
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 823 as follows:​

1.2 Page 2, line 30, reinstate the stricken language and after "living" insert "or adult day"​

1.3 Page 5, delete section 3 and insert:​

1.4 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

1.5 Subd. 3a. Elderly waiver cost limits. (a) Effective on the first day of the state fiscal​

1.6 year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing​

1.7 home rate determination is implemented and the first day of each subsequent state fiscal​

1.8 year, the monthly limit for the cost of waivered services to an individual elderly waiver​

1.9 client shall be the monthly limit of the case mix resident class to which the waiver client​

1.10 would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, in effect on the​

1.11 last day of the previous state fiscal year, adjusted by any legislatively adopted home and​

1.12 community-based services percentage rate adjustment. If a legislatively authorized increase​

1.13 is service specific, the monthly cost limit shall be adjusted based on the overall average​

1.14 increase to the affected program.​

1.15 (b) The monthly limit for the cost of waivered services under paragraph (a) to an​

1.16 individual elderly waiver client assigned to a case mix classification A with:​

1.17 (1) no dependencies in activities of daily living; or​

1.18 (2) up to two dependencies in bathing, dressing, grooming, walking, and eating when​

1.19 the dependency score in eating is three or greater as determined by an assessment performed​

1.20 under section 256B.0911 shall be $1,750 per month effective on July 1, 2011, for all new​

1.21 participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011. This monthly limit shall be​

1.22 applied to all other participants who meet this criteria at reassessment. This monthly limit​

1.23 shall be increased annually as described in paragraphs (a) and (e).​

1.24 (c) If extended medical supplies and equipment or environmental modifications are or​

1.25 will be purchased for an elderly waiver client, the costs may be prorated for up to 12​
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2.1 consecutive months beginning with the month of purchase. If the monthly cost of a recipient's​

2.2 waivered services exceeds the monthly limit established in paragraph (a), (b), (d), or (e),​

2.3 the annual cost of all waivered services shall be determined. In this event, the annual cost​

2.4 of all waivered services shall not exceed 12 times the monthly limit of waivered services​

2.5 as described in paragraph (a), (b), (d), or (e).​

2.6 (d) Effective July 1, 2013, The monthly cost limit of waiver services, including any​

2.7 necessary home care services described in section 256B.0651, subdivision 2, for individuals​

2.8 who meet the criteria as ventilator-dependent given in section 256B.0651, subdivision 1,​

2.9 paragraph (g), shall be the average of the monthly medical assistance amount established​

2.10 for home care services as described in section 256B.0652, subdivision 7, and the annual​

2.11 average contracted amount established by the commissioner for nursing facility services​

2.12 for ventilator-dependent individuals. This monthly limit shall be increased annually as​

2.13 described in paragraphs (a) and (e).​

2.14 (e) Effective July 1, 2016 January 1, 2018, and each July January 1 thereafter, the monthly​

2.15 cost limits for elderly waiver services in effect on the previous June 30 December 31 shall​

2.16 be increased by the difference between any legislatively adopted home and community-based​

2.17 provider rate increases effective on July January 1 or since the previous July January 1 and​

2.18 the average statewide percentage increase in nursing facility operating payment rates under​

2.19 sections 256B.431, 256B.434, and 256B.441 chapter 256R, effective the previous January​

2.20 1. This paragraph shall only apply if the average statewide percentage increase in nursing​

2.21 facility operating payment rates is greater than any legislatively adopted home and​

2.22 community-based provider rate increases effective on July January 1, or occurring since​

2.23 the previous July January 1."​

2.24 Page 7, line 32, after the stricken "(h)" insert "(l)" and reinstate the stricken "Effective"​

2.25 and after the stricken "2016" insert "January 1, 2018" and reinstate the stricken ", and" and​

2.26 delete "(l)" and strike "July" and insert "January" and reinstate the stricken "thereafter"​

2.27 Page 8, lines 2 and 7, strike "July" and insert "January"​

2.28 Page 8, after line 7, insert:​

2.29 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3h, is amended to read:​

2.30 Subd. 3h. Service rate limits; 24-hour customized living services. (a) The payment​

2.31 rate for 24-hour customized living services is a monthly rate authorized by the lead agency​

2.32 within the parameters established by the commissioner of human services. The payment​

2.33 agreement must delineate the amount of each component service included in each recipient's​

2.34 customized living service plan. The lead agency, with input from the provider of customized​
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3.1 living services, shall ensure that there is a documented need within the parameters established​

3.2 by the commissioner for all component customized living services authorized. The lead​

3.3 agency shall not authorize 24-hour customized living services unless there is a documented​

3.4 need for 24-hour supervision.​

3.5 (b) For purposes of this section, "24-hour supervision" means that the recipient requires​

3.6 assistance due to needs related to one or more of the following:​

3.7 (1) intermittent assistance with toileting, positioning, or transferring;​

3.8 (2) cognitive or behavioral issues;​

3.9 (3) a medical condition that requires clinical monitoring; or​

3.10 (4) for all new participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011, and all other​

3.11 participants at their first reassessment after July 1, 2011, dependency in at least three of the​

3.12 following activities of daily living as determined by assessment under section 256B.0911:​

3.13 bathing; dressing; grooming; walking; or eating when the dependency score in eating is​

3.14 three or greater; and needs medication management and at least 50 hours of service per​

3.15 month. The lead agency shall ensure that the frequency and mode of supervision of the​

3.16 recipient and the qualifications of staff providing supervision are described and meet the​

3.17 needs of the recipient.​

3.18 (c) The payment rate for 24-hour customized living services must be based on the amount​

3.19 of component services to be provided utilizing component rates established by the​

3.20 commissioner. Counties and tribes will use tools issued by the commissioner to develop​

3.21 and document customized living plans and authorize rates.​

3.22 (d) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderly​

3.23 waiver or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale.​

3.24 (e) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payments, in combination​

3.25 with the payment for other elderly waiver services, including case management, must not​

3.26 exceed the recipient's community budget cap specified in subdivision 3a. Customized living​

3.27 services must not include rent or raw food costs.​

3.28 (f) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payment rates shall not exceed​

3.29 the 95 percentile of statewide monthly authorizations for 24-hour customized living services​

3.30 in effect and in the Medicaid management information systems on March 31, 2009, for each​

3.31 case mix resident class under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, to which​

3.32 elderly waiver service clients are assigned. When there are fewer than 50 authorizations in​

3.33 effect in the case mix resident class, the commissioner shall multiply the calculated service​
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4.1 payment rate maximum for the A classification by the standard weight for that classification​

4.2 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, to determine the applicable payment​

4.3 rate maximum. Service payment rate maximums shall be updated annually based on​

4.4 legislatively adopted changes to all service rates for home and community-based service​

4.5 providers.​

4.6 (g) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraphs (d) and (f), the commissioner may​

4.7 establish alternative payment rate systems for 24-hour customized living services in housing​

4.8 with services establishments which are freestanding buildings with a capacity of 16 or fewer,​

4.9 by applying a single hourly rate for covered component services provided in either:​

4.10 (1) licensed corporate adult foster homes; or​

4.11 (2) specialized dementia care units which meet the requirements of section 144D.065​

4.12 and in which:​

4.13 (i) each resident is offered the option of having their own apartment; or​

4.14 (ii) the units are licensed as board and lodge establishments with maximum capacity of​

4.15 eight residents, and which meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 9555.6205,​

4.16 subparts 1, 2, 3, and 4, item A.​

4.17 (h) Twenty-four-hour customized living services are delivered by a provider licensed​

4.18 by the Department of Health as a class A or class F home care provider and provided in a​

4.19 building that is registered as a housing with services establishment under chapter 144D.​

4.20 Licensed home care providers are subject to section 256B.0651, subdivision 14.​

4.21 (i) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their​

4.22 family for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available under​

4.23 the service rate limits described in paragraph (e), nor for additional units of any allowable​

4.24 component service beyond those approved in the service plan by the lead agency.​

4.25 (j) Effective July 1, 2016 January 1, 2018, and each July January 1 thereafter,​

4.26 individualized service rate limits for 24-hour customized living services under this​

4.27 subdivision shall be increased by the difference between any legislatively adopted home​

4.28 and community-based provider rate increases effective on July January 1 or since the previous​

4.29 July January 1 and the average statewide percentage increase in nursing facility operating​

4.30 payment rates under sections 256B.431, 256B.434, and 256B.441 chapter 256R, effective​

4.31 the previous January 1. This paragraph shall only apply if the average statewide percentage​

4.32 increase in nursing facility operating payment rates is greater than any legislatively adopted​
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5.1 home and community-based provider rate increases effective on July January 1, or occurring​

5.2 since the previous July January 1."​

5.3 Page 8, lines 18 to 20 and 24, reinstate the stricken language​

5.4 Page 8, line 21, reinstate the stricken language and delete the new language​

5.5 Page 8, lines 22 and 23, delete the new language​

5.6 Page 8, line 29, delete "can" and insert "may"​

5.7 Page 9, line 2, delete everything after the first period​

5.8 Page 9, line 7, delete "and" and insert "essential community supports under section​

5.9 256B.0922, "​

5.10 Page 9, line 8, after "living" insert ", brain injury customized living, and elderly waiver​

5.11 foster care and residential care"​

5.12 Page 9, line 13, delete the comma and insert "and"​

5.13 Page 9, line 14, delete everything after "report"​

5.14 Page 9, line 15, delete everything before "to" and after "establish" insert "rates and" and​

5.15 delete "July" and insert "January"​

5.16 Page 9, line 17, after the first "the" insert "rates and"​

5.17 Page 9, line 18, after "each" insert "component" and after "service" insert "and value"​

5.18 and delete "additional rates for"​

5.19 Page 9, line 23, after "worker" insert "supervision"​

5.20 Page 9, line 26, delete "the"​

5.21 Page 9, line 27, delete "following" and insert "customized living, foster care, and​

5.22 residential care component"​

5.23 Page 10, lines 7, 12, and 30, delete "35-2021" and insert "31-1014"​

5.24 Page 10, line 12, after the semicolon insert "and"​

5.25 Page 10, line 17, delete the semicolon and insert a period​

5.26 Page 10, after line 17, insert:​

5.27 "(b) Base wages are calculated for the following services as follows:"​

5.28 Page 10, line 18, delete "(5)" and insert "(1)" and delete "50" and insert "100"​

5.29 Page 10, line 19, delete everything after "for"​
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6.1 Page 10, delete line 20​

6.2 Page 10, line 21, delete everything before "landscaping"​

6.3 Page 10, line 22, delete "(6)" and insert "(2)"​

6.4 Page 10, line 26, delete "(7)" and insert "(3)"​

6.5 Page 10, line 32, delete "(8)" and insert "(4)"​

6.6 Page 11, lines 1, 7, 13, and 19, delete "35-2021" and insert "31-1014"​

6.7 Page 11, line 4, delete "(9)" and insert "(5)"​

6.8 Page 11, line 10, delete "(10)" and insert "(6)"​

6.9 Page 11, line 15, after the semicolon insert "and"​

6.10 Page 11, line 16, delete "(11)" and insert "(7)"​

6.11 Page 11, line 21, delete the semicolon and insert a period​

6.12 Page 11, after line 21, insert:​

6.13 "(c) Base wages are calculated for the following values as follows:"​

6.14 Page 11, line 22, delete "(12)" and insert "(1)"​

6.15 Page 11, line 25, delete "(13)" and insert "(2)"​

6.16 Page 11, line 28, delete "(b)" and insert "(d)"​

6.17 Page 12, lines 12 and 13, delete "component rate" and insert "value"​

6.18 Page 12, line 13, after the first "worker" insert "supervision"​

6.19 Page 12, line 26, after "services" insert "component"​

6.20 Page 12, line 27, after "transportation" insert "component rates"​

6.21 Page 12, line 28, after "The" insert "15-minute unit"​

6.22 Page 13, line 1, after "The" insert "15-minute unit"​

6.23 Page 13, lines 7, 12, 13, and 18, after "15-minute" insert "unit"​

6.24 Page 13, after line 18, insert:​

6.25 "(k) The individual community living support rate is calculated as follows:​

6.26 (1) sum the adjusted base wage for the home care aide rate in subdivision 13, paragraph​

6.27 (a), clause (2), and the social worker factor; and​

6.28 (2) divide the result of clause (1) by four."​

6​ Sec. ....​

HOUSE RESEARCH DP/RK H0823A1​02/13/17 04:28 PM ​



7.1 Page 13, line 19, delete "(k)" and insert "(l)"​

7.2 Page 13, line 23, delete "(l)" and insert "(m)"​

7.3 Page 13, line 24, delete "but" and insert "plus the additional factors in subdivision 14,​

7.4 except that "​

7.5 Page 13, delete line 25​

7.6 Page 13, line 26, delete "caregiver." and delete "service" and delete the second "the"​

7.7 and insert "0.25, to reflect a"​

7.8 Page 13, line 27, after "ratio" insert "of one caregiver to four clients, " and after the first​

7.9 "the" insert "15-minute"​

7.10 Page 13, line 28, after the first "the" insert "15-minute" and after "per" insert "15-minute"​

7.11 Page 13, line 29, delete everything after the period​

7.12 Page 13, delete lines 30 to 32 and insert:​

7.13 "(n) The adult day services bath 15-minute unit rate is the same as the calculation of the​

7.14 adult day services 15-minute unit rate without the adjustment for staffing ratio.​

7.15 (o) If a bath is authorized for an adult day services client, at least two 15-minute units​

7.16 must be authorized to allow for adequate time to meet client needs. Adult day services may​

7.17 be authorized for up to 48 units, or twelve hours, per day based on client and family caregiver​

7.18 needs."​

7.19 Page 14, line 9, delete "using the CoreQ questions"​

7.20 Page 14, line 10, delete "questions" and insert "using a validated survey tool and set of​

7.21 questions chosen by the commissioner in consultation with stakeholders"​

7.22 Page 14, after line 22, insert:​

7.23 "Sec. .... DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; EVALUATION OF RATE​

7.24 METHODOLOGY.​

7.25 (a) The commissioner of human services, in consultation with stakeholders, shall conduct​

7.26 a study to evaluate the following:​

7.27 (1) base wages in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0915, subdivision 13, to determine​

7.28 if the standard occupational classification codes for each rate and component rate are an​

7.29 appropriate representation of staff who deliver such services; and​
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8.1 (2) factors in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0915, subdivision 14, and adjusted base​

8.2 wage calculations in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0915, subdivision 15, to determine​

8.3 if the factors and calculations appropriately address non-wage provider costs.​

8.4 (b) By January 1, 2019, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking​

8.5 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services policy​

8.6 and finance on the changes to the rate methodology in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0915,​

8.7 based on the results of the evaluation. Where feasible, the report shall address the impact​

8.8 of the new rates on the workforce situation and client access to services. The report must​

8.9 include any changes to the rate calculations that the commissioner recommends."​

8.10 Page 14, line 25, delete "2017" and insert "2018"​

8.11 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

8.12 Amend the title accordingly​
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