1.2	Delete everyt	hing after the enacti	ng clause and in	nsert:	
1.3		",	ARTICLE 1		
1.4		AGRICULTU	RE APPROPI	RIATIONS	
1.5	Section 1. AGRIC	ULTURE APPRO	PRIATIONS		
1.6	The sums sho	wn in the columns	marked "Approj	priations" are approp	riated to the
1.7	agencies and for the	e purposes specified	in this article.	The appropriations a	re from the
1.8	general fund, or an	other named fund, a	and are available	e for the fiscal years	indicated
1.9	for each purpose.	The figures "2016" a	and "2017" used	l in this article mean	that the
1.10				iscal year ending Jun	
1.11				ear 2016. "The second	
1.12		ennium" is fiscal ye			<u>u j cur 15 115 cur</u>
		J			
1.13 1.14				APPROPRIAT Available for the	
1.15				Ending June	
1.16				<u>2016</u>	<u>2017</u>
1.17	Sec. 2. <b>DEPARTM</b>	IENT OF AGRICU	<u>ULTURE</u>		
1.18	Subdivision 1. Total	al Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>37,717,000</u> <u>\$</u>	38,742,000
1.19	Appr	opriations by Fund			
1.20		<u>2016</u>	<u>2017</u>		
1.21	General	37,139,000	38,164,000		
1.22	Remediation	388,000	388,000		
1.23	Agricultural	190,000	190,000		
1.24	The amounts that n	nay be spent for eac	<u>eh</u>		
1.25	purpose are specific	ed in the following			
1.26	subdivisions.				

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1437 as follows:

2.1	Subd. 2. Protection Ser	rvices		16,402,000	16,427,000
2.2	Appropria	tions by Fund			
2.3		2016	<u>2017</u>		
2.4	General	15,824,000	15,849,000		
2.5	Agricultural	190,000	190,000		
2.6	Remediation	388,000	388,000		
2.7	\$25,000 the first year and	d \$25,000 the se	econd		
2.8	year are to develop and	maintain cottag	<u>se</u>		
2.9	food license exemption of	outreach and tra	ining		
2.10	materials.				
2.11	\$75,000 the second year	is for a coordin	<u>nator</u>		
2.12	for the correctional facil	lity vocational			
2.13	training pilot program.				
2.14	\$388,000 the first year a	and \$388,000 th	<u>e</u>		
2.15	second year are from the	e remediation fu	<u>ınd</u>		
2.16	for administrative fundir	ng for the volun	<u>tary</u>		
2.17	cleanup program.				
2.18	\$225,000 the first year a	and \$175,000			
2.19	the second year are for	compensation			
2.20	for destroyed or crippled	d animals under	• -		
2.21	Minnesota Statutes, sect	ion 3.737. The	first		
2.22	year appropriation is for	claims submitt	ed		
2.23	during fiscal year 2016 a	and for all clain	<u>1S</u>		
2.24	submitted during fiscal y	year 2014 or 20	<u>15</u>		
2.25	that were not paid by the	e commissioner	due		
2.26	to a shortage of funding.	If the amount i	n the		
2.27	first year is insufficient,	the amount in t	<u>he</u>		
2.28	second year is available	in the first year.			
2.29	\$125,000 the first year a	and \$125,000 th	<u>e</u>		
2.30	second year are for com	pensation for cr	rop		
2.31	damage under Minnesot	a Statutes, secti	<u>on</u>		
2.32	3.7371. If the amount in	n the first year i	<u>S</u>		
2.33	insufficient, the amount	in the second ye	ear is		
2.34	available in the first year	<u>r.</u>			

3.1	If the commissioner determines that claims
3.2	made under Minnesota Statutes, section
3.3	3.737 or 3.7371, are unusually high, amounts
3.4	appropriated for either program may be
3.5	transferred to the appropriation for the other
3.6	program.
3.7	\$70,000 the first year and \$70,000 the second
3.8	year are for additional cannery inspections.
3.9	\$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the
3.10	second year are for increased oversight of
3.11	delegated local health boards.
3.12	\$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the
3.13	second year are to decrease the turnaround
3.14	time for retail food handler plan reviews.
3.15	\$1,024,000 the first year and \$1,024,000 the
3.16	second year are to streamline the retail food
3.17	safety regulatory and licensing experience
3.18	for regulated businesses and to decrease the
3.19	inspection delinquency rate.
3.20	\$1,350,000 the first year and \$1,350,000 the
3.21	second year are for additional inspections of
3.22	food manufacturers and wholesalers.
3.23	\$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 the
3.24	second year are additional funding for dairy
3.25	inspection services.
3.26	\$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 the
3.27	second year are additional funding for
3.28	laboratory services operations.
3.29	\$250,000 the first year and \$250,000
3.30	the second year are for additional meat
3.31	inspection services, including inspections
3.32	provided under the correctional facility
3.33	vocational training pilot program.

	04/09/15 01:18 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	H CS/NH	H1437DE1
4.1	Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sec	etion		
4.2	18B.05, \$90,000 the first year and \$90,0	000		
4.3	the second year are from the pesticide			
4.4	regulatory account in the agricultural fur	nd		
4.5	for an increase in the operating budget f	<u>`or</u>		
4.6	the Laboratory Services Division.			
4.7	\$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the	2		
4.8	second year are from the pesticide regula	atory		
4.9	account in the agricultural fund to updat	<u>te</u>		
4.10	and modify applicator education and train	ning		
4.11	materials.			
4.12 4.13	Subd. 3. Agricultural Marketing and Development	<u>l</u>	3,873,000	3,873,000
4.14	The commissioner must provide one-sto	p		
4.15	access for farmers in need of information	n or		
4.16	assistance to obtain or renew licenses, m	neet		
4.17	state regulatory requirements, or resolve	2		
4.18	disputes with state agencies.			
4.19	\$186,000 the first year and \$186,000 the	2		
4.20	second year are for transfer to the Minne	<u>esota</u>		
4.21	grown account and may be used as gran	<u>ts</u>		
4.22	for Minnesota grown promotion under			
4.23	Minnesota Statutes, section 17.102. Gra	nts		
4.24	may be made for one year. Notwithstand	ling		
4.25	Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, the			
4.26	appropriations encumbered under contra	<u>ict</u>		
4.27	on or before June 30, 2017, for Minneso	<u>ota</u>		
4.28	grown grants in this paragraph are availa	able		
4.29	until June 30, 2019.			
4.30	\$634,000 the first year and \$634,000 the	2		
4.31	second year are for continuation of the d	airy		
4.32	development and profitability enhancem	ent		
4.33	and dairy business planning grant progra	<u>ams</u>		
4.34	established under Laws 1997, chapter			
4.35	216, section 7, subdivision 2, and Laws			

5.1	2001, First Special Session chapter 2,		
5.2	section 9, subdivision 2. The commissioner		
5.3	may allocate the available sums among		
5.4	permissible activities, including efforts to		
5.5	improve the quality of milk produced in the		
5.6	state, in the proportions that the commissioner		
5.7	deems most beneficial to Minnesota's dairy		
5.8	farmers. The commissioner must submit		
5.9	a detailed accomplishment report and		
5.10	a work plan detailing future plans for,		
5.11	and anticipated accomplishments from,		
5.12	expenditures under this program to the		
5.13	chairs and ranking minority members of the		
5.14	legislative committees with jurisdiction over		
5.15	agriculture policy and finance on or before		
5.16	the start of each fiscal year. If significant		
5.17	changes are made to the plans in the course		
5.18	of the year, the commissioner must notify the		
5.19	chairs and ranking minority members.		
5.20	The commissioner may use funds		
5.21	appropriated in this subdivision for annual		
5.22	cost-share payments to resident farmers		
5.23	or entities that sell, process, or package		
5.24	agricultural products in this state for the costs		
5.25	of organic certification. The commissioner		
5.26	may allocate these funds for assistance for		
5.27	persons transitioning from conventional to		
5.28	organic agriculture.		
5.29 5.30	Subd. 4. Agriculture, Bioenergy, and Bioproduct Advancement	11,835,000	12,835,000
5.31	\$5,000,000 the first year and \$5,000,000 the		
5.32	second year are for transfer to the agriculture		
5.33	research, education, extension, and		
5.34	technology transfer fund under Minnesota		
5.35	Statutes, section 41A.14, subdivision 3.		
5.36	The commissioner may use a portion of		

6.1	the appropriation each year only for direct
6.2	expenses incurred by the commissioner to
6.3	provide administrative services and to act
6.4	as the fiscal agent for the board as required
6.5	under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.14,
6.6	subdivision 1, paragraph (c). Of these
6.7	amounts, at least \$600,000 each year is for
6.8	agriculture rapid response under Minnesota
6.9	Statutes, section 41A.14, subdivision 2,
6.10	clause (2).
6.11	Of the amounts designated for rapid response
6.12	in the prior paragraph, on June 1 each fiscal
6.13	year any unencumbered money is transferred
6.14	to the commissioner of agriculture for
6.15	compensation for destroyed or crippled
6.16	animals under Minnesota Statutes, section
6.17	<u>3.737;</u>
6.18	To the extent practicable, funds expended
6.19	under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.14,
6.20	subdivision 2, clauses (1) and (2), must
6.21	supplement and not supplant existing sources
6.22	and levels of funding. The board may award
6.23	grants to the University of Minnesota to
6.24	support the Forever Green Initiative.
6.25	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2016 and \$1,500,000
6.26	in fiscal year 2017 are for incentive payments
6.27	under Minnesota Statutes, sections 41A.16,
6.28	41A.17, and 41A.18. If the appropriation
6.29	exceeds the total amount for which all
6.30	producers are eligible in a fiscal year, the
6.31	balance of the appropriation is available
6.32	to the commissioner for the agricultural
6.33	growth, research, and innovation program
6.34	under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12.
6.35	These appropriations do not cancel and are

7.1	available until spent. The commissioner may
7.2	use up to 4.5 percent of the appropriation
7.3	for administration of the incentive payment
7.4	programs.
7.5	\$6,335,000 the first year and \$6,335,000
7.6	the second year are for the agricultural
7.7	growth, research, and innovation program
7.8	in Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12. No
7.9	later than February 1, 2016, and February
7.10	1, 2017, the commissioner must report to
7.11	the legislative committees with jurisdiction
7.12	over agriculture policy and finance regarding
7.13	the commissioner's accomplishments
7.14	and anticipated accomplishments in
7.15	the following areas: facilitating the
7.16	start-up, modernization, or expansion of
7.17	livestock operations including beginning
7.18	and transitioning livestock operations;
7.19	developing new markets for Minnesota
7.20	farmers by providing more fruits, vegetables,
7.21	meat, grain, and dairy for Minnesota school
7.22	children; assisting value-added agricultural
7.23	businesses to begin or expand, access new
7.24	markets, or diversify products; facilitating
7.25	the start-up, modernization, or expansion
7.26	of other beginning and transitioning
7.27	farms; sustainable agriculture on farm
7.28	research and demonstration; development or
7.29	expansion of food hubs and other alternative
7.30	community-based food distribution systems;
7.31	and research on bioenergy, biobased content,
7.32	or biobased formulated products and other
7.33	renewable energy development. The
7.34	commissioner may use up to 4.5 percent
7.35	of this appropriation for costs incurred to
7.36	administer the program. Any unencumbered

8.2	year and is available for the second year.
8.3	Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
8.4	16A.28, the appropriations encumbered
8.5	under contract on or before June 30, 2017, for
8.6	agricultural growth, research, and innovation
8.7	grants are available until June 30, 2019.
8.8	The commissioner may use funds
8.9	appropriated for the agricultural growth,
8.10	research, and innovation program as provided
8.11	in this paragraph. The commissioner may
8.12	award grants to owners of Minnesota
8.13	facilities producing bioenergy, biobased
8.14	content, or a biobased formulated product;
8.15	to organizations that provide for on-station,
8.16	on-farm field scale research and outreach to
8.17	develop and test the agronomic and economic
8.18	requirements of diverse strands of prairie
8.19	plants and other perennials for bioenergy
8.20	systems; or to certain nongovernmental
8.21	entities. For the purposes of this paragraph,
8.22	"bioenergy" includes transportation fuels
8.23	derived from cellulosic material, as well as
8.24	the generation of energy for commercial heat,
8.25	industrial process heat, or electrical power
8.26	from cellulosic materials via gasification or
8.27	other processes. Grants are limited to 50
8.28	percent of the cost of research, technical
8.29	assistance, or equipment related to bioenergy,
8.30	biobased content, or biobased formulated
8.31	product production or \$500,000, whichever
8.32	is less. Grants to nongovernmental entities
8.33	for the development of business plans and
8.34	structures related to community ownership
8.35	of eligible bioenergy facilities together may
8.36	not exceed \$150,000. The commissioner

balance does not cancel at the end of the first

9.1	shall make a good-faith effort to select
9.2	projects that have merit and, when taken
9.3	together, represent a variety of bioenergy
9.4	technologies, biomass feedstocks, and
9.5	geographic regions of the state. Projects
9.6	must have a qualified engineer provide
9.7	certification on the technology and fuel
9.8	source. Grantees must provide reports at the
9.9	request of the commissioner.
9.10	Of the amount appropriated for the
9.11	agricultural growth, research, and innovation
9.12	program in this subdivision, \$1,000,000 the
9.13	first year and \$1,000,000 the second year
9.14	are for distribution in equal amounts to each
9.15	of the state's county fairs to preserve and
9.16	promote Minnesota agriculture.
9.17	Of the amount appropriated for the
9.18	agricultural growth, research, and innovation
9.19	program in this subdivision, \$250,000 the
9.20	first year and \$250,000 the second year
9.21	are for grants that enable retail petroleum
9.22	dispensers to dispense biofuels to the public
9.23	in accordance with the biofuel replacement
9.24	goals established under Minnesota Statutes,
9.25	section 239.7911. A retail petroleum
9.26	dispenser selling petroleum for use in spark
9.27	ignition engines for vehicle model years after
9.28	2000 is eligible for grant money under this
9.29	paragraph if the retail petroleum dispenser
9.30	has no more than 15 retail petroleum
9.31	dispensing sites and each site is located
9.32	in Minnesota. The grant money received
9.33	under this paragraph must be used for the
9.34	installation of appropriate technology that
9.35	uses fuel dispensing equipment appropriate
9.36	for at least one fuel dispensing site to

10.1	dispense gasoline that is blended with 15
10.2	percent of agriculturally derived, denatured
10.3	ethanol, by volume, and appropriate technical
10.4	assistance related to the installation. A grant
10.5	award must not exceed 85 percent of the cost
10.6	of the technical assistance and appropriate
10.7	technology, including remetering of and
10.8	retrofits for retail petroleum dispensers and
10.9	replacement of petroleum dispenser projects.
10.10	The commissioner may use up to \$35,000
10.11	of this appropriation for administration
10.12	expenses. The commissioner shall cooperate
10.13	with the Minnesota Biofuels Association in
10.14	the implementation of the grant program. The
10.15	commissioner must report to the legislative
10.16	committees with jurisdiction over agriculture
10.17	policy and finance by February 1 each year,
10.18	detailing the number of grants awarded under
10.19	this paragraph and the projected effect of
10.20	the grant program on meeting the biofuel
10.21	replacement goals under Minnesota Statutes,
10.22	section 239.7911.
10.23	Of the amount appropriated for the
10.24	agricultural growth, research, and innovation
10.25	program in this subdivision, \$25,000 the first
10.26	year is for the livestock industry study.
10.27	Of the amount appropriated for the
10.28	agricultural growth, research, and innovation
10.29	program in this subdivision, \$50,000 the first
10.30	year is for the imported bait fish feasibility
10.31	study.
10.32	Of the amount appropriated for the
10.33	agricultural growth, research, and innovation
10.34	program in this subdivision, \$25,000 the first
10.35	year and \$25,000 the second year are for

11.1	grants to the Southern Minnesota Initiative		
11.2	Foundation to promote local foods through an		
11.3	annual event that raises public awareness of		
11.4	local foods and connects local food producers		
11.5	and processors with potential buyers.		
11.6 11.7	Subd. 5. Administration and Financial Assistance	5,607,000	5,607,000
11.8	\$75,000 the first year and \$75,000 the second		
11.9	year are for grants to the Center for Rural		
11.10	Policy and Development.		
11.11	The base for the farm to foodshelf program		
11.12	in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 is \$1,100,000		
11.13	each year.		
11.14	\$47,000 the first year and \$47,000 the second		
11.15	year are for the Northern Crops Institute.		
11.16	These appropriations may be spent to		
11.17	purchase equipment.		
11.18	\$18,000 the first year and \$18,000 the		
11.19	second year are for grants to the Minnesota		
11.20	Livestock Breeders Association.		
11.21	\$235,000 the first year and \$235,000 the		
11.22	second year are for grants to the Minnesota		
11.23	Agricultural Education and Leadership		
11.24	Council for programs of the council under		
11.25	Minnesota Statutes, chapter 41D.		
11.26	\$474,000 the first year and \$474,000 the		
11.27	second year are for payments to county and		
11.28	district agricultural societies and associations		
11.29	under Minnesota Statutes, section 38.02,		
11.30	subdivision 1. Aid payments to county and		
11.31	district agricultural societies and associations		
11.32	shall be disbursed no later than July 15 of		
11.33	each year. These payments are the amount of		

CS/NH

H1437DE1

HOUSE RESEARCH

04/09/15 01:18 PM

12.2	the previous calendar year.
12.3	\$1,000 the first year and \$1,000 the second
12.4	year are for grants to the Minnesota State
12.5	Poultry Association.
12.6	\$108,000 the first year and \$108,000 the
12.7	second year are for annual grants to the
12.8	Minnesota Turf Seed Council for basic
12.9	and applied research on: (1) the improved
12.10	production of forage and turf seed related to
12.11	new and improved varieties; and (2) native
12.12	plants, including plant breeding, nutrient
12.13	management, pest management, disease
12.14	management, yield, and viability. The grant
12.15	recipient may subcontract with a qualified
12.16	third party for some or all of the basic or
12.17	applied research.
12.18	\$550,000 the first year and \$550,000 the
12.19	second year are for grants to Second Harvest
12.20	Heartland on behalf of Minnesota's six
12.21	Second Harvest food banks for the purchase
12.22	of milk for distribution to Minnesota's food
12.23	shelves and other charitable organizations
12.24	that are eligible to receive food from the food
12.25	banks. Milk purchased under the grants must
12.26	be acquired from Minnesota milk processors
12.27	and based on low-cost bids. The milk must be
12.28	allocated to each Second Harvest food bank
12.29	serving Minnesota according to the formula
12.30	used in the distribution of United States
12.31	Department of Agriculture commodities
12.32	under The Emergency Food Assistance
12.33	Program (TEFAP). Second Harvest
12.34	Heartland must submit quarterly reports
12.35	to the commissioner on forms prescribed

aid from the state for an annual fair held in

13.1	by the commissioner. The reports must			
13.2	include, but are not limited to, information			
13.3	on the expenditure of funds, the amount			
13.4	of milk purchased, and the organizations			
13.5	to which the milk was distributed. Second			
13.6	Harvest Heartland may enter into contracts			
13.7	or agreements with food banks for shared			
13.8	funding or reimbursement of the direct			
13.9	purchase of milk. Each food bank receiving			
13.10	money from this appropriation may use up to			
13.11	two percent of the grant for administrative			
13.12	expenses.			
13.13	\$94,000 the first year and \$94,000 the			
13.14	second year are for transfer to the Board of			
13.15	Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges			
13.16	and Universities for statewide mental health			
13.17	counseling support to farm families and			
13.18	business operators. South Central College			
13.19	shall serve as the fiscal agent.			
13.20	\$17,000 the first year and \$17,000 the			
13.21	second year are for grants to the Minnesota			
13.22	Horticultural Society.			
13.23	Sec. 3. <b>BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH</b>	<u>\$</u>	<u>5,263,000</u> §	5,272,000
13.24 13.25	Sec. 4. AGRICULTURAL UTILIZATION RESEARCH INSTITUTE	<u>\$</u>	<u>2,643,000</u> §	2,643,000
13.26	ARTICL	E 2		
13.27	AGRICULTURI	E <b>POLI</b>	CY	
13.28	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 1	3.643, s	subdivision 1, is ame	ended to read:
13.29	Subdivision 1. <b>Department of Agricultur</b>	re data.	(a) Loan and gran	t applicant
13.30	data. The following data on applicants, collecte	d by the	Department of Agri	iculture in its
13.31	sustainable agriculture revolving loan and grant	<del>progran</del>	<del>ns</del> program under <del>se</del>	etions 17.115
13.32	and section 17.116, are private or nonpublic: no	nfarm i	ncome; credit history	; insurance

coverage; machinery and equipment list; financial information; and credit information requests.

- (b) **Farm advocate data.** The following data supplied by farmer clients to Minnesota farm advocates and to the Department of Agriculture are private data on individuals: financial history, including listings of assets and debts, and personal and emotional status information.
- 14.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 17.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 14. Regulatory assistance. A farmer ombudsman office is established

  within the Department of Agriculture to provide one-stop access for persons in need of

  information or assistance to obtain or renew licenses, meet state regulatory requirements,

  or resolve disputes with state agencies.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.01, subdivision 28, is amended to read:

  Subd. 28. **Structural pest.** "Structural pest" means a an invertebrate pest, other

  than a plant, or commensal rodent in, on, under, or near a structure such as a residential

  or commercial building.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.01, subdivision 29, is amended to read:

  Subd. 29. **Structural pest control.** "Structural pest control" means the control of
  any structural pest through the use of a device, a procedure, or application of pesticides or
  through other means in or around a building or other structures, including trucks, boxcars,
  ships, aircraft, docks, and fumigation vaults, and the business activity related to use of a
  device, a procedure, or application of a pesticide.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

  Subdivision 1. **Establishment.** A pesticide regulatory account is established in the agricultural fund. Fees, assessments, and penalties collected under this chapter must be deposited in the agricultural fund and credited to the pesticide regulatory account.

  Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner for the administration and enforcement of this chapter and may also be used by the commissioner for purposes of section 18H.14, paragraph (e).
- 14.30 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.32, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

Subdivision 1. **Requirement.** (a) A person may not engage in structural pest control applications:

(1) for hire without a structural pest control license; and

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

156

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

15.26

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.30

15.31

15.32

- (2) as a sole proprietorship, company, partnership, or corporation unless the person is or employs a licensed master in structural pest control operations.
- (b) A structural pest control licensee must have a valid license identification card when applying to purchase a restricted use pesticide or apply pesticides for hire and must display it upon demand by an authorized representative of the commissioner or a law enforcement officer. The license identification card must contain information required by the commissioner.
- (e) Notwithstanding the licensing requirements of this subdivision, a person may control the following nuisance or economically damaging wild animals, by trapping, without a structural pest control license:
- (1) fur-bearing animals, as defined in section 97A.015, with a valid trapping license or special permit from the commissioner of natural resources; and
  - (2) skunks, woodchucks, gophers, porcupines, coyotes, moles, and weasels.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.33, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

  Subdivision 1. **Requirement.** (a) A person may not apply a pesticide for hire

  without a commercial applicator license for the appropriate use categories or a structural pest control license.
  - (b) A commercial applicator licensee must have a valid license identification card when applying to purchase a restricted use pesticide or apply pesticides for hire and must display it upon demand by an authorized representative of the commissioner or a law enforcement officer. The commissioner shall prescribe the information required on the license identification card.
    - Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.34, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
  - Subdivision 1. **Requirement.** (a) Except for a licensed commercial applicator, certified private applicator, or licensed structural pest control applicator, a person, including a government employee, may not <u>purchase or use</u> a restricted use pesticide in performance of official duties without having a noncommercial applicator license for an appropriate use category.
  - (b) A licensee must have a valid license identification card when applying pesticides and must display it upon demand by an authorized representative of the commissioner

or a law enforcement officer. The license identification card must contain information required by the commissioner.

- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18C.425, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Payment of inspection fee.** (a) The person who registers and distributes in the state a specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, or plant amendment under section 18C.411 shall pay the inspection fee to the commissioner.
- (b) The person licensed under section 18C.415 who distributes a fertilizer to a person not required to be so licensed shall pay the inspection fee to the commissioner, except as exempted under section 18C.421, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
- (c) The person responsible for payment of the inspection fees for fertilizers, soil amendments, or plant amendments sold and used in this state must pay an inspection fee of 30 39 cents per ton, and until June 30, 2019, an additional 40 cents per ton, of fertilizer, soil amendment, and plant amendment sold or distributed in this state, with a minimum of \$10 on all tonnage reports. Notwithstanding section 18C.131, the commissioner must deposit all revenue from the additional 40 cent per ton fee in the agricultural fertilizer research and education account in section 18C.80. Products sold or distributed to manufacturers or exchanged between them are exempt from the inspection fee imposed by this subdivision if the products are used exclusively for manufacturing purposes.
- (d) A registrant or licensee must retain invoices showing proof of fertilizer, plant amendment, or soil amendment distribution amounts and inspection fees paid for a period of three years.
  - Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18C.70, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Powers and duties.** The council must review applications and select projects to receive agricultural fertilizer research and education program grants, as authorized in section 18C.71. The council must establish a program to provide grants to research, education, and technology transfer projects related to agricultural fertilizer, soil amendments, and plant amendments. For the purpose of this section, "fertilizer" includes soil amendments and plant amendments, but does not include vegetable or animal manures that are not manipulated. The commissioner is responsible for all fiscal and administrative duties in the first year and may use up to eight percent of program revenue to offset costs incurred. No later than October 1, 2007, the commissioner must provide the council with an estimate of the annual costs the commissioner would incur in administering the program.

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

Sec. 11. [18C.80] AGRIC	ULTURAL FERTILIZER RESEARCH AND
EDUCATION ACCOUNT.	

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

17.30

17.31

Subdivision 1. Account; appropriation. An agricultural fertilizer research and education account is established in the state treasury. Money in the account, including interest earned, is appropriated to the commissioner for grants determined by the Minnesota Agricultural Fertilizer Research and Education Council under section 18C.71. The commissioner may use up to \$80,000 each fiscal year for direct costs incurred to provide fiscal and administrative support to the council as required under section 18C.70, subdivision 2. The commissioner may also recover associated indirect costs from the account as required under section 16A.127.

Subd. 2. Expiration. This section expires June 30, 2020.

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18G.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Cooperative agreements.** The commissioner may enter into cooperative agreements with federal and state agencies for administration of the export certification program. An exporter of plants or plant products desiring to originate shipments from Minnesota to a foreign country requiring a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate must submit an application to the commissioner.
- 17.18 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18G.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 4. **Phytosanitary and export certificates.** An exporter of plants or plant products desiring to originate shipments from Minnesota to a foreign country requiring a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate must submit an application to the commissioner. Application for phytosanitary certificates or export certificates must be made on forms provided or approved by the commissioner. The commissioner shall may conduct inspections of plants, plant products, or facilities for persons that have applied for or intend to apply for a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate from the commissioner. Inspections must include one or more of the following as requested or required:
  - (1) an inspection of the plants or plant products intended for export under a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate;
  - (2) field inspections of growing plants to determine presence or absence of plant diseases, if necessary;
  - (3) laboratory diagnosis for presence or absence of plant diseases, if necessary;
- 17.32 (4) observation and evaluation of procedures and facilities utilized in handling
  17.33 plants and plant products, if necessary; and

(5) review of United States Department of Agriculture, Federal Grain Inspection
Service Official Export Grain Inspection Certificate logs.

The commissioner may issue a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate if the plants or plant products satisfactorily meet the requirements of the importing foreign country and the United States Department of Agriculture requirements. The requirements of the destination countries must be met by the applicant.

- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18G.10, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Certificate fees.** (a) The commissioner shall assess the fees in paragraphs (b) to (f) fees sufficient to recover all costs for the inspection, service, and work performed in carrying out the issuance of a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate. The inspection fee must be based on mileage and inspection time.
  - (b) Mileage charge: current United States Internal Revenue Service mileage rate.
- (e) Inspection time: \$50 per hour minimum or fee necessary to cover department costs. Inspection time includes the driving time to and from the location in addition to the time spent conducting the inspection.
- (d) (b) If laboratory analysis or other technical analysis is required to issue a certificate, the commissioner must set and collect the fee to recover this additional cost.
- (e) (c) The certificate fee for product value greater than \$250: is \$75 or a fee amount, not to exceed \$300, that is sufficient to recover all processing costs for each phytosanitary or export certificate issued for any single shipment valued at more than \$250 in addition to any mileage or inspection time charges that are assessed.
- (f) Certificate fee for product value less than \$250: \$25 for each phytosanitary or export certificate issued for any single shipment valued at less than \$250 in addition to any mileage or inspection time charges that are assessed.
- (g) (d) For services provided for in subdivision 7 that are goods and services provided for the direct and primary use of a private individual, business, or other entity, the commissioner must set and collect the fees to cover the cost of the services provided.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18H.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
- Subd. 20. **Nursery stock.** "Nursery stock" means a plant intended for planting or propagation, including, but not limited to, trees, shrubs, vines, perennials, biennials, grafts, cuttings, and buds that may be sold for propagation, whether cultivated or wild, and all viable parts of these plants. Nursery stock does not include:
  - (1) field and forage crops or sod;
  - (2) the seeds of grasses, cereal grains, vegetable crops, and flowers;

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

18.33

04/09/15 01:18 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	CS/NH	H1437DE

19.1	(3) vegetable plants, bulbs, or tubers;
19.2	(4) cut flowers, unless stems or other portions are intended for propagation;
19.3	(5) annuals; or
19.4	(6) Christmas trees.
19.5	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18H.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
19.6	to read:
19.7	Subd. 32a. Sod. "Sod" means the upper portion of soil that contains the roots of
19.8	grasses and the living grass plants.
19.9	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18H.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
19.10	to read:
19.11	Subd. 35. Tropical plant. "Tropical plant" means a plant that has a United States
19.12	Department of Agriculture hardiness zone designation of zone 6 or greater, or an annual
19.13	minimum hardiness temperature of -9 degrees Fahrenheit.
19.14	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18H.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
19.15	Subd. 2. Occasional sales. (a) An individual may offer nursery stock for sale and be
19.16	exempt from the requirement to obtain a nursery stock dealer certificate if:
19.17	(1) the gross sales of all nursery stock in a calendar year do not exceed \$2,000;
19.18	(2) all nursery stock sold or distributed by the individual is intended for planting
19.19	in Minnesota;
19.20	(3) all nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution was grown in
19.21	Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner; and
19.22	(4) the individual conducts sales or distributions of nursery stock on ten or fewer
19.23	days in a calendar year.
19.24	(b) The commissioner may prescribe the conditions of the exempt nursery sales under
19.25	this subdivision and may conduct routine inspections of the nursery stock offered for sale.
19.26	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18H.07, is amended to read:
19.27	18H.07 FEE SCHEDULE.
19.28	Subdivision 1. Establishment of fees. The commissioner shall establish fees

Subdivision 1. **Establishment of fees.** The commissioner shall establish fees sufficient to allow for the administration and enforcement of this chapter and rules adopted under this chapter, including the portion of general support costs and statewide indirect costs of the agency attributable to that function, with a reserve sufficient for up to six months. The commissioner shall review the fee schedule annually in consultation with

19.29

19.30

19.31

the Minnesota Nursery and Landscape Advisory Committee. For the certificate year beginning January 1, 2006, the fees are as described in this section.

- Subd. 2. **Nursery stock grower certificate.** (a) A nursery stock grower must pay an annual fee based on the area of all acreage on which nursery stock is grown for eertification as follows:
- (1) less than one-half acre, \$150;

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.16

20.17

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

- 20.7 (2) from one-half acre to two acres, \$200;
- 20.8 (3) over two acres up to five acres, \$300;
- 20.9 (4) over five acres up to ten acres, \$350;
- 20.10 (5) over ten acres up to 20 acres, \$500;
- 20.11 (6) over 20 acres up to 40 acres, \$650;
- 20.12 (7) over 40 acres up to 50 acres, \$800;
- 20.13 (8) over 50 acres up to 200 acres, \$1,100;
- 20.14 (9) over 200 acres up to 500 acres, \$1,500; and
- 20.15 (10) over 500 acres, \$1,500 plus \$2 for each additional acre.
  - (b) In addition to the fees in paragraph (a), a penalty of ten percent of the fee due must be charged for each month, or portion thereof, that the fee is delinquent up to a maximum of 30 percent for any application for renewal not postmarked by December 31 of the current year.
    - (c) A nursery stock grower found operating without a valid nursery stock grower certificate cannot offer for sale or sell nursery stock until (1) payment is received by the commissioner for (i) the certificate fee due and (ii) a penalty equal to the certificate fee owed, and (2) a new certificate is issued to the nursery stock grower by the commissioner.
    - Subd. 3. **Nursery stock dealer certificate.** (a) A nursery stock dealer must pay an annual fee based on the dealer's gross sales of certified nursery stock per location during the most recent certificate year. A certificate applicant operating for the first time must pay the minimum fee. The fees per sales location are:
- 20.28 (1) gross sales up to \$5,000, \$150;
- 20.29 (2) gross sales over \$5,000 up to \$20,000, \$175;
- 20.30 (3) gross sales over \$20,000 up to \$50,000, \$300;
- 20.31 (4) gross sales over \$50,000 up to \$75,000, \$425;
- 20.32 (5) gross sales over \$75,000 up to \$100,000, \$550;
- 20.33 (6) gross sales over \$100,000 up to \$200,000, \$675; and
- 20.34 (7) gross sales over \$200,000, \$800.
- 20.35 (b) In addition to the fees in paragraph (a), a penalty of ten percent of the fee due 20.36 must be charged for each month, or portion thereof, that the fee is delinquent up to a

maximum of 30 percent for any application for renewal not postmarked by December 31 of the current year.

- (c) A nursery stock dealer found operating without a valid nursery stock dealer certificate cannot offer for sale or sell nursery stock until (1) payment is received by the commissioner for (i) the certificate fee due and (ii) a penalty equal to the certificate fee owed, and (2) a new certificate is issued to the nursery stock dealer by the commissioner.
- Subd. 4. **Reinspection; additional or optional inspection fees.** If a reinspection is required or an additional inspection is needed or requested a fee must be assessed based on mileage and inspection time as follows:
- (1) mileage must be charged at the current United States Internal Revenue Service reimbursement rate; and
- (2) inspection time must be charged at the rate of \$50 per hour, a rate sufficient to recover all inspection costs including the driving time to and from the location in addition to the time spent conducting the inspection.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.89, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 2. **Permits; issuance and revocation.** The commissioner shall issue a permit to the initial labeler of agricultural, vegetable, flower, and wildflower seeds which are sold for use in Minnesota and which conform to and are labeled under sections 21.80 to 21.92. The categories of permits are as follows:
  - (1) for initial labelers who sell 50,000 pounds or less of agricultural seed each calendar year, an annual permit issued for a fee established in section 21.891, subdivision 2, paragraph (b);
  - (2) for initial labelers who sell vegetable, flower, and wildflower seed packed for use in home gardens or household plantings, and initial labelers who sell native grasses and wildflower seed in commercial or agricultural quantities, an annual permit issued for a fee established in section 21.891, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), based upon the gross sales from the previous year; and
  - (3) for initial labelers who sell more than 50,000 pounds of agricultural seed each calendar year, a permanent permit issued for a fee established in section 21.891, subdivision 2, paragraph (d).

In addition, the person shall furnish to the commissioner an itemized statement of all seeds sold in Minnesota for the periods established by the commissioner. This statement shall be delivered, along with the payment of the fee, based upon the amount and type of seed sold, to the commissioner no later than 30 days after the end of each reporting period. Any person holding a permit shall show as part of the analysis labels or invoices

21.1

21.2

21.3

21.4

21.5

21.6

21.7

21.8

21.9

21.10

21.11

21.12

21.13

21.14

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

21.22

21.23

21.24

21.25

21.26

21.27

21.28

21.29

21.30

21.31

21.32

21.33

21.34

on all agricultural, vegetable, flower, wildflower, tree, or shrub seeds all information the commissioner requires. The commissioner may revoke any permit in the event of failure to comply with applicable laws and rules.

- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.891, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 2. **Seed fee permits.** (a) An initial labeler who wishes to sell seed in Minnesota must comply with section 21.89, subdivisions 1 and 2, and the procedures in this subdivision. Each initial labeler who wishes to sell seed in Minnesota must apply to the commissioner to obtain a permit. The application must contain the name and address of the applicant, the application date, and the name and title of the applicant's contact person.
- (b) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause (1), must be accompanied by an application fee of \$50 \\$75.
- (c) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause (2), must be accompanied by an application fee based on the level of annual gross sales as follows:
- 22.15 (1) for gross sales of \$0 to \$25,000, the annual permit fee is \$50 \$75;
- 22.16 (2) for gross sales of \$25,001 to \$50,000, the annual permit fee is \$100 \$150;
- 22.17 (3) for gross sales of \$50,001 to \$100,000, the annual permit fee is \$200 \$300;
- 22.18 (4) for gross sales of \$100,001 to \$250,000, the annual permit fee is \$500 \$750;
- (5) for gross sales of \$250,001 to \$500,000, the annual permit fee is  $\frac{\$1,000}{\$1,500}$ ;
- 22.20 and

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.5

22.6

22.7

22.8

- 22.21 (6) for gross sales of \$500,001 and above to \$1,000,000, the annual permit fee is \$2.22 \$2,000 \$3,000; and
- 22.23 (7) for gross sales of \$1,000,0001 and above, the annual permit fee is \$4,500.
- (d) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause (3), must be accompanied by an application fee of \$50 \$75. Initial labelers holding seed fee permits covered under this paragraph need not apply for a new permit or pay the application fee. Under this permit category, the fees for the following kinds of agricultural seed sold either in bulk or containers are:
- 22.29 (1) oats, wheat, and barley, <del>6.3</del> 9 cents per hundredweight;
- 22.30 (2) rye, field beans, soybeans, buckwheat, and flax, 8.4 12 cents per hundredweight;
- 22.31 (3) field corn, <del>29.4</del> 17 cents per <del>hundredweight</del> 80,000 seed unit;
- 22.32 (4) forage, lawn and turf grasses, and legumes, 49 69 cents per hundredweight;
- 22.33 (5) sunflower, \$1.40 \$1.96 per hundredweight;
- 22.34 (6) sugar beet, \$3.29 12 cents per hundredweight 100,000 seed unit; and
- 22.35 (7) soybeans, 7.5 cents per 140,000 seed unit; and

(7) (8) for any agricultural seed not listed in clauses (1) to (6) (7), the fee for the crop most closely resembling it in normal planting rate applies.

- (e) If, for reasons beyond the control and knowledge of the initial labeler, seed is shipped into Minnesota by a person other than the initial labeler, the responsibility for the seed fees are transferred to the shipper. An application for a transfer of this responsibility must be made to the commissioner. Upon approval by the commissioner of the transfer, the shipper is responsible for payment of the seed permit fees.
- (f) Seed permit fees may be included in the cost of the seed either as a hidden cost or as a line item cost on each invoice for seed sold. To identify the fee on an invoice, the words "Minnesota seed permit fees" must be used.
- (g) All seed fee permit holders must file semiannual reports with the commissioner, even if no seed was sold during the reporting period. Each semiannual report must be submitted within 30 days of the end of each reporting period. The reporting periods are October 1 to March 31 and April 1 to September 30 of each year or July 1 to December 31 and January 1 to June 30 of each year. Permit holders may change their reporting periods with the approval of the commissioner.
- (h) The holder of a seed fee permit must pay fees on all seed for which the permit holder is the initial labeler and which are covered by sections 21.80 to 21.92 and sold during the reporting period.
- (i) If a seed fee permit holder fails to submit a semiannual report and pay the seed fee within 30 days after the end of each reporting period, the commissioner shall assess a penalty of \$100 or eight percent, calculated on an annual basis, of the fee due, whichever is greater, but no more than \$500 for each late semiannual report. A \$15 penalty must be charged when the semiannual report is late, even if no fee is due for the reporting period. Seed fee permits may be revoked for failure to comply with the applicable provisions of this paragraph or the Minnesota seed law.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.891, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Brand name registration fee.** The fee is \$25 \u221150 for each variety registered for sale by brand name.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 25.341, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Application; fee; term.** A person who is required to have a commercial feed license shall submit an application on a form provided or approved by the commissioner accompanied by a fee of \$25 \subseteq 575 paid to the commissioner for each location. A license is not transferable from one person to another, from one ownership to

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

another, or from one location to another. The license year is the calendar year. A license expires on December 31 of the year for which it is issued, except that a license is valid through January 31 of the next year or until the issuance of the renewal license, whichever comes first, if the licensee has filed a renewal application with the commissioner on or before December 31 of the year for which the current license was issued. Any person who is required to have, but fails to obtain a license or a licensee who fails to comply with license renewal requirements, shall pay a \$50\$100 late fee in addition to the license fee.

- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 25.39, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

  Subdivision 1. **Amount of fee.** (a) An inspection fee at the rate of 16 cents per ton must be paid to the commissioner on commercial feeds distributed in this state by the person who first distributes the commercial feed, except that:
  - (1) no fee need be paid on:

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.9

24.10

24.11

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.21

24.22

24.23

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

24.31

24.32

24.33

- (i) a commercial feed if the payment has been made by a previous distributor; or
- (ii) customer formula feeds if the inspection fee is paid on the commercial feeds which are used as ingredients; or
- (2) a Minnesota feed distributor who can substantiate that greater than 50 percent of the distribution of commercial feed is to purchasers outside the state may purchase commercial feeds without payment of the inspection fee under a tonnage fee exemption permit issued by the commissioner. Such location specific permits shall be issued on a calendar year basis to commercial feed distributors who submit a \$100 nonrefundable application fee and comply with rules adopted by the commissioner relative to record keeping, tonnage of commercial feed distributed in Minnesota, total of all commercial feed tonnage distributed, and all other information which the commissioner may require so as to ensure that proper inspection fee payment has been made.
- (b) In the case of pet food distributed in the state only in packages of ten pounds or less, a listing of each product and a current label for each product must be submitted annually on forms provided by the commissioner and accompanied by an annual fee of \$50\\$100 for each product in lieu of the inspection fee. This annual fee is due by July 1. The inspection fee required by paragraph (a) applies to pet food distributed in packages exceeding ten pounds.
- (c) In the case of specialty pet food distributed in the state only in packages of ten pounds or less, a listing of each product and a current label for each product must be submitted annually on forms provided by the commissioner and accompanied by an annual fee of \$25 \$100 for each product in lieu of the inspection fee. This annual fee is

04/09/15 01:18 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	CS/NH	H1437DE1

due by July 1. The inspection fee required by paragraph (a) applies to specialty pet food distributed in packages exceeding ten pounds.

(d) The minimum inspection fee is \$10 \$75 per annual reporting period.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 25.39, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

- Subd. 1a. **Containers of ten pounds or less.** A distributor who is subject to the annual fee specified in subdivision 1, paragraph (b) or (c), shall do the following:
- (1) before beginning distribution, file with the commissioner a listing of pet and specialty pet foods to be distributed in the state only in containers of ten pounds or less, on forms provided by the commissioner. The listing under this clause must be renewed annually before July 1 and is the basis for the payment of the annual fee. New products added during the year must be submitted to the commissioner as a supplement to the annual listing before distribution; and
- (2) if the annual renewal of the listing is not received before July 1 or if an unlisted product is distributed, pay a late filing fee of \$10\frac{\$100}{}\$ per product in addition to the normal charge for the listing. The late filing fee under this clause is in addition to any other penalty under this chapter.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 28A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 11. HACCP plan. "Hazard analysis critical control point (HACCP) plan"

  means a written document that delineates the formal procedures for following the HACCP

  principles developed by the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria

  for Foods.

### Sec. 27. [28A.152] COTTAGE FOODS EXEMPTION.

- Subdivision 1. Licensing provisions applicability. (a) The licensing provisions of sections 28A.01 to 28A.16 do not apply to the following:
- 25.26 (1) an individual who prepares and sells food that is not potentially hazardous food,
  25.27 as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4626.0020, subpart 62, if the following requirements
  25.28 are met:
  - (i) the prepared food offered for sale under this clause is labeled to accurately reflect the name and address of the individual preparing and selling the food, the date on which the food was prepared, and the ingredients and any possible allergens; and
- 25.32 (ii) the individual displays at the point of sale a clearly legible sign or placard stating:
  25.33 "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection"; and

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.23

25.29

25.30

26.1	(2) an individual who prepares and sells home-processed and home-canned food
26.2	products if the following requirements are met:
26.3	(i) the products are pickles, vegetables, or fruits having an equilibrium pH value of
26.4	4.6 or lower;
26.5	(ii) the products are home-processed and home-canned in Minnesota;
26.6	(iii) the individual displays at the point of sale a clearly legible sign or placard
26.7	stating: "These canned goods are homemade and not subject to state inspection"; and
26.8	(iv) each container of the product sold or offered for sale under this clause is
26.9	accurately labeled to provide the name and address of the individual who processed
26.10	and canned the goods, the date on which the goods were processed and canned, and
26.11	ingredients and any possible allergens.
26.12	(b) An individual who qualifies for an exemption under paragraph (a), clause (2), is
26.13	also exempt from the provisions of sections 31.31 and 31.392.
26.14	Subd. 2. <b>Direct sales to consumers.</b> (a) An individual qualifying for an exemption
26.15	under subdivision 1 may sell the exempt food:
26.16	(1) directly to the ultimate consumer;
26.17	(2) at a community event or farmers' market; or
26.18	(3) directly from the individual's home to the consumer, to the extent allowed by
26.19	local ordinance.
26.20	(b) If an exempt food product will be delivered to the ultimate consumer upon sale
26.21	of the food product, the individual who prepared the food product must be the person who
26.22	delivers the food product to the ultimate consumer.
26.23	(c) Food products exempt under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), may not be
26.24	sold outside of Minnesota.
26.25	(d) Food products exempt under subdivision 1 may be sold over the Internet but
26.26	must be delivered directly to the ultimate consumer by the individual who prepared the
26.27	food product. The statement "These products are homemade and not subject to state
26.28	inspection" must be displayed on the Web site that offers the exempt foods for purchase.
26.29	Subd. 3. Limitation on sales. An individual selling exempt foods under this section
26.30	is limited to total sales with gross receipts of \$18,000 or less in a calendar year.
26.31	Subd. 4. Registration. An individual who prepares and sells exempt food under
26.32	subdivision 1 must register annually with the commissioner. The annual registration
26.33	fee is \$50.
26.34	Subd. 5. Training. An individual who prepares and sells exempt food under
26.35	subdivision 1 must complete a safe food handling training course that is approved by the

commissioner. The training shall not exceed eight hours and must be completed every three years while the individual is registered under subdivision 4.

Subd. 6. Local ordinances. This section does not preempt the application of any business licensing requirement or sanitation, public health, or zoning ordinance of a political subdivision.

Subd. 7. Account established. A cottage foods account is created as a separate account in the agricultural fund in the state treasury for depositing money received by the commissioner under this section. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner for purposes of this section.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 32.075, is amended to read:

# 32.075 TERM OF LICENSE; TRANSFERABILITY; FEES AND PENALTIES.

Every An initial license issued by the commissioner shall be for a period ending expires on the following December 31st day of December next following, and shall is not be-transferable. A renewal license is valid for two years and expires on December 31st of the second year. The fee for each such an initial or renewal license shall be is \$50 \$60.and each renewal thereof shall be \$25 and The fee shall be paid to the commissioner before the commissioner issuesany an initial or renewal license or renewal thereof is issued. If a license renewal is not applied for on or before January 1 of each year, a penalty of \$10\$30 shall be imposed. A person who does not renew a license within one year following its December 31 expiration date, except those persons who do not renew such license while engaged in active military service, shall be required to prove competency and qualification pursuant to section 32.073, before a license is issued. The commissioner may require any other person who renews a license to prove competency and qualification in the same manner. All license fees and penalties received by the commissioner shall be paid into the state treasury deposited in the dairy services account in the agricultural fund.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 32.105, is amended to read:

### 32.105 MILK PROCUREMENT FEE.

Each dairy plant operator within the state must pay to the commissioner on or before the 18th of each month a fee of .711.1 cents per hundredweight of milk purchased the previous month. If a milk producer within the state ships milk out of the state for sale, the producer must pay the fee to the commissioner unless the purchaser voluntarily pays the fee.

Producers who ship milk out of state or processors must submit monthly reports as to milk purchases along with the appropriate procurement fee to the commissioner. The commissioner may have access to all relevant purchase or sale records as necessary to

27.1

27.2

27.3

27.4

27.5

27.6

27.7

27.8

27.9

27.10

27.11

27.12

27.13

27.14

27.15

27.16

27.17

27.18

27.19

27.20

27.21

27.22

27.23

27.24

27.25

27.26

27.27

27.28

27.29

27.30

27.31

27.32

27.33

verify compliance with this section and may require the producer or purchaser to produce records as necessary to determine compliance.

The fees collected under this section must be deposited in the dairy services account in the agricultural fund. Money in the account, including interest earned, is appropriated to the commissioner to administer this chapter.

# Sec. 30. [41A.14] AGRICULTURE RESEARCH, EDUCATION, EXTENSION,

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.10

28.23

28.24

28.25

28.26

28.27

28.28

- Subdivision 1. Creation. (a) The Agriculture Research, Education, Extension, and Technology Transfer Board is created and consists of the following members:
  - (1) the commissioner of agriculture;
- 28.11 (2) the dean of the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences 28.12 at the University of Minnesota;
- 28.13 (3) a person representing the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, appointed by the chancellor;
- 28.15 (4) two persons representing statewide agriculture organizations;
- 28.16 (5) a person representing agriculture industry statewide;
- 28.17 (6) a representative of each of the state commodity councils organized under section
  28.18 17.54 and the Minnesota pork board;
- 28.19 (7) a person representing an association of primary manufacturers of forest products;
- 28.20 (8) a person representing organic or sustainable agriculture; and
- 28.21 (9) a person representing statewide environment and natural resource conservation organizations.

The commissioner and the dean shall be cochairs. The commissioner, the dean, and the representative of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system are nonvoting members of the board.

- (b) Members under paragraph (a), clauses (4) to (9), shall be appointed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall not provide daily or expense compensation for board members.
- 28.29 (c) The commissioner shall provide administrative services for the board and act as its fiscal agent.
- 28.31 (d) For each board meeting, the commissioner shall provide advance notice and a copy of the meeting minutes to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over agriculture finance.
- 28.34 <u>Subd. 2.</u> **Duties; grants.** The board shall provide for investments that will most efficiently achieve long-term agricultural productivity increases through improved

29.1	infrastructure, vision, and accountability. Priority shall be given to human infrastructure.
29.2	The board shall provide grants for:
29.3	(1) agricultural research and technology transfer needs and recipients including, but
29.4	not limited to, agricultural research and extension at the University of Minnesota, research
29.5	and outreach centers; the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences;
29.6	the Minnesota Agricultural Experiment Station; University of Minnesota Extension;
29.7	the University of Minnesota Veterinary School; the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory;
29.8	the Stakman-Borlaug Center; and the Minnesota Agricultural Fertilizer Research and
29.9	Education Council;
29.10	(2) agriculture rapid response for plant and animal diseases and pests; and
29.11	(3) agricultural education including, but not limited to, challenge grants awarded by
29.12	the Minnesota Agriculture Education Leadership Council, farm business management,
29.13	mentoring programs, graduate debt forgiveness, and high school programs.
29.14	Subd. 3. Fund. An agriculture research, education, extension, and technology
29.15	transfer fund is created in the state treasury. The fund consists of money received in the form
29.16	of gifts, grants, reimbursement, or appropriations from any source for any of the purposes
29.17	provided in subdivision 2, and any interest or earnings of the fund. Money in the fund is
29.18	appropriated to the commissioner of agriculture for the purposes under subdivision 2.
29.19	Sec. 31. [41A.15] DEFINITIONS.
29.20	Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of sections 41A.15 to 41A.19, the terms
29.21	defined in this section have the meanings given them.
29.22	Subd. 2. Advanced biofuel. "Advanced biofuel" has the meaning given in section
29.23	239.051, subdivision 1a.
29.24	Subd. 3. Biomass thermal production. "Biomass thermal production" means the
29.25	generation of energy for commercial heat or industrial process heat from a cellulosic
29.26	material or other material composed of forestry or agricultural feedstocks for a new or
29.27	expanding capacity facility or a facility that is displacing existing use of fossil fuel after
29.28	the effective date of this section.
29.29	Subd. 4. Cellulosic biomass. "Cellulosic biomass" means material primarily made
29.30	up of cellulose, hemicellulose, or lingnin, or a combination of those ingredients.
29.31	Subd. 5. Cellulosic sugar. "Cellulosic sugar" means sugar derived from cellulosic
29.32	biomass from agricultural or forestry resources.
29.33	
	Subd. 6. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.
29.34	Subd. 6. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.  Subd. 7. Cover crops. "Cover crops" means grasses, legumes, forbs, or other

Minnesota and that are either interseeded into living cash crops or planted on agricultural fields during fallow periods for seasonal cover and conservation purposes.

Subd. 8. **MMbtu.** "MMbtu" means one million British thermal units.

Subd. 9. Perennial crops. "Perennial crops" means agriculturally produced plants that are known to be noninvasive and not listed as a noxious weed in Minnesota and that have a life cycle of at least three years at the location where the plants are being cultivated. Biomass from alfalfa produced in a two-year rotation shall be considered a perennial crop.

Subd. 10. **Renewable chemical.** "Renewable chemical" means a chemical with biobased content as defined in section 41A.105, subdivision 1a.

## Sec. 32. [41A.16] ADVANCED BIOFUEL PRODUCTION INCENTIVE.

Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A facility eligible for payment under this section must source at least 80 percent raw materials from Minnesota. If a facility is sited 50 miles or less from the state border, raw materials may be sourced from within a 100-mile radius.

Raw materials must be from agricultural or forestry sources or from solid waste. The facility must be located in Minnesota, must begin production at a specific location by June 30, 2025, and must not begin operating above 95,000 MMbtu of annual biofuel production before July 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities that are adding advanced biofuel production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and facilities. Production of conventional corn ethanol and conventional biodiesel is not eligible. Eligible advanced biofuel facilities must produce at least 95,000 MMbtu a year.

- (b) No payments shall be made for advanced biofuel production that occurs after June 30, 2035, for those eligible biofuel producers under paragraph (a).
- (c) An eligible producer of advanced biofuel shall not transfer the producer's eligibility for payments under this section to an advanced biofuel facility at a different location.
- (d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments under this section until the producer resumes production.
- (e) Renewable chemical production for which payment has been received under section 41A.17, and biomass thermal production for which payment has been received under section 41A.18, are not eligible for payment under this section.
- Subd. 2. Payment amounts; limits. (a) The commissioner shall make payments to eligible producers of advanced biofuel. The amount of the payment for each eligible producer's annual production is \$2.1053 per MMbtu for advanced biofuel production from

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

30.33

cellulosic biomass, and \$1.053 per MMbtu for advanced biofuel production from sugar or 31.1 31.2 starch at a specific location for ten years after the start of production. (b) Total payments under this section to an eligible biofuel producer in a fiscal year 31.3 may not exceed the amount necessary for 2,850,000 MMbtu of biofuel production. Total 31.4 payments under this section to all eligible biofuel producers in a fiscal year may not 31.5 exceed the amount necessary for 17,100,000 MMbtu of biofuel production. 31.6 (c) For purposes of this section, an entity that holds a controlling interest in more 31.7 than one advanced biofuel facility is considered a single eligible producer. 31.8 Subd. 3. **Perennial and cover crops required.** To be eligible for payment under 31.9 this section, a producer that produces advanced biofuel from agricultural cellulosic 31.10 biomass other than corn kernel fiber or biogas must derive at least the following portions 31.11 31.12 of the producer's total eligible MMbtus from perennial crop or cover crop biomass: (1) 10 percent during the first two years of eligible production, 31.13 (2) 30 percent during the third and fourth years of eligible production, and 31.14 31.15 (3) 50 percent during the fifth through tenth years of eligible production. Subd. 4. Cellulosic forestry biomass requirements. All forestry-derived cellulosic 31.16 biomass must be produced using Minnesota state biomass harvesting guidelines or the 31.17 equivalent. All biomass from brushlands must be produced using Minnesota brushland 31.18 harvesting biomass harvest guidelines or the equivalent. Forestry-derived cellulosic 31.19 31.20 biomass that come from land parcels greater than 160 acres must be certified by the Forest Stewardship Council, Sustainable Forestry Initiative, or American Tree Farm System. 31.21 Uncertified land from parcels of 160 acres or less and federal land must be harvested by a 31.22 31.23 Minnesota-certified master logger or the equivalent and have a forest stewardship plan. 31.24 Subd. 5. Agricultural cellulosic biomass sourcing plan. (a) An eligible producer who utilizes agricultural cellulosic biomass must submit a responsible biomass sourcing 31.25 31.26 plan for approval by the commissioner prior to applying for payments under this section. The commissioner shall make the plan publicly available. The plan must: 31.27 (1) provide a detailed explanation of how agricultural cellulosic biomass will be 31.28 produced and managed in a way that preserves soil quality, does not increase soil and 31.29 nutrient runoff, avoids introduction of harmful invasive species, limits negative impacts 31.30 on wildlife habitat, and reduces greenhouse gas emissions; 31.31 (2) include the producer's approach to verifying that biomass suppliers are following 31.32 the plan; 31.33 (3) discuss how new technologies and practices that are not yet commercially viable 31.34 may be encouraged and adopted during the life of the facility, and how the producer will 31.35 encourage continuous improvement during the life of the project; 31.36

(A) include	e specific nu	maric and	ala and	timalinac	for making	nrograce
( <del>4</del> ) IIICIUUC	s succinc nu	1116116 207	ais anu	unicinics	TOT THAN HIS	. 01021655.

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.22

32.23

32.24

32.25

32.28

32.29

32.30

32.31

32.32

32.33

32.34

32.35

- (5) require agronomic practices that result in a positive Natural Resources

  Conservation Service Soil Conditioning Index score for acres from which biomass from corn stover will be harvested; and
- (6) include biennial soil sampling to verify maintained or increased levels of soil organic matter.
- (b) An eligible producer who utilizes agricultural cellulosic biomass and receives payments under this section shall submit an annual report on the producer's responsible biomass sourcing plan to the commissioner by January 15 each year. The report must include data on progress made by the producer in meeting specific goals laid out in the plan. The commissioner shall make the report publicly available. The commissioner shall perform an annual review of submitted reports may make a determination that the producer is not following the plan based on the reports submitted. The commissioner may take appropriate steps, including reducing or ceasing payments, until the producer is in compliance with the plan.
- Subd. 6. Claims. (a) By the last day of October, January, April, and July, each eligible biofuel producer shall file a claim for payment for advanced biofuel production during the preceding three calendar months. An eligible biofuel producer that files a claim under this subdivision shall include a statement of the eligible biofuel producer's total advanced biofuel production in Minnesota during the quarter covered by the claim. For each claim and statement of total advanced biofuel production filed under this subdivision, the volume of advanced biofuel production must be examined by an independent certified public accountant licensed under chapter 326A, in accordance with Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements established by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.
- 32.26 (b) The commissioner must issue payments by November 15, February 15, May 15, and August 15. A separate payment must be made for each claim filed.

#### Sec. 33. [41A.17] RENEWABLE CHEMICAL PRODUCTION INCENTIVE.

Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A facility eligible for payment under this program must source at least 80 percent biobased content, as defined in section 41A.105, subdivision 1a, clause (1), from Minnesota. If a facility is sited 50 miles or less from the state border, biobased content must be sourced from within a 100-mile radius. Biobased content must be from agricultural or forestry sources or from solid waste. The facility must be located in Minnesota, must begin production at a specific location by June 30, 2025, and must not begin production of 3,000,000 pounds of chemicals annually before

33.1	January 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities that are
33.2	adding production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and
33.3	facilities. Eligible renewable chemical facilities must produce at least 3,000,000 pounds
33.4	per year. Renewable chemicals produced through processes that are fully commercial
33.5	before January 1, 2000, are not eligible.
33.6	(b) No payments shall be made for renewable chemical production that occurs after
33.7	June 30, 2035, for those eligible renewable chemical producers under paragraph (a).
33.8	(c) An eligible producer of renewable chemicals shall not transfer the producer's
33.9	eligibility for payments under this section to a renewable chemical facility at a different
33.10	location.
33.11	(d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive
33.12	payments under this section until the producer resumes production.
33.13	(e) Advanced biofuel production for which payment has been received under section
33.14	41A.16, and biomass thermal production for which payment has been received under
33.15	section 41A.18, are not eligible for payment under this section.
33.16	Subd. 2. Payment amounts; bonus; limits. (a) The commissioner shall make
33.17	payments to eligible producers of renewable chemicals located in the state. The amount of
33.18	the payment for each producer's annual production is \$0.03 per pound of sugar-derived
33.19	renewable chemical, \$0.03 per pound of cellulosic sugar, and \$0.06 per pound of
33.20	cellulosic-derived renewable chemical produced at a specific location for ten years after
33.21	the start of production.
33.22	(b) An eligible facility producing renewable chemicals using agricultural cellulosic
33.23	biomass is eligible for a 20 percent bonus payment for each MMbtu produced from
33.24	agricultural biomass that is derived from perennial crop or cover crop biomass.
33.25	(c) Total payments under this section to an eligible renewable chemical producer in
33.26	a fiscal year may not exceed the amount necessary for 99,999,999 pounds of renewable
33.27	chemical production. Total payments under this section to all eligible renewable chemical
33.28	producers in a fiscal year may not exceed the amount necessary for 599,999,999 pounds of
33.29	renewable chemical production.
33.30	(d) For purposes of this section, an entity that holds a controlling interest in more
33.31	than one renewable chemical production facility is considered a single eligible producer.
33.32	Subd. 3. Cellulosic biomass requirements. All forestry-derived cellulosic biomass
33.33	must be produced using Minnesota state biomass harvesting guidelines or the equivalent.
33.34	All cellulosic biomass from brushlands must be produced using Minnesota brushland
33.35	harvesting biomass harvest guidelines or the equivalent. Forestry-derived cellulosic
33.36	biomass that come from land parcels greater than 160 acres must be certified by the Forest

Stewardship Council, Sustainable Forestry Initiative, or American Tree Farm System. 34.1 34.2 Uncertified land from parcels of 160 acres or less and federal land must be harvested by a Minnesota-certified master logger or the equivalent and have a forest stewardship plan. 34.3 Subd. 4. Agricultural cellulosic biomass sourcing plan. (a) An eligible producer 34.4 who utilizes agricultural cellulosic biomass must submit a responsible biomass sourcing 34.5 plan to the commissioner prior to applying for payments under this section. The plan must: 34.6 (1) provide a detailed explanation of how agricultural cellulosic biomass will be 34.7 produced and managed in a way that preserves soil quality, does not increase soil and 34.8 nutrient runoff, avoids introduction of harmful invasive species, limits negative impacts 34.9 on wildlife habitat, and reduces greenhouse gas emissions; 34.10 (2) include the producer's approach to verifying that biomass suppliers are following 34.11 34.12 the plan; (3) discuss how new technologies and practices that are not yet commercially viable 34.13 may be encouraged and adopted during the life of the facility, and how the producer will 34.14 34.15 encourage continuous improvement during the life of the project; and (4) include specific numeric goals and timelines for making progress. 34.16 (b) An eligible producer who utilizes agricultural cellulosic biomass and receives 34.17 payments under this section shall submit an annual report on the producer's responsible 34.18 biomass sourcing plan to the commissioner by January 15 each year. The report must 34.19 include data on progress made by the producer in meeting specific goals laid out in the 34.20 plan. The commissioner shall make the report publicly available. The commissioner 34.21 shall perform an annual review of submitted reports may make a determination that the 34.22 34.23 producer is not following the plan based on the reports submitted. The commissioner 34.24 may take appropriate steps, including reducing or ceasing payments, until the producer is in compliance with the plan. 34.25 34.26 Subd. 5. Claims. (a) By the last day of October, January, April, and July, each eligible renewable chemical producer shall file a claim for payment for renewable 34.27 chemical production during the preceding three calendar months. An eligible renewable 34.28 chemical producer that files a claim under this subdivision shall include a statement of 34.29 the eligible producer's total renewable chemical production in Minnesota during the 34.30 quarter covered by the claim. For each claim and statement of total renewable chemical 34.31 production filed under this paragraph, the volume of renewable chemical production must 34.32 be examined by an independent certified public accountant licensed under chapter 326A, 34.33 in accordance with Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements established by 34.34 the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 34.35

(b) The commissioner must issue payments by November 15, February 15, May 15, and August 15. A separate payment must be made for each claim filed.

### Sec. 34. [41A.18] BIOMASS THERMAL PRODUCTION INCENTIVE.

- Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A facility eligible for payment under this section must source at least 80 percent raw materials from Minnesota. If a facility is sited 50 miles or less from the state border, raw materials should be sourced from within a 100-mile radius. Raw materials must be from agricultural or forestry sources. The facility must be located in Minnesota, must have begun production at a specific location by June 30, 2025, and must not begin before July 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities that are adding production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and facilities. Eligible biomass thermal production facilities must produce at least 1,000 MMbtu per year.
- (b) No payments shall be made for biomass thermal production that occurs after June 30, 2035, for those eligible biomass thermal producers under paragraph (a).
- (c) An eligible producer of biomass thermal production shall not transfer the producer's eligibility for payments under this section to a biomass thermal production facility at a different location.
- (d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments under this section until the producer resumes production.
- (e) Biofuel production for which payment has been received under section 41A.16, and renewable chemical production for which payment has been received under section 41A.17, are not eligible for payment under this section.
- Subd. 2. Payment amounts; bonus; limits; blending. (a) The commissioner shall make payments to eligible producers of biomass thermal located in the state. The amount of the payment for each producer's annual production is \$5.00 per MMbtu of biomass thermal production produced at a specific location for ten years after the start of production.
- (b) An eligible facility producing biomass thermal using agricultural cellulosic biomass is eligible for a 20 percent bonus payment for each MMbtu produced from agricultural biomass that is derived from perennial crop or cover crop biomass.
- (c) Total payments under this section to an eligible thermal producer in a fiscal year may not exceed the amount necessary for 30,000 MMbtu of thermal production. Total payments under this section to all eligible thermal producers in a fiscal year may not exceed the amount necessary for 150,000 MMbtu of total thermal production.

35.1

35.2

35.3

35.4

35.5

35.6

35.7

35.8

35.9

35.10

35.11

35.12

35.13

35.14

35.15

35.16

35.17

35.18

35.19

35.20

35.21

35.22

35.23

35.24

35.25

35.26

35.27

35.28

35.29

35.30

35.31

35.32

(d) An eligible facility may blend a cellulosic feedstock with other fuels in the

36.2	biomass thermal production facility, but only the percentage attributable to cellulosic
36.3	material is eligible to receive payment.
36.4	(e) For purposes of this section, an entity that holds a controlling interest in more
36.5	than one biomass thermal production facility is considered a single eligible producer.
36.6	Subd. 3. Cellulosic biomass requirements. All forestry-derived cellulosic biomass
36.7	must be produced using Minnesota state biomass harvesting guidelines or the equivalent.
36.8	All biomass from brushland must be produced using Minnesota brushland harvesting
36.9	biomass guidelines or the equivalent. Forestry-derived cellulosic biomass that come from
36.10	land parcels greater than 160 acres must be certified by the Forest Stewardship Council,
36.11	the Sustainable Forestry Initiative, or American Tree Farm. Uncertified land from parcels
36.12	of 160 acres or less and federal land must be harvested by a Minnesota-certified master
36.13	logger or the equivalent and have a forest stewardship plan.
36.14	Subd. 4. Agricultural cellulosic biomass sourcing plan. (a) An eligible producer
36.15	who utilizes agricultural cellulosic biomass must submit a responsible biomass sourcing
36.16	plan to the commissioner prior to applying for payments under this section. The plan must:
36.17	(1) provide a detailed explanation of how agricultural cellulosic biomass will be
36.18	produced and managed in a way that preserves soil quality, does not increase soil and
36.19	nutrient runoff, avoids introduction of harmful invasive species, limits negative impacts
36.20	on wildlife habitat, and reduces greenhouse gas emissions;
36.21	(2) include the producer's approach to verifying that biomass suppliers are following
36.22	the plan;
36.23	(3) discuss how new technologies and practices that are not yet commercially viable
36.24	may be encouraged and adopted during the life of the facility, and how the producer will
36.25	encourage continuous improvement during the life of the project; and
36.26	(4) include specific numeric goals and timelines for making progress.
36.27	(b) An eligible producer who utilizes agricultural cellulosic biomass and receives
36.28	payments under this section shall submit an annual report on the producer's responsible
36.29	biomass sourcing plan to the commissioner by January 15 each year. The report must
36.30	include data on progress made by the producer in meeting specific goals laid out in the
36.31	plan. The commissioner shall make the report publicly available. The commissioner
36.32	shall perform an annual review of submitted reports may make a determination that the
36.33	producer is not following the plan based on the reports submitted. The commissioner
36.34	may take appropriate steps, including reducing or ceasing payments, until the producer
36.35	is in compliance with the plan.

Subd. 5. Claims. (a) By the last day of October, January, April, and July, each
producer shall file a claim for payment for biomass thermal production during the
preceding three calendar months. A producer that files a claim under this subdivision shall
include a statement of the producer's total biomass thermal production in Minnesota during
the quarter covered by the claim. For each claim and statement of total biomass thermal
production filed under this paragraph, the volume of biomass thermal production must
be examined by an independent certified public accountant licensed under chapter 326A,
in accordance with Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements established by
the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

(b) The commissioner must issue payments by November 15, February 15, May 15, and August 15. A separate payment shall be made for each claim filed.

### Sec. 35. [41A.19] REPORT; INCENTIVE PROGRAMS.

By January 15 each year, the commissioner shall report on the incentive programs under sections 41A.16, 41A.17, and 41A.18, to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over environment and agriculture policy and finance. The report shall include information on production and incentive expenditures under the programs.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. **Application fee.** The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable application fee for each application submitted for a beginning farmer loan or a seller-sponsored loan. The application fee is initially \$50. The authority may review the fee annually and make adjustments as necessary. The fee must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to an account in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner for administrative expenses of the beginning farmer and seller-sponsored loan programs the Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in subdivision 7.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 7. Rural Finance Authority administrative account. There is established in the agricultural fund a Rural Finance Authority administrative account. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner of agriculture for the administrative expenses of the loan programs administered by the Rural Finance Authority.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.04, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

37.1

37.2

37.3

37.4

37.5

37.6

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.11

37.12

37.13

37.14

37.15

37.16

37.17

37.18

37.19

37.20

37.21

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

37.29

37.30

37.31

Subd. 17. **Application and origination fee.** The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable application fee for each application and an origination fee for each loan issued under the loan restructuring program. The origination fee is 1.5 percent of the authority's participation interest in the loan and the application fee is \$50. The authority may review the fees annually and make adjustments as necessary. The fees must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to an account in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner for administrative expenses of the loan restructuring program the Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in section 41B.03.

Subd. 3. **Application and origination fee.** The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable application fee for each application submitted for a participation issued under the agricultural improvement loan program. The application fee is initially \$50. The authority may review the fees annually and make adjustments as necessary. The fees must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to an account in the special revenue fund. Money in this account is appropriated to the commissioner for administrative expenses of the agricultural improvement loan program the Rural Finance Authority administrative

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.043, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.045, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. **Specifications.** No loan may be made to refinance an existing debt. Each loan participation must be secured by a mortgage on real property and such other security as the authority may require.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.045, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Application and origination fee.** The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable application fee for each application for a loan participation and an origination fee for each loan issued under the livestock expansion loan program. The origination fee initially shall be set at 1.5 percent and the application fee at \$50. The authority may review the fees annually and make adjustments as necessary. The fees must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to an account in the special revenue fund.

Money in this account is appropriated to the commissioner for administrative expenses of the livestock expansion loan program the Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in section 41B.03.

38.1

38.2

38.3

38.4

38.5

38.6

38.7

38.8

38.9

38.10

38.11

38.12

38.13

38.14

38.15

38.16

38.17

38.18

38.19

38.20

38.21

38.22

38.23

38.24

38.25

38.26

38.27

38.28

38.29

38.30

38.31

38.32

account established in section 41B.03.

04/09/15 01:18 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	CS/NH	H1437DE1
07/07/13 01.10 1 WI	HOUSE RESERRENT	CD/TVII	11173/061

39.1	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.046, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
39.2	Subd. 5. Loans. (a) The authority may participate in a stock loan with an eligible
39.3	lender to a farmer who is eligible under subdivision 4. Participation is limited to 45
39.4	percent of the principal amount of the loan or \$40,000, whichever is less. The interest
39.5	rates and repayment terms of the authority's participation interest may differ from the
39.6	interest rates and repayment terms of the lender's retained portion of the loan, but the
39.7	authority's interest rate must not exceed 50 percent of the lender's interest rate.
39.8	(b) No more than 95 percent of the purchase price of the stock may be financed
39.9	under this program.
39.10	(c) Security for stock loans must be the stock purchased, a personal note executed by
39.11	the borrower, and whatever other security is required by the eligible lender or the authority
39.12	(d) The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable application fee for each
39.13	application for a stock loan. The authority may review the fee annually and make
39.14	adjustments as necessary. The application fee is initially \$50. Application fees received
39.15	by the authority must be deposited in the revolving loan account established in section
39.16	41B.06 Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in section 41B.03.
39.17	(e) Stock loans under this program will be made using money in the revolving
39.18	loan account established in section 41B.06.
39.19	(f) The authority may not grant stock loans in a cumulative amount exceeding
39.20	\$2,000,000 for the financing of stock purchases in any one cooperative.
39.21	(g) Repayments of financial assistance under this section, including principal and
39.22	interest, must be deposited into the revolving loan account established in section 41B.06.
39.23	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.047, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
39.24	Subdivision 1. Establishment. The authority shall establish and implement a
39.25	disaster recovery loan program to help farmers:
39.26	(1) clean up, repair, or replace farm structures and septic and water systems, as well
39.27	as replace seed, other crop inputs, feed, and livestock, when damaged by high winds,
39.28	hail, tornado, or flood; or
39.29	(2) purchase watering systems, irrigation systems, and other drought mitigation
39.30	systems and practices when drought is the cause of the purchase-; or
39.31	(3) restore farmland.
39.32	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.047, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
39.33	Subd. 4. Loans. (a) The authority may participate in a disaster recovery loan with

39.34

an eligible lender to a farmer who is eligible under subdivision 3. Participation is limited

to 45 percent of the principal amount of the loan or \$50,000, whichever is less. The interest rates and repayment terms of the authority's participation interest may differ from the interest rates and repayment terms of the lender's retained portion of the loan, but the authority's interest rate must not exceed four percent.

- (b) Standards for loan amortization shall be set by the Rural Finance Authority not to exceed ten years.
- (c) Security for the disaster recovery loans must be a personal note executed by the borrower and whatever other security is required by the eligible lender or the authority.
- (d) The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable application fee for a disaster recovery loan. The authority may review the fee annually and make adjustments as necessary. The application fee is initially \$50. Application fees received by the authority must be deposited in the revolving loan account established under section 41B.06 Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in section 41B.03.
- (e) Disaster recovery loans under this program will be made using money in the revolving loan account established under section 41B.06.
- (f) Repayments of financial assistance under this section, including principal and interest, must be deposited into the revolving loan account established under section 41B.06.
  - Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.048, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Loans. (a) The authority may disburse loans through a fiscal agent to farmers and agricultural landowners who are eligible under subdivision 5. The total accumulative loan principal must not exceed \$75,000 per loan.
- (b) The fiscal agent may impose a loan origination fee in the amount of one percent of the total approved loan. This fee is to be paid by the borrower to the fiscal agent at the time of loan closing.
  - (c) The loan may be disbursed over a period not to exceed 12 years.
- (d) A borrower may receive loans, depending on the availability of funds, for planted areas up to 160 acres for up to: 40.28
  - (1) the total amount necessary for establishment of the crop;
- (2) the total amount of maintenance costs, including weed control, during the first 40.30 three years; and 40.31
- (3) 70 percent of the estimated value of one year's growth of the crop for years 40.32 four through 12. 40.33

40.1

40.2

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.8

40.9

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

40.16

40.17

40.18

40.19

40.20

40.21

40.22

40.23

40.24

40.25

40.26

40.27

(e) Security for the loan must be the crop, a personal note executed by the borrower, an interest in the land upon which the crop is growing, and whatever other security is required by the fiscal agent or the authority. All recording fees must be paid by the borrower.

- (f) The authority may prescribe forms and establish an application process for applicants to apply for a loan.
- (g) The authority may impose a reasonable, nonrefundable application fee for each application for a loan under this program. The application fee is initially \$50. Application fees received by the authority must be deposited in the revolving loan account established under section 41B.06 Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in section 41B.03.
- (h) Loans under the program must be made using money in the revolving loan account established under section 41B.06.
- (i) All repayments of financial assistance granted under this section, including principal and interest, must be deposited into the revolving loan account established under section 41B.06.
- (j) The interest payable on loans made by the authority for the agroforestry loan program must, if funded by revenue bond proceeds, be at a rate not less than the rate on the revenue bonds, and may be established at a higher rate necessary to pay costs associated with the issuance of the revenue bonds and a proportionate share of the cost of administering the program. The interest payable on loans for the agroforestry loan program funded from sources other than revenue bond proceeds must be at a rate determined by the authority.
- (k) Loan principal balance outstanding plus all assessed interest must be repaid within 120 days of harvest, but no later than 15 years from planting.
- Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.049, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 4. **Loans.** (a) The authority may make a direct loan or participate in a loan with an eligible lender to a farmer who is eligible under subdivision 3. Repayment terms of the authority's participation interest may differ from repayment terms of the lender's retained portion of the loan. Loans made under this section must be no-interest loans.
  - (b) Application for a direct loan or a loan participation must be made on forms prescribed by the authority.
  - (c) Standards for loan amortization shall be set by the Rural Finance Authority not to exceed ten years.
  - (d) Security for the loans must be a personal note executed by the borrower and whatever other security is required by the eligible lender or the authority.
    - (e) No loan proceeds may be used to refinance a debt existing prior to application.

41.1

41.2

41.3

41.4

41.5

41.6

41.7

41.8

41.9

41.10

41.11

41.12

41.13

41.14

41.15

41.16

41.17

41.18

41.19

41.20

41.21

41.22

41.23

41.25

41.26

41.27

41.28

41.29

41.30

41.31

41.32

41.33

41.34

(f) The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable application fee for each application for a direct loan or a loan participation. The authority may review the application fees annually and make adjustments as necessary. The application fee is initially set at \$100 for a loan under subdivision 1. The fees received by the authority must be deposited in the revolving loan account established in section 41B.06 Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in section 41B.03.

- Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.055, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Loans.** (a) The authority may participate in a livestock equipment loan equal to 90 percent of the purchased equipment value with an eligible lender to a farmer who is eligible under subdivision 2. Participation is limited to 45 percent of the principal amount of the loan or \$40,000, whichever is less. The interest rates and repayment terms of the authority's participation interest may differ from the interest rates and repayment terms of the lender's retained portion of the loan, but the authority's interest rate must not exceed three percent. The authority may review the interest annually and make adjustments as necessary.
- (b) Standards for loan amortization must be set by the Rural Finance Authority and must not exceed ten years.
- (c) Security for a livestock equipment loan must be a personal note executed by the borrower and whatever other security is required by the eligible lender or the authority.
  - (d) Refinancing of existing debt is not an eligible purpose.
- (e) The authority may impose a reasonable, nonrefundable application fee for a livestock equipment loan. The authority may review the fee annually and make adjustments as necessary. The initial application fee is \$50. Application fees received by the authority must be deposited in the revolving loan account established in section 41B.06 Rural Finance Authority administrative account established in section 41B.03.
- (f) Loans under this program must be made using money in the revolving loan account established in section 41B.06.
- Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.056, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
  - (b) "Intermediary" means any lending institution or other organization of a for-profit or nonprofit nature that is in good standing with the state of Minnesota that has the appropriate business structure and trained personnel suitable to providing efficient disbursement of loan funds and the servicing and collection of loans.

42.1

42.2

42.3

42.4

42.5

42.6

42.7

42.8

42.9

42.10

42.11

42.12

42.13

42.14

42.15

42.16

42.17

42.18

42.19

42.20

42.21

42.22

42.23

42.24

42.25

42.26

42.27

42.30

42.31

42.32

(c) "Specialty crops" means agricultural crops, such as annuals, flowers, perennials, 43.1 43.2 and other horticultural products, that are intensively cultivated. (d) "Eligible livestock" means poultry that has been allowed access to the outside, 43.3 sheep, or goats beef cattle, dairy cattle, swine, poultry, goats, mules, farmed cervidae, 43.4 ratitae, bison, sheep, horses, and llamas. 43.5 Sec. 49. [41B.057] FARM OPPORTUNITY LOAN PROGRAM. 43.6 Subdivision 1. **Establishment.** The authority shall establish a farm opportunity loan 43.7 program to provide loans that enable farmers to: 43.8 (1) add value to crops or livestock produced in Minnesota; 43.9 (2) adopt best management practices that emphasize sufficiency and self-sufficiency; 43.10 (3) reduce or improve management of agricultural inputs resulting in environmental 43.11 improvements; or 43.12 (4) increase production of on-farm energy. 43.13 43.14 Subd. 2. Loan criteria. (a) The farm opportunity loan program shall provide loans for purchase of new or used equipment and installation of equipment for projects that 43.15 make environmental improvements and enhance farm profitability. The loan program 43.16 shall also be used to add value to crops or livestock produced in Minnesota by, but not 43.17 limited to, initiating or expanding livestock product processing; purchasing equipment to 43.18 initiate, upgrade, or modernize value-added agricultural businesses; or increasing farmers' 43.19 processing and aggregating capacity facilitating entry into farm-to-institution and other 43.20 markets. Eligible loan uses do not include expenses related to seeds, fertilizer, fuel, or 43.21 43.22 other operating expenses. (b) The authority may impose a reasonable, nonrefundable application fee for a farm 43.23 opportunity loan. The authority may review the fee annually and make adjustments as 43.24 43.25 necessary. The initial application fee is \$50. Application fees received by the authority must be deposited in the Rural Finance Authority administrative account established 43.26 in section 41B.03. 43.27 (c) Loans may only be made to Minnesota residents engaged in farming. Standards 43.28 for loan amortization must be set by the Rural Finance Authority and must not exceed 43.29 43.30 ten years. (d) The borrower must show the ability to repay the loan. 43.31 (e) Refinancing of existing debt is not an eligible expense. 43.32 (f) Loans under this program must be made using money in the revolving loan 43.33

43.34

account established in section 41B.06.

Subd. 3. Loan participation. The authority may participate in a farm opportunity loan with an eligible lender, as defined in section 41B.02, subdivision 8, to a farmer or a group of farmers on joint projects who are eligible under subdivision 2, paragraph (c), and who are actively engaged in farming. Participation is limited to 45 percent of the principal amount of the loan or \$45,000 per individual, whichever is less. For loans to a group made up of four or more individuals, participation is limited to 45 percent of the principal amount of the loan or \$180,000, whichever is less. The interest rate on the loans must not exceed six percent.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 41B.06, is amended to read:

#### 41B.06 RURAL FINANCE AUTHORITY REVOLVING LOAN ACCOUNT.

There is established in the rural finance administration fund a Rural Finance Authority revolving loan account that is eligible to receive appropriations and the transfer of loan funds from other programs. All repayments of financial assistance granted from this account, including principal and interest, must be deposited into this account. Interest earned on money in the account accrues to the account, and the money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of agriculture for purposes of the Rural Finance Authority livestock equipment, methane digester, disaster recovery, value-added agricultural product, agroforestry, and agricultural microloan, and farm opportunity loan programs, including costs incurred by the authority to establish and administer the programs.

- Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 135A.52, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 6. Farm business management. Minnesota State Colleges and Universities

  campuses that offer farm business management may specify space availability in the

  delivery of farm business management courses.
- Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 500.24, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 4. **Reports.** (a) The chief executive officer of every pension or investment fund, corporation, limited partnership, limited liability company, or entity that is seeking to qualify for an exemption from the commissioner, and the trustee of a family farm trust that holds any interest in agricultural land or land used for the breeding, feeding, pasturing, growing, or raising of livestock, dairy or poultry, or products thereof, or land used for the production of agricultural crops or fruit or other horticultural products, other than a bona fide encumbrance taken for purposes of security, or which is engaged in farming

44.1

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.6

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.11

44.12

44.13

44.14

44.15

44.16

44.17

44.18

44.19

44.20

44.21

44.26

44.27

44.28

44.29

44.30

44.31

or proposing to commence farming in this state after May 20, 1973, shall file with the commissioner a report containing the following information and documents:

- (1) the name of the pension or investment fund, corporation, limited partnership, or limited liability company and its place of incorporation, certification, or registration;
- (2) the address of the pension or investment plan headquarters or of the registered office of the corporation in this state, the name and address of its registered agent in this state and, in the case of a foreign corporation, limited partnership, or limited liability company, the address of its principal office in its place of incorporation, certification, or registration;
- (3) the acreage and location listed by quarter-quarter section, township, and county of each lot or parcel of agricultural land or land used for the keeping or feeding of poultry in this state owned or leased by the pension or investment fund, limited partnership, corporation, or limited liability company;
- (4) the names and addresses of the officers, administrators, directors, or trustees of the pension or investment fund, or of the officers, shareholders owning more than ten percent of the stock, including the percent of stock owned by each such shareholder, the members of the board of directors of the corporation, and the members of the limited liability company, and the general and limited partners and the percentage of interest in the partnership by each partner;
- (5) the farm products which the pension or investment fund, limited partnership, corporation, or limited liability company produces or intends to produce on its agricultural land;
- (6) with the first report, a copy of the title to the property where the farming operations are or will occur indicating the particular exception claimed under subdivision 3; and
- (7) with the first or second report, a copy of the conservation plan proposed by the soil and water conservation district, and with subsequent reports a statement of whether the conservation plan was implemented.

The report of a corporation, trust, limited liability company, or partnership seeking to qualify hereunder as a family farm corporation, an authorized farm corporation, an authorized livestock farm corporation, a family farm partnership, an authorized farm partnership, a family farm limited liability company, an authorized farm limited liability company, or a family farm trust or under an exemption from the commissioner shall contain the following additional information: the number of shares, partnership interests, or governance and financial rights owned by persons or current beneficiaries of a family farm trust residing on the farm or actively engaged in farming, or their relatives within the third degree of kindred according to the rules of the civil law or their spouses; the name, address, and number of shares owned by each shareholder, partnership interests

45.1

45.2

45.3

45.4

45.5

45.6

45.7

45 8

45.9

45.10

45.11

45.12

45.13

45.14

45.15

45.16

45.17

45.18

45.19

45.20

45.21

45.22

45.23

45.24

45.25

45.26

45.27

45.28

45.29

45.30

45.31

45.32

45.33

45.34

45.35

owned by each partner or governance and financial rights owned by each member, and a statement as to percentage of gross receipts of the corporation derived from rent, royalties, dividends, interest, and annuities. No pension or investment fund, limited partnership, corporation, or limited liability company shall commence farming in this state until the commissioner has inspected the report and certified that its proposed operations comply with the provisions of this section.

- (b) Every pension or investment fund, limited partnership, trust, corporation, or limited liability company as described in paragraph (a) shall, prior to April 15 of each year, file with the commissioner a report containing the information required in paragraph (a), based on its operations in the preceding calendar year and its status at the end of the year. A pension or investment fund, limited partnership, corporation, or limited liability company that does not file the report by April 15 must pay a \$500 civil penalty. The penalty is a lien on the land being farmed under subdivision 3 until the penalty is paid.
- (c) The commissioner may, for good cause shown, issue a written waiver or reduction of the civil penalty for failure to make a timely filing of the annual report required by this subdivision. The waiver or reduction is final and conclusive with respect to the civil penalty, and may not be reopened or modified by an officer, employee, or agent of the state, except upon a showing of fraud or malfeasance or misrepresentation of a material fact. The report required under paragraph (b) must be completed prior to a reduction or waiver under this paragraph. The commissioner may enter into an agreement under this paragraph only once for each corporation or partnership.
- (d) All reports required by paragraph (a) shall include a filing fee of \$15. The fee must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to an account in the agricultural fund.

  Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner for the administrative expenses of this section.
- 46.26 (d) (e) Failure to file a required report or the willful filing of false information is a gross misdemeanor.

#### Sec. 53. LIVESTOCK INDUSTRY STUDY.

The commissioner of agriculture must identify causes of the relative growth or decline in the number of head of poultry and livestock produced in Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Nebraska over the last ten years. No later than February 1, 2016, the commissioner must report findings by poultry and livestock sector and provide recommendations on how to strengthen and expand Minnesota animal agriculture to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over agriculture policy and finance.

46.1

46.2

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.6

46.7

46.8

46.9

46.10

46.11

46.12

46.13

46.14

46.15

46.16

46.17

46.18

46.19

46.20

46.21

46.22

46.23

46.24

46.25

46.28

46.29

46.30

46.31

46.32

46.33

47.1	Sec. 54. FEASIBILITY STUDY; IMPORTING BAIT FISH FOR RESALE.
47.2	The commissioner of agriculture shall conduct a study to assess the feasibility of a
47.3	Minnesota company with a valid importation permit under Minnesota Statutes, section
47.4	97C.515, procuring health-certified, farm-raised bait fish from an out-of-state facility
47.5	and transporting the fish directly to a Minnesota facility for the purpose of resale. The
47.6	commissioner shall appoint a working group of seven individuals to conduct the study,
47.7	including representatives of the Departments of Agriculture and Natural Resources,
47.8	Explore Minnesota, and private aquaculture, a University of Minnesota aquatic invasive

species specialist, a Minnesota aquaculture extension agent, and a United States Fish and

Wildlife aquatic invasive species specialist. The work group shall report the study to the

legislative policy and finance committees and divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture,

environment, and natural resources by February 1, 2016.

47.9

47.10

47.11

47.12

47.13

47.14

47.15

47.16

47.17

47.18

47.19

47.20

47.21

47.22

47.30

47.31

# Sec. 55. CORRECTIONAL FACILITY VOCATIONAL TRAINING PILOT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Pilot program. The commissioner of agriculture must coordinate a pilot program operated by the Northeast Regional Corrections Center to train inmates for careers as meat cutters upon release. The commissioner must facilitate program development and ensure that the program prepares inmates to meet applicable food safety and licensure requirements.

- Subd. 2. **Program development.** In facilitating development of the pilot program, the commissioner must consult with the commissioner of employment and economic development and a representative of each of the following organizations:
- 47.23 (1) Northeast Regional Corrections Center; and
- 47.24 (2) United Food and Commercial Workers.
- 47.25 Subd. 3. Report required. No later than February 1, 2017, the commissioner must report on the progress and outcomes of the program to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over agriculture, economic development, higher education, and public safety.
- Subd. 4. **Expiration.** This section expires on June 30, 2017.

## 47.29 Sec. 56. URBAN AGRICULTURE DEVELOPMENT PROPOSAL.

The commissioner of agriculture must convene interested stakeholders and develop a proposal to effectively and efficiently promote urban agriculture in Minnesota cities. No

	04/09/15 01:18 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	CS/NH	H1437DE1	
48.1	later than January 15, 2016, the c	commissioner must report to th	e legislative c	ommittees	
18.2	with jurisdiction over agriculture	policy and finance and submit	proposed leg	islation.	
48.3		ISFERRED; ACCOUNTS AI		( A1D 0A	
48.4 48.5	The balances in the accounts created under sections 41B.03, subdivision 6; 41B.04, subdivision 17; 41B.043, subdivision 3; and 41B.045, subdivision 4, are transferred to				
48.6	the Rural Finance Authority adm	ninistrative account established	under section	41B.03,	
48.7	subdivision 7, and the original ac	ccounts are abolished.			
48.8	The balance in the account	created under section 17.115 is	s transferred t	o the Rural	
48.9	Finance Authority revolving loan	n account established under sec	ction 41B.06,	and the	
48.10	original account is abolished.				
48.11	Sec. 58. REPEALER.				
48.12	Minnesota Statutes 2014, s	ections 17.115; 28A.15, subdiv	visions 9 and	10; and	

48.12

48.13

48.14

116V.03, are repealed."

Amend the title accordingly