STATE OF MINNESOTA TENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 PM on February 17, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Rep. Feist moved that the minutes from February 10, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Rep. Feist moved that the minutes from February 15, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Rep. Richardson moved that HF 378 be re-referred to the Education Finance committee.

Rep. Youakim presented HF 378.

Testifiers:

Becky Hespen, Education Minnesota Osseo ESP President Michelle Dennard, Special Education Support Professional, Osseo Area School District Kim Lewis, Minnesota School Board Association

Chair Richardson renewed her motion that HF 378 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Chair Richardson instructed that there would be a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair

BERG, Kaela

BOE, Greg

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY: ERICKSON, Sondra

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

BENNETT, Peggy

SCOTT, Peggy

On a vote of 15 AYES and 4 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Moller moved that HF 469 be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

Rep. Moller moved the A1 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Testifiers:

Tricia Zeller

Lindsey Beaulieu

Nikki Baker, Community Health Services Director, Epilepsy Foundation of Minnesota Rachel Zeller

Chair Richardson laid over HF 469 as amended for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

Chair Richardson moved that HF 786 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Rep. Lee presented HF 786.

Testifiers:

Kari Denissen Cunnien, Executive Director, Ignite Afterschool Mary Swingle, President/CEO, Boys and Girls Club of Central Minnesota

Chair Richardson renewed her motion to re-refer HF 786 to the Education Finance Committee.

The chair instructed that a roll call vote would be taken.

Members voting AYE:
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair
BERG, Kaela
BOE, Greg
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
POSTON, John

Members voting NAY: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy

On a vote of 14 AYES and 4 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The committee adjourned at 2:18 PM.