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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4735 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"ARTICLE 1
CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.011, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Applicant. "Child care fund applicants" means all parents;; stepparents;; legal

guardians;-ot; eligible relative caregivers whe-are; relative custodians who accepted a transfer

of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515, subdivision 4,

or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor custodians or guardians as

established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster parents providing care to a child

placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b. Applicants must

be members of the family and reside in the household that applies for child care assistance

under the child care fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 7, 2023.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.011, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Child care. "Child care" means the care of a child by someone other than a

parent;; stepparent;; legal guardians; eligible relative caregivers; relative custodian who

accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section

260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor

custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; foster

parent providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007,

subdivision 16b; or the-speuses spouse of any of the foregoing in or outside the child's own

home for gain or otherwise, on a regular basis, for any part of a 24-hour day.

Article 1 Sec. 2. 1



2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

223

2.24

2.25

2.26

227

2.28

2.29

2.30

231

2.32

2.33

04/04/22 12:48 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 7, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.011, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Family. "Family" means parents;; stepparents;; guardians and their spouses;

or; other eligible relative caregivers and their spouses;; relative custodians who accepted a

transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515,

subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor

custodians or guardians as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and

their spouses; or foster parents providing care to a child placed in a family foster home

under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b, and their spouses; and their-bleod-related the

blood-related dependent children and adoptive siblings under the age of 18 years living in

the same home ineluding of the above. This definition includes children temporarily absent

from the household in settings such as schools, foster care, and residential treatment facilities

speuses and adults temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, military
service, or rehabilitation programs. An adult family member who is not in an authorized
activity under this chapter may be temporarily absent for up to 60 days. When a minor
parent or parents and his, her, or their child or children are living with other relatives, and
the minor parent or parents apply for a child care subsidy, "family" means only the minor
parent or parents and their child or children. An adult age 18 or older who meets this
definition of family and is a full-time high school or postsecondary student may be considered
a dependent member of the family unit if 50 percent or more of the adult's support is provided

by the parents;; stepparents;; guardians; and their spouses; relative custodians who accepted

a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515,

subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor

custodians or guardians as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and

their spouses; foster parents providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under

section 260C.007, subdivision 16b, and their spouses; or eligible relative caregivers and

their spouses residing in the same household.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 7, 2023.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 119B.03, subdivision 4a, is amended

to read:

Subd. 4a. Fempeoraryreprioritization Funding priorities. (a) Netwithstanding
subdiviston4 In the event that inadequate funding necessitates the use of waiting lists,

Article 1 Sec. 4. 2
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priority for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee assistance program shall be

determined according to this subdivision beginntngJuly 12021 threugh-May31,2024.

(b) First priority must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high
school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification
or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue
education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the
education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011,

subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:
(1) child care needs of minor parents;
(2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and
(3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.

(c) Second priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran,

as defined under section 197.447.

(d) Third priority must be given to eligible families who do not meet the specifications
of paragraph (b), (c), (e), or (f).

(e) Fourth priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding

fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.

(f) Fifth priority must be given to eligible families receiving services under section
119B.011, subdivision 20a, if the parents have completed their MFIP or DWP transition

year, or if the parents are no longer receiving or eligible for DWP supports.

(g) Families under paragraph (f) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on

the date they complete their transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) Beginning Nevember15;2021 October 3, 2022,

the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in any county or county price cluster under

the child care fund shall be:

Dfer-all-infants-and-teddlers; the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2021 child

care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update;-and.

Article 1 Sec. 5. 3
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(b) Beginning the first full service period on or after January 1, 2025, and every three

years thereafter, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in a county or county price

cluster under the child care fund shall be:

Hfer-all-infants-and-teddlers; the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2024 most

recent child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update;-and.

The rates under paragraph (a) continue until the rates under this paragraph go into effect.

(c) For a child care provider located within the boundaries of a city located in two or
more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum rate paid for child
care assistance shall be equal to the maximum rate paid in the county with the highest
maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's charge, whichever is less. The commissioner
may: (1) assign a county with no reported provider prices to a similar price cluster; and (2)

consider county level access when determining final price clusters.

(d) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess

of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.

(e) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The
county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum
established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on

an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.

(f) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not
exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the

weekly rate.

(g) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must

not exceed:
(1) the daily rate for one day of care;
(2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and

(3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider.

Article 1 Sec. 5. 4
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(h) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid
activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during

nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.

(1) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent
1s responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment

fee.

(j) Beginning October 3, 2022, the maximum registration fee paid for child care assistance

in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be set-as-feHewsH1H)
begimning Nevember15;,2021; the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 202+ most

recent child care provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time of the

(k) Maximum registration fees must be set for licensed family child care and for child
care centers. For a child care provider located in the boundaries of a city located in two or
more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum registration fee paid
for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum registration fee paid in the county

with the highest maximum registration fee or the provider's charge, whichever is less.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.19, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Child care resource and referral programs. Within each region, a child care

resource and referral program must:

(1) maintain one database of all existing child care resources and services and one

database of family referrals;
(2) provide a child care referral service for families;
(3) develop resources to meet the child care service needs of families;
(4) increase the capacity to provide culturally responsive child care services;

(5) coordinate professional development opportunities for child care and school-age

care providers;
(6) administer and award child care services grants;

(7) cooperate with the Minnesota Child Care Resource and Referral Network and its

member programs to develop effective child care services and child care resources; anéd

Article 1 Sec. 6. 5
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(8) assist in fostering coordination, collaboration, and planning among child care programs
and community programs such as school readiness, Head Start, early childhood family
education, local interagency early intervention committees, early childhood screening,
special education services, and other early childhood care and education services and
programs that provide flexible, family-focused services to families with young children to

the extent possible:;

(9) administer the child care one-stop regional assistance network to assist child care

providers and individuals interested in becoming child care providers with establishing and

sustaining a licensed family child care or group family child care program or a child care

center; and

(10) provide supports that enable economically challenged individuals to obtain the job

skills training, career counseling, and job placement assistance necessary to begin a career

path in child care.

Sec. 7. [119B.196] BRAIN BUILDERS BONUS PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of human services shall establish the

brain builders bonus program to provide competitive grants to eligible child care providers

who care for infants. For purposes of this section, an "infant" is a child who is at least six

weeks old but younger than 13 months old.

Subd. 2. Administration. (a) The commissioner may administer the program through

a grant to a nonprofit with the demonstrated ability to manage benefit programs for child

care professionals. Up to ten percent of the annual appropriation may be used to administer

the program.

(b) Applicants must apply for the grants using the forms and according to timelines

established by the commissioner.

Subd. 3. Eligibility. To be eligible for a grant under this section, an applicant must:

(1) care for an infant in a family with income less than or equal to 185 percent of the

federal poverty level, at least 30 hours a week; and

(2) either:

(1) be a licensed family child care provider or work for a licensed family child care

provider; or

(i1) be a legal, nonlicensed child care provider, as defined in section 119B.011, subdivision

16.

Article 1 Sec. 7. 6
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Subd. 4. Grant awards. (a) Grants must be awarded annually. A grant recipient who is

or works for a licensed family child care provider may receive up to $5,000 each year under

this section. A grant recipient who is a legal nonlicensed child care provider may receive

up to $4,500 each year under this section.

(b) Upon verification of provider eligibility under subdivision 3, a grant recipient shall

receive 40 percent of the awarded amount six months after initial notification of receiving

a grant and shall receive the remaining award amount 12 months after the initial notification.

(c) A grant recipient may use the grant money for program supplies, training, or personal

expenses.

(d) Each year at least 50 percent of grant money must be awarded to recipients located

in counties outside the metropolitan counties, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 4.

Subd. 5. Reporting requirement. By January 31, 2024, the commissioner shall report

to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child care on implementation of the

program, including the number of grants awarded to recipients and outcomes of the grant

program.

Sec. 8. [119B.27] SHARED SERVICES GRANTS.

The commissioner of human services shall establish a grant program to enable family

child care providers to implement shared services alliances.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 9. [119B.28] CHILD CARE PROVIDER ACCESS TO TECHNOLOGY
GRANTS.

The commissioner of human services shall distribute money through grants to one or

more organizations to offer grants or other supports to child care providers to improve their

access to computers, the Internet, subscriptions to online child care management applications,

and other technologies intended to improve business practices. Up to ten percent of the

grant funds may be used to administer program.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256.017, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Timing and disposition of penalty and case disallowance funds. Quality
control case penalty and administrative penalty amounts shall be disallowed or withheld
from the next regular reimbursement made to the county agency for state and federal benefit

reimbursements and federal administrative reimbursements for all programs covered in this

Article 1 Sec. 10. 7
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section, according to procedures established in statute, but shall not be imposed sooner than
30 calendar days from the date of written notice of such penalties. Exeeptforpenalties

withheld-underthe-child-eare-assistanee-proegram; All penalties must be deposited in the
county incentive fund provided in section 256.018. Penalties-withheld-under-the-child-eare

HOI9B-03;subdivisten5: All penalties must be imposed according to this provision until a

decision is made regarding the status of a written exception. Penalties must be returned to

county agencies when a review of a written exception results in a decision in their favor.

Sec. 11. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 21, subdivision 4,

1s amended to read:

Subd. 4. Grant awards. (a) The commissioner shall award transition grants to all eligible

programs on a noncompetitive basis through August 31, 2021.

(b) The commissioner shall award base grant amounts to all eligible programs on a
noncompetitive basis beginning September 1, 202 1;-threughJune306,2023. The base grant

amounts shall be:

(1) based on the full-time equivalent number of staff who regularly care for children in

the program, including any employees, sole proprietors, or independent contractors; and

3) (2) enhanced in amounts determined by the commissioner for any providers receiving
payments through the child care assistance program under sections 119B.03 and 119B.05

or early learning scholarships under section 124D.165.

(c) The commissioner may provide grant amounts in addition to any base grants received
to eligible programs in extreme financial hardship until all money set aside for that purpose

1s awarded.

(d) The commissioner may pay any grants awarded to eligible programs under this
section in the form and manner established by the commissioner, except that such payments

must occur on a monthly basis.

Sec. 12. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;
ALLOCATING BASIC SLIDING FEE FUNDS.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 6b, the

commissioner of human services must allocate additional basic sliding fee child care money

Article 1 Sec. 12. 8
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for calendar year 2024 to counties and Tribes to account for the change in the definition of

family. In allocating the additional money, the commissioner shall consider:

(1) the number of children in the county or Tribe who receive care from a relative

custodian who accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under

section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor

custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster

parents in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b; and

(2) the average basic sliding fee cost of care in the county or Tribe.

Sec. 13. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; INCREASE
FOR MAXIMUM RATES.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 6b, the

commissioner of human services shall allocate additional basic sliding fee child care funds

for calendar year 2023 to counties and Tribes for updated maximum rates based on relative

need to cover maximum rate increases. In distributing the additional funds, the commissioner

shall consider the following factors by county and Tribe:

(1) number of children covered by the county or Tribe;

(2) provider types that care for covered children;

(3) age of covered children; and

(4) amount of the increase in maximum rates.

Sec. 14. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD

CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND ALLOCATION.

The commissioner of human services shall allocate $75,364,000 in fiscal year 2023 from

the child care and development fund for rate and registration fee increases under Minnesota

Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, paragraphs (a) and (j). This is a onetime allocation.

Sec. 15. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; COST

ESTIMATION MODEL FOR EARLY CARE AND LEARNING PROGRAMS.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall develop a cost estimation model for

providing early care and learning in the state. In developing the model, the commissioner

shall consult with relevant entities and stakeholders, including but not limited to the State

Advisory Council on Early Childhood Education and Care under Minnesota Statutes, section

124D.141; county administrators; child care resource and referral organizations under

Article 1 Sec. 15. 9
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Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19, subdivision 1; and organizations representing

caregivers, teachers, and directors.

(b) The commissioner shall contract with an organization with experience and expertise

in early care and learning cost estimation modeling to conduct the work outlined in this

section. If practicable, the commissioner shall contract with First Children's Finance.

(c) The commissioner shall ensure that the model can estimate variation in the cost of

early care and learning by:

(1) quality of care;

(2) geographic area;

(3) type of child care provider and associated licensing standards;

(4) age of child,

(5) whether the early care and learning is inclusive, caring for children with disabilities

alongside children without disabilities;

(6) provider and staff compensation, including benefits such as professional development

stipends, health benefits, and retirement benefits;

(7) a provider's fixed costs, including rent and mortgage payments, property taxes, and

business-related insurance payments;

(8) a provider's operating expenses, including expenses for training and substitutes; and

(9) a provider's hours of operation.

(d) By January 30, 2024, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees

with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the cost estimation

model. The report shall include:

(1) recommendations for how the model could be used in conjunction with a child care

provider wage scale to set provider payment rates for child care assistance under Minnesota

Statutes, chapter 119B; and

(2) the department's plan to seek federal approval to use the model for provider payment

rates for child care assistance.

Article 1 Sec. 15. 10
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Sec. 16. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD
CARE PROVIDER WAGE SCALE.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall develop, in consultation with the

commissioner of employment and economic development, the commissioner of education,

and relevant stakeholders, a child care provider wage scale that:

(1) provides for wages that are equivalent to elementary school educators with similar

credentials and experience;

(2) incentivizes child care providers and staff to increase child care-related qualifications;

(3) incorporates payments toward compensation benefits, including professional

development stipends, health benefits, and retirement benefits; and

(4) accounts for the business structures of different types of child care providers, including

licensed family child care providers and legal, nonlicensed child care providers.

(b) By January 30, 2024, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees

with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the wage scale and

make recommendations for how the wage scale could be used to inform payment rates for

child care assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B.

Sec. 17. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.03, subdivision 4, is repealed effective July 1,
2022.

ARTICLE 2
CHILD CARE LICENSING

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.02, subdivision 5a, 1s amended to read:

Subd. 5a. Controlling individual. (a) "Controlling individual" means an owner of a
program or service provider licensed under this chapter and the following individuals, if

applicable:

(1) each officer of the organization, including the chief executive officer and chief

financial officer;

(2) the individual designated as the authorized agent under section 245A.04, subdivision

1, paragraph (b);

Article 2 Section 1. 11
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(3) the individual designated as the compliance officer under section 256B.04, subdivision

21, paragraph (g); and

(4) each managerial official whose responsibilities include the direction of the

management or policies of a programs; and

(5) the individual designated as the primary provider of care for a special family child

care program under section 245A.14, subdivision 4, paragraph (i).

(b) Controlling individual does not include:

(1) a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings association, credit union, industrial
loan and thrift company, investment banking firm, or insurance company unless the entity

operates a program directly or through a subsidiary;

(2) an individual who is a state or federal official, or state or federal employee, or a
member or employee of the governing body of a political subdivision of the state or federal
government that operates one or more programs, unless the individual is also an officer,
owner, or managerial official of the program, receives remuneration from the program, or

owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision;

(3) an individual who owns less than five percent of the outstanding common shares of

a corporation:
(1) whose securities are exempt under section 80A.45, clause (6); or
(11) whose transactions are exempt under section 80A.46, clause (2);

(4) an individual who is a member of an organization exempt from taxation under section
290.05, unless the individual is also an officer, owner, or managerial official of the program
or owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision. This clause does
not exclude from the definition of controlling individual an organization that is exempt from

taxation; or

(5) an employee stock ownership plan trust, or a participant or board member of an
employee stock ownership plan, unless the participant or board member is a controlling

individual according to paragraph (a).

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "managerial official" means an individual who has
the decision-making authority related to the operation of the program, and the responsibility
for the ongoing management of or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the
program. A site director who has no ownership interest in the program is not considered to

be a managerial official for purposes of this definition.

Article 2 Section 1. 12
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Inspections; waiver. (a) Before issuing a license under this chapter, the
commissioner shall conduct an inspection of the program. The inspection must include but

is not limited to:
(1) an inspection of the physical plant;
(2) an inspection of records and documents;
(3) observation of the program in operation; and

(4) an inspection for the health, safety, and fire standards in licensing requirements for

a child care license holder.

(b) The observation in paragraph (a), clause (3), is not required prior to issuing a license
under subdivision 7. If the commissioner issues a license under this chapter, these

requirements must be completed within one year after the issuance of the license.

(c) Before completing a licensing inspection in a family child care program or child care
center, the licensing agency must offer the license holder an exit interview to discuss
violations or potential violations of law or rule observed during the inspection and offer
technical assistance on how to comply with applicable laws and rules. The commissioner
shall not issue a correction order or negative licensing action for violations of law or rule
not discussed in an exit interview, unless a license holder chooses not to participate in an
exit interview or not to complete the exit interview. If the license holder is unable to complete
the exit interview, the licensing agency must offer an alternate time for the license holder

to complete the exit interview.

(d) If a family child care license holder disputes a county licensor's interpretation of a
licensing requirement during a licensing inspection or exit interview, the license holder
may, within five business days after the exit interview or licensing inspection, request
clarification from the commissioner, in writing, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.
The license holder's request must describe the county licensor's interpretation of the licensing
requirement at issue, and explain why the license holder believes the county licensor's
interpretation is inaccurate. The commissioner and the county must include the license
holder in all correspondence regarding the disputed interpretation, and must provide an
opportunity for the license holder to contribute relevant information that may impact the

commissioner's decision. The county licensor must not issue a correction order related to
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14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

04/04/22 12:48 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2

the disputed licensing requirement until the commissioner has provided clarification to the

license holder about the licensing requirement.

(e) The commissioner or the county shall inspect at least annually once each calendar

year a child care provider licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502

or 9503, for compliance with applicable licensing standards.

() No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available
on the department's website the results of inspection reports of all child care providers
licensed under this chapter and under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, and the
number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment that

occurred in licensed child care settings each year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 245A.14, subdivision 4, is amended

to read:

Subd. 4. Special family child care homes. Nonresidential child care programs serving
14 or fewer children that are conducted at a location other than the license holder's own
residence shall be licensed under this section and the rules governing family child care or

group family child care if:

(a) the license holder is the primary provider of care and the nonresidential child care

program is conducted in a dwelling that is located on a residential lot;

(b) the license holder is an employer who may or may not be the primary provider of
care, and the purpose for the child care program is to provide child care services to children

of the license holder's employees;
(c) the license holder is a church or religious organization;

(d) the license holder is a community collaborative child care provider. For purposes of
this subdivision, a community collaborative child care provider is a provider participating

n a cooperative agreement with a community action agency as defined in section 256E.31;

(e) the license holder is a not-for-profit agency that provides child care in a dwelling
located on a residential lot and the license holder maintains two or more contracts with
community employers or other community organizations to provide child care services.
The county licensing agency may grant a capacity variance to a license holder licensed

under this paragraph to exceed the licensed capacity of 14 children by no more than five

Article 2 Sec. 3. 14



15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

15.26

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.30

15.31

04/04/22 12:48 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2

children during transition periods related to the work schedules of parents, if the license

holder meets the following requirements:

(1) the program does not exceed a capacity of 14 children more than a cumulative total

of four hours per day;
(2) the program meets a one to seven staff-to-child ratio during the variance period;

(3) all employees receive at least an extra four hours of training per year than required

in the rules governing family child care each year;

(4) the facility has square footage required per child under Minnesota Rules, part
9502.0425;

(5) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;
(6) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:

(1) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but no
more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational
occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015,

Section 202; or

(i1) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable
fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies, as provided in the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015,
Section 202, unless the rooms in which the children are cared for are located on a level of
exit discharge and each of these child care rooms has an exit door directly to the exterior,
then the applicable fire code is Group E occupancies, as provided in the Minnesota State

Fire Code 2015, Section 202; and

(7) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square

footage determinations shall be printed on the license; or

(f) the license holder is the primary provider of care and has located the licensed child

care program in a commercial space, if the license holder meets the following requirements:
(1) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;
(2) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:

(1) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but no
more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational
occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015,

Section 202; or
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(i1) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable
fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies, as provided under the Minnesota State Fire Code 20135,

Section 202;

(3) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square

footage determinations are printed on the license; and

(4) the license holder prominently displays the license issued by the commissioner which
contains the statement "This special family child care provider is not licensed as a child

care center."

(g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0335, subpart 12, the commissioner
may issue up to four licenses to an organization licensed under paragraph (b), (c), or (e).
Each license must have its own primary provider of care as required under paragraph (i).
Each license must operate as a distinct and separate program in compliance with all applicable

laws and regulations.

(h) For licenses issued under paragraph (b), (¢), (d), (e), or (f), the commissioner may
approve up to four licenses at the same location or under one contiguous roof if each license
holder is able to demonstrate compliance with all applicable rules and laws. Each licensed
program must operate as a distinct program and within the capacity, age, and ratio

distributions of each license.

(1) For a license issued under paragraph (b), (c), or (¢), the license holder must designate
a person to be the primary provider of care at the licensed location on a form and in a manner
prescribed by the commissioner. The license holder shall notify the commissioner in writing
before there is a change of the person designated to be the primary provider of care. The

primary provider of care:

(1) must be the person who will be the provider of care at the program and present during

the hours of operation;

(2) must operate the program in compliance with applicable laws and regulations under

chapter 245A and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;

(3) 1s considered a child care background study subject as defined in section 245C.02,

subdivision 6a, and must comply with background study requirements in chapter 245C; and
(4) must complete the training that is required of license holders in section 245A.50;

(5) 1s authorized to communicate with the county licensing agency and the department

on matters related to licensing; and
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(6) must meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0355, subpart 3, before

providing group family child care.

(j) For any license issued under this subdivision, the license holder must ensure that any
other caregiver, substitute, or helper who assists in the care of children meets the training

requirements in section 245A.50 and background study requirements under chapter 245C.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.1435, 1s amended to read:

245A.1435 REDUCTION OF RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH
IN LICENSED PROGRAMS.

(a) When a license holder is placing an infant to sleep, the license holder must place the
infant on the infant's back, unless the license holder has documentation from the infant's
physician or advanced practice registered nurse directing an alternative sleeping position
for the infant. The physician or advanced practice registered nurse directive must be on a
form appreved developed by the commissioner and must remain on file at the licensed

location.

An infant who independently rolls onto its stomach after being placed to sleep on its
back may be allowed to remain sleeping on its stomach if the infant is at least six months
of age or the license holder has a signed statement from the parent indicating that the infant

regularly rolls over at home.

(b) The license holder must place the infant in a crib directly on a firm mattress with a
fitted sheet that is appropriate to the mattress size, that fits tightly on the mattress, and
overlaps the underside of the mattress so it cannot be dislodged by pulling on the corner of
the sheet with reasonable effort. The license holder must not place anything in the crib with
the infant except for the infant's pacifier, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title

16, part 1511. The pacifier must be free from any sort of attachment. The requirements of

this section apply to license holders serving infants younger than one year of age. Licensed
child care providers must meet the crib requirements under section 245A.146. A correction
order shall not be issued under this paragraph unless there is evidence that a violation

occurred when an infant was present in the license holder's care.

(c) If an infant falls asleep before being placed in a crib, the license holder must move
the infant to a crib as soon as practicable, and must keep the infant within sight of the license
holder until the infant is placed in a crib. When an infant falls asleep while being held, the

license holder must consider the supervision needs of other children in care when determining

Article 2 Sec. 4. 17
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how long to hold the infant before placing the infant in a crib to sleep. The sleeping infant
must not be in a position where the airway may be blocked or with anything covering the

infant's face.

(d) When a license holder places an infant under one year of age down to sleep, the

infant's clothing or sleepwear must not have weighted materials, a hood, or a bib.

(e) A license holder may place an infant under one year of age down to sleep wearing

a helmet if the license holder has signed documentation by a physician, advanced practice

registered nurse, licensed occupational therapist, or a licensed physical therapist on a form

developed by the commissioner.

) (f) Placing a swaddled infant down to sleep in a licensed setting is not recommended
for an infant of any age and is prohibited for any infant who has begun to roll over
independently. However, with the written consent of a parent or guardian according to this

paragraph, a license holder may place the infant who has not yet begun to roll over on its

own down to sleep in a ene-pieee-sleeper-equipped-with-an-attached-system-thatfastens

swaddle. A swaddle is defined as one-piece sleepwear that wraps over the infant's arms,

fastens securely only across the infant's upper torso, and does not constrict the infant's hips

or legs. If a swaddle is used by a license holder, the license holder must ensure that it meets

the requirements of paragraph (d) and is not so tight that it restricts the infant's ability to

breathe or so loose that the fabric could cover the infant's nose and mouth. Prior to any use

of swaddling for sleep by a provider licensed under this chapter, the license holder must

obtain informed written consent for the use of swaddling from the parent or guardian of the

infant on a form previded developed by the commissioner and-prepared-in-partnership-with
the-Minnesota-SuddenInfant Death-Center.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.1443, is amended to read:

245A.1443 CHEMHICALDEPENDENCY SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER
TREATMENT LICENSED PROGRAMS THAT SERVE PARENTS WITH THEIR
CHILDREN.

Subdivision 1. Application. This section applies to ehemical-dependeney residential

substance use disorder treatment facilities that are licensed under this chapter and Minneseta

Rules; chapter 9530, 245G and that provide services in accordance with section 245G.19.
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19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

19.32

04/04/22 12:48 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2

Subd. 2. Requirements for providing education. (a) On or before the date of a child's
initial physical presence at the facility, the license holder must provide education to the
child's parent related to safe bathing and reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death

and abusive head trauma from shaking infants and young children. The license holder must

use the educational material developed by the commissioner to comply with this requirement.

At a minimum, the education must address:

(1) instruction that a child or infant should never be left unattended around water, a tub
should be filled with only two to four inches of water for infants, and an infant should never

be put into a tub when the water is running; and

(2) the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma
from shaking infants and young children, and means of reducing the risks, including the

safety precautions identified in section 245A.1435 and the dangers risks of co-sleeping.

(b) The license holder must document the parent's receipt of the education and keep the
documentation in the parent's file. The documentation must indicate whether the parent
agrees to comply with the safeguards. If the parent refuses to comply, program staff must

provide additional education to the parent atappropriate-intervals;-atteastweeldy as described

in the parental supervision plan. The parental supervision plan must include the intervention,

frequency, and staff responsible for the duration of the parent's participation in the program

or until the parent agrees to comply with the safeguards.

Subd. 3. Parental supervision of children. (a) On or before the date of a child's initial
physical presence at the facility, the license holder must eemplete-and document an
assessment-of the parent's capacity to meet the health and safety needs of the child while

on the facility premises;in

to-adequately-carefor-their-child-due-te considering the following factors:

(1) the parent's physical er and mental health;

(2) the parent being under the influence of drugs, alcohol, medications, or other chemicals;

(3) the child's physical and mental health; and

(4) any other information available to the license holder that indicates the parent may

not be able to adequately care for the child.

(b) The license holder must have written procedures specifying the actions to be taken

by staff if a parent is or becomes unable to adequately care for the parent's child.
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(c) If the parent refuses to comply with the safeguards described in subdivision 2 or is

unable to adequately care for the child, the license holder must develop a parental supervision

plan in conjunction with the client. The plan must account for any factors in paragraph (a)

that contribute to the parent's inability to adequately care for the child. The plan must be

dated and signed by the staff person who completed the plan.

Subd. 4. Alternative supervision arrangements. The license holder must have written
procedures addressing whether the program permits a parent to arrange for supervision of
the parent's child by another client in the program. If permitted, the facility must have a
procedure that requires staff approval of the supervision arrangement before the supervision
by the nonparental client occurs. The procedure for approval must include an assessment
of the nonparental client's capacity to assume the supervisory responsibilities using the
criteria in subdivision 3. The license holder must document the license holder's approval of
the supervisory arrangement and the assessment of the nonparental client's capacity to
supervise the child, and must keep this documentation in the file of the parent of the child

being supervised.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.146, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. License holder documentation of cribs. (a) Annually, from the date printed
on the license, all license holders shall check all their cribs' brand names and model numbers
against the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission website listing of unsafe

cribs.

(b) The license holder shall maintain written documentation to be reviewed on site for
each crib showing that the review required in paragraph (a) has been completed, and which

of the following conditions applies:

(1) the crib was not identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety

Commission website;

(2) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety
Commission website, but the license holder has taken the action directed by the United

States Consumer Product Safety Commission to make the crib safe; or

(3) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety
Commission website, and the license holder has removed the crib so that it is no longer

used by or accessible to children in care.
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(c) Documentation of the review completed under this subdivision shall be maintained
by the license holder on site and made available to parents or guardians of children in care

and the commissioner.

(d) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425, a family child care provider that
complies with this section may use a mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play,
or playpen or crib that has not been identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer

Product Safety Commission website for the care or sleeping of infants.

(e) On at least a monthly basis, the family child care license holder shall perform safety
inspections of every mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play, or playpen used

by or that is accessible to any child in care, and must document the following:

(1) there are no tears, holes, or loose or unraveling threads in mesh or fabric sides of

crib;
(2) the weave of the mesh on the crib is no larger than one-fourth of an inch;
(3) no mesh fabric is unsecure or unattached to top rail and floor plate of crib;
(4) no tears or holes to top rail of crib;
(5) the mattress floor board is not soft and does not exceed one inch thick;
(6) the mattress floor board has no rips or tears in covering;

(7) the mattress floor board in use is a-waterproeof an original mattress or replacement

mattress provided by the manufacturer of the crib;
(8) there are no protruding or loose rivets, metal nuts, or bolts on the crib;
(9) there are no knobs or wing nuts on outside crib legs;
(10) there are no missing, loose, or exposed staples; and

(11) the latches on top and side rails used to collapse crib are secure, they lock properly,

and are not loose.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245H.05, 1s amended to read:

245H.05 MONITORING AND INSPECTIONS.

(a) The commissioner must conduct an on-site inspection of a certified license-exempt

child care center at least annually once each calendar year to determine compliance with

the health, safety, and fire standards specific to a certified license-exempt child care center.
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(b) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available
on the department's website the results of inspection reports for all certified centers including
the number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment

that occurred in certified centers each year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245H.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 6. Authority to modify requirements. (a) Notwithstanding subdivisions 4 and

5, for children in kindergarten through 13 years old, the commissioner may increase the

maximum group size to no more than 40 children and may increase the minimally acceptable

staff-to-child ratio to one to 20 during a national security or peacetime emergency declared

under section 12.31, or during a public health emergency declared due to a pandemic by

the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services under section 319 of the Public

Health Service Act, United States Code, title 42, section 247d.

(b) If the commissioner modifies requirements under this subdivision, a certified center

operating under the modified requirements must have at least one staff person who is at

least 18 years old with each group of 40 children.

Sec. 9. CHILD CARE REGULATION MODERNIZATION; PILOT PROJECTS.

The commissioner of human services may conduct and administer pilot projects to test

methods and procedures for the projects to modernize regulation of child care centers and

family child care allowed under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 2, sections

75 and 81. To carry out the pilot projects, the commissioner of human services may, by

issuing a commissioner's order, waive enforcement of existing specific statutory program

requirements, rules, and standards in one or more counties. The commissioner's order

establishing the waiver must provide alternative methods and procedures of administration

and must not be in conflict with the basic purposes, coverage, or benefits provided by law.

In no event may a pilot project under this section extend beyond February 1, 2024. Pilot

projects must comply with the requirements of the child care and development fund plan.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 3
APPROPRIATIONS; HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS.

Article 3 Section 1. 22
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The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown in

parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter

7, article 16, to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations

are from the general fund or other named fund and are available for the fiscal years indicated

for each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the addition

to or subtraction from the appropriation listed under them is available for the fiscal year

ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. Base adjustments mean the addition

to or subtraction from the base level adjustment set in Laws 2021, First Special Session

chapter 7, article 16. Supplemental appropriations and reductions to appropriations for the

fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, are effective the day following final enactment unless a

different effective date is explicit.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30
2022 2023
Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN
SERVICES
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 116,134,000
Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
General -0- 116,134,000

Subd. 2. Central Office; Operations

Appropriations by Fund
2022 2023
General -0- 10,173,000

(a) Transfer to the Commissioner of

Management and Budget. $500,000 in fiscal

year 2023 is for transfer to the commissioner

of management and budget to: (1) identify any

administrative rules and practices that prevent

or complicate data sharing among child care

and early learning programs administered by

the Departments of Education and Human

Article 3 Sec. 2. 23
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Services and other departments with programs

impacting early childhood as identified by the

Children's Cabinet; and (2) support ongoing

efforts to address any barriers to data sharing.

The commissioner must consult with the

commissioners of education, human services,

and information technology services; the

Children's Cabinet; and other stakeholders.

The commissioner of management and budget

must report preliminary findings to the

committees of the legislature with jurisdiction

over early childhood programs by February

1, 2023, and make a final report by February

1, 2024. This is a onetime appropriation and

is available until June 30, 2024.

(b) Transfer to the Commissioner of

Information Technology Services.

$9,500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for transfer

to the commissioner of information technology

services to develop and implement, to the

extent practicable, a plan to modernize the

information technology systems supporting

programs that impact early childhood. This is

a onetime appropriation and is available until

June 30, 2027.

(c) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund
base is increased $763,000 in fiscal year 2024
and $174,000 in fiscal year 2025.

Subd. 3. Central Office; Children and Families -0-

(a) Beginning in fiscal year 2025, the base
shall include $125,000 for the ombudsperson

for family child care providers under

Minnesota Statutes, section 245.975.

Article 3 Sec. 2. 24
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(b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund

base is increased $493,000 in fiscal year 2024
and $405,000 in fiscal year 2025.

Subd. 4. MFIP Child Care Assistance 0

Subd. 5. Grant Programs; BSF Child Care
Grants -0-

Base Level Adjustment. The general fund

base is increased $56,136,000 in fiscal year
2024 and $103,625,000 in fiscal year 2025.

Subd. 6. Grant Programs; Child Care
Development Grants -0-

(a) Child Care Provider Access to

Technology Grants. $300,000 in fiscal year

2023 is for child care provider access to

technology grants pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes, section 119B.28. This 1s a onetime

appropriation.

(b) One-Stop Regional Assistance Network.

Beginning in fiscal year 2025, the base shall

include $1,200,000 from the general fund for

a grant to the statewide child care resource

and referral network to administer the child

care one-stop shop regional assistance network

in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section

119B.19, subdivision 7, clause (9).

(c) Child Care Workforce Development

Grants. Beginning in fiscal year 2025, the

base shall include $1,300,000 for a grant to

the statewide child care resource and referral

network to administer the child care workforce

development grants in accordance with

Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19,

subdivision 7, clause (10).

Article 3 Sec. 2. 25
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(d) Shared Services Innovation Grants. The

base shall include $500,000 in fiscal year 2024
and $500,000 in fiscal year 2025 for shared

services innovation grants pursuant to

Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.27.

(e) Stabilization Grants for Child Care

Providers Experiencing Financial Hardship.

$26,342,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for child

care stabilization grants for child care

programs in extreme financial hardship. This

1s a onetime appropriation. Money not

distributed in fiscal year 2023 or 2024 shall

be available until June 30, 2025. Use of grant

money must be made in accordance with

eligibility and compliance requirements

established by the commissioner.

(f) Cost Estimation Model for Early Care

and Learning Programs. $189,000 in fiscal

year 2023 is to develop a cost estimation

model for providing early care and learning.

The general fund base is increased $43,000 in
fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.

(g) Child Care Provider Wage Scale.
$189,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to develop a

wage scale for child care providers. The

general fund base is increased $43,000 in

fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.

(h) Brain Builders Bonus Program.

$2,500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for brain

builders bonus grants under Minnesota

Statutes, section 119B.196. This is a onetime

appropriation and is available until June 30,

2025.
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27.1 (1) Child Care Stabilization Base Grants.

272 $73,071,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for child

27.3  care stabilization base grants under Laws

27.4 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article

27.5 14, section 21, subdivision 4, paragraph (b).

27.6  The general fund base is increased

277 $67,221,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
278  $67,221,000 in fiscal year 2025.

279 (j) Grants for Family, Friend, and Neighbor

27.10  Caregivers. $3,167,000 in fiscal year 2023 is

27.11  for grants to community-based organizations

27.12  working with family, friend, and neighbor

27.13  caregivers. In awarding the grants, the

27.14  commissioner shall prioritize

27.15  community-based organizations working with

27.16  family, friend, and neighbor caregivers who

27.17  serve children from low-income families,

27.18  families of color, Tribal communities, or

27.19  families with limited English language

2720  proficiency. The commissioner may use up to

27.21  ten percent of the appropriation for statewide

27.22  outreach, training initiatives, research, and

2723  data collection. The general fund base is

2724  increased $3,383,000 in fiscal year 2024 and

2725 $3,383,000 in fiscal year 2025.

2726 (k) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund

2727  base is increased $70,921,000 in fiscal year

2728 2024 and $73,421,000 in fiscal year 2025.

27.29 Sec. 3. MODERNIZING INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY FOR PROGRAMS
2730 IMPACTING YOUNG CHILDREN.

27.31 (a) The commissioner of information technology services shall develop and implement,

2732 to the extent practicable with the appropriation in section 2, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), a

27.33  plan to modernize the information technology systems that support the programs impacting

2734 early childhood, including child care and early learning programs and those serving young

Article 3 Sec. 3. 27
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children administered by the Departments of Education and Human Services and other

departments with programs impacting early childhood as identified by the Children's Cabinet.

The commissioner may contract for the services contained in this section. This is a onetime

appropriation and is available until June 30, 2027.

(b) The plan must support the goal of creating information technology systems for early

childhood programs that collect, analyze, share, and report data on program participation,

school readiness, early screening, and other childhood indicators. The plan must include

strategies to:

(1) increase the efficiency and effectiveness with which early childhood programs serve

children and families;

(2) improve coordination among early childhood programs for families; and

(3) assess the impact of early childhood programs on children's outcomes, including

school readiness.

(¢) In developing and implementing the plan required under this section, the commissioner

or the contractor must consult with the commissioners of education and human services,

and other departments with programs impacting early childhood as identified by the

Children's Cabinet; the Children's Cabinet; and other stakeholders.

(d) By February 1, 2023, the commissioner must provide a preliminary report on the

status of the plan's development and implementation to the committees of the legislature

with jurisdiction over early childhood programs.

ARTICLE 4
FORECAST ADJUSTMENT; HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Section 1. HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATION.

The dollar amounts shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if

shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2021, First Special

Session chapter 7, article 16, from the general fund or any fund named to the Department

of Human Services for the purposes specified in this article, to be available for the fiscal

year indicated for each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean

that the appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal years ending June 30,

2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year"

is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2022 and 2023.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year

Article 4 Section 1. 28
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Ending June 30
2022 2023
Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN
SERVICES
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $  (103,347,000) $ 73,738,000
Appropriations by Fund
General Fund (103,347,000) 73,738,000
Subd. 2. Forecasted Programs
MPFIP Child Care Assistance (103,347,000) (73,738,000)

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE §
EARLY EDUCATION

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119A.52, is amended to read:

119A.52 DISTRIBUTION OF APPROPRIATION.

(a) The commissioner of education must distribute money appropriated for that purpose
to federally designated Head Start programs to expand services and to serve additional
low-income children—Mig

money-based-on-the programs-share-ef federal funds:, which may include costs associated

with program operations, infrastructure, or reconfiguration to serve children from birth to

age five in center-based services. The distribution must occur in the following order: (1)

10.72 percent of the total Head Start appropriation must be allocated to federally designated

Tribal Head Start programs; (2) the Tribal Head Start portion of the appropriation must be

allocated to Tribal Head Start programs based on the programs' share of federal funds; and

(3) migrant programs must then be initially allocated funding based on the programs' share

of federal funds. The remaining money must be initially allocated to the remaining local

agencies based equally on the agencies' share of federal funds and on the proportion of
eligible children in the agencies' service area who are not currently being served. A Head
Start program must be funded at a per child rate equal to its contracted, federally funded
base level at the start of the fiscal year. For all agencies without a federal Early Head Start
rate, the state average federal cost per child for Early Head Start applies. In allocating funds
under this paragraph, the commissioner of education must assure that each Head Start
program in existence in 1993 is allocated no less funding in any fiscal year than was allocated

to that program in fiscal year 1993. Before paying money to the programs, the commissioner

Article 5 Section 1. 29
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must notify each program of its initial allocation and how the money must be used. Each
program must present a plan under section 119A.535. For any program that cannot utilize
its full allocation at the beginning of the fiscal year, the commissioner must reduce the
allocation proportionately. Money available after the initial allocations are reduced must

be redistributed to eligible programs.

(b) The commissioner must develop procedures to make payments to programs based
upon the number of children reported to be enrolled during the required time period of
program operations. Enrollment is defined by federal Head Start regulations. The procedures
must include a reporting schedule, corrective action plan requirements, and financial
consequences to be imposed on programs that do not meet full enrollment after the period
of corrective action. Programs reporting chronic underenrollment, as defined by the
commissioner, will have their subsequent program year allocation reduced proportionately.
Funds made available by prorating payments and allocations to programs with reported
underenrollment will be made available to the extent funds exist to fully enrolled Head Start

programs through a form and manner prescribed by the department.

(c) Programs with approved innovative initiatives that target services to high-risk
populations, including homeless families and families living in homeless shelters and
transitional housing, are exempt from the procedures in paragraph (b). This exemption does
not apply to entire programs. The exemption applies only to approved innovative initiatives
that target services to high-risk populations, including homeless families and families living

in homeless shelters, transitional housing, and permanent supportive housing.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 121A.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Screening program. (a) A screening program must include at least the following

components: developmental assessments, which may include parent report developmental

screening instruments if the parent or child is unable to complete the screening in person

due to an immunocompromised status or other health concern; hearing and vision screening

or referral;; immunization review and referral;; the child's height and weight;; the date of
the child's most recent comprehensive vision examination, if any;; identification of risk
factors that may influence learning;; an interview with the parent about the child;; and
referral for assessment, diagnosis, and treatment when potential needs are identified. The
district and the person performing or supervising the screening must provide a parent or
guardian with clear written notice that the parent or guardian may decline to answer questions
or provide information about family circumstances that might affect development and

identification of risk factors that may influence learning. The notice must state "Early

Article 5 Sec. 2. 30
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childhood developmental screening helps a school district identify children who may benefit
from district and community resources available to help in their development. Early childhood
developmental screening includes a vision screening that helps detect potential eye problems
but is not a substitute for a comprehensive eye exam." The notice must clearly state that
declining to answer questions or provide information does not prevent the child from being
enrolled in kindergarten or first grade if all other screening components are met. If a parent
or guardian is not able to read and comprehend the written notice, the district and the person
performing or supervising the screening must convey the information in another manner.
The notice must also inform the parent or guardian that a child need not submit to the district
screening program if the child's health records indicate to the school that the child has
received comparable developmental screening performed within the preceding 365 days by
a public or private health care organization or individual health care provider. The notice
must be given to a parent or guardian at the time the district initially provides information

to the parent or guardian about screening and must be given again at the screening location.

(b) All screening components shall be consistent with the standards of the state
commissioner of health for early developmental screening programs. A developmental
screening program must not provide laboratory tests or a physical examination to any child.
The district must request from the public or private health care organization or the individual
health care provider the results of any laboratory test or physical examination within the 12
months preceding a child's scheduled screening. For the purposes of this section,
"comprehensive vision examination" means a vision examination performed by an optometrist

or ophthalmologist.

(c) If a child is without health coverage, the school district must refer the child to an

appropriate health care provider.

(d) A board may offer additional components such as nutritional, physical and dental
assessments, review of family circumstances that might affect development, blood pressure,

laboratory tests, and health history.

(e) If a statement signed by the child's parent or guardian is submitted to the administrator
or other person having general control and supervision of the school that the child has not
been screened because of conscientiously held beliefs of the parent or guardian, the screening

is not required.

Article 5 Sec. 2. 31
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 121A.19, is amended to read:

121A.19 DEVELOPMENTAL SCREENING AID.

Each school year, the state must pay a district for each child or student screened by the
district according to the requirements of section 121A.17. The amount of state aid for each
child or student screened shall be: (1) $75 $98 for a child screened at age three; (2) $50 $65
for a child screened at age four; (3) $40 $52 for a child screened at age five or six prior to
kindergarten; and (4) $30 $39 for a student screened within 30 days after first enrolling in
a public school kindergarten if the student has not previously been screened according to
the requirements of section 121A.17. If this amount of aid is insufficient, the district may
permanently transfer from the general fund an amount that, when added to the aid, is
sufficient. Developmental screening aid shall not be paid for any student who is screened
more than 30 days after the first day of attendance at a public school kindergarten, except
if a student transfers to another public school kindergarten within 30 days after first enrolling
in a Minnesota public school kindergarten program. In this case, if the student has not been
screened, the district to which the student transfers may receive developmental screening
aid for screening that student when the screening is performed within 30 days of the transfer

date.

Sec. 4. [122A.731] GRANTS FOR GROW YOUR OWN EARLY CHILDHOOD

EDUCATOR PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of education must award grants for

Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs established under this section in order

to develop an early childhood education workforce that more closely reflects the state's

increasingly diverse student population and to ensure all students have equitable access to

high-quality early educators.

Subd. 2. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs. (a) Minnesota

licensed family child care or licensed center-based child care programs, school district or

charter school early learning programs, Head Start programs, institutes of higher education,

and other community partnership nongovernment organizations may apply for a grant to

host, build, or expand an early childhood educator preparation program that leads to an

individual earning the credential or degree needed to enter or advance in the early childhood

education workforce. Examples include programs that help interested individuals earn the

Child Development Associate credential, an associate's degree in child development, or a

bachelor's degree in early childhood studies or early childhood licensures. Programs must

prioritize candidates that represent the demographics of the populations served. The grant

Article 5 Sec. 4. 32
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recipient must use at least 80 percent of grant funds for student stipends and tuition

scholarships.

(b) Programs providing financial support to interested individuals may require a

commitment from the individuals awarded, as determined by the program, to teach in the

program or school for a reasonable amount of time that does not exceed one year.

Subd. 3. Grant procedure. Eligible programs must apply for a grant under this section

in the form and manner specified by the commissioner. To the extent that there are sufficient

applications, the commissioner must, to the extent practicable, award an equal number of

grants between applicants in greater Minnesota and those in the seven-county metropolitan

arca.

Subd. 4. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program account. (a) The

Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program account is established in the special

revenue fund.

(b) Funds appropriated for the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program

under this section must be transferred to the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator

program account in the special revenue fund.

(c) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for the Grow

Your Own Early Childhood Educator program under this section. Any returned funds are

available to be regranted. Grant recipients may apply to use grant money over a period of

up to 60 months.

(d) Up to $300,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner for costs associated

with administering and monitoring the program under this section.

Subd. 5. Report. Grant recipients must annually report to the commissioner in the form

and manner determined by the commissioner on their activities under this section, including

the number of educators being supported through grant funds, the number of educators

obtaining credentials by type, a comparison of the beginning level of education and ending

level of education of individual participants, and an assessment of program effectiveness,

including participant feedback, areas for improvement, and where applicable, employment

changes and current employment status, after completing preparation programs. The

commissioner must publish a public report that summarizes the activities and outcomes of

grant recipients and what was done to promote sharing of effective practices among grant

recipients and potential grant applicants.

Article 5 Sec. 4. 33
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.1158, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Program reimbursement. Each school year, the state must reimburse each
participating school 30 cents for each reduced-price breakfast, 55 cents for each fully paid
breakfast served to students in grades 1 to 12, and $1.30 for each fully paid breakfast served
to a prekindergarten student enrolled in an approved voluntary prekindergarten program

under section 124D.151, early childhood special education students participating in a program

authorized under section 124D.151, or a kindergarten student.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.1158, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. No fees. A school that receives school breakfast aid under this section must
make breakfast available without charge to all participating students in grades 1 to 12 who
qualify for free or reduced-price meals and to all prekindergarten students enrolled in an

approved voluntary prekindergarten program under section 124D.151, early childhood

special education students participating in a program authorized under section 124D.151,

and all kindergarten students.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Program requirements. (a) Early childhood family education programs are
programs for children in the period of life from birth to kindergarten, for the parents and

other relatives of these children, for adults who provide child care, and for expectant parents.

To the extent that funds are insufficient to provide programs for all children, early childhood
family education programs should emphasize programming for a child from birth to age
three and encourage parents and other relatives to involve four- and five-year-old children
in school readiness programs, and other public and nonpublic early learning programs. A
district may not limit participation to school district residents. Early childhood family

education programs must provide:

(1) programs to educate parents and, other relatives, and caregivers about the physical,

cognitive, social, and emotional development of children and to enhance the skills of parents

and other relatives in providing for their children's learning and development;

(2) structured learning activities requiring interaction between children and their parents

ot, other relatives, and caregivers;

(3) structured learning activities for children that promote children's development and

positive interaction with peers, which are held while parents er, other relatives, and caregivers

attend parent education classes;

Article 5 Sec. 7. 34
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(4) information on related community resources;

(5) information, materials, and activities that support the safety of children, including

prevention of child abuse and neglect;

(6) a community needs assessment that identifies new and underserved populations,
identifies child and family risk factors, particularly those that impact children's learning and

development, and assesses family and parenting education needs in the community;

(7) programming and services that are tailored to the needs of families and parents

prioritized in the community needs assessment; and

(8) information about and, if needed, assist in making arrangements for an early childhood
health and developmental screening under sections 121A.16 and 121A.17, when the child
nears the third birthday.

Early childhood family education programs should prioritize programming and services
for families and parents identified in the community needs assessment, particularly those

families and parents with children with the most risk factors birth to age three.

Early childhood family education programs are encouraged to provide parents of English
learners with translated oral and written information to monitor the program's impact on
their children's English language development, to know whether their children are progressing
in developing their English and native language proficiency, and to actively engage with

and support their children in developing their English and native language proficiency.

The programs must include learning experiences for children, parents, and other relatives,

and caregivers that promote children's early literacy and, where practicable, their native

language skills and activities for children that require substantial involvement of the children's
parents or other relatives. The program may provide parenting education programming or
services to anyone identified in the community needs assessment. Providers must review

the program periodically to assure the instruction and materials are not racially, culturally,
or sexually biased. The programs must encourage parents to be aware of practices that may

affect equitable development of children.

(b) For the purposes of this section, "relative" or "relatives" means noncustodial
grandparents or other persons related to a child by blood, marriage, adoption, or foster

placement, excluding parents.
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36.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

36.2 Subd. 3. Substantial parental involvement. The requirement of substantial parental

363  ef, other relative, or caregiver involvement in subdivision 2 means that:

36.4 ta) (1) parents ot, other relatives, or caregivers must be physically present much of the

36.5  time in classes with their children or be in concurrent classes;

36.6 ®) (2) parenting education or family education must be an integral part of every early

36.7  childhood family education program;

36.8 te) (3) early childhood family education appropriations must not be used for traditional

36.9  day care or nursery school, or similar programs; and

36.10 ) (4) the form of parent involvement common to kindergarten, elementary school, or
36.11  early childhood special education programs such as parent conferences, newsletters, and

36.12  notes to parents do not qualify a program under subdivision 2.

36.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.141, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

36.14 Subd. 2. Additional duties. The following duties are added to those assigned to the

36.15 council under federal law:

36.16 (1) make recommendations on the most efficient and effective way to leverage state and

36.17  federal funding streams for early childhood and child care programs;
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38.1

38.2

38.3

38.4

38.5 3) (2) review program evaluations regarding high-quality early childhood programs;
38.6 4) (3) make recommendations to the governor and legislature, including proposed

38.7  legislation on how to most effectively create a high-quality early childhood system in
38.8  Minnesota in order to improve the educational outcomes of children so that all children are

38.9  school-ready by-2020; and
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(4) review and provide input on the recommendations and implementation timelines

developed by the Great Start For All Minnesota Children Task Force under Laws 2021,

First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 18, subdivision 2.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.165, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Family eligibility. (a) For a family to receive an early learning scholarship,

parents or guardians must have an eligible child and meet at least one of the following

ehgibility requirements:
l lioible child: and

2) (1) have income equal to or less than 185 percent of federal poverty level income in

the current calendar year;-or;

(2) be able to document their child's current participation in the free and reduced-price
taneh meal program or Child and Adult Care Food Program, National School Lunch Act,
United States Code, title 42, sections 1751 and 1766; the Food Distribution Program on
Indian Reservations, Food and Nutrition Act, United States Code, title 7, sections 2011-2036;

Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007;
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Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J; child care assistance programs

under chapter 119B; the supplemental nutrition assistance program; or placement

(3) have a child referred as in need of child protective services or placed in foster care

under section 260C.212.

(b) An "eligible child" means a child who has not yet enrolled in kindergarten and is:

DH-atleastthree but not yet five years of age on September 1 of the current school year;.

(c) A child who has received a scholarship under this section must continue to receive
a scholarship each year until that child is eligible for kindergarten under section 120A.20

and as long as funds are available.

(d) Early learning scholarships may not be counted as earned income for the purposes
of medical assistance under chapter 256B, MinnesotaCare under chapter 2561, Minnesota
family investment program under chapter 256J, child care assistance programs under chapter
119B, or Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of
2007.

(e) A child from an adjoining state whose family resides at a Minnesota address as
assigned by the United States Postal Service, who has received developmental screening
under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19, who intends to enroll in a Minnesota school district,
and whose family meets the criteria of paragraph (a) is eligible for an early learning

scholarship under this section.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.165, subdivision 3, 1s amended to read:

Subd. 3. Administration. (a) The commissioner shall establish application timelines
and determine the schedule for awarding scholarships that meets operational needs of eligible
families and programs. The commissioner must give highest priority to applications from

children who:

(1) are not yet four years of age;
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D (2) have a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school diploma or a course of

study for a high school equivalency test;
2) (3) are in foster care or-otherwise;

(4) have been referred as in need of child protection er services; or

(5) have an incarcerated parent; or

3) (6) have experienced homelessness in the last 24 months, as defined under the federal

McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, United States Code, title 42, section 11434a.

(b) The commissioner may prioritize applications on additional factors including family
income, geographic location, and whether the child's family is on a waiting list for a publicly

funded program providing early education or child care services.

5) (c) The commissioner shall establish a target for the average scholarship amount per

child based on the results of the rate survey conducted under section 119B.02.

(d) The commissioner may establish exploratory efforts to increase parent education

and family support services to families receiving early learning scholarships such as including

home visits and parent education services.

td) (e) A scholarship is awarded for a 12-month period. If the scholarship recipient has
not been accepted and subsequently enrolled in a rated program within ten three months of
the awarding of the scholarship, the scholarship cancels and the recipient must reapply in

order to be eligible for another scholarship. An extension may be requested if a program is

unavailable for the child within the three-month timeline. A child may not be awarded more

than one scholarship in a 12-month period.
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te) (f) A child who receives a scholarship who has not completed development screening
under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19 must complete that screening within 90 days of first

attending an eligible program or within 90 days after the child's third birthday if awarded

a scholarship under the age of three.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.59, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. English learner. (a) "English learner" means a pupil in kindergarten through

grade 12, an early childhood special education student under Part B, section 619, of the

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, United States Code, title 20, section 1419, or

a prekindergarten student enrolled in an approved voluntary prekindergarten program under
section 124D.151 or a school readiness plus program who meets the requirements under

subdivision 2a or the following requirements:

(1) the pupil, as declared by a parent or guardian first learned a language other than
English, comes from a home where the language usually spoken is other than English, or

usually speaks a language other than English; and

(2) the pupil is determined by a valid assessment measuring the pupil's English language
proficiency and by developmentally appropriate measures, which might include observations,
teacher judgment, parent recommendations, or developmentally appropriate assessment
instruments, to lack the necessary English skills to participate fully in academic classes

taught in English.

(b) A pupil enrolled in a Minnesota public school in any grade 4 through 12 who in the
previous school year took a commissioner-provided assessment measuring the pupil's
emerging academic English, shall be counted as an English learner in calculating English
learner pupil units under section 126C.05, subdivision 17, and shall generate state English
learner aid under section 124D.65, subdivision 5, if the pupil scored below the state cutoff
score or is otherwise counted as a nonproficient participant on the assessment measuring
the pupil's emerging academic English, or, in the judgment of the pupil's classroom teachers,

consistent with section 124D.61, clause (1), the pupil is unable to demonstrate academic
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language proficiency in English, including oral academic language, sufficient to successfully

and fully participate in the general core curriculum in the regular classroom.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), a pupil in early childhood special education

or prekindergarten under section 124D.151, through grade 12 shall not be counted as an
English learner in calculating English learner pupil units under section 126C.05, subdivision
17, and shall not generate state English learner aid under section 124D.65, subdivision 5,

if:

(1) the pupil is not enrolled during the current fiscal year in an educational program for

English learners under sections 124D.58 to 124D.64; or

(2) the pupil has generated seven or more years of average daily membership in Minnesota

public schools since July 1, 1996.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2023 and later.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 245.4889, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Establishment and authority. (a) The commissioner is authorized to

make grants from available appropriations to assist:
(1) counties;
(2) Indian tribes;
(3) children's collaboratives under section 124D.23 or 245.493; er
(4) mental health service providers:; or

(5) school districts and charter schools.

(b) The following services are eligible for grants under this section:

(1) services to children with emotional disturbances as defined in section 245.4871,

subdivision 15, and their families;

(2) transition services under section 245.4875, subdivision 8, for young adults under

age 21 and their families;

(3) respite care services for children with emotional disturbances or severe emotional
disturbances who are at risk of out-of-home placement. A child is not required to have case

management services to receive respite care services;

(4) children's mental health crisis services;
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(5) mental health services for people from cultural and ethnic minorities, including

supervision of clinical trainees who are Black, indigenous, or people of color;
(6) children's mental health screening and follow-up diagnostic assessment and treatment;

(7) services to promote and develop the capacity of providers to use evidence-based

practices in providing children's mental health services;
(8) school-linked mental health services under section 245.4901;

(9) building evidence-based mental health intervention capacity for children birth to age

five;
(10) suicide prevention and counseling services that use text messaging statewide;
(11) mental health first aid training;

(12) training for parents, collaborative partners, and mental health providers on the
impact of adverse childhood experiences and trauma and development of an interactive

website to share information and strategies to promote resilience and prevent trauma;

(13) transition age services to develop or expand mental health treatment and supports

for adolescents and young adults 26 years of age or younger;
(14) early childhood mental health consultation;

(15) evidence-based interventions for youth at risk of developing or experiencing a first
episode of psychosis, and a public awareness campaign on the signs and symptoms of

psychosis;
(16) psychiatric consultation for primary care practitioners; and

(17) providers to begin operations and meet program requirements when establishing a

new children's mental health program. These may be start-up grants.

(c) Services under paragraph (b) must be designed to help each child to function and
remain with the child's family in the community and delivered consistent with the child's
treatment plan. Transition services to eligible young adults under this paragraph must be

designed to foster independent living in the community.

(d) As a condition of receiving grant funds, a grantee shall obtain all available third-party

reimbursement sources, if applicable.
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ARTICLE 6
EDUCATION APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

Subdivision 1. Department of Education. The sums indicated in this section are

appropriated from the general fund to the Department of Education for the fiscal years

designated.

Subd. 2. Mental health services and early childhood social workers. (a) For grants

to fund social workers focused solely on early childhood systems that strengthen early

childhood programs and improve outcomes for participating children and families.

0 ... 2022

$
$ 2,500,000 ... 2023

(b) Eligible applicants are school districts and charter schools with early learning

programs that may include but are not limited to Head Start, early Head Start, and early

intervention programs serving children from birth to kindergarten that:

(1) implement a family partnership process to support family well-being, family safety,

health, and economic stability;

(2) identify family strengths and needs using the Head Start Parent Family and

Community Engagement Framework;

(3) offer individualized family partnership services in collaboration with families; and

(4) offer support services in collaboration or colocation with mental health practitioners

to provide training, coaching, or skill building to early learning staff and parents.

(c) This appropriation is in addition to any other federal funds a grantee receives for this

purpose.

(d) Any balance in the first year does not cancel and is available in the second year.

(e) Up to five percent of this appropriation may be retained for grant administration

COsts.

Subd. 3. Infant and early childhood mental health consultation in schools. (a) For

transfer to the commissioner of human services for grants to create an early childhood mental

health system of care in schools under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4889, subdivision

1, paragraph (a), clause (5).
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$ 0 .
$ 3,759,000 ... 2023

(b) Of this amount, $3,350,000 is available for grants. Eligible uses include services

under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4889, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (14).

(c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel and is available in the second year.

Subd. 4. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs. (a) For grants to

develop, continue, or expand the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program under

Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.731:

0 ... 2022

$
$ 3,860,000 ... 2023

(b) This appropriation is subject to the requirements under section 122A.731, subdivision

4.

(¢) The base for fiscal year 2024 and later is $3,805,000.

Subd. 5. Early childhood family education licensure grant. (a) For a grant to the

University of Minnesota to provide scholarships for prospective teachers enrolled in the

parent and family education licensure program to cover the cost of attendance in the program:

|[&s |~

177,000 ... 2023

(b) The commissioner may award additional grants to other postsecondary institutions

with parent and family education licensure programs if funds are available.

(c) A grant application must at least include:

(1) the in-kind, coordination, and mentorship services to be provided by the postsecondary

institution;

(2) the process for identifying and recruiting prospective teachers who represent known

parent and family education teacher licensure shortage areas, both demographic and

geographic;

(3) the process for coordinating with school districts to support prospective teachers in

completing a licensure program or working in an early childhood family education program;

and

(4) the process for prioritizing and awarding scholarships to students.
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(d) A grant recipient must report in a form and manner determined by the commissioner

on their activities under this subdivision, including the number of participants; the percentage

of participants who are of color or American Indian; the percentage of participants who

reside in, or will be employed in, school districts located in the rural equity region as defined

in Minnesota Statutes, section 126C.10, subdivision 28; an assessment of program

effectiveness, including participant feedback and areas of improvement; the percentage of

participants continuing to pursue parent and family education licensure; and where applicable,

the number of participants hired in a district as parent and family education teachers after

completing the preparation program.

(e) The base for fiscal year 2024 is $177,000. The base for fiscal year 2025 is $0.

Subd. 6. Executive function across generations curriculum grant. (a) For a grant to

the family partnership for an executive function curriculum pilot program:

$ 450,000 ... 2023

(b) The family partnership must establish 15 sites across Minnesota to provide executive

function across generations curriculum. The sites must be spread across the state and include

rural, suburban, and urban early education and care providers, organizations providing home

visiting services, or parenting groups in high-risk communities. The family partnership must

report to the legislature by December 15, 2022, and December 15, 2023, on the progress

made to expand the executive function curriculum across Minnesota.

(c) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Subd. 7. Reach Out and Read Minnesota. (a) For a grant to support Reach Out and

Read Minnesota to establish a statewide plan that encourages early childhood development

through a network of health care clinics:

$ 250,000 ... 2023

(b) The grant recipient must develop and implement a plan that includes:

(1) integrating children's books and parent education into well-child visits;

(2) creating literacy-rich environments at clinics, including books for visits outside of

Reach Out and Read Minnesota parameters or for waiting room use or volunteer readers to

model read-aloud techniques for parents where possible;

(3) working with public health clinics, federally qualified health centers, tribal sites,

community health centers, and clinics that belong to health care systems, as well as

independent clinics in underserved areas; and

Article 6 Section 1. 47



48.1

48.2

48.3

48.4

48.5

48.6

48.7

48.8

48.9

48.10

48.11

48.12

48.13

48.14

48.15

48.16

48.17

48.18

48.19

48.20

48.21

48.22

48.23

48.24

48.25

48.26

48.27

48.28

48.29

48.30

48.31

04/04/22 12:48 pm HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2

(4) training medical professionals on speaking with parents of infants, toddlers, and

preschoolers on the importance of early literacy.

(¢) The base for fiscal year 2024 and later is $250,000.

(d) The plan must be fully implemented on a statewide basis by 2029.

Subd. 8. Minnesota Children's Museum. (a) For a grant to the Minnesota's Children

Museum for operating costs:

$ 2,000,000 ... 2023

(b) The appropriation in paragraph (a) must be used by the Minnesota Children's Museum

to aid in the recovery of general operations and programming losses due to COVID-19.

(c) The appropriation is in addition to the appropriation in Laws 2021, First Special

Session chapter 13, article 2, section 4, subdivision 18.

(d) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Subd. 9. Children's asset building program. (a) For a matching grant to the Saint Paul

and Minnesota Foundation to support a children's asset building program that: (1) creates

a savings account for every child born to a resident of the city of St. Paul during the time

period for which funds are available; and (2) supports financial education for families on

their child's college and career pathway:

$ 250,000 ... 2023

(b) Grant money provided under this subdivision must be matched with money from

nonstate sources.

(c) By February 15, 2025, the Saint Paul and Minnesota Foundation must submit a report

on the children's asset building program to the commissioner of education and to legislative

committees with jurisdiction over early care and learning. At a minimum, the report must

provide a detailed review of the program's design and features, including program outcomes,

funding, financial education programming activities, and program marketing, outreach, and

engagement activities.

(d) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

Subd. 10. Early Childhood Family Education Office. (a) For two full-time equivalent

staff and for operational expenses to provide support and guidance for early childhood

family education programs:

$ 300,000 ... 2023

Article 6 Section 1. 48
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(b) Each staff member must hold a valid license as a teacher of parent and family

education.

(c) The base in fiscal year 2024 and later is $300,000.

Sec. 2. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 1, section 10, subdivision 2,

1s amended to read:

Subd. 2. General education aid. For general education aid under Minnesota Statutes,

section 126C.13, subdivision 4:

75569;266;000

$ 7,484,917,000 ... 2022
7;804;527,600

$ 7,688,824,000 ... 2023

The 2022 appropriation includes $717,326,000 for 2021 and $6;851;940,0060
$6,767,591,000 for 2022.

The 2023 appropriation includes $734;526;000 $751,955,000 for 2022 and
$7,670,007,000 $6,936,869,000 for 2023.

Sec. 3. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 8, section 3, subdivision 3, is

amended to read:

Subd. 3. School breakfast. For traditional school breakfast aid under Minnesota Statutes,
section 124D.1158:

H5848;000

$ 20,000 ... 2022
12,200,000

$ 10,691,000 ... 2023

Sec. 4. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 9, section 4, subdivision 3, is

amended to read:

Subd. 3. Early learning scholarships. (a) For the early learning scholarship program

under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165:

$ 70,709,000 ... 2022
706,709,000
$ 180,709,000 ... 2023

(b) This appropriation is subject to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section

124D.165, subdivision 6.
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(c) The base for fiscal year 2024 is $105,709,000 and the base for fiscal year 2025 is
$105,709,000.

Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 9, section 4, subdivision 4, is

amended to read:

Subd. 4. Head Start program. (a) For Head Start programs under Minnesota Statutes,
section 119A.52:

$ 25,100,000 ... 2022
25;100,000
$ 35,100,000 ... 2023

(b) The base for fiscal year 2024 and later is $35,100,000.

(c) At least $10,000,000 in each fiscal year is for Early Head Start programs.

Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 9, section 4, subdivision 6, is

amended to read:

Subd. 6. Developmental screening aid. (a) For developmental screening aid under

Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.17 and 121A.19:

3,582,000

$ 3,655,000 ... 2022
3,476;000

$ 4,560,000 ... 2023

(b) The 2022 appropriation includes $360,000 for 2021 and $3;222;600 $3,295,000 for
2022.

(c) The 2023 appropriation includes $357;:600 $366,000 for 2022 and $3;19;000
$4,194,000 for 2023."

Amend the title accordingly
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