..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2065 as follows:

Page 1, after line 6, insert:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Limitation on levy on earnings.** (a) Unless the judgment is for child support, the maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any pay period subjected to an execution levy may not exceed the lesser of:
 - (1) 25 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable earnings; or
- (2) the amount by which the judgment debtor's disposable earnings exceed the following product greater of: (i) 40 times the hourly wage described in section 177.24, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (1), item (iii); or (ii) 40 times the federal minimum hourly wages prescribed by section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, United States Code, title 29, section 206(a)(1), in effect at the time the earnings are payable, times the number of work weeks in the pay period. When a pay period consists of other than a whole number of work weeks, each day of that pay period in excess of the number of completed work weeks shall be counted as a fraction of a work week equal to the number of excess workdays divided by the number of days in the normal work week.
 - (b) If the judgment is for child support, the levy may not exceed:
- (1) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);
- (2) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

Section 1.

(3) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received); or

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

2.32

2.33

(4) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received).

Execution levies under this section on judgments for child support are effective until the judgments are satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.

- (c) No court may make, execute, or enforce an order or any process in violation of this section.
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Multiple levies on earnings.** Except as otherwise provided in this chapter or section 518A.53, the priority of multiple earnings execution levies is determined by the order in which the execution levies were served on the employer. If the employer is served with two or more writs of execution at the same time on the same day, the writ of execution issued pursuant to the first judgment entered has priority. If two or more execution levies are served on the same day and are based on judgments entered on the same day, then the employer shall select the priority of the earnings levies. However, in all cases except earnings execution levies on judgments for child support if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied, the execution levies shall be effective no longer than 70 90 days from the date of the service of the writ of execution.
 - Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Earnings attachable.** (a) Subject to the exemptions provided by sections 550.37 and 571.922, and any other applicable statute, and except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), the service of a writ of execution under this chapter attaches all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays occur within the 70 90 days after the date of service of the writ of execution. "Paydays" means the days upon which the third party pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment debtor has no regular paydays, paydays means the 15th day and the last day of

Sec. 3. 2

each month. If the levy attaches less than \$10, the third party shall not retain and remit the sum.

- (b) The service of a writ of execution on a judgment for child support attaches to all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods until the judgment is satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the third party is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Execution earnings disclosure form and worksheet. The judgment creditor shall provide to the sheriff for service upon the judgment debtor's employer an execution earnings disclosure form and an earnings disclosure worksheet with the writ of execution, that must be substantially in the form set forth below.

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT 3.14 COUNTY OFJUDICIAL DISTRICT 3.15 FILE NO. 3.16(Judgment Creditor) 3.17 **EARNINGS** 3.18(Judgment Debtor) **EXECUTION** 3.19 DISCLOSURE 3.20 and (Third Party) 3.21

3.22 DEFINITIONS

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

3.31

3.32

3.33

"EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" means compensation paid or payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the producer for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation, or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic payments pursuant to a pension or retirement.

"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. (Amounts required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, charitable contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

Sec. 4. 3

03/19/19 06:25 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MM/JF	H2065A2
	se of execution, "payday(s)" mear	` '	
the employer pays earnings to t	the debtor in the ordinary course o	f business. If the	he judgment
debtor has no regular payday, I	payday(s) means the 15th and the	last day of each	ch month.
THE THIRD PARTY/EMP	PLOYER MUST ANSWER THE	FOLLOWING	G
QUESTIONS:			
(1) Do you now owe, or wi	thin 70 90 days from the date the	execution levy	was served
on you, will you or may you o	we money to the judgment debtor	for earnings?	
	Yes	No	
(2) Does the judgment debt	tor earn more than \$ per week?	(this amount is	s the greater
of \$9.50 per hour or the federa	-	tins amount is	s the greater
	Yes	No	
	JCTIONS FOR COMPLETING T	ĭHE	
	EARNINGS DISCLOSURE		
A. If your answer to either	question 1 or 2 is "No," then you	must sign the	affirmation
	re to the sheriff within 20 days aft	er it was serve	ed on you,
and you do not need to answer	the remaining questions.		
B. If your answers to both	questions 1 and 2 are "Yes," you r	nust complete	this form
and the Earnings Disclosure W	Vorksheet as follows:		
For each payday that falls w	vithin 70 90 days from the date the	execution levy	y was served
on you, YOU MUST calcul	ate the amount of earnings to be re	tained by com	pleting steps
3 through 11 on page 2, and	d enter the amounts on the Earnin	gs Disclosure	Worksheet.
UPON REQUEST, THE E	MPLOYER MUST PROVIDE TI	HE DEBTOR	WITH
INFORMATION AS TO H	IOW THE CALCULATIONS RE	QUIRED BY	THIS
DISCLOSURE WERE MA	ADE.		
Each payday, you must reta	in the amount of earnings listed in	n column I on t	the Earnings
Disclosure Worksheet.	Ç		
Voy myst pay the attached	comings and return this comings	digalagura fam	m and tha
	earnings and return this earnings		
-	sheet to the sheriff and deliver a co debtor within ten days after the la		
	f the judgment is wholly satisfied		
- -	ne expiration of the 70-day 90-day		
	nade within ten days after the last p		
were attached.	iade within ten days after the last j	jayaay 101 WII	ion cariffigs
more anaciica.			

Sec. 4. 4

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

4.33

03/19/19 06:25 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MM/JF	H2065A2
U3/19/19 U6: /5 nm	HOUSERESEARCH	N/I N/I / I H	$H/Uh \Delta A$

5.1	For steps	3 through 11, "colur	nns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure
5.2	Worksheet.		
5.3	(3)	COLUMN A.	Enter the date of judgment debtor's payday.
5.4	(4)	COLUMN B.	Enter judgment debtor's gross earnings for each payday.
5.5 5.6	(5)	COLUMN C.	Enter judgment debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.
5.7 5.8	(6)	COLUMN D.	Enter 25 percent of disposable earnings. (Multiply column C by .25.)
5.9 5.10 5.11 5.12 5.13 5.14 5.15 5.16	(7)	COLUMN E.	Enter here the greater of 40 times \$9.50 or 40 times the hourly federal minimum wage (\$) times the number of work weeks included in each payday. (Note: If a payday includes days in excess of whole work weeks, the additional days should be counted as a fraction of a work week equal to the number of workdays in excess of a whole work week divided by the number of workdays in a normal work week.)
5.17 5.18	(8)	COLUMN F.	Subtract the amount in column E from the amount in column C, and enter here.
5.19 5.20	(9)	COLUMN G.	Enter here the lesser of the amount in column D and the amount in column F.
5.21 5.22 5.23 5.24 5.25 5.26 5.27 5.28 5.29 5.30 5.31	(10)	COLUMN H.	Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff, defense, lien, or claim, or any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest which would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness to you incurred within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy on a debt may not be set off against the earnings otherwise subject to this levy. Any wage assignment made by the judgment debtor within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy on a debt is void.)
5.32 5.33 5.34 5.35			You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the space provided below the worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these persons.
5.36 5.37 5.38			Enter zero in column H if there are no claims by you or others which would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor.
5.39 5.40 5.41 5.42	(11)	COLUMN I.	Subtract the amount in column H from the amount in column G and enter here. This is the amount of earnings that you must remit for the payday for which the calculations were made.
5.43			AFFIRMATION
5.44	I,	(person signing	g Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am
5.45			loyer to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done
5.46	so truthfully	and to the best of my	y knowledge.

Sec. 4. 5

MM/JF

H2065A2

03/19/19 06:25 pm

Sec. 4. 6

G	Н	I
Lesser of Column D and	Setoff, Lien, Adverse Interest,	Column G minus Column H
Column F	or Other Claims	
1		
2		
3		
4		
5		
6		
7		
8		
9		
10		
	TOTAL OF CO	LUMN I \$
	s of such persons, and the nature o	
I, (person signi	AFFIRMATION	y or I am authorized by the
I, (person signithird party to complete this ea	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part	y or I am authorized by the
I, (person signithird party to complete this ea	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part	y or I am authorized by the
I, (person signithird party to complete this ea	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part arnings disclosure worksheet, and l	y or I am authorized by the
I, (person signithird party to complete this eato the best of my knowledge.	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part urnings disclosure worksheet, and l Sig	y or I am authorized by the nave done so truthfully and
I, (person signichird party to complete this east of my knowledge.	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part arnings disclosure worksheet, and l Sig	y or I am authorized by the have done so truthfully and gnature
I, (person signithird party to complete this eato the best of my knowledge.	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part urnings disclosure worksheet, and l Sig	y or I am authorized by the nave done so truthfully and gnature
I, (person signithird party to complete this eato the best of my knowledge.	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part arnings disclosure worksheet, and l Sig	y or I am authorized by the nave done so truthfully and gnature)
I, (person signithird party to complete this eato the best of my knowledge. Dated:	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part arnings disclosure worksheet, and l Sig Title Ph	y or I am authorized by the nave done so truthfully and gnature one Number 10, is amended to read:
I, (person signithird party to complete this eato the best of my knowledge. Dated:	AFFIRMATION ing Affirmation), am the third part arnings disclosure worksheet, and l Sig Title Ph	y or I am authorized by the nave done so truthfully and gnature one Number 10, is amended to read: heet for child support

MM/JF

H2065A2

Sec. 5. 7

03/19/19 06:25 pm

8.1	disclosure worksheet with the writ of execution, that must be sub	ostantially in the form set
8.2	forth below.	
8.3	STATE OF MINNESOTA	DISTRICT COURT
8.4	COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL DISTRICT
8.5		FILE NO
8.6	(Judgment Creditor)	
8.7	against	EARNINGS
8.8	(Judgment Debtor)	EXECUTION
8.9	and	DISCLOSURE
8.10	(Third Party)	
8.11	DEFINITIONS	
8.12	"EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" mea	ns compensation paid or
8.13	payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid	or payable to the producer
8.14	for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fru	uit or other horticultural
8.15	products produced when the producer is operating a family farm,	a family farm corporation,
8.16	or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24,	subdivision 2, whether
8.17	denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise,	and includes periodic
8.18	payments pursuant to a pension or retirement, workers' compens	ation, or unemployment
8.19	benefits.	
8.20	"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings	of an individual remaining
8.21	after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law	to be withheld. (Amounts
8.22	required by law to be withheld do not include items such as heal-	th insurance, charitable
8.23	contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)	
8.24	"PAYDAY": For the purpose of execution, "payday(s)" mean	s the date(s) upon which
8.25	the employer pays earnings to the debtor in the ordinary course of	business. If the judgment
8.26	debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the	last day of each month.
8.27	THE THIRD PARTY/EMPLOYER MUST ANSWER THE FO	DLLOWING QUESTION:
8.28	(1) Do you now owe, or within 70 90 days from the date the 6	execution levy was served
8.29	on you, will you or may you owe money to the judgment debtor	for earnings?
8.30	Yes	No
8.31	INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING T	НЕ
8.32	EARNINGS DISCLOSURE	

A. If your answer to question 1 is "No," then you must sign the affirmation below and return this disclosure to the sheriff within 20 days after it was served on you, and you do not need to answer the remaining questions.

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

B. If your answer to question 1 is "Yes," you must complete this form and the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet as follows:

For each payday that falls within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by completing steps 2 through 8 on page 2, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet. UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE DEBTOR WITH INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS REQUIRED BY THIS DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.

Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column G on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.

You must pay the attached earnings and return this earnings disclosure form and the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the sheriff and deliver a copy of the disclosure and worksheet to the judgment debtor within ten days after the last payday that falls within the 70-day 90-day period. If the judgment is wholly satisfied or if the judgment debtor's employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day 90-day period, your disclosure and remittance should be made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings were attached.

For steps 2 through 8, "columns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.

- (2) COLUMN A. Enter the date of judgment debtor's payday.
- 9.23 (3) COLUMN B. Enter judgment debtor's gross earnings for each payday.
- 9.24 (4) COLUMN C. Enter judgment debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.
 - (5) COLUMN D. Enter either 50, 55, 60, or 65 percent of disposable earnings, based on which of the following descriptions fits the child support judgment debtor:
 - (a) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);
 - (b) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

10.1	(c) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's dispos	able income, if the judgment debtor is not		
10.2	supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks			
10.3	to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);			
10.4	or			
10.5	(d) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's dispos	sable income, if the judgment debtor is not		
10.6	supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the	judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks		
10.7	to be calculated to the beginning of the work wee	k in which the execution levy is received).		
10.8	(Multiply column C by .50, .55, .60, or .65, as ap	ppropriate.)		
10.9	(6) COLUMN E. Enter here any amount clair	med by you as a setoff, defense, lien, or		
10.10	claim, or any amount claimed by any other perso	on as an exemption or adverse interest that		
10.11	would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the	judgment debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness		
10.12	to you incurred within ten days prior to your reco	eipt of the first execution levy may not be		
10.13	set off against the earnings otherwise subject to t	his levy. Any wage assignment made by		
10.14	the judgment debtor within ten days prior to your	receipt of the first execution levy is void.)		
10.15	You must also describe your claim(s) and the	claims of others, if known, in the space		
10.16	provided below the worksheet and state the name	e(s) and address(es) of these persons.		
10.17	Enter zero in column E if there are no claims	by you or others that would reduce the		
10.18	amount of earnings owing to the judgment debto	r.		
10.19	(7) COLUMN F. Subtract the amount in colu	mn E from the amount in column D and		
10.20	enter here. This is the amount of earnings that you must remit for the payday for which the			
10.21	calculations were made.			
10.22	AFFIRMAT	TION		
10.23	I, (person signing Affirmation), a	am the third party/employer or I am		
10.24	authorized by the third party/employer to comple	ete this earnings disclosure, and have done		
10.25	so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.			
10.26	DATED:			
10.27		Signature		
10.28				
10.29		Title		
10.30				
10.31		Telephone Number		
10.32	EARNINGS DISCLOSURE WORKSHEET			
10.33		Debtor's Name		

11.1	A	В	C
11.2 11.3	Payday Date	Gross Earnings	Disposable Earnings
11.4	1	\$	\$
11.5	2		
11.6	3		
11.7	4		
11.8	5		
11.9	6		
11.10	7		
11.11	8		
11.12	9		
11.13	10		
11.14	D	Е	F
11.15	Either 50, 55, 60, or	Setoff, Lien,	Column D minus
11.16 11.17	65% of Column C	Adverse Interest, or Other Claims	Column E
11.18	1		
11.19	2		
11.20	3		
11.21	4		
11.22	5		
11.23	6		
11.24	7		
11.25	8		
11.26	9		
11.27	10		
11.28		TOTAL OF COLUMN	F \$
11.29	*If you entered any amount in co	olumn E for any payday(s), you mu	st describe below
11.30	either your claims, or the claims of c	others. For amounts claimed by other	ers, you must both
11.31	state the names and addresses of suc	h persons, and the nature of their c	laim, if known.
11.32			
11.33			
11.34			
11.35		AFFIRMATION	

MM/JF

H2065A2

03/19/19 06:25 pm

12.1	I, (person signing Affirmation), am the third	party or I am authorized by the
12.2	third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, a	and have done so truthfully and
12.3	to the best of my knowledge.	
12.4		
12.5		Signature
12.6	Dated:	()
12.7	Title	Phone Number

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

Subd. 12. **Third-party disclosure and remittance obligation.** If there are no attachable earnings, the third party shall serve the execution earnings disclosure form upon the sheriff within 20 days after service of the writ of execution. However, if the judgment debtor has attachable earnings, the third party shall serve the execution earnings disclosure form and remit to the sheriff the attached earnings within ten days of the last payday to occur within the 70 90 days after the date of the service of the execution. If the judgment is wholly satisfied or if the judgment debtor's employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day 90-day period, the disclosure and remittance should be made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings were attached. The amount of the third party's execution earnings disclosure form and remittance need not exceed 110 percent of the amount of the judgment creditor's judgment that remains unpaid, after subtracting the total of setoffs, defenses, exemption, or other adverse interests. If the disclosure is by a corporation, it shall be made by an officer or an authorized agent having knowledge of the facts.

- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Property attachable.** Subject to the exemptions provided by subdivision 3 and section 550.37, and any other applicable statute, the service of a writ of execution under this chapter attaches:
 - (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays occur within the 70 90 days after the date of service of the writ of execution. "Payday" means the day upon which the third party pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment debtor has no regular paydays, payday means the 15th day and the last day of each month.

Sec. 7. 12

03/19/19 06:25 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MM/JF	H2065A2
U3/19/19 U0:23 DM	HOUSE RESEARCH	IVIIVI/JF	HZU03A2

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.29

(b) All other nonexempt indebtedness or money due or belonging to the judgment debtor and owing by the third party or in the possession or under the control of the third party at the time of service of the writ of execution, whether or not the same, has become payable. The third party shall not be compelled to pay or deliver the same before the time specified by any agreement unless the agreement was fraudulently contracted to defeat an execution levy or other collection remedy.

- (c) For an execution on a judgment for child support, all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods until the judgment is satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the third party is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.04, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 11. **Forms.** No judgment creditor shall use a form that contains alterations or changes from the statutory forms that mislead judgment debtors as to their rights and the execution procedure generally. If a court finds that a judgment creditor has used a misleading form, the judgment debtor shall be awarded actual damages, costs, reasonable attorney's fees resulting from additional proceedings, and an amount not to exceed \$100. All forms must be clearly legible and printed in not less than the equivalent of 10-point type. A form that uses both sides of a sheet must clearly indicate on the front side that there is additional information on the back side of the sheet.
 - Forms, including the statutory forms, used in executions upon earnings for the satisfaction of judgments for child support must be changed by the creditor to reflect the fact that the 70-day 90-day period of effectiveness does not apply to these executions if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.
 - Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Limitation on levy on earnings.** (a) Unless the judgment is for child support, the maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any pay period subjected to an execution levy may not exceed the lesser of:
 - (1) 25 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable earnings; or
- 13.30 (2) the amount by which the judgment debtor's disposable earnings exceed the following
 13.31 product greater of: (i) 40 times the hourly wage described in section 177.24, subdivision 1,
 13.32 paragraph (b), clause (1), item (iii); or (ii) 40 times the federal minimum hourly wages

Sec. 9. 13

prescribed by section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, United States Code, title 29, section 206(a)(1), in effect at the time the earnings are payable, times the number of work weeks in the pay period. When a pay period consists of other than a whole number of work weeks, each day of that pay period in excess of the number of completed work weeks shall be counted as a fraction of a work week equal to the number of excess workdays divided by the number of days in the normal work week.

(b) If the judgment is for child support, the levy may not exceed:

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

14.33

- (1) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);
- (2) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);
- (3) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received); or
- (4) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received).
- Execution levies under this section on judgments for child support are effective until the judgments are satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.
- 14.24 (c) No court may make, execute, or enforce an order or any process in violation of this section.
 - Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. **Multiple levies on earnings.** Except as otherwise provided in this chapter or section 518A.53, the priority of multiple earnings execution levies is determined by the order in which the execution levies were served on the employer. If the employer is served with two or more writs of execution at the same time on the same day, the writ of execution issued pursuant to the first judgment entered has priority. If two or more execution levies are served on the same day and are based on judgments entered on the same day, then the employer shall select the priority of the earnings levies. However, in all cases except earnings

Sec. 10. 14

execution levies on judgments for child support if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied, the execution levies shall be effective no longer than 70 90 days from the date of the service of the writ of execution.

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Earnings attachable. (a) Subject to the exemptions provided by subdivision 3 and section 550.37, and any other applicable statute, and except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), the service of a writ of execution under this chapter attaches all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays occur within the 70 90 days after the date of service of the writ of execution. "Paydays" means the days upon which the third party pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment debtor has no regular paydays, paydays means the 15th day and the last day of each month. If the levy attaches less than \$10, the third party shall not retain and remit the sum.

- (b) The service of a writ of execution on a judgment for child support attaches to all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods until the judgment is satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the third party is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. Notice of levy on earnings, disclosure, and worksheet. The attorney for the 15.23 judgment creditor shall serve upon the judgment debtor's employer a notice of levy on 15.24 earnings and an execution earnings disclosure form and an earnings disclosure worksheet 15.25 with the writ of execution, that must be substantially in the form set forth below. 15.26

15.27	STATE OF MINNESOTA	DISTRICT COURT
15.28	COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL DISTRICT
15.29		FILE NO
15.30	(Judgment Creditor)	
15.31	against	NOTICE OF LEVY ON
15.32		EARNINGS AND DISCLOSURE
15.33	(Judgment Debtor)	

Sec. 12. 15

16.1 and 16.2 (Third Party) PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 551.04 and 16.3 551.06, the undersigned, as attorney for the judgment creditor, hereby makes demand and 16.4 levies execution upon all earnings due and owing by you (up to \$10,000) to the judgment 16.5 debtor for the amount of the judgment specified below. A copy of the writ of execution 16.6 issued by the court is enclosed. The unpaid judgment balance is \$..... 16.7 This levy attaches all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by 16.8 you and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in 16.9 which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays 16.10 occur within the 70 90 days after the service of this levy. 16.11 In responding to this levy, you are to complete the attached disclosure form and worksheet 16.12 and mail it to the undersigned attorney for the judgment creditor, together with your check 16.13 payable to the above-named judgment creditor, for the nonexempt amount owed by you to 16.14 the judgment debtor or for which you are obligated to the judgment debtor, within the time 16.15 limits set forth in the aforementioned statutes. 16.16 16.17 Attorney for the Judgment Creditor 16.18 16.19 16.20 16.21 Address 16.22 (...) 16.23 Phone Number 16.24 **DISCLOSURE** 16.25 **DEFINITIONS** 16.26 "EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" means compensation paid or 16.27 payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the producer 16.28 for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural 16.29 products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation, 16.30 or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether 16.31 denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic 16.32

Sec. 12. 16

payments pursuant to a pension or retirement.

16.33

17.1	"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining
17.2	after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. (Amounts
17.3	required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, charitable
17.4	contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)
17.5	"PAYDAY": For the purpose of execution, "payday(s)" means the date(s) upon which
17.6	the employer pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If
17.7	the judgment debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the last day of
17.8	each month.
17.9	THE THIRD PARTY/EMPLOYER MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING
17.10	QUESTIONS:
17.11	1. Do you now owe, or within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served
17.12	on you, will you or may you owe money to the judgment debtor for earnings?
17.13	Yes No
17.14	2. Does the judgment debtor earn more than \$ per week? (This amount is the greater
17.15	of \$9.50 per hour of the federal minimum wage per week.)
17.16	Yes No
17.17	INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
17.18	EARNINGS DISCLOSURE
17.19	A. If your answer to either question 1 or 2 is "No," then you must sign the affirmation
17.20	on page 2 and return this disclosure to the judgment creditor's attorney within 20 days after
17.21	it was served on you, and you do not need to answer the remaining questions.
17.22	B. If your answers to both questions 1 and 2 are "Yes," you must complete this form
17.23	and the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet as follows:
17.24	For each payday that falls within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served
17.25	on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by completing steps
17.26	3 through 11 on page 2, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
17.27	UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE DEBTOR WITH
17.28	INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS REQUIRED BY THIS
17.29	DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.
17.30	Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column I on the Earnings
17.31	Disclosure Worksheet.

MM/JF

H2065A2

03/19/19 06:25 pm

Sec. 12. 17

	03/19/19 06:25 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MM/JF	H2065A2
18.1	You must pay the attached earning	s and return this Earnings	Disclosure Fo	rm and the
10.2	Farnings Disclosura Worksheet to	the judgment graditor's att	orney and deli	war a conv

Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the judgment creditor's attorney and deliver a copy to the judgment debtor within ten days after the last payday that falls within the 70-day 90-day period.

If the judgment is wholly satisfied or if the judgment debtor's employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day 90-day period, your disclosure and remittance should be made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings were attached.

For steps 3 through 11, "columns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.

10.0	1 of steps 5 th	rough 11, Columns	Tereis to corumnis on the Lammigs Disclosure Worksheet.
18.9	3.	COLUMN A.	Enter the date of judgment debtor's payday.
18.10	4.	COLUMN B.	Enter judgment debtor's gross earnings for each payday.
18.11 18.12	5.	COLUMN C.	Enter judgment debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.
18.13 18.14	6.	COLUMN D.	Enter 25 percent of disposable earnings. (Multiply Column C by .25.)
18.15 18.16 18.17 18.18 18.19 18.20 18.21 18.22	7.	COLUMN E.	Enter here the greater of 40 times \$9.50 or 40 times the hourly federal minimum wage (\$) times the number of work weeks included in each payday. (Note: If a pay period includes days in excess of whole work weeks, the additional days should be counted as a fraction of a work week equal to the number of workdays in excess of a whole work week divided by the number of workdays in a normal work week.)
18.23 18.24	8.	COLUMN F.	Subtract the amount in Column E from the amount in Column C, and enter here.
18.25 18.26	9.	COLUMN G.	Enter here the lesser of the amount in Column D and the amount in Column F.
18.27 18.28 18.29 18.30 18.31 18.32 18.33 18.34 18.35 18.36 18.37	10.	COLUMN H.	Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff, defense, lien, or claim, or any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest which would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness to you incurred within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy on a debt may not be set off against the earnings otherwise subject to this levy. Any wage assignment made by the judgment debtor within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy on a debt is void.)
18.38 18.39 18.40 18.41			You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the space provided below the worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these persons.
18.42 18.43 18.44			Enter zero in Column H if there are no claims by you or others which would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor.
18.45	11.	COLUMN I.	Subtract the amount in Column H from the amount in

Column G and enter here. This is the amount of earnings

Sec. 12. 18

18.46

19.1 19.2 19.3 19.4 19.5	that you must retain for the payday for which the calculations were made. The total of all amounts entered in Column I is the amount to be remitted to the attorney for the judgment creditor. AFFIRMATION I, (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am					
19.7	authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done					
19.8	so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.					
		_				
19.9	Dated:					
19.10 19.11			Signature			
19.11			Title			
19.12						
19.14			Telephone Number			
10.15	EADMINGS	NCCI OCUDE W	-			
19.15	EARININGS L	DISCLOSURE W	UKKSHEEI			
19.16						
19.17	Judgment Debtor's Name					
19.18	A	В		C		
19.19 19.20	Payday Date	Gross Earnings		Disposable Earnings		
19.21	1	\$		\$		
19.22	2					
19.23	3					
19.24	4					
19.25	5					
19.26	6					
19.27	7					
19.28	8					
19.29	9					
19.30	10					
19.31	D	E		F		
19.32 19.33 19.34	25% of Column C	Greater of 40X \$9.50 or 40 X Fed. Min. Wage		Column C minus Column E		
19.35	1					
19.36	2					

MM/JF

H2065A2

03/19/19 06:25 pm

Sec. 12. 19

	03/19/19 06:25 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH M	M/JF H2065A2			
20.1	3					
20.2	4					
20.3	5					
20.4	6					
20.5	7					
20.6	8					
20.7	9					
20.8	10					
20.9	G	Н	I			
20.10 20.11 20.12	Lesser of Column D and Column F	Setoff, Lien, Adverse Interest, or Other Claims	Column G minus Column H			
20.13	1					
20.14	2					
20.15	3					
20.16	4					
20.17	5					
20.18	6					
20.19	7					
20.20	8					
20.21	9					
20.22	10					
20.23		TOTAL OF COLUM	N I \$			
20.24	*If you entered any amount in Column H for any payday(s), you must describe below					
20.25	either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others, you must both					
20.26	state the names and addresses of these persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.					
20.27						
20.28						
20.29						
20.30	AFFIRMATION					
20.31	I, (person signing Affin	rmation), am the third party or I a	am authorized by the			
20.32	third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully and					
20.33	to the best of my knowledge.					
20.34						
20.35		Title				

Sec. 12. 20

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references 21.30 Amend the title accordingly

Sections 1 to 21 are effective August 1, 2019, and apply to all earnings garnished or

levied, or all attorney's summary execution upon earnings, on or after that date."

Sec. 22. 21

21.1

21.2

21.3

21.4

21.5

21.6

21.7

21.8

21.9

21.10

21.11

21.12

21.13

21.14

21.15

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

21.22

21.23

21.24

21.25

21.26

21.27

21.28

21.29

21.31

in"