04/07/20 03:57 pm HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK H1447DE6

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1447 as follows:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Laws 2020, chapter 71, article 2, section 15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Out-of-state licenses.** (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 171.03, paragraph paragraphs (h) and (i), any person who becomes a resident of the state of Minnesota and who possesses a valid noncommercial driver's license issued to the person under and pursuant to the laws of some other state or jurisdiction, or by military authorities of the United States, may operate a motor vehicle for more than 30 days for a commercial driver's license or 60 days for a noncommercial driver's license without being required to have a Minnesota driver's license, as provided by this subdivision. A person described by this subdivision may only operate the types of vehicles for which the license is issued and must apply for a Minnesota driver's license by the last day of the second consecutive month following the month in which the peacetime public health emergency period terminates.

- (b) If a Minnesota resident's driver's license or state identification card issued by another state, jurisdiction, or military authority would expire absent this subdivision during the period specified by subdivision 2, paragraph (a), the expiration date is extended in the manner prescribed by subdivision 2, paragraphs (a) to (e), except that the expiration date for a commercial driver's license must not be extended past the date identified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration in waivers of applicable federal regulations.
- (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "driver's license" includes but is not limited to an instruction permit, provisional license, operator's permit, limited license, and farm work license.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Section 1.

04/07/20 03:57 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1447DE6

Sec. 2. Laws 2020, chapter 71, article 2, section 15, is amended by adding a subdivision 2.1 2.2 to read: Subd. 3a. Medical certificates and waivers. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, 2.3 sections 171.162 and 221.0314, subdivisions 2, 3, and 3a, if a medical examiner's certificate 2.4 or a medical waiver would expire absent this subdivision during the period specified by 2.5 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), the expiration date is extended in the manner prescribed by 2.6 subdivision 2, except that it must not be extended past the date identified by the Federal 2.7 Motor Carrier Safety Administration in waivers of applicable federal regulations. 2.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 2.9 Sec. 3. Laws 2020, chapter 71, article 2, section 15, is amended by adding a subdivision 2.10 2.11 to read: Subd. 3b. Commercial driver's licenses. (a) The commissioner of public safety may 2.12 exercise the authority under this subdivision for restricted commercial driver's licenses 2.13 under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.03, subdivision 4, and otherwise, only if the 2.14 commissioner has established procedures for on-the-road examinations during the peacetime 2.15 2.16 public health emergency period, in a manner that (1) ensures personal protective measures for applicants and examiners, and (2) complies with guidance and recommendations related 2.17 to the infectious disease known as COVID-19 provided from the Centers for Disease Control 2.18 and Prevention (CDC) and the Minnesota Department of Health. 2.19 (b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, chapter 171, and Minnesota Rules, part 2.20 7410.1810, during the peacetime public health emergency period, the commissioner may 2.21 issue a new commercial driver's license to a qualifying applicant, except that: 2.22 (1) in lieu of a photograph taken in-person, the commissioner may use the most recently 2.23 available photograph of the applicant on record with the department; 2.24 (2) a test of the applicant's eyesight under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.13, subdivision 2.25 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), is not required at the time of application; and 2.26 (3) subject to paragraph (b), the expiration date of the license is the last day of the second 2.27 consecutive month following the month in which the peacetime public health emergency 2.28 2.29 period terminates. (c) After the peacetime public health emergency period, the expiration date of a license 2.30 issued under this subdivision is adjusted to the date that would otherwise apply for a license 2.31 issued absent this subdivision, if the license holder: 2.32

Sec. 3. 2

	04/07/20 03:57 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1447DE6
3.1	(1) arranges for an in-person photog	graph; and		
3.2	(2) passes a test of the person's eyes	sight.		
3.3	(d) No fee or surcharge under Minne	esota Statutes, chapter 171	l, is imposed f	or the license
3.4	other than the amounts that would other	wise apply for a license iss	ued absent this	s subdivision.
3.5	(e) The requirements under subdivi	sion 2, paragraphs (d) an	d (e), apply fo	or a license
3.6	issued under this subdivision.			
3.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	is effective the day follo	wing final ena	actment.
3.8	Sec. 4. Laws 2020, chapter 71, article	e 2, section 15, is amende	ed by adding a	subdivision
3.9	to read:			
3.10	Subd. 4a. Vehicle registration; ext	<b>tension.</b> (a) Notwithstand	ling Minnesot	a Statutes,
3.11	chapter 168, the registration is deemed	extended for any vehicle	that is not eli	igible for the
3.12	online vehicle registration system who	se registration period exp	ired on Februa	ary 29, 2020,
3.13	or absent this subdivision would other	wise expire (1) during the	peacetime pu	ıblic health
3.14	emergency period, or (2) on any day of	f the month in which the	peacetime pul	olic health
3.15	emergency period terminates.			
3.16	(b) An extension in this subdivision	is provided to the last day	y of the second	d consecutive
3.17	month following the month in which the	ne peacetime public healt	h emergency j	period
3.18	terminates.			
3.19	(c) No tax, fee, late fee, or surcharge	e under Minnesota Statut	es, chapter 16	8, is imposed
3.20	for an extension in this subdivision. A	replacement validation st	icker is not re	quired for an
3.21	extension.			
3.22	(d) An extension under this subdivi	sion does not alter the re-	gistration peri	od for
3.23	subsequent registration renewals. A ve	hicle subject to an extens	sion under this	subdivision
3.24	that is registered on a quarterly basis m	nust subsequently be regi	stered for eacl	n quarterly
3.25	registration period that absent this subo	division would:		
3.26	(1) conclude during the extension u	under paragraphs (a) and (	(b); or	
3.27	(2) commence during the extension to	under paragraphs (a) and (	b), if the vehic	le is operated
3.28	on public roads more than ten days bey	ond the start of that quar	terly registrat	ion period.
3.29	(e) In implementing this subdivision	n, the commissioner mus	t not make mo	odifications
3.30	to the current motor vehicle informatio	on technology system.		

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. 3

3.31

04/07/20 03:57 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1447DE6
Sec. 5. Laws 2020, chapter 7	71, article 2, section 15, is amende	ed by adding a	a subdivision
to read:			
Subd. 4b. Vehicle registra	tion; unregistered vehicles. (a) N	Notwithstandi	ng Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 168, a vehicl	e is deemed to be registered durin	ng the extension	on under
ubdivision 4a, paragraphs (a)	and (b), if the most recent registre	ation of the ve	chicle was for
quarterly registration period	under Minnesota Statutes, section	n 168.018, tha	t started prior
March 1, 2020.			
(b) Subject to paragraph (c	), no tax, fee, or surcharge under l	Minnesota Sta	tutes, chapter
68, is imposed for purposes of	of this subdivision.		
(c) This subdivision does r	not alter the vehicle registration po	eriods. A vehi	cle subject to
his subdivision must subsequ	ently be registered for each quarte	erly registration	on period:
(1) that overlaps with the e	extension under subdivision 4a, pa	aragraphs (a) a	and (b); and
(2) during which the vehic	le is operated on public roads.		
(d) In implementing this su	abdivision, the commissioner mus	st not make m	odifications
o the current motor vehicle in	formation technology system.		
	s section is effective the day follo		actment.
	ISLATURE; POWERS EXERO INSPORTATION DURING PE		IIRI IC
HEALTH EMERGENCY.	INSTORIATION DURING 1 EA	ACETIMET	<u>oblic</u>
	xpiration of a peacetime public he	ealth emergen	cy period the
<u> </u>			
•	n must report to the legislative co		
	any temporary powers exercised of		
	uding but not limited to any statut		
	modified or waived. The report m		timeline as to
when and an explanation of w	hy temporary powers were exerci	ised.	
(b) For purposes of this sec	etion. "peacetime public health em	nergency neric	od" means the

duration of any peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive order that

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. 4

relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19.

4.27

4.28

4.29

04/07/20 03:57 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1447DE6
11/1/11 // /11 113·3 / nm	HULLSE RESEARCH	NARAK	$\mathbf{H} \mathbf{I} / \mathbf{I} / \mathbf{I} / \mathbf{I} \mathbf{H} \mathbf{F}$
V <del>1</del> /V//4V V.J.J/ VIII	HOUSE RESEARCH	IVIID/IXIX	11177/1/12

	. 7. REPORT TO LEGISLATURE; POWERS EXERCISED BY
	ROPOLITAN COUNCIL DURING PEACETIME PUBLIC HEALTH REGENCY.
	ANGENCI.
<u>(</u> a	) Within 30 days of the expiration of a peacetime public health emergency period, the
hair	of the Metropolitan Council must report to the legislative committees with jurisdiction
ver 1	transportation or the Metropolitan Council regarding any temporary powers exercised
urin	g the peacetime public health emergency period, including but not limited to any
tatut	ory requirements or administrative rules that were modified or waived. The report
nust	include a timeline as to when and an explanation of why temporary powers were
xerc	ised.
<u>(</u> b	) For purposes of this section, "peacetime public health emergency period" means the
lurat	ion of any peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive order that
elate	es to the infectious disease known as COVID-19.
E.	FFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
<u></u>	The 11 to brite. This section is effective the day following final effectivence.
Sec	. 8. EXTENDING THE DEADLINE FOR THE TRANSIT FINANCE REPORT.
N	otwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 473.4485, subdivision 2, the deadline for
he m	etropolitan area transit finance report that is due by October 15, 2020, is extended
ıntil	February 15, 2021.
Sec	. 9. <u>USE OF FEDERAL TRANSIT FUNDS.</u>
<u>(a</u>	) The commissioner of transportation and the chair of the Metropolitan Council, to
he ex	stent consistent with federal law and regulations, may use money allocated to the state
of Mi	nnesota by the Federal Transit Administration under the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and
Econ	omic Security (CARES) Act, Public Law 116-136, for, but not limited to, the following
ourpo	
	oses:
<u>(1</u>	) protection equipment for transit operators, including physical barriers, personal
orote	) protection equipment for transit operators, including physical barriers, personal
prote (2	) protection equipment for transit operators, including physical barriers, personal ctive equipment, and cleaning materials;
orote (2 and	) protection equipment for transit operators, including physical barriers, personal ctive equipment, and cleaning materials;
prote (2 and (3	) protection equipment for transit operators, including physical barriers, personal ctive equipment, and cleaning materials;  ) safety training for operators who are in close contact with members of the public;

Sec. 9. 5

04/07/20 03:57 pm HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK H1447DE
--

- (CARES) Act, Public Law 116-136, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
   house and senate transportation finance and policy committees by February 15, 2021. The
   report must include the total amount of each expenditure, the purpose of each expenditure,
   and any additional information the commissioner and chair determine is necessary to properly
   document each expenditure.
- 6.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment."

6.7 Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 9. 6