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ARTICLE 1

TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies
and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway
fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.
Amounts for "Total Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked
"Appropriations by Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. The figures "2020"
and "2021" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them are available
for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, or June 30, 2021, respectively. "The first year" is
fiscal year 2020. "The second year" is fiscal year 2021. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2020
and 2021. "C.S.A.H." is the county state-aid highway fund. "M.S.A.S." is the municipal
state-aid street fund. "H.U.T.D." is the highway user tax distribution fund.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30
2020 2021
Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 3,155,904,000 $ 3,504,849,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 23,598,000 19,766,000
Airports 25,332,000 25,332,000
C.S.A.H. 879,686,000  1,029,714,000
M.S.A.S. 217,339,000 255,757,000
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ARTICLE 1

TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies
and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway
fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.
Amounts for "Total Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked
"Appropriations by Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. Unless specified
otherwise, the amounts in the second year under "Appropriations by Fund" show the base
within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, subdivision 3, by fund. The
figures "2020" and "2021" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them
are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, or June 30, 2021, respectively. "The
first year" is fiscal year 2020. "The second year" is fiscal year 2021. "The biennium" is
fiscal years 2020 and 2021.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year
Ending June 30
2020 2021
Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 3,050,750,000 $ 3,017,437,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 19,285,000 19,375,000
Airports 20,632,000 20,632,000
C.S.A.H. 832,949,000 846,298,000
M.S.A.S. 208,516,000 211,528,000
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H.U.TD. 1,000,000 0
Special Revenue 10,335,000 11,100,000

1,998,614,000  2,163,180,000

Trunk Highway

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of transportation. The amounts
that may be spent for each purpose are
specified in the following subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Multimodal Systems

(a) Aeronautics

(1) Airport Development and Assistance

18,598,000

This appropriation is from the state airports
fund and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,
subdivision 4.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
16A.28, subdivision 6, this appropriation is
available for five years after appropriation. If
the appropriation for either year is insufficient,
the appropriation for the other year is available
for it.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the state
airports fund following the appropriations
made in this article, and that the appropriations
made are insufficient for advancing airport
development and assistance projects, an
amount necessary to advance the projects, not
to exceed the balance in the state airports fund,
is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,
subdivision 4. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of

Transportation Omnibus

18,598,000

PAGE R2

2.29

2.30
231
2.32
233

3.1

32
33
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1,968,710,000  1,919,152,000

Trunk Highway

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of transportation. The amounts
that may be spent for each purpose are
specified in the following subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Multimodal Systems

(a) Aeronautics

(1) Airport Development and Assistance

15,298,000

This appropriation is from the state airports
fund and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,
subdivision 4.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
16A.28, subdivision 6, this appropriation is
available for five years after the year of the
appropriation. If the appropriation for either
year is insufficient, the appropriation for the
other year is available for it.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the state
airports fund following the appropriations
made in this article and that the appropriations
made are insufficient for advancing airport
development and assistance projects, an
amount necessary to advance the projects, not
to exceed the balance in the state airports fund,
is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner and must be spent according to
Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,
subdivision 4. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of

15,298,000
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4.9
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4.12
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4.14
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4.17
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4.20

transportation must notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning funds
appropriated. Funds appropriated under this
contingent appropriation do not adjust the base
appropriation for fiscal years 2022 and 2023.

(2) Aviation Support Services

Appropriations by Fund

2020

Airports 6,734,000

Transportation Omnibus

House Language H1555-2

8,369,000 8,384,000

2021
6,734,000

Trunk Highway 1,635,000

1,650,000

$80,000 in each year is from the state airports
fund for the Civil Air Patrol.

(b) Transit

Appropriations by Fund

2020

General 18,099,000

19,001,000 18,181,000

2021
17,249,000

Trunk Highway 902,000

$850,000 in fiscal year 2020 is from the
general fund for assessment, analysis, and
review of the project to extend Northstar

932,000

Commuter Rail service to the city of St. Cloud.

(c) Safe Routes to School

1,000,000 500,000
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transportation must notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs,
ranking minority members, and staff of the
legislative committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning the funds
appropriated. Funds appropriated under this
contingent appropriation do not adjust the base
for fiscal years 2022 and 2023.

(2) Aviation Support and Services 6,877,000 6,877,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
Airports 5,254,000 5,254,000
Trunk Highway 1,623,000 1,623,000
(3) Civil Air Patrol 80,000 80,000
This appropriation is from the state airports
fund for the Civil Air Patrol.
(b) Transit 18,126,000 18,126,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 17,249,000 17,249,000
Trunk Highway 877,000 877,000
(c) Safe Routes to School 500,000 500,000
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This appropriation is from the general fund
for the safe routes to school program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40.

(d) Active Transportation 237,000 0

This appropriation is from the general fund
for the active transportation program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 174.38. This
appropriation must only be expended on
projects and noninfrastructure activities
outside of the metropolitan area, as defined in
Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121,
subdivision 2.

(e) Passenger Rail

This appropriation is from the general fund

for passenger rail system planning, alternatives
analysis, environmental analysis, design, and
preliminary engineering under Minnesota
Statutes, sections 174.632 to 174.636.

500,000 500,000

(f) Freight 6,883,000 6,857,000

Appropriations by Fund

2020 2021

General 1,229,000 1,069,000

5,654,000 5,788,000

Trunk Highway

$160,000 in fiscal year 2020 is from the
general fund for port development assistance
grants under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
457A, to the Port Authority of Winona. Any
improvements made with the proceeds of the
grants must be publicly owned. This is a
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This appropriation is from the general fund
for the safe routes to school program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40.

Sec. 6. ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION; TRANSFER.

$5,000,000 in the first year is transferred from the federal fund to the active transportation
account in the special revenue fund. This is a onetime transfer. The commissioner of
transportation must reduce appropriations in fiscal year 2020 from the federal fund under
the Federal Transportation Alternatives Program in the amount of $5,000,000.

(d) Freight
Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations 6,775,000 6,615,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 1,229,000 1,069,000
Trunk Highway 5,546,000 5,546,000

$160,000 in the first year is from the general
fund for port development assistance grants
under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 457A, to
the Port Authority of Winona. Any
improvements made with the proceeds of the
grants must be publicly owned. This is a
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5.31
5.32
5.33
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6.3
6.4

onetime appropriation and is available in the
second year.

Subd. 3. State Roads

(a) Operations and Maintenance

The base appropriation is $408,864,000 in
fiscal year 2022 and $410,599,000 in fiscal

year 2023.

(b) Program Planning and Delivery

(1) Planning and Research

House Language H1555-2

Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 1,275,000 75,000
Trunk Highway 31,467,000 30,950,000
H.U.T.D. 1,000,000 0

The commissioner may use any balance
remaining in this appropriation for program
delivery under clause (2).

$1,200,000 in fiscal year 2020 is from the
general fund for trunk highway corridor and
bridge improvement studies, which may
include evaluation of safety improvements on

376,082,000

33,742,000

Transportation Omnibus

395,741,000

31,025,000

PAGE R5

4.29
430

431
432
433

5.1
5.2
53
5.4
5.5
5.6

5.7

5.8

59

5.11
5.12
5.13

Senate Language UEH1555-1

onetime appropriation and is available in the
second year.
$800,000 in each year is from the general fund

for additional rail safety and rail service
activities.

The commissioner must not spend this
appropriation for passenger rail system
planning, alternatives analysis, environmental
analysis, design, or preliminary engineering
under Minnesota Statutes, sections 174.632
to 174.636.

Subd. 3. State Roads

(a) Operations and Maintenance 318,145,000
(b) Program Planning and Delivery
(1) Planning and Research 31,467,000

If a balance remains of this appropriation, the
commissioner may transfer up to that amount
for program delivery under clause (2).

311,932,000

30,950,000
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trunk highways and a feasibility study of river
crossings that connect trunk highways.

$75,000 each year is from the general fund for
the environment and climate report under
Minnesota Statutes, section 174.023.

$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2020 is from the
highway user tax distribution fund for the
mileage-based user fee pilot program under
article 6, section 133.

$130,000 each year is available for
administrative costs of the targeted group

business program.
$266,000 each year is available for grants to

metropolitan planning organizations outside
the seven-county metropolitan area.

$900,000 each year is available for grants for
transportation studies outside the metropolitan
area to identify critical concerns, problems,
and issues. These grants are available: (1) to
regional development commissions; (2) in
regions where no regional development
commission is functioning, to joint powers
boards established under agreement of two or
more political subdivisions in the region to
exercise the planning functions of a regional
development commission; and (3) in regions
where no regional development commission
or joint powers board is functioning, to the
Department of Transportation district office

for that region.

The base appropriation from the general fund
is $0 in each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023.

(2) Program Delivery

238,710,000

Transportation Omnibus

257,009,000
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$130,000 in each year is available for
administrative costs of the targeted group

business program.

$266,000 in each year is available for grants
to metropolitan planning organizations outside
the seven-county metropolitan area.

$900,000 in each year is available for grants
for transportation studies outside the
metropolitan area to identify critical concerns,
problems, and issues. These grants are
available:

(1) to regional development commissions;

(2) in regions where no regional development
commission is functioning, to joint powers
boards established under agreement of two or
more political subdivisions in the region to
exercise the planning functions of a regional
development commission; and

(3) in regions where no regional development
commission or joint powers board is
functioning, to the Department of
Transportation district office for that region.

(2) Program Delivery

241,016,000 236,874,000
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$1,000,000 each year is available for
management of contaminated and regulated
material on property owned by the Department
of Transportation, including mitigation of
property conveyances, facility acquisition or
expansion, chemical release at maintenance
facilities, and spills on the trunk highway
system where there is no known responsible
party. If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

The base appropriation is $272,127,000 in
fiscal year 2022 and $275,356,000 in fiscal

year 2023.

(c) State Road Construction 978,465,000

Transportation Omnibus

1,084,816,000

The commissioner of transportation must
notify the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance of any
significant events that cause the estimates of
federal aid to change.

This appropriation is for the actual
construction, reconstruction, and improvement
of trunk highways, including design-build
contracts, internal department costs associated
with delivering the construction program,
consultant usage to support these activities,
and the cost of actual payments to landowners
for lands acquired for highway rights-of-way,
payment to lessees, interest subsidies, and
relocation expenses.

PAGE R7

6.4
6.5
6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10
6.11
6.12
6.13
6.14
6.15
6.16
6.17

6.18

6.19
6.20
6.21
6.22
6.23
6.24
6.25
6.26
6.27
6.28

6.29
6.30

6.31
6.32
6.33

Senate Language UEH1555-1

This appropriation includes use of consultants
to support development and management of

projects.

$1,000,000 in each year is available for
management of contaminated and regulated
material on property owned by the Department
of Transportation, including mitigation of
property conveyances, facility acquisition or
expansion, chemical release at maintenance
facilities, and spills on the trunk highway
system where there is no known responsible
party. If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

(c) State Road Construction 1,052,295,000

This appropriation is for the actual
construction, reconstruction, and improvement
of trunk highways, including design-build
contracts, internal department costs associated
with delivering the construction program,
consultant usage to support these activities,
and the cost of actual payments to landowners
for lands acquired for highway rights-of-way,
payment to lessees, interest subsidies, and
relocation expenses.

This appropriation includes federal highway
aid.

$38,000,000 in the first year is appropriated
to acquire property or permanent easements
for, and to design, engineer, construct, furnish,

999,282,000

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



8.1
8.2
8.3
8.4
8.5
8.6

8.7
8.8
8.9

8.10
8.11
8.12
8.13

8.14
8.15
8.16

8.18
8.19
8.20
8.21
8.22

8.23

8.24
8.25
8.26
8.27
8.28
8.29
8.30

House Language H1555-2

The commissioner may expend up to one-half
of one percent of the federal appropriations
under this paragraph as grants to opportunity
industrialization centers and other nonprofit
job training centers for job training programs
related to highway construction.

The commissioner may transfer up to
$15,000,000 each year to the transportation
revolving loan fund.

The commissioner may receive money
covering other shares of the cost of partnership
projects. These receipts are appropriated to

the commissioner for these projects.

The base appropriation is $1,205,761,000 in
fiscal year 2022 and $1,231,590,000 in fiscal

year 2023.

(d) Corridors of Commerce 25,000,000

This appropriation is for the corridors of
commerce program under Minnesota Statutes,
section 161.088. The commissioner may use
up to 17 percent of the amount each year for

program delivery.

¢) Highway Debt Service K 5
(e) Highway Debt Servi 237,419,000

$229,360,000 in fiscal year 2020 and
$247,790,000 in fiscal year 2021 are for
transfer to the state bond fund. If this
appropriation is insufficient to make all
transfers required in the year for which it is
made, the commissioner of management and
budget must transfer the deficiency amount

Transportation Omnibus

25,000,000

251,759,000
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and equip an expansion of U.S. Highway 212
to four lanes from Tacoma Ave. N. in
Norwood Young America to Lake Street West
in Cologne. Of this amount, up to $10,000,000
is for safety improvements to the intersection
of Trunk Highway 212 and Carver County
Road 51. This is a onetime appropriation.

The commissioner may expend up to one-half
of one percent of the federal appropriations
under this paragraph as grants to opportunity
industrialization centers and other nonprofit
job training centers for job training programs
related to highway construction.

The commissioner may transfer up to
$15,000,000 each year to the transportation
revolving loan fund.

The commissioner may receive money
covering other shares of the cost of partnership
projects. These receipts are appropriated to

the commissioner for these projects.

(d) Highway Debt Service 236,439,000

$226,939,000 in fiscal year 2020 and
$241,266,000 in fiscal year 2021 are for
transfer to the state bond fund. If this
appropriation is insufficient to make all
transfers required in the year for which it is
made, the commissioner of management and
budget must transfer the deficiency amount

250,766,000
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under the statutory open appropriation and
notify the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance and
the chairs of the senate Finance Committee
and the house of representatives Ways and
Means Committee of the amount of the
deficiency. Any excess appropriation cancels
to the trunk highway fund.

(f) Statewide Radio Communications

Appropriations by Fund
2020
Trunk Highway 5,986,000

House Language H1555-2

$3,000 from the general fund in each year is
to equip and operate the Roosevelt signal
tower for Lake of the Woods weather

broadcasting.

Subd. 4. Local Roads

(a) County State-Aid Roads

This appropriation is from the county state-aid
highway fund under Minnesota Statutes,
section 161.081, and Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 162, and is available until June 30,
2029.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
county state-aid highway fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph, and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing county state-aid
highway projects, an amount necessary to
advance the projects, not to exceed the balance
in the county state-aid highway fund, is

5,989,000
2021
3,000
6,156,000
879,686,000

Transportation Omnibus

6,159,000

1,029,714,000
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under the statutory open appropriation and
notify the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance and
the chairs of the senate Finance Committee
and the house of representatives Ways and
Means Committee of the amount of the
deficiency. Any excess appropriation cancels
to the trunk highway fund.

(e) Statewide Radio Communications

Appropriations by Fund
2020
Trunk Highway 5,848,000

$3,000 in each year is from the general fund
to equip and operate the Roosevelt signal
tower for Lake of the Woods weather

broadcasting.

Subd. 4. Local Roads

(a) County State-Aid Roads

This appropriation is from the county state-aid
highway fund under Minnesota Statutes,
sections 161.081 and 297A.815, subdivision
3, and chapter 162, and is available until June
30, 2029.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
county state-aid highway fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph, and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing county state-aid
highway projects, an amount necessary to
advance the projects, not to exceed the balance
in the county state-aid highway fund, is

5,851,000 5,851,000
2021
3,000
5,848,000
832,949,000 846,298,000
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appropriated in each year to the commissioner.
Within two weeks of a determination under
this contingent appropriation, the
commissioner of transportation must notify
the commissioner of management and budget
and the chairs, ranking minority members, and
staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance
concerning funds appropriated. The
commissioner must identify in the next budget
submission to the legislature under Minnesota
Statutes, section 16A.11, any amount that is
appropriated under this paragraph.

(b) Municipal State-Aid Roads

This appropriation is from the municipal
state-aid street fund under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 162, and is available until June 30,
2029.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
municipal state-aid street fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph, and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing municipal
state-aid street projects, an amount necessary
to advance the projects, not to exceed the
balance in the municipal state-aid street fund,
is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of
transportation must notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs,
ranking minority members, and staff of the
legislative committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning funds
appropriated. The commissioner must identify
in the next budget submission to the legislature
under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, any

217,339,000

Transportation Omnibus

255,757,000
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appropriated in each year to the commissioner.
Within two weeks of a determination under
this contingent appropriation, the
commissioner of transportation shall notify
the commissioner of management and budget
and the chairs, ranking minority members, and
staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance
concerning funds appropriated. The
commissioner shall identify in the next budget
submission to the legislature under Minnesota
Statutes, section 16A.11, any amount that is
appropriated under this paragraph.

(b) Municipal State-Aid Roads

This appropriation is from the municipal
state-aid street fund under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 162, and is available until June 30,
2029.

If the commissioner of transportation
determines that a balance remains in the
municipal state-aid street fund following the
appropriations and transfers made in this
paragraph, and that the appropriations made
are insufficient for advancing municipal
state-aid street projects, an amount necessary
to advance the projects, not to exceed the
balance in the municipal state-aid street fund,
is appropriated in each year to the
commissioner. Within two weeks of a
determination under this contingent
appropriation, the commissioner of
transportation shall notify the commissioner
of management and budget and the chairs,
ranking minority members, and staff of the
legislative committees with jurisdiction over
transportation finance concerning funds
appropriated. The commissioner shall identify
in the next budget submission to the legislature
under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, any

208,516,000 211,528,000
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amount that is appropriated under this
paragraph.

(c) Small Cities Assistance

This appropriation is from the small cities
assistance account in the special revenue fund
for the small cities assistance program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 162.145.

Subd. 5. Agency Management

(a) Agency Services

Appropriations by Fund

2020 2021

General 311,000 316,000

53,879,000 54,385,000

Trunk Highway

$311,000 from the general fund in fiscal year
2020 and $316,000 from the general fund in
fiscal year 2021, and $100,000 from the trunk
highway fund in each of fiscal years 2020 and
2021, are to facilitate tribal training for state

agencies.

The base appropriation from the trunk
highway fund is $53,069,000 in each of fiscal
years 2022 and 2023.

(b) Buildings

Appropriations by Fund

2020 2021

10,260,000

54,190,000

43,834,000

Transportation Omnibus

11,025,000

54,701,000

48,523,000
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amount that is appropriated under this
paragraph.

(c) Small Cities Assistance

This appropriation is from the general fund
for the small cities assistance program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 162.145.

Subd. 5. Agency Management

(a) Agency Services

b) Buildings

Appropriations by Fund

2020

250,000 500,000
45,447,000 45,447,000
29,461,000 29,461,000

2021

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



11.26

11.27

11.28

11.29
11.30
11.31
11.32
11.33
12.1
12.2
12.3
12.4
12.5
12.6

12.7
12.8
12.9
12.10

12.11
12.12
12.13

12.14
12.15
12.16

12.17

12.18
12.19
12.20

12.21

12.22
12.23
12.24
12.25
12.26

House Language H1555-2

General 944,000 54,000
Trunk Highway 42,815,000 48,394,000
Special Revenue 75,000 75,000

Any money appropriated to the commissioner
of transportation for building construction for
any fiscal year before the first year is available
to the commissioner during the biennium to
the extent that the commissioner spends the
money on the building construction projects
for which the money was originally
encumbered during the fiscal year for which
it was appropriated. If the appropriation for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it.

The special revenue fund appropriation is from
the electric vehicle infrastructure account for
infrastructure development under Minnesota
Statutes, section 174.47.

$890,000 in fiscal year 2020 is from the
general fund for infrastructure development
under Minnesota Statutes, section 174.47.

The base appropriation from the trunk
highway fund is $39,694,000 in each of fiscal
years 2022 and 2023.

(c) Tort Claims

If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

600,000

Subd. 6. Transfers

(a) With the approval of the commissioner of
management and budget, the commissioner
of transportation may transfer unencumbered
balances among the appropriations from the
trunk highway fund and the state airports fund

Transportation Omnibus

600,000
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General 54,000 54,000
Trunk Highway 29,407,000 29,407,000

Any money appropriated to the commissioner
of transportation for building construction for
any fiscal year before the first year is available
to the commissioner during the biennium to
the extent that the commissioner spends the
money on the building construction projects
for which the money was originally
encumbered during the fiscal year for which
it was appropriated. If the appropriation for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it.

(c) Tort Claims

If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

600,000

Subd. 6. Transfers

(a) With the approval of the commissioner of
management and budget, the commissioner
of transportation may transfer unencumbered
balances among the appropriations from the
trunk highway fund and the state airports fund

600,000

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



12.27
12.28
12.29
12.30
12.31
12.32
12.33
12.34

13.1
13.2
13.3
13.4
13.5
13.6
13.7
13.8
13.9
13.10

13.11
13.12
13.13
13.14
13.15
13.16
13.17
13.18

13.19
13.20

13.21
13.22
13.23
13.24
13.25
13.26
13.27

House Language H1555-2

made in this section. Transfers under this
paragraph must not be made: (1) between
funds; (2) from the appropriations for state
road construction or debt service; or (3) from
the appropriations for operations and
maintenance or program delivery, except for
a transfer to state road construction or debt
service.

(b) The commissioner of transportation must
immediately report transfers under paragraph
(a) to the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staft of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance. The
authority for the commissioner of
transportation to make transfers under
Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.285, is
superseded by the authority and requirements
under this paragraph and paragraph (a).

(c) The commissioner of transportation must
transfer from the flexible highway account in
the county state-aid highway fund the entire
amount in each year to the county turnback
account in the county state-aid highway fund.
The funds transferred are for highway
turnback purposes under Minnesota Statutes,
section 161.081, subdivision 3.

Subd. 7. Previous State Road Construction
Appropriations

Any money appropriated to the commissioner
of transportation for state road construction
for any fiscal year before the first year is
available to the commissioner during the
biennium to the extent that the commissioner
spends the money on the state road
construction project for which the money was

Transportation Omnibus

PAGE R13

10.32
10.33

11.2
11.3

11.4
11.5
11.6
11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10
11.11
11.12
11.13
11.14
11.15
11.16
11.17

11.18
11.19
11.20
11.21
11.22
11.23
11.24
11.25

11.26
11.27

11.28
11.29
11.30
11.31
11.32
11.33
11.34

Senate Language UEH1555-1

made in this section. Transfers under this
paragraph must not be made:

(1) between funds;

(2) from the appropriations for state road
construction or debt service; or

(3) from the appropriations for operations and
maintenance or program delivery, except for
a transfer to state road construction or debt
service.

(b) The commissioner of transportation must
immediately report transfers under paragraph
(a) to the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staft of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance. The
authority for the commissioner of
transportation to make transfers under
Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.285, is
superseded by the authority and requirements
under this paragraph.

(c) The commissioner of transportation must
transfer from the flexible highway account in
the county state-aid highway fund the entire
amount in each year to the county turnback
account in the county state-aid highway fund.
The funds transferred are for highway
turnback purposes under Minnesota Statutes,
section 161.081, subdivision 3.

Subd. 7. Previous State Road Construction
Appropriations

Any money appropriated to the commissioner
of transportation for state road construction
for any fiscal year before the first year is
available to the commissioner during the
biennium to the extent that the commissioner
spends the money on the state road
construction project for which the money was
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Transportation Omnibus
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13.28 originally encumbered during the fiscal year 12.1  originally encumbered during the fiscal year
13.29  for which it was appropriated. 122 for which it was appropriated.
13.30  Subd. 8. Contingent Appropriations 123 Subd. 8. Contingent Appropriations
13.31 The commissioner of transportation, with the 124 The commissioner of transportation, with the
1332 approval of the governor and the written 12.5  approval of the governor and the written
13.33  approval of at least five members of a group 12.6  approval of at least five members of a group
13.34  consisting of the members of the Legislative 12.7  consisting of the members of the Legislative
13.35  Advisory Commission under Minnesota 12.8  Advisory Commission under Minnesota
14.1 Statutes, section 3.30, and the ranking minority 12.9  Statutes, section 3.30, and the ranking minority
142 members of the legislative committees with 12.10 members of the legislative committees with
14.3  jurisdiction over transportation finance, may 12.11 jurisdiction over transportation finance, may
14.4  transfer all or part of the unappropriated 12.12  transfer all or part of the unappropriated
14.5  balance in the trunk highway fund to an 12.13  balance in the trunk highway fund to an
14.6  appropriation: (1) for trunk highway design, 12.14  appropriation:
14.7  construction, or inspection that takes ) ) )
148  advantage of an unanticipated receipt of 12.15 (1) for trunk highway design, construction, or
149  income to the trunk highway fund or federal 12.16  inspection that takes advantage of an
14.10  advanced construction funding; (2) for 12.17 unanticipated receipt of income to the trunk
14.11 emergency trunk highway maintenance in 12.18 highway fund or federal advanced construction
14.12  order to meet an emergency; or (3) to pay tort 12.19 funding;
l.13 - or envir Qnmental C.l airns. Nothmg n this 1220 (2) for emergency trunk highway maintenance;
14.14  subdivision authorizes the commissioner to 1221 or
14.15 increase the use of federal advanced ’ —
14.16 consj[ruction fundipg beyond amounts 12.22  (3) to pay tort or environmental claims.
14.17  specifically authorized. Any transfer as a result
14.18  of the use of federal advanced construction 12.23  Nothing in this subdivision authorizes the
14.19  funding must include an analysis of the effects 12.24 commissioner to increase the use of federal
1420  on the long-term trunk highway fund balance. 12.25 advanced construction funding beyond
1421 The amount transferred is appropriated for the 12.26 amounts specifically authorized. Any transfer
14.22  purpose of the account to which it is 12.27  as a result of the use of federal advanced
14.23  transferred. 12.28  construction funding must include an analysis
12.29  of the effects on the long-term trunk highway
12.30  fund balance. The amount transferred is
12.31 appropriated for the purpose of the account to
12.32  which it is transferred.
1424 Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL 12.33  Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL $ 89,775,000 $ 89,775,000
14.25 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 90,281,000 $ 90,000,000
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The appropriations in this section are from the
general fund to the Metropolitan Council. The
amounts that may be spent for each purpose
are specified in the following subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Transit System Operations

(a) This appropriation is for transit system
operations.

(b) $150,000 each year for fiscal years 2020
and 2021 are for grants to transportation
management organizations that provide
services exclusively or primarily in the city
located along the marked Interstate Highway
494 corridor having the highest population as
of the effective date of this section. The
council must not retain any portion of this
amount, and must make grant payments in full
by July 31 each year. Permissible uses of
funds under this paragraph include
administrative expenses and programming and
service expansion, including but not limited
to staffing, communications, outreach and
education program development, and
operations management. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(c) $30,000 each year for fiscal years 2020
and 2021 are for air quality analysis and bus
deployment under Minnesota Statutes, section
473.391, subdivision 3, to provide for costs in
coordination with the commissioner of the
Pollution Control Agency.

(d) By July 31, 2019, the Metropolitan Council
must pay $71,000 to the Calhoun Isles
Condominium Association in Minneapolis for

22,336,000

Transportation Omnibus

7,213,000

13.1
13.2
13.3

98.12
98.13

98.14
98.15
98.16
98.17
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This appropriation is from the general fund
for transit system operations under Minnesota
Statutes, sections 473.371 to 473.449.

Sec. 131. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL REIMBURSEMENT TO CALHOUN ISLES

CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION.

By July 1, 2019, the Metropolitan Council must pay $250,000 to the Calhoun Isles

Condominium Association in Minneapolis for reimbursement of the association's engineering

and legal costs. The Metropolitan Council must absorb the cost of the payment within

existing project resources for the Southwest light rail transit project.
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reimbursement of the association's engineering

and legal costs.

(e) The base appropriation is $7,033,000 in

each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023.

Subd. 3. Metro Mobility

This appropriation is for the Metro Mobility

program.

Subd. 4. Use of Reserves

The council must expend funds in its budget

reserves for transportation so that by the end

of the council's 2021 fiscal year, the reserve

amount in each reserve category is no more

than ten percent above the minimum reserve

level established by the council. By February

1, 2022, the council must submit a notification

to the chairs, ranking minority members, and

staff of the legislative committees with

jurisdiction over transportation that identifies

the uses of expended reserves, the council's

reserve amounts by category, and the council's

established minimum reserves by category.

Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

General

H.U.T.D.

Special Revenue

Transportation Omnibus

House Language H1555-2

67,945,000 82,787,000
$ 214,694,000 $ 219,231,000
Appropriations by Fund
2019 2020 2021
641,000 15,593,000 15,404,000
0 15,010,000 14,985,000
0 64,237,000 64,723,000
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Senate Language UEH1555-1

Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

General

H.U.T.D.

Appropriations by Fund

2020

14,511,000

$ 192,452,000 $ 193,380,000

2021

14,554,000

9,140,000

9,149,000
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Trunk Highway 0 119,854,000 124,119,000

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of public safety. The amounts
that may be spent for each purpose are
specified in the following subdivisions.

The appropriation in fiscal year 2019 is not
shown in the total appropriation.

Subd. 2. Administration and Related Services

(a) Office of Communications 575,000 575,000

Appropriations by Fund

2020 2021
General 130,000 130,000
Trunk Highway 445,000 445,000
(b) Public Safety Support 5,224,000 5,760,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 1,238,000 1,369,000
Trunk Highway 3,986,000 4,391,000
(c) Public Safety Officer Survivor Benefits 640,000 640,000
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Trunk Highway 111,526,000 112,402,000

The appropriations in this section are to the
commissioner of public safety. The amounts
that may be spent for each purpose are
specified in the following subdivisions. The
commissioner must spend appropriations from
the trunk highway fund in subdivisions 2 and
3 of this section only for state patrol purposes.

Subd. 2. Administration and Related Services

(a) Office of Communications 575,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 130,000 130,000
Trunk Highway 445,000 445,000
(b) Public Safety Support 5,224,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 1,238,000 1,238,000
Trunk Highway 3,986,000 3,986,000

The commissioner must not spend this
appropriation on additional full- or part-time
permanent or temporary employees for the
Public Information Center in the Division of
Driver and Vehicle Services.

(c) Public Safety Officer Survivor Benefits 640,000

575,000

5,224,000

640,000
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This appropriation is from the general fund
for payment of public safety officer survivor
benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section
299A.44. If the appropriation for either year
is insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

(d) Public Safety Officer Reimbursements

This appropriation is from the general fund

for transfer to the public safety officer's benefit
account. This money is available for
reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.465.

(e) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements

Appropriations by Fund
2019 2020
General 374,000 645,000
Trunk Highway 0 100,000

$374,000 in fiscal year 2019 is appropriated
from the general fund for soft body armor
reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.38.

The appropriations in fiscal years 2020 and
2021 are for soft body armor reimbursements
under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38.

(f) Technology and Support Service

Appropriations by Fund

2020 2021

1,367,000 1,367,000

745,000 745,000
2021
645,000
100,000

7,331,000 6,995,000
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This appropriation is from the general fund
for payment of public safety officer survivor
benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section
299A.44.

If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

(d) Public Safety Officer Reimbursements

This appropriation is from the general fund to
be deposited in the public safety officer's
benefit account. This money is available for
reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.465.

(e) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements

Appropriations by Fund

2020

General 645,000
Trunk Highway 100,000

$645,000 in each year is from the general fund
and $100,000 in each year is from the trunk
highway fund for soft body armor
reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299A.38.

(f) Technology and Support Service

Appropriations by Fund

2020

1,367,000 1,367,000
745,000 745,000
2021
645,000
100,000
3,814,000 3,814,000
2021
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General 1,623,000 1,539,000

H.U.T.D. 153,000 109,000

Trunk Highway 5,555,000 5,347,000
The base appropriation from the general fund

is $1,365,000 in each of fiscal years 2022 and

2023. The base appropriation from the trunk

highway fund is $4,915,000 in each of fiscal

years 2022 and 2023. The base appropriation

from the highway user tax distribution fund

is $19,000 in each of fiscal years 2022 and

2023.

Subd. 3. State Patrol

(a) Patrolling Highways

Appropriations by Fund

2020 2021

General 287,000 37,000

H.U.T.D. 92,000 92,000

99,879,000 103,630,000

Trunk Highway

$250,000 in fiscal year 2020 is from the
general fund for the traffic stop study under
article 6, section 134. This appropriation must
not take effect if an appropriation for any
identical or substantially similar purpose is
enacted in the 2019 regular legislative session.

100,258,000

Transportation Omnibus

14.28
14.29

14.30

14.31

103,759,000 14.32

15.6
15.7
15.8
15.9
15.10
15.11
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General 1,365,000 1,365,000
H.U.T.D. 19,000 19,000
Trunk Highway 2,430,000 2,430,000
Subd. 3. State Patrol
(a) Patrolling Highways 95,252,000 96,083,000
Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
General 37,000 37,000
H.U.T.D. 92,000 92,000
Trunk Highway 95,123,000 95,954,000

From this appropriation, State Patrol trainee
salaries as provided under Minnesota Statutes,
section 299D.03, subdivision 6, must be
provided as follows: (1) for trainees in the Law
Enforcement Training Opportunity program,
80 percent of the basic salary for patrol
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18.27
18.28
18.29
18.30
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18.32

(b) Commercial Vehicle Enforcement

(c) Capitol Security

This appropriation is from the general fund.

The commissioner must not (1) spend any
money from the trunk highway fund for
capitol security, or (2) permanently transfer
any state trooper from the patrolling highways
activity to capitol security.

(d) Vehicle Crimes Unit

House Language H1555-2

9,395,000

9,164,000

832,000

Transportation Omnibus

9,712,000

9,207,000

866,000
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officers; and (2) for all other trainees, 100
percent of the basic salary.

To account for base adjustments provided in
Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section 2,
paragraph (a), the base appropriation from the
trunk highway fund for fiscal years 2022 and
2023 is $96,784,000.

(b) Commercial Vehicle Enforcement 8,948,000

To account for base adjustments provided in
Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section 2,
paragraph (a), the base appropriation from the
trunk highway fund for fiscal years 2022 and
2023 is $9,038,000.

(c) Capitol Security 8,664,000

This appropriation is from the general fund.

To account for base adjustments provided in

Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section 2,
paragraph (a), the base appropriation from the
general fund for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 is

The commissioner must not:

(1) spend any money from the trunk highway
fund for capitol security; or

(2) permanently transfer any state trooper from
the patrolling highways activity to capitol

security.
The commissioner must not transfer any

money appropriated to the commissioner under
this section:

(1) to capitol security; or

(2) from capitol security.

(d) Vehicle Crimes Unit 793,000

8,993,000

8,707,000

802,000
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This appropriation is from the highway user

tax distribution fund to investigate:

(1) registration tax and motor vehicle sales tax

liabilities from individuals and businesses that

currently do not pay all taxes owed; and

(2) illegal or improper activity related to the

sale, transfer, titling, and registration of motor

vehicles.

Subd. 4. Driver and Vehicle Services

(a) Vehicle Services

Appropriations by Fund

2020

H.U.T.D. 13,933,000

Transportation Omnibus

House Language H1555-2

Special Revenue 26,042,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from

the vehicle services operating account in the

special revenue fund under Minnesota
Statutes, section 299A.705, subdivision 1.

The base appropriation from the special

revenue fund is $25,489,000 in each of fiscal

years 2022 and 2023.

(b) Driver Services

39,975,000 40,199,000
2021
13,918,000
26,281,000

36,752,000 36,999,000
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This appropriation is from the highway user
tax distribution fund.

This appropriation is to investigate:

(1) registration tax and motor vehicle sales tax

liabilities from individuals and businesses that

currently do not pay all taxes owed; and

(2) illegal or improper activity related to the

sale, transfer, titling, and registration of motor

vehicles.

To account for base adjustments provided in

Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section 2,

paragraph (a), the base appropriation from the

highway user tax distribution fund for fiscal
years 2022 and 2023 is $811,000.

Subd. 4. Driver and Vehicle Services

(a) Vehicle Services

31,226,000 31,226,000

2021

8,236,000

Appropriations by Fund

2020

H.U.T.D. 8,236,000
Special Revenue 22,990,000

22,990,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from

the vehicle services operating account.

(b) Driver Services

32,842,000 32,842,000
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Appropriations by Fund

2019 2020
General 267,000 0

Special Revenue 0 36,752,000

2021
0

36,999,000

This appropriation is from the driver services
operating account in the special revenue fund
under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705,
subdivision 2.

$267,000 in fiscal year 2019 is appropriated
from the general fund for implementation costs
related to the requirements under article 5.
This is a onetime appropriation. This
appropriation must not take effect if an
appropriation for any identical or substantially
similar purpose is enacted in the 2019 regular

legislative session.
The base appropriation from the special

revenue fund is $36,701,000 in each of fiscal
years 2022 and 2023.

Subd. 5. Traffic Safety

Appropriations by Fund
2020 2021
Trunk Highway 494,000 494,000

964,000

Transportation Omnibus

964,000
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$156,000 in each year is to maintain the
automated knowledge test system.

Subd. 5. Traffic Safety

Appropriations by Fund
2020
Trunk Highway 494,000

The appropriation from the general fund in
each year is for maintenance of the crash

record system.

964000 964,000

2021
470,000
494,000

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



20.14

20.15
20.16

20.17

20.18
20.19
20.20
20.21

20.22
20.23

20.24
20.25

20.26

20.27

20.28

20.29

20.30

20.31
20.32
21.1
21.2

21.3
21.4

21.6
21.7
21.8
21.9

21.10
21.11

House Language H1555-2

Subd. 6. Pipeline Safety

This appropriation is from the pipeline safety
account in the special revenue fund.

Subd. 7. Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

This appropriation is from the general fund
for costs related to emergency contacts under
Minnesota Statutes, section 171.12,
subdivision 5b.

1,443,000

29,000

Transportation Omnibus

1,443,000

EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 2, paragraph (e), and subdivision 4, paragraph (b),

are effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 5. MINNESOTA MANAGEMENT AND

BUDGET

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

Appropriations by Fund
2019
General 10,000,000
Trunk Highway 0
The appropriations in this section are to the

commissioner of management and budget. The
amounts that may be spent for each purpose
are specified in the following subdivisions.

The appropriations in fiscal year 2019 are not
shown in the total appropriations.

Subd. 2. Deputy Registrar Reimbursement

$10,000,000 in fiscal year 2019 is appropriated
from the general fund for deputy registrar
reimbursement grants as provided in section

6.

This appropriation must not take effect if an
appropriation for any identical or substantially

2020

50,000

50,000 $

2021

k=]
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Subd. 6. Pipeline Safety

This appropriation is from the pipeline safety
account in the special revenue fund.

1,443,000 1,443,000
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similar purpose is enacted in the 2019 regular
legislative session.

Subd. 3. State Patrol Salary Study

This appropriation is for a salary study
regarding Minnesota State Patrol officers
compensation. The study must consider law
enforcement entities of similar size and scope
within Minnesota as well as law enforcement
entities with similar duties and size to the
Minnesota State Patrol in other states with
comparable populations and budgets to those
of Minnesota. In addition to wages and
salaries, the study must consider the
comparable value of other benefits. By
February 1, 2020, the commissioner must
provide a written report on the results of the
study, and the underlying methodology, to the
commissioner of public safety and to the
chairs, ranking minority members, and staff
of the legislative committees with jurisdiction

over transportation.

House Language H1555-2

50,000

Transportation Omnibus

EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 2 is effective the day following final enactment.

PAGE R24

18.2
18.3

100.6

100.7
100.8

100.9
100.10
100.11

100.12

100.13
100.14
100.15
100.16
100.17
100.18
100.19
100.20

100.21
100.22
100.23
100.24

Senate Language UEH1555-1

Sec. 8. OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR; APPROPRIATION.

$50,000 in the first year is appropriated from the general fund to the state auditor to
conduct the compensation survey in article 2, section 136. This is a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 136. STATE PATROL SALARY SURVEY.

By February 15, 2020, the state auditor must conduct a compensation survey of law
enforcement officers in every police department:

(1) in a city with a population in excess of 25,000, located in a metropolitan county, as
defined in section 473.121, subdivision 4, that is represented by a union certified by the
Bureau of Mediation Services; or

(2) in a city of the first class.

The survey must report on calendar year 2019. The survey must be based on full-time
equivalent employees. The state auditor must calculate compensation using base salary and
premium pay. Premium pay is payment that is received by a majority of employees and
includes, but is not limited to, education pay and longevity pay. The state auditor must not
include pension contributions and benefits when determining compensation. The survey
must identify the seven highest paid police departments in the state and the average
compensation of the seven departments. The state auditor must prescribe the format of the

survey.

(b) By February 15, 2020, the state auditor must transmit a copy of the survey to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees
with jurisdiction over the State Patrol budget, the exclusive representative for members of
the State Patrol, and the commissioner of management and budget.
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Sec. 6. DEPUTY REGISTRAR REIMBURSEMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Grantmaking. (a) From appropriations specifically for purposes of this
section, the commissioner of management and budget must provide reimbursement grants
to deputy registrars in the manner specified in this section. The commissioner must make
the grants available by July 31, 2019.

(b) The commissioner must use existing resources to administer the reimbursements.

Subd. 2. Eligibility. A deputy registrar office operated by the state is not eligible to
receive funds under this section.

Subd. 3. Aid distribution. (a) The reimbursement grant to each deputy registrar, as
identified by the Driver and Vehicle Services designated office location number, is calculated
as follows:

(1) ten percent of available funds allocated equally among all deputy registrars;

(2) 45 percent of available funds allocated proportionally based on (i) the number of
transactions where a filing fee under Minnesota Statutes, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is
retained by each deputy registrar from August 1, 2017, through December 31, 2018,
compared to (ii) the total number of transactions where a filing fee is retained by all deputy
registrars during that time period; and

(3) 45 percent of available funds allocated proportionally based on (i) the number of
transactions where a filing fee is retained by each deputy registrar from July 1, 2014, through
June 30, 2017, compared to (ii) the total number of transactions where a filing fee is retained
by all deputy registrars during that time period.

(b) For a deputy registrar appointed after July 1, 2014, the commissioner of management
and budget must identify whether a corresponding discontinued deputy registrar appointment
exists. If a corresponding discontinued deputy registrar is identified, the commissioner must
include the transactions of the discontinued deputy registrar in the calculations under
paragraph (a) for the deputy registrar appointed after July 1, 2014.

(c) For a deputy registrar appointed after July 1, 2014, to which paragraph (b) does not
apply, the commissioner of management and budget must calculate the deputy registrar's
proportional share under paragraph (a), clause (3), based on the average number of
transactions where a filing fee is retained among the deputy registrars, as calculated excluding
any deputy registrars for which this paragraph applies.

(d) In the calculations under paragraph (a), the commissioner of management and budget
must exclude transactions for (1) a deputy registrar office operated by the state, and (2) a
discontinued deputy registrar for which paragraph (b) does not apply.

Subd. 4. Documentation. One or more associations representing deputy registrars must
submit documentation to the commissioner of management and budget that provides credible
evidence of total increased costs and foregone revenue, calculated across all deputy registrars.
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The commissioner of management and budget must not release grants under this section
until the evidence required under this subdivision is submitted.

Subd. 5. Conditions. (a) A deputy registrar who receives a grant under this section must:

(1) remain operating as a deputy registrar for a period of at least 12 months following
the date of receipt of the funds; or

(2) pay to the commissioner of management and budget an amount equal to the amount
of the grant.

(b) The commissioner must deposit any money received under this subdivision in the
general fund.

Subd. 6. Settlement and release from liability. (a) The creation or payment of
reimbursement grants under this section is not: (1) an admission of liability by the state or
its employees for any act or omission arising from the development and deployment of the
Minnesota Licensing and Registration System (MNLARS); and (2) admissible in a judicial
or administrative proceeding to establish liability or a legal duty.

(b) A deputy registrar who accepts a grant under this section must agree in writing and
in a form developed by the commissioner to release the state and its employees from liability
arising from the development and deployment of MNLARS.

Subd. 7. Use of funds. (a) For any expenditure due to a civil action against the
commissioner of public safety related to the requirements under subdivision 5 or 6, the
commissioner:

(1) must solely use appropriations for the commissioner's office, or for a budget activity
or program that includes the commissioner's office; and

(2) is prohibited from using appropriations from the trunk highway fund.

(b) This subdivision applies but is not limited to transfers to the attorney general or to
other state agencies, and to expenditures for contracts.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. APPROPRIATION CANCELLATION; PORT DEVELOPMENT
ASSISTANCE.

$160,000 of the appropriation for port development assistance under Laws 2017, First
Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2, paragraph (e), is canceled to
the general fund on June 30, 2019.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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Sec. 5. APPROPRIATION CANCELLATION.

$160,000 of the appropriation for port development assistance under Laws 2017, First
Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2, paragraph (e), is canceled to
the general fund on June 30, 2019.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 7. OFFICE OF THE LEGISLATIVE AUDITOR; APPROPRIATION.
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17.28 $400,000 in the first year is appropriated from the general fund to the legislative auditor
17.29 to carry out the audits under Minnesota Statutes, section 3.972, subdivisions 2¢ and 2d. This
17.30 is a onetime appropriation and is available in the second year.

184  Sec. 9. APPROPRIATIONS BUDGET.

18.5 (a) In the budget submission to the legislature under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11,
18.6  for fiscal years 2022 and 2023, the commissioner of transportation, and the commissioner
18.7  of public safety with respect to the transportation portion of the public safety budget, must
18.8  present budget narratives and proposed appropriations for each appropriation established

18.9  insections 2 and 4.

18.10 (b) In the budget submission to the legislature under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11,
18.11  for fiscal years 2022 and 2023, the metropolitan council must present budget narratives and
18.12  the proposed appropriations, if any, for each of the following categories: metro mobility,

18.13  contracted bus service, regular route bus service, light rail transit, commuter rail,

18.14  transportation planning, and allocation to the regional administration.

24.7 ARTICLE 2

24.8 TRANSPORTATION BONDS
249  Section 1. BOND APPROPRIATIONS.

24.10 The sums shown in the column under "Appropriations" are appropriated from the bond
24.11 proceeds account in the trunk highway fund to the state agencies or officials indicated, to
24.12  be spent for public purposes. Appropriations of bond proceeds must be spent as authorized
24.13 by the Minnesota Constitution, articles XI and XIV. Unless otherwise specified, money
24.14  appropriated in this article for a capital program or project may be used to pay state agency
24.15 staff costs that are attributed directly to the capital program or project in accordance with
24.16  accounting policies adopted by the commissioner of management and budget.

24.17 SUMMARY

24.18 Department of Transportation $ 2,000,000,000
24.19  Department of Management and Budget 2,000,000
2420 TOTAL $ 2,002,000,000
24.21 APPROPRIATIONS

2422  Sec.2. DEPARTMENT OF
2423 TRANSPORTATION
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Subdivision 1. State Road Construction

(a) This appropriation is to the commissioner
of transportation for construction,
reconstruction, and improvement of trunk
highways, including design-build contracts
and use of consultants to support these
activities.

(b) This appropriation is available in the
amounts of:

(1) $200,000,000 in each fiscal year for fiscal
years 2022 to 2028; and

(2) $300,000,000 in fiscal year 2029.

(c) The commissioner may use up to 17
percent of the amount each year for program

delivery.

Subd. 2. Corridors of Commerce

(a) This appropriation is to the commissioner
of transportation for the corridors of commerce
program under Minnesota Statutes, section
161.088.

(b) This appropriation is available in amounts
of $100,000,000 in each fiscal year for fiscal

years 2022 to 2024.

(c) The commissioner may use up to 17
percent of the amount each year for program
delivery.

Subd. 3. Cancellations

The appropriations in this section cancel as
specified under Minnesota Statutes, section
16A.642, except that the commissioner of
management and budget must count the start
of authorization for issuance of state bonds as
the first day of the fiscal year during which
the bonds are available to be issued as

$

$

Transportation Omnibus

1,700,000,000

300,000,000
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specified under subdivision 1 or 2, and not as
the date of enactment of this section.

Sec. 3. BOND SALE EXPENSES $ 2,000,000

(a) This appropriation is to the commissioner
of management and budget for bond sale
expenses under Minnesota Statutes, sections
16A.641, subdivision 8, and 167.50,
subdivision 4.

(b) This appropriation is available in the
amounts of:

(1) $300,000 in each fiscal year for fiscal years
2022 to 2024;

(2) $200,000 in each fiscal year for fiscal years
2025 to 2028; and

(3) $300,000 in fiscal year 2029.

Sec. 4. BOND SALE AUTHORIZATION.

To provide the money appropriated in this article from the bond proceeds account in the
trunk highway fund, the commissioner of management and budget shall sell and issue bonds
of the state in an amount up to $2,002,000,000 in the manner, upon the terms, and with the
effect prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 167.50 to 167.52, and by the Minnesota
Constitution, article XIV, section 11, at the times and in the amounts requested by the
commissioner of transportation. The proceeds of the bonds, except accrued interest and any
premium received from the sale of the bonds, must be deposited in the bond proceeds account
in the trunk highway fund.

ARTICLE 3
TRANSPORTATION-RELATED TAXES AND FEES
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Passenger automobile; hearse. (a) On passenger automobiles as defined in
section 168.002, subdivision 24, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the tax is $+6
(1) $20, plus (2) an additional tax amount equal to +-25 1.5 percent of the base value.

(b) Subject to the classification provisions herein, "base value" means the manufacturer's

suggested retail price of the vehicle ineludingdestination-eharge using list price information
published by the manufacturer or determined by the registrar if no suggested retail price
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exists, and shall not include the cost of each accessory or item of optional equipment
separately added to the vehicle and the suggested retail price.

(c) If the manufacturer's list price information contains a single vehicle identification
number followed by various descriptions and suggested retail prices, the registrar shall
select from those listings only the lowest price for determining base value.

(d) If unable to determine the base value because the vehicle is specially constructed,
or for any other reason, the registrar may establish such value upon the cost price to the
purchaser or owner as evidenced by a certificate of cost but not including Minnesota sales
or use tax or any local sales or other local tax.

(e) The registrar shall classify every vehicle in its proper base value class as follows:

FROM TO
$ 0 $199.99
$ 200 $399.99

and thereafter a series of classes successively set in brackets having a spread of $200
consisting of such number of classes as will permit classification of all vehicles.

(f) The base value for purposes of this section shall be the middle point between the
extremes of its class.

(g) The registrar shall establish the base value, when new, of every passenger automobile
and hearse registered prior to the effective date of Extra Session Laws 1971, chapter 31,
using list price information published by the manufacturer or any nationally recognized
firm or association compiling such data for the automotive industry. If unable to ascertain
the base value of any registered vehicle in the foregoing manner, the registrar may use any
other available source or method. The registrar shall calculate tax using base value
information available to dealers and deputy registrars at the time the application for
registration is submitted. The tax on all previously registered vehicles shall be computed
upon the base value thus determined taking into account the depreciation provisions of
paragraph (h).

(h) The annual additional tax amount must be computed upon a percentage of the base
value as follows:

(1) during the first year of vehicle life, upon 100 percent of the base value;
(2) for the second year, 99 96 percent of such value;

(3) for the third year, 86 92 percent of such value;

(4) for the fourth year, 76 85 percent of such value;

(5) for the fifth year, 66 80 percent of such value;
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(6) for the sixth year, 56 75 percent of such value;

(7) for the seventh year, 46 65 percent of such value;

(8) for the eighth year, 30 55 percent of such value;

(9) for the ninth year, 26 40 percent of such value;

(10) for the tenth year, tert 25 percent of such value; and

(11) for the 11th and each succeeding year, the sum of $25 $10.

(i) In no event shaH is the annual additional tax-be amount less than $25 $10.

(j) For any vehicle previously registered in Minnesota and regardless of prior ownership,
the total amount due under this subdivision and subdivision 1m must not exceed the smallest
total amount previously paid or due on the vehicle. Nothing in this paragraph prevents
collection of a tax or fee that the commissioner determines is due for a current or prior

registration period.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to taxes payable for a registration period starting on or after January 1, 2020.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision 1m, is amended to read:

Subd. 1m. Electric vehicle. In addition to the tax under subdivision 1a, a surcharge of
$75 is imposed for an all-electric vehicle, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision la.
Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee imposed under this subdivision must
be deposited as follows: (1) 50 percent in the highway user tax distribution fund, and (2)
50 percent in the electric vehicle infrastructure account in the special revenue fund.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

Subd. 21. Technology surcharge. For every vehicle registration renewal required under
this chapter, the commissioner shall collect a surcharge of:
and-2)r$H-fromFuly 52012 to Fune 30,2646 $4.75 from July 1, 2019 until June 30, 2021
and $2 from July 1, 2021, and after. Surcharges collected under thls subdivision must be
credited to the drlver and vehicle services technology account in the special revenue fund
under section 299A.705.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
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Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision 1m, is amended to read:

Subd. 1m. Electric vehicle. In addition to the tax under subdivision 1a, a surcharge of
$75 $200 is imposed for an all-electric vehicle, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision
la. Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee imposed under this subdivision
must be deposited in the highway user tax distribution fund.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1n. Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. In addition to the tax under subdivision la,
a surcharge of $100 is imposed for a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle as defined in section
169.011, subdivision 54a. Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee imposed
under this subdivision must be deposited in the highway user tax distribution fund.
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Subd. 7. Filing fees; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a
filing fee of:

(1) $6 $8.50 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate
transactions; and

(2) $18 $13.50 is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor
carrier fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):

(1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction
of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and

(2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a
vehicle.

(c) The filing fee must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices
sent out by the commissioner.

(d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may
be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the
statutory fees, taxes, and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or
debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner
of public safety. The surcharge must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit
card transactions.

(e) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department must be allocated as
follows:

(1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
(1) $4-50 $7 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and
(ii) $1.50 must be deposited:

(A) in the driver and vehicle services technology account until sufficient funds have
been deposited in that account to cover all costs of administration, development, and initial
full deployment of the driver and vehicle services information system; and

(B) after completion of the deposit of funds under subitem (A) in the vehicle services
operating account; and

(2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
(i) $3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
(ii) $5-06 $8.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and

(iii) $1.50 must be deposited:
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(A) in the driver and vehicle services technology account until sufficient funds have
been deposited in that account to cover all costs of administration, development, and initial
full deployment of the driver and vehicle services information system; and

(B) after completion of the deposit of funds under subitem (A) in the vehicle services
operating account.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.29, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Amounts. {&) The department must be paid the following fees:

(1) for filing an application for and the issuance of an original certificate of title, the
sum of:

Gh-enand-afterJanuary 152017 $8.25, of which $4.15 must be paid into the vehicle

services operating account;

(ii) a surcharge of $4.75 from July 1, 2019, until June 30, 2021, and $2 from July 1,
2021, and after, which must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology
account; and

(iii) $3.50, which must be deposited in the public safety motor vehicle account under
section 299A.70;

(2) for each security interest when first noted upon a certificate of title, including the
concurrent notation of any assignment thereof and its subsequent release or satisfaction, the
sum of $2, except that no fee is due for a security interest filed by a public authority under
section 168A.05, subdivision §;

4 (3) for each assignment of a security interest when first noted on a certificate of title,
unless noted concurrently with the security interest, the sum of $1; and

€5 (4) for issuing a duplicate certificate of title, the sum of:
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(ii) a surcharge of $+ $4.75 from July 1, 2019, until June 30, 2021, and $2 from July 1,

2021, and after, which must be added-to-the-fee-and-eredited-to deposited in the driver and

vehicle services technology account.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Fees. (a) The fees for a license and Minnesota identification card are as follows:

REAL ID Compliant or
Noncompliant Classified
Driver's License

REAL ID Compliant or
Noncompliant Classified
Under-21 D.L.

Enhanced Driver's License

REAL ID Compliant or
Noncompliant Instruction
Permit

Enhanced Instruction
Permit

Commercial Learner's
Permit

REAL ID Compliant or
Noncompliant Provisional
License

Enhanced Provisional
License

Duplicate REAL ID
Compliant or Noncompliant
License or duplicate REAL

D-$21.75 C-$25.75 B-$32.75 A-$40.75
D-$21.75 C-$25.75 B-$32.75 A-$20.75
D-$36.75 C-$40.75 B-$47.75 A-$55.75
$5.25

$20.25

$2.50

$8.25

$23.25

$6.75
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ID Compliant or
Noncompliant identification
card

Enhanced Duplicate
License or enhanced
duplicate identification card $21.75

REAL ID Compliant or

Noncompliant Minnesota

identification card or REAL

ID Compliant or

Noncompliant Under-21

Minnesota identification

card, other than duplicate,

except as otherwise

provided in section 171.07,

subdivisions 3 and 3a $11.25

Enhanced Minnesota
identification card $26.25

In addition to each fee required in this paragraph, the commissioner shall collect a surcharge
of: - i - : - - - - $4.75
from July 1, 2019, until June 30, 2021, and $2 from July 1, 2021, and after. Surcharges
collected under this paragraph must be credited to the driver and vehicle services technology
account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an individual who holds a provisional license and
has a driving record free of (1) convictions for a violation of section 169A.20, 169A.33,
169A.35, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, or section 171.177, (2) convictions for crash-related
moving violations, and (3) convictions for moving violations that are not crash related, shall
have a $3.50 credit toward the fee for any classified under-21 driver's license. "Moving
violation" has the meaning given it in section 171.04, subdivision 1.

(c) In addition to the driver's license fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner
shall collect an additional $4 processing fee from each new applicant or individual renewing
a license with a school bus endorsement to cover the costs for processing an applicant's
initial and biennial physical examination certificate. The department shall not charge these
applicants any other fee to receive or renew the endorsement.

(d) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), a driver's license agent may charge
and retain a filing fee as provided under section 171.061, subdivision 4.
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(e) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall charge a
filing fee at the same amount as a driver's license agent under section 171.061, subdivision
4. Revenue collected under this paragraph must be deposited in the driver services operating
account.

(f) An application for a Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, provisional
license, or driver's license, including an application for renewal, must contain a provision
that allows the applicant to add to the fee under paragraph (a), a $2 donation for the purposes
of public information and education on anatomical gifts under section 171.075.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of $8 $12 for
each application. Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall cover all expenses
involved in receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees
required under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07,
subdivisions 3 and 3a.

(b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by
credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the
statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit
card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card
and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall adopt rules to administer this paragraph
using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386, paragraph (b),
does not apply.

(c) The department shall maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents
appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance
of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to
Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part
7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo identification equipment without
additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided the
equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment
must be compatible with standards established by the department.

(d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the
county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not
an employee of the county shall retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or salary
and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under the
Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement
Association.

(e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period
established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications
and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 296A.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Rate of tax. (a) After September 30, 2019, but before January 1, 2020, and on
all gasoline in distributor storage at 12:01 a.m. on October 1, 2019, the gasoline excise tax
is imposed at the following rates:

(1) E8S5 is taxed at the rate of 4775 21.30 cents per gallon;
(2) M85 is taxed at the rate of +4-25 17.10 cents per gallon; and

(3) all other gasoline is taxed at the rate of 25 30 cents per gallon.

(b) After December 31, 2019, but before January 1, 2021, and on all gasoline in distributor
storage at 12:01 a.m. on January 1, 2020, the gasoline excise tax is imposed at the following
rates:

(1) E8S is taxed at the rate of 24.85 cents per gallon;

(2) M85 is taxed at the rate of 19.95 cents per gallon; and

(3) all other gasoline is taxed at the rate of 35 cents per gallon.

(c) After December 31, 2020, but before January 1, 2022, and on all gasoline in distributor
storage at 12:01 a.m. on January 1, 2021, the gasoline excise tax is imposed at the following
rates:

(1) EB85 is taxed at the rate of 28.40 cents per gallon;

(2) M85 is taxed at the rate of 22.80 cents per gallon; and

(3) all other gasoline is taxed at the rate of 40 cents per gallon.

(d) After December 31, 2021, and on all gasoline in distributor storage at 12:01 a.m. on
January 1, 2022, the gasoline excise tax is imposed at the following rates:

(1) E85 is taxed at the rate of 31.95 cents per gallon;

(2) M85 is taxed at the rate of 25.65 cents per gallon; and

(3) all other gasoline is taxed at the rate of 45 cents per gallon.

(e) On or before April 1, 2023, and on or before April 1 in each subsequent year, the
commissioner must determine the tax rate applicable to the sale of E85, M85, and all other
gasoline subject to tax under this section for the upcoming 12-month period, beginning
October 1, by adding to the current fiscal year tax rate the percentage increase, if any, in
the National Highway Construction Cost Index for the previous calendar year. The tax rate
must be rounded to the nearest tenth of a cent. The tax rate for E§5 must not be lower than
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31.95 cents per gallon. The tax rate for M85 must not be lower than 25.65 cents per gallon.
The tax rate for all other gasoline must not be lower than 45 cents per gallon.

(f) For purposes of this subdivision, the National Highway Construction Cost Index is
as determined by the United States Department of Transportation.

(g) For purposes of this subdivision, "gasoline in distributor storage" means gasoline
owned or possessed by a distributor and held in storage, including being held in bulk storage,
a tank wagon, or a compartment of a delivery truck.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax imposed after September 30,
2019.
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Sec. 92. [296A.075] TAX ON USE OF ELECTRIC VEHICLE CHARGING
STATION.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, "electric vehicle charging
station" or "charging station" means any facility or equipment that is used to charge a battery
or other energy storage device of an electric vehicle at any location where a vehicle may
park at any public or private location, except parking spaces for single-family or multifamily

dwellings.

Subd. 2. Tax on kilowatt hours; electric vehicle charging stations. (a) Beginning
January 1, 2020, a tax of five cents is imposed on each kilowatt hour of electricity delivered
or placed into the battery or other energy source of an electric vehicle at an electric vehicle
charging station. The tax must be collected at the time the charging station is used for each
electric vehicle that uses the charging station.

(b) The owner of the charging station must remit the tax required under this subdivision
to the commissioner of revenue in the same manner as required under sections 289A.18 and
289A.20. The commissioner of revenue must deposit the proceeds of the tax collected under
this paragraph into the highway user tax distribution fund.

Subd. 3. Annual fee for charging stations. Notwithstanding subdivision 2, the owner
of a charging station installed prior to January 1, 2020, must pay an annual fee of $200 per
charging station for each charging station that does not have the functional capability to
collect the tax required by subdivision 2. The fee must be paid in a form and manner
prescribed by the commissioner of revenue by December 31 of each year. The commissioner
of revenue may also prescribe a method for filing returns of the fees due under this
subdivision. The commissioner of revenue must deposit the funds collected under this
paragraph into the highway user tax distribution fund.

Subd. 4. Failure to comply; interest and penalties. The interest provisions under
section 289A.55 and the penalty provisions under sections 289A.60 and 289A.63 apply to
the tax and fee due under this section.
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Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 296A.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Rate of tax. (a) On special fuel subject to tax under this section after September
30, 2019, but before January 1, 2020, and on special fuel in distributor storage at 12:01 a.m.
on October 1, 2019, the special fuel excise tax is imposed at the following rates:

ta) (1) liquefied petroleum gas or propane is taxed at the rate of +8-75 22.50 cents per
gallon:;

) (2) liquefied natural gas is taxed at the rate of +5 18 cents per gallon:;
te) (3) compressed natural gas is taxed at the rate of $1- $2.368 per thousand cubic
feet; or 25 30 cents per gasoline equivalent—Ferpurposes-of-this-paragraph;gasoline
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&) (4) all other special fuel is taxed at the same rate as the gasoline excise tax as specified
in section 296A.07, subdivision 2.

(b) The tax under this subdivision is payable in the form and manner prescribed by the
commissioner.

(c) On special fuel subject to tax under this section after December 31, 2019, but before
January 1, 2021, and on all special fuel in distributor storage at 12:01 a.m. on January 1,
2020, the special fuel excise tax is imposed at the following rates:

(1) liquefied petroleum gas or propane is taxed at the rate of 26.25 cents per gallon;

(2) liquefied natural gas is taxed at the rate of 21 cents per gallon;

(3) compressed natural gas is taxed at the rate of $2.763 per thousand cubic feet; or 35
cents per gasoline equivalent; and

(4) all other special fuel is taxed at the same rate as the gasoline excise tax as specified
in section 296A.07, subdivision 2.

(d) On special fuel subject to tax under this section after December 31, 2020, but before
January 1, 2022, and on all special fuel in distributor storage at 12:01 a.m. on January 1,
2021, the special fuel excise tax is imposed at the following rates:

(1) liquefied petroleum gas or propane is taxed at the rate of 30 cents per gallon;

(2) liquefied natural gas is taxed at the rate of 24 cents per gallon;

(3) compressed natural gas is taxed at the rate of $3.157 per thousand cubic feet; or 40
cents per gasoline equivalent; and

(4) all other special fuel is taxed at the same rate as the gasoline excise tax as specified
in section 296A.07, subdivision 2.
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(e) On special fuel subject to tax under this section after December 31, 2021, and on all
special fuel in distributor storage at 12:01 a.m. on January 1, 2022, the special fuel excise
tax is imposed at the following rates:

(1) liquefied petroleum gas or propane is taxed at the rate of 33.75 cents per gallon;

(2) liquefied natural gas is taxed at the rate of 27 cents per gallon;

(3) compressed natural gas is taxed at the rate of $3.552 per thousand cubic feet; or 45
cents per gasoline equivalent; and

(4) all other special fuel is taxed at the same rate as the gasoline excise tax as specified
in section 296A.07, subdivision 2.

(f) On or before April 1, 2023, and on or before April 1 in each subsequent year, the
commissioner shall determine the tax rate applicable to the sale of special fuels subject to
tax under this section for the upcoming 12-month period, beginning October 1, by adding
to the current tax rate the percentage increase, if any, calculated under section 296A.07,
subdivision 3, paragraph (e). The tax rate must be rounded to the nearest tenth of a cent.
The tax rate for liquefied petroleum gas or propane must not be lower than 33.75 cents per
gallon. The tax rate for liquefied natural gas must not be lower than 27 cents per gallon.
The tax rate for compressed natural gas must not be lower than $3.552 per thousand cubic
feet or 45 cents per gasoline equivalent. The tax rate for all other special fuel must not be
lower than 45 cents per gallon.

(g) For purposes of this subdivision, "special fuel in distributor storage" means special
fuel owned and possessed by a distributor and held in storage, including being held in bulk
storage, a tank wagon, or a compartment of a delivery truck.

(h) For purposes of this subdivision, "gasoline equivalent," as defined by the National
Conference on Weights and Measures, is 5.66 pounds of natural gas or 126.67 cubic feet.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax imposed after September 30,
2019.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 297A.815, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Motor vehicle lease sales tax revenue. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,
"net revenue" means an amount equal to the revenue, including interest and penalties,
collected under this section during the fiscal year minus $32,000,000 in each fiscal year.

(b) On or before June 30 of each fiscal year, the commissioner of revenue must estimate
the reventes amount of the net revenue, including interest and penalties and minus refunds,
collected under this section for the current fiscal year.

) (c) By July 15 of the subsequent fiscal year, the commissioner of management and
budget must transfer the revenues net revenue estimated under paragraph (&) (b) from the
general fund as follows:
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(1) 38 75 percent to the county state-aid highway fund;

(2) 38 10 percent to the greater Minnesota transit account; and

(3) 13 15 percent to the Minneseta-state-transportationfund;-and small cities assistance

account under section 162.145, subdivision 2.

te) (d) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the commissioner of transportation
must allocate the funds transferred under paragraph (b} (c), clause (1), to the counties in the
metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 4, exehadingthe-counties-of
Hennepin-andRamsey; so that each county receives the percentage that its population, as
defined in section 477A.011, subdivision 3, estimated or established by July 15 of the year
prior to the current calendar year, bears to the total population of the counties receiving
funds under this paragraph. For the purposes of the calculation in this paragraph, the
population of Hennepin County must be multiplied by 0.2 and the population of Ramsey

County must be multiplied by 0.35.

(e) The revenues under this subdivision do not include the revenues, including interest
and penalties and minus refunds, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62,
subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution,
article XI, section 15.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment,
beginning with the estimate that must be completed on or before June 30, 2020, for a transfer
that occurs by July 15, 2020.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.

(a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues,
including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state
treasury and credit them to the general fund.

(b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic
account in the special revenue fund if:

(1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the
construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and

(2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was
made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.

The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on
which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
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guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.

(c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived
from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:

(1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and

(2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.

te) (d) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user
tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64,
subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.
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th) (e) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state
treasury as follows:

(1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect
fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land,
water, and other natural resources of the state;

(2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for state parks and trails;

(3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;

(4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and
may be spent only on local trail grants; and

(5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
and the Duluth Zoo.

1 (f) The revenue dedicated under paragraph th) (¢) may not be used as a substitute for
traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall
supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money
deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph thy (¢) must be open to public hunting
and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands
where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times
of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in
the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife
resources under paragraph thy (e) must be allocated for field operations.

). (g) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties
minus any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision
1, that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by
the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

(1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section
88.068;

(2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 2971.06, subdivision
3; and

(3) the remainder to the general fund.

For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived
from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be
sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public
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under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in
the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter
1, article 3, section 39.

to (h) The revenues deposited under paragraphs-ta)-to-(i) this section do not include the
revenues, including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section
297A.62, subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota
Constitution, article XI, section 15.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2019.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 297A.99, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Authorization; scope. (a) A political subdivision of this state may impose
a general sales tax (1) under section 297A.992, (2) under section 297A.9925, (3) under
section 297A.993, (3) (4) if permitted by special law, or {4 (5) if the political subdivision
enacted and imposed the tax before January 1, 1982, and its predecessor provision.

(b) This section governs the imposition of a general sales tax by the political subdivision.
The provisions of this section preempt the provisions of any special law:

(1) enacted before June 2, 1997, or

(2) enacted on or after June 2, 1997, that does not explicitly exempt the special law
provision from this section's rules by reference.

(c) This section does not apply to or preempt a sales tax on motor vehicles or a special
excise tax on motor vehicles.

(d) A political subdivision may not advertise or expend funds for the promotion of a
referendum to support imposing a local option sales tax.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), a political subdivision may expend funds to:
(1) conduct the referendum;
(2) disseminate information included in the resolution adopted under subdivision 2;

(3) provide notice of, and conduct public forums at which proponents and opponents on
the merits of the referendum are given equal time to express their opinions on the merits of
the referendum;

(4) provide facts and data on the impact of the proposed sales tax on consumer purchases;
and

(5) provide facts and data related to the programs and projects to be funded with the
sales tax.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after
December 31, 2019.

Sec. 13. [297A.9925] TRANSPORTATION STABILITY SALES AND USE TAX.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.

(b) "Metropolitan area" has the meaning given in section 473.121, subdivision 2.

(c) "Metropolitan Council" or "council" means the Metropolitan Council established by
section 473.123.

(d) "Transportation Advisory Board" means the advisory body under section 473.146,
subdivision 4.

(e) "Transportation sales tax" means the metropolitan area transportation sales and use
tax imposed under this section.

(f) Transit purposes under this section include but are not limited to: transit operations
and capital improvements; transit capital maintenance; transit financing; transit project
development, including design, engineering, environmental analysis, and acquisition of real
property, including temporary and permanent easements; and planning and feasibility studies
related to transit.

Subd. 2. Metropolitan area transportation sales tax imposition; rate. (a)
Notwithstanding sections 297A.99, subdivisions 2 and 3, and 477A.016, or any other law
to the contrary, the Metropolitan Council must impose a metropolitan area transportation
sales and use tax at a rate of one-half of one percent on retail sales and uses taxable under
this chapter occurring within the metropolitan area.

(b) The tax imposed under this section is not included in determining if the total tax on
lodging in the city of Minneapolis exceeds the maximum allowed tax under Laws 1986,
chapter 396, section 5, as amended by Laws 2001, First Special Session chapter 5, article
12, section 87, and Laws 2012, chapter 299, article 3, section 3, or in determining a tax that
may be imposed under any other limitations.

Subd. 3. Administration; collection; enforcement. Except as otherwise provided in
this section, the provisions of section 297A.99, subdivisions 4, and 6 to 12a, govern the
administration, collection, and enforcement of the tax imposed under this section.

Subd. 4. Distribution. Proceeds of the transportation sales tax are distributed:

(1) 50 percent to the Metropolitan Council; and

(2) 50 percent to the transportation advisory board.
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Subd. 5. Use of funds; general requirements. (2) Proceeds from the transportation
sales tax must be used for transportation purposes within the metropolitan area, subject to
the requirements of this section and chapter 473.

(b) Projects funded with the transportation sales tax proceeds must be consistent with
the long-range transportation policy plan adopted by the council under section 473.146.

Subd. 6. Use of funds; Metropolitan Council. The Metropolitan Council must use
funds distributed under subdivision 4, clause (1), and from awards under subdivision 7, for

transit purposes.

Subd. 7. Use of funds; Transportation Advisory Board. (a) From funds distributed
under subdivision 4, clause (2), the Transportation Advisory Board must establish eligibility
requirements and a project selection process to provide grant awards for transportation
projects. The process must include: solicitation; evaluation and prioritization, including
technical review, scoring, and ranking; project selection; and award of funds. To the extent
feasible, the process must align with procedures and requirements established for allocation
of other sources of funds.

(b) In each award cycle, the Transportation Advisory Board must allocate funds as
follows:

(1) at least 30 percent for highway projects, including but not limited to (i) maintenance,
mobility, travel demand management, and traffic management technology, and (ii) state
and local roads and bridges;

(2) at least 30 percent for transit purposes;

(3) at least ten percent for active transportation and nonmotorized transportation projects,
including but not limited to trails, bicycle and pedestrian facilities, and safe routes to schools;
and

(4) the remainder for one or more of the purposes specified in clauses (1) to (3).

Subd. 8. Revenue bonds. (a) In addition to other authority granted in this section, and
notwithstanding section 473.39, subdivision 7, or any other law to the contrary, the council
may, by resolution, authorize the sale and issuance of revenue bonds, notes, or other
obligations to provide funds to (1) implement the council's transit capital improvement
program, and (2) refund bonds issued under this subdivision.

(b) The bonds are payable from and secured by a pledge of the revenues of the council's
transportation system, including all or any part of revenues received under subdivision 4,
clause (1), and associated investment earnings on debt proceeds. The council may, by
resolution, authorize the issuance of the bonds as general obligations of the council. The
bonds must be sold, issued, and secured in the manner provided in chapter 475, and the
council has the same powers and duties as a municipality and its governing body in issuing
bonds under chapter 475, except that no election is required and the net debt limitations in
chapter 475 do not apply to such bonds. The proceeds of the bonds may also be used to
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fund necessary reserves and to pay credit enhancement fees, issuance costs, and other
financing costs during the life of the debt.

(c) The bonds may be secured by a bond resolution, or a trust indenture entered into by
the council with a corporate trustee within or outside the state, which must define the
revenues and bond proceeds pledged for the payment and security of the bonds. The pledge
must be a valid charge on the revenues received under section 297A.99, subdivision 11.
Neither the state, nor any municipality or political subdivision except the council, nor any
member or officer or employee of the council, is liable on the obligations. No mortgage or
security interest in any tangible real or personal property is granted to the bondholders or
the trustee, but they shall have a valid security interest in the revenues and bond proceeds
received by the council and pledged to the payment of the bonds. In the bond resolution or
trust indenture, the council may make such covenants as it determines to be reasonable for
the protection of the bondholders.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment for sales and purchases made after December 31, 2019, and applies in the
counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington. The advisory
board must make the first award of grants under subdivision 7 by January 31, 2020.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 297B.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Rate. There is imposed an excise tax of 65 6.875 percent on the purchase
price of any motor vehicle purchased or acquired, either in or outside of the state of
Minnesota, which is required to be registered under the laws of this state.

The excise tax is also imposed on the purchase price of motor vehicles purchased or
acquired on Indian reservations when the tribal council has entered into a sales tax on motor
vehicles refund agreement with the state of Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases on or after
December 1, 2019.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 297B.09, is amended to read:
297B.09 ALLOCATION OF REVENUE.

Subdivision 1. Deposit of revenues. (a) Money collected and received under this chapter

must be deposited as provided-inthis-subdivision: follows:
)60 (1) 57 percent efthe-meney-ecolleeted-and reeei

highway user tax distribution fund;-36;

(2) 34.5 percent must-be-deposited in the metropolitan area transit account under section
16A.88;; and four

(3) 8.5 percent must-be-depesited in the greater Minnesota transit account under section
16A.88.
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(c) It is the intent of the legislature that the allocations under paragraph ¢b} (a) remain
unchanged for fiscal year 2642 2020 and all subsequent fiscal years.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
ARTICLE 4

TRANSPORTATION AND THE ENVIRONMENT
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Transportation goals. The goals of the state transportation system are as
follows:

(1) to minimize fatalities and injuries for transportation users throughout the state;

(2) to provide multimodal and intermodal transportation facilities and services to increase
access for all persons and businesses and to ensure economic well-being and quality of life
without undue burden placed on any community;

(3) to provide a reasonable travel time for commuters;

(4) to enhance economic development and provide for the economical, efficient, and
safe movement of goods to and from markets by rail, highway, and waterway;

(5) to encourage tourism by providing appropriate transportation to Minnesota facilities
designed to attract tourists and to enhance the appeal, through transportation investments,
of tourist destinations across the state;

(6) to provide transit services to all counties in the state to meet the needs of transit users;

(7) to promote accountability through systematic management of system performance
and productivity through the utilization of technological advancements;

(8) to maximize the long-term benefits received for each state transportation investment;

(9) to provide for and prioritize funding of transportation investments that ensures that
the state's transportation infrastructure is maintained in a state of good repair;

(10) to ensure that the planning and implementation of all modes of transportation are
consistent with the environmental and energy goals of the state;

(11) to promote and increase the use of high-occupancy vehicles and, low-emission
vehicles, and zero-emission vehicles;

(12) to provide an air transportation system sufficient to encourage economic growth
and allow all regions of the state the ability to participate in the global economy;

(13) to increase use of transit as a percentage of all trips statewide by giving highest
priority to the transportation modes with the greatest people-moving capacity and lowest
long-term economic and environmental cost;
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(14) to promote and increase bicycling and walking as a percentage of all trips as
energy-efficient, nonpolluting, and healthy forms of transportation;

(15) to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the state's transportation sector; and

(16) to accomplish these goals with minimal impact on the environment and human
health.

Sec. 2. [174.023] ENVIRONMENT AND CLIMATE REPORTING.

(a) By January 15 annually, the commissioner must submit a report on transportation
and the environment to the chairs, ranking minority members, and staff of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy.

(b) At a minimum, the report must include:

(1) a detailed explanation of how the department is meeting the goals set forth in the
climate change action plan adopted pursuant to section 216H.02;

(2) an explanation of how the department is achieving the goals set forth in sections
174.01, subdivision 2, clauses (10) and (15); and 174.02, subdivision la, clause (3);

(3) if the department is not meeting any of the goals under clause (2), the reason the
goals are not being met; and

(4) any recommended legislative changes that would assist the department in meeting
the identified goals.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Energy conservation. The commissioner, in cooperation with the commissioner
of commerce through the state energy office, shall evaluate all modes of transportation in
terms of their levels of energy consumption. The commissioner of commerce shall provide
the commissioner with projections of the future availability of energy resources for
transportation. The commissioner shall use the results of this evaluation and the projections
to evaluate alternative programs and facilities to be included in the statewide plan and to
otherwise promote the mere efficient use of low- and zero-emission energy resources for
transportation purposes.

Sec. 4. [174.47] ELECTRIC VEHICLE INFRASTRUCTURE.

Subdivision 1. Infrastructure development. From funds made available under this
section, the commissioner must arrange for installation of public electric vehicle supply
equipment throughout the state.

Subd. 2. Electric vehicle infrastructure account. An electric vehicle infrastructure
account is established in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds under
section 168.013, subdivision 1m, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or
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otherwise provided to the account. Money in the account must be expended for the purposes
specified in this section.

Subd. 3. Administration; requirements. (a) The commissioner must establish a process
to allocate funds.

(b) The commissioner may make grants to political subdivisions.

(c) No more than 40 percent of the expenditures under this section in a fiscal year may
be for equipment installation within the metropolitan counties, as defined in section 473.121,
subdivision 4. No more than ten percent of the expenditures under this section may be for
equipment with a maximum charging capability of less than 150 kilowatts.

ARTICLE 5

LICENSES AND IDENTIFICATION CARDS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.6905, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 36. Noncompliant license or identification card; lawful status. Data on certain
noncompliant driver's licenses or identification cards are governed by section 171.12,
subdivisions 11 and 12.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Temporary lawful admission. The commissioner is prohibited from issuing
a driver's license or Minnesota identification card to an applicant whese having a lawful
temporary admission period, as demonstrated under section 171.06, subdivision 3, paragraph
(b), clause (2), that expires within 30 days of the date of the application.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:

(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;

(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;

(3) state:
(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or

(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
that the applicant eertifies-that-the-applieant is not eligible for a Social Security number;
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(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and

(5) contain spaces where the applicant may:

(1) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision 5a;

(i) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under paragraph (d); and

(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
subdivision 3c.

(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:
(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and

(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
the REAL ID Act:

(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;

(i) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
(iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.

(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
be accompanied by:

(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
citizenship; and

(2) a photographic identity document.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 7. Noncompliant license or identification card; lawful status. (a) A person is
not required to demonstrate United States citizenship or lawful presence in the United States
in order to obtain a noncompliant driver's license or identification card.

(b) Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0410, or successor rules, does not apply for a
noncompliant driver's license or identification card.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 8. Noncompliant license or identification card; general requirements. (a) A
document submitted under this subdivision or subdivision 9 or 10 must be legible and
unaltered, an original or a copy certified by the issuing agency, and accompanied by a
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certified translation or an affidavit of translation into English if the document is not in
English.

(b) A document submitted under this subdivision or subdivision 9 or 10 must (1) be
issued to or provided for the applicant, and (2) include the applicant's name.

(c) If the applicant's current legal name is different from the name on a document
submitted under subdivision 9 or 10, the applicant must submit:

(1) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change;

(2) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage;

(3) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies the
applicant's name change, issued by a court; or

(4) similar documentation of a lawful change of name as determined by the commissioner.

(d) The commissioner must establish a process to grant a waiver from the requirements
under this subdivision and subdivisions 9 and 10.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 9. Noncompliant license or identification card; primary documents. (a) For
a noncompliant driver's license or identification card, primary documents under Minnesota
Rules, part 7410.0400, subpart 2, or successor rules, include the following:

(1) a noncompliant driver's license or identification card that is current or has been
expired for five years or less;

(2) an unexpired foreign passport or a foreign consular identification document that
bears a photograph of the applicant; and

(3) a certified birth certificate issued by a foreign jurisdiction.

(b) A document submitted under this subdivision must contain security features that
make the document as impervious to alteration as is reasonably practicable in its design and
quality of material and technology.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 10, "foreign" means a jurisdiction
that is not, and is not within, the United States, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana
Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the United States Virgin Islands, or a
territory of the United States.

(d) Submission of more than one primary document is not required under this subdivision.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:
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Subd. 10. Noncompliant license or identification card; secondary documents. (a)
For a noncompliant driver's license or identification card, secondary documents under
Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0400, subpart 3, or successor rules, include the following:

(1) a second document listed under subdivision 9, paragraph (a);

(2) a notice of action on or proof of submission of a completed Application for Asylum
and for Withholding of Removal issued by the United States Department of Homeland
Security, Form 1-589;

(3) a certificate of eligibility for nonimmigrant student status issued by the United States
Department of Homeland Security, Form 1-20;

(4) a certificate of eligibility for exchange visitor status issued by the United States
Department of State, Form DS-2019;

(5) a Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival approval notice issued by the United States
Department of Homeland Security;

(6) an employment authorization document issued by the United States Department of
Homeland Security, Form 1-688, Form [-688A, Form 1-688B, or Form 1-766;

(7) a document issued by the Social Security Administration with an individual taxpayer
identification number;

(8) mortgage documents for the applicant's residence;

(9) a filed property deed or title for the applicant's residence;

(10) a United States high school identification card with a certified transcript from the
school;

(11) a Minnesota college or university identification card with a certified transcript from
the college or university;

(12) a Social Security card,

(13) a Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement issued no more than 90
days before the application;

(14) a valid identification card for health benefits or an assistance or social services
program;

(15) a Minnesota vehicle certificate of title issued no more than 12 months before the
application;

(16) an unexpired Selective Service card;

(17) military orders that are still in effect at the time of application;
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(18) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage;

(19) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change;

(20) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies the
applicant's name change, issued by a court;

(21) any of the following documents issued by a foreign jurisdiction:

(i) a driver's license that is current or has been expired for five years or less;

(ii) a high school, college, or university student identification card with a certified
transcript from the school;

(iii) an official high school, college, or university transcript that includes the applicant's
date of birth and a photograph of the applicant at the age the record was issued; and

(iv) a federal electoral photographic card issued on or after January 1, 1991; and

(22) additional documents as determined by the commissioner.

(b) A document submitted as a primary document under subdivision 9, paragraph (a),
clause (3), may not be submitted as a secondary document under this subdivision.

(c) Submission of more than one secondary document is not required under this
subdivision.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. License; contents and design. (a) Upon the payment of the required fee,
the department shall issue to every qualifying applicant a license designating the type or
class of vehicles the applicant is authorized to drive as applied for. This license must bear:
(1) a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee; (2) the licensee's full name and date
of birth; (3) either (i) the licensee's residence address, or (ii) the designated address under
section 5B.05; (4) a description of the licensee in a manner as the commissioner deems
necessary; (5) the usual signature of the licensee; and (6) designations and markings as
provided in this section. No license is valid unless it bears the usual signature of the licensee.
Every license must bear a colored photograph or an electronically produced image of the
licensee.

(b) If the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to the applicant's residence
address as listed on the license, then the applicant shall provide verification from the United
States Postal Service that mail will not be delivered to the applicant's residence address and
that mail will be delivered to a specified alternate mailing address. When an applicant
provides an alternate mailing address under this subdivision, the commissioner shall use
the alternate mailing address in lieu of the applicant's residence address for all notices and
mailings to the applicant.
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(c) Every license issued to an applicant under the age of 21 must be of a distinguishing
color and plainly marked "Under-21."

(d) A license issued to an applicant age 65 or over must be plainly marked "senior" if
requested by the applicant.

(e) Except for an enhanced driver's license or a noncompliant license, a license must
bear a distinguishing indicator for compliance with requirements of the REAL ID Act.

() A noncompliant license must:

(1) be marked "not for federal identification" on the face and in the machine-readable
portion; and

(2) have a unique design or color indicator for purposes of the REAL ID Act.

(g) A noncompliant license issued under any of the following circumstances must be
marked "not for voting" on the back side and must bear no other indication regarding lawful
presence of the license holder:

(1) the application is for first-time issuance of a license in Minnesota, and the applicant
has not demonstrated United States citizenship;

(2) the applicant's most recently issued noncompliant license or identification card is
marked as required under this paragraph or subdivision 3, paragraph (g), and the applicant
has not demonstrated United States citizenship; or

(3) the applicant submits a document that identifies a temporary lawful status or admission
period.
(h) AREAL ID compliant license issued to a person with temporary lawful status or

admission period must be marked "temporary" on the face and in the machine-readable
portion.

th) (i) A license must display the licensee's full name or no fewer than 39 characters of
the name. Any necessary truncation must begin with the last character of the middle name
and proceed through the second letter of the middle name, followed by the last character of
the first name and proceeding through the second letter of the first name.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Identification card; content and design; fee. (a) Upon payment of the required
fee, the department shall issue to every qualifying applicant a Minnesota identification card.
The department may not issue a Minnesota identification card to an individual who has a
driver's license, other than a limited license. The department may not issue an enhanced
identification card to an individual who is under 16 years of age, not a resident of this state,
or not a citizen of the United States of America. The card must bear: (1) a distinguishing
number assigned to the applicant; (2) a colored photograph or an electronically produced
image of the applicant; (3) the applicant's full name and date of birth; (4) either (i) the
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licensee's residence address, or (ii) the designated address under section 5B.05; (5) a
description of the applicant in the manner as the commissioner deems necessary; (6) the
usual signature of the applicant; and (7) designations and markings provided under this
section.

(b) If the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to the applicant's residence
address as listed on the Minnesota identification card, then the applicant shall provide
verification from the United States Postal Service that mail will not be delivered to the
applicant's residence address and that mail will be delivered to a specified alternate mailing
address. When an applicant provides an alternate mailing address under this subdivision,
the commissioner shall use the alternate mailing address in lieu of the applicant's residence
address for all notices and mailings to the applicant.

(c) Each identification card issued to an applicant under the age of 21 must be of a
distinguishing color and plainly marked "Under-21."

(d) Each Minnesota identification card must be plainly marked "Minnesota identification
card - not a driver's license."

(e) Except for an enhanced identification card or a noncompliant identification card, a
Minnesota identification card must bear a distinguishing indicator for compliance with
requirements of the REAL ID Act.

(f) A noncompliant identification card must:

(1) be marked "not for federal identification" on the face and in the machine-readable
portion; and

(2) have a unique design or color indicator for purposes of the REAL ID Act.

(g) A noncompliant identification card issued under any of the following circumstances
must be marked "not for voting" on the back side and must bear no other indication regarding
lawful presence of the identification card holder:

(1) the application is for first-time issuance of a Minnesota identification card, and the
applicant has not demonstrated United States citizenship;

(2) the applicant's most recently issued noncompliant license or identification card is
marked as required under this paragraph or subdivision 1, paragraph (g), and the applicant
has not demonstrated United States citizenship; or

(3) the applicant submits a document that identifies a temporary lawful status or admission
period.
(h) A Minneseta REAL ID compliant identification card issued to a person with temporary

lawful status or admission period must be marked "temporary" on the face and in the
machine-readable portion.
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th) () A Minnesota identification card must display the cardholder's full name or no
fewer than 39 characters of the name. Any necessary truncation must begin with the last
character of the middle name and proceed through the second letter of the middle name,
followed by the last character of the first name and proceeding through the second letter of
the first name.

) (j) The fee for a Minnesota identification card is 50 cents when issued to a person
who is developmentally disabled, as defined in section 252A.02, subdivision 2; a physically
disabled person, as defined in section 169.345, subdivision 2; or, a person with mental
illness, as described in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c).

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.12, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

Subd. 7a. Disclosure of personal information. (a) The commissioner shall disclose
personal information where the use is related to the operation of a motor vehicle or to public
safety. The use of personal information is related to public safety if it concerns the physical
safety or security of drivers, vehicles, pedestrians, or property. The commissioner may
refuse to disclose data under this subdivision when the commissioner concludes that the
requester is likely to use the data for illegal, improper, or noninvestigative purposes. Nothing
in this paragraph authorizes disclosure of data restricted under subdivision 11.

(b) The commissioner shall disclose personal information to the secretary of state for
the purpose of increasing voter registration and improving the accuracy of voter registration
records in the statewide voter registration system. The secretary of state may not retain data
provided by the commissioner under this subdivision for more than 60 days.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.12, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Driving record disclosure to law enforcement. Except as restricted under
subdivision 11, the commissioner shall also furnish driving records, without charge, to
chiefs of police, county sheriffs, prosecuting attorneys, and other law enforcement agencies
with the power to arrest.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 11. Certain data on noncompliant license or identification card; department
and agents. (a) The commissioner must not share or disseminate outside of the division of
the department administering driver licensing any data on individuals indicating or otherwise
having the effect of identifying that the individual applied for, was denied, or was issued a
noncompliant driver's license or identification card without demonstrating United States
citizenship or lawful presence in the United States.

(b) A driver's license agent must not share or disseminate, other than to the division of
the department administering driver licensing, any data on individuals indicating or otherwise
having the effect of identifying that the individual applied for, was denied, or was issued a
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noncompliant driver's license or identification card without demonstrating United States
citizenship or lawful presence in the United States.

(c) Data under paragraphs (a) and (b) includes but is not limited to information related
to documents submitted under section 171.06, subdivision 8, 9, or 10.

(d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, this subdivision prohibits the commissioner
and a driver's license agent from sharing or disseminating the data described in paragraphs
(a) to (c) with any entity otherwise authorized to obtain data under subdivision 7, any political
subdivision, any state agency as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 17, or any federal

entity.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 12. Certain data on noncompliant license or identification card; criminal
justice. (a) A criminal justice agency, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 3a, must not
take any action on the basis of a marking under section 171.07, subdivision 1, paragraph

(g), or 3, paragraph (g).
(b) The prohibition in paragraph (a) includes but is not limited to:

(1) criminal investigation;

(2) detention, search, or arrest;

(3) evaluation of citizenship or immigration status; and

(4) recording, maintenance, sharing, or disseminating data indicating or otherwise having
the effect of identifying that the individual was issued a noncompliant driver's license or
identification card under section 171.06, subdivision 7.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents a criminal justice agency from the performance
of official duties independent of using the data described in paragraph (a).

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 201.061, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Election day registration. (a) An individual who is eligible to vote may register
on election day by appearing in person at the polling place for the precinct in which the
individual maintains residence, by completing a registration application, making an oath in
the form prescribed by the secretary of state and providing proof of residence. An individual
may prove residence for purposes of registering by:

(1) presenting a driver's license or Minnesota identification card issued pursuant to
section 171.07 that is not marked as provided in section 171.07, subdivision 1, paragraph

(g), or 3, paragraph (g);

(2) presenting any document approved by the secretary of state as proper identification;

(3) presenting one of the following:
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(i) a current valid student identification card from a postsecondary educational institution
in Minnesota, if a list of students from that institution has been prepared under section
135A.17 and certified to the county auditor in the manner provided in rules of the secretary
of state; or

(ii) a current student fee statement that contains the student's valid address in the precinct
together with a picture identification card; or

(4) having a voter who is registered to vote in the precinct, or an employee employed
by and working in a residential facility in the precinct and vouching for a resident in the
facility, sign an oath in the presence of the election judge vouching that the voter or employee
personally knows that the individual is a resident of the precinct. A voter who has been
vouched for on election day may not sign a proof of residence oath vouching for any other
individual on that election day. A voter who is registered to vote in the precinct may sign
up to eight proof-of-residence oaths on any election day. This limitation does not apply to
an employee of a residential facility described in this clause. The secretary of state shall
provide a form for election judges to use in recording the number of individuals for whom
a voter signs proof-of-residence oaths on election day. The form must include space for the
maximum number of individuals for whom a voter may sign proof-of-residence oaths. For
each proof-of-residence oath, the form must include a statement that the individual: (i) is
registered to vote in the precinct or is an employee of a residential facility in the precinct,
(i1) personally knows that the voter is a resident of the precinct, and (iii) is making the
statement on oath. The form must include a space for the voter's printed name, signature,
telephone number, and address.

The oath required by this subdivision and Minnesota Rules, part 8200.9939, must be
attached to the voter registration application.

(b) The operator of a residential facility shall prepare a list of the names of its employees
currently working in the residential facility and the address of the residential facility. The
operator shall certify the list and provide it to the appropriate county auditor no less than
20 days before each election for use in election day registration.

(c) "Residential facility" means transitional housing as defined in section 256E.33,
subdivision 1; a supervised living facility licensed by the commissioner of health under
section 144.50, subdivision 6; a nursing home as defined in section 144A.01, subdivision
5; a residence registered with the commissioner of health as a housing with services
establishment as defined in section 144D.01, subdivision 4; a veterans home operated by
the board of directors of the Minnesota Veterans Homes under chapter 198; a residence
licensed by the commissioner of human services to provide a residential program as defined
in section 245A.02, subdivision 14; a residential facility for persons with a developmental
disability licensed by the commissioner of human services under section 252.28; setting
authorized to provide housing support as defined in section 2561.03, subdivision 3; a shelter
for battered women as defined in section 611A.37, subdivision 4; or a supervised publicly
or privately operated shelter or dwelling designed to provide temporary living
accommodations for the homeless.
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(d) For tribal band members, an individual may prove residence for purposes of
registering by:

(1) presenting an identification card issued by the tribal government of a tribe recognized
by the Bureau of Indian Affairs, United States Department of the Interior, that contains the
name, address, signature, and picture of the individual; or

(2) presenting an identification card issued by the tribal government of a tribe recognized
by the Bureau of Indian Affairs, United States Department of the Interior, that contains the
name, signature, and picture of the individual and also presenting one of the documents
listed in Minnesota Rules, part 8200.5100, subpart 2, item B.

(e) A county, school district, or municipality may require that an election judge
responsible for election day registration initial each completed registration application.

Sec. 15. COUNTY NOTIFICATION; ELECTION JUDGE TRAINING.

(a) The secretary of state shall inform each county auditor that a driver's license or
Minnesota identification card must not be used or accepted for voter registration purposes
under Minnesota Statutes, section 201.061, if it is marked as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
section 171.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (g), or 3, paragraph (g).

(b) Each county auditor must inform all election officials and election judges hired for
an election that driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards identified under paragraph
(a) must not be used or accepted for voter registration purposes under Minnesota Statutes,
section 201.061. County auditors and municipal clerks must include this information in all
election judge training courses.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.
Sec. 16. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.015, subdivision 7, is repealed.

Sec. 17. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Unless provided otherwise, this article is effective August 1, 2019, for driver's license
and Minnesota identification card applications and issuance on or after that date.

ARTICLE 6

TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY
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ARTICLE 2
TRANSPORTATION POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3.972, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 2¢. Audits of the Department of Transportation. The legislative auditor must
audit, as resources permit, the programs and services administered by the Department of

Transportation.
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Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.461, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 33. Metropolitan Council special transportation service. Data sharing between
the commissioner of human services and the Metropolitan Council to administer and
coordinate transportation services for individuals with disabilities and elderly individuals
is governed by section 473.386, subdivision 9.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective June 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.72, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Transportation service data. (a) Personal, medical, financial, familial, or
locational information data pertaining to applicants for or users of services providing
transportation for the-disabled individuals with disabilities or elderly individuals are private
data on individuals.
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18.22  Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3.972, is amended by adding a subdivision to
18.23 read:

18.24 Subd. 2d. Audits of the Department of Public Safety. The legislative auditor must
18.25 audit, as resources permit, the programs and services administered by the Department of

18.26  Public Safety.
18.27 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3.9741, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

18.28 Subd. 5. State data security; account, appropriation. (a) The data security account is
18.29 created in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the legislative
18.30 auditor for the oversight purposes provided in paragraph (b).

19.1 (b) Subject to available funds appropriated under paragraph (a), the legislative auditor
19.2  shall:
19.3 (1) review and audit the audit reports of subscribers and requesters submitted under

19.4  section 168.327, subdivision 6, including producing findings and opinions;

19.5 (2) in collaboration with the commissioner and affected subscribers and requesters,
19.6  recommend corrective action plans to remediate any deficiencies identified under clause
19.7  (1); and

19.8 (3) review and audit driver records subscription services and bulk data practices of the
19.9  Department of Public Safety, including identifying any deficiencies and making
19.10 recommendations to the commissioner.

19.11 (c) The legislative auditor shall submit any reports, findings, and recommendations
19.12  under this subdivision to the legislative commission on data practices.

24.29  Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.72, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

24.30 Subd. 10. Transportation service data. (a) Personal, medical, financial, familial, or
2431 locational information data pertaining to applicants for or users of services providing

25.1  transportation for the-disabled people with disabilities or elderly individuals are private data
252 onindividuals.
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(b) Private transportation service data may be disclosed between the commissioner of
human services and the Metropolitan Council to administer and coordinate human services
programs and transportation services for individuals with disabilities and elderly individuals
as provided in section 473.386, subdivision 9.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective June 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 80E.13, is amended to read:
80E.13 UNFAIR PRACTICES BY MANUFACTURERS, DISTRIBUTORS,
FACTORY BRANCHES.

It is unlawful and an unfair practice for a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch
to engage in any of the following practices:

(a) delay, refuse, or fail to deliver new motor vehicles or new motor vehicle parts or
accessories in reasonable time and in reasonable quantity relative to the new motor vehicle
dealer's facilities and sales potential in the dealer's relevant market area, after having accepted
an order from a new motor vehicle dealer having a franchise for the retail sale of any new
motor vehicle sold or distributed by the manufacturer or distributor, if the new motor vehicle
or new motor vehicle parts or accessories are publicly advertised as being available for
delivery or actually being delivered. This clause is not violated, however, if the failure is
caused by acts or causes beyond the control of the manufacturer;

(b) refuse to disclose to any new motor vehicle dealer handling the same line make, the
manner and mode of distribution of that line make within the relevant market area;

(c) obtain money, goods, service, or any other benefit from any other person with whom
the dealer does business, on account of, or in relation to, the transaction between the dealer
and the other person, other than for compensation for services rendered, unless the benefit
is promptly accounted for, and transmitted to, the new motor vehicle dealer;

(d) increase prices of new motor vehicles which the new motor vehicle dealer had ordered
for private retail consumers prior to the dealer's receiving the written official price increase
notification. A sales contract signed by a private retail consumer shall constitute evidence
of each order if the vehicle is in fact delivered to that customer. In the event of manufacturer
price reductions, the amount of any reduction received by a dealer shall be passed on to the
private retail consumer by the dealer if the retail price was negotiated on the basis of the
previous higher price to the dealer;

(e) offer any refunds or other types of inducements to any new motor vehicle dealer for
the purchase of new motor vehicles of a certain line make without making the same offer
to all other new motor vehicle dealers in the same line make within geographic areas
reasonably determined by the manufacturer;
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(b) Private transportation service data may be disclosed between the Department of
Human Services and the Metropolitan Council for purposes of administering and coordinating
human services programs and transportation services for people with disabilities and elderly
individuals. The data that may be shared under this paragraph are limited to the individual's
first, last, and middle names; date of birth; residential address; and program eligibility status
with expiration date for the purposes of informing the other party of program eligibility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 80E.13, is amended to read:
80E.13 UNFAIR PRACTICES BY MANUFACTURERS, DISTRIBUTORS,
FACTORY BRANCHES.

It is unlawful and an unfair practice for a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch
to engage in any of the following practices:

(a) delay, refuse, or fail to deliver new motor vehicles or new motor vehicle parts or
accessories in reasonable time and in reasonable quantity relative to the new motor vehicle
dealer's facilities and sales potential in the dealer's relevant market area, after having accepted
an order from a new motor vehicle dealer having a franchise for the retail sale of any new
motor vehicle sold or distributed by the manufacturer or distributor, if the new motor vehicle
or new motor vehicle parts or accessories are publicly advertised as being available for
delivery or actually being delivered. This clause is not violated, however, if the failure is
caused by acts or causes beyond the control of the manufacturer;

(b) refuse to disclose to any new motor vehicle dealer handling the same line make, the
manner and mode of distribution of that line make within the relevant market area;

(c) obtain money, goods, service, or any other benefit from any other person with whom
the dealer does business, on account of, or in relation to, the transaction between the dealer
and the other person, other than for compensation for services rendered, unless the benefit
is promptly accounted for, and transmitted to, the new motor vehicle dealer;

(d) increase prices of new motor vehicles which the new motor vehicle dealer had ordered
for private retail consumers prior to the dealer's receiving the written official price increase
notification. A sales contract signed by a private retail consumer shall constitute evidence
of each order if the vehicle is in fact delivered to that customer. In the event of manufacturer
price reductions, the amount of any reduction received by a dealer shall be passed on to the
private retail consumer by the dealer if the retail price was negotiated on the basis of the
previous higher price to the dealer;

(e) offer any refunds or other types of inducements to any new motor vehicle dealer for
the purchase of new motor vehicles of a certain line make without making the same offer
to all other new motor vehicle dealers in the same line make within geographic areas
reasonably determined by the manufacturer;
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(f) release to any outside party, except under subpoena or in an administrative or judicial
proceeding involving the manufacturer or dealer, any business, financial, or personal
information which may be provided by the dealer to the manufacturer, without the express
written consent of the dealer or unless pertinent to judicial or governmental administrative
proceedings or to arbitration proceedings of any kind;

(g) deny any new motor vehicle dealer the right of free association with any other new
motor vehicle dealer for any lawful purpose;

(h) unfairly discriminate among its new motor vehicle dealers with respect to warranty
reimbursement or authority granted its new vehicle dealers to make warranty adjustments
with retail customers;

(i) compete with a new motor vehicle dealer in the same line make operating under an
agreement or franchise from the same manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch. A
manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch is considered to be competing when it has an
ownership interest, other than a passive interest held for investment purposes, in a dealership
of'its line make located within the state. A manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch shall
not, however, be deemed to be competing when operating a dealership, either temporarily
or for a reasonable period, which is for sale to any qualified independent person at a fair
and reasonable price, or when involved in a bona fide relationship in which an independent
person has made a significant investment subject to loss in the dealership and can reasonably
expect to acquire full ownership and full management and operational control of the
dealership within a reasonable time on reasonable terms and conditions;

(j) prevent a new motor vehicle dealer from transferring or assigning a new motor vehicle
dealership to a qualified transferee. There shall be no transfer, assignment of the franchise,
or major change in the executive management of the dealership, except as is otherwise
provided in sections 80E.01 to 80E.17, without consent of the manufacturer, which shall
not be withheld without good cause. In determining whether good cause exists for
withholding consent to a transfer or assignment, the manufacturer, distributor, factory
branch, or importer has the burden of proving that the transferee is a person who is not of
good moral character or does not meet the franchisor's existing and reasonable capital
standards and, considering the volume of sales and service of the new motor vehicle dealer,
reasonable business experience standards in the market area. Denial of the request must be
in writing and delivered to the new motor vehicle dealer within 60 days after the manufacturer
receives the completed application customarily used by the manufacturer, distributor, factory
branch, or importer for dealer appointments. If a denial is not sent within this period, the
manufacturer shall be deemed to have given its consent to the proposed transfer or change.
In the event of a proposed sale or transfer of a franchise, the manufacturer, distributor,
factory branch, or importer shall be permitted to exercise a right of first refusal to acquire
the franchisee's assets or ownership if:

(1) the franchise agreement permits the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or
importer to exercise a right of first refusal to acquire the franchisee's assets or ownership
in the event of a proposed sale or transfer;
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(f) release to any outside party, except under subpoena or in an administrative or judicial
proceeding involving the manufacturer or dealer, any business, financial, or personal
information which may be provided by the dealer to the manufacturer, without the express
written consent of the dealer or unless pertinent to judicial or governmental administrative
proceedings or to arbitration proceedings of any kind;

(g) deny any new motor vehicle dealer the right of free association with any other new
motor vehicle dealer for any lawful purpose;

(h) unfairly discriminate among its new motor vehicle dealers with respect to warranty
reimbursement or authority granted its new vehicle dealers to make warranty adjustments
with retail customers;

(i) compete with a new motor vehicle dealer in the same line make operating under an
agreement or franchise from the same manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch. A
manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch is considered to be competing when it has an
ownership interest, other than a passive interest held for investment purposes, in a dealership
of'its line make located within the state. A manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch shall
not, however, be deemed to be competing when operating a dealership, either temporarily
or for a reasonable period, which is for sale to any qualified independent person at a fair
and reasonable price, or when involved in a bona fide relationship in which an independent
person has made a significant investment subject to loss in the dealership and can reasonably
expect to acquire full ownership and full management and operational control of the
dealership within a reasonable time on reasonable terms and conditions;

(j) prevent a new motor vehicle dealer from transferring or assigning a new motor vehicle
dealership to a qualified transferee. There shall be no transfer, assignment of the franchise,
or major change in the executive management of the dealership, except as is otherwise
provided in sections 80E.01 to 80E.17, without consent of the manufacturer, which shall
not be withheld without good cause. In determining whether good cause exists for
withholding consent to a transfer or assignment, the manufacturer, distributor, factory
branch, or importer has the burden of proving that the transferee is a person who is not of
good moral character or does not meet the franchisor's existing and reasonable capital
standards and, considering the volume of sales and service of the new motor vehicle dealer,
reasonable business experience standards in the market area. Denial of the request must be
in writing and delivered to the new motor vehicle dealer within 60 days after the manufacturer
receives the completed application customarily used by the manufacturer, distributor, factory
branch, or importer for dealer appointments. If a denial is not sent within this period, the
manufacturer shall be deemed to have given its consent to the proposed transfer or change.
In the event of a proposed sale or transfer of a franchise, the manufacturer, distributor,
factory branch, or importer shall be permitted to exercise a right of first refusal to acquire
the franchisee's assets or ownership if:

(1) the franchise agreement permits the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or
importer to exercise a right of first refusal to acquire the franchisee's assets or ownership
in the event of a proposed sale or transfer;
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(2) the proposed transfer of the dealership or its assets is of more than 50 percent of the
ownership or assets;

(3) the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer notifies the dealer in writing
within 60 days of its receipt of the complete written proposal for the proposed sale or transfer
on forms generally utilized by the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer for
such purposes and containing the information required therein and all documents and
agreements relating to the proposed sale or transfer;

(4) the exercise of the right of first refusal will result in the dealer and dealer's owners
receiving the same or greater consideration with equivalent terms of sale as is provided in
the documents and agreements submitted to the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch,
or importer under clause (3);

(5) the proposed change of 50 percent or more of the ownership or of the dealership
assets does not involve the transfer or sale of assets or the transfer or issuance of stock by
the dealer or one or more dealer owners to a family member, including a spouse, child,
stepchild, grandchild, spouse of a child or grandchild, brother, sister, or parent of the dealer
owner; to a manager who has been employed in the dealership for at least four years and is
otherwise qualified as a dealer operator; or to a partnership or corporation owned and
controlled by one or more of such persons; and

(6) the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer agrees to pay the reasonable
expenses, including reasonable attorney fees, which do not exceed the usual customary and
reasonable fees charged for similar work done for other clients incurred by the proposed
new owner and transferee before the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer
exercises its right of first refusal, in negotiating and implementing the contract for the
proposed change of ownership or transfer of dealership assets. However, payment of such
expenses and attorney fees shall not be required if the dealer has not submitted or caused
to be submitted an accounting of those expenses within 20 days after the dealer's receipt of
the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer's written request for such an
accounting. The manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer may request such an
accounting before exercising its right of first refusal. The obligation created under this clause
is enforceable by the transferee;

(k) threaten to modify or replace or modify or replace a franchise with a succeeding
franchise that would adversely alter the rights or obligations of a new motor vehicle dealer
under an existing franchise or that substantially impairs the sales or service obligations or
investments of the motor vehicle dealer;

(1) unreasonably deny the right to acquire factory program vehicles to any dealer holding
a valid franchise from the manufacturer to sell the same line make of vehicles, provided
that the manufacturer may impose reasonable restrictions and limitations on the purchase
or resale of program vehicles to be applied equitably to all of its franchised dealers. For the
purposes of this paragraph, "factory program vehicle" has the meaning given the term in
section 80E.06, subdivision 2;
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(2) the proposed transfer of the dealership or its assets is of more than 50 percent of the
ownership or assets;

(3) the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer notifies the dealer in writing
within 60 days of its receipt of the complete written proposal for the proposed sale or transfer
on forms generally utilized by the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer for
such purposes and containing the information required therein and all documents and
agreements relating to the proposed sale or transfer;

(4) the exercise of the right of first refusal will result in the dealer and dealer's owners
receiving the same or greater consideration with equivalent terms of sale as is provided in
the documents and agreements submitted to the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch,
or importer under clause (3);

(5) the proposed change of 50 percent or more of the ownership or of the dealership
assets does not involve the transfer or sale of assets or the transfer or issuance of stock by
the dealer or one or more dealer owners to a family member, including a spouse, child,
stepchild, grandchild, spouse of a child or grandchild, brother, sister, or parent of the dealer
owner; to a manager who has been employed in the dealership for at least four years and is
otherwise qualified as a dealer operator; or to a partnership or corporation owned and
controlled by one or more of such persons; and

(6) the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer agrees to pay the reasonable
expenses, including reasonable attorney fees, which do not exceed the usual customary and
reasonable fees charged for similar work done for other clients incurred by the proposed
new owner and transferee before the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer
exercises its right of first refusal, in negotiating and implementing the contract for the
proposed change of ownership or transfer of dealership assets. However, payment of such
expenses and attorney fees shall not be required if the dealer has not submitted or caused
to be submitted an accounting of those expenses within 20 days after the dealer's receipt of
the manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer's written request for such an
accounting. The manufacturer, distributor, factory branch, or importer may request such an
accounting before exercising its right of first refusal. The obligation created under this clause
is enforceable by the transferee;

(k) threaten to modify or replace or modify or replace a franchise with a succeeding
franchise that would adversely alter the rights or obligations of a new motor vehicle dealer
under an existing franchise or that substantially impairs the sales or service obligations or
investments of the motor vehicle dealer;

(1) unreasonably deny the right to acquire factory program vehicles to any dealer holding
a valid franchise from the manufacturer to sell the same line make of vehicles, provided
that the manufacturer may impose reasonable restrictions and limitations on the purchase
or resale of program vehicles to be applied equitably to all of its franchised dealers. For the
purposes of this paragraph, "factory program vehicle" has the meaning given the term in
section 80E.06, subdivision 2;
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(m) fail or refuse to offer to its same line make franchised dealers all models manufactured
for that line make, other than alternative fuel vehicles as defined in section 216C.01,
subdivision 1b. Failure to offer a model is not a violation of this section if the failure is not
arbitrary and is due to a lack of manufacturing capacity, a strike, labor difficulty, or other
cause over which the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch has no control;

(n) require a dealer to pay an extra fee, or remodel, renovate, or recondition the dealer's
existing facilities, or purchase unreasonable advertising displays, training, tools, or other
materials, or to require the dealer to establish exclusive facilities or dedicated personnel as
a prerequisite to receiving a model or a series of vehicles;

(o) require a dealer by program, incentive provision, or otherwise to adhere to
performance standards that are not applied uniformly to other similarly situated dealers.

A performance standard, sales objective, or program for measuring dealership performance
that may have a material effect on a dealer, including the dealer's right to payment under

any incentive or reimbursement program, and the application of the standard or program

by a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch must be fair, reasonable, equitable, and
based on accurate information. Upon written request by any of its franchised dealers located
within Minnesota, a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch must provide the method

or formula used by the manufacturer in establishing the sales volumes for receiving a rebate
or incentive and the specific calculations for determining the required sales volumes of the
inquiring dealer and any of the manufacturer's other Minnesota-franchised new motor vehicle
dealers of the same line-make located within 75 miles of the inquiring dealer. Nothing
contained in this section requires a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch to disclose
confidential business information of any of its franchised dealers or the required numerical
sales volumes that any of its franchised dealers must attain to receive a rebate or incentive.
An inquiring dealer may file a civil action as provided in section 80E.17 without a showing
of injury if a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch fails to make the disclosure required
by this section.

A manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch has the burden of proving that the performance
standard, sales objective, or program for measuring dealership performance is fair, reasonable,
and uniformly applied under this section;

(p) assign or change a dealer's area of sales effectiveness arbitrarily or without due regard
to the present pattern of motor vehicle sales and registrations within the dealer's market.
The manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch must provide at least 90 days' notice of the
proposed change. The change may not take effect if the dealer commences a civil action
within the 90 days' notice period to determine whether the manufacturer, distributor, or
factory branch met its obligations under this section. The burden of proof in such an action
shall be on the manufacturer or distributor. In determining at the evidentiary hearing whether
a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch has assigned or changed the dealer's area of
sales effectiveness or is proposing to assign or change the dealer's area of sales effectiveness
arbitrarily or without due regard to the present pattern of motor vehicle sales and registrations
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(m) fail or refuse to offer to its same line make franchised dealers all models manufactured
for that line make, other than alternative fuel vehicles as defined in section 216C.01,
subdivision 1b. Failure to offer a model is not a violation of this section if the failure is not
arbitrary and is due to a lack of manufacturing capacity, a strike, labor difficulty, or other
cause over which the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch has no control;

(n) require a dealer to pay an extra fee, or remodel, renovate, or recondition the dealer's
existing facilities, or purchase unreasonable advertising displays, training, tools, or other
materials, or to require the dealer to establish exclusive facilities or dedicated personnel as
a prerequisite to receiving a model or a series of vehicles;

(o) require a dealer by program, incentive provision, or otherwise to adhere to
performance standards that are not applied uniformly to other similarly situated dealers.

A performance standard, sales objective, or program for measuring dealership performance
that may have a material effect on a dealer, including the dealer's right to payment under

any incentive or reimbursement program, and the application of the standard or program

by a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch must be fair, reasonable, equitable, and
based on accurate information. Upon written request by any of its franchised dealers located
within Minnesota, a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch must provide the method

or formula used by the manufacturer in establishing the sales volumes for receiving a rebate
or incentive and the specific calculations for determining the required sales volumes of the
inquiring dealer and any of the manufacturer's other Minnesota-franchised new motor vehicle
dealers of the same line-make located within 75 miles of the inquiring dealer. Nothing
contained in this section requires a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch to disclose
confidential business information of any of its franchised dealers or the required numerical
sales volumes that any of its franchised dealers must attain to receive a rebate or incentive.
An inquiring dealer may file a civil action as provided in section 80E.17 without a showing
of injury if a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch fails to make the disclosure required
by this section.

A manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch has the burden of proving that the performance
standard, sales objective, or program for measuring dealership performance is fair, reasonable,
and uniformly applied under this section;

(p) assign or change a dealer's area of sales effectiveness arbitrarily or without due regard
to the present pattern of motor vehicle sales and registrations within the dealer's market.
The manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch must provide at least 90 days' notice of the
proposed change. The change may not take effect if the dealer commences a civil action
within the 90 days' notice period to determine whether the manufacturer, distributor, or
factory branch met its obligations under this section. The burden of proof in such an action
shall be on the manufacturer or distributor. In determining at the evidentiary hearing whether
a manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch has assigned or changed the dealer's area of
sales effectiveness or is proposing to assign or change the dealer's area of sales effectiveness
arbitrarily or without due regard to the present pattern of motor vehicle sales and registrations
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within the dealer's market, the court may take into consideration the relevant circumstances,
including, but not limited to:

(1) the traffic patterns between consumers and the same line-make franchised dealers
of the affected manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch who are located within the
market;

(2) the pattern of new vehicle sales and registrations of the affected manufacturer,
distributor, or factory branch within various portions of the area of sales effectiveness and
within the market as a whole;

(3) the growth or decline in population, density of population, and new car registrations
in the market;

(4) the presence or absence of natural geographical obstacles or boundaries, such as
rivers;

(5) the proximity of census tracts or other geographic units used by the affected
manufacturer, factory branch, distributor, or distributor branch in determining the same
line-make dealers' respective areas of sales effectiveness; and

(6) the reasonableness of the change or proposed change to the dealer's area of sales
effectiveness, considering the benefits and harm to the petitioning dealer, other same
line-make dealers, and the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch;

(q) to charge back, withhold payment, deny vehicle allocation, or take any other adverse
action against a dealer when a new vehicle sold by the dealer has been exported to a foreign
country, unless the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch can show that at the time
of sale, the customer's information was listed on a known or suspected exporter list made
available to the dealer, or the dealer knew or reasonably should have known of the purchaser's
intention to export or resell the motor vehicle in violation of the manufacturer's export
policy. There is a rebuttable presumption that the dealer did not know or should not have
reasonably known that the vehicle would be exported or resold in violation of the
manufacturer's export policy if the vehicle is titled and registered in any state of the United
States; et

(r) to implement a charge back or withhold payment to a dealer that is solely due to an
unreasonable delay by the registrar, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 29, in the
transfer or registration of a new motor vehicle. The dealer must give the manufacturer notice
of the state's delay in writing. Within 30 days of any notice of a charge back, withholding
of payments, or denial of a claim, the dealer must transmit to the manufacturer: (1)
documentation to demonstrate the vehicle sale and delivery as reported; and (2) a written
attestation signed by the dealer operator or general manager stating that the delay is
attributable to the state. This clause expires on June 30, 2022; or

1) (s) to require a dealer or prospective dealer by program, incentive provision, or
otherwise to construct improvements to its or a predecessor's facilities or to install new signs
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within the dealer's market, the court may take into consideration the relevant circumstances,
including, but not limited to:

(1) the traffic patterns between consumers and the same line-make franchised dealers
of the affected manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch who are located within the
market;

(2) the pattern of new vehicle sales and registrations of the affected manufacturer,
distributor, or factory branch within various portions of the area of sales effectiveness and
within the market as a whole;

(3) the growth or decline in population, density of population, and new car registrations
in the market;

(4) the presence or absence of natural geographical obstacles or boundaries, such as
rivers;

(5) the proximity of census tracts or other geographic units used by the affected
manufacturer, factory branch, distributor, or distributor branch in determining the same
line-make dealers' respective areas of sales effectiveness; and

(6) the reasonableness of the change or proposed change to the dealer's area of sales
effectiveness, considering the benefits and harm to the petitioning dealer, other same
line-make dealers, and the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch;

(q) to charge back, withhold payment, deny vehicle allocation, or take any other adverse
action against a dealer when a new vehicle sold by the dealer has been exported to a foreign
country, unless the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch can show that at the time
of sale, the customer's information was listed on a known or suspected exporter list made
available to the dealer, or the dealer knew or reasonably should have known of the purchaser's
intention to export or resell the motor vehicle in violation of the manufacturer's export
policy. There is a rebuttable presumption that the dealer did not know or should not have
reasonably known that the vehicle would be exported or resold in violation of the
manufacturer's export policy if the vehicle is titled and registered in any state of the United
States; et

(r) to implement a charge back or withhold payment to a dealer that is solely due to an
unreasonable delay by the registrar, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 29, in the
transfer or registration of a new motor vehicle. The dealer must give the manufacturer notice
of the state's delay in writing. Within 30 days of any notice of a charge back, withholding
of payments, or denial of a claim, the dealer must transmit to the manufacturer (1)
documentation to demonstrate the vehicle sale and delivery as reported, and (2) a written
attestation signed by the dealer operator or general manager stating that the delay is
attributable to the state. This clause expires on June 30, 2022; or

1) (s) to require a dealer or prospective dealer by program, incentive provision, or
otherwise to construct improvements to its or a predecessor's facilities or to install new signs
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or other franchisor image elements that replace or substantially alter improvements, signs,
or franchisor image elements completed within the preceding ten years that were required
and approved by the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch, including any such
improvements, signs, or franchisor image elements that were required as a condition of the
dealer or predecessor dealer receiving an incentive or other compensation from the
manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch.

This paragraph shall not apply to a program or agreement that provides lump sum payments
to assist dealers in making facility improvements or to pay for signs or franchisor image
elements when such payments are not dependent on the dealer selling or purchasing specific
numbers of new vehicles and shall not apply to a program that is in effect with more than
one Minnesota dealer on August 1, 2018, nor to any renewal of such program, nor to a
modification that is not a substantial modification of a material term or condition of such
program.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.02, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

> D

section 169.011, subdivision 9.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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or other franchisor image elements that replace or substantially alter improvements, signs,
or franchisor image elements completed within the preceding ten years that were required
and approved by the manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch, including any such
improvements, signs, or franchisor image elements that were required as a condition of the
dealer or predecessor dealer receiving an incentive or other compensation from the
manufacturer, distributor, or factory branch.

This paragraph shall not apply to a program or agreement that provides lump sum payments
to assist dealers in making facility improvements or to pay for signs or franchisor image
elements when such payments are not dependent on the dealer selling or purchasing specific
numbers of new vehicles and shall not apply to a program that is in effect with more than
one Minnesota dealer on August 1, 2018, nor to any renewal of such program, nor to a
modification that is not a substantial modification of a material term or condition of such
program.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.262, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Bikeways; powers and duties; design guidelines. (a) The legislature
determines that it is in the interests of the public health, safety and welfare, to provide for
the addition of bikeways to proposed and existing public highways. The commissioner of
transportation is authorized to plan, design, establish, and maintain bikeways on the
right-of-way of any trunk highway. The commissioner is responsible for the design and
construction of all bikeway projects within the right-of-way of any trunk highway. The
commissioner must consider the development of bikeways during the planning, design,
construction, reconstruction, or improvement of any trunk highway, or allow the
establishment of such bikeways within trunk highway right-of-way.

(b) The commissioner must maintain bikeway design guidelines consistent with the state
transportation goals in section 174.01.

(c) The commissioner must compile and maintain a map of bikeways in the state and
must publish and distribute the map's information at least once every two years in a form
and manner suitable to assist persons wishing to use the bikeways.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



66.30

66.31
66.32
66.33
67.1
67.2
67.3
67.4

67.5
67.6

67.7
67.8
67.9
67.10

67.11
67.12

67.13
67.14

67.15
67.16

67.17
67.18

67.19
67.20
67.21
67.22
67.23

67.24
67.25
67.26

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.262, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Cooperation among agencies and governments; assistance. (a) The
departments and agencies on the renmeterized active transportation advisory committee
identified in section 174.37 must provide information and advice for the bikeway design
guidelines maintained by the commissioner of transportation. The commissioner may
cooperate with and enter into agreements with the United States government, any department
of the state of Minnesota, any unit of local government, any tribal government, or any public
or private corporation in order to effect the purposes of this section.

(b) The commissioner must provide technical assistance to local units of government

(1) local planning and development of bikeways;

(2) establishing connections to state bicycle routes; and

(3) implementing statewide bicycle plans maintained by the commissioner.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.263, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Powers of political subdivisions. (a) The governing body of any political
subdivision may by ordinance or resolution:

(1) designate any roadway or shoulder or portion thereof under its jurisdiction as a
bicycle lane or bicycle route;

(2) designate any sidewalk or portion thereof under its jurisdiction as a bicycle path
provided that the designation does not destroy a pedestrian way or pedestrian access;

(3) develop and designate bicycle paths;
(4) designate as bikeways all bicycle lanes, bicycle routes, and bicycle paths.

(b) A governing body may not prohibit or otherwise restrict operation of an
electric-assisted bicycle, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 27, on any bikeway,
roadway, or shoulder, unless the governing body determines that operation of the
electric-assisted bicycle is not consistent with (1) the safety or general welfare of bikeway,
roadway, or shoulder users; or (2) the terms of any property conveyance.

(c) When establishing a bikeway in a segment of public road right-of-way, a governing
body must place a high priority on preservation of existing disability parking that is
designated under section 169.346, subdivision 2.
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(d) The commissioner must maintain bikeways within the limits of trunk highway
right-of-way unless a written agreement or limited use permit provides otherwise.

(e) The commissioner must not spend any money from the trunk highway fund on
creating, constructing, expanding, marking, or maintaining bicycle lanes or routes.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.263, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Powers of political subdivisions. (a) The governing body of any political
subdivision may by ordinance or resolution:

(1) designate any roadway or shoulder or portion thereof under its jurisdiction as a
bicycle lane or bicycle route;

(2) designate any sidewalk or portion thereof under its jurisdiction as a bicycle path
provided that the designation does not destroy a pedestrian way or pedestrian access;

(3) develop and designate bicycle paths;
(4) designate as bikeways all bicycle lanes, bicycle routes, and bicycle paths.

(b) A governing body may not prohibit or otherwise restrict operation of an
electric-assisted bicycle, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 27, on any bikeway,
roadway, or shoulder, unless the governing body determines that operation of the
electric-assisted bicycle is not consistent with (1) the safety or general welfare of bikeway,
roadway, or shoulder users; or (2) the terms of any property conveyance.

(c) A governing body is prohibited from establishing a bikeway in a segment of public
road right-of-way that results in the elimination or relocation of any disability parking that
is designated under section 169.346, subdivision 2.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.266, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. State bicycle routes. The commissioner of transportation must identify state
bicycle routes primarily on existing road right-of-way and trails. State bicycle routes must
be identified in cooperation with road and trail authorities, including the commissioner of
natural resources, and with the advice of the advisory committee on nenmeterized active
transportation under section 174.37. In a metropolitan area, state bicycle routes must be
identified in coordination with the plans and priorities established by metropolitan planning
organizations, as defined in United States Code, title 23, section 134.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.266, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 7. Jim Oberstar Bikeway. The Jim Oberstar Bikeway must originate in the city
of St. Paul in Ramsey County, then proceed north and east to Duluth in St. Louis County,
then proceed north and east along the shore of Lake Superior through Grand Marais in Cook
County to Minnesota's boundary with Canada, and there terminate.
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32.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2019.

32.16 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.264, is amended to read:
32.17 160.264 REPLACING BIKEWAYS AND PEDESTRIAN WAYS.

32.18 Whenever an existing bikeway, pedestrian way, or roadway used by bicycles or
32.19 pedestrians or the sole access to such is destroyed by any new, reconstructed, or relocated
32.20 federal, state, or local highway, the road authority responsible shall replace the destroyed
32.21 facility or access with a comparable facility or access. Replacement is not required where
32.22 it would be contrary to public safety or when sparsity of population, other available ways
32.23  or other factors indicate an absence of need for such facility or access. Replacement is
32.24 prohibited where money from the trunk highway fund would be used for the replacement.

32.25 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.266, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

32.26 Subd. 5. Funding. (a) Shared use paths included within state bicycle routes and not
32.27 administered by the commissioner of natural resources are eligible for funding from the
32.28 environment and natural resources trust fund under chapter 116P, from the parks and trails
32.29 grant program under section 85.535, from the local recreation grants program under section
32.30 85.019, subdivision 4b, and from other sources.

33.1 (b) The commissioner must not spend any money from the trunk highway fund on
33.2  creating, constructing, expanding, marking, or maintaining a state bicycle route.

33.3  Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.93, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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334 Subdivision 1. Fees authorized. To improve efficiency and provide more options to
33.5  individuals traveling in a trunk highway corridor, the commissioner of transportation may
33.6  charge user fees to owners or operators of single-eeeupant low-occupancy vehicles using
33.7  dynamic shoulder lanes as designated by the commissioner and any designated

33.8  high-occupancy vehicle lanes. The fees may be collected using electronic or other

33.9  toll-collection methods and may vary in amount with the time of day and level of traffic
33.10 congestion within the corridor. The commissioner shall consult with the Metropolitan
33.11 Council and obtain necessary federal authorizations before implementing user fees on a
33.12  high-occupancy vehicle lane or dynamic shoulder lane. Fees under this section are not
33.13 subject to section 16A.1283.

33.14 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.93, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

33.15 Subd. 2. Deposit of revenues; appropriation. (a) Exeeptasprovidedinsubdivision

33.16 2a; Money collected from fees authorized under subdivision 1 must be deposited in a

33.17 high-occupancy vehicle lane user fee account in the special revenue fund. A separate account
33.18 must be established for each trunk highway corridor. Money in the account is appropriated
33.19 to the commissioner.

33.20 (b) From this appropriation the commissioner shall first:
33.21 (1) first, repay the trunk highway fund and any other fund source for money spent to

33.22  install, equip, or modify the corridor for the purposes of subdivision 1;-and-thenshal;

33.23 (2) second, pay all the costs of implementing and administering the fee collection system
33.24 for that corridors;

33.25 he-eomtnissioner shall-spend ematning moneytn-the-aecount asfoleows:

33.26 H-ene-halfmust-be-spent (3) third, pay for transportation capital improvements within
33.27 the corridor; and

33.28 (4) fourth, pay for maintenance of the corridor; and

33.29 2)one-halfmustbe-transferred (5) fifth, transfer any funds not spent according to clauses

33.30 (1) to (4) to the Metropolitan Council for expansion and improvement of bus transit services
34.1  within the corridor beyond the level of service provided on the date of implementation of
342 subdivision 1.

343  Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.93, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

344 Subd. 4. Prohibition. No person may operate a single-eeeupant low-occupancy vehicle
34.5  ina designated high-occupancy vehicle lane or dynamic shoulder lane except in compliance
34.6  with the requirements of the-eemmissioner this section. A person who violates this

34.7  subdivision is guilty of a petty misdemeanor and is subject to sections 169.89, subdivisions
348 1,2,and 4, and 169.891 and any other provision of chapter 169 applicable to the commission
349  of a petty misdemeanor traffic offense.
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34.10 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.93, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

34.11 Subd. 5. Dynamic shoulder lanes. (a) The commissioner may designate dynamic

34.12  shoulder lanes on freeways. The commissioner may operate dynamic shoulder lanes as

34.13 priced lanes, general purpose lanes, high-occupancy vehicle lanes, or as shoulders as defined
34.14 insection 169.011, subdivision 74. The commissioner may prescribe the conditions under
34.15 which the lanes may be used.

34.16 (b) The commissioner may not operate a dynamic shoulder lane on marked Trunk
34.17 Highway 35W from its intersection with marked Trunk Highway 94 to its intersection with
34.18 marked Trunk Highway 62 as a general purpose lane. A dynamic shoulder lane along this
34.19 portion of marked Trunk Highway 35W may only be used by:

34.20 (1) a vehicle with more than one occupant;

34.21 (2) a single-oeeupant low-occupancy vehicle if the fee under subdivision 1 is paid;
34.22 (3) a transit bus providing public transit, as defined in section 174.22, subdivision 7;
3423 and

34.24 (4) an authorized emergency vehicle, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 3.
34.25 (c) The commissioner shall erect signs to indicate when the lanes may be used.

34.26 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.93, is amended by adding a subdivision to
34.27 read:

n

34.28 Subd. 6. Low-occupancy vehicle. For purposes of this section, a "low-occupancy vehicle
34.29 is a motor vehicle with an occupancy of one or two individuals.

35.1  Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to
352  read:

353 Subd. 7. Prohibition on use for bicycle lanes or routes. No money from the trunk
354  highway fund may be spent on creating, constructing, expanding, marking, or maintaining
35.5  Dbicycle lanes or routes. Money from the trunk highway fund must not be spent to convert
35.6  avehicle travel lane to a bicycle lane or route.

357 Sec. 17.[161.089] REPORT ON DEDICATED FUND EXPENDITURES.

35.8 By January 15 of each odd-numbered year, the commissioners of transportation and

35.9  public safety, in consultation with the commissioner of management and budget, must jointly
35.10 submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
35.11 with jurisdiction over transportation finance. The report must list detailed expenditures and
35.12  transfers from the trunk highway fund and highway user tax distribution fund for the previous
35.13  two fiscal years and must include information on the purpose of each expenditure.

68.12  Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.115, subdivision 46, is amended to read:
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Subd. 46. Route No. 115. Beginning at a point on Route No. H2 102 as herein established
in St. Paul thence extending in a southerly direction to a point on Route No. 1 southerly of
Wescott.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

Subd. 16. Eisenhower Memeorial Bridge of Valor. The bridge over the Mississippi
River at the city of Red Wlng, belng part of Leglslatlve Route No. 161 is hefeby—ﬂamed
&ﬂé des1gnated he'F 0 4 g o

ne-approy h A A atieon: as the "Elsenhower Brldge of Valor
Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark this
bridge and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 88. Corrections Officer Joseph Gomm Memorial Highway. That segment of
marked Trunk Highway 95 in West Lakeland Township, Bayport, and Oak Park Heights
from the intersection with marked Interstate Highway 94 to the intersection with marked
Trunk Highway 36 is designated "Corrections Officer Joseph Gomm Memorial Highway."
Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark this
highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 89. Tom Rukavina Memorial Bridge. The bridge on marked U.S. Highway 53
over a mining area easterly of 2nd Avenue West in the city of Virginia is designated as
"Tom Rukavina Memorial Bridge." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must
adopt a suitable design to mark this bridge and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 90. Captain Jeffrey Vollmer Memorial Highway. That segment of marked
Trunk Highway 25 from marked Trunk Highway 7 to Carver County State-Aid Highway
30 is designated as "Captain Jeffrey Vollmer Memorial Highway." Subject to section
161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect

appropriate signs.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 91. Richard J. Ames Memorial Highway. (a) The following route between the
city of Jordan and marked U.S. Highway 61 is designated as the "Richard J. Ames Memorial

Highway":
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Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

Subd. 16. Eisenhower Memorial Bridge of Valor. The bridge over the Mississippi
River at the city of Red Wing, being part of Legislative Route No. 161, is herebynamed
&ﬂé des1gnated the "Elsenhower Memorlal Brldge of Valor " Aﬂy—p-l-aqﬁes—er—s—tgﬂs

n-and-approved-by-th mmisstone ati .Sublecttosectlon
161 139 the commissioner must adopt a suitable de51gn to mark this bridge and erect

ap}grogrlate 51gns.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 89. Corrections Officer Joseph Gomm Memorial Highway. That segment of
marked Trunk Highway 95 in West Lakeland Township, Bayport, and Oak Park Heights
from the intersection with signed Interstate Highway 94 to the intersection with marked
Trunk Highway 36 is designated "Corrections Officer Joseph Gomm Memorial Highway."
Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable design to mark this
highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 94. Tom Rukavina Memorial Bridge. The bridge on marked U.S. Highway 53
over a mining area easterly of 2nd Avenue West in the city of Virginia is designated as
"Tom Rukavina Memorial Bridge." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner shall
adopt a suitable design to mark this bridge and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 88. Captain Jeffrey Vollmer Memorial Highway. That segment of marked
Trunk Highway 25 from marked Trunk Highway 7 to Carver County Road 30 is designated
as "Captain Jeffrey Vollmer Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the
commissioner shall adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 91. Richard J. Ames Memorial Highway. (a) The following route between the
city of Jordan and marked U.S. Highway 61 shall be known as the "Richard J. Ames
Memorial Highway":
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Beginning at a point at the eastern city limits of Jordan; thence extending easterly along
marked Trunk Highway 282 to its junction with marked Trunk Highway 13; thence extending
northerly along marked Trunk Highway 13 to its junction with Eagle Creek Avenue in the
city limits of Prior Lake; thence extending easterly along Eagle Creek Avenue and 185th
Street East to its junction with Kenwood Trail and Dakota County State-Aid Highway 50;
thence extending easterly and southerly along Kenwood Trail and Dakota County State-Aid
Highway 50 to its junction with marked Trunk Highway 3 in the city limits of Farmington;
thence extending southerly along marked Trunk Highway 3 to its junction with marked
Trunk Highway 50; thence extending easterly along marked Trunk Highway 50 to its
terminus at its junction with marked Trunk Highway 20 and marked U.S. Highway 61 near
Miesville.

(b) Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark
this highway and erect appropriate signs on the trunk highway portions of the route, and
the local road authorities must erect appropriate signs on the local roadway portions of the
route, with the cost of the signs to be paid by nonpublic sources of funds.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 92. Kenneth E. Sellon and Eugene B. Schlotfeldt Memorial Highway. That
segment of marked Interstate Highway 94 from Sauk Centre to Alexandria is designated as
"Kenneth E. Sellon and Eugene B. Schlotfeldt Memorial Highway." Subject to section
161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect

appropriate signs.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 93. Ryane Clark Memorial Highway. That segment of marked Trunk Highway
23 in Kandiyohi County between New London and Spicer is designated as "Ryane Clark
Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable
design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.
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Beginning at a point at the eastern city limits of Jordan; thence extending easterly along
marked Trunk Highway 282 to its junction with marked Trunk Highway 13; thence extending
northerly along marked Trunk Highway 13 to its junction with Eagle Creek Avenue in the
city limits of Prior Lake; thence extending easterly along Eagle Creek Avenue and 185th
Street East to its junction with Kenwood Trail and Dakota County State-Aid Highway 50;
thence extending easterly and southerly along Kenwood Trail and Dakota County State-Aid
Highway 50 to its junction with marked Trunk Highway 3 in the city limits of Farmington;
thence extending southerly along marked Trunk Highway 3 to its junction with marked
Trunk Highway 50; thence extending easterly along marked Trunk Highway 50 to its
terminus at its junction with marked Trunk Highway 20 and marked U.S. Highway 61 near
Miesville.

(b) Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable design to mark
this highway and erect appropriate signs along U.S. and trunk highways. The appropriate
local road authority shall erect appropriate signs on local roads, once the local road authority
is assured of the availability of funds from nonstate sources as provided in section 161.139.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 90. Kenneth E. Sellon and Eugene B. Schlotfeldt Memorial Highway. That
segment of marked Interstate Highway 94 from Sauk Centre to Alexandria is designated as
"Kenneth E. Sellon and Eugene B. Schlotfeldt Memorial Highway." Subject to section
161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect

appropriate signs.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 92a. Specialist Noah Pierce Bridge. The bridge on marked Trunk Highway 37
over marked U.S. Highway 53 in the city of Eveleth is designated as "Specialist Noah Pierce
Bridge." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable design to mark
this bridge and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 92. Ryane Clark Memorial Highway. That segment of marked Trunk Highway
23 in Kandiyohi County between New London and Spicer is designated as "Ryane Clark
Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable
design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:
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37.15 Subd. 93. State Trooper Ray Krueger Memorial Highway. That segment of marked
37.16 Trunk Highway 210 within Cass County is designated as "State Trooper Ray Krueger

37.17 Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable
37.18 design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs in the vicinity of the location where
37.19  Trooper Krueger died.

37.26  Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to
37.27 read:

37.28 Subd. 95. Warrant Officer Dennis A. Groth Memorial Bridge. The bridge on marked
37.29 U.S. Highway 52 over Dakota County State-Aid Highway 42, known as 145th Street within
37.30 the city of Rosemount, is designated as "Warrant Officer Dennis A. Groth Memorial Bridge."
38.1  Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable design to mark the

38.2  bridge and erect appropriate signs.

38.3  Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.162, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

384 Subd. 2. Final layout. (a) "Final layout" means geometric layouts and supplemental

38.5  drawings that show the location, character, dimensions, access, and explanatory information
38.6  about the highway construction or improvement work being proposed. "Final layout"

38.7 includes, where applicable, traffic lanes, shoulders, trails, intersections, signals, bridges,

38.8  approximate right-of-way limits, existing ground line and proposed grade line of the highway,
38.9  turn lanes, access points and closures, sidewalks, proposed design speed, noise walls, transit
38.10 considerations, auxiliary lanes, interchange locations, interchange types, sensitive areas,

38.11 existing right-of-way, traffic volume and turning movements, location of storm water

38.12 drainage, location of municipal utilities, project timeline, project schedule and estimated
38.13  cost, detour routes, and the name of the project manager.

38.14 (b) "Final layout" does not include a cost participation agreement. For purposes of this
38.15 subdivision "cost participation agreement" means a document signed by the commissioner
38.16 and the governing body of a municipality that states the costs of a highway construction
38.17 project that will be paid by the municipality.

38.18 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.164, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

38.19 Subd. 3. Appeal board. (a) Within 30 days after referral of the final layout, the appeal
38.20 board shall hold a hearing at which the commissioner and the governing body may present

38.21 the case for or against approval of the final layout referred. Not later than 60 days after the

38.22  hearing, the appeal board shall recommend approval, recommend approval with

38.23 modifications, or recommend disapproval of the final layout, making additional

38.24 recommendations consistent with state and federal requirements as it deems appropriate. It

38.25 shall submit a written report containing its findings and recommendations to the

38.26 commissioner and the governing body.

38.27 (b) If the municipality does not approve the final layout of a project because a substantial
38.28 portion of the road has at least two years of remaining service life and therefore the project
38.29 would be premature, then the appeal board must make a determination of whether a
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38.30 substantial portion of the road has more or less than two years of remaining service life.
38.31 The board must consider evidence presented by the municipality and the department in
38.32  making the determination. The length of remaining service life is calculated beginning on
38.33 the start date of construction on the project.

39.1  Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.166, is amended by adding a subdivision
39.2  toread:

39.3 Subd. 3a. Local cost share. If a project with a final layout approved by the appeal board
39.4  proceeds pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3, notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the
39.5  municipality must not be required to pay any portion of the project cost if:

39.6 (1) the municipality did not approve the final layout because a substantial portion of the
39.7  road has at least two years of remaining service life and therefore the project would be

39.8  premature; and

39.9 (2) the appeal board determined that a substantial portion of the road has at least two
39.10 years of remaining service life.

39.11  Sec. 31.[161.1675] SERVICE LIFE OF ROAD REVIEW; DETOUR ROUTE
39.12 REVIEW.

39.13 Subdivision 1. Service life of road review. Before proceeding with a project in a statutory
39.14 or home rule charter city that is not subject to sections 161.162 to 161.167, the commissioner
39.15 must submit the proposed project timeline to the city council. If the city objects to the

39.16 timeline for the project because a substantial portion of the road at issue has at least two

39.17 years of remaining service life and the project would therefore be premature, the city may

39.18 appeal the timeline to an appeal board as established in section 161.164. The appeal board
39.19 must make a determination as provided in section 161.164, subdivision 3, paragraph (b). If
39.20 the appeal board determines that the road has at least two years of remaining service life,

39.21 the city must not be required to pay any portion of the project cost notwithstanding any law

39.22  to the contrary.

39.23 Subd. 2. Detour route review. Before proceeding with a project in a statutory or home
39.24 rule charter city that is not subject to sections 161.162 to 161.167, the commissioner must
39.25 submit the proposed detour routes to the city council. If the city objects to the detour routes,
39.26 the city may appeal the detour routes to an appeal board as established in section 161.164.
39.27 The city must submit an alternate detour route or routes as part of the appeal. The appeal
39.28 board must determine the detour route that will be used. The department and the city must
39.29 abide by the board's selected detour route.

70.15  Sec. 17.[161.369] INDIAN EMPLOYMENT PREFERENCE.

70.16 As authorized by United States Code, title 23, section 140(d), the commissioner of
70.17  transportation may implement an Indian employment preference for members of federally
70.18  recognized tribes on projects carried out under United States Code, title 23, on or near an
70.19 Indian reservation. For purposes of this section, a project is near a reservation if (1) the
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project is within the distance a person seeking employment could reasonably be expected
to commute to and from each work day, or (2) the commissioner, in consultation with
federally recognized Minnesota tribes, determines a project is near an Indian reservation.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.45, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Relocation of utility. Whenever the relocation of any utility facility is
necessitated by the construction of a project on a trunk highway reutes-other-than-these
deseribedinseetion 16146, subdivision2 route, the relocation work may be made a part
of the state highway construction contract or let as a separate contract as provided by law
if the owner or operator of the facility requests the commissioner to act as its agent for the
purpose of relocating the facilities and if the commissioner determines that such action is
in the best interests of the state. Payment by the utility owner or operator to the state shall
be in accordance with applicable statutes and the rules for utilities on trunk highways.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.46, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Relocation of facilities; reimbursement. (a) Whenever the commissioner shall
determine the relocation of any utility facility is necessitated by the construction of a project
on the routes of federally aided state trunk highways, including urban extensions thereof,
which routes are included within the National System of Interstate Highways, the owner or
operator of such utility facility shall relocate the same in accordance with the order of the
commissioner. After the completion of such relocation the cost thereof shall be ascertained
and paid by the state out of trunk highway funds; provided, however, the amount to be paid
by the state for such reimbursement shall not exceed the amount on which the federal
government bases its reimbursement for said interstate system.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), any utility facility installed after August 1, 2019, is
not eligible for relocation reimbursement.
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Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.002, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Farm truck. (a) "Farm truck" means all single-unit trucks, pickup trucks,
truck-tractors, tractors, semitrailers, and trailers used by the owner thereof to transport
agricultural, horticultural, dairy, and other farm products, including livestock, produced or
finished by the owner of the truck, and any other personal property owned by the farmer to
whom the license for the truck is issued, from the farm to market, and to transport property
and supplies to the farm of the owner. Trucks, pickup trucks, truck-tractors, tractors,
semitrailers, and trailers registered as "farm trucks" may be used by the owner thereof to
occasionally transport unprocessed and raw farm products, not produced by the owner of
the truck, from the place of production to market when the transportation constitutes the
first haul of the products, and may be used by the owner thereof, either farmer or logger
who harvests and hauls forest products only, to transport logs, pulpwood, lumber, chips,
railroad ties and other raw and unfinished forest products from the place of production to
an intermediate or final assembly point or transfer yard or railhead, which transportation
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Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Passenger automobile; hearse. (a) On passenger automobiles as defined in
section 168.002, subdivision 24, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the tax is $10
plus an additional tax equal to 1.25 percent of the base value.

(b) Subject to the classification provisions herein, "base value" means the manufacturer's
suggested retail price of the vehicle including destination charge using list price information
published by the manufacturer or determined by the registrar if no suggested retail price
exists, and shall not include the cost of each accessory or item of optional equipment
separately added to the vehicle and the suggested retail price. In the case of the first
registration of a new vehicle sold or leased by a licensed dealer, the dealer may elect to
individually determine the base value of the vehicle using suggested retail price information
provided by the manufacturer. The registrar must use the base value determined by the
dealer to properly classify the vehicle. A dealer that elects to make the determination must
retain a copy of the suggested retail price label or other supporting documentation with the
vehicle transaction records maintained under Minnesota Rules, part 7400.5200.

(c) If the manufacturer's list price information contains a single vehicle identification
number followed by various descriptions and suggested retail prices, the registrar shall
select from those listings only the lowest price for determining base value.

(d) If unable to determine the base value because the vehicle is specially constructed,
or for any other reason, the registrar may establish such value upon the cost price to the
purchaser or owner as evidenced by a certificate of cost but not including Minnesota sales
or use tax or any local sales or other local tax.

(e) The registrar shall classify every vehicle in its proper base value class as follows:
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may be continued by another farm truck to a place for final processing or manufacture
located within 200 miles of the place of production and all of which is deemed to constitute
the first haul of unfinished wood products; provided that the owner and operator of the
vehicle transporting planed lumber shall have in immediate possession a statement signed
by the producer of the lumber designating the governmental subdivision, section, and
township where the lumber was produced and that this haul, indicating the date, is the first
haul thereof. The licensed vehicles may also be used by the owner thereof to transport, to
and from timber-harvesting areas, equipment and appurtenances incidental to timber
harvesting, and gravel and other road-building materials for timber haul roads.

(b) "Farm trucks" shall also include only single-unit trucks that, because of their
construction, cannot be used for any other purpose and are used exclusively to transport
milk and cream en route from a farm to an assembly point or place for final manufacture,
and for transporting milk and cream from an assembly point to a place for final processing
or manufacture. This section shall not be construed to mean that the owner or operator of
the truck cannot carry on usual accommodation services for patrons on regular return trips,
such as butter, cream, cheese, and other dairy supplies.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Passenger automobile; hearse. (a) On passenger automobiles as defined in
section 168.002, subdivision 24, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the tax is $10
plus an additional tax equal to 1.25 percent of the base value.

(b) Subject to the classification provisions herein, "base value" means the manufacturer's
suggested retail price of the vehicle including destination charge using list price information
published by the manufacturer or determined by the registrar if no suggested retail price
exists, and shall not include the cost of each accessory or item of optional equipment
separately added to the vehicle and the suggested retail price. In the case of the first
registration of a new vehicle sold or leased by a licensed dealer, the dealer may elect to
individually determine the base value of the vehicle using suggested retail price information
provided by the manufacturer. The registrar must use the base value determined by the
dealer to properly classify the vehicle. A dealer that elects to make the determination must
retain a copy of the suggested retail price label or other supporting documentation with the
vehicle transaction records maintained under Minnesota Rules, part 7400.5200.

(c) If the manufacturer's list price information contains a single vehicle identification
number followed by various descriptions and suggested retail prices, the registrar shall
select from those listings only the lowest price for determining base value.

(d) If unable to determine the base value because the vehicle is specially constructed,
or for any other reason, the registrar may establish such value upon the cost price to the
purchaser or owner as evidenced by a certificate of cost but not including Minnesota sales
or use tax or any local sales or other local tax.

(e) The registrar shall classify every vehicle in its proper base value class as follows:
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FROM TO
$ 0 $199.99
$ 200 $399.99

and thereafter a series of classes successively set in brackets having a spread of $200
consisting of such number of classes as will permit classification of all vehicles.

(f) The base value for purposes of this section shall be the middle point between the
extremes of its class.

(g) The registrar shall establish the base value, when new, of every passenger automobile
and hearse registered prior to the effective date of Extra Session Laws 1971, chapter 31,
using list price information published by the manufacturer or any nationally recognized
firm or association compiling such data for the automotive industry. If unable to ascertain
the base value of any registered vehicle in the foregoing manner, the registrar may use any
other available source or method. The registrar shall calculate tax using base value
information available to dealers and deputy registrars at the time the application for
registration is submitted. The tax on all previously registered vehicles shall be computed
upon the base value thus determined taking into account the depreciation provisions of
paragraph (h).

(h) The annual additional tax must be computed upon a percentage of the base value as
follows: during the first year of vehicle life, upon 100 percent of the base value; for the
second year, 90 percent of such value; for the third year, 80 percent of such value; for the
fourth year, 70 percent of such value; for the fifth year, 60 percent of such value; for the
sixth year, 50 percent of such value; for the seventh year, 40 percent of such value; for the
eighth year, 30 percent of such value; for the ninth year, 20 percent of such value; for the
tenth year, ten percent of such value; for the 11th and each succeeding year, the sum of $25.

(i) In no event shall the annual additional tax be less than $25.

(j) For any vehicle previously registered in Minnesota and regardless of prior ownership,
the total amount due under this subdivision and subdivision 1m must not exceed the smallest
total amount previously paid or due on the vehicle.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Application; cancellation; excessive gross weight forbidden. (a) The applicant
for all licenses based on gross weight shall state the unloaded weight of the motor vehicle,
trailer, or semitrailer and the maximum load the applicant proposes to carry on it, the sum
of which constitutes the gross weight upon which the license tax must be paid. However,
the declared gross weight upon which the tax is paid must not be less than 1-1/4 times the
declared unloaded weight of the motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer to be registered, except
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and thereafter a series of classes successively set in brackets having a spread of $200
consisting of such number of classes as will permit classification of all vehicles.

() The base value for purposes of this section shall be the middle point between the
extremes of its class.

(g) The registrar shall establish the base value, when new, of every passenger automobile
and hearse registered prior to the effective date of Extra Session Laws 1971, chapter 31,
using list price information published by the manufacturer or any nationally recognized
firm or association compiling such data for the automotive industry. If unable to ascertain
the base value of any registered vehicle in the foregoing manner, the registrar may use any
other available source or method. The registrar shall calculate tax using base value
information available to dealers and deputy registrars at the time the application for
registration is submitted. The tax on all previously registered vehicles shall be computed
upon the base value thus determined taking into account the depreciation provisions of
paragraph (h).

(h) The annual additional tax must be computed upon a percentage of the base value as
follows: during the first year of vehicle life, upon 100 percent of the base value; for the
second year, 90 percent of such value; for the third year, 80 percent of such value; for the
fourth year, 70 percent of such value; for the fifth year, 60 percent of such value; for the
sixth year, 50 percent of such value; for the seventh year, 40 percent of such value; for the
eighth year, 30 percent of such value; for the ninth year, 20 percent of such value; for the
tenth year, ten percent of such value; for the 11th and each succeeding year, the sum of $25.

(i) In no event shall the annual additional tax be less than $25.

(j) For any vehicle previously registered in Minnesota and regardless of prior ownership,
the total amount due under this subdivision and subdivisten—+m subdivisions Im and In
must not exceed the smallest total amount previously paid or due on the vehicle.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.
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recreational vehicles taxed under subdivision 1g, school buses taxed under subdivision 18,
and tow trucks or towing vehicles defined in section 168B.011, subdivision 12a. The gross
weight of a tow truck or towing vehicle is the actual weight of the tow truck or towing
vehicle fully equipped, but does not include the weight of a wrecked or disabled vehicle
towed or drawn by the tow truck or towing vehicle.

(b) Except as provided by special permit issued under section 169.86, the gross weight
of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer must not exceed the gross weight upon which the
license tax has been paid by more than four percent or 1,000 pounds, whichever is greater;
provided that, a vehicle transporting unfinished forest products on a highway, other than a
highway that is part of the system of interstate and defense highways, unless a federal
exemption is granted, in accordance with paragraph (d)(3):

(1) shall not exceed its gross vehicle weight upon which the license tax has been paid,
or gross axle weight on any axle, by more than five percent and, notwithstanding other law
to the contrary, is not subject to any fee, fine, or other assessment or penalty for exceeding
a gross vehicle or axle weight by up to five percent. This clause applies year round to
suppliers of unfinished forest products to mills; and

2

5 is not subject to any provision of paragraph (d) or chapter 169 limiting the
gross axle weight of any individual axle unless the entire vehicle also exceeds its gross
vehicle weight plus its weight allowance allowed in clause (1) and plus any weight allowance
permitted under section 169.826, in which case the vehicle is subject to all applicable
penalties for excess weight violations.

(c) The gross weight of the motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer for which the license
tax is paid must be indicated by a distinctive character on the license plate or plates except
as provided in subdivision 12 or section 169.86, subdivision 5a, as applicable, and the plate
or plates must be kept clean and clearly visible at all times.

(d) The owner, driver, or user of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer, upon conviction
for transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for which it was registered or
for operating a vehicle with an axle weight exceeding the maximum lawful axle load weight,
is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to increased registration or reregistration according
to the following schedule:

(1) Upon conviction for transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for
which a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer is registered by more than the allowance set
forth in paragraph (b) but less than 25 percent, or for operating or using a motor vehicle,
trailer, or semitrailer with an axle weight exceeding the maximum lawful axle load as
provided in sections 169.822 to 169.829 by more than the allowance set forth in paragraph
(b) but less than 25 percent, the owner, driver, or user of the motor vehicle, trailer, or
semitrailer used to commit the violation, in addition to any penalty imposed for the
misdemeanor, shall apply to the registrar to increase the authorized gross weight to be carried
on the vehicle to a weight equal to or greater than the gross weight the owner, driver, or
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user was convicted of carrying. The increase is computed for the balance of the calendar
year on the basis of 1/12 of the annual tax for each month remaining in the calendar year
beginning with the first day of the month in which the violation occurred. If the additional
registration tax computed upon that weight, plus the tax already paid, amounts to more than
the regular tax for the maximum gross weight permitted for the vehicle under sections
169.822 to 169.829, that additional amount must nevertheless be paid into the highway
fund, but the additional tax thus paid does not authorize or permit any person to operate the
vehicle with a gross weight in excess of the maximum legal weight as provided by sections
169.822 to 169.829. Unless the owner within 30 days after a conviction applies to increase
the authorized weight and pays the additional tax as provided in this section, the registrar
shall revoke the registration on the vehicle and demand the return of the registration card
and plates issued on that registration.

(2) Upon conviction of an owner, driver, or user of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer
for transporting a gross weight in excess of the gross weight for which the motor vehicle,
trailer, or semitrailer was registered by 25 percent or more or for operating or using the
vehicle or trailer with an axle weight exceeding the maximum lawful axle load as provided
in sections 169.822 to 169.829 by 25 percent or more, and in addition to any penalty imposed
for the misdemeanor, the registrar shall either (i) cancel the reciprocity privileges on the
vehicle involved if the vehicle is being operated under reciprocity or (ii) if the vehicle is
not being operated under reciprocity, cancel the certificate of registration on the vehicle
operated and demand the return of the registration certificate and registration plates. The
registrar may not cancel the registration or reciprocity privileges for any vehicle found in
violation of seasonal load restrictions imposed under section 169.87 unless the axle weight
exceeds the year-round weight limit for the highway on which the violation occurred. The
registrar may investigate any allegation of gross weight violations and demand that the
operator show cause why all future operating privileges in the state should not be revoked
unless the additional tax assessed is paid.

(3) Clause (1) does not apply to the first haul of unprocessed or raw farm products or
unfinished forest products, when the registered gross weight is not exceeded by more than
ten percent. For purposes of this clause, "first haul" means (i) the first, continuous
transportation of unprocessed or raw farm products from the place of production or on-farm
storage site to any other location within 100 miles of the place of production or on-farm
storage site, or (ii) the continuous or noncontinuous transportation of unfinished forest
products from the place of production to the place of final processing or manufacture located
within 200 miles of the place of production.

(4) When the registration on a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer is revoked by the
registrar according to this section, the vehicle must not be operated on the highways of the
state until it is registered or reregistered, as the case may be, and new plates issued, and the
registration fee is the annual tax for the total gross weight of the vehicle at the time of
violation. The reregistration pursuant to this subdivision of any vehicle operating under
reciprocity agreements pursuant to section 168.181 or 168.187 must be at the full annual
registration fee without regard to the percentage of vehicle miles traveled in this state.
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Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Listing by dealers. The owner of every motor vehicle not exempted by section
168.012 or 168.28;shalt must, so long as it is subject to taxation within the state, annually
list and register the same and pay the tax hereinrprovided-annually under this section;
provided, however, that any dealer in motor vehicles, to whom dealer's plates have been
issued as provided in this chapter, coming into the possession of any-sueh a motor vehicle
to be held solely for the purpose of sale or demonstration or both, shatt-be is entitled to
withhold the tax due on the vehicle from the prior registration period or becoming due en
sueh-vehiele for the following year and no lien for registration tax as provided in section
168.31, subdivision 6, shall attach. When, thereafter, sueh the vehicle is otherwise used or
is sold, leased, or rented to another person, firm, corporation, or association, the tax for the
remainder of the year, prorated on a monthly basis, shal-beeeme becomes payable
immediately.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.10, subdivision 1h, is amended to read:

Subd. 1h. Collector military vehicle. (a) A motor vehicle, including a truck, shall be
listed and registered under this section if it meets the following conditions:

(1) it is at least 20 years old;

(2) its first owner following its manufacture was a branch of the armed forces of the
United States and it presently conforms to the vehicle specifications required during the
time of military ownership, or it has been restored and presently conforms to the
specifications required by a branch of the armed forces for the model year that the restored
vehicle could have been owned by that branch of the armed forces; and

(3) it is owned by a nonprofit organization and operated solely as a collector's vehicle.
For purposes of this subdivision, "nonprofit organization" means a corporation, society,
association, foundation, or institution organized and operated exclusively for historical or
educational purposes, no part of the net earnings of which inures to the benefit of a private
individual.

(b) The owner of the vehicle shall execute an affidavit stating the name and address of
the person from whom purchased and of the new owner; the make, year, and model number
of the motor vehicle; the manufacturer's identification number; and the collector military
vehicle identification number, if any, located on the exterior of the vehicle. The affidavit
must affirm that the vehicle is owned by a nonprofit organization and is operated solely as
a collector's item and not for general transportation purposes. If the commissioner is satisfied
that the affidavit is true and correct and the owner pays a $25 tax and the plate fee authorized
under section 168.12, the commissioner shall list the vehicle for taxation and registration
and shall issue number plates. The number plates shall bear the inscriptions "Collector" and
"Minnesota" and the registration number, but no date. The number plates are valid without
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Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.013, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Listing by dealers. The owner of every motor vehicle not exempted by section
168.012 or 168.28;shalt must, so long as it is subject to taxation within the state, annually
list and register the same and pay the tax hereinrprovided-annually under this section;
provided, however, that any dealer in motor vehicles, to whom dealer's plates have been
issued as provided in this chapter, coming into the possession of any-sueh a motor vehicle
to be held solely for the purpose of sale or demonstration or both, shatt-be is entitled to
withhold the tax due on the vehicle from the prior registration period or becoming due en
sueh-vehiele for the following year and no lien for registration tax as provided in section
168.31, subdivision 6, shall attach. When, thereafter, sueh the vehicle is otherwise used or
is sold, leased, or rented to another person, firm, corporation, or association, the tax for the
remainder of the year, prorated on a monthly basis, shal-beeeme becomes payable
immediately.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.10, subdivision 1h, is amended to read:

Subd. 1h. Collector military vehicle. (a) A motor vehicle, including a truck, shall be
listed and registered under this section if it meets the following conditions:

(1) it is at least 20 years old;

(2) its first owner following its manufacture was a branch of the armed forces of the
United States and it presently conforms to the vehicle specifications required during the
time of military ownership, or it has been restored and presently conforms to the
specifications required by a branch of the armed forces for the model year that the restored
vehicle could have been owned by that branch of the armed forces; and

(3) it is owned by a nonprofit organization and operated solely as a collector's vehicle.
For purposes of this subdivision, "nonprofit organization" means a corporation, society,
association, foundation, or institution organized and operated exclusively for historical or
educational purposes, no part of the net earnings of which inures to the benefit of a private
individual.

(b) The owner of the vehicle shall execute an affidavit stating the name and address of
the person from whom purchased and of the new owner; the make, year, and model number
of the motor vehicle; the manufacturer's identification number; and the collector military
vehicle identification number, if any, located on the exterior of the vehicle. The affidavit
must affirm that the vehicle is owned by a nonprofit organization and is operated solely as
a collector's item and not for general transportation purposes. If the commissioner is satisfied
that the affidavit is true and correct and the owner pays a $25 tax and the plate fee authorized
under section 168.12, the commissioner shall list the vehicle for taxation and registration
and shall issue number plates. The number plates shall bear the inscriptions "Collector" and
"Minnesota" and the registration number, but no date. The number plates are valid without

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



76.25
76.26

76.27
76.28
76.29
76.30
76.31
76.32
76.33

77.1
77.2
77.3

77.4
77.5
77.6

77.8
77.9

77.10
77.11
77.12
77.13
77.14
77.15

77.16

77.17
77.18
77.19

77.20
77.21
77.22
77.23

77.24
77.25
77.26

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

renewal as long as the vehicle is in existence in Minnesota. The commissioner may revoke
the plates for failure to comply with this subdivision.

(c) Notwithstanding section 168.09, 168.12, or other law to the contrary, the owner of
a registered collector military vehicle is not required to display registration plates on the
exterior of the vehicle if the vehicle has an exterior number identification that conforms to
the identifying system for military vehicles in effect when the vehicle was last owned by
the branch of the armed forces of the United States or in effect in the year to which the
collector military vehicle has been restored. However, the state registration plates must be
carried in or on the collector military vehicle at all times.

(d) The owner of a registered collector military vehicle that is not required to display
registration plates under paragraph (c) may tow a registered trailer behind it. The trailer is
not required to display registration plates if the trailer:

(1) does not exceed a gross weight of 15,000 pounds;

(2) otherwise conforms to registration, licensing, and safety laws and specifications;
(3) conforms to military specifications for appearance and identification;

(4) is intended to represent and does represent a military trailer; and

(5) carries registration plates on or in the trailer or the collector military vehicle towing
the trailer.

(e) This subdivision does not apply to a decommissioned military vehicle that (1) was
also manufactured and sold as a comparable civilian vehicle, and (2) has the same size
dimensions and vehicle weight as the comparable civilian vehicle. A decommissioned
military vehicle under this paragraph is eligible for a motor vehicle title under chapter 16§8A
and is subject to the same registration, insurance, equipment, and operating requirements
as a motor vehicle.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.123, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner of veterans affairs shall design the emblem for the
veterans' special plates, subject to the approval of the commissioner, that satisfy the following
requirements:

(a) For a Vietnam veteran who served after July 1, 1961, and before July 1, 1978, in the
active military service in a branch of the armed forces of the United States or a nation or
society allied with the United States the special plates must bear the inscription "VIETNAM
VET."

(b) For a veteran stationed on the island of Oahu, Hawaii, or offshore, during the attack
on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, the special plates must bear the inscription "PEARL
HARBOR SURVIVOR."
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renewal as long as the vehicle is in existence in Minnesota. The commissioner may revoke
the plates for failure to comply with this subdivision.

(c) Notwithstanding section 168.09, 168.12, or other law to the contrary, the owner of
a registered collector military vehicle is not required to display registration plates on the
exterior of the vehicle if the vehicle has an exterior number identification that conforms to
the identifying system for military vehicles in effect when the vehicle was last owned by
the branch of the armed forces of the United States or in effect in the year to which the
collector military vehicle has been restored. However, the state registration plates must be
carried in or on the collector military vehicle at all times.

(d) The owner of a registered collector military vehicle that is not required to display
registration plates under paragraph (c) may tow a registered trailer behind it. The trailer is
not required to display registration plates if the trailer:

(1) does not exceed a gross weight of 15,000 pounds;

(2) otherwise conforms to registration, licensing, and safety laws and specifications;
(3) conforms to military specifications for appearance and identification;

(4) is intended to represent and does represent a military trailer; and

(5) carries registration plates on or in the trailer or the collector military vehicle towing
the trailer.

(e) This subdivision does not apply to a decommissioned military vehicle that (1) was
also manufactured and sold as a comparable civilian vehicle, and (2) has the same size
dimensions and vehicle weight as the comparable civilian vehicle. A decommissioned
military vehicle under this paragraph is eligible for a motor vehicle title under chapter 168A
and is subject to the same registration, insurance, equipment, and operating requirements
as a motor vehicle.
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(c) For a veteran who served during World War I1, the plates must bear the inscription
"WORLD WAR VET."

(d) For a veteran who served during the Korean Conflict, the special plates must bear
the inscription "KOREAN VET."

(e) For a combat wounded veteran who is a recipient of the Purple Heart medal, the
plates must bear the inscription "COMBAT WOUNDED VET" and have a facsimile or an
emblem of the official Purple Heart medal.

A member of the United States armed forces who is serving actively in the military and
who is a recipient of the Purple Heart medal is also eligible for this license plate. The
commissioner of public safety shall ensure that information regarding the required proof of
eligibility for any applicant under this paragraph who has not yet been issued military
discharge papers is distributed to the public officials responsible for administering this
section.

(f) For a Persian Gulf War veteran, the plates must bear the inscription "GULF WAR
VET." For the purposes of this section, "Persian Gulf War veteran" means a person who
served on active duty after August 1, 1990, in a branch of the armed forces of the United
States or a nation or society allied with the United States or the United Nations during
Operation Desert Shield, Operation Desert Storm, or other military operation in the Persian
Gulf area combat zone as designated in United States Presidential Executive Order No.
12744, dated January 21, 1991.

(g) For a veteran who served in the Laos War after July 1, 1961, and before July 1, 1978,
the special plates must bear the inscription "LAOS WAR VET."

(h) For a veteran who is the recipient of:

(1) the Iraq Campaign Medal, the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of
that medal and must bear the inscription "IRAQ WAR VET" directly below the special
plate number;

(2) the Afghanistan Campaign Medal, the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile
of that medal and must bear the inscription "AFGHAN WAR VET" directly below the
special plate number;

(3) the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, the special plates must be
inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the inscription "GWOT VETERAN"
directly below the special plate number; or

(4) the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, the special plates must bear an appropriate
inscription that includes a facsimile of that medal.

(i) For a veteran who is the recipient of the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal,
the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the
inscription "GWOT VETERAN" directly below the special plate number. In addition, any
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member of the National Guard or other military reserves who has been ordered to federally
funded state active service under United States Code, title 32, as defined in section 190.05,
subdivision 5b, and who is the recipient of the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, is
eligible for the license plate described in this paragraph, irrespective of whether that person
qualifies as a veteran under section 197.447.

(j) For a veteran who is the recipient of the Korean Defense Service Medal, the special
plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the inscription
"KOREAN DEFENSE SERVICE" directly below the special plate number.

(k) For a veteran who is a recipient of the Bronze Star medal, the plates must bear the
inscription "BRONZE STAR VET" and have a facsimile or an emblem of the official Bronze
Star medal.

(1) For a veteran who is a recipient of the Silver Star medal, the plates must bear the
inscription "SILVER STAR VET" and have a facsimile or an emblem of the official Silver
Star medal.

(m) For a woman veteran, the plates must bear the inscription "WOMAN VETERAN"
and have a facsimile or an emblem as designated by the commissioners of veterans affairs
and public safety.

(n) For a veteran who served as a multinational peacekeeper in Beirut, Lebanon, between
August 1, 1982, and July 31, 1984, the plates must bear the inscription "MULTINATIONAL
PEACEKEEPERS BEIRUT, LEBANON."

Sec. 25. [168.1283] MINNESOTA AGRICULTURE PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Minnesota agriculture
special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;

(2) pays an additional fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5,
for each set of plates;

(3) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013, along with any other fees
required by this chapter;

(4) contributes a minimum of $20 annually to the Minnesota agriculture account; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, the commissioner
must adopt a suitable plate design that includes a depiction of lands and activity related to
agriculture.
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Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $3, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
if the subsequent vehicle is:

(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and

(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.

Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota agriculture account, which is
established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the
commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering
the account funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to (1) the Minnesota FFA
Foundation to support the mission of the foundation, and (2) the University of Minnesota
Extension Service to support Minnesota 4-H programming and activities. The commissioner
must annually consult with the Minnesota FFA Foundation and the University of Minnesota
Extension Service for recommendations regarding how to allocate funds.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, for Minnesota agriculture
special plates issued on or after that date.

Sec. 26. [168.1284] LIONS CLUBS INTERNATIONAL PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Lions Clubs International
special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;

(2) pays an additional fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5,
for each set of plates;

(3) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013, along with any other fees
required by this chapter;

(4) contributes a minimum of $25 upon initial application and $5 annually to the Lions
Clubs International account; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner must adopt a suitable plate design that includes the
recognized emblem of Lions Clubs International and the inscription "We Serve."
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Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $3, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
if the subsequent vehicle is:

(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and

(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.

Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
168.1293, subdivision 2.

Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Lions Clubs International account, which
is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the
commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering
the account funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to Lions Clubs International
to further the organization's mission of service, fellowship, diversity, integrity, and leadership.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, for Lions Clubs International
special plates issued on or after that date.

Sec. 27.[168.1285] ROTARY INTERNATIONAL PLATES.

Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner shall issue Rotary International
special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
truck, motorcycle, or recreational motor vehicle;

(2) pays an additional fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5,
for each set of plates;

(3) pays the registration tax required under section 168.013, along with any other fees
required by this chapter;

(4) contributes $25 upon initial application and a minimum of $5 annually to the Rotary
Foundation account; and

(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
licensing of drivers.

Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner shall adopt a suitable design for the plate that must
include the Rotary International symbol and the phrase "Service Above Self."

Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
fee of $5, special plates may be transferred to another qualified motor vehicle that is
registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.
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82.8 Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
82.9  168.1293, subdivision 2.
82.10 Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under

82.11 subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Rotary Foundation account, which is
82.12 established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the
82.13 commissioner of public safety. This appropriation must first pay for the annual cost of
82.14 administering the account funds, and the remaining funds must be distributed to Rotary
82.15 Foundation to further the rotary's mission of service, fellowship, diversity, integrity, and

82.16 leadership.

82.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, for Rotary International
82.18 special plates issued on or after that date.

4421 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.1294, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

4422 Subd. 6. Contributions; memorial account; appropriation. Contributions collected
4423 under subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota law enforcement

4424 memorial account, which is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account
44.25 is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual
44.26  cost of administering the account funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to the
4427 Minnesota Law Enforcement Memorial Association;te-be-tised. By August 15 of each year,
4428 the commissioner must distribute all funds remaining to the association. The association
44.29 must use the funds to further the mission of the association in assisting the families and

4430 home agencies of Minnesota law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty.
4431 By January 15 of each year, the association must report to the commissioner of public safety
4432 and to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
44.33  over transportation policy and finance. The report must include an itemized list of each

45.1  expenditure the association made with the funds received under this section for the previous

452  calendar year.

82.19 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to 453  Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to
82.20 read: 454  read:
82.21 Subd. 32. Multiple licenses. If a single legal entity holds more than one new or used 45.5 Subd. 32. Multiple licenses. If a single legal entity holds more than one new or used
82.22  vehicle dealer license, new and used vehicles owned by the entity may be held and offered 45.6  vehicle dealer license, new and used vehicles owned by the entity may be held and offered
82.23 for sale at any of the licensed dealership locations without assigning vehicle ownership or 45.7  for sale at any of the licensed dealership locations without assigning vehicle ownership or
82.24 title from one licensee to another. This subdivision does not authorize the sale or offering 45.8 title from one licensee to another. This subdivision does not authorize the sale or offering
82.25 for sale of new vehicles by a licensee that is not authorized by the manufacturer to sell that 45.9  for sale of new vehicles by a licensee that is not authorized by the manufacturer to sell that
82.26 make of new vehicles. 45.10 make of new vehicles.

45.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.
82.27 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to 45.12  Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to
82.28 read: 45.13 read:
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Subd. 33. Designated dealer title and registration liaison. The registrar must designate
by name and provide contact information for one or more registrar employees as needed to
(1) promptly and effectively respond to questions from licensed dealers, and (2) troubleshoot
dealer issues related to vehicle titling and registration.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.301, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Late fee. In addition to any fee or tax otherwise authorized or imposed upon
the transfer of title for a motor vehicle, the commissioner of public safety shall impose a
$2 additional fee for failure to deliver a title transfer within ten business days. This
subdivision does not apply to transfers from licensed vehicle dealers.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, or upon completion of the
necessary programming changes to the driver and vehicle services information system,
whichever is earlier.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.33, subdivision 8a, is amended to read:

Subd. 8a. Electronic transmission. (a) If the commissioner accepts electronic
transmission of a motor vehicle transfer and registration by a new or used motor vehicle
dealer, a deputy registrar who is equipped with electronic transmission technology and
trained in its use shall receive the filing fee provided for in subdivision 7 and review the
transfer of each new or used motor vehicle to determine its genuineness and regularity
before issuance of a certificate of title, and shall receive and retain the filing fee under
subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause i) (2).

(b) The commissioner must establish reasonable performance, security, technical, and
financial standards to approve companies that provide computer software and services to
motor vehicle dealers to electronically transmit vehicle title transfer and registration
information. An approved company must be offered access to department facilities, staff,
and technology on a fair and reasonable basis.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, or upon completion of the
necessary programming changes to the driver and vehicle services information system,
whichever is earlier.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.346, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Vehicle registration data; federal compliance. (a) Data on an individual
provided to register a vehicle shall be treated as provided by United States Code, title 18,
section 2721, as in effect on May 23, 2005, and shall be disclosed as required or permitted
by that section. Licensed dealers may obtain data for uses as permitted by United States
Code, title 18, section 2721, subsections (b)(2), for use in connection with matters of motor
vehicle or driver safety and theft, motor vehicle emissions, or motor vehicle product
alterations, recalls, or advisories, (3), and (13). The commissioner shall disclose the data in
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Subd. 33. Designated dealer title and registration liaison. The registrar must designate
by name and provide contact information for one or more registrar employees as needed to
(1) promptly and effectively respond to questions from licensed dealers, and (2) troubleshoot
dealer issues related to vehicle titling and registration.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.301, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Late fee. In addition to any fee or tax otherwise authorized or imposed upon
the transfer of title for a motor vehicle, the commissioner of public safety shall impose a
$2 additional fee for failure to deliver a title transfer within ten business days. This
subdivision does not apply to transfers from licensed vehicle dealers.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, or upon completion of the
necessary programming changes to the driver and vehicle services information system,
whichever is earlier.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168.33, subdivision 8a, is amended to read:

Subd. 8a. Electronic transmission. (a) If the commissioner accepts electronic
transmission of a motor vehicle transfer and registration by a new or used motor vehicle
dealer, a deputy registrar who is equipped with electronic transmission technology and
trained in its use shall receive the filing fee provided for in subdivision 7 and review the
transfer of each new or used motor vehicle to determine its genuineness and regularity
before issuance of a certificate of title, and shall receive and retain the filing fee under
subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause i) (2).

(b) The commissioner must establish reasonable performance, security, technical, and
financial standards to approve companies that provide computer software and services to
motor vehicle dealers to electronically transmit vehicle title transfer and registration
information. An approved company must be offered access to department facilities, staff,
and technology on a fair and reasonable basis.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.
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bulk form to an authorized recipient upon request for any of the permissible uses described
in United States Code, title 18, section 2721.

(b) The registered owner of a vehicle who is an individual may consent in writing to the
commissioner to disclose the individual's personal information exempted by United States
Code, title 18, section 2721, to any person who makes a written request for the personal
information. If the registered owner is an individual and so authorizes disclosure, the
commissioner shall implement the request.

(c) If authorized by the registered owner as indicated in paragraph (b), the registered
owner's personal information may be used, rented, or sold solely for bulk distribution by
organizations for business purposes including surveys, marketing, or solicitation.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Application for certificate of title. (a) Except as provided in section
168A.03, every owner of a vehicle which is in this state and for which no currently effective
certificate of title has been issued in this state shath-make-apphieation must apply to the
department for a certificate of title of the vehicle, pursuant to rules adopted by the department
under section 168A.24, subdivision 2, clause 3 (3).

(b) A decommissioned military vehicle that (1) was also manufactured and sold as a
comparable civilian vehicle, and (2) has the same size dimensions and vehicle weight as
the comparable civilian vehicle, is eligible for a certificate of title under this chapter.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.085, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3. Consular identification card. A valid and unexpired consular identification
card issued to the applicant by the recognized consulate of a jurisdiction other than the
United States is a primary document for purposes of Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0400, and
successor rules, when the applicant is an individual who is applying as the owner for a
vehicle title or registration.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies retroactively to motor vehicle title applications and registrations submitted on or
after October 1, 2018.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Application, issuance, form, bond, and notice. (a) In the event a
certificate of title is lost, stolen, mutilated, destroyed, or becomes illegible, the owner or
legal representative of the owner named in the certificate may submit an application to the
department or a deputy registrar for a duplicate in a format prescribed by the department.
The department or deputy registrar must issue a duplicate certificate of title if satisfied that
the applicant is entitled to the duplicate certificate of title. The duplicate certificate of title
must be plainly marked as a duplicate and mailed or delivered to the owner. The department
or deputy registrar must indicate in the driver and vehicle information system records that
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Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Application for certificate of title. (a) Except as provided in section
168A.03, every owner of a vehicle which is in this state and for which no currently effective
certificate of title has been issued in this state shath-make-apphieation must apply to the
department for a certificate of title of the vehicle, pursuant to rules adopted by the department
under section 168A.24, subdivision 2, clause 3 (3).

(b) A decommissioned military vehicle that (1) was also manufactured and sold as a
comparable civilian vehicle, and (2) has the same size dimensions and vehicle weight as
the comparable civilian vehicle, is eligible for a certificate of title under this chapter.
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a duplicate certificate of title has been issued. As a condition to issuing a duplicate certificate
of title, the department may require a bond from the applicant in the manner and format
prescribed in section 168A.07, subdivision 1, clause (2). The duplicate certificate of title
must contain the legend: "This duplicate certificate of title may be subject to the rights of

a person under the original certificate."

(b) Onrand-after-Aungust1;2648; The commissioner must allow duplicate certificate of

title issuance by a deputy registrar, subject to procedures established by the commissioner.
Such issuance is an expedited service, provided that the fee imposed is in the amount
specified under section 168.326, paragraph (b), for retention as provided in that paragraph.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Owner's interest terminated or vehicle sold by secured party. If the interest
of the owner is terminated or the vehicle is sold under a security agreement by a secured
party named in the certificate of title or an assignee of the secured party, the transferee shall
promptly mail or deliver to the department the last certificate of title, if available, an
application for a new certificate in the format the department prescribes, and an affidavit
made by or on behalf of the secured party or assignee that the interest of the owner was
lawfully terminated or the vehicle sold pursuant to the terms of the security agreement. If
the secured party or assignee succeeds to the interest of the owner and holds the vehicle for
resale, the secured party or assignee need not secure a new certificate of title provided that
a notice thereof in a format designated by the department is mailed or delivered by the
secured party or assignee to the department in duplicate within 48 hours, but upon transfer
to another person the secured party or assignee shall promptly execute assignment and
warranty of title and mail or deliver to the transferee or the department the certificate, if
available, the affidavit, and other documents required to be sent to the department by the
transferee.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.17, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 4. Notice of perfection by dealer. When a security interest in a vehicle sold by
a dealer licensed under section 168.27 is perfected under subdivision 2, the dealer may
provide a statement of perfection to the secured party on a form provided by the department.
The statement must certify compliance with subdivision 2 and contain the date of delivery
to the department. The information provided in the dealer's statement is considered prima
facie evidence of the facts contained in it.

Sec. 38. [168A.241] DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES EXECUTIVE STEERING
COMMITTEE.
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Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Owner's interest terminated or vehicle sold by secured party. If the interest
of the owner is terminated or the vehicle is sold under a security agreement by a secured
party named in the certificate of title or an assignee of the secured party, the transferee shall
promptly mail or deliver to the department the last certificate of title, if available, an
application for a new certificate in the format the department prescribes, and an affidavit
made by or on behalf of the secured party or assignee that the interest of the owner was
lawfully terminated or the vehicle sold pursuant to the terms of the security agreement. If
the secured party or assignee succeeds to the interest of the owner and holds the vehicle for
resale, the secured party or assignee need not secure a new certificate of title provided that
a notice thereof in a format designated by the department is mailed or delivered by the
secured party or assignee to the department in duplicate within 48 hours, but upon transfer
to another person the secured party or assignee shall promptly execute assignment and
warranty of title and mail or deliver to the transferee or the department the certificate, if
available, the affidavit, and other documents required to be sent to the department by the
transferee.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 168A.17, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 4. Notice of perfection by dealer. When a security interest in a vehicle sold by
a dealer licensed under section 168.27 is perfected under subdivision 2, the dealer may
provide a statement of perfection to the secured party on a form provided by the department.
The statement must certify compliance with subdivision 2 and contain the date of delivery
to the department. The information provided in the dealer's statement is considered prima
facie evidence of the facts contained in it.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.

Sec. 46. [168A.241] DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES EXECUTIVE STEERING
COMMITTEE.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



86.11
86.12

86.13
86.14
86.15
86.16

86.17
86.18

86.19
86.20

86.21
86.22

86.23

86.24
86.25

86.26

86.27

86.28
86.29

86.30

87.1
87.2

87.3
87.4
87.5

87.6
87.7

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "committee" means the Driver
and Vehicle Services Executive Steering Committee established in this section.

Subd. 2. Establishment; purpose. A Driver and Vehicle Services Executive Steering
Committee is established in the Department of Public Safety. The purpose of the committee
is to provide input within the governance structure for the driver and vehicle services
information system on matters relevant to:

(1) effective and efficient systems relating to the licensing of drivers, and the ownership,
transfer, and registration of motor vehicles;

(2) planning and implementing future changes and enhancements to driver and vehicle
services information systems; and

(3) proposed legislation related to the areas identified in clauses (1) and (2), including
but not limited to business processes and distribution of work.

Subd. 3. Members. (a) The committee consists of:

(1) four senior leaders or appointees from the Department of Public Safety Driver and
Vehicle Services Division;

(2) one senior leader or appointee from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension;

(3) two senior leaders or appointees from the Minnesota Automobile Dealers Association;

(4) one senior leader or appointee from the Northland Independent Automobile Dealers
Association;

(5) four senior leaders or appointees from the Minnesota Deputy Registrars Association;

(6) two senior leaders or appointees from the Minnesota Deputy Registrar Business
Owners Association; and

(7) one representative who performs auctions exclusively for dealers licensed under
section 168.27 and not for the general public, appointed by the commissioner following
consultation with eligible auto auctions.

(b) Section 15.059 governs the committee, except that committee members must not
receive compensation for serving on the committee.
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47.15 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "committee" means the Driver
47.16 and Vehicle Services Executive Steering Committee established in this section.

47.17 Subd. 2. Members. The committee consists of 22 members, appointed as follows:

47.18 (1) five members appointed by the commissioner of public safety who are employees
47.19  who work in the Driver and Vehicle Services Division;

47.20 (2) five members appointed by the chief information officer who are employees who
4721  work in the Office of MN.IT Services, which must include leadership staff for the driver
47.22 and vehicle services information system;

47.23 (3) two members appointed by the executive director of the Minnesota Automobile
47.24 Dealers Association;

47.25 (4) one member appointed by the executive director of the Northland Independent
47.26  Automobile Dealer Association;

47.30 (6) six members appointed by the board of directors of the Minnesota Deputy Registrars
4731 Association; and

48.1 (7) two members appointed by the board of directors of the Minnesota Deputy Registrar
432 Business Owners Association.

47.27 (5) one member who performs auctions exclusively for dealers licensed under section
47.28 168.27 and not for the general public, appointed by the commissioner following consultation
47.29  with eligible auto auctions;

483 Subd. 3. Terms; vacancies. Section 15.059 governs the committee, except that committee
48.4  members must not receive compensation for serving on the committee.
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Subd. 4. Meetings. (a) The committee must meet at least two times per year.

(b) The committee is subject to chapter 13D.

Subd. 5. Staff. The commissioner must provide support staff, office space, and
administrative services for the committee.

Subd. 6. Duties. The committee's duties include but are not limited to:

(1) serving in an advisory capacity to the commissioner of public safety and the director
of driver and vehicle services on matters relevant to oversight and accountability of projects
within driver and vehicle services that impact the information systems used to issue
identification cards and motor vehicle titles and registrations by:

(i) creating working groups to encourage participation with stakeholders and driver and
vehicle services staff on information system changes used for the issuance of identification
cards and motor vehicle titles and registrations; and

(ii) reviewing status reports from independent verification and validation services for
projects and audits that impact driver and vehicle services information systems; and

(2) reviewing and making recommendations with respect to work plans, policy initiatives,
major activities, and strategic planning, with regard to the issuance of identification cards
and providing motor vehicle title and registration services.

Subd. 7. Report and recommendations. By February 15 annually, the commissioner
must submit a report to the chairs, ranking minority members, and staff of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over driver and vehicle services that summarizes the committee's
activities, issues identified by the committee, methods taken to address the issues, and
recommendations for legislative action, if needed.
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Subd. 4. Chair. The committee must elect a chair from among its members. The chair
serves for a term of four years and may not serve more than two full consecutive terms. If
a chair ceases to be a member of the committee, the committee shall select a chair to serve
the remainder of the vacated term and that partial term shall not count toward the chair's
term limit.

Subd. 5. Meetings. (a) The chair must convene the committee at least two times per
ear.

(b) The committee is subject to chapter 13D. A committee meeting occurs when a quorum
is present and the members receive information, discuss, or take action on any matter relating
to the committee's duties. The committee may conduct meetings as provided in section
13D.015 or 13D.02. The committee may conduct meetings at any location in the state that
is appropriate for the purposes of the committee, provided the location is open and accessible
to the public. Enforcement of this paragraph is governed by section 13D.06, subdivisions
1 and 2.

Subd. 6. Administrative support. The commissioner must provide support staft, office
space, and administrative services for the committee.

Subd. 7. Duties. The committee's duties include, but are not limited to:

(1) serving in an advisory capacity to the commissioner of public safety and the director
of driver and vehicle services on matters relevant to oversight and accountability of projects
within driver and vehicle services that impact the information systems used to issue
identification cards and motor vehicle titles and registrations by reviewing status reports
from Independent Verification and Validation (IV&V) services for projects and audits that
impact driver and vehicle services information systems;

(2) reviewing and making recommendations with respect to work plans, policy initiatives,
major activities, and strategic planning, with regard to the issuance of identification cards
and providing motor vehicle title and registration services; and

(3) reviewing and making recommendations on information system changes used for
the issuance of identification cards and motor vehicle titles and registrations.

Subd. 8. Report and recommendations. By February 15 each year, the commissioner
must submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees in the house of
representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over motor vehicle title and registration a
report that summarizes the committee's activities in the previous calendar year, the issues
identified by the committee, methods taken or suggested to address the issues, and
recommendations for legislative action, if needed. The report must include draft legislation
to implement recommended legislative action.
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Subd. 8. Expiration. The committee expires June 30, 2026.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3b. Automated driving system. "Automated driving system" means hardware
and software that allow a motor vehicle to perform all the functions of a human driver within
the conditions for which the system is designed.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Bicycle lane. "Bicycle lane" means a portion of a roadway ersheulder designed
for exclusive or preferential use by persons using bicycles. Bicycle lanes are to be
distinguished from the portion of the roadway ersheulder used for motor vehicle traffic by
physical barrier, striping, marking, or other similar device.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Bikeway. "Bikeway" means a bicycle lane, bicycle path, et bicycle route, shared
use path, or similar bicycle facility, regardless of whether it is designed for the exclusive
use of bicycles or is-te-be for shared use with other transportation modes.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 29a. Federal motor vehicle safety standards automated vehicle
exemption. "Federal motor vehicle safety standards automated vehicle exemption" means
an exemption from the United States Secretary of Transportation from the motor vehicle
safety standards under the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 34a. Highly automated vehicle. "Highly automated vehicle" means a motor
vehicle equipped with an automated driving system designed to function without a human
operator physically present in the vehicle. A highly automated vehicle does not include a
vehicle enabled with active safety systems or operator assistance systems, including but not
limited to a system to provide electronic blind spot assistance, crash avoidance, emergency
braking, parking assistance, adaptive cruise control, lane-keeping assistance, lane departure
warning, or traffic jam and queuing assistance, unless these technologies alone or in
combination with other systems enable the vehicle to test without any control or monitoring

by an operator.
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Subd. 9. Expiration. The committee expires June 30, 2022.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3b. Automated driving system. "Automated driving system" means hardware
and software that allow a motor vehicle to perform the functions of a human driver within
the conditions for which the system is designed.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 29a. Federal motor vehicle safety standards automated vehicle
exemption. "Federal motor vehicle safety standards automated vehicle exemption" means
an exemption from the United States secretary of transportation from the motor vehicle
safety standards under the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 34a. Highly automated vehicle. (a) "Highly automated vehicle" means a motor
vehicle equipped with automated technology with the capability to function without a human
operator being in physical control of the vehicle. A highly automated vehicle must be
equipped so that a human operator is able to immediately assume control of the vehicle.

(b) A highly automated vehicle does not include a vehicle enabled with active safety
systems or operator assistance systems, including but not limited to a system to provide
electronic blind spot assistance, crash avoidance, emergency braking, parking assistance,
adaptive cruise control, lane-keeping assistance, lane departure warning, or traffic jam and
queuing assistance, unless these technologies alone or in combination with other systems
enable the vehicle to test without any control by an operator.
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Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 40b. Minimal risk condition. "Minimal risk condition" means a low risk operating
mode in a highly automated vehicle that allows the vehicle to reach a reasonably safe state
such as bringing the vehicle to a complete stop or activating the hazard lamps if the automated
driving system experiences failures or operates outside of its design parameters.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 40c. Operator. "Operator" in the following order of precedence means:

(1) the person who drives while physically present in a vehicle or who is in actual physical
control of a vehicle;

(2) the natural person who is remotely testing a highly automated vehicle; or

(3) the natural person who engages an automated driving system.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 46b. Narrow-width lane. "Narrow-width lane" means a traffic lane that is too
narrow to allow persons operating a bicycle and persons operating a motor vehicle within
the same lane to operate side-by-side in compliance with the minimum safe passing clearance
set forth in section 169.18.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 54b. Platooning system. "Platooning system" means driver-assisted
vehicle-to-vehicle technology that integrates electronic communications between and among
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Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 40b. Minimal risk condition. "Minimal risk condition" means a low risk operating
mode in a highly automated vehicle that allows the vehicle to reach a reasonably safe state
such as bringing the vehicle to a complete stop or activating the hazard lamps if the automated
driving system experiences failures or operates outside of its design parameters.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 50a. Operator. "Operator" means the person who drives or is in actual physical
control, or the person who engages the automated driving system.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, subdivision 46, is amended to read:

Subd. 46. Motorized foot scooter. "Motorized foot scooter" means a device with
handlebars designed to be stood or sat upon by the operator, and powered by an internal
combustion engine or electric motor that is capable of propelling the device with or without
human propulsion, and that has no more than two 42-irek 16-inch or smaller diameter
wheels and has an engine or motor that is capable of a maximum speed of 15 miles per hour
on a flat surface with not more than one percent grade in any direction when the motor is
engaged. An electric personal assistive mobility device, a motorized bicycle, an
electric-assisted bicycle, or a motorcycle is not a motorized foot scooter.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 54b. Platooning system. "Platooning system" means driver-assisted
vehicle-to-vehicle technology that integrates electronic communications between and among
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multiple vehicles to synchronize speed, acceleration, and braking while leaving system
monitoring and intervention in the control of each vehicle's human operator.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 62a. Recycling vehicle. "Recycling vehicle" means a vehicle hauling recyclable
materials as authorized by section 115A.93, subdivision 1.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, subdivision 64, is amended to read:

Subd. 64. Residential roadway. "Residential roadway" means a city street or town road
that is either (1) less than one-half mile in total length, or (2) in an area zoned exclusively
for housing that is not a collector or arterial street.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 76a. Solid waste vehicle. "Solid waste vehicle" means a vehicle hauling solid
waste as authorized by section 115A.93, subdivision 1.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 92a. Vehicle platoon. "Vehicle platoon" means a group of commercial vehicles
traveling in a unified manner through use of a platooning system or systems. A vehicle
platoon consists of a lead vehicle and following vehicles. Notwithstanding section 169.81,

a vehicle platoon may consist of up to three vehicles. A vehicle platoon is not a combination
vehicle under this chapter.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.035, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 5. Automated vehicle. An operator who is not driving while physically present
in a vehicle or is not in actual physical control of a vehicle has all the rights and duties
applicable to a driver or operator of any other vehicle under Minnesota law.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.06, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Obedience to work zone flagger; v1olat10n, penalty. (a) A ﬂagger in a work
zone may stop Vehlcles and, hold Vehlcles in place -

vehicles to proceed when it is safe. A drlver who does not comply with an mstructlon made
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multiple vehicles to synchronize speed, acceleration, and braking while leaving system
monitoring and intervention in the control of each vehicle's human operator.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 62a. Recycling vehicle. "Recycling vehicle" means a vehicle hauling recyclable
materials as authorized by section 115A.93, subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 76a. Solid waste vehicle. "Solid waste vehicle" means a vehicle hauling solid
waste as authorized by section 115A.93, subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 92a. Vehicle platoon. "Vehicle platoon" means a group of not more than three
commercial vehicles traveling in a unified manner through use of a platooning system or
systems. A vehicle platoon consists of a lead vehicle and following vehicles. A vehicle
platoon is not a combination vehicle under this chapter.

Sec. 57.[169.023] AUTONOMOUS VEHICLE OPERATORS.

For purposes of Minnesota law, an operator, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision
50a, is equal in responsibility and penalty to a driver, as defined in section 169.011,
subdivision 24.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.06, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Obedience to work zone flagger; v1olat10n, penalty. (a) A ﬂagger in a work
zone may stop Vehlcles and, hold Vehlcles in place -

vehicles to proceed when it is safe.
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by a flagger in a work zone under this paragraph is guilty of a petty misdemeanor and must
pay a fine of $300 in addition to the surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision 6.

(b) A person convicted of operating a motor vehicle in violation of a speed limit in a
work zone, or any other provision of this section while in a work zone, shall be required to
pay a fine of $300. This fine is in addition to the surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision
6.

(c) If a motor vehicle is operated in violation of paragraph (a), the owner of the vehicle,
or for a leased motor vehicle the lessee of the vehicle, is guilty of a petty misdemeanor and
is subject to a fine as provided in paragraph ¢by (a). The owner or lessee may not be fined
under this paragraph if (1) another person is convicted for that violation, or (2) the motor
vehicle was stolen at the time of the violation. This paragraph does not apply to a lessor of
a motor vehicle if the lessor keeps a record of the name and address of the lessee.

(d) Paragraph (c) does not prohibit or limit the prosecution of a motor vehicle operator
for violating paragraph (a).

(e) A violation under paragraph (c) does not constitute grounds for revocation or
suspension of a driver's license.

(f) A peace officer may issue a citation to the operator of a motor vehicle if the peace
officer has probable cause to believe that the person has operated the vehicle in violation
of paragraph (a). In addition to other evidentiary elements or factors, a peace officer has
probable cause under this subdivision if:

(1) a qualified work zone flagger has provided a report of a violation of paragraph (a)
that includes a description and the license plate number of the vehicle used to commit the
offense, and the time of the incident;

(2) the person is operating the vehicle described in the report; and

(3) it is within the four-hour period following the time of the incident, as specified in
the report.

(g) A work zone flagger is qualified to provide a report under paragraph (f) if each
flagger involved in the reporting has completed training that includes information on flagging
operations, equipment, traffic laws, observation and accurate identification of motor vehicles,
and delegation of duties involving a report under paragraph (f).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to violations
that occur on or after that date.
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(b) A person convicted of operating a motor vehicle in violation of a speed limit in a
work zone, or any other provision of this section while in a work zone, shall be required to
pay a fine of $300. This fine is in addition to the surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision
6.

(c) If a motor vehicle is operated in violation of paragraph (a), the owner of the vehicle,
or for a leased motor vehicle the lessee of the vehicle, is guilty of a petty misdemeanor and
is subject to a fine as provided in paragraph (b). The owner or lessee may not be fined under
this paragraph if (1) another person is convicted for that violation, or (2) the motor vehicle
was stolen at the time of the violation. This paragraph does not apply to a lessor of a motor
vehicle if the lessor keeps a record of the name and address of the lessee.

(d) Paragraph (c) does not prohibit or limit the prosecution of a motor vehicle operator
for violating paragraph (a).

(e) A violation under paragraph (c) does not constitute grounds for revocation or
suspension of a driver's license.

(f) A peace officer may issue a citation to the operator of a motor vehicle if the peace
officer has probable cause to believe that the person has operated the vehicle in violation
of paragraph (a). A citation may be issued even though the violation did not occur in the
officer's presence. In addition to other evidentiary elements or factors, a peace officer has
probable cause under this subdivision if:

(1) a qualified work zone flagger has provided a report of a violation of paragraph (a)
that includes a description and the license plate number of the vehicle used to commit the
offense, and the time of the incident;

(2) the person is operating the vehicle described in the report; and

(3) it is within the four-hour period following the time of the incident, as specified in
the report.

(g) A work zone flagger is qualified to provide a report under paragraph (f) if each
flagger involved in the reporting has completed training that includes information on flagging
operations, equipment, traffic laws, observation and accurate identification of motor vehicles,
and delegation of duties involving a report under paragraph (f).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to violations
that occur on or after that date.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.14, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Increased speed limit when passing. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2, the
speed limit is increased by ten miles per hour over the posted speed limit when the driver:
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(1) is on a two-lane highway having one lane for each direction of travel;

(2) is on a highway with a posted speed limit that is equal to or higher than 55 miles per
hour;

(3) is overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction of travel;
and

(4) meets the requirements in section 169.18.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision 2, the speed limit is increased by five miles per hour
over the posted speed limit when the driver:

(1) is on a highway having two or more lanes for each direction of travel;

(2) is on a highway with a posted speed limit that is equal to or higher than 55 miles per
hour;

(3) is overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction of travel;
and

(4) meets the requirements in section 169.18.

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.14, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Zoning within local area. (a) When local authorities believe that the existing
speed limit upon any street or highway, or part thereof, within their respective jurisdictions
and not a part of the trunk highway system is greater or less than is reasonable or safe under
existing conditions, they may request the commissioner to authorize, upon the basis of an
engineering and traffic investigation, the erection of appropriate signs designating what
speed is reasonable and safe, and the commissioner may authorize the erection of appropriate
signs designating a reasonable and safe speed limit thereat, which speed limit shall be
effective when such signs are erected. Any speeds in excess of these speed limits shall be
prima facie evidence that the speed is not reasonable or prudent and that it is unlawful;
except that any speed limit within any municipality shall be a maximum limit and any speed
in excess thereof shall be unlawful. Alteration of speed limits on streets and highways shall
be made only upon authority of the commissioner except as provided in paragraph (b) and
subdivision 5a.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a city may establish speed limits for city streets under
the city's jurisdiction other than the limits provided in subdivision 2. This paragraph does
not apply to town roads, county highways, or trunk highways in the city. A city that
establishes speed limits pursuant to this section must implement speed limit changes in a
consistent and understandable manner. The city must erect appropriate signs to display the
speed limit. A city that uses the authority under this paragraph must develop procedures to
set speed limits based on the city's safety, engineering, and traffic analysis. At a minimum,
the safety, engineering, and traffic analysis must consider national urban speed limit guidance
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and studies, local traffic crashes, and methods to effectively communicate the change to the
public.

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Keep to the right. (a) Upon all roadways of sufficient width a vehicle
shall be driven upon the right half of the roadway, except as follows:

(1) when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction under
the rules governing such movement;

(2) when the right half of a roadway is closed to traffic while under construction or
repair;

(3) upon a roadway divided into three marked lanes for traffic under the rules applicable
thereon;

(4) upon a roadway designated and signposted for one-way traffic as a one-way roadways;

(5) as necessary to comply with subdivision 11 when approaching an authorized
emergency vehicle parked or stopped on the roadway; or

(6) as necessary to comply with subdivision 12 when approaching a road maintenance
or construction vehicle parked or stopped on the roadway.

(b) Upon a roadway with two or more lanes in the same direction, a person must not
drive a vehicle in the left-most lane if another vehicle is immediately behind the first vehicle,

except if:

(1) the vehicle is overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction;

(2) the vehicle is preparing to turn left at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;

(3) a specific lane is designated and posted for a specific type of traffic;

(4) the vehicle is preparing to exit a controlled-access highway by using an exit on the
left side of the road or the vehicle is entering a controlled-access highway by using an
on-ramp that enters on the left side of the road;

(5) when traffic conditions, congestion, inclement weather, or hazards make it impractical;

(6) the vehicle is a law enforcement vehicle, ambulance, or other emergency vehicle
engaged in official duties; or

(7) the vehicle is engaged in highway maintenance or construction operations.

If a person is driving a vehicle in the left-most lane to overtake or pass a vehicle as provided
in clause (1) and another vehicle approaches the first vehicle in the same lane from behind,
the first vehicle must exit the left-most lane as soon as possible.
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55.1
Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Passing
b (a) The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle proceeding in the same direction
shall must pass to the left thereef of the other vehicle at a safe distance and shallnetagain
drive is prohibited from returning to the right side of the roadway until safely clear of the
overtaken vehicle;.
2) (b) Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of an
overtaken vehicle shall must give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle en
audible-warning; and shall must not increase the speed efthe-evertaken-vehiele until
completely passed by the overtaking vehicle;-and.
3 (c) The operator of a motor vehicle overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in
the same direction on the roadway shalHeawve or shoulder must:
(1) either (i) maintain a safe clearance distance while passing, but in no case less than
three feet elearaneewhenpassingthe-bieyele-erindividual or one-half the width of the
motor vehicle, whichever is greater; or (ii) completely enter another lane of the roadway
while passing; and shatt
(2) maintain clearance until the motor vehicle has safely past passed the overtaken bicycle
or individual.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
55.2
55.3
55.4
55.5
55.6
55.7
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(c) A person who violates this subdivision must pay a fine of not less than $100.

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Laned highway. When any roadway has been divided into two or more clearly
marked lanes for traffic, the following rules, in addition to all others consistent kerewith;
shall with this subdivision, apply:

ta) (1) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane
and shall not be moved from sueh the lane until the driver has first ascertained that sueh the
movement can be made with safety:;

) (2) Upon a roadway which is not a one-way roadway and which is divided into three
lanes, a vehicle shall not be driven in the center lane except when overtaking and passing
another vehicle where the roadway is clearly visible and sueh the center lane is clear of
traffic within a safe distance, or in preparation for a left turn or where sueh the center lane
is at the time allocated exclusively to traffic moving in the direction the vehicle is proceeding,
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Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Following vehicle too closely. (a) The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow
another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed
of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the conditions of the highway.

(b) The driver of any motor vehicle drawing another vehicle, or the driver of any motor
truck or bus, when traveling upon a roadway outside of a business or residence district, shall
not follow within 500 feet of another vehicle. The provisions of this paragraph shall not be
construed to prevent overtaking and passing nor shall the same apply upon any lane specially
designated for use by motor trucks. This paragraph does not apply to following vehicles in
a vehicle platoon if the operator has an approved plan in compliance with section 169.881.

(¢) The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow within 500 feet of an authorized
emergency vehicle that is traveling in response to an emergency.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Passing parked emergeney authorized vehicle; citation; probable cause. (a)
For purposes of this subdivision, "authorized vehicle" means an authorized emergency
vehicle, as defined under section 169.011, subdivision 3; a tow truck or towing vehicle, as
defined under section 168B.011, subdivision 12a; a freeway service patrol vehicle; a road
maintenance vehicle; a utility company vehicle; a construction vehicle; a solid waste vehicle;
or a recycling vehicle.

(b) When approaching and before passing an authorized emergeney vehicle with its
emergency, flashing, or warning lights activated that is parked or otherwise stopped on or
next to a street or highway having two lanes in the same direction, the driver of a vehicle
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and is signposted to give notice of sueh the allocation. The left lane of a three-lane roadway
which is not a one-way roadway shall not be used for overtaking and passing another vehicle:;

ey (3) Official signs may be erected directing slow-moving traffic to use a designated
lane or allocating specified lanes to traffic moving in the same direction, and drivers of

vehicles shall obey the direetions-efevery-sueh sign:;

&) (4) Whenever a bicycle lane has been established on a roadway, any person operating
a motor vehicle on sueh the roadway shall not drive in the bicycle lane except to perform
parking maneuvers in order to park where parking is permitted, to enter or leave the highway,
to prepare for a turn as provided in section 169.19, subdivision 1, or to stop a school bus
for the purpose of receiving or discharging any person provided the school bus is equipped
and identified as provided in sections 169.441 and 169.442, subdivision 1, and the flashing
red signals are activated and stop-signal arm is extended:; and

(5) notwithstanding clause (1), the operator of a vehicle with a total length in excess of
40 feet, a total width exceeding ten feet, or any combination of vehicles may, with due
regard for all other traffic, deviate from the lane in which the operator is driving to the extent
necessary to approach and drive through a roundabout.

Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Following vehicle too closely. (a) The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow
another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed
of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the conditions of the highway.

(b) The driver of any motor vehicle drawing another vehicle, or the driver of any motor
truck or bus, when traveling upon a roadway outside of a business or residence district, shall
not follow within 500 feet of another vehicle. The provisions of this paragraph shall not be
construed to prevent overtaking and passing nor shall the same apply upon any lane specially
designated for use by motor trucks. This paragraph does not apply to following vehicles in
a vehicle platoon if the operator has an approved plan in compliance with section 169.881.

(¢) The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow within 500 feet of an authorized
emergency vehicle that is traveling in response to an emergency.

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Passing parked emergeney authorized vehicle; citation; probable cause. (a)
For purposes of this subdivision, "authorized vehicle" means an authorized emergency
vehicle, as defined under section 169.011, subdivision 3; a tow truck or towing vehicle, as
defined under section 168B.011, subdivision 12a; a freeway service patrol vehicle; a road
maintenance vehicle; a utility company vehicle; a construction vehicle; a solid waste vehicle;
or a recycling vehicle.

(b) When approaching and before passing an authorized emergeney vehicle with its
emergency, flashing, or warning lights activated that is parked or otherwise stopped on or
next to a street or highway having two lanes in the same direction, the driver of a vehicle

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



93.13
93.14

93.15
93.16
93.17
93.18
93.19
93.20

93.21
93.22
93.23
93.24
93.25
93.26
93.27

93.28
93.29
93.30
93.31
93.32

94.1
94.2
94.3
94.4
94.5
94.6
94.7
94.8

94.9

94.10
94.11
94.12
94.13

94.14

94.15
94.16
94.17

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

shall safely move the vehicle to the lane farthest away from the emergeney authorized
vehicle, if it is possible to do so.

) (c) When approaching and before passing an authorized emergeney vehicle with its
emergency, flashing, or warning lights activated that is parked or otherwise stopped on or
next to a street or highway having more than two lanes in the same direction, the driver of
a vehicle shall safely move the vehicle so as to leave a full lane vacant between the driver
and any lane in which the emergeney authorized vehicle is completely or partially parked
or otherwise stopped, if it is possible to do so.

ey (d) If a lane change under paragraph &) (b) or tb) (c) is impossible, or when
approaching and before passing an authorized emergeney vehicle with its emergency,
flashing, or warning lights activated that is parked or otherwise stopped on or next to a street
or highway having only one lane in the same direction, the driver of a vehicle must reduce
the speed of the motor vehicle to a speed that is reasonable and prudent under the conditions
until the motor vehicle has completely passed the parked or stopped emergenrey authorized
vehicle, if it is possible to do so.

&) (e) A peace officer may issue a citation to the driver of a motor vehicle if the peace
officer has probable cause to believe that the driver has operated the vehicle in violation of
this subdivision within the four-hour period following the termination of the incident or a
receipt of a report under paragraph ¢e) (f). The citation may be issued even though the
violation was not committed in the presence of the peace officer.

te) (f) Although probable cause may be otherwise satisfied by other evidentiary elements
or factors, probable cause is sufficient for purposes of this subdivision when the person
cited is operating the vehicle described by a member of the crew of an authorized emergeney
vehicle responding to an incident or performing work alongside the roadway in a timely

report of the violation of this subdivision, which includes a description of the vehicle used
to commit the offense and the vehicle's license plate number. For the purposes of issuance
of a citation under paragraph (&) (e), "timely" means that the report must be made within a
four-hour period following the termination of the incident.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.20, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Transit bus; school bus. (a) The driver of a vehicle traveling in the right-hand
lane of traffic shall yield the right-of-way to any transit bus attempting to enter that lane
from a bus stop or shoulder, as indicated by a flashing left turn signal.
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shall safely move the vehicle to the lane farthest away from the emergeney authorized
vehicle, if it is possible to do so.

) (c) When approaching and before passing an authorized emergeney vehicle with its
emergency, flashing, or warning lights activated that is parked or otherwise stopped on or
next to a street or highway having more than two lanes in the same direction, the driver of
a vehicle shall safely move the vehicle so as to leave a full lane vacant between the driver
and any lane in which the emergeney authorized vehicle is completely or partially parked
or otherwise stopped, if it is possible to do so.

ey (d) If a lane change under paragraph &) (b) or tb) (c) is impossible, or when
approaching and before passing an authorized emergeney vehicle with its emergency,
flashing, or warning lights activated that is parked or otherwise stopped on or next to a street
or highway having only one lane in the same direction, the driver of a vehicle must reduce
the speed of the motor vehicle to a speed that is reasonable and prudent under the conditions
until the motor vehicle has completely passed the parked or stopped emergenrey authorized
vehicle, if it is possible to do so.

&) (e) A peace officer may issue a citation to the driver of a motor vehicle if the peace
officer has probable cause to believe that the driver has operated the vehicle in violation of
this subdivision within the four-hour period following the termination of the incident or a
receipt of a report under paragraph ¢e) (f). The citation may be issued even though the
violation was not committed in the presence of the peace officer.

te) (f) Although probable cause may be otherwise satisfied by other evidentiary elements
or factors, probable cause is sufficient for purposes of this subdivision when the person
cited is operating the vehicle described by a member of the crew of an authorized emergency
vehicle or a towing vehicle as defined in section 168B.011, subdivision 12a, responding to

an incident in a timely report of the violation of this subdivision, which includes a description
of the vehicle used to commit the offense and the vehicle's license plate number. For the
purposes of issuance of a citation under paragraph (&) (e), "timely" means that the report
must be made within a four-hour period following the termination of the incident.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.20, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Transit bus; school bus. (a) The driver of a vehicle traveling in the right-hand
lane of traffic shall yield the right-of-way to any transit bus attempting to enter that lane
from a bus stop or shoulder, as indicated by a flashing left turn signal.
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(b) The driver of a vehicle traveling in the right-hand lane of traffic shall yield the
right-of-way to any school bus attempting to enter that lane from a shoulder, right-turn lane,
or other location where the school bus has stopped to load or unload passengers. The school
bus must indicate the intent to enter the right-hand lane of traffic by activating a flashing

left turn signal.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.222, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Traffic laws apply. (a) Every person operating a bicycle shatthave has
all of the rights and duties applicable to the driver of any other vehicle by this chapter,
except in respect to those provisions in this chapter relating expressly to bicycles and in
respect to those provisions of this chapter which by their nature cannot reasonably be applied
to bicycles. This subdivision applies to a bicycle operating on the shoulder of a roadway.

(b) A person lawfully operating a bicycle (1) on a sidewalk, or (2) across a roadway or
shoulder while using a crosswalk, has all the rights and duties applicable to a pedestrian
under the same circumstances.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.222, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Riding rules. (a) Every person operating a bicycle upon-a-roadway-shatt on a
road must ride as close as-praetieable to the right-hand curb or edge of the readway-exeept
uﬁder—aﬂy—e%t—he—feﬂewrﬂg—sﬁt&t—teﬂs road as the bicycle operator determines is safe. A

person operating a bicycle is not required to ride as close to the right-hand curb or edge
when:

(1) svhen overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction;
(2) when preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;

(3) wwhen reasonably necessary to avoid conditions that make it unsafe to continue along
the right-hand curb or edge, including fixed or moving objects, vehicles, pedestrians, animals,

surface hazards, or narrew-width narrow-width lanes;-thatmeake-it-unsafe-to-continuealong
the right-hand-curb-oredgesor;
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(b) The driver of a vehicle traveling in the right-hand lane of traffic shall yield the
right-of-way to any school bus attempting to enter that lane from a shoulder, right-turn lane,
or other location where the school bus has stopped to load or unload passengers. The school
bus must indicate the intent to enter the right-hand lane of traffic by activating a flashing

left turn signal.

Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.20, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 8. Roundabouts. If two vehicles with a total length in excess of 40 feet, a total
width in excess of ten feet, or any combination of vehicles, approach or drive through a
roundabout at approximately the same time or so closely as to constitute a hazard of collision,
the operator of the vehicle or combination of vehicles on the right must yield the right-of-way
to the vehicle or combination of vehicles on the left and, if necessary, must reduce speed
or stop in order to so yield.
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(4) when operating on the shoulder of a roadway or in a bicycle lane:; or

(5) operating in a right-hand turn lane before entering an intersection.

(b) If a bicycle is traveling on a shoulder of a roadway, the bicycle shal operator must
travel in the same direction as adjacent vehicular traffic.

(c) Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway or shoulder skalt must not ride more than
two abreast and shall-netimpede-the-normal-and-reasenable-movemen oftra and, on a
laned roadway, shall ride within a single lane.

(d) A person operating a bicycle upon a sidewalk, or across a roadway or shoulder on a
crosswalk, shatt must yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian and shalt give an audible
signal when necessary before overtaking and passing any pedestrian. Ne A person shat
must not ride a bicycle upon a sidewalk within a business district unless permitted by local
authorities. Local authorities may prohibit the operation of bicycles on any sidewalk or
crosswalk under their jurisdiction.

(e) An individual operating a bicycle or other vehicle on a bikeway shalt must (1) give
an audible signal a safe distance prior to overtaking a bicycle or individual, (2) leave a safe

clearance distance when overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in the same direction
on the-bikeway, and shall (3) maintain clearance until safely past the overtaken bicycle or
individual.

t2) (f) A person may operate an electric-assisted bicycle on the shoulder of a roadway,
on a bikeway, or on a bicycle trail if not otherwise prohibited under section 85.015,
subdivision 1d; 85.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (d); or 160.263, subdivision 2, paragraph
(b), as applicable.

(g) Notwithstanding section 169.06, subdivision 4, a bicycle operator may cross an
intersection proceeding from the leftmost one-third of a dedicated right-hand turn lane
without turning right.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.26, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) Except as provided in section 169.28, subdivision 1,
when any person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing under any of the
circumstances stated in this paragraph, the driver shall stop the vehicle not less than ten feet
from the nearest railroad track and shall not proceed until safe to do so and until the roadway
is clear of traffic so that the vehicle can proceed without stopping until the rear of the vehicle
is at least ten feet past the farthest railroad track. These requirements apply when:
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Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.26, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) Except as provided in section 169.28, subdivision 1,
when any person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing under any of the
circumstances stated in this paragraph, the driver shall stop the vehicle not less than ten feet
from the nearest railroad track and shall not proceed until safe to do so and until the roadway
is clear of traffic so that the vehicle can proceed without stopping until the rear of the vehicle
is at least ten feet past the farthest railroad track. These requirements apply when:
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(1) a clearly visible electric or mechanical signal device warns of the immediate approach
of a railroad train or other on-track equipment; or

(2) an approaching railroad train or other on-track equipment is plainly visible and is in
hazardous proximity.

(b) The fact that a moving railroad train or other on-track equipment approaching a
railroad grade crossing is visible from the crossing is prima facie evidence that it is not safe
to proceed.

(c) The driver of a vehicle shall stop and remain stopped and not traverse the grade
crossing when (1) a human flagger signals the approach or passage of a railroad train or
other on-track equipment or whesn (2) a crossing gate is lowered warning of the immediate
approach or passage of a railroad train or other on-track equipment. No person may drive
a vehicle past a flagger at a railroad crossing until the flagger signals that the way is clear
to proceed or drive a vehicle past a lowered crossing gate.

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.26, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Pedestrians; penalty. (a) A pedestrian shall not pass through, around, over,
or under any crossing gate or barrier at a railroad grade crossing while the gate or barrier
is closed or is being opened or closed.

(b) A pedestrian shall not enter, remain upon, or traverse over a railroad track, grade
crossing, or pedestrian walkway crossing a railroad track when an audible bell or clearly
visible electric or mechanical signal device is operational and warning of the presence,
approach, passage, or departure of a railroad train or other on-track equipment.

(c) A person who violates this subdivision is subject to a fine of up to $100.

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.28, is amended to read:
169.28 CERTAIN VEHICLES TO STOP AT RAILROAD CROSSING.

Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) The driver of any motor vehicle carrying passengers
for hire, or of any school bus whether carrying passengers or not, or of any Head Start bus
whether carrying passengers or not, or of any vehicle that is required to stop at railroad
grade crossings under Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 392.10, before crossing
at grade any track or tracks of a railroad, shall stop the vehicle not less than 15 feet nor more
than 50 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad and while so stopped shall listen and look
in both directions along the track for any approaching railroad train or other on-track
equipment, and for signals indicating the approach of a railroad train or other on-track
equipment, except as hereinafter otherwise provided;-and-shal in this section. The driver
must not proceed until safe to do so and until the roadway is clear of traffic so that the
vehicle can proceed without stopping until the rear of the vehicle is at least ten feet past the
farthest railroad track. The driver must not shift gears while crossing the railroad tracks.
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(1) a clearly visible electric or mechanical signal device warns of the immediate approach
of a railroad train or other on-track equipment; or

(2) an approaching railroad train or other on-track equipment is plainly visible and is in
hazardous proximity.

(b) The fact that a moving railroad train or other on-track equipment approaching a
railroad grade crossing is visible from the crossing is prima facie evidence that it is not safe
to proceed.

(c) The driver of a vehicle shall stop and remain stopped and not traverse the grade
crossing when (1) a human flagger signals the approach or passage of a railroad train or
other on-track equipment or whesn (2) a crossing gate is lowered warning of the immediate
approach or passage of a railroad train or other on-track equipment. No person may drive
a vehicle past a flagger at a railroad crossing until the flagger signals that the way is clear
to proceed or drive a vehicle past a lowered crossing gate.

Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.26, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Pedestrians; penalty. (a) A pedestrian shall not pass through, around, over,
or under any crossing gate or barrier at a railroad grade crossing while the gate or barrier
is closed or is being opened or closed.

(b) A pedestrian shall not enter, remain upon, or traverse over a railroad track, grade
crossing, or pedestrian walkway crossing a railroad track when an audible bell or clearly
visible electric or mechanical signal device is operational and warning of the presence,
approach, passage, or departure of a railroad train or other on-track equipment.

(c) A person who violates this subdivision is subject to a fine of up to $100.

Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.28, is amended to read:
169.28 CERTAIN VEHICLES TO STOP AT RAILROAD CROSSING.

Subdivision 1. Requirements. (a) The driver of any motor vehicle carrying passengers
for hire, or of any school bus whether carrying passengers or not, or of any Head Start bus
whether carrying passengers or not, or of any vehicle that is required to stop at railroad
grade crossings under Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 392.10, before crossing
at grade any track or tracks of a railroad, shall stop the vehicle not less than 15 feet nor more
than 50 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad and while so stopped shall listen and look
in both directions along the track for any approaching railroad train or other on-track
equipment, and for signals indicating the approach of a railroad train or other on-track
equipment, except as hereinafter otherwise provided;-and-shal in this section. The driver
must not proceed until safe to do so and until the roadway is clear of traffic so that the
vehicle can proceed without stopping until the rear of the vehicle is at least ten feet past the
farthest railroad track. The driver must not shift gears while crossing the railroad tracks.
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(b) A school bus or Head Start bus shall not be flagged across railroad grade crossings
except at those railroad grade crossings that the local school administrative officer may
designate.

(c) A type III vehicle, as defined in section 169.011, is exempt from the requirement of
school buses to stop at railroad grade crossings.

(d) The requirements of this subdivision do not apply to the crossing of light rail vehicle
track or tracks that are located in a public street when:

(1) the crossing occurs within the intersection of two or more public streets;
(2) the intersection is controlled by a traffic-control signal; and

(3) the intersection is marked with signs indicating to drivers that the requirements of
this subdivision do not apply. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the owner or
operator of the track or tracks is authorized to place, maintain, and display the signs upon
and in the view of the public street or streets.

Subd. 2. Exempt crossing. (a) The commissioner may designate a crossing as an exempt
crossing:

(1) if the crossing is on a rail line on which service has been abandoned;

(2) if the crossing is on a rail line that carries fewer than five railroad trains each year,
traveling at speeds of ten miles per hour or less; or

(3) as agreed to by the operating railroad and the Department of Transportation, following
a diagnostic review of the crossing.

(b) The commissioner shall direct the railroad to erect at the crossing signs bearing the
word "Exempt" that conform to section 169.06. The installation or presence of an exempt
sign does not relieve a driver of the duty to use due care.

(c) A railroad train or other on-track equipment must not proceed across an exempt
crossing unless a police officer is present to direct traffic or a railroad employee is on the
ground to warn traffic until the railroad train enters the crossing.

te) (d) A vehicle that must stop at grade crossings under subdivision 1 is not required
to stop at a marked exempt crossing unless directed otherwise by a police officer or a railroad
employee.

Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.29, is amended to read:
169.29 CROSSING RAILROAD TRACKS WITH CERTAIN EQUIPMENT.

(a) No person shall operate or move any caterpillar tractor, steam shovel, derrick, roller,
or any equipment or structure having a normal operating speed of six or less miles per hour
or a vertical body or load clearance of less than nine inches above the level surface of a
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(b) A school bus or Head Start bus shall not be flagged across railroad grade crossings
except at those railroad grade crossings that the local school administrative officer may
designate.

(c) A type III vehicle, as defined in section 169.011, is exempt from the requirement of
school buses to stop at railroad grade crossings.

(d) The requirements of this subdivision do not apply to the crossing of light rail vehicle
track or tracks that are located in a public street when:

(1) the crossing occurs within the intersection of two or more public streets;
(2) the intersection is controlled by a traffic-control signal; and

(3) the intersection is marked with signs indicating to drivers that the requirements of
this subdivision do not apply. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the owner or
operator of the track or tracks is authorized to place, maintain, and display the signs upon
and in the view of the public street or streets.

Subd. 2. Exempt crossing. (a) The commissioner may designate a crossing as an exempt
crossing:

(1) if the crossing is on a rail line on which service has been abandoned;

(2) if the crossing is on a rail line that carries fewer than five railroad trains each year,
traveling at speeds of ten miles per hour or less; or

(3) as agreed to by the operating railroad and the Department of Transportation, following
a diagnostic review of the crossing.

(b) The commissioner shall direct the railroad to erect at the crossing signs bearing the
word "Exempt" that conform to section 169.06. The installation or presence of an exempt
sign does not relieve a driver of the duty to use due care.

(c) A railroad train or other on-track equipment must not proceed across an exempt
crossing unless a police officer is present to direct traffic or a railroad employee is on the
ground to warn traffic until the railroad train enters the crossing.

te) (d) A vehicle that must stop at grade crossings under subdivision 1 is not required
to stop at a marked exempt crossing unless directed otherwise by a police officer or a railroad
employee.

Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.29, is amended to read:
169.29 CROSSING RAILROAD TRACKS WITH CERTAIN EQUIPMENT.

(a) No person shall operate or move any caterpillar tractor, steam shovel, derrick, roller,
or any equipment or structure having a normal operating speed of six or less miles per hour
or a vertical body or load clearance of less than nine inches above the level surface of a
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roadway upon or across any tracks at a railroad grade crossing without first complying with
this section.

(b) Before making any crossing, the person operating or moving any vehicle or equipment
set forth in this section shall first stop the same not less than ten, nor more than 50, feet
from the nearest rail of the railway, and while so stopped shall listen and look in both
directions along the track for any approaching railroad train or other on-track equipment
and for signals indicating the approach of a railroad train or other on-track equipment, and
shall not proceed until the crossing can be made safely.

(c) No crossing shall be made when warning is given by automatic signal or crossing
gates or a flagger or otherwise of the immediate approach of a railroad train or other on-track

equipment or car.

(d) Ne A stop need-be-made is not required at a crossing on a rail line on which service
has been abandoned and where a sign erected in conformance with section 169.06 and
bearing the word "Exempt" has been installed, unless directed otherwise by a flagger. The
installation or presence of an exempt sign shall not relieve any driver of the duty to use due
care.

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.443, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Use of stop-signal arm. (a) The stop-signal arm system of a school bus must
be used in conjunction with the flashing red signals only when the school bus is stopped on
a street or highway to load or unload school children.

(b) A local authority, including the governing body of an Indian tribe, may by ordinance
require that a school bus activate the stop-signal arm system and flashing red signals while
stopped to unload school children at a location other than a location on a street or highway.
The ordinance must designate each location where the requirement is imposed. The
requirement is effective only if the local authority has erected signs at or near the location
to provide adequate notice that other vehicles are required to obey section 169.444,
subdivision 1, when those signals are activated.

(c) A school bus driver is prohibited from loading or unloading passengers in a designated
right-turn lane or in a lane immediately adjacent to a designated right-turn lane unless:

(1) a school bus stop designated by the district transportation safety director is located
in the right-turn lane;

(2) the driver stops the bus at the extreme right side of the right-turn lane; and

(3) the driver activates the prewarning flashing amber signals, flashing red signals, and
stop-signal arm, unless the school board or its designee, based on safety considerations,
provides written direction to the driver not to do so.
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roadway upon or across any tracks at a railroad grade crossing without first complying with
this section.

(b) Before making any crossing, the person operating or moving any vehicle or equipment
set forth in this section shall first stop the same not less than ten, nor more than 50, feet
from the nearest rail of the railway, and while so stopped shall listen and look in both
directions along the track for any approaching railroad train or other on-track equipment
and for signals indicating the approach of a railroad train or other on-track equipment, and
shall not proceed until the crossing can be made safely.

(c) No crossing shall be made when warning is given by automatic signal or crossing
gates or a flagger or otherwise of the immediate approach of a railroad train or other on-track

equipment or car.

(d) Ne A stop need-be-made is not required at a crossing on a rail line on which service
has been abandoned and where a sign erected in conformance with section 169.06 and
bearing the word "Exempt" has been installed, unless directed otherwise by a flagger. The
installation or presence of an exempt sign shall not relieve any driver of the duty to use due
care.

Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.443, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Use of stop-signal arm. (a) The stop-signal arm system of a school bus must
be used in conjunction with the flashing red signals only when the school bus is stopped on
a street or highway to load or unload school children.

(b) A local authority, including the governing body of an Indian tribe, may by ordinance
require that a school bus activate the stop-signal arm system and flashing red signals while
stopped to unload school children at a location other than a location on a street or highway.
The ordinance must designate each location where the requirement is imposed. The
requirement is effective only if the local authority has erected signs at or near the location
to provide adequate notice that other vehicles are required to obey section 169.444,
subdivision 1, when those signals are activated.

(c) A school bus driver is prohibited from loading or unloading passengers in a designated
right-turn lane or in a lane immediately adjacent to a designated right-turn lane unless:

(1) a school bus stop designated by the district transportation safety director is located
in the right-turn lane;

(2) the driver stops the bus at the extreme right side of the right-turn lane; and

(3) the driver activates the prewarning flashing amber signals, flashing red signals, and
stop-signal arm, unless the school board or its designee, based on safety considerations,
provides written direction to the driver not to do so.
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After loading or unloading passengers, the school bus driver may re-enter the right-hand
lane of traffic without turning right. The school bus must indicate the intent to enter the
right-hand lane of traffic by activating a flashing left turn signal.

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.4503, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Colors. Fenderettes may be black. The beltline may be painted yellow over
black or black over yellow. The rub rails shall adjacent to the beltline may be black or
yellow. All other rub rails must be black. The area around the lenses of alternately flashing
signal lamps extending outward from the edge of the lamp three inches, plus or minus
one-quarter inch, to the sides and top and at least one inch to the bottom, shat must be
black. Visors or hoods, black in color, with a minimum of four inches may be provided.

Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.58, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 5. Transportation network company vehicle. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,
the definitions in section 65B.472, subdivision 1, apply except that "transportation network
company vehicle" has the meaning given to "personal vehicle" in section 65B.472,
subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

(b) A transportation network company vehicle may be equipped with no more than two
removable, interior-mounted, trade dress identifying devices as provided by the transportation
network company that are designed to assist riders in identifying and communicating with
drivers. The identifying device may be illuminated and emit a steady beam of solid colored
light in any direction when the driver is logged into the digital network. The identifying
device must not: (1) display the colors red, amber, or blue; (2) project a flashing, oscillating,
alternating, or rotating light; or (3) project a glaring or dazzling light.

Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.64, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Warning lamp on vehicles collecting solid waste or recycling. A vehiele
used-te-eoHeet solid waste vehicle or recycling vehicle may be equipped with a single amber
gaseeus-diseharge warning lamp that meets the most current Society of Automotive Engineers
standard 343348 for authorized maintenance and service vehicles, Class 2. The lamp may
be operated only when the collection vehicle is in the process of collecting solid waste or
recycling and is either:

(1) stopped at an establishment where solid waste or recycling is to be collected; or

(2) traveling at a speed that is at least ten miles per hour below the posted speed limit
and moving between establishments where solid waste or recycling is to be collected.

Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.71, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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After loading or unloading passengers, the school bus driver may re-enter the right-hand
lane of traffic without turning right. The school bus must indicate the intent to enter the
right-hand lane of traffic by activating a flashing left turn signal.

Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.4503, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Colors. Fenderettes may be black. The beltline may be painted yellow over
black or black over yellow. The rub rails shall adjacent to the beltline may be black or
yellow. All other rub rails must be black. The area around the lenses of alternately flashing
signal lamps extending outward from the edge of the lamp three inches, plus or minus
one-quarter inch, to the sides and top and at least one inch to the bottom, shat must be
black. Visors or hoods, black in color, with a minimum of four inches may be provided.

Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.58, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 5. Transportation network company vehicle. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,
the definitions in section 65B.472, subdivision 1, apply except that "transportation network
company vehicle" has the meaning given to "personal vehicle" in section 65B.472,
subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

(b) A transportation network company vehicle may be equipped with no more than two
removable, interior-mounted, trade dress identifying devices as provided by the transportation
network company that are designed to assist riders in identifying and communicating with
drivers. The identifying device may be illuminated and emit a steady beam of solid colored
light in any direction when the driver is logged into the digital network. The identifying
device must not: (1) display the colors red, amber, or blue; (2) project a flashing, oscillating,
alternating, or rotating light; or (3) project a glaring or dazzling light.

Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.64, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Warning lamp on vehicles collecting solid waste or recycling. A vehiele
used-te-eoHeet solid waste vehicle or recycling vehicle may be equipped with a single amber
gaseeus-diseharge warning lamp that meets the most current Society of Automotive Engineers
standard 34348 for authorized maintenance and service vehicles, Class 2. The lamp may
be operated only when the collection vehicle is in the process of collecting solid waste or
recycling and is either:

(1) stopped at an establishment where solid waste or recycling is to be collected; or

(2) traveling at a speed that is at least ten miles per hour below the posted speed limit
and moving between establishments where solid waste or recycling is to be collected.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.71, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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Subdivision 1. Prohibitions generally; exceptions. (a) A person shall not drive or
operate any motor vehicle with:

(1) a windshield cracked or discolored to an extent to limit or obstruct proper vision;
(2) any objects suspended between the driver and the windshield, other than:

(1) sun visors;

(ii) rearview mirrors;

(iii) driver feedback and safety monitoring equipment when mounted immediately behind,
slightly above, or slightly below the rearview mirror;

(iv) global positioning systems or navigation systems when mounted or located near the
bottommost portion of the windshield; and

(v) electronic toll collection devices; e and

(vi) an identifying device as provided in section 169.58, subdivision 5, when the device
is mounted or located near the bottommost portion of the windshield; or

(3) any sign, poster, or other nontransparent material upon the front windshield,
sidewings, or side or rear windows of the vehicle, other than a certificate or other paper
required to be so displayed by law or authorized by the state director of the Division of
Emergency Management or the commissioner of public safety.

(b) Paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), do not apply to law enforcement vehicles.
(c) Paragraph (a), clause (2), does not apply to authorized emergency vehicles.
Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.71, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Glazing material; prohibitions and-exeeptions. (a)™No A person shalt must
not drive or operate any motor vehicle required to be registered in the state of Minnesota
upon any street or highway under the following conditions:

(1) when the windshield is composed of, covered by, or treated with any material which
has the effect of making the windshield more reflective or in any other way reducing light
transmittance through the windshield;

(2) when any window on the vehicle is composed of, covered by, or treated with any
material that has a highly reflective or mirrored appearance;

(3) when any side window or rear window is composed of or treated with any material
S0 as to obstruct or substantially reduce the driver's clear view through the window or has
a light transmittance of less than 50 percent plus or minus three percent in the visible light
range or a luminous reflectance of more than 20 percent plus or minus three percent; or

(4) when any material has been applied after August 1, 1985, to any motor vehicle
window without an accompanying permanent marking which indicates the percent of
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Subdivision 1. Prohibitions generally; exceptions. (a) A person shall not drive or
operate any motor vehicle with:

(1) a windshield cracked or discolored to an extent to limit or obstruct proper vision;
(2) any objects suspended between the driver and the windshield, other than:

(1) sun visors;

(ii) rearview mirrors;

(iii) driver feedback and safety monitoring equipment when mounted immediately behind,
slightly above, or slightly below the rearview mirror;

(iv) global positioning systems or navigation systems when mounted or located near the
bottommost portion of the windshield; and

(v) electronic toll collection devices; e and

(vi) an identifying device as provided in section 169.58, subdivision 5, when the device
is mounted or located near the bottommost portion of the windshield; or

(3) any sign, poster, or other nontransparent material upon the front windshield,
sidewings, or side or rear windows of the vehicle, other than a certificate or other paper
required to be so displayed by law or authorized by the state director of the Division of
Emergency Management or the commissioner of public safety.

(b) Paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), do not apply to law enforcement vehicles.
(c) Paragraph (a), clause (2), does not apply to authorized emergency vehicles.
Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.71, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Glazing material; prohibitions and-exeeptions. (a)™No A person shalt must
not drive or operate any motor vehicle required to be registered in the state of Minnesota
upon any street or highway under the following conditions:

(1) when the windshield is composed of, covered by, or treated with any material which
has the effect of making the windshield more reflective or in any other way reducing light
transmittance through the windshield;

(2) when any window on the vehicle is composed of, covered by, or treated with any
material that has a highly reflective or mirrored appearance;

(3) when any side window or rear window is composed of or treated with any material
S0 as to obstruct or substantially reduce the driver's clear view through the window or has
a light transmittance of less than 50 percent plus or minus three percent in the visible light
range or a luminous reflectance of more than 20 percent plus or minus three percent; or

(4) when any material has been applied after August 1, 1985, to any motor vehicle
window without an accompanying permanent marking which indicates the percent of
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transmittance and the percent of reflectance afforded by the material. The marking must be
in a manner so as not to obscure vision and be readable when installed on the vehicle.

Subd. 4a. Glazing material; exceptions. (b)-Fhis (a) Subdivision 4 does not apply to
glazing materials whieh that:

(1) have not been modified since the original installation, nor to original replacement
windows and windshields, that were originally installed or replaced in eenformanee
conformity with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 205;

(2) are required to satisfy prescription or medical needs efthe-driverofthevehieleora
passengerf, provided:

(i) the vehicle's driver or a passenger is-in-pessesston-of-the possesses a prescription or
a physician's statement of medical need,

(ii) the prescription or statement specifically states the minimum percentage that light
transmittance may be reduced to satisfy the prescription or medical needs of the patient;
and

(iii) the prescription or statement contains an expiration date, which must be no more
than two years after the date the prescription or statement was issued; or

(3) are applied to:
(i) the rear windows of a pickup truck as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 26;

(ii) the rear windows or the side windows on either side behind the driver's seat of a van
as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 40;

(iii) the side and rear windows of a vehicle used to transport human remains by a funeral
establishment holding a license under section 149A.50;

(iv) the side and rear windows of a limousine as defined in section 168.002, subdivision
15; or

(v) the rear and side windows of a police vehicle.

(b) For the purposes of paragraph (a), clause (2), a driver of a vehicle may rely on a
prescription or physician's statement of medical need issued to a person not present in the
vehicle if:

(1) the prescription or physician's statement of medical need is issued to (i) the driver's
parent, child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or spouse, or (ii) a person for whom the
driver is a personal care attendant;

(2) the prescription or physician's statement of medical need specifies the make, model,
and license plate of one or two vehicles that will have tinted windows; and

PAGE R109

64.1
64.2

64.3
64.4

64.5
64.6
64.7

64.8
64.9

64.10
64.11

64.12
64.13
64.14

64.15
64.16

64.17
64.18

64.19
64.20

64.21
64.22

64.23
64.24

64.25

64.26
64.27
64.28

64.29
64.30

65.1
65.2

Senate Language UEH1555-1

transmittance and the percent of reflectance afforded by the material. The marking must be
in a manner so as not to obscure vision and be readable when installed on the vehicle.

Subd. 4a. Glazing material; exceptions. (b)-Fhis (a) Subdivision 4 does not apply to
glazing materials whieh that:

(1) have not been modified since the original installation, nor to original replacement
windows and windshields, that were originally installed or replaced in eenformanee
conformity with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 205;

(2) are required to satisfy prescription or medical needs efthe-driverofthevehieleora
passengerf, provided:

(i) the vehicle's driver or a passenger is-in-pessession-of-the possesses a prescription or
a physician's statement of medical need,

(ii) the prescription or statement specifically states the minimum percentage that light
transmittance may be reduced to satisfy the prescription or medical needs of the patient;
and

(iii) the prescription or statement contains an expiration date, which must be no more
than two years after the date the prescription or statement was issued; or

(3) are applied to:
(i) the rear windows of a pickup truck as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 26;

(ii) the rear windows or the side windows on either side behind the driver's seat of a van
as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 40;

(iii) the side and rear windows of a vehicle used to transport human remains by a funeral
establishment holding a license under section 149A.50;

(iv) the side and rear windows of a limousine as defined in section 168.002, subdivision
15; or

(v) the rear and side windows of a police vehicle.

(b) For the purposes of paragraph (a), clause (2), a driver of a vehicle may rely on a
prescription or physician's statement of medical need issued to a person not present in the
vehicle if:

(1) the prescription or physician's statement of medical need is issued to the driver's
parent, child, grandparent, sibling, or spouse;

(2) the prescription or physician's statement of medical need specifies the make, model,
and license plate of one or two vehicles that will have tinted windows; and
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65.3
65.4

(3) the driver is in possession of the prescription or physician's statement of medical
need.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective November 1, 2019.

65.5

Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.81, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 12. Towaway trailer transporter combinations. An unladen power unit may
tow two trailers or semitrailers when the combination (1) is not used to carry property, (2)
does not exceed 82 feet in length, and (3) has a total gross weight that does not exceed
26,000 pounds. The trailers or semitrailers must consist of inventory property of a
manufacturer, distributor, or dealer of the trailers or semitrailers.
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Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.864, is amended to read: 65.27

169.864 SPECIAL PARER PRODUCTS VEHICLE PERMITS.
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(3) the driver is in possession of the prescription or physician's statement of medical
need.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective on November 1, 2019.

Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.829, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 5. Sewage septic tank trucks. (a) Sections 169.823 and 169.826 to 169.828 do
not apply to a sewage septic tank truck used exclusively to transport sewage from septic or

holding tanks.
(b) The weight limitations under section 169.824 are increased by ten percent for a

single-unit vehicle transporting sewage from the point of service to (1) another point of
service, or (2) the point of unloading.

(c) Notwithstanding sections 169.824, subdivision 1, paragraph (d); 169.826, subdivision
3; or any other law to the contrary, a permit is not required to operate a vehicle under this
subdivision.

(d) The seasonal weight increases under section 169.826, subdivision 1, do not apply to
a vehicle operated under this subdivision, except that the vehicle may not exceed 20,000
pounds per single axle.

(e) A vehicle operated under this subdivision is subject to bridge load limits posted under
section 169.84.

() A vehicle operated under this section must not be operated with a load that exceeds
the tire manufacturer's recommended load, the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating
as affixed to the vehicle, or other certification of gross vehicle weight rating under Code of
Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 567.4 to 567.7.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2019.

Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.864, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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Subdivision 1. Special three-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit
for a vehicle that transports paper products or iron ore tailings and meets the following
requirements:

(1) is a combination of vehicles, including a truck-tractor and a semitrailer drawing one
additional semitrailer, which may be equipped with an auxiliary dolly, and no semitrailer
used in the three-vehicle combination has an overall length in excess of 28-1/2 feet;

(2) has a maximum gross vehicle weight of 108,000 pounds;
(3) complies with the axle weight limits in section 169.824;

(4) complies with the tire weight limits in section 169.823 or the tire manufacturers'
recommended load, whichever is less;

(5) is operated only in this state on Trunk Highway marked 2 between Grand Rapids
and the port of Duluth; on Trunk Highway marked 169 between Grand Rapids and its
junction with Trunk Highway marked 53; on Trunk Highway marked 194 between Trunk
Highway marked 2 and Trunk Highway marked 53; and on Trunk Highway marked 53

betweenVirginia-and-the-pert-ef Duluth; and
(6) the seasonal weight increases authorized under section 169.826, subdivision 1, do
not apply.

Subd. 2. Special two-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit for a
vehicle that transports paper products or iron ore tailings and meets the following
requirements:

(1) is a combination of vehicles consisting of a truck-tractor and a single semitrailer that
may exceed 48 feet, but not 53 feet, if the distance from the kingpin to the centerline of the
rear axle group of the semitrailer does not exceed 43 feet;

(2) has a maximum gross vehicle weight of 90,000 pounds if the vehicle combination
has a total of six or more axles or 97,000 pounds if the vehicle combination has a total of
seven or more axles;

(3) has a maximum gross vehicle weight of 99,000 pounds during the time when seasonal
weight increases authorized under section 169.826, subdivision 1, are in effect;

(4) complies with the axle weight limits in section 169.824;

(5) complies with the tire weight limits in section 169.823 or the tire manufacturers'
recommended load, whichever is less; and

(6) is operated only on the highways specified in subdivision 1, clause (5).

Subd. 2a. Special tire-hauling permit. (a) The commissioner may issue a permit
authorizing a vehicle used exclusively to haul earthmover tires, if the vehicle:
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Subdivision 1. Special three-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit
for a vehicle that meets the following requirements:

(1) is a combination of vehicles, including a truck-tractor and a semitrailer drawing one
additional semitrailer, which may be equipped with an auxiliary dolly, and no semitrailer
used in the three-vehicle combination has an overall length in excess of 28-1/2 feet;

(2) has a maximum gross vehicle weight of 108,000 pounds;
(3) complies with the axle weight limits in section 169.824;

(4) complies with the tire weight limits in section 169.823 or the tire manufacturers'
recommended load, whichever is less;

(5) is operated only in this state on Trunk Highway marked 2 between Grand Rapids
and the port of Duluth; on Trunk Highway marked 169 between Grand Rapids and its
junction with Trunk Highway marked 53; on Trunk Highway marked 194 between Trunk
Highway marked 2 and Trunk Highway marked 53; and on Trunk Highway marked 53

betweenVirginta-and-the port-of Duluth; and

(6) the seasonal weight increases authorized under section 169.826, subdivision 1, do
not apply.
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(1) is a combination of vehicles with seven or more axles, consisting of a truck with
loader and trailer, which may be equipped with an auxiliary dolly;

(2) has a maximum gross vehicle weight of 108,000 pounds;
(3) has a maximum width of 144 inches;

(4) does not exceed the axle weight limits in sections 169.823, subdivision 1, clause (2),
and 169.824, by more than 22 percent;

(5) complies with the tire weight limits in section 169.823, or the tire manufacturer's
recommended load, whichever is less; and

(6) is operated only en-the-highways-speeified-in-subdivisiont-elause<(5) in this state
on Trunk Highway marked 2 between Grand Rapids and the port of Duluth; on Trunk

Highway marked 169 between Grand Rapids and its junction with Trunk Highway marked
53; on Trunk Highway marked 194 between Trunk Highway marked 2 and Trunk Highway
marked 53; and on Trunk Highway marked 53 between Virginia and the port of Duluth.

(b) The seasonal weight increases authorized under section 169.826, subdivision 1, do
not apply to permits issued under this subdivision.

Subd. 3. Restrictions. Vehicles issued permits under subdivisions 1, 2, and 2a, must
comply with the following restrictions:

(1) the vehicle must be operated in compliance with seasonal load restrictions under
section 169.87;

(2) the vehicle may not be operated on the interstate highway system; and

(3) the vehicle may be operated on streets or highways under the control of local
authorities only upon the approval of the local authority; however, vehicles may have
reasonable access to terminals and facilities for food, fuel, repairs, and rest and for continuity
of route within one mile of the national network as provided by section 169.81, subdivision
3, and by Code of Federal Regulations, title 23, section 658.19.

Subd. 4. Permit fee; appropriation. Vehicle permits issued under subdivision 1, clause
(1), must be annual permits. The fee is $850 for each vehicle combination and must be
deposited in the trunk highway fund. The fee for annual permits issued under subdivision
2 is $300 for a 90,000-pound vehicle combination or $500 for a 97,000-pound vehicle
combination. The fee for annual permits issued under subdivision 2a is $850. An amount
sufficient to administer the permit program is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to
the commissioner for the costs of administering the permit program.

Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.865, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Six-axle vehicles. (a) A road authority may issue an annual permit
authorizing a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a total of six or more axles to haul
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Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.865, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Six-axle vehicles. (a) A road authority may issue an annual permit
authorizing a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a total of six or more axles to haul
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raw-or-unproeessed qualifying agricultural products and be operated with a gross vehicle
weight of up to:

(1) 90,000 pounds; and

(2) 99,000 pounds during the period set by the commissioner under section 169.826,
subdivision 1.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), a vehicle or combination
of vehicles operated under this subdivision and transporting only sealed intermodal containers
may be operated on an interstate highway if allowed by the United States Department of
Transportation.

(c) The fee for a permit issued under this subdivision is $300, or a proportional amount
as provided in section 169.86, subdivision 5.

Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.865, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1a. Definition. For purposes of this section, "qualifying agricultural products"
means:

(1) agricultural crops, including but not limited to corn, soybeans, oats, grain, and
by-products of agricultural crops;

(2) livestock, including but not limited to cattle, hogs, and poultry;

(3) food crops, including but not limited to sugar beets, potatoes, carrots, and onions;

(4) fluid milk; and

(5) seed and material used for or in livestock and poultry feed.

Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.865, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Seven-axle vehicles. (a) A road authority may issue an annual permit authorizing
a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a total of seven or more axles to haul raw-er
unproeessed qualifying agricultural products and be operated with a gross weight of up to:

(1) 97,000 pounds; and

(2) 99,000 pounds during the period set by the commissioner under section 169.826,
subdivision 1.

(b) Drivers of vehicles operating under this subdivision must comply with driver
qualification requirements adopted under section 221.0314, subdivisions 2 to 5, and Code
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raw-or-unproeessed qualifying agricultural products and be operated with a gross vehicle
weight of up to:

(1) 90,000 pounds; and

(2) 99,000 pounds during the period set by the commissioner under section 169.826,
subdivision 1.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), a vehicle or combination
of vehicles operated under this subdivision and transporting only sealed intermodal containers
may be operated on an interstate highway if allowed by the United States Department of
Transportation.

(c) The fee for a permit issued under this subdivision is $300, or a proportional amount
as provided in section 169.86, subdivision 5.

Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.865, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 6. Definition. For purposes of this section, "qualifying agricultural products"
means:

(1) agricultural crops, including but not limited to corn, soybeans, oats, grain and
by-products of agricultural crops;

(2) livestock, including but not limited to cattle, hogs, and poultry;

(3) food crops, including but not limited to, sugar beets, potatoes, carrots, and onions;

(4) fluid milk;

(5) seed and material used for or in livestock and poultry feed; and

(6) natural and commercial fertilizers, potash and agricultural lime, not including those
materials that require the vehicle to be marked or placarded in accordance with section
221.033 and Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 172.

Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.865, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Seven-axle vehicles. (a) A road authority may issue an annual permit authorizing
a vehicle or combination of vehicles with a total of seven or more axles to haul raw-er
unproeessed qualifying agricultural products and be operated with a gross weight of up to:

(1) 97,000 pounds; and

(2) 99,000 pounds during the period set by the commissioner under section 169.826,
subdivision 1.

(b) Drivers of vehicles operating under this subdivision must comply with driver
qualification requirements adopted under section 221.0314, subdivisions 2 to 5, and Code
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106.28 of Federal Regulations, title 49, parts 40 and 382, unless exempt under section 221.031, 67.10 of Federal Regulations, title 49, parts 40 and 382, unless exempt under section 221.031,
106.29 subdivision 2c. 67.11 subdivision 2c.
107.1 (c) The fee for a permit issued under this subdivision is $500, or a proportional amount 67.12 (c) The fee for a permit issued under this subdivision is $500, or a proportional amount
107.2  as provided in section 169.86, subdivision 5. 67.13 as provided in section 169.86, subdivision 5.

67.27 Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.87, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

67.28 Subd. 6. Recycling and garbage vehicles. (a) Exeept-as-providedinparagraph-(b) While

67.29 avehicle is engaged in the type of collection the vehicle was designed to perform, weight
67.30 restrictions imposed under subdivisions 1 and 2 do not apply to:

68.1 (1) a vehicle that does not exceed 20,000 pounds per single axle and is designed and

68.2  used exclusively for recycling, while engaged-inreeyeling operating in a political subdivision
68.3  that mandates curbside recycling pickup:;

68.4 (2)a

68.5  vehicle that does not exceed 14 000 pounds per s1ngle axle and is used exeluswely for

68.6  recycling as-deseribed-inparagraph{a);

68.7 2) (3) a vehicle that does not exceed 14,000 pounds per single axle and is designed and
68.8  used exclusively for collecting mixed municipal solid waste, as defined in section 115A.03,

68.9  subdivision 21;-while-engaged-in-sueh-eolleetion; or

68.10 3 (4) a portable toilet service vehicle that does not exceed 14,000 pounds per single
68.11 axle or 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, and is designed and used exclusively for

68.12  collecting liquid waste from portable toilets;white-engaged-insuch-eoHeetion; or

68.13 (5) a sewage septic tank truck that does not exceed 20,000 pounds per single axle and
68.14 is designed and used exclusively to haul sewage from septic or holding tanks.

68.15 te) (b) Notwithstanding section 169.80, subdivision 1, a-vielatien-of the owner or operator
68.16 of a Vehlcle that Vlolates the welght restrictions 1mp0sed under sublelslons l and 2 by—&

68.17 : ! & Sao ; o

68.18
68.19
68.20
68.21
68.22 aste-fromportab s;-while-engaged-in-sueh eetion 1sn0tsubJectt0cr1m1nal
68.23 penaltles but is subject to a 01V11 penalty for excess weight under section 169.871 if the
68.24  vehicle (1) meets the requirements under paragraph (a), and (2) is engaged in the type of
68.25 collection the vehicle was designed to perform.

68.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2019.
107.3  Sec. 75.[169.881] VEHICLE PLATOONS. 68.27 Sec. 83.[169.881] VEHICLE PLATOONS.
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Subdivision 1. Vehicle platoon plan. A person may use a platooning system on trunk
highway freeways and expressways, as the terms are defined in section 160.02, subdivisions
18b and 19, if a plan has been approved by the commissioner of transportation. The
commissioner of transportation must consult with the commissioner of public safety prior
to approving the plan.

Subd. 2. Required information. The plan must include but is not limited to the following
information submitted in the manner prescribed by the commissioner of transportation:

(1) total length of the vehicle platoon;

(2) the configuration of the vehicle platoon, including spacing between vehicles;

(3) proposed route and section of freeway or expressway;

(4) proposed time frames the vehicle platoon will be operating;

(5) certification that each human driver in the vehicle platoon has a valid driver's license
for the type or class of vehicle being driven;

(6) certification that the vehicle height, width, and load limits conform to this chapter;

and

(7) vehicle identification information.

Subd. 3. Authority to approve plan. (a) The commissioner of transportation may grant
or deny a vehicle platoon plan. The approved plan may include conditions and restrictions
to ensure public safety, minimize congestion, or prevent undue damage to roads or structures.

(b) Notice of the reasons for denying a plan must be provided in writing.

(c) Failure to approve a plan within 60 days does not constitute an approval of the plan.

Subd. 4. Restrictions. Vehicle platoons must meet the following restrictions:

(1) each vehicle in the vehicle platoon must have a platooning system installed;

(2) while platooning, each vehicle must have the platooning system engaged,

(3) each vehicle in the vehicle platoon must have a human driver present and in the
driver seat who is monitoring performance of the vehicle at all times and who holds a valid
driver's license for the type or class of vehicle being driven;

(4) each vehicle in the vehicle platoon must meet the vehicle height, width, and weight
limits under this chapter; and
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Subdivision 1. Vehicle platoon plan. A person may apply to the commissioner for
approval of a plan to use a platooning system on freeways and expressways under the
jurisdiction of the commissioner. A platooning system may only be used if a plan has been
approved by the commissioner. The commissioner must consult with the commissioner of
public safety prior to approving the plan, regarding identifiable public safety concerns. A
plan is valid for one year from the date of issuance, unless the plan is for a shorter period
of time, in which case the plan is valid for the shorter time period.

Subd. 2. Required information. The plan must include but is not limited to the following
information on a form prescribed by the commissioner:

(1) total length of the vehicle platoon;

(2) the configuration of the vehicle platoon, including spacing between vehicles;

(3) proposed route and section of freeway or expressway;

(4) proposed time frames the vehicle platoon will be operating;

(5) certification that each human driver in the vehicle platoon has a valid driver's license
for the type or class of vehicle being driven;

(6) certification that the vehicle height, width, and load limits conform to this chapter;
and

(7) vehicle identification information.

Subd. 3. Authority to approve plan. (a) The commissioner may grant or deny a vehicle
platoon plan. The approved plan may include reasonable conditions and restrictions to
ensure public safety, minimize congestion, or prevent undue damage to roads or structures.

(b) The commissioner must provide written notice to the applicant and to the
commissioner of public safety if a plan is denied and lists the reasons for the denial. The
commissioner must approve or deny a plan within 60 days.

Subd. 4. Requirements. Vehicle platoons must meet the following requirements:

(1) must not include more than three vehicles;

(2) each vehicle in the vehicle platoon must have a platooning system installed;

(3) while platooning, each vehicle must have the platooning system engaged,

(4) each vehicle in the vehicle platoon must have a human driver present and in the
driver seat who is monitoring performance of the vehicle at all times and who holds a valid
driver's license for the type or class of vehicle being driven;

(5) each vehicle in the vehicle platoon must meet the vehicle height, width, and load
limits under this chapter;
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(5) each vehicle in the platoon must be covered by minimum liability insurance.

Subd. 5. Operations. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, a vehicle platoon
must allow reasonable access for the movement of other motor vehicles to change lanes
and enter or exit the roadway. A paper or electronic copy of the approved plan must be kept
in each vehicle of the vehicle platoon.

Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.92, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Suspension of driver's license. (a) Upon receiving a report from the court, or
from the driver licensing authority of a state, district, territory, or possession of the United
States or a province of a foreign country which has an agreement in effect with this state
pursuant to section 169.91, that a resident of this state or a person licensed as a driver in
this state did not appear in court in compliance with the terms of a citation, the commissioner
of public safety shall notify the driver that the driver's license will be suspended unless the

does not receive notice of the appearance in the appropriate court or payment of the fine
within 30 days of the date of the commissioner's notice to the driver, the commissioner may
suspend the driver's license, subject to the notice requirements of section 171.18, subdivision
2. Notwithstanding the requirements in this section, the commissioner is prohibited from
suspending the driver's license of a person based solely on the fact that the person did not
appear in court (1) in compliance with the terms of a citation for a petty misdemeanor, or

(2) for a violation of section 171.24, subdivision 1.

(b) The order of suspension shall indicate the reason for the order and shall notify the
driver that the driver's license shall-remain remains suspended until the driver has furnished
evidence, satisfactory to the commissioner, of compliance with any order entered by the
court.

(c) Suspension shall be ordered under this subdivision only when the report clearly
identifies the person arrested; describes the violation, specifying the section of the traffic
law, ordinance or rule violated; indicates the location and date of the offense; and describes
the vehicle involved and its registration number.

Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:
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(6) each vehicle in the platoon must possess minimum liability insurance; and

(7) each vehicle in the platoon must have a paper or electronic copy of the approved

plan in the vehicle.
Subd. 5. Operations. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, a vehicle platoon

must allow reasonable access for the movement of other motor vehicles to change lanes
and enter or exit the roadway.

Subd. 6. Violations. Each vehicle and each driver within the vehicle platoon must comply
with all applicable traffic laws under this chapter. Each driver and each vehicle within the
vehicle platoon must comply with any lawful order or direction of any peace officer.

Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:
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Subd. 48c. Third-party tester. "Third-party tester" means an individual who is an
employee of a third-party testing program who has qualified for a third-party tester certificate
issued by the commissioner granting the individual authorization to conduct road tests or
skills tests.

Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 48d. Third-party testing program. "Third-party testing program" means a
program authorized by the commissioner to administer to an individual the road test or skills
test.

Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:

(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;

(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;

(3) state:
(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or

(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
that the applicant certifies that the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number;

(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and

(5) eontain-spaees-where include a method for the applicant may to:

(i) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision Sa;

(ii) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under paragraph (d); and

(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
subdivision 3c:; and

(iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b.

(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:

(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and
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Subd. 48c. Third-party tester. "Third-party tester" means an individual who is an
employee of a third-party testing program who has qualified for a third-party tester certificate
issued by the commissioner granting the individual authorization to conduct road tests or
skills tests.

Sec. 85. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 48d. Third-party testing program. "Third-party testing program" means a
program authorized by the commissioner to administer to an individual the road test or skills
test.
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(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
the REAL ID Act:

(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;

(i1) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
(ii1) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.

(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
be accompanied by:

(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
citizenship; and

(2) a photographic identity document.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.

Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 6a. Autism spectrum or mental health identifier. Upon the written request of
the applicant, the department shall issue a driver's license or Minnesota identification card
bearing a graphic or written identifier for an autism spectrum disorder, as defined in section
62A.3094, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or mental health condition. The applicant must
submit the written request for the identifier at the time the photograph or electronically
produced image is taken. The commissioner must not include any specific medical
information on the driver's license or Minnesota identification card.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.

Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 5b. Emergency contacts. (2) Upon a request by an applicant for a driver's license,
instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card under section 171.06, subdivision 3,
the commissioner must maintain electronic records of names and contact information for
up to three emergency contacts for the applicant.

(b) A person who has provided emergency contact information under this subdivision
may change, add, or delete the information at any point. Notwithstanding sections 171.06,
subdivision 2, and 171.061, the commissioner or a driver's license agent must not charge a
fee for a transaction described in this paragraph.

(c) Emergency contact data are classified as private data on individuals, as defined in
section 13.02, subdivision 12, except that the commissioner may share emergency contact
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information with law enforcement agencies to notify the emergency contacts regarding an
emergency.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020, or upon completion of the

necessary programming changes to the driver and vehicle services information system,
whichever is earlier.

Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Commissioner shall suspend. (a) The court may recommend the suspension
of the driver's license of the person so convicted, and the commissioner shall suspend such
license as recommended by the court, without a hearing asprevided-herein.

(b) The commissioner is prohibited from suspending a person's driver's license if the
person was convicted only under section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2.

Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Suspensien-for Failure to pay fine. When-any-eourtreportste The

commissioner must not suspend a person's driver's license based solely on the fact that a

person: (1) has been convicted of violating a law of this state or an ordinance of a political
subdivision which regulates the operation or parking of motor vehicles, (2) has been
sentenced to the payment of a fine or had a surcharge levied against that person, or sentenced
to a fine upon which a surcharge was lev1ed and (3) has refused or failed to comply w1th
that sentence or to pay the surchar W

Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Offenses. (a) The commissioner may suspend the license of a driver
without preliminary hearing upon a showing by department records or other sufficient
evidence that the licensee:

(1) has committed an offense for which mandatory revocation of license is required upon
conviction;

(2) has been convicted by a court for violating a provision of chapter 169 or an ordinance
regulating traffic, other than a conviction for a petty misdemeanor, and department records
show that the violation contributed in causing an accident resulting in the death or personal
injury of another, or serious property damage;

(3) is an habitually reckless or negligent driver of a motor vehicle;
(4) is an habitual violator of the traffic laws;

(5) is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle as determined in a judicial proceeding;

PAGE R119

Senate Language UEH1555-1

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



112.17

112.18
112.19

112.20
112.21

112.22
112.23
112.24

112.25

112.26
112.27

112.28

112.29
112.30
113.1
113.2

113.3
113.4

113.5
113.6
113.7
113.8

113.9

113.10
113.11
113.12
113.13
113.14
113.15
113.16
113.17

113.18
113.19

113.20
113.21
113.22

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

(6) has permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use of the license;

(7) has committed an offense in another state that, if committed in this state, would be
grounds for suspension;

(8) has committed a violation of section 169.444, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), within
five years of a prior conviction under that section;

(9) has committed a violation of section 171.22, except that the commissioner may not
suspend a person's driver's license based solely on the fact that the person possessed a
fictitious or fraudulently altered Minnesota identification card;

(10) has failed to appear in court as provided in section 169.92, subdivision 4;

(11) has failed to report a medical condition that, if reported, would have resulted in
cancellation of driving privileges;

(12) has been found to have committed an offense under section 169A.33; or

(13) has paid or attempted to pay a fee required under this chapter for a license or permit
by means of a dishonored check issued to the state or a driver's license agent, which must
be continued until the registrar determines or is informed by the agent that the dishonored
check has been paid in full.

However, an action taken by the commissioner under clause (2) or (5) must conform to the
recommendation of the court when made in connection with the prosecution of the licensee.

(b) The commissioner may-netsuspend is prohibited from suspending the driver's license
of an individual under paragraph (a) who was convicted of a violation of section 171.24,
subdivision 1;whese}i s-tndersuspension-s i beeatts he

Sec. 85.[171.3213] THIRD-PARTY TESTING OF SCHOOL BUS DRIVERS.

A school district that is a third-party testing program and owns or operates school buses
may enter into an agreement with other school districts to test the other districts' school bus
driver employees. A school bus company that is a third-party testing program and owns or
operates school buses may enter into an agreement with other school bus companies to test
the other companies' school bus driver employees. A third-party testing program may be
reimbursed by the tested driver's school district or company. The agreement must be
submitted to the commissioner for approval. A certified third-party tester must be employed
by a school district or a school bus company providing the testing services.

Sec. 86. [171.325] DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSIONS AND REVOCATIONS;
REPORTS.

Subdivision 1. Issuance, suspensions, and revocations. (a) Annually by February 15,
the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members
of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public safety
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Sec. 86. [171.3213] THIRD-PARTY TESTING OF SCHOOL BUS DRIVERS.

A school district that is a third-party testing program and owns or operates school buses
may enter into an agreement with other school districts to test the other districts' school bus
driver employees. A school bus company that is a third-party testing program and owns or
operates school buses may enter into an agreement with other school bus companies to test
the other companies' school bus driver employees. A third-party testing program may be
reimbursed by the tested driver's school district or company. The agreement must be
submitted to the commissioner for approval. A certified third-party tester must be employed
by a school district or a school bus company providing the testing services.
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and transportation on the status of driver's licenses issued, suspended, and revoked. The
commissioner must make the report available on the department's website.

(b) At a minimum, the report must include:

(1) the total number of driver's licenses issued, suspended, and revoked as of January 1
the year the report is submitted, broken down by county;

(2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of driver's licenses
suspended and the number of suspended licenses reinstated; and

(3) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of driver's licenses
revoked and the number of revoked licenses reinstated.

(c) For purposes of paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), and (3), the report must identify each
type of suspension or revocation authorized by statute or rule and include the number of
licenses suspended or revoked for each type.

Subd. 2. Charges, convictions, and fines. (a) Annually by February 15, the state court
administrator must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of
representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public safety and transportation
on (1) charges and convictions for driving after suspension or revocation, and (2) payment
of fines for violations related to operation of a motor vehicle. The administrator must make
the report available on the state court's website.

(b) At a minimum, the report must include:

(1) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of charges under section
171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the charges for each subdivision and indicating
whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant;

(2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of convictions under section
171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the convictions for each subdivision and
indicating whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant; and

(3) for the past calendar year, for all charges on violations related to the operation of a
motor vehicle and included on the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101,
subdivision 4, the percentage of fines, broken down by whether the court appointed the
public defender to represent the defendant, which:

(i) were paid in full by the due date on the citation;

(ii) were paid in full through a payment plan;

(iii) accrued late charges;

(iv) were sent to court collections; and

(v) were sent to the Department of Revenue for collection.
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Sec. 87. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 2a. State transportation improvement program. (a) The commissioner must
establish a statewide prioritization process for selecting transportation projects. The process
must be used for the development of the four-year state transportation improvement program
and must consider, at a minimum, highway, transit, rail, roadway, technology operational
improvements, and transportation demand management strategies.

(b) The prioritization process must be based on an objective and quantifiable analysis
that considers, at a minimum, the following factors relative to the cost of the project or
strategy: congestion mitigation; economic development; accessibility; safety; and
environmental quality.

(c) The commissioner must assign a weight to each of the factors used in paragraph (b)
for each of the department's districts. The commissioner may assign different weights to
the factors within each district, based on the unique needs and qualities of the district.

(d) The commissioner must solicit input from local governments, metropolitan planning
organizations, transit authorities, transportation authorities, and other stakeholders in its
development of the prioritization process pursuant to this section. In developing the weighting
of factors pursuant to paragraph (c) for the metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121,
subdivision 2, the commissioner must consider input provided by the Metropolitan Council.

Sec. 88. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 12. Asset management. The commissioner must maintain an inventory of
transportation assets, including but not limited to bridge, pavement, geotechnical, pedestrian,
bicycle, and transit asset categories.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019. The initial inventory under
this section must be completed by December 15, 2021.

Sec. 89. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

PAGE R122

70.29

70.30
70.31

71.1
71.2
71.3
71.4
71.5

Senate Language UEH1555-1

Sec. 87.[174.20] PAVEMENT SELECTION GUIDELINES.

(a) The commissioner of transportation shall develop, implement, and adhere to a
pavement investment guide.

(b) Each department district office, in collaboration with the central office, must choose
priority roads for construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or preservation within each
district. The central office pavement engineer shall review and approve all pavement
selections for construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or preservation and ensure that
the pavement selection is consistent with the pavement investment guide.
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Subd. 2. Eligibility; application. Any legislatively established public transit commission
or authority, any county or statutory or home rule charter city providing financial assistance
to or operating public transit, any private operator of public transit, any tribal government,
or any combination thereof is eligible to receive financial assistance through the public
transit participation program. Except as provided in subdivision 2b for assistance provided
from federal funds, eligible recipients must be located outside of the metropolitan area.

Sec. 90. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.37, is amended to read:
174.37 ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON NONMOTORIZED ACTIVE
TRANSPORTATION.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. (a) The commissioner of transportation shall establish an
advisory committee on nenmeterized active transportation. The committee shall make
recommendations to the commissioner on items related to:

(1) active transportation and nonmotorized transportation, including safety, education,
and development programs;

(2) the active transportation program under section 174.38; and

(3) the safe routes to school program under section 174.40.

(b) The committee shall review and analyze issues and needs relating to eperating
nenmeterized active transportation on public rights-of-way, and identify solutions and goals
for addressing identified issues and needs.

) (c) For purposes of this section, "nenmeterized active transportation” includes
bicycling, pedestrian activities, and other forms of nonmotorized transportation.

Subd. 2. Members. (a) The advisory committee must consist of the following members:.

ta) (b) The commissioner of transportation shall appoint up to 18 public members, as
follows: one member from each of the department's seven greater Minnesota districts; four
members from the department's metropolitan district; and no more than seven members at
large. Each of the members at large must represent nonmotorized interests or organizations.

) (c) The commissioners of each of the following state agencies shall appoint an
employee of the agency to serve as a member: administration, education, health, natural
resources, public safety, transportation, and pollution control. The chair of the Metropolitan
Council shall appoint an employee of the council to serve as a member. The director of
Explore Minnesota Tourism shall appoint an employee of the agency to serve as a member.
The division administrator of the Federal Highway Administration may appoint an employee
of the agency to serve as a member.

te) (d) Members of the committee shall serve four-year terms.
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Sec. 88. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.37, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Purpose. (a) The commissioner of transportation shall establish an
advisory committee on nonmotorized transportation. The committee shall make
recommendations to the commissioner on items related to nonmotorized transportation,
including safety, education, and development programs. The committee shall review and
analyze issues and needs relating to operating nonmotorized transportation on public
rights-of-way, and identify solutions and goals for addressing identified issues and needs.
The committee must not make any recommendations that would spend money from the
trunk highway fund on bicycle lanes or routes.

(b) For purposes of this section, "nonmotorized transportation" includes bicycling,
pedestrian activities, and other forms of nonmotorized transportation.
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Subd. 3. Meetings. Theee h
ﬁfst—meeﬂﬁg—by—lamrafy—lé—’EGOQ— The commlttee shall elect a chalr from 1ts membershlp,

and shall establish a meeting schedule and meet at least annually.

Subd. 4. Reports. The committee shall issue an annual report to the commissioner of
transportation.

Subd. 5. Expenses. Members of the advisory committee serve without compensation,
but members who are not employees of government agencies must be reimbursed for
expenses in the same manner and amount as authorized by the commissioner's plan adopted
under section 43A.18, subdivision 2. The commissioner of transportation shall provide
department staff support to the committee.

Subd. 6. Expiration. The committee expires June 30, 2648 2023.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. The
commissioner of transportation must convene the next meeting by October 15, 2019.

Sec. 91. [174.46] AUTOMATED VEHICLE TESTING.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.

(b) "Automated driving system" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision

3b.

(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of transportation.

(d) "Federal motor vehicle safety standards automated vehicle exemption" has the
meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 29a.

(e) "Highly automated vehicle" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision
34a.

(f) "Minimal risk condition" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 40b.

(g) "Operator" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 40c.

Subd. 2. Permit required. A permit issued by the commissioner is required to engage
an automated driving system on a highly automated vehicle on the public roads of this state.
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71.17  Sec. 89. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.38, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

71.18 Subd. 3. Active transportation account. An active transportation account is established
71.19  in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds provided by law and any other
71.20 money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Money in the
71.21 account is appropriated to the commissioner and must be expended only on a project that
71.22 receives financial assistance under this section.

71.23  Sec. 90. [174.46] AUTOMATED VEHICLE TESTING.

71.24 Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in section 169.011 apply to this section.

72.1 Subd. 3. Permit to test. (a) A permit is required to engage an automated driving system

72.2  of a highly automated vehicle on the public roads of this state. The commissioner may grant
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The permit may include conditions and restrictions to ensure safety, minimize congestion,
and address other transportation needs.

Subd. 3. License and vehicle registration requirements. (a) A license to lawfully
operate a motor vehicle is not required if the highly automated vehicle does not have the
ability to be operated by a human.

(b) Commercial vehicles, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 16, must have a
human operator present in the highly automated vehicle able to immediately assume control
of the vehicle.

(c) The highly automated vehicle must be registered in accordance with state law or
lawfully registered outside of this state.

Subd. 4. Permit to test. (a) The commissioner may grant or deny a permit application
for the testing of a highly automated vehicle. To obtain a permit for the testing of a highly
automated vehicle a person must submit an application on a form prescribed by the
commissioner. An application must include:

(1) dates and locations of the proposed test;

(2) certification that the highly automated vehicle meets federal safety standards, has
received a federal motor vehicle safety standards automated vehicle exemption, or is
otherwise in compliance with federal safety regulations;

(3) a description of safety procedures to be used during testing;

(4) certification that operators meet the license requirements of subdivision 3;

(5) identification of the owner on the proof of insurance of the highly automated vehicle
to determine liability;

(6) proof that the highly automated vehicle is lawfully registered,

(7) a description of previous testing experience and results of previous tests, including
causes of crashes with the automated driving system engaged;

(8) whether or not a human safety operator will be present in the vehicle during testing
of the highly automated vehicle;

(9) whether an exemption from any state law is being requested;
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or deny a permit application for the testing of a highly automated vehicle. The commissioner
may include reasonable conditions and restrictions on the permit to ensure safety. To obtain
a permit for the testing of a highly automated vehicle a person must submit an application
on a form prescribed by the commissioner. An application must include:

Subd. 2. License and vehicle registration requirements. (a) A license to lawfully
operate a motor vehicle is required.

(b) Commercial vehicles, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 16, must have a
human operator present in the highly automated vehicle able to immediately assume control
of the vehicle.

(c) The highly automated vehicle must be registered in accordance with state law or
lawfully registered outside of this state.

Subd. 3. Permit to test. (a) A permit is required to engage an automated driving system
of a highly automated vehicle on the public roads of this state. The commissioner may grant
or deny a permit application for the testing of a highly automated vehicle. The commissioner
may include reasonable conditions and restrictions on the permit to ensure safety. To obtain
a permit for the testing of a highly automated vehicle a person must submit an application
on a form prescribed by the commissioner. An application must include:

(1) dates and locations of the proposed test;

(2) certification that the highly automated vehicle meets federal safety standards, received
a federal motor vehicle safety standards automated vehicle exemption, or is otherwise in
compliance with federal safety regulations;

(3) a description of safety procedures to be used during testing;

(4) certification that operators meet the license requirements of subdivision 2;

(5) identification of the owner on the proof of insurance of the highly automated vehicle
to determine liability;

(6) proof that the highly automated vehicle is lawfully registered under chapter 168 or
the vehicle registration laws of another state;

(7) a description of previous testing experience and results of previous tests, including
any collisions that occurred and the cause of each collision;

(8) certification that a human driver will be present in the vehicle to immediately assume
control of the vehicle if necessary;

(9) whether an exemption from any state law is being requested; and
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(10) proof of valid and sufficient insurance, surety bond, or self-insurance in an amount
specified by the commissioner; and

(11) any additional information deemed necessary by the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner may require the highly automated vehicle to be tested at a closed
facility before the vehicle is allowed to operate on public roadways.

(c) The commissioner must obtain approval from the commissioner of public safety
before granting a permit.

(d) The commissioner must notify and coordinate with local and tribal governments if
the proposed testing route is located on local or tribal roads. A local road authority may
require a permit for testing if a permit would be otherwise required for a vehicle other than
a highly automated vehicle.

(e) If there are any material changes to the information provided in the permit application,
the applicant must immediately report the changes to the commissioner.

(f) The commissioner may deny an application. Notice of the reasons for denying an
application must be provided in writing. Failure to approve a permit application within 60
days does not constitute an approval of the application.

(g) Permits with a testing route that includes railroad crossings may be approved where
grade separated railroad crossings are available. When grade separated crossings are not
available, a highly automated vehicle must be capable of interacting properly with at-grade
railroad crossing signalization and operations. Prior to granting a permit with a testing route
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(10) proof of valid and sufficient insurance, surety bond, or self-insurance of at least
$10,000,000 per occurrence.

(f) Before driving or operating a highly automated vehicle on public roads, the applicant
must first successfully test at a closed facility. The test must be conducted so that controlled
conditions simulate, as closely as practicable, the road conditions that may affect the
operation of the vehicle. The applicant must demonstrate that the highly automated vehicle
can transition to a minimal risk condition. After successfully completing a test at a closed
facility, the applicant must successfully complete a test on public roads with minimal traffic
and within a geographically fenced area that does not allow the vehicle to operate outside
of the area. The applicant must again demonstrate that the highly automated vehicle can
transition to a minimal risk condition. The commissioner may waive the requirements of
this paragraph if the applicant has successfully completed a substantially similar test in
another state and can provide proof of that successful test.

(b) If an application does not include all the information required in paragraph (a), the
commissioner must not grant the permit.

(c) A permit is valid for one year from the date the permit is issued. A tester may reapply
for a permit in the same manner as for the initial permit.

(d) Nothing in this section authorizes the commissioner or the commissioner of public
safety to waive or modify any law in the state for purposes of a test.

(e) Before granting a permit, the commissioner must consult with the commissioner of
public safety. If the commissioner of public safety notifies the commissioner, in writing, of
an identifiable public safety risk, the commissioner must not grant the permit.

(g) If there are any material changes to the information provided in the permit application,
the applicant must immediately provide those changes to the commissioner.

(h) The commissioner may deny an application. The commissioner must notify the
applicant and the commissioner of public safety if a permit is denied and the notice must
include the reasons for denying an application. The notice must be provided in writing. The
commissioner must grant or deny the permit within 60 days of receiving the application.
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that includes an at-grade railroad crossing, the commissioner must consult with the railroad
companies operating the railroad and include necessary restrictions within the permit.

Subd. 5. Restrictions. A highly automated vehicle may be tested with the automated
driving system engaged with or without a human driver being present in the vehicle if:

(1) the owner or operator has been granted a permit under this section;

(2) the vehicle has the capability to meet the applicable requirements of traffic and motor
vehicle safety laws and regulations of this state unless an exemption, as requested in
subdivision 4, has been granted by the commissioner of public safety for the limited purpose
of testing highly automated vehicles under this section;

(3) the vehicle is capable of achieving a minimal risk condition if the operator does not
or is unable to take control of the vehicle; and

(4) the operator continuously monitors the vehicle's performance while it is being operated
and, if necessary, immediately takes control of the vehicle's movements.

Subd. 6. Collision reporting and data. (a) In the event of a collision with the automated
driving system engaged, the operator or owner of a highly automated vehicle must promptly
contact law enforcement to report the accident, and the highly automated vehicle and its
operator must remain at the scene of the accident as otherwise required by law. If the highly
automated vehicle is being operated remotely, the operator must make reasonable efforts
to establish and maintain communication with law enforcement. The operator or owner
must comply with collision reporting requirements as otherwise required by law.

(b) In the event of a collision involving a highly automated vehicle, the operator must
submit information to the commissioners of transportation and public safety on whether the
automated driving system was engaged at the time of the collision and what specific
component of the automated driving system failed at the time of the collision, if known.

Subd. 7. Public safety. (a) A person may not engage the automated driving system of
a highly automated vehicle without a permit in accordance with this section.

(b) The commissioners of public safety or transportation may immediately prohibit
testing of a highly automated vehicle if it poses a risk to public safety or fails to comply
with the conditions of the approved permit.

Subd. 8. Reporting. (a) The tester must meet with the commissioner and the Minnesota
Council on Disability to discuss lessons learned and best practices.

(b) No later than October 31 each year until 2024, the commissioner must submit a report
to the chairs, ranking minority members, and staff of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over transportation on highly automated vehicle testing. The report must include
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Subd. 4. Restrictions. A highly automated vehicle may be tested with the automated
driving system engaged if:

(1) the owner or operator has been granted a permit under this section;

(2) the vehicle has the capability to meet the applicable requirements of traffic and motor
vehicle safety laws and regulations of this state; and

(3) the operator must continuously monitor the vehicle's performance while it is being
operated and, if necessary, immediately take control of the vehicle's movements. If the
operator does not or is unable to take control of the vehicle, the vehicle must transition to
a minimal risk condition.

Subd. 5. Collision reporting and data. In the event of a collision, the driver, operator,
or owner of a highly automated vehicle must promptly contact law enforcement to report
the accident, and the highly automated vehicle and its driver or operator must remain at the
scene of the accident as otherwise required by law. The driver, operator, or owner must
comply with collision reporting requirements as otherwise required by law. In the event of
a collision, the operator must submit information on whether the automated driving system
was engaged at the time of the collision and what specific component of the automated
driving system failed at the time of the collision, if known.

Subd. 6. Compliance with laws; misdemeanor; public safety. (a) Testing a highly
automated vehicle without a permit constitutes a misdemeanor. Upon issuing a citation, law
enforcement may impound or immobilize the vehicle. The vehicle may not be used until
the operator has obtained the required permit in accordance with this section.

(b) The commissioners of public safety or transportation may immediately prohibit
testing of a highly automated vehicle if it poses a risk to public safety or fails to comply
with the conditions of the approved permit.

Subd. 7. Data; reporting. (a) Data related to highly automated vehicles is governed by
the requirements of chapter 13. Trade secret data provided by the industry is protected under
section 13.37.

(b) No later than October 31 of each year, the commissioner must submit a report to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives transportation
committees on highly automated vehicle testing. The report must include, at a minimum,

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



120.15
120.16

120.17
120.18
120.19
120.20
120.21
120.22
120.23

120.24

120.25

120.26
120.27

120.28
120.29

120.30
120.31
120.32
121.1
121.2
121.3

121.4
121.5
121.6
121.7
121.8
121.9

121.10
121.11

121.12
121.13

121.14
121.15

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

the number of highly automated vehicles on the road, testing locations, whether the highly
automated vehicles were on public roads, and whether any collisions occurred.

Subd. 9. Uniform laws. (a) Unless otherwise provided in this section, highly automated
vehicles, automated driving systems, and any commercial use or operation of highly
automated vehicles is governed by this section, notwithstanding any other provision of law
or rule to the contrary. No rules, laws, ordinances, or regulations relative to the operation
of highly automated vehicles or automated driving systems shall be adopted which limit
the authority to operate such vehicles or systems conferred by this section or which conflict
with this section.

(b) This section does not limit a local unit of government's authority to enforce:

(1) local parking; and

(2) land use and traffic ordinances, if a local unit of government's ordinance would
otherwise apply to a vehicle other than a highly automated vehicle.

Sec. 92. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.57, is amended to read:
174.57 SNOW AND ICE CONTROL; APPROPRIATION.

(a) In a fiscal year in which the commissioner expends more than +H6 100 percent of
the established bienntal annual expenditure level for snow and ice management, the
commissioner may use an additional amount for this purpose that does not exceed 50 percent
of the unappropriated balance in the trunk highway fund. The amount identified by the
commissioner under this paragraph is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the
commissioner for snow and ice management purposes.

(b) Upon using the appropriation authority in this section, the commissioner must notify
the commissioner of management and budget and the chairs, ranking minority members,
and staff of the house of representatives and senate committees having jurisdiction over
transportation finance. The notification must at a minimum identify the established biennial
expenditure level for snow and ice management and the amount appropriated under this
section.

(c) In each budget submission to the legislature under section 16A.11, the commissioner
must include:

(1) the proposed bienntat annual expenditure level for snow and ice management for the
next budget biennium; and

(2) the total annual amount expended or estimated to be expended under the appropriation
in this section for the budget biennium that is ending.
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the number of highly automated vehicles tested; testing locations; whether any collisions
occurred; how many permits were granted; and how many permits were denied and the
reasons for denial.

Subd. 8. Uniform laws. Unless otherwise provided in this section, highly automated
vehicles, automated driving systems, and any commercial use or operation of highly
automated vehicles shall be governed by this section, notwithstanding any other provision
of law or rule to the contrary. No administrative rules or local ordinances relative to the
operation of highly automated vehicles or automated driving systems shall be adopted which
limit the authority to operate such vehicles or systems conferred by this section or which
conflict with this section. This section does not limit a local unit of government's authority
to enforce local parking, traffic, and land use ordinances, if a local unit of government's
traffic ordinance would otherwise apply to a vehicle other than a highly automated vehicle.
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Sec. 93. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 219.015, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Pesitiens Program established; inspector powers and duties. (a) The
commlssmner of transportatlon shal-l must establlsh fhfee a state ra11 safety mspeeter—peﬁﬁeﬂs

ail-safety ation-with-ra 8 inspection
program consisting of up to six posmons Wthh may 1nclude state ra11 safety inspectors and

a program supervisor. The commissioner shall apply to and enter into agreements with the
Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) of the United States Department of Transportation
to participate in the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program fertraining-and
eertiffeation-efaninspeetor to train and certify inspectors under authority of United States
Code, title 49, sections 20103, 20105, 20106, and 20113, and Code of Federal Regulations,
title 49, part 212.

(b) A state rail safety inspector shall must perform one or more of the following:

(1) inspect mainline track, secondary track, and yard and industry track;

(2) inspect railroad right-of-way, including adjacent or intersecting drainage, culverts,
bridges, overhead structures, and traffic and other public crossings;

(3) inspect yards and physical plants;

(4) inspect train equipment;

(5) inspect railroad operations;

(6) review and enforce safety requirements;
(7) review maintenance and repair records; and
(8) review railroad security measures.

(c) A state rail safety inspector may perform, but is not limited to, the duties described
in the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program. An inspector may train, be certified,
and participate in any of the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program disciplines,
including: track, signal and train control, motive power and equipment, operating practices
compliance, hazardous materials, and highway-rail grade crossings.
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Sec. 91. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 174.75, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 6. Bicycle lane or route funding limitation. Notwithstanding any complete street
policy or plan, the commissioner is prohibited from spending any money from the trunk
highway fund on creating, constructing, expanding, marking, or maintaining bicycle lanes
or routes.
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(d) To the extent delegated by the Federal Railroad Administration and authorized by
the commissioner, an inspector may issue citations for violations of this chapter, or to ensure
railroad employee and public safety and welfare.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 94. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 219.015, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. la. Inspection program requirements. (a) State rail safety inspectors must
enforce state railroad safety provisions under chapters 218 and 219 after conducting an
investigation using the procedures established by the commissioner under paragraph (c).
State railroad safety provisions in this chapter include railroad main line, auxiliary, yard,
or industry track; track support structure; drainage; temporary or permanent clearance
conditions; track obstructions; walkways; lighting; and railroad and industry yard conditions

generally.

(b) The state rail safety inspection program must supply state inspectors with measurement
tools required to properly inspect and analyze state railroad safety provisions under this

chapter.

(c) The commissioner must establish a standardized process to receive and investigate
complaints of noncompliance of state rail safety provisions in this chapter. Urgent or
emergency reports of unsafe conditions must be reported by an established means for
expedited communication as determined by the commissioner.

(d) Substantiated reports of noncompliance of state rail safety regulations must be
promptly conveyed by the commissioner or the commissioner's designee to the respective
rail carrier.

(e) Reports of noncompliance submitted in this manner must be investigated and enforced
by the commissioner using the powers established under section 218.041 or other appropriate
powers. The commissioner must notify the rail carrier of an investigation of a reported
noncompliant statutory or regulatory condition on the carrier's property. Investigative
conclusions or actions taken to rectify the noncompliant safety conditions may be provided
to the reporting party or designated safety representative in the manner established by the
commissioner.

(f) Nothing in this section prohibits or limits any other rights and remedies available
under an application for enforcement under section 218.041.

Sec. 95. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 219.015, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Railroad company assessment; account; appropriation. (a) As provided in
this subdivision, the commissioner shall annually assess railroad companies that are (1)
defined as common carriers under section 218.011; (2) classified by federal law or regulation
as Class I Railroads, Class I Rail Carriers, Class II Railroads, or Class II Carriers; and (3)
operating in this state.
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(b) The assessment must be by-a-divisterrof calculated to allocate state rail safety

nspeetor inspection program costs in-equal-propertion-between proportionally among
carriers based on route miles operated in Minnesota;-assessed-inequal-amounts-for365-days
of-the-ealendar-year at the time of assessment. The commissioner shal-assess must include
in the assessment calculation all sfaﬁ-u-p—effe-esf&bhs-hme&t—eesfs—aH—fe}afed-eesfs—ef
nttiating-the state rail safety inspeeter inspection program costs, including but not limited
to administration, supervision, travel, equipment, training, and ongoing state rail inspector
duties.

(c) The assessments collected under this subdivision must be deposited in a speetat

aceountin-the-speeial-reventefund;to-beknewn-as-the state rail safety inspection account,

which is established in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds provided by
this subdivision, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided
to the account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner for-the
esf&bl—tshmeﬂ{—aﬂd—eﬂgemg—fespeﬂﬁb}h&es—ef to administer the state rail safety inspeeter
inspection program.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 96. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 219.1651, is amended to read:
219.1651 GRADE CROSSING SAFETY ACCOUNT.

A Minnesota grade crossing safety account is created in the special revenue fund,
consisting of money credited to the account by law. Money in the account is appropriated
to the commissioner of transportation for rail-highway grade crossing safety projects on
public streets and highways, including engineering costs and other costs associated with
administration and delivery of grade crossing safety projects. At the discretion of the
commissioner of transportation, money in the account at the end of each biennium may
cancel to the trunk highway fund.

Sec. 97. [219.752] MINIMUM CREW SIZE.

No Class I or Class II railroad shall operate a railroad train or locomotive in connection
with the movement of freight or passengers in Minnesota without a crew composed of a
minimum of two individuals. This section does not apply to hostling and helper operations,
remote control locomotives in yards, and as otherwise provided by Code of Federal
Regulations, title 49, part 218, subpart B. A railroad that violates this section is guilty of a
misdemeanor and must pay a fine of at least $250 for a first-time violation of this section
or $1,000 for each subsequent violation, in addition to any other sanctions authorized by
law.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
committed on or after that date.

Sec. 98. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 221.031, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:
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Subd. 2f. Hours of service exemptions; utility construction. (a) The federal regulations
incorporated in section 221.0314, subdivision 9, for hours of service do not apply to drivers
engaged in intrastate transportation of utility construction materials within a 50-mile radius
from the site of a construction or maintenance project.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "utility construction materials" includes supplies
and materials used in a project to construct or maintain (1) a street or highway; (2) equipment
or facilities to furnish electric transmission service; (3) a telecommunications system or
cable communications system; (4) a waterworks system, sanitary sewer, or storm sewer;

(5) a gas heating service line; (6) a pipeline; and (7) a facility for other similar utility service.

Sec. 99. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. General requirements. Exeeptasprovidedin-subdiviston4; Any vehicle

used by an operator to prov1de transportatlon service s-ha-H must be equlpped with Wheelchalr
securement devices w p g
that meet the specifications of sublelslons 1 and 2. Only securement deVlces that meet the

requlrements of the Amerlcans with Disabilities Act may be used. A wheelchalr securement

atta : ; et must be mstalled and i used
according to the manufacturer s 1nstruct10ns and Code of Federal Regulations, title 49,
section 38.23. Wheelchair securement devices installed in any vehicle shalt must be
maintained in working order and according to the manufacturer's recommendations.

Sec. 100. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd 2. Stren«gt-h es1gn requlrements The s&eﬂgﬂa des1gn requlrements for seeufmg

eefnm—ls&teﬂer—ef—pubhe—s&feﬁy securement dev1ces must meet the spec1ﬁcat10ns in Code of

Federal Regulations, title 49, section 38.23.

Sec. 101. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.12, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Maximum number of persons transported. A vehicle used to provide
transportation service shall must carry only as many persons seated in wheelchairs as the
number of securement devices approved by the commissioner of public safety as meeting
the specifications of subdivisions 1 and 2 with which the vehicle is equipped, and each
occupied wheelchair shalt must be secured by such a securement device before the vehicle
is set in motion.

Sec. 102. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.13, is amended to read:
299A.13 ADDITIONAL SAFETY REQUIREMENTS.
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Subdivision 1. Seat belt. Any vehicle used to provide transportation service shalt must
be equipped with seat belts whieh that are approved by the commissioner of public safety.
The seat belts required by this subdivision shalt must be adequate to secure the occupant
of a wheelchair who is being transported by the vehicle. Fhese The seat belts shalt must be
used only to secure the person and shall must not be used to secure the wheelchair unless
the wheelchair securement force is not cumulative to the seat belt. The seat belts shall must
meet all other applicable state and federal requirements for safety.

Subd. 2. Electric wheelchair. When transportation service is provided to an individual
in an electrically powered wheelchair, the main power switch of the wheelchair shall must
be placed in the "off" position at all times while the vehicle is in motion.

Subd. 3. Mobility aid accessibility. (a) Vehicles equipped with wheelchair securement
devices must provide a level-change mechanism or boarding device such as a lift or ramp
that complies with Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 38.23.

(b) Wheelchair lifts must comply with the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration's Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards for public use lifts as outlined in
Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 571.403 and 571.404.

Subd. 4. Driver's responsibility. (a) The driver of a vehicle equipped with a wheelchair
securement device has the duties outlined in this subdivision.

(b) The driver or a person designated by the driver must ensure that an occupied
wheelchair is properly secured before the driver sets the vehicle in motion.

(c) The driver or a person designated by the driver must ensure that the seat belt assembly
is properly adjusted and fastened around the wheelchair user in a manner consistent with
the manufacturer's recommendations before the driver sets the vehicle in motion when:

(1) requested by the wheelchair user;

(2) the wheelchair user is unable to communicate;

(3) seat belt usage is required of all passengers in the vehicle; or

(4) the vehicle is a school bus.

The seat belt assembly must not be fastened if the wheelchair user or other responsible
person advises the driver that to do so would aggravate a physical condition of the wheelchair
user. If a restraint device is available that would not aggravate the physical condition of the
user, it must be fastened in the required manner.

(d) The driver or a person designated by the driver shall ensure that securement devices
and seat belt assemblies are retracted, removed, or otherwise stored when not in use to
prevent tripping of persons and damage to devices.

Sec. 103. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

PAGE R133

Senate Language UEH1555-1

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



127.2
127.3
127.4
127.5
127.6
127.7

127.8

127.9

127.10
127.11
127.12
127.13
127.14
127.15
127.16
127.17
127.18
127.19
127.20
127.21
127.22
127.23
127.24
127.25
127.26
127.27
127.28

127.29
127.30
127.31
127.32
127.33
127.34
128.1
128.2
128.3

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

Subd. 3. Standards. The inspection shall be made to determine that (1) the vehicle
complies with the provisions of sections 299A.12;-subdivistonstand4; and 299A.13;
subdivisiont-that, and (2) the securement device is and level-change mechanism or boarding
device, such as a lift or ramp, are in working order; and that-the-seeurement-devieeis not
in need of obvious repair. The inspection may include testing the use of a securement device
while the vehicle is in motion.

Sec. 104. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299D.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Traffic fines and forfeited bail money. (a) All fines and forfeited bail money
collected from persons apprehended or arrested by officers of the State Patrol shall be
transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines, forfeited bail money, or installments
thereof, on or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which these moneys
were collected, to the commissioner of management and budget. Except where a different
disposition is required in this subdivision or section 387.213, or otherwise provided by law,
three-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the
state general fund. The other five-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state
treasury and credited as follows: (1) the first $35006;600 $1,750,000 in fiscal year 2020 and
$2,500,000 in each fiscal year thereafter must be credited to the Minnesota grade crossing
safety account in the special revenue fund, and (2) remaining receipts must be credited to
the state trunk highway fund. If, however, the violation occurs within a municipality and
the city attorney prosecutes the offense, and a plea of not guilty is entered, one-third of the
receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state general fund, one-third
of the receipts shall be paid to the municipality prosecuting the offense, and one-third shall
be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account
or the state trunk highway fund as provided in this paragraph. When section 387.213 also
is applicable to the fine, section 387.213 shall be applied before this paragraph is applied.
All costs of participation in a nationwide police communication system chargeable to the
state of Minnesota shall be paid from appropriations for that purpose.

(b) All fines and forfeited bail money from violations of statutes governing the maximum
weight of motor vehicles, collected from persons apprehended or arrested by employees of
the state of Minnesota, by means of stationary or portable scales operated by these employees,
shall be transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines or forfeited bail money, on
or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which the collections were made,
to the commissioner of management and budget. Five-eighths of these receipts shall be
deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state highway user tax distribution fund.
Three-eighths of these receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the
state general fund.
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Sec. 93.[299D.11] VEHICLE CRIMES UNIT ANNUAL REPORT.

By January 15 of each year, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees having
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Sec. 105. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.185, is amended to read:
325F.185 ELECTRIC VEHICLE INFRASTRUCTURE.

Any electric vehicle infrastructure installed tn-this by state departments must without
significant upgrading of the electric vehicle infrastructure:

(1) allow for utilization of the electric vehicle infrastructure by any make, model, or
type of electric vehicle;

(2) be in compliance with section 326B.35 and standards set by the Society of Automotive
Engineers; and

(3) be capable of providing bidirectional charging, once electrical utilities achieve a
cost-effective capability to draw electricity from electric vehicles connected to the utility
grid.

Sec. 106. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 62. Unmanned aircraft. "Unmanned aircraft" means an aircraft, as defined in
subdivision 37, that is operated without the possibility of human intervention from within
or on the aircraft.

Sec. 107. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 63. Unmanned aircraft system. "Unmanned aircraft system" means an unmanned
aircraft and all of its associated elements, including components and communication links,
that are required to control and operate the aircraft.
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jurisdiction over transportation finance on the vehicle crimes unit. At a minimum, the report
must specify the following for the previous calendar year: total revenues generated by the
unit; revenues deposited into state funds, listed by fund; the number of cases assigned to

the unit; and the number of cases closed.

Sec. 94. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 46a. Comprehensive plan. "Comprehensive plan" has the meaning given in
section 394.22, subdivision 9, or 462.352, subdivision 5.

Sec. 95. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.017, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Creation; authorized disbursements. (a) There is hereby created a fund
to be known as the state airports fund. The fund shall consist of all money appropriated to
it, or directed to be paid into it, by the legislature.
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76.13 (b) The state airports fund shall be paid out on authorization of the commissioner and
76.14  shall be used:

76.15 (1) to acquire, construct, improve, maintain, and operate airports and other air navigation
76.16 facilities;

76.17 (2) to assist municipalities in the planning, acquisition, construction, improvement, and
76.18 maintenance of airports and other air navigation facilities;

76.19 (3) to assist municipalities to initiate, enhance, and market scheduled air service at their
76.20 airports;

76.21 (4) to promote interest and safety in aeronautics through education and information; and

76.22 (5) to pay the salaries and expenses of the Department of Transportation related to

76.23  aeronautic planning, administration, and operation. All allotments of money from the state
76.24 airports fund for salaries and expenses shall be approved by the commissioner of management
76.25 and budget.

77.1  Sec. 96. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

77.2 Subdivision 1. Authority to establish. The commissioner is authorized and empowered,
773 on behalf of and in the name of this state, within the limitation of available appropriations,
774  to acquire, by purchase, gift, devise, lease, condemnation proceedings, or otherwise, property,
77.5  real or personal, for the purpose of establishing and constructing restricted landing areas

77.6  and other air navigation facilities and to acquire in like manner, own, control, establish,

77.7  construct, enlarge, improve, maintain, equip, operate, regulate, and police such restricted

77.8  landing areas and other air navigation facilities, either within or without this state; and to

77.9  make, prior to any such acquisition, investigations, surveys, and plans. The commissioner
77.10 may maintain, equip, operate, regulate, and police airports, either within or without this

77.11  state. The operation and maintenance of airports is an essential public service. The

77.12  commissioner may maintain at such airports facilities for the servicing of aircraft and for
77.13  the comfort and accommodation of air travelers. The commissioner may dispose of any

77.14  such property, airport, restricted landing area, or any other air navigation facility, by sale,
77.15 lease, or otherwise, in accordance with the laws of this state governing the disposition of
77.16  other like property of the state. The commissioner may not acquire or take over any restricted
77.17 landing area, or other air navigation facility without the consent of the owner. The

77.18 commissioner shall not acquire any additional state airports nor establish any additional

77.19  state-owned airports. The commissioner may erect, equip, operate, and maintain on any

77.20 airport buildings and equipment necessary and proper to maintain, and conduct such airport
77.21 and air navigation facilities connected therewith. The commissioner shall not expend money
77.22  for land acquisition, or for the construction, improvement, or maintenance of airports, or
77.23  for air navigation facilities for an airport, unless the gevernmentalunit municipality, county,
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Sec. 108. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.024, is amended to read:
360.024 AIR TRANSPORTATION SERVICE CHARGE.

Subdivision 1. Charges. (a) The commissioner shatt must charge users of air
transportation services provided by the commissioner for direet operating costs, exeluding
piotsalary-and as allowed by federal aviation regulations.

(b) The commlssmner may charge users for a portlon of a1rcraft acqulsltlon re}glacement
or leasmg costs. Adkre v p

Subd. 2. Accounts; appropriation. (a) An air transportation services account is
established in the state airports fund. The account consists of collections under subdivision
1, paragraph (a), and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided
to the account. Funds in the account are annually appropriated to the commissioner to pay
air service operating costs.

(b) An aircraft capital account is established in the state airports fund. The account
consists of collections under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), proceeds from the sale of aircraft
under jurisdiction of the department, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or
otherwise provided to the account. Funds in the account are annually appropriated to the
commissioner to pay aircraft acquisition, replacement, or leasing costs.

Sec. 109. [360.026] UNMANNED AIRCRAFT LOCAL ORDINANCES.

A political subdivision must (1) allow the commissioner to review a proposed ordinance
affecting the operation of an unmanned aircraft, and (2) notify the commissioner whenever
the political subdivision adopts an ordinance affecting the operation of unmanned aircraft.
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or joint airport zoning board involved has or is establishing a zoning authority for that
airport, and the authority has made a good-faith showing that it is in the process of and will
complete with due diligence, an airport zoning ordinance in accordance with sections 360.061
to 360.074. The commissioner may provide funds to support airport safety projects that
maintain existing infrastructure, regardless of a zoning authority's efforts to complete a
zoning regulation. The commissioner may withhold funding from only the airport subject

to the proposed zoning ordinance. Notwithstanding the foregoing prohibition, the
commissioner may continue to maintain the state-owned airport at Pine Creek.

Sec. 97. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.024, is amended to read:
360.024 AIR TRANSPORTATION SERVICE €HARGE.

Subdivision 1. Charges. (a) The commissioner shatt must charge users of air
transportation services provided by the commissioner for direct operating costs, excluding
pilot salary and.

(b) The commissioner must charge users for a portion of aircraft acquisition, replacement,
or leasing costs.

Subd. 2. Accounts; appropriation. (a) An air transportation services account is
established in the state airports fund. The account consists of money collected under
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise
provided to the account AH—reeeﬂefs—fer—fhese—seﬂmes—s-the—depesﬁed—m—the—aﬁ

3 v rpot are Money in the account is
nnuallz approprlated to the commissioner to pay fhese dlrect air service operating costs.

(b) An aircraft capital account is established in the state airports fund. The account
consists of collections under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), proceeds from the sale of aircraft
under jurisdiction of the department, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or
otherwise provided to the account. Money in the account must be used for aircraft acquisition,
replacement, or leasing costs. Except as provided by law, the commissioner must not transfer
money into or out of the account.

Sec. 98. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.062, is amended to read:
360.062 AIRPORT HAZARD PREVENTION; PROTECTING EXISTING
NEIGHBORHOOD LAND USES.
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78.23 (a) It is hereby found that an airport hazard endangers the lives and property of users of
78.24  the airport and of occupants of land in its vicinity, and may reduce the size of the area

78.25 available for the landing, takeoff, and maneuvering of aircraft, thereby impairing the utility
78.26  of the airport and the public investment therein. It is also found that the social and financial
78.27 costs of disrupting existing land uses around airports #rbuiltup-urban-areas;partietlarly
78.28 establishedresidentialneighberhoeds; often outweigh the benefits of a reduction in airport

78.29  hazards that might result from the elimination or removal of those uses.

78.30 (b) Accordingly, it is hereby declared: (1) that the creation or establishment of an airport
78.31 hazard is a public nuisance and an injury to the community served by the airport in question;
78.32  (2) that it is therefor necessary in the interest of the public health, public safety, and general
78.33  welfare that the creation or establishment of airport hazards be prevented and that this should
79.1  be accomplished to the extent legally possible, by exercise of the police power, without

79.2 compensatlon and (3) t-h&t the ehmmatlon or removal of existing land uses;partienlarly

79.3 g r-areas; or their designation as

79.4 nonconformmg uses is not in the pubhc interest and should be avoided whenever possible
79.5  consistent with reasonable standards of safety.

79.6 (c) It is further declared that the prevention of the creation or establishment of airport
79.7  hazards and the elimination, removal, alteration, mitigation, or marking and lighting of

79.8  existing airport hazards are essential public purpeses services for which political subdivisions
79.9  may raise and expend public funds and acquire land or property interests therein.

79.10  Sec. 99. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.063, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

79.11 Subdivision 1. Enforcement under police power. (a) In order to prevent the creation
79.12  or establishment of airport hazards, every municipality having an airport hazard area within
79.13  its territorial limits may, unless a joint airport zoning board is permitted under subdivision
79.14 3, adopt, amend from time to time, administer, and enforce, under the police power and in
79.15  the manner and upon the conditions hereinafter prescribed, airport zoning regulations for
79.16  such airport hazard area, which regulations may divide such area into zones, and, within
79.17  such zones, specify the land uses permitted and regulate and restrict the height to which
79.18  structures and trees may be erected or allowed to grow.

79.19 (b) Ferthepurpese-efprometing In order to promote health, safety, order, convenience,
79.20  prosperity, and general welfare and fer-eenserving to conserve property values and
79.21 eﬂeeﬁf&gmg encourag e the most approprlate use of land, the mun1c1pa11ty may regulate fhe

79.22
79.23
79.24
79.25
79.26 y areas: (lgland

79.27 use; (2) helght restrictions; (3) the location, size, and use of bulldlngs and (4) the density
79.28  of population.
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(c) The powers granted by this subdivision may be exercised by metropolitan airports
commissions in contiguous cities of the first class in and for which they have been created.

(d) In the case of airports owned or operated by the state of Minnesota such powers shall
be exercised by the state airport zoning boards or by the commissioner of transportation as
authorized herein.

Sec. 100. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.063, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Joint airport zoning board. (a) Where an airport is owned or controlled by a
municipality and an airport hazard area appertaining to the airport is located within the
territorial limits of another county or municipality, the municipality owning or controlling
the airport may request a county or municipality in which an airport hazard area is located:
(1) to adopt and enforce airport zoning regulations for the area in question that-eenform
i b 1551 P aH bdivistonr4 under sections

360.0655 and 360.0656; or

(2) to join in creating a joint airport zoning board pursuant to paragraph (b). The owning
or controlling municipality shall determine which of these actions it shall request, except
as provided in paragraph (e) for the Metropolitan Airports Commission. The request shall
be made by certified mail to the governing body of each county and municipality in which
an airport hazard area is located.

(b) Where an airport is owned or controlled by a municipality and an airport hazard area
appertaining to the airport is located within the territorial limits of another county or
municipality, the municipality owning or controlling the airport and the county or other
municipality within which the airport hazard area is located may, by ordinance or resolution
duly adopted, create a joint airport zoning board, which board shall have the same power
to adopt, administer, and enforce airport zoning regulations applicable to the airport hazard
area in question as that vested by subdivision 1 in the municipality within which the area
is located. A joint board shall have as members two representatives appointed by the
municipality owning or controlling the airport and two from the county or municipality, or
in case more than one county or municipality is involved two from each county or
municipality, in which the airport hazard is located, and in addition a chair elected by a
majority of the members so appointed. All members shall serve at the pleasure of their
respective appointing authority. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary,
if the owning and controlling municipality is a city of the first class it shall appoint four
members to the board, and the chair of the board shall be elected from the membership of
the board.

(c) If a county or municipality, within 60 days of receiving a request from an owning
or controlling municipality pursuant to paragraph (a), fails to adopt, or thereafter fails to
enforce, the zoning regulations or fails to join in creating a joint airport zoning board, the
owning or controlling municipality, or a joint airport zoning board created without
participation by the subdivisions which fail to join the board, may itself adopt, administer,
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81.1  and enforce airport zoning regulations for the airport hazard area in question. In the event
81.2  of conflict between the regulations and airport zoning regulations adopted by the county or
81.3  municipality within which the airport hazard area is located, section 360.064, subdivision
81.4 2, applies.

81.5 (d) "Owning or controlling municipality," as used in this subdivision, includes:

81.6 (1) a joint airport operating board created pursuant to section 360.042 that has been
81.7  granted all the powers of a municipality in zoning matters under the agreement creating the
81.8  board;

81.9 (2) a joint airport operating board created pursuant to section 360.042 that has not been

81.10 granted zoning powers under the agreement creating the board; provided that the board shall
81.11 not itself adopt zoning regulations nor shall a joint airport zoning board created at its request
81.12 adopt zoning regulations unless all municipalities that created the joint operating board join
81.13  to create the joint zoning board; and

81.14 (3) the Metropolitan Airports Commission established and operated pursuant to chapter
81.15 473.
81.16 (e) The Metropolitan Airports Commission shall request creation of one joint airport

81.17 zoning board for each airport operated under its authority.
81.18 Sec. 101. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.064, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

81.19 Subdivision 1. Comprehensive regulations. In the event that a municipality has adopted,
81.20 or hereafter adopts, a comprehensive zoning ordinance regulating, among other things the
81.21 height of buildings, any airport zoning regulations applicable to the same area or portion

81.22 thereof may must be incorporated by reference or incorporated in and made a part of such
81.23 comprehensive zoning regulations and be administered and enforced in connection therewith.

81.24 Sec. 102. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.065, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

81.25 Subdivision 1. Notice of proposed zoning regulations, hearing. (a) No airport zoning
81.26 regulations shall be adopted, amended, or changed under sections 360.011 to 360.076,

81.27 except by action of the governing body of the municipality ez, county in-¢uestion, or joint
81.28 airport zoning board under section 360.0655 or 360.0656, or the boards provided for in
81.29 section 360.063, subd1V151ons 3 and 7 or by the commlssmner as prov1ded in subdivisions
81.30 6 and 8;afterp e s—whichpa v

81.31 eppefmﬂ%ty—te—be—heafd.

82.1 (b) A public hearing shall must be held on the prepesed airport zoning regulations
82.2  proposed by a municipality, county, or Jomt alrport zonmg board before they are submltted
82.3  ferapproeval to the commissioner and-a A e-final-a by-th
82.4  leealzening-autherity for approval. If any changes that alter the regulatlons placed ona
82.5  parcel of land are made to the proposed airport zoning regulations after the initial public
82.6  hearing, the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board must hold a second public
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82.7  hearing before final adoption of the regulation. The commissioner may require a second
82.8  hearing as determined necessary.

82.9 (c) Notice of a hearing required-pursuant-to-this-subdiviston-shalt must be published by
82.10 the leeal-zoning-autherity municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board at least three

82.11 times during the period between 15 days and five days before the hearing in an official

82.12 newspaper and in a second newspaper designated by that authority which has a wide general
82.13 circulation in the area affected by the proposed regulations and posted on the municipality's,
82.14 county's, or joint airport zoning board's website. If there is not a second newspaper of wide
82.15 general circulation in the area that the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board
82.16 can designate for the notice, the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board is only
82.17 required to publish the notice once in the official newspaper of the jurisdiction. The notice
82.18 shall not be published in the legal notice section of a newspaper. The notice must specify
82.19 the time, location, and purpose of the hearing, and must identify any additional location and
82.20 time the proposed regulations will be available for public inspection. A copy of the published
82.21 notice must be added to the record of the proceedings.

8222 (d) Notice of a hearing sha bod fea
82.23 subdivisionin-which-preperty-affected by theregulation ocated: kel must be
82.24 given by mail at least +5 ten days before each hearing to amny persons in-munieipalities-that
2235 owhtand-proposed-to-betnetuded-in-sate ofeA-orB-asprovidedintheriles-ofthe

82.26 DepartmentofTranspertation and landowners where the location or size of a building, or
82.27 the density of population, will be regulated. Mailed notice must also be provided at least
82.28 ten days before each hearing to persons or municipalities that have previously requested
82.29  such notice from the autherity municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board. The notice
82.30 must specify the time, location, and purpose of the hearing, and must identify any additional
82.31 location and time the proposed regulations will be made available for public inspection.
82.32 Mailed notice must also identify the property affected by the regulations. For the purpose
82.33  of giving providing mailed notice, the authority municipality, county, or joint airport zoning
82.34 board may use any appropriate records to determine the names and addresses of owners. A
82.35 copy of the notice and a list of the owners and addresses to which the notice was sent shalt
83.1  beattested-to-by-theresponsiblepersonand-shall must be made-a-part-of added to the records
83.2  of the proceedings. Fhe Failure to give provide mailed notice to individual property owners;
83.3  or defeets a defect in the notice;shalt does not invalidate the proceedings;provided if a

83.4  bona fide attempt to comply with this subdivision has-beer was made. A-netiee-shall-deseribe
83.5 he-property-affected-by-the-propesed-regulations-and-the restrictionsto-be-imposed-on-the
83.6

83.7

83.8  Sec. 103. [360.0655] AIRPORT ZONING REGULATIONS BASED ON
83.9 COMMISSIONER'S STANDARDS; SUBMISSION PROCESS.

83.10 Subdivision 1. Submission to commissioner; review. (a) Except as provided in section
83.11 360.0656, prior to adopting zoning regulations, the municipality, county, or joint airport
83.12  zoning board must submit the proposed regulations to the commissioner for the commissioner
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83.13 to determine whether the regulations conform to the standards prescribed by the

83.14 commissioner. The municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board may elect to complete
83.15 custom airport zoning under section 360.0656 instead of using the commissioner's standard,
83.16  but only after providing written notice to the commissioner.

83.17 (b) Notwithstanding section 15.99, the commissioner must examine the proposed

83.18 regulations within 90 days of receipt of the regulations and report to the municipality, county,
83.19 or joint airport zoning board the commissioner's approval or objections, if any. Failure to
83.20 respond within 90 days is deemed an approval. The commissioner may request additional
83.21 information from the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board within the 90-day
83.22 review period. If the commissioner requests additional information, the 90-day review period
83.23 is tolled until the commissioner receives information and deems the information satisfactory.

83.24 (c) If the commissioner objects on the grounds that the regulations do not conform to
83.25 the standards prescribed by the commissioner, the municipality, county, or joint airport
83.26  zoning board must make amendments necessary to resolve the objections or provide written
83.27 notice to the commissioner that the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board will
83.28 proceed with zoning under section 360.0656.

83.29 (d) If the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board makes revisions to the

83.30 proposed regulations after its initial public hearing, the municipality, county, or joint airport
83.31 zoning board must conduct a second public hearing on the revisions and resubmit the revised
83.32 proposed regulations to the commissioner for review. The commissioner must examine the
83.33 revised proposed regulations within 90 days of receipt to determine whether the revised
83.34 proposed regulations conform to the standards prescribed by the commissioner.

84.1 (e) If, after a second review period, the commissioner determines that the municipality,
84.2  county, or joint airport zoning board failed to submit proposed regulations that conform to
84.3  the commissioner's standards, the commissioner must provide a final written decision to
84.4  the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board.

84.5 (f) The municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board must not adopt regulations
84.6  or take other action until the proposed regulations are approved by the commissioner.

84.7 (g) The commissioner may approve local zoning ordinances that are more stringent than
84.8  the commissioner's standards.

84.9 (h) If the commissioner approves the proposed regulations, the municipality, county, or
84.10 joint airport zoning board may adopt the regulations.

84.11 (i) A copy of the adopted regulations must be filed with the county recorder in each
84.12 county that contains a zoned area subject to the regulations.

84.13 (j) Substantive rights that existed and had been exercised prior to August 1, 2019, are
84.14 not affected by the filing of the regulations.

84.15 Subd. 2. Protection of existing land uses. (a) In order to ensure minimum disruption
84.16  of existing land uses, the commissioner's airport zoning standards and local airport zoning
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84.17 ordinances or regulations adopted under this section must distinguish between the creation
84.18 or establishment of a use and the elimination of an existing use, and must avoid the

84.19 elimination, removal, or reclassification of existing uses to the extent consistent with

84.20 reasonable safety standards. The commissioner's standards must include criteria for

84.21 determining when an existing land use may constitute an airport hazard so severe that public
84.22 safety considerations outweigh the public interest in preventing disruption to that land use.

84.23 (b) Airport zoning regulations that classify as a nonconforming use or require
84.24 nonconforming use classification with respect to any existing low-density structure or
84.25 existing isolated low-density building lots must be adopted under sections 360.061 to
84.26 360.074.

84.27 (c) A local airport zoning authority may classify a land use described in paragraph (b)
84.28 as an airport hazard if the authority finds that the classification is justified by public safety
84.29 considerations and is consistent with the commissioner's airport zoning standards. Any land
84.30 use described in paragraph (b) that is classified as an airport hazard must be acquired, altered,
84.31 or removed at public expense.

84.32 (d) This subdivision must not be construed to affect the classification of any land use
84.33 under any zoning ordinances or regulations not adopted under sections 360.061 to 360.074.

85.1  Sec. 104.[360.0656] CUSTOM AIRPORT ZONING STANDARDS.

85.2 Subdivision 1. Custom airport zoning standards; factors. (a) Notwithstanding section
853  360.0655, a municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board must provide notice to the

85.4  commissioner when the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board intends to establish
85.5  and adopt custom airport zoning regulations under this section.

85.6 (b) Airport zoning regulations submitted to the commissioner under this subdivision are
85.7  not subject to the commissioner's zoning regulations under section 360.0655 or Minnesota
85.8  Rules, part 8800.2400.

85.9 (c) When developing and adopting custom airport zoning regulations under this section,
85.10 the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board must include in the record a detailed
85.11 analysis that explains how the proposed custom airport zoning regulations addressed the
85.12 following factors to ensure a reasonable level of safety:

85.13 (1) the location of the airport, the surrounding land uses, and the character of
85.14 neighborhoods in the vicinity of the airport, including:

85.15 (i) the location of vulnerable populations, including schools, hospitals, and nursing
85.16 homes, in the airport hazard area;

85.17 (ii) the location of land uses that attract large assemblies of people in the airport hazard
85.18 area;
85.19 (iii) the availability of contiguous open spaces in the airport hazard area;
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(iv) the location of wildlife attractants in the airport hazard area;

(v) airport ownership or control of the federal Runway Protection Zone and the
department's Clear Zone;

(vi) land uses that create or cause interference with the operation of radio or electronic
facilities used by the airport or aircraft;

(vii) land uses that make it difficult for pilots to distinguish between airport lights and
other lights, result in glare in the eyes of pilots using the airport, or impair visibility in the
vicinity of the airport;

(viii) land uses that otherwise inhibit a pilot's ability to land, take off, or maneuver the
aircraft;

(ix) airspace protection to prevent the creation of air navigation hazards in the airport
hazard area; and

(x) the social and economic costs of restricting land uses;

(2) the airport's type of operations and how the operations affect safety surrounding the
airport;

(3) the accident rate at the airport compared to a statistically significant sample, including
an analysis of accident distribution based on the rate with a higher accident incidence;

(4) the planned land uses within an airport hazard area, including any applicable platting,
zoning, comprehensive plan, or transportation plan; and

(5) any other information relevant to safety or the airport.

Subd. 2. Submission to commissioner; review. (a) Except as provided in section
360.0655, prior to adopting zoning regulations, the municipality, county, or joint airport
zoning board must submit its proposed regulations and the supporting record to the
commissioner for review. The commissioner must determine whether the proposed custom
airport zoning regulations and supporting record (1) evaluate the criteria under subdivision
1, and (2) provide a reasonable level of safety.

(b) Notwithstanding section 15.99, the commissioner must examine the proposed
regulations within 90 days of receipt of the regulations and report to the municipality, county,
or joint airport zoning board the commissioner's approval or objections, if any. Failure to
respond within 90 days is deemed an approval. The commissioner may request additional
information from the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board within the 90-day

review period.

(c) If the commissioner objects on the grounds that the regulations do not provide a
reasonable level of safety, the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board must
review, consider, and provide a detailed explanation demonstrating how it evaluated the
objections and what action it took or did not take in response to the objections. If the
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86.25 municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board submits amended regulations after its
86.26 initial public hearing, the municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board must conduct
86.27 a second public hearing on the revisions and resubmit the revised proposed regulations to
86.28 the commissioner for review. The commissioner must examine the revised proposed

86.29 regulations within 90 days of receipt of the regulations. If the commissioner requests
86.30 additional information, the 90-day review period is tolled until satisfactory information is
86.31 received by the commissioner. Failure to respond within 90 days is deemed an approval.

86.32 (d) If, after the second review period, the commissioner determines that the municipality,
86.33  county, or joint airport zoning board failed to submit proposed regulations that provide a

87.1  reasonable level of safety, the commissioner must provide a final written decision to the

87.2  municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board.

87.3 (e) A municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board is prohibited from adopting
87.4  custom regulations or taking other action until the proposed regulations are approved by
87.5  the commissioner.

87.6 (f) If the commissioner approves the proposed regulations, the municipality, county, or
87.7  joint airport zoning board may adopt the regulations.

87.8 (g) A copy of the adopted regulations must be filed with the county recorder in each
87.9  county that contains a zoned area subject to the regulations.

87.10 (h) Substantive rights that existed and had been exercised prior to August 1, 2019, are
87.11 not affected by the filing of the regulations.

87.12 Sec. 105. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.066, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

87.13 Subdivision 1. Reasonableness. Standards-ofthe-eommisstoner Zoning standards defining
87.14 airport hazard areas and the categories of uses permitted and airport zoning regulations

87.15 adopted under sections 360.011 to 360.076, shall be reasonable, and none shall impose a

87.16 requirement or restriction which is not reasonably necessary to effectuate the purposes of

87.17 ; ing-whatmintmam-ai ing-regulati

87.18
87.19
87.20
87.21
87.22
87.23

87.24 Sec. 106. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.067, is amended by adding a subdivision
87.25 toread:

87.26 Subd. 5. Federal no hazard determination. (a) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 and 2,
87.27 a municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board may include in its custom airport zoning
87.28 regulations adopted under section 360.0656 an option to permit construction of a structure,

87.29 an increase or alteration of the height of a structure, or the growth of an existing tree without
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87.30 a variance from height restrictions if the Federal Aviation Administration has analyzed the
87.31 proposed construction, alteration, or growth under Code of Federal Regulations, title 14,
87.32 part 77, and has determined the proposed construction, alteration, or growth does not:

88.1 (1) pose a hazard to air navigation;
88.2 (2) require changes to airport or aircraft operations; or
88.3 (3) require any mitigation conditions by the Federal Aviation Administration that cannot

88.4  be satisfied by the landowner.

88.5 (b) A municipality, county, or joint airport zoning board that permits an exception to
88.6  height restrictions under this subdivision must require the applicant to file the Federal

88.7  Aviation Administration's no hazard determination with the applicable zoning administrator.
88.8  The applicant must obtain written approval of the zoning administrator before construction,
88.9  alteration, or growth may occur. Failure of the administrator to respond within 60 days to
88.10 a filing under this subdivision is deemed a denial. The Federal Aviation Administration's
88.11 no hazard determination does not apply to requests for variation from land use, density, or
88.12 any other requirement unrelated to the height of structures or the growth of trees.

88.13  Sec. 107. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.071, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

88.14 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) Where a zoning board of appeals or adjustment already exists,
88.15 it may be appointed as the board of adjustment. Otherwise, the board of adjustment shall

88.16 consist of five members, each to be appointed for a term of three years by the authority

88.17 adopting the regulations and to be removable by the appointing authority for cause, upon
88.18 written charges and after public hearing. The length of initial appointments may be staggered.

88.19 (b) In the case of a Metropolitan Airports Commission, five members shall be appointed
88.20 by the commission chair from the area in and for which the commission was created, any
88.21 of whom may be members of the commission. In the case of an airport owned or operated
88.22 by the state of Minnesota, the board of commissioners of the county, or counties, in which
88.23  the airport hazard area is located shall constitute the airport board of adjustment and shall
88.24 exercise the powers and duties of such board as provided herein.

88.25 Sec. 108. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.305, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

88.26 Subd. 6. Zoning required. The commissioner shall must not expend money for planning
88.27 or land acquisition, et for the construction, improvement, or maintenance of airports, or for
88.28 air navigation facilities for an airport, unless the gevernmentalunit municipality, county,

88.29 or joint airport zoning board involved has or is establishing a zoning authority for that

88.30 airport, and the authority has made a good-faith showing that it is in the process of and will
88.31 complete with due diligence, an airport zoning ordinance in accordance with sections 360.061
88.32  to0 360.074. The commissioner may provide funds to support airport safety projects that

89.1  maintain existing infrastructure, regardless of a zoning authority's efforts to complete a

89.2  zoning regulation. The commissioner shalt must make maximum use of zoning and easements
89.3  to eliminate runway and other potential airport hazards rather than land acquisition in fee.
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Sec. 110. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.55, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 9. Unmanned aircraft systems. (a) Any unmanned aircraft system in which the
unmanned aircraft weighs less than 55 pounds at takeoff, including payload and anything
affixed to the aircraft, either:

(1) must be registered in the state for an annual fee of $25; or

(2) is not subject to registration or an annual fee, if the unmanned aircraft system is
owned and operated solely for recreational purposes.

(b) An unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements under paragraph (a) is
exempt from aircraft registration tax under sections 360.511 to 360.67.

Sec. 111. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.59, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Certificate of insurance. (a) Every owner of aircraft in this state when applying
for registration, reregistration, or transfer of ownership shall supply any information the
commissioner reasonably requires to determine that the aircraft during the period of its
contemplated operation is covered by an insurance policy with limits of not less than
$100,000 per passenger seat liability both for passenger bodily injury or death and for
property damage; not less than $100,000 for bodily injury or death to each nonpassenger
in any one accident; and not less than $300,000 per occurrence for bodily injury or death
to nonpassengers in any one accident. The insurance must comply with section 60A.081,
unless that section is inapplicable under section 60A.081, subdivision 3.

The information supplied to the commissioner must include but is not limited to the
name and address of the owner, the period of contemplated use or operation, if any, and, if
insurance coverage is then presently required, the name of the insurer, the insurance policy
number, the term of the coverage, policy limits, and any other data the commissioner requires.
No certificate of registration shall be issued pursuant to subdivision 3 in the absence of the
information required by this subdivision.

(b) In the event of cancellation of aircraft insurance by the insurer, the insurer shall
notify the Department of Transportation at least ten days prior to the date on which the
insurance coverage is to be terminated. Unless proof of a new policy of insurance is filed
with the department meeting the requirements of this subdivision during the period of the
aircraft's contemplated use or operation, the registration certificate for the aircraft shall be
revoked forthwith.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to require an owner of aircraft to
maintain passenger seat liability coverage (1) on aircraft for which an experimental certificate
has been issued by the administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration pursuant to
Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, sections 21.191 to 21.195 and 91.42, whereunder
persons operating the aircraft are prohibited from carrying passengers in the aircraft, or (2)
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for an unmanned aircraft. Whenever the aircraft becomes certificated to carry passengers,
passenger seat liability coverage shall be required as provided in this subdivision.

(d) The requirements of this subdivision shall not apply to any aircraft built by the
original manufacturer prior to December 31, 1939, and owned and operated solely as a
collector's item, if the owner files an affidavit with the commissioner. The affidavit shall
state the owner's name and address, the name and address of the person from whom the
aircraft was purchased, the make, year, and model number of the aircraft, the federal aircraft
registration number, the manufacturer's identification number, and that the aircraft is owned
and operated solely as a collector's item and not for general transportation purposes.

(e) An unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements of section 360.55,
subdivision 9, is not required to meet the requirements under paragraphs (a) and (b). An
owner of an unmanned aircraft system that must be registered as required under section
360.55, subdivision 9, must at the time of registration provide proof of insurability using
an on-demand insurance product in a form acceptable to the commissioner. Additionally,
such operators must maintain records and proof that each flight was insured to the limits of

paragraph (a).

Sec. 112. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 360.62, is amended to read:
360.62 TAX REFUND.

Except as provided herein the tax upon any aircraft which has been paid for any year,
shall be refunded only for errors made in computing the tax or fees or for the error on the
part of an owner who may in error have registered an aircraft that was not before, nor at the
time of such registration, nor at any time thereafter during the tax period, subject to such
tax in this state; provided that after more than 24 months after such tax was paid no refund
shall be made for any tax paid on any aircraft. Refunds as provided by sections 360.511 to
360.67 shall be made in the manner provided by Laws 1947, chapter 416. The former owner
of a transferred aircraft by an assignment in writing endorsed upon the former owner's
registration certificate and delivered to the commissioner within the time provided herein
may sell and assign to the new owner thereof the right to have the tax paid by the former
owner accredited to such new owner who duly registers such aircraft. Any owner whose
aircraft shalb-be is destroyed or permanently removed from the state shatt-be is entitled to
a refund for the unused portion of the tax paid upon the destroyed or removed aircraft se
destroyed-orremevedfromthestate;sueh. The refund te must be computed pro rata by the
month, and to be equal to the monthly tax rate multiplied by the number of full calendar
months remaining in the fiscal year, or multiplied by the number of full calendar months
remaining in that period between January 1, 1966, to and including June 30, 1967, whichever
period is applicable. An unmanned aircraft system that is destroyed or permanently removed
from the state is not entitled to a tax refund under this section.

In order to secure such refund, the aircraft owner shall submit a signed statement that
such aircraft has either been sold out of state or destroyed, the date of such sale or destruction,
and such other information as the commissioner may require. Any false statement willfully
and knowingly made in regard thereto shall be deemed a perjury and punished accordingly.
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131.33 No refund shall be made if application is not made within 12 months after the date the
131.34 aircraft was sold out of state or destroyed.

89.4  Sec. 109. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 394.22, is amended by adding a subdivision
89.5  toread:

89.6 Subd. la. Airport safety zone. "Airport safety zone" means an area subject to land use
89.7  zoning controls adopted under sections 360.061 to 360.074 if the zoning controls regulate
89.8 (1) the size or location of buildings, or (2) the density of population.

89.9  Sec. 110. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 394.23, is amended to read:
89.10 394.23 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN.

89.11 The board has the power and authority to prepare and adopt by ordinance, a

89.12 comprehensive plan. A comprehensive plan or plans when adopted by ordinance must be
89.13  the basis for official controls adopted under the provisions of sections 394.21 to 394.37.

89.14 The commissioner of natural resources must provide the natural heritage data from the

89.15 county biological survey, if available, to each county for use in the comprehensive plan.

89.16 When adopting or updating the comprehensive plan, the board must, if the data is available
89.17 to the county, consider natural heritage data resulting from the county biological survey. In
89.18 a county that is not a greater than 80 percent area, as defined in section 103G.005, subdivision
89.19  10b, the board must consider adopting goals and objectives that will protect open space and
89.20 the environment. The board must consider the location and dimensions of airport safety

89.21 zones in any portion of the county, and of any airport improvements, identified in the airport's
89.22 most recent approved airport layout plan.

89.23  Sec. 111. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 394.231, is amended to read:
89.24 394.231 COMPREHENSIVE PLANS IN GREATER MINNESOTA; OPEN SPACE.

89.25 A county adopting or updating a comprehensive plan in a county outside the metropolitan
89.26 area as defined by section 473.121, subdivision 2, and that is not a greater than 80 percent
89.27 area, as defined in section 103G.005, subdivision 10b, shall consider adopting goals and

89.28 objectives for the preservation of agricultural, forest, wildlife, and open space land, and

89.29 minimizing development in sensitive shoreland areas. Within three years of updating the

89.30 comprehensive plan, the county shall consider adopting ordinances as part of the county's
89.31 official controls that encourage the implementation of the goals and objectives. The county
89.32 shall consider the following goals and objectives:

90.1 (1) minimizing the fragmentation and development of agricultural, forest, wildlife, and
90.2  open space lands, including consideration of appropriate minimum lot sizes;

90.3 (2) minimizing further development in sensitive shoreland areas;

90.4 (3) minimizing development near wildlife management areas, scientific and natural
90.5 areas, and nature centers;
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(4) encouraging land uses in airport safety zones that are compatible with the safe
operation of the airport and the safety of people in the vicinity of the airport;

4 (5) identification of areas of preference for higher density, including consideration
of existing and necessary water and wastewater services, infrastructure, other services, and
to the extent feasible, encouraging full development of areas previously zoned for
nonagricultural uses;

£5) (6) encouraging development close to places of employment, shopping centers,
schools, mass transit, and other public and private service centers;

6 (7) identification of areas where other developments are appropriate; and
5 (8) other goals and objectives a county may identify.
Sec. 112. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 394.25, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. In district zoning, maps. Within each such district zoning ordinances or maps
may also be adopted designating or limiting the location, height, width, bulk, type of
foundation, number of stories, size of, and the specific uses for which dwellings, buildings,
and structures may be erected or altered; the minimum and maximum size of yards, courts,
or other open spaces; setback from existing roads and highways and roads and highways
designated on an official map; protective measures necessary to protect the public interest
including but not limited to controls relating to appearance, signs, lighting, hours of operation
and other aesthetic performance characteristics including but not limited to noise, heat,
glare, vibrations and smoke; the area required to provide for off street loading and parking
facilities; heights of trees and structures near airports; and to avoid too great concentration
or scattering of the population. All such provisions shall be uniform for each class of land
or building throughout each district, but the provisions in one district may differ from those
in other districts. No provision may prohibit earth sheltered construction as defined in section
216C.06, subdivision 14, or manufactured homes built in conformance with sections 327.31
to 327.35 that comply with all other zoning ordinances promulgated pursuant to this section.
Airport safety zones must be included on maps that illustrate boundaries of zoning districts
and that are adopted as official controls.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to maps
created or updated under this section on or after that date.

Sec. 113. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 462.352, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1a. Airport safety zone. "Airport safety zone" has the meaning given in section
394.22, subdivision 1la.

Sec. 114. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 462.355, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Preparation and review. The planning agency shall prepare the
comprehensive municipal plan. In discharging this duty the planning agency shall consult
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with and coordinate the planning activities of other departments and agencies of the
municipality to insure conformity with and to assist in the development of the comprehensive
municipal plan. In its planning activities the planning agency shall take due cognizance of
the planning activities of adjacent units of government and other affected public agencies.
The planning agency shall periodically review the plan and recommend amendments
whenever necessary. When preparing or recommending amendments to the comprehensive
plan, the planning agency of a municipality located within a county that is not a greater than
80 percent area, as defined in section 103G.005, subdivision 10b, must consider adopting
goals and objectives that will protect open space and the environment. When preparing or
recommending amendments to the comprehensive plan, the planning agency must consider
(1) the location and dimensions of airport safety zones in any portion of the municipality,
and (2) any airport improvements identified in the airport's most recent approved airport

layout plan.

Sec. 115. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 462.357, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1i. Airport safety zones on zoning maps. Airport safety zones must be included
on maps that illustrate boundaries of zoning districts and that are adopted as official controls.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to maps
created or updated under this section on or after that date.

Sec. 116. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 462.357, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Development goals and objectives. In adopting official controls after July 1,
2008, in a municipality outside the metropolitan area, as defined by section 473.121,
subdivision 2, the municipality shall consider restricting new residential, commercial, and
industrial development so that the new development takes place in areas subject to the
following goals and objectives:

(1) minimizing the fragmentation and development of agricultural, forest, wildlife, and
open space lands, including consideration of appropriate minimum lot sizes;

(2) minimizing further development in sensitive shoreland areas;

(3) minimizing development near wildlife management areas, scientific and natural
areas, and nature centers;

(4) encouraging land uses in airport safety zones that are compatible with the safe
operation of the airport and the safety of people in the vicinity of the airport;

t4) (5) identification of areas of preference for higher density, including consideration
of existing and necessary water and wastewater services, infrastructure, other services, and
to the extent feasible, encouraging full development of areas previously zoned for
nonagricultural uses;

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



132.1

132.2
1323

132.4
132.5
132.6

132.7
132.8
132.9

132.10
132.11

132.12

132.13
132.14
132.15
132.16

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

Sec. 113. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.386, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Duties of council. In implementing the special transportation service, the council
shall must:

ta) (1) encourage participation in the service by public, private, and private nonprofit
providers of special transportation currently receiving capital or operating assistance from
a public agency;

) (2) when feasible and cost-efficient, contract with public, private, and private nonprofit
providers that have demonstrated their ability to effectively provide service at a reasonable
cost;

te) (3) encourage individuals using special transportation to use the type of service most
appropriate to their particular needs;

&) (4) encourage shared rides to the greatest extent practicable;

e) (5) encourage public agencies that provide transportation to eligible individuals as
a component of human services and educational programs to coordinate with this service
and to allow reimbursement for transportation provided through the service at rates that
reflect the public cost of providing that transportation;
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€5 (6) encouraging development close to places of employment, shopping centers,
schools, mass transit, and other public and private service centers;

6 (7) identification of areas where other developments are appropriate; and
€D (8) other goals and objectives a municipality may identify.

Sec. 117. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.121, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 37. Light rail transit. "Light rail transit" means an electrically powered passenger
train that operates on a fixed two-rail route. Light rail transit operates in a dedicated
right-of-way that is not shared with motor vehicles except for intersections where vehicles
may cross the tracks. Light rail transit does not include streetcars.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective June 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 118. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.121, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 38. Streetcar. "Streetcar" means a passenger car, other than light rail transit or
rail cars, that operates on a fixed two-rail route. Streetcars operate primarily in mixed traffic,
but may also operate in a dedicated right-of-way for a portion of a route.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective June 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 119. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.386, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Duties of council. In implementing the special transportation service, the council
shall:

(a) encourage participation in the service by public, private, and private nonprofit
providers of special transportation currently receiving capital or operating assistance from
a public agency;

(b) when feasible and cost-efficient, contract with public, private, and private nonprofit
providers that have demonstrated their ability to effectively provide service at a reasonable
cost;

(c) encourage individuals using special transportation to use the type of service most
appropriate to their particular needs;

(d) encourage shared rides to the greatest extent practicable;

(e) encourage public agencies that provide transportation to eligible individuals as a
component of human services and educational programs to coordinate with this service and
to allow reimbursement for transportation provided through the service at rates that reflect
the public cost of providing that transportation;

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



132.17
132.18

132.19
132.20

132.21
132.22

132.23
132.24
132.25
132.26
132.27
132.28

132.29
132.30

133.1
133.2

Transportation Omnibus

House Language H1555-2

6 (6) establish criteria to be used in determining individual eligibility for special
transportation services;

&) (7) consult with the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee in a timely
manner before changes are made in the provision of special transportation services;

th) (8) provide for effective administration and enforcement of council policies and
standards; and

) (9) ensure that, taken as a whole including contracts with public, private, and private
nonprofit providers, the geographic coverage area of the special transportation service is
continuous within the boundaries of the transit taxing district, as defined as of March 1,
2006, in section 473.446, subdivision 2, and any area added to the transit taxing district
under section 473.4461 that received capital improvements financed in part under the United
States Department of Transportation Urban Partnership Agreement program.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective January 1, 2020, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 114. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.386, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:
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(f) establish criteria to be used in determining individual eligibility for special
transportation services;

(g) consult with the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee in a timely manner
before changes are made in the provision of special transportation services;

(h) provide for effective administration and enforcement of council policies and standards;
and

(i) ensure that, taken as a whole including contracts with public, private, and private
nonprofit providers, the geographic coverage area of the special transportation service is
continuous within the boundaries of the transit taxing district, as defined as of March 1,
2006, in section 473.446, subdivision 2, and within the boundaries of any city that pays into
the transit taxing district that is not included in section 473.446, subdivision 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.46, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. General. (a) Data on individuals collected, maintained, used, or disseminated
by the welfare system are private data on individuals, and shall not be disclosed except:

(1) according to section 13.05;
(2) according to court order;
(3) according to a statute specifically authorizing access to the private data;

(4) to an agent of the welfare system and an investigator acting on behalf of a county,
the state, or the federal government, including a law enforcement person or attorney in the
investigation or prosecution of a criminal, civil, or administrative proceeding relating to the
administration of a program;

(5) to personnel of the welfare system who require the data to verify an individual's
identity; determine eligibility, amount of assistance, and the need to provide services to an
individual or family across programs; coordinate services for an individual or family;
evaluate the effectiveness of programs; assess parental contribution amounts; and investigate
suspected fraud;

(6) to administer federal funds or programs;
(7) between personnel of the welfare system working in the same program;

(8) to the Department of Revenue to assess parental contribution amounts for purposes
of section 252.27, subdivision 2a, administer and evaluate tax refund or tax credit programs
and to identify individuals who may benefit from these programs. The following information
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20.2  may be disclosed under this paragraph: an individual's and their dependent's names, dates
20.3  of birth, Social Security numbers, income, addresses, and other data as required, upon

20.4  request by the Department of Revenue. Disclosures by the commissioner of revenue to the
20.5  commissioner of human services for the purposes described in this clause are governed by
20.6  section 270B.14, subdivision 1. Tax refund or tax credit programs include, but are not limited
20.7  to, the dependent care credit under section 290.067, the Minnesota working family credit
20.8  under section 290.0671, the property tax refund and rental credit under section 290A.04,

20.9  and the Minnesota education credit under section 290.0674;

20.10 (9) between the Department of Human Services, the Department of Employment and
20.11 Economic Development, and when applicable, the Department of Education, for the following
20.12  purposes:

20.13 (1) to monitor the eligibility of the data subject for unemployment benefits, for any
20.14 employment or training program administered, supervised, or certified by that agency;

20.15 (ii) to administer any rehabilitation program or child care assistance program, whether
20.16 alone or in conjunction with the welfare system;

20.17 (iii) to monitor and evaluate the Minnesota family investment program or the child care
20.18 assistance program by exchanging data on recipients and former recipients of food support,
20.19 cash assistance under chapter 256, 256D, 256J, or 256K, child care assistance under chapter
20.20 119B, medical programs under chapter 256B or 256L, or a medical program formerly

20.21 codified under chapter 256D; and

20.22 (iv) to analyze public assistance employment services and program utilization, cost,
20.23 effectiveness, and outcomes as implemented under the authority established in Title II,
20.24  Sections 201-204 of the Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act of 1999.
20.25 Health records governed by sections 144.291 to 144.298 and "protected health information"
20.26 as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 160.103, and governed by Code
20.27 of Federal Regulations, title 45, parts 160-164, including health care claims utilization
20.28 information, must not be exchanged under this clause;

20.29 (10) to appropriate parties in connection with an emergency if knowledge of the
20.30 information is necessary to protect the health or safety of the individual or other individuals
20.31 or persons;

20.32 (11) data maintained by residential programs as defined in section 245A.02 may be
20.33 disclosed to the protection and advocacy system established in this state according to Part
20.34 C of Public Law 98-527 to protect the legal and human rights of persons with developmental
21.1  disabilities or other related conditions who live in residential facilities for these persons if
21.2  the protection and advocacy system receives a complaint by or on behalf of that person and
21.3  the person does not have a legal guardian or the state or a designee of the state is the legal
214  guardian of the person;

21.5 (12) to the county medical examiner or the county coroner for identifying or locating
21.6  relatives or friends of a deceased person;
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21.7 (13) data on a child support obligor who makes payments to the public agency may be
21.8  disclosed to the Minnesota Office of Higher Education to the extent necessary to determine
21.9  eligibility under section 136A.121, subdivision 2, clause (5);

21.10 (14) participant Social Security numbers and names collected by the telephone assistance
21.11 program may be disclosed to the Department of Revenue to conduct an electronic data

21.12  match with the property tax refund database to determine eligibility under section 237.70,
21.13  subdivision 4a;

21.14 (15) the current address of a Minnesota family investment program participant may be
21.15 disclosed to law enforcement officers who provide the name of the participant and notify
21.16 the agency that:

21.17 (i) the participant:

21.18 (A) is a fugitive felon fleeing to avoid prosecution, or custody or confinement after
21.19  conviction, for a crime or attempt to commit a crime that is a felony under the laws of the
21.20 jurisdiction from which the individual is fleeing; or

21.21 (B) is violating a condition of probation or parole imposed under state or federal law;

21.22 (ii) the location or apprehension of the felon is within the law enforcement officer's
21.23 official duties; and

21.24 (iii) the request is made in writing and in the proper exercise of those duties;

21.25 (16) the current address of a recipient of general assistance may be disclosed to probation
21.26 officers and corrections agents who are supervising the recipient and to law enforcement
21.27 officers who are investigating the recipient in connection with a felony level offense;

21.28 (17) information obtained from food support applicant or recipient households may be
21.29 disclosed to local, state, or federal law enforcement officials, upon their written request, for
21.30 the purpose of investigating an alleged violation of the Food Stamp Act, according to Code
21.31 of Federal Regulations, title 7, section 272.1(¢c);

22.1 (18) the address, Social Security number, and, if available, photograph of any member
222 of ahousehold receiving food support shall be made available, on request, to a local, state,
22.3  or federal law enforcement officer if the officer furnishes the agency with the name of the
224  member and notifies the agency that:

22.5 (i) the member:

22.6 (A) is fleeing to avoid prosecution, or custody or confinement after conviction, for a
22.7  crime or attempt to commit a crime that is a felony in the jurisdiction the member is fleeing;

22.8 (B) is violating a condition of probation or parole imposed under state or federal law;
22.9 or
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(C) has information that is necessary for the officer to conduct an official duty related
to conduct described in subitem (A) or (B);

(ii) locating or apprehending the member is within the officer's official duties; and
(iii) the request is made in writing and in the proper exercise of the officer's official duty;

(19) the current address of a recipient of Minnesota family investment program, general
assistance, or food support may be disclosed to law enforcement officers who, in writing,
provide the name of the recipient and notify the agency that the recipient is a person required
to register under section 243.166, but is not residing at the address at which the recipient is
registered under section 243.166;

(20) certain information regarding child support obligors who are in arrears may be
made public according to section 518A.74;

(21) data on child support payments made by a child support obligor and data on the
distribution of those payments excluding identifying information on obligees may be
disclosed to all obligees to whom the obligor owes support, and data on the enforcement
actions undertaken by the public authority, the status of those actions, and data on the income
of the obligor or obligee may be disclosed to the other party;

(22) data in the work reporting system may be disclosed under section 256.998,
subdivision 7;

(23) to the Department of Education for the purpose of matching Department of Education
student data with public assistance data to determine students eligible for free and
reduced-price meals, meal supplements, and free milk according to United States Code,
title 42, sections 1758, 1761, 1766, 1766a, 1772, and 1773; to allocate federal and state
funds that are distributed based on income of the student's family; and to verify receipt of
energy assistance for the telephone assistance plan;

(24) the current address and telephone number of program recipients and emergency
contacts may be released to the commissioner of health or a community health board as
defined in section 145A.02, subdivision 5, when the commissioner or community health
board has reason to believe that a program recipient is a disease case, carrier, suspect case,
or at risk of illness, and the data are necessary to locate the person;

(25) to other state agencies, statewide systems, and political subdivisions of this state,
including the attorney general, and agencies of other states, interstate information networks,
federal agencies, and other entities as required by federal regulation or law for the
administration of the child support enforcement program;

(26) to personnel of public assistance programs as defined in section 256.741, for access
to the child support system database for the purpose of administration, including monitoring
and evaluation of those public assistance programs;

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2 Senate Language UEH1555-1

23.15 (27) to monitor and evaluate the Minnesota family investment program by exchanging
23.16 data between the Departments of Human Services and Education, on recipients and former
23.17 recipients of food support, cash assistance under chapter 256, 256D, 256], or 256K, child
23.18 care assistance under chapter 119B, medical programs under chapter 256B or 256L, or a
23.19 medical program formerly codified under chapter 256D;

23.20 (28) to evaluate child support program performance and to identify and prevent fraud
23.21 in the child support program by exchanging data between the Department of Human Services,
23.22  Department of Revenue under section 270B.14, subdivision 1, paragraphs (a) and (b),

23.23 without regard to the limitation of use in paragraph (c), Department of Health, Department
23.24 of Employment and Economic Development, and other state agencies as is reasonably

23.25 necessary to perform these functions;

23.26 (29) counties operating child care assistance programs under chapter 119B may
23.27 disseminate data on program participants, applicants, and providers to the commissioner of
23.28 education;

23.29 (30) child support data on the child, the parents, and relatives of the child may be
23.30 disclosed to agencies administering programs under titles IV-B and IV-E of the Social
23.31 Security Act, as authorized by federal law;

23.32 (31) to a health care provider governed by sections 144.291 to 144.298, to the extent
23.33  necessary to coordinate services;

24.1 (32) to the chief administrative officer of a school to coordinate services for a student
242  and family; data that may be disclosed under this clause are limited to name, date of birth,
243  gender, and address; er

24.4 (33) to county correctional agencies to the extent necessary to coordinate services and
24.5  diversion programs; data that may be disclosed under this clause are limited to name, client
24.6  demographics, program, case status, and county worker information:; or

133.3 Subd. 9. Data practices. (a) For purposes of administering this section, and only with 24.7 (34) between the Department of Human Services and the Metropolitan Council for the
133.4  the consent of the data subject, the commissioner of human services and the Metropolitan 24.8  following purposes:

133.5 Council may share the following private data on individuals eligible for special transportation
133.6  services:

24.9 (i) to coordinate special transportation service provided under section 473.386 with
24.10 services for people with disabilities and elderly individuals funded by or through the
24.11 Department of Human Services; and
24.12 (ii) to provide for reimbursement of special transportation service provided under section
24.13  473.386.
133.7 (1) name; 24.14  The data that may be shared under this clause are limited to the individual's first, last, and
) 24.15 middle names; date of birth; residential address; and program eligibility status with expiration
133.8 2) date of birth; 24.16  date for the purposes of informing the other party of program eligibility.
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(3) residential address; and

(4) program eligibility status with expiration date, to inform the other party of program
eligibility.

(b) The commissioner of human services and the Metropolitan Council must provide
notice regarding data sharing to each individual applying for or renewing eligibility to use
special transportation services. The notice must seek consent to engage in data sharing under
paragraph (a), and must state how and for what purposes the individual's private data will
be shared between the commissioner of human services and the Metropolitan Council. A
consent to engage in data sharing is effective until the individual's eligibility expires, but
may be renewed if the individual applies to renew eligibility.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective June 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.
Within 60 days of this section's effective date, the commissioner of human services and the
Metropolitan Council must provide notice regarding data sharing to each individual who is
currently receiving special transportation services under Minnesota Statutes, section 473.386.
The notice must provide an opportunity to opt out of data sharing under paragraph (a) of
this section and must state how and for what purposes the individual's private data will be
shared between the commissioner of human services and the Metropolitan Council. An
individual who is currently receiving special transportation services on this section's effective
date is presumed to have consented to data sharing under paragraph (a) unless, within 60
days of the dissemination of the notice, the individual appropriately informs the commissioner
of human services or the Metropolitan Council that the individual opts out of data sharing.

Sec. 115. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.388, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Financial assistance; regional allocation. (a) In addition to the assistance

under subdivision 4, paragraph (c), forfiseal-years2048-and2619 the council must annually
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(b) Information on persons who have been treated for drug or alcohol abuse may only
be disclosed according to the requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections
2.1t02.67.

(c) Data provided to law enforcement agencies under paragraph (a), clause (15), (16),
(17), or (18), or paragraph (b), are investigative data and are confidential or protected
nonpublic while the investigation is active. The data are private after the investigation
becomes inactive under section 13.82, subdivision 5, paragraph (a) or (b).

(d) Mental health data shall be treated as provided in subdivisions 7, 8, and 9, but are
not subject to the access provisions of subdivision 10, paragraph (b).

For the purposes of this subdivision, a request will be deemed to be made in writing if
made through a computer interface system.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 120. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.388, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Financial assistance; regional allocation. (a) In addition to the assistance

under subdivision 4, paragraph (c), forfiseal-years2048-and2619 the council must annually
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provide financial assistance through regional allocation to replacement service municipalities.
The amount of financial assistance under this paragraph must equal at least 0.35 percent of
the total state revenues generated from the taxes imposed under chapter 297B for the current
fiscal year.

(b) The council must establish a process to regionally allocate financial assistance under
this subdivision. At a minimum, the council must:

(1) adopt and implement a regional allocation policy that specifies funding priorities,
identifies decision-making procedures, and establishes criteria to determine the amount
allocated to a replacement service municipality; and

(2) ensure transparency and stakeholder input, which must include publishing on the
council's website the policy adopted under clause (1), a summary of the regional allocation
process, and financial information on the allocations.

(c) The regional allocation policy may specify eligibility requirements based on a
replacement service municipality's transit service operating reserves.

(d) The council must provide financial assistance under this subdivision using funds
appropriated to the council from the metropolitan area transit account in the transit assistance
fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 116. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.39, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1v. Obligations. In addition to other authority in this section, the council may
issue certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations under this section in an amount
not exceeding $92,300,000 for capital expenditures as prescribed in the council's transit
capital improvement program and for related costs, including the costs of issuance and sale
of the obligations. Of this authorization, after July 1, 2019, the council may issue certificates
of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations in an amount not exceeding $45,400,000 and
after July 1, 2020, the council may issue certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other
obligations in an additional amount not exceeding $46,900,000.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 117. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.39, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Limitation; light rail transit. The council is prohibited from expending any
proceeds from certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations under thisseetier
subdivision lu for project development, land acquisition, or construction to (1) establish a
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provide financial assistance through regional allocation to replacement service municipalities.
The amount of financial assistance under this paragraph must equal at least 0.35 percent of
the total state revenues generated from the taxes imposed under chapter 297B for the current
fiscal year.

(b) The council must establish a process to regionally allocate financial assistance under
this subdivision. At a minimum, the council must:

(1) adopt and implement a regional allocation policy that specifies funding priorities,
identifies decision-making procedures, and establishes criteria to determine the amount
allocated to a replacement service municipality; and

(2) ensure transparency and stakeholder input, which must include publishing on the
council's website the policy adopted under clause (1), a summary of the regional allocation
process, and financial information on the allocations.

(c) The regional allocation policy may specify eligibility requirements based on a
replacement service municipality's transit service operating reserves.

(d) The council must provide financial assistance under this subdivision using funds
appropriated to the council from the metropolitan area transit account in the transit assistance
fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Scott, and Washington.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



135.5
135.6

135.7
135.8
135.9

135.10
135.11

135.12
135.13
135.14
135.15
135.16

135.17
135.18
135.19

135.20

135.21
135.22
135.23

Transportation Omnibus
House Language H1555-2

light rail transit line; or (2) expand a light rail transit line, including by extending a line or
adding additional stops.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 118. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.391, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3. Air quality, emissions, bus deployment. (a) The council must coordinate with
the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to identify locales in the metropolitan
area with poor air quality. The analysis may use modeling based on air quality monitoring
data, and must use the highest level of detail available. The council must categorize each
bus in its fleet based on estimated or measured air quality impacts from vehicle emissions.

(b) For regular route bus service excluding arterial or highway bus rapid transit, the
council must deploy buses with the lowest emissions on routes that serve locales with poor

air quality.

(c) Analysis under this subdivision must be revised at least once every three years.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Scott, and Washington.
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Sec. 121. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.4051, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Operating costs. (a) After operating revenue and federal money have been
used to pay for light rail transit operations, 50 percent of the remaining operating costs must
be paid by the state-

)y Netwithstandingparagraph-(a); for light rail transit lines in operation prior to July

1, 2019. For all light rail lines or line extensions that begin operations on or after July 1,
2019, all operating and ongoing capital maintenance costs must be paid from nonstate

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, operating costs consist of the costs associated with

light rail system daily operations and the maintenance costs associated with keeping light
rail services and facilities operating. Operating costs do not include costs incurred to construct
new buildings or facilities, purchase new vehicles, or make technology improvements.
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Sec. 119. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.4052, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Application. The liability limits under subdivision 2 and the insurance
requirements under subdivision 3 apply only for that segment of a light rail transit line or
line extension in which the project formally entered the engineering phase of the Federal
Transit Administration's "New Starts" capital investment grant program between August 1,
2016, and Beeember3+-2646 February 1, 2017.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 120. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.408, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 11. Campus zone pass. (a) The council must implement passes for light rail transit
in the University of Minnesota campus. The zone for the passes must include (1) each station
located within the campus, and (2) at least one additional contiguous station.

(b) The council must use funds available from the metropolitan area transportation sales
and use tax under section 297A.9925 for all net costs of the passes under this subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. Paragraph (a) is effective the day following
final enactment. Paragraph (b) is effective January 1, 2020. This section applies in the
counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 121. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 480.15, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 8a. Motor vehicle charges and conviction data; report. The court administrator
shall collect, compile, and report the data on (1) charges and convictions for driving after
suspension or revocation, and (2) payment of fines for violations related to operation of a
motor vehicle, as required under section 171.325.

Sec. 122. Laws 1994, chapter 643, section 15, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

PAGE R161

95.7
95.8

95.9

95.10
95.11

95.12
95.13
95.14

103.21

103.22
103.23
103.24
103.25

Senate Language UEH1555-1

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2019, and
applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 122. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 473.4051, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Capital costs. State money may must not be used to-pay-more-than-tenpereent
of for the total capital cost of a light rail transit project.

EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective July 1, 2019, for
appropriations encumbered on or after that date and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver,
Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Sec. 141. ZONE PASS.

The University of Minnesota shall expand the Campus Zone Pass program to include
four contiguous stops. The university may not impose any additional cost for this expansion
on students. The Metropolitan Council must pay for the expansion of service with existing
resources.
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Subd. 8. Trunk Highway Facility Projects

To the commissioner of transportation for the
purposes specified in this subdivision. The
appropriations in this subdivision are from the
trunk highway fund.

(a) Installation of automatic fire sprinkler systems
at maintenance headquarters in Virginia, Owatonna,
and Windom

(b) Repair, replace, or construct chemical and salt
storage buildings at 36 department of transportation
locations statewide

(c) Construct, furnish, and equip a truck
enforcement site and weigh scale in the Albert Lea
area to replace the Lakeville site

(d) Construct, furnish, and equip a truck station and
maintenance facility in Hutchinson on a new site
to replace the current facility

(e) Construct, furnish, and equip a new truck station
on Maryland Avenue in St. Paul to replace the
current facility

(f) Construct an addition to the Detroit Lakes
welding shop

(g) Remodel facilities and construct additions to
truck stations in Ely, Montgomery, and Forest Lake

(h) Purchase, remodel, and expand the Minnesota
National Guard truck maintenance facility in Tracy
to fit the needs of a department of transportation
truck station

(i) Build an unheated equipment storage building
at the Golden Valley headquarters site

(j) Construct, furnish, and equip a truck station in
Wadena on a new site to replace the current facility

Transportation Omnibus

13,016,000

365,000

1,030,000

886,000

897,000

5,440,000

355,000

302,000

359,000

435,000

527,000
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(k) Remodel facility and construct an addition to
the Preston truck station

(1) Construct, furnish, and equip class II safety rest
areas in Darwin Winter park, Preston/Fountain
vicinity, Pioneer monument, Camp Release historic
monument, and Lake Shetek

(m) Land acquisition for new replacement truck
station sites at Illgen City, Rushford, Gaylord,
Madelia, Sherburne, and Litchfield

(n) Design fees to complete construction drawings
for projects at Windom, Maplewood, Hastings,
central services building, Arden Hills training
center, and Albert Lea weigh scale

(o) Construct pole type storage buildings at
department of transportation locations throughout
the state

(p) Remove asbestos from various department of
transportation buildings statewide

(q) Remodel facility and construct an addition to
the Carlton truck station

(r) Remodel facility and construct an addition to
the Sauk Centre truck station

(s) Remodel the old Burlington Northern train depot
in Floodwood into a safety information center and
rest area and phase out the wayside rest at Trunk
Highways 2 and 73

After completion of the project, the
commissioner of transportation shall convey
the newly remodeled rest area for no or
nominal consideration to the city of

Floodwood;whieh-thereafter shall-operate-and

matitatnit

(t) The commissioner may use the balance of
funds appropriated by Laws 1985, first special
session chapter 15, section 9, subdivision 6,
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paragraph (c), for land acquisition for a weigh
station on interstate highway 94 at Moorhead
to supplement funds appropriated by Laws of
1989, chapter 269, section 2, subdivision 11,
paragraph (d), for construction of the
Moorhead weigh station.

Sec. 123. Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 11, section 38, subdivision 5, is amended to
read:

Subd. 5. Pilot program evaluation. In coordination with the city, the commissioner of
transportation shall evaluate effectiveness of the pilot program under this section, which
must include analysis of traffic safety impacts, utility to motorists and tourists, costs and
expenditures, extent of community support, and pilot program termination or continuation.
By January 15, 262+ 2025, the commissioner shall submit a report on the evaluation to the

chairs-and-ranking minerity members and staff of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over transportation policy and finance.

Sec. 124. Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 11, section 38, subdivision 6, is amended to
read:

Subd. 6. Expiration. The pilot program under this section expires January 1, 2022 2026.
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Sec. 123. Laws 2018, chapter 165, section 1, is amended to read:
Section 1. TRUNK HIGHWAY MOWING OR HAYING; PERMIT MORATORIUM.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the commissioner of transportation must
implement a moratorium until April 30, 2649 2020, on enforcing permits under Minnesota
Statutes, sections 160.232 and 160.2715, or any other Minnesota statute or administrative
rule, to mow or bale hay in the right-of-way of a trunk highway.

(b) This section applies regardless of the date of any permit issuance. This section does
not apply to a right-of-way adjacent to land under the jurisdiction of the state or a political
subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 124. DEDICATED FUND EXPENDITURES REPORT; TRANSITION.

By January 15, 2020, the commissioners of transportation and public safety, in
consultation with the commissioner of management and budget, must jointly submit a report
to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over transportation finance. The report must list detailed expenditures and transfers from
the trunk highway fund and highway user tax distribution fund for fiscal years 2018 and
2019. The report must include information on the purpose of each expenditure.
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Sec. 125. DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES EXECUTIVE STEERING
COMMITTEE FIRST APPOINTMENTS; FIRST MEETING; FIRST REPORT.

(a) Appointing authorities must make initial appointments to the Driver and Vehicle
Services Executive Steering Committee under Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.241, by

August 1, 2019.

(b) The commissioner of public safety must convene the first meeting of the Driver and
Vehicle Services Executive Steering Committee by September 15, 2019.

(c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.241, subdivision 5, paragraph
(a), the Driver and Vehicle Services Executive Steering Committee must meet one time in
2019.

(d) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.241, subdivision 8, the Driver
and Vehicle Services Executive Steering Committee must submit its first report under
subdivision 8 by February 15, 2020.

(e) By September 15, 2019, the commissioner of public safety must identify 11 of the
members who shall serve terms coterminous with the governor. The other 11 members shall
serve terms that end on the first Monday in January one year after the terms of the other
members.

Sec. 126. ENGINE BRAKES; REGULATION BY BURNSVILLE.

Notwithstanding any other law or ordinance, the governing body of the city of Burnsville
may by ordinance restrict or prohibit the use of an engine brake on motor vehicles along
Legislative Route No. 117, also known as marked Trunk Highway 13, between Nicollet
Avenue and Portland Avenue. Upon notification by the city of Burnsville to the commissioner
of transportation of the city's adoption of the ordinance, the commissioner of transportation
shall erect the appropriate signs, with the cost of the signs to be paid by the city. For purposes
of this section, "engine brake" means any device that uses the engine and transmission to
impede the forward motion of the motor vehicle by compression of the engine.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 127. ENGINE BRAKES; REGULATION BY MINNEAPOLIS.

Notwithstanding any other law or charter provision, the governing body of the city of
Minneapolis may by ordinance restrict or prohibit the use of an engine brake on motor
vehicles along Legislative Route No. 392, also known as marked Interstate Highway 94, in
the westbound lanes beginning at LaSalle Avenue and extending west to the Lowry Tunnel.
Upon notification by the city of Minneapolis to the commissioner of transportation of the
city's adoption of the ordinance, the commissioner of transportation shall erect the appropriate
signs, with the cost of the signs to be paid by the city. For purposes of this section, "engine
brake" means any device that uses the engine and transmission to impede the forward motion
of the motor vehicle by compression of the engine.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 129. MARKED TRUNK HIGHWAY 47 RAIL CROSSING.

(a) The commissioner of transportation must erect warning signs on each side of the
Burlington Northern Santa Fe railroad crossing at marked Trunk Highway 47, also known
as Ferry Street, in the city of Anoka. The warning signs must read "Warning! Dangerous
Rail Crossing! This crossing is not currently scheduled for repair. Call Governor Walz with
your concerns at 800-657-3717." The font on the signs must be large enough for a motorist
to read while passing the signs while going the speed limit. The commissioner must pay for
the signs within existing appropriations.

(b) The commissioner of transportation must make it a priority to attempt to secure
funding from any available source to construct a highway-rail grade separation on marked
Trunk Highway 47, also known as Ferry Street, at the Burlington Northern Santa Fe railroad
crossing in the city of Anoka. The commissioner must take a leadership role in ensuring
the project is completed as soon as possible.

Sec. 133. PUBLIC AWARENESS CAMPAIGN.

The commissioner of public safety must conduct a public awareness campaign to inform
the public about the prohibition on driving in the left-most lane, as provided in Minnesota
Statutes, section 169.18, subdivision 1.

Sec. 134. REDUCING APPROPRIATIONS FOR UNFILLED POSITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Reduction required. The commissioner of management and budget must
reduce general fund and nongeneral fund appropriations to the Department of Transportation
and the Department of Public Safety for agency operations for the biennium ending June
30, 2021, for salary and benefits savings that result from any positions that have not been
filled within 180 days of the posting of the position. This section applies only to positions
that are posted in fiscal years 2019, 2020, and 2021. Reductions made under this section
must be reflected as reductions in agency base budgets for fiscal years 2022 and 2023. This
section does not apply to seasonal employees and any positions that require law enforcement

training.

Subd. 2. Reporting. The commissioner of management and budget must report to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and the house of representatives
transportation committees regarding the amount of reductions in spending by each agency
under this section.

Sec. 135. REQUEST FOR INFORMATION FOR OPERATION OF MNPASS
LANES.

(a) No later than July 1, 2019, the commissioner of transportation must issue a request
for information as described in this section. The request for information must obtain advice
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Sec. 125. TEMPORARY MOTOR VEHICLE PERMITS.

(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 168.09, subdivision 7; 168.091,
subdivision 1; and 168.092, subdivision 1, a temporary permit under any of those sections
may be issued for a period of up to 180 days with the approval of the commissioner of public
safety.

(b) A temporary permit may only be issued under this section due to inability of the
driver and vehicle information system to complete a motor vehicle transaction in a timely
manner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 126. PRESCRIPTION FOR GLAZED WINDOWS.

Until November 1, 2019, for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.71,
subdivision 4a, paragraph (a), clause (2), a driver of a vehicle may rely on a prescription or
physician's statement of medical need issued to a person not present in the vehicle if:

(1) the prescription or physician's statement of medical need is issued to (i) a family
member of the driver, or (ii) a person for whom the driver is a personal care attendant; and
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from qualified vendors regarding the feasibility of using a private entity to operate and
administer MnPASS lanes.

(b) The request for information must be designed to obtain information that includes:

(1) feasibility, costs, and a preliminary estimated timeline or schedule for the private
entity to assume responsibility for operating and administering MnPASS lanes; and

(2) capacity and experience of a potential entity.

(d) The request for information under this section must be published in the State Register
and on the Department of Administration's website at least 14 days prior to closing. The
request must otherwise be administered according to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 16C, to the extent applicable, except that a vendor's submission does not constitute
a response to a solicitation, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 16C.02, subdivision
14. The commissioner is prohibited from using a vendor submission in response to a request
for information under this section to enter a contract unless the terms of the submission are
later included in a vendor's response to a formal solicitation, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 16C.02, subdivision 7.

(e) No later than January 1, 2020, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs
and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees with
jurisdiction over transportation finance. The report must summarize the responses and
information received from qualified entities under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 137. TEMPORARY MOTOR VEHICLE PERMITS.

(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 168.09, subdivision 7; 168.091,
subdivision 1; and 168.092, subdivision 1, a temporary permit under any of those sections
may be issued for a period of up to 180 days, in consultation with the commissioner of
public safety.

(b) A temporary permit may only be issued under this section due to the inability of the
driver and vehicle information system to complete a motor vehicle transaction in a timely
manner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 132. PRESCRIPTION FOR GLAZED WINDOWS.

Until November 1, 2019, for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.71,
subdivision 4a, paragraph (a), clause (2), a driver of a vehicle may rely on a prescription or
physician's statement of medical need issued to a person not present in the vehicle if:

(1) the prescription or physician's statement of medical need is issued to a family member
of the driver; and
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(2) the driver is in possession of the prescription or physician's statement of medical
need.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 127. RETROACTIVE DRIVER'S LICENSE REINSTATEMENT.

(a) The commissioner of public safety must make an individual's driver's license eligible
for reinstatement if the license is solely suspended pursuant to:

(1) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.92, subdivision 4;

(2) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 2, if the person was convicted
only under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2;

(3) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 171.16, subdivision 3; or

(4) any combination of clauses (1), (2), and (3).

(b) By December 1, 2019, the commissioner must provide written notice to an individual
whose license has been made eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a), addressed to
the licensee at the licensee's last known address.

(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, before the license is reinstated, an individual
whose driver's license is eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a) must pay a
reinstatement fee of $20.

(d) The following applies for an individual who is eligible for reinstatement under
paragraph (a), and whose license was suspended, revoked, or canceled under any other
provision in Minnesota Statutes:

(1) the suspension, revocation, or cancellation under any other provision in Minnesota
Statutes remains in effect;

(2) subject to clause (1), the individual may become eligible for reinstatement under
paragraph (a); and

(3) the commissioner is not required to send the notice described in paragraph (b).

(e) Paragraph (a) applies notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 169.92,
subdivision 4; 171.16, subdivision 2 or 3; or any other law to the contrary.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.
Sec. 128. CONVEYANCE OF STATE LAND; STEARNS COUNTY.

(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 222.63, or any other law to the contrary,
the commissioner of transportation may convey and quitclaim to a private party all right,
title, and interest of the state of Minnesota, in the land described in paragraph (e).
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(2) the driver is in possession of the prescription or physician's statement of medical

98.25 need.

98.26

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(b) The conveyance may take place only upon conditions determined by the commissioner
of transportation and is not subject to restrictions on disposition, sale, lease, or otherwise
contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 222.63.

(c) The consideration for a conveyance made under this section shall be the fair market
value of the land conveyed hereunder. Proceeds from the sale of real estate or buildings
under this section shall be deposited in the rail bank maintenance account established in
Minnesota Statutes, section 222.63, subdivision 8.

(d) The conveyance may reduce the width of the rail bank corridor to less than 100 feet,
provided the conveyance does not reduce the width of the rail bank corridor to less than ten
feet.

(e) The land to be conveyed is located in Stearns County and is described as:

That part of Tract A described below:

Tract A. Outlot "A," Railroad Ridge, according to the plat thereof on file and of record in

the Office of the County Recorder in and for Stearns County, Minnesota; which lies northerly
of a line run parallel with and distant 33 feet southerly of the northerly line of said Outlot
"A" and westerly of the southerly extension of westerly right of way line of 5th Street as
shown on said Railroad Ridge; together with that part of Tract A, herein before described,
adjoining and southerly of the above described strip which lies northerly of a line run parallel
with and distant 40 feet southerly of the northerly line of said Outlot "A" and westerly of

the following described line: beginning at a point on the southerly line of said Outlot "A,"
distant 436.36 feet easterly of the southwest corner thereof; thence northerly at right angles
from said southerly line for 50 feet and there terminating; containing 29,925 square feet,
more or less.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 129. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 112 REMOVED.

(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 43, is repealed effective the day
after the commissioner of transportation receives copies of the agreements between the
commissioner and the governing bodies of Dakota County, the city of South St. Paul, and
the city of St. Paul to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative Route No. 112 and after the
commissioner notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

Sec. 130. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL AND CALHOUN ISLES CONDOMINIUM
ASSOCIATION FACILITATED MEETING.

The Office of Collaboration and Dispute Resolution must facilitate a meeting or series
of meetings with the Metropolitan Council and the Calhoun Isles Condominium Association
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Sec. 130. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL AND CALHOUN ISLES CONDOMINIUM
ASSOCIATION FACILITATED MEETING.

The Office of Collaboration and Dispute Resolution must facilitate a meeting or series
of meetings with the Metropolitan Council and the Calhoun Isles Condominium Association
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to discuss issues related to vibration impacts to the Calhoun Isles property in Minneapolis,
including the high-rise building, townhomes, and parking ramp, due to Southwest light rail
transit project construction activities and operations. The council and the association must
both be allowed to present any evidence or research on the issue. The goal of the meeting
is to agree on how to avoid damage to the buildings due to the vibrations from the project.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 131. RAIL SAFETY MEETINGS.

At least once in each calendar year in which construction work is performed on the
Southwest light rail transit project within the city limits of Minneapolis, the city must host
a meeting on rail safety, with invitations to city fire officials, emergency services personnel,
representatives from freight railroads using tracks that are colocated with Southwest light
rail transit, the Metropolitan Council, and neighborhood associations in the impacted areas.
Each meeting is to address rail safety concerns during construction, including but not limited
to preparedness for the general public, assessment of risks, and emergency evacuation
planning in the event of a derailment.

Sec. 132. MINNESOTA STATE ACADEMIES SIGNS; MARKED INTERSTATE
HIGHWAY 35.

The commissioner of transportation must erect signs that identify and direct motorists
to the campuses of Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and Minnesota State Academy
for the Blind under Minnesota Statutes, sections 125A.61 to 125A.73. At least one sign in
each direction of travel must be placed on marked Interstate Highway 35, located as near
as practical to exits that reasonably access the campuses. The commissioner is prohibited
from removing signs for the campuses posted on marked Trunk Highway 60.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 133. MILEAGE-BASED USER FEE PILOT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Pilot program established. As provided in this section, the commissioner
of transportation must develop a mileage-based user fee pilot program to facilitate
development of a feasible mileage-based user fee system in Minnesota.

Subd. 2. Objectives. The pilot program under this section must:

(1) consider the analysis, findings, and recommendations from previous research in
Minnesota, including but not limited to: (i) the Mileage-Based User Fee Policy Task Force
report; (ii) mileage-based user fee policy study materials; and (iii) the Minnesota Road Fee
Test;

(2) identify and implement the steps necessary to develop a mileage-based user fee
system in Minnesota;
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to discuss issues related to vibration impacts to the Calhoun Isles property in Minneapolis,
including the high-rise building, townhomes, and parking ramp, due to Southwest light rail
transit project construction activities and operations. The council and the association must
both be allowed to present any evidence or research on the issue. The goal of the meeting
is to agree on how to avoid damage to the buildings due to the vibrations from the project.

Sec. 128. MARKED INTERSTATE HIGHWAY 35 SIGNS.

The commissioner of transportation must erect signs that identify and direct motorists
to the campuses of Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and Minnesota State Academy
for the Blind under Minnesota Statutes, sections 125A.61 to 125A.73. At least one sign in
each direction of travel must be placed on marked Interstate Highway 35, located as near
as practical to exits that reasonably access the campuses. The commissioner must pay for
the signs within existing appropriations. The commissioner is prohibited from removing
signs for the campuses posted on marked Trunk Highway 60.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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(3) demonstrate and evaluate technical approaches in hardware and devices, data
management, and fee collection;

(4) demonstrate and evaluate approaches in program operations;

(5) analyze options and policy questions in mileage-based user fee system design; and

(6) result in a near-term capacity to implement or phase in a statewide mileage-based
user fee system.

Subd. 3. Administration. Under the pilot program, the commissioner of transportation
may:

(1) establish an advisory panel of stakeholders;

(2) enter into one or more agreements for pilot program implementation, administration,
or evaluation;

(3) partner with other states;

(4) develop recommendations for mileage-based user fee system design; and

(5) produce an implementation plan or framework approach for implementing a statewide
mileage-based user fee system.

Subd. 4. Pilot program data. (a) The following data pertaining to participation in the
pilot program are classified as nonpublic data, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
13.02, subdivision 9, or private data on individuals, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
13.02, subdivision 12:

(1) names of participants, participants' contact information, and data contained in any
applications to participate in the pilot program;

(2) participants' applications for the purchase, lease, or rental of a global positioning
system navigation device;

(3) participants' vehicle identification data;

(4) participants' financial and credit data; and

(5) participants' road usage data.

(b) Nothing in this section prohibits the production of summary data, as defined in
Minnesota Statutes, section 13.02, subdivision 19, pertaining to types of vehicles used and
road usage data, provided the participants' identities or any other unique identifying
characteristics are not ascertainable.

(c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 13.03, subdivision 6, the commissioner
may provide the nonpublic data under this subdivision to a federal, state, and local law
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enforcement authority only if the law enforcement authority is acting pursuant to a valid
probable cause search warrant.

Subd. 5. Legislative report. By December 1, 2021, the commissioner of transportation
must submit a report on the pilot program to the chairs, ranking minority members, and
staff of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.
At a minimum, the report must include a summary of the pilot program, a review of system
design options and recommendations, and any other key outcomes and findings.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 134. TRAFFIC STOP STUDY.

Subdivision 1. Grant. The commissioner of public safety must provide a grant to a
qualified research organization to conduct a study of traffic stops in Minnesota consistent
with the requirements in subdivision 2 and to provide a report to the legislature.

Subd. 2. Study requirements. (a) The grant recipient must conduct a study to determine
what impact, if any, changes in traffic laws since 2003 have had on traffic stops in Minnesota
including whether changes resulted in a disproportionate impact in any geographic area or
on any demographic group.

(b) The study must identify significant changes in traffic law enacted since 2003,
including but not limited to:

(1) the adoption of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.475;

(2) amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section 169.475, effective August 1, 2019;

(3) changes to Minnesota Statutes, section 169.686, enacted pursuant to Laws 2009,
chapter 165, section 2; and

(4) changes to Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.20, enacted pursuant to Laws 2004,
chapter 283, section 3.

(c) The grant recipient must coordinate with local law enforcement agencies and the
Minnesota State Patrol to obtain and collect relevant data on traffic stops. Data shall be
collected as provided by law, rule, or policy of the law enforcement agency. Nothing in this
section requires any law enforcement agency to collect additional data.

(d) The grant recipient must analyze the data obtained or collected based on factors
including but not limited to the geographic area in which the stop took place and demographic
information of the driver.

(e) To the extent possible, the study must compare data obtained and collected under
paragraph (c) with data collected pursuant to Laws 2001, First Special Session chapter 8,
article 7, section 6.
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(f) The grant recipient must coordinate with the commissioner of public safety and law
enforcement agencies to ensure the confidentiality of data obtained or collected.

Subd. 3. Report. By February 15, 2021, the grant recipient must provide a report to the
commissioner of public safety and the chairs, ranking minority members, and staff of the
legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation and criminal justice policy on
the results of the study.

Sec. 135. LEGISLATIVE REPORT ON TRANSPORTATION INFORMATION
AVAILABILITY.

(a) By December 1, 2020, the commissioner of transportation must submit a report on
Department of Transportation reporting and public information availability to the members
and staff of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and
finance.

(b) As part of analysis and development of recommendations in the report, the
commissioner must at a minimum:

(1) consult with and take into account comments from interested stakeholders, which
must at least include:

(i) two representatives each from the house of representatives majority caucus and largest
minority caucus;

(ii) two senators each from the senate majority caucus and largest minority caucus;

(iii) representatives of advocacy and public interest groups that are related at a minimum
to public health, the environment, and the economy;

(iv) representatives of persons with disabilities including from the Transportation
Accessibility Advisory Committee under Minnesota Statutes, section 473.375, subdivision
9a;

(v) representatives from each of the ethnic councils under Minnesota Statutes, section
15.0145;

(vi) representatives from traditionally underrepresented or underserved populations;

(vii) representatives of labor and industry related to transportation projects;

(viii) representatives for each transportation mode including highways, transit, bicycling,
and pedestrian;

(ix) representatives from the advisory committee on nonmotorized transportation under
Minnesota Statutes, section 174.37;

(x) representatives from state agencies, local units of government, and tribal nations;

and
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(xi) members of the general public;

(2) evaluate the utility, necessity, and format of legislatively mandated reports;

(3) identify informational gaps in the reports, including analysis of effective methods
to communicate the information;

(4) examine identical or similar information from the reports as available in alternative
formats, including on the department's website and in planning documents created by the
department in compliance with state and federal law;

(5) review the format and ease of use of the reports for the legislature and the general
public; and

(6) take into account administrative costs of creating each report.

(c) The report must summarize the work of the department and stakeholder input and
must provide a legislative proposal that identifies any legislative reports, as required of the
commissioner by law, to repeal, change the frequency of submission, or otherwise modify.
The commissioner may include recommendations for changes in law regarding transportation
planning that comply with applicable federal requirements.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 136. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

(a) The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 160.02, subdivision
27a, as Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011, subdivision 73a. The revisor must correct any
cross-references made necessary by this renumbering.

(b) The revisor of statutes must recodify Minnesota Statutes, section 169.865, subdivision
1, as Minnesota Statutes, section 169.865, subdivision 1b. The revisor must correct any
cross-references made necessary by this recodification.
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101.2  Sec. 138. TRANSFER OF JURISDICTION OF THE STONE ARCH BRIDGE IN
101.3 MINNEAPOLIS.

101.4 Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, by July 1, 2019, the commissioner of

101.5 transportation must transfer legal title to the James J. Hill Stone Arch Bridge to the city of
101.6  Minneapolis. This transfer does not affect a planned repair project to be paid for with funds
101.7 from the federal Nontraditional Transportation Alternatives Program and the required local
101.8  match paid for with funds from the Minnesota rail service improvement program. This
101.9  repair project is deemed to be the consideration for the transfer of legal title.

101.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

101.11 Sec. 139. VEHICLE REGISTRATION TASK FORCE.
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101.12 Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) The Vehicle Registration Task Force consists of the
101.13 following 20 members:

101.14 (1) four senators, including two senators appointed by the senate majority leader and
101.15 two senators appointed by the senate minority leader;

101.16 (2) four members of the house of representatives, including two members appointed by
101.17 the speaker of the house and two members appointed by the minority leader of the house

101.18 of representatives;

101.19 (3) one member appointed by the governor from the Office of the Governor;

101.20 (4) the commissioner of transportation or a designee;

101.21 (5) the chief financial officer of the Department of Transportation or a designee;
101.22 (6) the commissioner of public safety or a designee;

101.23 (7) the director of Driver and Vehicle Services Division of the Department of Public
101.24 Safety or a designee;

101.25 (8) the chief financial officer of the Department of Public Safety or a designee;
101.26 (9) the state chief information officer or a designee;

101.27 (10) the chief financial officer of MN.IT Services or a designee;

101.28 (11) one deputy registrar appointed by the Minnesota Deputy Registrar Association;
102.1 (12) one deputy registrar appointed by the Minnesota Deputy Registrar Business Owners

102.2  Association; and

102.3 (13) two members, one of whom is familiar with the title and registration process,
102.4 appointed by the Minnesota Automobile Dealers Association.

102.5 (b) Appointing authorities must make initial appointments to the Vehicle Registration
102.6  Task Force by June 1, 2019.

102.7 Subd. 2. Duties. The Vehicle Registration Task Force is established to study various
102.8 methods of vehicle registration and the corresponding fee structures. At a minimum, the

102.9 task force must study how each of the following methods could be implemented in Minnesota
102.10 in a revenue neutral manner: flat rate, weight-based, value-based, and age-based.

102.11 Subd. 3. Report. By January 15, 2020, the task force shall report to the chairs and ranking
102.12 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy
102.13 and finance. The report must:

102.14 (1) summarize the activities of the task force;
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102.15 (2) provide an explanation of how each method examined could be implemented in
102.16 Minnesota in a revenue neutral manner;

102.17 (3) provide recommendations by the task force on which method is preferable and why;
102.18 and

102.19 (4) include any draft legislation needed to implement the recommendations.

102.20 Subd. 4. First meeting; chair. The chair of the Legislative Coordinating Commission

102.21 must convene the first meeting of the Vehicle Registration Task Force by July 1, 2019. At
102.22 the first meeting, the task force shall elect a chair by a majority vote of those members

102.23 present.

102.24 Subd. 5. Meetings. The meetings of the commission are subject to Minnesota Statutes,
102.25 chapter 13D.
102.26 Subd. 6. Administration. (a) The Legislative Coordinating Commission shall provide

102.27 administrative services for the commission.

102.28 (b) The Department of Transportation, the Department of Public Safety, and MN.IT
102.29 Services must provide the task force with general informational and technical support.

102.30 Subd. 7. Compensation. Public members are compensated as provided in Minnesota
102.31 Statutes, section 15.059, subdivision 3.

103.1 Subd. 8. Expiration. This section expires the day after submitting the report required
103.2  in subdivision 3 or on January 16, 2020, whichever is later.

103.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

103.4  Sec. 140. VIBRATION SUSCEPTIBILITY STUDY ON CALHOUN ISLES
103.5 PROPERTY.

103.6 (a) Within 21 days from the effective date of this act, the Metropolitan Council must
103.7 enter into a contract with an engineering group for the engineering group to conduct a
103.8  vibration susceptibility study on Calhoun Isles property in Minneapolis, including the
103.9  high-rise building, townhomes, and parking ramp. The study must:

103.10 (1) evaluate the susceptibility of the Calhoun Isles property to vibration during operations
103.11 of a light rail train;

103.12 (2) categorize the Calhoun Isles property based on the susceptibility evaluation; and
103.13 (3) address mitigation measures and operational changes required to protect the Calhoun

103.14 Isles property from vibratory damage.

103.15 (b) The selected engineering group must provide its research, testing, findings, and all
103.16 other work product to the Calhoun Isles Condominium Association. The Metropolitan
103.17 Council must pay for the study.
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103.18 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
103.19 final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
103.20 Scott, and Washington.

146.17 Sec. 137. REPEALER. 103.26 Sec. 142. REPEALER.

146.18 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 169.18, subdivision 12; 299A.12, subdivision 4; 103.27 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 12, is repealed.

146.19 and 299A.18, are repealed.

146.20 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3.972, subdivision 4, is repealed. 103.28 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.18, subdivision 10, is repealed.

146.21 (c) Laws 2002, chapter 393, section 85, is repealed. 103.29 (c) Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 360.063, subdivision 4; 360.065, subdivision 2;
103.30 and 360.066, subdivisions 1a and 1b, are repealed.
104.1 (d) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 160.93, subdivisions 2a and 3, are repealed.
104.2 (e) Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 161.1419, subdivision 8, is repealed.
104.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) and (d) are effective the day following final

104.4 enactment. Paragraph (b) is effective July 1, 2019. Paragraph (c) and (e) are effective August
104.5 1,2019, and applies to airport sponsors that make or plan to make changes to runway lengths
104.6  or configurations on or after that date.

104.7 Sec. 143. EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION.

104.8 (a) Sections 94 to 96, 98 to 111, 113, 114, and 116 are effective August 1, 2019, and
104.9 applies to airport sponsors that make or plan to make changes to runway lengths or
104.10 configurations on or after that date.

104.11 (b) Sections 94 to 96, 98 to 111, 113, 114, 116, and 142, paragraph (c), do not apply to
104.12 airports that: (1) have airport safety zoning ordinances approved by the commissioner in
104.13 effect on August 1, 2019; (2) have not made and are not planning to make changes to runway
104.14 lengths or configurations; and (3) are not required to update airport safety zoning ordinances.
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