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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1693 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 345.42, subdivision 1, is amended to read:1.3

Subdivision 1. Commissioner's duty. (a) Within the calendar year next following1.4

the year in which abandoned property has been paid or delivered to the commissioner,1.5

the commissioner shall provide public notice of the abandoned property in the manner1.6

described in subdivision 1a, and frequency otherwise as the commissioner determines to1.7

be most effective and efficient in communicating to the persons appearing to be owners of1.8

this property. Public notice may include the use of print, broadcast, or electronic media.1.9

The commissioner shall, at a minimum, expend 15 percent of the funds allocated by1.10

the legislature to the operations of the unclaimed property division, to comply with the1.11

public notice requirements of this subdivision section, and shall report to the legislature1.12

annually on how those funds are expended.1.13

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.1.14

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 345.42, is amended by adding a subdivision1.15

to read:1.16

Subd. 1a. Public notice. (a) Public notice provided by the commissioner shall1.17

include the following:1.18

(1) posting on the Department of Commerce's Web site a list of all persons appearing1.19

to be owners of abandoned property. The list shall be arranged in alphabetical order by1.20

the last name of the person, and further organized by county. The list of persons must be1.21

updated at least three times per year and must remain on the Department of Commerce's1.22

Web site at all times;1.23

(2) publication in a qualified newspaper a list of persons appearing to be owners of1.24

abandoned property having a value of $500 or more. The list shall be published in the1.25
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largest circulation qualified newspaper in each county, and shall include the names of all2.1

persons whose last known address is within the county. The list must be published at least2.2

once per year. The commissioner may stagger publication of the entire list of owners by2.3

publishing a partial list at least twice, but no more than three times per year. Each qualified2.4

newspaper that publishes the list shall, at no additional charge to the commissioner, also2.5

post the list on its Web site or on a central Web site that can be accessed directly from the2.6

qualified newspaper's Web site. The list must be accessible on the Web site for not less2.7

than 180 days, and at no cost to the public. The qualified newspaper must include in its2.8

publication of the list a reference to its Web site or a central Web site; and2.9

(3) dissemination of information to persons appearing to be owners of abandoned2.10

property through other means and media, including broadcast media, the Internet, and2.11

social media.2.12

(b) Beginning July 1, 2016, and annually thereafter, the commissioner shall2.13

provide to each member of the legislature a list of all persons appearing to be owners of2.14

abandoned property whose last known address is located in the legislator's respective2.15

legislative district.2.16

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.2.17

Sec. 3. USE OF VENDOR TO FACILITATE RETURN OF ABANDONED2.18

PROPERTY.2.19

The commissioner shall, using a request for proposal process, contract with a vendor2.20

who will facilitate the return of abandoned property to owners. As consideration for2.21

such services the vendor shall receive up to seven percent of the value of the abandoned2.22

property, not to exceed $500,000, when such abandoned property is returned to its owner.2.23

This consideration shall not be paid from the abandoned property itself. A vendor may not2.24

assess any fees, charges, or costs to the owner of the abandoned property.2.25

Sec. 4. REPORT ON UNCLAIMED PROPERTY DIVISION.2.26

The commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the2.27

committees of the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction over commerce2.28

issues by February 15, 2016, regarding the process owners of abandoned property must2.29

comply with in order to file an allowed claim under chapter 345 and the effectiveness of2.30

the vendor used by the commissioner to facilitate the return of the abandoned property.2.31

The report shall include:2.32

(1) information regarding the documentation and identification necessary for owners2.33

of each type of abandoned property under chapter 345 to file an allowed claim; and2.34
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(2) a review of the methods and effectiveness of the vendor in returning abandoned3.1

property under chapter 345 to the owner.3.2

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.3.3

Sec. 5.3.4

$500,000 in fiscal year 2016 is from3.5

the general fund for a grant for a3.6

pay-for-performance contract with a vendor3.7

who will facilitate the return of abandoned3.8

property to owners. The vendor must receive3.9

up to seven percent of the value of the3.10

abandoned property, not to exceed $500,000,3.11

when such abandoned property is returned to3.12

its owner. This is a onetime appropriation."3.13

Amend the title accordingly3.14

Sec. 5. 3


