Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 1.2 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.461, subdivision 28, is amended to read: 1.3 Subd. 28. Child care assistance program. Data collected, maintained, used, or 1.4 disseminated by the welfare system pertaining to persons selected as legal nonlicensed child 1.5 care providers by families receiving child care assistance are classified under section 119B.02, 1.6 subdivision 6, paragraph (a). Child care assistance program payment data is classified under 1.7 section 119B.02, subdivision 6, paragraph (b). 1.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 1.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 119B.02, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 1.10 Subd. 6. Data. (a) Data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated by the welfare 1.11 system pertaining to persons selected as legal nonlicensed child care providers by families 1.12 receiving child care assistance shall be treated as licensing data as provided in section 13.46, 1.13 subdivision 4. 1.14 (b) For purposes of this paragraph, "child care assistance program payment data" means 1.15 data for a specified time period showing (1) that a child care assistance program payment 1.16 under this chapter was made, and (2) the amount of child care assistance payments made 1.17 to a child care center. Child care assistance program payment data may include the number 1.18 of families and children on whose behalf payments were made for the specified time period. 1.19 Any child care assistance program payment data that may identify a specific child care 1.20 assistance recipient or benefit paid on behalf of a specific child care assistance recipient, 1.21

as determined by the commissioner, is private data on individuals as defined in section

13.02, subdivision 12. Data related to a child care assistance payment is public if the data

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2397 as follows:

1.1

1.22

1.23

Sec. 2.

	03/11/19 04:31 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	SS/JG	H2397DE1
2.1	relates to a child care assistance payr	ment made to a licensed chi	ld care center	or a child
2.2	care center exempt from licensure an	<u>d:</u>		
2.3	(1) the child care center receives	payment of more than \$100	,000 from the	e child care
2.4	assistance program under this chapte	r in a period of one year or	less; or	
2.5	(2) when the commissioner or con	unty agency either:		
2.6	(i) disqualified the center from re	ceipt of a payment from the	child care as	ssistance
2.7	program under this chapter for wrongfully obtaining child care assistance under section			
2.8	256.98, subdivision 8, paragraph (c);			
2.9	(ii) refused a child care authorizate	tion, revoked a child care a	uthorization,	stopped
2.10	payment, or denied payment for a bill for the center under section 119B.13, subdivision 6,			
2.11	paragraph (d); or			
2.12	(iii) made a finding of financial m	nisconduct under section 24	5E.02.	
2.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	on is effective the day follow	ving final ena	actment.
2.14	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, se	ection 518A.53, subdivision	11, is amend	led to read:
2.15	Subd. 11. Lump-sum payments.	Before transmittal to the obli	gor of a lump-	sum payment
2.16	of \$500 or more including, but not lim	nited to, severance pay, accu	mulated sick	pay, vacation
2.17	pay, bonuses, commissions, or other	pay or benefits, a payor of	funds:	
2.18	(1) who has been served with an o	order for or notice of incom	e withholding	g under this
2.19	section shall:			
2.20	(i) notify the public authority of the	he lump-sum payment that i	s to be paid to	o the obligor;
2.21	(ii) hold the lump-sum payment for	r 30 days after the date on wh	ich the lump-	sum payment
2.22	would otherwise have been paid to th	e obligor, notwithstanding s	sections 176.2	221, 176.225,
2.23	176.521, 181.08, 181.101, 181.11, 18	81.13, and 181.145; and		
2.24	(iii) upon order of the court, and a	after a showing of past willf	ul nonpayme	nt of support,
2.25	pay any specified amount of the lump-	-sum payment to the public a	uthority for fu	iture support;

2.30 (i) that a judgment entered pursuant to section 548.091, subdivision 1a, exists against the obligor, or that other support arrearages exist;

the public authority or a court order that includes the following information:

(2) shall pay the lessor of the amount of the lump-sum payment or the total amount of

the judgment and arrearages upon service by United States mail of a sworn affidavit from

Sec. 3. 2

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

or

03/11/19 04:31 pm HOUSE RESEARCH SS/JG H2397DE1

(ii) the current balance of the judgment or arrearage; and

3.1

3 2

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

- (iii) that a portion of the judgment or arrearage remains unpaid.
- 3.3 The Consumer Credit Protection Act, title 15 of the United States Code, section 1673(b),
  3.4 does not apply to lump-sum payments.
  - Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518A.685, is amended to read:

## 518A.685 CONSUMER REPORTING AGENCY; REPORTING ARREARS.

- (a) If a public authority determines that an obligor has not paid the current monthly support obligation plus any required arrearage payment for three months, the public authority must report this information to a consumer reporting agency.
- (b) Before reporting that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered child support, the public authority must:
- (1) provide written notice to the obligor that the public authority intends to report the arrears to a consumer reporting agency; and
- (2) mail the written notice to the obligor's last known mailing address at least 30 days before the public authority reports the arrears to a consumer reporting agency.
- (c) The obligor may, within 21 days of receipt of the notice, do the following to prevent the public authority from reporting the arrears to a consumer reporting agency:
- (1) pay the arrears in full; or
- (2) request an administrative review. An administrative review is limited to issues of mistaken identity, a pending legal action involving the arrears, or an incorrect arrears balance.
- (d) If the public authority has reported that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered child support and subsequently determines that the obligor has paid the court-ordered child support arrears in full, or is paying the current monthly support obligation plus any required arrearage payment, the public authority must report to the consumer reporting agency that the obligor is currently paying child support as ordered by the court.
- (e) (d) A public authority that reports arrearage information under this section must make monthly reports to a consumer reporting agency. The monthly report must be consistent with credit reporting industry standards for child support.
- 3.29 (f) (e) For purposes of this section, "consumer reporting agency" has the meaning given in section 13C.001, subdivision 4, and United States Code, title 15, section 1681a(f).

Sec. 4. 3

03/11/19 04:31 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	SS/JG	H2397DE1
U3/11/19 U4:31 DM	HOUSE RESEARCH	55/JCI	H239/IJE1

4.1	Sec. 5. [518A.80] MOTION TO TRANSFER TO TRIBAL COURT.
4.2	Subdivision 1. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this
4.3	subdivision have the meanings given them.
4.4	(b) "Case participant" means a party to the case that is a natural person.
4.5	(c) "District court" means a district court of the state of Minnesota.
4.6	(d) "Party" means a person or entity named or admitted as a party or seeking to be
4.7	admitted as a party in the district court action, including the county IV-D agency, whether
4.8	or not named in the caption.
4.9	(e) "Tribal court" means a tribal court of a federally recognized Indian tribe located in
4.10	Minnesota that is receiving funding from the federal government to operate a child support
4.11	program under United States Code, title 42, chapter 7, subchapter IV, part D, sections 654
4.12	<u>to 669b.</u>
4.13	(f) "Tribal IV-D agency" has the meaning given to "tribal IV-D agency" in Code of
4.14	Federal Regulations, title 45, part 309.05.
4.15	(g) "Title IV-D child support case" has the meaning given to "IV-D case" in section
4.16	518A.26, subdivision 10.
4.17	Subd. 2. Actions eligible for transfer. For purposes of this section, a postjudgment
4.18	child support, custody, or parenting time action is eligible for transfer to tribal court. A child
4.19	protection action or a dissolution action involving a child is not eligible for transfer to tribal
4.20	court pursuant to this section.
4.21	Subd. 3. Motion to transfer. (a) A party's or tribal IV-D agency's motion to transfer to
4.22	tribal court shall state and allege:
4.23	(1) the address of each case participant;
4.24	(2) the tribal affiliation of each case participant, if any;
4.25	(3) the name, tribal affiliation, if any, and date of birth of each living minor or dependent
4.26	child of a case participant who is subject to the action; and
4.27	(4) the legal and factual basis for the court to make a finding that there is concurrent
4.28	jurisdiction in the case.
4.29	(b) A party or tribal IV-D agency bringing a motion to transfer to tribal court must file
4.30	with the court and serve the required documents on each party and the tribal IV-D agency,
1 21	regardless of whether the tribal IV Degeney is a party

Sec. 5. 4

03/11/19 04:31 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	SS/JG	H2397DE1		
(c) A party's or tribal IV-D agency's motion to transfer must be accompanied by an affidavit setting forth facts in support of its motion					

affidavit setting forth facts in support of its motion.

(d) When a motion to transfer is not brought by the tribal IV-D agency, an affidavit of the tribal IV-D agency stating whether the tribal IV-D agency provides services to a party must be filed and served on each party within 15 days from the date of service of the motion.

- Subd. 4. Order to transfer to tribal court. (a) Unless a hearing is held under subdivision 6, upon motion of a party or a tribal IV-D agency, a district court must transfer a postjudgment child support, custody, or parenting time action to a tribal court when the district court finds:
- (1) the district court and tribal court have concurrent jurisdiction;
- (2) a case participant is receiving services from the tribal IV-D agency; and 5.11
- (3) no party or tribal IV-D agency files and serves a timely objection to the transfer. 5.12
- (b) When the requirements of this subdivision are satisfied, the district court is not 5.13 5.14 required to hold a hearing. The district court's order transferring the action to tribal court must contain written findings on each requirement of this subdivision. 5.15
  - Subd. 5. Objection to motion to transfer. (a) To object to a motion to transfer to a tribal court, a party or tribal IV-D agency must file with the court and serve on each party and the tribal IV-D agency a responsive motion objecting to the motion to transfer within 30 days from the date of service of the motion to transfer.
  - (b) If a party or tribal IV-D agency files with the court and properly serves a timely objection to the motion to transfer to a tribal court, the district court must conduct a hearing.
- 5.22 Subd. 6. **Hearing.** If a hearing is held under this section, the district court must evaluate and make written findings on all relevant factors, including: 5.23
- 5.24 (1) whether an issue requires interpretation of tribal law, including the tribal constitution, statutes, bylaws, ordinances, resolutions, treaties, or case law; 5.25
- 5.26 (2) whether the action involves tribal traditional or cultural matters;
- (3) whether the tribe is a party; 5.27

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

- 5.28 (4) whether tribal sovereignty, jurisdiction, or territory is an issue;
- (5) the tribal membership status of each case participant; 5.29
- 5.30 (6) where the claim arises;
- (7) the location of the residence of each case participant and the child; 5.31

Sec. 5. 5

	03/11/19 04:31 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	SS/JG	H2397DE1
6.1	(8) whether the parties have by cont	ract chosen a forum or the	he law to be a	pplied in the
6.2	event of a dispute;			
6.3	(9) the timing of any motion to trans	sfer to tribal court, consi	dering each pa	arty's and the
6.4	court's expenditure of time and resource	es, and the district court'	s scheduling o	order;
6.5	(10) the court in which the action ca	n be heard and decided	most expedition	ously;
6.6	(11) the burdens on each party, inclu	uding cost, access to and	admissibility	of evidence,
6.7	and matters of procedure; and			
6.8	(12) any other factor the court deter	mines relevant.		
6.9	Subd. 7. Future exercise of jurisdi	ction. Nothing in this se	ction shall be	construed to
6.10	limit the district court's exercise of juris	sdiction where the tribal	court waives j	urisdiction,
6.11	transfers the action back to district cour	t, or otherwise declines to	o exercise juri	sdiction over
6.12	the action.			
6.13	Subd. 8. Transfer to Red Lake Na	tion Tribal Court. Whe	n a party or tri	ibal IV-D
6.14	agency brings a motion to transfer to th	e Red Lake Nation Triba	al Court, the c	ourt must

transfer the action if the case participants and child resided within the boundaries of the

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment."

Red Lake Reservation for the preceding six months.

Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 5. 6

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18