

### FINES AND FEES CAMPAIGN

HF 1060 and 1061/ Lesch SF 1375 and 1376/Hall



Fines and fees from traffic, parking and minor criminal violations strip assets from low-income communities. Tacked-on fees and surcharges drive up the cost of a basic traffic ticket to well over \$100, which is a hardship for many families. A single unpaid ticket can lead to late fees, collection charges, and driver's license suspension, and a license suspension often causes job loss and mounting debt.

# Fines should hold people accountable... ...not be financially devastating.

#### HF 1060/SF 1375

- Gives judges discretion to waive or reduce the \$75 State Surcharge on traffic and criminal violations in cases of financial hardship, or offer a community service alternative.
- Requires judges to consider Ability To Pay factors, such as income and dependents, before setting the amount of a fine.

#### HF 1061/SF 1376

• Ends driver's license suspension for unpaid traffic tickets

#### These organizations support the Fines and & Fees campaign

- State Public Defender
- City Attorney of Saint Paul
- City Attorney of Minneapolis
- Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- ACLU of Minnesota
- Second Chance Coalition

- US Justice Action Network
- Catholic Charities
- Joint Religious Legislative Coalition
- Voices for Racial Justice
- Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless



### PREVENTING THE CYCLE OF DEBT



## Stop Driver's License Suspensions

Suspending a driver's license for unpaid traffic tickets often leads to job loss and mounting debt without improving public safety.

A Rutgers study on the impact of license suspension found that 42% of people suspended lost their job, and that percentage increased to 64% for people making less than \$30,000 per year. <sup>1</sup>

Unpaid tickets get sent to collections, so people will still be held accountable. The additional penalty of license suspension is unnecessary and counterproductive.



# Right-size Fines & Fees

Judges have discretion over most fines and fees but aren't allowed to waive the \$75 State Surcharge or offer a community service option, even in cases of severe financial hardship.

A ticket for expired tabs in Hennepin County:

Base fine: \$30

State Surcharge: \$75

Law Library: \$3

Total: \$108

The surcharge is more than twice the amount of the base fine!

An estimated 7.5% of issued Minnesota licenses are suspended or revoked.

That's over 250,000 drivers! 2

# For more information, please contact:

Anna Odegaard
Legislative Advocate
Minnesota Asset Building Coalition
aodegaard@mnlsap.org
cell: 612.532.3723

Minimum fine guidelines ensure that everyone is held accountable at some level.