1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 1866, the first engrossment, as follows:
1.2	Page 2, delete section 3
1.3	Page 9, delete section 6
1.4	Page 13, after line 9, insert:
1.5	"Sec. 11. TASK FORCE ON METROPOLITAN GOVERNANCE.
1.6	Subdivision 1. Established. A task force on metropolitan governance is established to
1.7	study and make recommendations to the legislature on metropolitan governance.
1.8	Subd. 2. Membership. The task force consists of 17 members appointed as follows:
1.9	(1) four persons with interest and experience in urban and regional government, appointed
1.10	one each by the speaker of the house, the house minority leader, the senate Subcommittee
1.11	on Committees of the senate Committee on Rules and Administration, and the senate minority
1.12	leader;
1.13	(2) two persons representing cities in the metropolitan area, appointed by the Association
1.14	of Metropolitan Municipalities;
1.15	(3) two county commissioners representing counties in the metropolitan area, appointed
1.16	by the Counties Transit Improvement Board, at least one of whom must represent Scott or
1.17	Carver County;
1.18	(4) one person appointed by the mayor of the city of Minneapolis and one person
1.19	appointed by the mayor of the city of St. Paul;
1.20	(5) one person representing townships in the metropolitan area, appointed by the
1.21	Minnesota Association of Townships;
1.22	(6) one person representing an employee collective bargaining unit of the Metropolitan
1.23	Council, appointed by the Minnesota AFL-CIO;

1

2.1	(7) one person representing private business, appointed by the Minnesota Chamber of
2.2	Commerce;
2.3	(8) two persons representing suburban mayors in the metropolitan area, appointed by
2.4	the Regional Council of Mayors;
2.5	(9) the chair of the Counties Transit Improvement Board; and
2.6	(10) the chair of the Metropolitan Council.
2.7	Subd. 3. Chair; other officers. The task force shall elect from among its members a
2.8	chair and vice-chair and any other officers that the task force determines would be necessary
2.9	or convenient.
2.10	Subd. 4. Duties. The task force shall study and evaluate models of metropolitan
2.11	governance to address regional planning, financing, construction or acquisition, and operation
2.12	of infrastructure and services, including but not limited to transportation, water and
2.13	wastewater, parks, trails, recreation facilities, and open space.
2.14	Subd. 5. State; metropolitan agencies must cooperate; subcommittees. The
2.15	Metropolitan Council and state and metropolitan agencies shall cooperate with the task
2.16	force and provide information requested in a timely fashion. The task force may establish
2.17	subcommittees and invite other stakeholders to participate in the task force's study and
2.18	development of recommendations.
2.19	Subd. 6. No compensation or expenses; grants. Members of the task force shall receive
2.20	no compensation or per diem for participation on the task force. The task force may accept
2.21	grant funds from any federal, state, local, or nongovernmental source to support its work
2.22	and offset any costs imposed on the Metropolitan Council, provided accepting the money
2.23	does not create a conflict of interest for the task force or its members. The Metropolitan
2.24	Council may administer any grant money given to the task force.
2.25	Subd. 7. Administrative support; staff. The Metropolitan Council must provide meeting
2.26	space, administrative support, and staff support for the task force. The task force may hold
2.27	meetings in any publicly accessible location in the metropolitan area.
2.28	Subd. 8. Open meeting law. Meetings of the task force are subject to chapter 13D.
2.29	Subd. 9. Report. The task force shall report its findings and recommendations to the
2.30	chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with responsibility for
2.31	or jurisdiction over the Metropolitan Council and metropolitan agencies. The report is due
2.32	by February 1, 2018.

Sec. 11.

3.1	EFFECTIVE DATE;	EXPIRATION;	APPLICATION.	This section is	s effective the

- 3.2 day following final enactment and expires June 30, 2018. Subdivisions 5, 6, and 7 apply in
- 3.3 the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington."
- 3.4 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
- 3.5 Amend the title accordingly