JOBS - LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY

House Language H2208-3

145.9	ARTICLE 8
145.10	LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY
145.11	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 15.72, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
145.14 145.15	Subd. 2. Retainage. (a) A public contracting agency may reserve as retainage from any progress payment on a public contract for a public improvement an amount not to exceed five percent of the payment. A The public contracting agency may reduce the amount of the retainage and may eliminate retainage on any monthly contract payment if, in the agency's opinion, the work is progressing satisfactorily.
145.19	(b) For all construction contracts greater than \$5,000,000, the public contracting agency must reduce retainage to no more than 2.5 percent if the public contracting agency determines the work is 75 percent or more complete, that work is progressing satisfactorily, and all contract requirements are being met.
145.21 145.22	(c) The public contracting agency must release any remaining retainage no later than 60 days after substantial completion.
145.25 145.26 145.27 145.28	(d) A contractor on a public contract for a public improvement must pay out any remaining retainage to its subcontractors no later than ten days after receiving payment of retainage from the public contracting agency, unless there is a dispute about the work under a subcontract. If there is a dispute about the work under a subcontract, the contractor must pay out retainage to any subcontractor whose work is not involved in the dispute, and must provide a written statement detailing the amount and reason for the withholding to the affected subcontractor and the public agency.
145.33 146.1 146.2	request of a subcontractor who has not been paid for work in accordance with section 16A.1245 or 471.425, subdivision 4a, the public contracting agency shall notify the subcontractor of a progress payment, retainage payment, or final payment made to the contractor. A contractor must include in any contract with a subcontractor the name, address,
146.3 146.4	and telephone number of a responsible official at the public contracting agency that may be contacted for purposes of making a request under this paragraph.
146.5 146.6	(f) After substantial completion, a public contracting agency may withhold no more than:

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

44.22	ARTICLE 3
44.23	LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY
44.24	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 15.72, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
44.25 44.26 44.27 44.28 44.29	Subd. 2. Retainage. (a) A public contracting agency may reserve as retainage from any progress payment on a public contract for a public improvement an amount not to exceed five percent of the payment. A public <u>contracting</u> agency may reduce the amount of the retainage and may eliminate retainage on any monthly contract payment if, in the agency's opinion, the work is progressing satisfactorily.
44.30 44.31	(b) The public contracting agency must release all retainage no later than 60 days after substantial completion, subject to the terms of this subdivision.
45.1 45.2 45.3 45.4 45.5 45.6 45.7	(c) A contractor on a public contract for a public improvement must pay out any remaining retainage to its subcontractors no later than ten days after receiving payment of retainage from the public contracting agency, unless there is a dispute about the work under a subcontract. If there is a dispute about the work under a subcontract, the contractor must pay out retainage to any subcontractor whose work is not involved in the dispute, and must provide a written statement detailing the amount and reason for the withholding to the affected subcontractor.
45.8 45.9 45.10 45.11	(d) Upon written request of a subcontractor who has not been paid for work in accordance with this section, section 16A.1245, or section 471.425, subdivision 4a, the public contracting agency shall notify the subcontractor of a progress payment, retainage payment, or final payment made to the contractor.
45.12	(a) A flore make to refer to a constitue of the transfer to th
45.12 45.13	(e) After substantial completion, a public contracting agency may withhold no more than:

146.7	(1) 250 percent of the value of incomplete or defective work; and
146.8 146.9 146.10	(2) one percent of the value of the contract or \$500, whichever is greater, pending completion and submission of all final paperwork by the contractor, provided that an amount withheld under this clause may not exceed \$10,000.
146.12 146.13 146.14 146.15 146.16 146.17	
146.23 146.24 146.25	(h) The maximum retainage percentage allowed for a building and construction contract is the retainage percentage withheld by the public contracting agency from the contractor.(i) Withholding retainage for warranties or warranty work is prohibited.
146.26 146.27 146.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or after Augus 1, 2019. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The commissioner shall:
146.30 146.31	(1) approve youth skills training programs that train student learners for careers in high-growth, high-demand occupations that provide:
147.1 147.2	(i) that the work of the student learner in the occupations declared particularly hazardou shall be incidental to the training;
147.3 147.4	(ii) that the work shall be intermittent and for short periods of time, and under the direct and close supervision of a qualified and experienced person;
147.5 147.6	(iii) that safety instruction shall be provided to the student learner and may be given by the school and correlated by the employer with on-the-job training;

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

45.14 45.15	(1) 250 percent of the value of incomplete or defective work known at the time of substantial completion; and
45.16 45.17 45.18 45.19 45.20 45.21	(2) one percent of the value of the contract or \$500, whichever is greater, pending completion and submission of all final paperwork by the contractor or subcontractor. For purposes of this subdivision, "final paperwork" means documents required to fulfill contractual obligations, including, but not limited to, as-built plans, operation manuals, payroll documents for projects subject to prevailing wage requirements, and the withholding exemption certificate required by section 270C.66.
45.22 45.23 45.24 45.25 45.26 45.27	If the public contracting agency withholds payment under this paragraph, the public contracting agency must promptly provide a written statement detailing the amount and basis of withholding to the contractor. The public contracting agency and contractor must provide a copy of this statement to any subcontractor that requests it. Any amounts withheld under clause (1) must be paid within 60 days after completion of the work. Any amounts withheld under clause (2) must be paid within 60 days after submission of all final paperwork.
45.28 45.29 45.30 45.31	(f) As used in this subdivision, "substantial completion" shall be determined as provided in section 541.051, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). For construction, reconstruction, or improvement of streets and highways, including bridges, substantial completion means the date when construction-related traffic devices and ongoing inspections are no longer required.
45.32 45.33	(g) Withholding retainage for warranty work not known at substantial completion is prohibited.
46.1 46.2	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or after August 1, 2019.
46.3	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
46.4	Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The commissioner shall:
46.5 46.6	(1) approve youth skills training programs that train student learners for careers in high-growth, high-demand occupations that provide:
46.7 46.8	(i) that the work of the student learner in the occupations declared particularly hazardous shall be incidental to the training;
46.9 46.10	(ii) that the work shall be intermittent and for short periods of time, and under the direct and close supervision of a qualified and experienced person;
46.11 46.12	(iii) that safety instruction shall be provided to the student learner and may be given by the school and correlated by the employer with on-the-job training;

147.7	(iv) a schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be performed on the job;
147.8	(v) a schedule of wage rates in compliance with section 177.24; and
147.9 147.10	(vi) whether the student learner will obtain secondary school academic credit, postsecondary credit, or both, for the training program;
147.11 147.12	(2) approve occupations and maintain a list of approved occupations for programs under this section;
147.13	(3) issue requests for proposals for grants;
147.14 147.15	(4) work with individuals representing industry and labor to develop new youth skills training programs;
147.16	(5) develop model program guides;
147.17	(6) monitor youth skills training programs;
147.18	(7) provide technical assistance to local partnership grantees;
147.19 147.20	(8) work with providers to identify paths for receiving postsecondary credit for participation in the youth skills training program; and
147.21	(9) approve other activities as necessary to implement the program.
147.24 147.25	(b) The commissioner shall collaborate with stakeholders, including, but not limited to, representatives of secondary school institutions, career and technical education instructors, postsecondary institutions, businesses, and labor, in developing youth skills training programs, and identifying and approving occupations and competencies for youth skills training programs.
147.27	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
147.28 147.29 148.1 148.2	Subd. 13. Grant awards. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to local partnerships for youth skills training programs that train student learners for careers in high-growth, high-demand occupations. Grant awards may not exceed \$100,000 per local partnership grant.
148.3 148.4	(b) A local partnership awarded a grant under this section must use the grant award for any of the following implementation and coordination activities:
148.5 148.6	(1) recruiting additional employers to provide on-the-job training and supervision for student learners and providing technical assistance to those employers;
148.7 148.8 148.9	(2) recruiting students to participate in the local youth skills training program, monitoring the progress of student learners participating in the program, and monitoring program outcomes;
148.10 148.11	(3) coordinating youth skills training activities within participating school districts and among participating school districts, postsecondary institutions, and employers;

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

46.13	(iv) a schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be performed on the job;
46.14	(v) a schedule of wage rates in compliance with section 177.24; and
46.15 46.16	(vi) whether the student learner will obtain secondary school academic credit, postsecondary credit, or both, for the training program;
46.17 46.18	(2) approve occupations and maintain a list of approved occupations for programs under this section;
46.19	(3) issue requests for proposals for grants;
46.20 46.21	(4) work with individuals representing industry and labor to develop new youth skills training programs;
46.22	(5) develop model program guides;
46.23	(6) monitor youth skills training programs;
46.24	(7) provide technical assistance to local partnership grantees;
46.25 46.26	(8) work with providers to identify paths for receiving postsecondary credit for participation in the youth skills training program; and
46.27	(9) approve other activities as necessary to implement the program.
46.28 46.29 46.30 47.1 47.2	(b) The commissioner shall collaborate with stakeholders, including, but not limited to, representatives of secondary school institutions, career and technical education instructors, postsecondary institutions, businesses, and labor, in developing youth skills training programs, and identifying and approving occupations and competencies for youth skills training programs.
47.3	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
47.4 47.5 47.6 47.7	Subd. 13. Grant awards. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to local partnerships for youth skills training programs that train student learners for careers in high-growth, high-demand occupations. Grant awards may not exceed \$100,000 per local partnership grant.
47.8 47.9	(b) A local partnership awarded a grant under this section must use the grant award for any of the following implementation and coordination activities:
47.10 47.11	(1) recruiting additional employers to provide on-the-job training and supervision for student learners and providing technical assistance to those employers;
47.12 47.13 47.14	(2) recruiting students to participate in the local youth skills training program, monitoring the progress of student learners participating in the program, and monitoring program outcomes;
47.15 47.16	(3) coordinating youth skills training activities within participating school districts and

	(4) coordinating academic, vocational and occupational learning, school-based and work-based learning, and secondary and postsecondary education for participants in the local youth skills training program;
148.15 148.16	(5) coordinating transportation for student learners participating in the local youth skills training program; and
148.17 148.18	(6) any other implementation or coordination activity that the commissioner may direct or permit the local partnership to perform.
148.19 148.20	$\frac{\text{(b)}\ (c)}{\text{C}}$ Grant awards may not be used to directly or indirectly pay the wages of a student learner.
148.21	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.1812, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
148.24 148.25 148.26 148.27 148.28	Subd. 2. Filing and review. (a) A copy of the agreement and the approximate number of employees who will be covered under it must be filed with the commissioner. Within 21 days of receipt of an agreement, the commissioner shall review the agreement for compliance with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter and notify the parties of any additional information required or any recommended modification that would bring the agreement into compliance. Upon receipt of any requested information or modification, the commissioner must notify the parties within 21 days whether the agreement is in compliance with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter.
148.30 148.31 149.1 149.2	(b) After an agreement is approved by the commissioner under paragraph (a), a qualified employer may join or withdraw from a qualified group of employers without commissioner review or approval. The commissioner must be notified within 30 days when a qualified employer joins or withdraws from a qualified group of employers.
149.3 149.4 149.5 149.6 149.7 149.8 149.9	(c) In order for any agreement to remain in effect, it must provide for a timely and accurate method of reporting to the commissioner necessary information regarding service eost and utilization the individual claims covered by the agreement and claim-specific dispute resolution data, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner. Dispute resolution data includes information about facilitation, mediation, and arbitration and shall be provided annually to the commissioner to enable the commissioner to annually report aggregate dispute data to the legislature. The information provided to the commissioner must include aggregate data on the:
149.11	(i) person hours and payroll covered by agreements filed;
149.12	(ii) number of claims filed;
149.13	(iii) average cost per claim;
	(iv) number of litigated claims, including the number of claims submitted to arbitration, the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, the Office of Administrative Hearings, the district court, the Minnesota Court of Appeals or the supreme court;

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

47.17 47.18 47.19	(4) coordinating academic, vocational and occupational learning, school-based and work-based learning, and secondary and postsecondary education for participants in the local youth skills training program;
47.20 47.21	(5) coordinating transportation for student learners participating in the local youth skills training program; and
47.22 47.23	(6) any other implementation or coordination activity that the commissioner may direct or permit the local partnership to perform.
47.24 47.25	$\frac{\text{(b)}}{\text{(c)}}$ Grant awards may not be used to directly or indirectly pay the wages of a student learner.
57.27	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.1812, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
57.28 57.29 57.30 57.31 57.32 58.1 58.2 58.3	Subd. 2. Filing and review. (a) A copy of the agreement and the approximate number of employees who will be covered under it must be filed with the commissioner. Within 21 days of receipt of an agreement, the commissioner shall review the agreement for compliance with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter and notify the parties of any additional information required or any recommended modification that would bring the agreement into compliance. Upon receipt of any requested information or modification, the commissioner must notify the parties within 21 days whether the agreement is in compliance with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter.
58.4 58.5 58.6 58.7	(b) After an agreement is approved by the commissioner under paragraph (a), a qualified employer may join or withdraw from a qualified group of employers without commissioner review or approval. The commissioner must be notified within 30 days when a qualified employer joins or withdraws from a qualified group of employers.
58.8 58.9 58.10 58.11 58.12 58.13 58.14 58.15	(c) In order for any agreement to remain in effect, it must provide for a timely and accurate method of reporting to the commissioner necessary information regarding service eost and utilization the individual claims covered by the agreement and claim-specific dispute resolution data, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner. Dispute resolution data includes information about facilitation, mediation, and arbitration and shall be provided annually to the commissioner to enable the commissioner to annually report aggregate dispute data to the legislature. The information provided to the commissioner must include aggregate data on the:
58.16	(i) person hours and payroll covered by agreements filed;
58.17	(ii) number of claims filed;
58.18	(iii) average cost per claim;
58.19 58.20 58.21	(iv) number of litigated claims, including the number of claims submitted to arbitration, the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, the Office of Administrative Hearings, the district court, the Minnesota Court of Appeals or the supreme court;

149.17	(v) number of contested claims resolved prior to arbitration;
149.18	(vi) projected incurred costs and actual costs of claims;
149.19	(vii) employer's safety history;
149.20	(viii) number of workers participating in vocational rehabilitation; and
149.21	(ix) number of workers participating in light-duty programs.
149.22 149.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) and (b) are effective June 1, 2019. Paragraph (c) is effective August 1, 2020.
149.24	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.231, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
149.25 149.26 149.27 149.28 149.29 149.30 149.31 150.1 150.2 150.3 150.4 150.5 150.6	Subdivision 1. Time limitation. (a) Where death or serious injury occurs to an employed during the course of employment, the employer shall report the injury or death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after its occurrence. Where any other injury occurs which wholly or partly incapacitates the employee from performing labor or service for more than three calendar days, the employer shall report the injury to the insurer on a form prescribed by the commissioner within ten days from its occurrence. An insurer and self-insured employer shall report the injury to the commissioner no later than 14 days from its occurrence. Where an injury has once been reported but subsequently death ensues, the employer shall report the death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after the employer receives notice of this fact. An employer who provides notice to the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor and Industry of a fatality within the eight-hour time frame required by law, or of an inpatient hospitalization within the 24-hour time frame required by law, has satisfied the employer's obligation under this section.
150.7 150.8 150.9 150.10	(b) At the time an injury is required to be reported to the commissioner, the insurer or self-insured employer must also specify whether the injury is covered by a collective bargaining agreement approved by the commissioner under section 176.1812. Notice must be provided in the format and manner prescribed by the commissioner. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2020.
1.20.11	PEPPEA LEVE DALEA THIS SECUOITS CHECUVE AUGUST L. ZUZU.

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

58.22	(v) number of contested claims resolved prior to arbitration;
58.23	(vi) projected incurred costs and actual costs of claims;
58.24	(vii) employer's safety history;
58.25	(viii) number of workers participating in vocational rehabilitation; and
58.26	(ix) number of workers participating in light-duty programs.
58.27 58.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) and (b) are effective June 1, 2019. Paragraph (c) is effective August 1, 2020.
58.29	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.231, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
58.30 58.31 59.1 59.2 59.3 59.4 59.5 59.6 59.7 59.8 59.9 59.10 59.11 59.12 59.13 59.14	Subdivision 1. Time limitation. (a) Where death or serious injury occurs to an employed during the course of employment, the employer shall report the injury or death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after its occurrence. Where any other injury occurs which wholly or partly incapacitates the employee from performing labor or service for more than three calendar days, the employer shall report the injury to the insurer on a form prescribed by the commissioner within ten days from its occurrence. An insurer and self-insured employer shall report the injury to the commissioner no later than 14 days from its occurrence. Where an injury has once been reported but subsequently death ensues, the employer shall report the death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after the employer receives notice of this fact. An employer who provides notice to the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor and Industry of a fatality within the eight-hour time frame required by law, or of an inpatient hospitalization within the 24-hour time frame required by law, has satisfied the employer's obligation under this section. (b) At the time an injury is required to be reported to the commissioner, the insurer or self-insured employer must also specify whether the injury is covered by a collective bargaining agreement approved by the commissioner under section 176.1812. Notice must be provided in the format and manner prescribed by the commissioner.
59.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2020.
51.9	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.23, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
51.10 51.11	Subd. 7. Employee. "Employee" means any individual employed by an employer but does not include:
51.12 51.13	(1) two or fewer specified individuals employed at any given time in agriculture on a farming unit or operation who are paid a salary;
51.14 51.15 51.16	(2) any individual employed in agriculture on a farming unit or operation who is paid a salary greater than the individual would be paid if the individual worked 48 hours at the state minimum wage plus 17 hours at 1-1/2 times the state minimum wage per week;

51.17 51.18 51.19	(3) an individual under 18 who is employed in agriculture on a farm to perform services other than corn detasseling or hand field work when one or both of that minor hand field worker's parents or physical custodians are also hand field workers;
51.20 51.21	(4) for purposes of section 177.24, an individual under 18 who is employed as a corn detasseler;
51.22 51.23	(5) any staff member employed on a seasonal basis by an organization for work in an organized resident or day camp operating under a permit issued under section 144.72;
51.24 51.25 51.26	(6) any individual employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity, or a salesperson who conducts no more than 20 percent of sales on the premises of the employer;
51.27	(7) any individual who renders service gratuitously for a nonprofit organization;
51.28 51.29 51.30	(8) any individual who serves as an elected official for a political subdivision or who serves on any governmental board, commission, committee or other similar body, or who renders service gratuitously for a political subdivision;
52.1 52.2 52.3	(9) any individual employed by a political subdivision to provide police or fire protection services or employed by an entity whose principal purpose is to provide police or fire protection services to a political subdivision;
52.4 52.5 52.6	(10) any individual employed by a political subdivision who is ineligible for membership in the Public Employees Retirement Association under section 353.01, subdivision 2b, clause (1), (2), (4), or (9), item (i);
52.7	(11) any driver employed by an employer engaged in the business of operating taxicabs;
52.8	(12) any individual engaged in babysitting as a sole practitioner;
52.9 52.10	(13) for the purpose of section 177.25, any individual employed on a seasonal basis in a carnival, circus, fair, or ski facility;
52.11 52.12	(14) any individual under 18 working less than 20 hours per workweek for a municipality as part of a recreational program;
52.13 52.14	(15) any individual employed by the state as a natural resource manager 1, 2, or 3 (conservation officer);
52.15 52.16 52.17	(16) any individual in a position for which the United States Department of Transportation has power to establish qualifications and maximum hours of service under United States Code, title 49, section 31502;
52.18 52.19 52.20	(17) any individual employed as a seafarer. The term "seafarer" means a master of a vessel or any person subject to the authority, direction, and control of the master who is exempt from federal overtime standards under United States Code, title 29, section 213(b)(6),

50.12	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
50.13	Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purpose of this section, "employer" means:
50.14 50.15	(1) an employer in the meatpacking industry. whose employees routinely pack, can, or otherwise process poultry or meat for human consumption; or
50.16 50.17	(2) an employer whose employees routinely clean or sterilize meat processing or poultry processing equipment used by an employer as defined in clause (1).
50.18	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179.86, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
50.19 50.20 50.21 50.22	Subd. 3. Information provided to employee by employer. (a) An employer must provide an explanation in an employee's native language of the employee's rights and duties as an employee either person to person or through written materials that, at a minimum, include:
50.23	(1) a complete description of the salary and benefits plans as they relate to the employee
50.24	(2) a job description for the employee's position;
50.25	(3) a description of leave policies;
50.26	(4) a description of the work hours and work hours policy; and
50.27	(5) a description of the occupational hazards known to exist for the position.
50.28 50.29 50.30	(b) The explanation must also include information on the following employee rights as protected by state or federal law and a description of where additional information about those rights may be obtained:
51.1 51.2	(1) the right to organize and bargain collectively and refrain from organizing and bargaining collectively;

May	01,	2019	10:26	AM

52.21 52.22	including but not limited to pilots, sailors, engineers, radio operators, firefighters, security guards, pursers, surgeons, cooks, and stewards;
52.23 52.24 52.25 52.26 52.27	(18) any individual employed by a county in a single-family residence owned by a county home school as authorized under section 260B.060 if the residence is an extension facility of that county home school, and if the individual as part of the employment duties resides at the residence for the purpose of supervising children as defined by section 260C.007, subdivision 4; er
52.28 52.29 52.30	(19) nuns, monks, priests, lay brothers, lay sisters, ministers, deacons, and other members of religious orders who serve pursuant to their religious obligations in schools, hospitals, and other nonprofit institutions operated by the church or religious order; or
52.31 52.32	(20) any individual employed on a seasonal basis who has entered into a contract to play baseball at the minor league level.
53.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
54.9	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179.86, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
54.10 54.11 54.12 54.13	Subd. 3. Information provided to employee by employer. (a) An employer must provide an explanation in an employee's native language of the employee's rights and duties as an employee either person to person or through written materials that, at a minimum, include:
54.14	(1) a complete description of the salary and benefits plans as they relate to the employee;
54.15	(2) a job description for the employee's position;
54.16	(3) a description of leave policies;
54.17	(4) a description of the work hours and work hours policy; and
54.18	(5) a description of the occupational hazards known to exist for the position.
54.19 54.20 54.21	(b) The explanation must also include information on the following employee rights as protected by state or federal law and a description of where additional information about those rights may be obtained:
54.22 54.23	(1) the right to organize and bargain collectively and refrain from organizing and bargaining collectively;

151.5	(c) The explanation must be provided in a language the employee speaks fluently.
151.6	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.635, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
151.7	Subd. 2. Recruiting; required disclosure. An employer shall provide written disclosure
151.8	of the terms and conditions of employment to a person at the time it recruits the person to
151.9	relocate to work in the food processing industry. The disclosure requirement does not apply
151.11	disclosure must be written in English and Spanish, a language the employee speaks fluently
	in addition to any other languages preferred by the employer. The disclosure must be dated
151.13	and signed by the employer and the person recruited, and maintained by the employer for
	two years. If the employer has any reason to doubt the employee's ability to read, the
	employer must read the disclosure out loud to the employee in a language the employee
	speaks fluently before the disclosure is signed. A copy of the signed and completed disclosure
	must be delivered immediately to the recruited person. The disclosure may not be construed
151.18	as an employment contract.

(2) the right to a safe workplace; and

(3) the right to be free from discrimination.

151.3

151.4

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

54.24	(2) the right to a safe workplace; and
54.25	(3) the right to be free from discrimination.
54.26 54.27	(c) The explanation must be provided in a language the employee speaks fluently, if requested by the employee.
54.28 54.29	(d) Translation or interpretation of the information required by this subdivision may be provided through telephone or Internet services.
55.1 55.2 55.3 55.4	(e) An employer may require an employee to disclose the languages the employee speaks, understands, and reads fluently. If an employer requires such disclosure, and an employee has not provided it, an employer is not required to provide the information required under this section in a language other than English to the employee.
56.5	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.635, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
56.6 56.7 56.8 56.9 56.10 56.11 56.12 56.13 56.14 56.15 56.16	Subd. 2. Recruiting; required disclosure. (a) An employer shall provide written disclosure of the terms and conditions of employment to a person at the time it recruits the person to relocate to work in the food processing industry. The disclosure requirement does not apply to an exempt employee as defined in United States Code, title 29, section 213(a)(1). The disclosure must be written in English and Spanish, dated, and signed by the employer and the person recruited, and maintained by the employer for two years. If the employer has any reason to doubt the employee's ability to read, the employer must read the disclosure out loud to the employee upon request by the employee in a language the employee speaks fluently before the disclosure is signed. A copy of the signed and completed disclosure must be delivered immediately to the recruited person. The disclosure may not be construed as an employment contract.
56.17 56.18 56.19 56.20	(b) An employer may require an employee to disclose the languages the employee speaks, understands, and reads fluently. If an employer requires such disclosure, and an employee has not provided it, an employer is not required to make the disclosure in the form required under paragraph (a) with respect to the employee.
56.21 56.22	(c) Translation or interpretation of the information required by this subdivision may be provided through telephone or Internet services.
56.23 56.24	Sec. 9. [181.741] EXPRESS PREEMPTION; UNIFORMITY OF PRIVATE EMPLOYER MANDATES.
56.25 56.26	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given them.
56.27	(b) "Employer" means a private person employing one or more employees in the state.

Senate Language UEH2208-1

56.28 56.29 56.30	(c) "Local government" means a home rule charter city, statutory city, town, county, the Metropolitan Council, a metropolitan agency as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 5a, or a special district.
56.31 56.32 57.1 57.2	Subd. 2. Express preemption. (a) A local government must not adopt, enforce, or administer an ordinance, local resolution, or local policy requiring an employer to pay an employee a wage higher than the applicable state minimum wage rate provided in section 177.24.
57.3 57.4	(b) A local government must not adopt, enforce, or administer an ordinance, local resolution, or local policy requiring an employer to provide either paid or unpaid leave time.
57.5 57.6 57.7 57.8	(c) A local government must not adopt, enforce, or administer an ordinance, local resolution, or local policy regulating the hours or scheduling of work time that an employer provides to an employee. This paragraph does not preempt an ordinance, local resolution, or local policy limiting the hours a business may operate.
57.9 57.10 57.11	(d) A local government must not adopt, enforce, or administer an ordinance, local resolution, or local policy requiring an employer to provide an employee a particular benefit or terms of employment.
57.12 57.13 57.14	Subd. 3. Local governments as employers and contractors. This section does not regulate wages, hours, benefits, paid or unpaid leave, attendance policies, or other terms of employment that a local government:
57.15	(1) provides to its own employee;
57.16 57.17 57.18	(2) requires an employer to provide to its employee to the extent that employer is providing goods or services to the local government, and the requirement applies specifically to work performed in providing goods or services to the local government; or
57.19 57.20 57.21 57.22	(3) requires an employer to provide to its employee, to the extent that employer is receiving funding from the local government or is providing goods or services funded in whole or in part by the local government, when the requirement is an express condition of the funding.
57.23 57.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon final enactment and applies to ordinances, local policies, and local resolutions enacted on or after January 1, 2017.

151.20 Subd. 8. **Protection from subpoeta**, **data.** Notice the Commissioner for any employee 151.21 of the department, including those employees of the Department of Health providing services

151.22 to the Department of Labor and Industry, pursuant to section 182.67, subdivision 1, is subject

151.23 to subpoena for purposes of inquiry into any occupational safety and health inspection

151.24 except in enforcement proceedings brought under this chapter. Data that identify individuals

151.25 who provide data to the department as part of an investigation conducted under this chapter

151.26 shall be private.

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

JOBS - LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY House Language H2208-3

Senate Language UEH2208-1

151.27	Sec. 10.	Minnesota	Statutes 20	018, section	182.666,	subdivision	1, is amended	to read:
--------	----------	-----------	-------------	--------------	----------	-------------	---------------	----------

- 151.28 Subdivision 1. Willful or repeated violations. Any employer who willfully or repeatedly
- 151.29 violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under
- 151.30 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, may be assessed a fine not to
- 151.31 exceed \$70,000 \$129,335 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is
- 151.32 \$5,000 \$9,240.

152.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.

- 152.2 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Serious violations.** Any employer who has received a citation for a serious
- violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under
- 152.5 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not
- to exceed \$7,000 \$12,935 for each violation. If a serious violation under section 182.653,
- subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be
- assessed a fine of up to \$25,000 for each violation.

152.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.

- 152.10 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 152.11 Subd. 3. **Nonserious violations.** Any employer who has received a citation for a violation
- 152.12 of its duties under section 182.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically
- 152.13 determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision 12,
- 152.14 may be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$12,935 for each violation.

152.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.

- 152.16 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- 152.17 Subd. 4. **Failure to correct a violation.** Any employer who fails to correct a violation
- 152.18 for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for
- 152.19 its correction, which period shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the
- 152.20 commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the
- 152.21 employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed
- 152.22 a fine of not more than \$7,000 \$12,935 for each day during which the failure or violation
- 152.23 continues.

152.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.

- 152.25 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Posting violations.** Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements,
- 152.27 as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision
- 152.28 3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$12,935 for each violation.

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

JOBS - LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY House Language H2208-3

Senate Language UEH2208-1

152.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.
153.1 153.2	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
153.11 153.12	Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. (a) No later than August 31 of each year, beginning in 2019, the commissioner shall determine the percentage increase in the rate of inflation, as measured by the implicit price deflator, national data for personal consumption expenditures as determined by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis during the 12-month period immediately preceding that August or, if that data is unavailable, during the most recent 12-month period for which data is available. The fines in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, except for the fine for a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, that causes or contributes to the death of an employee, are increased by the lesser of (1) 2.5 percent, rounded to the nearest dollar amount evenly divisible by ten, or (2) the percentage calculated by the commissioner, rounded to the nearest dollar amount evenly divisible by ten.
153.16 153.17 153.18 153.19	Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment), as amended through November 2, 2015. (c) A fine must not be reduced under this subdivision. A fine increased under this
	subdivision takes effect on the next January 1.
153.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019. Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.082, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
153.23 153.24 153.25 153.26 153.27	Subd. 6. Notices of violation. (a) The commissioner may issue a notice of violation to any person who the commissioner determines has committed a violation of the applicable law. The notice of violation must state a summary of the facts that constitute the violation and the applicable law violated. The notice of violation may require the person to correct the violation. If correction is required, the notice of violation must state the deadline by which the violation must be corrected.
153.29	(b) The commissioner shall issue the notice of violation by:
153.30 153.31	(1) serving the notice of violation on the property owner or on the person who committee the violation; or
153.32	(2) posting the notice of violation at the location where the violation occurred.
154.1 154.2 154.3 154.4	(c) If the person to whom the commissioner has issued the notice of violation believes the notice was issued in error, then the person may request reconsideration of the parts of the notice that the person believes are in error. The request for reconsideration must be in writing and must be served on or or faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or the address or the request for reconsideration must be in writing and must be served on or or faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or the reconsideration faxed for the reconsideration faxed for the reconsideration of the parts of the notice was issued in error.

PAGE R11 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

JOBS - LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY

House Language H2208-3

Senate Language UEH2208-1

- fax number, or e-mail address specified in the notice of violation by the tenth day after the commissioner issued the notice of violation. The date on which a request for reconsideration is served by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the request for reconsideration is mailed. If the person does not serve er, fax, or e-mail a written request for reconsideration or if the person's written request for reconsideration is not served on or faxed to the commissioner by the tenth day after the commissioner issued the notice of violation, the notice of violation shall become a final order of the commissioner and will not be subject to review by any court or agency. The request for reconsideration must:

 (1) specify which parts of the notice of violation the person believes are in error;
- The commissioner shall respond in writing to requests for reconsideration made under this paragraph within 15 days after receiving the request. A request for reconsideration does not stay a requirement to correct a violation as set forth in the notice of violation. After reviewing the request for reconsideration, the commissioner may affirm, modify, or rescind the notice of violation. The commissioner's response to a request for reconsideration is final and shall not be reviewed by any court or agency.

(2) explain why the person believes the parts are in error; and

(3) provide documentation to support the request for reconsideration.

154.14

154.15

- 154.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.082, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. Hearings related to administrative orders. (a) Within 30 days after the 154.24 commissioner issues an administrative order or within 20 days after the commissioner issues 154.25 the notice under section 326B.083, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (3), the person to whom the administrative order or notice is issued may request an expedited hearing to 154.27 review the commissioner's order or notice. The request for hearing must be in writing and 154.28 must be served on or, faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or, fax number, or e-mail address specified in the order or notice. If the person does not request a hearing 154.30 or if the person's written request for hearing is not served on or, faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner by the 30th day after the commissioner issues the administrative order or the 154.32 20th day after the commissioner issues the notice under section 326B.083, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (3), the order will become a final order of the commissioner and will 154.34 not be subject to review by any court or agency. The date on which a request for hearing is served by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the request for hearing is mailed. The hearing request must specifically state the reasons for seeking review of the order or notice. The person to whom the order or notice is issued and the commissioner are the parties to the expedited hearing. The commissioner must notify the person to whom the order or notice is issued of the time and place of the hearing at least 15 days before the hearing. The expedited hearing must be held within 45 days after a request for hearing has been received by the commissioner unless the parties agree to a later date.
- 155.8 (b) Parties may submit written arguments if permitted by the administrative law judge. 155.9 All written arguments must be submitted within ten days following the completion of the

PAGE R12

House Language H2208-3

- 155.10 hearing or the receipt of any late-filed exhibits that the parties and the administrative law 155.11 judge have agreed should be received into the record, whichever is later. The hearing shall 155.12 be conducted under Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8510 to 1400.8612, as modified by this 155.13 subdivision. The Office of Administrative Hearings may, in consultation with the agency, 155.14 adopt rules specifically applicable to cases under this section.
- (c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report making findings of fact, conclusions 155.16 of law, and a recommended order to the commissioner within 30 days following the 155.17 completion of the hearing, the receipt of late-filed exhibits, or the submission of written 155.18 arguments, whichever is later.
- (d) If the administrative law judge makes a finding that the hearing was requested solely 155.19 155.20 for purposes of delay or that the hearing request was frivolous, the commissioner may add 155.21 to the amount of the penalty the costs charged to the department by the Office of 155.22 Administrative Hearings for the hearing.
- 155.23 (e) If a hearing has been held, the commissioner shall not issue a final order until at least 155.24 five days after the date of the administrative law judge's report. Any person aggrieved by 155.25 the administrative law judge's report may, within those five days, serve written comments 155.26 to the commissioner on the report and the commissioner shall consider and enter the 155.27 comments in the record. The commissioner's final order shall comply with sections 14.61, 155.28 subdivision 2, and 14.62, subdivisions 1 and 2a, and may be appealed in the manner provided 155.29 in sections 14.63 to 14.69.
- 155.30 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.082, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
- Subd. 12. Issuance of licensing orders; hearings related to licensing orders. (a) If 155.32 the commissioner determines that a permit, license, registration, or certificate should be 155.33 conditioned, limited, suspended, revoked, or denied under subdivision 11, or that the permit 155.34 holder, licensee, registrant, or certificate holder should be censured under subdivision 11, then the commissioner shall issue to the person an order denying, conditioning, limiting, suspending, or revoking the person's permit, license, registration, or certificate, or censuring the permit holder, licensee, registrant, or certificate holder. 156.3
- 156.4 (b) Any order issued under paragraph (a) may include an assessment of monetary penalties and may require the person to cease and desist from committing the violation or committing the act, conduct, or practice set out in subdivision 11, paragraph (b). The monetary penalty may be up to \$10,000 for each violation or act, conduct, or practice committed by the person. The procedures in section 326B.083 must be followed when issuing orders under paragraph 156.9 (a).
- (c) The permit holder, licensee, registrant, certificate holder, or applicant to whom the 156.10 156.11 commissioner issues an order under paragraph (a) shall have 30 days after issuance of the 156.12 order to request a hearing. The request for hearing must be in writing and must be served 156.13 on or, faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or, fax number, or e-mail address 156.14 specified in the order by the 30th day after issuance of the order. If the person does not

- request a hearing or if the person's written request for hearing is not served on <u>or</u>, faxed, <u>or</u> 156.16 <u>e-mailed</u> to the commissioner by the 30th day after issuance of the order, the order shall become a final order of the commissioner and will not be subject to review by any court or 156.18 agency. The date on which a request for hearing is served by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the request for hearing is mailed. If the person submits to the commissioner a timely request for hearing, the order is stayed unless the commissioner summarily suspends the license, registration, certificate, or permit under subdivision 13, and a contested case hearing shall be held in accordance with chapter 14.
- 156.23 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.103, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. **Public building.** "Public building" means a building and its grounds the cost of which is paid for by the state or a state agency regardless of its cost, and a school district building project for a school district or charter school building project the cost of which is \$156.27 \$100,000 or more.
- 156.28 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.106, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Accessibility.** (a) **Public buildings.** The code must provide for making require new public buildings constructed or remodeled after July 1, 1963, and remodeled portions of existing public buildings to be accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities, although this does not require the remodeling of public buildings solely to provide accessibility and usability to persons with disabilities when remodeling would not otherwise be undertaken.
- 157.3 (b) **Leased space.** No agency of the state may lease space for agency operations in a non-state-owned building unless the building satisfies the requirements of the State Building 157.5 Code for accessibility by persons with disabilities, or is eligible to display the state symbol of accessibility. This limitation applies to leases of 30 days or more for space of at least 1,000 square feet.
- 157.8 (c) **Meetings or conferences.** Meetings or conferences for the public or for state employees which are sponsored in whole or in part by a state agency must be held in buildings that meet the State Building Code requirements relating to accessibility for persons with disabilities. This subdivision does not apply to any classes, seminars, or training programs offered by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the University of Minnesota. Meetings or conferences intended for specific individuals none of whom need the accessibility features for persons with disabilities specified in the State Building Code need not comply with this subdivision unless a person with a disability gives reasonable advance notice of an intent to attend the meeting or conference. When sign language interpreters will be provided, meetings or conference sites must be chosen which allow participants who are deaf or hard-of-hearing to see the sign language interpreters clearly.
- 157.19 (d) **Exemptions.** The commissioner may grant an exemption from the requirements of 157.20 paragraphs (b) and (c) in advance if an agency has demonstrated that reasonable efforts 157.21 were made to secure facilities which complied with those requirements and if the selected

Senate Language UEH2208-1

157.22 facilities are the best available for access for persons with disabilities. Exemptions shall be 157.23 granted using criteria developed by the commissioner in consultation with the Council on 157.24 Disability. (e) **Symbol indicating access.** The wheelchair symbol adopted by Rehabilitation 157.25 157.26 International's Eleventh World Congress is the state symbol indicating buildings, facilities, 157.27 and grounds which are accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities. In the interests 157.28 of uniformity, this symbol is the sole symbol for display in or on all public or private 157.29 buildings, facilities, and grounds which qualify for its use. The secretary of state shall obtain 157.30 the symbol and keep it on file. No building, facility, or grounds may display the symbol 157.31 unless it is in compliance with the rules adopted by the commissioner under subdivision 1. 157.32 Before any rules are proposed for adoption under this paragraph, the commissioner shall 157.33 consult with the Council on Disability. Rules adopted under this paragraph must be enforced 157.34 in the same way as other accessibility rules of the State Building Code. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.46, is amended by adding a subdivision 158.2 to read: 158.3 Subd. 7. License number to be displayed. Any vehicle used by a plumbing contractor or restricted plumbing contractor while performing plumbing work for which a contractor's license is required shall have the contractor's name and license number as it appears on the contractor's license in contrasting color with characters at least three inches high and one-half 158.7 inch in width affixed to each side of the vehicle. Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.475, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 158.9 Subd. 4. Renewal; use period for license. (a) A restricted master plumber and restricted 158.10 journeyworker plumber license must be renewed for as long as that licensee engages in the 158.11 plumbing trade. Notwithstanding section 326B.094, failure to renew a restricted master 158.12 plumber and restricted journeyworker plumber license within 12 months after the expiration 158.13 date will result in permanent forfeiture of the restricted master plumber and restricted 158.14 journeyworker plumber license. 158.15 (b) The commissioner shall in a manner determined by the commissioner, without the 158.16 need for any rulemaking under chapter 14, phase in the renewal of restricted master plumber and restricted journeyworker plumber licenses from one year to two years. By June 30, 158.18 2011, all restricted master plumber and restricted journeyworker plumber licenses shall be 158.19 two-year licenses. 158.20 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.802, subdivision 15, is amended to read: 158.21 Subd. 15. Special skill. "Special skill" means one of the following eight categories: 158.22 (a) **Excavation.** Excavation includes work in any of the following areas:

158.23

158.24

(1) excavation;

(2) trenching:

PAGE R15

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

JOBS - LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY House Language H2208-3

158.25	(3) grading; and
158.26	(4) site grading.
158.27 158.28 area	(b) Masonry and concrete. Masonry and concrete includes work in any of the following s:
158.29	(1) drain systems;
158.30	(2) poured walls;
159.1	(3) slabs and poured-in-place footings;
159.2	(4) masonry walls;
159.3	(5) masonry fireplaces;
159.4	(6) masonry veneer; and
159.5	(7) water resistance and waterproofing.
159.6	(c) Carpentry. Carpentry includes work in any of the following areas:
159.7	(1) rough framing;
159.8	(2) finish carpentry;
159.9	(3) doors, windows, and skylights;
159.10	(4) porches and decks, excluding footings;
159.11	(5) wood foundations; and
159.12	(6) drywall installation, excluding taping and finishing.
159.13	(d) Interior finishing. Interior finishing includes work in any of the following areas:
159.14	(1) floor covering;
159.15	(2) wood floors;
159.16	(3) cabinet and counter top installation;
159.17	(4) insulation and vapor barriers;
159.18	(5) interior or exterior painting;
159.19	(6) ceramic, marble, and quarry tile;
159.20	(7) ornamental guardrail and installation of prefabricated stairs; and
159.21	(8) wallpapering.
159.22	(e) Exterior finishing. Exterior finishing includes work in any of the following areas:

159.23	(1) siding;
159.24	(2) soffit, fascia, and trim;
159.25	(3) exterior plaster and stucco;
159.26	(4) painting; and
159.27	(5) rain carrying systems, including gutters and down spouts.
160.1 160.2	(f) Drywall and plaster. Drywall and plaster includes work in any of the following areas:
160.3	(1) installation;
160.4	(2) taping;
160.5	(3) finishing;
160.6	(4) interior plaster;
160.7	(5) painting; and
160.8	(6) wallpapering.
160.9	(g) Residential roofing. Residential roofing includes work in any of the following areas:
160.10	(1) roof coverings;
160.11	(2) roof sheathing;
160.12	(3) roof weatherproofing and insulation; and
160.13	(4) repair of roof support system, but not construction of new roof support system-; and
160.14	(5) penetration of roof covering for purposes of attaching a solar photovoltaic system.
160.15 160.16	(h) General installation specialties. Installation includes work in any of the following areas:
160.17	(1) garage doors and openers;
160.18	(2) pools, spas, and hot tubs;
160.19	(3) fireplaces and wood stoves;
160.20	(4) asphalt paving and seal coating; and
160.21	(5) ornamental guardrail and prefabricated stairs-; and
160.22	(6) assembly of the support system for a solar photovoltaic system.

160.23 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.821, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

47.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.821, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

	Subd. 21. Residential building contractor, remodeler, and roofer education. (a) Each licensee must, during each continuing education reporting period, complete and report one hour of continuing education relating to energy codes or energy conservation measures applicable to residential buildings and one hour of business management strategies applicable to residential construction businesses.
161.1 161.2 161.3 161.4	(b) Immediately following the adoption date of a new residential code, the commissioner may prescribe that up to seven of the required 14 hours of continuing education credit per licensure period include education hours specifically designated to instruct licensees on new or existing State Building Code provisions.
161.5 161.6	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.84, is amended to read: 326B.84 GROUNDS FOR SANCTIONS.
161.11	The commissioner may use any enforcement provision in section 326B.082 against an applicant for, qualifying person of, or holder of a license or certificate of exemption, or any individual or entity who is required by law to hold a license or certificate of exemption, if the individual, entity, applicant, licensee, certificate of exemption holder, qualifying person, or owner, officer, member, managing employee, or affiliate of the applicant, licensee, or certificate of exemption holder:
	(1) has filed an application for licensure or a certificate of exemption which is incomplete in any material respect or contains any statement which, in light of the circumstances under which it is made, is false or misleading with respect to any material fact;
161.16	(2) has engaged in a fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest practice;
161.17 161.18	(3) is permanently or temporarily enjoined by any court of competent jurisdiction from engaging in or continuing any conduct or practice involving any aspect of the business;
	(4) has failed to reasonably supervise employees, agents, subcontractors, or salespersons, or has performed negligently or in breach of contract, so as to cause injury or harm to the public;
	(5) has violated or failed to comply with any provision of sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, any rule or order under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, or any other law, rule, or order related to the duties and responsibilities entrusted to the commissioner;
161.27	(6) has been convicted of a violation of the State Building Code or has refused to comply with a correction order issued by a certified building official, or in local jurisdictions that have not adopted the State Building Code has refused to correct a violation of the State Building Code when the violation has been documented by a certified building official;
161.29	(7) has failed to use the proceeds of any payment made to the licensee for the construction

of, or any improvement to, residential real estate, as defined in section 326B.802, subdivision 161.31 13, for the payment of labor, skill, material, and machinery contributed to the construction or improvement, knowing that the cost of any labor performed, or skill, material, or

162.2 machinery furnished for the improvement remains unpaid;

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

47.27

Senate Language UEH2208-1

47.28	licensee must, during each continuing education reporting period, complete and report one
47.29	hour of continuing education relating to energy codes or energy conservation measures
47.30	applicable to residential buildings and one hour of business management strategies applicable
47.31	to residential construction businesses.
48.1 48.2 48.3 48.4	(b) Immediately following the adoption date of a new residential code, the commissioner may prescribe that up to seven of the required 14 hours of continuing education credit per licensure period include education hours specifically designated to instruct licensees on new or existing State Building Code provisions.

Subd. 21. Residential building contractor, remodeler, and roofer education. (a) Each

PAGE R18 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

JOBS - LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY

House Language H2208-3

- (8) has not furnished to the person making payment either a valid lien waiver as to any 162.3 unpaid labor performed, or skill, material, or machinery furnished for an improvement, or 162.4 a payment bond in the basic amount of the contract price for the improvement conditioned for the prompt payment to any person or persons entitled to payment;
- (9) has engaged in an act or practice that results in compensation to an aggrieved owner 162.7 or lessee from the contractor recovery fund pursuant to section 326B.89, unless: 162.8
- 162.9 (i) the applicant or licensee has repaid the fund twice the amount paid from the fund, 162.10 plus interest at the rate of 12 percent per year; and
- (ii) the applicant or licensee has obtained a surety bond in the amount of at least \$40,000, 162.11 162.12 issued by an insurer authorized to transact business in this state;
- (10) has engaged in bad faith, unreasonable delays, or frivolous claims in defense of a 162.14 civil lawsuit or arbitration arising out of their activities as a licensee or certificate of 162.15 exemption holder under this chapter;
- (11) has had a judgment entered against them for failure to make payments to employees, 162.17 subcontractors, or suppliers, that the licensee has failed to satisfy and all appeals of the 162.18 judgment have been exhausted or the period for appeal has expired;
- 162.19 (12) if unlicensed, has obtained a building permit by the fraudulent use of a fictitious 162.20 license number or the license number of another, or, if licensed, has knowingly allowed an 162.21 unlicensed person to use the licensee's license number for the purpose of fraudulently 162.22 obtaining a building permit; or has applied for or obtained a building permit for an unlicensed 162.23 person;
- 162.24 (13) has made use of a forged mechanic's lien waiver under chapter 514;
- (14) has provided false, misleading, or incomplete information to the commissioner or 162.26 has refused to allow a reasonable inspection of records or premises;
- (15) has engaged in an act or practice whether or not the act or practice directly involves 162.28 the business for which the person is licensed, that demonstrates that the applicant or licensee 162.29 is untrustworthy, financially irresponsible, or otherwise incompetent or unqualified to act under the license granted by the commissioner; or
- (16) has failed to comply with requests for information, documents, or other requests 163.1 from the department within the time specified in the request or, if no time is specified, within 30 days of the mailing of the request by the department.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 337.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Progress payments and retainages. (a) Unless the building and construction 163.5 contract provides otherwise, the owner or other persons making payments under the contract must make progress payments monthly as the work progresses. Payments shall be based upon estimates of work completed as approved by the owner or the owner's agent. A progress

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM Senate Language UEH2208-1

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 337.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Progress payments and retainages. (a) Unless the building and construction 48.6 contract provides otherwise, the owner or other persons making payments under the contract must make progress payments monthly as the work progresses. Payments shall be based 48.8

upon estimates of work completed as approved by the owner or the owner's agent. A progress

163.9 163.10	payment shall not be considered acceptance or approval of any work or waiver of any defects therein.
163.11	(b) Retainage on a building and construction contract may not exceed five percent. An
	owner or owner's agent may reduce the amount of retainage and may eliminate retainage
	on any monthly contract payment if, in the owner's opinion, the work is progressing
	satisfactorily. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to require that retainage be withheld
	in any building or construction contract. For all construction contracts greater than
	\$5,000,000, the owner or the owner's agent must reduce retainage to no more than 2.5 percent if the owner or the owner's agent determines the work is 75 percent or more complete,
	that work is progressing satisfactorily, and all contract requirements are being met.
163.18	that work is progressing satisfactority, and all contract requirements are being met.
163.19	(c) The owner or the owner's agent must release any remaining retainage no later than
163.20	60 days after substantial completion. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial
163.21	completion" shall be determined as provided in section 541.051, subdivision 1, paragraph
163.22	
1.62.22	
163.23	(e) (d) Any contractor holding retainage must reduce that retainage at the same rate
	reduced by the owner or the owner's agent. A contractor must pay out any remaining retainage
	no later than ten days after receiving payment of retainage, unless there is a dispute about
163.26	the work under a subcontract, in which case the contractor must pay out retainage to any
163.27	party whose work is not involved in the dispute. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to
163.28	require that retainage be withheld in any building or construction contract.
163.29	(e) After substantial completion, an owner or owner's agent may withhold no more than:
163.30	(1) 250 percent of the value of incomplete or defective work; and
163.31	(2) one percent of the value of the contract or \$500, whichever is greater, pending
163.32	
	withheld under this clause may not exceed \$10,000.
100.00	The state of the s
164.1	If the owner or the owner's agent withholds payment under this paragraph, the owner or the
164.2	owner's agent must promptly provide a written statement detailing the amount and basis of
164.3	withholding to the contractor. The owner or the owner's agent and the contractor must
164.4	provide a copy of this statement to any subcontractor that requests it. Any amounts withheld
164.5	for incomplete or defective work shall be paid within 45 days after the completion of the
164.6	work. Any amounts withheld under clause (1) must be paid within 45 days after completion
164.7	of the work. Any amounts withheld under clause (2) must be paid within 45 days after
164.8	submission of all final paperwork.

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

48.10 48.11	payment shall not be considered acceptance or approval of any work or waiver of any defects therein.
48.12 48.13 48.14 48.15 48.16	(b) Retainage on a building and construction contract may not exceed five percent. An owner or owner's agent may reduce the amount of retainage and may eliminate retainage on any monthly contract payment if, in the owner's opinion, the work is progressing satisfactorily. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to require that retainage be withheld in any building or construction contract.
48.17 48.18 48.19 48.20	(c) The owner or the owner's agent must release all retainage no later than 60 days after substantial completion subject to the terms of this subdivision. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial completion" shall be determined as provided in section 541.051, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
48.21 48.22 48.23 48.24	(e) (d) A contractor must pay out any remaining retainage no later than ten days after receiving payment of retainage, unless there is a dispute about the work under a subcontract, in which case the contractor must pay out retainage to any party whose work is not involved in the dispute.
48.25	(e) After substantial completion, an owner or owner's agent may withhold no more than:
48.26 48.27	(1) 250 percent of the value of incomplete or defective work known at the time of substantial completion; and
48.28 48.29 48.30 48.31 48.32 48.33	(2) one percent of the value of the contract or \$500, whichever is greater, pending completion and submission of all final paperwork by the contractor or subcontractor. For purposes of this subdivision, "final paperwork" means documents required to fulfill contractual obligations, including, but not limited to, as-built plans, operation manuals, payroll documents for projects subject to prevailing wage requirements, and the withholding exemption certificate required by section 270C.66.
49.1 49.2 49.3 49.4 49.5 49.6	If the owner or the owner's agent withholds payment under this paragraph, the owner or the owner's agent must promptly provide a written statement detailing the amount and basis of withholding to the contractor. The owner or the owner's agent and the contractor must provide a copy of this statement to any subcontractor that requests it. Any amounts withheld under clause (1) must be paid within 60 days after completion of the work. Any amounts withheld under clause (2) must be paid within 60 days after submission of all final paperwork.

JOBS - LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY

House Language H2208-3

164.9 164.10	(f) The maximum retainage percentage allowed for a building and construction contract is the retainage percentage withheld by the owner from the contractor.
164.11	(g) Withholding retainage for warranties or warranty work is prohibited.
164.12	(h) Retainage must not be used as collateral for the owner, owner's agent, or contractor.
164.13 164.14	(i) This subdivision does not apply to a public agency as defined in section 15.71, subdivision 3.
164.15	(j) This subdivision does not apply to contracts for professional services as defined in sections 326.02 to 326.15.
164.17 164.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or after Augus 1, 2019.
	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.30, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
164.22 164.23	Subdivision 1. Licensure; individuals. All referees, judges, promoters, trainers, ring announcers, timekeepers, ringside physicians, combatants, managers, and seconds are required to be licensed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall not permit any of these persons to participate in any matter with any combative sport contest unless the commissioner has first issued the person a license.
164.25	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.32, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
164.28	Subdivision 1. Annual licensure. The commissioner may establish and issue annual licenses subject to the collection of advance fees by the commissioner for promoters, managers, judges, referees, ring announcers, ringside physicians, timekeepers, combatants, trainers, and seconds.
165.1 165.2	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.321, is amended to read: 341.321 FEE SCHEDULE.
165.3 165.4	(a) The fee schedule for professional and amateur licenses issued by the commissioner is as follows:
165.5	(1) referees, \$80 <u>\$25;</u>
165.6	(2) promoters, \$700;
165.7	(3) judges and knockdown judges, \$80 \$25;
165.8	(4) trainers and seconds, \$80;
165.9	(5) ring announcers, \$80;
165.10	(6) <u>(5)</u> timekeepers, \$80 \$25;

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

49.7 49.8 49.9	(f) Withholding retainage for warranty work not known at substantial completion is prohibited. This provision does not waive any rights for warranty claims arising after substantial completion.
49.10 49.11	(g) This subdivision does not apply to a public agency as defined in section 15.71, subdivision 3.
49.12 49.13	(h) This subdivision does not apply to contracts for professional services as defined in sections 326.02 to 326.15.
49.14 49.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or after August 1, 2019.
49.16	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.30, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
49.17 49.18 49.19 49.20 49.21	Subdivision 1. Licensure; individuals. All referees, judges, promoters, trainers, ring announcers, timekeepers, ringside physicians, combatants, managers, and seconds are required to be licensed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall not permit any of these persons to participate in any matter with any combative sport contest unless the commissioner has first issued the person a license.
49.22	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.32, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
49.23 49.24 49.25 49.26	Subdivision 1. Annual licensure. The commissioner may establish and issue annual licenses subject to the collection of advance fees by the commissioner for promoters, managers, judges, referees, ring announcers, ringside physicians, timekeepers, combatants, trainers, and seconds.
49.27 49.28	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.321, is amended to read: 341.321 FEE SCHEDULE.
49.29 49.30	(a) The fee schedule for professional and amateur licenses issued by the commissioner is as follows:
49.31	(1) referees, \$80 \$25;
50.1	(2) promoters, \$700;
50.2	(3) judges and knockdown judges, \$80 \$25;
50.3	(4) trainers and seconds, \$80;
50.4	(5) ring announcers, \$80;
50.5	(6) (5) timekeepers, \$80 \$25;

165.11	(7) (6) professional combatants, \$70;
165.12	(8) (7) amateur combatants, \$50;
165.13	(9) managers, \$80; and
165.14	(10) (8) ringside physicians, \$80 \$25.
165.16	License fees for promoters are due at least six weeks prior to the combative sport contest. All other license fees shall be paid no later than the weigh-in prior to the contest. No license may be issued until all prelicensure requirements are satisfied and fees are paid.
165.20 165.21	(b) The commissioner shall establish a contest fee for each combative sport contest and shall consider the size and type of venue when establishing a contest fee. The combative sport contest fee is \$1,500 per event or not more than four percent of the gross ticket sales, whichever is greater, as determined by the commissioner when the combative sport contest is scheduled.
165.23 165.24	(c) A professional or amateur combative sport contest fee is nonrefundable and shall be paid as follows:
165.25	(1) \$500 at the time the combative sport contest is scheduled; and
165.26	(2) \$1,000 at the weigh-in prior to the contest.
	If four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than \$1,500, the balance is due to the commissioner within seven days of the completed contest.
165.29 165.30	(d) The commissioner may establish the maximum number of complimentary tickets allowed for each event by rule.
166.1 166.2	(e) All fees and penalties collected by the commissioner must be deposited in the commissioner account in the special revenue fund.
166.3	Sec. 30. REPEALER.
166.4	Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.75, is repealed.

May 01, 2019 10:26 AM

50.6	$\frac{7}{6}$ professional combatants, \$70;
50.7	(8) (7) amateur combatants, \$50;
50.8	(9) managers, \$80; and
50.9	(10) (8) ringside physicians, \$80 \$25.
50.10 50.11 50.12	License fees for promoters are due at least six weeks prior to the combative sport contest. All other license fees shall be paid no later than the weigh-in prior to the contest. No license may be issued until all prelicensure requirements are satisfied and fees are paid.
50.13 50.14 50.15 50.16 50.17	(b) The commissioner shall establish a contest fee for each combative sport contest and shall consider the size and type of venue when establishing a contest fee. The combative sport contest fee is \$1,500 per event or not more than four percent of the gross ticket sales, whichever is greater, as determined by the commissioner when the combative sport contest is scheduled.
50.18 50.19	(c) A professional or amateur combative sport contest fee is nonrefundable and shall be paid as follows:
50.20	(1) \$500 at the time the combative sport contest is scheduled; and
50.21	(2) \$1,000 at the weigh-in prior to the contest.
50.22 50.23	If four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than \$1,500, the balance is due to the commissioner within seven days of the completed contest.
50.24 50.25	(d) The commissioner may establish the maximum number of complimentary tickets allowed for each event by rule.
50.26 50.27	(e) All fees and penalties collected by the commissioner must be deposited in the commissioner account in the special revenue fund.