
50.4 ARTICLE 4​

50.5 DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES, DRIVER'S LICENSE AGENTS, AND DEPUTY​
50.6 REGISTRARS (INDEPENDENT EXPERT REVIEW PROVISIONS)​

132.5 ARTICLE 5​

132.6 INDEPENDENT EXPERT REVIEW​

50.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.002, is amended by adding a subdivision​
50.8 to read:​

132.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.002, is amended by adding a subdivision​
132.8 to read:​

50.9 Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is​
50.10 appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's​

132.9 Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is​
132.10 appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's​

50.11 license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International​132.11 license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International​
50.12 Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions. The commissioner is​
50.13 not a full-service provider.​

132.12 Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions. The commissioner is​
132.13 not a full-service provider.​

50.14 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​132.14 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

50.15 Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this​
50.16 section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any​

132.15 Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this​
132.16 section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any​

50.17 driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record,​
50.18 vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.​

132.17 driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record,​
132.18 vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.​

50.19 (b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records​
50.20 governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of $10​

132.19 (b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records​
132.20 governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of $10​

50.21 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of $9 for each record that is not​
50.22 certified.​

132.21 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of $9 for each record that is not​
132.22 certified.​

50.23 (c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in​
50.24 paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format​
50.25 is $1 for each page of the historical record.​

132.23 (c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in​
132.24 paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format​
132.25 is $1 for each page of the historical record.​

50.26 (d) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for driver's license,​
50.27 instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records, must be paid into the state​

132.26 (d) Fees collected under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and​
132.27 Minnesota identification card records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of​

50.28 treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund., and​132.28 each fee credited to the general fund. the remainder of the fees collected must be credited​
132.29 to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.​ 50.29 the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to must be deposited in the driver and​

50.30 vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705. Of​
50.31 the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction​
50.32 permit, and Minnesota identification card records, the provider must transmit 50 cents to​
51.1 the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and the provider must retain the​
51.2 remainder.​

51.3 (e) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle​
51.4 registration or title records, must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee​

132.30 (e) Fees (d) Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for​
132.31 vehicle registration or title records must be paid into the state treasury with, 50 cents of​

51.5 credited to must be deposited in the general fund., and the remainder of the fees collected​133.1 each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund., and the remainder of the fees​
51.6 must be credited to must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account​133.2 collected must be credited to must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating​

133.3 account in the special revenue fund specified in under section 299A.705.​ 51.7 in the special revenue fund specified in under section 299A.705. Of the fee collected by a​
51.8 full-service provider under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records,​
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133.4 (e) Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraphs (b) and (c), the​
133.5 provider must transmit 50 cents of each fee to the commissioner for deposit in the general​
133.6 fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.​

51.9 the provider must transmit 50 cents of each fee to the commissioner to be deposited in the​
51.10 general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.​

51.11 (f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall must permit​
51.12 a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of $4.50 for​

133.7 (f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall must permit​
133.8 a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of $4.50 for​

51.13 each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester is the subject of the​
51.14 data. Of the fee collected by the commissioner:​

133.9 each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester is the subject of the​
133.10 data. Of the fee:​

51.15 (1) $2.70 must be deposited in the general fund;​133.11 (1) $2.70 must be deposited in the general fund; and​

51.16 (2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the​
51.17 remainder must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account in the​
51.18 special revenue fund under section 299A.705; and​

133.12 (2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the​
133.13 remainder must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account in the​
133.14 special revenue fund under section 299A.705; and.​

51.19 (3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the driver​
51.20 and vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.​

133.15 (3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle​
133.16 services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.​

51.21 (g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by​
51.22 section 169.09, subdivision 13.​

133.17 (g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by​
133.18 section 169.09, subdivision 13.​

51.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record​
51.24 requests made on or after that date.​

133.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023. Paragraph (a) is effective​
133.20 January 1, 2024, and applies to record requests made on or after that date.​

51.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​133.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

51.26 Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided​
51.27 in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge​

133.22 Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided​
133.23 in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge​

51.28 of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner or full-service provider under section​133.24 of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner under section 13.03, subdivision 3,​
51.29 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the​133.25 for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the registration of a vehicle​
51.30 registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit,​
51.31 or Minnesota identification card.​

133.26 or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification​
133.27 card.​

52.1 (b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person​
52.2 or, by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem online. The surcharge​

133.28 (b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person​
133.29 or, by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem online. The surcharge​

52.3 does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's​133.30 does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's​
52.4 license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or​133.31 license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or​

133.32 titled in the individual's name.​ 52.5 titled in the individual's name. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be​
52.6 transmitted to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund.​

52.7 (c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited​
52.8 to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted​
52.9 to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund.​

134.1 (c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited​
134.2 to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted​
134.3 to the commissioner for deposit in the general fund.​

52.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record​
52.11 requests made on or after that date.​

134.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record​
134.5 requests made on or after that date.​
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52.12 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​134.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

52.13 Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section​
52.14 13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information​

134.7 Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section​
134.8 13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information​

52.15 about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied​
52.16 that:​

134.9 about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied​
134.10 that:​

52.17 (1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit​
52.18 organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and​

134.11 (1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit​
134.12 organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and​

52.19 (2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled​
52.20 substance law violators, or health code violators.​

134.13 (2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled​
134.14 substance law violators, or health code violators.​

52.21 (b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under​
52.22 paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a​
52.23 maximum number of data requests.​

134.15 (b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under​
134.16 paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a​
134.17 maximum number of data requests.​

52.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record​
52.25 requests made on or after that date.​

134.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record​
134.19 requests made on or after that date.​

52.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
52.27 read:​

134.20 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
134.21 read:​

52.28 Subd. 7. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the​
52.29 furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service​

134.22 Subd. 7. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the​
134.23 furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service​

52.30 providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18,​
52.31 section 2721, et seq.​

134.24 providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18,​
134.25 section 2721, et seq.​

53.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​134.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

53.2 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

53.3 Subd. 7. Filing fees and surcharge; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory​
53.4 fees and taxes, a filing fee of:​

53.5 (1) a $7 filing fee is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate​
53.6 transactions; and​

53.7 (2) a $7.50 surcharge is imposed on the fee for every vehicle registration renewal,​
53.8 excluding pro rate transactions; and​

53.9 (3) an $11 filing fee is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including​
53.10 motor carrier fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions.​

53.11 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):​

53.12 (1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction​
53.13 of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and​
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53.14 (2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a​
53.15 vehicle.​

53.16 (c) The filing fee and surcharge must be shown as a separate item on all registration​
53.17 renewal notices sent out by the commissioner.​

53.18 (d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees and surcharge imposed under​
53.19 paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a​
53.20 surcharge on the statutory fees, taxes, statutory surcharge, and filing fee not greater than​
53.21 the cost of processing a credit card or debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency​
53.22 rules established by the commissioner of public safety. The surcharge authorized by this​
53.23 paragraph must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit card transactions.​

53.24 (e) The fees collected under this subdivision paragraph (a) by the department must be​
53.25 allocated as follows:​

53.26 (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):​

53.27 (i) $5.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account under​
53.28 section 299A.705, subdivision 1; and​

53.29 (ii) $1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account under​
53.30 section 299A.705, subdivision 3; and​

53.31 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2) (3):​

54.1 (i) $3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;​

54.2 (ii) $6.00 $6 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account​
54.3 under section 299A.705, subdivision 1; and​

54.4 (iii) $1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account under​
54.5 section 299A.705, subdivision 3.​

54.6 (f) The surcharge collected under paragraph (a), clause (2), must be allocated as follows:​

54.7 (1) one-third of the revenue must be deposited in the small cities assistance account​
54.8 under section 162.145;​

54.9 (2) one-third of the revenue must be deposited in the larger cities assistance account​
54.10 under section 162.146; and​

54.11 (3) one-third of the revenue must be deposited in the town road account under section​
54.12 162.081.​

54.13 (g) Notwithstanding apportionment and distribution requirements under section 162.081,​
54.14 in fiscal year 2024, $7,000,000 of the revenue deposited in the town road account under​
54.15 paragraph (f), clause (3), must be allocated to a township with a population greater than​
54.16 10,000 according to the last two federal decennial censuses.​
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54.17 (h) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a $1 surcharge is imposed on every​
54.18 online transaction for which filing fees are collected under this subdivision. The proceeds​
54.19 from the surcharge must be deposited in the full-service provider account under section​
54.20 299A.705, subdivision 5.​

54.21 (i) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a deputy registrar must assess a $0.50​
54.22 surcharge on every transaction for which filing fees are collected under this subdivision.​
54.23 The surcharge must be (1) deposited in the treasury of the place for which the deputy registrar​
54.24 is appointed, or (2) if the deputy registrar is not a public official, retained by the deputy​
54.25 registrar. For purposes of this paragraph, "deputy registrar" includes a deputy registrar who​
54.26 is a full-service provider.​

54.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, except that paragraphs (h)​
54.28 and (i) are effective July 1, 2025.​

54.29 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.345, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​134.27 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.345, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

54.30 Subd. 2. Lessees; information. The commissioner may not furnish information about​
54.31 registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180​

134.28 Subd. 2. Lessees; information. The commissioner may not furnish information about​
134.29 registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180​

54.32 days or more to any person except the owner of the vehicle, the lessee, personnel of law​134.30 days or more to any person except the owner of the vehicle, the lessee, personnel of law​
55.1 enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section​134.31 enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section​
55.2 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the​135.1 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the​
55.3 commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automobile​135.2 commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automobile​
55.4 recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary​135.3 recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary​
55.5 data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistical​
55.6 analysis and market research.​

135.4 data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistical​
135.5 analysis and market research.​

55.7 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​135.6 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

55.8 Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports​
55.9 and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the​

135.7 Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports​
135.8 and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the​

55.10 commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal​
55.11 governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:​

135.9 commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal​
135.10 governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:​

55.12 (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as​
55.13 defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must​
55.14 disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:​

135.11 (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as​
135.12 defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must​
135.13 disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:​

55.15 (i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate,​
55.16 or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under​
55.17 section 573.02;​

135.14 (i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate,​
135.15 or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under​
135.16 section 573.02;​

55.18 (ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs​
55.19 other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;​

135.17 (ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs​
135.18 other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;​

55.20 (iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii);​135.19 (iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii);​

55.21 (iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or​135.20 (iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or​
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55.22 (v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent​
55.23 action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result​
55.24 of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;​

135.21 (v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent​
135.22 action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result​
135.23 of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;​

55.25 (2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver​
55.26 filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;​

135.24 (2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver​
135.25 filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;​

55.27 (3) (2) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle​
55.28 insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;​

135.26 (3) (2) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle​
135.27 insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;​

55.29 (4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of​
55.30 transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial​
55.31 motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;​

135.28 (4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of​
135.29 transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial​
135.30 motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;​

56.1 (5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the​
56.2 commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident​

135.31 (5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the​
135.32 commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident​

56.3 involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection​
56.4 under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and​

136.1 involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection​
136.2 under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and​

56.5 (6) (5) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of​
56.6 Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant​
56.7 programs relating to safety.​

136.3 (6) (5) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of​
136.4 Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant​
136.5 programs relating to safety.​

56.8 (b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any​
56.9 provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in​

136.6 (b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any​
136.7 provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in​

56.10 any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out​136.8 any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out​
56.11 of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the​136.9 of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the​
56.12 demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any​136.10 demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any​
56.13 court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the​136.11 court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the​
56.14 commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that​
56.15 the report be made to the commissioner.​

136.12 commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that​
136.13 the report be made to the commissioner.​

56.16 (c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under​
56.17 this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their​

136.14 (c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under​
136.15 this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their​

56.18 representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident,​136.16 representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident,​
56.19 as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render​136.17 as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render​
56.20 privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which​
56.21 the reports relate.​

136.18 privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which​
136.19 the reports relate.​

56.22 (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in​
56.23 this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.​

136.20 (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in​
136.21 this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.​

56.24 (e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section​
56.25 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a $5​

136.22 (e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section​
136.23 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a $5​

56.26 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the $5 fee collected by the​136.24 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the $5 fee collected by the​
56.27 commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and​136.25 commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and​
56.28 credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account established in section 299A.705​136.26 credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account established in under section​
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136.27 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the $5 fee collected by​
136.28 a full-service provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner for deposit​

56.29 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the $5 fee collected by a full-service​
56.30 provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the​

136.29 in the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner may also​ 56.31 general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner may also furnish​
136.30 furnish an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which must not contain​ 56.32 an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which must not contain personal or​
136.31 personal or private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided in paragraph (g),​ 56.33 private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided in paragraph (g), for not less​
136.32 for not less than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03,​
136.33 subdivision 3.​

57.1 than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03, subdivision​
57.2 3.​

57.3 (f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law​
57.4 enforcement agencies shall must charge commercial users who request access to response​

137.1 (f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law​
137.2 enforcement agencies shall must charge commercial users who request access to response​

57.5 or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial​137.3 or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial​
57.6 user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports​137.4 user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports​
57.7 per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the​137.5 per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the​
57.8 money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited​137.6 money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited​
57.9 in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account​137.7 in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account​
57.10 established in under section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general​
57.11 fund.​

137.8 established in under section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general​
137.9 fund.​

57.12 (g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall must​
57.13 provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case​

137.10 (g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall must​
137.11 provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case​

57.14 basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The​137.12 basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The​
57.15 database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However,​137.13 database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However,​
57.16 unless the accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the​137.14 unless the accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the​
57.17 commissioner shall must include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency​
57.18 certifies and agrees that the agency:​

137.15 commissioner shall must include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency​
137.16 certifies and agrees that the agency:​

57.19 (1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;​137.17 (1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;​

57.20 (2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have​
57.21 been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access​
57.22 to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and​

137.18 (2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have​
137.19 been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access​
137.20 to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and​

57.23 (3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.​137.21 (3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.​

57.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record​
57.25 requests made on or after that date.​

137.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023. Paragraph (a) is effective​
137.23 January 1, 2024, and applies to report disclosures made on or after that date.​

57.26 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
57.27 read:​

137.24 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
137.25 read:​

57.28 Subd. 20. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the​
57.29 furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service​

137.26 Subd. 20. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the​
137.27 furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service​

57.30 providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18,​
57.31 section 2721, et seq.​

137.28 providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18,​
137.29 section 2721, et seq.​

57.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​137.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​
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58.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
58.2 read:​

138.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
138.2 read:​

58.3 Subd. 33a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" has the meaning given in​
58.4 section 168.002, subdivision 12a.​

138.3 Subd. 33a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" has the meaning given in​
138.4 section 168.002, subdivision 12a.​

58.5 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
58.6 read:​

138.5 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
138.6 read:​

58.7 Subd. 12. Preapplication. (a) The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant​
58.8 to submit an electronic preapplication for a driver's license or identification card. The​

138.7 Subd. 12. Preapplication. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant​
138.8 to submit an electronic preapplication for a driver's license or identification card. The​

58.9 commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information​138.9 commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information​
58.10 required for the application. The preapplication process must generate a list of documents​138.10 required for the application. The preapplication process must generate a list of documents​
58.11 the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. At the time an​138.11 the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. At the time an​
58.12 individual schedules an appointment to apply for a driver's license or identification card,​138.12 individual schedules an appointment to apply for a driver's license or identification card,​
58.13 the commissioner, full-service provider, or driver's license agent who is scheduling the​
58.14 appointment must provide to the applicant a link to the preapplication website.​

138.13 the commissioner, full-service provider, or driver's license agent who is scheduling the​
138.14 appointment must provide to the applicant a link to the preapplication website.​

58.15 (b) An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before​
58.16 the commissioner, a full-service provider, or a driver's license agent to submit a completed​
58.17 application for the driver's license or identification card.​

58.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

58.19 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​138.15 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

58.20 Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of $8 for each​
58.21 application. as follows:​

138.16 Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of $8 for each​
138.17 application. as follows:​

16.00​$​New application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or​
58.23 enhanced driver's license or identification card​
58.22 (1)​16.00​$​New application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or​

138.19 enhanced driver's license or identification card​
138.18 (1)​

11.00​$​Renewal application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or​
58.25 enhanced driver's license or identification card​
58.24 (2)​11.00​$​Renewal application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or​

138.21 enhanced driver's license or identification card​
138.20 (2)​

58.26 Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall must cover all expenses involved in​
58.27 receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required​

138.22 Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall must cover all expenses involved in​
138.23 receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required​

58.28 under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions​
58.29 3 and 3a.​

138.24 under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions​
138.25 3 and 3a.​

58.30 (b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by​
58.31 credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the​

138.26 (b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by​
138.27 credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the​

58.32 statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit​138.28 statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit​
58.33 card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card​138.29 card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card​
59.1 and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this​138.30 and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this​
59.2 paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386,​
59.3 paragraph (b), does not apply.​

138.31 paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386,​
138.32 paragraph (b), does not apply.​
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59.4 (c) The department shall must maintain the photo identification and vision examination​
59.5 equipment for all agents appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation,​

139.1 (c) The department shall maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents​
139.2 appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance​

59.6 death, or discontinuance of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing​139.3 of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to​
59.7 office pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or​139.4 Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part​
59.8 Minnesota Rules, part 7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo​139.5 7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo identification equipment without​
59.9 identification equipment without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office​139.6 additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided the​
59.10 if the office was provided the equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All​139.7 equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment​

139.8 must be compatible with standards established by the department.​ 59.11 photo identification and vision examination equipment must be compatible with standards​
59.12 established by the department.​

59.13 (d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the​
59.14 county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not​

139.9 (d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the​
139.10 county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not​

59.15 an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or​139.11 an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or​
59.16 salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under​139.12 salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under​
59.17 the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement​
59.18 Association.​

139.13 the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement​
139.14 Association.​

59.19 (e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period​
59.20 established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications​
59.21 and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).​

139.15 (e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period​
139.16 established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications​
139.17 and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).​

59.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023, and applies to​
59.23 applications made on or after that date.​

139.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023, and applies to​
139.19 applications made on or after that date.​

59.24 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision​
59.25 to read:​

139.20 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision​
139.21 to read:​

59.26 Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish​
59.27 the driver's manual and study support materials for the written exam and skills exam. The​

139.22 Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish​
139.23 the driver's manual and study support materials for the written exam and skills exam. The​

59.28 study support materials must focus on the subjects and skills that are most commonly failed​139.24 study support materials must focus on the subjects and skills that are most commonly failed​
59.29 by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that the driver's manual and study support​
59.30 materials are easily located and are available for no cost.​

139.25 by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that the driver's manual and study support​
139.26 materials are easily located and are available for no cost.​

59.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

60.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

60.2 Subd. 1a. Driver and vehicle services information system; security and auditing. (a)​
60.3 The commissioner must establish written procedures to ensure that only individuals​
60.4 authorized by law may enter, update, or access not public data collected, created, or​
60.5 maintained by the driver and vehicle services information system. An authorized individual's​
60.6 ability to enter, update, or access data in the system must correspond to the official duties​
60.7 or training level of the individual and to the statutory authorization granting access for that​
60.8 purpose. All queries and responses, and all actions in which data are entered, updated,​
60.9 accessed, shared, or disseminated, must be recorded in a data audit trail. Data contained in​
60.10 the audit trail are public to the extent the data are not otherwise classified by law.​
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60.11 (b) If the commissioner must immediately and permanently revoke the authorization of​
60.12 any determines that an individual who willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or​
60.13 disseminated data in violation of state or federal law, the commissioner must impose​
60.14 disciplinary action. If an individual willfully gained access to data without authorization by​
60.15 law, the commissioner must forward the matter to the appropriate prosecuting authority for​
60.16 prosecution. The commissioner must not impose disciplinary action against an individual​
60.17 who properly accessed data to complete an authorized transaction or to resolve an issue that​
60.18 did not result in a completed authorized transaction.​

60.19 (c) The commissioner must establish a process that allows an individual who was subject​
60.20 to disciplinary action to appeal the action. If the commissioner imposes disciplinary action,​
60.21 the commissioner must notify the individual in writing of the action, explain the reason for​
60.22 the action, and explain how to appeal the action. The commissioner must transmit the​
60.23 notification within five calendar days of the action.​

60.24 (d) The commissioner must arrange for an independent biennial audit of the driver and​
60.25 vehicle services information system to determine whether data currently in the system are​
60.26 classified correctly, how the data are used, and to verify compliance with this subdivision.​
60.27 The results of the audit are public. No later than 30 days following completion of the audit,​
60.28 the commissioner must provide a report summarizing the audit results to the commissioner​
60.29 of administration; the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house​
60.30 of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance,​
60.31 public safety, and data practices; and the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and​
60.32 Personal Data Privacy. The report must be submitted as required under section 3.195, except​
60.33 that printed copies are not required.​

61.1 (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "disciplinary action" means a formal or informal​
61.2 disciplinary measure, including but not limited to requiring corrective action or suspending​
61.3 or revoking the individual's access to the driver and vehicle information system.​

61.4 (f) An individual whose access was permanently revoked under this section between​
61.5 October 1, 2018, and September 30, 2023, based on the commissioner's determination that​
61.6 the individual willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation​
61.7 of state or federal law, may apply to the commissioner for reinstatement of their access. An​
61.8 individual convicted of a crime related to the conduct that resulted in permanent revocation​
61.9 of their access is ineligible to reapply for access under this section. Any individual reapplying​
61.10 for access must submit the request in writing to the commissioner no later than June 30,​
61.11 2024, and the request must contain:​

61.12 (1) written documentation that demonstrates the individual is currently employed at an​
61.13 agency or entity that requires access for the employee to conduct their work duties;​

61.14 (2) written documentation that demonstrates the individual is in compliance with all​
61.15 existing requirements to be considered eligible for access, including completion of required​
61.16 background checks;​
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61.17 (3) a signed statement from their employer acknowledging the employer is aware that​
61.18 the individual's access was previously revoked and any future violations of state or federal​
61.19 law may again result in permanent revocation of access; and​

61.20 (4) a signed statement from the individual describing:​

61.21 (i) their understanding of appropriate use of the system data under state and federal laws;​
61.22 and​

61.23 (ii) the remedial steps they have taken to ensure no future misuse occurs.​

61.24 The commissioner must respond in writing to the individual's request for access within 90​
61.25 days of receipt of the request. The commissioner's decision under this section is final and​
61.26 an individual applying under this section is not entitled to further review.​

61.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023. Paragraphs (b), (c),​
61.28 and (e) apply to audits of data use that are open on or after October 1, 2023. Paragraph (f)​
61.29 is effective October 1, 2023, and applies to requests made on or after that date.​

61.30 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​139.27 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

61.31 Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,​
61.32 disabled veterans. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall​

139.28 Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,​
139.29 disabled veterans. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall​

62.1 must examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner​
62.2 directs. This examination must include:​

139.30 must examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner​
139.31 directs. This examination must include:​

62.3 (1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission​
62.4 of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;​

140.1 (1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission​
140.2 of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;​

62.5 (2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,​
62.6 warning, and directing traffic;​

140.3 (2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,​
140.4 warning, and directing traffic;​

62.7 (3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and​
62.8 drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal​

140.5 (3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and​
140.6 drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal​

62.9 penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the​140.7 penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the​
62.10 operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad​140.8 operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad​
62.11 grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil​140.9 grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil​
62.12 transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and​140.10 transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and​
62.13 passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and​
62.14 dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;​

140.11 passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and​
140.12 dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;​

62.15 (4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the​
62.16 operation of a motor vehicle; and​

140.13 (4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the​
140.14 operation of a motor vehicle; and​

62.17 (5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to​
62.18 determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.​

140.15 (5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to​
140.16 determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.​

62.19 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for​
62.20 a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in​

140.17 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for​
140.18 a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in​
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140.19 color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans​
140.20 operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to​
140.21 a license, must be granted such license.​

62.21 color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans​
62.22 operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to​
62.23 a license, must be granted such license.​

62.24 (c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this​
62.25 subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto​
62.26 reasonably convenient to the applicant.​

62.27 (d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for​
62.28 an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the​
62.29 applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the​
62.30 applicant is eligible to take the examination.​

62.31 (c) The commissioner must ensure that no fewer than the following number of exam​
62.32 station locations are available:​

62.33 (1) after July 1, 2023, and before July 1, 2024, 93 exam stations;​

63.1 (2) after July 1, 2024, and before July 1, 2025, 83 exam stations;​

63.2 (3) after July 1, 2025, and before July 1, 2026, 73 exam stations; and​

63.3 (4) after July 1, 2026, and thereafter, 60 exam stations.​

63.4 The commissioner must ensure that an applicant may take an exam either in the county​
63.5 where the applicant resides or in an adjacent county at a reasonably convenient location.​
63.6 The schedule for each exam station must be posted on the department's website.​

140.22 (c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this​
140.23 subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto​
140.24 reasonably convenient to the applicant.​

140.25 (d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for​
140.26 an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the​
140.27 applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the​
140.28 applicant is eligible to take the examination.​

63.7 (d) A located exam station must be open a minimum of one day per week.​

63.8 (e) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website​
63.9 about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next​

140.29 (e) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website​
140.30 about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next​

63.10 available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an​140.31 available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an​
63.11 option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam​140.32 option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam​

140.33 at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided.​ 63.12 at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided. The information must​
63.13 be easily accessible and must not require a person to sign in or provide any other information,​
63.14 except an address, in order to see available exam dates.​

63.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023. Paragraph (d) is effective​
63.16 July 1, 2026. Paragraph (e) is effective January 1, 2024.​

141.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​
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63.17 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​141.2 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

63.18 Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner​
63.19 determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license issued​

141.3 Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner​
141.4 determines that an applicant for a driver's license is 21 years of age or older and possesses​

63.20 by another state, United States territory, or jurisdiction that requires a comparable​141.5 a valid driver's license issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable​
63.21 examination for obtaining a driver's license, the commissioner may must waive the​141.6 examination to obtain a driver's license, the commissioner may must waive the requirement​
63.22 requirement requirements that the applicant pass a written knowledge examination and​141.7 requirements that the applicant pass a knowledge examination and demonstrate ability to​
63.23 demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor​141.8 exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle on determining​
63.24 vehicle on determining that the applicant possesses a valid driver's license issued by a​
63.25 jurisdiction that requires a comparable demonstration for license issuance.​

141.9 that the applicant possesses a valid driver's license issued by a jurisdiction that requires a​
141.10 comparable demonstration for license issuance.​

63.26 (b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses​
63.27 a valid driver's license with a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state,​

141.11 (b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant for a two-wheeled vehicle​
141.12 endorsement is 21 years of age or older and possesses a valid driver's license with a​

63.28 United States territory, or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining​141.13 two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a​
63.29 the endorsement, the commissioner must waive the requirements that the applicant for a​141.14 comparable examination to obtain an endorsement, the commissioner must waive the​
63.30 two-wheeled vehicle endorsement pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate​
63.31 the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.​

141.15 requirements with respect to the endorsement that the applicant pass a knowledge examination​
141.16 and demonstrate the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of​
141.17 a motor vehicle.​

64.1 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both​
64.2 the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces,​

141.18 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both​
141.19 the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces,​

64.3 and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch​141.20 and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch​
64.4 or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's​141.21 or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's​
64.5 separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and​141.22 separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and​
64.6 fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's​
64.7 separation or discharge.​

141.23 fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's​
141.24 separation or discharge.​

64.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to applications​
64.9 made on or after that date.​

141.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to applications​
141.26 made on or after that date.​

64.10 Sec. 17. [171.375] STUDENT PASS RATE.​141.27 Sec. 15. [171.375] STUDENT PASS RATE.​

64.11 (a) For each driver training school, the commissioner must determine the percentage of​
64.12 students from that school who pass the written exam or road test on the student's first attempt,​

141.28 (a) For each driver training school, the commissioner must determine the percentage of​
141.29 students from that school who pass the written exam or road test on the student's first attempt,​

64.13 second attempt, or third or subsequent attempt. The commissioner must publicly post the​141.30 second attempt, or third or subsequent attempt. The commissioner must publicly post the​
64.14 information collected under this section on the department's website. At a minimum, the​141.31 information collected under this section on the department's website. At a minimum, the​
64.15 commissioner must update this information on the department's website at least every six​
64.16 months. The information must be searchable by the name of a school or a location.​

141.32 commissioner must update this information on the department's website at least every six​
141.33 months. The information must be searchable by the name of a school or a location.​

64.17 (b) By January 1 and July 1 of each year, each driver training school must provide to​
64.18 the commissioner a list of all students who completed coursework at the school during the​
64.19 previous six months.​

142.1 (b) By January 1 and July 1 of each year, each driver training school must provide to​
142.2 the commissioner a list of all students who completed coursework at the school during the​
142.3 previous six months.​

64.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2024. Paragraph (b) is​
64.21 effective July 1, 2024, and applies to lists submitted on or after that date.​
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65.20 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.705, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

65.21 Subd. 3. Driver and vehicle services technology account. (a) The driver and vehicle​
65.22 services technology account is created in the special revenue driver and vehicle services​
65.23 fund, consisting of the technology surcharge collected as specified in chapters 168, 168A,​
65.24 and 171; the filing fee revenue collected under section 168.33, subdivision 7; and any other​
65.25 money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account.​

65.26 (b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety​
65.27 for the development, deployment, and maintenance of the driver and vehicle services​
65.28 information systems.​

65.29 (c) By January 15 of each year, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and​
65.30 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation​
65.31 policy and finance concerning the account, which must include information on (1) total​
66.1 revenue deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account, with a breakdown​
66.2 by sources of funds; and (2) an estimate of ongoing system maintenance costs, including a​
66.3 breakdown of the amounts spent by category.​

66.4 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.705, is amended by adding a subdivision​
66.5 to read:​

66.6 Subd. 5. Full-service provider account. (a) The full-service provider account is created​
66.7 in the driver and vehicle services fund, consisting of surcharges described in section 168.33,​
66.8 subdivision 7, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to​
66.9 the account.​

66.10 (b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety​
66.11 to distribute to full-service providers, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 12a, and​
66.12 deputy registrars. The commissioner must distribute the money in the account as quarterly​
66.13 payments to each full-service provider and deputy registrar that was in operation during the​
66.14 previous quarter based proportionally on the total number of transactions completed by each​
66.15 full-service provider and deputy registrar. For the purposes of the distribution calculation​
66.16 in this paragraph, the number of transactions completed by a deputy registrar must first be​
66.17 multiplied by 0.2.​

66.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and the first quarterly​
66.19 distribution must be made on or before October 15, 2023.​

66.20 Sec. 22. REPORT; DEPUTY REGISTRAR AND DRIVER'S LICENSE AGENT​
66.21 FINANCIAL SUSTAINABILITY.​

66.22 By July 1, 2024, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking​
66.23 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation finance​
66.24 and policy an evaluation of deputy registrar and driver's license agent operations in the​
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66.25 vehicle registration and driver's licensing system. The commissioner must engage with​
66.26 stakeholders in preparing and developing the report. The report, at a minimum, must:​

66.27 (1) evaluate the current performance and impact of the quality of services provided by​
66.28 private deputy registrars and driver's license agents to the residents of Minnesota;​

66.29 (2) evaluate and make recommendations on how to implement financial sustainability​
66.30 for private deputy registrars;​

66.31 (3) detail the amount of financial assistance necessary to sustain a permanent role for​
66.32 private deputy registrars and driver's license agents;​

67.1 (4) explain each proposed model of financial assistance or support for deputy registrars;​

67.2 (5) detail a five-, ten-, and 20-year analysis on the role of deputy registrars and driver's​
67.3 license agents in the vehicle registration and driver's licensing system;​

67.4 (6) evaluate and make recommendations on the long-term and market-rate financial​
67.5 assistance necessary to transition away from private deputy registrars and driver's license​
67.6 agents;​

67.7 (7) explain and make recommendations on proposed legislation on the Division of Driver​
67.8 and Vehicle Services assuming all of the services provided by private deputy registrars and​
67.9 driver's license agents;​

67.10 (8) identify and evaluate whether the Division of Driver and Vehicle Services has​
67.11 sufficient financial resources to assume all the services provided by private deputy registrars​
67.12 and driver's license agents; and​

67.13 (9) propose legislation and make recommendations on fees and appropriations needed​
67.14 for the Division of Driver and Vehicle Services to assume all services provided by deputy​
67.15 registrars and driver's license agents.​

67.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

67.17 Sec. 23. REPORT; DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES RECOMMENDATIONS.​

67.18 (a) By January 15, 2024, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and​
67.19 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation​
67.20 finance and policy on driver and vehicle services recommendations and operations. The​
67.21 report must:​

67.22 (1) review recommendations from the independent expert review of driver and vehicle​
67.23 services issued January 12, 2022, as identified under paragraph (b);​

67.24 (2) review the recommendations made to the commissioner in the legislative auditor's​
67.25 report on driver examination stations issued in March 2021;​
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67.26 (3) provide the commissioner's plan for exam station locations, including how many​
67.27 exam stations will remain open and the locations of the exam stations;​

67.28 (4) identify whether any limited driver's license agents are unable to become full-service​
67.29 providers because of the restrictions in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061, and Minnesota​
67.30 Rules, chapter 7404, and, if so, whether the commissioner would recommend any exceptions​
67.31 to allow the limited driver's license agent to participate in the fee-sharing provisions of this​
67.32 act; and​

68.1 (5) propose any statutory changes necessary or beneficial in implementing​
68.2 recommendations under clauses (1) and (2).​

68.3 (b) The report must include information on the independent expert review​
68.4 recommendations to:​

68.5 (1) revise the deputy registrar and driver's license agent contracts to encourage all deputy​
68.6 registrars and driver's license agents to become or remain full-service providers as defined​
68.7 in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.002, subdivision 12a;​

68.8 (2) determine how best to utilize certified and impartial third parties for administration​
68.9 of knowledge and road tests;​

68.10 (3) implement data and reporting practices to assist the commissioner in making decisions​
68.11 focused on the residents of the state;​

68.12 (4) conduct a staffing review that balances staff quantity and quality, leverages technology​
68.13 automations and configurations, and establishes performance standards and targets that​
68.14 meet the needs of the state;​

68.15 (5) identify performance and service standards and create a deputy registrar performance​
68.16 scorecard and a driver's license agent performance scorecard that monitors user performance​
68.17 to ensure a consistently positive experience for Minnesotans;​

68.18 (6) provide a rapid response communication method for situations where deputy registrars​
68.19 or driver's license agents need immediate support;​

68.20 (7) explore ways to speed up background checks of new employees at the Division of​
68.21 Driver and Vehicle Services offices and deputy registrar offices, including using a police​
68.22 department or county sheriff;​

68.23 (8) promote the preapplication process and expand the use of preapplications to all​
68.24 possible, relevant areas;​

68.25 (9) evaluate and make recommendations to the legislature on areas where it is appropriate​
68.26 to make preapplications mandatory;​

68.27 (10) adjust policies and practices to automate as many approval transactions as possible;​
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68.28 (11) determine the proper user level field needed by transaction type and explore​
68.29 additional differentiated user levels in MNDRIVE;​

68.30 (12) allow deputy registrars to have increased visibility to and influence on the​
68.31 MNDRIVE enhancement process;​

69.1 (13) engage a learning consultant and create a content strategy and communications​
69.2 campaign to meet the needs of Minnesota residents, including a feedback loop for continuous​
69.3 improvement and evolution;​

69.4 (14) provide additional training and clear guidance regarding permissible use of records​
69.5 and enable in-application notation of usage other than for paid transactions;​

69.6 (15) consider what security measures are appropriate at each deputy registrar or driver's​
69.7 license agent location, including the possible need for a security officer or for cameras with​
69.8 recording capabilities;​

69.9 (16) offer training in de-escalation and negotiation techniques to all public-facing staff;​

69.10 (17) examine the potential of allowing online applications for replacement class D drivers'​
69.11 licenses;​

69.12 (18) conduct an analysis to determine whether extending the validity of a class D driver's​
69.13 license would benefit the residents of the state and make recommendations to the legislature​
69.14 on a renewal fee structure for renewal periods longer than four years but not more than nine​
69.15 years;​

69.16 (19) explore options to encourage people to conduct transactions online or in person​
69.17 instead of by mail; and​

69.18 (20) study the feasibility of splitting revenue from mail or online vehicle transactions​
69.19 between the commissioner and deputy registrars and full-service providers.​

69.20 (c) For each of the recommendations under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), and​
69.21 paragraph (b), the report must specify the status from one of the following categories:​

69.22 (1) the recommendation is under ongoing active consideration or review, including to:​

69.23 (i) describe the current state of the analysis; and​

69.24 (ii) provide the anticipated timeline to conclude the review;​

69.25 (2) the recommendation is in the process of being implemented, including to:​

69.26 (i) describe how the recommendation is being implemented;​

69.27 (ii) provide the anticipated timeline for implementation; and​

69.28 (iii) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation;​
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69.29 (3) the recommendation has been implemented, including to:​

69.30 (i) describe when and how the recommendation was implemented;​

70.1 (ii) describe the outcome of implementing the recommendation; and​

70.2 (iii) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation; or​

70.3 (4) the recommendation will not be implemented, including to:​

70.4 (i) provide a detailed explanation of why the recommendation will not be implemented;​

70.5 (ii) provide an estimated cost to implement the recommendation;​

70.6 (iii) provide an estimated timeline to implement the recommendation; and​

70.7 (iv) describe any unmet needs that, if met, would allow the commissioner to implement​
70.8 the recommendation.​

70.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

142.4 Sec. 16. REPEALER.​

142.5 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.345, subdivision 1, is repealed.​

142.6 Sec. 17. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

142.7 Except where otherwise specified, this article is effective August 1, 2023.​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R18​

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM​Transportation Part E - IER​
Senate UEH2887-2​House H2887-4​


