STATE OF MINNESOTA THIRTIETH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:00 PM on February 2nd, 2022 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

Members present:

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve HALEY, Barb KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave LUCERO, Eric PFARR, Brian OLSON, Liz RASMUSSON, Jordan RICHARDSON, Ruth THEIS, Tama

A quorum was present.

Representative Stephenson moved to approve the minutes from the committee meeting on October 27th, 2021. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF1156 (Fischer); Digital fair repair provided and penalties provided.

Representative Stephenson moved HF1156 be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.

Representative Stephenson moved the HF1156A1 (Fischer) amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF1156: Gay Gordon-Byrne, The Repair Association Neil Vill, World Data Products Tammy Gillard, Minnesota Tech for Success John Helmers, Solid Waste Administrators Peter Ripka, Farmer's Union Brad Sandnas, Cook County Hospital/EZ Screen Fix

Public testimony:

Colleen Hart, Toro

Tara Ryan, Entertainment Software Association

Tyler Diers, TechNet

Dustin Brighton, Brightstone Bridge

Lisa McCabe, CTA

John Keane, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers

John Haine, Cummins Sales and Service

Steve Chesky, Dan's Southside Marine

Jack Gerhardt, C&B Operations

Todd Martin, Arnold Companies Inc.

John Weber, RDO Equipment Co.

Grant Surrey, John Deere

Tia Sutton, Truck & Engine Manufacturers Association

Phil Watkins, Nuss Truck & Equipment

Zach Hoffman, Nuss Truck & Equipment

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF1156, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

CARLSON, Andrew

ELKINS, Steve

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

OLSON, Liz

RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

HALEY, Barb

LISLEGARD, Dave

LUCERO, Eric

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

ABSENT DAVNIE, Jim

With 9 AYES and 8 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2342 (Carlson); Debt settlement service providers regulated.

Representative Carlson moved HF2342 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Carlson moved the HF2342DE3 (Carlson) amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF2342: Ron Elwood, Legal Aid Tony Kwilas, National Association of Enrolled Agents Geno Fragnito, MN CPAs

Representative Carlson renewed the motion that HF2342, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. The clerk took the roll.

AYES STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve HALEY, Barb KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LISLEGARD, Dave LUCERO, Eric PFARR, Brian OLSON, Liz RASMUSSON, Jordan RICHARDSON, Ruth THEIS, Tama

With 18 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 2675 (Kotyza-Witthun); Direct shippers of wine regulated; sales and use taxes, liquor gross receipt taxes, and excise taxes on direct shipments of wine imposed; licensing provided; data classification provided; and reports required.

Representative Kotyza-Witthun moved HF2675 be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.

The following testified on HF2675: Joel Carlson, MN Wine and Spirits Association

Representative Kotyza-Witthun renewed the motion that HF2675 be recommended to be referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
CARLSON, Andrew
DAVNIE, Jim
ELKINS, Steve
HALEY, Barb
KOEGEL, Erin
LEE, Fue
LILLIE, Leon
LISLEGARD, Dave
PFARR, Brian
OLSON, Liz

NAYS BAHR, Cal LUCERO, Eric RASMUSSON, Jordan

RICHARDSON, Ruth

THEIS, Tama

With 15 AYES and 3 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:28 PM

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair

Jack Dockendorf, Committee Legislative Assistant