
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2414, the delete everything amendment​

1.2 (A19-0349), as follows:​

1.3 Page 677, after line 13, insert:​

1.4 "Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.225, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

1.5 Subd. 2. Data about births. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, data​

1.6 pertaining to the birth of a child to a woman who was not married to the child's father when​

1.7 the child was conceived nor when the child was born, including the original record of birth​

1.8 and the certified vital record, are confidential data. At the time of the birth of a child to a​

1.9 woman who was not married to the child's father when the child was conceived nor when​

1.10 the child was born, the mother may designate demographic data pertaining to the birth as​

1.11 public. Notwithstanding the designation of the data as confidential, it may be disclosed:​

1.12 (1) to a parent or guardian of the child;​

1.13 (2) to the child when the child is 16 years of age or older;​

1.14 (3) under paragraph (b) or, (e), or (f); or​

1.15 (4) pursuant to a court order. For purposes of this section, a subpoena does not constitute​

1.16 a court order.​

1.17 (b) Unless the child is adopted, data pertaining to the birth of a child that are not accessible​

1.18 to the public become public data if 100 years have elapsed since the birth of the child who​

1.19 is the subject of the data, or as provided under section 13.10, whichever occurs first.​

1.20 (c) If a child is adopted, data pertaining to the child's birth are governed by the provisions​

1.21 relating to adoption records, including sections 13.10, subdivision 5; 144.218, subdivision​

1.22 1; 144.2252; and 259.89.​
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2.1 (d) The name and address of a mother under paragraph (a) and the child's date of birth​

2.2 may be disclosed to the county social services, tribal health department, or public health​

2.3 member of a family services collaborative for purposes of providing services under section​

2.4 124D.23.​

2.5 (e) The commissioner of human services shall have access to birth records for:​

2.6 (1) the purposes of administering medical assistance and the MinnesotaCare program;​

2.7 (2) child support enforcement purposes; and​

2.8 (3) other public health purposes as determined by the commissioner of health.​

2.9 (f) Tribal child support programs shall have access to birth records for child support​

2.10 enforcement purposes.​

2.11 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.225, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

2.12 Subd. 2a. Health data associated with birth registration. Information from which an​

2.13 identification of risk for disease, disability, or developmental delay in a mother or child can​

2.14 be made, that is collected in conjunction with birth registration or fetal death reporting, is​

2.15 private data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. The commissioner may disclose to​

2.16 a tribal health department or community health board, as defined in section 145A.02,​

2.17 subdivision 5, health data associated with birth registration which identifies a mother or​

2.18 child at high risk for serious disease, disability, or developmental delay in order to assure​

2.19 access to appropriate health, social, or educational services. Notwithstanding the designation​

2.20 of the private data, the commissioner of human services shall have access to health data​

2.21 associated with birth registration for:​

2.22 (1) purposes of administering medical assistance and the MinnesotaCare program; and​

2.23 (2) for other public health purposes as determined by the commissioner of health.​

2.24 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.225, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

2.25 Subd. 7. Certified birth or death record. (a) The state registrar or local issuance office​

2.26 shall issue a certified birth or death record or a statement of no vital record found to an​

2.27 individual upon the individual's proper completion of an attestation provided by the​

2.28 commissioner and payment of the required fee:​

2.29 (1) to a person who has a tangible interest in the requested vital record. A person who​

2.30 has a tangible interest is:​

2.31 (i) the subject of the vital record;​
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3.1 (ii) a child of the subject;​

3.2 (iii) the spouse of the subject;​

3.3 (iv) a parent of the subject;​

3.4 (v) the grandparent or grandchild of the subject;​

3.5 (vi) if the requested record is a death record, a sibling of the subject;​

3.6 (vii) the party responsible for filing the vital record;​

3.7 (viii) the legal custodian, guardian or conservator, or health care agent of the subject;​

3.8 (ix) a personal representative, by sworn affidavit of the fact that the certified copy is​

3.9 required for administration of the estate;​

3.10 (x) a successor of the subject, as defined in section 524.1-201, if the subject is deceased,​

3.11 by sworn affidavit of the fact that the certified copy is required for administration of the​

3.12 estate;​

3.13 (xi) if the requested record is a death record, a trustee of a trust by sworn affidavit of​

3.14 the fact that the certified copy is needed for the proper administration of the trust;​

3.15 (xii) a person or entity who demonstrates that a certified vital record is necessary for the​

3.16 determination or protection of a personal or property right, pursuant to rules adopted by the​

3.17 commissioner; or​

3.18 (xiii) an adoption agency in order to complete confidential postadoption searches as​

3.19 required by section 259.83;​

3.20 (2) to any local, state, tribal, or federal governmental agency upon request if the certified​

3.21 vital record is necessary for the governmental agency to perform its authorized duties;​

3.22 (3) to an attorney upon evidence of the attorney's license;​

3.23 (4) pursuant to a court order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction. For purposes​

3.24 of this section, a subpoena does not constitute a court order; or​

3.25 (5) to a representative authorized by a person under clauses (1) to (4).​

3.26 (b) The state registrar or local issuance office shall also issue a certified death record to​

3.27 an individual described in paragraph (a), clause (1), items (ii) to (viii), if, on behalf of the​

3.28 individual, a licensed mortician furnishes the registrar with a properly completed attestation​

3.29 in the form provided by the commissioner within 180 days of the time of death of the subject​

3.30 of the death record. This paragraph is not subject to the requirements specified in Minnesota​

3.31 Rules, part 4601.2600, subpart 5, item B."​
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4.1 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

4.2 Amend the title accordingly​
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