## State of Minnesota \ LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON PENSIONS AND RETIREMENT



## HOUSE

Mary Murphy, Vice Chair Mike Benson Phyllis Kahn John Lesch Will Morgan Michael V. Nelson Tim O'Driscoll

55 State Office Building 100 Rev. Dr. MLK Jr. Boulevard Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155-1201 Telephone (651) 296-2750 FAX (651) 297-3697

TDD (651) 296-9896

e-mail: lcpr@lcpr.leg.mn website: www.lcpr.leg.mn

Lawrence A. Martin, Exec. Dir. Edward Burek, Deputy Dir. Lisa Diesslin, Commission Asst. Wyndolyn Smith, Admin. Asst.

## **SENATE**

Sandra L. Pappas, Chair Julie A. Rosen, Secretary Barb Goodwin Jeff Hayden Alice M. Johnson Tom Saxhaug Dave Thompson

March 26, 2014

Senator Sandra L. Pappas Chair, Senate Committee on State and Local Government Room 120 Capitol

Representative Michael V. Nelson Chair, House Committee on Government Operations 565 State Office Building

> Re: S.F. 1803 (Pappas)/H.F. 1951 (Murphy, M.); 2014 Omnibus Retirement Bill

Dear Senator Pappas and Representative Nelson:

On March 25, 2014, the Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement completed its consideration of proposed legislation for inclusion in the 2014 Omnibus Retirement Bill and recommended it as an amendment to S.F. 1803 (Pappas); H.F. 1951 (Murphy, M.).

The proposed legislation recommended by the Commission is attached in the form of delete-everything amendment S1803-23A. A summary of the 2014 Omnibus Retirement Bill assembled by the Commission is attached.

The members of the Commission would appreciate consideration of the proposed legislation by the Senate Committee on State and Local Government and by the House Committee on Government Operations. The staff of the Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement is available to assist the committees as they process the proposed legislation.

Sincerely,

Lawrence A. Martin **Executive Director** 

cc: Rep. Mary Murphy Rep. Mike Benson Rep. Phyllis Kahn Rep. John Lesch Rep. Will Morgan

Sen. Barb Goodwin Sen. Jeff Hayden Sen. Alice Johnson Sen. Tom Saxhaug Sen. Julie A. Rosen Sen. Dave Thompson

Jim Gelbmann Mark Shepard Molly Richardson Joe Marble

Kara Josephson Stephanie James Ryan Majerus Craig Sondag

Sheree Speer

Rep. Tim O'Driscoll

-fillth