
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3669, the first engrossment, as follows:​

1.2 Page 27, delete section 5 and insert:​

1.3 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 116U.27, subdivision 1, is amended​

1.4 to read:​

1.5 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

1.6 the meanings given.​

1.7 (b) "Allocation certificate" means a certificate issued by the commissioner to a taxpayer​

1.8 upon receipt of an initial application for a credit for a project that has not yet been completed.​

1.9 (c) "Application" means the application for a credit under subdivision 4.​

1.10 (d) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic development.​

1.11 (e) "Credit certificate" means a certificate issued by the commissioner upon submission​

1.12 of the cost verification report in subdivision 4, paragraph (e).​

1.13 (f) "Eligible production costs" means eligible production costs as defined in section​

1.14 116U.26, paragraph (b), clause (1), incurred in Minnesota that are directly attributable to​

1.15 the production of a film project in Minnesota.​

1.16 (g) "Film" has the meaning given in section 116U.26, paragraph (b), clause (2).​

1.17 (h) "Project" means a film:​

1.18 (1) that includes the promotion of Minnesota;​

1.19 (2) for which the taxpayer has expended at least $1,000,000 in the taxable year a​

1.20 consecutive twelve-month period beginning when expenditures are first paid in Minnesota​

1.21 for eligible production costs; and​

1.22 (3) to the extent practicable, that employs Minnesota residents.​
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2.1 (i) "Promotion of Minnesota" or "promotion" means visible display of a static or animated​

2.2 logo, approved by the commissioner and lasting approximately five seconds, that promotes​

2.3 Minnesota within its presentation in the end credits before the below-the-line crew crawl​

2.4 for the life of the project.​

2.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning​

2.6 after December 31, 2021."​

2.7 Page 28, delete section 6​

2.8 Page 41, after line 21, insert:​

2.9 "(d) For a married taxpayer filing a separate return, the credit percentage must be​

2.10 calculated under paragraphs (a) to (c), except the adjusted gross income thresholds are​

2.11 one-half the amounts for other filers, as adjusted for inflation under subdivision 2b."​

2.12 Page 46, delete lines 12 and 13 and insert:​

2.13 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for credit certificates issued after June​

2.14 30, 2022, and applies retroactively for applications for allocation certificates submitted after​

2.15 December 31, 2017."​

2.16 Page 46, delete section 19 and insert:​

2.17 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 290.0681, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

2.18 Subd. 3. Applications; allocations. (a) To qualify for a credit or grant under this section,​

2.19 the developer of a project must apply to the office before the rehabilitation begins. The​

2.20 application must contain the information and be in the form prescribed by the office. The​

2.21 office may collect a fee for application of up to 0.5 percent of qualified rehabilitation​

2.22 expenditures, up to $40,000, based on estimated qualified rehabilitation expenditures, to​

2.23 offset costs associated with personnel and administrative expenses related to administering​

2.24 the credit and preparing the economic impact report in subdivision 9. Application fees are​

2.25 deposited in the account. The application must indicate if the application is for a credit or​

2.26 a grant in lieu of the credit or a combination of the two and designate the taxpayer qualifying​

2.27 for the credit or the recipient of the grant.​

2.28 (b) Upon approving an application for credit, the office shall issue allocation certificates​

2.29 that:​

2.30 (1) verify eligibility for the credit or grant;​
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3.1 (2) state the amount of credit or grant anticipated with the project, with the credit amount​

3.2 equal to 100 percent and the grant amount equal to 90 percent of the federal credit anticipated​

3.3 in the application;​

3.4 (3) state that the credit or grant allowed may increase or decrease if the federal credit​

3.5 the project receives at the time it is placed in service is different than the amount anticipated​

3.6 at the time the allocation certificate is issued; and​

3.7 (4) state the fiscal year in which the credit or grant is allocated, and that the taxpayer or​

3.8 grant recipient is entitled to receive one-fifth of the total amount of either the credit or the​

3.9 grant at the time the project is placed in service, provided that date is within three calendar​

3.10 years following the issuance of the allocation certificate.​

3.11 (c) The office, in consultation with the commissioner, shall determine if the project is​

3.12 eligible for a credit or a grant under this section and must notify the developer in writing​

3.13 of its determination. Eligibility for the credit is subject to review and audit by the​

3.14 commissioner.​

3.15 (d) The federal credit recapture and repayment requirements under section 50 of the​

3.16 Internal Revenue Code do not apply to the credit allowed under this section.​

3.17 (e) Any decision of the office under paragraph (c) may be challenged as a contested case​

3.18 under chapter 14. The contested case proceeding must be initiated within 45 days of the​

3.19 date of written notification by the office.​

3.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for credit certificates issued after June​

3.21 30, 2022, and applies retroactively for applications for allocation certificates submitted after​

3.22 December 31, 2017."​

3.23 Page 48, delete lines 11 and 12 and insert:​

3.24 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for credit certificates issued after June​

3.25 30, 2022, and applies retroactively for applications for allocation certificates submitted after​

3.26 December 31, 2017."​

3.27 Page 53, delete section 27 and insert:​

3.28 "Sec. .... SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR CERTAIN ALLOCATION CERTIFICATES;​

3.29 CREDIT FOR HISTORIC STRUCTURE REHABILITATION.​

3.30 For an allocation certificate issued pursuant to an application submitted after December​

3.31 31, 2017, for a project receiving a credit certificate issued after June 30, 2022, the allocation​
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4.1 certificate is deemed to state that the taxpayer or grant recipient is entitled to receive the​

4.2 full amount of the credit or grant at the time the project is placed in service.​

4.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."​

4.4 Page 84, line 28, before "Real" insert "(a)"​

4.5 Page 85, after line 3, insert:​

4.6 "(b) Any taxpayer requesting an exemption under this subdivision must file an application​

4.7 with the commissioner of revenue. The commissioner must prescribe the content, format,​

4.8 and manner of the application pursuant to section 270C.30, except that "law administered​

4.9 by the commissioner" includes the property tax laws. If an application is made by electronic​

4.10 means, the taxpayer's signature is defined pursuant to section 270C.304, except that a "law​

4.11 administered by the commissioner" includes the property tax laws."​

4.12 Page 85, line 6, delete "county assessor" and insert "commissioner of revenue"​

4.13 Page 85, after line 6, insert:​

4.14 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 272.025, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

4.15 Subdivision 1. Statement of exemption. (a) Except in the case of property owned by​

4.16 the state of Minnesota or any political subdivision thereof, a taxpayer claiming an exemption​

4.17 from taxation on property described in section 272.02 must file a statement of exemption​

4.18 with the assessor of the assessment district in which the property is located. By January 2,​

4.19 2018, and each third year thereafter, the commissioner of revenue shall publish on its website​

4.20 a list of the exemptions for which a taxpayer claiming an exemption must file a statement​

4.21 of exemption. The commissioner's requirement that a taxpayer file a statement of exemption​

4.22 pursuant to this subdivision shall not be considered a rule and is not subject to the​

4.23 Administrative Procedure Act, chapter 14.​

4.24 (b) A taxpayer claiming an exemption from taxation on property described in section​

4.25 272.02, subdivision 10, or 272.02, subdivision 106, must file a statement of exemption with​

4.26 the commissioner of revenue, on or before February 15 of each year for which the taxpayer​

4.27 claims an exemption.​

4.28 (c) In case of sickness, absence or other disability or for good cause, the assessor or the​

4.29 commissioner may extend the time for filing the statement of exemption for a period not to​

4.30 exceed 60 days.​
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5.1 (d) The commissioner of revenue shall prescribe the content, format, and manner of the​

5.2 statement of exemption pursuant to section 270C.30, except that a "law administered by​

5.3 the commissioner" includes the property tax laws.​

5.4 (e) If a statement is made by electronic means, the taxpayer's signature is defined pursuant​

5.5 to section 270C.304, except that a "law administered by the commissioner" includes the​

5.6 property tax laws.​

5.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023​

5.8 and thereafter."​

5.9 Page 124, line 5, delete "$......." and insert "$0"​

5.10 Page 135, line 14, reinstate the stricken language​

5.11 Page 135, lines 15 to 17, delete the new language​

5.12 Page 135, lines 23 to 30, delete the new language and strike the old language and insert​

5.13 "By December 31 of the calendar year following the calendar year that the aid was received,​

5.14 any funds unspent or unallocated by a county under this section must be sent to the​

5.15 Continuum of Care of which the county is a part of."​

5.16 Page 136, delete lines 1 to 3​

5.17 Page 141, lines 1 and 3, delete "$......." and insert "$0"​

5.18 Page 249, line 6, delete "up to ten percent of"​

5.19 Page 249, line 7, delete "the payment received" and insert "the greater of $6,250 or 2.5​

5.20 percent of the total amount received under this subdivision"​

5.21 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

5.22 Amend the title accordingly​
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