Housing Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Igo, Chair of the Housing Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 3:01PM, on Wednesday, March 12, 2025, in Room G3 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

IGO, Spencer, Chair

DOTSETH, Jeff, Vice Chair

AGBAJE, Esther

HUSSEIN, Samakab

JOHNSON, Wayne

KOZLOWSKI, Liish

MEKELAND, Shane

MOMANYI-HILTSLEY, Huldah

MYERS, Andrew

NASH, Jim

NORRIS, Matt

REHRAUER, Kari

SKRABA, Roger

Non-Voting Member present:

HOWARD, Michael, Lead

Representative Mekeland moved the minutes of March 11, 2025, be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF2140 (Kraft) Mixed-use housing zones creation required.

Chair Igo moved that HF2140 be re-referred to the Elections Finance and Government Operations Committee.

Chair Igo moved the DE1 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Testifiers:

Bryan Bear, City Administrator, City of Hugo

Scarlet Bennet, Director of Housing Development, KOOTASCA Community Action

Rick Varco, Political Director, SEIU Healthcare - Minnesota & Iowa

Charles Gardener, Research Fellow, Mercatus Center at George Mason University

Peter Wagenius, Legislative Director, Sierra Club North Star Chapter

Linnea Goderstad, Board Member, Neighbors for More Neighbors

Greg Kruschke, Community Development Manager, City of Owatonna

Cap O'Rourke, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Small Cities

Ron Williams, Citizen Advocate

Chair Igo renewed the motion that HF2140, as amended, be re-referred to the Elections Finance and Government Operations Committee. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF2018 (Kozlowski) Requirements related to comprehensive plan amendments modified, and zoning authority of municipalities related to certain multifamily and mixed-use developments limited.

Representative Kozlowski moved that HF2018 be re-referred to the Elections Finance and Government Operations Committee.

Representative Kozlowski moved the A3 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.**

Testifiers:

Cecil Smith, President & CEO, Minnesota Multi Housing
Amanda White, Vice President, Florida Apartment Association
Bryan Bear, City Administrator, City of Hugo
Sarah Larson, Principal, Landon Group
Anne Mavity, Executive Director, Minnesota Housing Partnership
N'Dea Young, Program Coordinator, Engage Winona
Jason Hale, Principal, Northshore Development Corporation.
Lucas Franco, Research Manager, LIUNA – Minnesota and North Dakota
Even Vogel, City Administrator, City of Cambridge
Susan Arntz, City Manager, City of Mankato
Jason Wedel, City Manager, City of Prior Lake

Representative Kozlowski renewed the motion that HF2018, as amended, be re-referred to the Elections Finance and Government Operations Committee. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 PM.

Representative Spencer Igo, Chair
Betsy Ritzer, Committee Legislative Assistant