Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 1.2 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.444, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 1.3 Subd. 6. Violation; penalty for owner or lessee. (a) If a motor vehicle is operated in 1.4 violation of subdivision 1 or 1a, the owner of the vehicle, or for a leased motor vehicle the 1.5 1.6 lessee of the vehicle, is guilty of a petty misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no less than \$300. 1.7 (b) The owner or lessee may not be fined under paragraph (a) if (1) another person is 1.8 convicted for that violation, or (2) the motor vehicle was stolen at the time of the violation. 1.9 (c) Paragraph (a) does not apply to a lessor of a motor vehicle if the lessor keeps a record 1.10 of the name and address of the lessee. 1.11 (d) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit or limit the prosecution of a motor vehicle operator 1.12 for violating subdivision 1 or 1a. 1.13 (e) A violation under paragraph (a) does not constitute grounds for revocation or 1.14 suspension of the owner's or lessee's driver's license. 1.15 (f) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the fines collected for violations of this 1.16 subdivision must be distributed as provided in subdivision 9. 1.17

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to violations

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2172 as follows:

1.1

1.18

1.19

Section 1.

that occur on or after that date.

22/11/21	DELUCOD	TABB /T C	101 000
03/11/21	REVISOR	KRB/LG	A21-0086

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.444, is amended by adding a subdivision to 2.1 read: 2.2 Subd. 9. Fine revenue distribution. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, 2.3 \$250 from each fine collected pursuant to this section must be distributed to the school 2.4 district where the violation occurred for use by the school district to purchase, install, or 2.5 maintain school bus stop-signal arm camera systems. 2.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to fines collected 2.7 on or after that date. 2.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.444, is amended by adding a subdivision to 2.9 read: 2.10 Subd. 10. Data privacy. (a) Data collected through the use of a school bus stop-signal 2.11 arm camera system are private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 2.12 2.13 12, subject to the following: (1) if the individual requests a copy of the recording, data on other individuals who do 2.14 not consent to the data's release must be redacted from the copy; 2.15 (2) data that are the subject of a violation under this section may be disclosed to a law 2.16 enforcement agency; 2.17 (3) data that are criminal investigative data are governed by section 13.82, subdivision 2.18 7; and 2.19 (4) section 13.04, subdivision 2, does not apply to collection of the data. 2.20 (b) The owner or operator of a school bus stop-signal arm camera is subject to the 2.21 provisions of paragraph (a) and chapter 13 with respect to data collected, created, received, 2.22 maintained, or disseminated through the use of a school bus stop-signal arm camera system. 2.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to data collected 2.24 on or after that date. 2.25 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.444, is amended by adding a subdivision to 2.26 read: 2.27 Subd. 11. Reporting. A school bus driver must report a violation of this section to a 2.28 supervisor. The supervisor must report the violation to a law enforcement agency. 2.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to violations 2.30 that occur on or after that date." 2.31

Sec. 4. 2

3.1	Delete the title and insert:	
3.2		"A bill for an act

REVISOR

KRB/LG

A21-0086

03/11/21

relating to transportation; establishing fine amount for school bus stop-signal arm violations and distribution of a portion of fines collected to school districts; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.444, subdivision 6, by adding subdivisions."

Sec. 4. 3