STATE OF MINNESOTA EIGHTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on February 4th, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. A quorum was present.

Rep. Jordan moved that the minutes from February 2nd, 2021 be approved. MOTION PREVAILED.

HF78 (WAZLAWIK) Perfluorochemicals defined as hazardous substance under Minnesota Environment Response and Liability Act.

Rep. Wazlawik moved that HF78 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Wazlawik moved H0078A3 to amend HF78 and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 18 Ayes and 0 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rep. Lueck moved H0078A6 to amend HF78, as amended, and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
ECKLUND, Rob
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
LUECK, Dale
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

NAYS:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)

WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice-Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

By a vote of 9 Ayes to 10 Nays, the MOTION FAILED and the amendment was not adopted.

Rep. Lueck moved H0078A7 to amend HF78, as amended, and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
ECKLUND, Rob
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
LUECK, Dale
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

NAYS:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice-Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

By a vote of 9 Ayes to 10 Nays, the MOTION FAILED and the amendment was not adopted.

Rep. Wazlawik renewed her motion that HF78, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill. HF78, as amended, was laid over.

Testifiers:

Sheri Smith, White Bear Area Neighborhood Concerned Citizen's Group

Eileen Weber, Citizen

Greta Gauthier, Assistant Commissioner MPCA

Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner MPCA

Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy MN Chamber of Commerce

Craig Johnson, League of MN Cities

Elizabeth Wefel, Coalition of Greater MN Cities

John Helmers, ED Solid Waste Association

Steve Risotto, American Chemistry Council

Jay Eidsness, MN Center for Environmental Advocacy

HF79 (WAZLAWIK) Food packaging chemical use regulated.

Rep. Wazlawik moved that HF79 be recommended to be re-referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Rep. Wazlawik moved H0079A2 to amend HF79, and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)

WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)

ACOMB, Patty

AKLAND, Susan

BECKER-FINN, Jamie

ECKLUND, Rob

FISCHER, Peter

GREEN, Steve

IGO, Spencer

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

LEE, Fue

LIPPERT, Todd

LUECK, Dale

MORRISON, Kelly

NELSON, Nathan

THEIS, Tama

NAY:

BACKER, Jeff

By a vote of 17 Ayes and 1 Nay the MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rep. Heintzeman moved H0079A3 to amend HF79, as amended, and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 18 Ayes and 0 nays the MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rep. Wazlawik renewed motion HF79 be recommended to be re-referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
ACOMB, Patty
AKLAND, Susan
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter

IGO, Spencer
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
LUECK, Dale
MORRISON, Kelly
NELSON, Nathan

NAYS:

BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 16 Ayes and 3 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED and HF79, as amended, was recommended to be re-referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Testifiers:

Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy MN Chamber of Commerce Jason Culotta, President Midwest Food Products Association Shawn Swearingen, Director Alliance for Telomer Chemistry Stewardship

Rep. Hansen adjourned the meeting at 2:31 P.M.

Rick Hansen
Chair of Environment Finance and Policy

Adam Kopel
Committee Legislative Assistant