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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 945, the delete everything amendment (A17-0300),

as follows:

Page 204, line 16, delete ", regulation, and education" and insert "and regulation"

Page 223, after line 2, insert:
"Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245.462, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Diagnostic assessment. (a) "Diagnostic assessment" means a written-summary

or-individual- community suppert-plan standard, extended, or brief diagnostic assessment,

or an adult update, and has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0370, subpart

11, and is delivered as provided in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0372, subpart 1, items A,
B, C, and E.

(b) A brief diagnostic assessment must include a face-to-face interview with the client

and a written evaluation of the client by a mental health professional or a clinical trainee,

as provided in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 5, item C. The professional or

clinical trainee must gather initial components of a standard diagnostic assessment, including

the client's:
1) age;

(2) description of symptoms, including reason for referral,

(3) history of mental health treatment;

(4) cultural influences and their impact on the client; and

(5) mental status examination.

Sec. 3. 1
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(c) On the basis of the brief components, the professional or clinical trainee must draw

a provisional clinical hypothesis. The clinical hypothesis may be used to address the client's

immediate needs or presenting problem.

(d) Treatment sessions conducted under authorization of a brief assessment may be used

to gather additional information necessary to complete a standard diagnostic assessment or

an extended diagnostic assessment.

(e) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 2, item A, subitem (1),

unit (b), prior to completion of a client's initial diagnostic assessment, a client is eligible

for psychological testing as part of the diagnostic process.

(f) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 2, item A, subitem (1),

unit (c), prior to completion of a client's initial diagnostic assessment, but in conjunction

with the diagnostic assessment process, a client is eligible for up to three individual or family

psychotherapy sessions or family psychoeducation sessions or a combination of the above

sessions not to exceed three.

(g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 2, item B, subitem (3),

unit (a), a brief diagnostic assessment may be used for a client's family who requires a

language interpreter to participate in the assessment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245.4876, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Diagnostic assessment. All residential treatment facilities and acute care
hospital inpatient treatment facilities that provide mental health services for children must
complete a diagnostic assessment for each of their child clients within five working days
of admission. Providers of eutpatient-and day treatment services for children must complete
a diagnostic assessment within five days after the child's second visit or 30 days after intake,
whichever occurs first. In cases where a diagnostic assessment is available and has been
completed within 180 days preceding admission, only updating is necessary. "Updating"
means a written summary by a mental health professional of the child's current mental health
status and service needs. If the child's mental health status has changed markedly since the
child's most recent diagnostic assessment, a new diagnostic assessment is required.
Compliance with the provisions of this subdivision does not ensure eligibility for medical

assistance reimbursement under chapter 256B.

Sec. 4. 2
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245.4878, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 11. Diagnostic assessment. (a) "Diagnostic assessment" means a standard,

extended, or brief diagnostic assessment, or an adult update, and has the meaning given in

Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0370, subpart 11, and is delivered as provided in Minnesota

Rules, part 9505.0372, subpart 1, items A, B, C, and E.

(b) A brief diagnostic assessment must include a face-to-face interview with the client

and a written evaluation of the client by a mental health professional or a clinical trainee,

as provided in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 5, item C. The professional or

clinical trainee must gather initial components of a standard diagnostic assessment, including

the client's:
1) age;

(2) description of symptoms, including reason for referral;

(3) history of mental health treatment;

(4) cultural influences and their impact on the client; and

(5) mental status examination.

(c) On the basis of the brief components, the professional or clinical trainee must draw

a provisional clinical hypothesis. The clinical hypothesis may be used to address the client's

immediate needs or presenting problem.

(d) Treatment sessions conducted under authorization of a brief assessment may be used

to gather additional information necessary to complete a standard diagnostic assessment or

an extended diagnostic assessment.

(e) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 2, item A, subitem (1),

unit (b), prior to completion of a client's initial diagnostic assessment, a client is eligible

for psychological testing as part of the diagnostic process.

(f) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 2, item A, subitem (1),

unit (c), prior to completion of a client's initial diagnostic assessment, but in conjunction

with the diagnostic assessment process, a client is eligible for up to three individual or family

psychotherapy sessions or family psychoeducation sessions or a combination of the above

sessions not to exceed three.

Sec. 5. 3
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(g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0371, subpart 2, item B, subitem (3),

unit (a), a brief diagnostic assessment may be used for a client's family who requires a

language interpreter to participate in the assessment."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 5. 4



