EDUCATION POLICY MINUTES

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:01 PM on January 17, 2023 in Room 120 of the Capitol.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair HILL, Josiah, Vice Chair BAKEBERG, Ben BERG, Kaela FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick KEELER, Heather KNUDSEN, Krista LEE, Liz MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members Excused:

BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead

A quorum was present.

Representative Keeler moved to approve the minutes from January 11, 2023. The motion prevailed.

Representative Keeler moved that HF211 be before the committee; be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Representative Keeler presented HF211.

The following testified on HF211:

- Cyndy Milda, Coordinator, Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community
- Sam Strong, Secretary, Red Lake Nation
- Delores Gabbard, Moorhead Indian Education

The following gave public testimony on HF211:

• Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education (MDE)

Representative Keeler renewed the motion that HF211 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy. A voice vote was taken. The motion prevailed.

Representative Frazier moved that HF133 be before the committee; be referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

Representative Becker-Finn presented HF133.

The following testified on HF133:

• Laurie Harper, Director of Education, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

The following gave public testimony on HF133:

• Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education (MDE)

Representative Frazier renewed the motion that HF133 be referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law. A voice vote was taken. The motion prevailed.

Representative Lee moved that HF170 be before the committee; be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Becker-Finn presented HF170.

The following testified on HF170:

- Dov and Galvin, Student & Parent
- Alicia Lane-Outlaw, Government Relations Director, Minnesota Commission of the Deaf, Deafblind, and Hard of Hearing
- Trevor Turner, Public Policy Director, Minnesota Council on Disability
- Nic Zapko, Deaf Interpreter/Presenter/Mentor, Sorenson Communications

Representative Lee renewed the motion that HF170 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance. A voice vote was taken. The motion prevailed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:13 pm.	
	Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair
	Isabel Anderson, Committee Legislative Assistant