinical intervention methods informed by research evidence and66.3 community standards of practice;

66.4 (iv) three credits in evaluation methodologies regarding the effectiveness of66.5 interventions;

66.6 (v) three credits in professional ethics applied to clinical practice; and

66.7 (vi) three credits in cultural diversity; and

66.8 (6) has demonstrated successful completion of 4,000 hours of supervised,

66.9 post-master's degree professional practice in the delivery of clinical services in the

diagnosis and treatment of child and adult mental illnesses and disorders, conductedaccording to subdivision 2.

(b) If coursework in paragraph (a) was not completed as part of the degree program
required by paragraph (a), clause (3), the coursework must be taken and passed for credit,
and must be earned from a counseling program or institution that meets the requirements
of paragraph (a), clause (3).

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.5301, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Conversion from licensed professional counselor to licensed
professional clinical counselor. (a) Until August 1, 2011 2013, an individual currently
licensed in the state of Minnesota as a licensed professional counselor may convert to a
LPCC by providing evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has met the
following requirements:

(1) is at least 18 years of age;

66.23 (2) is of good moral character;

66.24 (3) has a license that is active and in good standing;

66.25 (4) has no complaints pending, uncompleted disciplinary orders, or corrective66.26 action agreements;

(5) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in counseling or a related
field, as determined by the board, and whose degree was from a counseling program
recognized by CACREP or from an institution of higher education that is accredited by a
regional accrediting organization recognized by CHEA;

66.31 (6) has earned 24 graduate-level semester credits or quarter-credit equivalents in
66.32 clinical coursework which includes content in the following clinical areas:

66.33 (i) diagnostic assessment for child and adult mental disorders; normative66.34 development; and psychopathology, including developmental psychopathology;

(ii) clinical treatment planning, with measurable goals;

REVISOR

67.1	(iii) clinical intervention methods informed by research evidence and community
67.2	standards of practice;
67.3	(iv) evaluation methodologies regarding the effectiveness of interventions;
67.4	(v) professional ethics applied to clinical practice; and
67.5	(vi) cultural diversity;
67.6	(7) has demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the board, successful completion of
67.7	4,000 hours of supervised, post-master's degree professional practice in the delivery of
67.8	clinical services in the diagnosis and treatment of child and adult mental illnesses and
67.9	disorders; and
67.10	(8) has paid the LPCC application and licensure fees required in section 148B.53,
67.11	subdivision 3.
67.12	(b) If the coursework in paragraph (a) was not completed as part of the degree
67.13	program required by paragraph (a), clause (5), the coursework must be taken and passed
67.14	for credit, and must be earned from a counseling program or institution that meets the
67.15	requirements in paragraph (a), clause (5).
67.16	(c) This subdivision expires August 1, 2011 2013.
67.17	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.5301, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
67.18	Subd. 4. Conversion to licensed professional clinical counselor after August 1,
67.19	2011 2013. An individual licensed in the state of Minnesota as a licensed professional
67.20	counselor may convert to a LPCC by providing evidence satisfactory to the board that the
67.21	applicant has met the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2, subject to the following:
67.22	(1) the individual's license must be active and in good standing;
67.23	(2) the individual must not have any complaints pending, uncompleted disciplinary
67.24	orders, or corrective action agreements; and
67.25	(3) the individual has paid the LPCC application and licensure fees required in
67.26	section 148B.53, subdivision 3.
67.27	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.54, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
67.28	Subd. 2. Continuing education. At the completion of the first four years of
67.29	licensure, a licensee must provide evidence satisfactory to the board of completion of
67.30	12 additional postgraduate semester credit hours or its equivalent in counseling as
67.31	determined by the board, except that no licensee shall be required to show evidence of
67.32	greater than 60 semester hours or its equivalent. In addition to completing the requisite
67.33	graduate coursework, each licensee shall also complete in the first four years of licensure
67.34	a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education activities approved by the board under

Minnesota Rules, part 2150.2540. Graduate credit hours successfully completed in the 68.1 first four years of licensure may be applied to both the graduate credit requirement and to 68.2 the requirement for 40 hours of continuing education activities. A licensee may receive 15 68.3 continuing education hours per semester credit hour or ten continuing education hours 68.4 per quarter credit hour. Thereafter, at the time of renewal, each licensee shall provide 68.5 evidence satisfactory to the board that the licensee has completed during each two-year 68.6 period at least the equivalent of 40 clock hours of professional postdegree continuing 68.7 education in programs approved by the board and continues to be qualified to practice 68.8 under sections 148B.50 to 148B.593. 68.9

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.54, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 68.10 Subd. 3. Relicensure following termination. An individual whose license was 68.11 terminated prior to August 1, 2010, and who can demonstrate completion of the graduate 68.12 credit requirement in subdivision 2, does not need to comply with the continuing education 68.13 68.14 requirement of Minnesota Rules, part 2150.2520, subpart 4, or with the continuing education requirements for relicensure following termination in Minnesota Rules, part 68.15 2150.0130, subpart 2. This section does not apply to an individual whose license has 68.16 been canceled. 68 17

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Students and other persons not currently licensed in another
jurisdiction. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an
applicant who is not licensed or credentialed to practice social work in any jurisdiction
but has:

68.23 (1) applied for a license under section 148E.055;

68.24 (2) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board;

68.25 (3) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a68.26 criminal background check;

68.27 (4) passed the applicable licensure examination provided for in section 148E.055;

(5) attested on a form provided by the board that the applicant has completed the
requirements for a baccalaureate or graduate degree in social work from a program
accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools
of Social Work, or a similar accreditation accrediting body designated by the board, or a
doctorate in social work from an accredited university; and

(6) not engaged in conduct that was or would be in violation of the standards ofpractice specified in sections 148E.195 to 148E.240. If the applicant has engaged in

REVISOR

A11-0177

SS/RT

- conduct that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, the board may takeaction according to sections 148E.255 to 148E.270.
- 69.3 (b) A temporary license issued under this subdivision expires after six months.
- 69.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2011.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 69.5 Subd. 2. Emergency situations and persons currently licensed in another 69.6 jurisdiction. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an 69.7 applicant who is licensed or credentialed to practice social work in another jurisdiction, 69.8 may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and has: 69.9 (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board; 69.10 69.11 (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a criminal background check; 69.12 (3) submitted evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant is currently 69 13 licensed or credentialed to practice social work in another jurisdiction; 69.14 (4) attested on a form provided by the board that the applicant has completed the 69.15 requirements for a baccalaureate or graduate degree in social work from a program 69.16 accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools 69.17 of Social Work, or a similar accreditation accrediting body designated by the board, or a 69.18 doctorate in social work from an accredited university; and 69.19 (5) not engaged in conduct that was or would be in violation of the standards of 69.20 practice specified in sections 148E.195 to 148E.240. If the applicant has engaged in 69.21 conduct that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, the board may take 69.22 action according to sections 148E.255 to 148E.270. 69.23 (b) A temporary license issued under this subdivision expires after six months. 69.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2011. 69.25

69.26 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, is amended by adding a69.27 subdivision to read:

69.28 Subd. 2a. **Programs in candidacy status.** (a) The board may issue a temporary

69.29 license to practice social work to an applicant who has completed the requirements for a

69.30 <u>baccalaureate or graduate degree in social work from a program in candidacy status with</u>

69.31 the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of Social

69.32 Work, or a similar accrediting body designated by the board, and has:

69.33 (1) applied for a license under section 148E.055;

70.1	(2) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board;
70.2	(3) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a
70.3	criminal background check;
70.4	(4) passed the applicable licensure examination provided for in section 148E.055;
70.5	and
70.6	(5) not engaged in conduct that is in violation of the standards of practice specified
70.7	in sections 148E.195 to 148E.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct that is in
70.8	violation of the standards of practice, the board may take action according to sections
70.9	<u>148E.255 to 148E.270.</u>
70.10	(b) A temporary license issued under this subdivision expires after 12 months but
70.11	may be extended at the board's discretion upon a showing that the social work program
70.12	remains in good standing with the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian
70.13	Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar accrediting body designated by the
70.14	board. If the board receives notice from the Council on Social Work Education, the
70.15	Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar accrediting body designated
70.16	by the board that the social work program is not in good standing, or that the accreditation
70.17	will not be granted to the social work program, the temporary license is immediately
70.18	revoked.
70.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011.
70.19 70.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011. Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
70.20	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
70.20 70.21	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read:Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social
70.20 70.21 70.22	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is
70.2070.2170.2270.23	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has:
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 70.26 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has: (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board;
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 70.26 70.27 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has: (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board; (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 70.26 70.27 70.28 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has: (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board; (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a criminal background check;
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 70.26 70.27 70.28 70.29 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has: (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board; (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a criminal background check; (3) attested on a form provided by the board that the applicant has completed the
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 70.26 70.27 70.28 70.29 70.30 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has: (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board; (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a criminal background check; (3) attested on a form provided by the board that the applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or graduate degree in social work; and
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 70.26 70.27 70.28 70.29 70.30 70.31 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has: (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board; (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a criminal background check; (3) attested on a form provided by the board that the applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or graduate degree in social work; and (4) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in violation of the standards
 70.20 70.21 70.22 70.23 70.24 70.25 70.26 70.27 70.28 70.29 70.30 70.31 70.32 	 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Teachers. (a) The board may issue a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license under section 148E.055, and who has: (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by the board; (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the board to complete a criminal background check; (3) attested on a form provided by the board that the applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or graduate degree in social work; and (4) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 148E.195 to 148E.240. If the applicant has engaged in

REVISOR

71.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2011.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.060, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 71.2 Subd. 5. Temporary license term. (a) A temporary license is valid until expiration, 71.3 or until the board issues or denies the license according to section 148E.055, or until 71.4 the board revokes the temporary license, whichever comes first. A temporary license is 71.5 nonrenewable. 71.6 (b) A temporary license issued according to subdivision 1 or 2 expires after six 71.7 months. 71.8 (c) A temporary license issued according to subdivision 3 expires after 12 months. 71.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2011. 71.10 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148E.120, is amended to read: 71.11 148E.120 REQUIREMENTS OF SUPERVISORS. 71.12 Subdivision 1. Supervisors licensed as social workers. (a) Except as provided in 71.13 paragraph (d) subdivision 2, to be eligible to provide supervision under this section, a 71.14 social worker must: 71.15 (1) have completed 30 hours of training in supervision through coursework from 71.16 an accredited college or university, or through continuing education in compliance with 71.17 sections 148E.130 to 148E.170; 71.18 71.19 (2) be competent in the activities being supervised; and (3) attest, on a form provided by the board, that the social worker has met the 71.20 applicable requirements specified in this section and sections 148E.100 to 148E.115. The 71.21 board may audit the information provided to determine compliance with the requirements 71.22 of this section. 71.23 (b) A licensed independent clinical social worker providing clinical licensing 71.24 supervision to a licensed graduate social worker or a licensed independent social worker 71.25 must have at least 2,000 hours of experience in authorized social work practice, including 71.26 71.27 1,000 hours of experience in clinical practice after obtaining a licensed independent clinical social worker license. 71.28 (c) A licensed social worker, licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent 71.29 71.30 social worker, or licensed independent clinical social worker providing nonclinical licensing supervision must have completed the supervised practice requirements specified 71.31 in section 148E.100, 148E.105, 148E.106, 148E.110, or 148E.115, as applicable. 71.32

72.1	(d) If the board determines that supervision is not obtainable from an individual
72.2	meeting the requirements specified in paragraph (a), the board may approve an alternate
72.3	supervisor according to subdivision 2.
72.4	Subd. 2. Alternate supervisors. (a) The board may approve an alternate supervisor
72.5	if: The board may approve an alternate supervisor as determined in this subdivision. The
72.6	board shall approve up to 25 percent of the required supervision hours by a licensed mental
72.7	health professional who is competent and qualified to provide supervision according to the
72.8	mental health professional's respective licensing board, as established by section 245.462,
72.9	subdivision 18, clauses (1) to (6), or 245.4871, subdivision 27, clauses (1) to (6).
72.10	(1) the board determines that supervision is not obtainable according to paragraph
72.11	(b);
72.12	(2) the licensee requests in the supervision plan submitted according to section
72.13	148E.125, subdivision 1, that an alternate supervisor conduct the supervision;
72.14	(3) the licensee describes the proposed supervision and the name and qualifications
72.15	of the proposed alternate supervisor; and
72.16	(4) the requirements of paragraph (d) are met.
72.17	(b) The board may determine that supervision is not obtainable if:
72.18	(1) the licensee provides documentation as an attachment to the supervision plan
72.19	submitted according to section 148E.125, subdivision 1, that the licensee has conducted a
72.20	thorough search for a supervisor meeting the applicable licensure requirements specified
72.21	in sections 148E.100 to 148E.115;
72.22	(2) the licensee demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the search was
72.23	unsuccessful; and
72.24	(3) the licensee describes the extent of the search and the names and locations of
72.25	the persons and organizations contacted.
72.26	(c) The requirements specified in paragraph (b) do not apply to obtaining licensing
72.27	supervision for social work practice if the board determines that there are five or fewer
72.28	supervisors meeting the applicable licensure requirements in sections 148E.100 to
72.29	148E.115 in the county where the licensee practices social work.
72.30	(d) An alternate supervisor must:
72.31	(1) be an unlicensed social worker who is employed in, and provides the supervision
72.32	in, a setting exempt from licensure by section 148E.065, and who has qualifications
72.33	equivalent to the applicable requirements specified in sections 148E.100 to 148E.115;
72.34	(2) be a social worker engaged in authorized practice in Iowa, Manitoba, North
72.35	Dakota, Ontario, South Dakota, or Wisconsin, and has the qualifications equivalent to the
72.36	applicable requirements specified in sections 148E.100 to 148E.115; or

73.1	(3) be a licensed marriage and family therapist or a mental health professional
73.2	as established by section 245.462, subdivision 18, or 245.4871, subdivision 27, or an
73.3	equivalent mental health professional, as determined by the board, who is licensed or
73.4	credentialed by a state, territorial, provincial, or foreign licensing agency.
73.5	(e) In order to qualify to provide clinical supervision of a licensed graduate social
73.6	worker or licensed independent social worker engaged in clinical practice, the alternate
73.7	supervisor must be a mental health professional as established by section 245.462,
73.8	subdivision 18, or 245.4871, subdivision 27, or an equivalent mental health professional,
73.9	as determined by the board, who is licensed or credentialed by a state, territorial,
73.10	provincial, or foreign licensing agency.
73.11	(b) The board shall approve up to 100 percent of the required supervision hours by
73.12	an alternate supervisor if the board determines that:
73.13	(1) there are five or fewer supervisors in the county where the licensee practices
73.14	social work who meet the applicable licensure requirements in subdivision 1;
73.15	(2) the supervisor is an unlicensed social worker who is employed in, and provides
73.16	the supervision in, a setting exempt from licensure by section 148E.065, and who has
73.17	qualifications equivalent to the applicable requirements specified in sections 148E.100 to
73.18	<u>148E.115;</u>
73.19	(3) the supervisor is a social worker engaged in authorized social work practice
73.20	in Iowa, Manitoba, North Dakota, Ontario, South Dakota, or Wisconsin, and has the
73.21	qualifications equivalent to the applicable requirements in sections 148E.100 to 148E.115;
73.22	<u>or</u>
73.23	(4) the applicant or licensee is engaged in nonclinical authorized social work
73.24	practice outside of Minnesota and the supervisor meets the qualifications equivalent to
73.25	the applicable requirements in sections 148E.100 to 148E.115, or the supervisor is an
73.26	equivalent mental health professional, as determined by the board, who is credentialed by
73.27	a state, territorial, provincial, or foreign licensing agency; or
73.28	(5) the applicant or licensee is engaged in clinical authorized social work practice
73.29	outside of Minnesota and the supervisor meets qualifications equivalent to the applicable
73.30	requirements in section 148E.115, or the supervisor is an equivalent mental health
73.31	professional, as determined by the board, who is credentialed by a state, territorial,
73.32	provincial, or foreign licensing agency.
73.33	(c) In order for the board to consider an alternate supervisor under this section,
73.34	the licensee must:
73.35	(1) request in the supervision plan and verification submitted according to section
73.36	148E.125 that an alternate supervisor conduct the supervision; and

REVISOR

- 74.1 (2) describe the proposed supervision and the name and qualifications of the
- 74.2 proposed alternate supervisor. The board may audit the information provided to determine
- 74.3 <u>compliance with the requirements of this section.</u>
- 74.4

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2011.

74.5 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.02, is amended to read:

74.6 **150A.02 BOARD OF DENTISTRY.**

Subdivision 1. Generally. There is hereby created a Board of Dentistry whose duty 74.7 it shall be to carry out the purposes and enforce the provisions of sections 150A.01 to 74.8 150A.12. The board shall consist of two public members as defined by section 214.02, 74.9 and the following dental professionals who are licensed and reside in Minnesota: five 74.10 qualified resident dentists, one qualified resident licensed dental assistant, and one 74.11 qualified resident dental hygienist appointed by the governor. One qualified dentist must 74.12 be involved with the education, employment, or utilization of a dental therapist or an 74.13 advanced dental therapist. Membership terms, compensation of members, removal of 74.14 members, the filling of membership vacancies, and fiscal year and reporting requirements 74.15 shall be as provided in sections 214.07 to 214.09. The provision of staff, administrative 74.16 services and office space; the review and processing of board complaints; the setting 74.17 of board fees; and other provisions relating to board operations shall be as provided in 74.18 chapter 214. Each board member who is a dentist, licensed dental assistant, or dental 74.19 hygienist shall have been lawfully in active practice in this state for five years immediately 74.20 preceding appointment; and no board member shall be eligible for appointment to more 74.21 than two consecutive four-year terms, and members serving on the board at the time of 74.22 the enactment hereof shall be eligible to reappointment provided they shall not have 74.23 served more than nine consecutive years at the expiration of the term to which they are to 74.24 be appointed. At least 90 days prior to the expiration of the terms of dentists, licensed 74.25 dental assistants, or dental hygienists, the Minnesota Dental Association, Minnesota 74.26 Dental Assistants Association, or the Minnesota State Dental Hygiene Association shall 74.27 74.28 recommend to the governor for each term expiring not less than two dentists, two licensed dental assistants, or two dental hygienists, respectively, who are qualified to serve on the 74.29 board, and from the list so recommended the governor may appoint members to the board 74.30 74.31 for the term of four years, the appointments to be made within 30 days after the expiration of the terms. Within 60 days after the occurrence of a dentist, licensed dental assistant, or 74.32 dental hygienist vacancy, prior to the expiration of the term, in the board, the Minnesota 74.33 Dental Association, the Minnesota Dental Assistants Association, or the Minnesota State 74.34

Dental Hygiene Association shall recommend to the governor not less than two dentists,
two licensed dental assistants, or two dental hygienists, who are qualified to serve on the
board and from the list so recommended the governor, within 30 days after receiving such
list of dentists, may appoint one member to the board for the unexpired term occasioned
by such vacancy. Any appointment to fill a vacancy shall be made within 90 days after the
occurrence of such vacancy. The first four-year term of the dental hygienist and of the

- 75.7 licensed dental assistant shall commence on the first Monday in January, 1977.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.06, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
 Subd. 1c. Specialty dentists. (a) The board may grant a specialty license in the
 specialty areas of dentistry that are recognized by the American Dental Association.
- 75.11

(b) An applicant for a specialty license shall:

(1) have successfully completed a postdoctoral specialty education program
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association, or have announced a limitation of practice before 1967;

(2) have been certified by a specialty examining board approved by the Minnesota
Board of Dentistry, or provide evidence of having passed a clinical examination for
licensure required for practice in any state or Canadian province, or in the case of oral and
maxillofacial surgeons only, have a Minnesota medical license in good standing;

(3) have been in active practice or a postdoctoral specialty education program or
United States government service at least 2,000 hours in the 36 months prior to applying
for a specialty license;

(4) if requested by the board, be interviewed by a committee of the board, which
may include the assistance of specialists in the evaluation process, and satisfactorily
respond to questions designed to determine the applicant's knowledge of dental subjects
and ability to practice;

(5) if requested by the board, present complete records on a sample of patients
treated by the applicant. The sample must be drawn from patients treated by the applicant
during the 36 months preceding the date of application. The number of records shall be
established by the board. The records shall be reasonably representative of the treatment
typically provided by the applicant;

- (6) at board discretion, pass a board-approved English proficiency test if English isnot the applicant's primary language;
- 75.33 (7) pass all components of the National Dental Board Dental Examinations;
- 75.34 (8) pass the Minnesota Board of Dentistry jurisprudence examination;
- 75.35 (9) abide by professional ethical conduct requirements; and

SS/RT

(10) meet all other requirements prescribed by the Board of Dentistry. 76.1 (c) The application must include: 76.2 (1) a completed application furnished by the board; 76.3 (2) at least two character references from two different dentists, one of whom must 76.4 be a dentist practicing in the same specialty area, and the other the director of the specialty 76.5 program attended; 76.6 (3) a licensed physician's statement attesting to the applicant's physical and mental 76.7 condition: 76.8 (4) a statement from a licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist attesting to the 76.9 applicant's visual acuity; 76.10 (5) a nonrefundable fee; and 76.11 (6) a notarized, unmounted passport-type photograph, three inches by three inches, 76.12 taken not more than six months before the date of application. 76.13 (d) A specialty dentist holding a specialty license is limited to practicing in the 76.14 76.15 dentist's designated specialty area. The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by the American Dental Association. 76.16 (e) A specialty dentist holding a general dentist license is limited to practicing in the 76.17 dentist's designated specialty area if the dentist has announced a limitation of practice. 76.18 The scope of practice must be defined by each national specialty board recognized by 76.19 the American Dental Association. 76.20 (f) All specialty dentists who have fulfilled the specialty dentist requirements and 76.21 who intend to limit their practice to a particular specialty area may apply for a specialty 76.22 76.23 license.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.06, subdivision 1d, is amended to read:
Subd. 1d. Dental therapists. A person of good moral character who has graduated
with a baccalaureate degree or a master's degree from a dental therapy education program
that has been approved by the board or accredited by the American Dental Association
Commission on Dental Accreditation or another board-approved national accreditation
organization may apply for licensure.

The applicant must submit an application and fee as prescribed by the board and a diploma or certificate from a dental therapy education program. Prior to being licensed, the applicant must pass a comprehensive, competency-based clinical examination that is approved by the board and administered independently of an institution providing dental therapy education. <u>The clinical examinations for competencies for dental therapy and</u> <u>advanced dental therapy must be comparable to those administered to dental students</u>

for the same competencies. The applicant must also pass an examination testing the 77.1 applicant's knowledge of the Minnesota laws and rules relating to the practice of dentistry. 77.2 An applicant who has failed the clinical examination twice is ineligible to retake the 77.3 clinical examination until further education and training are obtained as specified by the 77.4 board. A separate, nonrefundable fee may be charged for each time a person applies. 77.5 An applicant who passes the examination in compliance with subdivision 2b, abides by 77.6 professional ethical conduct requirements, and meets all the other requirements of the 77.7 board shall be licensed as a dental therapist. 77.8

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 77.9 Subd. 3. Waiver of examination. (a) All or any part of the examination for dentists 77.10 or dental hygienists, except that pertaining to the law of Minnesota relating to dentistry 77.11 and the rules of the board, may, at the discretion of the board, be waived for an applicant 77.12 who presents a certificate of qualification from having passed all components of the 77.13 77.14 National Board of Dental Examiners Examinations or evidence of having maintained an adequate scholastic standing as determined by the board, in dental school as to dentists, or 77.15 dental hygiene school as to dental hygienists. 77.16

77.17 (b) The board shall waive the clinical examination required for licensure for any dentist applicant who is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the Commission 77.18 on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, who has successfully 77.19 completed passed all components of the National Dental Board Examination Dental 77.20 Examinations, and who has satisfactorily completed a Minnesota-based postdoctoral 77.21 77.22 general dentistry residency program (GPR) or an advanced education in general dentistry (AEGD) program after January 1, 2004. The postdoctoral program must be accredited 77.23 by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, be of 77.24 77.25 at least one year's duration, and include an outcome assessment evaluation assessing the resident's competence to practice dentistry. The board may require the applicant to 77.26 submit any information deemed necessary by the board to determine whether the waiver is 77.27 applicable. The board may waive the clinical examination for an applicant who meets the 77.28 requirements of this paragraph and has satisfactorily completed an accredited postdoctoral 77.29 general dentistry residency program located outside of Minnesota. 77.30

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Licensure by credentials. (a) Any dentist or dental hygienist may, upon
application and payment of a fee established by the board, apply for licensure based on
the applicant's performance record in lieu of passing an examination approved by the

A11-0177

SS/RT

board according to section 150A.03, subdivision 1, and be interviewed by the board to 78.1 78.2 determine if the applicant: (1) has passed all components of the National Board Dental Examinations; 78.3 (1) (2) has been in active practice at least 2,000 hours within 36 months of the 78.4 application date, or passed a board-approved reentry program within 36 months of the 78.5 application date; 78.6 (2) (3) currently has a license in another state or Canadian province and is not subject 78.7 to any pending or final disciplinary action, or if not currently licensed, previously had a 78.8 license in another state or Canadian province in good standing that was not subject to any 78.9 final or pending disciplinary action at the time of surrender; 78.10 (3) (4) is of good moral character and abides by professional ethical conduct 78.11 78.12 requirements; (4) (5) at board discretion, has passed a board-approved English proficiency test if 78.13 English is not the applicant's primary language; and 78.14 78.15 (5) (6) meets other credentialing requirements specified in board rule. (b) An applicant who fulfills the conditions of this subdivision and demonstrates 78.16 the minimum knowledge in dental subjects required for licensure under subdivision 1 or 78.17 2 must be licensed to practice the applicant's profession. 78.18 (c) If the applicant does not demonstrate the minimum knowledge in dental subjects 78.19 required for licensure under subdivision 1 or 2, the application must be denied. When 78.20 denying a license, the board may notify the applicant of any specific remedy that the 78.21 applicant could take which, when passed, would qualify the applicant for licensure. A 78.22

denial does not prohibit the applicant from applying for licensure under subdivision 1 or 2.
(d) A candidate whose application has been denied may appeal the decision to the
board according to subdivision 4a.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.06, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 78.26 Subd. 6. Display of name and certificates. (a) The initial license and subsequent 78.27 renewal, or current registration certificate, of every dentist, a dental therapist, dental 78.28 hygienist, or dental assistant shall be conspicuously displayed in every office in which that 78.29 person practices, in plain sight of patients. When available from the board, the board shall 78.30 allow the display of a wallet-sized initial license and wallet-sized subsequent renewal 78.31 certificate only at nonprimary practice locations instead of displaying an original-sized 78.32 initial license and subsequent renewal certificate. 78.33

- (b) Near or on the entrance door to every office where dentistry is practiced, the 79.1 79.2 name of each dentist practicing there, as inscribed on the current license certificate, shall be displayed in plain sight. 79.3 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.06, is amended by adding a 79.4 subdivision to read: 79.5 Subd. 10. Criminal history record checks. (a) An applicant for initial licensure 79.6 under this section and an applicant for reinstatement of licensure under Minnesota Rules, 79.7 part 3100.1850, shall submit to a criminal history records check of state data, regardless 79.8 of the data classification, completed by the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 79.9
- 79.10 (BCA) and a national criminal history records check to include a search of the records of
- 79.11 the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
- 79.12 (b) An applicant shall submit a completed, notarized criminal history records check
 79.13 consent form and fingerprints to the BCA and comply with the following requirements:
- 79.14 (1) request and consent to a criminal history records check of state data, regardless
 79.15 of the data classification;
- 79.16 (2) request and consent to a national criminal history records check;
- 79.17 (3) submit to fingerprinting in a form acceptable to the board either with the BCA or
- 79.18 <u>a local law enforcement agency including a verification form;</u>
- 79.19 (4) pay the required fees for fingerprinting and completion of the criminal history
- 79.20 records checks by the BCA and the FBI; and
- (5) request that the criminal history check results from both the BCA and the FBI be
 sent directly to the board and, if necessary, the applicant shall provide the BCA with a
- 79.23 <u>stamped envelope having the board's name and address.</u>
- (c) The board shall maintain the criminal history records check reports in a manner
 that ensures the confidentiality of the results as private data, prevents disclosure pursuant
- 79.26 to a public records request, and complies with applicable state and federal requirements.
- 79.27 (d) The board shall not accept the results of a criminal history records check
 79.28 submitted by an entity other than the BCA.
- 79.29 (e) In reviewing the results of criminal history records checks to determine whether
- 79.30 the applicant should be granted an initial or reinstated license to practice, the board may
- 79.31 <u>consider all of the following:</u>
- 79.32 (1) the nature and seriousness of the crime;
- 79.33 (2) the extent of the applicant's past criminal activity;
- 79.34 (3) the age of the applicant when the crime was committed;
- 79.35 (4) the amount of time that has elapsed since the applicant's last criminal activity;

REVISOR

80.1	(5) the conduct and work activity of the applicant before and after the criminal
80.2	activity;
80.3	(6) whether the applicant has completed the terms of any probation or deferred
80.4	adjudication;
80.5	(7) evidence of the applicant's rehabilitation;
80.6	(8) whether the applicant fully disclosed the arrest or conviction to the board; and
80.7	(9) any other factors the board considers relevant.
80.8	(f) The board shall not grant a license to an applicant for an initial license issued
80.9	under this section or for a reinstated license under Minnesota Rules, part 3100.1850,
80.10	unless the applicant complies with this subdivision.
80.11	(g) If a criminal history records check indicates that an applicant has engaged in
80.12	criminal behavior, the board may take action according to sections 214.10 and 214.103.
80.13	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
80.14	Subd. 3. Current address, change of address. Every dentist, dental therapist,
80.15	dental hygienist, and dental assistant shall maintain with the board a correct and current
80.16	mailing address and electronic mail address. For dentists engaged in the practice of
80.17	dentistry, the postal address shall be that of the location of the primary dental practice.
80.18	Within 30 days after changing postal or electronic mail addresses, every dentist, dental
80.19	therapist, dental hygienist, and dental assistant shall provide the board written notice of
80.20	the new address either personally or by first class mail.
80.21	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.105, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
80.22	Subd. 7. Use of dental assistants. (a) A licensed dental therapist may supervise
80.23	dental assistants to the extent permitted in the collaborative management agreement and
80.24	according to section 150A.10, subdivision 2.
80.25	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a licensed dental therapist is limited to
80.26	supervising no more than four registered licensed dental assistants or nonregistered
80.27	nonlicensed dental assistants at any one practice setting.
80.28	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.106, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
80.29	Subdivision 1. General. In order to be certified by the board to practice as an
80.30	advanced dental therapist, a person must:
80.31	(1) complete a dental therapy education program;
80.32	(2) pass an examination to demonstrate competency under the dental therapy scope
80.33	of practice;

- 03/21/11 07:39 AM SS/RT REVISOR A11-0177 (3) be licensed as a dental therapist; 81.1 (4) complete 2,000 hours of dental therapy clinical practice under direct or indirect 81.2 supervision; 81.3 (5) graduate from a master's advanced dental therapy education program; 81.4 (6) pass a board-approved certification examination, comparable to those 81.5 administered to dental students, to demonstrate competency under the advanced scope of 81.6 practice; and 81.7 (7) submit an application and fee for certification as prescribed by the board. 81.8 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.14, is amended to read: 81.9 81.10 **150A.14 IMMUNITY.** Subdivision 1. Reporting immunity. A person, health care facility, business, or 81.11 organization is immune from civil liability or criminal prosecution for submitting a report 81.12 in good faith to the board under section 150A.13, or for cooperating with an investigation 81.13 of a report or with staff of the board relative to violations or alleged violations of section 81.14 81.15 150A.08. Reports are confidential data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 3, and are privileged communications. 81.16 Subd. 2. Program Investigation immunity. (a) Members of the board, persons 81.17 81.18 employed by the board, and board consultants retained by the board are immune from civil liability and criminal prosecution for any actions, transactions, or publications in 81.19 the execution of, or relating to, their duties under section 150A.13 sections 150A.02 to 81.20 150A.21, 214.10, and 214.103. 81.21 (b) For purposes of this section, a member of the board or a consultant described in 81.22 paragraph (a) is considered a state employee under section 3.736, subdivision 9. 81.23 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 214.09, is amended by adding a subdivision 81.24
 - 81.25 to read:

81.26 Subd. 5. Health-related boards. No current member of a health-related licensing
81.27 board may seek a paid employment position with that board.

81.28 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 214.103, is amended to read:

81.29 **214.103 HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARDS; COMPLAINT,**

81.30 INVESTIGATION, AND HEARING.

- 81.31 Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of this section, "board" means
- 81.32 "health-related licensing board" and does not include the non-health-related licensing

A11-0177

- boards. Nothing in this section supersedes section 214.10, subdivisions 2a, 3, 8, and 9, as 82.1 82.2 they apply to the health-related licensing boards. Subd. 1a. Notifications and resolution. (a) No more than 14 calendar days after 82.3 receiving a complaint regarding a licensee, the board shall notify the complainant that 82.4 the board has received the complaint and shall provide the complainant with the written 82.5 description of the board's complaint process. The board shall periodically, but no less 82.6 than every 120 days, notify the complainant of the status of the complaint consistent 82.7 with section 13.41. 82.8 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (d), no more than 60 calendar days after 82.9 receiving a complaint regarding a licensee, the board must notify the licensee that the 82.10 board has received a complaint and inform the licensee of: 82.11 (1) the substance of the complaint; 82.12 (2) the sections of the law that have allegedly been violated; 82.13 (3) the sections of the professional rules that have allegedly been violated; and 82.14 82.15 (4) whether an investigation is being conducted. (c) The board shall periodically, but not less than every 120 days, notify the licensee 82.16 of the status of the complaint consistent with section 13.41. 82.17 (d) Paragraphs (b) and (c) do not apply if the board determines that such notice 82.18 would compromise the board's investigation and that such notice cannot reasonably be 82.19 82.20 accomplished within this time. (e) No more than one year after receiving a complaint regarding a licensee, the 82.21 board must resolve or dismiss the complaint unless the board determines that resolving or 82.22 82.23 dismissing the complaint cannot reasonably be accomplished in this time and is not in the public interest. 82.24 (f) Failure to make notifications or to resolve the complaint within the time 82.25 82.26 established in this subdivision shall not deprive the board of jurisdiction to complete the investigation or to take corrective, disciplinary, or other action against the licensee that is 82.27 authorized by law. Such a failure by the board shall not be the basis for a licensee's request 82.28 for the board to dismiss a complaint, and shall not be considered by an administrative law 82.29 judge, the board, or any reviewing court. 82.30 Subd. 2. Receipt of complaint. The boards shall receive and resolve complaints 82.31 or other communications, whether oral or written, against regulated persons. Before 82.32 resolving an oral complaint, the executive director or a board member designated by the 82.33 board to review complaints may shall require the complainant to state the complaint in 82.34 writing or authorize transcribing the complaint. The executive director or the designated 82.35
- 82.36 board member shall determine whether the complaint alleges or implies a violation of

a statute or rule which the board is empowered to enforce. The executive director or 83.1 the designated board member may consult with the designee of the attorney general as 83.2 to a board's jurisdiction over a complaint. If the executive director or the designated 83.3 board member determines that it is necessary, the executive director may seek additional 83.4 information to determine whether the complaint is jurisdictional or to clarify the nature 83.5 of the allegations by obtaining records or other written material, obtaining a handwriting 83.6 sample from the regulated person, clarifying the alleged facts with the complainant, and 83.7 requesting a written response from the subject of the complaint. 83.8

Subd. 3. Referral to other agencies. The executive director shall forward to 83.9 83.10 another governmental agency any complaints received by the board which do not relate to the board's jurisdiction but which relate to matters within the jurisdiction of another 83.11 governmental agency. The agency shall advise the executive director of the disposition 83.12 of the complaint. A complaint or other information received by another governmental 83.13 agency relating to a statute or rule which a board is empowered to enforce must be 83.14 83.15 forwarded to the executive director of the board to be processed in accordance with this section. Governmental agencies may coordinate and conduct joint investigations of 83.16 complaints that involve more than one governmental agency. 83.17

Subd. 4. Role of the attorney general. The executive director or the designated
board member shall forward a complaint and any additional information to the designee
of the attorney general when the executive director or the designated board member
determines that a complaint is jurisdictional and:

83.22 (1) requires investigation before the executive director or the designated board83.23 member may resolve the complaint;

83.24 (2) that attempts at resolution for disciplinary action or the initiation of a contested83.25 case hearing is appropriate;

(3) that an agreement for corrective action is warranted; or

(4) that the complaint should be dismissed, consistent with subdivision 8.

Subd. 5. **Investigation by attorney general.** (a) If the executive director or the designated board member determines that investigation is necessary before resolving the complaint, the executive director shall forward the complaint and any additional information to the designee of the attorney general. The designee of the attorney general shall evaluate the communications forwarded and investigate as appropriate.

83.33 (b) The designee of the attorney general may also investigate any other complaint
83.34 forwarded under subdivision 3 when the designee of the attorney general determines that
83.35 investigation is necessary.

- 84.1 (c) In the process of evaluation and investigation, the designee shall consult with 84.2 or seek the assistance of the executive director or the designated board member. The 84.3 designee may also consult with or seek the assistance of other qualified persons who are 84.4 not members of the board who the designee believes will materially aid in the process of 84.5 evaluation or investigation.
- 84.6 (d) Upon completion of the investigation, the designee shall forward the investigative
 84.7 report to the executive director with recommendations for further consideration or
 84.8 dismissal.
- Subd. 6. Attempts at resolution. (a) At any time after receipt of a complaint, the 84.9 executive director or the designated board member may attempt to resolve the complaint 84.10 with the regulated person. The available means for resolution include a conference or 84.11 any other written or oral communication with the regulated person. A conference may 84.12 be held for the purposes of investigation, negotiation, education, or conciliation. Neither 84.13 the executive director nor any member of a board's staff shall be a voting member in any 84.14 84.15 attempts at resolutions which may result in disciplinary or corrective action. The results of attempts at resolution with the regulated person may include a recommendation to 84.16 the board for disciplinary action, an agreement between the executive director or the 84.17 designated board member and the regulated person for corrective action, or the dismissal 84.18 of a complaint. If attempts at resolution are not in the public interest or are not satisfactory 84.19 to the executive director or the designated board member, then the executive director or 84.20 the designated board member may initiate a contested case hearing may be initiated. 84.21
- (1) The designee of the attorney general shall represent the board in all attempts at
 resolution which the executive director or the designated board member anticipate may
 result in disciplinary action. A stipulation between the executive director or the designated
 board member and the regulated person shall be presented to the board for the board's
 consideration. An approved stipulation and resulting order shall become public data.
- (2) The designee of the attorney general shall represent the board upon the request of 84.27 the executive director or the designated board member in all attempts at resolution which 84.28 the executive director or the designated board member anticipate may result in corrective 84.29 action. Any agreement between the executive director or the designated board member 84.30 and the regulated person for corrective action shall be in writing and shall be reviewed by 84.31 the designee of the attorney general prior to its execution. The agreement for corrective 84.32 action shall provide for dismissal of the complaint upon successful completion by the 84.33 regulated person of the corrective action. 84.34
- (b) Upon receipt of a complaint alleging sexual contact or sexual conduct with aclient, the board must forward the complaint to the designee of the attorney general for

REVISOR

A11-0177

an investigation. If, after it is investigated, the complaint appears to provide a basis for
disciplinary action, the board shall resolve the complaint by disciplinary action or initiate
a contested case hearing. Notwithstanding paragraph (a), clause (2), a board may not take
corrective action or dismiss a complaint alleging sexual contact or sexual conduct with a
client unless, in the opinion of the executive director, the designated board member, and the
designee of the attorney general, there is insufficient evidence to justify disciplinary action.

Subd. 7. Contested case hearing. If the executive director or the designated board 85.7 member determines that attempts at resolution of a complaint are not in the public interest 85.8 or are not satisfactory to the executive director or the designated board member, the 85.9 executive director or the designated board member, after consultation with the designee 85.10 of the attorney general, and the concurrence of a second board member, may initiate a 85.11 85.12 contested case hearing under chapter 14. The designated board member or any board member who was consulted during the course of an investigation may participate at the 85.13 contested case hearing. A designated or consulted board member may not deliberate or 85.14 85.15 vote in any proceeding before the board pertaining to the case.

Subd. 8. Dismissal and reopening of a complaint. (a) A complaint may not be 85.16 dismissed without the concurrence of at least two board members and, upon the request 85.17 of the complainant, a review by a representative of the attorney general's office. The 85.18 designee of the attorney general must review before dismissal any complaints which 85.19 allege any violation of chapter 609, any conduct which would be required to be reported 85.20 under section 626.556 or 626.557, any sexual contact or sexual conduct with a client, 85.21 any violation of a federal law, any actual or potential inability to practice the regulated 85.22 85.23 profession or occupation by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other materials, or as a result of any mental or physical condition, any violation of state medical 85.24 assistance laws, or any disciplinary action related to credentialing in another jurisdiction 85.25 85.26 or country which was based on the same or related conduct specified in this subdivision.

85.27 (b) The board may reopen a dismissed complaint if the board receives newly
85.28 discovered information that was not available to the board during the initial investigation
85.29 of the complaint, or if the board receives a new complaint that indicates a pattern of
85.30 behavior or conduct.

- 85.31 Subd. 9. Information to complainant. A board shall furnish to a person who made
 85.32 a complaint a written description of the board's complaint process, and actions of the
 85.33 board relating to the complaint.
- Subd. 10. Prohibited participation by board member. A board member who
 has actual bias or a current or former direct financial or professional connection with a
 regulated person may not vote in board actions relating to the regulated person.

SS/RT

86.1	Sec. 31. [214.107] CONVICTION OF A FELONY-LEVEL CRIMINAL SEXUAL
86.2	CONDUCT OFFENSE.
86.3	Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to the health-related licensing
86.4	boards, as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, except the Board of Medical Practice;
86.5	the Board of Chiropractic Examiners; the Board of Barber Examiners; the Board of
86.6	Cosmetologist Examiners; and professions credentialed by the Minnesota Department
86.7	of Health: (1) speech-language pathologists and audiologists; (2) hearing instrument
86.8	dispensers; and (3) occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants.
86.9	Subd. 2. Issuing and renewing a credential to practice. (a) Except as provided in
86.10	paragraph (f), a credentialing authority listed in subdivision 1 shall not issue or renew a
86.11	credential to practice to any person who has been convicted on or after August 1, 2011, of
86.12	any of the provisions of section 609.342, subdivision 1; 609.343, subdivision 1; 609.344,
86.13	subdivision 1, paragraphs (c) to (o); or 609.345, subdivision 1, paragraphs (b) to (o).
86.14	(b) A credentialing authority listed in subdivision 1 shall not issue or renew a
86.15	credential to practice to any person who has been convicted in any other state or country on
86.16	or after August 1, 2011, of an offense where the elements of the offense are substantially
86.17	similar to any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a).
86.18	(c) A credential to practice is automatically revoked if the credentialed person is
86.19	convicted of an offense listed in paragraph (a).
86.20	(d) A credential to practice that has been denied or revoked under this section is
86.21	not subject to chapter 364.
86.22	(e) For purposes of this section, "conviction" means a plea of guilty, a verdict of
86.23	guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by the court, unless the court stays imposition or
86.24	execution of the sentence and final disposition of the case is accomplished at a nonfelony
86.25	level.
86.26	(f) A credentialing authority listed in subdivision 1 may establish criteria whereby
86.27	an individual convicted of an offense listed in paragraph (a) of this subdivision may
86.28	become credentialed provided that the criteria:
86.29	(1) utilize a rebuttable presumption that the applicant is not suitable for credentialing;
86.30	(2) provide a standard for overcoming the presumption; and
86.31	(3) require that a minimum of ten years has elapsed since the applicant was released
86.32	from any incarceration or supervisory jurisdiction related to the offense.
86.33	A credentialing authority listed in subdivision 1 shall not consider an application under
86.34	this paragraph if the board determines that the victim involved in the offense was a patient
86.35	or a client of the applicant at the time of the offense.

REVISOR

	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for credentials issued or renewed on
	or after August 1, 2011.
	Sec. 32. [214.108] HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARDS; LICENSEE
	GUIDANCE.
	A health-related licensing board may offer guidance to current licensees about the
	application of laws and rules the board is empowered to enforce. This guidance shall not
	bind any court or other adjudicatory body.
	Sec. 33. [214.109] RECORD KEEPING.
	(a) A board may take administrative action against a regulated person whose records
	do not meet the standards of professional practice. Records that are fraudulent or could
	result in patient harm may be handled through disciplinary or other corrective action.
	(b) For the first offense, a board shall issue a warning to the regulated person that
	identifies the specific record-keeping deficiencies. The board may require the regulated
	person to attend a remedial class.
	(c) For a second offense, a board shall require additional training as determined by
	the board and impose a \$50 penalty on the regulated person.
	(d) For a third offense, a board shall require additional training as determined by the
1	board and impose a \$100 penalty on the regulated person.
	(e) Action under this section shall not be considered disciplinary action.
	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 364.09, is amended to read:
	364.09 EXCEPTIONS.
	(a) This chapter does not apply to the licensing process for peace officers; to law
	enforcement agencies as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f); to fire
	protection agencies; to eligibility for a private detective or protective agent license; to the
	licensing and background study process under chapters 245A and 245C; to eligibility
	for school bus driver endorsements; to eligibility for special transportation service
	endorsements; to eligibility for a commercial driver training instructor license, which is
	governed by section 171.35 and rules adopted under that section; to emergency medical
	services personnel, or to the licensing by political subdivisions of taxicab drivers, if the
	applicant for the license has been discharged from sentence for a conviction within the ten
	years immediately preceding application of a violation of any of the following:
	(1) sections 609.185 to 609.21, 609.221 to 609.223, 609.342 to 609.3451, or 617.23,
	subdivision 2 or 3;

REVISOR

A11-0177

SS/RT

- (2) any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 88.1 88.2 15 years or more; or (3) a violation of chapter 169 or 169A involving driving under the influence, leaving 88.3 the scene of an accident, or reckless or careless driving. 88.4 This chapter also shall not apply to eligibility for juvenile corrections employment, where 88.5 the offense involved child physical or sexual abuse or criminal sexual conduct. 88.6 (b) This chapter does not apply to a school district or to eligibility for a license 88.7 issued or renewed by the Board of Teaching or the commissioner of education. 88.8 (c) Nothing in this section precludes the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers 88.9 88.10 Training Board or the state fire marshal from recommending policies set forth in this chapter to the attorney general for adoption in the attorney general's discretion to apply to 88.11 law enforcement or fire protection agencies. 88.12 (d) This chapter does not apply to a license to practice medicine that has been denied 88.13 or revoked by the Board of Medical Practice pursuant to section 147.091, subdivision 1a. 88.14 88.15 (e) This chapter does not apply to any person who has been denied a license to practice chiropractic or whose license to practice chiropractic has been revoked by the 88.16 board in accordance with section 148.10, subdivision 7. 88.17 (f) This chapter does not apply to a person who has been denied a license to practice 88.18 nursing by the board or whose license has been revoked by the board pursuant to section 88.19 148.192. 88.20 (g) This chapter does not apply to any person who has been denied a credential to 88.21 practice or whose credential to practice has been revoked by a credentialing authority in 88.22 88.23 accordance with section 214.107. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for credentials issued or renewed on 88.24 or after August 1, 2011. 88.25
- 88.26 Sec. 35. Laws 2010, chapter 349, section 1, the effective date, is amended to read:
- 88.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for new licenses issued or renewed
 88.28 on or after August 1, 2010.
- 88.29 Sec. 36. Laws 2010, chapter 349, section 2, the effective date, is amended to read:

88.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for new licenses issued or renewed
88.31 on or after August 1, 2010.

88.32 Sec. 37. <u>**REPORT.**</u>

REVISOR

A11-0177

- The executive directors of the health-related licensing boards shall issue a report to 89.1 89.2 the legislature with recommendations for use of nondisciplinary cease and desist letters which can be issued to licensees when the board receives an allegation against a licensee, 89.3 but the allegation does not rise to the level of a complaint, does not involve patient harm, 89.4 and does not involve fraud. This report shall be issued no later than December 15, 2011. 89.5 Sec. 38. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION. 89.6 In each practice act regulated by a credentialing authority listed in Minnesota 89.7 Statutes, section 214.107, the revisor shall insert the following as either a new section 89.8 or new subdivision: 89.9 Applicants for a credential to practice and individuals renewing a credential to 89.10 89.11 practice are subject to the provisions of the conviction of felony-level criminal sexual conduct offenses in section 214.107. 89.12 89.13 Sec. 39. REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 6310.3100, subpart 2; 6310.3600; and 6310.3700, subpart 89.14 1, are repealed. 89.15 **ARTICLE 4** 89.16 **MISCELLANEOUS** 89.17 89.18 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 3.98, is amended by adding a subdivision 89.19 to read: Subd. 5. Health note. The commissioner of health, in consultation with other state 89.20 agencies, shall develop a report and recommendations for the legislature for a process 89.21 through which a health impact review of proposed legislation may be requested by a 89 22 legislative committee chair to estimate the impact of the proposed legislation on costs of 89.23 health care for public employees, state health care programs, private employers, local 89.24 governments, or Minnesota individuals and families, including costs related to the impact 89.25 of the legislation on the health status of the state or a community. The commissioner 89.26 89.27 may consult with local and private public health organizations and other persons or organizations in the development of the report and recommendations. The report and 89.28 recommendations shall be provided to the legislature by January 15, 2012. 89.29 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 245A.14, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 89.30
- 89.31 Subd. 4. Special family day care homes. Nonresidential child care programs
 89.32 serving 14 or fewer children that are conducted at a location other than the license holder's

SS/RT

90.1 own residence shall be licensed under this section and the rules governing family day90.2 care or group family day care if:

90.3 (a) the license holder is the primary provider of care and the nonresidential child90.4 care program is conducted in a dwelling that is located on a residential lot;

90.5 (b) the license holder is an employer who may or may not be the primary provider 90.6 of care, and the purpose for the child care program is to provide child care services to 90.7 children of the license holder's employees;

90.8

(c) the license holder is a church or religious organization;

90.9 (d) the license holder is a community collaborative child care provider. For
90.10 purposes of this subdivision, a community collaborative child care provider is a provider
90.11 participating in a cooperative agreement with a community action agency as defined in
90.12 section 256E.31; or

90.13 (e) the license holder is a not-for-profit agency that provides child care in a dwelling
90.14 located on a residential lot and the license holder maintains two or more contracts with
90.15 community employers or other community organizations to provide child care services.
90.16 The county licensing agency may grant a capacity variance to a license holder licensed
90.17 under this paragraph to exceed the licensed capacity of 14 children by no more than five
90.18 children during transition periods related to the work schedules of parents, if the license
90.19 holder meets the following requirements:

90.20 (1) the program does not exceed a capacity of 14 children more than a cumulative90.21 total of four hours per day;

90.22 (2) the program meets a one to seven staff-to-child ratio during the variance period;

90.23 (3) all employees receive at least an extra four hours of training per year than
90.24 required in the rules governing family child care each year;

90.25 (4) the facility has square footage required per child under Minnesota Rules, part
90.26 9502.0425;

90.27 (5) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;

90.28 (6) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:

90.29 (i) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age,
90.30 but no more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is
90.31 educational occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State
90.32 Fire Code 2003, Section 202; or

90.33 (ii) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the
90.34 applicable fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies, as provided in the Minnesota State Fire
90.35 Code 2003, Section 202; and

91.1

91.2

91.3

91.4

91.5

91.6

91.7

91.8

91.9

91.10

91.11

91.12

91.13

91.14

91.15

91.16

91.17

91.18

91.19

91.20

91.21

91.22

91.23

91.24

91.25

91.26

91.27

91.28

91.29

91.30

91.31

91.32

91.33

A11-0177

SS/RT

(7) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square
footage determinations shall be printed on the license.; or
(f) the license holder is the primary provider of care and has located the licensed
child care program in a commercial space, if the license holder meets the following
requirements:
(1) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;
(2) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:
(i) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age,
but no more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is
educational occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State
Fire Code 2003, Section 202; or
(ii) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the
applicable fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies, as provided under the Minnesota State Fire
<u>Code 2003, Section 202;</u>
(3) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square
footage determinations are printed on the license; and
(4) the license holder prominently displays the license issued by the commissioner
which contains the statement "This special family child care provider is not licensed as a
child care center."
Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:
Subd. 33. Combined application form; referral of veterans. The commissioner
shall modify the combined application form to add a question asking applicants: "Are
you a United States military veteran?" The commissioner shall ensure that all applicants
who identify themselves as veterans are referred to a county veterans service officer for
assistance in applying to the United States Department of Veterans Affairs for any benefits
for which they may be eligible.
Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.14, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:
Subd. 3a. Spousal contribution. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the following
terms have the meanings given:
(1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of human services;
(2) "community spouse" means the spouse, who lives in the community, of an

91.34 <u>individual receiving long-term care services in a long-term care facility or home care</u>

A11-0177

92.1	services pursuant to the Medicaid waiver for elderly services under section 256B.0915
92.2	or the alternative care program under section 256B.0913. A community spouse does not
92.3	include a spouse living in the community who receives a monthly income allowance
92.4	under section 256B.058, subdivision 2, or who receives home care services or home
92.5	and community-based services under section 256B.0915, 256B.092, or 256B.49, or the
92.6	alternative care program under section 256B.0913;
92.7	(3) "cost of care" means the actual fee-for-service costs or capitated payments for
92.8	the long-term care spouse;
92.9	(4) "department" means the Department of Human Services;
92.10	(5) "disabled child" means a blind or permanently and totally disabled son or
92.11	daughter of any age as defined in the Supplemental Security Income program or the state
92.12	medical review team;
92.13	(6) "income" means earned and unearned income, attributable to the community
92.14	spouse, used to calculate the adjusted gross income on the prior year's income tax return.
92.15	Evidence of income includes, but is not limited to, W-2 and 1099 forms; and
92.16	(7) "long-term care spouse" means the spouse who is receiving long-term care
92.17	services in a long-term care facility or home care services pursuant to the Medicaid
92.18	waiver for elderly services under section 256B.0915 or the alternative care program under
92.19	section 256B.0913.
92.20	(b) The community spouse of a long-term care spouse who receives medical
92.21	assistance or alternative care services has an obligation to contribute to the cost of care.
92.22	The community spouse must pay a monthly fee on a sliding fee scale based on the
92.23	community spouse's income. If a minor or disabled child resides with and receives care
92.24	from the community spouse, then no fee shall be assessed.
92.25	(c) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 250 percent of
92.26	the federal poverty guidelines for a family of two and less than 545 percent of the federal
92.27	poverty guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be determined using
92.28	a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner that begins at 7.5 percent of the
92.29	community spouse's income and increases to 15 percent for those with an income of up to
92.30	545 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for a family of two.
92.31	(d) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 545 percent of
92.32	the federal poverty guidelines for a family of two and less than 750 percent of the federal
92.33	poverty guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be determined using
92.34	a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner that begins at 15 percent of the
92.35	community spouse's income and increases to 25 percent for those with an income of up to
92.36	750 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for a family of two.

SS/RT

93.1	(e) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 750 percent of
93.2	the federal poverty guidelines for a family of two and less than 975 percent of the federal
93.3	poverty guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be determined using
93.4	a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner that begins at 25 percent of the
93.5	community spouse's income and increases to 33 percent for those with an income of up to
93.6	975 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for a family of two.
93.7	(f) For a community spouse with an income equal to or greater than 975 percent of
93.8	the federal poverty guidelines for a family of two, the spousal contribution shall be 33
93.9	percent of the community spouse's income.
93.10	(g) The spousal contribution shall be explained in writing at the time eligibility for
93.11	medical assistance or alternative care is being determined. In addition to explaining the
93.12	formula used to determine the fee, the commissioner shall provide written information
93.13	describing how to request a variance for undue hardship, how a contribution may be
93.14	reviewed or redetermined, the right to appeal a contribution determination, and that
93.15	the consequences for not complying with a request to provide information shall be an
93.16	assessment against the community spouse for the full cost of care for the long-term care
93.17	spouse.
93.18	(h) The contribution shall be assessed for each month the long-term care spouse
93.19	has a community spouse and is eligible for medical assistance payment of long-term
93.20	care services or alternative care.
93.21	(i) The spousal contribution shall be reviewed at least once every 12 months and
93.22	when there is a loss or gain in income in excess of ten percent. Thirty days prior to a
93.23	review or redetermination, written notice must be provided to the community spouse
93.24	and must contain the amount the spouse is required to contribute, notice of the right to
93.25	redetermination and appeal, and the telephone number of the division at the department
93.26	that is responsible for redetermination and review. If, after review, the contribution amount
93.27	is to be adjusted, the commissioner shall mail a written notice to the community spouse 30
93.28	days in advance of the effective date of the change in the amount of the contribution.
93.29	(1) The spouse shall notify the commissioner within 30 days of a gain or loss in
93.30	income in excess of ten percent and provide the department supporting documentation to
93.31	verify the need for redetermination of the fee.
93.32	(2) When a spouse requests a review or redetermination of the contribution amount,
93.33	a request for information shall be sent to the spouse within ten calendar days after the
93.34	commissioner receives the request for review.
93.35	(3) No action shall be taken on a review or redetermination until the required

93.36 <u>information is received by the commissioner.</u>

(4) The review of the spousal contribution shall be completed within ten days after 94.1 94.2 the commissioner receives completed information that verifies a loss or gain in income in excess of ten percent. 94.3 (5) An increase in the contribution amount is effective in the month in which the 94.4 increase in spousal income occurs. 94.5 (6) A decrease in the contribution amount is effective in the month the spouse 94.6 verifies the reduction in income, retroactive to no longer than six months. 94.7 (j) In no case shall the spousal contribution exceed the amount of medical assistance 94.8 expended or the cost of alternative care services for the care of the long-term care spouse. 94.9 Annually, upon redetermination, or at termination of eligibility, the total amount of 94.10 medical assistance paid or costs of alternative care for the care of the long-term care spouse 94.11 and the total amount of the spousal contribution shall be compared. If the total amount of 94.12 the spousal contribution exceeds the total amount of medical assistance expended or cost 94.13 of alternative care, then the department shall reimburse the community spouse the excess 94.14 94.15 amount if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or apply the excess amount to the spousal contribution due until the excess amount is exhausted. 94.16 (k) A community spouse may request a variance by submitting a written request 94.17 94.18 and supporting documentation that payment of the calculated contribution would cause an undue hardship. An undue hardship is defined as the inability to pay the calculated 94.19 contribution due to medical expenses incurred by the community spouse. Documentation 94.20 must include proof of medical expenses incurred by the community spouse since the last 94.21 annual redetermination of the contribution amount that are not reimbursable by any public 94.22 or private source, and are a type, regardless of amount, that would be allowable as a 94.23 94.24 federal tax deduction under the Internal Revenue Code. (1) A spouse who requests a variance from a notice of an increase in the amount 94.25 of spousal contribution shall continue to make monthly payments at the lower amount 94.26 pending determination of the variance request. A spouse who requests a variance from 94.27 the initial determination shall not be required to make a payment pending determination 94.28 of the variance request. Payments made pending outcome of the variance request that 94.29 result in overpayment must be returned to the spouse, if the community spouse is no 94.30 longer receiving services, or applied to the spousal contribution in the current year. If the 94.31 variance is denied, the spouse shall pay the additional amount due from the effective date 94.32 of the increase or the total amount due from the effective date of the original notice of 94.33 determination of the spousal contribution. 94.34

952 spouse agrees to report to the commissioner any changes in circumstances that gave rise 953 to the undue hardship variance. 954 (3) When the commissioner receives a request for a variance, written notice of a 955 grant or denial of the variance shall be mailed to the spouse within 30 calendar days 956 after the commissioner receives the financial information required in this clause. The 957 granting of a variance will necessitate a written agreement between the spouse and the 958 commissioner with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not 959 become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner 9510 denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in 9511 writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal. 9512 (4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months 9513 unless otherwise determined by the commissioner. 9514 (5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or 9514 (1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal 9517 gapeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to	95.1	(2) A spouse who is granted a variance shall sign a written agreement in which the
954(3) When the commissioner receives a request for a variance, written notice of a grant or denial of the variance shall be mailed to the spouse within 30 calendar days after the commissioner receives the financial information required in this clause. The granting of a variance will necessitate a written agreement between the spouse and the commissioner with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal. (4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spouse if the commissioner's order.95.2(m) If the commissioner's order.95.3(m) If the commissioner's order.95.4(m) If the commissioner's order.95.2(m) If the commissioner's order.95.3(m) If the commissioner's order.95.4(m) If the commissioner's order.95.2(m) If the commissioner's order.	95.2	spouse agrees to report to the commissioner any changes in circumstances that gave rise
95.5grant or denial of the variance shall be mailed to the spouse within 30 calendar days after the commissioner receives the financial information required in this clause. The granting of a variance will necessitate a written agreement between the spouse and the commissioner with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal. (4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.13(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in the spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spouse if the commissioner's order.95.24(m) If the commissioner's order.95.25(m) If the commissioner's order.95.26(m) If the commissioner's order.95.27(m) If the commissioner's order.95.28(m) If the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the	95.3	to the undue hardship variance.
95.6after the commissioner receives the financial information required in this clause. The granting of a variance will necessitate a written agreement between the spouse and the commissioner with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal. (4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.13(1) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spouse is affirmed, the commissioner's order.95.22(m) If the commissioner's order.95.23(m) If the commissioner's order.95.24(m) If the commissioner's order.95.25(m) If the commissioner's order. <td>95.4</td> <td>(3) When the commissioner receives a request for a variance, written notice of a</td>	95.4	(3) When the commissioner receives a request for a variance, written notice of a
957granting of a variance will necessitate a written agreement between the spouse and the958commissioner with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not959become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner9510denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in9511writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal.9512(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months9513unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.9514(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or9514(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal9517under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in9518the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the9519lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination9522of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an9523appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the9524spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the9525spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer neceiving services, or applied to the9526spouse if the commissioner's order.9527(m) If the commissioner's order, is binding on the spouse and the department and9528shall be imp	95.5	grant or denial of the variance shall be mailed to the spouse within 30 calendar days
95.8commissioner with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not95.9become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner95.10denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in95.11writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal.95.12(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months95.13unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or95.15diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal95.17under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23affirmed, the commissioner's order.95.24affirmed the commissioner's order.95.25required to enfore the commissioner's order.95.26for the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total <tr< td=""><td>95.6</td><td>after the commissioner receives the financial information required in this clause. The</td></tr<>	95.6	after the commissioner receives the financial information required in this clause. The
95.9become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner95.10denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in95.11writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal.95.12(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months95.13unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or95.15diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal95.17under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.24amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.25contribution. The commissioner's order.95.26(m) If the commissioner's order.95.27(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.28the community spouse and the spouse was determi	95.7	granting of a variance will necessitate a written agreement between the spouse and the
95.10denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal.95.11(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.13(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spouse if the long-term care spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal contribution. The commissioner's order.95.27(m) If the commissioner indix that notice of the payment obligation was given to the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the assistance toget	95.8	commissioner with regard to the specific terms of the variance. The variance will not
95.11writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal,95.12(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months95.13unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or95.15diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal95.17under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order.95.27(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.28the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.29(m)	95.9	become effective until the written agreement is signed by the spouse. If the commissioner
95.12(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months95.13unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or95.15diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal95.17under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order.95.27(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.28the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for tha	95.10	denies in whole or in part the request for a variance, the denial notice shall set forth in
95.13unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or95.15diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal95.17under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.26contribution. The commissioner's order.95.27(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.38the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33care s	95.11	writing the reasons for the denial that address the specific hardship and right to appeal.
95.14(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or95.15diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(I) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal95.17under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order.95.27(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33eare services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action ma	95.12	(4) If a variance is granted, the term of the variance shall not exceed 12 months
95.15diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.95.16(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal95.17under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care se	95.13	unless otherwise determined by the commissioner.
(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order. (m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.14	(5) Undue hardship does not include action taken by a spouse which divested or
 under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order. (m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the 	95.15	diverted income in order to avoid being assessed a spousal contribution.
95.18the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the	95.16	(1) A spouse aggrieved by an action under this subdivision has the right to appeal
95.19lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the95.35assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.17	under subdivision 4. If the spouse appeals on or before the effective date of an increase in
95.20of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.32spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.33for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the95.35assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.18	the spousal fee, the spouse shall continue to make payments to the commissioner in the
95.21appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the	95.19	lower amount while the appeal is pending. A spouse appealing an initial determination
95.22spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the95.35assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.20	of a spousal contribution shall not be required to make monthly payments pending an
95.23spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the95.35assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.21	appeal decision. Payments made that result in an overpayment shall be reimbursed to the
95.24affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total95.25amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal95.26contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and95.27shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the95.35assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.22	spouse if the long-term care spouse is no longer receiving services, or applied to the
 amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order. (m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.23	spousal contribution remaining in the current year. If the commissioner's determination is
 95.26 contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and 95.27 shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is 95.28 required to enforce the commissioner's order. 95.29 (m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to 95.30 the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the 95.31 spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse 95.32 for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative 95.33 care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may 95.34 be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the 95.35 assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.24	affirmed, the community spouse shall pay within 90 calendar days of the order the total
 shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is required to enforce the commissioner's order. (m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.25	amount due from the effective date of the original notice of determination of the spousal
95.28required to enforce the commissioner's order.95.29(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to95.30the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the95.31spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse95.32for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative95.33care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may95.34be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the95.35assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.26	contribution. The commissioner's order is binding on the spouse and the department and
 (m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.27	shall be implemented subject to section 256.045, subdivision 7. No additional notice is
95.30 the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the 95.31 spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse 95.32 for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative 95.33 care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may 95.34 be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the 95.35 assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition	95.28	required to enforce the commissioner's order.
 95.31 spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse 95.32 for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative 95.33 care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may 95.34 be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the 95.35 assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.29	(m) If the commissioner finds that notice of the payment obligation was given to
 for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.30	the community spouse and the spouse was determined to be able to pay, but that the
 95.33 care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may 95.34 be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the 95.35 assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.31	spouse failed or refused to pay, a cause of action exists against the community spouse
 95.34 be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the 95.35 assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition 	95.32	for that portion of medical assistance payment of long-term care services or alternative
95.35 <u>assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition</u>	95.33	care services granted after notice was given to the community spouse. The action may
	95.34	be brought by the commissioner in the county where assistance was granted for the
95.36 to granting the commissioner a money judgment, the court may, upon a motion or order to	95.35	assistance together with the costs of disbursements incurred due to the action. In addition
	95.36	to granting the commissioner a money judgment, the court may, upon a motion or order to

REVISOR

96.1 <u>show cause, order continuing contributions by a community spouse found able to repay</u>

96.2 the commissioner. The order shall be effective only for the period of time during which

- 96.3 <u>a contribution shall be assessed.</u>
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 326B.175, is amended to read: 96.4 326B.175 ELEVATORS, ENTRANCES SEALED. 96.5 Except as provided in section 326B.188, it shall be the duty of the department and 96.6 the licensing authority of any municipality which adopts any such ordinance whenever 96.7 it finds any such elevator under its jurisdiction in use in violation of any provision of 96.8 sections 326B.163 to 326B.178 to seal the entrances of such elevator and attach a notice 96.9 96.10 forbidding the use of such elevator until the provisions thereof are complied with. Sec. 6. [326B.188] COMPLIANCE WITH ELEVATOR CODE CHANGES. 96.11 (a) This section applies to code requirements for existing elevators and related 96.12 devices under Minnesota Rules, chapter 1307, where the deadline set by law for meeting 96.13 96.14 the code requirements is January 29, 2012, or later. (b) If the department or municipality conducting elevator inspections within its 96.15 jurisdiction notifies the owner of an existing elevator or related device of the code 96.16 96.17 requirements before the effective date of this section, the owner may submit a compliance plan by December 30, 2011. If the department or municipality does not notify the owner 96.18 of an existing elevator or related device of the code requirements before the effective 96.19 date of this section, the department or municipality shall notify the owner of the code 96.20 requirements and permit the owner to submit a compliance plan by December 30, 2011, or 96.21 within 60 days after the date of notification, whichever is later. 96.22
- 96.23 (c) Any compliance plan submitted under this section must result in compliance with
 96.24 the code requirements by the later of January 29, 2012, or three years after submission of
 96.25 the compliance plan. Elevators and related devices that are not in compliance with the
 96.26 code requirements by the later of January 29, 2012, or three years after the submission of
- 96.27 <u>the compliance plan may be taken out of service as provided in section 326B.175.</u>
- 96.28

Sec. 7. DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITY WAIVERED SERVICES.

96.29 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> Purpose. <u>All individuals in the state of Minnesota who are eligible</u>
96.30 <u>for developmental disability waivered services are entitled to receive adequate services,</u>
96.31 <u>within the limits of available funding, to ensure their basic needs for housing, food, health,</u>
96.32 and safety are met.

97.1	Subd. 2. Instructions to commissioner. (a) No later than November 1, 2011,
97.2	the commissioner of human services shall convene a workgroup to define the essential
97.3	services required to adequately meet the needs of individuals who receive developmental
97.4	disability waivered services. The commissioner shall identify the essential services in
97.5	each of the following tiers:
97.6	(1) tier 1, services and costs associated with safety, food, housing, and health care;
97.7	(2) tier 2, services and costs associated with enhancements toward self-sufficiency;
97.8	and
97.9	(3) tier 3, services and costs associated with quality of life improvements.
97.10	(b) The commissioner, or designee, and a representative designated by the counties
97.11	shall cochair the workgroup. The workgroup shall consider Tier 1 services to be the most
97.12	important and of highest priority for available funds, and may choose to implement a policy
97.13	that all waiver-eligible individuals receive Tier 1 services within the limits of available
97.14	funding before services from Tier 2 or 3 are offered to waiver-eligible individuals.
97.15	Sec. 8. INSTRUCTIONS TO COMMISSIONER.
97.16	To offset the cost of implementing Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.14, subdivision
97.17	3a, the commissioner of human services shall collect from each county its proportionate
97.18	share of the cost based on population of the county. At the end of each fiscal year, the
97.19	commissioner shall divide ten percent of all collections made under Minnesota Statutes,
97.20	section 256B.14, subdivision 3a, between the counties based on the population of the
97.21	<u>county.</u>
97.22	Sec. 9. LEGISLATIVE APPROVAL FOR FEDERAL FUNDS.
97.23	The commissioners of human services and health shall not expend any funding
97.24	received through federal grants or subsequent renewal of federal grants without the
97.25	approval of three of the four chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
97.26	committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance.
97.27	ARTICLE 5
97.28	HEALTH LICENSING FEES
71.20	
97.29	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
97.30	Subdivision 1. Renewal fees. All persons practicing chiropractic within this state,
97.31	or licensed so to do, shall pay, on or before the date of expiration of their licenses, to the
97.32	Board of Chiropractic Examiners a renewal fee set by the board in accordance with section
97.33	16A.1283, with a penalty set by the board for each month or portion thereof for which a

- 98.1 license fee is in arrears and upon payment of the renewal and upon compliance with all the98.2 rules of the board, shall be entitled to renewal of their license.
- 98.3 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.108, is amended by adding a subdivision
 98.4 to read:
- 98.5Subd. 4. Animal chiropractic. (a) Animal chiropractic registration fee is \$125.98.6(b) Animal chiropractic registration renewal fee is \$75.
- 98.7 (c) Animal chiropractic inactive renewal fee is \$25.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.191, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 98.8 Subd. 2. Powers. (a) The board is authorized to adopt and, from time to time, revise 98.9 rules not inconsistent with the law, as may be necessary to enable it to carry into effect the 98.10 provisions of sections 148.171 to 148.285. The board shall prescribe by rule curricula 98.11 and standards for schools and courses preparing persons for licensure under sections 98.12 98.13 148.171 to 148.285. It shall conduct or provide for surveys of such schools and courses at such times as it may deem necessary. It shall approve such schools and courses as 98.14 meet the requirements of sections 148.171 to 148.285 and board rules. It shall examine, 98.15 98.16 license, and renew the license of duly qualified applicants. It shall hold examinations at least once in each year at such time and place as it may determine. It shall by rule 98.17 adopt, evaluate, and periodically revise, as necessary, requirements for licensure and for 98.18 registration and renewal of registration as defined in section 148.231. It shall maintain a 98.19 record of all persons licensed by the board to practice professional or practical nursing and 98.20 98.21 all registered nurses who hold Minnesota licensure and registration and are certified as advanced practice registered nurses. It shall cause the prosecution of all persons violating 98.22 sections 148.171 to 148.285 and have power to incur such necessary expense therefor. 98.23 98.24 It shall register public health nurses who meet educational and other requirements established by the board by rule, including payment of a fee. Prior to the adoption of rules, 98.25 the board shall use the same procedures used by the Department of Health to certify public 98.26 health nurses. It shall have power to issue subpoenas, and to compel the attendance of 98.27 witnesses and the production of all necessary documents and other evidentiary material. 98.28 Any board member may administer oaths to witnesses, or take their affirmation. It shall 98.29 keep a record of all its proceedings. 98.30

(b) The board shall have access to hospital, nursing home, and other medical records
of a patient cared for by a nurse under review. If the board does not have a written consent
from a patient permitting access to the patient's records, the nurse or facility shall delete
any data in the record that identifies the patient before providing it to the board. The board

SS/RT

- shall have access to such other records as reasonably requested by the board to assist the
 board in its investigation. Nothing herein may be construed to allow access to any records
 protected by section 145.64. The board shall maintain any records obtained pursuant to
 this paragraph as investigative data under chapter 13.
- 99.5 (c) The board may accept and expend grants or gifts of money or in-kind services
 99.6 from a person, a public or private entity, or any other source for purposes consistent with
 99.7 the board's role and within the scope of its statutory authority.
- 99.8 (d) The board may accept registration fees for meetings and conferences conducted
 99.9 for the purposes of board activities that are within the scope of its authority.

99.10 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.212, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
99.11 Subdivision 1. Issuance. Upon receipt of the applicable licensure or reregistration
99.12 fee and permit fee, and in accordance with rules of the board, the board may issue
99.13 a nonrenewable temporary permit to practice professional or practical nursing to an
99.14 applicant for licensure or reregistration who is not the subject of a pending investigation
99.15 or disciplinary action, nor disqualified for any other reason, under the following
99.16 circumstances:

- 99.17 (a) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
 99.18 1, has graduated from an approved nursing program within the 60 days preceding board
 99.19 receipt of an affidavit of graduation or transcript and has been authorized by the board to
 99.20 write the licensure examination for the first time in the United States. The permit holder
 99.21 must practice professional or practical nursing under the direct supervision of a registered
 99.22 nurse. The permit is valid from the date of issue until the date the board takes action on
 99.23 the application or for 60 days whichever occurs first.
- (b) The applicant for licensure by endorsement under section 148.211, subdivision 2,
 is currently licensed to practice professional or practical nursing in another state, territory,
 or Canadian province. The permit is valid from submission of a proper request until the
 date of board action on the application or for 60 days, whichever comes first.
- 99.28 (c) (b) The applicant for licensure by endorsement under section 148.211,
 99.29 subdivision 2, or for reregistration under section 148.231, subdivision 5, is currently
 99.30 registered in a formal, structured refresher course or its equivalent for nurses that includes
 99.31 clinical practice.

99.32 (d) The applicant for licensure by examination under section 148.211, subdivision
99.33 1, who graduated from a nursing program in a country other than the United States or
99.34 Canada has completed all requirements for licensure except registering for and taking the
99.35 nurse licensure examination for the first time in the United States. The permit holder must

- A11-0177
- practice professional nursing under the direct supervision of a registered nurse. The permit
 is valid from the date of issue until the date the board takes action on the application or for
- 100.3 60 days, whichever occurs first.
- 100.4 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148.231, is amended to read:

100.5 148.231 REGISTRATION; FAILURE TO REGISTER; REREGISTRATION; 100.6 VERIFICATION.

100.7 Subdivision 1. **Registration.** Every person licensed to practice professional or 100.8 practical nursing must maintain with the board a current registration for practice as a 100.9 registered nurse or licensed practical nurse which must be renewed at regular intervals 100.10 established by the board by rule. No certificate of registration shall be issued by the board 100.11 to a nurse until the nurse has submitted satisfactory evidence of compliance with the 100.12 procedures and minimum requirements established by the board.

The fee for periodic registration for practice as a nurse shall be determined by the board by <u>rule_law</u>. A penalty fee shall be added for any application received after the required date as specified by the board by rule. Upon receipt of the application and the required fees, the board shall verify the application and the evidence of completion of continuing education requirements in effect, and thereupon issue to the nurse a certificate of registration for the next renewal period.

100.19 Subd. 4. **Failure to register.** Any person licensed under the provisions of sections 100.20 148.171 to 148.285 who fails to register within the required period shall not be entitled to 100.21 practice nursing in this state as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse.

Subd. 5. **Reregistration.** A person whose registration has lapsed desiring to resume practice shall make application for reregistration, submit satisfactory evidence of compliance with the procedures and requirements established by the board, and pay the registration reregistration fee for the current period to the board. A penalty fee shall be required from a person who practiced nursing without current registration. Thereupon, the registration certificate shall be issued to the person who shall immediately be placed on the practicing list as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse.

Subd. 6. Verification. A person licensed under the provisions of sections 148.171 to 100.30 148.285 who requests the board to verify a Minnesota license to another state, territory, or country or to an agency, facility, school, or institution shall pay a fee to the board for each verification.

100.33 Sec. 6. [148.242] FEES.

03/21/11 07:39 AM REVISOR SS/RT A11-0177 The fees specified in section 148.243 are nonrefundable and must be deposited in 101.1 101.2 the state government special revenue fund. 101.3 Sec. 7. [148.243] FEE AMOUNTS. Subdivision 1. Licensure by examination. The fee for licensure by examination is 101.4 \$105. 101.5 Subd. 2. Reexamination fee. The reexamination fee is \$60. 101.6 Subd. 3. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by endorsement is \$105. 101.7 Subd. 4. Registration renewal. The fee for registration renewal is \$85. 101.8 101.9 Subd. 5. Reregistration. The fee for reregistration is \$145. Subd. 6. Replacement license. The fee for a replacement license is \$20. 101.10 101.11 Subd. 7. Public health nurse certification. The fee for public health nurse 101.12 certification is \$30. Subd. 8. Drug Enforcement Administration verification for Advanced Practice 101.13 101.14 **Registered Nurse (APRN).** The Drug Enforcement Administration verification for APRN is \$50. 101.15 Subd. 9. Licensure verification other than through Nursys. The fee for 101.16 101.17 verification of licensure status other than through Nursys verification is \$20. Subd. 10. Verification of examination scores. The fee for verification of 101.18 101.19 examination scores is \$20. Subd. 11. Microfilmed licensure application materials. The fee for a copy of 101.20 microfilmed licensure application materials is \$20. 101.21 101.22 Subd. 12. Nursing business registration; initial application. The fee for the initial 101.23 application for nursing business registration is \$100. Subd. 13. Nursing business registration; annual application. The fee for the 101.24 101.25 annual application for nursing business registration is \$25. Subd. 14. Practicing without current registration. The fee for practicing without 101.26 current registration is two times the amount of the current registration renewal fee for any 101.27 part of the first calendar month, plus the current registration renewal fee for any part of 101.28 any subsequent month up to 24 months. 101.29 Subd. 15. Practicing without current APRN certification. The fee for practicing 101.30 without current APRN certification is \$200 for the first month or any part thereof, plus 101.31 \$100 for each subsequent month or part thereof. 101.32 Subd. 16. Dishonored check fee. The service fee for a dishonored check is as 101.33 provided in section 604.113. 101.34

102.1	Subd. 17. Border state registry fee. The initial application fee for border state
102.2	registration is \$50. Any subsequent notice of employment change to remain or be
102.3	reinstated on the registry is \$50.
102.4	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.17, is amended to read:
102.5	148B.17 FEES.
102.6	Subdivision. 1. Fees; Board of Marriage and Family Therapy. Each board shall
102.7	by rule establish The board's fees, including late fees, for licenses and renewals are
102.8	established so that the total fees collected by the board will as closely as possible equal
102.9	anticipated expenditures during the fiscal biennium, as provided in section 16A.1285.
102.10	Fees must be credited to accounts the board's account in the state government special
102.11	revenue fund.
102.12	Subd. 2. Licensure and application fees. Nonrefundable licensure and application
102.13	fees charged by the board are as follows:
102.14	(1) application fee for national examination is \$220;
102.15	(2) application fee for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) state
102.16	examination is \$110;
102.17	(3) initial LMFT license fee is prorated, but cannot exceed \$125;
102.18	(4) annual renewal fee for LMFT license is \$125;
102.19	(5) late fee for initial Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist LAMFT
102.20	license renewal is \$50;
102.21	(6) application fee for LMFT licensure by reciprocity is \$340;
102.22	(7) fee for initial Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT)
102.23	license is \$75;
102.24	(8) annual renewal fee for LAMFT license is \$75;
102.25	(9) late fee for LAMFT renewal is \$50;
102.26	(10) fee for reinstatement of license is \$150; and
102.27	(11) fee for emeritus status is \$125.
102.28	Subd. 3. Other fees. Other fees charged by the board are as follows:
102.29	(1) sponsor application fee for approval of a continuing education course is \$60;
102.30	(2) fee for license verification by mail is \$10;
102.31	(3) duplicate license fee is \$25;
102.32	(4) duplicate renewal card fee is \$10;
102.33	(5) fee for licensee mailing list is \$60;
102.34	(6) fee for a rule book is \$10; and
102.35	(7) fees as authorized by section 148B.175, subdivision 6, clause (7).

103.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.33, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Fee. Each applicant shall pay a nonrefundable application fee set by
 the board under section 148B.17.

103.4 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 148B.52, is amended to read:

103.5

148B.52 DUTIES OF THE BOARD.

103.6 (a) The Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy shall:

103.7 (1) establish by rule appropriate techniques, including examinations and other
103.8 methods, for determining whether applicants and licensees are qualified under sections
103.9 148B.50 to 148B.593;

(2) establish by rule standards for professional conduct, including adoption of a
Code of Professional Ethics and requirements for continuing education and supervision;
(3) issue licenses to individuals qualified under sections 148B.50 to 148B.593;

(4) establish by rule standards for initial education including coursework for

103.14 licensure and content of professional education;

103.15 (5) establish, maintain, and publish annually a register of current licensees and103.16 approved supervisors;

(6) establish initial and renewal application and examination fees sufficient to cover
 operating expenses of the board and its agents in accordance with section 16A.1283;

(7) educate the public about the existence and content of the laws and rules for
licensed professional counselors to enable consumers to file complaints against licensees
who may have violated the rules; and

(8) periodically evaluate its rules in order to refine the standards for licensing
professional counselors and to improve the methods used to enforce the board's standards.
(b) The board may appoint a professional discipline committee for each occupational
licensure regulated by the board, and may appoint a board member as chair. The
professional discipline committee shall consist of five members representative of the
licensed occupation and shall provide recommendations to the board with regard to rule
techniques, standards, procedures, and related issues specific to the licensed occupation.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.091, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 Subd. 2. Application fees. Each applicant shall submit with a license, advanced
 dental therapist certificate, or permit application a nonrefundable fee in the following
 amounts in order to administratively process an application:

103.33 (1) dentist, \$140;

103.34 (2) full faculty dentist, \$140;

REVISOR

- 104.1 (2) (3) limited faculty dentist, \$140;
- 104.2 (3) (4) resident dentist or dental provider, \$55;
- 104.3 (5) advanced dental therapist, \$100;
- 104.4 (4) (6) dental therapist, \$100;
- 104.5 (5)(7) dental hygienist, \$55;
- 104.6 (6) (8) licensed dental assistant, \$55; and

104.7 (7) (9) dental assistant with a permit as described in Minnesota Rules, part

104.8 3100.8500, subpart 3, \$15.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.091, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Initial license or permit fees. Along with the application fee, each of the
following applicants shall submit a separate prorated initial license or permit fee. The
prorated initial fee shall be established by the board based on the number of months of the
applicant's initial term as described in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.1700, subpart 1a, not to
exceed the following monthly fee amounts:

- 104.15 (1) dentist or full faculty dentist, \$14 times the number of months of the initial term;
- 104.16 (2) dental therapist, \$10 times the number of months of the initial term;
- 104.17 (3) dental hygienist, \$5 times the number of months of the initial term;
- 104.18 (4) licensed dental assistant, \$3 times the number of months of the initial term; and
- 104.19 (5) dental assistant with a permit as described in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.8500,

104.20 subpart 3, \$1 times the number of months of the initial term.

- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.091, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 Subd. 4. Annual license fees. Each limited faculty or resident dentist shall submit
 with an annual license renewal application a fee established by the board not to exceed
 the following amounts:
- 104.25 (1) limited faculty dentist, \$168; and
- 104.26 (2) resident dentist or dental provider, \$59.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.091, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
 Subd. 5. Biennial license or permit fees. Each of the following applicants shall
 submit with a biennial license or permit renewal application a fee as established by the
 board, not to exceed the following amounts:
- 104.31 (1) dentist or full faculty dentist, \$336;
- 104.32 (2) dental therapist, \$180;
- 104.33 (3) dental hygienist, \$118;

105.1 (4) licensed dental assistant, \$80; and

105.2 (5) dental assistant with a permit as described in Minnesota Rules, part 3100.8500,
105.3 subpart 3, \$24.

105.4 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.091, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Duplicate license or certificate fee. Each applicant shall submit, with
a request for issuance of a duplicate of the original license, or of an annual or biennial
renewal certificate for a license or permit, a fee in the following amounts:

- 105.8 (1) original dentist, <u>full faculty dentist</u>, dental therapist, dental hygiene, or dental
 105.9 assistant license, \$35; and
- 105.10 (2) annual or biennial renewal certificates, \$10.

105.11 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 150A.091, is amended by adding a

105.12 subdivision to read:

105.13Subd. 16. Failure of professional development portfolio audit. A licensee shall

105.14 submit a fee as established by the board not to exceed the amount of \$250 after failing

105.15 two consecutive professional development portfolio audits and, thereafter, for each failed

- 105.16 professional development portfolio audit under Minnesota Rules, part 3100.5300.
- 105.17 Sec. 17. [151.065] FEE AMOUNTS.

105.18 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Application fees.</u> <u>Application fees for licensure and registration</u>
 105.19 are as follows:

- 105.20 (1) pharmacist licensed by examination, \$130;
- 105.21 (2) pharmacist licensed by reciprocity, \$225;
- 105.22 (3) pharmacy intern, \$30;
- 105.23 <u>(4) pharmacy technician, \$30;</u>
- 105.24 <u>(5) pharmacy, \$190;</u>
- 105.25 (6) drug wholesaler, legend drugs only, \$200;
- 105.26 (7) drug wholesaler, legend and nonlegend drugs, \$200;
- 105.27 (8) drug wholesaler, nonlegend drugs, veterinary legend drugs, or both, \$175;
- 105.28 (9) drug wholesaler, medical gases, \$150;
- 105.29 (10) drug wholesaler, also licensed as a pharmacy in Minnesota, \$125;
- 105.30 (11) drug manufacturer, legend drugs only, \$200;
- 105.31 (12) drug manufacturer, legend and nonlegend drugs, \$200;
- 105.32 (13) drug manufacturer, nonlegend or veterinary legend drugs, \$175;
- 105.33 (14) drug manufacturer, medical gases, \$150;

REVISOR

106.1	(15) drug manufacturer, also licensed as a pharmacy in Minnesota, \$125;
106.2	(16) medical gas distributor, \$75;
106.3	(17) controlled substance researcher, \$50; and
106.4	(18) pharmacy professional corporation, \$100.
106.5	Subd. 2. Original license fee. The pharmacist original licensure fee, \$130.
106.6	Subd. 3. Annual renewal fees. Annual licensure and registration renewal fees
106.7	are as follows:
106.8	(1) pharmacist, \$130;
106.9	(2) pharmacy technician, \$30;
106.10	(3) pharmacy, \$190;
106.11	(4) drug wholesaler, legend drugs only, \$200;
106.12	(5) drug wholesaler, legend and nonlegend drugs, \$200;
106.13	(6) drug wholesaler, nonlegend drugs, veterinary legend drugs, or both, \$175;
106.14	(7) drug wholesaler, medical gases, \$150;
106.15	(8) drug wholesaler, also licensed as a pharmacy in Minnesota, \$125;
106.16	(9) drug manufacturer, legend drugs only, \$200;
106.17	(10) drug manufacturer, legend and nonlegend drugs, \$200;
106.18	(11) drug manufacturer, nonlegend, veterinary legend drugs, or both, \$175;
106.19	(12) drug manufacturer, medical gases, \$150;
106.20	(13) drug manufacturer, also licensed as a pharmacy in Minnesota, \$125;
106.21	(14) medical gas distributor, \$75;
106.22	(15) controlled substance researcher, \$50; and
106.23	(16) pharmacy professional corporation, \$45.
106.24	Subd. 4. Miscellaneous fees. Fees for issuance of affidavits and duplicate licenses
106.25	and certificates are as follows:
106.26	(1) intern affidavit, \$15;
106.27	(2) duplicate small license, \$15; and
106.28	(3) duplicate large certificate, \$25.
106.29	Subd. 5. Late fees. All annual renewal fees are subject to a 50 percent late fee if
106.30	the renewal fee and application are not received by the board prior to the date specified
106.31	by the board.
106.32	Subd. 6. Reinstatement fees. (a) A pharmacist who has allowed the pharmacist's
106.33	license to lapse may reinstate the license with board approval and upon payment of any
106.34	fees and late fees in arrears, up to a maximum of \$1,000.

SS/RT

- (b) A pharmacy technician who has allowed the technician's registration to lapse 107.1 107.2 may reinstate the registration with board approval and upon payment of any fees and late 107.3 fees in arrears, up to a maximum of \$90. (c) An owner of a pharmacy, a drug wholesaler, a drug manufacturer, or a medical 107.4 gas distributor who has allowed the license of the establishment to lapse may reinstate the 107.5 license with board approval and upon payment of any fees and late fees in arrears. 107.6 (d) A controlled substance researcher who has allowed the researcher's registration 107.7 to lapse may reinstate the registration with board approval and upon payment of any fees 107.8 and late fees in arrears. 107.9
- 107.10 (e) A pharmacist owner of a professional corporation who has allowed the
- 107.11 corporation's registration to lapse may reinstate the registration with board approval and
- 107.12 upon payment of any fees and late fees in arrears.

107.13 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.07, is amended to read:

107.14 **151.07 MEETINGS; EXAMINATION FEE.**

107.15 The board shall meet at times as may be necessary and as it may determine to 107.16 examine applicants for licensure and to transact its other business, giving reasonable 107.17 notice of all examinations by mail to known applicants therefor. The secretary shall record 107.18 the names of all persons licensed by the board, together with the grounds upon which 107.19 the right of each to licensure was claimed. The fee for examination shall be in <u>such the</u> 107.20 amount as the board may determine <u>specified in section 151.065</u>, which fee may in the 107.21 discretion of the board be returned to applicants not taking the examination.

107.22 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.101, is amended to read:

107.23 **151.101 INTERNSHIP.**

<u>Upon payment of the fee specified in section 151.065, the board may license register</u> as an intern any natural persons who have satisfied the board that they are of good moral character, not physically or mentally unfit, and who have successfully completed the educational requirements for intern licensure registration prescribed by the board. The board shall prescribe standards and requirements for interns, pharmacist-preceptors, and internship training but may not require more than one year of such training.

107.30 The board in its discretion may accept internship experience obtained in another 107.31 state provided the internship requirements in such other state are in the opinion of the 107.32 board equivalent to those herein provided.

SS/RT

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.102, is amended by adding a subdivisionto read:
- 108.3Subd. 3. Registration fee. The board shall not register an individual as a pharmacy108.4technician unless all applicable fees specified in section 151.065 have been paid.

108.5 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.12, is amended to read:

108.6

151.12 RECIPROCITY; LICENSURE.

The board may in its discretion grant licensure without examination to any pharmacist licensed by the Board of Pharmacy or a similar board of another state which accords similar recognition to licensees of this state; provided, the requirements for licensure in such other state are in the opinion of the board equivalent to those herein provided. The fee for licensure shall be in such the amount as the board may determine by rule specified in section 151.065.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 108.13 108.14 Subdivision 1. Renewal fee. Every person licensed by the board as a pharmacist shall pay to the board a the annual renewal fee to be fixed by it specified in section 108.15 151.065. The board may promulgate by rule a charge to be assessed for the delinquent 108.16 108.17 payment of a fee. the late fee specified in section 151.065 if the renewal fee and application are not received by the board prior to the date specified by the board. It shall 108.18 be unlawful for any person licensed as a pharmacist who refuses or fails to pay such any 108.19 applicable renewal or late fee to practice pharmacy in this state. Every certificate and 108.20 license shall expire at the time therein prescribed. 108.21

108.22 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.19, is amended to read:

108.23

151.19 REGISTRATION; FEES.

Subdivision 1. Pharmacy registration. The board shall require and provide for the 108.24 annual registration of every pharmacy now or hereafter doing business within this state. 108.25 Upon the payment of a any applicable fee to be set by the board specified in section 108.26 151.065, the board shall issue a registration certificate in such form as it may prescribe to 108.27 such persons as may be qualified by law to conduct a pharmacy. Such certificate shall be 108.28 displayed in a conspicuous place in the pharmacy for which it is issued and expire on the 108.29 108.30 30th day of June following the date of issue. It shall be unlawful for any person to conduct a pharmacy unless such certificate has been issued to the person by the board. 108.31 Subd. 2. Nonresident pharmacies. The board shall require and provide for an 108.32

108.33 annual nonresident special pharmacy registration for all pharmacies located outside of this

A11-0177

SS/RT

state that regularly dispense medications for Minnesota residents and mail, ship, or deliver

109.2 prescription medications into this state. Nonresident special pharmacy registration shall

109.3 be granted by the board upon payment of any applicable fee specified in section 151.065

109.4 <u>and the disclosure and certification by a pharmacy:</u>

(1) that it is licensed in the state in which the dispensing facility is located and fromwhich the drugs are dispensed;

109.7 (2) the location, names, and titles of all principal corporate officers and all109.8 pharmacists who are dispensing drugs to residents of this state;

(3) that it complies with all lawful directions and requests for information from
the Board of Pharmacy of all states in which it is licensed or registered, except that it
shall respond directly to all communications from the board concerning emergency
circumstances arising from the dispensing of drugs to residents of this state;

(4) that it maintains its records of drugs dispensed to residents of this state so that therecords are readily retrievable from the records of other drugs dispensed;

(5) that it cooperates with the board in providing information to the Board of
Pharmacy of the state in which it is licensed concerning matters related to the dispensing
of drugs to residents of this state;

(6) that during its regular hours of operation, but not less than six days per week, for
a minimum of 40 hours per week, a toll-free telephone service is provided to facilitate
communication between patients in this state and a pharmacist at the pharmacy who has
access to the patients' records; the toll-free number must be disclosed on the label affixed
to each container of drugs dispensed to residents of this state; and

(7) that, upon request of a resident of a long-term care facility located within the
state of Minnesota, the resident's authorized representative, or a contract pharmacy or
licensed health care facility acting on behalf of the resident, the pharmacy will dispense
medications prescribed for the resident in unit-dose packaging or, alternatively, comply
with the provisions of section 151.415, subdivision 5.

Subd. 3. Sale of federally restricted medical gases. The board shall require and 109.28 provide for the annual registration of every person or establishment not licensed as a 109.29 pharmacy or a practitioner engaged in the retail sale or distribution of federally restricted 109.30 medical gases. Upon the payment of a any applicable fee to be set by the board specified 109.31 in section 151.065, the board shall issue a registration certificate in such form as it may 109.32 prescribe to those persons or places that may be qualified to sell or distribute federally 109.33 restricted medical gases. The certificate shall be displayed in a conspicuous place in the 109.34 business for which it is issued and expire on the date set by the board. It is unlawful for 109.35

REVISOR

a person to sell or distribute federally restricted medical gases unless a certificate hasbeen issued to that person by the board.

110.3 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.25, is amended to read:

110.4 **151.25 REGISTRATION OF MANUFACTURERS; FEE; PROHIBITIONS.**

The board shall require and provide for the annual registration of every person 110.5 engaged in manufacturing drugs, medicines, chemicals, or poisons for medicinal purposes, 110.6 110.7 now or hereafter doing business with accounts in this state. Upon a payment of a any 110.8 applicable fee as set by the board specified in section 151.065, the board shall issue a registration certificate in such form as it may prescribe to such manufacturer. Such 110.9 110.10 registration certificate shall be displayed in a conspicuous place in such manufacturer's or wholesaler's place of business for which it is issued and expire on the date set by the 110.11 board. It shall be unlawful for any person to manufacture drugs, medicines, chemicals, 110.12 or poisons for medicinal purposes unless such a certificate has been issued to the person 110.13 by the board. It shall be unlawful for any person engaged in the manufacture of drugs, 110.14 110.15 medicines, chemicals, or poisons for medicinal purposes, or the person's agent, to sell legend drugs to other than a pharmacy, except as provided in this chapter. 110.16

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.47, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Requirements. All wholesale drug distributors are subject to the
requirements in paragraphs (a) to (f).

(a) No person or distribution outlet shall act as a wholesale drug distributor without
first obtaining a license from the board and paying the required any applicable fee
<u>specified in section 151.065</u>.

(b) No license shall be issued or renewed for a wholesale drug distributor to operate
unless the applicant agrees to operate in a manner prescribed by federal and state law and
according to the rules adopted by the board.

(c) The board may require a separate license for each facility directly or indirectly owned or operated by the same business entity within the state, or for a parent entity with divisions, subsidiaries, or affiliate companies within the state, when operations are conducted at more than one location and joint ownership and control exists among all the entities.

(d) As a condition for receiving and retaining a wholesale drug distributor license
issued under sections 151.42 to 151.51, an applicant shall satisfy the board that it has
and will continuously maintain:

110.34 (1) adequate storage conditions and facilities;

SS/RT

(2) minimum liability and other insurance as may be required under any applicablefederal or state law;

- (3) a viable security system that includes an after hours central alarm, or comparable
 entry detection capability; restricted access to the premises; comprehensive employment
 applicant screening; and safeguards against all forms of employee theft;
- (4) a system of records describing all wholesale drug distributor activities set forth
 in section 151.44 for at least the most recent two-year period, which shall be reasonably
 accessible as defined by board regulations in any inspection authorized by the board;
- (5) principals and persons, including officers, directors, primary shareholders,
 and key management executives, who must at all times demonstrate and maintain their
 capability of conducting business in conformity with sound financial practices as well
 as state and federal law;
- (6) complete, updated information, to be provided to the board as a condition for
 obtaining and retaining a license, about each wholesale drug distributor to be licensed,
 including all pertinent corporate licensee information, if applicable, or other ownership,
 principal, key personnel, and facilities information found to be necessary by the board;
- (7) written policies and procedures that assure reasonable wholesale drug distributor
 preparation for, protection against, and handling of any facility security or operation
 problems, including, but not limited to, those caused by natural disaster or government
 emergency, inventory inaccuracies or product shipping and receiving, outdated product
 or other unauthorized product control, appropriate disposition of returned goods, and
 product recalls;
- (8) sufficient inspection procedures for all incoming and outgoing productshipments; and

(9) operations in compliance with all federal requirements applicable to wholesaledrug distribution.

(e) An agent or employee of any licensed wholesale drug distributor need not seeklicensure under this section.

(f) A wholesale drug distributor shall file with the board an annual report, in a
form and on the date prescribed by the board, identifying all payments, honoraria,
reimbursement or other compensation authorized under section 151.461, clauses (3) to
(5), paid to practitioners in Minnesota during the preceding calendar year. The report
shall identify the nature and value of any payments totaling \$100 or more, to a particular
practitioner during the year, and shall identify the practitioner. Reports filed under this
provision are public data.

SS/RT

112.1

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 151.48, is amended to read:

151.48 OUT-OF-STATE WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTOR LICENSING. 112.2

- (a) It is unlawful for an out-of-state wholesale drug distributor to conduct business 112.3 in the state without first obtaining a license from the board and paying the required any 112.4 applicable fee specified in section 151.065. 112.5
- (b) Application for an out-of-state wholesale drug distributor license under this 112.6 section shall be made on a form furnished by the board. 112.7

(c) No person acting as principal or agent for any out-of-state wholesale drug 112.8 distributor may sell or distribute drugs in the state unless the distributor has obtained 112.9 a license. 112.10

112.11 (d) The board may adopt regulations that permit out-of-state wholesale drug distributors to obtain a license on the basis of reciprocity to the extent that an out-of-state 112.12 wholesale drug distributor: 112.13

(1) possesses a valid license granted by another state under legal standards 112.14

comparable to those that must be met by a wholesale drug distributor of this state as 112.15

112.16 prerequisites for obtaining a license under the laws of this state; and

(2) can show that the other state would extend reciprocal treatment under its own 112.17 laws to a wholesale drug distributor of this state. 112.18

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 152.12, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 112.19 Subd. 3. Research project use of controlled substances. Any qualified person 112.20 may use controlled substances in the course of a bona fide research project but cannot 112.21 administer or dispense such drugs to human beings unless such drugs are prescribed, 112.22 dispensed and administered by a person lawfully authorized to do so. Every person 112.23 who engages in research involving the use of such substances shall apply annually for 112.24 registration by the state Board of Pharmacy and shall pay any applicable fee specified in 112.25 section 151.065, provided that such registration shall not be required if the person is 112.26 covered by and has complied with federal laws covering such research projects. 112.27

- 112.28
- 112.29

ARTICLE 6

HEALTH CARE

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62E.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 112.30 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The association shall establish the following 112.31 112.32 maximum premiums to be charged for membership in the comprehensive health insurance plan: 112.33

113.1

113.2

113.3

113.4

113.5

113.6

113.7

113.8

113.9

113.10

113.11

113.12

113.13

113.14

113.15

113.16

113.17

SS/RT A11-0177 (a) the premium for the number one qualified plan shall range from a minimum of 101 percent to a maximum of 125 percent of the weighted average of rates charged by those insurers and health maintenance organizations with individuals enrolled in: (1) \$1,000 annual deductible individual plans of insurance in force in Minnesota; (2) individual health maintenance organization contracts of coverage with a \$1,000 annual deductible which are in force in Minnesota; and (3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on generally accepted actuarial principles; (b) the premium for the number two qualified plan shall range from a minimum of 101 percent to a maximum of 125 percent of the weighted average of rates charged by those insurers and health maintenance organizations with individuals enrolled in: (1) \$500 annual deductible individual plans of insurance in force in Minnesota; (2) individual health maintenance organization contracts of coverage with a \$500 annual deductible which are in force in Minnesota; and (3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on generally accepted actuarial principles; (c) the premiums for the plans with a \$2,000, \$5,000, or \$10,000 annual deductible

shall range from a minimum of 101 percent to a maximum of 125 percent of the weighted 113.18 average of rates charged by those insurers and health maintenance organizations with 113.19 individuals enrolled in: 113.20

(1) \$2,000, \$5,000, or \$10,000 annual deductible individual plans, respectively, in 113.21 force in Minnesota; and 113.22

113.23 (2) individual health maintenance organization contracts of coverage with a \$2,000, \$5,000, or \$10,000 annual deductible, respectively, which are in force in Minnesota; or 113.24

(3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on 113.25 113.26 generally accepted actuarial principles;

(d) the premium for each type of Medicare supplement plan required to be offered 113.27 by the association pursuant to section 62E.12 shall range from a minimum of 101 percent 113.28 to a maximum of 125 percent of the weighted average of rates charged by those insurers 113.29 and health maintenance organizations with individuals enrolled in: 113.30

113.31

(1) Medicare supplement plans in force in Minnesota;

(2) health maintenance organization Medicare supplement contracts of coverage 113.32 which are in force in Minnesota; and 113.33

(3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on 113.34 generally accepted actuarial principles; and 113.35

REVISOR

- (e) the charge for health maintenance organization coverage shall be based on
 generally accepted actuarial principles.; and
- (f) the premium for a high-deductible, basic plan offered under section 62E.121 shall
 range from a minimum of 101 percent to a maximum of 125 percent of the weighted
 average of rates charged by those insurers and health maintenance organizations offering
 comparable plans outside of the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association.
- The list of insurers and health maintenance organizations whose rates are used to 114.7 establish the premium for coverage offered by the association pursuant to paragraphs (a) 114.8 to (d) and (f) shall be established by the commissioner on the basis of information which 114.9 shall be provided to the association by all insurers and health maintenance organizations 114.10 annually at the commissioner's request. This information shall include the number of 114.11 individuals covered by each type of plan or contract specified in paragraphs (a) to (d) and 114.12 (f) that is sold, issued, and renewed by the insurers and health maintenance organizations, 114.13 including those plans or contracts available only on a renewal basis. The information shall 114.14 114.15 also include the rates charged for each type of plan or contract.
- In establishing premiums pursuant to this section, the association shall utilize 114.16 generally accepted actuarial principles, provided that the association shall not discriminate 114.17 in charging premiums based upon sex. In order to compute a weighted average for each 114.18 type of plan or contract specified under paragraphs (a) to (d) and (f), the association 114.19 shall, using the information collected pursuant to this subdivision, list insurers and health 114.20 maintenance organizations in rank order of the total number of individuals covered by 114.21 each insurer or health maintenance organization. The association shall then compute 114.22 114.23 a weighted average of the rates charged for coverage by all the insurers and health 114.24 maintenance organizations by:
- (1) multiplying the numbers of individuals covered by each insurer or health
 maintenance organization by the rates charged for coverage;
- (2) separately summing both the number of individuals covered by all the insurers
 and health maintenance organizations and all the products computed under clause (1); and
 (3) dividing the total of the products computed under clause (1) by the total number
- 114.30 of individuals covered.
- 114.31 The association may elect to use a sample of information from the insurers and 114.32 health maintenance organizations for purposes of computing a weighted average. In no 114.33 case, however, may a sample used by the association to compute a weighted average 114.34 include information from fewer than the two insurers or health maintenance organizations 114.35 highest in rank order.

A11-0177

115.1	Sec. 2. [62E.121] HIGH-DEDUCTIBLE, BASIC PLAN.
115.2	Subdivision 1. Required offering. The Minnesota Comprehensive Health
115.3	Association shall offer a high-deductible, basic plan that meets the requirements specified
115.4	in this section. The high-deductible, basic plan is a one-person plan. Any dependents
115.5	must be covered separately.
115.6	Subd. 2. Annual deductible; out-of-pocket maximum. (a) The plan shall provide
115.7	the following in-network annual deductible options: \$3,000, \$6,000, \$9,000, and \$12,000.
115.8	The in-network annual out-of-pocket maximum for each annual deductible option shall be
115.9	\$1,000 greater than the amount of the annual deductible.
115.10	(b) The deductible is subject to an annual increase based on the change in the
115.11	Consumer Price Index (CPI).
115.12	Subd. 3. Office visits for nonpreventive care. The following co-payments shall
115.13	apply for each of the first three office visits per calendar year for nonpreventive care:
115.14	(1) \$30 per visit for the \$3,000 annual deductible option;
115.15	(2) \$40 per visit for the \$6,000 annual deductible option;
115.16	(3) \$50 per visit for the \$9,000 annual deductible option; and
115.17	(4) \$60 per visit for the \$12,000 annual deductible option.
115.18	For the fourth and subsequent visits during the calendar year, 80 percent coverage is
115.19	provided under all deductible options, after the deductible is met.
115.20	Subd. 4. Preventive care. One hundred percent coverage is provided for preventive
115.21	care, and no co-payment, coinsurance, or deductible requirements apply.
115.22	Subd. 5. Prescription drugs. A \$10 co-payment applies to preferred generic drugs.
115.23	Preferred brand-name drugs require an enrollee payment of 100 percent of the health
115.24	plan's discounted rate.
115.25	Subd. 6. Convenience care center visits. A \$20 co-payment applies for the first
115.26	three convenience care center visits during a calendar year. For the fourth and subsequent
115.27	visits during a calendar year, 80 percent coverage is provided after the deductible is met.
115.28	Subd. 7. Urgent care center visits. A \$100 co-payment applies for the first urgent
115.29	care center visit during a calendar year. For the second and subsequent visits during a
115.30	calendar year, 80 percent coverage is provided after the deductible is met.
115.31	Subd. 8. Emergency room visits. A \$200 co-payment applies for the first
115.32	emergency room visit during a calendar year. For the second and subsequent visits during
115.33	a calendar year, 80 percent coverage is provided after the deductible is met.
115.34	Subd. 9. Lab and x-ray; hospital services; ambulance; surgery. Lab and x-ray
115.35	services, hospital services, ambulance services, and surgery are covered at 80 percent
115.36	after the deductible is met.

SS/RT

116.1	Subd. 10. Eyewear. The health plan pays up to \$50 per calendar year for eyewear.
116.2	Subd. 11. Maternity. Maternity, labor and delivery, and postpartum care are not
116.3	covered. One hundred percent coverage is provided for prenatal care and no deductible
116.4	applies.
116.5	Subd. 12. Other eligible health care services. Other eligible health care services
116.6	are covered at 80 percent after the deductible is met.
116.7	Subd. 13. Option to remove mental health and substance abuse coverage.
116.8	Enrollees have the option of removing mental health and substance abuse coverage in
116.9	exchange for a reduced premium.
116.10	Subd. 14. Option to upgrade prescription drug coverage. Enrollees have
116.11	the option to upgrade prescription drug coverage to include coverage for preferred
116.12	brand-name drugs with a \$50 co-payment and coverage for nonpreferred drugs with a
116.13	\$100 co-payment in exchange for an increased premium.
116.14	Subd. 15. Out-of-network services. (a) The out-of-network annual deductible is
116.15	double the in-network annual deductible.
116.16	(b) There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out-of-network services.
116.17	(c) Benefits for out-of-network services are covered at 60 percent after the deductible
116.18	<u>is met.</u>
116.19	(d) The lifetime maximum benefit for out-of-network services is \$1,000,000.
116.20	Subd. 16. Services not covered. Services not covered include: custodial care
116.21	or rest care; most dental services; cosmetic services; refractive eye surgery; infertility
116.22	services; and services that are investigational, not medically necessary, or received while
116.23	on military duty.
116.24	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62E.14, is amended by adding a subdivision
116.25	to read:
116.26	Subd. 4f. Waiver of preexisting conditions for persons covered by healthy
116.27	Minnesota contribution program. A person may enroll in the comprehensive plan with
116.28	a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation in subdivision 3 if the person is eligible for
116.29	the healthy Minnesota contribution program, and has been denied coverage as described
116.30	under section 256L.031, subdivision 6.
116 31	Sec. 4 Minnesota Statutes 2010 section 621.04 subdivision 9 is amended to read.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62J.04, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
Subd. 9. Growth limits; federal programs. The commissioners of health and
human services shall establish a rate methodology for Medicare and Medicaid risk-based
contracting with health plan companies that is consistent with statewide growth limits.

- 117.1 The methodology shall be presented for review by the Minnesota Health Care Commission
- and the Legislative Commission on Health Care Access prior to the submission of a
- 117.3 waiver request to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and subsequent
- 117.4 implementation of the methodology.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62J.692, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 117.5 Subd. 9. Review of eligible providers. The commissioner and the Medical 117.6 Education and Research Costs Advisory Committee may review provider groups included 117.7 in the definition of a clinical medical education program to assure that the distribution of 1178 the funds continue to be consistent with the purpose of this section. The results of any 117.9 such reviews must be reported to the Legislative Commission on Health Care Access 117.10 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over 117.11 health care policy and finance. 117.12

117.13 Sec. 6. [62J.824] BILLING FOR PROCEDURES TO CORRECT MEDICAL 117.14 ERRORS PROHIBITED.

A health care provider shall not bill a patient, and shall not be reimbursed, for
any operation, treatment, or other care that is provided to reverse, correct, or otherwise
minimize the affects of an adverse health care event, as described in section 144.7065,
subdivisions 2 to 7, for which that health care provider is responsible.

117.19 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62Q.32, is amended to read:

117.20 62Q.32 LOCAL OMBUDSPERSON.

117.21 County board or community health service agencies may establish an office of 117.22 ombudsperson to provide a system of consumer advocacy for persons receiving health 117.23 care services through a health plan company. The ombudsperson's functions may include, 117.24 but are not limited to:

(a) mediation or advocacy on behalf of a person accessing the complaint and appeal
 procedures to ensure that necessary medical services are provided by the health plan
 company; and

(b) investigation of the quality of services provided to a person and determine the
extent to which quality assurance mechanisms are needed or any other system change
may be needed. The commissioner of health shall make recommendations for funding
these functions including the amount of funding needed and a plan for distribution. The
commissioner shall submit these recommendations to the Legislative Commission on
Health Care Access by January 15, 1996.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62U.04, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 118.1 Subd. 3. Provider peer grouping. (a) The commissioner shall develop a peer 118.2 grouping system for providers based on a combined measure that incorporates both 118.3 provider risk-adjusted cost of care and quality of care, and for specific conditions as 118.4 determined by the commissioner. In developing this system, the commissioner shall 118.5 consult and coordinate with health care providers, health plan companies, state agencies, 118.6 and organizations that work to improve health care quality in Minnesota. For purposes of 118.7 the final establishment of the peer grouping system, the commissioner shall not contract 118.8 with any private entity, organization, or consortium of entities that has or will have a direct 118.9 financial interest in the outcome of the system. 118.10

(b) By no later than October 15, 2010, the commissioner shall disseminate 118.11 information to providers on their total cost of care, total resource use, total quality of care, 118.12 and the total care results of the grouping developed under this subdivision in comparison 118.13 to an appropriate peer group. Any analyses or reports that identify providers may only be 118.14 118.15 published after the provider has been provided the opportunity by the commissioner to review the underlying data and submit comments. Providers may be given any data for 118.16 which they are the subject of the data. The provider shall have 30 days to review the data 118.17 118.18 for accuracy and initiate an appeal as specified in paragraph (d).

(c) By no later than January 1, 2011, the commissioner shall disseminate information 118.19 to providers on their condition-specific cost of care, condition-specific resource use, 118.20 condition-specific quality of care, and the condition-specific results of the grouping 118.21 developed under this subdivision in comparison to an appropriate peer group. Any 118.22 118.23 analyses or reports that identify providers may only be published after the provider has been provided the opportunity by the commissioner to review the underlying data and 118.24 submit comments. Providers may be given any data for which they are the subject of the 118.25 118.26 data. The provider shall have 30 days to review the data for accuracy and initiate an appeal as specified in paragraph (d). 118.27

(d) The commissioner shall establish an appeals process to resolve disputes from
providers regarding the accuracy of the data used to develop analyses or reports. When
a provider appeals the accuracy of the data used to calculate the peer grouping system
results, the provider shall:

(1) clearly indicate the reason they believe the data used to calculate the peer groupsystem results are not accurate;

(2) provide evidence and documentation to support the reason that data was notaccurate; and

(3) cooperate with the commissioner, including allowing the commissioner access todata necessary and relevant to resolving the dispute.

If a provider does not meet the requirements of this paragraph, a provider's appeal shall be
considered withdrawn. The commissioner shall not publish results for a specific provider
under paragraph (e) or (f) while that provider has an unresolved appeal.

(e) Beginning January 1, 2011, the commissioner shall, no less than annually,
publish information on providers' total cost, total resource use, total quality, and the results
of the total care portion of the peer grouping process. The results that are published must
be on a risk-adjusted basis.

(f) Beginning March 30, 2011, the commissioner shall no less than annually publish
information on providers' condition-specific cost, condition-specific resource use, and
condition-specific quality, and the results of the condition-specific portion of the peer
grouping process. The results that are published must be on a risk-adjusted basis.

(g) Prior to disseminating data to providers under paragraph (b) or (c) or publishing 119.14 119.15 information under paragraph (e) or (f), the commissioner shall ensure the scientific validity and reliability of the results according to the standards described in paragraph (h). 119.16 If additional time is needed to establish the scientific validity and reliability of the results, 119.17 119.18 the commissioner may delay the dissemination of data to providers under paragraph (b) or (c), or the publication of information under paragraph (e) or (f). If the delay is more 119.19 than 60 days, the commissioner shall report in writing to the Legislative Commission on 119.20 Health Care Access chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees 119.21 with jurisdiction over health care policy and finance the following information: 119.22

(1) the reason for the delay;

(2) the actions being taken to resolve the delay and establish the scientific validityand reliability of the results; and

(3) the new dates by which the results shall be disseminated.

119.27 If there is a delay under this paragraph, the commissioner must disseminate the
119.28 information to providers under paragraph (b) or (c) at least 90 days before publishing
119.29 results under paragraph (e) or (f).

(h) The commissioner's assurance of valid and reliable clinic and hospital peergrouping performance results shall include, at a minimum, the following:

119.32

(2) establishment of an explicit minimum reliability threshold developed in
collaboration with the subjects of the data and the users of the data, at a level not below
nationally accepted standards where such standards exist.

(1) use of the best available evidence, research, and methodologies; and

REVISOR

In achieving these thresholds, the commissioner shall not aggregate clinics that are not part of the same system or practice group. The commissioner shall consult with and solicit feedback from representatives of physician clinics and hospitals during the peer grouping data analysis process to obtain input on the methodological options prior to final analysis and on the design, development, and testing of provider reports.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62U.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. Legislative oversight. Beginning January 15, 2009, the commissioner
of health shall submit to the Legislative Commission on Health Care Access chairs and
<u>ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care</u>
policy and finance periodic progress reports on the implementation of this chapter and
sections 256B.0751 to 256B.0754.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.01, is amended by adding a subdivisionto read:

120.14 Subd. 33. Contingency contract fees. When the commissioner enters into

120.15 <u>a contingency-based contract for the purpose of recovering medical assistance or</u>

120.16 <u>MinnesotaCare funds</u>, the commissioner may retain that portion of the recovered funds

120.17 <u>equal to the amount of the contingency fee.</u>

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.969, subdivision 2b, is amended to read: 120.18 Subd. 2b. Operating payment rates. In determining operating payment rates for 120.19 120.20 admissions occurring on or after the rate year beginning January 1, 1991, and every two years after, or more frequently as determined by the commissioner, the commissioner 120.21 shall obtain operating data from an updated base year and establish operating payment 120.22 120.23 rates per admission for each hospital based on the cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare program in effect during the base year. Rates under the general 120.24 assistance medical care, medical assistance, and MinnesotaCare programs shall not be 120.25 rebased to more current data on January 1, 1997, January 1, 2005, for the first 24 months 120.26 of the rebased period beginning January 1, 2009. For the first 24 months of the rebased 120.27 period beginning January 1, 2011, rates shall not be rebased, except that a Minnesota 120.28 long-term hospital shall be rebased effective January 1, 2011, based on its most recent 120.29 Medicare cost report ending on or before September 1, 2008, with the provisions under 120.30 subdivisions 9 and 23, based on the rates in effect on December 31, 2010. For subsequent 120.31 rate setting periods in which the base years are updated, a Minnesota long-term hospital's 120.32 base year shall remain within the same period as other hospitals. Effective January 1, 120.33

121.1 2013, rates shall be rebased at full value Rates must not be rebased to more current data
121.2 for the first six months of the rebased period beginning January 1, 2013. The base year
121.3 operating payment rate per admission is standardized by the case mix index and adjusted
121.4 by the hospital cost index, relative values, and disproportionate population adjustment.

121.5 The cost and charge data used to establish operating rates shall only reflect inpatient

121.6 services covered by medical assistance and shall not include property cost information

121.7 and costs recognized in outlier payments.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivisionto read:

Subd. 31. Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth-weight. The commissioner 121.10 shall require level III pediatric hospitals located in the seven-county metropolitan area, as 121.11 a condition of contract, to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth-weight 121.12 in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average 121.13 121.14 incidence of low birth-weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of the hospital. These strategies may focus on smoking prevention and cessation, ensuring 121.15 that pregnant women get adequate nutrition, and addressing demographic, social, and 121.16 121.17 environmental risk factors. The strategies must coordinate health care with social services and the local public health system, and offer patient education through appropriate means. 121.18 121.19 The commissioner shall require hospitals to submit proposed initiatives for approval to the commissioner by January 1, 2012, and the commissioner shall require hospitals 121.20 to implement approved initiatives by July 1, 2012. The commissioner shall evaluate 121.21 the strategies adopted to reduce low birth-weight, and shall require hospitals to submit 121.22 121.23 outcome and other data necessary for the evaluation.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. General limit. (a) All payments for medical assistance hereunder
must be made to the vendor. The maximum payment for new vendors enrolled in the
medical assistance program after the base year shall be determined from the average usual
and customary charge of the same vendor type enrolled in the base year.

121.29(b) The medical assistance payment for vendors located outside the state shall not121.30exceed the medical assistance payment applicable to in-state vendors for the same or

121.31 <u>similar service</u>.

121.32 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.04, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

122.1	Subd. 18. Applications for medical assistance. (a) The state agency may
122.2	take applications for medical assistance and conduct eligibility determinations for
122.3	MinnesotaCare enrollees.
122.4	(b) The commissioner of human services shall modify the Minnesota health care
122.5	programs application form to add a question asking applicants: "Are you a U.S. military
122.6	veteran?"
122.7	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.05, is amended by adding a
122.8	subdivision to read:
122.9	Subd. 5. Technical assistance. The commissioner shall provide technical assistance
122.10	to county agencies in processing complex medical assistance applications, including but
122.11	not limited to applications for long-term care services. The commissioner shall provide
122.12	this technical assistance using existing financial resources.
122.13	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.055, subdivision 15, is amended to
122.14	read:
122.15	Subd. 15. Adults without children. (a) Medical assistance may be paid for a
122.16	person who is:
122.17	(1) at least age 21 and under age 65;
122.18	(2) not pregnant;
122.19	(3) not entitled to Medicare Part A or enrolled in Medicare Part B under Title XVIII
122.20	of the Social Security Act;
122.21	(4) not an adult in a family with children as defined in section 256L.01, subdivision
122.22	3a; and
122.23	(5) not described in another subdivision of this section.
122.24	(b) If the federal government eliminates the federal Medicaid match or reduces the
122.25	federal Medicaid matching rate beyond any adjustment required as part of the annual
122.26	recalculation of the state's overall Medicaid matching rate for persons eligible under this
122.27	subdivision, the commissioner shall eliminate coverage for persons enrolled under this
122.28	subdivision and suspend new enrollment under this subdivision effective on the date
122.29	of the elimination or reduction.
122.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

122.32 Subd. 4. **Citizenship requirements.** (a) Eligibility for medical assistance is limited

122.33 to citizens of the United States, qualified noncitizens as defined in this subdivision, and

other persons residing lawfully in the United States. Citizens or nationals of the United 123.1 States must cooperate in obtaining satisfactory documentary evidence of citizenship or 123.2 nationality according to the requirements of the federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, 123.3 Public Law 109-171. 123.4 (b) "Qualified noncitizen" means a person who meets one of the following 123.5 immigration criteria: 123.6 (1) admitted for lawful permanent residence according to United States Code, title 8; 123.7 (2) admitted to the United States as a refugee according to United States Code, 123.8 title 8, section 1157; 123.9 (3) granted asylum according to United States Code, title 8, section 1158; 123.10 (4) granted withholding of deportation according to United States Code, title 8, 123.11 section 1253(h); 123.12 (5) paroled for a period of at least one year according to United States Code, title 8, 123.13 section 1182(d)(5); 123.14 123.15 (6) granted conditional entrant status according to United States Code, title 8, section 1153(a)(7); 123.16 (7) determined to be a battered noncitizen by the United States Attorney General 123.17 according to the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996, 123.18 title V of the Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Bill, Public Law 104-200; 123.19 (8) is a child of a noncitizen determined to be a battered noncitizen by the United 123.20 States Attorney General according to the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant 123.21 Responsibility Act of 1996, title V, of the Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Bill, 123.22 123.23 Public Law 104-200; or (9) determined to be a Cuban or Haitian entrant as defined in section 501(e) of Public 123.24 Law 96-422, the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980. 123.25 123.26 (c) All qualified noncitizens who were residing in the United States before August 22, 1996, who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter, are eligible for 123.27 medical assistance with federal financial participation. 123.28 (d) All qualified noncitizens who entered the United States on or after August 22, 123.29 1996, and who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter, are eligible for 123.30 medical assistance with federal financial participation through November 30, 1996. 123.31

Beginning December 1, 1996, qualified noncitizens who entered the United States on or after August 22, 1996, and who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter are eligible for medical assistance with federal participation for five years if they meet one of the following criteria:

(i) refugees admitted to the United States according to United States Code, title 8,
section 1157;
(ii) persons granted asylum according to United States Code, title 8, section 1158;
(iii) persons granted withholding of deportation according to United States Code,

124.5 title 8, section 1253(h);

(iv) veterans of the United States armed forces with an honorable discharge for
a reason other than noncitizen status, their spouses and unmarried minor dependent
children; or

(v) persons on active duty in the United States armed forces, other than for training,their spouses and unmarried minor dependent children.

Beginning December 1, 1996, qualified noncitizens who do not meet one of the criteria in items (i) to (v) are eligible for medical assistance without federal financial participation as described in paragraph (j).

Notwithstanding paragraph (j), beginning July 1, 2010, children and pregnant
women who are noncitizens described in paragraph (b) or (e), are eligible for medical
assistance with federal financial participation as provided by the federal Children's Health
Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009, Public Law 111-3.

(e) Noncitizens who are not qualified noncitizens as defined in paragraph (b), who are lawfully present in the United States, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 8, section 103.12, and who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter, are eligible for medical assistance under clauses (1) to (3). These individuals must cooperate with the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services to pursue any applicable immigration status, including citizenship, that would qualify them for medical assistance with federal financial participation.

(1) Persons who were medical assistance recipients on August 22, 1996, are eligible
for medical assistance with federal financial participation through December 31, 1996.

(2) Beginning January 1, 1997, persons described in clause (1) are eligible for
medical assistance without federal financial participation as described in paragraph (j).

(3) Beginning December 1, 1996, persons residing in the United States prior to
August 22, 1996, who were not receiving medical assistance and persons who arrived on
or after August 22, 1996, are eligible for medical assistance without federal financial
participation as described in paragraph (j).

(f) Nonimmigrants who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of this chapter
are eligible for the benefits as provided in paragraphs (g) to (i). For purposes of this
subdivision, a "nonimmigrant" is a person in one of the classes listed in United States
Code, title 8, section 1101(a)(15).

A11-0177

125.1	(g) Payment shall also be made for care and services that are furnished to noncitizens,
125.2	regardless of immigration status, who otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of
125.3	this chapter, if such care and services are necessary for the treatment of an emergency
125.4	medical condition, except for organ transplants and related care and services and routine
125.5	prenatal care.
125.6	(h) For purposes of this subdivision, the term "emergency medical condition" means
125.7	a medical condition that meets the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section
125.8	1396b(v).
125.9	(i)(1) Notwithstanding paragraph (h), services that are necessary for the treatment of
125.10	an emergency medical condition are limited to the following:
125.11	(i) services delivered in an emergency room that are directly related to the treatment
125.12	of an emergency medical condition;
125.13	(ii) services delivered in an inpatient hospital setting following admission from an
125.14	emergency room or clinic for an acute emergency condition; and
125.15	(iii) follow-up services that are directly related to the original service provided to
125.16	treat the emergency medical condition and that are covered by the global payment made
125.17	to the provider.
125.18	(2) Services for the treatment of emergency medical conditions do not include:
125.19	(i) services delivered in an emergency room or inpatient setting to treat a
125.20	nonemergency condition;
125.21	(ii) organ transplants and related care;
125.22	(iii) services for routine prenatal care;
125.23	(iv) continuing care, including long-term care, nursing facility services, home health
125.24	care, adult day care, day training, or supportive living services;
125.25	(v) elective surgery;
125.26	(vi) outpatient prescription drugs, unless the drugs are administered or dispensed as
125.27	part of an emergency room visit;
125.28	(vii) preventative health care and family planning services;
125.29	(viii) dialysis;
125.30	(ix) chemotherapy or therapeutic radiation services;
125.31	(x) rehabilitation services;
125.32	(xi) physical, occupational, or speech therapy;
125.33	(xii) transportation services;
125.34	(xiii) case management;
125.35	(xiv) prosthetics, orthotics, durable medical equipment, or medical supplies;
125.36	(xv) dental services;

126.1	(xvi) hospice care;
126.2	(xvii) audiology services and hearing aids;
126.3	(xviii) podiatry services;
126.4	(xix) chiropractic services;
126.5	(xx) immunizations;
126.6	(xxi) vision services and eyeglasses;
126.7	(xxii) waiver services;
126.8	(xxiii) individualized education programs; or
126.9	(xxiv) chemical dependency treatment.
126.10	(i) (j) Beginning July 1, 2009, pregnant noncitizens who are undocumented,
126.11	nonimmigrants, or lawfully present as designated in paragraph (e) and who are not
126.12	covered by a group health plan or health insurance coverage according to Code of
126.13	Federal Regulations, title 42, section 457.310, and who otherwise meet the eligibility
126.14	requirements of this chapter, are eligible for medical assistance through the period of
126.15	pregnancy, including labor and delivery, and 60 days postpartum, to the extent federal
126.16	funds are available under title XXI of the Social Security Act, and the state children's
126.17	health insurance program.

(j) (k) Qualified noncitizens as described in paragraph (d), and all other noncitizens 126 18 lawfully residing in the United States as described in paragraph (e), who are ineligible 126.19 for medical assistance with federal financial participation and who otherwise meet the 126.20 eligibility requirements of chapter 256B and of this paragraph, are eligible for medical 126.21 assistance without federal financial participation. Qualified noncitizens as described 126.22 126.23 in paragraph (d) are only eligible for medical assistance without federal financial participation for five years from their date of entry into the United States. 126.24

(k) (l) Beginning October 1, 2003, persons who are receiving care and rehabilitation 126.25 126.26 services from a nonprofit center established to serve victims of torture and are otherwise ineligible for medical assistance under this chapter are eligible for medical assistance 126.27 without federal financial participation. These individuals are eligible only for the period 126.28 during which they are receiving services from the center. Individuals eligible under this 126.29 paragraph shall not be required to participate in prepaid medical assistance. 126.30

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a 126.31 subdivision to read: 126.32

Subd. 1b. Care coordination services provided through pediatric hospitals. 126.33

(a) Medical assistance covers care coordination services provided by advanced practice 126.34

nurses employed by or under contract with level III pediatric hospitals to children with 126.35

127.1	high-cost medical conditions and children at risk of recurrent hospitalization for acute
127.2	or chronic illnesses. The services must be available through in-home video telehealth
127.3	management and other methods, and must be designed to improve patient outcomes
127.4	and reduce unnecessary hospital and emergency room utilization. The services must
127.5	streamline communication, reduce redundancy, and eliminate unnecessary documentation
127.6	through the use of a Web-accessible, uniform document that contains critical patient care
127.7	management information, and which is accessible to all providers with patient consent.
127.8	The commissioner shall develop the uniform document and associated Web site and shall
127.9	implement procedures to assess patient outcomes and evaluate the effectiveness of the
127.10	care coordination services provided under this subdivision.
127.11	(b) Medical assistance also covers, as durable medical equipment, computers,
127.12	webcams, and other technology necessary to allow in-home video telehealth management.
127.13	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, a child has a high-cost medical condition
127.14	if inpatient hospital expenses for that child related to complex or chronic illnesses or
127.15	conditions for the most recent calendar year exceeded \$100,000 or if the expenses for that
127.16	child are projected to exceed \$100,000 for the current calendar year. For purposes of this
127.17	subdivision, a child is at risk of recurrent hospitalization if the child was hospitalized three
127.18	or more times for acute or chronic illness in the most recent calendar year.
127.19	(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "care coordination" means collaboration
127.20	between the advanced practice nurse and primary care physicians and specialists to
127.21	manage care and reduce hospitalizations, patient case management, development of
127.22	medical management plans for chronic illnesses and recurrent acute illnesses, oversight
127.23	and coordination of all aspects of care in partnership with families, organization of
127.24	medical information into a summary of critical information, coordination and appropriate
127.25	sequencing of tests and multiple appointments, information and assistance with accessing
127.26	resources, and telephone triage for acute illnesses or problems.
127.27	(e) The commissioner shall adjust managed care and county-based purchasing plan
127.28	capitation rates to reflect savings from the coverage of this service.
127.20	FEFECTIVE DATE This social is officiative January 1, 2012
127.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012.
127.30	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a
127.30	subdivision to read:
127.31	Subd. 3g. Elective inductions of labor. Medical assistance does not cover elective
127.32	inductions of labor prior to 39 weeks' gestation. For purposes of this subdivision, "elective
127.33	inductions of labor" means the use of artificial means to stimulate labor in a woman
127.34	

REVISOR

SS/RT

128.1	without the presence of a medical condition affecting the woman or the child that makes
128.2	the induction of labor a medical necessity or emergency.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 4b. Repeat testing. (a) The commissioner shall identify diagnostic imaging 128.5 tests, laboratory tests, and other medical tests with a high potential for unnecessary 128.6 repeated testing. For those tests identified, repeat medical tests are not covered for the 128.7 same condition or diagnosis unless prior authorization is obtained from the commissioner 128.8 or a protocol developed by the commissioner to minimize unnecessary repeat testing is 128.9 used. For purposes of this requirement, a "repeat medical test" is one that is ordered by a 128.10 health care provider or requested by an enrollee within 30 days of an identical or similar 128.11 test being performed, or within six months if there is minimal likelihood of significant 128.12 change in the findings of the test if the test was repeated. 128.13 128.14 (b) The commissioner shall reduce capitation rates to managed care and county-based purchasing plans providing services under sections 256B.69 and 256B.692 128.15 to reflect cost-savings resulting from implementation of this subdivision. 128.16

128.17 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 8, is amended to 128.18 read:

Subd. 8. Physical therapy. Medical assistance covers physical therapy and related 128.19 services, including specialized maintenance therapy. Authorization by the commissioner 128.20 128.21 is required to provide medically necessary services to a recipient beyond any of the 128.22 following onetime service thresholds, or a lower threshold where one has been established by the commissioner for a specified service: (1) 80 units of any approved CPT code other 128.23 128.24 than modalities; (2) 20 modality sessions; and (3) three evaluations or reevaluations. Services provided by a physical therapy assistant shall be reimbursed at the same rate as 128.25 services performed by a physical therapist when the services of the physical therapy 128.26 assistant are provided under the direction of a physical therapist who is on the premises. 128.27 Services provided by a physical therapy assistant that are provided under the direction 128.28 of a physical therapist who is not on the premises shall be reimbursed at 65 percent of 128.29 the physical therapist rate. 128.30

128.31 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 8a, is amended to 128.32 read:

Subd. 8a. Occupational therapy. Medical assistance covers occupational therapy 129.1 and related services, including specialized maintenance therapy. Authorization by the 129.2 commissioner is required to provide medically necessary services to a recipient beyond 129.3 any of the following onetime service thresholds, or a lower threshold where one has been 129.4 established by the commissioner for a specified service: (1) 120 units of any combination 129.5 of approved CPT codes; and (2) two evaluations or reevaluations. Services provided by an 129.6 occupational therapy assistant shall be reimbursed at the same rate as services performed 129.7 by an occupational therapist when the services of the occupational therapy assistant are 129.8 provided under the direction of the occupational therapist who is on the premises. Services 129.9 provided by an occupational therapy assistant that are provided under the direction of an 129.10 occupational therapist who is not on the premises shall be reimbursed at 65 percent of 129.11 the occupational therapist rate. 129.12

129.13 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 8e, is amended to 129.14 read:

129.15 Subd. 8e. Chiropractic services. Payment for chiropractic services is limited to 129.16 one annual evaluation and $\frac{12}{24}$ visits per year unless prior authorization of a greater 129.17 number of visits is obtained.

129.18 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a 129.19 subdivision to read:

Subd. 8f. Acupuncture services. Medical assistance covers acupuncture, as defined
 in section 147B.01, subdivision 3, only when provided by a licensed acupuncturist or by
 another Minnesota licensed practitioner for whom acupuncture is within the practitioner's
 scope of practice and who has specific acupuncture training or credentialing.

129.24 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, is amended to 129.25 read:

Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment 129.26 shall be the lower of the actual acquisition costs of the drugs plus a fixed dispensing 129.27 fee; the maximum allowable cost set by the federal government or by the commissioner 129.28 plus the fixed dispensing fee; or the usual and customary price charged to the public. 129.29 The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount amounts applied 129.30 to the charge by any provider/insurer agreement or contract for submitted charges to 129.31 medical assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be greater than the patient 129.32 liability for the service. The pharmacy dispensing fee shall be \$3.65, except that the 129.33

REVISOR

dispensing fee for intravenous solutions which must be compounded by the pharmacist 130.1 130.2 shall be \$8 per bag, \$14 per bag for cancer chemotherapy products, and \$30 per bag for total parenteral nutritional products dispensed in one liter quantities, or \$44 per bag 130.3 for total parenteral nutritional products dispensed in quantities greater than one liter. 130.4 Actual acquisition cost includes quantity and other special discounts except time and cash 130.5 discounts. Effective July 1, 2009, The actual acquisition cost of a drug shall be estimated 130.6 by the commissioner, at average wholesale price minus 15 percent. wholesale acquisition 130.7 cost plus four percent for independently owned pharmacies located in a designated rural 130.8 area within Minnesota, and at wholesale acquisition cost plus two percent for all other 130.9 pharmacies. A pharmacy is "independently owned" if it is one of four or fewer pharmacies 130.10 under the same ownership nationally. A "designated rural area" means an area defined 130.11 as a small rural area or isolated rural area according to the four-category classification 130.12 of the Rural Urban Commuting Area system developed for the United States Health 130.13 Resources and Services Administration. Wholesale acquisition cost is defined as the 130.14 130.15 manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United States, not including prompt pay or other discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, 130.16 for the most recent month for which information is available, as reported in wholesale 130.17 price guides or other publications of drug or biological pricing data. The actual acquisition 130.18 cost of antihemophilic factor drugs shall be estimated at the average wholesale price 130.19 minus 30 percent. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource drug may be set by the 130.20 commissioner and it shall be comparable to, but no higher than, the maximum amount 130.21 paid by other third-party payors in this state who have maximum allowable cost programs. 130.22 130.23 Establishment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act. 130.24

(b) An additional dispensing fee of \$.30 may be added to the dispensing fee paid 130.25 130.26 to pharmacists for legend drug prescriptions dispensed to residents of long-term care facilities when a unit dose blister card system, approved by the department, is used. Under 130.27 this type of dispensing system, the pharmacist must dispense a 30-day supply of drug. 130.28 The National Drug Code (NDC) from the drug container used to fill the blister card must 130.29 be identified on the claim to the department. The unit dose blister card containing the 130.30 drug must meet the packaging standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, 130.31 that govern the return of unused drugs to the pharmacy for reuse. The pharmacy provider 130.32 will be required to credit the department for the actual acquisition cost of all unused 130.33 drugs that are eligible for reuse. Over-the-counter medications must be dispensed in the 130.34 manufacturer's unopened package. The commissioner may permit the drug clozapine to be 130.35 dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply. 130.36

(c) Whenever a maximum allowable cost has been set for a multisource drug,
payment shall be on the basis of the maximum allowable cost established by the
commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand name product has been granted
according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary Committee as required by
subdivision 13f, paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated "dispense as written" on
the prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21, subdivision 2.

(d) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an
outpatient setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the
provider or the amount established for Medicare by the 106 percent of the average sales
price as determined by the United States Department of Health and Human Services
pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the federal Social Security Act. If average sales
price is unavailable, the amount of payment must be lower of the usual and customary cost
submitted by the provider or the wholesale acquisition cost.

(e) The commissioner may negotiate lower reimbursement rates for specialty 131.14 131.15 pharmacy products than the rates specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals enrolled in the health care programs administered by the department 131.16 to obtain specialty pharmacy products from providers with whom the commissioner has 131.17 negotiated lower reimbursement rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those 131.18 used by a small number of recipients or recipients with complex and chronic diseases 131.19 that require expensive and challenging drug regimens. Examples of these conditions 131.20 include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis 131.21 C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and certain forms 131.22 131.23 of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include injectable and infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products, high-cost therapies, and therapies 131.24 that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult with the formulary committee 131.25 131.26 to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to this paragraph. In consulting with the formulary committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into 131.27 consideration the population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery 131.28 system and standard of care in the state, and access to care issues. The commissioner shall 131.29 have the discretion to adjust the reimbursement rate to prevent access to care issues. 131.30

(f) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmaciesmust be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.

131.33 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2011, or upon federal 131.34 approval, whichever is later.

A11-0177

SS/RT

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13h, is amended to 132.1 read: 132.2 Subd. 13h. Medication therapy management services. (a) Medical assistance 132.3 and general assistance medical care cover medication therapy management services for 132.4 a recipient taking four three or more prescriptions to treat or prevent two one or more 132.5 chronic medical conditions, or; a recipient with a drug therapy problem that is identified 132.6 by the commissioner or identified by a pharmacist and approved by the commissioner; or 132.7 prior authorized by the commissioner that has resulted or is likely to result in significant 132.8 nondrug program costs. The commissioner may cover medical therapy management 132.9 services under MinnesotaCare if the commissioner determines this is cost-effective. For 132.10 purposes of this subdivision, "medication therapy management" means the provision 132.11 of the following pharmaceutical care services by a licensed pharmacist to optimize the 132.12 therapeutic outcomes of the patient's medications: 132.13 (1) performing or obtaining necessary assessments of the patient's health status; 132.14 132.15 (2) formulating a medication treatment plan; (3) monitoring and evaluating the patient's response to therapy, including safety 132.16 and effectiveness; 132.17 (4) performing a comprehensive medication review to identify, resolve, and prevent 132.18 medication-related problems, including adverse drug events; 132.19 (5) documenting the care delivered and communicating essential information to 132.20 the patient's other primary care providers; 132.21 (6) providing verbal education and training designed to enhance patient 132.22 132.23 understanding and appropriate use of the patient's medications; (7) providing information, support services, and resources designed to enhance 132.24 patient adherence with the patient's therapeutic regimens; and 132.25 132.26 (8) coordinating and integrating medication therapy management services within the broader health care management services being provided to the patient. 132.27 Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to expand or modify the scope of practice of 132.28 the pharmacist as defined in section 151.01, subdivision 27. 132.29 (b) To be eligible for reimbursement for services under this subdivision, a pharmacist 132.30 must meet the following requirements: 132.31 (1) have a valid license issued under chapter 151; 132.32 (2) have graduated from an accredited college of pharmacy on or after May 1996, or 132.33 completed a structured and comprehensive education program approved by the Board of 132.34 Pharmacy and the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education for the provision and 132.35

documentation of pharmaceutical care management services that has both clinical anddidactic elements;

(3) be practicing in an ambulatory care setting as part of a multidisciplinary team or
have developed a structured patient care process that is offered in a private or semiprivate
patient care area that is separate from the commercial business that also occurs in the
setting, or in home settings, excluding including long-term care and settings, group homes,
if the service is ordered by the provider-directed care coordination team and facilities
providing assisted living services; and

(4) make use of an electronic patient record system that meets state standards.
(c) For purposes of reimbursement for medication therapy management services,
the commissioner may enroll individual pharmacists as medical assistance and general assistance medical care providers. The commissioner may also establish contact
requirements between the pharmacist and recipient, including limiting the number of reimbursable consultations per recipient.

133.15 (d) If there are no pharmacists who meet the requirements of paragraph (b) practicing within a reasonable geographic distance of the patient, a pharmacist who meets the 133.16 requirements may provide the services via two-way interactive video. Reimbursement 133.17 shall be at the same rates and under the same conditions that would otherwise apply to 133.18 the services provided. To qualify for reimbursement under this paragraph, the pharmacist 133.19 providing the services must meet the requirements of paragraph (b), and must be located 133.20 within an ambulatory care setting approved by the commissioner. The patient must also 133.21 be located within an ambulatory care setting approved by the commissioner. Services 133.22 133.23 provided under this paragraph may not be transmitted into the patient's residence.

(e) The commissioner shall establish a pilot project for an intensive medication 133.24 therapy management program for patients identified by the commissioner with multiple 133.25 chronic conditions and a high number of medications who are at high risk of preventable 133.26 hospitalizations, emergency room use, medication complications, and suboptimal 133.27 treatment outcomes due to medication-related problems. For purposes of the pilot 133.28 project, medication therapy management services may be provided in a patient's home 133.29 or community setting, in addition to other authorized settings. The commissioner may 133.30 waive existing payment policies and establish special payment rates for the pilot project. 133.31 The pilot project must be designed to produce a net savings to the state compared to the 133.32 estimated costs that would otherwise be incurred for similar patients without the program. 133.33 The pilot project must begin by January 1, 2010, and end June 30, 2012. 133.34

133.35 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

SS/RT

134.1 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, is amended to134.2 read:

Subd. 17. Transportation costs. (a) Medical assistance covers medical
transportation costs incurred solely for obtaining emergency medical care or transportation
costs incurred by eligible persons in obtaining emergency or nonemergency medical
care when paid directly to an ambulance company, common carrier, or other recognized
providers of transportation services. Medical transportation must be provided by:

134.8 (1) an ambulance, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 2;

134.9

(2) special transportation; or

(3) common carrier including, but not limited to, bus, taxicab, other commercialcarrier, or private automobile.

(b) Medical assistance covers special transportation, as defined in Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.0315, subpart 1, item F, if the recipient has a physical or mental impairment that
would prohibit the recipient from safely accessing and using a bus, taxi, other commercial
transportation, or private automobile.

The commissioner may use an order by the recipient's attending physician to certify that 134.16 the recipient requires special transportation services. Special transportation providers shall 134.17 perform driver-assisted services for eligible individuals. Driver-assisted service includes 134.18 passenger pickup at and return to the individual's residence or place of business, assistance 134.19 with admittance of the individual to the medical facility, and assistance in passenger 134.20 securement or in securing of wheelchairs or stretchers in the vehicle. Special transportation 134.21 providers must obtain written documentation from the health care service provider who 134.22 134.23 is serving the recipient being transported, identifying the time that the recipient arrived. Special transportation providers may not bill for separate base rates for the continuation of 134.24 a trip beyond the original destination. Special transportation providers must take recipients 134.25 134.26 to the nearest appropriate health care provider, using the most direct route. The minimum medical assistance reimbursement rates for special transportation services are: 134.27

(1) (i) \$17 for the base rate and \$1.35 per mile for special transportation services to
eligible persons who need a wheelchair-accessible van;

(ii) \$11.50 for the base rate and \$1.30 per mile for special transportation services toeligible persons who do not need a wheelchair-accessible van; and

(iii) \$60 for the base rate and \$2.40 per mile, and an attendant rate of \$9 per trip, for
special transportation services to eligible persons who need a stretcher-accessible vehicle;

(2) the base rates for special transportation services in areas defined under RUCA
to be super rural shall be equal to the reimbursement rate established in clause (1) plus
11.3 percent; and

SS/RT

135.1	(3) for special transportation services in areas defined under RUCA to be rural
135.2	or super rural areas:
135.3	(i) for a trip equal to 17 miles or less, mileage reimbursement shall be equal to 125
135.4	percent of the respective mileage rate in clause (1); and
135.5	(ii) for a trip between 18 and 50 miles, mileage reimbursement shall be equal to
135.6	112.5 percent of the respective mileage rate in clause (1).
135.7	(c) For purposes of reimbursement rates for special transportation services under
135.8	paragraph (b), the zip code of the recipient's place of residence shall determine whether
135.9	the urban, rural, or super rural reimbursement rate applies.
135.10	(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "rural urban commuting area" or "RUCA"
135.11	means a census-tract based classification system under which a geographical area is
135.12	determined to be urban, rural, or super rural.
135.13	(e) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2011, nonemergency
135.14	transportation rates, including special transportation, taxi, and other commercial carriers,
135.15	are reduced 4.5 percent. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based
135.16	purchasing plans must be reduced for services provided on or after January 1, 2012,
135.17	to reflect this reduction.

135.18 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17a, is amended to135.19 read:

Subd. 17a. **Payment for ambulance services.** (a) Medical assistance covers ambulance services. Providers shall bill ambulance services according to Medicare criteria. Nonemergency ambulance services shall not be paid as emergencies. Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2001, medical assistance payments for ambulance services shall be paid at the Medicare reimbursement rate or at the medical assistance payment rate in effect on July 1, 2000, whichever is greater.

(b) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2011, ambulance services
payment rates are reduced 4.5 percent. Payments made to managed care plans and
county-based purchasing plans must be reduced for services provided on or after January
1, 2012, to reflect this reduction.

135.30 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 18, is amended to135.31 read:

Subd. 18. Bus or taxicab transportation. To the extent authorized by rule of the
state agency, medical assistance covers costs of the most appropriate and cost-effective

REVISOR

136.1	form of transportation incurred by any ambulatory eligible person for obtaining
136.2	nonemergency medical care.
136.3	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a
136.4	subdivision to read:
136.5	Subd. 25b. Authorization with third-party liability. (a) Except as otherwise
136.6	allowed under this subdivision or required under federal or state regulations, the
136.7	commissioner must not consider a request for authorization of a service when the recipient
136.8	has coverage from a third-party payer unless the provider requesting authorization has
136.9	made a good faith effort to receive payment or authorization from the third-party payer.
136.10	A good faith effort is established by supplying with the authorization request to the
136.11	commissioner the following:
136.12	(1) a determination of payment for the service from the third-party payer, a
136.13	determination of authorization for the service from the third-party payer, or a verification
136.14	of noncoverage of the service by the third-party payer; and
136.15	(2) the information or records required by the department to document the reason for
136.16	the determination or to validate noncoverage from the third-party payer.
136.17	(b) A provider requesting authorization for services covered by Medicare is not
136.18	required to bill Medicare before requesting authorization from the commissioner if the
136.19	provider has reason to believe that a service covered by Medicare is not eligible for
136.20	payment. The provider must document that, because of recent claim experiences with
136.21	Medicare or because of written communication from Medicare, coverage is not available
136.22	for the service.
136.23	(c) Authorization is not required if a third-party payer has made payment that is
136.24	equal to or greater than 60 percent of the maximum payment amount for the service
136.25	allowed under medical assistance.
136.26	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 31a, is amended to
136.27	read:
136.28	Subd. 31a. Augmentative and alternative communication systems. (a) Medical
136.29	assistance covers augmentative and alternative communication systems consisting of
136.30	electronic or nonelectronic devices and the related components necessary to enable a
136.31	person with severe expressive communication limitations to produce or transmit messages
136.32	or symbols in a manner that compensates for that disability.
136.33	(b) Until the volume of systems purchased increases to allow a discount price, the

136.34 commissioner shall reimburse augmentative and alternative communication manufacturers

and vendors at the manufacturer's suggested retail price for augmentative and alternative 137.1 communication systems and related components. The commissioner shall separately 137.2 reimburse providers for purchasing and integrating individual communication systems 137.3 137.4 which are unavailable as a package from an augmentative and alternative communication vendor. Augmentative and alternative communication systems must be paid the lower 137.5 of the: 137.6 (1) submitted charge; or 137.7 (2)(i) manufacturer's suggested retail price minus 20 percent for providers that are 137.8 manufacturers of augmentative and alternative communication systems; or 137.9 (ii) manufacturer's invoice charge plus 20 percent for providers that are not 137.10 manufacturers of augmentative and alternative communication systems. 137.11 (c) Reimbursement rates established by this purchasing program are not subject to 137.12 Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item S or T. 137.13 137.14 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 38, is amended to read: 137.15 Subd. 38. Payments for mental health services. Payments for mental 137.16 health services covered under the medical assistance program that are provided by 137.17 masters-prepared mental health professionals shall be 80 percent of the rate paid to 137.18 doctoral-prepared professionals. Payments for mental health services covered under 137.19 the medical assistance program that are provided by masters-prepared mental health 137.20 professionals employed by community mental health centers shall be 100 percent of the 137.21 137.22 rate paid to doctoral-prepared professionals. For purposes of reimbursement of mental health professionals under the medical assistance program, all social workers who: 137.23 (1) have received a master's degree in social work from a program accredited by the 137.24 137.25 Council on Social Work Education; (2) are licensed at the level of graduate social worker or independent social worker; 137.26 and 137.27 (3) are practicing clinical social work under appropriate supervision, as defined by 137.28 chapter 148D; meet all requirements under Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0323, subpart 137.29 24, and shall be paid accordingly. 137.30 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a 137.31 subdivision to read: 137.32

137.33Subd. 55. Payment for multiple services provided on same day. The137.34commissioner shall not prohibit payment, including any supplemental payments, for

138.6

Subd. 56. Medical care coordination. (a) Medical assistance covers in-reach

- 138.1 mental health services or dental services provided to a patient by a clinic or health care
- 138.2 professional solely because the mental health services or dental services were provided on
- 138.3 the same day as other covered health care services furnished by the same provider.
- 138.4 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a
 138.5 subdivision to read:

community-based care coordination that is performed in a hospital emergency department 138.7 as an eligible procedure under a state healthcare program or private insurance for a 138.8 frequent user. A frequent user is defined as an individual who has frequented the hospital 138.9 emergency department for services three or more times in the previous four consecutive 138.10 months. In-reach community-based care coordination includes navigating services to 138.11 address a client's mental health, chemical health, social, economic, and housing needs, 138.12 or any other activity targeted at reducing the incidence of emergency room and other 138.13 138.14 nonmedically necessary health care utilization. (b) Reimbursement must be made in 15-minute increments under current Medicaid 138.15 mental health social work reimbursement methodology and allowed for up to 60 days 138.16 138.17 posthospital discharge based upon the specific identified emergency department visit or inpatient admitting event. A frequent user who is participating in care coordination within 138.18 138.19 a health care home framework is ineligible for reimbursement under this subdivision. Eligible in-reach care coordinators must hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree in social 138.20 work, public health, corrections, or related field. The commissioner shall submit any 138.21 138.22 necessary application for waivers to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to implement this subdivision. 138.23 (c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "in-reach community-based care 138.24 138.25 coordination" means the practice of a community-based worker with training, knowledge, skills, and ability to access a continuum of services, including housing, transportation, 138.26 chemical and mental health treatment, employment, and peer support services, by working 138.27 with an organization's staff to transition an individual back into the individual's living 138.28

- 138.29 environment. In-reach community-based care coordination includes working with the
- 138.30 individual during their discharge and for up to a defined amount of time in the individual's
- 138.31 <u>living environment, reducing the individual's need for readmittance.</u>

138.32 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a
138.33 subdivision to read:

A11-0177

SS/RT

139.1	Subd. 57. Payment for Part B Medicare crossover claims. Effective for services
139.2	provided on or after January 1, 2012, medical assistance payment for an enrollee's cost
139.3	sharing associated with Medicare Part B is limited to an amount up to the medical
139.4	assistance total allowed, when the medical assistance rate exceeds the amount paid by
139.5	Medicare.
139.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012.
139.7	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a
139.8	subdivision to read:
139.9	Subd. 58. Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services.
139.10	Medical assistance covers early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services
139.11	(EPSDT). The payment amount for a complete EPSDT screening shall not exceed the rate
139.12	established per Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item M, effective October 1, 2010.
139.13	Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a
139.14	subdivision to read:
139.15	Subd. 59. Services provided by advanced dental therapists and dental
139.16	therapists. Medical assistance covers services provided by advanced dental therapists
139.17	and dental therapists when provided within the scope of practice identified in sections
139.18	150A.105 and 150A.106.
139.19	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0631, subdivision 1, is amended to
139.20	read:
139.21	Subdivision 1. Co-payments Cost-sharing. (a) Except as provided in subdivision
139.22	2, the medical assistance benefit plan shall include the following co-payments cost-sharing
139.23	for all recipients, effective for services provided on or after October 1, 2003, and before
139.24	January 1, 2009 July 1, 2011:
139.25	(1) \$3 per nonpreventive visit, except as provided in paragraph (c). For purposes
139.26	of this subdivision, a visit means an episode of service which is required because of
139.27	a recipient's symptoms, diagnosis, or established illness, and which is delivered in an
139.28	ambulatory setting by a physician or physician ancillary, chiropractor, podiatrist, nurse
139.29	midwife, advanced practice nurse, audiologist, optician, or optometrist;
139.30	(2) \$3 for eyeglasses;
139.31	(3) $\frac{6}{3.50}$ for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room, except

139.32 that this co-payment shall be increased to \$20 upon federal approval; and

140.1	(4) \$3 per brand-name drug prescription and \$1 per generic drug prescription, subject
140.2	to a \$12 \$20 per month maximum for prescription drug co-payments. No co-payments
140.3	shall apply to antipsychotic drugs when used for the treatment of mental illness. :
140.4	(5) a family deductible equal to the maximum amount allowed under Code of
140.5	Federal Regulations, title 42, part 447.54; and
140.6	(b) Except as provided in subdivision 2, the medical assistance benefit plan shall
140.7	include the following co-payments for all recipients, effective for services provided on
140.8	or after January 1, 2009:
140.9	(1) \$3.50 for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room;
140.10	(2) \$3 per brand-name drug prescription and \$1 per generic drug prescription,
140.11	subject to a \$7 per month maximum for prescription drug co-payments. No co-payments
140.12	shall apply to antipsychotic drugs when used for the treatment of mental illness; and
140.13	(3) (6) for individuals identified by the commissioner with income at or below 100
140.14	percent of the federal poverty guidelines, total monthly co-payments cost-sharing must
140.15	not exceed five percent of family income. For purposes of this paragraph, family income
140.16	is the total earned and unearned income of the individual and the individual's spouse, if
140.17	the spouse is enrolled in medical assistance and also subject to the five percent limit on
140.18	co-payments_cost-sharing.
140.19	(c) (b) Recipients of medical assistance are responsible for all co-payments and
140.20	deductibles in this subdivision.
140.21	(c) Effective January 1, 2012, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, the
140.22	following co-payments for nonpreventive visits shall apply:
140.23	(1) \$3 for visits to providers whose average, risk-adjusted, total annual cost of
140.24	care per medical assistance enrollee is at the 60th percentile or lower for providers of
140.25	the same type;
140.26	(2) \$6 for visits to providers whose average, risk-adjusted, total annual cost of care
140.27	per medical assistance enrollee is greater than the 60th percentile but does not exceed the
140.28	80th percentile for providers of the same type; and
140.29	(3) \$10 for visits to providers whose average, risk-adjusted, total annual cost of
140.30	care per medical assistance enrollee is greater than the 80th percentile for providers of
140.31	the same type.
140.32	Each managed care and county-based purchasing plan shall calculate the average,
140.33	risk-adjusted, total annual cost of care for providers under this paragraph using a
140.34	methodology approved by the commissioner. The commissioner shall develop a
140.35	methodology for calculating the average, risk-adjusted, total annual cost of care for
140.36	fee-for-service providers.

SS/RT

- (d) The commissioner shall seek any federal waivers and approvals necessary to 141.1 141.2 increase the co-payment for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room under paragraph (a), clause (3), and to implement paragraph (c). 141.3 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0631, subdivision 2, is amended to 141.4 read: 141.5 Subd. 2. Exceptions. Co-payments and deductibles shall be subject to the following 141.6 exceptions: 141.7 (1) children under the age of 21; 141.8 (2) pregnant women for services that relate to the pregnancy or any other medical 141.9 condition that may complicate the pregnancy; 141.10 (3) recipients expected to reside for at least 30 days in a hospital, nursing home, or 141.11 intermediate care facility for the developmentally disabled; 141.12 (4) recipients receiving hospice care; 141.13 141.14 (5) 100 percent federally funded services provided by an Indian health service; (6) emergency services; 141.15 (7) family planning services; 141.16 (8) services that are paid by Medicare, resulting in the medical assistance program 141.17 paying for the coinsurance and deductible; and 141.18 (9) co-payments that exceed one per day per provider for nonpreventive visits, 141.19 eyeglasses, and nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room. 141.20 141.21 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0631, subdivision 3, is amended to 141.22 read: Subd. 3. Collection. (a) The medical assistance reimbursement to the provider shall 141.23 141.24 be reduced by the amount of the co-payment or deductible, except that reimbursements shall not be reduced: 141.25 (1) once a recipient has reached the \$12 \$20 per month maximum or the \$7 per 141.26 month maximum effective January 1, 2009, for prescription drug co-payments; or 141.27 (2) for a recipient identified by the commissioner under 100 percent of the federal 141.28 poverty guidelines who has met their monthly five percent co-payment cost-sharing limit. 141.29 (b) The provider collects the co-payment or deductible from the recipient. Providers 141.30 may not deny services to recipients who are unable to pay the co-payment or deductible. 141.31 (c) Medical assistance reimbursement to fee-for-service providers and payments to 141.32 managed care plans shall not be increased as a result of the removal of co-payments or 141.33
- 141.34 <u>deductibles</u> effective on or after January 1, 2009.

SS/RT

142.1	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0751, subdivision 1, is amended to
142.2	read:
142.3	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of sections 256B.0751 to 256B.0753,
142.4	the following definitions apply.
142.5	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.
142.6	(c) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of humans services and the
142.7	commissioner of health, acting jointly.
142.8	(d) "Health plan company" has the meaning provided in section 62Q.01, subdivision
142.9	4.
142.10	(e) "Personal clinician" means a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician
142.11	assistant licensed and practicing under chapter 147A, or a mental health professional
142.12	licensed under section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1) to (6); or 245.4871, subdivision
142.13	27, clauses (1) to (6), an advanced practice nurse licensed and registered to practice
142.14	under chapter 148, or a chiropractor working in cooperation with a physician, physician
142.15	assistant, or advanced practice nurse.
142.16	(f) "State health care program" means the medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and
142.17	general assistance medical care programs.

142.18 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0751, subdivision 2, is amended to 142.19 read:

Subd. 2. Development and implementation of standards. (a) By July 1, 2009, the commissioners of health and human services shall develop and implement standards of certification for health care homes for state health care programs. In developing these standards, the commissioners shall consider existing standards developed by national independent accrediting and medical home organizations. The standards developed by the commissioners must meet the following criteria:

(1) emphasize, enhance, and encourage the use of primary care, and include
the use of primary care physicians, advanced practice nurses, and mental health
professionals, physician assistants, and chiropractors as personal clinicians but permitting
multidisciplinary teams of other health professionals;

(2) focus on delivering high-quality, efficient, and effective health care services
and providing, arranging, or coordinating related social and public health services and
other services that directly affect an individual's health, access to services, quality and
outcomes, and patient satisfaction;

(3) encourage patient-centered care and services, including active participation by
the patient and family or a legal guardian, or a health care agent as defined in chapter

SS/RT

143.1 145C, as appropriate in decision making and care plan development, and providing care
143.2 that is appropriate to the patient's race, ethnicity, and language;

(4) provide patients with a consistent, ongoing contact with a personal clinician or
team of clinical professionals to ensure continuous and appropriate care for the patient's
condition;

(5) ensure that health care homes develop and maintain appropriate comprehensive
care <u>and wellness</u> plans for their patients with complex or chronic conditions, including an
assessment of health risks and, chronic conditions, <u>and socioeconomic factors affecting</u>
health and treatment;

(6) enable and encourage utilization of a range of qualified health care professionalsand other professionals or services related to the health and treatment of the patient,

including dedicated care coordinators, in a manner that enables providers to practice tothe fullest extent of their license;

(7) focus initially on patients who have or are at risk of developing chronic healthconditions;

(8) incorporate measures of quality, resource use, cost of care, and patientexperience, with appropriate adjustments for socioeconomic factors;

(9) ensure the use of health information technology and systematic follow-up,including the use of patient registries; and

(10) encourage the use of scientifically based health care, patient decision-making
aids that provide patients with information about treatment <u>and service</u> options and their
associated benefits, risks, costs, and comparative outcomes, and other clinical decision
support tools.

(b) In developing these standards, the commissioners shall consult with national
and local organizations working on health care home models, physicians, relevant
state agencies, health plan companies, hospitals, other providers, patients, and patient
advocates. The commissioners may satisfy this requirement by continuing the provider
directed care coordination advisory committee.

(c) For the purposes of developing and implementing these standards, thecommissioners may use the expedited rulemaking process under section 14.389.

143.31 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0751, subdivision 3, is amended to 143.32 read:

Subd. 3. Requirements for clinicians certified as health care homes. (a) A
personal clinician or, a primary care clinic, or community mental health center eligible for
payment under section 256B.0625, subdivision 5, may be certified as a health care home.

If a primary care clinic <u>or mental health center</u> is certified, all of the primary care clinic's <u>or mental health center's clinicians who may provide care to persons enrolled with the health care home</u> must meet the criteria of a health care home. In order to be certified as a health care home, a clinician or, clinic, or community mental health center must meet the standards set by the commissioners in accordance with this section. Certification as a health care home is voluntary. In order to maintain their status as health care homes, clinicians or clinics must renew their certification annually.

(b) Clinicians or, clinics, or mental health centers certified as health care homes must
offer their health care home services to all their patients with complex or chronic health
conditions who are interested in participation.

144.11 (c) Health care homes must participate in the health care home collaborative144.12 established under subdivision 5.

144.13 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0751, subdivision 4, is amended to 144.14 read:

Subd. 4. Alternative models and waivers of requirements. (a) Nothing in this 144.15 section shall preclude the continued development of existing medical or health care 144.16 home projects currently operating or under development by the commissioner of human 144.17 services or preclude the commissioner from establishing alternative models and payment 144.18 144.19 mechanisms for persons who are enrolled in integrated Medicare and Medicaid programs under section 256B.69, subdivisions 23 and 28, are enrolled in managed care long-term 144.20 care programs under section 256B.69, subdivision 6b, are dually eligible for Medicare and 144.21 144.22 medical assistance, are in the waiting period for Medicare, or who have other primary coverage. 144.23

(b) The commissioner of health shall modify the health care homes application for 144.24 certification to add an item allowing an applicant to indicate status as a federally qualified 144.25 health center or a federally qualified health center look-alike, as defined in section 144.26 145.9269, subdivision 1. The commissioner shall certify as a health care home each 144.27 applicant that indicates this status on a completed application for certification, without 144.28 requiring the applicant to meet the standards in Minnesota Rules, part 4764.0040. In order 144.29 to retain certification, a federally qualified health center or federally qualified health center 144.30 look-alike certified under this paragraph must seek annual recertification by submitting a 144.31 letter of intent stating its desire to be recertified but is not required to meet the standards 144.32 for recertification in Minnesota Rules, part 4764.0040. 144.33

144.34(c) The commissioner of health shall waive health care home certification144.35requirements if an applicant demonstrates that compliance with a certification requirement

145.1	will create a major financial hardship or is not feasible, and the applicant establishes an
145.2	alternative way to accomplish the objectives of the certification requirement.
145.3	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0751, is amended by adding a
145.4	subdivision to read:
145.5	Subd. 8. Coordination with local services. The health care home and the county
145.6	shall coordinate care and services provided to patients enrolled with a health care home
145.7	who have complex medical or socioeconomic needs or a disability, and who need and are
145.8	eligible for additional local services administered by counties, including but not limited
145.9	to waivered services, mental health services, social services, public health services,
145.10	transportation, and housing. The coordination of care and services must be as provided in
145.11	the plan established by the patient and health care home.
145.12	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0751, is amended by adding a
145.13	subdivision to read:
145.14	Subd. 9. Patient choice of health care home. Notwithstanding section 256B.69,
145.15	subdivisions 4 and 23, and subject to any necessary federal approval, the commissioner
145.16	may require a patient enrolled in a state health care program through a managed care
145.17	plan, county-based purchasing plan, fee-for-service, or demonstration project under
145.18	section 256B.0755 to select a health care home and agree to receive primary care and
145.19	care coordination services through the health care home as a condition of enrollment in
145.20	the state health care program. The patient must be allowed to choose from among all
145.21	available qualified health care providers, including an essential community provider as
145.22	defined in section 62Q.19, if the provider is certified as a health care home and agrees to
145.23	accept the terms, conditions, and payment rates for participation in the managed care plan,
145.24	county-based purchasing plan, fee-for-service program, or demonstration project, except
145.25	that reimbursement to federally qualified health centers and federally qualified health
145.26	center look-alikes as defined in section 145.9269 must comply with federal law.
145.27	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0751, is amended by adding a
145.28	subdivision to read:
145.29	Subd. 10. Engagement of patients and communities in health care home. The
145.30	commissioner of health shall require health care homes to demonstrate that their health
145.31	care home patients, and the racial and ethnic communities of current or potential patients,

145.32 participate in evaluating the health care home and recommending improvements and

145.33 changes to the health care home's methods and procedures in order to improve health,

SS/RT

146.1	quality, and patient satisfaction for patients from those communities. The commissioner
146.2	shall consult with racial and ethnic communities to determine whether the requirements of
146.3	this section and rules adopted under it are barriers to effective health care home methods
146.4	and procedures for serving patients of racial and ethnic communities.
146.5	Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0753, is amended by adding a
146.6	subdivision to read:
146.7	Subd. 4. Waiver recipients. A health care home shall receive the highest care
146.8	coordination payment established under section 256B.0753 for providing services to an
146.9	enrollee receiving home and community-based waiver services.
146.10	Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0754, is amended by adding a
146.11	subdivision to read:
146.12	Subd. 3. Primary care provider tiering. (a) The commissioner shall establish
146.13	a tiering system for all providers participating in Minnesota health care programs.
146.14	The tiering system must differentiate providers on the basis of their ability to provide
146.15	cost-effective, quality care and must incorporate the provider peer grouping measures
146.16	established under section 62U.04. The tier assignments must be established annually based
146.17	on the most recent peer grouping measures available. Differentiation of tier assignments
146.18	must be statistically valid. The commissioner may set specific quality standards for
146.19	providers designated as high-performing providers under this subdivision.
146.20	(b) The commissioner may adjust the rates paid to providers within each tier group
146.21	established under paragraph (a) on an annual basis. Adjustments to rates shall not include
146.22	the rate paid for care coordination services to certified health care homes under section
146.23	256B.0753. Providers designated high-performing providers under paragraph (c) are not
146.24	eligible for rate increases unless the provider also meets the cost and quality criteria
146.25	associated with that tier level.
146.26	(c) Health care homes certified under section 256B.0751, rural health clinics, and
146.27	federally qualified health care clinics are designated as high-performing providers under
146.28	this subdivision.
146.29	(d) Providers reimbursed on a cost basis are subject to rate adjustments under this
146.30	section.
146.31	(e) The commissioner may phase in the tiering system by service type.
146.32	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective one year from the public release of
146.33	provider peer grouping measures under Minnesota Statutes, section 62U.04, or upon
146.34	federal approval, whichever is later.

SS/RT

147.1	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0755, subdivision 4, is amended to
147.2	read:
147.3	Subd. 4. Payment system. (a) In developing a payment system for health care
147.4	delivery systems, the commissioner shall establish a total cost of care benchmark or a
147.5	risk/gain sharing payment model to be paid for services provided to the recipients enrolled
147.6	in a health care delivery system.
147.7	(b) The payment system may include incentive payments to health care delivery
147.8	systems that meet or exceed annual quality and performance targets realized through
147.9	the coordination of care.
147.10	(c) An amount equal to the savings realized to the general fund as a result of the
147.11	demonstration project shall be transferred each fiscal year to the health care access fund.
147.12	(d) The total cost of care benchmark for demonstration projects must be no
147.13	greater than the capitation rate that would have been paid to a managed care plan for a
147.14	substantially similar enrollee population based on the per-member per-month rate in
147.15	effect on December 31, 2010. The commissioner shall adjust benchmark payment rates
147.16	for demonstration projects as necessary to reflect the higher level of service and cost
147.17	necessary to serve a patient population with a higher incidence of socioeconomic barriers
147.18	and complexity, and shall make corresponding reductions in payment rates for projects
147.19	with a lower concentration of patients with socioeconomic barriers and complexity.
147.20	Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0755, is amended by adding a
147.21	subdivision to read:
147.22	Subd. 8. Coordination with local services. The health care home and the county
147.23	shall coordinate care and services provided to patients enrolled in a demonstration project
147.24	who have complex medical or socioeconomic needs or a disability, and who need and are
147.25	eligible for additional local services administered by counties, including but not limited
147.26	to waivered services, mental health services, social services, public health services,
147.27	transportation, or housing. The coordination of care and services must be as provided in
147.28	the plan established by the patient and primary care provider or health care home.
147.29	Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0755, is amended by adding a
147.30	subdivision to read:
147.31	Subd. 9. Rural demonstration projects. For demonstration projects serving

147.32 <u>rural areas, the commissioner shall consult with rural hospitals, primary care providers,</u>

147.33 county boards, health plans, and other key stakeholders primarily domiciled in the

147.34 service area regarding the development and approval of alternative rural health care

148.2

delivery demonstration projects under this section. In addition to organizations eligible 148.1

to establish a demonstration project under subdivision 1, a rural demonstration project may be established by a county public health or social services agency or a county-based 148.3

purchasing plan. In a rural area where multiple, competing provider-based demonstration 148.4

projects are not possible, the commissioner shall not approve more than one demonstration 148.5

project to serve the primary geographic area and shall follow the applicable procedures 148.6

and requirements in section 256B.692 regarding participation of county boards in 148.7

reviewing and approving demonstration project proposals. 148.8

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0755, is amended by adding a 148.9 subdivision to read: 148.10

Subd. 10. Patient choice of qualified provider. The commissioner shall implement 148.11 and approve demonstration projects in a manner that allows a patient to choose a primary 148.12 care provider and health care home from among all available qualified options. The 148.13 148.14 commissioner may require the patient to remain with the chosen provider, health care home, or demonstration project organization for a period of time determined by the 148.15 commissioner. The commissioner shall implement the demonstration projects in a manner 148.16 that ensures that a patient has the option of receiving services, including health care home 148.17 services, through a provider designated as an essential community provider under section 148.18 148.19 62Q.19. Demonstration projects and essential community providers must comply with section 62Q.19, subdivisions 3 to 7, for purposes of participation of providers in the 148.20 demonstration project, except that reimbursement to federally qualified health centers 148.21 148.22 and federally qualified health center look-alikes as defined in section 145.9269 must be 148.23 in compliance with federal law.

148.24 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0755, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 148.25

148.26 Subd. 11. Patient and community engagement. As a condition of approval of a demonstration project, the commissioner shall require the applicant to demonstrate 148.27 that consumers and communities to be served under the project were consulted with and 148.28 engaged in the process of developing the project proposal. The proposal must identify the 148.29 needs and preferences of consumers and communities that were identified through this 148.30 process of consultation and engagement. The consumers and communities consulted with 148.31 and engaged in the development of the proposal must generally reflect the demographics, 148.32 race, and ethnicity of those likely to be served under the demonstration project, with a 148.33

special focus on those who experience the greatest health disparities. The commissioner 148.34

shall require that demonstration project providers continue to consult with and engage
 consumers and communities during implementation and operation of the demonstration
 project.

149.4 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0755, is amended by adding a
149.5 subdivision to read:

Subd. 12. Care coordination system. The commissioner of human services, in 149.6 consultation with the commissioner of health, shall convene an advisory committee of 149.7 small, independent, rural, and safety net primary care clinics, community hospitals, 149.8 mental health centers, dental clinics, and other providers to advise the commissioner 149.9 on the establishment of a system that will allow providers participating in payment 149.10 reform demonstration projects established under this section and section 256B.0756 to 149.11 effectively coordinate and deliver care to patients. In consultation with the advisory 149.12 committee, the commissioner shall develop a plan for the care coordination system, issue a 149.13 149.14 request for proposals, and contract with a vendor or vendors to establish and maintain the technology for the care coordination system. Using appropriations made for this purpose, 149.15 the commissioner shall fund the planning, development, and establishment of the system. 149.16

149.17 Ongoing costs must be covered by payments made by the providers who use the system.

149.18 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0755, is amended by adding a 149.19 subdivision to read:

<u>Subd. 13.</u> <u>Approval and implementation.</u> <u>Beginning January 1, 2012, the</u>
 <u>commissioner of human services shall approve payment reform projects authorized under</u>
 <u>this section for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare.</u> The commissioner may approve
 <u>projects for persons enrolled in fee-for-service programs and may require managed care</u>
 <u>plans and county-based purchasing plans to contract with a demonstration project provider</u>
 <u>on the same terms, conditions, and payment arrangements as are established by the</u>
 <u>commissioner for fee-for-service programs.</u>

149.27 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0756, is amended to read:

149.28

256B.0756 HENNEPIN AND RAMSEY COUNTIES PILOT PROGRAM.

(a) The commissioner, upon federal approval of a new waiver request or amendment
of an existing demonstration, may establish a pilot program in Hennepin County or
Ramsey County, or both, to test alternative and innovative integrated health care delivery
networks.

SS/RT

(b) Individuals eligible for the pilot program shall be individuals who are eligible for
medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 15, and who reside in Hennepin
County or Ramsey County.

(c) Individuals enrolled in the pilot program shall be enrolled in an integrated
health care delivery network in their county of residence. The integrated health care
delivery network in Hennepin County shall be a network, such as an accountable care
organization or a community-based collaborative care network, created by or including
Hennepin County Medical Center. The integrated health care delivery network in Ramsey
County shall be a network, such as an accountable care organization or community-based
collaborative care network, created by or including Regions Hospital.

(d) The commissioner shall cap pilot program enrollment at 7,000 enrollees forHennepin County and 3,500 enrollees for Ramsey County.

(e) In developing a payment system for the pilot programs, the commissioner shall
establish a total cost of care for the recipients enrolled in the pilot programs that equals
the cost of care that would otherwise be spent for these enrollees in the prepaid medical
assistance program.

(f) Counties may transfer funds necessary to support the nonfederal share of
payments for integrated health care delivery networks in their county. Such transfers per
county shall not exceed 15 percent of the expected expenses for county enrollees.

(g) The commissioner shall apply to the federal government for, or as appropriate, 150.20 cooperate with counties, providers, or other entities that are applying for any applicable 150.21 grant or demonstration under the Patient Protection and Affordable Health Care Act, Public 150.22 150.23 Law 111-148, or the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, Public Law 111-152, that would further the purposes of or assist in the creation of an integrated health 150.24 care delivery network for the purposes of this subdivision, including, but not limited to, a 150.25 150.26 global payment demonstration or the community-based collaborative care network grants. (h) A demonstration project established under this section must meet the 150.27

requirements of section 256B.0755, subdivisions 8, 9, 10, and 11.

150.29 Sec. 58. [256B.0758] PREGNANCY CARE HOMES.

150.30 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions
150.31 <u>apply.</u>

150.32 (b) "Pregnancy care home" means a health care home certified by the commissioner

150.33 of health under section 256B.0751 that provides pregnancy care services in a way that

150.34 is patient-centered, outcome-driven, comprehensive, and coordinated, and meets the

150.35 standards specified and developed under subdivision 3.

REVISOR

(c) "Pregnancy care services" means prenatal care, consultative perinatal services, 151.1 intrapartum and postpartum care, and well-baby care for the first week. 151.2 (d) "State health care program" means the medical assistance and MinnesotaCare 151.3 151.4 programs. Subd. 2. Development and implementation of standards. (a) The commissioners 151.5 of human services and health shall develop and implement standards of certification 151.6 of pregnancy care homes for state health care programs. In developing standards, the 151.7 commissioners shall consult with representatives of the American College of Nurse 151.8 Midwives, the American Congress of OB/GYN, the American Academy of Family 151.9 Practice, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and relevant local consumer groups. 151.10 Subd. 3. Criteria for development of standards. (a) A pregnancy care home must 151.11 meet the general health care home standards developed by the commissioners under 151.12 section 256B.0751, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), (6), and (8) to (10), and 151.13 must also meet specific standards for pregnancy care homes. The specific standards for 151.14 151.15 pregnancy care homes developed by the commissioners must meet the criteria specified in this subdivision. 151.16 (b) A pregnancy care home must meet an initial threshold of at least 300 births 151.17 per year for the first year, and a threshold of at least 500 births per year for the second 151.18 and succeeding years. No single pregnancy health care home shall perform more than 151.19 151.20 25 percent of the total births in the state. (c) A pregnancy care home must provide pregnancy care services. Nonpregnancy 151.21 complications, such as preexisting illness, shall be covered by medical assistance outside 151.22 151.23 of the pregnancy care home. During a pregnancy episode, the pregnancy care home must coordinate necessary nonpregnancy health care services with the mother's primary care 151.24 provider or another appropriate provider. 151.25 151.26 (d) Each pregnancy care home must have adequate reinsurance that meets the standards specified by the commissioners. 151.27 (e) A pregnancy care home may provide pregnancy services through any health care 151.28 professional licensed to provide the service in Minnesota, including but not limited to 151.29 certified professional midwives and licensed midwives, family practitioners, obstetricians, 151.30 perinatologists, pediatricians, neonatologists, and advanced practice nurses. 151.31 (f) Pregnancy care within a pregnancy care home may be provided at any Minnesota 151.32 facility licensed to provide pregnancy care and birth, including but not limited to 151.33 freestanding birth centers, integrated birth centers, and hospitals. Each pregnancy care 151.34 151.35 home must offer the option of midwife-directed pregnancy care services in a licensed integrated or freestanding birth center. 151.36

152.1	(g) A pregnancy care home must have a governing board comprised of at least
152.2	eight members. One-half of the governing board members must be providers licensed to
152.3	attend births.
152.4	(h) Each pregnancy care home must have a formal consultative relationship with at
152.5	least one level III perinatal center to provide care for mothers and babies who develop
152.6	pregnancy complications.
152.7	(i) Each pregnancy care home must comply with state and federal requirements for
152.8	the use of interoperable electronic medical records.
152.9	(j) Each pregnancy care home must submit annual reports to the commissioners of
152.10	human services and health that document:
152.11	(1) all relevant pregnancy care outcomes and patient satisfaction measures; and
152.12	(2) the financial status of the pregnancy care home.
152.13	All reports are public data under section 13.02.
152.14	(k) Each pregnancy care home must offer culturally appropriate and
152.15	language-appropriate care coordination services in a manner that is consistent with health
152.16	care home requirements.
152.17	(1) For the purposes of developing and implementing the standards in this
152.18	subdivision, the commissioners may use the expedited rulemaking process under section
152.19	<u>14.389.</u>
152.20	Subd. 4. Certification process. Providers seeking certification as a pregnancy care
152.21	home must apply to the commissioner of health. Providers certified by the commissioner
152.22	of health may provide pregnancy care services through pregnancy care homes beginning
152.23	July 1, 2012. Certification as a pregnancy care home is voluntary, except that beginning
152.24	July 1, 2014, all nonemergency pregnancy care services covered under state health care
152.25	programs must be provided through providers certified as pregnancy care homes.
152.26	Subd. 5. Payments to pregnancy care homes. (a) The commissioner of human
152.27	services, in coordination with the commissioner of health, shall develop a payment system
152.28	that provides a single per-person payment to pregnancy care homes to cover all pregnancy
152.29	care services provided to each mother and infant enrolled in a state health care program.
152.30	Pregnancy care homes receiving payments under this subdivision remain eligible for care
152.31	coordination payments under section 256B.0753.
152.32	(b) Payment amounts for pregnancy care homes shall be uniform statewide and
152.33	determined annually by the commissioner, based initially upon a specified percentage
152.34	of the calculated average cost of care for mothers and infants under state health care
152.35	programs for the three most recent fiscal years for which cost information is available.
152.36	Beginning July 1, 2014, statewide payment amounts for pregnancy care homes shall be

SS/RT

- determined annually by the commissioner by adjusting the current payment amount by 153.1 a measure of medical inflation selected by the commissioner that best represents the 153.2 change in the cost of pregnancy-related services provided to patients covered by private 153.3 153.4 sector health coverage. (c) Pregnancy care home payments must initially be made for pregnancy care 153.5 153.6 services provided to pregnant women who are not high risk, beginning July 1, 2012. Beginning January 1, 2013, the commissioner shall phase in higher payments for high-risk 153.7 pregnancy categories so that beginning July 1, 2014, pregnancy care services for all 153.8 low-risk and high-risk pregnancies are reimbursed under this subdivision. 153.9 Sec. 59. [256B.0759] CARE COORDINATION FOR ENROLLEES. 153.10 Subdivision 1. Qualified enrollee. For purposes of this section, a "qualified 153.11 enrollee" means: (1) a medical assistance enrollee eligible under this chapter; or (2) a 153.12 MinnesotaCare enrollee eligible under chapter 256L. 153.13 153.14 Subd. 2. Selection of primary care provider. The commissioner shall require qualified enrollees who do not have a designated medical condition to select a primary 153.15 care provider and agree to receive primary care services from that provider as a condition 153.16 153.17 of medical assistance or MinnesotaCare enrollment. Subd. 3. Selection of health care home; care coordination. (a) The commissioner 153.18 153.19 shall require qualified enrollees who have a medical condition designated by the commissioner to select a health care home certified under section 256B.0751 and agree 153.20 to receive primary care and care coordination services through that health care home as 153.21 153.22 a condition of medical assistance or MinnesotaCare enrollment. For purposes of this subdivision, the commissioner shall designate medical conditions with a high likelihood 153.23 of inappropriate inpatient hospital admissions for which care coordination and prior 153.24 153.25 authorization of admissions are expected to improve the quality of care and lead to costs savings for state health care programs. 153.26 (b) The commissioner shall include on Minnesota health care program enrollment 153.27 cards a designation as to whether an enrollee meets the criteria in paragraph (a). In order 153.28 to receive medical assistance or MinnesotaCare payment for nonemergency inpatient 153.29 hospital admissions for enrollees meeting the criteria in paragraph (a), a hospital must 153.30
- 153.31 receive prior authorization from the enrollee's health care home.
- 153.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, for MinnesotaCare
 153.33 enrollees not eligible for a federal match, and is effective January 1, 2012, or upon federal
 153.34 approval, whichever is later, for medical assistance enrollees and for MinnesotaCare
 153.35 enrollees eligible for a federal match.

154.1	Sec. 60. [256B.0760] ELECTIVE SURGERY.
154.2	Subdivision 1. Payment prohibition. The commissioner, in consultation with
154.3	health care providers, health care homes certified under section 256B.0751, managed
154.4	care plans providing services under section 256B.69, and county-based purchasing plans
154.5	providing services under section 256B.692, shall identify elective or nonemergency
154.6	surgical procedures for which less invasive and less costly alternative treatment methods
154.7	are available, and shall prohibit payment for these elective or nonemergency surgical
154.8	procedures if the alternative treatment methods have not first been evaluated for use
154.9	and, if appropriate, provided to the enrollee.
154.10	Subd. 2. Implementation. The commissioner shall implement the payment
154.11	prohibitions in paragraph (a) for fee-for-service medical assistance providers by January
154.12	1, 2012, and shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans to implement
154.13	the payment prohibitions in paragraph (a) for providers employed or under contract for
154.14	services provided to medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees beginning January
154.15	<u>1, 2012.</u>
154.16	Subd. 3. Reduction in capitation rates. The commissioner shall reduce medical
154.17	assistance and MinnesotaCare capitation rates to managed care and county-based
154.18	purchasing plans beginning January 1, 2012, to reflect cost-savings to plans resulting from
154 10	implementation of the payment prohibitions required by this subdivision

154.19 implementation of the payment prohibitions required by this subdivision.

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.37, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 154.20 Subd. 5. Private benefits to be used first. Private accident and health care 154.21 154.22 coverage, including Medicare for medical services and coverage provided through the 154.23 United States Department of Veterans Affairs, is primary coverage and must be exhausted before medical assistance or alternative care services are paid for medical services 154.24 154.25 including home health care, personal care assistance services, hospice, supplies and equipment, or services covered under a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 154.26 waiver. When a person who is otherwise eligible for medical assistance has private 154.27 accident or health care coverage, including Medicare or a prepaid health plan or coverage 154.28 provided through the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, the private health care 154.29 benefits available to the person must be used first and to the fullest extent. 154.30

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
 Subd. 3a. County authority. (a) The commissioner, when implementing or
 administering the medical assistance prepayment program within a county, must include
 the county board in the process of development, approval, and issuance of the request for

proposals to provide services to eligible individuals within the proposed county, including 155.1 proposals for demonstration projects established under section 256B.0755. County boards 155.2 must be given reasonable opportunity to make recommendations regarding assist in 155.3 the development, issuance, review of responses, and changes needed in the request for 155.4 proposals. The commissioner must provide county boards the opportunity to review 155.5 each proposal based on the identification of community needs under chapters 145A and 155.6 256E and county advocacy activities. If a county board finds that a proposal does not 155.7 address certain community needs, the county board and commissioner shall continue 155.8 efforts for improving the proposal and network prior to the approval of the contract. 155.9 The county board shall make recommendations determinations regarding the approval 155.10 of local networks and their operations to ensure adequate local availability and access to 155.11 covered services. The provider or health plan must respond directly to county advocates 155.12 and the state prepaid medical assistance ombudsperson regarding service delivery and 155.13 must be accountable to the state regarding contracts with medical assistance funds. The 155.14 155.15 county board may recommend shall decide a maximum number of participating health plans including county-based purchasing plans after considering the size of the enrolling 155.16 population; ensuring adequate access and capacity; considering the client and county 155.17 administrative complexity; and considering the need to promote the viability of locally 155.18 developed health plans, managed care plans, or demonstration projects established under 155.19 section 256B.0755. The county board or a single entity representing a group of county 155.20 boards and the commissioner shall mutually select one or more qualified health plans or 155.21 county-based purchasing plans for participation at the time of initial implementation of the 155.22 155.23 prepaid medical assistance program or a demonstration project established under section 256B.0755 in that county or group of counties and at the time of contract renewal. The 155.24 commissioner shall also seek input for contract requirements from the county or single 155.25 155.26 entity representing a group of county boards at each contract renewal and incorporate those recommendations into the contract negotiation process. 155.27

(b) At the option of the county board, the board may develop contract requirements 155.28 related to the achievement of local public health goals and health care delivery and access 155.29 goals to meet the health needs of medical assistance enrollees. These requirements must 155.30 be reasonably related to the performance of health plan managed care or delivery system 155.31 demonstration project functions and within the scope of the medical assistance benefit 155.32 set. If the county board and the commissioner mutually agree to such requirements, the 155.33 department The commissioner shall include such requirements in all health plan contracts 155.34 governing the prepaid medical assistance program in that county at initial implementation 155.35 of the program or demonstration project in that county and at the time of contract renewal. 155.36

A11-0177

SS/RT

The county board may participate in the enforcement of the contract provisions related to 156.1 local public health goals. 156.2

(c) For counties in which a prepaid medical assistance program has not been 156.3 established, the commissioner shall not implement that program if a county board submits 156.4 an acceptable and timely preliminary and final proposal under section 256B.692, until 156.5 county-based purchasing is no longer operational in that county. For counties in which 156.6 a prepaid medical assistance program is in existence on or after September 1, 1997, the 156.7 commissioner must terminate contracts with health plans according to section 256B.692, 156.8 subdivision 5, if the county board submits and the commissioner accepts a preliminary and 156.9 final proposal according to that subdivision. The commissioner is not required to terminate 156.10 contracts that begin on or after September 1, 1997, according to section 256B.692 until 156.11 two years have elapsed from the date of initial enrollment. 156.12

(d) In the event that a county board or a single entity representing a group of county 156.13 boards and the commissioner cannot reach agreement regarding: (i) the selection of 156.14 156.15 participating health plans or demonstration projects under section 256B.0755 in that county; (ii) contract requirements; or (iii) implementation and enforcement of county 156.16 requirements including provisions regarding local public health goals, the commissioner 156.17 shall resolve all disputes after taking into account by approving the recommendations of 156.18 a three-person mediation panel. The panel shall be composed of one designee of the 156.19 president of the association of Minnesota counties, one designee of the commissioner of 156.20 human services, and one person selected jointly by the designee of the commissioner of 156.21 human services and the designee of the Association of Minnesota Counties. Within a 156.22 156.23 reasonable period of time before the hearing, the panelists must be provided all documents and information relevant to the mediation. The parties to the mediation must be given 156.24 30 days' notice of a hearing before the mediation panel. 156.25

(e) If a county which elects to implement county-based purchasing ceases to 156.26 implement county-based purchasing, it is prohibited from assuming the responsibility of 156.27 county-based purchasing for a period of five years from the date it discontinues purchasing. 156.28

(f) The commissioner shall not require that contractual disputes between 156.29 county-based purchasing entities and the commissioner be mediated by a panel that 156.30 includes a representative of the Minnesota Council of Health Plans. 156.31

(g) At the request of a county-purchasing entity, the commissioner shall adopt a 156.32 contract reprocurement or renewal schedule under which all counties included in the 156.33 entity's service area are reprocured or renewed at the same time. 156.34

(h) The commissioner shall provide a written report under section 3.195 to the chairs 156.35 of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over human services in the senate and the 156.36

REVISOR

house of representatives describing in detail the activities undertaken by the commissioner
to ensure full compliance with this section. The report must also provide an explanation
for any decisions of the commissioner not to accept the recommendations of a county or
group of counties required to be consulted under this section. The report must be provided
at least 30 days prior to the effective date of a new or renewed prepaid or managed care
contract in a county.

157.7 (i) This section also applies to other Minnesota health care programs administered
 157.8 by the commissioner, including but not limited to the MinnesotaCare program.

Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Limitation of choice. (a) The commissioner shall develop criteria to
determine when limitation of choice may be implemented in the experimental counties.
The criteria shall ensure that all eligible individuals in the county have continuing access
to the full range of medical assistance services as specified in subdivision 6.

(b) The commissioner shall exempt the following persons from participation in theproject, in addition to those who do not meet the criteria for limitation of choice:

157.16 (1) persons eligible for medical assistance according to section 256B.055,157.17 subdivision 1;

(2) persons eligible for medical assistance due to blindness or disability as
determined by the Social Security Administration or the state medical review team, unless:

(i) they are 65 years of age or older; or

(ii) they reside in Itasca County or they reside in a county in which the commissioner
conducts a pilot project under a waiver granted pursuant to section 1115 of the Social
Security Act;

(3) recipients who currently have private coverage through a health maintenanceorganization;

(4) recipients who are eligible for medical assistance by spending down excessincome for medical expenses other than the nursing facility per diem expense;

(5) recipients who receive benefits under the Refugee Assistance Program,
established under United States Code, title 8, section 1522(e);

(6) children who are both determined to be severely emotionally disturbed andreceiving case management services according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 20,

except children who are eligible for and who decline enrollment in an approved preferredintegrated network under section 245.4682;

(7) adults who are both determined to be seriously and persistently mentally ill and
 received case management services according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 20;

SS/RT

A11-0177

(8) persons eligible for medical assistance according to section 256B.057,subdivision 10; and

(9) persons with access to cost-effective employer-sponsored private health
insurance or persons enrolled in a non-Medicare individual health plan determined to be
cost-effective according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 15.

Children under age 21 who are in foster placement may enroll in the project on an elective basis. Individuals excluded under clauses (1), (6), and (7) may choose to enroll on an elective basis. The commissioner may enroll recipients in the prepaid medical assistance program for seniors who are (1) age 65 and over, and (2) eligible for medical assistance by spending down excess income.

(c) The commissioner may allow persons with a one-month spenddown who are
otherwise eligible to enroll to voluntarily enroll or remain enrolled, if they elect to prepay
their monthly spenddown to the state.

(d) The commissioner may require those individuals to enroll in the prepaid medical
assistance program who otherwise would have been excluded under paragraph (b), clauses
(1), (3), and (8), and under Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1452, subpart 2, items H, K, and L.

(e) Before limitation of choice is implemented, eligible individuals shall be notified 158.17 and after notification, shall be allowed to choose only among demonstration providers. 158.18 The commissioner may assign an individual with private coverage through a health 158.19 maintenance organization, to the same health maintenance organization for medical 158.20 assistance coverage, if the health maintenance organization is under contract for medical 158.21 assistance in the individual's county of residence. After initially choosing a provider, 158.22 158.23 the recipient is allowed to change that choice only at specified times as allowed by the commissioner. If a demonstration provider ends participation in the project for any reason, 158.24 a recipient enrolled with that provider must select a new provider but may change providers 158.25 without cause once more within the first 60 days after enrollment with the second provider. 158.26

(f) An infant born to a woman who is eligible for and receiving medical assistance and who is enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program shall be retroactively enrolled to the month of birth in the same managed care plan as the mother once the child is enrolled in medical assistance unless the child is determined to be excluded from enrollment in a prepaid plan under this section.

(g) For an eligible individual under the age of 65, in the absence of a specific
 managed care plan choice by the individual, the commissioner shall assign the individual to
 the county-based purchasing plan, if any, in the county of the individual's residence. For an
 eligible individual over the age of 65, the commissioner shall make the default assignment

on the county-based purchasing plan entering into a contract with the commissioner to serve this population and receiving federal approval as a special needs plan.

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, subdivision 5a, is amended to read: 159.3 Subd. 5a. Managed care contracts. (a) Managed care contracts under this section 159.4 and section 256L.12 shall be entered into or renewed on a calendar year basis beginning 159.5 January 1, 1996. Managed care contracts which were in effect on June 30, 1995, and set to 159.6 renew on July 1, 1995, shall be renewed for the period July 1, 1995 through December 159.7 31, 1995 at the same terms that were in effect on June 30, 1995. The commissioner may 159.8 issue separate contracts with requirements specific to services to medical assistance 159.9 recipients age 65 and older. 159.10

(b) A prepaid health plan providing covered health services for eligible persons pursuant to chapters 256B and 256L is responsible for complying with the terms of its contract with the commissioner. Requirements applicable to managed care programs under chapters 256B and 256L established after the effective date of a contract with the commissioner take effect when the contract is next issued or renewed.

(c) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2003, the commissioner 159.16 159.17 shall withhold five percent of managed care plan payments under this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid medical 159.18 assistance program pending completion of performance targets. Each performance target 159.19 must be quantifiable, objective, measurable, and reasonably attainable, except in the case 159.20 of a performance target based on a federal or state law or rule. Criteria for assessment 159.21 159.22 of each performance target must be outlined in writing prior to the contract effective date. The managed care plan must demonstrate, to the commissioner's satisfaction, 159.23 that the data submitted regarding attainment of the performance target is accurate. The 159.24 159.25 commissioner shall periodically change the administrative measures used as performance targets in order to improve plan performance across a broader range of administrative 159.26 services. The performance targets must include measurement of plan efforts to contain 159.27 spending on health care services and administrative activities. The commissioner may 159.28 adopt plan-specific performance targets that take into account factors affecting only one 159.29 plan, including characteristics of the plan's enrollee population. The withheld funds 159.30 must be returned no sooner than July of the following year if performance targets in the 159.31 contract are achieved. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration projects 159.32 under subdivision 23. 159.33

(d) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2009, through December31, 2009, the commissioner shall withhold three percent of managed care plan payments

A11-0177

under this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692
for the prepaid medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no
sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may
exclude special demonstration projects under subdivision 23.

(e) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2010, the commissioner
shall require that managed care plans use the assessment and authorization processes,
forms, timelines, standards, documentation, and data reporting requirements, protocols,
billing processes, and policies consistent with medical assistance fee-for-service or the
Department of Human Services contract requirements consistent with medical assistance
fee-for-service or the Department of Human Services contract requirements for all
personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659.

(f) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2010, through December
31, 2010, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments
under this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692
for the prepaid medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no
sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may
exclude special demonstration projects under subdivision 23.

(g) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2011, the commissioner
shall include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (c) a reduction in
the health plan's emergency room utilization rate for state health care program enrollees
by a measurable rate of five percent from the plan's utilization rate for state health care
program enrollees for the previous calendar year.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following calendar year if the managed care plan demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a reduction in the utilization rate was achieved.

160.26 The withhold described in this paragraph shall continue for each consecutive contract period until the plan's emergency room utilization rate for state health care 160.27 program enrollees is reduced by 25 percent of the plan's emergency room utilization 160.28 rate for state health care program enrollees for calendar year 2009. Hospitals shall 160.29 cooperate with the health plans in meeting this performance target and shall accept 160.30 payment withholds that may be returned to the hospitals if the performance target is 160.31 achieved. The commissioner shall structure the withhold so that the commissioner returns 160.32 a portion of the withheld funds in amounts commensurate with achieved reductions in 160.33 utilization less than the targeted amount. The withhold in this paragraph does not apply to 160.34 county-based purchasing plans. 160.35

SS/RT A11-0177

(h) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, the commissioner 161.1 161.2 shall include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (c) a reduction in the plan's hospitalization rates or subsequent hospitalizations within 30 days of a previous 161.3 hospitalization of a patient regardless of the reason for the hospitalization for state health 161.4 care program enrollees by a measurable rate of five percent from the plan's utilization rate 161.5 for state health care program enrollees for the previous calendar year. 161.6 The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 161.7 of the following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan 161.8 demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a reduction in the hospitalization 161.9 rate was achieved. 161.10 The withhold described in this paragraph must continue for each consecutive 161.11 161.12 contract period until the plan's subsequent hospitalization rate for state health care program enrollees is reduced by 25 percent of the plan's subsequent hospitalization rate 161.13 for state health care program enrollees for calendar year 2010. Hospitals shall cooperate 161.14 161.15 with the plans in meeting this performance target and shall accept payment withholds that must be returned to the hospitals if the performance target is achieved. The commissioner 161.16 shall structure the withhold so that the commissioner returns a portion of the withheld 161.17 161.18 funds in amounts commensurate with achieved reductions in utilization less than the targeted amount. 161.19 (h) (i) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2011, through December 161.20 31, 2011, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments 161.21 under this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 161.22 for the prepaid medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no 161.23 161.24 sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special demonstration projects under subdivision 23. 161.25

161.26 (i) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012, through December 31, 2012, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments 161.27 under this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 161.28 for the prepaid medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no 161.29 sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may 161.30 exclude special demonstration projects under subdivision 23. 161.31

(i) (k) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2013, through December 161.32 31, 2013, the commissioner shall withhold 4.5 percent of managed care plan payments 161.33 under this section and county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 161.34 for the prepaid medical assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no 161.35

SS/RT

sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner mayexclude special demonstration projects under subdivision 23.

(k) (1) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2014, the commissioner
shall withhold three percent of managed care plan payments under this section and
county-based purchasing plan payments under section 256B.692 for the prepaid medical
assistance program. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and
no later than July 31 of the following year. The commissioner may exclude special
demonstration projects under subdivision 23.

(h) (m) A managed care plan or a county-based purchasing plan under section
 256B.692 may include as admitted assets under section 62D.044 any amount withheld
 under this section that is reasonably expected to be returned.

(m) (n) Contracts between the commissioner and a prepaid health plan are exempt
 from the set-aside and preference provisions of section 16C.16, subdivisions 6, paragraph
 (a), and 7.

 $\frac{(n)}{(0)}$ The return of the withhold under paragraphs (d), (f), and (h) to (k) is not subject to the requirements of paragraph (c).

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, subdivision 5c, is amended to read:
Subd. 5c. Medical education and research fund. (a) The commissioner of human
services shall transfer each year to the medical education and research fund established
under section 62J.692, the following:

(1) an amount equal to the reduction in the prepaid medical assistance payments as 162.21 specified in this clause. Until January 1, 2002, the county medical assistance capitation 162.22 base rate prior to plan specific adjustments and after the regional rate adjustments under 162.23 subdivision 5b is reduced 6.3 percent for Hennepin County, two percent for the remaining 162.24 162.25 metropolitan counties, and no reduction for nonmetropolitan Minnesota counties; and after January 1, 2002, the county medical assistance capitation base rate prior to plan specific 162.26 adjustments is reduced 6.3 percent for Hennepin County, two percent for the remaining 162.27 metropolitan counties, and 1.6 percent for nonmetropolitan Minnesota counties. Nursing 162.28 facility and elderly waiver payments and demonstration project payments operating 162.29 under subdivision 23 are excluded from this reduction. The amount calculated under 162.30 this clause shall not be adjusted for periods already paid due to subsequent changes to 162.31 the capitation payments; 162.32

(2) beginning July 1, 2003, \$4,314,000 from the capitation rates paid under thissection;

SS/RT

(3) beginning July 1, 2002, an additional \$12,700,000 from the capitation rates 163.1 163.2 paid under this section; and (4) beginning July 1, 2003, an additional \$4,700,000 from the capitation rates paid 163.3 under this section. 163.4 (b) This subdivision shall be effective upon approval of a federal waiver which 163.5 allows federal financial participation in the medical education and research fund. Effective 163.6 July 1, 2009, and thereafter, the transfers required by paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), 163.7 shall not exceed the total amount transferred for fiscal year 2009. Any excess shall first 163.8 reduce the amounts otherwise required to be transferred under paragraph (a), clauses 163.9 (2) to (4). Any excess following this reduction shall proportionally reduce the transfers 163.10 under paragraph (a), clause (1). 163.11 (c) Beginning July 1, 2009, of the amounts in paragraph (a), the commissioner shall 163.12 transfer \$21,714,000 each fiscal year to the medical education and research fund. The 163.13 balance of the transfers under paragraph (a) shall be transferred to the medical education 163.14 163.15 and research fund no earlier than July 1 of the following fiscal year. (d) Beginning in fiscal year 2012, the commissioner shall reduce the amount 163.16 transferred to the medical education research fund under paragraph (a), by \$6,404,000 163.17 each fiscal year. This reduction must be applied to the amount available for general 163.18 distribution under section 62J.692, subdivision 7, clause (5). 163.19 Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a 163.20 subdivision to read: 163.21 Subd. 51. Risk corridor. (a) The commissioner must consider implementing, 163.22 163.23 beginning January 1, 2012, a risk corridor payment system in accordance with this subdivision. 163.24 163.25 (b) The following definitions apply to this subdivision. (1) "Reported net income" means the amount of net income reported for state public 163.26 programs annually to the commissioner of health on Minnesota Supplement #1, Statement 163.27 of Revenue, Expenses, and Net Income, as adjusted for any payments made or received 163.28 under this subdivision for the year prior to the reporting year. 163.29 (2) "Reported net loss" means the amount of net loss reported for state public 163.30 programs annually to the commissioner of health on Minnesota Supplement #1, Statement 163.31

163.32 of Revenue, Expenses, and Net Income, as adjusted for any payments made or received

163.33 <u>under this subdivision for the year prior to the reporting year.</u>

164.1	(3) "Reported net premium income" means the amount of net premium income
164.2	reported for state public programs annually to the commissioner of health on Minnesota
164.3	Supplement #1, Statement of Revenue, Expenses, and Net Income.
164.4	(4) "Excess earnings" means the amount of reported net income which is greater
164.5	than the earnings threshold.
164.6	(5) "Excess loss" means the amount of reported net loss which is greater than the
164.7	loss threshold.
164.8	(6) "Target earnings" means an amount equal to the product of reported net premium
164.9	income and the target percentage of acceptable net income developed under paragraph (c).
164.10	(7) "Earnings threshold" means an amount equal to the sum of the target earnings
164.11	plus three percent of the reported net premium income.
164.12	(8) "Loss threshold" means the amount that is equal to the difference of the target
164.13	earnings and three percent of the reported net premium income.
164.14	(9) "State public programs" means those prepaid medical assistance and
164.15	MinnesotaCare programs for which a managed care plan or county-based purchasing
164.16	plan contracts with the state to provide coverage under this section, section 256B.692 or
164.17	256L.12. For purposes of this subdivision, state public programs do not include programs
164.18	operating under subdivisions 23 and 28.
164.19	(c) The commissioner must establish a target percentage of acceptable net income
164.20	for state public programs payment rates of at least one percent of net premium revenue,
164.21	through the rate setting process based on an actuarially sound rate methodology. The
164.22	target percentage must be calculated after application of any rate reductions that are not
164.23	related to fee-for-service charges and an appropriate provision for administrative expenses,
164.24	surcharges, and taxes, as determined by the commissioner.
164.25	(d) On an annual basis, the commissioner must perform a reconciliation, which
164.26	includes determining any excess earnings or excess loss after calculation of the target
164.27	earnings, earnings threshold and loss threshold, and application of the risk corridor to the
164.28	reported net income or reported net loss.
164.29	(e) If the reconciliation results in excess earnings, the managed care plan or
164.30	county-based purchasing plan must make a payment to the commissioner in an amount
164.31	equal to 80 percent of the excess earnings. The managed care plan or county-based
164.32	purchasing plan must distribute the remaining 20 percent of the excess earnings to
164.33	contracted providers of state plan services mandated by federal law, based on a provider's
164.34	proportion of the annual total payment for such services.

REVISOR

- 165.1(f) If the reconciliation results in an excess loss, the commissioner must make a165.2payment to the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan in an amount equal165.3to 50 percent of the excess loss.
- 165.4 (g) Any payments required under this subdivision must be made on or after July 1 of
 165.5 the year following the applicable contract year.
- Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
 Subd. 6. Service delivery. (a) Each demonstration provider shall be responsible for
 the health care coordination for eligible individuals. Demonstration providers:
- (1) shall authorize and arrange for the provision of all needed health services
 including but not limited to the full range of services listed in sections 256B.02,
 subdivision 8, and 256B.0625 in order to ensure appropriate health care is delivered to
 enrollees. Notwithstanding section 256B.0621, demonstration providers that provide
 nursing home and community-based services under this section shall provide relocation
 service coordination to enrolled persons age 65 and over;
- (2) shall accept the prospective, per capita payment from the commissioner in return
 for the provision of comprehensive and coordinated health care services for eligible
 individuals enrolled in the program;
- 165.18 (3) may contract with other health care and social service practitioners to provide165.19 services to enrollees; and
- (4) shall institute recipient grievance procedures according to the method established
 by the project, utilizing applicable requirements of chapter 62D. Disputes not resolved
 through this process shall be appealable to the commissioner as provided in subdivision 11.
- (b) Demonstration providers must comply with the standards for claims settlement
 under section 72A.201, subdivisions 4, 5, 7, and 8, when contracting with other health
 care and social service practitioners to provide services to enrollees. A demonstration
 provider must pay a clean claim, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,
 section 447.45(b), within 30 business days of the date of acceptance of the claim.
- (c) A demonstration provider must accept into its medical assistance and
 MinnesotaCare provider networks any health care or social service provider that agrees
 to accept payment, quality assurance, and other contract terms that the demonstration
 provider applies to other similarly situated providers in its provider network.
- 165.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, and applies to
 165.33 provider contracts that take effect on or after that date.

- Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, is amended by adding asubdivision to read:
- 166.3Subd. 30. Provider payment rates. (a) Each managed care and county-based plan166.4shall, by October 1, 2011, array all providers within each provider type, employed by or166.5under contract with the plan, by their average total annual cost of care for serving medical166.6assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees for the most recent reporting year for which data166.7is available, risk-adjusted for enrollee demographics and health status.
- (b) Beginning January 1, 2012, and each contract year thereafter, each managed
 care and county-based purchasing plan shall implement a progressive payment withhold
 methodology for each provider type, under which the withhold for a provider increases
 proportionally as the provider's risk-adjusted total annual cost increases, relative to other
 providers of the same type. For purposes of this paragraph, the risk-adjusted total annual
 cost of care is the dollar amount calculated under paragraph (a).
- (c) At the end of each contract year, each plan shall array all providers within each 166.14 166.15 provider type by their average total annual cost of care for serving medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees for that contract year, risk-adjusted for enrollee demographics 166.16 and health status. For each provider whose risk-adjusted total annual cost of care is at or 166.17 below a benchmark percentile established by the plan, the plan shall return the full amount 166.18 of any withhold. For each provider whose risk-adjusted total annual cost of care is above 166.19 166.20 the benchmark percentile, the plan shall return only the portion of the withhold sufficient to bring the provider's payment rate to the average for providers within the provider type 166.21 whose risk-adjusted total annual cost of care is at the benchmark percentile. Each plan shall 166.22 166.23 establish the benchmark percentile at a level that allows the plan to adjust expenditures for provider payments to reflect the reduction in capitation rates under paragraph (f). 166.24
- 166.25(d) Each managed care and county-based purchasing plan must establish an appeals166.26process to allow providers to appeal determinations of risk-adjusted total annual cost of166.27care. Each plan's appeals process must be approved by the commissioner.
- (e) The commissioner shall require each plan to submit to the commissioner, in
 the form and manner specified by the commissioner, all provider payment data and
 information on the withhold methodology that the commissioner determines is necessary
 to verify compliance with this subdivision.
- (f) The commissioner, for the contract year beginning January 1, 2012, shall reduce
 plan capitation rates by ten percent from the rates that would otherwise apply, absent
 application of this subdivision. The reduced rate shall be the historical base rate for
 negotiating capitation rates for future contract years. The commissioner may recommend
 additional reductions in capitation rates for future contract years to the legislature, if the

167.1	commissioner determines this is necessary to ensure that health care providers under
167.2	contract with managed care and county-based purchasing plans practice in an efficient
167.3	manner.
167.4	(g) The commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of
167.5	health, shall develop and provide to managed care and county-based purchasing plans, by
167.6	September 1, 2011, standard criteria and definitions necessary for consistent calculation
167.7	of the total annual risk-adjusted cost of care across plans. The commissioner may use
167.8	encounter data collected under section 62U.04 to implement this subdivision, and may
167.9	provide encounter data or analyses to plans. Section 62U.04, subdivision 4, paragraph
167.10	(b), shall not apply to the commissioners of health and human services for purposes of
167.11	this subdivision.
167.12	(h) For purposes of this subdivision, "provider" means a vendor of medical care
167.13	as defined in section 256B.02, subdivision 7, for which sufficient encounter data on
167.14	utilization and costs is available to implement this subdivision.
167.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
167.16	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a
167.16 167.17	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
167.17	subdivision to read:
167.17 167.18	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner
167.17 167.18 167.19	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract
167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas
167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> <u>Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight.</u> The commissioner <u>shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract</u> to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth
167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21 167.22	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of hospitals within their
 167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21 167.22 167.23 	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> <u>Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight.</u> The commissioner <u>shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract</u> to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of hospitals within their provider networks. These strategies may focus on smoking prevention and cessation,
 167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21 167.22 167.23 167.24 	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of hospitals within their provider networks. These strategies may focus on smoking prevention and cessation, ensuring that pregnant women get adequate nutrition, and addressing demographic,
 167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21 167.22 167.23 167.24 167.25 	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of hospitals within their provider networks. These strategies may focus on smoking prevention and cessation, ensuring that pregnant women get adequate nutrition, and addressing demographic, social, and environmental risk factors. The strategies must coordinate health care with
 167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21 167.22 167.23 167.24 167.25 167.26 	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of hospitals within their provider networks. These strategies may focus on smoking prevention and cessation, ensuring that pregnant women get adequate nutrition, and addressing demographic, social, and environmental risk factors. The strategies must coordinate health care with social services and the local public health system, and offer patient education through
 167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21 167.22 167.23 167.24 167.25 167.26 167.27 	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of hospitals within their provider networks. These strategies may focus on smoking prevention and cessation, ensuring that pregnant women get adequate nutrition, and addressing demographic, social, and environmental risk factors. The strategies must coordinate health care with social services and the local public health system, and offer patient education through appropriate means. The commissioner shall require plans to submit proposed initiatives
 167.17 167.18 167.19 167.20 167.21 167.22 167.23 167.24 167.25 167.26 167.27 167.28 	subdivision to read: <u>Subd. 31.</u> Initiatives to reduce incidence of low birth weight. The commissioner shall require managed care and county-based purchasing plans as a condition of contract to implement strategies to reduce the incidence of low birth weight in geographic areas identified by the commissioner as having a higher than average incidence of low birth weight, with special emphasis on areas within a one-mile radius of hospitals within their provider networks. These strategies may focus on smoking prevention and cessation, ensuring that pregnant women get adequate nutrition, and addressing demographic, social, and environmental risk factors. The strategies must coordinate health care with social services and the local public health system, and offer patient education through appropriate means. The commissioner shall require plans to submit proposed initiatives for approval to the commissioner by January 1, 2012, and the commissioner shall require

167.32 Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a 167.33 subdivision to read:

168.1Subd. 32. Health education. The commissioner shall require managed care and168.2county-based purchasing plans, as a condition of contract, to provide health education,168.3wellness training, and information about the availability and benefits of preventive168.4services to all medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees, beginning January 1,168.52012. Plan initiatives developed or implemented to comply with this requirement must be168.6approved by the commissioner.

Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.692, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 168.7 Subd. 2. Duties of commissioner of health. (a) Notwithstanding chapters 62D and 168.8 62N, a county that elects to purchase medical assistance in return for a fixed sum without 168.9 regard to the frequency or extent of services furnished to any particular enrollee is not 168.10 required to obtain a certificate of authority under chapter 62D or 62N. The county board 168.11 of commissioners is the governing body of a county-based purchasing program. In a 168.12 multicounty arrangement, the governing body is a joint powers board established under 168.13 168.14 section 471.59.

(b) A county that elects to purchase medical assistance services under this section
must satisfy the commissioner of health that the requirements for assurance of consumer
protection, provider protection, and, effective January 1, 2010, fiscal solvency of chapter
62D, applicable to health maintenance organizations will be met according to the
following schedule:

(1) for a county-based purchasing plan approved on or before June 30, 2008, theplan must have in reserve:

(i) at least 50 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D asof January 1, 2010;

(ii) at least 75 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D as ofJanuary 1, 2011;

(iii) at least 87.5 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D asof January 1, 2012; and

(iv) at least 100 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D asof January 1, 2013; and

- 168.30 (2) for a county-based purchasing plan first approved after June 30, 2008, the plan168.31 must have in reserve:
- (i) at least 50 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D at thetime the plan begins enrolling enrollees;
- (ii) at least 75 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D afterthe first full calendar year;

(iii) at least 87.5 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D afterthe second full calendar year; and

169.3 (iv) at least 100 percent of the minimum amount required under chapter 62D after169.4 the third full calendar year.

(c) Until a plan is required to have reserves equaling at least 100 percent of the 169.5 minimum amount required under chapter 62D, the plan may demonstrate its ability 169.6 to cover any losses by satisfying the requirements of chapter 62N. Notwithstanding 169.7 this paragraph and paragraph (b), a county-based purchasing plan may satisfy its fiscal 169.8 solvency requirements by obtaining written financial guarantees from participating 169.9 counties in amounts equivalent to the minimum amounts that would otherwise apply. 169.10 A county-based purchasing plan must also assure the commissioner of health that the 169.11 requirements of sections 62J.041; 62J.48; 62J.71 to 62J.73; 62M.01 to 62M.16; all 169.12 applicable provisions of chapter 62Q, including sections 62Q.075; 62Q.1055; 62Q.106; 169.13 62Q.12; 62Q.135; 62Q.14; 62Q.145; 62Q.19; 62Q.23, paragraph (c); 62Q.43; 62Q.47; 169.14 169.15 62Q.50; 62Q.52 to 62Q.56; 62Q.58; 62Q.68 to 62Q.72; and 72A.201 will be met. (d) All enforcement and rulemaking powers available under chapters 62D, 62J, 62M, 169.16

- 62N, and 62Q are hereby granted to the commissioner of health with respect to countiesthat purchase medical assistance services under this section.
- (e) The commissioner, in consultation with county government, shall develop
 administrative and financial reporting requirements for county-based purchasing programs
 relating to sections 62D.041, 62D.042, 62D.045, 62D.08, 62N.28, 62N.29, and 62N.31,
 and other sections as necessary, that are specific to county administrative, accounting, and
 reporting systems and consistent with other statutory requirements of counties.
- (f) The commissioner shall collect from a county-based purchasing plan underthis section the following fees:

(1) fees attributable to the costs of audits and other examinations of plan financial
operations. These fees are subject to the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 4685.2800,
subpart 1, item F;

(2) an annual fee of \$21,500, to be paid by June 15 of each calendar year, beginningin calendar year 2009; and

(3) for fiscal year 2009 only, a per-enrollee fee of 14.6 cents, based on the number ofenrollees as of December 31, 2008.

All fees collected under this paragraph shall be deposited in the state government specialrevenue fund.

169.35

5 Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.692, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

A11-0177

Subd. 5. County proposals. (a) On or before September 1, 1997, a county board 170.1 that wishes to purchase or provide health care under this section must submit a preliminary 170.2 proposal that substantially demonstrates the county's ability to meet all the requirements 170.3 of this section in response to criteria for proposals issued by the department on or before 170.4 July 1, 1997. Counties submitting preliminary proposals must establish a local planning 170.5 process that involves input from medical assistance recipients, recipient advocates, 170.6 providers and representatives of local school districts, labor, and tribal government to 170.7 advise on the development of a final proposal and its implementation. 170.8

(b) The county board must submit a final proposal on or before July 1, 1998, that
demonstrates the ability to meet all the requirements of this section, including beginning
enrollment on January 1, 1999, unless a delay has been granted under section 256B.69,
subdivision 3a, paragraph (g).

(c) After January 1, 1999, for a county in which the prepaid medical assistance 170.13 program is in existence, the county board must submit a preliminary proposal at least 15 170.14 170.15 months prior to termination of health plan contracts in that county and a final proposal that meets the requirements of this section six months prior to the health plan contract 170.16 termination date in order to begin enrollment after the termination. Nothing in this section 170.17 170.18 shall impede or delay implementation or continuation of the prepaid medical assistance program in counties for which the board does not submit a proposal, or submits a proposal 170.19 that is not in compliance with this section. 170.20

(d) The commissioner is not required to terminate contracts for the prepaid medical
assistance program that begin on or after September 1, 1997, in a county for which a
county board has submitted a proposal under this paragraph, until two years have elapsed
from the date of initial enrollment in the prepaid medical assistance program.

170.25 Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.692, subdivision 7, is amended to read: Subd. 7. Dispute resolution. In the event the commissioner rejects a proposal 170.26 under subdivision 6, the county board may request the recommendation decision of a 170.27 three-person mediation panel. The commissioner shall resolve all disputes after taking 170.28 into account by following the recommendations decision of the mediation panel. The 170.29 panel shall be composed of one designee of the president of the Association of Minnesota 170.30 Counties, one designee of the commissioner of human services, and one person selected 170.31 jointly by the designee of the commissioner of human services and the designee of 170.32 the Association of Minnesota Counties. Within a reasonable period of time before the 170.33 hearing, the panelists must be provided all documents and information relevant to the 170.34

- mediation. The parties to the mediation must be given 30 days' notice of a hearing beforethe mediation panel.
- 171.3 Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.692, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

171.5 Subd. 11. Patient choice of qualified provider. Effective January 1, 2012, a county

- 171.6 board operating a county-based purchasing plan must ensure that each enrollee has the
- 171.7 <u>option of choosing a primary care provider or a health care home from all qualified</u>
- 171.8 providers who agree to accept the terms, conditions, and payment rates offered by the
- 171.9 plan to similarly situated providers. Notwithstanding this requirement, reimbursement
- 171.10 to federally qualified health centers and federally qualified health center look-alikes as
- 171.11 defined in section 145.9269 must be in compliance with federal law.
- 171.12 Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.694, is amended to read:
- 171.13 256B.694 SOLE-SOURCE OR SINGLE-PLAN MANAGED CARE
- 171.14 **CONTRACT.**

(a) Notwithstanding section 256B.692, subdivision 6, clause (1), paragraph (c), 171.15 the commissioner of human services shall approve a county-based purchasing health 171.16 171.17 plan proposal, submitted on behalf of Cass, Crow Wing, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena Counties, that requires county-based purchasing on a single-plan basis contract if the 171.18 implementation of the single-plan purchasing proposal does not limit an enrollee's 171.19 provider choice or access to services and all other requirements applicable to health plan 171.20 purchasing are satisfied. The commissioner shall continue to use single-health plan, 171.21 county-based purchasing arrangements for medical assistance and general assistance 171.22 medical care programs and products for the counties that were in single-health plan, 171.23 171.24 county-based purchasing arrangements on March 1, 2008. This paragraph does not require the commissioner to terminate an existing contract with a noncounty-based purchasing 171.25 plan that had enrollment in a medical assistance program or product in these counties on 171.26 March 1, 2008. This paragraph expires on December 31, 2010, or the effective date 171.27 of a new contract for medical assistance and general assistance medical care managed 171.28 care programs entered into at the conclusion of the commissioner's next scheduled 171.29 reprocurement process for the county-based purchasing entities covered by this paragraph, 171.30 whichever is later. 171.31

(b) <u>At the request of a county or group of counties</u>, the commissioner shall consider,
and may approve, contracting on a single-health plan basis with other county-based
purchasing plans, or with other qualified health plans that have coordination arrangements

REVISOR

with counties, to serve persons with a disability who voluntarily enroll, enrolled in

172.2 <u>Minnesota health care programs</u> in order to promote better coordination or integration

172.3 of health care services, social services and other community-based services, provided

- that all requirements applicable to health plan purchasing, including those in section
 256B.69, subdivision 23, are satisfied. Nothing in this paragraph supersedes or modifies
- 172.5 256B.69, subdivision 23, are satisfied. Nothing in this paragraph supersedes or modifies
- the requirements in paragraph (a).

Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.76, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 172.7 Subd. 4. Critical access dental providers. (a) Effective for dental services 172.8 rendered on or after January 1, 2002, the commissioner shall increase reimbursements 172.9 to dentists and dental clinics deemed by the commissioner to be critical access dental 172.10 providers. For dental services rendered on or after July 1, 2007, the commissioner shall 172.11 increase reimbursement by 30 percent above the reimbursement rate that would otherwise 172.12 be paid to the critical access dental provider. The commissioner shall pay the managed 172.13 172.14 care plans and county-based purchasing plans in amounts sufficient to reflect increased reimbursements to critical access dental providers as approved by the commissioner. 172.15

- (b) The commissioner shall designate the following dentists and dental clinics ascritical access dental providers:
- 172.18 (1) nonprofit community clinics that:

(i) have nonprofit status in accordance with chapter 317A;

(ii) have tax exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, section501(c)(3);

(iii) are established to provide oral health services to patients who are low income,uninsured, have special needs, and are underserved;

(iv) have professional staff familiar with the cultural background of the clinic'spatients;

(v) charge for services on a sliding fee scale designed to provide assistance to
low-income patients based on current poverty income guidelines and family size;

(vi) do not restrict access or services because of a patient's financial limitationsor public assistance status; and

- 172.30 (vii) have free care available as needed;
- 172.31 (2) federally qualified health centers, rural health clinics, and public health clinics;
- 172.32 (3) county owned and operated hospital-based dental clinics;

(4) a dental clinic or dental group owned and operated by a nonprofit corporation in
accordance with chapter 317A with more than 10,000 patient encounters per year with

SS/RT

173.1 patients who are uninsured or covered by medical assistance, general assistance medical

173.2 care, or MinnesotaCare; and

(5) a dental clinic associated with an oral health or dental education program owned
and operated by the University of Minnesota or an institution within the Minnesota State
Colleges and Universities system.

(c) The commissioner may designate a dentist or dental clinic as a critical access
dental provider if the dentist or dental clinic is willing to provide care to patients covered
by medical assistance, general assistance medical care, or MinnesotaCare at a level which
significantly increases access to dental care in the service area.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), critical access payments must not be made fordental services provided from April 1, 2010, through June 30, 2010.

173.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

173.13 Sec. 77. [256B.7671] PATIENT-CENTERED DECISION-MAKING.

(a) For purposes of this section, "patient-centered decision-making process" means a
process that involves directed interaction with the patient to assist the patient in arriving at
an informed objective health care decision regarding the surgical procedure that is both
informed and consistent with the patient's preference and values. The interaction may be
conducted by a health care provider or through the electronic use of decision aids. If

173.19 decision aids are used in the process, the aids must meet the criteria established by the

- International Patients Decision Aids Standards Collaboration or the Cochrane Decision
 Aid Registry.
- (b) Effective January 1, 2012, the commissioner of human services shall require
 active participation in a patient-centered decision-making process before authorization is

173.24 <u>approved or payment reimbursement is provided for any of the following:</u>

173.25 (1) a surgical procedure for abnormal uterine bleeding, benign prostate enlargement,

173.26 chronic back pain, early stage of breast and prostate cancers, gastroesophageal reflux

173.27 disease, hemorrhoids, spinal stenosis, temporomandibular joint dysfunction, ulcerative

173.28 colitis, urinary incontinence, uterine fibroids, or varicose veins; and

173.29 (2) bypass surgery for coronary disease, angioplasty for stable coronary artery
 173.30 disease, or total hip replacement.

173.31 (c) A list of the procedures in paragraph (b) shall be published in the State Register

173.32 by October 1, 2011. The list shall be reviewed no less than every two years by the

173.33 commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of health. The commissioner

173.34 shall hold a public forum and receive public comment prior to any changes to the list in

173.35 paragraph (b). Any changes made shall be published in the State Register.

174.11

- (d) Prior to receiving authorization or reimbursement for the procedures identified 174.1 under this section, a health care provider must certify that the patient has participated in a 174.2
- patient-centered decision-making process. The format for this certification and the process 174.3
- for coordination between providers shall be developed by the Health Services Policy 174.4
- Committee under section 256B.0625, subdivision 3c. 174.5
- (e) This section does not apply if any of the procedures identified in this section are 174.6 performed under an emergency situation. 174.7

Sec. 78. [256B.771] COMPLEMENTARY AND ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE 174.8 **DEMONSTRATION PROJECT.** 174.9

Subdivision 1. Establishment and implementation. The commissioner of 174.10 human services, in consultation with the commissioner of health, shall contract

with a Minnesota-based academic and research institution specializing in providing 174.12

complementary and alternative medicine education and clinical services to establish and 174.13

174.14 implement a five-year demonstration project in conjunction with federally qualified health

centers and federally qualified health center look-alikes as defined in section 145.9269, to 174.15

- improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of care provided under medical assistance to 174.16
- enrollees with neck and back problems. The demonstration project must maximize the use 174.17
- of complementary and alternative medicine-oriented primary care providers, including but 174.18
- not limited to physicians and chiropractors. The demonstration project must be designed 174.19
- to significantly improve physical and mental health for enrollees who present with 174.20
- neck and back problems while decreasing medical treatment costs. The commissioner, 174.21
- in consultation with the commissioner of health, shall deliver services through the 174.22
- demonstration project beginning July 1, 2011, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. 174.23
- Subd. 2. RFP and project criteria. The commissioner, in consultation with the 174.24
- 174.25 commissioner of health, shall develop and issue a request for proposal (RFP) for the
- demonstration project. The RFP must require the academic and research institution 174.26
- selected to demonstrate a proven track record over at least five years of conducting 174.27
- high-quality, federally funded clinical research. The institution and the federally qualified 174.28
- health centers and federally qualified health center look-alikes shall also: 174.29
- (1) provide patient education, provider education, and enrollment training 174.30
- components on health and lifestyle issues in order to promote enrollee responsibility for 174.31
- health care decisions, enhance productivity, prepare enrollees to reenter the workforce, 174.32
- and reduce future health care expenditures; 174.33
- 174.34 (2) use high-quality and cost-effective integrated disease management that includes the best practices of traditional and complementary and alternative medicine; 174.35

REVISOR

175.1	(3) incorporate holistic medical care, appropriate nutrition, exercise, medications,
175.2	and conflict resolution techniques;
175.3	(4) include a provider education component that makes use of professional
175.4	organizations representing chiropractors, nurses, and other primary care providers
175.5	and provides appropriate educational materials and activities in order to improve the
175.6	integration of traditional medical care with licensed chiropractic services and other
175.7	alternative health care services and achieve program enrollment objectives; and
175.8	(5) provide to the commissioner the information and data necessary for the
175.9	commissioner to prepare the annual reports required under subdivision 6.
175.10	Subd. 3. Enrollment. Enrollees from the program shall be selected by the
175.11	commissioner from current enrollees in the prepaid medical assistance program who
175.12	have, or are determined to be at significant risk of developing, neck and back problems.
175.13	Participation in the demonstration project shall be voluntary. The commissioner shall
175.14	seek to enroll, over the term of the demonstration project, ten percent of current and
175.15	future medical assistance enrollees who have, or are determined to be at significant risk
175.16	of developing, neck and back problems.
175.17	Subd. 4. Federal approval. The commissioner shall seek any federal waivers and
175.18	approvals necessary to implement the demonstration project.
175.19	Subd. 5. Project costs. The commissioner shall require the academic and research
175.20	institution selected, federally qualified health centers, and federally qualified health center
175.21	look-alikes to fund all net costs of the demonstration project.
175.22	Subd. 6. Annual reports. The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner
175.23	of health, beginning December 15, 2011, and each December 15 thereafter through
175.24	December 15, 2015, shall report annually to the legislature on the functional and mental
175.25	improvements of the populations served by the demonstration project, patient satisfaction,
175.26	and the cost-effectiveness of the program. The reports must also include data on hospital
175.27	admissions, days in hospital, rates of outpatient surgery and other services, and drug
175.28	utilization. The report, due December 15, 2015, must include recommendations on
175.29	whether the demonstration project should be continued and expanded.
175.30	Sec. 79. [256B.841] WAIVER APPLICATION AND PROCESS.
175.31	Subdivision 1. Intent. It is the intent of the legislature that medical assistance be:
175.32	(1) a sustainable, cost-effective, person-centered, and opportunity-driven program

175.33 <u>utilizing competitive and value-based purchasing to maximize available service options;</u>

175.34 <u>and</u>

REVISOR

176.1	(2) a results-oriented system of coordinated care that focuses on independence
176.2	and choice, promotes accountability and transparency, encourages and rewards healthy
176.3	outcomes and responsible choices, and promotes efficiency.
176.4	Subd. 2. Waiver application. (a) The commissioner of human services shall
176.5	apply for a waiver and any necessary state plan amendments from the secretary of the
176.6	United States Department of Health and Human Services, including, but not limited to,
176.7	a waiver of the appropriate sections of title XIX of the federal Social Security Act,
176.8	United States Code, title 42, section 1396 et seq., or other provisions of federal law that
176.9	provide program flexibility and under which Minnesota will operate all facets of the
176.10	state's medical assistance program.
176.11	(b) The commissioner of human services shall provide the legislative committees
176.12	with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and policy with the waiver
176.13	application and financial and other related materials, at least ten days prior to submitting
176.14	the application and materials to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
176.15	(c) If the state's waiver application is approved, the commissioner of human services
176.16	<u>shall:</u>
176.17	(1) notify the chairs of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and
176.18	human services finance and policy and allow the legislative committees with jurisdiction
176.19	over health and human services finance and policy to review the terms of the waiver; and
176.20	(2) not implement the waiver until ten legislative days have passed following
176.21	notification of the chairs.
176.22	Subd. 3. Rulemaking; legislative proposals. Upon acceptance of the terms of the
176.23	waiver, the commissioner of human services shall:
176.24	(1) adopt rules to implement the waiver; and
176.25	(2) propose any legislative changes necessary to implement the terms of the waiver.
176.26	Subd. 4. Joint commission on waiver implementation. (a) After acceptance
176.27	of the terms of the waiver, the governor shall establish a joint commission on waiver
176.28	implementation. The commission shall consist of eight members; four of whom shall
176.29	be members of the senate, not more than three from the same political party, to be
176.30	appointed by the Subcommittee on Committees of the senate Committee on Rules and
176.31	Administration, and four of whom shall be members of the house of representatives, not
176.32	more than three from the same political party, to be appointed by the speaker of the house.
176.33	(b) The commission shall:
176.34	(1) oversee implementation of the waiver;
176.35	(2) confer as necessary with state agency commissioners;

REVISOR

(3) make recommendations on services covered under the medical assistance
program;
(4) monitor and make recommendations on quality and access to care under the
global waiver; and
(5) make recommendations for the efficient and cost-effective administration of the
medical assistance program under the terms of the waiver.
Sec. 80. [256B.842] PRINCIPLES AND GOALS FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
<u>REFORM.</u>
Subdivision 1. Goals for reform. In developing the waiver application and
implementing the waiver, the commissioner of human services shall ensure that the
reformed medical assistance program is a person-centered, financially sustainable, and
cost-effective program.
Subd. 2. Reformed medical assistance criteria. The reformed medical assistance
program established through the waiver must:
(1) empower consumers to make informed and cost-effective choices about their
health and offer consumers rewards for healthy decisions;
(2) ensure adequate access to needed services;
(3) enable consumers to receive individualized health care that is outcome-oriented
and focused on prevention, disease management, recovery, and maintaining independence;
(4) promote competition between health care providers to ensure best value
purchasing, leverage resources, and to create opportunities for improving service quality
and performance;
(5) redesign purchasing and payment methods and encourage and reward
high-quality and cost-effective care by incorporating and expanding upon current payment
reform and quality of care initiatives, including but not limited to those initiatives
authorized under chapter 62U; and
(6) continually improve technology to take advantage of recent innovations and
advances that help decision makers, consumers, and providers make informed and
cost-effective decisions regarding health care.
Subd. 3. Annual report. The commissioner of human services shall annually
submit a report to the governor and the legislature, beginning December 1, 2012, and each
December 1 thereafter, describing the status of the administration and implementation
of the waiver.

177.34 Sec. 81. [256B.843] WAIVER APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS.

A11-0177

SS/RT

178.1	Subdivision 1. Requirements for waiver request. The commissioner shall seek
178.2	federal approval to:
178.3	(1) enter into a five-year agreement with the United States Department of Health and
178.4	Human Services and Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) under section
178.5	1115a to waive provisions of title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, United States
178.6	Code, title 42, section 1396 et seq., requiring:
178.7	(i) statewideness to allow for the provision of different services in different areas or
178.8	regions of the state;
178.9	(ii) comparability of services to allow for the provision of different services to
178.10	members of the same or different coverage groups;
178.11	(iii) no prohibitions restricting the amount, duration, and scope of services included
178.12	in the medical assistance state plan;
178.13	(iv) no prohibitions limiting freedom of choice of providers; and
178.14	(v) retroactive payment for medical assistance, at the state's discretion;
178.15	(2) waive the applicable provisions of title XIX of the federal Social Security Act,
178.16	United States Code, title 42, section 1396 et seq., in order to:
178.17	(i) expand cost sharing requirements above the five percent of income threshold for
178.18	beneficiaries in certain populations;
178.19	(ii) establish health savings or power accounts that encourage and reward
178.20	beneficiaries who reach certain prevention and wellness targets; and
178.21	(iii) implement a tiered set of parameters to use as the basis for determining
178.22	long-term service care and setting needs;
178.23	(3) modify income and resource rules in a manner consistent with the goals of the
178.24	reformed program;
178.25	(4) provide enrollees with a choice of appropriate private sector health coverage
178.26	options, with full federal financial participation;
178.27	(5) treat payments made toward the cost of care as a monthly premium for
178.28	beneficiaries receiving home and community-based services when applicable;
178.29	(6) provide health coverage and services to individuals over the age of 65 that are
178.30	limited in scope and are available only in the home and community-based setting;
178.31	(7) consolidate all home and community-based services currently provided under
178.32	title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1915(c),
178.33	into a single program of home and community-based services that include options for
178.34	consumer direction and shared living;
178.35	(8) expand disease management, care coordination, and wellness programs for all

REVISOR

SS/RT

(9) empower and encourage able-bodied medical assistance recipients to work,
 whenever possible.

Subd. 2. Agency coordination. The commissioner shall establish an intraagency
 assessment and coordination unit to ensure that decision making and program planning for
 recipients who may need long-term care, residential placement, and community support
 services are coordinated. The assessment and coordination unit shall determine level of
 care, develop service plans and a service budget, make referrals to appropriate settings,
 provide education and choice counseling to consumers and providers, track utilization,
 and monitor outcomes.

Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.01, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:
Subd. 4a. Gross individual or gross family income. (a) "Gross individual or gross
family income" for nonfarm self-employed means income calculated for the 12-month
<u>six-month</u> period of eligibility using as a baseline the adjusted gross income reported
on the applicant's federal income tax form for the previous year and adding back in
depreciation, and carryover net operating loss amounts that apply to the business in which
the family is currently engaged.

(b) "Gross individual or gross family income" for farm self-employed means
income calculated for the <u>12-month</u> six-month period of eligibility using as the baseline
the adjusted gross income reported on the applicant's federal income tax form for the
previous year.

(c) "Gross individual or gross family income" means the total income for all family
members, calculated for the <u>12-month six-month</u> period of eligibility.

Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 179.23 179.24 Subd. 3. Financial management. (a) The commissioner shall manage spending for the MinnesotaCare program in a manner that maintains a minimum reserve. As part of 179.25 each state revenue and expenditure forecast, the commissioner must make an assessment 179.26 of the expected expenditures for the covered services for the remainder of the current 179.27 biennium and for the following biennium. The estimated expenditure, including the 179.28 reserve, shall be compared to an estimate of the revenues that will be available in the health 179.29 care access fund. Based on this comparison, and after consulting with the chairs of the 179.30 house of representatives Ways and Means Committee and the senate Finance Committee, 179.31 and the Legislative Commission on Health Care Access, the commissioner shall, as 179.32 necessary, make the adjustments specified in paragraph (b) to ensure that expenditures 179.33 remain within the limits of available revenues for the remainder of the current biennium 179.34

and for the following biennium. The commissioner shall not hire additional staff using
appropriations from the health care access fund until the commissioner of management
and budget makes a determination that the adjustments implemented under paragraph (b)
are sufficient to allow MinnesotaCare expenditures to remain within the limits of available
revenues for the remainder of the current biennium and for the following biennium.

(b) The adjustments the commissioner shall use must be implemented in this order: 180.6 first, stop enrollment of single adults and households without children; second, upon 45 180.7 days' notice, stop coverage of single adults and households without children already 180.8 enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program; third, upon 90 days' notice, decrease the premium 180.9 subsidy amounts by ten percent for children in families with gross annual income above 180.10 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines; fourth, upon 90 days' notice, decrease the 180.11 premium subsidy amounts by ten percent for children in families with gross annual income 180.12 at or below 200 percent; and fifth, require applicants to be uninsured for at least six months 180.13 prior to eligibility in the MinnesotaCare program. If these measures are insufficient to 180.14 180.15 limit the expenditures to the estimated amount of revenue, the commissioner shall further limit enrollment or decrease premium subsidies. 180.16

180.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, or upon federal
 180.18 approval, whichever is later, and expires June 30, 2013. The commissioner shall notify
 180.19 the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained and publish a notice in the State
 180.20 Register.

Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 180.21 Subd. 3. Financial management. (a) The commissioner shall manage spending for 180.22 the MinnesotaCare program in a manner that maintains a minimum reserve. As part of 180.23 each state revenue and expenditure forecast, the commissioner must make an assessment 180.24 of the expected expenditures for the covered services for the remainder of the current 180.25 biennium and for the following biennium. The estimated expenditure, including the 180.26 reserve, shall be compared to an estimate of the revenues that will be available in the health 180.27 care access fund. Based on this comparison, and after consulting with the chairs of the 180.28 house of representatives Ways and Means Committee and the senate Finance Committee, 180.29 and the Legislative Commission on Health Care Access, the commissioner shall, as 180.30 necessary, make the adjustments specified in paragraph (b) to ensure that expenditures 180.31 remain within the limits of available revenues for the remainder of the current biennium 180.32 and for the following biennium. The commissioner shall not hire additional staff using 180.33 appropriations from the health care access fund until the commissioner of management 180.34 180.35 and budget makes a determination that the adjustments implemented under paragraph (b)

REVISOR

are sufficient to allow MinnesotaCare expenditures to remain within the limits of availablerevenues for the remainder of the current biennium and for the following biennium.

(b) The adjustments the commissioner shall use must be implemented in this order: 181.3 first, stop enrollment of single adults and households without children; second, upon 45 181.4 days' notice, stop coverage of single adults and households without children already 181.5 enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program; third, upon 90 days' notice, decrease the premium 181.6 subsidy amounts by ten percent for families with gross annual income above 200 percent 181.7 of the federal poverty guidelines; fourth, upon 90 days' notice, decrease the premium 181.8 subsidy amounts by ten percent for families with gross annual income at or below 200 181.9 percent; and fifth, require applicants to be uninsured for at least six months prior to 181.10 eligibility in the MinnesotaCare program. If these measures are insufficient to limit the 181.11 expenditures to the estimated amount of revenue, the commissioner shall further limit 181.12 enrollment or decrease premium subsidies. 181.13

181.14 Sec. 85. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Inpatient hospital services. (a) Covered health services shall include 181.15 inpatient hospital services, including inpatient hospital mental health services and inpatient 181.16 181.17 hospital and residential chemical dependency treatment, subject to those limitations necessary to coordinate the provision of these services with eligibility under the medical 181.18 assistance spenddown. The inpatient hospital benefit for adult enrollees who qualify under 181.19 section 256L.04, subdivision 7, or who qualify under section 256L.04, subdivisions 1 and 181.20 2, with family gross income that exceeds 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 181.21 181.22 215 percent of the federal poverty guidelines on or after July 1, 2009, and who are not pregnant, is subject to an annual limit of \$10,000. 181.23

(b) Admissions for inpatient hospital services paid for under section 256L.11,
subdivision 3, must be certified as medically necessary in accordance with Minnesota
Rules, parts 9505.0500 to 9505.0540, except as provided in clauses (1) and (2):

(1) all admissions must be certified, except those authorized under rules established
under section 254A.03, subdivision 3, or approved under Medicare; and

(2) payment under section 256L.11, subdivision 3, shall be reduced by five percent
for admissions for which certification is requested more than 30 days after the day of
admission. The hospital may not seek payment from the enrollee for the amount of the
payment reduction under this clause.

181.33 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, or upon federal
 181.34 approval, whichever is later, and expires June 30, 2013. The commissioner shall notify

REVISOR

182.1	the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained and publish a notice in the State
182.2	<u>Register.</u>
182.3	Sec. 86. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
182.4	Subd. 5. Co-payments and coinsurance Cost-sharing. (a) Except as provided in
182.5	paragraphs (b) and , (c), <u>and (h)</u> , the MinnesotaCare benefit plan shall include the following
182.6	co-payments and coinsurance cost-sharing requirements for all enrollees:
182.7	(1) ten percent of the paid charges for inpatient hospital services for adult enrollees,
182.8	subject to an annual inpatient out-of-pocket maximum of \$1,000 per individual;
182.9	(2) \$3 per prescription for adult enrollees;
182.10	(3) \$25 for eyeglasses for adult enrollees;
182.11	(4) \$3 per nonpreventive visit. For purposes of this subdivision, a "visit" means an
182.12	episode of service which is required because of a recipient's symptoms, diagnosis, or
182.13	established illness, and which is delivered in an ambulatory setting by a physician or
182.14	physician ancillary, chiropractor, podiatrist, nurse midwife, advanced practice nurse,
182.15	audiologist, optician, or optometrist; and
182.16	(5) \$6 for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room for services
182.17	provided through December 31, 2010, and \$3.50 effective January 1, 2011; and
182.18	(6) a family deductible equal to the maximum amount allowed under Code of
182.19	Federal Regulations, title 42, part 447.54.
182.20	(b) Paragraph (a), clause (1), does and paragraph (e) do not apply to parents and
182.21	relative caretakers of children under the age of 21.
182.22	(c) Paragraph (a) does not apply to pregnant women and children under the age of 21.
182.23	(d) Paragraph (a), clause (4), does not apply to mental health services.
182.24	(e) Adult enrollees with family gross income that exceeds 200 percent of the federal
182.25	poverty guidelines or 215 percent of the federal poverty guidelines on or after July 1, 2009,
182.26	and who are not pregnant shall be financially responsible for the coinsurance amount, if
182.27	applicable, and amounts which exceed the \$10,000 inpatient hospital benefit limit.
182.28	(f) When a MinnesotaCare enrollee becomes a member of a prepaid health plan,
182.29	or changes from one prepaid health plan to another during a calendar year, any charges
182.30	submitted towards the \$10,000 annual inpatient benefit limit, and any out-of-pocket
182.31	expenses incurred by the enrollee for inpatient services, that were submitted or incurred
182.32	prior to enrollment, or prior to the change in health plans, shall be disregarded.
182.33	(g) MinnesotaCare reimbursements to fee-for-service providers and payments to
182.34	managed care plans or county-based purchasing plans shall not be increased as a result of
182.35	the reduction of the co-payments in paragraph (a), clause (5), effective January 1, 2011.
	Article 6 Sec. 86. 182

A11-0177

183.1	(h) Effective January 1, 2012, the following co-payments for nonpreventive visits
183.2	shall apply to enrollees who are adults without children eligible under section 256L.04,
183.3	subdivision 7:
183.4	(1) \$3 for visits to providers whose average, risk-adjusted, total annual cost of care
183.5	per MinnesotaCare enrollee is at the 60th percentile or lower for providers of the same
183.6	type;
183.7	(2) \$6 for visits to providers whose average, risk-adjusted, total annual cost of care
183.8	per MinnesotaCare enrollee is greater than the 60th percentile but does not exceed the
183.9	80th percentile for providers of the same type; and
183.10	(3) \$10 for visits to providers whose average, risk-adjusted, total annual cost of
183.11	care per MinnesotaCare enrollee is greater than the 80th percentile for providers of the
183.12	same type.
183.13	Each managed care and county-based purchasing plan shall calculate the average,
183.14	risk-adjusted, total annual cost of care for providers under this paragraph using a
183.15	methodology that has been approved by the commissioner.
102.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. The amendments to paragraph (e) are effective January 1,
183.16	
183.17	2012, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, and expires June 30, 2013. The
183.18	commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained and
183.19	publish a notice in the State Register.
183.20	Sec. 87. [256L.031] HEALTHY MINNESOTA CONTRIBUTION PROGRAM.
183.21	Subdivision 1. Defined contributions to enrollees. (a) Beginning January 1, 2012,
183.22	the commissioner shall provide each MinnesotaCare enrollee eligible under section
183.23	256L.04, subdivision 7, with gross family income equal to or greater than 133 percent
183.24	of the federal poverty guidelines, with a monthly defined contribution to purchase health
183.25	coverage under a health plan as defined in section 62A.011, subdivision 3. Beginning
183.26	January 1, 2012, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, the commissioner shall
183.27	provide each MinnesotaCare enrollee eligible under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, with
183.28	gross family income equal to or greater than 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines,
183.29	with a monthly defined contribution to purchase health coverage under a health plan as
183.30	defined in section 62A.011, subdivision 3, offered by a health plan company as defined
183.31	in section 62Q.01, subdivision 4.
183.32	(b) Enrollees eligible under paragraph (a) shall not be charged premiums under
183.33	section 256L.15 and are exempt from the managed care enrollment requirement of section

183.34 <u>256L.12.</u>

184.1	(c) Sections 256L.03; 256L.05, subdivision 3; and 256L.11 do not apply to		
184.2	enrollees eligible under paragraph (a). Covered services, cost-sharing, disenrollment		
184.3	for nonpayment of premium, enrollee appeal rights and complaint procedures, and the		
184.4	effective date of coverage for enrollees eligible under paragraph (a) shall be as provided		
184.5	under the terms of the health plan purchase	ed by the enrollee.	
184.6	(d) Unless otherwise provided in this	s section, all MinnesotaCare requirements	
184.7	related to eligibility, income and asset met	hodology, income reporting, and program	
184.8	administration continue to apply to enrolle	es obtaining coverage under this section.	
184.9	Subd. 2. Use of defined contribution	n. <u>An enrollee may use up to the monthly</u>	
184.10	defined contribution to pay premiums for a	coverage under a health plan as defined in	
184.11	section 62A.011, subdivision 3.		
184.12	Subd. 3. Determination of defined	contribution amount. (a) The commissioner	
184.13	shall determine the defined contribution sli	ding scale using the base contribution specified	
184.14		es. The commissioner shall use a sliding scale	
184.15	for defined contributions that provides:		
184.16	(1) persons with household incomes	equal to 133 percent of the federal poverty	
184.17	guidelines with a defined contribution of 1.	50 percent of the base contribution;	
184.18	(2) persons with household incomes	equal to 175 percent of the federal poverty	
184.19	guidelines with a defined contribution of 1	00 percent of the base contribution;	
184.20	(3) persons with household incomes equal to or greater than 250 percent of		
184.21	the federal poverty guidelines with a defined contribution of 80 percent of the base		
184.22	contribution; and		
184.23	(4) persons with household incomes	in evenly spaced increments between the	
184.24	percentages of the federal poverty guidelin	e specified in clauses (1) to (3) with a base	
184.25	contribution that is a percentage interpolate	ed from the defined contribution percentages	
184.26	specified in clauses (1) to (3).	· · ·	
184.27	Age	Monthly Per-Person Base Contribution	
184.28	Under 21	\$122.79	
184.29	21-29	122.79	
184.30	30-31	<u>129.19</u>	
184.31	<u>32-33</u>	132.38	
184.32	34-35	134.31	
184.33	36-37	136.06	
184.34	38-39	141.02	
184.35	40-41	151.25	
184.36	42-43	159.89	
184.37	44-45	175.08	
184.38	46-47	<u>191.71</u>	

REVISOR

SS/RT

185.1	<u>48-49</u>	213.13
185.2	<u>50-51</u>	239.51
185.3	<u>52-53</u>	266.69
185.4	<u>54-55</u>	<u>293.88</u>
185.5	<u>56-57</u>	323.77
185.6	<u>58-59</u>	<u>341.20</u>
185.7	<u>60+</u>	357.19
185.8	(b) The commissioner shall multiply the	e defined contribution amounts developed
185.9	under paragraph (a) by 1.20 for enrollees wh	o are denied coverage under an individual
185.10	health plan by a health plan company and whether the second secon	no purchase coverage through the Minnesota
185.11	Comprehensive Health Association.	
185.12	(c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and	(b), the monthly defined contribution shall

185.13 not exceed 90 percent of the monthly premium for the health plan purchased by the

185.14 enrollee. If the enrollee purchases coverage under a health plan that does not include

185.15 <u>mental health services and chemical dependency treatment services, the monthly defined</u>

185.16 <u>contribution amount determined under this subdivision shall be reduced by five percent.</u>

185.17Subd. 4. Administration by commissioner. The commissioner shall administer the185.18defined contributions. The commissioner shall:

185.19 (1) calculate and process defined contributions for enrollees; and

(2) pay the defined contribution amount to health plan companies or the Minnesota

185.21 Comprehensive Health Association, as applicable, for enrollee health plan coverage.

185.22 Subd. 5. Assistance to enrollees. The commissioner of human services, in

185.23 <u>consultation with the commissioner of commerce, shall develop an efficient and</u>

185.24 cost-effective method of referring eligible applicants to professional insurance agent185.25 associations.

185.26Subd. 6.Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association (MCHA). Beginning185.27January 1, 2012, MinnesotaCare enrollees who are denied coverage under an individual185.28health plan by a health plan company are eligible for coverage through a health plan185.29offered by the MCHA and may enroll in MCHA according to section 62E.14. Any185.30difference between the revenue and covered losses to the MCHA related to implementation

185.31 of this section shall be paid to the MCHA from the health care access fund.

185.32 <u>Subd. 7.</u> Federal approval. The commissioner shall seek all federal waivers

185.33 and approvals necessary to implement coverage under this section for MinnesotaCare

185.34 <u>enrollees eligible under section 256L.04</u>, subdivision 1, with gross family incomes equal

185.35 to or greater than 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, while continuing to

185.36 <u>receive federal matching funds.</u>

A11-0177

Sec. 88. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 186.1 Subdivision 1. Families with children. (a) Families with Children with family 186.2 income equal to or less than 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the 186.3 applicable family size and adults in families with children with family income equal to or 186.4 less than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family size, shall 186.5 be eligible for MinnesotaCare according to this section. All other provisions of sections 186.6 256L.01 to 256L.18, including the insurance-related barriers to enrollment under section 186.7 256L.07, shall apply unless otherwise specified. 186.8

(b) Parents who enroll in the MinnesotaCare program must also enroll their children,
if the children are eligible. Children may be enrolled separately without enrollment by
parents. However, if one parent in the household enrolls, both parents must enroll, unless
other insurance is available. If one child from a family is enrolled, all children must
be enrolled, unless other insurance is available. If one spouse in a household enrolls,
the other spouse in the household must also enroll, unless other insurance is available.
Families cannot choose to enroll only certain uninsured members.

(c) Beginning October 1, 2003, the dependent sibling definition no longer applies
to the MinnesotaCare program. These persons are no longer counted in the parental
household and may apply as a separate household.

(d) Beginning July 1, 2010, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, parents are
not eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross income exceeds \$57,500.

(e) Children formerly enrolled in medical assistance and automatically deemed
 eligible for MinnesotaCare according to section 256B.057, subdivision 2c, are exempt
 from the requirements of this section until renewal.

186.24 (f) [Reserved.]

186.25EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, or upon federal186.26approval, whichever is later, and expires June 30, 2013, except that the amendment186.27striking paragraph (e) is effective retroactively from October 1, 2008, does not expire,186.28and federal approval is no longer necessary. The commissioner shall notify the revisor of

186.29 statutes when federal approval is obtained and publish a notice in the State Register.

Sec. 89. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.04, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
Subd. 7. Single adults and households with no children. (a) The definition of
eligible persons includes all individuals and households with no children who have gross
family incomes that are equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

(b) Effective July 1, 2009, the definition of eligible persons includes all individuals
 and households with no children who have gross family incomes that are equal to or less
 than 250 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

187.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, and expires June
 187.5 <u>30, 2013.</u>

Sec. 90. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 187.6 Subd. 2. Commissioner's duties. (a) The commissioner or county agency shall 187.7 use electronic verification as the primary method of income verification. If there is a 187.8 discrepancy between reported income and electronically verified income, an individual 187.9 may be required to submit additional verification. In addition, the commissioner shall 187.10 187.11 perform random audits to verify reported income and eligibility. The commissioner may execute data sharing arrangements with the Department of Revenue and any other 187.12 governmental agency in order to perform income verification related to eligibility and 187.13 premium payment under the MinnesotaCare program. 187.14

(b) In determining eligibility for MinnesotaCare, the commissioner shall require
applicants and enrollees seeking renewal of eligibility to verify both earned and unearned
income. The commissioner shall also require applicants and enrollees to submit the
names of their employers and a contact name with a phone number for each employer
for purposes of verifying whether the applicant or enrollee, and any dependents, are
eligible for employer-subsidized coverage. Data collected is nonpublic data as defined
in section 13.02, subdivision 9.

187.22 Sec. 91. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.05, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
187.23 Subd. 3a. Renewal of eligibility. (a) Beginning July 1, 2007 2011, an enrollee's
187.24 eligibility must be renewed every 12 six months. The 12-month period begins in the
187.25 month after the month the application is approved.

(b) <u>The first six-month period of eligibility begins</u> the month the application is 187.26 received by the commissioner. The effective date of coverage within the first six-month 187.27 period of eligibility is as provided in subdivision 3. Each new period of eligibility must 187.28 take into account any changes in circumstances that impact eligibility and premium 187.29 amount. An enrollee must provide all the information needed to redetermine eligibility 187.30 by the first day of the month that ends the eligibility period. If there is no change in 187.31 circumstances, the enrollee may renew eligibility at designated locations that include 187.32 community clinics and health care providers' offices. The designated sites shall forward 187.33 187.34 the renewal forms to the commissioner. The commissioner may establish criteria and

A11-0177

SS/RT

timelines for sites to forward applications to the commissioner or county agencies. The
premium for the new period of eligibility must be received as provided in section 256L.06
in order for eligibility to continue.

(c) An enrollee who fails to submit renewal forms and related documentation
necessary for verification of continued eligibility in a timely manner shall remain eligible
for one additional month beyond the end of the current eligibility period before being
disenrolled. The enrollee remains responsible for MinnesotaCare premiums for the
additional month.

Sec. 92. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 188.9 Subd. 5. Availability of private insurance. The commissioner, in consultation with 188.10 the commissioners of health and commerce, shall provide information regarding the 188.11 availability of private health insurance coverage and the possibility of disenrollment 188.12 under section 256L.07, subdivision 1, paragraphs (b) and (c), to all: (1) families enrolled 188.13 188.14 in the MinnesotaCare program whose gross family income is equal to or more than 225 percent of the federal poverty guidelines; and (2) single adults and households without 188.15 children enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program whose gross family income is equal to 188.16 or more than 165 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. This information must be 188.17 provided upon initial enrollment and annually thereafter. The commissioner shall also 188.18 include information regarding the availability of private health insurance coverage in the 188.19 notice of ineligibility provided to persons subject to disenrollment under section 256L.07, 188.20 subdivision 1, paragraphs (b) and (c). 188.21

188.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, and expires June 188.23 30, 2013.

188.24 Sec. 93. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.05, is amended by adding a subdivision188.25 to read:

188.26Subd. 6. Referral of veterans. The commissioner shall ensure that all applicants188.27for MinnesotaCare with incomes less than 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines188.28who identify themselves as veterans are referred to a county veterans service officer for188.29assistance in applying to the United States Department of Veterans Affairs for any veterans188.30benefits for which they may be eligible.

Sec. 94. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) Children enrolled in the original
children's health plan as of September 30, 1992, children who enrolled in the

A11-0177

MinnesotaCare program after September 30, 1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, 189.1 189.2 article 4, section 17, and children who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines are eligible without meeting 189.3 the requirements of subdivision 2 and the four-month requirement in subdivision 3, as 189.4 long as they maintain continuous coverage in the MinnesotaCare program or medical 189.5 assistance. Children who apply for MinnesotaCare on or after the implementation date 189.6 of the employer-subsidized health coverage program as described in Laws 1998, chapter 189.7 407, article 5, section 45, who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 150 189.8 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, must meet the requirements of subdivision 2 to 189.9 be eligible for MinnesotaCare. 189.10

(b) Families enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose
 income increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are no longer
 eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. Beginning January
 1, 2008,

(c) Individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7,
 whose income increases above 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 250
 percent of the federal poverty guidelines on or after July 1, 2009, the limits described
 in section 256L.04, subdivision 7, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be
 disenrolled by the commissioner.

(d) For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage
 terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the
 commissioner determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program
 income limits.

(b) (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), children may remain enrolled in 189.24 MinnesotaCare if ten percent of their gross individual or gross family income as defined 189.25 in section 256L.01, subdivision 4, is less than the annual premium for a six-month 189.26 policy with a \$500 deductible available through the Minnesota Comprehensive Health 189.27 Association. Children who are no longer eligible for MinnesotaCare under this clause shall 189.28 be given a 12-month notice period from the date that ineligibility is determined before 189.29 disenrollment. The premium for children remaining eligible under this clause shall be the 189.30 maximum premium determined under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (b). 189.31 (c) (f) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b) (e), parents are not eligible for 189.32 MinnesotaCare if gross household income exceeds \$57,500 for the 12-month \$25,000 for 189.33

189.34 <u>the six-month</u> period of eligibility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012, and expires June
 30, 2013, except the amendments to the new paragraphs (e) and (f) are effective July 1,
 2011, and do not expire.

Sec. 95. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 190.4 Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) Children enrolled in the original 190.5 children's health plan as of September 30, 1992, children who enrolled in the 190.6 MinnesotaCare program after September 30, 1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, 190.7 article 4, section 17, and children who have family gross incomes that are equal to or 190.8 less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines are eligible without meeting 190.9 the requirements of subdivision 2 and the four-month requirement in subdivision 3, as 190.10 190.11 long as they maintain continuous coverage in the MinnesotaCare program or medical assistance. Children who apply for MinnesotaCare on or after the implementation date 190.12 of the employer-subsidized health coverage program as described in Laws 1998, chapter 190.13 190.14 407, article 5, section 45, who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, must meet the requirements of subdivision 2 to 190.15 be eligible for MinnesotaCare. 190.16

(b) Families enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose
 income increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines the limits described
 in section 256L.04, subdivision 1, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be
 disenrolled by the commissioner.

(c) Beginning January 1, 2008, individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section
 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above 200 percent of the federal poverty
 guidelines or 250 percent of the federal poverty guidelines on or after July 1, 2009, are no
 longer eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner.

(d) For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage
terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the
commissioner determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program
income limits.

(b) (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), children may remain enrolled in
MinnesotaCare if ten percent of their gross individual or gross family income as defined in
section 256L.01, subdivision 4, is less than the annual premium for a policy with a \$500
deductible available through the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association. Children
who are no longer eligible for MinnesotaCare under this clause shall be given a 12-month
notice period from the date that ineligibility is determined before disenrollment. The

- premium for children remaining eligible under this clause shall be the maximum premium
 determined under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).
- 191.3 (c) (f) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b) (e), parents are not eligible for
 191.4 MinnesotaCare if gross household income exceeds \$57,500 for the 12-month period
 191.5 of eligibility.

191.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. The amendment in paragraph (b) is effective January 1, 2012,
 191.7 or upon federal approval whichever is later, and expires June 30, 2013. The commissioner
 191.8 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained and publish a notice
 191.9 in the State Register.

Sec. 96. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.09, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Eligibility as Minnesota resident. (a) For purposes of this section, a
permanent Minnesota resident is a person who has demonstrated, through persuasive and
objective evidence, that the person is domiciled in the state and intends to live in the
state permanently.

(b) To be eligible as a permanent resident, an applicant must demonstrate therequisite intent to live in the state permanently by:

(1) showing that the applicant maintains a residence at a verified address other than a
place of public accommodation, through the use of evidence of residence described in
section 256D.02, subdivision 12a, paragraph (b), clause (2) (1);

(2) demonstrating that the applicant has been continuously domiciled in the state forno less than 180 days immediately before the application; and

(3) signing an affidavit declaring that (A) the applicant currently resides in the state
and intends to reside in the state permanently; and (B) the applicant did not come to the
state for the primary purpose of obtaining medical coverage or treatment.

(c) A person who is temporarily absent from the state does not lose eligibility for MinnesotaCare. "Temporarily absent from the state" means the person is out of the state for a temporary purpose and intends to return when the purpose of the absence has been accomplished. A person is not temporarily absent from the state if another state has determined that the person is a resident for any purpose. If temporarily absent from the state, the person must follow the requirements of the health plan in which the person is enrolled to receive services.

Sec. 97. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.11, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
 Subd. 7. Critical access dental providers. Effective for dental services provided to
 MinnesotaCare enrollees on or after January 1, 2007, July 1, 2011, the commissioner shall

increase payment rates to dentists and dental clinics deemed by the commissioner to be
critical access providers under section 256B.76, subdivision 4, by 50 30 percent above
the payment rate that would otherwise be paid to the provider. The commissioner shall
pay the prepaid health plans under contract with the commissioner amounts sufficient to
reflect this rate increase. The prepaid health plan must pass this rate increase to providers
who have been identified by the commissioner as critical access dental providers under
section 256B.76, subdivision 4.

Sec. 98. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.12, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
Subd. 9. Rate setting; performance withholds. (a) Rates will be prospective,
per capita, where possible. The commissioner may allow health plans to arrange for
inpatient hospital services on a risk or nonrisk basis. The commissioner shall consult with
an independent actuary to determine appropriate rates.

(b) For services rendered on or after January 1, 2004, the commissioner shall 192.13 192.14 withhold five percent of managed care plan payments and county-based purchasing plan payments under this section pending completion of performance targets. Each 192.15 performance target must be quantifiable, objective, measurable, and reasonably attainable, 192.16 192.17 except in the case of a performance target based on a federal or state law or rule. Criteria for assessment of each performance target must be outlined in writing prior to the 192.18 contract effective date. The managed care plan must demonstrate, to the commissioner's 192.19 satisfaction, that the data submitted regarding attainment of the performance target is 192.20 accurate. The commissioner shall periodically change the administrative measures used 192.21 192.22 as performance targets in order to improve plan performance across a broader range of 192.23 administrative services. The performance targets must include measurement of plan efforts to contain spending on health care services and administrative activities. The 192.24 192.25 commissioner may adopt plan-specific performance targets that take into account factors affecting only one plan, such as characteristics of the plan's enrollee population. The 192.26 withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the 192.27 following calendar year if performance targets in the contract are achieved. 192.28

(c) For services rendered on or after January 1, 2011, the commissioner shall
withhold an additional three percent of managed care plan or county-based purchasing
plan payments under this section. The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than
July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following calendar year. The return of the withhold
under this paragraph is not subject to the requirements of paragraph (b).

(d) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2011, the commissionershall include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (b) a reduction in

A11-0177

SS/RT

the plan's emergency room utilization rate for state health care program enrollees by a
measurable rate of five percent from the plan's utilization rate for the previous calendar

193.3 year.

The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31 of the following calendar year if the managed care plan demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a reduction in the utilization rate was achieved.

The withhold described in this paragraph shall continue for each consecutive 193.7 contract period until the plan's emergency room utilization rate for state health care 193.8 program enrollees is reduced by 25 percent of the plan's emergency room utilization rate 193.9 for state health care program enrollees for calendar year 2009. Hospitals shall cooperate 193.10 with the health plans in meeting this performance target and shall accept payment 193.11 withholds that may be returned to the hospitals if the performance target is achieved. The 193.12 commissioner shall structure the withhold so that the commissioner returns a portion of 193.13 the withheld funds in amounts commensurate with achieved reductions in utilization less 193.14 193.15 than the targeted amount. The withhold described in this paragraph does not apply to county-based purchasing plans. 193.16

(e) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2012, the commissioner
 shall include as part of the performance targets described in paragraph (b) a reduction in
 the plan's hospitalization rate for a subsequent hospitalization within 30 days of a previous
 hospitalization of a patient regardless of the reason for the hospitalization for state health
 care program enrollees by a measurable rate of five percent from the plan's hospitalization
 rate for the previous calendar year.

193.23The withheld funds must be returned no sooner than July 1 and no later than July 31193.24of the following calendar year if the managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan193.25demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a reduction in the hospitalization193.26rate was achieved.

The withhold described in this paragraph must continue for each consecutive 193.27 contract period until the plan's subsequent hospitalization rate for state health care 193.28 program enrollees is reduced by 25 percent of the plan's subsequent hospitalization rate 193.29 for state health care program enrollees for calendar year 2010. Hospitals shall cooperate 193.30 with the plans in meeting this performance target and shall accept payment withholds that 193.31 must be returned to the hospitals if the performance target is achieved. The commissioner 193.32 shall structure the withhold so that the commissioner returns a portion of the withheld 193.33 funds in amounts commensurate with achieved reductions in utilizations less than the 193.34 targeted amount. The withhold described in this paragraph does not apply to county-based 193.35 purchasing plans. 193.36

- (e) (f) A managed care plan or a county-based purchasing plan under section
 256B.692 may include as admitted assets under section 62D.044 any amount withheld
 under this section that is reasonably expected to be returned.
- Sec. 99. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.15, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
 Subd. 1a. Payment options. The commissioner may offer the following payment
 options to an enrollee:
- 194.7 (1) payment by check;
- 194.8 (2) payment by credit card;
- 194.9 (3) payment by recurring automatic checking withdrawal;
- 194.10 (4) payment by onetime electronic transfer of funds;
- 194.11 (5) payment by wage withholding with the consent of the employer and the194.12 employee; or
- 194.13 (6) payment by using state tax refund payments.
- 194.14 The commissioner shall include information about the payment options on each premium notice. At application or reapplication, a MinnesotaCare applicant or enrollee 194.15 may authorize the commissioner to use the Revenue Recapture Act in chapter 270A to 194.16 194.17 collect funds from the applicant's or enrollee's refund for the purposes of meeting all or part of the applicant's or enrollee's MinnesotaCare premium obligation. The applicant or 194.18 enrollee may authorize the commissioner to apply for the state working family tax credit 194.19 on behalf of the applicant or enrollee. The setoff due under this subdivision shall not be 194.20 subject to the \$10 fee under section 270A.07, subdivision 1. 194.21
- 194.22 Sec. 100. Laws 2008, chapter 363, article 18, section 3, subdivision 5, is amended to 194.23 read:
- 194.24 Subd. 5. Basic Health Care Grants
- 194.25 (a) MinnesotaCare Grants
- 194.26Health Care Access
- 194.27 Incentive Program and Outreach Grants.
- 194.28 Of the appropriation for the Minnesota health
- 194.29 care outreach program in Laws 2007, chapter
- 194.30 147, article 19, section 3, subdivision 7,
- 194.31 paragraph (b):
- 194.32 (1) \$400,000 in fiscal year 2009 from the
- 194.33 general fund and \$200,000 in fiscal year 2009

-0- (770,000)

195.1

SS/RT

195.2 incentive program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.962, subdivision 5. For the 195.3 biennium beginning July 1, 2009, base level 195.4 funding for this activity shall be \$360,000 195.5 from the general fund and \$160,000 from the 195.6 health care access fund; and 195.7 195.8 (2) \$100,000 in fiscal year 2009 from the general fund and \$50,000 in fiscal year 2009 195.9 from the health care access fund are for the 195.10 outreach grants under Minnesota Statutes, 195.11 section 256.962, subdivision 2. For the 195.12 biennium beginning July 1, 2009, base level 195.13 funding for this activity shall be \$90,000 195.14 from the general fund and \$40,000 from the 195.15 health care access fund. 195.16

from the health care access fund are for the

- 195.17 (b) MA Basic Health Care Grants Families195.18 and Children
- Third-Party Liability. (a) During 195.19 fiscal year 2009, the commissioner shall 195.20 employ a contractor paid on a percentage 195.21 basis to improve third-party collections. 195.22 Improvement initiatives may include, but not 195.23 be limited to, efforts to improve postpayment 195.24 collection from nonresponsive claims and 195.25 efforts to uncover third-party payers the 195.26 commissioner has been unable to identify. 195.27 (b) In fiscal year 2009, the first \$1,098,000 195.28 of recoveries, after contract payments and 195.29 federal repayments, is appropriated to 195.30 the commissioner for technology-related 195.31 195.32 expenses. Administrative Costs. (a) For contracts 195.33
- 195.34 effective on or after January 1, 2009,
- 195.35 the commissioner shall limit aggregate

-0- (17,280,000)

administrative costs paid to managed care
plans under Minnesota Statutes, section
256B.69, and to county-based purchasing
plans under Minnesota Statutes, section
256B.692, to an overall average of <u>6.6</u> <u>6.1</u>
percent of total contract payments under
Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.69 and
256B.692, for each calendar year. For
purposes of this paragraph, administrative
costs do not include premium taxes paid
under Minnesota Statutes, section 297I.05,
subdivision 5, and provider surcharges paid
under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657,
subdivision 3.
(b) Notwithstanding any low to the continent
(b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,
the commissioner may reduce or eliminate
administrative requirements to meet the
administrative target under paragraph (a).
(c) Notwithstanding any contrary provision
of this article, this rider shall not expire.
Hospital Payment Delay. Notwithstanding
Laws 2005, First Special Session chapter 4,
article 9, section 2, subdivision 6, payments
from the Medicaid Management Information System that would otherwise have been made
for inpatient hospital services for medical
assistance enrollees are delayed as follows:
(1) for fiscal year 2008, June payments must
be included in the first payments in fiscal
year 2009; and (2) for fiscal year 2009,
June payments must be included in the first
payment of fiscal year 2010. The provisions
of Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.124,
of Winnesota Statutes, section 10A.124,

Notwithstanding any contrary provision in 196.35

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
197.1	this article, this paragraph expires on Ju	ine		
197.2	30, 2010.			
197.3 197.4	(c) MA Basic Health Care Grants - E Disabled	derly and	(14,028,000)	(9,368,000)
197.5	Minnesota Disability Health Options	Rate		
197.6	Setting Methodology. The commission	ner		
197.7	shall develop and implement a methodo	ology		
197.8	for risk adjusting payments for commu	nity		
197.9	alternatives for disabled individuals (Ca	ADI)		
197.10	and traumatic brain injury (TBI) home			
197.11	and community-based waiver services			
197.12	delivered under the Minnesota disabilit	у		
197.13	health options program (MnDHO) effect	ctive		
197.14	January 1, 2009. The commissioner sh	all		
197.15	take into account the weighting system	used		
197.16	to determine county waiver allocations	in		
197.17	developing the new payment methodolo	ogy.		
197.18	Growth in the number of enrollees rece	iving		
197.19	CADI or TBI waiver payments through	1		
197.20	MnDHO is limited to an increase of 20	0		
197.21	enrollees in each calendar year from Jan	nuary		
197.22	2009 through December 2011. If those	limits		
197.23	are reached, additional members may b	e		
197.24	enrolled in MnDHO for basic care serv	ices		
197.25	only as defined under Minnesota Statut	es,		
197.26	section 256B.69, subdivision 28, and the	ne		
197.27	commissioner may establish a waiting l	ist for		
197.28	future access of MnDHO members to the	nose		
197.29	waiver services.			
197.30	MA Basic Elderly and Disabled			
197.31	Adjustments. For the fiscal year ending	g June		
197.32	30, 2009, the commissioner may adjust	the		
197.33	rates for each service affected by rate ch	anges		
197.34	under this section in such a manner acr	OSS		
197.35	the fiscal year to achieve the necessary	cost		

197.36

savings and minimize disruption to service

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
198.1 198.2	providers, notwithstanding the requirer of Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 7, se			
198.3 198.4	71.(d) General Assistance Medical Care	Grants	-0-	(6,971,000)
198.5	(e) Other Health Care Grants		-0-	(17,000)
198.6	MinnesotaCare Outreach Grants Sp	ecial		
198.7	Revenue Account. The balance in the	9		
198.8	MinnesotaCare outreach grants special	1		
198.9	revenue account on July 1, 2009, estim	nated		
198.10	to be \$900,000, must be transferred to	the		
198.11	general fund.			
198.12	Grants Reduction. Effective July 1, 2	2008,		
198.13	base level funding for nonforecast, ger	neral		
198.14	fund health care grants issued under th	nis		
198.15	paragraph shall be reduced by 1.8 perc	ent at		

198.16 the allotment level.

198.17 Sec. 101. <u>PLAN TO COORDINATE CARE FOR CHILDREN WITH</u> 198.18 HIGH-COST MENTAL HEALTH CONDITIONS.

The commissioner of human services shall develop and submit to the legislature 198.19 by December 15, 2011, a plan to provide care coordination to medical assistance and 198.20 198.21 MinnesotaCare enrollees who are children with high-cost mental health conditions. For 198.22 purposes of this section, a child has a "high-cost mental health condition" if mental health and medical expenses over the past year totalled \$100,000 or more. For purposes of this 198.23 section, "care coordination" means collaboration between an advanced practice nurse and 198.24 primary care physicians and specialists to manage care; development of mental health 198.25 management plans for recurrent mental health issues; oversight and coordination of all 198.26 aspects of care in partnership with families; organization of medical, treatment, and 198.27 therapy information into a summary of critical information; coordination and appropriate 198.28 sequencing of evaluations and multiple appointments; information and assistance with 198.29 198.30 accessing resources; and telephone triage for behavior or other problems.

198.31 Sec. 102. DATA ON CLAIMS AND UTILIZATION.

198.32The commissioner of human services, in consultation with the Health and Human

198.33 Services Reform Committee, shall develop and provide to the legislature by December 15,

- 199.1 <u>2011, a methodology and any draft legislation necessary to allow for the release, upon</u>
- 199.2 request, of summary data as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 13.02, subdivision 19,
- 199.3 <u>on claims and utilization for medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and</u>
- 199.4 MinnesotaCare enrollees at no charge to the University of Minnesota Medical School, the
- 199.5 Mayo Medical School, Northwestern Health Sciences University, the Institute for Clinical
- 199.6 Systems Improvement, and other research institutions to conduct analyses of health care
- 199.7 <u>outcomes and treatment effectiveness, provided the research institutions do not release</u>
- 199.8 private or nonpublic data or data for which dissemination is prohibited by law.

199.9 Sec. 103. <u>**REDUCTION OF STATE-MANDATED ADMINISTRATIVE</u></u></u>**

199.10 **<u>REPORTS.</u>**

199.11 (a) The commissioner of management and budget shall convene a report reduction working group of persons designated by the commissioners of health, human services, and 199.12 commerce to eliminate redundant, unnecessary, obsolete, and low-priority state-mandated 199.13 administrative reports required of health plans and county-based purchasing plans 199.14 that serve persons enrolled in Minnesota health care programs. The commissioner of 199.15 management and budget and the report reduction working group shall develop a plan to 199.16 199.17 oversee the report reduction activities of the individual state agencies and coordinate the activities of multiple state agencies to consolidate reports or eliminate redundant reports 199.18 199.19 required by more than one state agency on the same or a similar topic. (b) The commissioners of health, human services, and commerce shall reduce, 199.20 eliminate, or consolidate state-mandated reports according to the plan developed by the 199.21 199.22 commissioner of management and budget through the report reduction working group. In addition to other report reduction actions the commissioners or the working group 199.23 may undertake, the commissioners shall: 199.24 199.25 (1) collect encounter data, including provider payment data if collected, in a consolidated report provided to a single state agency, with the data collected by that state 199.26 agency to be shared with other state agencies who need the data; 199.27 (2) collect only one provider network report annually through a single state agency, 199.28 with the data collected by that state agency to be shared with other state agencies who 199.29 need the data; 199.30 (3) collect only one standard financial report through a single state agency, with 199.31 the data collected by that state agency to be shared with other state agencies who need 199.32 the data. Data collected must be of a nature and in a format to allow comparison of the 199.33 cost-effectiveness of fee-for-service payment systems and prepaid programs administered 199.34

199.35 by health plans and county-based purchasing plans;

A11-0177

SS/RT

200.1	(4) consolidate and simplify reports and documentation requirements relating to
200.2	member communications and marketing materials, and establish a single review process
200.3	for all programs, products, and agencies in order to ensure uniform and consistent
200.4	regulation of health plan contracts;
200.5	(5) consolidate state regulation and oversight of health plans and county-based
200.6	purchasing plans so that activities of multiple agencies are administered through an
200.7	efficient and uniform multiagency process of oversight and audits, with consistent
200.8	standards, measures, and definitions for state oversight of quality, utilization management,
200.9	care management, delegation accountability, access to care, appeals and grievances, and
200.10	financial management;
200.11	(6) establish uniform requirements and procedures for denial, termination, or
200.12	reduction of services and member appeals and grievances, and align state requirements
200.13	and procedures with federal requirements and procedures; and
200.14	(7) reform the state's performance improvement projects, requirements, and
200.15	procedures to be more flexible and efficient, and to place greater focus on measuring
200.16	improvement of outcomes and less on mandating detailed or prescriptive requirements for
200.17	specific performance improvement projects or activities.
200.18	(d) New reporting requirements or ad hoc report requests shall be established by a
200.19	state agency only:
200.20	(1) if required by a federal agency;
200.21	(2) if needed for a state regulatory audit or corrective action plan; or
200.22	(3) after the completion of a review and analysis, and the development of
200.23	recommendations by the commissioner of management and budget, in consultation
200.24	with the report reduction working group, regarding the necessity, importance, and
200.25	administrative cost of the new report, and after completing a review to determine
200.26	whether the information sought can be obtained through another available state or federal
200.27	report. The results of the review, analysis, and recommendations of the commissioner of
200.28	management and budget must be provided to health plans and county-based purchasing
200.29	plans for review and comment at least 60 days before a new report or requirement is
200.30	established.
200.31	(e) To the extent possible, all state agencies shall use the procedures, reports,
200.32	and audits of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services instead of requiring an
200.33	additional state-mandated report on the same or a similar topic.
200.34	(f) By January 15, 2012, the commissioner of management and budget shall provide
200.35	a report on the activities and results of the report reduction project to the legislature.
200.36	The report must include:

REVISOR

201.1	(1) a timetable for report reduction actions already taken or planned by the
201.2	commissioners or the report reduction working group;
201.3	(2) the specific reports that have been or will be eliminated or consolidated;
201.4	(3) the amount of money that will be saved through reductions in administrative
201.5	costs of health plans and county-based purchasing plans as a result of the report reduction
201.6	project; and
201.7	(4) proposed legislation for changes to laws or rules that are needed to allow state
201.8	agencies to further reduce, consolidate, or eliminate reports when the changes cannot
201.9	be made administratively.
201.10	Sec. 104. COMPETITIVE BIDDING PILOT.
201.11	For managed care contracts effective January 1, 2012, the commissioner of
201.12	human services is required to establish a competitive price bidding pilot for nonelderly,
201.13	nondisabled adults and children in medical assistance and MinnesotaCare in the
201.14	seven-county metropolitan area. The pilot must allow a minimum of two managed care
201.15	organizations to serve the metropolitan area. The pilot shall expire after two full calendar
201.16	years on December 31, 2013. The commissioner of human service shall conduct an
201.17	evaluation of the pilot to determine the cost-effectiveness and impacts to provider access
201.18	at the end of the two-year period.
201.19	Sec. 105. REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL; PROVIDER BILLING PATTERNS.
201.20	(a) The commissioner of human services shall issue a request for proposal, using
201.21	existing resources, to identify abnormal provider billing patterns in order to prevent and
201.22	identify improper medical assistance payments.
201.23	(b) The request for proposal must include the following requirements for the
201.24	contractor:
201.25	(1) identification and reporting of improper claims, outlier claims, and improper
201.26	payments, both prior to and subsequent to reimbursement;
201.27	(2) utilization of fraud detection methods that maximize contemporary predictive
201.28	analytic tools, including but not limited to identity analytics, link analysis, and matching
201.29	capabilities;
201.30	(3) utilization of data analytics that improve fraud detection through the identification
201.31	of outlier reimbursement;
201.32	(4) reduction in state expenditures by reducing or eliminating payouts of improper
201.33	medical assistance claims; and

REVISOR

SS/RT

202.1	(5) demonstrated success with other states and state agencies using the specified
202.2	proposed solution, deployment, and implementation.
202.3	(c) The commissioner shall enter into a contract for the services in this section by
202.4	October 1, 2011. The contract must incorporate a performance-based vendor financing
202.5	mechanism under which the vendor shares in the risk of the project's success.
202.6	Sec. 106. HEALTH SERVICES POLICY COMMITTEE STUDIES.
202.7	(a) The commissioner of human services, through the health services policy
202.8	committee established under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 3c, shall
202.9	identify and review medical assistance services provided by health care professionals who
202.10	are not trained to provide the services in a high-quality manner. The commissioner shall
202.11	develop a process to limit payment for medical assistance services to providers who are
202.12	appropriately trained to provide the service, and shall present recommendations and draft
202.13	legislation by January 15, 2012, to the legislature.
202.14	(b) The commissioner of human services, through the health services policy
202.15	committee established under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 3c, shall
202.16	study the effectiveness of new strategies for wound care treatment for medical assistance
202.17	and MinnesotaCare enrollees with diabetes, including but not limited to the use of new
202.18	wound care technologies, assessment tools, and reporting programs. The commissioner
202.19	shall present recommendations by December 15, 2011, to the legislature on whether these
202.20	new strategies for wound care treatment should be covered under medical assistance

202.21 and MinnesotaCare.

202.22 Sec. 107. SPECIALIZED MAINTENANCE THERAPY.

202.23The commissioner of human services shall evaluate whether providing medical202.24assistance coverage for specialized maintenance therapy for enrollees with serious and202.25persistent mental illness who are at risk of hospitalization will improve the quality of202.26care and lower medical assistance spending by reducing rates of hospitalization. The202.27commissioner shall present findings and recommendations to the chairs and ranking202.28minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human202.29services finance and policy by December 15, 2011.

202.30 Sec. 108. COVERAGE FOR LOWER-INCOME MINNESOTACARE

202.31 **ENROLLEES.**

202.32The commissioner of human services shall develop and present to the legislature,202.33by December 15, 2011, a plan to redesign service delivery for MinnesotaCare enrollees

203.1 <u>eligible under Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.04, subdivisions 1 and 7, with incomes</u>

203.2 less than 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. The plan must be designed to

203.3 improve continuity and quality of care, reduce unnecessary emergency room visits, and

203.4 reduce average per-enrollee costs. In developing the plan, the commissioner shall consider

203.5 <u>innovative methods of service delivery, including but not limited to increasing the use</u>

203.6 and choice of private sector health plan coverage and encouraging the use of community

203.7 <u>health clinics, as defined in the federal Community Health Care Act of 1964, as health</u>

203.8 <u>care homes.</u>

203.9 Sec. 109. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; FEDERAL WAIVERS.</u>

203.10 (a) The commissioner of human services shall apply to the Centers for Medicare

203.11 and Medicaid Services (CMS) for federal waivers to cover:

203.12 (1) families with children eligible under Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.04, 203.13 subdivision 1; and

203.14 (2) adults eligible under Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.04, subdivision 1,

203.15 <u>under the MinnesotaCare healthy Minnesota contribution program established under</u>

203.16 Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.031, by July 1, 2011. The commissioner shall report to

203.17 <u>the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and</u>

203.18 <u>finance whether or not the federal waiver application was accepted within ten working</u>

203.19 <u>days of receipt of the decision.</u>

(b) The commissioner of human services shall apply to the CMS for a section
 203.21 <u>1115(a) demonstration waiver, and any other necessary federal waivers and amendments,</u>
 203.22 <u>including, but not limited to, a waiver of the appropriate sections of title XIX, United</u>
 203.23 <u>States Code, title 42, section 1396a, and a waiver of the maintenance of effort provisions</u>

in section 2001 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148,

that would provide Minnesota with medical assistance program flexibility in exchange

203.26 for federal budget certainty. The commissioner shall seek federal approval to enter into

203.27 an agreement with CMS under which Minnesota would:

203.28 (1) accept an aggregate annual allotment for the medical assistance program, trended
 203.29 forward at an agreed upon rate, with protections to cover medical inflation and projected
 203.30 caseload growth; and

203.31 (2) receive federal waivers of Medicaid requirements related to: statewideness and
 203.32 comparability of services; the amount, duration, and scope of services; freedom of choice;
 203.33 cost-sharing; and other areas of program administration specified by the commissioner.

203.34 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

A11-0177

204.1	Sec. 110. ENROLLED PROVIDER NETWORKS.
204.2	Subdivision 1. Review by commissioner. The commissioner of human services
204.3	shall review the feasibility of implementing the reformed health care system described in
204.4	subdivisions 2 to 9. The commissioner shall present recommendations to the legislature by
204.5	December 15, 2011, on whether the reformed health care system should be implemented,
204.6	and may include as recommendations modifications to the criteria and requirements of
204.7	subdivisions 2 to 9.
204.8	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions
204.9	<u>apply.</u>
204.10	(b) "Demonstration provider" has the meaning provided in Minnesota Statutes,
204.11	section 256B.69, subdivision 2.
204.12	(c) "Enrolled provider network" means a health care provider, a group of health care
204.13	providers, or a partnership between a health care provider and a demonstration provider,
204.14	which is accountable through a contract with the commissioner for: (1) the quality and
204.15	coordination of care provided under subdivision 3 to qualified enrollees; and (2) managing
204.16	the cost of providing this care.
204.17	(d) "Health plan company" has the meaning specified in Minnesota Statutes, section
204.18	62Q.01, subdivision 4.
204.19	(e) "Metropolitan statistical area" means a metropolitan area containing a core urban
204.20	area of 50,000 or more population consisting of one or more counties including the
204.21	counties containing the core urban area, as well as any adjacent counties that have a high
204.22	degree of social and economic integration with the urban core.
204.23	(f) "Qualified enrollee" means an individual who is enrolled in medical assistance
204.24	under a families and children eligibility category, or as an adult without children under
204.25	Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.055, subdivision 15, or enrolled in the MinnesotaCare
204.26	program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256L.
204.27	Subd. 3. Establishment of reformed health care delivery system. (a) The
204.28	commissioner shall implement, upon federal approval, a reformed health care delivery
204.29	system for qualified medical assistance and MinnesotaCare enrollees that delivers basic
204.30	health care services through enrolled provider networks in metropolitan statistical areas
204.31	(MSAs), and supplements this coverage with a policy that provides coverage for nonbasic
204.32	care services. Health care providers outside of a metropolitan statistical area may serve as
204.33	an enrolled provider network and receive total cost of care payments under subdivision 4.
204.34	(b) Upon federal approval, the commissioner shall discontinue contracts with
204.35	managed care under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.69 and 256L.12, for the provision
204.36	of services to qualified enrollees within a metropolitan statistical area.

205.1	Subd. 4. Provision of basic care services through enrolled provider networks.
205.2	(a) The commissioner shall enter into contracts with enrolled provider networks in
205.3	metropolitan statistical areas, and may enter into contracts with enrolled provider networks
205.4	outside of a metropolitan statistical area, to provide qualified enrollees with the basic care
205.5	services specified in paragraph (b), in return for receiving a per-enrollee, concurrently
205.6	risk-adjusted, total cost of care payment.
205.7	(b) Enrolled provider networks under contract with the commissioner shall provide,
205.8	contract for, and coordinate the following basic care services:
205.9	(1) preventive services;
205.10	(2) inpatient hospital services and physician and other health care professional
205.11	services associated with an inpatient hospital stay;
205.12	(3) outpatient hospital services;
205.13	(4) freestanding ambulatory surgical center services;
205.14	(5) outpatient physician and clinic visits;
205.15	(6) lab, x-ray, and diagnostic services;
205.16	(7) diabetic care services;
205.17	(8) mental healthcare;
205.18	(9) vision care, with eyeglasses covered as provided under subdivision 7;
205.19	(10) prescription drugs;
205.20	(11) medication therapy management;
205.21	(12) emergency room care;
205.22	(13) immunizations and vaccines;
205.23	(14) rehabilitative therapy;
205.24	(15) urgent care;
205.25	(16) home care; and
205.26	(17) hospice care.
205.27	(c) An enrolled provider network may provide qualified enrollees with services that
205.28	are in addition to those listed in paragraph (b).
205.29	(d) No enrollee cost-sharing shall be applied to the services listed in paragraph (b).
205.30	(e) An enrolled provider network must coordinate the services provided under
205.31	paragraph (b) with any nonbasic care services that an enrollee receives under subdivision 7.
205.32	(f) An enrolled provider network may contract with a health plan company,
205.33	county-based purchasing plan, or other entity to administer the provision of basic care
205.34	services by the enrolled provider network.
205.35	(g) If an enrolled provider network does not enter into a contract with a health
205.36	plan company, county-based purchasing plan, or other entity to administer the provision

206.1	of basic care services, the commissioner shall, by competitive bid, award a contract with
206.2	a health plan company, county-based purchasing plan, or other entity to administer the
206.3	provision of basic care services by enrolled provider networks and nonbasic care services
206.4	described in subdivision 7.
206.5	(h) Administrators of basic care services must:
206.6	(1) collect data on the utilization and cost of health care services provided by each
206.7	enrolled provider network and on administrative and other costs incurred by each enrolled
206.8	provider network and make this information available to enrolled provider networks and
206.9	the commissioner;
206.10	(2) assist enrolled provider networks and the commissioner in identifying high-cost
206.11	enrollees;
206.12	(3) evaluate the quality of services, as defined by the commissioner, provided by
206.13	enrolled provider networks and report this information to enrolled provider networks and
206.14	the commissioner;
206.15	(4) ensure access for enrollees to nonbasic care services. The administrator shall
206.16	report to the commissioner any access concerns which may arise under the reformed
206.17	health care delivery system; and
206.18	(5) evaluate enrollee experience and satisfaction, in a manner determined by
206.19	the commissioner, and report this information to enrolled provider networks and the
206.20	commissioner.
206.21	Data reported to the third-party administrator and the commissioner under this
206.22	paragraph are public data as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 13.02, except that data
206.23	on individuals are classified as private data.
206.24	(i) The commissioner shall report annually to the legislature on the cost, utilization,
206.25	administrative expenses, quality, and experience of qualified enrollees receiving services
206.26	through an enrolled provider network, compared to other enrollees.
206.27	Subd. 5. Enrollee selection of enrolled provider network. (a) A qualified enrollee
206.28	within a metropolitan statistical area (MSA) must select an enrolled provider network in
206.29	order to receive services covered under this section. The commissioner shall assign an
206.30	enrollee to an enrolled provider network based on greatest percentage of services recently
206.31	provided to that enrollee, or proximity, if the enrollee does not make a choice. An enrollee
206.32	must agree to receive all nonemergency covered services through the enrolled provider
206.33	network, except for nonbasic care services covered under subdivision 7.
206.34	(b) An enrollee covered through an enrolled provider network has the right to appeal
206.35	to the commissioner according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.045.

SS/RT

207.1	Subd. 6. Non-MSA providers. The commissioner of human services may consider
207.2	payment mechanisms with providers that allow the commissioner to achieve cost savings,
207.3	including but not limited to gain-sharing arrangements with a county or group of
207.4	providers, baskets of care, and other payment mechanisms the commissioner determines
207.5	would improve the quality and efficiency of service delivery to qualified enrollees residing
207.6	outside of a metropolitan statistical area.
207.7	Subd. 7. Nonbasic care coverage. (a) Nonbasic care services must include the
207.8	following:
207.9	(1) emergency and nonemergency medical transportation services;
207.10	(2) alcohol and drug treatment;
207.11	(3) chiropractic care;
207.12	(4) dental care, with dental services provided to nonpregnant adults subject to an
207.13	annual limit of \$;
207.14	(5) eyeglasses, subject to an annual limit of \$;
207.15	(6) hearing aids;
207.16	(7) interpreter services;
207.17	(8) medical equipment and supplies; and
207.18	(9) services provided in nursing facilities, intermediate facilities for persons with
207.19	developmental disabilities, and other long-term care settings.
207.20	(b) An enrolled provider network may contract with a health plan company,
207.21	county-based purchasing plan, or other entity to include the coverage and coordination of
207.22	nonbasic care services in their contract with the commissioner.
207.23	(c) No enrollee cost sharing shall apply to coverage under the nonbasic care policy.
207.24	(d) The commissioner may require an enrolled provider network to enter into a
207.25	risk and gain-sharing agreement, under which the enrolled provider network shall be
207.26	financially responsible for a portion of the risk-adjusted nonbasic care costs incurred by
207.27	qualified enrollees.
207.28	Subd. 8. Premiums. (a) MinnesotaCare enrollees receiving benefits under this
207.29	section must pay premiums as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.15.
207.30	(b) Medical assistance enrollees receiving benefits under this section shall pay
207.31	premiums based on the MinnesotaCare sliding premium scale, as established under
207.32	Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.15.
207.33	Subd. 9. Federal approval. The commissioner shall seek any necessary federal
207.34	waivers and approvals necessary to implement this section.
207.35	Subd. 10. Approval required for implementation. Subdivisions 2 to 9 shall be
207.36	implemented only upon legislative approval.

208.1	Sec. 111. <u>REPEALER.</u>
208.2	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.01, subdivision 2b, (performance
208.3	payments) is repealed effective July 1, 2011.
208.4	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 62J.07, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, (Legislative
208.5	Commission on Health Care Access) are repealed.
208.6	(c) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 64, (256L.07, subdivision 2) is repealed
208.7	retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.8	(d) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 65, (256L.07, subdivision 3) is repealed
208.9	retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.10	(e) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 68, (256L.15, subdivision 2, exemption
208.11	of low-income children from MinnesotaCare premiums and insurance barriers) is
208.12	repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.13	(f) Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256L.07, subdivision 7, exempting eligibility
208.14	for children formally under medical assistance, is repealed retroactively from October
208.15	1, 2008, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.16	(g) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 55, as amended by
208.17	Laws 2009, chapter 173, article 1, section 36, (256L.04, subdivision 1, children deemed
208.18	eligible are exempt from eligibility requirements) is repealed retroactively from January
208.18 208.19	
208.19	1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.19 208.20	<u>1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.</u> (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b,
208.19 208.20 208.21	 <u>1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.</u> (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009,
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23	 <u>1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.</u> (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, <u>exemption from income limit for children</u>) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.23	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.24 208.25	 <u>1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.</u> (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open enrollment and streamlined application) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.24 208.25 208.26	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open enrollment and streamlined application) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (j) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 66, (256L.07, subdivision 8, automatic
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.24 208.25 208.26 208.27	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open enrollment and streamlined application) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (j) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 66, (256L.07, subdivision 8, automatic eligibility certain children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.24 208.25 208.26 208.27 208.28	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open enrollment and streamlined application) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (j) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 66, (256L.07, subdivision 8, automatic eligibility certain children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.24 208.25 208.26 208.27 208.28 208.29	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open enrollment and streamlined application) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (j) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 66, (256L.07, subdivision 8, automatic eligibility certain children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (k) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 57, (256L.04,
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.24 208.25 208.26 208.27 208.28 208.29 208.30	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open enrollment and streamlined application) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (j) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 66, (256L.07, subdivision 8, automatic eligibility certain children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (k) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 57, (256L.04, subdivision 7a, ineligibility for adults with certain income) is repealed retroactively
208.19 208.20 208.21 208.22 208.23 208.24 208.25 208.26 208.27 208.28 208.29 208.30 208.31	 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (h) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 56, (256L.04, subdivision 1b, exemption from income limit for children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (i) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 60, (256L.05, subdivision 1c, open enrollment and streamlined application) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (j) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 66, (256L.07, subdivision 8, automatic eligibility certain children) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary. (k) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 57, (256L.04, subdivision 7a, ineligibility for adults with certain income) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.

SS/RT

209.1	(m) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 62, (256L.05,
209.2	subdivision 3a, exemption from cancellation for nonrenewal for children) is repealed
209.3	retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
209.4	(n) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 63, (256L.07,
209.5	subdivision 1, children whose gross family income is greater than 275 percent FPG
209.6	may remain enrolled) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is
209.7	no longer necessary.
209.8	(o) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 64, (256L.07,
209.9	subdivision 2, exempts children from requirement not to have employer-subsidized
209.10	coverage) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer
209.11	necessary.
209.12	(p) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 65, (256L.07,
209.13	subdivision 3, requires children with family gross income over 200 percent of FPG
209.14	to have had no health coverage for four months prior to application) is repealed
209.15	retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer necessary.
209.16	(q) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 68, (256L.15,
209.17	subdivision 2, children in families with income less than 200 percent FPG pay no
209.18	premium) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is no longer
209.19	necessary.
209.20	(r) The amendment in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 69, (256L.15,
209.21	subdivision 3, exempts children with family income below 200 percent FPG from
209.22	sliding fee scale) is repealed retroactively from July 1, 2009, and federal approval is
209.23	no longer necessary.
209.24	(s) Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 79, (uncoded federal approval) is
209.25	repealed the day following final enactment.
209.26	(t) Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.057, subdivision 2c, (extended medical
209.27	assistance for certain children) is repealed.
209.28	(u) The amendments in Laws 2008, chapter 358, article 8, sections 8; and 9,
209.29	(renewal rolling month and premium grace month) are repealed.
209.30	ARTICLE 7
209.31	CONTINUING CARE
209.32	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, is amended to
209.33	read:
209.34	Subd. 2. Exclusion from licensure. (a) This chapter does not apply to:

(1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person by an
individual who is related unless the residential program is a child foster care placement
made by a local social services agency or a licensed child-placing agency, except as
provided in subdivision 2a;

(2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual to personsfrom a single related family;

(3) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to adults who do
not abuse chemicals or who do not have a chemical dependency, a mental illness, a
developmental disability, a functional impairment, or a physical disability;

210.10 (4) sheltered workshops or work activity programs that are certified by the 210.11 commissioner of employment and economic development;

210.12 (5) programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older;

(6) nonresidential programs primarily for children that provide care or supervision
for periods of less than three hours a day while the child's parent or legal guardian is in
the same building as the nonresidential program or present within another building that is
directly contiguous to the building in which the nonresidential program is located;

210.17 (7) nursing homes or hospitals licensed by the commissioner of health except as
210.18 specified under section 245A.02;

(8) board and lodge facilities licensed by the commissioner of health that do not
provide children's residential services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, mental health
or chemical dependency treatment;

(9) homes providing programs for persons placed by a county or a licensed agencyfor legal adoption, unless the adoption is not completed within two years;

210.24 (10) programs licensed by the commissioner of corrections;

(11) recreation programs for children or adults that are operated or approved by a
park and recreation board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational
activities;

(12) programs operated by a school as defined in section 120A.22, subdivision 4;
YMCA as defined in section 315.44; YWCA as defined in section 315.44; or JCC as
defined in section 315.51, whose primary purpose is to provide child care or services to
school-age children;

210.32 (13) Head Start nonresidential programs which operate for less than 45 days in
210.33 each calendar year;

(14) noncertified boarding care homes unless they provide services for five or more
persons whose primary diagnosis is mental illness or a developmental disability;

(15) programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and
art programs, and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of
less than 30 days in any 12-month period;

(16) residential programs for persons with mental illness, that are located in hospitals;
(17) the religious instruction of school-age children; Sabbath or Sunday schools; or
the congregate care of children by a church, congregation, or religious society during the
period used by the church, congregation, or religious society for its regular worship;

211.8 (18) camps licensed by the commissioner of health under Minnesota Rules, chapter
211.9 4630;

(19) mental health outpatient services for adults with mental illness or childrenwith emotional disturbance;

(20) residential programs serving school-age children whose sole purpose is culturalor educational exchange, until the commissioner adopts appropriate rules;

(21) unrelated individuals who provide out-of-home respite care services to persons
with developmental disabilities from a single related family for no more than 90 days in a
12-month period and the respite care services are for the temporary relief of the person's
family or legal representative;

(22) respite care services provided as a home and community-based service to a
person with a developmental disability, in the person's primary residence;

(23) community support services programs as defined in section 245.462, subdivision
6, and family community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17;

211.22 (24) the placement of a child by a birth parent or legal guardian in a preadoptive
211.23 home for purposes of adoption as authorized by section 259.47;

211.24 (25) settings registered under chapter 144D which provide home care services
211.25 licensed by the commissioner of health to fewer than seven adults;

(26) chemical dependency or substance abuse treatment activities of licensed
professionals in private practice as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6405, subpart
15, when the treatment activities are not paid for by the consolidated chemical dependency
treatment fund;

(27) consumer-directed community support service funded under the Medicaid
waiver for persons with developmental disabilities when the individual who provided
the service is:

(i) the same individual who is the direct payee of these specific waiver funds or paidby a fiscal agent, fiscal intermediary, or employer of record; and

(ii) not otherwise under the control of a residential or nonresidential program that is
required to be licensed under this chapter when providing the service; or

(28) a program serving only children who are age 33 months or older, that is
operated by a nonpublic school, for no more than four hours per day per child, with no
more than 20 children at any one time, and that is accredited by:

(i) an accrediting agency that is formally recognized by the commissioner ofeducation as a nonpublic school accrediting organization; or

(ii) an accrediting agency that requires background studies and that receives and
investigates complaints about the services provided; or

212.8 (29) residential facilities that are federally certified as intermediate care facilities
 212.9 that serve people with developmental disabilities.

A program that asserts its exemption from licensure under <u>clause (28)</u>, item (ii), shall, upon request from the commissioner, provide the commissioner with documentation from the accrediting agency that verifies: that the accreditation is current; that the accrediting agency investigates complaints about services; and that the accrediting agency's standards require background studies on all people providing direct contact services.

(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), a building is directly contiguous to a building in which a nonresidential program is located if it shares a common wall with the building in which the nonresidential program is located or is attached to that building by skyway, tunnel, atrium, or common roof.

(c) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure for any services
provided and funded according to an approved federal waiver plan where licensure is
specifically identified as not being a condition for the services and funding.

212.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 252.27, subdivision 2a, is amended to read: Subd. 2a. Contribution amount. (a) The natural or adoptive parents of a minor 212.23 child, including a child determined eligible for medical assistance without consideration of 212.24 parental income, must contribute to the cost of services used by making monthly payments 212.25 on a sliding scale based on income, unless the child is married or has been married, 212.26 parental rights have been terminated, or the child's adoption is subsidized according to 212.27 section 259.67 or through title IV-E of the Social Security Act. The parental contribution 212.28 is a partial or full payment for medical services provided for diagnostic, therapeutic, 212.29 curing, treating, mitigating, rehabilitation, maintenance, and personal care services as 212.30 defined in United States Code, title 26, section 213, needed by the child with a chronic 212.31 illness or disability. 212.32

(b) For households with adjusted gross income equal to or greater than 100 percent
of federal poverty guidelines, the parental contribution shall be computed by applying the
following schedule of rates to the adjusted gross income of the natural or adoptive parents:

(1) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 100 percent of federal
poverty guidelines and less than 175 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental
contribution is \$4 per month;

(2) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 175 percent of federal
poverty guidelines and less than or equal to 545 525 percent of federal poverty guidelines,
the parental contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee scale established by the
commissioner of human services which begins at one percent of adjusted gross income at
175 percent of federal poverty guidelines and increases to 7.5 eight percent of adjusted
gross income for those with adjusted gross income up to 545 525 percent of federal
poverty guidelines;

(3) if the adjusted gross income is greater than 545 525 percent of federal
poverty guidelines and less than 675 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental
contribution shall be 7.5 9.5 percent of adjusted gross income;

(4) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 675 percent of federal poverty guidelines and less than 975_{900} percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner of human services which begins at $7.5_{9.5}$ percent of adjusted gross income at 675 percent of federal poverty guidelines and increases to ten 12 percent of adjusted gross income for those with adjusted gross income up to 975_{900} percent of federal poverty guidelines; and (5) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 975_{900} percent of

federal poverty guidelines, the parental contribution shall be $\frac{12.5}{13.5}$ percent of adjusted gross income.

If the child lives with the parent, the annual adjusted gross income is reduced by \$2,400 prior to calculating the parental contribution. If the child resides in an institution specified in section 256B.35, the parent is responsible for the personal needs allowance specified under that section in addition to the parental contribution determined under this section. The parental contribution is reduced by any amount required to be paid directly to the child pursuant to a court order, but only if actually paid.

(c) The household size to be used in determining the amount of contribution under
paragraph (b) includes natural and adoptive parents and their dependents, including the
child receiving services. Adjustments in the contribution amount due to annual changes
in the federal poverty guidelines shall be implemented on the first day of July following
publication of the changes.

(d) For purposes of paragraph (b), "income" means the adjusted gross income of thenatural or adoptive parents determined according to the previous year's federal tax form,

SS/RT A11-0177

except, effective retroactive to July 1, 2003, taxable capital gains to the extent the funds 214.1 have been used to purchase a home shall not be counted as income. 214.2

(e) The contribution shall be explained in writing to the parents at the time eligibility 214.3 for services is being determined. The contribution shall be made on a monthly basis 214.4 effective with the first month in which the child receives services. Annually upon 214.5 redetermination or at termination of eligibility, if the contribution exceeded the cost of 214.6 services provided, the local agency or the state shall reimburse that excess amount to 214.7 the parents, either by direct reimbursement if the parent is no longer required to pay a 214.8 contribution, or by a reduction in or waiver of parental fees until the excess amount is 214.9 exhausted. All reimbursements must include a notice that the amount reimbursed may be 214.10 taxable income if the parent paid for the parent's fees through an employer's health care 214.11 flexible spending account under the Internal Revenue Code, section 125, and that the 214.12 parent is responsible for paying the taxes owed on the amount reimbursed. 214.13

(f) The monthly contribution amount must be reviewed at least every 12 months; 214.14 214.15 when there is a change in household size; and when there is a loss of or gain in income from one month to another in excess of ten percent. The local agency shall mail a written 214.16 notice 30 days in advance of the effective date of a change in the contribution amount. 214.17 A decrease in the contribution amount is effective in the month that the parent verifies a 214.18 reduction in income or change in household size. 214.19

(g) Parents of a minor child who do not live with each other shall each pay the 214.20 contribution required under paragraph (a). An amount equal to the annual court-ordered 214.21 child support payment actually paid on behalf of the child receiving services shall be 214.22 214.23 deducted from the adjusted gross income of the parent making the payment prior to calculating the parental contribution under paragraph (b). 214.24

(h) The contribution under paragraph (b) shall be increased by an additional five 214.25 percent if the local agency determines that insurance coverage is available but not 214.26 obtained for the child. For purposes of this section, "available" means the insurance is a 214.27 benefit of employment for a family member at an annual cost of no more than five percent 214.28 of the family's annual income. For purposes of this section, "insurance" means health 214.29 and accident insurance coverage, enrollment in a nonprofit health service plan, health 214.30 maintenance organization, self-insured plan, or preferred provider organization. 214.31

Parents who have more than one child receiving services shall not be required 214.32 to pay more than the amount for the child with the highest expenditures. There shall 214.33 be no resource contribution from the parents. The parent shall not be required to pay 214.34 a contribution in excess of the cost of the services provided to the child, not counting 214.35

- payments made to school districts for education-related services. Notice of an increase in
 fee payment must be given at least 30 days before the increased fee is due.
- (i) The contribution under paragraph (b) shall be reduced by \$300 per fiscal year if,

in the 12 months prior to July 1:

215.5 (1) the parent applied for insurance for the child;

215.6 (2) the insurer denied insurance;

(3) the parents submitted a complaint or appeal, in writing to the insurer, submitted
a complaint or appeal, in writing, to the commissioner of health or the commissioner of
commerce, or litigated the complaint or appeal; and

215.10 215.11 (4) as a result of the dispute, the insurer reversed its decision and granted insurance.For purposes of this section, "insurance" has the meaning given in paragraph (h).

A parent who has requested a reduction in the contribution amount under this paragraph shall submit proof in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner or county agency, including, but not limited to, the insurer's denial of insurance, the written letter or complaint of the parents, court documents, and the written response of the insurer approving insurance. The determinations of the commissioner or county agency under this paragraph are not rules subject to chapter 14.

- (j) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), for the period from July 1, 2010, to June 30,
 215.19 2013, the parental contribution shall be computed by applying the following contribution
 215.20 schedule to the adjusted gross income of the natural or adoptive parents:
- (1) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 100 percent of federal
 poverty guidelines and less than 175 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental
 contribution is \$4 per month;
- (2) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 175 percent of federal
 poverty guidelines and less than or equal to 525 percent of federal poverty guidelines,
 the parental contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee scale established by the
 commissioner of human services which begins at one percent of adjusted gross income
 at 175 percent of federal poverty guidelines and increases to eight percent of adjusted
 gross income for those with adjusted gross income up to 525 percent of federal poverty
 guidelines;
- (3) if the adjusted gross income is greater than 525 percent of federal poverty
 guidelines and less than 675 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental contribution
 shall be 9.5 percent of adjusted gross income;
- (4) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 675 percent of federal
 poverty guidelines and less than 900 percent of federal poverty guidelines, the parental
 contribution shall be determined using a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner

A11-0177

SS/RT

of human services which begins at 9.5 percent of adjusted gross income at 675 percent of 216.1 federal poverty guidelines and increases to 12 percent of adjusted gross income for those 216.2 with adjusted gross income up to 900 percent of federal poverty guidelines; and 216.3 (5) if the adjusted gross income is equal to or greater than 900 percent of federal 216.4 poverty guidelines, the parental contribution shall be 13.5 percent of adjusted gross 216.5 income. If the child lives with the parent, the annual adjusted gross income is reduced by 216.6 \$2,400 prior to calculating the parental contribution. If the child resides in an institution 216.7 specified in section 256B.35, the parent is responsible for the personal needs allowance 216.8 specified under that section in addition to the parental contribution determined under this 216.9 section. The parental contribution is reduced by any amount required to be paid directly to 216.10 the child pursuant to a court order, but only if actually paid. 216.11

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 252.291, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Exceptions. (a) The commissioner of human services in coordination with the commissioner of health may approve a newly constructed or newly established publicly or privately operated community intermediate care facility for six 16 or fewer persons with developmental disabilities only when:

216.17 (1) the facility is developed in accordance with a request for proposal approved216.18 by the commissioner of human services;

(2) the facility is necessary to serve the needs of identified persons with
developmental disabilities who are seriously behaviorally disordered or who are seriously
physically or sensorily impaired. No more than 40 percent of the capacity specified in the
proposal submitted to the commissioner must be used for persons being discharged from
regional treatment centers; and

(3) the commissioner determines that the need for increased service capacity cannot
be met by the use of alternative resources or the modification of existing facilities.
(b) The percentage limitation in paragraph (a), clause (2), does not apply to

216.27 state-operated, community-based facilities.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.01, subdivision 24, is amended to read:
Subd. 24. Disability linkage line. The commissioner shall establish the disability
linkage line, a to serve as Minnesota's neutral access point for statewide consumer
disability information, referral, and assistance system for people with disabilities and
chronic illnesses that. The disability linkage line shall:

216.33 (1) deliver information and assistance based on national and state standards;

REVISOR

SS/RT

217.1 (1) provides (2) provide information about state and federal eligibility requirements,

217.2 benefits, and service options;

- 217.3 (3) provide benefits and options counseling;
- 217.4 (2) makes (4) make referrals to appropriate support entities;
- 217.5 (3) delivers information and assistance based on national and state standards;
- 217.6 (4) assists (5) educate people to on their options so they can make well-informed
 217.7 decisions choices; and
- 217.8 (5) supports (6) help support the timely resolution of service access and benefit
 217.9 issues-;
- 217.10 (7) inform people of their long-term community services and supports;
- 217.11 (8) provide necessary resources and supports that can lead to employment and
- 217.12 increased economic stability of people with disabilities; and
- 217.13 (9) serve as the technical assistance and help center for the Web-based tool,
- 217.14 Minnesota's Disability Benefits 101.org.
- 217.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.01, subdivision 29, is amended to read: 217.16 Subd. 29. State medical review team. (a) To ensure the timely processing of 217.17 determinations of disability by the commissioner's state medical review team under 217.18 sections 256B.055, subdivision 7, paragraph (b), 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph 217.19 (j), and 256B.055, subdivision 12, the commissioner shall review all medical evidence 217.20 submitted by county agencies with a referral and seek additional information from 217.21 providers, applicants, and enrollees to support the determination of disability where 217.22 necessary. Disability shall be determined according to the rules of title XVI and title 217.23 XIX of the Social Security Act and pertinent rules and policies of the Social Security 217.24 Administration. 217.25
- (b) Prior to a denial or withdrawal of a requested determination of disability due to insufficient evidence, the commissioner shall (1) ensure that the missing evidence is necessary and appropriate to a determination of disability, and (2) assist applicants and enrollees to obtain the evidence, including, but not limited to, medical examinations and electronic medical records.
- (c) The commissioner shall provide the chairs of the legislative committees with
 jurisdiction over health and human services finance and budget the following information
 on the activities of the state medical review team by February 1 of each year:
- 217.34 (1) the number of applications to the state medical review team that were denied,217.35 approved, or withdrawn;

SS/RT

(2) the average length of time from receipt of the application to a decision;
(3) the number of appeals, appeal results, and the length of time taken from the date
the person involved requested an appeal for a written decision to be made on each appeal;
(4) for applicants, their age, health coverage at the time of application, hospitalization
history within three months of application, and whether an application for Social Security
or Supplemental Security Income benefits is pending; and

(5) specific information on the medical certification, licensure, or other credentials
of the person or persons performing the medical review determinations and length of
time in that position.

(d) Any appeal made under section 256.045, subdivision 3, of a disability
determination made by the state medical review team must be decided according to the
timelines under section 256.0451, subdivision 22, paragraph (a). If a written decision is
not issued within the timelines under section 256.0451, subdivision 22, paragraph (a), the
appeal must be immediately reviewed by the chief appeals referee.

218.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.045, subdivision 4a, is amended to read: 218.16 Subd. 4a. Case management appeals temporary stay of demission. Any recipient 218.17 of case management services pursuant to section 256B.092, who contests the county 218.18 agency's action or failure to act in the provision of those services, other than a failure 218.19 to act with reasonable promptness or a suspension, reduction, denial, or termination of 218.20 services, must submit a written request for a conciliation conference to the county agency. 218.21 The county agency shall inform the commissioner of the receipt of a request when it is 218.22 submitted and shall schedule a conciliation conference. The county agency shall notify the 218.23 recipient, the commissioner, and all interested persons of the time, date, and location of the 218.24 conciliation conference. The commissioner may assist the county by providing mediation 218.25 services or by identifying other resources that may assist in the mediation between the 218.26 parties. Within 30 days, the county agency shall conduct the conciliation conference 218.27 and inform the recipient in writing of the action the county agency is going to take and 218.28 when that action will be taken and notify the recipient of the right to a hearing under this 218.29 subdivision. The conciliation conference shall be conducted in a manner consistent with 218.30 the commissioner's instructions. If the county fails to conduct the conciliation conference 218.31 and issue its report within 30 days, or, at any time up to 90 days after the conciliation 218.32 conference is held, a recipient may submit to the commissioner a written request for a 218.33 hearing before a state human services referee to determine whether case management 218.34 218.35 services have been provided in accordance with applicable laws and rules or whether the

county agency has assured that the services identified in the recipient's individual service 219.1 plan have been delivered in accordance with the laws and rules governing the provision 219.2 of those services. The state human services referee shall recommend an order to the 219.3 commissioner, who shall, in accordance with the procedure in subdivision 5, issue a final 219.4 order within 60 days of the receipt of the request for a hearing, unless the commissioner 219.5 refuses to accept the recommended order, in which event a final order shall issue within 90 219.6 days of the receipt of that request. The order may direct the county agency to take those 219.7 actions necessary to comply with applicable laws or rules. The commissioner may issue a 219.8 temporary order prohibiting the demission of a recipient of case management services 219.9 under section 256B.092 from a residential or day habilitation program licensed under 219.10 chapter 245A, while a county agency review process or an appeal brought by a recipient 219.11 under this subdivision is pending, or for the period of time necessary for the county agency 219.12 to implement the commissioner's order. The commissioner shall not issue a final order 219.13 staying the demission of a recipient of case management services from a residential or day 219.14 219.15 habilitation program licensed under chapter 245A.

219.16

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.056, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 219.17 Subd. 3. Asset limitations for individuals and families. (a) To be eligible for 219.18 medical assistance, a person must not individually own more than \$3,000 in assets, or if a 219.19 member of a household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, 219.20 the household must not own more than \$6,000 in assets, plus \$200 for each additional 219.21 legal dependent. In addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family 219.22 may accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the 219.23 time of an eligibility redetermination. The accumulation of the clothing and personal 219.24 needs allowance according to section 256B.35 must also be reduced to the maximum at 219.25 the time of the eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not considered in 219.26 determining eligibility for medical assistance is the value of those assets excluded under 219.27 the supplemental security income program for aged, blind, and disabled persons, with 219.28 the following exceptions: 219.29

219.30

(1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;

(2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines 219.31 are necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered; 219.32

(3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the supplemental 219.33 security income program; 219.34

SS/RT

(4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by 220.1 220.2 the supplemental security income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts or life insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent 220.3 beneficiary to the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses; and 220.4 (5) effective upon federal approval, for a person who no longer qualifies as an 220.5 employed person with a disability due to loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible 220.6 for medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 220.7 months, beginning with the first month of ineligibility as an employed person with a 220.8 disability, to the extent that the person's total assets remain within the allowed limits of 220.9 section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (c) (d). 220.10 (b) No asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 220.11 15. 220.12

220.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2014.

220.14 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.056, is amended by adding a 220.15 subdivision to read:

Subd. 5d. Spenddown adjustments. When income is projected for a six-month
budget period, retroactive adjustments to income determined to be available to a person
under section 256B.0575 must be made at the end of each six-month budget period
based on changes occurring during the budget period. For changes occurring outside the
six-month budget period, such retroactive adjustments are limited to the six full calendar

- 220.21 months before the month the change is reported or discovered.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.057, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
 Subd. 9. Employed persons with disabilities. (a) Medical assistance may be paid
 for a person who is employed and who:
- (1) but for excess earnings or assets, meets the definition of disabled under the
- 220.26 Supplemental Security Income program;
- (2) is at least 16 but less than 65 years of age;
- 220.28 (3) meets the asset limits in paragraph (c) (d); and
- (4) pays a premium and other obligations under paragraph (e).
- 220.30 (b) For purposes of eligibility, there is a \$65 earned income disregard. To be eligible
- 220.31 for medical assistance under this subdivision, a person must have more than \$65 of earned
- 220.32 income. Earned income must have Medicare, Social Security, and applicable state and
- 220.33 <u>federal taxes withheld</u>. The person must document earned income tax withholding. Any

spousal income or assets shall be disregarded for purposes of eligibility and premium 221.1 determinations. 221.2 (b) (c) After the month of enrollment, a person enrolled in medical assistance under 221.3 this subdivision who: 221.4 (1) is temporarily unable to work and without receipt of earned income due to a 221.5 medical condition, as verified by a physician, may retain eligibility for up to four calendar 221.6 months; or 221.7 (2) effective January 1, 2004, loses employment for reasons not attributable to the 221.8 enrollee, and is without receipt of earned income may retain eligibility for up to four 221.9 consecutive months after the month of job loss. To receive a four-month extension, 221.10 enrollees must verify the medical condition or provide notification of job loss. All other 221.11 eligibility requirements must be met and the enrollee must pay all calculated premium 221.12 costs for continued eligibility. 221.13 (c) (d) For purposes of determining eligibility under this subdivision, a person's 221.14 221.15 assets must not exceed \$20,000, excluding: (1) all assets excluded under section 256B.056; 221.16 (2) retirement accounts, including individual accounts, 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, 221.17 Keogh plans, and pension plans; and 221.18 221.19 (3) medical expense accounts set up through the person's employer-; and (4) spousal assets, including spouse's share of jointly held assets. 221.20 (d)(1) Effective January 1, 2004, for purposes of eligibility, there will be a \$65 221.21 earned income disregard. To be eligible, a person applying for medical assistance under 221.22 221.23 this subdivision must have earned income above the disregard level. (2) Effective January 1, 2004, to be considered earned income, Medicare, Social 221.24 Security, and applicable state and federal income taxes must be withheld. To be eligible, 221.25 a person must document earned income tax withholding. 221.26 (e)(1) A person whose earned and uncarned income is equal to or greater than 100 221.27 percent of federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family size must pay a premium 221.28 to be eligible for medical assistance under this subdivision. (e) All enrollees must pay a 221.29 premium to be eligible for medical assistance under this subdivision. 221.30 (1) An enrollee must pay the greater of a \$65 premium or the premium shall be 221.31 calculated based on the person's gross earned and unearned income and the applicable 221.32

family size using a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner, which begins at one percent of income at 100 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and increases to 7.5 percent of income for those with incomes at or above 300 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

SS/RT

222.1 (2) Annual adjustments in the premium schedule based upon changes in the federal 222.2 poverty guidelines shall be effective for premiums due in July of each year.

222.3 (2) Effective January 1, 2004, all enrollees must pay a premium to be eligible for
 medical assistance under this subdivision. An enrollee shall pay the greater of a \$35
 premium or the premium calculated in clause (1).

(3) Effective November 1, 2003, All enrollees who receive unearned income must
 pay one-half of one five percent of unearned income in addition to the premium amount.

(4) Effective November 1, 2003, for enrollees whose income does not exceed 200
 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and who are also enrolled in Medicare, the
 commissioner must reimburse the enrollee for Medicare Part B premiums under section
 222.11 256B.0625, subdivision 15, paragraph (a).

222.12 (5) (4) Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be 222.13 counted as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year.

(f) A person's eligibility and premium shall be determined by the local county
agency. Premiums must be paid to the commissioner. All premiums are dedicated to
the commissioner.

(g) Any required premium shall be determined at application and redetermined at 222.17 the enrollee's six-month income review or when a change in income or household size is 222.18 reported. Enrollees must report any change in income or household size within ten days 222.19 of when the change occurs. A decreased premium resulting from a reported change in 222.20 income or household size shall be effective the first day of the next available billing month 222.21 after the change is reported. Except for changes occurring from annual cost-of-living 222.22 222.23 increases, a change resulting in an increased premium shall not affect the premium amount until the next six-month review. 222.24

(h) Premium payment is due upon notification from the commissioner of thepremium amount required. Premiums may be paid in installments at the discretion ofthe commissioner.

(i) Nonpayment of the premium shall result in denial or termination of medical 222.28 assistance unless the person demonstrates good cause for nonpayment. Good cause exists 222.29 if the requirements specified in Minnesota Rules, part 9506.0040, subpart 7, items B to 222.30 D, are met. Except when an installment agreement is accepted by the commissioner, 222.31 all persons disenrolled for nonpayment of a premium must pay any past due premiums 222.32 as well as current premiums due prior to being reenrolled. Nonpayment shall include 222.33 payment with a returned, refused, or dishonored instrument. The commissioner may 222.34 require a guaranteed form of payment as the only means to replace a returned, refused, 222.35 or dishonored instrument. 222.36

223.1	(j) The commissioner shall notify enrollees annually beginning at least 24 months
223.2	before the person's 65th birthday of the medical assistance eligibility rules affecting
223.3	income, assets, and treatment of a spouse's income and assets that will be applied upon
223.4	reaching age 65.
223.5	(k) For enrollees whose income does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty
223.6	guidelines and who are also enrolled in Medicare, the commissioner shall reimburse
223.7	the enrollee for Medicare part B premiums under section 256B.0625, subdivision 15,
223.8	paragraph (a).
223.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2014, for adults age 21 or
223.10	older, and October 1, 2019, for children age 16 to before the child's 21st birthday.
223.11	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0657, is amended to read:
223.12	256B.0657 SELF-DIRECTED SUPPORTS OPTION.
223.13	Subdivision 1. Definition. (a) "Lead agency" has the meaning given in section
223.14	256B.0911, subdivision 1a, paragraph (d).
223.15	(b) "Legal representative" means a legal guardian of a child or an adult, or parent of
223.16	a minor child.
223.17	(c) "Managing partner" means an individual who has been authorized, in a written
223.18	statement by the person or the person's legal representative, to speak on the person's
223.19	behalf and help the person understand and make informed choices in matters related
223.20	to identification of needs and choice of services and supports and assist the person to
223.21	implement an approved support plan and has no financial interest in the provision of
223.22	any other services included in the individual's plan unless related by blood, adoption, or
223.23	marriage.
223.24	(d) "Self-directed supports option" means personal assistance, supports, items, and
223.25	related services purchased under an approved budget plan and budget by a recipient.
223.26	Subd. 2. Eligibility. (a) The self-directed supports option is available to a person
223.27	who:
223.28	(1) is a recipient of medical assistance as determined under sections 256B.055,
223.29	256B.056, and 256B.057, subdivision 9;
223.30	(2) is eligible for personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659, or
223.31	for a home and community-based services waiver program under section 256B.0915,
223.32	256B.092, or 256B.49, or alternative care under section 256B.0913;

SS/RT

(3) lives in the person's own apartment or home, which is not owned, operated, or
controlled by a provider of services not related by blood or, adoption, marriage, or foster
<u>care</u>;

(4) has the ability to hire, fire, supervise, establish staff compensation for, and
manage the individuals providing services, and to choose and obtain items, related
services, and supports as described in the participant's plan. If the recipient is not able to
carry out these functions but has a legal guardian, managing partner, or parent to carry
them out, the guardian, managing partner, or parent may fulfill these functions on behalf
of the recipient; and

224.10 (5) has not been excluded or disenrolled by the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner may disenroll or, exclude, or require other measures such as
 training, increased assistance, reporting, or oversight for recipients, including guardians
 and, parents, and managing partners under the following circumstances:

(1) recipients who have been restricted by the Primary Care Utilization ReviewCommittee may be excluded for a specified time period;

(2) recipients who exit the self-directed supports option during the recipient's
service plan year shall not access the self-directed supports option for the remainder of
that service plan year; and

(3) when the department determines that the recipient cannot manage recipientresponsibilities under the program.

(c) For vendors or other self-directed service providers, the commissioner may
 take any action authorized under surveillance and integrity review in Minnesota Rules,
 parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245.

Subd. 3. Eligibility for other services. Selection of the self-directed supports option by a recipient shall not restrict access to other medically necessary care and services furnished under the state plan medical assistance benefit, including home care targeted case management, except that a person receiving choosing lead agency managed home and community-based waiver services, <u>agency-provided personal care assistance</u> <u>services</u>, a family support grant, or a consumer support grant is not eligible for funding under the self-directed supports option.

224.31 Subd. 4. Assessment requirements. (a) The self-directed supports option 224.32 assessment must meet the following requirements:

(1) it shall be conducted by the county public health nurse or a certified public health

224.34 nurse under contract with the county consistent with the requirements of personal care

224.35 assistance services under section 256B.0659, subdivision 3a; home and community-based

224.36 waiver services programs under section 256B.0915, 256B.092, or 256B.49; and the

REVISOR

A11-0177

SS/RT

225.1	alternative care program under section 256B.0913, until section 256B.0911, subdivision
225.2	3a, has been implemented;
225.3	(2) it shall be conducted face-to-face in the recipient's home initially, and at least
225.4	annually thereafter; when there is a significant change in the recipient's condition; and
225.5	when there is a change in the <u>person's</u> need for personal care assistance services <u>under the</u>
225.6	programs listed in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (2). A recipient who is residing in a
225.7	facility may be assessed for the self-directed support option for the purpose of returning
225.8	to the community using this option; and
225.9	(3) it shall be completed using the format established by the commissioner.
225.10	(b) The results of the personal care assistance assessment and recommendations
225.11	shall be communicated to the commissioner and the recipient by the county public health
225.12	nurse or certified public health nurse under contract with the county as required under
225.13	section 256B.0659, subdivision 3a. The person's annual and self-directed budget amount
225.14	shall be provided within 40 days after the personal care assessment or reassessment, or
225.15	within ten days after a request not related to an assessment.
225.16	(c) The lead agency responsible for administration of home and community-based
225.17	waiver services under section 256B.0915, 256B.092, or 256B.49, and alternative care
225.18	under section 256B.0913, shall provide annual and monthly self-directed services budget
225.19	amounts for all eligible persons within 40 days after an initial assessment or annual review
225.20	and within ten days if requested at a time unrelated to the assessment or annual review.
225.21	Subd. 5. Self-directed supports option plan requirements. (a) The plan for the
225.22	self-directed supports option must meet the following requirements:
225.23	(1) the plan must be completed using a person-centered process that:
225.24	(i) builds upon the recipient's capacity to engage in activities that promote
225.25	community life;
225.26	(ii) respects the recipient's preferences, choices, and abilities;
225.27	(iii) involves families, friends, and professionals in the planning or delivery of
225.28	services or supports as desired or required by the recipient; and
225.29	(iv) addresses the need for personal care assistance and other services and supports
225.30	identified in the recipient's self-directed supports option assessment;
225.31	(2) the plan shall be developed by the recipient, legal representative, or by the
225.32	guardian of an adult recipient or by a parent or guardian of a minor child, managing
225.33	partner, and may be assisted by a provider who meets the requirements established for
225.34	using a person-centered planning process and shall be reviewed at least annually upon
225.35	reassessment or when there is a significant change in the recipient's condition; and

(3) the plan must include the total budget amount available divided into monthly 226.1 amounts that cover the number of months of personal care assistance services or home 226.2 and community-based waiver or alternative care authorization included in the budget. 226.3 A recipient may reserve funds monthly for the purchase of items that meet the standards 226.4 in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (2), and are reflected in the support plan. The 226.5 amount used each month may vary, but additional funds shall not be provided above the 226.6 annual personal care assistance services authorized amount unless a change in condition 226.7 is documented. 226.8 (b) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall: 226.9 (1) establish the format and criteria for the plan as well as the provider enrollment 226.10 requirements for providers who will engage in outreach and training on self-directed 226.11 options, assist with plan development, and offer person-centered plan support services 226.12 including benefits counseling to support employment; 226.13 (2) review the assessment and plan and, within 30 days after receiving the 226.14 226.15 assessment and plan, make a decision on approval of the plan; (3) notify the recipient, parent, or guardian legal representative, or managing partner 226.16 of approval or denial of the plan and provide notice of the right to appeal under section 226.17 256.045; and 226.18 (4) provide a copy of the plan to the fiscal support entity selected by the recipient 226.19 226.20 from among at least three certified entities. Subd. 6. Services covered. (a) Services covered under the self-directed supports 226.21 option include: 226.22 226.23 (1) personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659, and services under the home and community-based waivers, except those provided in licensed or registered 226.24 residential settings; and 226.25 226.26 (2) items, related services, and supports, including assistive technology, that increase independence or substitute for human assistance to the extent expenditures would 226.27 otherwise be used for human assistance. 226.28 (b) Items, supports, and related services purchased under this option shall not be 226.29 considered home care services for the purposes of section 144A.43. 226.30 Subd. 7. Noncovered services. Services or supports that are not eligible for 226.31 payment under the self-directed supports option include: 226.32 (1) services, goods, or supports that do not benefit the recipient; 226.33

(2) any fees incurred by the recipient, such as Minnesota health care program fees 226.34 and co-pays, legal fees, or costs related to advocate agencies; 226.35

(3) insurance, except for insurance costs related to employee coverage or fiscal 227.1 support entity payments; 227.2 (4) room and board and personal items that are not related to the disability, except 227.3 that medically prescribed specialized diet items may be covered if they reduce the need for 227.4 human assistance; 227.5 (5) home modifications that add square footage, except those modifications that 227.6 configure a bathroom to accommodate a wheelchair; 227.7 (6) home modifications for a residence other than the primary residence of the 227.8 recipient, or in the event of a minor with parents not living together, the primary residences 227.9 of the parents; 227.10 (7) expenses for travel, lodging, or meals related to training the recipient, the 227.11 parent or guardian of an adult recipient, or the parent or guardian of a minor child legal 227.12 representative, or paid or unpaid caregivers that exceed \$500 in a 12-month period; 227.13 (8) experimental treatment; 227.14 227.15 (9) any service or item to the extent the service or item is covered by other medical assistance state plan services, including prescription and over-the-counter medications, 227.16 compounds, and solutions and related fees, including premiums and co-payments; 227.17 (10) membership dues or costs, except when the service is necessary and appropriate 227.18 to treat a physical condition or to improve or maintain the recipient's physical condition. 227.19 The condition must be identified in the recipient's plan of care and monitored by a 227.20 Minnesota health care program enrolled physician; 227.21 (11) vacation expenses other than the cost of direct services; 227.22 227.23 (12) vehicle maintenance or modifications not related to the disability; (13) tickets and related costs to attend sporting or other recreational events; and 227.24 (14) costs related to Internet access, except when necessary for operation of assistive 227.25 technology, to increase independence, or to substitute for human assistance. 227.26 Subd. 8. Self-directed budget requirements. (a) The budget for the provision of 227.27 the self-directed service option shall be established for persons eligible for personal care 227.28 assistance services under section 256B.0659 based on: 227.29 (1) assessed personal care assistance units, not to exceed the maximum number of 227.30 personal care assistance units available, as determined by section 256B.0659; and 227.31 (2) the personal care assistance unit rate: 227.32 (i) with a reduction to the unit rate to pay for a program administrator as defined in 227.33 subdivision 10; and 227.34 (ii) an additional adjustment to the unit rate as needed to ensure cost neutrality for 227.35

SS/RT

(b) The budget for persons eligible for programs listed in subdivision 2, paragraph 228.1 (a), clause (2), is based on the approved budget methodologies for each program. 228.2 Subd. 9. Quality assurance and risk management. (a) The commissioner 228.3 shall establish quality assurance and risk management measures for use in developing 228.4 and implementing self-directed plans and budgets that (1) recognize the roles and 228.5 responsibilities involved in obtaining services in a self-directed manner, and (2) assure 228.6 the appropriateness of such plans and budgets based upon a recipient's resources and 228.7 capabilities. These measures must include (i) background studies, and (ii) backup and 228.8 emergency plans, including disaster planning, and (iii) monitoring by the lead agency on 228.9 quality assurance measures and recipient health, safety, and welfare. 228.10 (b) The commissioner shall provide ongoing technical assistance and resource 228.11 and educational materials for families and recipients selecting the self-directed option, 228.12 including information on the quality assurance efforts and activities of region 10 under 228.13 sections 256B.095 to 256B.096. 228.14 228.15 (c) Performance assessments measures, such as of a recipient's functioning, satisfaction with the services and supports, and ongoing monitoring of health and 228.16 well-being shall be identified in consultation with the stakeholder group and monitored 228.17 by the lead agency. 228.18 Subd. 10. Fiscal support entity. (a) Each recipient or legal representative shall 228.19 choose a fiscal support entity provider certified by the commissioner to make payments 228.20

for services, items, supports, and administrative costs related to managing a self-directed service plan authorized for payment in the approved plan and budget. <u>Recipients The</u> <u>recipient or legal representative shall also choose the payroll, agency with choice, or the</u> fiscal conduit model of financial and service management.

(b) The fiscal support entity:

(1) may not limit or restrict the recipient's choice of service or support providers,
including use of the payroll, agency with choice, or fiscal conduit model of financial
and service management;

(2) must have a written agreement with the recipient, managing partner, or the
recipient's <u>legal</u> representative that identifies the duties and responsibilities to be
performed and the specific related charges;

(3) must provide the recipient and the home care targeted case manager, legal
representative, and managing partner with a monthly written summary of the self-directed
supports option services that were billed, including charges from the fiscal support entity;
(4) must be knowledgeable of and comply with Internal Revenue Service

requirements necessary to process employer and employee deductions, provide appropriate

SS/RT

and timely submission of employer tax liabilities, and maintain documentation to support 229.1 229.2 medical assistance claims; (5) must have current and adequate liability insurance and bonding and sufficient 229.3 cash flow and have on staff or under contract a certified public accountant or an individual 229.4 with a baccalaureate degree in accounting; and 229.5 (6) must maintain records to track all self-directed supports option services 229.6 expenditures, including time records of persons paid to provide supports and receipts for 229.7 any goods purchased. The records must be maintained for a minimum of five years from 229.8 the claim date and be available for audit or review upon request. Claims submitted by 229.9 the fiscal support entity must correspond with services, amounts, and time periods as 229.10 authorized in the recipient's self-directed supports option plan. 229.11 (c) The commissioner shall have authority to: 229.12 (1) set or negotiate rates with fiscal support entities; 229.13 (2) limit the number of fiscal support entities; 229.14 229.15 (3) identify a process to certify and recertify fiscal support entities and assure fiscal support entities are available to recipients throughout the state; and 229.16 (4) establish a uniform format and protocol to be used by eligible fiscal support 229.17 entities. 229 18 Subd. 11. Stakeholder consultation. The commissioner shall consult with 229.19 a statewide consumer-directed self-directed services stakeholder group, including 229.20 representatives of all types of consumer-directed self-directed service users, advocacy 229.21 organizations, counties, and consumer-directed self-directed service providers. The 229.22 229.23 commissioner shall seek recommendations from this stakeholder group in developing, monitoring, evaluating, and modifying: 229.24 (1) the self-directed plan format; 229.25 229.26 (2) requirements and guidelines for the person-centered plan assessment and planning process; 229.27 (3) implementation of the option and the quality assurance and risk management 229.28 techniques; and 229.29 (4) standards and requirements, including rates for the personal support plan 229.30 development provider and the fiscal support entity; policies; training; and implementation; 229.31 and 229.32 (5) the self-directed supports options available through the home and 229.33 community-based waivers under section 256B.0916 and the personal care assistance 229.34 program under section 256B.0659, including ways to increase participation, improve 229.35

229.36 flexibility, and include incentives for recipients to participate in a life transition and crisis

SS/RT

230.1 <u>funding pool with others to save and contribute part of their authorized budgets, which</u>

230.2 <u>can be carried over year to year and used according to priority standards under section</u>

230.3 <u>256B.092</u>, subdivision 12, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (3), (4), (5), and (6).

The stakeholder group shall provide recommendations on the repeal of the personal care assistance choice option, transition issues, and whether the consumer support grant program under section 256.476 should be modified. The stakeholder group shall meet at least three times each year to provide advice on policy, implementation, and other aspects of consumer and self-directed services.

Subd. 12. Enrollment and evaluation. Enrollment in the self-directed supports option is available to current personal care assistance recipients upon annual personal care assistance reassessment, with a maximum enrollment of $\frac{1,000}{2,000}$ people in the first fiscal year of implementation and an additional $\frac{1,000}{3,000}$ people in the second fiscal year. The commissioner shall evaluate the self-directed supports option during the first two years of implementation and make any necessary changes prior to the option

- 230.15 becoming available statewide.
- 230.16

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2012.

230.17 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0659, subdivision 2, is amended to 230.18 read:

Subd. 2. **Personal care assistance services; covered services.** (a) The personal care assistance services eligible for payment include services and supports furnished to an individual, as needed, to assist in:

- 230.22 (1) activities of daily living;
- 230.23 (2) health-related procedures and tasks;
- 230.24 (3) observation and redirection of behaviors; and
- 230.25 (4) instrumental activities of daily living.
- 230.26 (b) Activities of daily living include the following covered services:
- 230.27 (1) dressing, including assistance with choosing, application, and changing of
- clothing and application of special appliances, wraps, or clothing;
- (2) grooming, including assistance with basic hair care, oral care, shaving, applying
 cosmetics and deodorant, and care of eyeglasses and hearing aids. Nail care is included,
 except for recipients who are diabetic or have poor circulation;
- 230.32 (3) bathing, including assistance with basic personal hygiene and skin care;
- 230.33 (4) eating, including assistance with hand washing and application of orthotics
- required for eating, transfers, and feeding;

SS/RT

(5) transfers, including assistance with transferring the recipient from one seating orreclining area to another;

231.3 (6) mobility, including assistance with ambulation, including use of a wheelchair.
231.4 Mobility does not include providing transportation for a recipient;

(7) positioning, including assistance with positioning or turning a recipient fornecessary care and comfort; and

(8) toileting, including assistance with helping recipient with bowel or bladder
elimination and care including transfers, mobility, positioning, feminine hygiene, use of
toileting equipment or supplies, cleansing the perineal area, inspection of the skin, and
adjusting clothing.

(c) Health-related procedures and tasks include the following covered services:(1) range of motion and passive exercise to maintain a recipient's strength and

231.13 muscle functioning;

(2) assistance with self-administered medication as defined by this section, including
reminders to take medication, bringing medication to the recipient, and assistance with
opening medication under the direction of the recipient or responsible party;

231.17 (3) interventions for seizure disorders, including monitoring and observation; and

231.18

(4) rehabilitation services; and

 $\begin{array}{ll} 231.19 & (4) (5) \\ \hline \end{array} \\ \text{other activities considered within the scope of the personal care service and} \\ 231.20 & \text{meeting the definition of health-related procedures and tasks under this section.} \end{array}$

(d) A personal care assistant may provide health-related procedures and tasks
associated with the complex health-related needs of a recipient if the procedures and
tasks meet the definition of health-related procedures and tasks under this section and the
personal care assistant is trained by a qualified professional and demonstrates competency
to safely complete the procedures and tasks. Delegation of health-related procedures and
tasks and all training must be documented in the personal care assistance care plan and the
recipient's and personal care assistant's files.

(e) Effective January 1, 2010, for a personal care assistant to provide the
health-related procedures and tasks of tracheostomy suctioning and services to recipients
on ventilator support there must be:

(1) delegation and training by a registered nurse, certified or licensed respiratorytherapist, or a physician;

231.33 (2) utilization of clean rather than sterile procedure;

231.34 (3) specialized training about the health-related procedures and tasks and equipment,
231.35 including ventilator operation and maintenance;

231.36 (4) individualized training regarding the needs of the recipient; and

SS/RT

232.1 (5) supervision by a qualified professional who is a registered nurse.

(f) Effective January 1, 2010, a personal care assistant may observe and redirect the

recipient for episodes where there is a need for redirection due to behaviors. Training ofthe personal care assistant must occur based on the needs of the recipient, the personal

care assistance care plan, and any other support services provided.

232.6 (g) Instrumental activities of daily living under subdivision 1, paragraph (i).

232.7 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0659, subdivision 11, is amended to232.8 read:

Subd. 11. Personal care assistant; requirements. (a) A personal care assistant
must meet the following requirements:

(1) be at least 18 years of age with the exception of persons who are 16 or 17 yearsof age with these additional requirements:

(i) supervision by a qualified professional every 60 days; and

(ii) employment by only one personal care assistance provider agency responsiblefor compliance with current labor laws;

232.16 (2) be employed by a personal care assistance provider agency;

(3) enroll with the department as a personal care assistant after clearing a background
study. Except as provided in subdivision 11a, before a personal care assistant provides
services, the personal care assistance provider agency must initiate a background study on
the personal care assistant under chapter 245C, and the personal care assistance provider
agency must have received a notice from the commissioner that the personal care assistant
is:

(i) not disqualified under section 245C.14; or

(ii) is disqualified, but the personal care assistant has received a set aside of thedisqualification under section 245C.22;

(4) be able to effectively communicate with the recipient and personal careassistance provider agency;

(5) be able to provide covered personal care assistance services according to the
recipient's personal care assistance care plan, respond appropriately to recipient needs,
and report changes in the recipient's condition to the supervising qualified professional
or physician;

(6) not be a consumer of personal care assistance services;

232.33 (7) maintain daily written records including, but not limited to, time sheets under232.34 subdivision 12;

SS/RT

(8) effective January 1, 2010, complete standardized training as determined 233.1 by the commissioner before completing enrollment. The training must be available 233.2 in languages other than English and to those who need accommodations due to 233.3 disabilities. Personal care assistant training must include successful completion of the 233.4 following training components: basic first aid, vulnerable adult, child maltreatment, 233.5 OSHA universal precautions, basic roles and responsibilities of personal care assistants 233.6 including information about assistance with lifting and transfers for recipients, emergency 233.7 preparedness, orientation to positive behavioral practices, fraud issues, and completion of 233.8 time sheets. Upon completion of the training components, the personal care assistant must 233.9 demonstrate the competency to provide assistance to recipients; 233.10

233.11 (9) complete training and orientation on the needs of the recipient within the first233.12 seven days after the services begin; and

(10) be limited to providing and being paid for up to 275 hours per month, except
that this limit shall be 275 hours per month for the period July 1, 2009, through June 30,
2011, of personal care assistance services regardless of the number of recipients being
served or the number of personal care assistance provider agencies enrolled with. The
number of hours worked per day shall not be disallowed by the department unless in
violation of the law.

(b) A legal guardian may be a personal care assistant if the guardian is not being paid 233.19 for the guardian services and meets the criteria for personal care assistants in paragraph (a). 233.20 (c) Effective January 1, 2010, persons who do not qualify as a personal care assistant 233.21 include parents and stepparents of minors, spouses, paid legal guardians, family foster 233.22 care providers, except as otherwise allowed in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, or 233.23 staff of a residential setting. Personal care assistants who are providing care for a relative 233.24 are limited to being paid a rate that is 80 percent of the rate they would be paid for 233.25 233.26 providing services to nonrelatives.

233.27 Sec. 13. [256B.0661] HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED ATTENDANT 233.28 SERVICES AND SUPPORTS.

233.29 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms
233.30 <u>have the meanings given.</u>

(b) "Activities of daily living" means basic personal everyday activities, including
 eating, toileting, grooming, dressing, bathing, transferring, positioning, and mobility.

233.33 (c) "Extended home and community-based attendant services and supports" means

233.34 home and community-based attendant services included in a service plan under one of

the home and community-based services waivers under sections 256B.0915; 256B.092,

REVISOR

234.1	subdivision 5; and 256B.49, which exceed the amount, duration, and frequency of the state
234.2	plan home and community-based attendant services for participants who:
234.3	(1) need assistance provided periodically during a week but less than daily and will
234.4	not be able to remain in their homes without assistance, and other replacement services
234.5	are more expensive or are not available when home and community-based attendant
234.6	services are to be reduced; or
234.7	(2) need additional personal care assistant services beyond the amount authorized
234.8	by the state plan personal care assistance assessment in order to ensure that their safety,
234.9	health, and welfare are provided for in their homes.
234.10	(d) "Health-related tasks" means those tasks and procedures listed in section
234.11	256B.0659, subdivision 2, paragraph (c).
234.12	(e) "Home and community-based attendant services and supports" means personal
234.13	assistance, supports, items, and related services that provide assistance with accomplishing
234.14	activities of daily living (ADLs), instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs), and
234.15	health-related tasks including necessary supervision by a qualified professional.
234.16	(f) "Individual's representative" means a parent, family member, advocate, or other
234.17	representative of the individual, authorized in a written statement by the person or
234.18	the person's legal representative, to speak on the person's behalf and help the person
234.19	understand and make informed choices in matters related to identification of needs and
234.20	choice of services and supports and assist the person in the implementation of an approved
234.21	support plan. For minor children and adults who cannot direct their own care, the
234.22	individual representative must meet the requirements of section 256B.0659, subdivisions
234.23	9 and 10, and shall not act as the home and community-based attendant for the individual.
234.24	(g) "Instrumental activities of daily living" means activities related to living
234.25	independently in the community, including meal planning and preparation, managing
234.26	finances, shopping for food, clothing, and other essential items, performing essential
234.27	household chores, communicating by phone or other media, traveling, and participating
234.28	in the community.
234.29	(h) "Legal representative" means the legal guardian or parent of a minor.
234.30	(i) "Qualified professional" means a professional providing supervision of home
234.31	and community-based attendant services and staff as defined in section 256B.0625,
234.32	subdivision 19c.
234.33	Subd. 2. Eligibility. (a) The home and community-based attendant services and
234.34	supports option is available to a person who:
234.35	(1) is a recipient of medical assistance as determined under sections 256B.055,
234.36	256B.056, and 256B.057, subdivision 9;

REVISOR

235.1	(2) has an income that meets one of the following thresholds as determined annually:
235.2	(i) is equal to or less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines; or
235.3	(ii) is eligible for nursing facility services under the state plan and for whom it has
235.4	been determined that in the absence of home and community-based attendant services
235.5	and supports, the individual would otherwise require a level of care covered by medical
235.6	assistance and furnished in a hospital, a nursing facility, an intermediate care facility for
235.7	persons with developmental disabilities, or an institution for mental diseases;
235.8	(3) meets the qualification criteria for personal care assistance services under
235.9	section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, in effect on July 1, 2010, which requires at least one
235.10	dependency in an activity of daily living or Level I behavior; and
235.11	(4) lives in the person's own apartment or home, which is not owned, operated, or
235.12	controlled by a provider of services under this section, not related by blood, adoption,
235.13	family foster care, or marriage. The person does not live in a nursing facility, institution
235.14	for mental diseases, intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities,
235.15	or any setting located in a building that is also an inpatient institution or custodial care
235.16	facility or a building on the grounds or immediately adjacent to a public institution or
235.17	disability-specific housing complex, as defined by the commissioner.
235.18	Subd. 3. Eligibility for other services. Selection of the home and community-based
235.19	attendant services and supports option by a recipient does not restrict access to other
235.20	medically necessary care and services furnished under the state plan medical assistance
235.21	benefit or through other funding, except that a person receiving personal care assistance
235.22	services, a family support grant, semi-independent living services, or a consumer support
235.23	grant is not eligible for funding under the home and community-based attendant services
235.24	and supports option.
235.25	Subd. 4. Assessment requirements. (a) The home and community-based attendant
235.26	services and supports option assessment must meet the following requirements:
235.27	(1) for persons whose income is below 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines,
235.28	be consistent with the requirements of the personal care assistance services assessment
235.29	under section 256B.0659, subdivision 3a;
235.30	(2) for persons whose income is above 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines,
235.31	the person must meet the level of care for a nursing facility, intermediate care facility
235.32	for persons with developmental disabilities, neurobehavioral hospital, or an institution
235.33	for mental diseases;
235.34	(3) be conducted face-to-face in the recipient's home initially and at least annually
235.35	thereafter; when there is a significant change in the recipient's condition; and when there is
235.36	a change in the person's need for services under this option. A recipient who is residing in

REVISOR

236.1	a facility may be assessed for home and community-based attendant services and supports
236.2	for purposes of returning to the community using this option;
236.3	(4) be completed using the format established by the commissioner; and
236.4	(5) for persons whose need for services and supports meets the definition of extended
236.5	home and community-based attendant services, the lead agency is required to assess for
236.6	home and community-based services waiver eligibility.
236.7	(b) The results of the home and community-based attendant services and supports
236.8	option assessment and recommendations shall be communicated to the commissioner and
236.9	the recipient as required under section 256B.0659, subdivision 3a.
236.10	(c) The lead agency responsible for administration and implementation of the
236.11	home and community-based attendant services and supports shall provide the annual and
236.12	monthly self-directed service budget amounts for all eligible persons within 40 days after
236.13	an initial assessment or annual review and within ten days if requested at a time unrelated
236.14	to the assessment or annual review.
236.15	Subd. 5. Service plan requirements. (a) The plan for home and community-based
236.16	attendant services and supports option must meet the following requirements:
236.17	(1) the plan must be completed using a person-centered process consistent with the
236.18	requirements in section 256B.0657, subdivision 5;
236.19	(2) reflects the clinical and support needs identified through the assessment;
236.20	(3) includes the person's chosen individual goals and providers;
236.21	(4) includes the services and supports, both paid and unpaid, that will assist the
236.22	individual to achieve identified goals;
236.23	(5) includes an assessment of risk factors and measures to minimize risks and
236.24	a backup plan; and
236.25	(6) must be signed by the individual or legal representative and other persons
236.26	responsible for aspects of the plan.
236.27	Subd. 6. Covered services. (a) Services covered under the home and
236.28	community-based attendant services and supports option include:
236.29	(1) assistance with activities of daily living, as described under section 256B.0659,
236.30	subdivision 2;
236.31	(2) assistance with instrumental activities of daily living as defined in section
236.32	256B.0659, subdivision 1, paragraph (i), for both children and adults;
236.33	(3) assistance with health-related procedures and tasks, as defined in section
236.34	256B.0659, subdivision 2;
236.35	(4) backup systems or mechanisms to ensure continuity of services and supports;
236.36	(5) voluntary training for recipients on how to select, manage, and dismiss staff;

237.1	(6) expenditures for transition costs such as rent, utility deposits, first and last
237.2	month's rent, basic kitchen supplies, and other necessities required for an individual to
237.3	transition from a nursing facility, institution for mental diseases, or intermediate care
237.4	facility for persons with developmental disabilities to a community-based home setting
237.5	where the individual resides; and
237.6	(7) expenditures related to a need identified in the individual's person-centered plan
237.7	of services that increase a participant's independence or substitute for human assistance, to
237.8	the extent that expenditures would otherwise be made for human assistance.
237.9	(b) The services and supports that are purchased must be linked to an assessed need
237.10	or goal established in the individual's person-centered service plan.
237.11	(c) All services must be provided to assist the recipient to acquire or enhance skills
237.12	or to maintain functioning so that the individual can accomplish the activities of daily
237.13	living, instrumental activities of daily living, and health-related tasks in order to remain or
237.14	become as independent as possible at home and in the community.
237.15	(d) Shared services under this section must meet the requirements of section
237.16	256B.0659, subdivisions 16 and 17.
237.17	Subd. 7. Noncovered services. Services and supports that are not eligible for
237.18	payment under the home and community-based attendant services and supports option
237.19	include:
237.20	(1) services, goods, or supports that do not benefit the recipient;
237.21	(2) special education and related services provided under the Individuals with
237.22	Disabilities Education Act that are related to education only and vocational rehabilitation
237.23	services provided under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973;
237.24	(3) room and board costs for the individual, except for allowable transition services
237.25	listed in subdivision 6;
237.26	(4) assistive devices and assistive technology services other than those identified in
237.27	subdivision 6, or those that are based on a specific need identified in the service plan when
237.28	used in conjunction with other home and community-based attendant services;
237.29	(5) medical supplies and equipment;
237.30	(6) home modifications; and
237.31	(7) items or services listed in section 256B.0659, subdivision 3, except that essential
237.32	household chores and instrumental activities of daily living for children are allowed to the
237.33	extent the need and service is documented in the support plan.
237.34	Subd. 8. Service budget requirements. The budget allocation for a person's
237.35	home and community-based attendant services and supports option must be based on

REVISOR

238.1	the budget amount allowed under the assessment for personal care assistant services in
238.2	section 256B.0659.
238.3	Subd. 9. Staff and qualified professional requirements. (a) A home and
238.4	community-based attendant must meet the requirements in section 256B.0659,
238.5	subdivisions 11, 11a, and 12.
238.6	(b) Qualified professionals must meet the requirements in section 256B.0659,
238.7	subdivisions 13 and 14.
238.8	Subd. 10. Requirements for initial enrollment; annual reenrollment; enrollment
238.9	after termination. (a) All home and community-based attendant services and supports
238.10	option provider agencies must meet the enrollment requirements under section 256B.0659,
238.11	subdivision 21.
238.12	(b) All home and community-based attendant services and supports option provider
238.13	agencies shall resubmit, on an annual basis, the information required in a format
238.14	determined by the commissioner as required under section 256B.0659, subdivision 22.
238.15	(c) A home and community-based attendant services and supports provider agency
238.16	that has been disenrolled must meet the requirements of section 256B.0659, subdivision
238.17	23, to reenroll.
238.18	Subd. 11. General duties of provider agencies. Home and community-based
238.19	attendant services and supports option provider agencies are required to follow section
238.20	256B.0659, subdivisions 24, 25, 26, 27, and 28.
238.21	Subd. 12. Stakeholder development and implementation council. (a)
238.22	The commissioner shall establish and consult with a stakeholder development and
238.23	implementation council comprised primarily of individuals with disabilities, elderly
238.24	individuals and their representatives, and other interested stakeholders, including
238.25	representatives of assessment agencies and provider agencies.
238.26	(b) The commissioner shall consult and collaborate with the council in the
238.27	development and implementation of a state plan amendment to provide home and
238.28	community-based attendant services and supports, on matters of data collection, analysis,
238.29	and outcomes, including the cost of services provided and the cost of alternatives if home
238.30	and community-based attendant services and supports were not provided, and other health
238.31	care and community support and social service costs, as well as other costs involving
238.32	local, state, and federal funds, and quality assurance issues and measures.
238.33	Subd. 13. Quality assurance and risk management. (a) The commissioner
238.34	shall establish quality assurance and risk management measures for the home and
238.35	community-based attendant services and supports option that:

- 03/21/11 07:39 AM REVISOR SS/RT A11-0177 (1) recognizes the person-centered services role of the recipient and chosen advocate or other legal representative, and assure the appropriateness of support plans and budgets based upon the person's resources, capabilities, and needs; and (2) includes background studies, backup emergency plans, and disaster planning. (b) The commissioner shall provide ongoing technical assistance and resource education and materials for recipients and their legal representatives and other involved parties, including appropriate information, counseling, training, and assistance. (c) Performance assessment measures and other outcome data such as the recipient's functioning in their home and community, satisfaction with services and supports, and ongoing monitoring of health and safety shall be identified in consultation with the 239.10 stakeholder council. 239.11 Subd. 14. Self-directed home and community-based services and supports. 239.12 The home and community-based services and supports option includes the option to 239.13 self-directed services under section 256B.0657. 239.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011. 239.15
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0911, subdivision 1a, is amended to 239.16 read: 239.17
- Subd. 1a. **Definitions.** For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply: 239.18 (a) "Long-term care consultation services" means: 239.19
- (1) assistance in identifying services needed to maintain an individual in the most 239.20 inclusive environment; 239.21
- (2) providing recommendations on cost-effective community services that are 239.22 available to the individual; 239.23

(3) development of an individual's person-centered community support plan; 239.24

- (4) providing information regarding eligibility for Minnesota health care programs; 239.25 (5) face-to-face long-term care consultation assessments, which may be completed 239.26 in a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for persons with developmental 239.27 disabilities (ICF/DDs), regional treatment centers, or the person's current or planned 239.28
- residence; 239.29

239.1

239.2

239.3

239.4

239.5

239.6

239.7

239.8

239.9

- (6) federally mandated screening to determine the need for an institutional level of 239.30 care under subdivision 4a; 239.31
- (7) determination of home and community-based waiver service eligibility 239.32 including level of care determination for individuals who need an institutional level of 239.33 care as defined under section 144.0724, subdivision 11, or 256B.092, service eligibility 239.34 239.35 including state plan home care services identified in sections 256B.0625, subdivisions

SS/RT

6, 7, and 19, paragraphs (a) and (c), and 256B.0657, based on assessment and support 240.1 240.2 plan development with appropriate referrals, including the option for consumer-directed community self-directed supports; 240.3

(8) providing recommendations for nursing facility placement when there are no 240.4 cost-effective community services available; and 240.5

(9) assistance to transition people back to community settings after facility 240.6 admission; and 240.7

(10) providing notice to the individual and legal representative of the annual and 240.8 monthly amount authorized for traditional agency services and self-directed services under 240.9 section 256B.0657 for which the recipient is found eligible. 240.10

(b) "Long-term care options counseling" means the services provided by the linkage 240.11 lines as mandated by sections 256.01 and 256.975, subdivision 7, and also includes 240.12 telephone assistance and follow up once a long-term care consultation assessment has 240.13 been completed. 240.14

240.15 (c) "Minnesota health care programs" means the medical assistance program under chapter 256B and the alternative care program under section 256B.0913. 240.16

(d) "Lead agencies" means counties or a collaboration of counties, tribes, and health 240.17 plans administering long-term care consultation assessment and support planning services. 240.18

240.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a, is amended to 240.20 read: 240.21

Subd. 3a. Assessment and support planning. (a) Persons requesting assessment, 240.22 services planning, or other assistance intended to support community-based living, 240.23 including persons who need assessment in order to determine waiver or alternative 240.24 care program eligibility, must be visited by a long-term care consultation team within 240.25 15 calendar 20 working days after the date on which an assessment was requested or 240.26 recommended. After January 1, 2011, these requirements also apply to personal care 240.27 assistance services, private duty nursing, and home health agency services, on timelines 240.28 established in subdivision 5. Face-to-face assessments must be conducted according 240.29 to paragraphs (b) to (i). 240.30

(b) The county may utilize a team of either the social worker or public health nurse, 240.31 or both. After January 1, 2011, lead agencies shall use certified assessors to conduct the 240.32 assessment in a face-to-face interview. The consultation team members must confer 240.33 regarding the most appropriate care for each individual screened or assessed. 240.34

(c) The assessment must be comprehensive and include a person-centered
assessment of the health, psychological, functional, environmental, and social needs of
referred individuals and provide information necessary to develop a support plan that
meets the consumers needs, using an assessment form provided by the commissioner.

(d) The assessment must be conducted in a face-to-face interview with the person
being assessed and the person's legal representative, as required by legally executed
documents, and other individuals as requested by the person, who can provide information
on the needs, strengths, and preferences of the person necessary to develop a support plan
that ensures the person's health and safety, but who is not a provider of service or has any
financial interest in the provision of services.

(e) The person, or the person's legal representative, must be provided with 241.11 written recommendations for community-based services, including consumer-directed 241.12 self-directed options, or institutional care that include documentation that the most 241.13 cost-effective alternatives available were offered to the individual. For purposes of 241.14 241.15 this requirement, "cost-effective alternatives" means community services and living arrangements that cost the same as or less than institutional care. For persons determined 241.16 eligible for services defined under subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), clauses (7) to (9), the 241.17 community support plan must also include the estimated annual and monthly budget 241.18 amount for those services. 241.19

(f) If the person chooses to use community-based services, the person or the person's
legal representative must be provided with a written community support plan, regardless
of whether the individual is eligible for Minnesota health care programs. A person may
request assistance in identifying community supports without participating in a complete
assessment. Upon a request for assistance identifying community support, the person must
be transferred or referred to the services available under sections 256.975, subdivision 7,
and 256.01, subdivision 24, for telephone assistance and follow up.

(g) The person has the right to make the final decision between institutional
placement and community placement after the recommendations have been provided,
except as provided in subdivision 4a, paragraph (c).

(h) The team must give the person receiving assessment or support planning, or
the person's legal representative, materials, and forms supplied by the commissioner
containing the following information:

241.33 (1) the need for and purpose of preadmission screening if the person selects nursing241.34 facility placement;

(2) the role of the long-term care consultation assessment and support planning inwaiver and alternative care program eligibility determination;

242.1 (3) information about Minnesota health care programs;

242.2 (4) the person's freedom to accept or reject the recommendations of the team;

(5) the person's right to confidentiality under the Minnesota Government DataPractices Act, chapter 13;

(6) the long-term care consultant's decision regarding the person's need for
institutional level of care as determined under criteria established in section 144.0724,
subdivision 11, or 256B.092; and

(7) the person's right to appeal the decision regarding the need for nursing facility
level of care or the county's final decisions regarding public programs eligibility according
to section 256.045, subdivision 3.

(i) Face-to-face assessment completed as part of eligibility determination for 242.11 the alternative care, elderly waiver, community alternatives for disabled individuals, 242.12 community alternative care, and traumatic brain injury waiver programs under sections 242.13 256B.0915, 256B.0917, and 256B.49 is valid to establish service eligibility for no more 242.14 242.15 than 60 calendar days after the date of assessment. The effective eligibility start date for these programs can never be prior to the date of assessment. If an assessment was 242.16 completed more than 60 days before the effective waiver or alternative care program 242.17 eligibility start date, assessment and support plan information must be updated in a 242.18 face-to-face visit and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information 242.19 System (MMIS). The updated assessment may be completed by face-to-face visit, written 242.20 communication, or telephone. The effective date of program eligibility in this case cannot 242.21 be prior to the date the updated assessment is completed. 242.22

242.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2012.

242.24 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0911, subdivision 4a, is amended to 242.25 read:

Subd. 4a. **Preadmission screening activities related to nursing facility** admissions. (a) All applicants to Medicaid certified nursing facilities, including certified boarding care facilities, must be screened prior to admission regardless of income, assets, or funding sources for nursing facility care, except as described in subdivision 4b. The purpose of the screening is to determine the need for nursing facility level of care as described in paragraph (d) and to complete activities required under federal law related to mental illness and developmental disability as outlined in paragraph (b).

(b) A person who has a diagnosis or possible diagnosis of mental illness or
developmental disability must receive a preadmission screening before admission
regardless of the exemptions outlined in subdivision 4b, paragraph (b), to identify the need

SS/RT

for further evaluation and specialized services, unless the admission prior to screening is

authorized by the local mental health authority or the local developmental disabilities case

243.3 manager, or unless authorized by the county agency according to Public Law 101-508.

243.4 The following criteria apply to the preadmission screening:

(1) the county must use forms and criteria developed by the commissioner to identify
persons who require referral for further evaluation and determination of the need for
specialized services; and

243.8 (2) the evaluation and determination of the need for specialized services must be243.9 done by:

(i) a qualified independent mental health professional, for persons with a primary orsecondary diagnosis of a serious mental illness; or

(ii) a qualified developmental disability professional, for persons with a primary or
secondary diagnosis of developmental disability. For purposes of this requirement, a
qualified developmental disability professional must meet the standards for a qualified
developmental disability professional under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section
483.430.

(c) The local county mental health authority or the state developmental disability
authority under Public Law Numbers 100-203 and 101-508 may prohibit admission to a
nursing facility if the individual does not meet the nursing facility level of care criteria or
needs specialized services as defined in Public Law Numbers 100-203 and 101-508. For
purposes of this section, "specialized services" for a person with developmental disability
means active treatment as that term is defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title
section 483.440 (a)(1).

(d) The determination of the need for nursing facility level of care must be made 243.24 according to criteria established developed by the commissioner, and in section 144.0724; 243.25 subdivision 11, and 256B.092, using forms developed by the commissioner. Effective no 243.26 sooner than on or after January 1, 2014, for individuals age 21 and older, and on or after 243.27 October 1, 2019, for individuals under age 21, the determination of need for nursing 243.28 facility level of care shall be based on criteria in section 144.0724, subdivision 11. In 243.29 assessing a person's needs, consultation team members shall have a physician available for 243.30 consultation and shall consider the assessment of the individual's attending physician, if 243.31 any. The individual's physician must be included if the physician chooses to participate. 243.32 Other personnel may be included on the team as deemed appropriate by the county. 243.33

243.34 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0911, subdivision 6, is amended to 243.35 read:

Subd. 6. Payment for long-term care consultation services. (a) Seventy-five 244.1 percent of the total payment for each county must be paid monthly by certified nursing 244.2 facilities in the county. The monthly amount to be paid by each nursing facility for each 244.3 fiscal year must be determined by dividing the county's annual allocation for long-term 244.4 care consultation services by 12 to determine the monthly payment and allocating the 244.5 monthly payment to each nursing facility based on the number of licensed beds in the 244.6 nursing facility. Payments to counties in which there is no certified nursing facility must be 244.7 made by increasing the payment rate of the two facilities located nearest to the county seat. 244.8 (b) The commissioner shall include the total annual payment determined under 244.9

paragraph (a) for each nursing facility reimbursed under section 256B.431 or 256B.434
according to section 256B.431, subdivision 2b, paragraph (g).

(c) In the event of the layaway, delicensure and decertification, or removal from
layaway of 25 percent or more of the beds in a facility, the commissioner may adjust
the per diem payment amount in paragraph (b) and may adjust the monthly payment
amount in paragraph (a). The effective date of an adjustment made under this paragraph
shall be on or after the first day of the month following the effective date of the layaway,
delicensure and decertification, or removal from layaway.

(d) Payments for long-term care consultation services are available to the county 244.18 or counties to cover staff salaries and expenses to provide the services described in 244.19 subdivision 1a. The county shall employ, or contract with other agencies to employ, within 244.20 the limits of available funding, sufficient personnel to provide long-term care consultation 244.21 services while meeting the state's long-term care outcomes and objectives as defined in 244.22 section 256B.0917, subdivision 1. The county shall be accountable for meeting local 244.23 objectives as approved by the commissioner in the biennial home and community-based 244.24 services quality assurance plan on a form provided by the commissioner. 244.25

244.26 (e) Notwithstanding section 256B.0641, overpayments attributable to payment of the 244.27 screening costs under the medical assistance program may not be recovered from a facility.

244.28 (f) The commissioner of human services shall amend the Minnesota medical 244.29 assistance plan to include reimbursement for the local consultation teams.

(g) The county may bill, as case management services, assessments, support
planning, and follow-along provided to persons determined to be eligible for case
management under Minnesota health care programs. No individual or family member
shall be charged for an initial assessment or initial support plan development provided
under subdivision 3a or 3b. Counties may set a fee schedule for initial assessments and
support plan development for individuals who are not financially eligible for medical

REVISOR

SS/RT

assistance or MinnesotaCare. The maximum fee must not be greater than the actual cost 245.1 of the initial assessment and support plan development. 245.2 (h) The commissioner shall develop an alternative payment methodology for 245.3 long-term care consultation services that includes the funding available under this 245.4 subdivision, and sections 256B.092 and 256B.0659. In developing the new payment 245.5 methodology, the commissioner shall consider the maximization of federal funding for 245.6 this activity. 245.7 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0913, subdivision 4, is amended to 245.8 read: 245.9 Subd. 4. Eligibility for funding for services for nonmedical assistance recipients. 245.10 (a) Funding for services under the alternative care program is available to persons who 245.11 meet the following criteria: 245.12 (1) the person has been determined by a community assessment under section 245.13 245.14 256B.0911 to be a person who would require the level of care provided in a nursing facility, as determined under section 256B.0911, subdivision 4a, paragraph (d), but for 245.15 the provision of services under the alternative care program. Effective January 1, 2011, 245.16 this determination must be made according to the criteria established in section 144.0724, 245.17 subdivision 11; 245.18 245.19 (2) the person is age 65 or older; (3) the person would be eligible for medical assistance within 135 days of admission 245.20 to a nursing facility; 245.21 (4) the person is not ineligible for the payment of long-term care services by the 245.22 medical assistance program due to an asset transfer penalty under section 256B.0595 or 245.23 equity interest in the home exceeding \$500,000 as stated in section 256B.056; 245.24 245.25 (5) the person needs long-term care services that are not funded through other state or federal funding, or other health insurance or other third-party insurance such as 245.26 long-term care insurance; 245.27 (6) except for individuals described in clause (7), the monthly cost of the alternative 245.28 care services funded by the program for this person does not exceed 75 percent of the 245.29 monthly limit described under section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a. This monthly limit 245.30 does not prohibit the alternative care client from payment for additional services, but in no 245.31 case may the cost of additional services purchased under this section exceed the difference 245.32 between the client's monthly service limit defined under section 256B.0915, subdivision 245.33 3, and the alternative care program monthly service limit defined in this paragraph. If 245.34 care-related supplies and equipment or environmental modifications and adaptations are or 245.35

REVISOR

will be purchased for an alternative care services recipient, the costs may be prorated on a 246.1 monthly basis for up to 12 consecutive months beginning with the month of purchase. 246.2 If the monthly cost of a recipient's other alternative care services exceeds the monthly 246.3 limit established in this paragraph, the annual cost of the alternative care services shall be 246.4 determined. In this event, the annual cost of alternative care services shall not exceed 12 246.5 times the monthly limit described in this paragraph; 246.6

(7) for individuals assigned a case mix classification A as described under section 246.7 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, paragraph (a), with (i) no dependencies in activities of daily 246.8 living, or (ii) only one dependency up to two dependencies in bathing, dressing, grooming, 246.9 or walking, or (iii) a dependency score of less than three if eating is the only dependency 246.10 and eating when the dependency score in eating is three or greater as determined by 246.11 an assessment performed under section 256B.0911, the monthly cost of alternative 246.12 care services funded by the program cannot exceed \$600 \$593 per month for all new 246.13 participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2009 <u>2011</u>. This monthly limit 246.14 246.15 shall be applied to all other participants who meet this criteria at reassessment. This monthly limit shall be increased annually as described in section 256B.0915, subdivision 246.16 3a, paragraph (a). This monthly limit does not prohibit the alternative care client from 246.17 payment for additional services, but in no case may the cost of additional services 246.18 purchased exceed the difference between the client's monthly service limit defined in this 246.19 clause and the limit described in clause (6) for case mix classification A; and 246.20

(8) the person is making timely payments of the assessed monthly fee. A person is ineligible if payment of the fee is over 60 days past due, unless the person 246.22 246.23 agrees to:

(i) the appointment of a representative payee; 246.24

(ii) automatic payment from a financial account; 246.25

(iii) the establishment of greater family involvement in the financial management of 246.26 payments; or 246.27

(iv) another method acceptable to the lead agency to ensure prompt fee payments. 246.28

The lead agency may extend the client's eligibility as necessary while making 246.29 arrangements to facilitate payment of past-due amounts and future premium payments. 246.30 Following disenrollment due to nonpayment of a monthly fee, eligibility shall not be 246.31 reinstated for a period of 30 days. 246.32

(b) Alternative care funding under this subdivision is not available for a person 246.33 who is a medical assistance recipient or who would be eligible for medical assistance 246.34 without a spenddown or waiver obligation. A person whose initial application for medical 246.35 assistance and the elderly waiver program is being processed may be served under the 246.36

246.21

alternative care program for a period up to 60 days. If the individual is found to be eligible 247.1 for medical assistance, medical assistance must be billed for services payable under the 247.2 federally approved elderly waiver plan and delivered from the date the individual was 247.3 found eligible for the federally approved elderly waiver plan. Notwithstanding this 247.4 provision, alternative care funds may not be used to pay for any service the cost of which: 247.5 (i) is payable by medical assistance; (ii) is used by a recipient to meet a waiver obligation; 247.6 or (iii) is used to pay a medical assistance income spenddown for a person who is eligible 247.7 to participate in the federally approved elderly waiver program under the special income 247.8 standard provision. 247.9

(c) Alternative care funding is not available for a person who resides in a licensed
nursing home, certified boarding care home, hospital, or intermediate care facility, except
for case management services which are provided in support of the discharge planning
process for a nursing home resident or certified boarding care home resident to assist with
a relocation process to a community-based setting.

(d) Alternative care funding is not available for a person whose income is greater
than the maintenance needs allowance under section 256B.0915, subdivision 1d, but equal
to or less than 120 percent of the federal poverty guideline effective July 1 in the fiscal
year for which alternative care eligibility is determined, who would be eligible for the
elderly waiver with a waiver obligation.

247.20 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, is amended to 247.21 read:

Subd. 3a. Elderly waiver cost limits. (a) The monthly limit for the cost of 247.22 waivered services to an individual elderly waiver client except for individuals described 247.23 in paragraph (b) shall be the weighted average monthly nursing facility rate of the case 247.24 247.25 mix resident class to which the elderly waiver client would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, less the recipient's maintenance needs allowance 247.26 as described in subdivision 1d, paragraph (a), until the first day of the state fiscal year in 247.27 which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home 247.28 rate determination is implemented. Effective on the first day of the state fiscal year in 247.29 which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home 247.30 rate determination is implemented and the first day of each subsequent state fiscal year, the 247.31 monthly limit for the cost of waivered services to an individual elderly waiver client shall 247.32 be the rate of the case mix resident class to which the waiver client would be assigned 247.33 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, in effect on the last day of the 247.34 previous state fiscal year, adjusted by the greater of any legislatively adopted home and 247.35

SS/RT

- A11-0177
- community-based services percentage rate increase or the average statewide percentage
 increase in nursing facility payment rates adjustment.
- (b) The monthly limit for the cost of waivered services to an individual elderly
 waiver client assigned to a case mix classification A under paragraph (a) with:
- 248.5 (1) no dependencies in activities of daily living; or
- (2) only one dependency up to two dependencies in bathing, dressing, grooming, or
 walking, or (3) a dependency score of less than three if eating is the only dependency,
 and eating when the dependency score in eating is three or greater as determined by an
 assessment performed under section 256B.0911
- shall be the lower of the case mix classification amount for case mix A as determined
 under paragraph (a) or the case mix classification amount for case mix A \$1,750 per
 month effective on October July 1, 2008 2011, per month for all new participants enrolled
 in the program on or after July 1, 2009 2011. This monthly limit shall be applied to all
 other participants who meet this criteria at reassessment. This monthly limit shall be
 increased annually as described in paragraph (a).
- (c) If extended medical supplies and equipment or environmental modifications are
 or will be purchased for an elderly waiver client, the costs may be prorated for up to
 12 consecutive months beginning with the month of purchase. If the monthly cost of a
 recipient's waivered services exceeds the monthly limit established in paragraph (a) or
 (b), the annual cost of all waivered services shall be determined. In this event, the annual
 cost of all waivered services shall not exceed 12 times the monthly limit of waivered
 services as described in paragraph (a) or (b).
- 248.23 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3b, is amended to 248.24 read:
- 248.25 Subd. 3b. Cost limits for elderly waiver applicants who reside in a nursing facility. (a) For a person who is a nursing facility resident at the time of requesting a 248.26 determination of eligibility for elderly waivered services, a monthly conversion budget 248.27 limit for the cost of elderly waivered services may be requested. The monthly conversion 248.28 budget limit for the cost of elderly waiver services shall be the resident class assigned 248.29 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, for that resident in the nursing 248.30 facility where the resident currently resides until July 1 of the state fiscal year in which 248.31 the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home rate 248.32 determination is implemented. Effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year in which the 248.33 resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home rate 248.34 determination is implemented, the monthly conversion budget limit for the cost of elderly 248.35

REVISOR

A11-0177

waiver services shall be based on the per diem nursing facility rate as determined by the 249.1 249.2 resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for that resident residents in the nursing facility where the resident elderly waiver applicant currently resides 249.3 multiplied. The monthly conversion budget limit shall be calculated by multiplying the 249.4 per diem by 365 and, divided by 12, less and reduced by the recipient's maintenance needs 249.5 allowance as described in subdivision 1d. The initially approved monthly conversion rate 249.6 may budget limit shall be adjusted by the greater of any subsequent legislatively adopted 249.7 home and community-based services percentage rate increase or the average statewide 249.8 percentage increase in nursing facility payment rates annually as described in subdivision 249.9 3a, paragraph (a). The limit under this subdivision only applies to persons discharged from 249.10 a nursing facility after a minimum 30-day stay and found eligible for waivered services 249.11 on or after July 1, 1997. For conversions from the nursing home to the elderly waiver 249.12 with consumer directed community support services, the conversion rate limit is equal to 249.13 the nursing facility rate per diem used to calculate the monthly conversion budget limit 249.14 249.15 must be reduced by a percentage equal to the percentage difference between the consumer directed services budget limit that would be assigned according to the federally approved 249.16 waiver plan and the corresponding community case mix cap, but not to exceed 50 percent. 249.17 (b) The following costs must be included in determining the total monthly costs 249.18

249.19 for the waiver client:

(1) cost of all waivered services, including <u>extended medical specialized</u> supplies
and equipment and environmental <u>modifications and accessibility</u> adaptations; and

249.22 (2) cost of skilled nursing, home health aide, and personal care services reimbursable249.23 by medical assistance.

249.24 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3e, is amended to 249.25 read:

Subd. 3e. **Customized living service rate.** (a) Payment for customized living services shall be a monthly rate authorized by the lead agency within the parameters established by the commissioner. The payment agreement must delineate the amount of each component service included in the recipient's customized living service plan. The lead agency shall ensure that there is a documented need within the parameters established by the commissioner for all component customized living services authorized.

(b) The payment rate must be based on the amount of component services to be
provided utilizing component rates established by the commissioner. Counties and tribes
shall use tools issued by the commissioner to develop and document customized living
service plans and rates.

(c) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderly
waiver or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale. Customized
living services must not include rent or raw food costs.

(d) With the exception of individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), the 250.4 individualized monthly authorized payment for the customized living service plan shall 250.5 not exceed 50 percent of the greater of either the statewide or any of the geographic 250.6 groups' weighted average monthly nursing facility rate of the case mix resident class 250.7 to which the elderly waiver eligible client would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, 250.8 parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, less the maintenance needs allowance as described 250.9 in subdivision 1d, paragraph (a), until the July 1 of the state fiscal year in which the 250.10 resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home rate 250.11 determination is implemented. Effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year in which 250.12 the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home 250.13 rate determination is implemented and July 1 of each subsequent state fiscal year, the 250.14 250.15 individualized monthly authorized payment for the services described in this clause shall not exceed the limit which was in effect on June 30 of the previous state fiscal year 250.16 updated annually based on legislatively adopted changes to all service rate maximums for 250.17 250.18 home and community-based service providers.

(e) Effective July 1, 2011, the individualized monthly payment for the customized
living service plan for individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), must be the
monthly authorized payment limit for customized living for individuals classified as case
mix A, reduced by 25 percent. This rate limit must be applied to all new participants
enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011, who meet the criteria described in
subdivision 3a, paragraph (b). This monthly limit also applies to all other participants who
meet the criteria described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), at reassessment.

(c) (f) Customized living services are delivered by a provider licensed by the
Department of Health as a class A or class F home care provider and provided in a
building that is registered as a housing with services establishment under chapter 144D.

Licensed home care providers are subject to section 256B.0651, subdivision 14.

(g) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their
 <u>family for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available</u>
 under the service rate limits described in paragraph (d), nor for additional units of any

250.33 <u>allowable component service beyond those approved in the service plan by the lead agency.</u>

250.34 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3h, is amended to 250.35 read:

251.1

251.2

A11-0177

Subd. 3h. Service rate limits; 24-hour customized living services. (a) The payment rate for 24-hour customized living services is a monthly rate authorized by the

SS/RT

251.3 lead agency within the parameters established by the commissioner of human services.

251.4 The payment agreement must delineate the amount of each component service included in

each recipient's customized living service plan. The lead agency shall ensure that there is adocumented need within the parameters established by the commissioner for all component

251.7 customized living services authorized. The lead agency shall not authorize 24-hour

customized living services unless there is a documented need for 24-hour supervision.

251.9 (b) For purposes of this section, "24-hour supervision" means that the recipient 251.10 requires assistance due to needs related to one or more of the following:

251.11 (1) intermittent assistance with toileting, positioning, or transferring;

251.12 (2) cognitive or behavioral issues;

251.13 (3) a medical condition that requires clinical monitoring; or

(4) for all new participants enrolled in the program on or after January July 1, 2011, 251.14 251.15 and all other participants at their first reassessment after January July 1, 2011, dependency in at least two three of the following activities of daily living as determined by assessment 251.16 under section 256B.0911: bathing; dressing; grooming; walking; or eating when the 251.17 dependency score in eating is three or greater; and needs medication management and at 251.18 least 50 hours of service per month. The lead agency shall ensure that the frequency and 251.19 mode of supervision of the recipient and the qualifications of staff providing supervision 251.20 are described and meet the needs of the recipient. 251.21

(c) The payment rate for 24-hour customized living services must be based on the
amount of component services to be provided utilizing component rates established by the
commissioner. Counties and tribes will use tools issued by the commissioner to develop
and document customized living plans and authorize rates.

(d) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderlywaiver or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale.

(e) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payments, in combination with the payment for other elderly waiver services, including case management, must not exceed the recipient's community budget cap specified in subdivision 3a. Customized living services must not include rent or raw food costs.

(f) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payment rates shall not
exceed the 95 percentile of statewide monthly authorizations for 24-hour customized
living services in effect and in the Medicaid management information systems on March
31, 2009, for each case mix resident class under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050
to 9549.0059, to which elderly waiver service clients are assigned. When there are

fewer than 50 authorizations in effect in the case mix resident class, the commissioner shall multiply the calculated service payment rate maximum for the A classification by the standard weight for that classification under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0050 to 9549.0059, to determine the applicable payment rate maximum. Service payment rate maximums shall be updated annually based on legislatively adopted changes to all service rates for home and community-based service providers.

(g) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraphs (d) and (f), the commissioner
may establish alternative payment rate systems for 24-hour customized living services in
housing with services establishments which are freestanding buildings with a capacity of
16 or fewer, by applying a single hourly rate for covered component services provided
in either:

252.12 (1) licensed corporate adult foster homes; or

(2) specialized dementia care units which meet the requirements of section 144D.065and in which:

(i) each resident is offered the option of having their own apartment; or

(ii) the units are licensed as board and lodge establishments with maximum capacity
of eight residents, and which meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 9555.6205,
subparts 1, 2, 3, and 4, item A.

(h) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their
 family for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available
 under the service rate limits described in paragraph (e), nor for additional units of any

allowable component service beyond those approved in the service plan by the lead agency.

252.23 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0915, subdivision 5, is amended to 252.24 read:

252.25 Subd. 5. Assessments and reassessments for waiver clients. (a) Each client shall receive an initial assessment of strengths, informal supports, and need for services 252.26 in accordance with section 256B.0911, subdivisions 3, 3a, and 3b. A reassessment of a 252.27 client served under the elderly waiver must be conducted at least every 12 months and 252.28 at other times when the case manager determines that there has been significant change 252.29 in the client's functioning. This may include instances where the client is discharged 252.30 from the hospital. There must be a determination that the client requires nursing facility 252.31 level of care as defined in section 144.0724, subdivision 11 256B.0911, subdivision 4a, 252.32 paragraph (d), at initial and subsequent assessments to initiate and maintain participation 252.33 252.34 in the waiver program.

A11-0177

(b) Regardless of other assessments identified in section 144.0724, subdivision
4, as appropriate to determine nursing facility level of care for purposes of medical
assistance payment for nursing facility services, only face-to-face assessments conducted
according to section 256B.0911, subdivisions 3a and 3b, that result in a nursing facility
level of care determination will be accepted for purposes of initial and ongoing access to
waiver service payment.

253.7 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0915, subdivision 10, is amended to253.8 read:

Subd. 10. Waiver payment rates; managed care organizations. The 253.9 commissioner shall adjust the elderly waiver capitation payment rates for managed care 253.10 organizations paid under section 256B.69, subdivisions 6a and 23, to reflect the maximum 253.11 service rate limits for customized living services and 24-hour customized living services 253.12 under subdivisions 3e and 3h for the contract period beginning October 1, 2009. Medical 253.13 253.14 assistance rates paid to customized living providers by managed care organizations under this section shall not exceed the maximum service rate limits and component rates as 253.15 determined by the commissioner under subdivisions 3e and 3h. 253.16

253.17 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0916, subdivision 6a, is amended to 253.18 read:

Subd. 6a. Statewide availability of consumer-directed community self-directed
support services. (a) The commissioner shall submit to the federal Health Care Financing
Administration by August 1, 2001, an amendment to the home and community-based
waiver for persons with developmental disabilities under section 256B.092 and by April 1,
2005, for waivers under sections 256B.0915 and 256B.49, to make consumer-directed
community self-directed support services available in every county of the state by January
1, 2002.

(b) <u>Until the waiver amendment for self-directed community supports under</u>
<u>section 54 is effective</u>, if a county declines to meet the requirements for provision of
consumer-directed community self-directed supports, the commissioner shall contract
with another county, a group of counties, or a private agency to plan for and administer
consumer-directed community self-directed supports in that county.

(c) The state of Minnesota, county agencies, tribal governments, or administrative
entities under contract to participate in the implementation and administration of the home
and community-based waiver for persons with developmental disabilities, shall not be
liable for damages, injuries, or liabilities sustained through the purchase of support by the

A11-0177

254.1 individual, the individual's family, legal representative, or the authorized representative

254.2 with funds received through the consumer-directed community <u>self-directed</u> support

254.3 service under this section. Liabilities include but are not limited to: workers' compensation

254.4 liability, the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA), or the Federal Unemployment

254.5 Tax Act (FUTA).

254.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

254.7 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.092, subdivision 1a, is amended to 254.8 read:

254.9 Subd. 1a. Case management administration and services. (a) The administrative 254.10 functions of case management provided to or arranged for a person include:

- 254.11 (1) review of eligibility for services;
- 254.12 (2) screening;
- 254.13 (3) intake;
- 254.14 (4) diagnosis;
- 254.15 (5) the review and authorization of services based upon an individualized service
 254.16 plan; and
- 254.17 (6) responding to requests for conciliation conferences and appeals according
- 254.18 to section 256.045 made by the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator, or
- 254.19 the parent if the person is a minor. Case management services must be provided by a
- 254.20 public or private agency that is enrolled as a medical assistance provider determined by
- 254.21 the commissioner to meet all of the requirements in the approved federal waiver plans.
- 254.22 <u>Case management services cannot be provided to a recipient by a private agency that has</u>
- 254.23 any financial interest in the provisions of any other services included in the recipient's
- 254.24 <u>coordinated service and support plan.</u>
- (b) Case management service activities provided to or arranged for a person include
- 254.26 services must be provided to each recipient of home and community-based waiver

254.27 services and available to those eligible for case management under sections 256B.0621

- and 256B.0924, subdivision 4, who choose this service. Case management services for an
 eligible person include:
- 254.30 (1) development of the <u>individual coordinated service and support plan;</u>
- 254.31 (2) informing the individual or the individual's legal guardian or conservator, or 254.32 parent if the person is a minor, of service options;
- 254.33 (3) consulting with relevant medical experts or service providers;
- 254.34 (4) assisting the person in the identification of potential providers;
- 254.35 (5) assisting the person to access services;

SS/RT

255.1	(6) coordination of services, including coordinating with the person's health care
255.2	home or health coordinator, if coordination of long-term care or community supports and
255.3	health care is not provided by another service provider;
255.4	(7) evaluation and monitoring of the services identified in the plan including at least
255.5	one face-to-face visit with each person annually by the case manager; and
255.6	(8) annual reviews of service plans and services provided providing the lead agency
255.7	with recommendations for service authorization based upon the individual's needs
255.8	identified in the support plan within ten working days after receiving the community
255.9	support plan from the certified assessor under section 256B.0911.
255.10	(c) Case management administration and service activities that are provided to the
255.11	person with a developmental disability shall be provided directly by county agencies or
255.12	under contract a public or private agency that is enrolled as a medical assistance provider
255.13	determined by the commissioner to meet all of the requirements in section 256B.0621,
255.14	subdivision 5, paragraphs (a) and (b), clauses (1) to (5), and has no financial interest in the
255.15	provision of any other services to the person choosing case management service.
255.16	(d) Case managers are responsible for the administrative duties and service
255.17	provisions listed in paragraphs (a) and (b). Case managers shall collaborate with
255.18	consumers, families, legal representatives, and relevant medical experts and service
255.19	providers in the development and annual review of the individualized service and
255.20	habilitation plans.
255.21	(e) The Department of Human Services shall offer ongoing education in case
255.22	management to case managers. Case managers shall receive no less than ten hours of case
255.23	management education and disability-related training each year.
255.24	(f) Persons eligible for home and community-based waiver services may choose a
255.25	case management service provider from among the public or private vendors enrolled
255.26	according to paragraph (d).
255.27	(g) For persons eligible for case management under section 256B.0924, and
255.28	Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0036, the county or lead agency shall designate
255.29	the case management service provider.
255.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012.
255.31	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.092, subdivision 1b, is amended to

255.32 read:

255.33 Subd. 1b. Individual Coordinated service and support plan. The individual Each

255.34 <u>recipient of case management services and any legal representative shall be provided a</u>

255.35 <u>written copy of the coordinated service and support plan must, which:</u>

SS/RT

256.1	(1) include is developed within ten working days after the case management service
256.2	receives the community support plan from the certified assessor under section 256B.0911;
256.3	(2) includes the results of the assessment information on the person's need for
256.4	service, including identification of service needs that will be or that are met by the person's
256.5	relatives, friends, and others, as well as community services used by the general public;
256.6	(3) reasonably assures the health, safety, and welfare of the recipient;
256.7	(2) identify (4) identifies the person's preferences for services as stated by the person,
256.8	the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if the person is a minor;
256.9	(5) provides for an informed choice, as defined in section 256B.77, subdivision 2,
256.10	paragraph (o), of service and support providers;
256.11	(3) identify (6) identifies long- and short-range goals for the person;
256.12	(4) identify (7) identifies specific services and the amount and frequency of the
256.13	services to be provided to the person based on assessed needs, preferences, and available
256.14	resources. The individual coordinated service and support plan shall also specify other
256.15	services the person needs that are not available;
256.16	(5) identify (8) identifies the need for an individual program individual's provider
256.17	plan to be developed by the provider according to the respective state and federal licensing
256.18	and certification standards, and additional assessments to be completed or arranged by the
256.19	provider after service initiation;
256.20	(6) identify (9) identifies provider responsibilities to implement and make
256.21	recommendations for modification to the individual coordinated service and support plan;
256.22	(7) include (10) includes notice of the right to have assessments completed and
256.23	service plans developed within specified time periods, the right to appeal action or
256.24	inaction, and the right to request a conciliation conference or a hearing an appeal under
256.25	section 256.045;
256.26	(8) be (11) is agreed upon and signed by the person, the person's legal guardian
256.27	or conservator, or the parent if the person is a minor, and the authorized county
256.28	representative; and
256.29	(9) be (12) is reviewed by a health professional if the person has overriding medical
256.30	needs that impact the delivery of services.
256.31	Service planning formats developed for interagency planning such as transition,
256.32	vocational, and individual family service plans may be substituted for service planning
256.33	formats developed by county agencies.
256.34	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012.

SS/RT

257.1	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.092, subdivision 1e, is amended to
257.2	read:
257.3	Subd. 1e. Case management service monitoring, coordination, and evaluation,
257.4	and monitoring of services duties. (a) If the individual coordinated service and support
257.5	plan identifies the need for individual program provider plans for authorized services,
257.6	the case manager management service provider shall assure that individual program the
257.7	individual provider plans are developed by the providers according to clauses (2) to (5).
257.8	The providers shall assure that the individual program provider plans:
257.9	(1) are developed according to the respective state and federal licensing and
257.10	certification requirements;
257.11	(2) are designed to achieve the goals of the individual service plan;
257.12	(3) are consistent with other aspects of the individual coordinated service and
257.13	support plan;
257.14	(4) assure the health and safety of the person; and
257.15	(5) are developed with consistent and coordinated approaches to services among the
257.16	various service providers.
257.17	(b) The case manager management service provider shall monitor the provision of
257.18	services:
257.19	(1) to assure that the individual service plan is being followed according to
257.20	paragraph (a);
257.21	(2) to identify any changes or modifications that might be needed in the individual
257.22	service plan, including changes resulting from recommendations of current service
257.23	providers;
257.24	(3) to determine if the person's legal rights are protected, and if not, notify the
257.25	person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if the person is a minor, protection
257.26	services, or licensing agencies as appropriate; and
257.27	(4) to determine if the person, the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the
257.28	parent if the person is a minor, is satisfied with the services provided.
257.29	(c) If the provider fails to develop or carry out the individual program plan according
257.30	to paragraph (a), the case manager shall notify the person's legal guardian or conservator,
257.31	or the parent if the person is a minor, the provider, the respective licensing and certification
257.32	agencies, and the county board where the services are being provided. In addition, the
257.33	case manager shall identify other steps needed to assure the person receives the services
257.34	identified in the individual coordinated service and support plan.
257.35	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2012.

A11-0177

SS/RT

Subd. 1g. Conditions not requiring development of individual <u>a coordinated</u>
service <u>and support plan</u>. Unless otherwise required by federal law, the county agency is
not required to complete <u>an individual a coordinated</u> service <u>and support plan</u> as defined in
subdivision 1b for:

(1) persons whose families are requesting respite care for their family member who
resides with them, or whose families are requesting a family support grant and are not
requesting purchase or arrangement of habilitative services; and

(2) persons with developmental disabilities, living independently without authorized
services or receiving funding for services at a rehabilitation facility as defined in section
268A.01, subdivision 6, and not in need of or requesting additional services.

258.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2012.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.092, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 258.14 Subd. 3. Authorization and termination of services. County agency case 258.15 managers Lead agencies, under rules of the commissioner, shall authorize and terminate 258.16 services of community and regional treatment center providers according to individual 258.17 coordinated service and support plans. Services provided to persons with developmental 258.18 disabilities may only be authorized and terminated by case managers according to (1) 258.19 rules of the commissioner and (2) the individual coordinated service and support plan as 258.20 defined in subdivision 1b. Medical assistance services not needed shall not be authorized 258.21 by county agencies or funded by the commissioner. When purchasing or arranging for 258.22 unlicensed respite care services for persons with overriding health needs, the county 258.23 agency shall seek the advice of a health care professional in assessing provider staff 258.24 training needs and skills necessary to meet the medical needs of the person. 258.25

258.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2012.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.092, subdivision 8, is amended to read: Subd. 8. Screening team Additional certified assessor duties. The screening team certified assessor shall:

258.30 (1) review diagnostic data;

(2) review health, social, and developmental assessment data using a uniform
 screening comprehensive assessment tool specified by the commissioner;

REVISOR

SS/RT

(3) identify the level of services appropriate to maintain the person in the most 259.1 259.2 normal and least restrictive setting that is consistent with the person's treatment needs; (4) identify other noninstitutional public assistance or social service that may prevent 259.3 or delay long-term residential placement; 259.4 (5) assess whether a person is in need of long-term residential care; 259.5 (6) make recommendations regarding placement services and payment for: (i) social 259.6 service or public assistance support, or both, to maintain a person in the person's own home 259.7 or other place of residence; (ii) training and habilitation service, vocational rehabilitation, 259.8 and employment training activities; (iii) community residential placement services; (iv) 259.9 regional treatment center placement; or (v) (iv) a home and community-based service 259.10 alternative to community residential placement or regional treatment center placement; 259.11 (7) evaluate the availability, location, and quality of the services listed in clause 259.12 (6), including the impact of placement alternatives services and supports options on the 259.13 person's ability to maintain or improve existing patterns of contact and involvement with 259.14 259.15 parents and other family members; (8) identify the cost implications of recommendations in clause (6) and provide 259.16 written notice of the annual and monthly amount authorized to be spent for services for 259.17

259.18 the recipient;

(9) make recommendations to a court as may be needed to assist the court in makingdecisions regarding commitment of persons with developmental disabilities; and

(10) inform the person and the person's legal guardian or conservator, or the parent if
the person is a minor, that appeal may be made to the commissioner pursuant to section
259.23 256.045.

259.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2012.

259.25 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.092, subdivision 8a, is amended to 259.26 read:

Subd. 8a. County concurrence notification. (a) If the county of financial 259.27 responsibility wishes to place a person in another county for services, the county of 259.28 financial responsibility shall seek concurrence from notify the proposed county of service 259.29 and the placement shall be made cooperatively between the two counties. Arrangements 259.30 shall be made between the two counties for ongoing social service, including annual 259.31 reviews of the person's individual service plan. The county where services are provided 259.32 may not make changes in the person's service plan without approval by the county of 259.33 financial responsibility. 259.34

(b) When a person has been screened and authorized for services in an intermediate 260.1 care facility for persons with developmental disabilities or for home and community-based 260.2 services for persons with developmental disabilities, the case manager shall assist that 260.3 person in identifying a service provider who is able to meet the needs of the person 260.4 according to the person's individual service plan. If the identified service is to be provided 260.5 in a county other than the county of financial responsibility, the county of financial 260.6 responsibility shall request concurrence of the county where the person is requesting to 260.7 receive the identified services. The county of service may refuse to concur shall notify 260.8 the county of financial responsibility if:, 260.9

(1) it can demonstrate that the provider is unable to provide the services identified in
 the person's individual service plan as services that are needed and are to be provided; or
 (2) in the case of an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental

260.13 disabilities, there has been no authorization for admission by the admission review team260.14 as required in section 256B.0926.

260.15 (c) The county of service shall notify the county of financial responsibility of concurrence or refusal to concur any concerns about the chosen provider's capacity to 260.16 meet the needs of the person seeking to move to residential services in another county no 260.17 later than 20 working days following receipt of the written request notification. Unless 260.18 other mutually acceptable arrangements are made by the involved county agencies, the 260.19 county of financial responsibility is responsible for costs of social services and the costs 260.20 associated with the development and maintenance of the placement. The county of 260.21 service may request that the county of financial responsibility purchase case management 260.22 260.23 services from the county of service or from a contracted provider of case management when the county of financial responsibility is not providing case management as defined 260.24 in this section and rules adopted under this section, unless other mutually acceptable 260.25 260.26 arrangements are made by the involved county agencies. Standards for payment limits under this section may be established by the commissioner. Financial disputes between 260.27 counties shall be resolved as provided in section 256G.09. 260.28

260.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

260.30 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.19, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

260.32 Subd. 2d. Obligation of local agency to process medical assistance applications
 260.33 within established timelines. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), when an individual
 260.34 submits an application for medical assistance and the applicant's eligibility is based on

REVISOR

SS/RT

261.1	disability or on being age 65 or older, the county must determine the applicant's eligibility
261.2	and mail a notice of its decision to the applicant within:
261.3	(1) 60 days from the date of the application for an individual whose eligibility
261.4	is based on disability; or
261.5	(2) 45 days from the date of the application for an individual whose eligibility is
261.6	based on being age 65 or older.
261.7	(b) The county must determine eligibility and mail a notice of its decision within the
261.8	time frames stated in paragraph (a), except in the following circumstances:
261.9	(1) the county cannot make a determination because, despite reasonable efforts by
261.10	the county to communicate what is required, the applicant or an examining physician
261.11	delays or fails to take a required action; or
261.12	(2) there is an administrative or other emergency beyond the county's control. For
261.13	purposes of this clause, a staffing shortage does not constitute an emergency beyond
261.14	the county's control.
261.15	For the events in either clause (1) or (2), the county must document in the applicant's
261.16	case record the reason for delaying beyond the established time frames.
261.17	(c) The county must not use the time frames established in paragraph (a) as a waiting
261.18	period before determining eligibility or as a reason for denying eligibility because it has
261.19	not determined eligibility within the established time frames.
261.20	(d) Effective July 1, 2011, unless one of the exceptions listed under paragraph (b)
261.21	applies, if a county fails to comply with paragraph (a) and the applicant ultimately is
261.22	determined to be eligible for medical assistance, the county is responsible for the entire
261.23	cost of medical assistance services provided to the applicant by a nursing facility and not
261.24	paid for by federal funds, from and including the first date of eligibility through the date
261.25	on which the county mails written notice of its decision on the application. The applicable
261.26	facility will bill and receive payment directly from the commissioner in customary
261.27	fashion, and the commissioner shall deduct any obligation incurred under this paragraph
261.28	from the amount due to the local agency under subdivision 1.
261.29	(e) This subdivision supersedes subdivision 1, clause (2), if both apply to an
261.30	applicant.
261.31	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.431, subdivision 2r, is amended to
261.32	read:
0 (1 00	Subd. 2. Dermant wethinting on leave down (a) Effective Luber 1, 1002 the

Subd. 2r. **Payment restrictions on leave days.** (a) Effective July 1, 1993, the commissioner shall limit payment for leave days in a nursing facility to 79 percent of that nursing facility's total payment rate for the involved resident.

(b) For services rendered on or after July 1, 2003, for facilities reimbursed under this
 section or section 256B.434, the commissioner shall limit payment for leave days in a
 nursing facility to 60 percent of that nursing facility's total payment rate for the involved
 resident.

(c) For services rendered on or after July 1, 2011, for facilities reimbursed under
this chapter, the commissioner shall limit payment for leave days in a nursing facility
to 30 percent of that nursing facility's total payment rate for the involved resident, and
shall allow this payment only when the occupancy of the nursing facility, inclusive of
bed hold days, is equal to or greater than 96 percent, notwithstanding Minnesota Rules,
part 9505.0415.

262.11 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.431, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

262.13 Subd. 44. Property rate increase for a facility in Bloomington effective

262.14 November 1, 2010. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, money available for

262.15 moratorium projects under section 144A.073, subdivision 11, shall be used, effective

262.16 November 1, 2010, to fund an approved moratorium exception project for a nursing

262.17 <u>facility in Bloomington licensed for 137 beds as of November 1, 2010, up to a total</u>

262.18 property rate adjustment of \$19.33.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.434, subdivision 4, is amended to read: Subd. 4. Alternate rates for nursing facilities. (a) For nursing facilities which have their payment rates determined under this section rather than section 256B.431, the commissioner shall establish a rate under this subdivision. The nursing facility must enter into a written contract with the commissioner.

(b) A nursing facility's case mix payment rate for the first rate year of a facility's
contract under this section is the payment rate the facility would have received under
section 256B.431.

(c) A nursing facility's case mix payment rates for the second and subsequent years 262.27 of a facility's contract under this section are the previous rate year's contract payment 262.28 rates plus an inflation adjustment and, for facilities reimbursed under this section or 262.29 section 256B.431, an adjustment to include the cost of any increase in Health Department 262.30 licensing fees for the facility taking effect on or after July 1, 2001. The index for the 262.31 inflation adjustment must be based on the change in the Consumer Price Index-All Items 262.32 (United States City average) (CPI-U) forecasted by the commissioner of management and 262.33 budget's national economic consultant, as forecasted in the fourth quarter of the calendar 262.34

year preceding the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be based on the 12-month 263.1 period from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for 263.2 which the rate is being determined. For the rate years beginning on July 1, 1999, July 1, 263.3 2000, July 1, 2001, July 1, 2002, July 1, 2003, July 1, 2004, July 1, 2005, July 1, 2006, 263.4 July 1, 2007, July 1, 2008, October 1, 2009, and October 1, 2010, October 1, 2011, and 263.5 October 1, 2012. this paragraph shall apply only to the property-related payment rate, 263.6 except that adjustments to include the cost of any increase in Health Department licensing 263.7 fees taking effect on or after July 1, 2001, shall be provided. For the rate years beginning 263.8 on October 1, 2011, and October 1, 2012, the rate adjustment under this paragraph shall 263.9 be suspended. Beginning in 2005, adjustment to the property payment rate under this 263.10 section and section 256B.431 shall be effective on October 1. In determining the amount 263.11 of the property-related payment rate adjustment under this paragraph, the commissioner 263.12 shall determine the proportion of the facility's rates that are property-related based on the 263.13 facility's most recent cost report. 263.14

263.15 (d) The commissioner shall develop additional incentive-based payments of up to five percent above a facility's operating payment rate for achieving outcomes specified 263.16 in a contract. The commissioner may solicit contract amendments and implement those 263.17 which, on a competitive basis, best meet the state's policy objectives. The commissioner 263.18 shall limit the amount of any incentive payment and the number of contract amendments 263.19 under this paragraph to operate the incentive payments within funds appropriated for this 263.20 purpose. The contract amendments may specify various levels of payment for various 263.21 levels of performance. Incentive payments to facilities under this paragraph may be in the 263.22 263.23 form of time-limited rate adjustments or onetime supplemental payments. In establishing the specified outcomes and related criteria, the commissioner shall consider the following 263.24 state policy objectives: 263.25

263.26 (1) successful diversion or discharge of residents to the residents' prior home or other263.27 community-based alternatives;

263.28 (2) adoption of new technology to improve quality or efficiency;

263.29 (3) improved quality as measured in the Nursing Home Report Card;

263.30 (4) reduced acute care costs; and

263.31 (5) any additional outcomes proposed by a nursing facility that the commissioner263.32 finds desirable.

(e) Notwithstanding the threshold in section 256B.431, subdivision 16, facilities that
take action to come into compliance with existing or pending requirements of the life
safety code provisions or federal regulations governing sprinkler systems must receive

- reimbursement for the costs associated with compliance if all of the following conditionsare met:
- 264.3 (1) the expenses associated with compliance occurred on or after January 1, 2005,
 and before December 31, 2008;
- 264.5 (2) the costs were not otherwise reimbursed under subdivision 4f or section
- 264.6 144A.071 or 144A.073; and
- 264.7 (3) the total allowable costs reported under this paragraph are less than the minimum
 264.8 threshold established under section 256B.431, subdivision 15, paragraph (e), and
 264.9 subdivision 16.
- The commissioner shall use money appropriated for this purpose to provide to qualifying 264.10 nursing facilities a rate adjustment beginning October 1, 2007, and ending September 30, 264.11 2008. Nursing facilities that have spent money or anticipate the need to spend money 264.12 to satisfy the most recent life safety code requirements by (1) installing a sprinkler 264.13 system or (2) replacing all or portions of an existing sprinkler system may submit to the 264.14 264.15 commissioner by June 30, 2007, on a form provided by the commissioner the actual costs of a completed project or the estimated costs, based on a project bid, of a planned 264.16 project. The commissioner shall calculate a rate adjustment equal to the allowable 264.17 costs of the project divided by the resident days reported for the report year ending 264.18 September 30, 2006. If the costs from all projects exceed the appropriation for this 264.19 purpose, the commissioner shall allocate the money appropriated on a pro rata basis 264.20 to the qualifying facilities by reducing the rate adjustment determined for each facility 264.21 by an equal percentage. Facilities that used estimated costs when requesting the rate 264.22 264.23 adjustment shall report to the commissioner by January 31, 2009, on the use of this money on a form provided by the commissioner. If the nursing facility fails to provide 264.24 the report, the commissioner shall recoup the money paid to the facility for this purpose. 264.25 264.26 If the facility reports expenditures allowable under this subdivision that are less than the amount received in the facility's annualized rate adjustment, the commissioner shall 264.27 recoup the difference. 264.28
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.437, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
 Subd. 6. Planned closure rate adjustment. (a) The commissioner of human
 services shall calculate the amount of the planned closure rate adjustment available under
 subdivision 3, paragraph (b), for up to 5,140 beds according to clauses (1) to (4):
 (1) the amount available is the net reduction of nursing facility beds multiplied
- 264.34 by \$2,080;

SS/RT

265.1 (2) the total number of beds in the nursing facility or facilities receiving the planned265.2 closure rate adjustment must be identified;

265.3 (3) capacity days are determined by multiplying the number determined under265.4 clause (2) by 365; and

265.5 (4) the planned closure rate adjustment is the amount available in clause (1), divided265.6 by capacity days determined under clause (3).

(b) A planned closure rate adjustment under this section is effective on the first day
of the month following completion of closure of the facility designated for closure in the
application and becomes part of the nursing facility's total operating payment rate.

(c) Applicants may use the planned closure rate adjustment to allow for a property
payment for a new nursing facility or an addition to an existing nursing facility or as an
operating payment rate adjustment. Applications approved under this subdivision are
exempt from other requirements for moratorium exceptions under section 144A.073,
subdivisions 2 and 3.

(d) Upon the request of a closing facility, the commissioner must allow the facility aclosure rate adjustment as provided under section 144A.161, subdivision 10.

(e) A facility that has received a planned closure rate adjustment may reassign it
to another facility that is under the same ownership at any time within three years of its
effective date. The amount of the adjustment shall be computed according to paragraph (a).

(f) If the per bed dollar amount specified in paragraph (a), clause (1), is increased,
the commissioner shall recalculate planned closure rate adjustments for facilities that
delicense beds under this section on or after July 1, 2001, to reflect the increase in the per
bed dollar amount. The recalculated planned closure rate adjustment shall be effective
from the date the per bed dollar amount is increased.

(g) For planned closures approved after June 30, 2009, the commissioner of human
services shall calculate the amount of the planned closure rate adjustment available under
subdivision 3, paragraph (b), according to paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4).

265.28 (h) Beginning July 16, 2011, the commissioner shall no longer approve planned
 265.29 closure rate adjustments under this subdivision.

265.30 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.441, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

265.32 Subd. 60. Rate increase for low-rate facilities. (a) Effective October 1, 2011,

the commissioner shall adjust the operating payment rates of a nursing facility whose

265.34 operating payment rate on September 30, 2011, is greater than the 95th percentile of all

265.35 <u>nursing facilities operating payment rates. The commissioner shall:</u>

REVISOR

A11-0177

266.1	(1) array all operating payment rates in effect on September 30, 2011, at a case-mix
266.2	weight equal to 1.00 (DDF) from lowest to highest;
266.3	(2) remove from the array any nursing facility determined by the commissioner to
266.4	be providing specialized care, determined in accordance with criteria in subdivision 51a,
266.5	paragraph (b), and any facilities receiving a rate increase under paragraph (c), clause (1);
266.6	(3) determine the 95th percentile of the array in clause (1);
266.7	(4) compute a reduction amount not to exceed five percent, if a facility's amount
266.8	in clause (1) is greater than the amount computed in clause (3) by subtracting a facility's
266.9	DDF rate in clause (1) from the amount computed in clause (3);
266.10	(5) compute the portion of each facility's DDF operating payment rate that is the
266.11	direct care per diem based on the rates in effect on September 30, 2011; and
266.12	(6) determine the change for all other case-mix levels, by multiplying the amount in
266.13	clause (4) by the percentage in clause (5) and by the corresponding case-mix weight for
266.14	each care level. Add to this product the non-direct care per diem portion of the amount
266.15	in clause (4).
266.16	(b) The total amount to be saved by the rate reductions will be computed. The
266.17	commissioner shall:
266.18	(1) for each facility receiving a rate change in paragraph (a), multiply each case-mix
266.19	level's rate change in paragraph (a), clause (6), by the corresponding case-mix resident
266.20	days from the most recent cost report that has been desk audited; and
266.21	(2) sum all the products computed in clause (1).
266.22	(c) The amount of total payment reductions computed in paragraph (b) shall be
266.23	distributed to the facilities with the lowest DDF operating payment rates determined in
266.24	paragraph (a), clause (1). The commissioner shall:
266.25	(1) for nursing facilities located no more than one-quarter mile from a peer group
266.26	with higher limits under either subdivision 50 or 51, give an operating rate adjustment.
266.27	The operating payment rates of a lower-limit peer group facility must be adjusted to be
266.28	equal to those of the nearest facility in a higher-limit peer group if that facility's RUG rate
266.29	with a weight of 1.00 is higher than the lower-limit peer group facility. Peer groups are
266.30	those defined in subdivision 30. The nearest facility must be determined by the most
266.31	direct driving route;
266.32	(2) start with the facility or facilities with the lowest DDF operating payment rate
266.33	and compute the amount of a rate adjustment needed to make the DDF rate equal to the
266.34	DDF of the facility directly below it in the array;
266.35	(3) compute the rate increases for the other case-mix levels using the amount
266.36	computed in clause (2), and the process stated in paragraph (a), clauses (5) and (6);

REVISOR

SS/RT

267.1	(4) compute the total amount the lowest facilities will receive using the process
267.2	described in paragraph (b);
267.3	(5) compute the running total to be spent at all facilities receiving an increase under
267.4	this paragraph by summing each facility's amount computed in clause (4); and
267.5	(6) repeat the process in clauses (2) to (5) as long as the amount in clause (5) does
267.6	not exceed the amount in paragraph (b), clause (2). In no case shall the DDF operating
267.7	payment rate increase determined in clauses (2) to (6) exceed five percent.
267.8	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.441, is amended by adding a
267.9	subdivision to read:
267.10	Subd. 61. Rate reduction for low-need residents. Beginning July 1, 2011, the
267.11	operating payment paid to nursing facilities by Medicaid or private pay and reimbursed
267.12	under this chapter for all residents classified as PA1 shall be reduced by the lesser of: (1)
267.13	25 percent of the PA1 rate in effect on June 30, 2011, for the specific facility; or (2) the
267.14	PA1 rate in effect on June 30, 2011, for the specific facility less the PA1 rate in effect
267.15	on June 30, 2011, for the facility at the tenth percentile of all facilities ranked from the
267.16	highest to the lowest PA1 rate in effect on June 30, 2011. No operating payment rate
267.17	increases may result from this provision.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.48, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Prohibited practices. A nursing facility is not eligible to receive
medical assistance payments unless it refrains from all of the following:

267.21 (a) Charging private paying residents rates for similar services which exceed those which are approved by the state agency for medical assistance recipients as determined by 267.22 the prospective desk audit rate, except under the following circumstances: the nursing 267.23 267.24 facility may (1) charge private paying residents a higher rate for a private room, and (2) charge for special services which are not included in the daily rate if medical assistance 267.25 residents are charged separately at the same rate for the same services in addition to 267.26 the daily rate paid by the commissioner. Services covered by the payment rate must be 267.27 the same regardless of payment source. Special services, if offered, must be available 267.28 to all residents in all areas of the nursing facility and charged separately at the same 267.29 rate. Residents are free to select or decline special services. Special services must not 267.30 include services which must be provided by the nursing facility in order to comply with 267.31 licensure or certification standards and that if not provided would result in a deficiency 267.32 or violation by the nursing facility. Services beyond those required to comply with 267.33 licensure or certification standards must not be charged separately as a special service if 267.34

they were included in the payment rate for the previous reporting year. A nursing facility 268.1 that charges a private paying resident a rate in violation of this clause is subject to an 268.2 action by the state of Minnesota or any of its subdivisions or agencies for civil damages. 268.3 A private paying resident or the resident's legal representative has a cause of action for 268.4 civil damages against a nursing facility that charges the resident rates in violation of this 268.5 clause. The damages awarded shall include three times the payments that result from the 268.6 violation, together with costs and disbursements, including reasonable attorneys' fees or 268.7 their equivalent. A private paying resident or the resident's legal representative, the state, 268.8 subdivision or agency, or a nursing facility may request a hearing to determine the allowed 268.9 rate or rates at issue in the cause of action. Within 15 calendar days after receiving a 268.10 request for such a hearing, the commissioner shall request assignment of an administrative 268.11 law judge under sections 14.48 to 14.56 to conduct the hearing as soon as possible or 268.12 according to agreement by the parties. The administrative law judge shall issue a report 268.13 within 15 calendar days following the close of the hearing. The prohibition set forth in 268.14 268.15 this clause shall not apply to facilities licensed as boarding care facilities which are not certified as skilled or intermediate care facilities level I or II for reimbursement through 268.16 medical assistance expire effective July 1, 2011. 268.17

(b)(1) Charging, soliciting, accepting, or receiving from an applicant for admission
to the facility, or from anyone acting in behalf of the applicant, as a condition of
admission, expediting the admission, or as a requirement for the individual's continued
stay, any fee, deposit, gift, money, donation, or other consideration not otherwise required
as payment under the state plan;

268.23 (2) requiring an individual, or anyone acting in behalf of the individual, to loan268.24 any money to the nursing facility;

268.25 (3) requiring an individual, or anyone acting in behalf of the individual, to promise268.26 to leave all or part of the individual's estate to the facility; or

268.27 (4) requiring a third-party guarantee of payment to the facility as a condition of268.28 admission, expedited admission, or continued stay in the facility.

Nothing in this paragraph would prohibit discharge for nonpayment of services inaccordance with state and federal regulations.

(c) Requiring any resident of the nursing facility to utilize a vendor of health care
services chosen by the nursing facility. A nursing facility may require a resident to use
pharmacies that utilize unit dose packing systems approved by the Minnesota Board of
Pharmacy, and may require a resident to use pharmacies that are able to meet the federal
regulations for safe and timely administration of medications such as systems with specific
number of doses, prompt delivery of medications, or access to medications on a 24-hour

SS/RT

basis. Notwithstanding the provisions of this paragraph, nursing facilities shall not restrict
a resident's choice of pharmacy because the pharmacy utilizes a specific system of unit
dose drug packing.

269.4 (d) Providing differential treatment on the basis of status with regard to public269.5 assistance.

(e) Discriminating in admissions, services offered, or room assignment on the
basis of status with regard to public assistance or refusal to purchase special services.
Admissions discrimination shall include, but is not limited to:

(1) basing admissions decisions upon assurance by the applicant to the nursing
facility, or the applicant's guardian or conservator, that the applicant is neither eligible for
nor will seek public assistance for payment of nursing facility care costs; and

269.12 (2) engaging in preferential selection from waiting lists based on an applicant's269.13 ability to pay privately or an applicant's refusal to pay for a special service.

The collection and use by a nursing facility of financial information of any applicant pursuant to a preadmission screening program established by law shall not raise an inference that the nursing facility is utilizing that information for any purpose prohibited by this paragraph.

(f) Requiring any vendor of medical care as defined by section 256B.02, subdivision 269.18 7, who is reimbursed by medical assistance under a separate fee schedule, to pay any 269.19 amount based on utilization or service levels or any portion of the vendor's fee to the 269.20 nursing facility except as payment for renting or leasing space or equipment or purchasing 269.21 support services from the nursing facility as limited by section 256B.433. All agreements 269.22 269.23 must be disclosed to the commissioner upon request of the commissioner. Nursing facilities and vendors of ancillary services that are found to be in violation of this provision 269.24 shall each be subject to an action by the state of Minnesota or any of its subdivisions or 269.25 agencies for treble civil damages on the portion of the fee in excess of that allowed by 269.26 this provision and section 256B.433. Damages awarded must include three times the 269.27 excess payments together with costs and disbursements including reasonable attorney's 269.28 fees or their equivalent. 269.29

(g) Refusing, for more than 24 hours, to accept a resident returning to the same
bed or a bed certified for the same level of care, in accordance with a physician's order
authorizing transfer, after receiving inpatient hospital services.

For a period not to exceed 180 days, the commissioner may continue to make medical assistance payments to a nursing facility or boarding care home which is in violation of this section if extreme hardship to the residents would result. In these cases the commissioner shall issue an order requiring the nursing facility to correct the violation.

A11-0177

The nursing facility shall have 20 days from its receipt of the order to correct the violation. 270.1 270.2 If the violation is not corrected within the 20-day period the commissioner may reduce the payment rate to the nursing facility by up to 20 percent. The amount of the payment 270.3 rate reduction shall be related to the severity of the violation and shall remain in effect 270.4 until the violation is corrected. The nursing facility or boarding care home may appeal the 270.5 commissioner's action pursuant to the provisions of chapter 14 pertaining to contested 270.6 cases. An appeal shall be considered timely if written notice of appeal is received by the 270.7 commissioner within 20 days of notice of the commissioner's proposed action. 270.8

In the event that the commissioner determines that a nursing facility is not eligible for reimbursement for a resident who is eligible for medical assistance, the commissioner may authorize the nursing facility to receive reimbursement on a temporary basis until the resident can be relocated to a participating nursing facility.

270.13 Certified beds in facilities which do not allow medical assistance intake on July 1,
270.14 1984, or after shall be deemed to be decertified for purposes of section 144A.071 only.

270.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

270.16 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.49, is amended by adding a 270.17 subdivision to read:

270.18 <u>Subd. 10a.</u> **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have 270.19 the meanings given.

270.20 (b) "Comprehensive transitional service plan" means a plan detailing specific

270.21 measurable functional skills and timelines and additional systems of support for achieving

270.22 <u>the fundamental service outcome.</u>

270.23 (c) "Functional milestone" means a functional skill attained through service
 270.24 outcomes that take the place of a provider funded service.

270.25 (d) "Fundamental service outcome" means the specific end objective for the service
270.26 being provided.

270.27 (e) "Natural community supports" means relationships developed with friends,

270.28 <u>family</u>, work places, neighborhoods, and organizations that are not reimbursed to provide

270.29 supportive relationships that enhance the quality and security of individuals in their

- 270.30 <u>communities.</u>
- 270.31 (f) "Short-term service outcome" means the measurable functional skill outcomes
 270.32 necessary to achieve the fundamental service outcome.
- 270.33 (g) "Transitional service planning team" means the individual receiving services;

270.34 the case manager; service providers; the guardian, if applicable; and other identified

270.35 individuals such as advocates, family members, and other natural supports who are able

	03/21/11 07.37 AM REVISOR 35/RI	A11-01//
271.1	1 to commit to a plan of support, housing, and treatment that maximizes the	he individual's
271.2	2 opportunity for success in transitioning to community living or the next	level of care.
271.3	3 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.49, subdivision 12, is	amended to read:
271.4	4 Subd. 12. Informed choice. Persons who are determined likely t	o require the
271.5	5 level of care provided in a nursing facility as determined under sections	; 144.0724,
271.6	⁶ subdivision 11, and section 256B.0911, or <u>a hospital shall be informed c</u>	of the home and
271.7	community-based support alternatives to the provision of inpatient hosp	ital services or
271.8	8 nursing facility services. Each person must be given the choice of either	· institutional or
271.9	home and community-based services using the provisions described in s	ection 256B.77,
271.10	10 subdivision 2, paragraph (p).	
271.11	11 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.49, subdivision 13, is	amended to read:
271.12	12 Subd. 13. Case management. (a) Each recipient of a home and co	ommunity-based
271.13	13 waiver <u>under this section</u> shall be provided case management services <u>a</u>	ccording to
271.14	14 section 256B.092, subdivisions 1a, 1b, and 1e, by qualified vendors as d	escribed in the
271.15	15 federally approved waiver application. The case management service ac	tivities provided
271.16	16 will include:	
271.17	17 (1) assessing the needs of the individual within 20 working days o	f a recipient's
271.18	18 request;	
271.19	19 (2) developing the written individual service plan within ten worki	ng days after the
271.20	20 assessment is completed;	
271.21	21 (3) informing the recipient or the recipient's legal guardian or cons	ervator of service
271.22	22 options;	
271.23	23 (4) assisting the recipient in the identification of potential service p	providers;
271.24	24 (5) assisting the recipient to access services;	
271.25	25 (6) coordinating, evaluating, and monitoring of the services identif	ied in the service
271.26	26 plan;	
271.27	(7) completing the annual reviews of the service plan; and	
271.28	28 (8) informing the recipient or legal representative of the right to ha	ive assessments
271.29	29 completed and service plans developed within specified time periods, and	to appeal county
271.30	³⁰ action or inaction under section 256.045, subdivision 3, including the de	termination of
271.31	³¹ nursing facility level of care.	
271.32		C
271.33	33 activities to another individual provided there is oversight by the case m	anager. The case

REVISOR

SS/RT

A11-0177

03/21/11 07:39 AM

REVISOR

272.1 manager may not delegate those aspects which require professional judgment including 272.2 assessments, reassessments, and care plan development.

272.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2012.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.49, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
Subd. 14. Assessment and reassessment. (a) Assessments of each recipient's
strengths, informal support systems, and need for services shall be completed within 20
working days of the recipient's request as provided in section 256B.0911. Reassessment
of each recipient's strengths, support systems, and need for services shall be conducted
at least every 12 months and at other times when there has been a significant change in
the recipient's functioning.

(b) There must be a determination that the client requires a hospital level of care or a
nursing facility level of care as defined in section 144.0724, subdivision 11 256B.0911,
<u>subdivision 4a, paragraph (d)</u>, at initial and subsequent assessments to initiate and
maintain participation in the waiver program.

(c) Regardless of other assessments identified in section 144.0724, subdivision 4, as
appropriate to determine nursing facility level of care for purposes of medical assistance
payment for nursing facility services, only face-to-face assessments conducted according
to section 256B.0911, subdivisions 3a, 3b, and 4d, that result in a hospital level of care
determination or a nursing facility level of care determination must be accepted for
purposes of initial and ongoing access to waiver services payment.

(d) Persons with developmental disabilities who apply for services under the nursing
facility level waiver programs shall be screened for the appropriate level of care according
to section 256B.092.

(e) Recipients who are found eligible for home and community-based services under
this section before their 65th birthday may remain eligible for these services after their
65th birthday if they continue to meet all other eligibility factors.

272.27 (f) The commissioner shall develop criteria to identify individuals whose level of

272.28 <u>functioning is reasonably expected to improve and reassess these individuals every six</u>

272.29 months. Individuals who meet these criteria must have a comprehensive transitional

272.30 service plan developed under subdivision 15, paragraphs (b) and (c). Counties, case

272.31 managers, and service providers are responsible for conducting these reassessments and

272.32 <u>shall complete the reassessments out of existing funds.</u>

272.33 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2012.

A11-0177

273.1	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.49, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
273.2	Subd. 15. Individualized Coordinated service and support plan; comprehensive
273.3	transitional service plan; maintenance service plan. (a) Each recipient of home and
273.4	community-based waivered services shall be provided a copy of the written coordinated
273.5	service and support plan which: that complies with the requirements of section 256B.092,
273.6	subdivision 1b.
273.7	(1) is developed and signed by the recipient within ten working days of the
273.8	completion of the assessment;
273.9	(2) meets the assessed needs of the recipient;
273.10	(3) reasonably ensures the health and safety of the recipient;
273.11	(4) promotes independence;
273.12	(5) allows for services to be provided in the most integrated settings; and
273.13	(6) provides for an informed choice, as defined in section 256B.77, subdivision 2,
273.14	paragraph (p), of service and support providers.
273.15	(b) In developing the comprehensive transitional service plan, the individual
273.16	receiving services, the case manager, and the guardian, if applicable, will identify
273.17	the transitional service plan fundamental service outcome and anticipated timeline to
273.18	achieve this outcome. Within the first 20 days following a recipient's request for an
273.19	assessment or reassessment, the transitional service planning team must be identified. A
273.20	team leader must be identified who will be responsible for assigning responsibility and
273.21	communicating with team members to ensure implementation of the transition plan and
273.22	ongoing assessment and communication process. The team leader should be an individual,
273.23	such as the case manager or guardian, who has the opportunity to follow the individual to
273.24	the next level of service.
273.25	Within ten days following an assessment, a comprehensive transitional service plan
273.26	must be developed incorporating elements of a comprehensive functional assessment and
273.27	including short-term measurable outcomes and timelines for achievement of and reporting
273.28	on these outcomes. Functional milestones must also be identified and reported according
273.29	to the timelines agreed upon by the transitional service planning team. In addition, the
273.30	comprehensive transitional service plan must identify additional supports that may assist
273.31	in the achievement of the fundamental service outcome such as the development of greater
273.32	natural community support, increased collaboration among agencies, and technological
273.33	supports.
273.34	The timelines for reporting on functional milestones will prompt a reassessment of
273.35	services provided, the units of services, rates, and appropriate service providers. It is
273.36	the responsibility of the transitional service planning team leader to review functional

274.1	milestone reporting to determine if the milestones are consistent with observable skills
274.2	and that milestone achievement prompts any needed changes to the comprehensive
274.3	transitional service plan.
274.4	For those whose fundamental transitional service outcome involves the need to
274.5	procure housing, a plan for the individual to seek the resources necessary to secure
274.6	the least restrictive housing possible should be incorporated into the plan, including
274.7	employment and public supports such as housing access and shelter needy funding.
274.8	(c) Counties and other agencies responsible for funding community placement and
274.9	ongoing community supportive services are responsible for the implementation of the
274.10	comprehensive transitional service plans. Oversight responsibilities include both ensuring
274.11	effective transitional service delivery and efficient utilization of funding resources.
274.12	(d) Following one year of transitional services, the transitional services planning
274.13	team will make a determination as to whether or not the individual receiving services
274.14	requires the current level of continuous and consistent support in order to maintain the
274.15	individual's current level of functioning. Individuals who move from a transitional to a
274.16	maintenance service plan must be reassessed to determine if the individual would benefit
274.17	from a transitional service plan on at least an annual basis. This assessment should
274.18	consider any changes to technological or natural community supports.
274.19	(b) (e) When a county is evaluating denials, reductions, or terminations of home
274.20	and community-based services under section 256B.49 for an individual, the case manager
274.21	shall offer to meet with the individual or the individual's guardian in order to discuss the
274.22	prioritization of service needs within the individualized service plan, comprehensive
274.23	transitional service plan, or maintenance service plan. The reduction in the authorized
274.24	services for an individual due to changes in funding for waivered services may not exceed
274.25	the amount needed to ensure medically necessary services to meet the individual's health,

274.26 safety, and welfare.

274.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2012.

274.28 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a 274.29 subdivision to read:

274.30 Subd. 9. ICF/MR rate increase. Effective July 1, 2011, the commissioner shall
 274.31 increase the daily rate to \$138.23 at an intermediate care facility for the developmentally
 274.32 disabled located in Clearwater County and classified as a class A facility with 15 beds.

274.33 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

- 275.1 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a 275.2 subdivision to read:
- Subd. 10. ICF/MR rate adjustment. For each facility reimbursed under this
 section, except for a facility located in Clearwater County and classified as a class A
 facility with 15 beds, the commissioner shall decrease operating payment rates equal to ...
 percent of the operating payment rates in effect on June 30, 2011. For each facility, the
 commissioner shall apply the rate reduction, based on occupied beds, using the percentage
 specified in this subdivision multiplied by the total payment rate, including the variable rate
 but excluding the property-related payment rate, in effect on the preceding date. The total
- 275.10 rate reduction shall include the adjustment provided in section 256B.501, subdivision 12.
- 275.11 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256G.02, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
 275.12 Subd. 6. Excluded time. "Excluded time" means:
- (a) any period an applicant spends in a hospital, sanitarium, nursing home, shelter
 other than an emergency shelter, halfway house, foster home, semi-independent living
 domicile or services program, residential facility offering care, board and lodging facility
 or other institution for the hospitalization or care of human beings, as defined in section
 144.50, 144A.01, or 245A.02, subdivision 14; maternity home, battered women's shelter,
 or correctional facility; or any facility based on an emergency hold under sections
 253B.05, subdivisions 1 and 2, and 253B.07, subdivision 6;
- (b) any period an applicant spends on a placement basis in a training and habilitation
 program, including a rehabilitation facility or work or employment program as defined
 in section 268A.01; or receiving personal care assistance services pursuant to section
 275.23 256B.0659; semi-independent living services provided under section 252.275, and
- 275.24 Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0500 to 9525.0660; day training and habilitation programs 275.25 and assisted living services; and
- (c) any placement for a person with an indeterminate commitment, includingindependent living.

275.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2011.

- 275.29 Sec. 49. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 8, section 4, the effective date, as amended by 275.30 Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 24, section 12, is amended to read:
- EFFECTIVE DATE. The This section is effective July 1, 2011 on or after January
 1, 2014, for individuals age 21 and older, and on or after October 1, 2019, for individuals
 under age 21.

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
276.1	Sec. 50. Laws 2009, chapter 7	9, article 8, section 51	, the effective date,	as amended by
276.2	Laws 2010, First Special Session	chapter 1, article 17, s	section 14, is amend	led to read:
276.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2011 January 1, 2014.			<u>1, 2014</u> .
276.4	Sec. 51. Laws 2009, chapter 7	79, article 13, section 3	3, subdivision 8, as	amended by
276.5	Laws 2009, chapter 173, article 2	, section 1, subdivisio	n 8, and Laws 2010	, First Special
276.6	Session chapter 1, article 15, section 5, and article 25, section 16, is amended to read:			ed to read:
276.7	Subd. 8. Continuing Care Grants			
276.8	The amounts that may be spent f	rom the		
276.9	appropriation for each purpose are	e as follows:		
276.10	(a) Aging and Adult Services G	rants	13,499,000	15,805,000
276.11	Base Adjustment. The general f	und base is		
276.12	increased by \$5,751,000 in fiscal	year 2012		
276.13	and \$6,705,000 in fiscal year 201	3.		
276.14	Information and Assistance			
276.15	Reimbursement. Federal admin	istrative		
276.16	reimbursement obtained from inf	ormation		
276.17	and assistance services provided	by the		
276.18	Senior LinkAge or Disability Lin	kage lines		
276.19	to people who are identified as el	igible for		
276.20	medical assistance shall be appro	priated to		
276.21	the commissioner for this activity	<i>.</i>		
276.22	Community Service Developme	ent Grant		
276.23	Reduction. Funding for commun	ity service		
276.24	development grants must be redu	iced by		
276.25	\$260,000 for fiscal year 2010; \$2	84,000 in		
276.26	fiscal year 2011; \$43,000 in fiscal	year 2012;		
276.27	and \$43,000 in fiscal year 2013.	Base level		
276.28	funding shall be restored in fiscal	year 2014.		
276.29	Community Service Developme	ent Grant		
276.30	Community Initiative. Funding	, for		
276.31	community service development	grants shall		
276.32	be used to offset the cost of aging	g support		

REVISOR

277.1	grants. Base level funding shall be restored		
277.2	in fiscal year 2014.		
277.3	Senior Nutrition Use of Federal Funds.		
277.4	For fiscal year 2010, general fund grants		
277.5	for home-delivered meals and congregate		
277.6	dining shall be reduced by \$500,000. The		
277.7	commissioner must replace these general		
277.8	fund reductions with equal amounts from		
277.9	federal funding for senior nutrition from the		
277.10	American Recovery and Reinvestment Act		
277.11	of 2009.		
277.12	(b) Alternative Care Grants	50,234,000	48,576,000
277.13	Base Adjustment. The general fund base is		
277.14	decreased by \$3,598,000 in fiscal year 2012		
277.15	and \$3,470,000 in fiscal year 2013.		
277.16	Alternative Care Transfer. Any money		
277.17	allocated to the alternative care program that		
277.18	is not spent for the purposes indicated does		
277.19	not cancel but must be transferred to the		
277.20	medical assistance account.		
277.21 277.22	(c) Medical Assistance Grants; Long-Term Care Facilities.	367,444,000	419,749,000
277.23 277.24	(d) Medical Assistance Long-Term Care Waivers and Home Care Grants	853,567,000	1,039,517,000
277.25	Manage Growth in TBI and CADI		
277.26	Waivers. During the fiscal years beginning		
277.27	on July 1, 2009, and July 1, 2010, the		
277.28	commissioner shall allocate money for home		
277.29	and community-based waiver programs		
277.30	under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.49,		
277.31	to ensure a reduction in state spending that is		
277.32	equivalent to limiting the caseload growth of		
277.33	the TBI waiver to 12.5 allocations per month		
277.34	each year of the biennium and the CADI		
277.35	waiver to 95 allocations per month each year		

REVISOR

A11-0177

278.1	of the biennium. Limits do not apply: (1)
278.2	when there is an approved plan for nursing
278.3	facility bed closures for individuals under
278.4	age 65 who require relocation due to the
278.5	bed closure; (2) to fiscal year 2009 waiver
278.6	allocations delayed due to unallotment; or (3)
278.7	to transfers authorized by the commissioner
278.8	from the personal care assistance program
278.9	of individuals having a home care rating
278.10	of "CS," "MT," or "HL." Priorities for the
278.11	allocation of funds must be for individuals
278.12	anticipated to be discharged from institutional
278.13	settings or who are at imminent risk of a
278.14	placement in an institutional setting.
278.15	Manage Growth in DD Waiver. The
278.16	commissioner shall manage the growth in
278.17	the DD waiver by limiting the allocations
278.18	included in the February 2009 forecast to 15
278.19	additional diversion allocations each month
278.20	for the calendar years that begin on January
278.21	1, 2010, and January 1, 2011. Additional
278.22	allocations must be made available for
278.23	transfers authorized by the commissioner
278.24	from the personal care program of individuals
278.25	having a home care rating of "CS," "MT,"
278.26	or "HL."
070 07	Adiustin and to I and America W/
278.27	Adjustment to Lead Agency Waiver
278.28	Allocations. Prior to the availability of the
278 20	alternative license defined in Minnesota

278.29 alternative license defined in Minnesota

278.30 Statutes, section 245A.11, subdivision 8,

278.31 the commissioner shall reduce lead agency

278.32 waiver allocations for the purposes of

278.33 implementing a moratorium on corporate

278.34 foster care.

1,917,000

122,822,000

279.1	Alternatives to Personal Care Assistance	
279.2	Services. Base level funding of \$3,237,000	
279.3	in fiscal year 2012 and \$4,856,000 in	
279.4	fiseal year 2013 is to implement alternative	
279.5	services to personal care assistance services	
279.6	for persons with mental health and other	
279.7	behavioral challenges who can benefit	
279.8	from other services that more appropriately	
279.9	meet their needs and assist them in living	
279.10	independently in the community. These	
279.11	services may include, but not be limited to, a	
279.12	1915(i) state plan option.	
279.13	(e) Mental Health Grants	
279.14	Appropriations by Fund	
279.15	General 77,739,000 77,739,000	
279.16	Health Care Access750,000750,000	
279.17	Lottery Prize 1,508,000 1,508,000	
279.18	Funding Usage. Up to 75 percent of a fiscal	
279.19	year's appropriation for adult mental health	
279.20	grants may be used to fund allocations in that	
279.21	portion of the fiscal year ending December	
279.22	31.	
279.23	(f) Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Grants	1,930,000
279.24	(g) Chemical Dependency Entitlement Grants	11,303,000
279.25	Payments for Substance Abuse Treatment.	
279.26	For placements beginning during fiscal years	
279.27	2010 and 2011, county-negotiated rates and	
279.28	provider claims to the consolidated chemical	
279.29	dependency fund must not exceed the lesser	
279.30	of:	
279.31	(1) rates charged for these services on	
279.32	January 1, 2009; or	

A11-0177

SS/RT

- 280.1 (2) 160 percent of the average rate on January
- 1, 2009, for each group of vendors with
- 280.3 similar attributes.
- 280.4 Rates for fiscal years 2010 and 2011 must
- 280.5 not exceed 160 percent of the average rate on
- 280.6 January 1, 2009, for each group of vendors
- 280.7 with similar attributes.

Effective July 1, 2010, rates that were above 280.8 280.9 the average rate on January 1, 2009, are reduced by five percent from the rates in 280.10 effect on June 1, 2010. Rates below the 280.11 average rate on January 1, 2009, are reduced 280.12 by 1.8 percent from the rates in effect on 280.13 June 1, 2010. Services provided under 280.14 this section by state-operated services are 280.15 exempt from the rate reduction. For services 280.16 provided in fiscal years 2012 and 2013, the 280.17 statewide aggregate payment under the new 280.18 rate methodology to be developed under 280.19 Minnesota Statutes, section 254B.12, must 280.20 not exceed the projected aggregate payment 280.21 280.22 under the rates in effect for fiscal year 2011 excluding the rate reduction for rates that 280.23 were below the average on January 1, 2009, 280.24 plus a state share increase of \$3,787,000 for 280.25 fiscal year 2012 and \$5,023,000 for fiscal 280.26 year 2013. Notwithstanding any provision 280.27 to the contrary in this article, this provision 280.28 expires on June 30, 2013. 280.29

- 280.30 Chemical Dependency Special Revenue
- 280.31 Account. For fiscal year 2010, \$750,000
- 280.32 must be transferred from the consolidated
- 280.33 chemical dependency treatment fund
- administrative account and deposited into the
- 280.35 general fund.

REVISOR

281.1	County CD Share of MA Costs for		
281.2	ARRA Compliance. Notwithstanding the		
281.3	provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter		
281.4	254B, for chemical dependency services		
281.5	provided during the period October 1, 2008,		
281.6	to December 31, 2010, and reimbursed by		
281.7	medical assistance at the enhanced federal		
281.8	matching rate provided under the American		
281.9	Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, the		
281.10	county share is 30 percent of the nonfederal		
281.11	share. This provision is effective the day		
281.12	following final enactment.		
281.13 281.14	(h) Chemical Dependency Nonentitlement Grants	1,729,000	1,729,000
281.15	(i) Other Continuing Care Grants	19,201,000	17,528,000
281.16	Base Adjustment. The general fund base is		
281.17	increased by \$2,639,000 in fiscal year 2012		
281.18	and increased by \$3,854,000 in fiscal year		
281.19	2013.		
281.20	Technology Grants. \$650,000 in fiscal		
281.21	year 2010 and \$1,000,000 in fiscal year		
281.22	2011 are for technology grants, case		
281.23	consultation, evaluation, and consumer		
281.24	information grants related to developing and		
281.25	supporting alternatives to shift-staff foster		
281.26	care residential service models.		
281.27	Other Continuing Care Grants; HIV		
281.28	Grants. Money appropriated for the HIV		
281.29	drug and insurance grant program in fiscal		
281.30	year 2010 may be used in either year of the		
281.31	biennium.		
281.32	Quality Assurance Commission. Effective		
281.33	July 1, 2009, state funding for the quality		
281.34	assurance commission under Minnesota		
281.35	Statutes, section 256B.0951, is canceled.		

282.1 Sec. 52. DIRECTIONS TO COMMISSIONER.

Subdivision 1. Community first choice option. (a) The commissioner shall 282.2 provide information on all state-funded grants and medical assistance-funded services and 282.3 programs which could be included in the community first choice option, including those in 282.4 the continuing care and mental health and children's mental health divisions that provide 282.5 assistance in a home or in the community for individuals in the eligibility categories 282.6 described in paragraph (b). Recommendations on the grants and programs and the number 282.7 of persons who use those grants and programs and would be eligible for home and 282.8 community-based attendant services and supports and any changes to Minnesota Statutes 282.9 or Minnesota Rules shall be provided to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over 282.10 health and human services finance and policy by January 15, 2012. 282.11 (b) For individuals whose income is less than 150 percent of the federal poverty 282.12 282.13 guidelines and who qualify for semi-independent living services under Minnesota Statutes, section 252.275, and epilepsy demonstration project funding, the commissioner 282.14 shall assure an assessment under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, subdivision 3a, 282.15 is completed by November 30, 2011, for home and community-based attendant services 282.16 and supports. 282.17 282.18 Subd. 2. Co-payments for home and community-based services. Upon federal approval, the commissioner of human services shall develop and implement a co-payment 282.19 schedule for individuals receiving home and community-based services under Minnesota 282.20 282.21 Statutes, chapter 256B. Subd. 3. Federal waiver amendment. The commissioner shall seek an amendment 282.22 to the 1915c home and community-based waivers under Minnesota Statutes, sections 282.23 256B.092 and 256B.49, to allow properly licensed residential programs under Minnesota 282.24 282.25 Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 14, to provide residential services to up to eight individuals with physical or developmental disabilities, chronic illnesses, or traumatic 282.26 282.27 brain injuries. 282.28 Subd. 4. Recommendations for personal care assistance service changes. The commissioner shall consult with stakeholder groups, including counties, advocates, 282.29 persons receiving personal care assistance services, and personal care assistance providers, 282.30 282.31 and make recommendations to the legislature by February 1, 2012, on changes that could be made to the program to improve oversight, program efficiency, and cost-effectiveness. 282.32 Subd. 5. Nursing facility pay-for-performance reimbursement system. 282.33 The commissioner of human services shall report to the legislative committees with 282.34

- jurisdiction over nursing facility policy and finance with recommendations for developing
 and implementing a pay-for-performance reimbursement system with a quality add-on by
 January 15, 2012.
- 283.4 Subd. 6. ICF/MR transition plan. The commissioner of human services shall work with stakeholders to develop and implement a plan by June 30, 2013, to transition 283.5 individuals currently residing in intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 283.6 disabilities into the least restrictive community settings possible. The plan must include a 283.7 requirement for a cooperative planning process between the counties and providers for 283.8 283.9 the downsizing or closure of intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 283.10 disabilities, with funding from the bed closures converting to home and community-based waiver funding to fund services for those leaving the intermediate care facilities for 283.11 283.12 persons with developmental disabilities based on a plan approved by the commissioner. In order to facilitate this process, the commissioner shall provide information to facilities and 283.13 counties about the number of people in facilities who have requested to move to home and 283.14 community-based services. Individuals residing in intermediate care facilities for persons 283.15 with developmental disabilities who choose to remain there or whose health or safety 283.16 283.17 would be put at risk in a less restrictive setting may continue to reside in intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities. 283.18

283.19 Sec. 53. <u>STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO IMPLEMENT SELF-DIRECTED</u> 283.20 <u>PERSONAL SUPPORTS.</u>

283.21By July 15, 2011, the commissioner shall submit a state plan amendment to283.22implement Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0657, as soon as possible upon federal283.23approval.

283.24 Sec. 54. <u>AMENDMENT FOR SELF-DIRECTED COMMUNITY SUPPORTS.</u>

By September 1, 2011, the commissioner shall submit an amendment to the home and community-based waiver programs consistent with implementing the self-directed option under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0657, through statewide enrolled providers contracted to provide outreach information, training, and fiscal support entity services to all eligible recipients choosing this option and with shared care in some types of services. The waiver amendment shall be consistent with changes in case management services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.092.

283.32 Sec. 55. ESTABLISHMENT OF RATES FOR SHARED HOME AND 283.33 COMMUNITY-BASED WAIVER SERVICES.

284.1By January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall establish rates to be paid for in-home284.2services and personal supports under all of the home and community-based waiver284.3services programs consistent with the standards in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4912,284.4subdivision 2.

284.5 Sec. 56. ESTABLISHMENT OF RATE FOR CASE MANAGEMENT 284.6 SERVICES.

- 284.7By January 1, 2012, the commissioner shall establish the rate to be paid for284.8case management services under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.092 and 256B.49,
- 284.9 consistent with the standards in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4912, subdivision 2.

284.10 Sec. 57. <u>RECOMMENDATIONS FOR FURTHER CASE MANAGEMENT</u> 284.11 REDESIGN.

284.12 <u>By February 1, 2012, the commissioner of human services shall develop a legislative</u> 284.13 <u>report with specific recommendations and language for proposed legislation to be effective</u> 284.14 July 1, 2012, for the following:

- 284.15 (1) definitions of service and consolidation of standards and rates to the extent
- 284.16 <u>appropriate for all types of medical assistance case management services, including</u>
- 284.17 targeted case management under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.0621; 256B.0625,
- 284.18 <u>subdivision 20; and 256B.0924; mental health case management services for children</u>
- 284.19 and adults, all types of home and community-based waiver case management, and case
- 284.20 management under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0036. This work shall be
- 284.21 <u>completed in collaboration with efforts under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4912;</u>
- 284.22 (2) recommendations on county of financial responsibility requirements and quality
- 284.23 <u>assurance measures for case management; and</u>
- 284.24 (3) identification of county administrative functions that may remain entwined in
 284.25 <u>case management service delivery models.</u>

284.26 Sec. 58. <u>MY LIFE, MY CHOICES TASK FORCE.</u>

284.27Subdivision 1. Establishment. The My Life, My Choices Task Force is established284.28to create a system of supports and services for people with disabilities governed by the284.29following principles:

- 284.30 (1) freedom to act as a consumer of services in the marketplace;
- 284.31 (2) freedom to choose to take as much risk as any other citizen;
- 284.32 (3) more choices in levels of service that may vary throughout life;

REVISOR

285.1	(4) opportunity to work with a trusted partner and fiscal support entity to manage a
285.2	personal budget and to be accountable for reporting spending and personal outcomes;
285.3	(5) opportunity to live with minimal constraints instead of minimal freedoms; and
285.4	(6) ability to consolidate funding streams into an individualized budget.
285.5	Subd. 2. Membership. The My Life, My Choices Task Force shall consist of the
285.6	lieutenant governor; the commissioner of human services, or designee; a representative of
285.7	the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce; and the following to be appointed by the governor:
285.8	one administrative law judge, one labor representative, two family members of people
285.9	with disabilities, and one individual with disabilities. In addition, the following shall be
285.10	appointed jointly by the speaker of the house and the senate Subcommittee on Committees
285.11	of the Committee on Rules and Administration, a representative of a disability advocacy
285.12	organization; a representative of a disability legal services advocacy organization;
285.13	representatives of two nonprofit organizations, one of which serves all 87 counties; and a
285.14	representative of a philanthropic organization. The chairs and ranking minority members
285.15	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and
285.16	finance shall serve as ex officio members.
285.17	Subd. 3. Duties. The task force shall make recommendations, including proposed
285.18	legislation, and report to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and
285.19	human services policy and finance by November 15, 2011, on creating a system of
285.20	supports and services for people with disabilities by July 1, 2012, as governed by the
285.21	principles under subdivision 1. In making recommendations and proposed legislation, the
285.22	council shall work in conjunction with the Consumer-Directed Community Supports Task
285.23	Force and shall include self-directed planning, individual budgeting, choice of trusted
285.24	partner, self-directed purchasing of services and supports, reporting of outcomes, ability
285.25	to share in any savings, and any additional rules or laws that may need to be waived.
285.26	Recommendations from the task force shall be fully implemented by July 1, 2013.
285.27	Subd. 4. Expense reimbursement. The members of the task force shall not be
285.28	reimbursed for expenses related to the duties of the task force.
285.29	Subd. 5. Expiration. The task force expires on July 1, 2013.
285.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

286.1 ARTICLE 8 286.2 REDESIGNING SERVICE DELIVERY 286.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 119B.09, is amended by adding a 286.4 subdivision to read: 286.5 Subd. 4b. Electronic verification. County agencies are authorized to use all 286.6 automated databases containing information regarding recipients' or applicants' income 286.7 in order to determine eligibility for the child care assistance under this chapter. The

286.8 information is sufficient to determine eligibility.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.01, subdivision 14b, is amended to read: 286.9 Subd. 14b. American Indian child welfare projects. (a) The commissioner of 286.10 human services may authorize projects to test tribal delivery of child welfare services to 286.11 American Indian children and their parents and custodians living on the reservation. 286.12 The commissioner has authority to solicit and determine which tribes may participate 286.13 in a project. Grants may be issued to Minnesota Indian tribes to support the projects. 286.14 286.15 The commissioner may waive existing state rules as needed to accomplish the projects. Notwithstanding section 626.556, the commissioner may authorize projects to use 286.16 alternative methods of investigating and assessing reports of child maltreatment, provided 286.17 that the projects comply with the provisions of section 626.556 dealing with the rights 286.18 of individuals who are subjects of reports or investigations, including notice and appeal 286.19 286.20 rights and data practices requirements. The commissioner may seek any federal approvals necessary to carry out the projects as well as seek and use any funds available to the 286.21 commissioner, including use of federal funds, foundation funds, existing grant funds, 286.22 286.23 and other funds. The commissioner is authorized to advance state funds as necessary to operate the projects. Federal reimbursement applicable to the projects is appropriated 286.24 to the commissioner for the purposes of the projects. The projects must be required to 286.25 address responsibility for safety, permanency, and well-being of children. 286.26

(b) For the purposes of this section, "American Indian child" means a person under
18 years of age who is a tribal member or eligible for membership in one of the tribes
chosen for a project under this subdivision and who is residing on the reservation of
that tribe.

286.31 (c) In order to qualify for an American Indian child welfare project, a tribe must:

286.32 (1) be one of the existing tribes with reservation land in Minnesota;

286.33 (2) have a tribal court with jurisdiction over child custody proceedings;

(3) have a substantial number of children for whom determinations of maltreatmenthave occurred;

(4) have capacity to respond to reports of abuse and neglect under section 626.556;

287.2 (5) provide a wide range of services to families in need of child welfare services; and

287.3 (6) have a tribal-state title IV-E agreement in effect.

(d) Grants awarded under this section may be used for the nonfederal costs of

287.5 providing child welfare services to American Indian children on the tribe's reservation,

287.6 including costs associated with:

287.7 (1) assessment and prevention of child abuse and neglect;

287.8 (2) family preservation;

287.9 (3) facilitative, supportive, and reunification services;

(4) out-of-home placement for children removed from the home for child protectivepurposes; and

(5) other activities and services approved by the commissioner that further the goalsof providing safety, permanency, and well-being of American Indian children.

(e) When a tribe has initiated a project and has been approved by the commissioner 287.14 to assume child welfare responsibilities for American Indian children of that tribe under 287.15 this section, the affected county social service agency is relieved of responsibility for 287.16 responding to reports of abuse and neglect under section 626.556 for those children 287.17 during the time within which the tribal project is in effect and funded. The commissioner 287.18 shall work with tribes and affected counties to develop procedures for data collection, 287.19 evaluation, and clarification of ongoing role and financial responsibilities of the county 287.20 and tribe for child welfare services prior to initiation of the project. Children who have not 287.21 been identified by the tribe as participating in the project shall remain the responsibility 287.22 of the county. Nothing in this section shall alter responsibilities of the county for law 287.23 enforcement or court services. 287.24

(f) Participating tribes may conduct children's mental health screenings under section
245.4874, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (14), for children who are eligible for the
initiative and living on the reservation and who meet one of the following criteria:

(1) the child must be receiving child protective services;

287.28 287.29

(2) the child must be in foster care; or

(3) the child's parents must have had parental rights suspended or terminated.
Tribes may access reimbursement from available state funds for conducting the screenings.
Nothing in this section shall alter responsibilities of the county for providing services
under section 245.487.

(g) Participating tribes may establish a local child mortality review panel. In
 establishing a local child mortality review panel, the tribe agrees to conduct local child
 mortality reviews for child deaths or near-fatalities occurring on the reservation under

subdivision 12. Tribes with established child mortality review panels shall have access
to nonpublic data and shall protect nonpublic data under subdivision 12, paragraphs (c)
to (e). The tribe shall provide written notice to the commissioner and affected counties
when a local child mortality review panel has been established and shall provide data upon
request of the commissioner for purposes of sharing nonpublic data with members of the
state child mortality review panel in connection to an individual case.

(h) The commissioner shall collect information on outcomes relating to child safety,
permanency, and well-being of American Indian children who are served in the projects.
Participating tribes must provide information to the state in a format and completeness
deemed acceptable by the state to meet state and federal reporting requirements.

288.11 (i) The commissioner may authorize a project to test the provision of child welfare

288.12 services by the White Earth Band of Ojibwe Indians to White Earth member children

288.13 who reside in Hennepin County. This project will be subject to all provisions of this

288.14 subdivision. Hennepin County shall transfer to the tribe the proportion of property taxes

collected and used to fund child welfare services received by White Earth member

288.16 <u>children when the tribe assumes responsibility for providing child welfare services.</u>

288.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.01, is amended by adding a subdivision 288.18 to read:

Subd. 14c. American Indian child welfare, social, and human services project; 288.19 White Earth Band of Ojibwe. (a) The commissioner of human services shall enter into a 288.20 contractual agreement as authorized under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (7), with 288.21 288.22 the White Earth Band of Ojibwe Indians for the tribe to provide all human services and public assistance programs that are under the supervision of the commissioner to tribal 288.23 members who reside on the reservation. Grants may be issued to the White Earth Band 288.24 288.25 of Ojibwe Indians to support the project. The commissioner may waive existing rules to support this project. The commissioner shall seek any federal approvals necessary to carry 288.26 out the project as well as seek and use any funds available to the commissioner, including 288.27 use of federal funds, foundation funds, existing grant funds, and other funds. The 288.28 commissioner is authorized to advance state funds as necessary to operate the projects. 288.29 Federal reimbursement applicable to the projects is appropriated to the commissioner for 288.30 purposes of the project. 288.31 (b) The commissioner shall redirect all funds provided to Mahnomen County for 288.32 these services, including administrative expenses, to the White Earth Band of Ojibwe 288.33

288.34 <u>Indians.</u>

SS/RT

289.1	(c) The commissioner, in consultation with the tribe, is authorized to determine: (1)
289.2	which programs not currently provided by the White Earth Band of Ojibwe Indians will be
289.3	transferred to the tribe; and (2) the process by which the new programs will be transferred.
289.4	In the case of a dispute, a two-thirds vote of the tribal council to transfer a program to
289.5	the tribe must overrule the decision of the commissioner.
289.6	(d) When the commissioner approves transfer of programs and the tribe assumes
289.7	responsibility under this section, Mahnomen County is relieved of responsibility for
289.8	providing program services to tribal members who live on the reservation while the tribal
289.9	project is in effect and funded. Mahnomen County shall transfer to the tribe the proportion
289.10	of property taxes allocated for funding of the county social services that are assumed by
289.11	the tribe.
289.12	(e) The tribe shall comply with all reporting and record keeping requirements under
289.13	state and federal laws and rules.
289.14	Sec. 4. [256.0145] COMPUTER SYSTEM SIMPLIFICATION.
289.15	Subdivision 1. Reprogram MAXIS. The commissioner of human services, as part
289.16	of the enterprise architecture project, shall reprogram the MAXIS computer system to
289.17	automatically apply child support payments entered into the PRISM computer system to
289.18	a MAXIS case file.
289.19	Subd. 2. Program the social service information system. The commissioner of
289.20	human services shall require all prepaid health plans to accept a billing format identical to
289.21	the MMIS billing format for payment to county agencies for mental health targeted case
289.22	management claims, elderly waiver claims, and other claim categories as added to the
289.23	benefit set. The commissioner shall make any necessary changes to the SSIS system to
289.24	bill prepaid health plans for those claims.
289.25	Sec. 5. [256.0147] COUNTY ELECTRONIC VERIFICATION TO DETERMINE
289.26	ELIGIBILITY.
289.27	County agencies are authorized to use all automated databases containing
289.28	information regarding recipients' or applicants' income in order to determine eligibility
289.29	for child support enforcement, general assistance, Minnesota supplemental aid, and
289.30	programs, services, and supports under chapter 256J. The information is sufficient to
289.31	determine eligibility. State and county caseworkers shall not be cited in error, as part of

- 289.32 any audit and quality review, for an incorrect eligibility determination based on current but
- 289.33 <u>inaccurate information received through a state-approved electronic data source. If there</u>
- 289.34 <u>is a potential error, the reviewer must forward a corrective action notice to the caseworker</u>

A11-0177

SS/RT

290.1 for proper and immediate correction. If the state or county caseworker has data available
 290.2 through client reporting, or other means, that are more accurate than state-approved
 290.3 electronic data, the caseworker should use the more accurate information in making the
 290.4 eligibility determination.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256.045, subdivision 4a, is amended to read: 290.5 Subd. 4a. Case management appeals. (a) Any recipient of case management 290.6 services pursuant to section 256B.0625 or 256B.092, or personal care assistance services 290.7 under section 256B.0625, who contests the county agency's action, reduction, suspension, 290.8 denial, or termination of services, or failure to act in the provision of those services, 290.9 other than a failure to act with reasonable promptness or a suspension, reduction, denial, 290.10 or termination of services, must submit a written request for a conciliation an informal 290.11 conference with the recipient's case worker and the county social service director or 290.12 designee to the county agency. The county agency shall inform the commissioner of the 290.13 receipt of a request when it is submitted and shall schedule a conciliation conference 290.14 within ten days of receipt of the recipient's written request. The county agency shall notify 290.15 the recipient, the commissioner, and all interested persons of the time, date, and location 290.16 of the conciliation conference. The commissioner may assist the county by providing 290.17 mediation services or by identifying other resources that may assist in the mediation 290.18 between the parties. Within 30 15 days of the conference, the county agency shall conduct 290.19 the conciliation conference and inform the recipient in writing of the action the county 290.20 agency is going to take and when that action will be taken and notify the recipient of the 290.21 290.22 right to a hearing under this subdivision. The conciliation conference shall be conducted in a manner consistent with the commissioner's instructions. 290.23

(b) If the county fails to conduct the conciliation conference and issue its report 290.24 290.25 within 30 15 days, or, at any time up to 90 days after the conciliation conference is held, a recipient may submit to the commissioner a written request for a hearing before a 290.26 state human services referee to determine whether case management services have been 290.27 provided in accordance with applicable laws and rules or whether the county agency has 290.28 assured that the services identified in the recipient's individual service plan have been 290.29 delivered in accordance with the laws and rules governing the provision of those services. 290.30 The state human services referee shall recommend an order to the commissioner, who 290.31 shall, in accordance with the procedure in subdivision 5, issue a final order within 60 days 290.32 of the receipt of the request for a hearing, unless the commissioner refuses to accept the 290.33 recommended order, in which event a final order shall issue within 90 days of the receipt 290.34 of that request. The order may direct the county agency to take those actions necessary to 290.35

comply with applicable laws or rules. The commissioner may issue a temporary order 291.1 291.2 prohibiting the demission of a recipient of case management services from a residential or day habilitation program licensed under chapter 245A, while a county agency review 291.3 process or an appeal brought by a recipient under this subdivision is pending, or for the 291.4 period of time necessary for the county agency to implement the commissioner's order. 291.5 The commissioner shall not issue a final order staying the demission of a recipient of 291.6 case management services from a residential or day habilitation program licensed under 291.7 chapter 245A. 291.8 (c) Any recipient of case management services under section 256B.0625 or 291.9 256B.092, or personal care assistance services under section 256B.0625, must be 291.10 informed in writing at the time of application and at the time of any change in services 291.11 291.12 of the recipient's right to submit a written request to the county agency for an informal conference with the case manager and the county social services director. 291.13 291.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.69, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 291.15 Subd. 30. Provision of required materials in alternative formats. (a) For the 291.16 291.17 purposes of this subdivision, "alternative format" means a medium other than paper and "prepaid health plan" means managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans. 291.18 (b) A prepaid health plan may provide in an alternative format a provider directory 291.19 and certificate of coverage, or materials otherwise required to be available in writing 291.20 under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 438.10, or under the commissioner's 291.21 contract with the prepaid health plan, if the following conditions are met: 291.22 291.23 (1) the prepaid health plan, local agency, or commissioner, as applicable, informs the enrollee that: 291.24 291.25 (i) provision in an alternative format is available and the enrollee affirmatively requests of the prepaid health plan that the provider directory, certificate of coverage, 291.26 or materials otherwise required under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 291.27 438.10, or under the commissioner's contract with the prepaid health plan be provided in 291.28 an alternative format; and 291.29 (ii) a record of the enrollee request is retained by the prepaid health plan in the 291.30 form of written direction from the enrollee or a documented telephone call followed by a 291.31 291.32 confirmation letter to the enrollee from the prepaid health plan that explains that the enrollee may change the request at any time; 291.33

REVISOR

292.1	(2) the materials are sent to a secured mailbox and are made available at a
292.2	password-protected secured Web site or on a data storage device if the materials contain
292.3	enrollee data that is individually identifiable;
292.4	(3) the enrollee is provided a customer service number on the enrollee's membership
292.5	card that may be called to request a paper version of the materials provided in an
292.6	alternative format; and
292.7	(4) the materials provided in an alternative format meet all other requirements of
292.8	the commissioner regarding content, size of typeface, and any required time frames for
292.9	distribution. "Required time frames for distribution" must permit sufficient time for
292.10	prepaid health plans to distribute materials in alternative formats upon receipt of enrollees'
292.11	requests for the materials.
292.12	(c) A prepaid health plan may provide in an alternative format its primary care
292.13	network list to the commissioner and to local agencies within its service area. The
292.14	commissioner or local agency, as applicable, shall inform a potential enrollee of the
292.15	availability of a prepaid health plan's primary care network list in an alternative format. If
292.16	the potential enrollee requests an alternative format of the prepaid health plan's primary
292.17	care network list, a record of that request shall be retained by the commissioner or local
292.18	agency. The potential enrollee is permitted to withdraw the request at any time.
292.19	The prepaid health plan shall submit sufficient paper versions of the primary
292.20	care network list to the commissioner and to local agencies within its service area to
292.21	accommodate potential enrollee requests for paper versions of the primary care network
292.22	<u>list.</u>
292.23	(d) A prepaid health plan may provide in an alternative format materials otherwise
292.24	required to be available in writing under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section
292.25	438.10, or under the commissioner's contract with the prepaid health plan, if the conditions
292.26	of paragraphs (b), (c), and (e), are met for persons who are:
292.27	(1) enrolled in integrated Medicare and Medicaid programs under subdivisions
292.28	<u>23 and 28;</u>
292.29	(2) enrolled in managed care long-term care programs under subdivision 6b;
292.30	(3) dually eligible for Medicare and medical assistance; or
292.31	(4) in the waiting period for Medicare.
292.32	(e) The commissioner shall seek any federal Medicaid waivers within 90 days after
292.33	the effective date of this subdivision that are necessary to provide alternative formats of
292.34	required material to enrollees of prepaid health plans as authorized under this subdivision.
292.35	(f) The commissioner shall consult with managed care plans, county-based
292.36	purchasing plans, counties, and other interested parties to determine how materials

293.1 required to be made available to enrollees under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,

293.2 <u>section 438.10</u>, or under the commissioner's contract with a prepaid health plan may

293.3 <u>be provided in an alternative format on the basis that the enrollee has not opted in to</u>

293.4 receive the alternative format. The commissioner shall consult with managed care

293.5 plans, county-based purchasing plans, counties, and other interested parties to develop

293.6 recommendations relating to the conditions that must be met for an opt-out process

293.7 to be granted.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.09, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. **Recovery of overpayments.** (a) If an amount of general assistance or family general assistance is paid to a recipient in excess of the payment due, it shall be recoverable by the county agency. The agency shall give written notice to the recipient of its intention to recover the overpayment.

(b) Except as provided for interim assistance in section 256D.06, subdivision 293.13 293.14 5, when an overpayment occurs, the county agency shall recover the overpayment from a current recipient by reducing the amount of aid payable to the assistance unit of 293.15 which the recipient is a member, for one or more monthly assistance payments, until 293.16 293.17 the overpayment is repaid. All county agencies in the state shall reduce the assistance payment by three percent of the assistance unit's standard of need in nonfraud cases and 293.18 ten percent where fraud has occurred, or the amount of the monthly payment, whichever is 293.19 less, for all overpayments. 293.20

293.21 (c) In cases when there is both an overpayment and underpayment, the county 293.22 agency shall offset one against the other in correcting the payment.

(d) Overpayments may also be voluntarily repaid, in part or in full, by the individual,
in addition to the aid reductions provided in this subdivision, to include further voluntary
reductions in the grant level agreed to in writing by the individual, until the total amount
of the overpayment is repaid.

(e) The county agency shall make reasonable efforts to recover overpayments to
persons no longer on assistance under standards adopted in rule by the commissioner
of human services. The county agency need not attempt to recover overpayments of
less than \$35 paid to an individual no longer on assistance if the individual does not
receive assistance again within three years, unless the individual has been convicted of
violating section 256.98.

(f) Establishment of an overpayment is limited to 12 months prior to the month of
 discovery due to agency error and six years prior to the month of discovery due to client
 error or an intentional program violation determined under section 256.046.

A11-0177

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256D.49, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 294.1 Subd. 3. Overpayment of monthly grants and recovery of ATM errors. (a) When 294.2 the county agency determines that an overpayment of the recipient's monthly payment 294.3 of Minnesota supplemental aid has occurred, it shall issue a notice of overpayment 294.4 to the recipient. If the person is no longer receiving Minnesota supplemental aid, the 294.5 county agency may request voluntary repayment or pursue civil recovery. If the person is 294.6 receiving Minnesota supplemental aid, the county agency shall recover the overpayment 294.7 by withholding an amount equal to three percent of the standard of assistance for the 294.8 recipient or the total amount of the monthly grant, whichever is less. 294.9 (b) Establishment of an overpayment is limited to 12 months from the date of 294.10 discovery due to agency error and six years prior to the month of discovery due to client 294.11 error or an intentional program violation determined under section 256.046. 294.12 (c) For recipients receiving benefits via electronic benefit transfer, if the overpayment 294.13 is a result of an automated teller machine (ATM) dispensing funds in error to the recipient, 294.14 294.15 the agency may recover the ATM error by immediately withdrawing funds from the recipient's electronic benefit transfer account, up to the amount of the error. 294.16

294.17 (d) Residents of nursing homes, regional treatment centers, and <u>licensed residential</u> 294.18 facilities with negotiated rates shall not have overpayments recovered from their personal 294.19 needs allowance.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256J.38, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Scope of overpayment. (a) When a participant or former participant receives an overpayment due to agency, client, or ATM error, or due to assistance received while an appeal is pending and the participant or former participant is determined ineligible for assistance or for less assistance than was received, the county agency must recoup or recover the overpayment using the following methods:

(1) reconstruct each affected budget month and corresponding payment month;
(2) use the policies and procedures that were in effect for the payment month; and
(3) do not allow employment disregards in section 256J.21, subdivision 3 or 4, in the
calculation of the overpayment when the unit has not reported within two calendar months
following the end of the month in which the income was received.

(b) Establishment of an overpayment is limited to 12 months prior to the month of
 discovery due to agency error and six years prior to the month of discovery due to client
 error or an intentional program violation determined under section 256.046.

294.34 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 393.07, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

A11-0177

Subd. 10. Food stamp program; Maternal and Child Nutrition Act. (a) The local 295.1 social services agency shall establish and administer the food stamp program according 295.2 to rules of the commissioner of human services, the supervision of the commissioner as 295.3 specified in section 256.01, and all federal laws and regulations. The commissioner of 295.4 human services shall monitor food stamp program delivery on an ongoing basis to ensure 295.5 that each county complies with federal laws and regulations. Program requirements to be 295.6 monitored include, but are not limited to, number of applications, number of approvals, 295.7 number of cases pending, length of time required to process each application and deliver 295.8 benefits, number of applicants eligible for expedited issuance, length of time required 295.9 to process and deliver expedited issuance, number of terminations and reasons for 295.10 terminations, client profiles by age, household composition and income level and sources, 295.11 and the use of phone certification and home visits. The commissioner shall determine the 295.12 county-by-county and statewide participation rate. 295.13

(b) On July 1 of each year, the commissioner of human services shall determine a statewide and county-by-county food stamp program participation rate. The commissioner may designate a different agency to administer the food stamp program in a county if the agency administering the program fails to increase the food stamp program participation rate among families or eligible individuals, or comply with all federal laws and regulations governing the food stamp program. The commissioner shall review agency performance annually to determine compliance with this paragraph.

(c) A person who commits any of the following acts has violated section 256.98 or
609.821, or both, and is subject to both the criminal and civil penalties provided under
those sections:

(1) obtains or attempts to obtain, or aids or abets any person to obtain by means of a
willful statement or misrepresentation, or intentional concealment of a material fact, food
stamps or vouchers issued according to sections 145.891 to 145.897 to which the person
is not entitled or in an amount greater than that to which that person is entitled or which
specify nutritional supplements to which that person is not entitled; or

(2) presents or causes to be presented, coupons or vouchers issued according to
sections 145.891 to 145.897 for payment or redemption knowing them to have been
received, transferred or used in a manner contrary to existing state or federal law; or

(3) willfully uses, possesses, or transfers food stamp coupons, authorization to
purchase cards or vouchers issued according to sections 145.891 to 145.897 in any manner
contrary to existing state or federal law, rules, or regulations; or

(4) buys or sells food stamp coupons, authorization to purchase cards, other
assistance transaction devices, vouchers issued according to sections 145.891 to 145.897,

SS/RT

A11-0177

or any food obtained through the redemption of vouchers issued according to sections
145.891 to 145.897 for cash or consideration other than eligible food.

(d) A peace officer or welfare fraud investigator may confiscate food stamps,
authorization to purchase cards, or other assistance transaction devices found in the
possession of any person who is neither a recipient of the food stamp program nor
otherwise authorized to possess and use such materials. Confiscated property shall be
disposed of as the commissioner may direct and consistent with state and federal food
stamp law. The confiscated property must be retained for a period of not less than 30 days
to allow any affected person to appeal the confiscation under section 256.045.

(e) Food stamp overpayment claims which are due in whole or in part to client error
shall be established by the county agency for a period of six years from the date of any
resultant overpayment Establishment of an overpayment is limited to 12 months prior to
the month of discovery due to agency error and six years prior to the month of discovery
due to client error or an intentional program violation determined under section 256.046.

(f) With regard to the federal tax revenue offset program only, recovery incentives
authorized by the federal food and consumer service shall be retained at the rate of 50
percent by the state agency and 50 percent by the certifying county agency.

(g) A peace officer, welfare fraud investigator, federal law enforcement official,
or the commissioner of health may confiscate vouchers found in the possession of any
person who is neither issued vouchers under sections 145.891 to 145.897, nor otherwise
authorized to possess and use such vouchers. Confiscated property shall be disposed of
as the commissioner of health may direct and consistent with state and federal law. The
confiscated property must be retained for a period of not less than 30 days.

(h) The commissioner of human services may seek a waiver from the United States 296.24 Department of Agriculture to allow the state to specify foods that may and may not be 296.25 purchased in Minnesota with benefits funded by the federal Food Stamp Program. The 296.26 commissioner shall consult with the members of the house of representatives and senate 296.27 policy committees having jurisdiction over food support issues in developing the waiver. 296.28 The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioners of health and education, shall 296.29 develop a broad public health policy related to improved nutrition and health status. The 296.30 commissioner must seek legislative approval prior to implementing the waiver. 296.31

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 402A.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 Subd. 4. Essential human services or essential services. "Essential human
 services" or "essential services" means assistance and services to recipients or potential

- recipients of public welfare and other services delivered by counties or tribes that are
 mandated in federal and state law that are to be available in all counties of the state.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 402A.10, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 297.3 Subd. 5. Service delivery authority. "Service delivery authority" means a single 297.4 county, or group consortium of counties operating by execution of a joint powers 297.5 agreement under section 471.59 or other contractual agreement, that has voluntarily 297.6 chosen by resolution of the county board of commissioners to participate in the redesign 297.7 under this chapter or has been assigned by the commissioner pursuant to section 402A.18. 297.8 A service delivery authority includes an Indian tribe or group of tribes that have voluntarily 297.9 chosen by resolution of tribal government to participate in redesign under this chapter. 297.10
- 297.11 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 402A.15, is amended to read:

297.12 402A.15 STEERING COMMITTEE ON PERFORMANCE AND OUTCOME 297.13 REFORMS.

297.14 Subdivision 1. **Duties.** (a) The Steering Committee on Performance and Outcome 297.15 Reforms shall develop a uniform process to establish and review performance and outcome 297.16 standards for all essential human services based on the current level of resources available, 297.17 and to shall develop appropriate reporting measures and a uniform accountability process 297.18 for responding to a county's or human service <u>delivery</u> authority's failure to make adequate 297.19 progress on achieving performance measures. The accountability process shall focus on 297.20 the performance measures rather than inflexible implementation requirements.

297.21

(b) The steering committee shall:

(1) by November 1, 2009, establish an agreed-upon list of essential services; 297.22 (2) by February 15, 2010, develop and recommend to the legislature a uniform, 297.23 graduated process, in addition to the remedies identified in section 402A.18, for responding 297.24 to a county's failure to make adequate progress on achieving performance measures; and 297.25 (3) by December 15, 2012, for each essential service, make recommendations 297.26 to the legislature regarding (1) (i) performance measures and goals based on those 297.27 measures for each essential service, (2) and (ii) a system for reporting on the performance 297.28 measures and goals, and (3) appropriate resources, including funding, needed to achieve 297.29 those performance measures and goals. The resource recommendations shall take into 297.30 consideration program demand and the unique differences of local areas in geography and 297.31 the populations served. Priority shall be given to services with the greatest variation in 297.32 availability and greatest administrative demands. By January 15 of each year starting 297.33 January 15, 2011, the steering committee shall report its recommendations to the governor 297.34

and legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services. As part of its
report, the steering committee shall, as appropriate, recommend statutory provisions, rules
and requirements, and reports that should be repealed or eliminated.

(c) As far as possible, the performance measures, reporting system, and funding 298.4 shall be consistent across program areas. The development of performance measures shall 298.5 consider the manner in which data will be collected and performance will be reported. 298.6 The steering committee shall consider state and local administrative costs related to 298.7 collecting data and reporting outcomes when developing performance measures. The 298.8 steering committee shall correlate the performance measures and goals to available levels 298.9 of resources, including state and local funding. The steering committee shall also identify 298.10 and incorporate federal performance measures in its recommendations for those program 298.11 areas where federal funding is contingent on meeting federal performance standards. The 298.12 steering committee shall take into consideration that the goal of implementing changes 298.13 to program monitoring and reporting the progress toward achieving outcomes is to 298.14 298.15 significantly minimize the cost of administrative requirements and to allow funds freed by reduced administrative expenditures to be used to provide additional services, allow 298.16 flexibility in service design and management, and focus energies on achieving program 298.17 and client outcomes. 298 18

(d) In making its recommendations, the steering committee shall consider input from
the council established in section 402A.20. The steering committee shall review the
measurable goals established in a memorandum of understanding entered into under
section 402A.30, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and consider whether they may be applied
as statewide performance outcomes.

(e) The steering committee shall form work groups that include persons who provide
or receive essential services and representatives of organizations who advocate on behalf
of those persons.

(f) By December 15, 2009, the steering committee shall establish a three-year
schedule for completion of its work. The schedule shall be published on the Department of
Human Services Web site and reported to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over
health and human services. In addition, the commissioner shall post quarterly updates on
the progress of the steering committee on the Department of Human Services Web site.

298.32

Subd. 2. Composition. (a) The steering committee shall include:

(1) the commissioner of human services, or designee, and two additionalrepresentatives of the department;

(2) two county commissioners, representative of rural and urban counties, selectedby the Association of Minnesota Counties;

A11-0177

SS/RT

(3) two county directors of human services, representative of rural and urban
 counties, selected by the Minnesota Association of County Social Service Administrators;
 and

(4) three clients or client advocates representing different populations receiving
 services from the Department of Human Services, who are appointed by the commissioner.

- (b) The commissioner, or designee, and a county commissioner shall serve as
 cochairs of the committee. The committee shall be convened within 60 days of May
 15, 2009.
- (c) State agency staff shall serve as informational resources and staff to the steering
 committee. Statewide county associations may assemble county program data as required.
 (d) To promote information sharing and coordination between the steering committee

and council, one of the county representatives from paragraph (a), clause (2), and one of the
 county representatives from paragraph (a), clause (3), must also serve as a representative

299.14 on the council under section 402A.20, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (5) or (6).

- 299.15 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 402A.18, is amended to read:
- 299.16 402A.18 COMMISSIONER POWER TO REMEDY FAILURE TO MEET
 299.17 PERFORMANCE OUTCOMES.

Subdivision 1. Underperforming county; specific service. If the commissioner determines that a county or service delivery authority is deficient in achieving minimum performance outcomes for a specific essential service, the commissioner may impose the following remedies and adjust state and federal program allocations accordingly:

(1) voluntary incorporation of the administration and operation of the specific
essential service with an existing service delivery authority or another county. A
service delivery authority or county incorporating an underperforming county shall
not be financially liable for the costs associated with remedying performance outcome
deficiencies;

(2) mandatory incorporation of the administration and operation of the specific
essential service with an existing service delivery authority or another county. A
service delivery authority or county incorporating an underperforming county shall
not be financially liable for the costs associated with remedying performance outcome
deficiencies; or

(3) transfer of authority for program administration and operation of the specificessential service to the commissioner.

299.34 Subd. 2. Underperforming county; more than one-half of service services. If 299.35 the commissioner determines that a county or service delivery authority is deficient in

SS/RT

achieving minimum performance outcomes for more than one-half of the defined essential
 service services, the commissioner may impose the following remedies:

300.3 (1) voluntary incorporation of the administration and operation of the specific
assential service services with an existing service delivery authority or another county.
A service delivery authority or county incorporating an underperforming county shall
not be financially liable for the costs associated with remedying performance outcome
deficiencies;

300.8 (2) mandatory incorporation of the administration and operation of the specific
assential service services with an existing service delivery authority or another county.
A service delivery authority or county incorporating an underperforming county shall
not be financially liable for the costs associated with remedying performance outcome
deficiencies; or

300.13 (3) transfer of authority for program administration and operation of the specific
 service services to the commissioner.

300.15Subd. 2a. Financial responsibility of underperforming county. A county subject300.16to remedies under subdivision 1 or 2 shall provide to the entity assuming administration of300.17the essential service or essential services the amount of nonfederal and nonstate funding300.18needed to remedy performance outcome deficiencies.

300.19 Subd. 3. **Conditions prior to imposing remedies.** Before the commissioner may 300.20 impose the remedies authorized under this section, the following conditions must be met:

(1) the county or service delivery authority determined by the commissioner
to be deficient in achieving minimum performance outcomes has the opportunity, in
coordination with the council, to develop a program outcome improvement plan. The
program outcome improvement plan must be developed no later than six months from the
date of the deficiency determination; and

(2) the council has conducted an assessment of the program outcome improvement
plan to determine if the county or service delivery authority has made satisfactory
progress toward performance outcomes and has made a recommendation about remedies
to the commissioner. The review assessment and recommendation must be made to the
commissioner within 12 months from the date of the deficiency determination.

300.31 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 402A.20, is amended to read:

402A.20 COUNCIL.

300.33 Subdivision 1. **Council.** (a) The State-County Results, Accountability, and Service 300.34 Delivery Redesign Council is established. Appointed council members must be appointed 300.35 by their respective agencies, associations, or governmental units by November 1, 2009. 301.1

301.2

301.3

301.4

A11-0177

The council shall be cochaired by the commissioner of human services, or designee, and a county representative from paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5), appointed by the Association of Minnesota Counties. Recommendations of the council must be approved by a majority of the voting council members. The provisions of section 15.059 do not apply to this

301.5 council, and this council does not expire.

301.6 (b) The council must consist of the following members:

301.7 (1) two legislators appointed by the speaker of the house, one from the minority301.8 and one from the majority;

301.9 (2) two legislators appointed by the Senate Rules Committee, one from the majority301.10 and one from the minority;

301.11 (3) the commissioner of human services, or designee, and three employees from301.12 the department;

301.13 (4) two county commissioners appointed by the Association of Minnesota Counties;

301.14 (5) two county representatives appointed by the Minnesota Association of County
 301.15 Social Service Administrators;

301.16 (6) one representative appointed by AFSCME as a nonvoting member; and

301.17 (7) one representative appointed by the Teamsters as a nonvoting member.

301.18 (c) Administrative support to the council may be provided by the Association of301.19 Minnesota Counties and affiliates.

301.20 (d) Member agencies and associations are responsible for initial and subsequent301.21 appointments to the council.

301.22 Subd. 2. Council duties. The council shall:

301.23 (1) provide review of the <u>service delivery</u> redesign process, <u>including proposed</u>
 301.24 <u>memoranda of understanding to establish a service delivery authority to conduct and</u>
 301.25 <u>administer experimental projects to test new methods and procedures of delivering</u>
 301.26 <u>services;</u>

301.27 (2) certify, in accordance with section 402A.30, subdivision 4, the formation of
 301.28 a service delivery authority, including the memorandum of understanding in section
 301.29 402A.30, subdivision 2, paragraph (b);

301.30 (3) ensure the consistency of the memorandum of understanding entered into
 301.31 under section 402A.30, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with the performance standards
 301.32 recommended by the steering committee and enacted by the legislature;

301.33 (4) (2) ensure the consistency of the memorandum of understanding, to the extent
 appropriate, or with other memorandum of understanding entered into by other service
 301.35 delivery authorities;

SS/RT

302.1	(3) review and make recommendations on applications from a service delivery
302.2	authority for waivers of statutory or rule program requirements that are needed for
302.3	flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of achieving specified measurable
302.4	goals in a redesign of human services delivery;
302.5	(5) (4) establish a process to take public input on the service delivery framework
302.6	specified in the memorandum of understanding in section 402A.30, subdivision 2,
302.7	paragraph (b) scope of essential services over which a service delivery authority has
302.8	jurisdiction;
302.9	(6) (5) form work groups as necessary to carry out the duties of the council under the
302.10	redesign;
302.11	(7) (6) serve as a forum for resolving conflicts among participating counties <u>and</u>
302.12	tribes or between participating counties or tribes and the commissioner of human services,
302.13	provided nothing in this section is intended to create a formal binding legal process;
302.14	(8) (7) engage in the program improvement process established in section 402A.18,
302.15	subdivision 3; and
302.16	(9) (8) identify and recommend incentives for counties and tribes to participate in
302.17	human services service delivery authorities.
302.18	Subd. 3. Program evaluation. By December 15, 2014, the council shall request
302.19	consideration by the legislative auditor for a reevaluation under section 3.971, subdivision
302.20	7, of those aspects of the program evaluation of human services administration reported
302.21	in January 2007 affected by this chapter.
302.22	Sec. 17. [402A.35] DESIGNATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY AUTHORITY.
302.23	Subdivision 1. Requirements for establishing a service delivery authority.
302.24	(a) A county, tribe, or consortium of counties is eligible to establish a service delivery
302.25	authority if:
302.26	(1) the county, tribe, or consortium of counties is:
302.27	(i) a single county with a population of 55,000 or more;
302.28	(ii) a consortium of counties with a total combined population of 55,000 or more;
302.29	(iii) a consortium of four or more counties in reasonable geographic proximity
302.30	without regard to population; or
302.31	(iv) one or more tribes with a total combined population of 25,000 or more.
302.32	The council may recommend that the commissioner of human services exempt a
302.33	single county, tribe, or consortium of counties from the minimum population standard if
302.34	the county, tribe, or consortium of counties can demonstrate that it can otherwise meet
302.35	the requirements of this chapter.

REVISOR

303.1(b) A service delivery authority shall:303.2(1) comply with current state and federal law, including any existing federal or state303.3performance measures and performance measures under section 402A.15 when they are303.4enacted into law, except where waivers are approved by the commissioner. Nothing303.5in this subdivision requires the establishment of performance measures under section303.6402A.15 prior to a service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign303.7under this chapter;303.8(2) define the scope of essential services over which the service delivery authority303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14io ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.18costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.19(6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.22delivery auth
303.3performance measures and performance measures under section 402A.15 when they are303.4enacted into law, except where waivers are approved by the commissioner. Nothing303.5in this subdivision requires the establishment of performance measures under section303.6402A.15 prior to a service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign303.7under this chapter;303.8(2) define the scope of essential services over which the service delivery authority303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.19(6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties stablishes a service delivery303.22delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.23delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of
303.4enacted into law, except where waivers are approved by the commissioner. Nothing303.5in this subdivision requires the establishment of performance measures under section303.6402A.15 prior to a service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign303.7under this chapter;303.8(2) define the scope of essential services over which the service delivery authority303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery redesign; and303.16(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.17(5) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.22delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.23The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of
303.5in this subdivision requires the establishment of performance measures under section303.6402A.15 prior to a service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign303.7under this chapter;303.8(2) define the scope of essential services over which the service delivery authority303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.13achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.14costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.19(6) set forth ha terasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.24The service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.6402A.15 prior to a service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign303.7under this chapter;303.8(2) define the scope of essential services over which the service delivery authority303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.19(6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a consortium of303.23The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.24The service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.7under this chapter;303.8(2) define the scope of essential services over which the service delivery authority303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.17(6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.23The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.24counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.8(2) define the scope of essential services over which the service delivery authority303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.19costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.24The service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.9has jurisdiction;303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16expected to achieve;303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.18costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.24The service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.10(3) designate a single administrative structure to oversee the delivery of those303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16expected to achieve;303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.18costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.24The service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.11services included in a proposal for a redesigned service or services and identify a single administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.12(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16expected to achieve;303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.18costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.24The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.25counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.12administrative agent for purposes of contact and communication with the department;303.13(4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16expected to achieve;303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.18costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.20(6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.24The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.25counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 (4) identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements that are needed identify the waivers from statutory or rule program requirements the most cost-effective means of identify the values from the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may withdraw from participation. identify the waiter from participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. idelivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. idelivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of identify the values to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.14to ensure greater local control and flexibility to determine the most cost-effective means of303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16expected to achieve;303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.18costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.19(6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23The service delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.24The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of ouncil and303.25counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.15achieving specified measurable goals that the participating service delivery authority is303.16expected to achieve;303.17(5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative303.18costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and303.19(6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.24The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.25counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 expected to achieve; (5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and (6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may withdraw from participation. (c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 (5) set forth a reasonable level of targeted reductions in overhead and administrative costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and (6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may withdraw from participation. (c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 303.18 costs for each service delivery authority participating in the service delivery redesign; and 303.19 (6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may 303.20 withdraw from participation. 303.21 (c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery 303.22 authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service 303.23 delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. 303.24 The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of 303.25 counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 303.19 (6) set forth the terms under which a county, tribe, or consortium of counties may 303.20 withdraw from participation. 303.21 (c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery 303.22 authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service 303.23 delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. 303.24 The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of 303.25 counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.20withdraw from participation.303.21(c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery303.22authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service303.23delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.303.24The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of303.25counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 (c) Once a county, tribe, or consortium of counties establishes a service delivery authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 authority, no county, tribe, or consortium of counties that is a member of the service delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority. The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
 303.23 <u>delivery authority may participate as a member of any other service delivery authority.</u> 303.24 <u>The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of</u> 303.25 <u>counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and</u>
303.24 The service delivery authority may allow an additional county, a tribe, or a consortium of 303.25 counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and
303.25 <u>counties to join the service delivery authority subject to the approval of the council and</u>
303.26 the commissioner.
303.27 (d) Nothing in this chapter precludes local governments from using sections 465.81
303.28 and 465.82 to establish procedures for local governments to merge, with the consent
303.29 of the voters. Nothing in this chapter limits the authority of a county board or tribal
303.30 council to enter into contractual agreements for services not covered by the provisions
303.31 of a memorandum of understanding establishing a service delivery authority with other
303.32 agencies or with other units of government.
303.33 <u>Subd. 2.</u> Relief from statutory requirements. (a) Unless otherwise identified in
303.34 the memorandum of understanding, any county, tribe, or consortium of counties forming a
303.35 service delivery authority is exempt from the provisions of sections 245.465; 245.4835;

REVISOR

SS/RT

304.1	245.4874; 245.492, subdivision 2; 245.4932; 256F.13; 256J.626, subdivision 2, paragraph
304.2	(b); and 256M.30.
304.3	(b) This subdivision does not preclude any county, tribe, or consortium of counties
304.4	forming a service delivery authority from requesting additional waivers from statutory and
304.5	rule requirements to ensure greater local control and flexibility.
304.6	Subd. 3. Duties. The service delivery authority shall:
304.7	(1) within the scope of essential services set forth in the memorandum of
304.8	understanding establishing the authority, carry out the responsibilities required of local
304.9	agencies under chapter 393 and human services boards under chapter 402;
304.10	(2) manage the public resources devoted to human services and other public services
304.11	delivered or purchased by the counties or tribes that are subsidized or regulated by the
304.12	Department of Human Services under chapters 245 to 261;
304.13	(3) employ staff to assist in carrying out its duties;
304.14	(4) develop and maintain a continuity of operations plan to ensure the continued
304.15	operation or resumption of essential human services functions in the event of any business
304.16	interruption according to local, state, and federal emergency planning requirements;
304.17	(5) receive and expend funds received for the redesign process under the
304.18	memorandum of understanding;
304.19	(6) plan and deliver services directly or through contract with other governmental,
304.20	tribal, or nongovernmental providers;
304.21	(7) rent, purchase, sell, and otherwise dispose of real and personal property as
304.22	necessary to carry out the redesign; and
304.23	(8) carry out any other service designated as a responsibility of a county.
304.24	Subd. 4. Process for establishing a service delivery authority. (a) The county,
304.25	tribe, or consortium of counties meeting the requirements of section 402A.30 and
304.26	proposing to establish a service delivery authority shall present to the council:
304.27	(1) in conjunction with the commissioner, a proposed memorandum of understanding
304.28	meeting the requirements of subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and outlining:
304.29	(i) the details of the proposal;
304.30	(ii) the state, tribal, and local resources, which may include, but are not limited to,
304.31	funding, administrative and technology support, and other requirements necessary for
304.32	the service delivery authority; and
304.33	(iii) the relief available to the service delivery authority if the resource commitments
	identified in item (ii) are not met; and

Article 8 Sec. 17.

SS/RT

- (2) a board resolution from the board of commissioners of each participating county 305.1 305.2 stating the county's intent to participate, or in the case of a tribe, a resolution from tribal government, stating the tribe's intent to participate. 305.3 (b) After the council has considered and recommended approval of a proposed 305.4 memorandum of understanding, the commissioner may finalize and execute the 305.5 memorandum of understanding. 305.6 Subd. 5. Commissioner authority to seek waivers. The commissioner may use the 305.7 authority under section 256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (1), to grant waivers identified as 305.8 part of a proposed service delivery authority under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause 305.9 (4), except that waivers granted under this section must be approved by the council under 305.10 section 402A.20 rather than the Legislative Advisory Committee. 305.11 Sec. 18. <u>ALIGNMENT OF VE</u>RIFICATION AND REDETERMINATION 305.12 POLICIES. 305.13 305.14 The commissioner of human services shall develop recommendations to align eligibility verification procedures for all health care, economic assistance, food support, 305.15 child support enforcement, and child care programs. The commissioner shall report back 305.16 305.17 to the chairs of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over these issues by January 15, 2012, with recommendations and draft legislation to implement the alignment of 305.18 305.19 eligibility verifications. Sec. 19. ALTERNATIVE STRATEGIES FOR CERTAIN 305.20 305.21 **REDETERMINATIONS.** The commissioner of human services shall develop and implement by January 15, 305.22 2012, a simplified process to redetermine eligibility for recipient populations in the medical 305.23 305.24 assistance, Minnesota supplemental aid, food support, and group residential housing programs who are eligible based upon disability, age, or chronic medical conditions, and 305.25 who are expected to experience minimal change in income or assets from month to month. 305.26
- 305.27 The commissioner shall apply for any federal waivers needed to implement this section.

305.28 Sec. 20. <u>REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS; COMBINED ONLINE APPLICATION.</u>

305.29 (a) The commissioner of human services shall consider issuing a request for

305.30 proposals for a contract to implement an integrated online eligibility and application portal

- 305.31 for food support, cash assistance, child care, and health care programs. The request for
- 305.32 proposals must require that the system recommended and implemented by the contractor:

REVISOR

SS/RT

306.1	(1) streamline eligibility determination and case processing in the state to support
306.2	statewide eligibility processing;
306.3	(2) enable interested persons to determine eligibility for each program, and to apply
306.4	for programs online in a manner that the applicant will be asked only those questions that
306.5	relate to the programs the person is applying for;
306.6	(3) leverage technology that has been operational in production in other similar
306.7	state environments; and
306.8	(4) include Web-based application and worker application processing support and
306.9	opportunity for expansion.
306.10	(b) Based on responses to the request for proposals, the commissioner shall enter
306.11	into a contract for the services specified in paragraph (a) by October 1, 2011. The contract
306.12	must incorporate a performance-based vendor financing option whereby the vendor shares
306.13	in the risk of the project's success.
306.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
306.15	Sec. 21. <u>REPEALER.</u>
306.16	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 402A.30; and 402A.45, are repealed.
306.17	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 9500.1243, subpart 3, is repealed.
306.18	ARTICLE 9
306.19	CHEMICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH
306.20	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 246B.10, is amended to read:
306.21	246B.10 LIABILITY OF COUNTY; REIMBURSEMENT.
306.22	The civilly committed sex offender's county shall pay to the state a portion of the
306.23	cost of care provided in the Minnesota sex offender program to a civilly committed sex
306.24	offender who has legally settled in that county. A county's payment must be made from
306.25	the county's own sources of revenue and payments must equal ten 30 percent of the cost of
306.26	care, as determined by the commissioner, for each day or portion of a day, that the civilly
306.27	committed sex offender spends at the facility. If payments received by the state under this
306.28	chapter exceed <u>90_70</u> percent of the cost of care, the county is responsible for paying the
306.29	state the remaining amount. The county is not entitled to reimbursement from the civilly
306.30	committed sex offender, the civilly committed sex offender's estate, or from the civilly
306.31	committed sex offender's relatives, except as provided in section 246B.07.
206.22	FEECTIVE DATE This spatian is affective for all individuals who are simily

306.32EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for all individuals who are civilly306.33committed to the Minnesota sex offender program on or after August 1, 2011.

A11-0177

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 252.025, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 307.1 307.2 Subd. 7. Minnesota extended treatment options. The commissioner shall develop by July 1, 1997, the Minnesota extended treatment options to serve Minnesotans who 307.3 have developmental disabilities and exhibit severe behaviors which present a risk to 307.4 public safety. This program is statewide and must provide specialized residential services 307.5 in Cambridge and an array of community-based services with sufficient levels of care 307.6 and a sufficient number of specialists to ensure that individuals referred to the program 307.7 receive the appropriate care. The individuals working in the community-based services 307.8 under this section are state employees supervised by the commissioner of human services. 307.9 No midcontract layoffs shall occur as a result of restructuring under this section, but 307.10 layoffs may occur as a normal consequence of a low census or closure of the facility 307.11

307.12 <u>due to decreased census</u>.

307.13 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 253B.212, is amended to read:

307.14 253B.212 COMMITMENT; RED LAKE BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS; 307.15 WHITE EARTH BAND OF OJIBWE.

Subdivision 1. Cost of care; commitment by tribal court order; Red Lake 307.16 **Band of Chippewa Indians.** The commissioner of human services may contract with 307.17 307.18 and receive payment from the Indian Health Service of the United States Department of Health and Human Services for the care and treatment of those members of the Red 307.19 Lake Band of Chippewa Indians who have been committed by tribal court order to the 307.20 Indian Health Service for care and treatment of mental illness, developmental disability, or 307.21 chemical dependency. The contract shall provide that the Indian Health Service may not 307.22 transfer any person for admission to a regional center unless the commitment procedure 307.23 utilized by the tribal court provided due process protections similar to those afforded 307.24 by sections 253B.05 to 253B.10. 307.25

Subd. 1a. Cost of care; commitment by tribal court order; White Earth Band of 307.26 Ojibwe Indians. The commissioner of human services may contract with and receive 307.27 payment from the Indian Health Service of the United States Department of Health and 307.28 Human Services for the care and treatment of those members of the White Earth Band 307.29 of Ojibwe Indians who have been committed by tribal court order to the Indian Health 307.30 Service for care and treatment of mental illness, developmental disability, or chemical 307.31 dependency. The tribe may also contract directly with the commissioner for treatment 307.32 of those members of the White Earth Band who have been committed by tribal court 307.33 order to the White Earth Department of Health for care and treatment of mental illness, 307.34 developmental disability, or chemical dependency. The contract shall provide that the 307.35

308.2

to a regional center unless the commitment procedure utilized by the tribal court provided

A11-0177

SS/RT

308.1Indian Health Service and the White Earth Band shall not transfer any person for admission

due process protections similar to those afforded by sections 253B.05 to 253B.10.

- Subd. 2. Effect given to tribal commitment order. When, under an agreement entered into pursuant to subdivision 1 subdivisions 1 or 1a, the Indian Health Service applies to a regional center for admission of a person committed to the jurisdiction of the health service by the tribal court as a person who is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or chemically dependent, the commissioner may treat the patient with the consent of the Indian Health Service.
- A person admitted to a regional center pursuant to this section has all the rights 308.10 accorded by section 253B.03. In addition, treatment reports, prepared in accordance with 308.11 the requirements of section 253B.12, subdivision 1, shall be filed with the Indian Health 308.12 Service within 60 days of commencement of the patient's stay at the facility. A subsequent 308.13 treatment report shall be filed with the Indian Health Service within six months of the 308.14 patient's admission to the facility or prior to discharge, whichever comes first. Provisional 308.15 discharge or transfer of the patient may be authorized by the head of the treatment facility 308.16 only with the consent of the Indian Health Service. Discharge from the facility to the 308.17 308.18 Indian Health Service may be authorized by the head of the treatment facility after notice 308.19 to and consultation with the Indian Health Service.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 254B.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 308.20 Subdivision 1. Local agency duties. (a) Every local agency shall provide chemical 308.21 308.22 dependency services to persons residing within its jurisdiction who meet criteria established by the commissioner for placement in a chemical dependency residential 308.23 or nonresidential treatment service subject to the limitations on residential chemical 308.24 308.25 dependency treatment in section 254B.04, subdivision 1. Chemical dependency money must be administered by the local agencies according to law and rules adopted by the 308.26 commissioner under sections 14.001 to 14.69. 308.27

(b) In order to contain costs, the commissioner of human services shall select eligible 308.28 vendors of chemical dependency services who can provide economical and appropriate 308.29 treatment. Unless the local agency is a social services department directly administered by 308.30 a county or human services board, the local agency shall not be an eligible vendor under 308.31 section 254B.05. The commissioner may approve proposals from county boards to provide 308.32 services in an economical manner or to control utilization, with safeguards to ensure that 308.33 necessary services are provided. If a county implements a demonstration or experimental 308.34 medical services funding plan, the commissioner shall transfer the money as appropriate. 308.35

309.1 (c) A culturally specific vendor that provides assessments under a variance under
 309.2 Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6610, shall be allowed to provide assessment services to
 309.3 persons not covered by the variance.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 254B.03, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 309.4 Subd. 4. Division of costs. Except for services provided by a county under 309.5 section 254B.09, subdivision 1, or services provided under section 256B.69 or 256D.03, 309.6 subdivision 4, paragraph (b), the county shall, out of local money, pay the state for 309.7 16.14 22.95 percent of the cost of chemical dependency services, including those services 309.8 provided to persons eligible for medical assistance under chapter 256B and general 309.9 assistance medical care under chapter 256D. Counties may use the indigent hospitalization 309.10 309.11 levy for treatment and hospital payments made under this section. 16.14 22.95 percent of any state collections from private or third-party pay, less 15 percent for the cost of 309.12 payment and collections, must be distributed to the county that paid for a portion of the 309.13 309.14 treatment under this section.

309.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for claims processed beginning 309.16 July 1, 2011.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 254B.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 309.17 Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) Persons eligible for benefits under Code of Federal 309.18 Regulations, title 25, part 20, persons eligible for medical assistance benefits under 309.19 sections 256B.055, 256B.056, and 256B.057, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, and 6, or who meet 309.20 309.21 the income standards of section 256B.056, subdivision 4, and persons eligible for general assistance medical care under section 256D.03, subdivision 3, are entitled to chemical 309.22 dependency fund services subject to the following limitations: (1) no more than three 309.23 residential chemical dependency treatment episodes for the same person in a four-year 309.24 period of time unless deemed necessary by the commissioner of human services; and (2) 309.25 no more than four residential chemical dependency treatment episodes in a lifetime unless 309.26 deemed appropriate by the commissioner of human services. State money appropriated 309.27 for this paragraph must be placed in a separate account established for this purpose. 309.28 Persons with dependent children who are determined to be in need of chemical 309.29 dependency treatment pursuant to an assessment under section 626.556, subdivision 10, or 309.30 a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 6, or 260C.212, shall be assisted by the 309.31

309.32 local agency to access needed treatment services. Treatment services must be appropriate309.33 for the individual or family, which may include long-term care treatment or treatment in a

SS/RT

A11-0177

facility that allows the dependent children to stay in the treatment facility. The countyshall pay for out-of-home placement costs, if applicable.

(b) A person not entitled to services under paragraph (a), but with family income 310.3 that is less than 215 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family 310.4 size, shall be eligible to receive chemical dependency fund services within the limit 310.5 of funds appropriated for this group for the fiscal year. If notified by the state agency 310.6 of limited funds, a county must give preferential treatment to persons with dependent 310.7 children who are in need of chemical dependency treatment pursuant to an assessment 310.8 under section 626.556, subdivision 10, or a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 310.9 6, or 260C.212. A county may spend money from its own sources to serve persons under 310.10 this paragraph. State money appropriated for this paragraph must be placed in a separate 310.11 account established for this purpose. 310.12

(c) Persons whose income is between 215 percent and 412 percent of the federal 310.13 poverty guidelines for the applicable family size shall be eligible for chemical dependency 310.14 310.15 services on a sliding fee basis, within the limit of funds appropriated for this group for the fiscal year. Persons eligible under this paragraph must contribute to the cost of services 310.16 according to the sliding fee scale established under subdivision 3. A county may spend 310.17 310.18 money from its own sources to provide services to persons under this paragraph. State money appropriated for this paragraph must be placed in a separate account established 310.19 310.20 for this purpose.

310.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 254B.04, is amended by adding a subdivision 310.22 to read:

310.23 <u>Subd. 2a.</u> Eligibility for treatment in residential settings. Notwithstanding 310.24 provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6622, subparts 5 and 6, related to an assessor's 310.25 discretion in making placements to residential treatment settings, a person eligible for 310.26 services under this section must score at level 4 on assessment dimensions related to 310.27 relapse, continued use, and recovery environment in order to be assigned to services with 310.28 a room and board component reimbursed under this section.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 254B.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Allocation of collections. The commissioner shall allocate all federal financial participation collections to a special revenue account. The commissioner shall allocate 83.86 77.05 percent of patient payments and third-party payments to the special revenue account and 16.14 22.95 percent to the county financially responsible for the patient.

REVISOR

SS/RT

A11-0177

311.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for claims processed beginning 311.2 July 1, 2011.

311.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0625, subdivision 41, is amended to 311.4 read:

Subd. 41. **Residential services for children with severe emotional disturbance.** Medical assistance covers rehabilitative services in accordance with section 256B.0945 that are provided by a county or an American Indian tribe through a residential facility, for children who have been diagnosed with severe emotional disturbance and have been determined to require the level of care provided in a residential facility.

311.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2011.

311.11 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.0945, subdivision 4, is amended to 311.12 read:

Subd. 4. Payment rates. (a) Notwithstanding sections 256B.19 and 256B.041, 311.13 payments to counties for residential services provided by a residential facility shall only 311.14 be made of federal earnings for services provided under this section, and the nonfederal 311.15 share of costs for services provided under this section shall be paid by the county from 311.16 sources other than federal funds or funds used to match other federal funds. Payment to 311.17 counties for services provided according to this section shall be a proportion of the per 311.18 day contract rate that relates to rehabilitative mental health services and shall not include 311.19 payment for costs or services that are billed to the IV-E program as room and board. 311.20

(b) Per diem rates paid to providers under this section by prepaid plans shall be the proportion of the per-day contract rate that relates to rehabilitative mental health services and shall not include payment for group foster care costs or services that are billed to the county of financial responsibility. Services provided in facilities located in bordering states are eligible for reimbursement on a fee-for-service basis only as described in paragraph (a) and are not covered under prepaid health plans.

(c) <u>Payment for mental health rehabilitative services provided under this section by</u>
or under contract with an American Indian tribe or tribal organization or by agencies
operated by or under contract with an American Indian tribe or tribal organization must
be made according to section 256B.0625, subdivision 34, or other relevant federally

311.31 approved rate-setting methodology.

311.32 (d) The commissioner shall set aside a portion not to exceed five percent of the 311.33 federal funds earned for county expenditures under this section to cover the state costs of

REVISOR

- administering this section. Any unexpended funds from the set-aside shall be distributedto the counties in proportion to their earnings under this section.
- 312.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2011.

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH HOSPITALS.

312.4 Sec. 11. <u>COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES; USE OF</u>

312.5

312.6 The commissioner shall issue a written report to the chairs and ranking minority

- 312.7 members of the house and senate committees with jurisdiction of health and human
- 312.8 services by December 31, 2011, on how the community behavioral health hospital
- 312.9 <u>facilities will be fully utilized to meet the mental health needs of regions in which the</u>
- 312.10 hospitals are located. The commissioner must consult with the regional planning work
- 312.11 groups for adult mental health and must include the recommendations of the work groups
- 312.12 <u>in the legislative report. The report must address future use of community behavioral</u>
- 312.13 <u>health hospitals that are not certified as Medicaid eligible by CMS or have a less than 65</u>
- 312.14 percent licensed bed occupancy rate, and using the facilities for another purpose that will
- 312.15 meet the mental health needs of residents of the region. The regional planning work
- 312.16 groups shall work with the commissioner to prioritize the needs of their regions. These
- 312.17 priorities, by region, must be included in the commissioner's report to the legislature.

312.18 Sec. 12. INTEGRATED DUAL DIAGNOSIS TREATMENT.

- 312.19 (a) The commissioner shall require individuals who perform chemical dependency
- 312.20 assessments or mental health assessments to use approved screening tools in order to
- 312.21 <u>identify whether an individual who is the subject of the assessment has a co-occurring</u>
- 312.22 mental health or chemical dependency disorder. Screening for co-occurring disorders must
- 312.23 begin no later than December 31, 2011.
- 312.24 (b) No later than October 1, 2011, the commissioner shall develop and implement a
 312.25 certification process for integrated dual diagnosis treatment providers.
- 312.26 (c) No later than December 31, 2011, the commissioner shall develop and implement
- 312.27 <u>a referral system so that individuals who, at screening, are identified with co-occurring</u>
- 312.28 disorders are referred to certified integrated dual diagnosis treatment providers.
- 312.29 (d) The commissioner shall apply for any federal waivers necessary to secure, to the
- 312.30 extent allowed by law, federal financial participation for the provision of integrated dual
- 312.31 diagnosis treatment to persons with co-occurring disorders.

312.32 Sec. 13. <u>CLOSURE OF STATE-OPERATED SERVICES FACILITIES.</u>

REVISOR

313.1	(a) The commissioner shall	close the Willmar C	ommunity Behavio	ral Health
313.2	Hospital no later than October 1, 2011.			
313.3	(b) The commissioner shall close the inpatient child and adolescent behavioral			
313.4	health services program in Willman	ar, the subacute men	tal health facility in	Wadena, and
313.5	the Community Behavioral Health	n Hospitals in Alexa	ndria, Annandale, B	axter, Bemidji,
313.6	Fergus Falls, and Rochester no la	ter than October 1, 2	012.	
313.7	(c) The commissioner shall	present a plan to the	e legislative commit	tees with
313.8	jurisdiction over health and huma	n services finance no	b later than January	15, 2012, on
313.9	how the department will:			
313.10	(1) accommodate the menta	l health needs of clie	ents impacted by the	e closure of
313.11	these state-operated services facil	ities; and		
313.12	(2) accommodate the state e	mployees adversely	affected by the close	sure of these
313.13	facilities.			
313.14	Sec. 14. REGIONAL TREA	IMENT CENTERS	; EMPLOYEES; 1	REPORT.
313.15	(a) No layoffs shall occur as	a result of restructu	ring services at the	Anoka-Metro
313.16	Regional Treatment Center.			
313.17	(b) The commissioner shall issue a report to the legislative committees with			
313.18	jurisdiction over health and human services finance no later than December 31, 2011,			
313.19	which provides the number of employees in management positions at the Anoka-Metro			
313.20	Regional Treatment Center and the Minnesota Security Hospital at St. Peter and the ratio			
313.21	of management to direct-care staf	f for each facility.		
313.22	Sec. 15. <u>REPEALER.</u>			
313.23	Laws 2009, chapter 79, artic	ele 3, section 18, as an	mended by Laws 20	010, First Special
313.24	Session chapter 1, article 19, sect	ion 19, is repealed.		
313.25		ARTICLE 10		
313.26	HEALTH AND HU		APPROPRIATIO	NS
313.27	Section 1. SUMMARY OF APP			
			iraat appropriations	by fund made
313.28 313.29	The amounts shown in this sin this article.	section summarize u		, by fund, made
	In this article.	2012	2012	
313.30	General \$	<u>2012</u> 5,522,088,000 \$	<u>2013</u> 5,197,824,000 \$	<u>Total</u> 10,719,912,000
313.31 313.32	State Government Special	<u>5,522,000,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>5,177,024,000 \$</u>	10,719,912,000
313.32	Revenue	63,198,000	63,154,000	126,352,000
313.34	Health Care Access	397,541,000	409,396,000	806,937,000

314.4 Sec. 2. <u>HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS.</u>

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the 314.5 agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the 314.6 general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated 314.7 for each purpose. The figures "2012" and "2013" used in this article mean that the 314.8 appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2012, or 314.9 June 30, 2013, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2012. "The second year" is fiscal 314.10 year 2013. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2012 and 2013. 314.11 **APPROPRIATIONS** 314.12 Available for the Year 314.13 Ending June 30 314.14 314.15 2012 2013

5,791,498,000

314.16 Sec. 3. <u>COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN</u> 314.17 SERVICES

314.17	<u>SERVICES</u>			
314.18	Subdivision 1. Total	Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>6,091,648,000</u> <u>\$</u>
314.19	Approp	priations by Fun	<u>d</u>	
314.20		2012	2013	
314.21	General	<u>5,439,736,000</u>	5,120,171,000	
314.22 314.23	State Government Special Revenue	<u>565,000</u>	<u>565,000</u>	
314.24	Health Care Access	385,085,000	401,074,000	
314.25	Federal TANF	264,678,000	268,101,000	
314.26	Lottery Prize Fund	<u>1,584,000</u>	<u>1,587,000</u>	

314.27 **Receipts for Systems Projects.**

- 314.28 Appropriations and federal receipts for
- 314.29 information systems projects for MAXIS,
- 314.30 PRISM, MMIS, and SSIS must be deposited
- 314.31 in the state systems account authorized in
- 314.32 Minnesota Statutes, section 256.014. Money
- 314.33 appropriated for computer projects approved
- 314.34 by the Minnesota Office of Enterprise
- 314.35 <u>Technology, funded by the legislature,</u>
- 314.36 and approved by the commissioner of

- 315.1 <u>Minnesota Management and Budget, may</u>
- 315.2 <u>be transferred from one project to another</u>
- 315.3 and from development to operations as the
- 315.4 <u>commissioner of human services considers</u>
- 315.5 necessary. Any unexpended balance in
- 315.6 <u>the appropriation for these projects does</u>
- 315.7 <u>not cancel but is available for ongoing</u>
- 315.8 <u>development and operations.</u>

315.9 Nonfederal Share Transfers. The

- 315.10 <u>nonfederal share of activities for which</u>
- 315.11 <u>federal administrative reimbursement is</u>
- 315.12 appropriated to the commissioner may be
- 315.13 transferred to the special revenue fund.

315.14 **TANF Maintenance of Effort.**

- 315.15 (a) In order to meet the basic maintenance
- 315.16 of effort (MOE) requirements of the TANF
- 315.17 block grant specified under Code of Federal
- 315.18 <u>Regulations, title 45, section 263.1, the</u>
- 315.19 <u>commissioner may only report nonfederal</u>
- 315.20 money expended for allowable activities
- 315.21 <u>listed in the following clauses as TANF/MOE</u>
- 315.22 <u>expenditures:</u>
- 315.23 (1) MFIP cash, diversionary work program,
- 315.24 and food assistance benefits under Minnesota
- 315.25 Statutes, chapter 256J;
- 315.26 (2) the child care assistance programs
- 315.27 <u>under Minnesota Statutes, sections 119B.03</u>
- and 119B.05, and county child care
- 315.29 administrative costs under Minnesota
- 315.30 <u>Statutes, section 119B.15;</u>
- 315.31 (3) state and county MFIP administrative
- 315.32 costs under Minnesota Statutes, chapters
- 315.33 <u>256J and 256K;</u>

- 316.1 (4) state, county, and tribal MFIP
- 316.2 <u>employment services under Minnesota</u>
- 316.3 <u>Statutes, chapters 256J and 256K;</u>
- 316.4 (5) expenditures made on behalf of
- 316.5 noncitizen MFIP recipients who qualify
- 316.6 <u>for the medical assistance without federal</u>
- 316.7 <u>financial participation program under</u>
- 316.8 <u>Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06</u>,
- 316.9 <u>subdivision 4, paragraphs (d), (e), and (j);</u>
- 316.10 (6) qualifying working family credit
- 316.11 expenditures under Minnesota Statutes,
- 316.12 section 290.0671; and
- 316.13 (7) qualifying Minnesota education credit
- 316.14 expenditures under Minnesota Statutes,
- 316.15 <u>section 290.0674.</u>
- 316.16 (b) The commissioner shall ensure that
- 316.17 <u>sufficient qualified nonfederal expenditures</u>
- 316.18 are made each year to meet the state's
- 316.19 <u>TANF/MOE requirements</u>. For the activities
- 316.20 listed in paragraph (a), clauses (2) to
- 316.21 (7), the commissioner may only report
- 316.22 <u>expenditures that are excluded from the</u>
- 316.23 definition of assistance under Code of
- 316.24 Federal Regulations, title 45, section 260.31.
- 316.25 (c) For fiscal years beginning with state fiscal
- 316.26 year 2003, the commissioner shall assure
- 316.27 that the maintenance of effort used by the
- 316.28 commissioner of management and budget
- 316.29 for the February and November forecasts
- 316.30 required under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 316.31 <u>16A.103</u>, contains expenditures under
- 316.32 paragraph (a), clause (1), equal to at least 16
- 316.33 percent of the total required under Code of
- 316.34 <u>Federal Regulations, title 45, section 263.1.</u>

- 317.1 (d) Minnesota Statutes, section 256.011,
- 317.2 <u>subdivision 3, which requires that federal</u>
- 317.3 grants or aids secured or obtained under that
- 317.4 <u>subdivision be used to reduce any direct</u>
- 317.5 <u>appropriations provided by law, do not apply</u>
- 317.6 <u>if the grants or aids are federal TANF funds.</u>
- 317.7 (e) Notwithstanding any contrary provision
- 317.8 <u>in this article, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to</u>
- 317.9 (7), and paragraphs (b) to (d), expire June
- 317.10 <u>30, 2015.</u>
- 317.11 Working Family Credit Expenditures
- 317.12 **as TANF/MOE.** The commissioner may
- 317.13 claim as TANF maintenance of effort up to
- 317.14 <u>\$6,707,000 per year of working family credit</u>
- 317.15 expenditures for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.
- 317.16 Working Family Credit Expenditures
- 317.17 to be Claimed for TANF/MOE. The
- 317.18 <u>commissioner may count the following</u>
- 317.19 amounts of working family credit
- 317.20 expenditures as TANF/MOE:
- 317.21 (1) fiscal year 2012, \$12,037,000;
- 317.22 (2) fiscal year 2013, \$29,942,000;
- 317.23 (3) fiscal year 2014, \$23,235,000; and
- 317.24 (4) fiscal year 2015, \$23,198,000.
- 317.25 <u>Notwithstanding any contrary provision in</u>
- 317.26 this article, this rider expires June 30, 2015.
- 317.27 **TANF Transfer to Federal Child Care**
- 317.28 **and Development Fund.** (a) The following
- 317.29 <u>TANF fund amounts are appropriated</u>
- 317.30 to the commissioner for purposes of
- 317.31 MFIP/Transition Year Child Care Assistance
- 317.32 <u>under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.05</u>:
- 317.33 (1) fiscal year 2012, \$23,020,000;

318.1	(2) fiscal year 2013, \$41,020,000;
318.2	(3) fiscal year 2014, \$14,020,000; and
318.3	(4) fiscal year 2015, \$14,020,000.
318.4	(b) The commissioner shall authorize the
318.5	transfer of sufficient TANF funds to the
318.6	federal child care and development fund to
318.7	meet this appropriation and shall ensure that
318.8	all transferred funds are expended according
318.9	to federal child care and development fund
318.10	regulations.
318.11	Food Stamps Employment and Training
318.12	Funds. (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota
318.13	Statutes, sections 256D.051, subdivisions 1a,
318.14	6b, and 6c, and 256J.626, federal food stamps
318.15	employment and training funds received
318.16	as reimbursement for child care assistance
318.17	program expenditures must be deposited in
318.18	the general fund. The amount of funds must
318.19	be limited to \$500,000 per year in fiscal
318.20	years 2012 through 2015, contingent upon
318.21	approval by the federal Food and Nutrition
318.22	Service.
318.23	(b) Consistent with the receipt of these
318.24	federal funds, the commissioner may
318.25	adjust the level of working family credit
318.26	expenditures claimed as TANF maintenance
318.27	of effort. Notwithstanding any contrary
318.28	provision in this article, this rider expires

- 318.29 June 30, 2015.
- 318.30 ARRA Food Support Benefit Increases.
- 318.31 The funds provided for food support benefit
- 318.32 increases under the Supplemental Nutrition
- 318.33 Assistance Program provisions of the
- 318.34 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

- 319.1 (ARRA) of 2009 must be used for benefit
- 319.2 <u>increases beginning July 1, 2009.</u>
- 319.3 Supplemental Security Interim Assistance
- 319.4 **Reimbursement Funds.** \$2,800,000 of
- 319.5 <u>uncommitted revenue available to the</u>
- 319.6 <u>commissioner of human services for SSI</u>
- 319.7 <u>advocacy and outreach services must be</u>
- 319.8 transferred to and deposited into the general
- 319.9 <u>fund by June 30, 2012.</u>
- 319.10 Subd. 2. Central Office Operations
- 319.11 The amounts that may be spent from this
- 319.12 <u>appropriation for each purpose are as follows:</u>
- 319.13 (a) **Operations**

319.14	Approp	riations by Fund	
319.15	General	81,157,000	80,932,000
319.16	Health Care Access	11,742,000	11,508,000
319.17	State Government		
319.18	Special Revenue	440,000	440,000
319.19	Federal TANF	222,000	222,000

319.20 DHS Receipt Center Accounting. The

- 319.21 <u>commissioner is authorized to transfer</u>
- 319.22 appropriations to, and account for DHS
- 319.23 receipt center operations in, the special
- 319.24 <u>revenue fund.</u>
- 319.25 **Base Adjustment.** The general fund base
- 319.26 for fiscal year 2014 shall be increased by
- 319.27 <u>\$79,000</u>. This adjustment is onetime.
- 319.28 (b) Children and Families

319.29	Appro	priations by Fund	
319.30	General	<u>9,261,000</u>	<u>9,227,000</u>
319.31	Federal TANF	2,160,000	2,160,000

319.32 Financial Institution Data Match and

- 319.33 **Payment of Fees.** The commissioner is
- 319.34 <u>authorized to allocate up to \$310,000 each</u>

320.1	year in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 from the		
320.2	PRISM special revenue account to make		
320.3	payments to financial institutions in exchange		
320.4	for performing data matches between account		
320.5	information held by financial institutions		
320.6	and the public authority's database of child		
320.7	support obligors as authorized by Minnesota		
320.8	Statutes, section 13B.06, subdivision 7.		
320.9	(c) Health Care		
320.10	Appropriations by Fund		
320.11	<u>General</u> <u>16,095,000</u> <u>15,907,000</u>		
320.12	<u>Health Care Access</u> <u>22,473,000</u> <u>22,737,000</u>		
320.13	Minnesota Senior Health Options		
320.14	Reimbursement. Federal administrative		
320.15	reimbursement resulting from the Minnesota		
320.16	senior health options project is appropriated		
320.17	to the commissioner for this activity.		
320.18	Utilization Review. Federal administrative		
320.19	reimbursement resulting from prior		
320.20	authorization and inpatient admission		
320.21	certification by a professional review		
320.22	organization shall be dedicated to the		
320.23	commissioner for these purposes. A portion		
320.24	of these funds must be used for activities to		
320.25	decrease unnecessary pharmaceutical costs		
320.26	in medical assistance.		
320.27	Base Adjustment. The general fund base		
320.28	shall be decreased by \$2,000 in fiscal year		
320.29	2014 and \$114,000 in 2015.		
320.30	The health care access fund base is increased		
320.31	by \$320,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$194,000		
320.32	<u>in 2015.</u>		
320.33	(d) Continuing Care		

321.1	Approp	riations by Fund				
321.2	General	16,956,000	16,911,000			
321.3 321.4	State Government Special Revenue	125,000	125,000			
321.5	Base Adjustment. Th	ne general fund ba	ase is			
321.6	decreased by \$259,000 in each of fiscal years					
321.7	2014 and 2015.					
321.8	(e) Chemical and Mental Health					
321.9	Appropriations by Fund					
321.10	General	4,194,000	4,194,000			
321.11	Lottery Prize	<u>157,000</u>	<u>157,000</u>			
321.12	Subd. 3. Forecasted	Programs				
321.13	The amounts that may be spent from this					
321.14	appropriation for each	purpose are as fol	llows:			
321.15	(a) MFIP/DWP	Grants				
321.16	Appropr	riations by Fund				
321.17	General	84,546,000	<u>91,818,000</u>			
321.18	Federal TANF	84,425,000	75,417,000			
321.19	(b) MFIP Child	Care Assistance	e Grants	52,356,000	28,154,000	
321.20	(c) General Assistance Grants			<u>49,664,000</u>	<u>49,775,000</u>	
321.21	<u>General Assistance S</u>	Standard. The				
321.22	commissioner shall set the monthly standard					
321.23	of assistance for general assistance units					
321.24	consisting of an adult recipient who is					
321.25	childless and unmarried or living apart					
321.26	from parents or a legal guardian at \$203.					
321.27	The commissioner may reduce this amount					
321.28	according to Laws 1997, chapter 85, article					
321.29	<u>3, section 54.</u>					
321.30	Emergency General	Assistance. The				
321.31	amount appropriated for emergency general					
321.32	assistance funds is limited to no more					

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177	
322.1	than \$7,889,812 in fiscal year 2012 and				
322.2	\$7,889,812 in fiscal year 2013. Funds				
322.3	to counties shall be allocated by th				
322.4	commissioner using the allocation method				
322.5	specified in Minnesota Statutes, section				
322.6	256D.06.				
322.7	(d) Minnesota Supplemental	Aid Grants	<u>38,095,000</u>	39,120,000	
322.8	Emergency Minnesota Supplemen	ntal			
322.9	Aid Funds. The amount appropriat	ed for			
322.10	emergency Minnesota supplemental aid				
322.11	funds is limited to no more than \$1,	100,000			
322.12	in fiscal year 2012 and \$1,100,000 i	n fiscal			
322.13	year 2013. Funds to counties shall be				
322.14	allocated by the commissioner using the				
322.15	allocation method specified in Minnesota				
322.16	Statutes, section 256D.46.				
322.17	(e) Group Residential Housi	ng Grants	121,092,000	129,250,000	
322.18	(f) MinnesotaCare Grants		352,852,000	<u>372,389,000</u>	
322.19	This appropriation is from the healt	<u>h care</u>			
322.20	access fund.				
322.21	(g) GAMC Grants				
322.22	Payments for Cost Settlements.	The			
322.23	commissioner is authorized to use a	mounts			
322.24	repaid to the general assistance med	ical care			
322.25	program under Minnesota Statutes 2	2009			
322.26	Supplement, section 256D.03, subd	ivision			
322.27	3, to pay cost settlements for claims	<u>s for</u>			
322.28	services provided prior to June 1, 2	<u>010.</u>			
322.29	Notwithstanding any contrary provi	sion in			
322.30					
	this article, this provision does not e	expire.			

A11-0177

323.1	Appropriations by Fund				
323.2	<u>General</u> <u>4,262,673,000</u> <u>3,985,642,000</u>				
323.3	Health Care Access $(2,882,000)$ $(6,460,000)$				
323.4	Managed Care Incentive Payments. The				
323.5	commissioner shall not make managed care				
323.6	incentive payments for expanding preventive				
323.7	services during fiscal years beginning July 1,				
323.8	2011 and July 1, 2012.				
020.0	<u></u>				
323.9	Limit Growth in the Developmental				
323.10	Disability Waiver. The commissioner shall				
323.11	limit growth in the developmental disability				
323.12	waiver to 15 diversion allocations per month				
323.13	beginning July 1, 2011, through June 30,				
323.14	2013. Waiver allocations shall be available				
323.15	to individuals who meet the priorities for				
323.16	accessing waiver services identified in				
323.17	Minnesota Statutes, 256B.092, subdivision				
323.18	12. The limits do not include conversions				
323.19	from intermediate care facilities for persons				
323.20	with developmental disabilities.				
323.21	Limit Growth in the Community				
323.22	Alternatives for Disabled Individuals				
323.23	Waiver. The commissioner shall limit				
323.24	growth in the community alternatives for				
323.25	disabled individuals waiver to 85 allocations				
323.26	per month beginning July 1, 2011, through				
323.27	June 30, 2013. Waiver allocations must				
323.28	be available to individuals who meet the				
323.29	priorities for accessing waiver services				
323.30	identified in Minnesota Statutes, section				
323.31	256B.49, subdivision 11a. The limits include				
323.32	conversions and diversions, unless the				
323.33	commissioner has approved a plan to convert				
323.34	funding due to the closure or downsizing				

323.35 of a residential facility or nursing facility

REVISOR

A11-0177

- 324.1 to serve directly affected individuals on
- 324.2 <u>the community alternatives for disabled</u>
- 324.3 <u>individuals waiver.</u>
- 324.4 **<u>Reduction of Rates for Congregate</u>**
- 324.5 **Living for Individuals with Lower Needs.**
- 324.6 Beginning October 1, 2011, lead agencies
- 324.7 <u>must reduce rates in effect on January 1,</u>
- 324.8 <u>2011, by ten percent for individuals with</u>
- 324.9 <u>lower needs living in foster care settings</u>
- 324.10 where the license holder does not share the
- 324.11 residence with recipients on the CADI, DD,
- 324.12 and TBI waivers and customized living
- 324.13 settings for CADI and TBI. Lead agencies
- 324.14 <u>must adjust contracts within 60 days of the</u>
- 324.15 <u>effective date.</u>
- 324.16 **<u>Reduction of Lead Agency Waiver</u>**
- 324.17 Allocations to Implement Rate Reductions
- 324.18 for Congregate Living for Individuals
- 324.19 with Lower Needs. Beginning October 1,
- 324.20 <u>2011, the commissioner shall reduce lead</u>
- 324.21 <u>agency waiver allocations to implement the</u>
- 324.22 reduction of rates for individuals with lower
- 324.23 <u>needs living in foster care settings where the</u>
- 324.24 <u>license holder does not share the residence</u>
- 324.25 with recipients on the CADI, DD, and TBI
- 324.26 <u>waivers and customized living settings for</u>
- 324.27 CADI and TBI.
- 324.28 Home and Community-Based Waiver
- 324.29 Appropriations Limits. (a) Total state and
- 324.30 <u>federal funding for the biennium beginning</u>
- 324.31 <u>on July 1, 2011, for the medicaid home and</u>
- 324.32 <u>community-based waivers for the elderly and</u>
- 324.33 persons with disabilities including elderly
- 324.34 waiver under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 324.35 <u>256B.0915; DD waiver under Minnesota</u>

A11-0177

325.1	Statutes, section 256B.092; and the CAC,
325.2	CADI, and TBI waivers under Minnesota
325.3	Statutes, section 256B.49, are limited to
325.4	the following amounts: the DD waiver is
325.5	limited to \$1,924,434,000; elderly waiver
325.6	fee-for-service is limited to \$69,114,000;
325.7	elderly waiver managed care is limited
325.8	to \$453,836,000; the CADI waiver is
325.9	limited to \$820,176,000; the CAC waiver
325.10	is limited to \$38,592,000; and the TBI
325.11	waiver is limited to \$190,844,000. Of
325.12	these amounts, the commissioner shall set
325.13	aside five percent of each waiver amount
325.14	to manage emergency situations around the
325.15	state. The commissioner must ensure that at
325.16	least the same number of people are served
325.17	on the home and community-based waiver
325.18	programs as were served on March 22,
325.19	2010. Notwithstanding any law or rule to the
325.20	contrary, in order to meet the funding limits
325.21	in this provision, the commissioner may
325.22	reduce or adjust benefits and services, reduce
325.23	or adjust case-mix capitation rates, limit or
325.24	freeze waiver enrollment, establish needed
325.25	thresholds for service eligibility, adjust
325.26	eligibility criteria to the extent allowable
325.27	under federal regulations, establish prior
325.28	authorization criteria, and adjust county home
325.29	and community-based waiver allocations
325.30	as needed. Priorities for the use of waiver
325.31	slots must be for individuals anticipated to
325.32	be discharged from an institutional setting or
325.33	who are at imminent risk of an institutional
325.34	placement. The limits include conversions
325.35	and diversions, unless the commissioner has
325.36	approved a plan to convert funding due to

326.1	the restructuring, closure, or downsizing of
326.2	a residential facility or nursing facility to
326.3	serve directly affected individuals on the
326.4	home and community-based waivers. The
326.5	commissioner and counties are prohibited
326.6	from reducing provider rates under this
326.7	provision. The commissioner shall maintain
326.8	the waiting list and access to the waiver.
326.9	(b) If the commissioner determines that
326.10	application of the methods specified in
326.11	paragraph (a) will not allow spending to
326.12	remain within the limits specified in that
326.13	paragraph, the commissioner, effective July
326.14	1, 2011, must reduce by ten percent the
326.15	salaries of all central office staff who, as of
326.16	June 1, 2011, received a salary of greater
326.17	<u>than \$90,000.</u>
326.18	(c) If the commissioner determines that
326.19	the application of the methods specified
326.20	in paragraphs (a) and (b) will not allow
326.21	spending to remain within the limits specified
326.22	in paragraph (a), the commissioner may
326.23	reduce provider payment rates by the
326.24	amount necessary to remain within the limits

326.25 specified in paragraph (a).

326.26 Management of Fee-for-Service Spending.

- 326.27 <u>Total state and federal funding for the</u>
- 326.28 <u>biennium beginning on July 1, 2011, for</u>
- 326.29 <u>fee-for-service medical assistance basic care</u>
- 326.30 for the elderly and persons with disabilities is
- 326.31 limited to \$3,950,500. Total state and federal
- 326.32 <u>funding for the biennium beginning July 1,</u>
- 326.33 <u>2011, for fee-for-service medical assistance</u>
- 326.34 <u>basic care for adults without children is</u>
- 326.35 <u>limited to \$526,251.</u>

327.1	Freeze in Fee-for-Service Spending. The
327.2	commissioner shall manage spending within
327.3	these limits by:
327.4	(1) managing and coordinating the care
327.5	provided by high-cost providers;
327.6	(2) expanding the use of health care homes to
327.7	manage the care provided to enrollees with
327.8	chronic conditions;
327.9	(3) implementing payment reform to
327.10	encourage efficient and cost-effective service
327.11	provision; and
327.12	(4) modifying or restricting medical
327.13	assistance program eligibility, and seeking
327.14	any necessary approvals or waivers related to
327.15	federal maintenance of effort requirements.
327.16	Contingent Rate Reductions. If
327.17	the commissioner determines that
327.18	implementation of the global waiver under
327.19	Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.841,
327.20	256B.842, and 256B.843, will not achieve a
327.21	state general fund savings of \$300,000,000
327.22	for the biennium beginning July 1, 2011, the
327.23	commissioner shall calculate an estimate of
327.24	the shortfall in savings, and, for the fiscal
327.25	year beginning July 1, 2012, shall reduce
327.26	medical assistance provider payment rates,
327.27	including but not limited to rates to individual
327.28	health care providers and provider agencies,
327.29	hospitals, nursing facilities, other residential
327.30	settings, and capitation rates provided to
327.31	managed care and county-based purchasing
327.32	plans, by the amount necessary to recoup the
327.33	shortfall in savings over that fiscal year.

327.34 (i) Alternative Care Grants

<u>44,978,000</u> <u>45</u>,

328.1	Alternative Care Transfer. Any money				
328.2	allocated to the alternative care program that				
328.3	is not spent for the purposes indicated does				
328.4	not cancel but shall be transferred to the				
328.5	medical assistance account.				
328.6	(j) Chemical Dependency Entitlement				
328.7	<u>Grants</u> <u>93,929,000</u> <u>91,244,00</u>	<u>)0</u>			
328.8	Subd. 4. Grant Programs				
328.9	The amounts that may be spent from this				
328.10	appropriation for each purpose are as follows:				
328.11	(a) Support Services Grants				
328.12	Appropriations by Fund				
328.13	<u>General</u> <u>9,165,000</u> <u>9,165,000</u>				
328.14	<u>Federal TANF</u> <u>96,525,000</u> <u>90,611,000</u>				
328.15	MFIP Consolidated Fund Grants. The				
328.16	TANF fund base is reduced by \$14,000,000				
328.17	each year beginning in fiscal year 2012.				
328.18	Subsidized Employment Funding Through				
328.19	ARRA. The commissioner is authorized to				
328.20	apply for TANF emergency fund grants for				
328.21	subsidized employment activities. Growth				
328.22	in expenditures for subsidized employment				
328.23	within the supported work program and the				
328.24	MFIP consolidated fund over the amount				
328.25	expended in the calendar year quarters in				
328.26	the TANF emergency fund base year shall				
328.27	be used to leverage the TANF emergency				
328.28	fund grants for subsidized employment and				
328.29	to fund supported work. The commissioner				
328.30	shall develop procedures to maximize				
328.31	reimbursement of these expenditures over the				
328.32	TANF emergency fund base year quarters,				
328.33	and may contract directly with employers				

37,794,000

39,569,000

329.1	and providers to maximize these TANF
329.2	emergency fund grants.
329.3	Healthy Communities. \$150,000 in fiscal
329.4	year 2012 and \$150,000 in fiscal year 2013
329.5	are appropriated from the general fund to
329.6	the commissioner of human services for
329.7	contracting with the Search Institute to
329.8	promote healthy community initiatives.
329.9	The commissioner may expend up to five
329.10	percent of the appropriation to provide for
329.11	the program evaluation.
329.12	Circles of Support. \$200,000 in fiscal year
329.13	2012 and \$200,000 in fiscal year 2013 are
329.14	appropriated from the general fund to the
329.15	commissioner of human services for the
329.16	purpose of providing grants to community
329.17	action agencies for circles of support
329.18	initiatives.
	Initiati ves.
329.19	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care
329.19	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care
329.19 329.20	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants
329.19 329.20 329.21	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015.
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.23	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.23 329.24 329.25	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.24 329.25 329.26	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to the amount provided in this section, the
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.24 329.25 329.26 329.27	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to the amount provided in this section, the commissioner shall expend \$5,000,000
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.24 329.25 329.26 329.27 329.28	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to the amount provided in this section, the commissioner shall expend \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2012 from the federal child
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.24 329.25 329.26 329.27 329.28 329.29	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to the amount provided in this section, the commissioner shall expend \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2012 from the federal child care and development fund unexpended
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.24 329.25 329.26 329.27 329.28 329.29 329.30	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to the amount provided in this section, the commissioner shall expend \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2012 from the federal child care and development fund unexpended balance for basic sliding fee child care under
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.24 329.25 329.26 329.27 329.28 329.29 329.30 329.30	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to the amount provided in this section, the commissioner shall expend \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2012 from the federal child care and development fund unexpended balance for basic sliding fee child care under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03. The
329.19 329.20 329.21 329.22 329.23 329.24 329.25 329.26 329.27 329.28 329.29 329.30 329.31 329.31	(b) Basic Sliding Fee Child Care Assistance Grants Base Adjustment. The general fund base is decreased by \$965,000 in fiscal year 2014 and \$958,000 in fiscal year 2015. Child Care and Development Fund Unexpended Balance. In addition to the amount provided in this section, the commissioner shall expend \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2012 from the federal child care and development fund unexpended balance for basic sliding fee child care under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03. The commissioner shall ensure that all child

329.35 <u>development fund regulations.</u>

03/21/11 07:39 AM REVISOR SS/RT A11-0177 (c) Child Care Development Grants 1,487,000 1,487,000 330.1 330.2 (d) Child Support Enforcement Grants 50,000 50,000 **Federal Child Support Demonstration** 330.3 Grants. Federal administrative 330.4 reimbursement resulting from the federal 330.5 330.6 child support grant expenditures authorized under section 1115a of the Social Security 330.7 Act is appropriated to the commissioner for 330.8 this activity. 330.9 330.10 (e) Children's Services Grants Appropriations by Fund 330.11 45,427,000 General 45,127,000 330.12 Federal TANF 140,000 140,000 330.13 **Adoption Assistance and Relative Custody** 330.14 Assistance. The commissioner may transfer 330.15 unencumbered appropriation balances for 330.16 330.17 adoption assistance and relative custody assistance between fiscal years and between 330.18 330.19 programs. Privatized Adoption Grants. Federal 330.20 330.21 reimbursement for privatized adoption grant and foster care recruitment grant expenditures 330.22 is appropriated to the commissioner for 330.23 adoption grants and foster care and adoption 330.24 administrative purposes. 330.25 **Adoption Assistance Incentive Grants.** 330.26 Federal funds available during fiscal year 330.27 2012 and fiscal year 2013 for adoption 330.28 incentive grants are appropriated to the 330.29 commissioner for these purposes. 330.30

330.31(f) Children and Community Services330.32Grants

64,301,000

331.1 331.2	<u>(g) Children and Economic Support</u> <u>Grants</u>	15,805,000	<u>15,315,000</u>	
331.3	Base Adjustment. The general fund base			
331.4	is increased by \$491,000 in fiscal year 2014			
331.5	<u>only.</u>			
331.6	(h) Health Care Grants			
331.7	Appropriations by Fund			
331.8	<u>General</u> <u>750,000</u> <u>750,000</u>			
331.9	Health Care Access900,000900,000			
331.10	Surplus Appropriation Canceled. Of the			
331.11	appropriation in Laws 2009, chapter 79,			
331.12	article 13, section 3, subdivision 6, paragraph			
331.13	(e), for the COBRA premium state subsidy			
331.14	program, \$11,750,000 must be canceled in			
331.15	fiscal year 2011. This provision is effective			
331.16	the day following final enactment.			
331.17	Grant Cancellation. Effective for the			
331.18	biennium beginning July 1, 2011, the			
331.19	following appropriations are canceled: (1) a			
331.20	general fund appropriation of \$205,000 for			
331.21	the U Special Kids program; (2) a general			
331.22	fund appropriation of \$90,000 for medical			
331.23	assistance outreach grants; and (3) a health			
331.24	care access fund appropriation of \$40,000 for			
331.25	MinnesotaCare outreach grants.			
331.26	State Subsidy Program for Community			
331.27	Mental Health Centers. \$100,000 is			
331.28	appropriated from the general fund to			
331.29	the commissioner of human services for			
331.30	the biennium beginning July 1, 2011, to			
331.31	provide onetime grants to establish new			
331.32	community mental health centers that are			
331.33	eligible for payment under Minnesota			
331.34	Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 5.			

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177			
332.1	In awarding grants, the commissioner s	hall					
332.2	give preference to areas of the state that						
332.3	lack access to mental health services or are						
332.4	underserved.						
332.5	(i) Aging and Adult Services Gr	<u>ants</u>	18,834,000	19,010,000			
332.6	Aging Grants Reduction. Effective Ju	ıly					
332.7	1, 2011, funding for grants made under	<u>r</u>					
332.8	Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9754	and					
332.9	256B.0917, subdivision 13, is reduced	by					
332.10	\$3,600,000 for each year of the bienniu	<u>ım.</u>					
332.11	These reductions are onetime and do						
332.12	not affect base funding for the 2014-20	15					
332.13	biennium. Grants made during the 2012	-2013					
332.14	biennium under Minnesota Statutes, see	<u>etion</u>					
332.15	256B.9754, must not be used for new						
332.16	construction or building renovation.						
332.17	Essential Community Support Grant	<u>t</u>					
332.18	Delay. Essential community supports						
332.19	grants under Minnesota Statutes, sectio	<u>n</u>					
332.20	256B.0917, subdivision 14, is reduced						
332.21	by \$6,410,000 in fiscal year 2012 and						
332.22	<u>\$7,279,000 in fiscal year 2013. Base le</u>	vel					
332.23	funding for fiscal year 2014 is reduced	by					
332.24	\$5,919,000. These reductions are oneti	me					
332.25	and do not affect base level funding for	fiscal					
332.26	year 2015.						
332.27	<u>(j) Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing G</u>	<u>frants</u>	<u>1,936,000</u>	<u>1,767,000</u>			
332.28	(k) Disabilities Grants		<u>21,950,000</u>	23,788,000			
332.29	Local Planning Grants for Creating						
332.30	Alternatives to Congregate Living fo	<u>r</u>					
332.31	Individuals with Lower Needs. The						
332.32	commissioner shall make available a to	otal					
332.33	of \$250,000 per year in local planning						

333.1	grants, beginning July 1, 2011, to assist		
333.2	lead agencies and provider organizations in		
333.3	developing alternatives to congregate living		
333.4	within the available level of resources for the		
333.5	home and community-based services waivers		
333.6	for persons with disabilities.		
333.7	(1) Adult Mental Health Grants		
333.8	Appropriations by Fund		
333.9	<u>General</u> <u>76,789,000</u> <u>76,789,000</u>		
333.10	Lottery Prize Fund <u>1,427,000</u> <u>1,430,000</u>		
333.11	Funding Usage. Up to 75 percent of a fiscal		
333.12	year's appropriation for adult mental health		
333.13	grants may be used to fund allocations in that		
333.14	portion of the fiscal year ending December		
333.15	<u>31.</u>		
333.16	Base Adjustment. The lottery prize fund		
333.17	base for this program shall be increased by		
333.18	\$78,000 in each of fiscal years 2014 and		
333.19	<u>2015.</u>		
333.20	(m) Children's Mental Health Grants 16,682,000 16,682,00		
333.21	Funding Usage. Up to 75 percent of a fiscal		
333.22	year's appropriation for children's mental		
333.23	health grants may be used to fund allocations		
333.24	in that portion of the fiscal year ending		
333.25	December 31.		
333.26 333.27	(n) Chemical Dependency Nonentitlement Grants 1,336,000 1,336,000		
333.28	Subd. 5. State-Operated Services		
333.29	Transfer Authority Related to		
333.30	State-Operated Services. Money		
333.31	appropriated for state-operated services		
333.32	may be transferred between fiscal years		

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
334.1	of the biennium with the approval of t	he		
334.2	commissioner of management and bud			
		<u> </u>		
334.3 334.4	<u>(a) State-Operated Services Me</u> <u>Health</u>	<u>ental</u>	112,436,000	80,603,000
334.5	State-Operated Services. To achieve	these		
334.6	savings, the commissioner shall close			
334.7	Willmar Community Behavioral Healt			
334.8	Hospital no later than October 1, 2011	<u>, and</u>		
334.9	shall close the inpatient child and adole	escent		
334.10	behavioral health service program in			
334.11	Willmar, the subacute mental health fa	<u>cility</u>		
334.12	in Wadena, and the community behavi	oral		
334.13	health hospitals in Alexandria, Annand	<u>lale,</u>		
334.14	Baxter, Bemidji, Fergus Falls, and Roc	hester		
334.15	no later than October 1, 2012.			
334.16	Base Adjustment. The general fund b	ase is		
334.17	reduced by \$8,443,000 in fiscal year 2			
334.17	and \$11,543,000 in fiscal year 2015.	014		
551.10	<u>und \$11,515,000 m notur your 2015.</u>			
334.19	(b) Minnesota Security Hospita	<u>ll</u>	<u>69,582,000</u>	<u>69,582,000</u>
334.20	Subd. 6. Sex Offender Program		70,416,000	67,570,000
334.21	Transfer Authority Related to Minn	<u>esota</u>		
334.22	Sex Offender Program. Money			
334.23	appropriated for the Minnesota sex off	ender		
334.24	program may be transferred between f	iscal		
334.25	years of the biennium with the approv	al		
334.26	of the commissioner of management a	nd		
334.27	budget.			
334.28	<u>Minnesota Sex Offender Program</u>			
334.29	Reduction. The fiscal year 2011 gene	<u>ral</u>		
334.30	fund appropriation for Minnesota sex			
334.31	offender services under Laws 2009, ch	apter_		
334.32	79, article 13, section 3, subdivision 1	<u>0,</u>		
334.33	paragraph (b), is reduced by \$3,000,00	<u>0.</u>		

	03/21/11 07:39 AM		REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177	
335.1	Subd. 7. Technical Ac	tivities		81,206,000	<u>99,551,000</u>	
335.2	This appropriation is fro	om the federal T	ANF			
335.3	<u>fund.</u>					
335.4	Sec. 4. COMMISSIO	NER OF HEAL	<u>TH</u>			
335.5	Subdivision 1. Total A	ppropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>146,603,000 §</u>	<u>135,521,000</u>	
335.6	Appropria	ations by Fund				
335.7		2012	2013			
335.8	General	77,166,000	72,467,000			
335.9 335.10	State Government Special Revenue	45,268,000	45,325,000			
335.11	Health Care Access	12,456,000	8,322,000			
335.12	Federal TANF	11,713,000	11,713,000			
		<u></u>				
335.13	The amounts that may	be spent for eac	<u>h</u>			
335.14	purpose are specified in	the following				
335.15	subdivisions.					
335.16 335.17	Subd. 2. Community Promotion	and Family He	ealth			
335.18	Appropria	ations by Fund				
335.19	General	50,348,000	45,651,000			
335.20 335.21	State Government Special Revenue	1,033,000	1,033,000			
335.22	Federal TANF	11,713,000	11,713,000			
335.23	Health Care Access	1,719,000	1,719,000			
335.24	TANF Appropriations	. (1) \$1,156,000	<u>) of</u>			
335.25	the TANF funds is appr	opriated each ye	ear to			
335.26	the commissioner for fa	milv planning g	rants			
335.27	under Minnesota Statut					
335.28	(2) \$3,579,000 of the T	ANF funds is				
335.29	appropriated each year	to the commission	oner			
335.30	for home visiting and n					
335.31	listed under Minnesota	Statutes, section	1			
335.32	145.882, subdivision 7,	,	_			
335.33	Funds must be distribut					
335.34	health boards according	g to Minnesota				
335.35	Statutes, section 145A.131, subdivision 1.					

А	1	1	-0	1	7	7	

336.1	(3) \$2,000,000 of the TANF funds is				
336.2	appropriated each year to the commissioner				
336.3	for decreasing racial and ethnic disparities				
336.4	in infant mortality rates under Minnesota				
336.5	Statutes, section 145.928, subdivision 7.				
336.6	(4) \$4,978,000 of the TANF funds is				
336.7	appropriated each year to the commissioner				
336.8	for the family home visiting grant program				
336.9	according to Minnesota Statutes, section				
336.10	145A.17. \$4,000,000 of the funding must				
336.11	be distributed to community health boards				
336.12	according to Minnesota Statutes, section				
336.13	145A.131, subdivision 1. \$978,000 of				
336.14	the funding must be distributed to tribal				
336.15	governments based on Minnesota Statutes,				
336.16	section 145A.14, subdivision 2a.				
336.17	(5) The commissioner may use up to 6.23				
336.18	percent of the funds appropriated each fiscal				
336.19	year to conduct the ongoing evaluations				
336.20	required under Minnesota Statutes, section				
336.21	145A.17, subdivision 7, and training and				
336.22	technical assistance as required under				
336.23	Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.17,				
336.24	subdivisions 4 and 5.				
336.25	TANF Carryforward. Any unexpended				
336.26	balance of the TANF appropriation in the				
336.27	first year of the biennium does not cancel but				
336.28	is available for the second year.				
336.29	Subd. 3. Policy Quality and Compliance				
336.30	Appropriations by Fund				
336.31	<u>General</u> <u>10,048,000</u> <u>9,998,000</u>				
336.32 336.33	State GovernmentSpecial Revenue14,026,00014,083,000				
336.34	Health Care Access 10,737,000 6,603,000				

A11-0177

- 337.1 MERC Fund Transfers. The commissioner
- 337.2 of management and budget shall transfer
- 337.3 <u>\$9,800,000 from the MERC fund to the</u>
- 337.4 general fund by October 1, 2011.
- 337.5 **Unused Federal Match Funds.** Of the
- 337.6 <u>funds appropriated in Laws 2009, chapter</u>
- 337.7 <u>79, article 13, section 4, subdivision 3, for</u>
- 337.8 state matching funds for the federal Health
- 337.9 Information Technology for Economic and
- 337.10 Clinical Health Act, \$2,800,000 is transferred
- 337.11 to the health care access fund by October 1,
- 337.12 <u>2011.</u>

337.13 Advisory Committee on Patient and

- 337.14 **Community Engagement.** \$50,000 is
- 337.15 <u>appropriated to the commissioner of health</u>
- 337.16 to provide a grant to a private sector
- 337.17 <u>organization designated as the advisory</u>
- 337.18 committee on patient and community
- 337.19 engagement to be used by the organization
- 337.20 <u>for:</u>
- 337.21 (1) per diems and expenses for persons who
- 337.22 serve on the designated organization's board;
- 337.23 <u>and</u>
- 337.24 (2) expenses for conducting focus groups,
- 337.25 community engagement events, surveys, and
- 337.26 other activities undertaken by the designated
- 337.27 organization to obtain information, input,
- 337.28 and preferences from diverse communities
- 337.29 for purposes of community engagement in
- 337.30 <u>health system issues.</u>
- 337.31 Health Careers Opportunities Grants.
- 337.32 <u>\$447,000 each year is appropriated to the</u>
- 337.33 <u>commissioner of health from the health</u>
- 337.34 <u>care access fund for the health careers</u>

338.1	opportunities grant program under Minnesota
550.1	opportainties grant program anaer miniesota

|--|

338.3 Health Professions Opportunities

- 338.4 **Scholarship Program.** \$63,000 each year is
- 338.5 <u>appropriated to the commissioner of health</u>
- 338.6 <u>from the health care access fund for the</u>
- 338.7 <u>health professions opportunities scholarship</u>
- 338.8 program under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 338.9 <u>144.1503.</u> \$138,000 in fiscal year 2012 and
- 338.10 <u>\$276,000 each year thereafter is appropriated</u>
- 338.11 to the commissioner of health from the
- 338.12 general fund for the health professions
- 338.13 opportunities scholarship program under
- 338.14 Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1503.

338.15 Base Level Adjustment. The state

- 338.16 government special revenue fund base shall
- 338.17 be reduced by \$141,000 in fiscal years 2014
- 338.18 and 2015. The health care access base shall
- 338.19 be increased by \$600,000 in fiscal year 2014.
- 338.20 Subd. 4. Health Protection

338.21	Appropria	ations by Fund			
338.22	General	9,330,000	9,330,000		
338.23 338.24	State Government Special Revenue	30,209,000	30,209,000		
338.24	Subd. 5. Administrativ			7,440,000	7,488,000
338.26	Sec. 5. <u>COUNCIL ON</u>	<u>I DISABILITY</u>	<u>\$</u>	<u>524,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>524,000</u>
338.27	Sec. 6. OMBUDSMA				
338.28 338.29	<u>HEALTH AND DEVI</u> DISABILITIES	<u>ELOPNIEN IAI</u>	<u>+</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>1,655,000 §</u>	<u>1,655,000</u>
338.30	Sec. 7. <u>OMBUDSPER</u>	SON FOR FAN	<u> 41LIES </u> §	<u>265,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>265,000</u>
338.31	Sec. 8. <u>HEALTH-REI</u>	LATED BOARI	<u>DS</u>		
338.32	Subdivision 1. Total A	ppropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>17,365,000 §</u>	<u>17,264,000</u>

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
339.1	This appropriation is from the state			
339.2	government special revenue fund. Th	e		
339.3	amounts that may be spent for each pu			
339.4	are specified in the following subdivisi			
339.5	Subd. 2. Board of Chiropractic Exa		469,000	469,000
559.5	Subd. 2. Board of Chiropractic Exa	<u>innici s</u>	409,000	409,000
339.6	Subd. 3. Board of Dentistry		<u>1,959,000</u>	<u>1,914,000</u>
339.7	Health Professional Services Progra	<u>m.</u>		
339.8	\$834,000 in fiscal year 2012 and \$804.	,000 in		
339.9	fiscal year 2013 from the state governme	ment		
339.10	special revenue fund are for the health	<u>h</u>		
339.11	professional services program.			
339.12	Subd. 4. Board of Dietetic and Nut	<u>rition</u>	110 000	110.000
339.13	<u>Practice</u>		<u>110,000</u>	<u>110,000</u>
339.14 339.15	Subd. 5. Board of Marriage and Fa Therapy	amily	<u>192,000</u>	167,000
339.16	Rulemaking. Of this appropriation, \$2	25,000		
339.17	in fiscal year 2012 is for rulemaking.	<u> This is</u>		
339.18	a onetime appropriation.			
339.19	Subd. 6. Board of Medical Practice		3,866,000	3,866,000
339.20	Subd. 7. Board of Nursing		3,545,000	3,545,000
339.21 339.22	Subd. 8. Board of Nursing Home Administrators		<u>2,153,000</u>	<u>2,145,000</u>
339.23	Rulemaking. Of this appropriation, \$4	44,000		
339.24	in fiscal year 2012 is for rulemaking.	<u> This is</u>		
339.25	a onetime appropriation.			
339.26	Electronic Licensing System Adapto	ors.		
339.27	Of this appropriation, \$761,000 in fisc	cal		
339.28	year 2013 from the state government s	pecial		
339.29	revenue fund is to the administrative se	ervices		
339.30	unit to cover the costs to connect to the	ne		
339.31	e-licensing system. Minnesota Statute	es,		
339.32	section 16E.22. Base level funding for	<u>r this</u>		
339.33	activity in fiscal year 2014 shall be \$10	00,000.		

- 340.1 Base level funding for this activity in fiscal 340.2 year 2015 shall be \$50,000. 340.3 **Development and Implementation of a** 340.4 Disciplinary, Regulatory, Licensing and 340.5 **Information Management System.** Of this appropriation, \$800,000 in fiscal year 2012 340.6 and \$300,000 in fiscal year 2013 are for the 340.7 development of a shared system. Base level 340.8 funding for this activity in fiscal year 2014 340.9 shall be \$50,000. 340.10 **Administrative Services Unit - Operating** 340.11 **Costs.** Of this appropriation, \$526,000 340.12 in fiscal year 2012 and \$526,000 in 340.13 fiscal year 2013 are for operating costs 340.14 of the administrative services unit. The 340.15 340.16 administrative services unit may receive and expend reimbursements for services 340.17 performed by other agencies. 340.18 **Administrative Services Unit - Retirement** 340.19 340.20 **Costs.** Of this appropriation in fiscal year 340.21 2012, \$225,000 is for onetime retirement costs in the health-related boards. This 340.22 funding may be transferred to the health 340.23 340.24 boards incurring those costs for their payment. These funds are available either 340.25 year of the biennium. 340.26 **Administrative Services Unit - Volunteer** 340.27 340.28 Health Care Provider Program. Of this 340.29 appropriation, \$150,000 in fiscal year 2012 and \$150,000 in fiscal year 2013 are to pay 340.30 for medical professional liability coverage 340.31 required under Minnesota Statutes, section 340.32 340.33 214.40. **Administrative Services Unit - Contested** 340.34
- 340.35 Cases and Other Legal Proceedings.

A11-0177

341.1	Of this appropriation, \$200,000 in fiscal		
341.2	year 2012 and \$200,000 in fiscal year		
341.3	2013 are for costs of contested case		
341.4	hearings and other unanticipated costs of		
341.5	legal proceedings involving health-related		
341.6	boards funded under this section. Upon		
341.7	certification of a health-related board to the		
341.8	administrative services unit that the costs		
341.9	will be incurred and that there is insufficient		
341.10	money available to pay for the costs out of		
341.11	money currently available to that board, the		
341.12	administrative services unit is authorized		
341.13	to transfer money from this appropriation		
341.14	to the board for payment of those costs		
341.15	with the approval of the commissioner of		
341.16	finance. This appropriation does not cancel.		
341.17	Any unencumbered and unspent balances		
341.18	remain available for these expenditures in		
341.19	subsequent fiscal years.		
341.20	Subd. 9. Board of Optometry	106,000	106,000
341.21	Subd. 10. Board of Pharmacy	<u>1,977,000</u>	<u>1,980,000</u>
341.22	Prescription Electronic Reporting. Of		
341.23	this appropriation, \$356,000 in fiscal year		
341.24	2012 and \$356,000 in fiscal year 2013 from		
341.25	the state government special revenue fund		
341.26	are to the board to operate the prescription		
341.27	electronic reporting system in Minnesota		
341.28	Statutes, section 152.126. Base level funding		
341.29	for this activity in fiscal year 2014 shall be		
341.30	<u>\$356,000.</u>		
341.31	Subd. 11. Board of Physical Therapy	<u>389,000</u>	345,000
341.32	Rulemaking. Of this appropriation, \$44,000		
341.33	in fiscal year 2012 is for rulemaking. This is		
341.33 341.34			

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
342.1	Subd. 12. Board of Podiatry		<u>75,000</u>	<u>75,000</u>
342.2	Subd. 13. Board of Psychology		846,000	<u>846,000</u>
342.3	Subd. 14. Board of Social Work		1,036,000	1,053,000
342.4	Subd. 15. Board of Veterinary Medi	<u>cine</u>	228,000	229,000
342.5 342.6	<u>Subd. 16.</u> Board of Behavioral Heal Therapy	lth and	414,000	414,000
342.7 342.8	Sec. 9. <u>EMERGENCY MEDICAL S</u> <u>BOARD</u>	<u>SERVICES</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>2,742,000</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>2,742,000</u>
342.9	Of the appropriation, \$700,000 in fisca	al year		
342.10	2012 and \$700,000 in fiscal year 2013	are		
342.11	for the Cooper/Sams volunteer ambula	ance		
342.12	program under Minnesota Statutes, see	ction		
342.13	<u>144E.40.</u>			
342.14 342.15	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2010, s to read:	section 256.01, is	amended by adding	a subdivision
342.16	Subd. 33. Federal administrat	tive reimbursem	ent dedicated. Fede	eral
342.17	administrative reimbursement resulting			
342.18	commissioner for the designated purpo	oses:		
342.19	(1) reimbursement for the Minne	esota senior health	options project; and	<u>1</u>
342.20	(2) reimbursement related to price	or authorization ar	nd inpatient admissio	on certification
342.21	by a professional review organization.	A portion of thes	e funds must be used	d for activities
342.22	to decrease unnecessary pharmaceutic	al costs in medica	l assistance.	
342.23	Sec. 11. Laws 2010, First Special S	Session chapter 1,	article 15, section 3	, subdivision
342.24	6, is amended to read:			
342.25	Subd. 6. Continuing Care Grants			
342.26	(a) Aging and Adult Services Grants	8	(3,600,000)	(3,600,000)
342.27	Community Service/Service Develop	oment		
342.28	Grants Reduction. Effective retroact	ively		
342.29	from July 1, 2009, funding for grants i	made		
342.30	under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256	6.9754		
342.31	and 256B.0917, subdivision 13, is red	uced		

343.1	by \$5,807,000 for each year of the biennium.		
343.2	Grants made during the biennium under		
343.3	Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9754, shall		
343.4	not be used for new construction or building		
343.5	renovation.		
343.6	Aging Grants Delay. Aging grants must be		
343.7	reduced by \$917,000 in fiscal year 2011 and		
343.8	increased by \$917,000 in fiscal year 2012.		
343.9	These adjustments are onetime and must not		
343.10	be applied to the base. This provision expires		
343.11	June 30, 2012.		
343.12 343.13	(b) Medical Assistance Long-Term Care Facilities Grants	(3,827,000)	(2,745,000)
343.14	ICF/MR Variable Rates Suspension.		
343.15	Effective retroactively from July 1, 2009,		
343.16	to June 30, 2010, no new variable rates		
343.17	shall be authorized for intermediate care		
343.18	facilities for persons with developmental		
343.19	disabilities under Minnesota Statutes, section		
343.20	256B.5013, subdivision 1.		
343.21	ICF/MR Occupancy Rate Adjustment		
343.22	Suspension. Effective retroactively from		
343.23	July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2011, approval		
343.24	of new applications for occupancy rate		
343.25	adjustments for unoccupied short-term		
343.26	beds under Minnesota Statutes, section		
343.27	256B.5013, subdivision 7, is suspended.		
343.28 343.29	(c) Medical Assistance Long-Term Care Waivers and Home Care Grants	(2,318,000)	(5,807,000)
343.30	Developmental Disability Waiver Acuity		
343.31	Factor. Effective retroactively from January		
343.32	1, 2010, the January 1, 2010, one percent		
343.33	growth factor in the developmental disability		
343.34	waiver allocations under Minnesota Statutes,		
343.35	section 256B.092, subdivisions 4 and 5,		

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
344.1	that is attributable to changes in acuity,	is		
344.2	suspended to June 30, 2011 eliminated			
344.3	Notwithstanding any law to the contrary	<u>y, this</u>		
344.4	provision does not expire.			
344.5	(d) Adult Mental Health Grants		(5,000,000)	-0-
344.6	(e) Chemical Dependency Entitlemen	t Grants	(3,622,000)	(3,622,000)
344.7 344.8	(f) Chemical Dependency Nonentitle Grants	ment	(393,000)	(393,000)
344.9 344.10	(g) Other Continuing Care Grants		-0-	(2,500,000) (1,414,000)
344.11	Other Continuing Care Grants Delay	۷.		
344.12	Other continuing care grants must be rea	duced		
344.13	by \$1,414,000 in fiscal year 2011 and			
344.14	increased by \$1,414,000 in fiscal year 2	.012.		
344.15	These adjustments are onetime and mus	st not		
344.16	be applied to the base. This provision ex	xpires		
344.17	June 30, 2012.			
344.18	(h) Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Grants	<u>8</u>	<u>-0-</u>	<u>(169,000)</u>
344.19	Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Grants De	elay.		
344.20	Effective retroactively from July 1, 201	.0,		
344.21	deaf and hard-of-hearing grants must b	<u>e</u>		
344.22	reduced by \$169,000 in fiscal year 2011	and		
344.23	increased by \$169,000 in fiscal year 20	12.		
344.24	These adjustments are onetime and mus	<u>st not</u>		
344.25	be applied to the base. This provision explicitly the second seco	<u>xpires</u>		
344.26	June 30, 2012.			
344.27	Sec. 12. TRANSFERS.			
344.28	Subdivision 1. Grants. The com			
344.29	of the commissioner of management an	-		
344.30	the senate health and human services b	udget and polic	cy committee and the	e house of
344.31	representatives health and human service		-	
344.32	appropriation balances for the biennium	ending June 3	0, 2013, within fisca	al years among

344.33

the MFIP; general assistance; general assistance medical care under Minnesota Statutes

03/21/11 07:39 AM

SS/RT

345.1	2009 Supplement, section 256D.03, subdivision 3; medical assistance; MFIP child care
345.2	assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.05; Minnesota supplemental aid;
345.3	and group residential housing programs, and the entitlement portion of the chemical
345.4	dependency consolidated treatment fund, and between fiscal years of the biennium.
345.5	Subd. 2. Administration. Positions, salary money, and nonsalary administrative
345.6	money may be transferred within the Departments of Health and Human Services as the
345.7	commissioners consider necessary, with the advance approval of the commissioner of
345.8	management and budget. The commissioner shall inform the chairs of the senate health
345.9	and human services budget and policy committee and the house of representatives health
345.10	and human services finance committee quarterly about transfers made under this provision.
345.11	Sec. 13. INDIRECT COSTS NOT TO FUND PROGRAMS.
345.12	The commissioners of health and human services shall not use indirect cost
345.13	allocations to pay for the operational costs of any program for which they are responsible.
345.14	Sec. 14. EXPIRATION OF UNCODIFIED LANGUAGE.
345.15	All uncodified language contained in this article expires on June 30, 2013, unless a
345.16	different expiration date is explicit.
345.17	Sec. 15. EFFECTIVE DATE.
345.18	The provisions in this article are effective July 1, 2011, unless a different effective
345.19	date is specified.
345.20	ARTICLE 11
345.21	HUMAN SERVICES FORECAST ADJUSTMENTS
345.22 345.23	Section 1. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES FORECAST ADJUSTMENT APPROPRIATIONS.
345.24	The sums shown are added to, or if shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the
345.25	appropriations in Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 13, as amended by Laws 2009, chapter
345.26	173, article 2; Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, articles 15, 23, and 25; and
345.27	Laws 2010, Second Special Session chapter 1, article 3, to the commissioner of human
345.28	services and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the
345.29	general fund or another named fund and are available for the fiscal year indicated for
345.30	each purpose. The figure "2011" used in this article means that the appropriation or
345.31	appropriations listed are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2011.

346.1 346.2	Sec. 2. <u>COMMISSIONER OF HUMA</u> <u>SERVICES</u>	<u>AN</u>		
346.3	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation		<u>\$</u>	<u>(235,463,000)</u>
346.4	Appropriations by Fund			
346.5		<u>2011</u>		
346.6	<u>General</u> (38	81,869,000)		
346.7	Health Care Access 1	69,514,000		
346.8	Federal TANF (2	23,108,000)		
346.9	The amounts that may be spent for each			
346.10	purpose are specified in the following			
346.11	subdivisions.			
346.12	Subd. 2. Revenue and Pass-through			732,000
346.13	This appropriation is from the federal TA	NF		
346.14	fund.			
346.15 346.16	Subd. 3. Children and Economic Assist Grants	stance		
346.17	Appropriations by Fund			
346.18	General	(7,098,000)		
346.19	Federal TANF (2	23,840,000)		
346.20	(a) MFIP/DWP Grants			
346.21	Appropriations by Fund			
346.22	General	18,715,000		
346.23	<u>Federal TANF</u> (2	23,840,000)		
346.24	(b) MFIP Child Care Assistance Grant	<u>ts</u>		(24,394,000)
346.25	(c) General Assistance Grants			<u>(664,000)</u>
346.26	(d) Minnesota Supplemental Aid Gran	ts		793,000
346.27	(e) Group Residential Housing Grants			<u>(1,548,000)</u>
346.28	Subd. 4. Basic Health Care Grants			
346.29	Appropriations by Fund			
346.30		<u>35,050,000)</u>		
346.31	Health Care Access	169,514,000		

SS/RT

A11-0177

346.32 (a) MinnesotaCare Grants

169,514,000

	03/21/11 07:39 AM	REVISOR	SS/RT	A11-0177
347.1 347.2	This appropriation is from the health car access fund.	<u>re</u>		
347.3 347.4	(b) Medical Assistance Basic Health (Families and Children	Care -		<u>(49,368,000)</u>
347.5 347.6	(c) Medical Assistance Basic Health C Elderly and Disabled	Care -		<u>(43,258,000)</u>
347.7 347.8	<u>(d) Medical Assistance Basic Health (</u> <u>Adults without Children</u>	Care -		(242,424,000)
347.9	Subd. 5. Continuing Care Grants			<u>(39,721,000)</u>
347.10 347.11	<u>(a) Medical Assistance Long-Term Ca</u> <u>Facilities</u>	are		<u>(14,627,000)</u>
347.12 347.13	<u>(b) Medical Assistance Long-Term Ca</u> <u>Waivers</u>	are		(44,718,000)
347.14	(c) Chemical Dependency Entitlement	Grants		19,624,000
347.15	Sec. 3. Laws 2010, First Special Sess	sion chapter 1, artic	cle 25, section 3	, subdivision 6,
	is amended to read:			
347.17	Subd. 6. Health Care Grants			
347.18	(a) MinnesotaCare Grants		998,000	(13,376,000)
347.19	This appropriation is from the health car	re		

Article 11 Sec. 3.

access fund.

Health Care Access Fund Transfer to

General Fund. The commissioner of

management and budget shall transfer the

following amounts in the following years

from the health care access fund to the

general fund: \$998,000 \$0 in fiscal year

2010; \$176,704,000 \$59,901,000 in fiscal

year 2011; \$141,041,000 in fiscal year 2012;

and \$286,150,000 in fiscal year 2013. If at

any time the governor issues an executive

order not to participate in early medical

assistance expansion, no funds shall be

transferred from the health care access

fund to the general fund until early medical

347.20

347.21

347.22

347.23

347.24

347.25

347.26

347.27

347.28

347.29

347.30

347.31

347.32

347.33

347.34

348.4

REVISOR

A11-0177

348.1 assistance expansion takes effect. This
348.2 paragraph is effective the day following final
348.3 enactment.

MinnesotaCare Ratable Reduction.

348.5 Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2010, to December 31, 2013, 348.6 MinnesotaCare payments to managed care 348.7 plans under Minnesota Statutes, section 348.8 256L.12, for single adults and households 348.9 without children whose income is greater 348.10 than 75 percent of federal poverty guidelines 348.11 shall be reduced by 15 percent. Effective 348.12 348.13 for services provided from July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011, this reduction shall apply to 348.14 all services. Effective for services provided 348.15 348.16 from July 1, 2011, to December 31, 2013, this reduction shall apply to all services except 348.17 inpatient hospital services. Notwithstanding 348.18 any contrary provision of this article, this 348.19 paragraph shall expire on December 31, 348.20 348.21 2013.

348.22 (b) Medical Assistance Basic Health Care348.23 Grants - Families and Children

- 348.24 Critical Access Dental. Of the general
 348.25 fund appropriation, \$731,000 in fiscal year
 348.26 2011 is to the commissioner for critical
 348.27 access dental provider reimbursement
 348.28 payments under Minnesota Statutes, section
 348.29 256B.76 subdivision 4. This is a onetime
 348.30 appropriation.
- 348.31 Nonadministrative Rate Reduction. For348.32 services rendered on or after July 1, 2010,
- 348.33 to December 31, 2013, the commissioner
- 348.34 shall reduce contract rates paid to managed
- 348.35 care plans under Minnesota Statutes,

295,512,000

-0-

348

349.1	sections 256B.69 and 256L.12, and to		
349.2	county-based purchasing plans under		
349.3	Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.692, by		
349.4	three percent of the contract rate attributable		
349.5	to nonadministrative services in effect on		
349.6	June 30, 2010. Notwithstanding any contrary		
349.7	provision in this article, this rider expires on		
349.8	December 31, 2013.		
349.9 349.10	(c) Medical Assistance Basic Health Care Grants - Elderly and Disabled	-0-	(30,265,000)
349.11 349.12	(d) General Assistance Medical Care Grants	-0-	(75,389,000) (59,583,000)
349.13	The reduction to general assistance medical		
349.14	care grants is contingent upon the effective		
349.15	date in Laws 2010, First Special Session		
349.16	chapter 1, article 16, section 48. The		
349.17	reduction shall be reestimated based upon		
349.18	the actual effective date of the law. The		
349.19	commissioner of management and budget		
349.20	shall make adjustments in fiscal year		
349.21	2011 to general assistance medical care		
349.22	appropriations to conform to the total		
349.23	expected expenditure reductions specified in		
349.24	this section.		
349.25	(e) Other Health Care Grants	-0-	(7,000,000)
349.26	Cobra Carryforward. Unexpended funds		
349.27	appropriated in fiscal year 2010 for COBRA		
349.28	grants under Laws 2009, chapter 79, article		
349.29	5, section 78, do not cancel and are available		
349.30	to the commissioner for fiscal year 2011		
349.31	COBRA grant expenditures. Up to \$111,000		
349.32	of the fiscal year 2011 appropriation for		
349.33	COBRA grants provided in Laws 2009,		
349.34	chapter 79, article 13, section 3, subdivision		
349.35	6, may be used by the commissioner for costs		

- 350.1 related to administration of the COBRA
- 350.2 grants.
- 350.3 Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.
- 350.4

350.6

This article is effective the day following final enactment."

350.5 Delete the title and insert:

"A bill for an act

relating to state government; establishing the health and human services budget; 350.7 making changes to children and family services, Department of Health, health 350.8 licensing boards, miscellaneous provisions, health licensing fees, health care, 350.9 and continuing care; redesigning service delivery; making changes to chemical 350.10 and mental health; modifying fee schedules; modifying program eligibility 350.11 requirements; authorizing rulemaking; requiring reports; appropriating money 350.12 for the Departments of Health and Human Services and other health-related 350.13 boards and councils; making forecast adjustments; amending Minnesota Statutes 350.14 2010, sections 3.98, by adding a subdivision; 62E.08, subdivision 1; 62E.14, by 350.15 adding a subdivision; 62J.04, subdivision 9; 62J.495, by adding a subdivision; 350.16 350.17 62J.497, by adding a subdivision; 62J.692; 62Q.32; 62Q.735, subdivision 5; 62Q.75, subdivision 3; 62U.04, subdivision 3; 62U.06, subdivision 2; 119B.011, 350.18 subdivision 13; 119B.035, subdivisions 1, 4; 119B.09, subdivision 10, by adding 350.19 subdivisions; 119B.13, subdivisions 1, 1a, 7; 144.1499; 144.1501, subdivisions 350.20 1, 4; 144.98, subdivisions 2a, 7, by adding subdivisions; 144A.04, by adding a 350.21 subdivision; 144A.05; 144A.61, by adding a subdivision; 144E.123; 145.928, 350.22 subdivision 2; 145.986, by adding subdivisions; 145A.17, subdivision 3; 350.23 148.07, subdivision 1; 148.10, subdivision 7; 148.108, by adding a subdivision; 350.24 148.191, subdivision 2; 148.211, subdivision 1; 148.212, subdivision 1; 148.231; 350.25 148B.17; 148B.33, subdivision 2; 148B.52; 148B.5301, subdivisions 1, 3, 350.26 4; 148B.54, subdivisions 2, 3; 148E.060, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 5, by adding 350.27 a subdivision; 148E.120; 150A.02; 150A.06, subdivisions 1c, 1d, 3, 4, 6, 350.28 by adding a subdivision; 150A.09, subdivision 3; 150A.091, subdivisions 350.29 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, by adding a subdivision; 150A.105, subdivision 7; 150A.106, 350.30 subdivision 1; 150A.14; 151.07; 151.101; 151.102, by adding a subdivision; 350.31 151.12; 151.13, subdivision 1; 151.19; 151.25; 151.47, subdivision 1; 151.48; 350.32 152.12, subdivision 3; 157.15, by adding a subdivision; 157.20, by adding a 350.33 subdivision; 214.09, by adding a subdivision; 214.103; 245A.03, subdivision 350.34 2; 245A.14, subdivision 4; 245C.08, subdivision 1; 245C.33, subdivision 1; 350.35 246B.10; 252.025, subdivision 7; 252.27, subdivision 2a; 252.291, subdivision 350.36 2; 253B.212; 254B.03, subdivisions 1, 4; 254B.04, subdivision 1, by adding 350.37 a subdivision; 254B.06, subdivision 2; 256.01, subdivisions 14b, 24, 29, 350.38 by adding subdivisions; 256.045, subdivision 4a; 256.969, subdivision 2b, 350.39 by adding a subdivision; 256B.03, subdivision 1; 256B.04, subdivision 18; 350.40 256B.05, by adding a subdivision; 256B.055, subdivision 15; 256B.056, 350.41 subdivision 3, by adding a subdivision; 256B.057, subdivision 9; 256B.06, 350.42 subdivision 4; 256B.0625, subdivisions 8, 8a, 8e, 13e, 13h, 17, 17a, 18, 31a, 350.43 38, 41, by adding subdivisions; 256B.0631, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 256B.0657; 350.44 256B.0659, subdivisions 2, 11; 256B.0751, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, by adding 350.45 subdivisions; 256B.0753, by adding a subdivision; 256B.0754, by adding a 350.46 subdivision; 256B.0755, subdivision 4, by adding subdivisions; 256B.0756; 350.47 256B.0911, subdivisions 1a, 3a, 4a, 6; 256B.0913, subdivision 4; 256B.0915, 350.48 subdivisions 3a, 3b, 3e, 3h, 5, 10; 256B.0916, subdivision 6a; 256B.092, 350.49 subdivisions 1a, 1b, 1e, 1g, 3, 8, 8a; 256B.0945, subdivision 4; 256B.14, by 350.50 adding a subdivision; 256B.19, by adding a subdivision; 256B.37, subdivision 350.51 5; 256B.431, subdivision 2r, by adding a subdivision; 256B.434, subdivision 350.52 4; 256B.437, subdivision 6; 256B.441, by adding subdivisions; 256B.48, 350.53

subdivision 1; 256B.49, subdivisions 12, 13, 14, 15, by adding a subdivision; 351.1 256B.5012, by adding subdivisions; 256B.69, subdivisions 3a, 4, 5a, 5c, 6, by 351.2 adding subdivisions; 256B.692, subdivisions 2, 5, 7, by adding a subdivision; 351.3 256B.694; 256B.76, subdivision 4; 256D.02, subdivision 12a; 256D.05, 351.4 subdivision 1; 256D.06, subdivisions 1, 1b; 256D.09, subdivision 6; 256D.44, 351.5 subdivision 5; 256D.49, subdivision 3; 256G.02, subdivision 6; 256I.05, by 351.6 adding a subdivision; 256J.12, subdivisions 1a, 2; 256J.20, subdivision 3; 351.7 256J.38, subdivision 1; 256J.53, subdivision 2; 256L.01, subdivision 4a; 351.8 256L.02, subdivision 3; 256L.03, subdivisions 3, 5; 256L.04, subdivisions 1, 7; 351.9 256L.05, subdivisions 2, 3a, 5, by adding a subdivision; 256L.07, subdivision 351.10 1; 256L.09, subdivision 4; 256L.11, subdivision 7; 256L.12, subdivision 9; 351.11 256L.15, subdivision 1a; 297F.10, subdivision 1; 326B.175; 364.09; 393.07, 351.12 subdivisions 10, 10a; 402A.10, subdivisions 4, 5; 402A.15; 402A.18; 402A.20; 351.13 Laws 2008, chapter 363, article 18, section 3, subdivision 5; Laws 2009, chapter 351.14 79, article 8, sections 4, as amended; 51, as amended; article 13, section 3, 351.15 subdivision 8, as amended; Laws 2010, chapter 349, sections 1; 2; Laws 2010, 351.16 First Special Session chapter 1, article 15, section 3, subdivision 6; article 25, 351.17 section 3, subdivision 6; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, 351.18 chapters 62E; 62J; 62U; 137; 144; 145; 148; 151; 214; 256; 256B; 256D; 256L; 351.19 326B; 402A; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 62J.07, subdivisions 1, 351.20 2, 3; 144.1464; 145A.14, subdivisions 1, 2; 150A.22; 256.01, subdivision 2b; 351.21 256.979, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, 10; 256.9791; 256.9862, subdivision 2; 256B.057, 351.22 subdivision 2c; 256L.07, subdivision 7; 402A.30; 402A.45; Laws 2008, chapter 351.23 358, article 8, sections 8; 9; Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 3, section 18, as 351.24 amended; article 5, sections 55, as amended; 56; 57; 60; 61; 62; 63; 64; 65; 66; 351.25 68; 69; 79; Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0130, subpart 8; 6310.3100, subpart 2; 351.26 6310.3600; 6310.3700, subpart 1; 9500.1243, subpart 3." 351.27