Energy Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Murphy of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee began the meeting at 1:00 PM, on March 4, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

Representative Sexton moved the minutes of February 27, 2025, be approved. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

HF 1738 (Swedzinski) - Renewable development account repealed, conforming changes made in associated statutes, utility solar production incentive program sunset, accounts established, and money appropriated.

Chair Swedzinski moved HF1738 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Testifiers: Sam Smith, Department of Commerce Dan King, Darcy Solutions Aurora Vautrin, 100% Michelle Benson, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Sarah Whebbe, Minnesota Solar Energy Industries Association Bobby King, Solar United Neighbors Andy Goke, Apadana Solar George Damian, Clean Energy Economy MN

Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike NAYS: ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

On a vote of 8 Ayes and 7 Nays THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Swedzinski renewed the motion that HF1738 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 2:18 PM.

Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair

Sharon Goblisch, Committee Legislative Assistant