
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 90 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 ASSISTED LIVING AND HOME CARE RIGHTS AND CONSUMER​
1.5 PROTECTIONS​

1.6 Section 1. [144J.01] DEFINITIONS.​

1.7 Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of this chapter, the following terms have​

1.8 the meanings given them.​

1.9 Subd. 2. Adult. "Adult" means a person who is at least 18 years of age.​

1.10 Subd. 3. Agent. "Agent" means an employee of, or person or entity contracting or​

1.11 affiliated with, the assisted living establishment.​

1.12 Subd. 4. Affiliated home care provider. "Affiliated home care provider" means a home​

1.13 care provider licensed under chapter 144A that provides home care services to residents of​

1.14 an assisted living establishment under a business relationship or other affiliation with the​

1.15 establishment.​

1.16 Subd. 5. Assisted living contract. "Assisted living contract" means the legal agreement​

1.17 between an assisted living establishment and a resident for the provision of:​

1.18 (1) housing;​

1.19 (2) home care services, whether directly or through an affiliated home care provider;​

1.20 and​

1.21 (3) any other services.​

1.22 Subd. 6. Assisted living establishment. (a) "Assisted living establishment" means an​

1.23 entity that is governed under chapter 144G or, after July 1, 2020, is licensed by the​

1​Article 1 Section 1.​
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2.1 commissioner of health to provide housing and offer or provide home care services directly​

2.2 or through an affiliated home care provider. For the purposes of this chapter, unless otherwise​

2.3 provided, an assisted living establishment also includes a housing with services establishment​

2.4 registered under chapter 144D.​

2.5 (b) Assisted living establishment does not include:​

2.6 (1) shelters, transitional housing, or any other residential units serving exclusively or​

2.7 primarily homeless individuals, as defined in section 116L.361;​

2.8 (2) a nursing home licensed under chapter 144A;​

2.9 (3) a hospital, as defined in section 144.50, subdivision 2;​

2.10 (4) a boarding care home, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4655.0100, subpart 3;​

2.11 (5) a supervised living facility, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4665.0100, subpart​

2.12 10;​

2.13 (6) a board and lodging establishment licensed under chapter 157 or 245G or governed​

2.14 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670;​

2.15 (7) any establishment that serves as a shelter for battered women or other similar purpose;​

2.16 (8) adult foster care licensed by the Department of Human Services;​

2.17 (9) private homes in which the residents are related to the providers of services by​

2.18 kinship, law, or affinity;​

2.19 (10) residential settings for persons with developmental disabilities in which the services​

2.20 are licensed under chapter 245D;​

2.21 (11) a home-sharing arrangement, including but not limited to arrangements where an​

2.22 older person, person with a disability, or single-parent family makes lodging in a private​

2.23 residence available to another person in exchange for services or rent, or both;​

2.24 (12) a condominium, cooperative, common interest community, or owners' association​

2.25 organized under chapter 515B where at least 80 percent of the units that comprise the​

2.26 condominium, cooperative, common interest community, or association are occupied by​

2.27 individuals who are the owners, members, or shareholders of the units;​

2.28 (13) services for persons with developmental disabilities that are provided under a license​

2.29 under chapter 245D; or​

2.30 (14) a temporary family health care dwelling as defined in section 394.307, subdivision​

2.31 1.​
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3.1 Subd. 7. Client. "Client" means a person to whom an unaffiliated home care provider​

3.2 provides home care services under a home care contract.​

3.3 Subd. 8. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of health.​

3.4 Subd. 9. Designated representative. "Designated representative" means:​

3.5 (1) a court-appointed guardian;​

3.6 (2) a conservator;​

3.7 (3) an attorney-in-fact;​

3.8 (4) a health care agent, as defined in section 145C.01, subdivision 2; or​

3.9 (5) a person designated in writing by the resident and identified in the resident's records​

3.10 on file with the assisted living establishment.​

3.11 Subd. 10. Home care provider. "Home care provider" means an affiliated or unaffiliated​

3.12 home care provider.​

3.13 Subd. 11. Home care service agreement or service agreement. "Home care service​

3.14 agreement" or "service agreement" means the written plan described in section 144A.43,​

3.15 subdivision 27, between the home care client or the client's designated representative and​

3.16 an unaffiliated home care provider describing the home care services that will be provided​

3.17 to the client.​

3.18 Subd. 12. Home care services. "Home care services" means:​

3.19 (1) the basic home care services described in section 144A.471, subdivision 6, clauses​

3.20 (1) to (5);​

3.21 (2) the comprehensive home care services described in section 144A.471, subdivision​

3.22 7;​

3.23 (3) monitoring or supervising the resident's functioning and needs to ensure the resident's​

3.24 well-being;​

3.25 (4) assistance with laundry, shopping, and household chores;​

3.26 (5) housekeeping services;​

3.27 (6) providing assistance with meals or food preparation;​

3.28 (7) help with arranging for or providing transportation to medical, social, recreational,​

3.29 personal, or social service appointments; or​

3.30 (8) social or recreational services.​

3​Article 1 Section 1.​
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4.1 Subd. 13. Housing with services establishment. "Housing with services establishment"​

4.2 has the meaning given in section 144D.01, subdivision 4.​

4.3 Subd. 14. Resident. "Resident" means a person living in an assisted living establishment.​

4.4 Subd. 15. Unaffiliated home care provider. "Unaffiliated home care provider" means​

4.5 a home care provider regularly engaged for a fee in the delivery of one or more home care​

4.6 services directly to a client in any setting, including to a resident of an assisted living​

4.7 establishment, provided the home care provider has no business relationship or affiliation​

4.8 with the assisted living establishment where the client contracting for or receiving home​

4.9 care services resides.​

4.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

4.11 Sec. 2. [144J.02] ASSISTED LIVING CONTRACTS.​

4.12 Subdivision 1. Contract required. (a) No assisted living establishment may offer or​

4.13 provide housing, home care services, or other services to a resident unless it has executed​

4.14 a written contract with the resident.​

4.15 (b) The contract must:​

4.16 (1) be signed by both:​

4.17 (i) the resident or the resident's designated representative; and​

4.18 (ii) the owner or owners, or an agent of the owner or owners, of the assisted living​

4.19 establishment;​

4.20 (2) contain all the terms concerning the provision of:​

4.21 (i) housing; and​

4.22 (ii) services, including all home care services, whether provided directly by the assisted​

4.23 living establishment or by an affiliated home care provider.​

4.24 (c) An assisted living establishment must:​

4.25 (1) offer to prospective residents and provide to the Office of the Ombudsman for​

4.26 Long-Term Care a complete unsigned copy of its assisted living contract; and​

4.27 (2) give a complete copy of any signed contract and any addendums, and all supporting​

4.28 documents and attachments, to the resident or the resident's designated representative​

4.29 promptly after a contract and any addendum has been signed by the resident or the resident's​

4.30 designated representative.​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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5.1 (d) A contract under this section is a consumer contract under sections 325G.29 to​

5.2 325G.37.​

5.3 (e) Before or at the time of execution of an assisted living contract, the assisted living​

5.4 establishment must offer the resident the opportunity to identify a designated representative​

5.5 in writing in the contract. The contract must contain a page or space for the name and contact​

5.6 information of the designated representative and a box the resident must initial if the resident​

5.7 declines to name a designated representative. Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the resident​

5.8 has the right at any time to rescind the declination or add or change the name and contact​

5.9 information of the designated representative.​

5.10 (f) The resident must agree in writing to any additions or amendments to the contract.​

5.11 Upon agreement between the resident or resident's designated representative and the assisted​

5.12 living establishment, a new contract or an addendum to the existing contract must be executed​

5.13 and signed.​

5.14 Subd. 2. Contents of contract; contact information. (a) An assisted living contract​

5.15 must include in a conspicuous place and manner on the contract, the legal name, the license​

5.16 or registration number of the assisted living establishment, and the license number of any​

5.17 affiliated home care provider.​

5.18 (b) An assisted living contract must include the name, telephone number, and physical​

5.19 mailing address, which may not be a public or private post office box, of:​

5.20 (1) the assisted living establishment and any affiliated home care provider;​

5.21 (2) the owner or owners of the assisted living establishment and of any affiliated home​

5.22 care provider;​

5.23 (3) the managing agent of the assisted living establishment; and​

5.24 (4) at least one natural person who is authorized to accept service of process on behalf​

5.25 of the assisted living establishment and each affiliated home care provider.​

5.26 Subd. 3. Duration of contract. An assisted living contract must include:​

5.27 (1) a description of all the terms and conditions of the contract, including a description​

5.28 of and any limitations to the housing and home care services to be provided for the contracted​

5.29 amount;​

5.30 (2) a delineation of the cost and nature of any other services to be provided for an​

5.31 additional fee;​

5​Article 1 Sec. 2.​

HOUSE RESEARCH EK/JG H0090DE1​02/13/19 03:45 pm ​



6.1 (3) a delineation and description of any additional fees the resident may be required to​

6.2 pay if the resident's condition changes during the term of the contract;​

6.3 (4) a delineation of the grounds under which the resident may be discharged, evicted,​

6.4 or transferred or have services terminated; and​

6.5 (5) billing and payment procedures and requirements.​

6.6 Subd. 4. Complaint procedures. An assisted living contract must include a description​

6.7 of the assisted living establishment's complaint resolution process available to residents,​

6.8 including the name and contact information of the person representing the assisted living​

6.9 establishment who is designated to handle and resolve complaints.​

6.10 Subd. 5. Notice required. An assisted living contract must include a clear and​

6.11 conspicuous notice of:​

6.12 (1) the right under section 144J.13 to challenge a discharge, eviction, or transfer or​

6.13 service termination;​

6.14 (2) the assisted living establishment's policy regarding transfer of residents within the​

6.15 establishment, under what circumstances transfer may occur, and whether or not consent​

6.16 of the resident being asked to transfer is required;​

6.17 (3) the toll-free complaint line for the long-term care ombudsman and the Office of​

6.18 Health Facility Complaints;​

6.19 (4) the resident's right to obtain services from an unaffiliated home care provider;​

6.20 (5) the availability of public funds for eligible residents to pay for housing or services,​

6.21 or both; and​

6.22 (6) the contact information to obtain long-term care consulting services under section​

6.23 256B.0911.​

6.24 Subd. 6. Contracts in permanent files. Assisted living contracts and related documents​

6.25 executed by each resident or the resident's designated representative must be maintained​

6.26 by the assisted living establishment in files from the date of execution of the assisted living​

6.27 contract until three years after the contract is terminated or expires. Assisted living contracts​

6.28 and any applicable written disclosures required under section 325F.72 shall be made available​

6.29 for on-site inspection by the commissioner upon request at any time.​

6.30 Subd. 7. Waivers of liability prohibited. An assisted living contract must not include​

6.31 a waiver of assisted living establishment liability for the health and safety or personal​

6.32 property of a resident. An assisted living contract must not include any provision that the​
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7.1 assisted living establishment knows or should know to be deceptive, unlawful, or​

7.2 unenforceable under state or federal law, nor include any provision that requires or implies​

7.3 a lesser standard of care or responsibility than is required by law.​

7.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for all assisted living contracts entered​

7.5 into on or after January 1, 2020. Prior to January 1, 2020, assisted living establishments are​

7.6 governed by the contract requirements in sections 144D.04 and 144D.045.​

7.7 Sec. 3. [144J.03] HOUSING AND SERVICE-RELATED MATTERS.​

7.8 Subdivision 1. Responsibility for housing and services. The assisted living​

7.9 establishment is directly responsible to the resident for all housing and service-related​

7.10 matters provided directly or through an affiliated home care provider. Housing and​

7.11 service-related matters include but are not limited to the handling of complaints, the provision​

7.12 of notices, and the initiation of any adverse action against the resident involving housing​

7.13 or services provided by the assisted living establishment or any agent, including an affiliated​

7.14 home care provider.​

7.15 Subd. 2. Uniform checklist disclosure of services. (a) On and after July 1, 2020, an​

7.16 assisted living establishment must provide to prospective residents, the prospective resident's​

7.17 designated representative, and any other person or persons the resident chooses:​

7.18 (1) a written checklist listing all services permitted under the assisted living​

7.19 establishment's license and identifying all services the assisted living establishment offers​

7.20 to provide under the assisted living contract; and​

7.21 (2) an oral explanation of the services offered under the assisted living contract.​

7.22 (b) The requirements of paragraph (a) must be completed prior to the execution of an​

7.23 assisted living contract.​

7.24 (c) The commissioner must, in consultation with all interested stakeholders, design the​

7.25 uniform checklist disclosure form for use as provided under paragraph (a).​

7.26 Subd. 3. Reservation of rights. Nothing in this chapter or chapter 144I:​

7.27 (1) requires a resident to utilize any service provided by or through, or made available​

7.28 in, an assisted living establishment;​

7.29 (2) prevents an assisted living establishment from requiring, as a condition of the assisted​

7.30 living contract, that the resident pay for a package of services even if the resident does not​

7.31 choose to utilize all or some of the services in the package;​

7​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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8.1 (3) requires an assisted living establishment to fundamentally alter the nature of the​

8.2 operations of the establishment in order to accommodate a resident's request; or​

8.3 (4) affects the duty of an assisted living establishment to grant a resident's request for​

8.4 reasonable accommodations.​

8.5 Sec. 4. [144J.04] NOTICE TO RESIDENTS OF CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP OR​

8.6 MANAGEMENT.​

8.7 An assisted living establishment must provide prompt written notice to the resident or​

8.8 resident's designated representative of any change of legal name, telephone number, and​

8.9 physical mailing address, which may not be a public or private post office box, of:​

8.10 (1) the owner or owners of the assisted living establishment or affiliated home care​

8.11 provider or, after July 1, 2020, the assisted living establishment or affiliated home care​

8.12 provider or housing with services registrant, if different from the owner or owners of the​

8.13 assisted living establishment;​

8.14 (2) the manager of the assisted living establishment; and​

8.15 (3) the natural person authorized to accept legal process on behalf of the assisted living​

8.16 establishment or affiliated home care provider.​

8.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

8.18 Sec. 5. [144J.05] NOTICES IN PLAIN LANGUAGE AND LANGUAGE​

8.19 ACCOMMODATIONS.​

8.20 Assisted living establishments and affiliated home care providers must provide all notices​

8.21 in plain language that residents can understand and make reasonable accommodations for​

8.22 residents who have communication disabilities and those whose primary language is a​

8.23 language other than English.​

8.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

8.25 Sec. 6. [144J.06] ASSISTED LIVING AND HOME CARE RIGHTS.​

8.26 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Assisted living establishment" includes an affiliated​

8.27 home care provider.​

8.28 (b) "Maltreatment" means conduct described in section 626.5572, subdivision 15, or the​

8.29 intentional and nontherapeutic infliction of physical pain or injury, or any persistent course​

8.30 of conduct intended to produce mental or emotional distress.​

8​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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9.1 (c) "Resident" means a person residing in an assisted living establishment or any person​

9.2 receiving home care services from an affiliated or unaffiliated home care provider.​

9.3 Subd. 2. Applicability. All home care providers, including those exempted from home​

9.4 care licensure under section 144A.471, subdivision 8, must comply with this section and​

9.5 the commissioner shall enforce this section against home care providers exempt from​

9.6 licensure in the same manner as for licensees.​

9.7 Subd. 3. Legislative intent. It is the intent of the legislature to promote the interests and​

9.8 well-being of residents. It is the intent of this section that every resident's civil and religious​

9.9 liberties, including the right to independent personal decisions and knowledge of available​

9.10 choices, shall not be infringed and that the assisted living establishment or home care​

9.11 provider must encourage and assist in the fullest possible exercise of these rights. The rights​

9.12 established under this section for the benefit of residents do not limit the rights residents​

9.13 have under other applicable law.​

9.14 Subd. 4. Right to information about rights. (a) Before receiving services, residents​

9.15 have the right to receive from the assisted living establishment or unaffiliated home care​

9.16 provider written information about rights under this section in plain language and in terms​

9.17 residents can understand. The provider must make reasonable accommodations for residents​

9.18 who have communication disabilities and those who speak a language other than English.​

9.19 The information must include:​

9.20 (1) what recourse the resident has if rights are violated;​

9.21 (2) the name, address, telephone number, and e-mail contact information of organizations​

9.22 that provide advocacy and legal services for residents to enforce their rights including but​

9.23 not limited to the designated protection and advocacy organization in Minnesota that provides​

9.24 advice and representation to individuals with disabilities; and​

9.25 (3) the name, address, telephone number, and e-mail contact information for government​

9.26 agencies where the resident or private client may file a maltreatment report, complain, or​

9.27 seek assistance, including the Office of Health Facility Complaints, the long-term care​

9.28 ombudsman, and state and county agencies that regulate assisted living establishments and​

9.29 home care providers.​

9.30 (b) Upon request, residents and their designated representatives have the right to current​

9.31 assisted living establishment or home care provider policies, inspection findings of state​

9.32 and local health authorities, and further explanation of the rights provided under this section,​

9.33 consistent with chapter 13 and section 626.557.​

9​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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10.1 Subd. 5. Right to courteous treatment. Residents have the right to be treated with​

10.2 courtesy and respect, and to have the resident's property treated with respect.​

10.3 Subd. 6. Right to appropriate care and services. (a) Residents have the right to care​

10.4 and services that are appropriate based on the resident's needs and according to an up-to-date​

10.5 plan for care and services. All plans for care and services must be designed to enable residents​

10.6 to achieve their highest level of emotional, psychological, physical, medical, and functional​

10.7 well-being and safety.​

10.8 (b) Residents have the right to receive medical and personal care and services with​

10.9 continuity by people who are properly trained and competent to perform their duties and in​

10.10 sufficient numbers to adequately provide the services agreed to in the assisted living contract​

10.11 or home care service agreement.​

10.12 Subd. 7. Right to information about individuals providing services. Residents have​

10.13 the right to be told before receiving services the type and disciplines of staff who will be​

10.14 providing the services, the frequency of visits proposed to be furnished, and other choices​

10.15 that are available for addressing the resident's needs.​

10.16 Subd. 8. Freedom from maltreatment. Residents have the right to be free from​

10.17 maltreatment.​

10.18 Subd. 9. Right to participate in care and service planning; notice of change. Residents​

10.19 have the right to actively participate in the planning, modification, and evaluation of their​

10.20 care and services. This right includes:​

10.21 (1) the opportunity to discuss care, services, treatment, and alternatives with the​

10.22 appropriate caregivers;​

10.23 (2) the opportunity to request and participate in formal care conferences;​

10.24 (3) the right to include a family member or the resident's designated representative, or​

10.25 both; and​

10.26 (4) the right to be told in advance of, and take an active part in decisions regarding, any​

10.27 recommended changes in the plan for care and services.​

10.28 Subd. 10. Right to disclosure of contract services and rights to purchase outside​

10.29 services. (a) Residents have the right to be informed, prior to receiving care or services​

10.30 from an affiliated or unaffiliated home care provider and during their stay in an assisted​

10.31 living establishment of:​

10​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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11.1 (1) care and services which are included under the terms of the assisted living contract​

11.2 and the home care service agreement, if applicable;​

11.3 (2) information about care and other public services or private services that may be​

11.4 available in the community at additional charges; and​

11.5 (3) any limits to the services available from the assisted living establishment or an​

11.6 unaffiliated home care provider.​

11.7 (b) If an assisted living contract or home care service agreement permits changes in​

11.8 services, residents have the right to reasonable, advance notice of any change.​

11.9 (c) Residents have the right to purchase or rent goods or services not included in the​

11.10 assisted living contract rate or home care service agreement rate from a supplier of their​

11.11 choice unless otherwise provided by law. The supplier must ensure that these purchases are​

11.12 sufficient to meet the medical or treatment needs of the residents.​

11.13 (d) Residents have the right to change home care providers after services have begun,​

11.14 within the limits of health insurance, long-term care insurance, medical assistance, or other​

11.15 health programs, and contractual agreements.​

11.16 (e) Home care providers must make every effort to assist residents in obtaining​

11.17 information regarding whether the Medicare, medical assistance, or other public program​

11.18 will pay for any or all of the services.​

11.19 Subd. 11. Right to information about charges. (a) Before services are initiated, residents​

11.20 have the right to be notified:​

11.21 (1) of home care provider charges for the services;​

11.22 (2) as to what extent payment may be expected from health insurance, public programs,​

11.23 or other sources, if known; and​

11.24 (3) what charges the resident may be responsible for paying.​

11.25 (b) If an assisted living contract or home care service agreement permits changes in​

11.26 charges, residents have the right to reasonable, advance notice of any change.​

11.27 Subd. 12. Right to information about health care treatment. Where applicable,​

11.28 residents have the right to be given by their physicians complete and current information​

11.29 concerning their diagnosis, cognitive functioning level, treatment, alternatives, risks, and​

11.30 prognosis as required by the physician's legal duty to disclose. This information must be in​

11.31 terms and language the residents can reasonably be expected to understand. This information​

11.32 shall include the likely medical or major psychological results of the treatment and its​
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12.1 alternatives. Residents receiving home care services from the assisted living establishment​

12.2 directly, or through an affiliated home care provider, may be accompanied by a family​

12.3 member or other designated representative, or both.​

12.4 Subd. 13. Right to refuse services or care. (a) Residents have the right to refuse services​

12.5 or care.​

12.6 (b) Home care providers and assisted living establishments must document in the​

12.7 resident's record that the home care provider informed residents who refuse care, services,​

12.8 treatment, medication, or dietary restrictions of the likely medical, health-related, or​

12.9 psychological consequences of the refusal.​

12.10 (c) In cases where a resident is incapable of understanding the circumstances but has​

12.11 not been adjudicated incompetent, or when legal requirements limit the right to refuse​

12.12 medical treatment, the conditions and circumstances must be fully documented by the​

12.13 attending physician in the resident's record.​

12.14 Subd. 14. Right to personal, treatment, and communication privacy. (a) In assisted​

12.15 living establishments, residents have the right to:​

12.16 (1) every consideration of their privacy, individuality, and cultural identity as related to​

12.17 their social, religious, and psychological well-being. Staff must respect the privacy of a​

12.18 resident's space by knocking on the door and seeking consent before entering, except in an​

12.19 emergency or where clearly inadvisable;​

12.20 (2) respectfulness and privacy as they relate to the resident's medical and personal care​

12.21 program. Case discussion, consultation, examination, and treatment are confidential and​

12.22 must be conducted discreetly. Privacy must be respected during toileting, bathing, and other​

12.23 activities of personal hygiene, except as needed for resident safety or assistance;​

12.24 (3) communicate privately with persons of their choice;​

12.25 (4) enter and, except as provided by civil commitment under chapter 253B or if not​

12.26 residing in a secure assisted living establishment, leave the facility as they choose;​

12.27 (5) private communication with a representative of a protection and advocacy services​

12.28 agency; and​

12.29 (6) access Internet service at their expense, unless offered by the home care provider or​

12.30 assisted living establishment.​

12.31 (b) Personal mail must be sent by the assisted living establishment without interference​

12.32 and received unopened unless medically or programmatically contraindicated and​
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13.1 documented by the physician or advanced practice registered nurse in the resident's record.​

13.2 Residents must be provided access to a telephone to make and receive calls as well as speak​

13.3 privately. Assisted living establishments that are unable to provide a private area must make​

13.4 reasonable arrangements to accommodate the privacy of residents' calls.​

13.5 Subd. 15. Right to confidentiality of records. Residents have the right to have personal,​

13.6 financial, and medical information kept private, to approve or refuse release of information​

13.7 to any outside party, and to be advised of the assisted living establishment and home care​

13.8 providers' policies and procedures regarding disclosure of the information. Residents must​

13.9 be notified when personal records are requested by any outside party.​

13.10 Subd. 16. Right to visitors and social participation. (a) Residents have the right of​

13.11 reasonable access at reasonable times, or any time when the resident's welfare is in immediate​

13.12 jeopardy, to any available rights protection services and advocacy services.​

13.13 (b) Residents have the right to meet with or receive visits at reasonable times by the​

13.14 resident's guardian, conservator, health care agent, family, attorney, advocate, religious or​

13.15 social work counselor, or any person of the resident's choosing, or at any time when the​

13.16 resident's welfare is in immediate jeopardy.​

13.17 (c) Residents have the right to participate in commercial, religious, social, community,​

13.18 and political activities without interference and at their discretion if the activities do not​

13.19 infringe on the right to privacy of other residents.​

13.20 Subd. 17. Right to designate representative. Residents have the right to name a​

13.21 designated representative. Before or at the time of execution of an assisted living contract,​

13.22 assisted living establishments must offer the resident the opportunity to identify a designated​

13.23 representative in writing in the contract. Residents have the right at any time at or after they​

13.24 enter into an assisted living contract to name a designated representative.​

13.25 Subd. 18. Right to form family and advisory councils. Residents in assisted living​

13.26 establishments and their families have the right to organize, maintain, and participate in​

13.27 resident family and advisory councils. Assisted living establishments must provide assistance​

13.28 and space for meetings and afford privacy. Staff or visitors may attend only upon the council's​

13.29 invitation. A staff person must be designated the responsibility of providing this assistance​

13.30 and responding to written requests that result from council meetings. Resident and family​

13.31 councils must be encouraged to make recommendations regarding establishment policies.​

13.32 Subd. 19. Right to complain. Residents have the right to:​

13.33 (1) complain or inquire about either care or services that are provided or not provided;​
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14.1 (2) complain about the lack of courtesy or respect to the resident or to the resident's​

14.2 property;​

14.3 (3) know how to contact the agent of the assisted living establishment or unaffiliated​

14.4 home care provider who is responsible for handling complaints and inquiries;​

14.5 (4) have the assisted living establishment or the unaffiliated home care provider conduct​

14.6 an investigation, attempt to resolve, and provide a timely response to the complaint or​

14.7 inquiry; and​

14.8 (5) recommend changes in policies and services to staff and others of their choice.​

14.9 Subd. 20. Right to assert rights. Residents, their designated representatives, or any​

14.10 person or persons on behalf of the resident have the right to assert the rights granted to​

14.11 residents under this section or any other section.​

14.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

14.13 Sec. 7. [144J.07] ELECTRONIC MONITORING.​

14.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

14.15 the meanings given them.​

14.16 (b) "Electronic monitoring device" means a camera or other device that captures, records,​

14.17 or broadcasts audio, video, or both, that is placed in a resident's room or private living space​

14.18 and is used to monitor the resident or activities in the room or private living space.​

14.19 (c) "Facility" means a facility that is:​

14.20 (1) licensed as a nursing home under chapter 144A;​

14.21 (2) licensed as a boarding care home under sections 144.50 to 144.56; or​

14.22 (3) an assisted living establishment, as defined in section 144J.01, subdivision 6.​

14.23 (d) "Resident representative" means a court-appointed guardian, health care agent under​

14.24 section 145C.01, subdivision 2, or a person chosen by the resident and identified in the​

14.25 resident's records on file with the facility.​

14.26 Subd. 2. Electronic monitoring authorized. (a) A facility must allow a resident or a​

14.27 resident representative to conduct electronic monitoring of the resident's room or private​

14.28 living space as provided in this section.​

14.29 (b) Nothing in this section precludes the use of electronic monitoring of health care​

14.30 allowed under other law.​
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15.1 Subd. 3. Consent on behalf of a resident. (a) If the resident has not affirmatively​

15.2 objected to electronic monitoring and the resident's health care provider determines that the​

15.3 resident lacks the ability to understand and appreciate the nature and consequences of​

15.4 electronic monitoring, the resident representative may consent on behalf of the resident,​

15.5 subject to paragraph (b). For purposes of this subdivision, a resident affirmatively objects​

15.6 when the resident orally, visually, or through the use of auxiliary aids or services declines​

15.7 electronic monitoring.​

15.8 (b) Prior to a resident representative consenting on behalf of a resident, the resident must​

15.9 be asked by the resident representative if the resident wants electronic monitoring to be​

15.10 conducted. The resident representative must explain to the resident:​

15.11 (1) the reason for placing the electronic monitoring device;​

15.12 (2) the type of electronic monitoring device to be used;​

15.13 (3) that the resident may place conditions on the electronic monitoring device's use, as​

15.14 provided under subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (6);​

15.15 (4) with whom the recording may be shared under this section; and​

15.16 (5) the resident's ability to decline all recording.​

15.17 The resident's response must be documented on the notification and consent form.​

15.18 (c) A resident may set conditions for use of the electronic monitoring device, including​

15.19 the list of standard conditions provided under subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (6).​

15.20 (d) A resident may request that the electronic monitoring device be turned off or the​

15.21 visual or audio recording component of the electronic monitoring device be blocked at any​

15.22 time.​

15.23 (e) A resident may withdraw the consent made on the resident's behalf at any time by​

15.24 affirmatively objecting to the monitoring.​

15.25 Subd. 4. Roommate consent. (a) Prior to implementing electronic monitoring, a resident​

15.26 or a resident representative must obtain the written consent on the notification and consent​

15.27 form of any other resident residing in the room or private living space.​

15.28 (b) If the roommate has not affirmatively objected to the electronic monitoring in​

15.29 accordance with this subdivision and the roommate's physician determines that the roommate​

15.30 lacks the ability to understand and appreciate the nature and consequences of electronic​

15.31 monitoring, the roommate's resident representative may consent on behalf of the roommate.​

15.32 The roommate and the roommate's resident representative must be told:​
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16.1 (1) the reason for placing the electronic monitoring device;​

16.2 (2) the type of electronic monitoring device to be used;​

16.3 (3) that they can place conditions on the electronic monitoring device's use, including​

16.4 those listed under subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (6);​

16.5 (4) with whom the recording may be shared under this section; and​

16.6 (5) their ability to decline all recording.​

16.7 (c) A roommate or roommate's resident representative may consent to electronic​

16.8 monitoring with any conditions of the roommate's choosing, including the list of standard​

16.9 conditions listed under subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (6). A roommate may request​

16.10 that the visual or audio recording component of the electronic monitoring device be disabled​

16.11 or blocked at any time.​

16.12 (d) The roommate or roommate's resident representative may withdraw consent at any​

16.13 time by submitting written notice to the facility.​

16.14 (e) Any resident currently conducting electronic monitoring must obtain consent from​

16.15 any new roommate before the resident continues authorized electronic monitoring. If a new​

16.16 roommate does not consent to electronic monitoring and the resident conducting the electronic​

16.17 monitoring does not remove the electronic monitoring device, the facility must remove the​

16.18 electronic monitoring device.​

16.19 Subd. 5. Reasonable accommodation. (a) If a resident of a facility who is residing in​

16.20 a shared room wants to conduct electronic monitoring and another resident living in or​

16.21 moving into the same shared room refuses to consent to the use of an electronic monitoring​

16.22 device, the facility must make a reasonable attempt to accommodate the resident who wants​

16.23 to conduct electronic monitoring. A facility has met the requirement to make a reasonable​

16.24 attempt when upon notification that a roommate has not consented to the use of an electronic​

16.25 monitoring device in the resident's room, the facility offers to move the resident to another​

16.26 shared room that is available at the time of the request.​

16.27 (b) If a resident chooses to reside in a private room in a facility in order to accommodate​

16.28 the use of an electronic monitoring device, the resident must pay the private room rate. If​

16.29 a facility is unable to accommodate a resident due to lack of space, the facility must​

16.30 reevaluate the request every two weeks until the request is fulfilled. Notwithstanding any​

16.31 other provision of this chapter, a facility is not required to provide a private room or a​

16.32 single-bed room to a resident who is not a private-pay resident.​

16​Article 1 Sec. 7.​

HOUSE RESEARCH EK/JG H0090DE1​02/13/19 03:45 pm ​



17.1 Subd. 6. Notice of monitoring to the facility; exceptions to required notice. (a)​

17.2 Electronic monitoring may begin only after the resident or resident representative who​

17.3 intends to place an electronic monitoring device completes and submits to the facility a​

17.4 notification and consent form prescribed by the commissioner.​

17.5 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the resident or resident representative who intends​

17.6 to place an electronic monitoring device may do so without submitting a notification and​

17.7 consent form to the facility:​

17.8 (1) for up to 30 days if the resident or the resident representative reasonably fears​

17.9 retaliation against the resident by the facility and timely submits a Minnesota Adult Abuse​

17.10 Reporting Center report or police report, or both, upon evidence from the electronic​

17.11 monitoring device that suspected maltreatment has occurred;​

17.12 (2) for up to 30 days if there has not been a timely written response from the facility to​

17.13 a written communication from the resident or resident representative expressing a concern​

17.14 prompting the desire for placement of an electronic monitoring device; or​

17.15 (3) for up to 30 days if the resident or resident representative has already submitted a​

17.16 Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center report or police report regarding the resident's​

17.17 concerns prompting the desire for placement.​

17.18 Subd. 7. Notification and consent form requirements. (a) The notification and consent​

17.19 form must include, at a minimum, the following information:​

17.20 (1) the resident's signed consent to electronic monitoring or the signature of the resident​

17.21 representative, if applicable. If the resident representative signs the consent form, the form​

17.22 must document the following:​

17.23 (i) the date the resident was asked if the resident wants electronic monitoring to be​

17.24 conducted;​

17.25 (ii) who was present when the resident was asked; and​

17.26 (iii) an acknowledgment that the resident did not affirmatively object;​

17.27 (2) the resident's roommate's signed consent or the signature of the roommate's resident​

17.28 representative, if applicable. If a roommate's resident representative signs the consent form,​

17.29 the form must document the following:​

17.30 (i) the date the roommate was asked if the roommate consents to electronic monitoring;​

17.31 (ii) who was present when the roommate was asked; and​

17.32 (iii) an acknowledgment that the roommate did not affirmatively object;​
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18.1 (3) the type of electronic monitoring device to be used;​

18.2 (4) any installation needs, including the mounting of a device to a wall or ceiling;​

18.3 (5) the proposed date of installation for scheduling purposes;​

18.4 (6) a list of standard conditions or restrictions that the resident or a roommate may elect​

18.5 to place on the use of the electronic monitoring device including but not limited to:​

18.6 (i) prohibiting audio recording;​

18.7 (ii) prohibiting video recording;​

18.8 (iii) prohibiting broadcasting of audio or video;​

18.9 (iv) turning off the electronic monitoring device or blocking the visual recording​

18.10 component of the electronic monitoring device for the duration of an exam or procedure by​

18.11 a health care professional;​

18.12 (v) turning off the electronic monitoring device or blocking the visual recording​

18.13 component of the electronic monitoring device while dressing or bathing is performed; and​

18.14 (vi) turning off the electronic monitoring device for the duration of a visit with a spiritual​

18.15 adviser, ombudsman, attorney, financial planner, intimate partner, or other visitor;​

18.16 (7) any other condition or restriction elected by the resident or roommate on the use of​

18.17 an electronic monitoring device;​

18.18 (8) a signature box for documenting that the resident or roommate has withdrawn consent;​

18.19 and​

18.20 (9) a statement of the circumstances under which a recording may be disseminated under​

18.21 subdivision 10.​

18.22 (b) Subject to subdivision 6, paragraph (b), copies of the completed notification and​

18.23 consent form must be provided to the resident and the resident's roommate, if applicable.​

18.24 Copies of all completed notification and consent forms must be submitted to the facility,​

18.25 and the facility must keep the notification and consent forms on file in a location separate​

18.26 from the resident's clinical record.​

18.27 (c) The commissioner must prepare a notification and consent form required in this​

18.28 section no later than August 1, 2019, and must make the form available on the department's​

18.29 website.​
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19.1 Subd. 8. Costs and installation. (a) A resident or resident representative choosing to​

19.2 conduct electronic monitoring must do so at the resident's own expense, including paying​

19.3 for the purchase, installation, maintenance, and removal costs.​

19.4 (b) If a resident chooses to install an electronic monitoring device that uses Internet​

19.5 technology for visual or audio monitoring and Internet service is not included in the rate or​

19.6 available through facility, the resident may be responsible for contracting with an Internet​

19.7 service provider.​

19.8 (c) The facility must make a reasonable attempt to accommodate the resident's installation​

19.9 needs, including allowing access to the facility's telecommunications or equipment room.​

19.10 A facility has the burden of proving that a requested accommodation is not reasonable.​

19.11 (d) All electronic monitoring device installations and supporting services must be​

19.12 Underwriters Laboratories-listed.​

19.13 Subd. 9. Notice to visitors. A facility must post a sign at each entrance accessible to​

19.14 visitors that states: "Electronic monitoring devices may be present to record persons and​

19.15 activities" using bold typeface and using a font size that can be easily seen. The facility is​

19.16 responsible for installing and maintaining the signage required in this subdivision.​

19.17 Subd. 10. Dissemination of data. (a) No person may access any video or audio recording​

19.18 created through electronic monitoring without the written consent of the resident or the​

19.19 resident representative.​

19.20 (b) Except as required under other law, a recording or copy of a recording made as​

19.21 provided in this section may only be disseminated for the purpose of addressing health,​

19.22 safety, or welfare concerns of a resident or residents.​

19.23 (c) Disseminating a recording or a copy of a recording that was made according to this​

19.24 section but in violation of this subdivision may be grounds for civil or criminal liability.​

19.25 (d) An employee of a facility who is the subject of proposed corrective or disciplinary​

19.26 action based upon evidence obtained by electronic monitoring must be given access to that​

19.27 evidence for purposes of defending against the proposed action. The recording or a copy​

19.28 of the recording must be treated confidentially by the employee and must not be further​

19.29 disseminated to any other person except as required under law. Any copy of the recording​

19.30 must be returned to the facility or resident who provided the copy when it is no longer​

19.31 needed for purposes of defending against a proposed action.​

19​Article 1 Sec. 7.​

HOUSE RESEARCH EK/JG H0090DE1​02/13/19 03:45 pm ​



20.1 Subd. 11. Facility liability. (a) A facility is not civilly or criminally liable for the​

20.2 inadvertent or unintentional disclosure of a recording by a resident or a resident representative​

20.3 for any purpose not authorized by this section.​

20.4 (b) A facility is not civilly or criminally liable for a violation of a resident's right to​

20.5 privacy based solely on the use of electronic monitoring conducted as provided for in this​

20.6 section.​

20.7 Subd. 12. Obstruction of electronic monitoring. (a) A person must not knowingly​

20.8 hamper, obstruct, tamper with, or destroy an electronic monitoring device installed in a​

20.9 resident's room or private living space without the permission of the resident or the resident's​

20.10 legal representative.​

20.11 (b) It is not a violation of this subdivision if a person turns off the electronic monitoring​

20.12 device or blocks the visual recording component of the electronic monitoring device at the​

20.13 direction of the resident or the resident's legal representative, or if consent for use of​

20.14 electronic monitoring has been withdrawn.​

20.15 Subd. 13. Resident rights and protection. A facility must not:​

20.16 (1) refuse to admit a potential resident or remove a resident because the facility disagrees​

20.17 with the potential resident's or the resident representative's decisions regarding electronic​

20.18 monitoring;​

20.19 (2) retaliate against any resident for consenting or refusing to consent to electronic​

20.20 monitoring under this section; or​

20.21 (3) prevent the placement or use of an electronic monitoring device by a resident who​

20.22 has provided the facility with notice and consent as required under this section.​

20.23 Subd. 14. Penalties. The commissioner may issue a correction order upon a finding that​

20.24 the facility has failed to comply with this section. The commissioner may impose a fine of​

20.25 up to $500 upon a finding of noncompliance with a correction order issued under this​

20.26 subdivision.​

20.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

20.28 Sec. 8. [144J.08] USE OF RESTRAINTS IN ASSISTED LIVING​

20.29 ESTABLISHMENTS.​

20.30 Residents of assisted living establishments must be free from any physical or chemical​

20.31 restraints imposed for purposes of discipline or convenience.​

20.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​
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21.1 Sec. 9. [144J.09] RETALIATION PROHIBITED IN ASSISTED LIVING​

21.2 ESTABLISHMENTS.​

21.3 (a) No assisted living establishment or agent of the assisted living establishment may​

21.4 retaliate against a resident or employee if the resident, employee, or any person on behalf​

21.5 of the resident:​

21.6 (1) files a complaint or grievance, makes an inquiry, or asserts any right;​

21.7 (2) indicates an intention to file a complaint or grievance, make an inquiry, or assert any​

21.8 right;​

21.9 (3) files or indicates an intention to file a maltreatment report, whether mandatory or​

21.10 voluntary, under section 626.557;​

21.11 (4) seeks assistance from or reports a reasonable suspicion of a crime or systemic​

21.12 problems or concerns to the administrator or manager of an assisted living establishment,​

21.13 the long-term care ombudsman, a regulatory or other government agency, or a legal or​

21.14 advocacy organization;​

21.15 (5) advocates or seeks advocacy assistance for necessary or improved care or services​

21.16 or enforcement of rights under this section or other law;​

21.17 (6) takes or indicates an intention to take civil action;​

21.18 (7) participates or indicates an intention to participate in any investigation or​

21.19 administrative or judicial proceeding;​

21.20 (8) contracts or indicates an intention to contract to receive services from a service​

21.21 provider of the resident's choice other than the assisted living establishment; or​

21.22 (9) places or indicates an intention to place a camera or electronic monitoring device in​

21.23 the resident's private space as provided under section 144J.07.​

21.24 (b) For purposes of this section, to "retaliate" against a resident includes but is not limited​

21.25 to any of the following actions taken or threatened by an assisted living establishment or​

21.26 an agent of the assisted living establishment against a resident, or any person with a familial,​

21.27 personal, legal, or professional relationship with the resident:​

21.28 (1) discharge, eviction, transfer, or termination of services;​

21.29 (2) the imposition of discipline, punishment, or a sanction or penalty;​

21.30 (3) any form of discrimination;​

21.31 (4) restriction or prohibition of access:​
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22.1 (i) of the resident to the facility or visitors; or​

22.2 (ii) of a family member or a person with a personal, legal, or professional relationship​

22.3 with the resident, to the resident;​

22.4 (5) imposition of involuntary seclusion or the withholding of food, care, or services;​

22.5 (6) restriction of any of the rights granted to residents under state or federal law;​

22.6 (7) restriction or reduction of access to or use of amenities, care, services, privileges, or​

22.7 living arrangements;​

22.8 (8) arbitrary increase in charges or fees;​

22.9 (9) removal, tampering with, or deprivation of technology, communication, or electronic​

22.10 monitoring devices; or​

22.11 (10) any oral or written communication of false information about a person advocating​

22.12 on behalf of the resident.​

22.13 (c) For purposes of this section, to "retaliate" against an employee includes but is not​

22.14 limited to any of the following actions taken or threatened by the assisted living establishment​

22.15 or an agent of the assisted living establishment against an employee:​

22.16 (1) discharge or transfer;​

22.17 (2) demotion or refusal to promote;​

22.18 (3) reduction in compensation, benefits, or privileges;​

22.19 (4) the unwarranted imposition of discipline, punishment, or a sanction or penalty; or​

22.20 (5) any form of discrimination.​

22.21 (d) There is a rebuttable presumption that any action, described in paragraph (b) or (c)​

22.22 and taken within 90 days of an initial action described in paragraph (a), is retaliatory.​

22.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

22.24 Sec. 10. [144J.10] DECEPTIVE MARKETING AND BUSINESS PRACTICES​

22.25 PROHIBITED.​

22.26 (a) For the purposes of this section, "provider" includes an assisted living establishment​

22.27 and an affiliated home care provider.​

22.28 (b) Deceptive marketing and business practices by providers are prohibited. No employee​

22.29 or agent of any provider may:​
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23.1 (1) make any false, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading statements or representations,​

23.2 or material omissions, in marketing, advertising, or any other description or representation​

23.3 of care or services;​

23.4 (2) fail to inform a resident in writing of any limitations to care services available prior​

23.5 to executing an assisted living contract or home care service agreement; or​

23.6 (3) advertise or represent that the assisted living establishment has a special care unit,​

23.7 such as for dementia or memory care, without:​

23.8 (i) complying with disclosure requirements under sections 325F.72 and any training​

23.9 requirements required by law or rule; and​

23.10 (ii) after July 1, 2020, meeting and complying with all the requirements under chapter​

23.11 144I and any adopted rules.​

23.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

23.13 Sec. 11. [144J.11] NO DISCRIMINATION BASED ON SOURCE OF PAYMENT.​

23.14 Assisted living establishments and affiliated home care providers must, regardless of​

23.15 the source of payment and for all persons seeking to reside or residing in the assisted living​

23.16 establishment:​

23.17 (1) provide equal access to quality care; and​

23.18 (2) establish, maintain, and implement identical policies and practices regarding residency,​

23.19 transfer, and provision and termination of services.​

23.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

23.21 Sec. 12. [144J.12] ASSESSMENT OF RESIDENTS.​

23.22 (a) For each prospective resident, an assisted living establishment must conduct an initial​

23.23 assessment to determine the person's physical, cognitive, social, and service needs, and​

23.24 propose a plan for care and services based on the assessment, before the earlier of the date​

23.25 the prospective resident:​

23.26 (1) enters into an assisted living contract under section 144J.02; or​

23.27 (2) moves in.​

23.28 (b) An assisted living establishment must conduct ongoing physical, cognitive, social,​

23.29 and service assessments to identify changes in the resident's conditions and indicate necessary​

23.30 changes in the resident's plan for care and services based on the assessment.​
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24.1 (c) The portion of the assessment that involves the prospective resident or resident's​

24.2 physical and cognitive condition must be conducted by a registered nurse, as required by​

24.3 applicable home care licensure requirements in chapter 144A and sections 148.171 to​

24.4 148.285. The social and service components must be conducted by a qualified professional.​

24.5 (d) The prospective resident has the right to participate in the care and service planning​

24.6 process and may include the prospective resident's designated representative, one or more​

24.7 family members, any health care and social service professionals of the resident's choosing,​

24.8 and the prospective resident's home care provider.​

24.9 (e) The commissioner must adopt rules establishing assessment standards.​

24.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

24.11 Sec. 13. [144J.13] ASSISTED LIVING ESTABLISHMENTS; INVOLUNTARY​

24.12 DISCHARGES AND SERVICE TERMINATIONS.​

24.13 Subdivision 1. Definition. "Termination of housing or services" means an involuntary​

24.14 discharge, eviction, transfer, or service termination.​

24.15 Subd. 2. Prerequisite to termination of housing or services. Before involuntarily​

24.16 terminating a resident's housing or services, an assisted living establishment must explain​

24.17 in detail the reasons for the termination and work with the resident, the resident's designated​

24.18 representative, the resident's family, applicable agencies, and any relevant health-related or​

24.19 social service professionals to identify and offer reasonable accommodations, interventions,​

24.20 or alternatives to avoid the termination.​

24.21 Subd. 3. Permissible reasons to terminate housing or services. (a) An assisted living​

24.22 establishment is prohibited from involuntarily terminating housing or services for grounds​

24.23 other than those specified in paragraphs (b) and (c).​

24.24 (b) A resident's housing or services may not be involuntarily terminated except upon a​

24.25 written determination, supported by documentation, by the assisted living establishment​

24.26 administrator that termination is necessary because:​

24.27 (1) it is mandated by law or court order;​

24.28 (2) the resident has engaged in a documented pattern of conduct that:​

24.29 (i) endangers the resident's own health, safety, or well-being;​

24.30 (ii) endangers the health or safety of other residents or staff of the assisted living​

24.31 establishment or affiliated home care provider;​
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25.1 (iii) repeatedly and substantially interferes with the rights, health, safety, or well-being​

25.2 of other residents; or​

25.3 (3) the resident has committed any of the acts enumerated under section 504B.171,​

25.4 subdivision 1.​

25.5 (c) A resident's housing or services may be involuntarily terminated if the needs of the​

25.6 resident exceed the scope of the services for which the resident contracted for or, after July​

25.7 1, 2020, exceed the scope of the assisted living establishment's license, only:​

25.8 (1) upon a certification by the assisted living establishment administrator, based on an​

25.9 evaluation by a disinterested, licensed health care professional; and​

25.10 (2) if the resident's needs cannot be safely met by reasonable accommodations,​

25.11 interventions, or alternatives.​

25.12 (d) An assisted living establishment may initiate discharge, eviction, transfer, or​

25.13 termination of home care services procedures for nonpayment, provided the assisted living​

25.14 establishment:​

25.15 (1) makes reasonable efforts to accommodate temporary financial hardship and provide​

25.16 information on government or private subsidies that may be available;​

25.17 (2) timely responds to county social service agency questions regarding Medicaid or​

25.18 other public benefit eligibility and payment process; and​

25.19 (3) provides the notice required under subdivision 4 to the ombudsman for long-term​

25.20 care.​

25.21 A temporary interruption in benefits does not constitute nonpayment.​

25.22 (e) When an affiliated home care provider voluntarily discontinues services to all​

25.23 residents, the affiliated home care provider must notify the commissioner, lead agencies,​

25.24 and ombudsman for long-term care about the residents and comply with the requirements​

25.25 of subdivisions 4 and 5.​

25.26 Subd. 4. Advance notice required. An assisted living establishment must provide at​

25.27 least 30 days' advance notice to the resident and the ombudsman for long-term care of a​

25.28 termination of housing or services, except as provided in subdivision 6.​

25.29 Subd. 5. Content of notice. The notice required under subdivision 4 must contain, at a​

25.30 minimum:​

25.31 (1) the effective date of termination of housing or services;​

25​Article 1 Sec. 13.​
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26.1 (2) a detailed explanation of the basis for the termination, including but not limited to​

26.2 clinical or other supporting rationale;​

26.3 (3) a list of known assisted living establishments and unaffiliated home care providers​

26.4 in the immediate geographic area;​

26.5 (4) a statement that the resident has the right to appeal the termination, an explanation​

26.6 of how and to whom to appeal, and contact information for the Office of Administrative​

26.7 Hearings;​

26.8 (5) information on how to contact the ombudsman for long-term care;​

26.9 (6) if the resident must relocate, a statement that the assisted living establishment must​

26.10 actively participate in a coordinated transfer of care of the resident to another provider or​

26.11 caregiver, as required under subdivision 8.​

26.12 (7) the name and contact information of a person employed by the assisted living​

26.13 establishment with whom the resident may discuss the notice of termination of housing or​

26.14 services; and​

26.15 (8) if the termination is for services, a statement, if applicable, that the notice of​

26.16 termination of services does not constitute a termination of housing or an eviction from the​

26.17 resident's home, and that the resident has the right to remain in the assisted living​

26.18 establishment if the resident can secure necessary home care services from an unaffiliated​

26.19 home care provider.​

26.20 Subd. 6. Exception for emergencies. (a) An assisted living establishment may relocate​

26.21 a resident from an assisted living establishment with less than 30 days' notice if:​

26.22 (1) emergency relocation is ordered by the resident's physician; or​

26.23 (2) the assisted living establishment administrator, based on documented evidence,​

26.24 determines that the resident needs to be immediately relocated because the resident or​

26.25 another resident or staff member of the assisted living establishment is at imminent risk of:​

26.26 (i) death;​

26.27 (ii) life-threatening harm;​

26.28 (iii) substantial harm, as that term is defined in section 609.02, subdivision 7a; or​

26.29 (iv) great bodily harm, as that term is defined in section 609.02, subdivision 8.​

26.30 (b) An assisted living establishment relocating a resident under this subdivision must:​

26.31 (1) ensure that the resident is moved to a safe and appropriate location;​
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27.1 (2) immediately notify the ombudsman for long-term care and the resident's designated​

27.2 representative or, if no designated representative and if known, a family member or interested​

27.3 person:​

27.4 (i) that the resident has been relocated;​

27.5 (ii) the reason for the relocation; and​

27.6 (iii) the name, address, telephone number, and any other relevant contact information​

27.7 of the location to which the resident has been transferred; and​

27.8 (3) upon removal of the conditions precipitating the emergency transfer, work and​

27.9 coordinate with the resident or the resident's designated representative and family, if​

27.10 applicable, to enable the resident to return to the assisted living establishment or, if return​

27.11 is not feasible or if any of the conditions under subdivision 3 exist, provide the resident with​

27.12 all the rights available under this section.​

27.13 Subd. 7. Right to appeal termination of housing or services. (a) A resident or resident's​

27.14 designated representative has the right to appeal a termination of housing or services and​

27.15 request a hearing from the Office of Administrative Hearings. An appeal must be filed, in​

27.16 writing, to the Office of Administrative Hearings.​

27.17 (b) The Office of Administrative Hearings must conduct an expedited hearing as soon​

27.18 as practicable after the office receives the request. The hearing must be held at the assisted​

27.19 living establishment where the resident lives, unless it is impractical, or the parties agree​

27.20 to a different place.​

27.21 (c) The assisted living establishment bears the burden of proof to establish the termination​

27.22 of housing or services is permissible.​

27.23 (d) During the pendency of an appeal and until a final determination is made by the​

27.24 Office of Administrative Hearings:​

27.25 (1) housing or services may not be terminated; and​

27.26 (2) the resident must be readmitted if the resident was hospitalized for medical necessity.​

27.27 (e) The commissioner of health may order the assisted living establishment to rescind​

27.28 the termination of housing and services if the termination was in violation of state or federal​

27.29 law.​

27.30 (f) Nothing in this section limits the right of a resident or the resident's designated​

27.31 representative to request or receive assistance from the ombudsman for long-term care and​

27.32 the protection and advocacy agency concerning the termination of housing or services.​
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28.1 Subd. 8. Discharge planning. (a) Unless the resident or the designated representative​

28.2 indicates a desire to assume full control of arranging the resident's relocation, the assisted​

28.3 living establishment from which a resident must relocate under this section:​

28.4 (1) has an affirmative duty to ensure a coordinated and orderly transfer of the resident​

28.5 to a safe location that is appropriate for the resident; and​

28.6 (2) must consult and cooperate with the resident, the resident's designated representative,​

28.7 family members, any interested professionals, and applicable agencies to make arrangements​

28.8 to relocate the resident.​

28.9 (b) The assisted living establishment must prepare a written relocation plan. The plan​

28.10 must:​

28.11 (1) contain all necessary steps to be taken to reduce transfer trauma; and​

28.12 (2) specify the measures to be taken until relocation to protect the resident and meet the​

28.13 resident's health and safety needs.​

28.14 (c) An assisted living establishment may not relocate the resident unless the place to​

28.15 which the resident is to be relocated indicates it will accept the resident.​

28.16 (d) An assisted living establishment must timely convey the resident's records and any​

28.17 medication for which it is responsible to the location to which the resident will be transferred.​

28.18 (e) An assisted living establishment must notify the ombudsman for long-term care, the​

28.19 Department of Health, and, if the resident is a vulnerable adult as defined in section 626.5572,​

28.20 subdivision 21, adult protective services, if:​

28.21 (1) the resident whose housing or services are being terminated does not have a designated​

28.22 representative, family member, an agency responsible for the resident's placement, or any​

28.23 other person who agrees to assist with or assumes responsibility for the relocation; or​

28.24 (2) a safe and appropriate relocation place for the resident whose housing or services​

28.25 are being terminated cannot be found.​

28.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

28.27 Sec. 14. [144J.14] FORCED ARBITRATION.​

28.28 (a) An assisted living establishment must affirmatively disclose to the resident any forced​

28.29 arbitration provision in an assisted living contract that precludes, limits, or delays the ability​

28.30 of a resident from taking a civil action. For contracts entered into on or after July 1, 2020,​

28.31 forced arbitration provisions must be conspicuously disclosed in a contract.​
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29.1 (b) A forced arbitration requirement must not include a choice of law or choice of venue​

29.2 provision. Assisted living contracts must adhere to Minnesota law and any other applicable​

29.3 federal or local law. Any civil actions by any litigant must be taken in Minnesota courts.​

29.4 (c) A forced arbitration provision must not be unconscionable. All or the portion of a​

29.5 forced arbitration provision found by a court to be unconscionable shall have no effect on​

29.6 the remaining provisions, terms, or conditions of the contract.​

29.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, for contracts entered​

29.8 into on or after that date.​

29.9 Sec. 15. [144J.15] PRIVATE ENFORCEMENT OF RIGHTS.​

29.10 (a) For a violation of section 144J.06, subdivisions 9, 16, 19, or 20, or 144J.09, a resident​

29.11 or resident's legal representative, may bring a civil action against an assisted living​

29.12 establishment and recover actual damages or $3,000, whichever is greater, plus costs,​

29.13 including costs of investigation, and reasonable attorney fees, and receive other equitable​

29.14 relief as determined by the court in addition to seeking any other remedy otherwise available​

29.15 under law.​

29.16 (b) For a violation of section 144J.10, 144J.11, or 144J.14, a resident is entitled to a​

29.17 permanent injunction, and any other legal or equitable relief as determined by the court,​

29.18 including but not limited to reformation of the contract and restitution for harm suffered,​

29.19 plus reasonable attorney fees and costs.​

29.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

29.21 Sec. 16. [144J.16] APPLICABILITY OF OTHER LAWS.​

29.22 (a) Assisted living establishments are subject to and must comply with chapter 504B.​

29.23 (b) Housing with services establishments who operate under title protection under chapter​

29.24 144G and, after July 1, 2020, all licensed assisted living establishments must comply with​

29.25 section 325F.72.​

29.26 (c) Assisted living establishments are not required to obtain a lodging license under​

29.27 chapter 157 and related rules.​

29.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​
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30.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.72, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

30.2 Subd. 4. Remedy. The attorney general may seek the remedies set forth in section 8.31​

30.3 for repeated and intentional violations of this section. However, no private right of action​

30.4 may be maintained as provided under section 8.31, subdivision 3a.​

30.5 Sec. 18. REPEALER.​

30.6 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 144A.44; 144A.441; 144A.442; 144D.07; 144G.03,​

30.7 subdivision 6; and 144G.04, are repealed effective August 1, 2019.​

30.8 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 144D.04, subdivisions 2 and 3; and 144D.045,​

30.9 are repealed effective January 1, 2020.​

30.10 ARTICLE 2​

30.11 NURSING HOMES​

30.12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.651, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

30.13 Subdivision 1. Legislative intent. It is the intent of the legislature and the purpose of​

30.14 this section to promote the interests and well being of the patients and residents of health​

30.15 care facilities. No health care facility may require a patient or resident to waive these rights​

30.16 as a condition of admission to the facility. Any designated representative, guardian, or​

30.17 conservator of a patient or resident or, in the absence of a guardian or conservator, an​

30.18 interested person, may seek enforcement of these rights on behalf of a patient or resident.​

30.19 An interested person A designated representative may also seek enforcement of these rights​

30.20 on behalf of a patient or resident who has a guardian or conservator through administrative​

30.21 agencies or in district court having jurisdiction over guardianships and conservatorships,​

30.22 under section 144.6512. Pending the outcome of an enforcement proceeding the health care​

30.23 facility may, in good faith, comply with the instructions of a guardian or conservator. It is​

30.24 the intent of this section that every patient's civil and religious liberties, including the right​

30.25 to independent personal decisions and knowledge of available choices, shall not be infringed​

30.26 and that the facility shall encourage and assist in the fullest possible exercise of these rights.​

30.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​
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31.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.651, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

31.2 read:​

31.3 Subd. 34. Retaliation prohibited. (a) A facility may not retaliate against a patient,​

31.4 resident, or employee if the resident or any person with a familial, personal, legal, or​

31.5 professional relationship with the patient or resident:​

31.6 (1) files a complaint or grievance, makes an inquiry, or asserts any right;​

31.7 (2) indicates an intention to file a complaint or grievance, makes an inquiry, or asserts​

31.8 any right;​

31.9 (3) files or indicates an intention to file a maltreatment report, whether mandatory or​

31.10 voluntary, under section 626.557;​

31.11 (4) seeks assistance from or reports a reasonable suspicion of a crime or systemic​

31.12 problems or concerns to the administrator or manager of a facility, the ombudsman for​

31.13 long-term care, a regulatory or other government agency, or a legal or advocacy organization;​

31.14 (5) advocates or seeks advocacy assistance for necessary or improved care or services​

31.15 or enforcement of rights under this section or other law;​

31.16 (6) takes or indicates an intention to take civil action; or​

31.17 (7) participates or indicates an intention to participate in any investigation or​

31.18 administrative or judicial proceeding.​

31.19 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "facility" includes an agent of the facility.​

31.20 (c) For the purposes of this subdivision, to "retaliate" against a patient or resident includes​

31.21 but is not limited to any of the following actions taken or threatened by the facility against​

31.22 a patient or resident, or any person with a familial, personal, legal, or professional relationship​

31.23 with the patient or resident:​

31.24 (1) discharge, transfer, or termination of services;​

31.25 (2) the imposition of discipline, punishment, or a sanction or penalty;​

31.26 (3) any form of discrimination;​

31.27 (4) restricting or prohibiting access:​

31.28 (i) of the patient or resident to the facility or visitors; or​

31.29 (ii) of a family member or a person with a personal, legal, or professional relationship​

31.30 with the patient or resident, to the patient or resident;​
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32.1 (5) imposition of involuntary seclusion or withholding food, care, or services;​

32.2 (6) restriction of any of the rights granted to patients and residents under state or federal​

32.3 law;​

32.4 (7) restriction or reduction of access to or use of amenities, care, services, privileges, or​

32.5 living arrangements;​

32.6 (8) arbitrary increase in charges or fees; or​

32.7 (9) removal, tampering with, or deprivation of technology, communication, or electronic​

32.8 monitoring devices.​

32.9 (d) For purposes of this subdivision, to "retaliate" against an employee includes but is​

32.10 not limited to any of the following actions taken or threatened by the facility:​

32.11 (1) discharge or transfer;​

32.12 (2) demotion or refusal to promote;​

32.13 (3) reduction in compensation, benefits, or privileges;​

32.14 (4) the imposition of discipline, punishment, or a sanction or penalty; or​

32.15 (5) any form of discrimination.​

32.16 (e) There is a rebuttable presumption that any action described in paragraph (b) or (c)​

32.17 and taken within 90 days of an initial action described in paragraph (a) is retaliatory.​

32.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

32.19 Sec. 3. [144.6512] ENFORCEMENT OF THE HEALTH CARE BILL OF RIGHTS​

32.20 BY NURSING HOME RESIDENTS.​

32.21 In addition to the remedies otherwise provided by or available under law, a resident of​

32.22 a nursing home, or a legal representative on behalf of a resident, in addition to seeking any​

32.23 remedy otherwise available under law, may bring a civil action against a nursing home and​

32.24 recover actual damages or $3,000, whichever is greater, plus costs, including costs of​

32.25 investigation, and reasonable attorney fees, and receive other equitable relief as determined​

32.26 by the court for violation of section 144.651, subdivisions 14, 20, 26, 30, and 34.​

32.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​
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33.1 ARTICLE 3​

33.2 HOUSING WITH SERVICES ESTABLISHMENTS​

33.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.01, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

33.4 Subd. 2a. Arranged Affiliated home care provider. "Arranged Affiliated home care​

33.5 provider" means a home care provider licensed under chapter 144A or a home management​

33.6 provider registered under section 144A.482 that provides supportive services to some or all​

33.7 of the residents of a housing with services establishment and that is either the establishment​

33.8 itself or another entity with which the establishment has an arrangement under a business​

33.9 relationship or other affiliation with the establishment.​

33.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

33.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

33.12 read:​

33.13 Subd. 2b. Client. "Client" means a person to whom an unaffiliated home care provider​

33.14 provides supportive services.​

33.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

33.16 Subd. 4. Housing with services establishment or establishment. (a) "Housing with​

33.17 services establishment" or "establishment" means:​

33.18 (1) an establishment providing sleeping accommodations to one or more adult residents,​

33.19 at least 80 percent of which are 55 years of age or older, and offering or providing, for a​

33.20 fee, one or more regularly scheduled health-related services or two or more regularly​

33.21 scheduled supportive services, whether offered or provided directly or by the establishment​

33.22 or by another entity arranged for by the establishment; or an affiliated home care provider.​

33.23 (2) an establishment that registers under section 144D.025.​

33.24 (b) Housing with services establishment does not include:​

33.25 (1) a nursing home licensed under chapter 144A;​

33.26 (2) a hospital, certified as defined in section 144.50, subdivision 2;​

33.27 (3) a boarding care home, or as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4655.0010, subpart 3;​

33.28 (4) a supervised living facility licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56, as defined in​

33.29 Minnesota Rules, part 4665.0100, subpart 10;​
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34.1 (3) (5) a board and lodging establishment licensed under chapter 157 and or 245G, or​

34.2 governed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670, or under chapter 245D or​

34.3 245G;​

34.4 (6) an assisted living establishment, as defined in section 144I.01, subdivision 6, that is​

34.5 not a housing with services establishment;​

34.6 (4) a board and lodging (7) any establishment which that serves as a shelter for battered​

34.7 women or other similar purpose;​

34.8 (5) a family (8) adult foster care home licensed by the Department of Human Services;​

34.9 (6) (9) private homes in which the residents are related by kinship, law, or affinity with​

34.10 the providers of services;​

34.11 (7) (10) residential settings for persons with developmental disabilities in which the​

34.12 services are licensed under chapter 245D;​

34.13 (8) (11) a home-sharing arrangement such as when an elderly or disabled, including but​

34.14 not limited to arrangements where an older person or person with a disability or single-parent​

34.15 family makes lodging in a private residence available to another person in exchange for​

34.16 services or rent, or both;​

34.17 (9) (12) a duly organized condominium, cooperative, common interest community, or​

34.18 owners' association of the foregoing organized under chapter 515B where at least 80 percent​

34.19 of the units that comprise the condominium, cooperative, or common interest community​

34.20 are occupied by individuals who are the owners, members, or shareholders of the units;​

34.21 (10) (13) services for persons with developmental disabilities that are provided under a​

34.22 license under chapter 245D; or​

34.23 (11) (14) a temporary family health care dwelling as defined in sections 394.307 and​

34.24 462.3593.​

34.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

34.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

34.27 read:​

34.28 Subd. 4a. Resident. "Resident" means a person living in a housing with services​

34.29 establishment.​

34.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​
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35.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.01, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

35.2 Subd. 5. Supportive services. "Supportive services" means help with personal laundry,​

35.3 handling or assisting with personal funds of residents, or arranging for medical services,​

35.4 health-related services, social services,:​

35.5 (1) assistance with laundry, shopping, and household chores;​

35.6 (2) housekeeping services;​

35.7 (3) provision or assistance with meals or food preparation;​

35.8 (4) help with arranging for, or arranging transportation to, medical, social, recreational,​

35.9 personal, or social services appointments; or​

35.10 (5) provision of social or recreational services.​

35.11 Arranging for services does not include making referrals, assisting a resident in contacting​

35.12 a service provider of the resident's choice, or contacting a service provider in an emergency.​

35.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

35.14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

35.15 read:​

35.16 Subd. 8. Unaffiliated home care provider. "Unaffiliated home care provider" means​

35.17 a home care provider licensed under chapter 144A or a home management provider registered​

35.18 under section 144A.482 that is regularly engaged for a fee in the delivery of one or more​

35.19 home care services directly to a client in any setting, including supportive services to a​

35.20 resident of a housing with services establishment, provided the home care provider has no​

35.21 business relationship or affiliation with the housing with services establishment in which​

35.22 the client contracting for or receiving supportive services resides.​

35.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

35.24 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.015, is amended to read:​

35.25 144D.015 DEFINITION FOR PURPOSES OF LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE.​

35.26 For purposes of consistency with terminology commonly used in long-term care insurance​

35.27 policies and notwithstanding chapter 144G, a housing with services establishment that is​

35.28 registered under section 144D.03 and that holds, or makes arrangements with an individual​

35.29 or entity that holds any type of home care license and all other licenses, permits, registrations,​

35.30 or other governmental approvals legally required for delivery of the services the establishment​
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36.1 offers or provides to its residents, constitutes an "assisted living establishment," an "assisted​

36.2 living facility," or "assisted living residence."​

36.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

36.4 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.02, is amended to read:​

36.5 144D.02 REGISTRATION REQUIRED.​

36.6 No entity may establish, operate, conduct, or maintain a housing with services​

36.7 establishment in this state without registering and operating as required in sections 144D.01​

36.8 to 144D.06 144D.11. After July 1, 2020, a housing with services establishment, either​

36.9 directly or through an affiliated home care provider, may provide only supportive services.​

36.10 No housing with services establishment may offer or provide services that require an assisted​

36.11 living license under chapter 144I.​

36.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

36.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

36.14 Subdivision 1. Contract required. No housing with services establishment may operate​

36.15 in this state unless a written housing with services contract, as defined in subdivision 2,​

36.16 satisfying the requirements of section 144J.02 is executed between the establishment and​

36.17 each resident or resident's representative and unless the establishment operates in accordance​

36.18 with the terms of the contract. The resident or the resident's representative shall be given a​

36.19 complete copy of the contract and all supporting documents and attachments and any changes​

36.20 whenever changes are made.​

36.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2020.​

36.22 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.05, is amended to read:​

36.23 144D.05 AUTHORITY OF COMMISSIONER.​

36.24 The commissioner shall, upon receipt of information which may indicate the failure of​

36.25 the housing with services establishment, a resident, a resident's representative, or a service​

36.26 provider to comply with a legal requirement to which one or more of them may be subject,​

36.27 make appropriate referrals to other governmental agencies and entities having jurisdiction​

36.28 over the subject matter. The commissioner may also make referrals to any public or private​

36.29 agency the commissioner considers available for appropriate assistance to those involved.​

36.30 The commissioner shall have standing to bring an action for injunctive relief in the​

36.31 district court in the district in which an establishment is located to compel the housing with​
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37.1 services establishment to meet the requirements of this chapter or other requirements of the​

37.2 state or of any county or local governmental unit to which the establishment is otherwise​

37.3 subject. Proceedings for securing an injunction may be brought by the commissioner through​

37.4 the attorney general or through the appropriate county attorney. The sanctions in this section​

37.5 do not restrict the availability of other sanctions all the authority and power vested under​

37.6 chapters 144 and 144I.​

37.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

37.8 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.06, is amended to read:​

37.9 144D.06 OTHER LAWS.​

37.10 In addition to registration under this chapter, a housing with services establishment must​

37.11 comply with chapter 504B and the provisions of section 325F.72, and shall obtain and​

37.12 maintain all other licenses, permits, registrations, or other governmental approvals required​

37.13 of it. A housing with services establishment is not required to obtain a lodging license under​

37.14 chapter 157 and related rules.​

37.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

37.16 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.09, is amended to read:​

37.17 144D.09 TERMINATION OF LEASE HOUSING OR SUPPORTIVE SERVICES.​

37.18 Subdivision 1. Prerequisite to termination of housing or supportive services. The​

37.19 housing with services establishment shall include with notice of termination of lease​

37.20 information about how to contact the ombudsman for long-term care, including the address​

37.21 and telephone number along with a statement of how to request problem-solving assistance.​

37.22 Before involuntarily terminating a resident's housing or supportive services, whether provided​

37.23 directly or through an affiliated home care provider, a housing with services establishment​

37.24 must explain in detail the reasons for the termination and work with the resident, the resident's​

37.25 representative, the resident's family, applicable agencies, and any professionals to identify​

37.26 and offer reasonable accommodations, interventions, or alternatives to avoid termination​

37.27 of housing or supportive services.​

37.28 Subd. 2. Advance notice required. A housing with services establishment must provide​

37.29 at least 30 days' advance notice to the resident of a termination of housing or supportive​

37.30 services, except as provided in subdivision 4.​

37.31 Subd. 3. Content of notice. The notice required under subdivision 2 must contain, at a​

37.32 minimum:​
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38.1 (1) the effective date of termination;​

38.2 (2) the reason or reasons for termination;​

38.3 (3) a list of known housing with services establishments and unaffiliated home care​

38.4 providers in the immediate geographic area;​

38.5 (4) the name and contact information of a person employed by the housing with services​

38.6 establishment with whom the resident may discuss the notice of termination;​

38.7 (5) information about how to contact the ombudsman for long-term care, including the​

38.8 address and telephone number along with a statement of how to request problem-solving​

38.9 assistance; and​

38.10 (6) if the termination is for supportive services, a statement, if applicable, that the notice​

38.11 of termination of supportive services does not constitute a termination of housing or an​

38.12 eviction from the resident's housing, and that the resident has the right to remain in the​

38.13 housing with services establishment if the resident can secure necessary supportive services​

38.14 from an unaffiliated home care provider.​

38.15 Subd. 4. Exception for emergencies. (a) A housing with services establishment may​

38.16 provide less than 30 days' notice when:​

38.17 (1) an emergency relocation is ordered by the resident's physician or an advanced practice​

38.18 registered nurse; or​

38.19 (2) the resident needs to be immediately relocated because, due to the resident's behavior,​

38.20 the resident or another resident or staff member of the housing with services establishment​

38.21 is at imminent risk of:​

38.22 (i) death;​

38.23 (ii) life-threatening harm;​

38.24 (iii) substantial bodily harm, as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 7a; or​

38.25 (iv) great bodily harm, as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 8.​

38.26 (b) A housing with services establishment relocating a resident under this subdivision​

38.27 must:​

38.28 (1) ensure that the resident is relocated to a safe and appropriate location; and​

38.29 (2) immediately notify the person or persons representing the resident, or who are in a​

38.30 familial or other personal relationship with the resident:​

38.31 (i) that the resident has been relocated;​
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39.1 (ii) the reason for the relocation; and​

39.2 (iii) the name, address, telephone number, and any other relevant contact information​

39.3 of the location to which the resident has been transferred.​

39.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

39.5 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.10, is amended to read:​

39.6 144D.10 MANAGER REQUIREMENTS.​

39.7 (a) The person primarily responsible for oversight and management of a housing with​

39.8 services establishment, as designated by the owner of the housing with services establishment,​

39.9 must obtain at least 30 hours of continuing education every two years of employment as​

39.10 the manager in topics relevant to the operations of the housing with services establishment​

39.11 and the needs of its tenants. Continuing education earned to maintain a professional license,​

39.12 such as nursing home administrator license, nursing license, social worker license, and real​

39.13 estate license, can be used to complete this requirement.​

39.14 (b) For managers of establishments identified in section 325F.72, this continuing​

39.15 education must include at least eight hours of documented training on the topics identified​

39.16 in section 144D.065, paragraph (b), within 160 working hours of hire, and two hours of​

39.17 training on these topics for each 12 months of employment thereafter.​

39.18 (c) For managers of establishments not covered by section 325F.72, but who provide​

39.19 assisted living services under chapter 144G, this continuing education must include at least​

39.20 four hours of documented training on the topics identified in section 144D.065, paragraph​

39.21 (b), within 160 working hours of hire, and two hours of training on these topics for each 12​

39.22 months of employment thereafter.​

39.23 (d) (b) A statement verifying compliance with the continuing education requirement​

39.24 must be included in the housing with services establishment's annual registration to the​

39.25 commissioner of health. The establishment must maintain records for at least three years​

39.26 demonstrating that the person primarily responsible for oversight and management of the​

39.27 establishment has attended educational programs as required by this section.​

39.28 (e) (c) New managers may must satisfy the initial and document satisfaction of dementia​

39.29 training requirements by producing written proof of previously completed required training​

39.30 within the past 18 months adopted by the commissioner in rule.​

39.31 (f) This section does not apply to an establishment registered under section 144D.025​

39.32 serving the homeless.​
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40.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

40.2 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.11, is amended to read:​

40.3 144D.11 EMERGENCY PLANNING.​

40.4 (a) Each registered housing with services establishment must meet the following​

40.5 requirements:​

40.6 (1) have a written emergency disaster plan that contains a plan for evacuation, addresses​

40.7 elements of sheltering in-place, identifies temporary relocation sites, and details staff​

40.8 assignments in the event of a disaster or an emergency;​

40.9 (2) post an emergency disaster plan prominently;​

40.10 (3) provide building emergency exit diagrams to all tenants residents upon signing a​

40.11 lease contract under section 144J.02;​

40.12 (4) post emergency exit diagrams on each floor; and​

40.13 (5) have a written policy and procedure regarding missing tenants residents.​

40.14 (b) Each registered housing with services establishment must provide emergency and​

40.15 disaster training to all staff during the initial staff orientation and annually thereafter and​

40.16 must make emergency and disaster training available to all tenants residents annually. Staff​

40.17 who have not received emergency and disaster training are allowed to work only when​

40.18 trained staff are also working on site.​

40.19 (c) Each registered housing with services location must conduct and document a fire​

40.20 drill or other emergency drill at least every six months. To the extent possible, drills must​

40.21 be coordinated with local fire departments or other community emergency resources.​

40.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

40.23 Sec. 15. REPEALER.​

40.24 Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144D.09, is repealed effective August 1, 2019.​

40.25 ARTICLE 4​

40.26 ASSISTED LIVING LICENSURE​

40.27 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.057, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

40.28 Subdivision 1. Background studies required. The commissioner of health shall contract​

40.29 with the commissioner of human services to conduct background studies of:​
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41.1 (1) individuals providing services which that have direct contact, as defined under section​

41.2 245C.02, subdivision 11, with patients and residents in hospitals, boarding care homes,​

41.3 outpatient surgical centers licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58; nursing homes and​

41.4 home care agencies licensed under chapter 144A; residential care homes licensed under​

41.5 chapter 144B, assisted living establishments licensed under chapter 144J, and board and​

41.6 lodging establishments that are registered to provide supportive or health supervision services​

41.7 under section 157.17;​

41.8 (2) individuals specified in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, who perform direct contact​

41.9 services in a nursing home or a home care agency licensed under chapter 144A or a boarding​

41.10 care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. If the individual under study resides​

41.11 outside Minnesota, the study must include a check for substantiated findings of maltreatment​

41.12 of adults and children in the individual's state of residence when the information is made​

41.13 available by that state, and must include a check of the National Crime Information Center​

41.14 database;​

41.15 (3) beginning July 1, 1999, all other employees in assisted living establishments licensed​

41.16 under chapter 144J, nursing homes licensed under chapter 144A, and boarding care homes​

41.17 licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. A disqualification of an individual in this section​

41.18 shall disqualify the individual from positions allowing direct contact or access to patients​

41.19 or residents receiving services. "Access" means physical access to a client or the client's​

41.20 personal property without continuous, direct supervision as defined in section 245C.02,​

41.21 subdivision 8, when the employee's employment responsibilities do not include providing​

41.22 direct contact services;​

41.23 (4) individuals employed by a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined under​

41.24 section 144A.70, who are providing services in health care facilities; and​

41.25 (5) controlling persons of a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined under​

41.26 section 144A.70.​

41.27 If a facility or program is licensed by the Department of Human Services and subject to​

41.28 the background study provisions of chapter 245C and is also licensed by the Department​

41.29 of Health, the Department of Human Services is solely responsible for the background​

41.30 studies of individuals in the jointly licensed programs.​

41.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​
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42.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.0721, is amended to read:​

42.2 144.0721 ASSESSMENTS OF CARE AND SERVICES TO NURSING HOME​

42.3 AND ASSISTED LIVING RESIDENTS.​

42.4 Subdivision 1. Appropriateness and quality. Until the date of implementation of the​

42.5 revised case mix system based on the minimum data set, the commissioner of health shall​

42.6 assess the appropriateness and quality of care and services furnished to private paying​

42.7 residents in assisted living establishments, nursing homes, and boarding care homes that​

42.8 are certified for participation in the medical assistance program under United States Code,​

42.9 title 42, sections 1396-1396p. These assessments shall be conducted until the date of​

42.10 implementation of the revised case mix system with the exception of provisions requiring​

42.11 recommendations for changes in the level of care provided to the private paying residents.​

42.12 Subd. 2. Access to data. With the exception of summary data, data on individuals that​

42.13 is collected, maintained, used, or disseminated by the commissioner of health under​

42.14 subdivision 1 is private data on individuals and shall not be disclosed to others except:​

42.15 (1) under section 13.05;​

42.16 (2) under a valid court order;​

42.17 (3) to the assisted living establishment, nursing home, or boarding care home in which​

42.18 the individual resided at the time the assessment was completed;​

42.19 (4) to the commissioner of human services; or​

42.20 (5) to county home care staff for the purpose of assisting the individual to be discharged​

42.21 from a nursing home or boarding care home and returned to the community.​

42.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

42.23 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144.122, is amended to read:​

42.24 144.122 LICENSE, PERMIT, AND SURVEY FEES.​

42.25 (a) The state commissioner of health, by rule, may prescribe procedures and fees for​

42.26 filing with the commissioner as prescribed by statute and for the issuance of original and​

42.27 renewal permits, licenses, registrations, and certifications issued under authority of the​

42.28 commissioner. The expiration dates of the various licenses, permits, registrations, and​

42.29 certifications as prescribed by the rules shall be plainly marked thereon. Fees may include​

42.30 application and examination fees and a penalty fee for renewal applications submitted after​

42.31 the expiration date of the previously issued permit, license, registration, and certification.​

42.32 The commissioner may also prescribe, by rule, reduced fees for permits, licenses,​
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43.1 registrations, and certifications when the application therefor is submitted during the last​

43.2 three months of the permit, license, registration, or certification period. Fees proposed to​

43.3 be prescribed in the rules shall be first approved by the Department of Management and​

43.4 Budget. All fees proposed to be prescribed in rules shall be reasonable. The fees shall be​

43.5 in an amount so that the total fees collected by the commissioner will, where practical,​

43.6 approximate the cost to the commissioner in administering the program. All fees collected​

43.7 shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state government special revenue​

43.8 fund unless otherwise specifically appropriated by law for specific purposes.​

43.9 (b) The commissioner may charge a fee for voluntary certification of medical laboratories​

43.10 and environmental laboratories, and for environmental and medical laboratory services​

43.11 provided by the department, without complying with paragraph (a) or chapter 14. Fees​

43.12 charged for environment and medical laboratory services provided by the department must​

43.13 be approximately equal to the costs of providing the services.​

43.14 (c) The commissioner may develop a schedule of fees for diagnostic evaluations​

43.15 conducted at clinics held by the services for children with disabilities program. All receipts​

43.16 generated by the program are annually appropriated to the commissioner for use in the​

43.17 maternal and child health program.​

43.18 (d) The commissioner shall set license fees for hospitals, assisted living establishments,​

43.19 and nursing homes that are not boarding care homes at the following levels:​

$7,655 plus $16 per bed​43.20 Joint Commission on Accreditation of​
43.21 Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) and​
43.22 American Osteopathic Association (AOA)​
43.23 hospitals​

$5,280 plus $250 per bed​43.24 Non-JCAHO and non-AOA hospitals​

$183 plus $91 per bed until June 30, 2018.​
43.26 $183 plus $100 per bed between July 1, 2018,​
43.25 Nursing home​

43.27 and June 30, 2020. $183 plus $105 per bed​
43.28 beginning July 1, 2020.​

$.......​43.29 Level 1 assisted living establishment​

$.......​43.30 Level 2 assisted living establishment​

$.......​43.31 Level 3 assisted living establishment​

43.32 The commissioner shall set license fees for outpatient surgical centers, boarding care​

43.33 homes, and supervised living facilities at the following levels:​

$3,712​43.34 Outpatient surgical centers​

$183 plus $91 per bed​43.35 Boarding care homes​

$183 plus $91 per bed.​43.36 Supervised living facilities​
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44.1 Fees collected under this paragraph are nonrefundable. The fees are nonrefundable even if​

44.2 received before July 1, 2017, for licenses or registrations being issued effective July 1, 2017,​

44.3 or later.​

44.4 (e) Unless prohibited by federal law, the commissioner of health shall charge applicants​

44.5 the following fees to cover the cost of any initial certification surveys required to determine​

44.6 a provider's eligibility to participate in the Medicare or Medicaid program:​

900​$​44.7 Prospective payment surveys for hospitals​

1,200​$​44.8 Swing bed surveys for nursing homes​

1,400​$​44.9 Psychiatric hospitals​

1,100​$​44.10 Rural health facilities​

500​$​44.11 Portable x-ray providers​

1,800​$​44.12 Home health agencies​

800​$​44.13 Outpatient therapy agencies​

2,100​$​44.14 End stage renal dialysis providers​

800​$​44.15 Independent therapists​

1,200​$​44.16 Comprehensive rehabilitation outpatient facilities​

1,700​$​44.17 Hospice providers​

1,800​$​44.18 Ambulatory surgical providers​

4,200​$​44.19 Hospitals​

Actual surveyor costs: average​
surveyor cost x number of hours for​
the survey process.​

44.20 Other provider categories or additional​
44.21 resurveys required to complete initial​
44.22 certification​

44.23 These fees shall be submitted at the time of the application for federal certification and​

44.24 shall not be refunded. All fees collected after the date that the imposition of fees is not​

44.25 prohibited by federal law shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state​

44.26 government special revenue fund.​

44.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

44.28 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.18, is amended to read:​

44.29 144A.18 ADMINISTRATOR'S LICENSES; PENALTY.​

44.30 No person shall act as a nursing home administrator or assisted living establishment​

44.31 administrator or purport to be a nursing home administrator or assisted living establishment​

44.32 administrator unless that person is licensed by the Board of Examiners for Nursing Home​

44.33 and Assisted Living Establishment Administrators. A violation of this section is a​

44.34 misdemeanor.​
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45.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

45.2 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.3 Subdivision 1. Creation; membership. There is hereby created the Board of Examiners​

45.4 for Nursing Home and Assisted Living Establishment Administrators which that shall consist​

45.5 of the following members:​

45.6 (1) a designee of the commissioner of health who shall be a nonvoting member;​

45.7 (2) a designee of the commissioner of human services who shall be a nonvoting member;​

45.8 and​

45.9 (3) the following members appointed by the governor:​

45.10 (i) two members actively engaged in the management, operation, or ownership of​

45.11 proprietary nursing homes and two members actively engaged in the management, operation,​

45.12 or ownership of assisted living establishments;​

45.13 (ii) two members actively engaged in the management or operation of nonprofit nursing​

45.14 homes and two members actively engaged in the management or operation of nonprofit​

45.15 assisted living establishments;​

45.16 (iii) one member actively engaged in the practice of medicine;​

45.17 (iv) one member actively engaged in the practice of professional nursing; and​

45.18 (v) three public members as defined in section 214.02.​

45.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

45.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.21 Subdivision 1. Criteria. The Board of Examiners may issue licenses to qualified persons​

45.22 as nursing home or assisted living establishment administrators, and shall establish​

45.23 qualification criteria for nursing home and assisted living establishment administrators. No​

45.24 license shall be issued to a person as a nursing home or assisted living establishment​

45.25 administrator unless that person:​

45.26 (1) is at least 21 years of age and otherwise suitably qualified;​

45.27 (2) has satisfactorily met standards set by the Board of Examiners, which standards shall​

45.28 be designed to assure that nursing home and assisted living establishment administrators​

45.29 will be individuals who, by training or experience are qualified to serve as nursing home​

45.30 or assisted living establishment administrators; and​
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46.1 (3) has passed an examination approved by the board and designed to test for competence​

46.2 in the subject matters referred to in clause (2), or has been approved by the Board of​

46.3 Examiners through the development and application of other appropriate techniques.​

46.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

46.5 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.21, is amended to read:​

46.6 144A.21 ADMINISTRATOR LICENSES.​

46.7 Subdivision 1. Transferability. A nursing home or assisted living establishment​

46.8 administrator's license shall not be transferable.​

46.9 Subd. 2. Rules; renewal. The Board of Examiners by rule shall establish forms and​

46.10 procedures for the processing of license renewals. A nursing home or assisted living​

46.11 establishment administrator's license may be renewed only in accordance with the standards​

46.12 adopted by the Board of Examiners pursuant to section 144A.24.​

46.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

46.14 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.23, is amended to read:​

46.15 144A.23 JURISDICTION OF BOARD.​

46.16 Except as provided in section 144A.04, subdivision 5, the board of examiners shall have​

46.17 exclusive authority to determine the qualifications, skill and fitness required of any person​

46.18 to serve as an administrator of a nursing home or assisted living establishment. The holder​

46.19 of a license shall be deemed fully qualified to serve as the administrator of a nursing home​

46.20 or assisted living establishment.​

46.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

46.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.24, is amended to read:​

46.23 144A.24 DUTIES OF THE BOARD.​

46.24 The Board of Examiners shall:​

46.25 (1) develop and enforce standards for nursing home and assisted living establishment​

46.26 administrator licensing, which standards shall be designed to assure that nursing home​

46.27 administrators will be individuals of good character who, by training or experience, are​

46.28 suitably qualified to serve as nursing home or assisted living establishment administrators;​

46.29 (2) develop appropriate techniques, including examinations and investigations, for​

46.30 determining whether applicants and licensees meet the board's standards;​
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47.1 (3) issue licenses and permits to those individuals who are found to meet the board's​

47.2 standards;​

47.3 (4) establish and implement procedures designed to assure that individuals licensed as​

47.4 nursing home and assisted living establishment administrators will comply with the board's​

47.5 standards;​

47.6 (5) receive and investigate complaints and take appropriate action consistent with chapter​

47.7 214, to revoke or suspend the license or permit of a nursing home or assisted living​

47.8 establishment administrator or acting administrator who fails to comply with sections​

47.9 144A.18 to 144A.27 or the board's standards;​

47.10 (6) conduct a continuing study and investigation of nursing homes, and the administrators​

47.11 of nursing homes and assisted living establishments within the state, with a view to the​

47.12 improvement of the standards imposed for the licensing of administrators and improvement​

47.13 of the procedures and methods used for enforcement of the board's standards; and​

47.14 (7) approve or conduct courses of instruction or training designed to prepare individuals​

47.15 for licensing in accordance with the board's standards. Courses designed to meet license​

47.16 renewal requirements shall be designed solely to improve professional skills and shall not​

47.17 include classroom attendance requirements exceeding 50 hours per year. The board may​

47.18 approve courses conducted within or without this state.​

47.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

47.20 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.251, is amended to read:​

47.21 144A.251 MANDATORY PROCEEDINGS.​

47.22 In addition to its discretionary authority to initiate proceedings under section 144A.24​

47.23 and chapter 214, the Board of Examiners shall initiate proceedings to suspend or revoke a​

47.24 nursing home or assisted living establishment administrator license or shall refuse to renew​

47.25 a license if within the preceding two-year period the administrator was employed at a nursing​

47.26 home which or assisted living establishment that during the period of employment incurred​

47.27 the following number of uncorrected violations, which violations were in the jurisdiction​

47.28 and control of the administrator and for which a fine was assessed and allowed to be​

47.29 recovered:​

47.30 (1) two or more uncorrected violations which created an imminent risk of harm to a​

47.31 nursing home resident; or​

47.32 (2) ten or more uncorrected violations of any nature.​

47​Article 4 Sec. 10.​

HOUSE RESEARCH EK/JG H0090DE1​02/13/19 03:45 pm ​



48.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

48.2 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.2511, is amended to read:​

48.3 144A.2511 COSTS; PENALTIES.​

48.4 If the Board of Examiners has initiated proceedings under section 144A.24 or 144A.251​

48.5 or chapter 214, and upon completion of the proceedings has found that a nursing home or​

48.6 assisted living establishment administrator has violated a provision or provisions of sections​

48.7 144A.18 to 144A.27, it may impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each separate​

48.8 violation, with all violations related to a single event or incident considered as one violation.​

48.9 The amount of the civil penalty shall be fixed so as to deprive the nursing home or assisted​

48.10 living establishment administrator of any economic advantage gained by reason of the​

48.11 violation charged or to reimburse the board for the cost of the investigation and proceeding.​

48.12 For purposes of this section, the cost of the investigation and proceeding may include, but​

48.13 is not limited to, fees paid for services provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings,​

48.14 legal and investigative services provided by the Office of the Attorney General, court​

48.15 reporters, witnesses, and reproduction of records.​

48.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

48.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.26, is amended to read:​

48.18 144A.26 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES.​

48.19 The board of examiners may issue a nursing home or assisted living establishment​

48.20 administrator's license, without examination, to any person who holds a current license as​

48.21 a nursing home or assisted living establishment administrator from another jurisdiction if​

48.22 the board finds that the standards for licensure in the other jurisdiction are at least the​

48.23 substantial equivalent of those prevailing in this state and that the applicant is otherwise​

48.24 qualified.​

48.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

48.26 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.27, is amended to read:​

48.27 144A.27 ACTING ADMINISTRATORS.​

48.28 If a licensed nursing home or assisted living establishment administrator is removed​

48.29 from the position by death or other unexpected cause, the controlling persons of the nursing​

48.30 home suffering the removal may designate an acting nursing home or assisted living​
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49.1 establishment administrator who shall secure an acting administrator's permit within 30​

49.2 days of appointment as the acting administrator.​

49.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

49.4 Sec. 14. [144I.01] DEFINITIONS.​

49.5 Subdivision 1.  Administrator. "Administrator" means a person who administers,​

49.6 manages, supervises, or is in general administrative charge of an assisted living establishment,​

49.7 whether or not the individual has an ownership interest in the assisted living establishment,​

49.8 and whether or not the person's functions and duties are shared with one or more individuals,​

49.9 and who is licensed under chapter 144A.​

49.10 Subd. 2. Adult. "Adult" means a person who is at least 18 years of age.​

49.11 Subd. 3. Affiliated home care provider. "Affiliated home care provider" means a home​

49.12 care provider licensed under chapter 144A that provides home care services to residents of​

49.13 an assisted living establishment under a business relationship or other affiliation with an​

49.14 assisted living establishment.​

49.15 Subd. 4. Applicant. "Applicant" means the assisted living establishment.​

49.16 Subd. 5. Assisted living establishment. (a) "Assisted living establishment" means an​

49.17 entity that, for a fee, provides sleeping accommodations to one or more adults and offers​

49.18 or provides, directly or through an affiliated home care provider, home care services to any​

49.19 resident in the establishment.​

49.20 (b) Assisted living establishment does not include:​

49.21 (1) shelters, transitional housing, or any other residential units serving exclusively or​

49.22 primarily homeless individuals, as defined in section 116L.361;​

49.23 (2) a housing with services establishment registered under chapter 144D;​

49.24 (3) a hospital, as defined in section 144.50, subdivision 2;​

49.25 (4) a boarding care home, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4655.0100, subpart 3;​

49.26 (5) a supervised living facility, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4665.0100, subpart​

49.27 10;​

49.28 (6) a board and lodging establishment licensed under chapter 157 or 245G, or governed​

49.29 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670;​

49.30 (7) any establishment that serves as a shelter for battered women or other similar purpose;​
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50.1 (8) adult foster care licensed by the Department of Human Services;​

50.2 (9) private homes in which the residents are related by kinship, law, or affinity to the​

50.3 providers of services;​

50.4 (10) residential settings for persons with developmental disabilities in which the services​

50.5 are licensed under chapter 245D;​

50.6 (11) a home-sharing arrangement, including but not limited to arrangements where an​

50.7 older person, person with a disability, or single-parent family makes lodging in a private​

50.8 residence available to another person in exchange for services or rent, or both;​

50.9 (12) a condominium, cooperative, common interest community, or owners' association​

50.10 organized under chapter 515B where at least 80 percent of the units that comprise the​

50.11 condominium, cooperative, common interest community, or association are occupied by​

50.12 individuals who are the owners, members, or shareholders of the units; and​

50.13 (13) services for persons with developmental disabilities that are provided under chapter​

50.14 245D; or​

50.15 (14) a temporary family health care dwelling as defined in sections 394.307 and 462.3593.​

50.16 Subd. 6. Basic home care services. "Basic home care services" means:​

50.17 (1) the services described in section 144A.471, subdivision 6; and​

50.18 (2) any of the following services:​

50.19 (i) daily or periodic monitoring or supervision of the resident's functioning and needs​

50.20 to ensure the resident's well-being;​

50.21 (ii) provision of meals;​

50.22 (iii) help with arranging for medical, social, recreational, personal, or social service​

50.23 appointments, or arranging transportation for medical, social, recreational, personal, or​

50.24 social service appointments; or​

50.25 (iv) provision of social or recreational services.​

50.26 Subd. 7. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of health.​

50.27 Subd. 8. Comprehensive home care services. "Comprehensive home care services"​

50.28 means the services described in section 144A.471, subdivision 7.​

50.29 Subd. 9. Controlling person. (a) "Controlling person" means any business entity, officer,​

50.30 assisted living establishment administrator, or director whose responsibilities include the​

50​Article 4 Sec. 14.​

HOUSE RESEARCH EK/JG H0090DE1​02/13/19 03:45 pm ​



51.1 direction of the management or policies of an assisted living establishment. Controlling​

51.2 person also means any person who, directly or indirectly, beneficially owns any interest in:​

51.3 (1) any corporation, partnership, or other business association that is a controlling person​

51.4 of an assisted living establishment;​

51.5 (2) the land on which an assisted living establishment is located;​

51.6 (3) the structure in which an assisted living establishment is located;​

51.7 (4) any mortgage, contract for deed, or other obligation secured in whole or part by the​

51.8 land or structure comprising an assisted living establishment; or​

51.9 (5) any lease or sublease of the land, structure, or facilities comprising an assisted living​

51.10 establishment.​

51.11 (b) Controlling person does not include:​

51.12 (1) a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings association, credit union, industrial​

51.13 loan and thrift company, investment banking firm, or insurance company, unless the entity​

51.14 directly or through a subsidiary operates an assisted living establishment;​

51.15 (2) a public or government entity;​

51.16 (3) an individual state official or state employee, or a member or employee of the​

51.17 governing body of a political subdivision of the state that operates one or more assisted​

51.18 living establishments, unless the individual is also an officer or director of an assisted living​

51.19 establishment, receives any remuneration from an assisted living establishment, or owns​

51.20 any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision;​

51.21 (4) a natural person who is a member of a tax-exempt organization under section 290.05,​

51.22 subdivision 2, unless the individual is also an officer or director of an assisted living​

51.23 establishment or owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision; and​

51.24 (5) a natural person who owns less than five percent of the outstanding common shares​

51.25 of a corporation:​

51.26 (i) whose securities are exempt as provided in section 80A.45, clause (6); or​

51.27 (ii) whose transactions are exempt as provided in section 80A.46, clause (7).​

51.28 Subd. 10. Designated representative. "Designated representative" means:​

51.29 (1) a court-appointed guardian;​

51.30 (2) a conservator;​
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52.1 (3) an attorney-in-fact;​

52.2 (4) a health care agent, as defined in section 145C.01, subdivision 2; or​

52.3 (5) a person chosen by the resident and identified in the resident's records on file with​

52.4 the assisted living establishment.​

52.5 Subd. 11. Home care service agreement or service agreement. "Home care service​

52.6 agreement" or "service agreement" means the written agreement described in section​

52.7 144A.43, subdivision 27, between a private client or a private client's representative and an​

52.8 unaffiliated home care provider delineating the home care services that will be provided to​

52.9 the private client for a fee.​

52.10 Subd. 12. Home care services. "Home care services" means either basic or​

52.11 comprehensive home care services.​

52.12 Subd. 13. Ombudsman. "Ombudsman" means the ombudsman for long-term care.​

52.13 Subd. 14. Plan for care and services. "Plan for care and services" means the​

52.14 individualized written record documenting the results of the individualized care and service​

52.15 planning process based on the assessments described in section 144I.13, subdivision 3.​

52.16 Subd. 15. Resident. "Resident" means a person living in an assisted living establishment.​

52.17 Subd. 16. Unaffiliated home care provider. "Unaffiliated home care provider" means​

52.18 an individual, organization, association, corporation, or other entity that, for a fee:​

52.19 (1) has a valid current temporary license or license issued under chapter 144A, or is​

52.20 exempt from licensure;​

52.21 (2) is regularly engaged in the delivery of one or more home care services directly to a​

52.22 resident in any residential setting; and​

52.23 (3) has no business relationship or affiliation with the assisted living establishment where​

52.24 the resident receiving services lives.​

52.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

52.26 Sec. 15. [144I.02] LICENSURE; PENALTY.​

52.27 Subdivision 1. Licensing levels. There shall be three levels of licensure of assisted living​

52.28 establishments. Level 1 licensure is required for all assisted living establishments that offer​

52.29 basic home care services. Level 2 licensure is required for all assisted living establishments​

52.30 that offer comprehensive home care services. Level 3 licensure is required for all Level 1​

52.31 or Level 2 licensed assisted living establishments that offer, provide, advertise, or hold​
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53.1 themselves out by whatever name or descriptor as offering or providing special care for​

53.2 persons with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease or other forms of​

53.3 dementia.​

53.4 Subd. 2. License required. (a) No entity may open, operate, maintain, or advertise itself​

53.5 as an assisted living establishment unless the entity is licensed as a Level 1 or Level 2​

53.6 assisted living establishment under this chapter. The commissioner may license an entity​

53.7 as an assisted living establishment if the entity meets the criteria established under this​

53.8 chapter, and any adopted rules.​

53.9 (b) No entity may open, operate, maintain, or advertise itself as an assisted living​

53.10 establishment that offers, by any name, memory care, dementia care, or special care for​

53.11 persons with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease or other forms of​

53.12 dementia, unless the entity is licensed as a Level 3 assisted living establishment under this​

53.13 chapter and any adopted rules.​

53.14 Subd. 3. Contents of license. A license must:​

53.15 (1) include the address of the entity to be licensed and the legal property description;​

53.16 (2) specify the location and square footage of the floor space constituting the entity;​

53.17 (3) incorporate by reference the plans and specifications of the entity, which must be​

53.18 kept on file with the commissioner;​

53.19 (4) specify the level or levels of care and services that the entity is licensed to provide;​

53.20 and​

53.21 (5) state any conditions or limitations imposed on the entity according to the rules of​

53.22 the commissioner.​

53.23 Subd. 4. Home care provider license required. (a) No assisted living establishment​

53.24 or affiliated home care provider may offer or provide home care services to a resident unless​

53.25 the establishment or provider has a valid home care provider license under chapter 144A.​

53.26 (b) Assisted living establishments providing home care services directly and affiliated​

53.27 home care providers must comply with sections 144A.471 to 144A.483.​

53.28 Subd. 5. Violations; penalty. (a) Operating an assisted living establishment without a​

53.29 license is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine imposed by the commissioner by adopted​

53.30 rule.​

53.31 (b) A person or entity that, before obtaining a license, advertises an assisted living​

53.32 establishment that is required to be licensed under this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor.​
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54.1 (c) A controlling person of an assisted living establishment in violation of this section​

54.2 is guilty of a misdemeanor. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to any​

54.3 controlling person who had no legal authority to affect or change decisions related to the​

54.4 operation of the assisted living establishment.​

54.5 (d) The sanctions in this section do not restrict other available sanctions.​

54.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

54.7 Sec. 16. [144I.03] LICENSE APPLICATION.​

54.8 Subdivision 1. Form; requirements. (a) The commissioner shall establish forms and​

54.9 procedures for processing assisted living establishment license applications.​

54.10 (b) An application for an assisted living establishment license must include the following​

54.11 information for the assisted living establishment:​

54.12 (1) the business name, street address, mailing address if different from the street address,​

54.13 and legal property description of the establishment;​

54.14 (2) the legal name or designation of the establishment and any affiliated home care​

54.15 provider;​

54.16 (3) the name, mailing address, which may not be a post office box, e-mail address, and​

54.17 telephone number of:​

54.18 (i) all owners, controlling persons, and managerial employees of the assisted living​

54.19 establishment;​

54.20 (ii) any affiliated home care provider;​

54.21 (iii) all officers and members of the governing body, or comparable person for​

54.22 partnerships, limited liability corporations, or other legal designation for the business​

54.23 organizational structure of the assisted living establishment;​

54.24 (iv) the managing agent of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners; and​

54.25 (v) the on-site manager of the establishment;​

54.26 (4) disclosure of:​

54.27 (i) whether any owner, controlling party, managing agent, on-site manager, or controlling​

54.28 person of the assisted living establishment or any affiliated home care provider has ever​

54.29 been convicted of a crime or found civilly liable for an offense involving moral turpitude,​

54.30 including forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion,​

54.31 conspiracy to defraud, or any other similar offense or violation, or any violation of section​
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55.1 626.557 or any other similar law in any other state, or any violation of a federal or state law​

55.2 or regulation in connection with activities involving any consumer fraud, false advertising,​

55.3 deceptive trade practices, or similar consumer protection law;​

55.4 (ii) any judgments, private or public litigation, tax liens, written complaints, administrative​

55.5 actions, or investigations by any government agency against the applicant or the applicant's​

55.6 affiliated home care provider, or officer, director or manager of, or shareholder owning​

55.7 more than five percent interest in the applicant or the applicant's affiliated home care provider​

55.8 that are unresolved or otherwise filed or commenced within the preceding ten years;​

55.9 (iii) whether the applicant or the applicant's affiliated home care provider, or any person​

55.10 employed by the applicant or the applicant's affiliated home care provider, has a record of​

55.11 defaulting in the payment of money collected for others, including the discharge of debts​

55.12 through bankruptcy proceedings; and​

55.13 (iv) whether the applicant or the applicant's home care provider's license or registration​

55.14 in this or any other state to provide the services for which the applicant seeks to be licensed​

55.15 has ever been revoked or suspended;​

55.16 (5) a copy of the architectural and engineering plans and specifications of the facility as​

55.17 prepared and certified by an architect or engineer registered to practice in this state;​

55.18 (6) a showing of proof that the establishment is in compliance with the workers'​

55.19 compensation insurance coverage requirement, as provided under section 176.82;​

55.20 (7) a showing of proof that the establishment has sufficient liability coverage;​

55.21 (8) for applicants for a Level 3 license:​

55.22 (i) verification that the establishment will comply with the requirements of section​

55.23 325F.72; and​

55.24 (ii) evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the assisted living establishment has​

55.25 met the requirements in rules adopted by the commissioner for qualifications and training​

55.26 of administrators and staff of Level 3 licensed establishments;​

55.27 (9) if applicable, evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the affiliated home care​

55.28 provider has a current license, as required under section 144A.471, subdivision 1, and meets​

55.29 all applicable requirements under statute and rule to provide home care services to residents;​

55.30 and​

55.31 (10) any other relevant information the commissioner determines is necessary to properly​

55.32 evaluate an application for license.​
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56.1 (c) An application for any assisted living license must be signed by the owner or owners,​

56.2 or an authorized agent of the owner or owners. An application submitted on behalf of a​

56.3 corporation, association, or governmental unit or instrumentality must be signed by at least​

56.4 two officers or managing agents of that entity.​

56.5 (d) If the owner of the assisted living establishment is a corporation, an authorized agent​

56.6 of the corporation must submit copies of articles of incorporation and bylaws and any​

56.7 amendments as they occur, together with the names and addresses of the assisted living​

56.8 establishment's officers and directors. If the assisted living establishment is owned by a​

56.9 foreign corporation, an authorized agent must furnish the commissioner with a copy of the​

56.10 foreign corporation's certificate of authority to do business in this state.​

56.11 Subd. 2. Agents. (a) An application for any assisted living establishment license or for​

56.12 renewal of an assisted living establishment license must specify one or more controlling​

56.13 persons or managerial employees as agents:​

56.14 (1) who shall be responsible for dealing with the commissioner on all requirements of​

56.15 this chapter and chapter 144J; and​

56.16 (2) on whom personal service of all notices and orders shall be made, and who shall be​

56.17 authorized to accept service on behalf of all of the controlling persons of the assisted living​

56.18 establishment, in proceedings under this chapter.​

56.19 (b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, personal service on the designated person​

56.20 or persons named in the application is deemed to be service on all of the controlling persons​

56.21 or managerial employees of the assisted living establishment, and it is not a defense to any​

56.22 action arising under this chapter, that personal service was not made on each controlling​

56.23 person or managerial employee of the assisted living establishment. The designation of one​

56.24 or more controlling persons or managerial employees under this subdivision shall not affect​

56.25 the legal responsibility of any other controlling person or managerial employee under this​

56.26 chapter or chapter 144J.​

56.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

56.28 Sec. 17. [144I.04] LICENSE RENEWALS.​

56.29 Unless the assisted living establishment license expires or is suspended or revoked under​

56.30 section 144I.05, a license shall remain effective for a period of one year from the date of​

56.31 issuance. The commissioner must establish forms and procedures for the processing of​

56.32 license renewals. The commissioner must approve a license renewal application if the​
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57.1 assisted living establishment continues to satisfy the requirements, standards, and conditions​

57.2 of this chapter and adopted rules.​

57.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

57.4 Sec. 18. [144I.05] LICENSE SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION; HEARING;​

57.5 RELICENSING.​

57.6 Subdivision 1. Optional proceedings. The commissioner may institute proceedings to​

57.7 suspend or revoke any assisted living establishment's license or may refuse to grant or renew​

57.8 an assisted living establishment's license if any action by a controlling person or employee​

57.9 of the assisted living establishment:​

57.10 (1) violates any of the provisions of this chapter, or adopted rules;​

57.11 (2) permits, aids, or abets the commission of any illegal act;​

57.12 (3) performs any act contrary to the welfare of a resident of the assisted living​

57.13 establishment; or​

57.14 (4) obtains, or attempts to obtain, a license by fraudulent means or misrepresentation.​

57.15 Subd. 2. Mandatory proceedings. (a) The commissioner must initiate proceedings​

57.16 within 60 days of notification to suspend or revoke an assisted living establishment's license​

57.17 or must refuse to renew an assisted living establishment's license if within the preceding​

57.18 two years the assisted living establishment has incurred the following number of uncorrected​

57.19 or repeated violations:​

57.20 (1) two or more uncorrected violations or one or more repeated violations that created​

57.21 an imminent risk to direct resident care or safety; or​

57.22 (2) four or more uncorrected violations or two or more repeated violations of any nature​

57.23 for which the fines are in the four highest daily fine categories prescribed in rule.​

57.24 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner is not required to revoke, suspend,​

57.25 or refuse to renew an assisted living establishment's license if the establishment corrects​

57.26 the violation.​

57.27 Subd. 3. Notice to residents. (a) Within five working days after proceedings are initiated​

57.28 by the commissioner to revoke or suspend an assisted living establishment's license, or a​

57.29 decision by the commissioner not to renew an assisted living establishment's license, the​

57.30 controlling person of the assisted living establishment or a designee must provide to the​

57.31 commissioner and the ombudsman for long-term care the names of residents and the names​

57.32 and addresses of the residents' guardians, designated representatives, and family contacts.​
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58.1 (b) The controlling person or designees of the assisted living establishment must provide​

58.2 updated information each month until the proceeding is concluded. If the controlling person​

58.3 or designee of the assisted living establishment fails to provide the information within this​

58.4 time, the assisted living establishment is subject to the issuance of:​

58.5 (1) a correction order; and​

58.6 (2) a penalty assessment by the commissioner in rule.​

58.7 (c) Notwithstanding section 144I.08, any correction order issued under this subdivision​

58.8 must require that the assisted living establishment immediately comply with the request for​

58.9 information and that, as of the date of the issuance of the correction order, the establishment​

58.10 shall forfeit to the state a $500 fine the first day of noncompliance and an increase in the​

58.11 $500 fine by $100 increments for each day the noncompliance continues.​

58.12 (d) Information provided under this subdivision may be used by the commissioner or​

58.13 the ombudsman for long-term care only for the purpose of providing affected consumers​

58.14 information about the status of the proceedings.​

58.15 (e) Within ten working days after the commissioner initiates proceedings to revoke,​

58.16 suspend, or not renew an assisted living establishment license, the commissioner must send​

58.17 a written notice of the action and the process involved to each resident of the assisted living​

58.18 establishment and the resident's designated representative or, if there is no designated​

58.19 representative and if known, a family member or interested person.​

58.20 (f) The commissioner shall provide the ombudsman for long-term care with monthly​

58.21 information on the department's actions and the status of the proceedings.​

58.22 Subd. 4. Hearing. An assisted living establishment license may not be suspended or​

58.23 revoked, and renewal may not be denied, without a hearing held as a contested case hearing​

58.24 under chapter 14. The hearing must commence within 60 days after the proceedings are​

58.25 initiated. If the controlling person of the assisted living establishment designated under​

58.26 section 144I.03, subdivision 2, as an agent to accept service on behalf of all of the controlling​

58.27 persons of the assisted living establishment has been notified by the commissioner that the​

58.28 establishment will not receive an initial license or that a license renewal has been denied,​

58.29 the controlling person or a legal representative on behalf of the assisted living establishment​

58.30 may request and receive a hearing on the denial. This hearing shall be held as a contested​

58.31 case under chapter 14.​

58.32 Subd. 5. Mandatory revocation. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 4, the​

58.33 commissioner must revoke an assisted living license if a controlling person of the assisted​
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59.1 living establishment is convicted of a felony or gross misdemeanor that relates to operation​

59.2 of the assisted living establishment or directly affects resident safety or care. The​

59.3 commissioner shall notify the assisted living establishment and the Office of Ombudsman​

59.4 for Long-Term Care 30 days in advance of the date of revocation.​

59.5 Subd. 6. Relicensing. If an assisted living establishment license is revoked, a new​

59.6 application for license may be considered by the commissioner when the conditions upon​

59.7 which the revocation was based have been corrected and satisfactory evidence of this fact​

59.8 has been furnished to the commissioner. A new license may be granted after an inspection​

59.9 has been made and the facility has been found to comply with all provisions of this chapter​

59.10 and chapter 144J and adopted rules.​

59.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

59.12 Sec. 19. [144I.06] REGULATORY POWERS.​

59.13 (a) With the exception of the Department of Public Safety, which has the exclusive​

59.14 jurisdiction to enforce state fire and safety standards, the commissioner is the exclusive​

59.15 state agency charged with the responsibility and duty of inspecting assisted living​

59.16 establishments required to be licensed under this chapter and for enforcing adopted rules.​

59.17 The commissioner has all the powers vested and all the duties assigned with respect to​

59.18 assisted living establishments as the commissioner has with respect to nursing homes under​

59.19 sections 144A.10, subdivisions 1 to 6, 6d, 6e, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 17; and 144A.11.​

59.20 (b) The commissioner may request and must be given access to relevant information,​

59.21 records, incident reports, or other documents in the possession of a licensed assisted living​

59.22 establishment if the commissioner considers them necessary for the discharge of​

59.23 responsibilities. For the purposes of inspections and securing information to determine​

59.24 compliance with licensure laws and rules, the commissioner need not present a release,​

59.25 waiver, or consent of the individual. The identities of patients or residents must be kept​

59.26 private as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

59.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

59.28 Sec. 20. [144I.07] FEES AND FINES.​

59.29 (a) Each application for a license and each renewal application to operate an assisted​

59.30 living establishment must be accompanied by a fee to be prescribed by rule by the​

59.31 commissioner as provided in section 144.122. No fee shall be refunded. In any assisted​
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60.1 living establishment where home care services are delivered through an affiliated home​

60.2 care provider, the fee will be applied to the assisted living establishment license only.​

60.3 (b) The commissioner shall adopt rules to establish a schedule of fines for violations of​

60.4 this chapter and any applicable rules.​

60.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

60.6 Sec. 21. [144I.08] INJUNCTIVE RELIEF; SUBPOENAS.​

60.7 Subdivision 1. Injunctive relief. In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the​

60.8 commissioner may bring an action in district court to enjoin a person who is involved in​

60.9 the management, operation, or control of an assisted living establishment, or an employee​

60.10 of an assisted living establishment, from illegally engaging in activities regulated by this​

60.11 chapter and chapter 144J. A temporary restraining order may be granted by the court in the​

60.12 proceeding if continued activity by the controlling person or employee of the assisted living​

60.13 establishment would create an imminent risk of harm to a resident of the assisted living​

60.14 establishment.​

60.15 Subd. 2. Subpoenas. In all matters pending before the commissioner under this chapter,​

60.16 the commissioner shall have the power to issue subpoenas and compel the attendance of​

60.17 witnesses and the production of all necessary papers, books, records, documents, and other​

60.18 evidentiary material. Any person failing or refusing to appear or testify regarding any matter​

60.19 about which that person may be lawfully questioned or to produce any papers, books,​

60.20 records, documents, or evidentiary materials in the matter to be heard, after having been​

60.21 required by order or subpoena of the commissioner to do so, may, upon application by the​

60.22 commissioner to the district court in any district, be ordered by the court to comply therewith.​

60.23 The commissioner may issue subpoenas and administer oaths to witnesses, or take their​

60.24 affirmation. Depositions may be taken within or without the state in the manner provided​

60.25 by law for the taking of depositions in civil actions. A subpoena or other process or paper​

60.26 may be served upon any named person anywhere within the state by any officer authorized​

60.27 to serve subpoenas in civil actions, with the same fees and mileage and in the same manner​

60.28 as prescribed by law for process issued by the district court of this state. Fees and mileage​

60.29 and other costs of persons subpoenaed by the commissioner shall be paid in the same manner​

60.30 as for proceedings in district court.​

60.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​
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61.1 Sec. 22. [144I.09] TRANSFER OF INTERESTS.​

61.2 Subdivision 1. Notice; expiration of license. Any controlling person who makes any​

61.3 transfer of a beneficial interest in any assisted living establishment must notify the​

61.4 commissioner of the transfer within 14 days of its occurrence. The notification must identify​

61.5 by name and address the transferor and transferee and must specify the nature and amount​

61.6 of the transferred interest. The commissioner upon determining that the transferred beneficial​

61.7 interest exceeds ten percent of the total beneficial interest in the assisted living establishment,​

61.8 the structure in which the facility is located, or the land upon which the structure is located​

61.9 may require that the license of the assisted living establishment expire 90 days after the day​

61.10 of transfer. The commissioner upon determining that the transferred beneficial interest​

61.11 exceeds 50 percent of the total beneficial interest in the establishment, the structure in which​

61.12 the facility is located, or the land upon which the structure is located must require that the​

61.13 license of the assisted living establishment expire 90 days after the date of transfer. The​

61.14 commissioner must notify the assisted living establishment by certified mail of the expiration​

61.15 of the license at least 60 days prior to the date of expiration.​

61.16 Subd. 2. Relicensure. The commissioner shall prescribe procedures for relicensure under​

61.17 this section. The commissioner shall relicense the assisted living establishment if the​

61.18 establishment satisfies the requirements of this chapter and chapter 144J. An assisted living​

61.19 establishment must not be relicensed by the commissioner if at the time of transfer there​

61.20 are any uncorrected violations. The commissioner may temporarily waive correction of one​

61.21 or more violations if the commissioner determines that:​

61.22 (1) temporary noncorrection of the violation will not create an imminent risk of harm​

61.23 to any assisted living establishment resident; and​

61.24 (2) a controlling person of the assisted living establishment on behalf of all other​

61.25 controlling persons:​

61.26 (i) has entered into a contract to obtain the materials or labor necessary to correct the​

61.27 violation, but the supplier or other contractor has failed to perform the terms of the contract​

61.28 and the inability of the assisted living establishment to correct the violation is due solely to​

61.29 that failure; or​

61.30 (ii) is otherwise making a diligent good faith effort to correct the violation.​

61.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​
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62.1 Sec. 23. [144I.10] ASSISTED LIVING ESTABLISHMENT ADMINISTRATORS.​

62.2 Each assisted living establishment must employ an administrator who must be licensed​

62.3 or permitted as an assisted living establishment administrator by the Board of Examiners​

62.4 for Nursing Home and Assisted Living Establishment Administrators, as provided under​

62.5 section 144A.18. The assisted living establishment may share the services of a licensed​

62.6 administrator. The administrator must maintain a sufficient on-site presence in the assisted​

62.7 living establishment to effectively manage the establishment in compliance with applicable​

62.8 statutes, rules, and regulations. The administrator must establish procedures and delegate​

62.9 authority for on-site operations in the administrator's absence, but is ultimately responsible​

62.10 for the management of the assisted living establishment. Each assisted living establishment​

62.11 must have posted at all times the name of the administrator and the name of the person in​

62.12 charge on the premises in the absence of the licensed administrator.​

62.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

62.14 Sec. 24. [144I.11] ADMINISTRATOR OR MANAGERIAL EMPLOYEE​

62.15 RESTRICTIONS.​

62.16 Subdivision 1. Restrictions. An assisted living establishment may not employ as an​

62.17 administrator or managerial employee any person who was an administrator or managerial​

62.18 employee of a nursing home or another assisted living establishment during any period of​

62.19 time in the previous two-year period:​

62.20 (1) during which time of employment that nursing home or other assisted living​

62.21 establishment incurred the following number of uncorrected violations:​

62.22 (i) two or more uncorrected violations or one or more repeated violations that created​

62.23 an imminent risk to direct resident care or safety; or​

62.24 (ii) four or more uncorrected violations or two or more repeated violations of any nature​

62.25 for which the fines are in the four highest daily fine categories prescribed in rule; or​

62.26 (2) who, during that period, was convicted of a felony or gross misdemeanor that relates​

62.27 to the operation of the nursing home or assisted living establishment, or directly affects​

62.28 resident safety or care.​

62.29 Subd. 2. Exception. The provisions of subdivision 1 do not apply to any violations​

62.30 incurred that were outside the jurisdiction and control of the managerial employee or the​

62.31 administrator.​

62.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​
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63.1 Sec. 25. [144I.12] CONTROLLING PERSON RESTRICTIONS.​

63.2 Subdivision 1. Restrictions. The controlling person of any assisted living establishment​

63.3 may not include any person who was a controlling person of a nursing home or another​

63.4 assisted living establishment during any period of time in the previous two-year period:​

63.5 (1) during which time of control that nursing home or other assisted living establishment​

63.6 incurred the following number of uncorrected or repeated violations:​

63.7 (i) two or more uncorrected violations or one or more repeated violations that created​

63.8 an imminent risk to direct resident care or safety; or​

63.9 (ii) four or more uncorrected violations or two or more repeated violations of any nature​

63.10 for which the fines are in the four highest daily fine categories prescribed in rule; or​

63.11 (2) who, during that period, was convicted of a felony or gross misdemeanor that relates​

63.12 to the operation of the nursing home or other assisted living establishment, or directly affects​

63.13 resident safety or care.​

63.14 Subd. 2. Exception. The provisions of subdivision 1 do not apply to any controlling​

63.15 person of the assisted living establishment who had no legal authority to affect or change​

63.16 decisions related to the operation of the nursing home or other assisted living establishment​

63.17 that incurred the uncorrected violations.​

63.18 Subd. 3. Stay of adverse action required by controlling person restrictions. (a) In​

63.19 lieu of revoking, suspending, or refusing to renew the license of an assisted living​

63.20 establishment where a controlling person was disqualified by subdivision 1, clause (1), the​

63.21 commissioner may issue an order staying the revocation, suspension, or nonrenewal of the​

63.22 assisted living establishment's license. The order may but need not be contingent upon the​

63.23 assisted living establishment's compliance with restrictions and conditions imposed on the​

63.24 license to ensure the proper operation of the assisted living establishment and to protect the​

63.25 health, safety, comfort, treatment, and well-being of the residents in the establishment. The​

63.26 decision to issue an order for a stay must be made within 90 days of the commissioner's​

63.27 determination that a controlling person of the assisted living establishment is disqualified​

63.28 by subdivision 1, clause (1), from operating an assisted living establishment.​

63.29 (b) In determining whether to issue a stay and to impose conditions and restrictions, the​

63.30 commissioner must consider the following factors:​

63.31 (1) the ability of the controlling person to operate other assisted living establishments​

63.32 in accordance with the licensure rules and laws;​
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64.1 (2) the conditions in the nursing home or assisted living establishment that received the​

64.2 number and type of uncorrected or repeated violations described in subdivision 1, clause​

64.3 (1); and​

64.4 (3) the conditions and compliance history of each of the nursing homes and assisted​

64.5 living establishments operated by the controlling persons.​

64.6 (c) The commissioner's decision to exercise the authority under this subdivision in lieu​

64.7 of revoking, suspending, or refusing to renew the license of the assisted living establishment​

64.8 is not subject to administrative or judicial review.​

64.9 (d) The order for the stay of revocation, suspension, or nonrenewal of the assisted living​

64.10 establishment license must include any conditions and restrictions on the license that the​

64.11 commissioner deems necessary based upon the factors listed in paragraph (b).​

64.12 (e) Prior to issuing an order for stay of revocation, suspension, or nonrenewal, the​

64.13 commissioner shall inform the controlling person in writing of any conditions and restrictions​

64.14 that will be imposed. The controlling person shall, within ten working days, notify the​

64.15 commissioner in writing of a decision to accept or reject the conditions and restrictions. If​

64.16 the assisted living establishment rejects any of the conditions and restrictions, the​

64.17 commissioner must either modify the conditions and restrictions or take action to suspend,​

64.18 revoke, or not renew the assisted living establishment's license.​

64.19 (f) Upon issuance of the order for a stay of revocation, suspension, or nonrenewal, the​

64.20 controlling person shall be responsible for compliance with the conditions and restrictions​

64.21 contained therein. Any time after the conditions and restrictions have been in place for 180​

64.22 days, the controlling person may petition the commissioner for removal or modification of​

64.23 the conditions and restrictions. The commissioner must respond to the petition within 30​

64.24 days of the receipt of the written petition. If the commissioner denies the petition, the​

64.25 controlling person may request a hearing under the provisions of chapter 14. Any hearing​

64.26 shall be limited to a determination of whether the conditions and restrictions shall be modified​

64.27 or removed. At the hearing, the controlling person has the burden of proof.​

64.28 (g) The failure of the controlling person to comply with the conditions and restrictions​

64.29 contained in the order for stay shall result in the immediate removal of the stay and the​

64.30 commissioner shall take action to suspend, revoke, or not renew the license.​

64.31 (h) The conditions and restrictions are effective for two years after the date they are​

64.32 imposed.​
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65.1 (i) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to limit in any way the commissioner's​

65.2 ability to impose other sanctions against an assisted living establishment licensee under the​

65.3 standards in state or federal law whether or not a stay of revocation, suspension, or​

65.4 nonrenewal is issued.​

65.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

65.6 Sec. 26. [144I.13] MINIMUM SERVICES AND STANDARDS.​

65.7 Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) An assisted living establishment must meet the standards​

65.8 and requirements of this section and offer a package of housing, care, and services that meet​

65.9 the needs of the residents and for which the resident contracted.​

65.10 (b) Provided they are within the scope of the license and consistent with this section,​

65.11 assisted living establishments may:​

65.12 (1) offer to residents and prospective residents services other than those required as a​

65.13 minimum;​

65.14 (2) offer any package of services to residents, provided the package includes those​

65.15 services required as a minimum; and​

65.16 (3) offer or provide services directly or through a licensed affiliated home care provider.​

65.17 (c) Assisted living establishments may offer and provide assisted living services to all​

65.18 or some of the residents.​

65.19 Subd. 2. Housing and safety. (a) An assisted living establishment must maintain​

65.20 minimum health, sanitation, safety, and comfort standards prescribed by the commissioner​

65.21 in adopted rules with respect to the physical plant, equipment, maintenance, and operation​

65.22 of the assisted living establishment, including standards with respect to evacuation of​

65.23 ambulatory and nonambulatory residents and controlled egress and secured perimeters for​

65.24 residents in Level 3 licensed assisted living establishments.​

65.25 (b) The commissioner may temporarily waive compliance with one or more of the​

65.26 standards or requirements if the commissioner determines that:​

65.27 (1) temporary noncompliance with the standard or requirement will not create an​

65.28 imminent risk of harm to a resident; and​

65.29 (2) a controlling person of an assisted living establishment on behalf of all other​

65.30 controlling persons of the establishment:​
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66.1 (i) has entered into a contract to obtain the materials or labor necessary to meet the​

66.2 standard or requirement established by the commissioner, but the supplier or other contractor​

66.3 has failed to perform the terms of the contract and the inability of the assisted living​

66.4 establishment to meet the standard or requirement is due solely to that failure; or​

66.5 (ii) is otherwise making a diligent good faith effort to meet the standard or requirement.​

66.6 Subd. 3. Assessments. (a) The commissioner must establish by rule assessment standards​

66.7 and protocols to determine the person's physical, cognitive, social, and service needs. The​

66.8 rules must provide that the physical and cognitive components of the assessments must be​

66.9 conducted by a registered nurse, as required by applicable home care licensure requirements​

66.10 in chapter 144A and sections 148.171 to 148.285, and the social and service components​

66.11 must be conducted by a qualified professional, with the active participation of the resident.​

66.12 (b) The assessment prior to move-in must be:​

66.13 (1) designed to ensure that the licensee can meet the needs and expectations of the​

66.14 resident;​

66.15 (2) used to develop the plan for care and services; and​

66.16 (3) conducted before the earlier of the date the prospective resident enters into an assisted​

66.17 living contract under section 144J.02 or moves in.​

66.18 (c) The standards for assessments prior to move-in and ongoing assessments must cover:​

66.19 (1) the qualifications and training required for persons conducting the social and service​

66.20 components of the assessments;​

66.21 (2) the elements of the physical and cognitive evaluation of the resident;​

66.22 (3) evaluation of activities of daily living, as defined in section 256B.0659, subdivision​

66.23 1, paragraph (b);​

66.24 (4) evaluation of instrumental activities of daily living, as defined in section 256B.0659,​

66.25 subdivision 1, paragraph (i);​

66.26 (5) evaluation of the resident's medicine administration and management abilities;​

66.27 (6) any other standards deemed necessary by the commissioner.​

66.28 (d) The commissioner must develop for use by all licensees a uniform assessment tool​

66.29 to be completed for all residents prior to the resident's move-in date and at subsequent​

66.30 intervals as determined by rule and is based on the standards under paragraph (c).​
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67.1 Subd. 4. Minimum services. (a) A Level 1 licensee may offer all or a package of basic​

67.2 home care services that at a minimum must include two meals per day, weekly housekeeping,​

67.3 and weekly laundry service. A Level 1 licensee may offer therapeutic or other dementia​

67.4 care services as determined by the commissioner in rule, but may not offer, provide, advertise,​

67.5 or hold themselves as offering or providing dementia care services that would require a​

67.6 Level 3 license. A Level 1 licensee may not offer or provide any comprehensive home care​

67.7 services.​

67.8 (b) A Level 2 licensee may offer all or a package of comprehensive home care services​

67.9 that at a minimum must include two meals per day, weekly housekeeping, and weekly​

67.10 laundry service. A Level 2 licensee may offer therapeutic or other dementia care services​

67.11 as determined by the commissioner in rule, but may not offer, provide, advertise, or hold​

67.12 themselves as offering or providing dementia care services that would require a Level 3​

67.13 license.​

67.14 (c) A Level 3 licensee must meet the requirements of a Level 2 licensee and may in​

67.15 addition offer, provide, advertise, or hold themselves as offering or providing dementia care​

67.16 services. The dementia care services offered or provided must meet the standards established​

67.17 by the commissioner, by rule, as provided under subdivision 5, and must be provided by​

67.18 staff who meet the standards established by the commissioner in rule to provide dementia​

67.19 care services in Level 3 establishments.​

67.20 Subd. 5. Staffing and training standards. (a) Every assisted living establishment must:​

67.21 (1) provide staff access to an on-call registered nurse 24 hours per day, seven days per​

67.22 week;​

67.23 (2) have and maintain a system for delegation of health care activities to unlicensed​

67.24 personnel by a registered nurse, including supervision and evaluation of the delegated​

67.25 activities as required by applicable home care licensure requirements in chapter 144A and​

67.26 sections 148.171 to 148.285; and​

67.27 (3) have a person or persons available 24 hours per day, seven days per week, who is​

67.28 responsible for responding to the requests of residents for assistance with health or safety​

67.29 needs, who must be:​

67.30 (i) awake;​

67.31 (ii) located in the same building, in an attached building, or on a contiguous campus​

67.32 with the assisted living establishment in order to respond within a reasonable amount of​

67.33 time;​

67​Article 4 Sec. 26.​

HOUSE RESEARCH EK/JG H0090DE1​02/13/19 03:45 pm ​



68.1 (iii) capable of communicating with residents;​

68.2 (iv) capable of recognizing the need for assistance;​

68.3 (v) capable of providing either the assistance required or summoning the appropriate​

68.4 assistance; and​

68.5 (vi) capable of following directions.​

68.6 (b) The commissioner must establish, by rule, the minimum initial and ongoing training​

68.7 requirements for staff and administrators of Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3 assisted living​

68.8 establishments licensed under this chapter, including training on sections 144J.06 to 144J.10​

68.9 and minimum Alzheimer's disease, dementia, memory, and any other special care training​

68.10 requirements.​

68.11 (c) The commissioner must adopt rules that, at a minimum:​

68.12 (1) require all assisted living establishments to maintain sufficient staffing at all times​

68.13 to meet the scheduled and reasonably foreseeable unscheduled needs of each resident as​

68.14 required by the residents' contracts, assessments, and plans for care and services;​

68.15 (2) establish minimum educational, professional, skills, competency, and experiential​

68.16 requirements for administrators and staff of assisted living establishments; and​

68.17 (3) include any additional requirements for licensing or certification of staff who are​

68.18 health care professionals and who are providing dementia care services in Level 3 assisted​

68.19 living establishments.​

68.20 Subd. 6. Medications. The commissioner must establish, by rule, standards for Level​

68.21 1, Level 2, and Level 3 assisted living establishments to provide:​

68.22 (1) medication administration, as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 11;​

68.23 (2) medication management, as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 12; and​

68.24 (3) medication storage.​

68.25 Subd. 7. Dementia care standards. The commissioner must establish, by rule, service​

68.26 and training standards for the care of persons with cognitive impairments, including​

68.27 Alzheimer's disease and dementia, that are specific for staff and administrators at each level​

68.28 of licensure. The standards must include, at a minimum:​

68.29 (1) core criteria;​

68.30 (2) minimum safety and quality requirements;​

68.31 (3) assessments;​
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69.1 (4) care planning;​

69.2 (5) therapeutic activities;​

69.3 (6) cultural competencies; and​

69.4 (7) dementia care training curriculum.​

69.5 Sec. 27. [144I.14] TRANSFER OF RESIDENTS WITHIN ESTABLISHMENT.​

69.6 (a) An assisted living establishment must provide for the safe, orderly, and appropriate​

69.7 transfer of residents within the establishment.​

69.8 (b) If an assisted living contract permits resident transfers within the assisted living​

69.9 establishment, the establishment must provide at least 30 days' advance notice of the transfer​

69.10 to the resident and the resident's designated representative.​

69.11 (c) In situations where there is a curtailment, reduction, capital improvement, or change​

69.12 in operations within an assisted living establishment, the establishment must minimize the​

69.13 number of transfers needed to complete the project or change in operations, consider​

69.14 individual resident needs and preferences, and provide reasonable accommodation for​

69.15 individual resident requests regarding the room transfer. The assisted living establishment​

69.16 must provide notice to the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care and, when appropriate,​

69.17 the Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, in advance​

69.18 of any notice to residents, residents' designated representatives, and families, when all of​

69.19 the following circumstances apply:​

69.20 (1) the transfers of residents within the assisted living establishment are being proposed​

69.21 due to curtailment, reduction, capital improvements, or change in operations;​

69.22 (2) the transfers of residents within the assisted living establishment are not temporary​

69.23 moves to accommodate physical plan upgrades or renovation; and​

69.24 (3) the transfers involve multiple residents being moved simultaneously.​

69.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

69.26 Sec. 28. [144I.15] REIMBURSEMENT UNDER ASSISTED LIVING SERVICE​

69.27 PACKAGES.​

69.28 The requirements for the elderly waiver program's assisted living payment rates under​

69.29 section 256B.0915, subdivision 3e, shall continue to be effective and providers who do not​

69.30 meet the requirements of this chapter may continue to receive payment under section​

69.31 256B.0915, subdivision 3e, as long as the provider continues to meet the definitions and​
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70.1 standards for assisted living and assisted living plus in the federally approved Elderly Home​

70.2 and Community-Based Services Waiver Program. Providers of assisted living for the​

70.3 community access for disability inclusion (CADI) and Brain Injury (BI) waivers shall​

70.4 continue to receive payment as long as the provider continues to meet the definitions and​

70.5 standards for assisted living and assisted living plus in the federally approved CADI and​

70.6 BI waiver plans.​

70.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

70.8 Sec. 29. [144I.17] STATE RECEIVERSHIP.​

70.9 Subdivision 1. Petition; notice. (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law,​

70.10 the commissioner may petition the district court for an order directing the controlling person​

70.11 of an assisted living establishment to show cause why the commissioner should not be​

70.12 appointed receiver to operate the establishment. The petition to the district court shall contain​

70.13 proof by affidavit that one or more of the following exists:​

70.14 (1) the commissioner has commenced proceedings to suspend or revoke the state license,​

70.15 or refuses to renew a license;​

70.16 (2) violations of this chapter or chapter 144J, adopted rules, or violations of other state​

70.17 laws or rules create an emergency for the residents of the establishment;​

70.18 (3) a threat of imminent abandonment by the owner or operator of the assisted living​

70.19 establishment; or​

70.20 (4) a pattern of failure to meet ongoing financial obligations such as failing to pay for​

70.21 food, pharmaceuticals, personnel, or required insurance.​

70.22 (b) The order to show cause shall be personally served to either the assisted living​

70.23 establishment or to the person designated as the agent by the controlling person to accept​

70.24 service on their behalf pursuant to section 144I.03, subdivision 2.​

70.25 Subd. 2. Appointment of receiver, rental. (a) If, after the hearing, the court finds that​

70.26 receivership is necessary as a means of protecting the health, safety, or welfare of a resident​

70.27 of the assisted living establishment, the court shall appoint the commissioner as a receiver​

70.28 to take charge of the establishment. The commissioner may enter into an agreement for a​

70.29 managing agent to work on the commissioner's behalf in operating the assisted living​

70.30 establishment during the receivership. The court shall determine a fair monthly rental for​

70.31 the assisted living establishment, taking into account all relevant factors including the​

70.32 condition of the establishment. This rental fee shall be paid by the receiver to the appropriate​

70.33 controlling person for each month that the receivership remains in effect but shall be reduced​
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71.1 by the amount that the cost of the receivership provided under section 256R.52 are in excess​

71.2 of the establishment rate.​

71.3 (b) The controlling person may agree to waive the fair monthly rent by affidavit to the​

71.4 court. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, no payment made to a controlling​

71.5 person of an assisted living establishment by any state agency during a period of receivership​

71.6 shall include any allowance for profit or be based on any formula that includes an allowance​

71.7 for profit.​

71.8 (c) Notwithstanding state contracting requirements in chapter 16C, the commissioner​

71.9 shall establish and maintain a list of qualified licensed assisted living establishment​

71.10 administrators, or other qualified persons or organizations with experience in delivering​

71.11 skilled health care services, home care services, and the operation of long-term care facilities,​

71.12 for those interested in being a managing agent on the commissioner's behalf during a state​

71.13 receivership of an establishment. The list will be a resource for choosing a managing agent​

71.14 and the commissioner may update the list at any time. A managing agent cannot be someone​

71.15 who:​

71.16 (1) is the owner, licensee, or administrator of the establishment;​

71.17 (2) has a financial interest in the assisted living establishment at the time of the​

71.18 receivership or is a related party to the owner, licensee, or administrator; or​

71.19 (3) has owned or operated any nursing home, assisted living establishment, or boarding​

71.20 care home that has been ordered into receivership.​

71.21 Subd. 3. Emergency procedure. If it appears from the petition filed under subdivision​

71.22 1, or from an affidavit or affidavits filed with the petition, or from testimony of witnesses​

71.23 under oath when the court determines that this is necessary, that there is probable cause to​

71.24 believe that an emergency exists in an assisted living establishment requiring the receivership,​

71.25 the court shall issue a temporary order for appointment of a receiver within two days after​

71.26 receipt of the petition. Notice of the petition shall be served personally on the assisted living​

71.27 establishment administrator or on the person designated as the agent by the controlling​

71.28 person to accept service on their behalf according to section 144I.03, subdivision 2. A​

71.29 hearing on the petition shall be held within five days after notice is served unless the​

71.30 administrator or designated agent consents to a later date. After the hearing, the court may​

71.31 continue, modify, or terminate the temporary order.​

71.32 Subd. 4. Powers and duties of receiver. (a) An assisted living establishment receiver​

71.33 appointed according to this section shall with all reasonable speed and within 18 months​

71.34 after the receivership order, determine whether to close the assisted living establishment or​
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72.1 to make other provisions intended to keep it open. If closure is the determination, the​

72.2 commissioner shall provide for the orderly transfer of all of the assisted living establishment's​

72.3 residents to other locations according to the relocation procedures required in section​

72.4 144A.161. During the receivership, the receiver may correct or eliminate those deficiencies​

72.5 in the assisted living establishment that seriously endanger the life, health, or safety of the​

72.6 residents unless the correction or elimination of deficiencies involves major alterations in​

72.7 the physical structure of the assisted living establishment. The receiver shall during this​

72.8 period operate the assisted living establishment in a manner designed to guarantee the safety​

72.9 and adequate care of and services to the residents. The receiver shall take no action that​

72.10 impairs the legal rights of a resident of the assisted living establishment. The receiver has​

72.11 authority to make contracts and incur lawful expenses. The receiver shall use the building,​

72.12 fixtures, furnishings, and any accompanying consumable goods in the provision of care and​

72.13 services to the residents during the receivership period. The receiver shall take action as is​

72.14 reasonably necessary to protect or conserve the tangible assets or property during​

72.15 receivership. The receiver shall collect incoming payments from all sources and apply them​

72.16 to the cost incurred in the performance of the receiver's functions. No security interest in​

72.17 any real or personal property comprising the assisted living establishment or contained​

72.18 within it, or in any fixture of the facility, shall be impaired or diminished in priority by the​

72.19 receiver. The receiver shall pay all valid obligations the assisted living establishment incurred​

72.20 during the course of the receivership and may pay obligations incurred prior to the​

72.21 receivership if, in the judgment of the commissioner, these payments must be made to ensure​

72.22 the health, safety, or welfare of the residents, and shall deduct these expenses from rental​

72.23 payments owed to any controlling person by virtue of the receivership. The receiver has​

72.24 authority to hire, direct, manage, and discharge any employees of the assisted living​

72.25 establishment including the administrator, director of nursing, medical director, manager​

72.26 of the establishment, or affiliated home care provider.​

72.27 (b) Nothing in this section shall relieve any owner, operator, or controlling person of an​

72.28 assisted living establishment placed in receivership of any civil or criminal liability incurred,​

72.29 or any duty imposed by law, by reason of acts or omissions of the owner, licensee, or​

72.30 controlling person prior to the order for receivership under this section, nor shall anything​

72.31 contained in this section be construed to suspend during the receivership any obligation of​

72.32 the owner, licensee, or controlling person for payment of taxes or other operating and​

72.33 maintenance expenses of the assisted living establishment nor of the owner, licensee, or​

72.34 controlling person or any other person for the payment of mortgages or liens.​
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73.1 Subd. 5. Receiver's fee; liability; commissioner assistance. The commissioner, as​

73.2 receiver appointed by the court, may hire a managing agent to work on the commissioner's​

73.3 behalf to operate the assisted living establishment during the receivership, and that managing​

73.4 agent is entitled to a reasonable fee. The receiver and its managing agent shall be liable only​

73.5 in an official capacity for injury to person and property by reason of the conditions of the​

73.6 assisted living establishment. The receiver and its managing agent shall not be personally​

73.7 liable, except for gross negligence and intentional acts. The commissioner shall assist the​

73.8 managing agent in carrying out its duties.​

73.9 Subd. 6. Termination. Receivership imposed pursuant to this section shall terminate​

73.10 18 months after the date on which it was ordered, or at any other time designated by the​

73.11 court, or upon the occurrence of any of the following events:​

73.12 (1) a determination by the commissioner that the assisted living establishment's license​

73.13 should be renewed or should not be suspended or revoked;​

73.14 (2) the granting of a new license to the assisted living establishment; or​

73.15 (3) a determination by the commissioner that all of the residents of the assisted living​

73.16 establishment have been provided alternative health care or services, either in another​

73.17 assisted living establishment or otherwise.​

73.18 Subd. 7. Postreceivership period; establishment remaining open. If an assisted living​

73.19 establishment remains open after the receivership is concluded, a new operator is only​

73.20 legally responsible under state law for its actions after the receivership has concluded.​

73.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

73.22 Sec. 30. [144I.18] PLACEMENT OF MONITOR.​

73.23 Subdivision 1. Authority. The commissioner may place a person to act as a monitor in​

73.24 an assisted living establishment in any of the following circumstances:​

73.25 (1) in any situation for which a receiver may be appointed under section 144I.17; or​

73.26 (2) when the commissioner determines that violations of this chapter, or sections 144J.06,​

73.27 144J.07, 144J.08, 144J.09, 144J.12, or 626.557, or rules or regulations adopted under those​

73.28 provisions, require extended surveillance to enforce compliance or to protect the health,​

73.29 safety, or welfare of the residents.​

73.30 Subd. 2. Duties of monitor. The monitor shall observe the operation of the assisted​

73.31 living establishment; provide advice to the establishment on methods of complying with​

73.32 state law and rules, where documented deficiencies from the law or rules exist; and​
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74.1 periodically shall submit a written report to the commissioner on the ways in which the​

74.2 assisted living establishment meets or fails to meet state law or rules.​

74.3 Subd. 3. Selection of monitor. The commissioner may select as monitor an employee​

74.4 of the department or may contract with any other individual to serve as a monitor. The​

74.5 commissioner must publish a notice in the State Register that requests proposals from​

74.6 individuals who wish to be considered for placement as monitors and that describes the​

74.7 criteria for selecting individuals as monitors. The commissioner must maintain a list of​

74.8 individuals who are not employees of the department who are interested in serving as​

74.9 monitors. The commissioner may contract with those individuals determined to be qualified.​

74.10 Subd. 4. Payment of monitor. An assisted living establishment in which a monitor is​

74.11 placed must pay to the department the actual cost associated with the placement, unless​

74.12 payment would create an undue hardship for the assisted living establishment.​

74.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

74.14 Sec. 31. [144I.19] EXPEDITED RULEMAKING.​

74.15 The commissioner shall adopt rules to carry out this chapter using the expedited​

74.16 rulemaking process under section 14.389, including rules establishing standards identified​

74.17 in sections 144I.13 and 144I.14.​

74.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

74.19 ARTICLE 5​

74.20 MISCELLANEOUS​

74.21 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 144A.4791, subdivision 10, is amended to​

74.22 read:​

74.23 Subd. 10. Termination of service plan. (a) If a An unaffiliated home care provider​

74.24 must provide at least 30 days' advance notice of termination of a private client's service​

74.25 plan.​

74.26 (b) If an unaffiliated home care provider terminates a service plan with a private client,​

74.27 and the client continues to need home care services, the home care provider shall provide​

74.28 the private client and the private client's representative, if any, with a written notice of​

74.29 termination which includes the following information:​

74.30 (1) the effective date of termination;​

74.31 (2) the reason for termination;​
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75.1 (3) a list of known licensed home care providers in the private client's immediate​

75.2 geographic area;​

75.3 (4) a statement that the unaffiliated home care provider will participate in a coordinated​

75.4 transfer of care of the private client to another home care provider, health care provider, or​

75.5 caregiver, as required by the home care bill of rights, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, clause​

75.6 (17);​

75.7 (5) the name and contact information of a person employed by the unaffiliated home​

75.8 care provider with whom the private client may discuss the notice of termination; and​

75.9 (6) if applicable, a statement that the notice of termination of home care services does​

75.10 not constitute notice of termination of the assisted living establishment or housing with​

75.11 services contract with an assisted living establishment or a housing with services​

75.12 establishment.​

75.13 (b) (c) When the unaffiliated home care provider voluntarily discontinues services to​

75.14 all private clients, the unaffiliated home care provider must notify the commissioner, lead​

75.15 agencies, and ombudsman for long-term care about its clients and comply with the​

75.16 requirements in this subdivision.​

75.17 (d) For the purposes of this subdivision:​

75.18 (1) "assisted living establishment" has the meaning given in section 144J.01, subdivision​

75.19 6. Assisted living establishment does not include a housing with services establishment​

75.20 defined in section 144D.01, subdivision 4; and​

75.21 (2) "unaffiliated home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144J.01,​

75.22 subdivision 14.​

75.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019.​

75.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.72, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

75.25 Subdivision 1. Persons to whom disclosure is required. Housing with services​

75.26 establishments, as defined in sections 144D.01 to 144D.07, (a) Assisted living establishments,​

75.27 as defined in section 144J.01, subdivision 6, that secure, segregate, or provide a special​

75.28 program or special unit for residents with a diagnosis of probable Alzheimer's disease or a​

75.29 related disorder or that advertise, market, or otherwise promote the establishment as providing​

75.30 specialized care for Alzheimer's disease or a related disorder are considered a "special care​

75.31 unit." All special care units shall provide a written disclosure to the following:​

75.32 (1) the commissioner of health, if requested;​
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76.1 (2) the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care; and​

76.2 (3) each person seeking placement within a residence, or the person's authorized resident's​

76.3 designated representative, as defined in section 144J.01, subdivision 8, before an agreement​

76.4 to provide the care is entered into.​

76.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2020.​

76.6 Sec. 3. REPEALER.​

76.7 Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 144D.01, subdivision 6; 144D.025; 144D.065;​

76.8 144D.066; 144G.01; 144G.02; 144G.03, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5; 144G.05; and​

76.9 144G.06, are repealed effective July 1, 2020."​

76.10 Delete the title and insert:​

76.11 "A bill for an act​

76.12 relating to health; establishing consumer protections for residents of assisted living​
76.13 establishments; establishing an assisted living establishment license; providing​
76.14 criminal penalties; granting rulemaking authority; amending Minnesota Statutes​
76.15 2018, sections 144.057, subdivision 1; 144.0721; 144.122; 144.651, subdivision​
76.16 1, by adding a subdivision; 144A.18; 144A.19, subdivision 1; 144A.20, subdivision​
76.17 1; 144A.21; 144A.23; 144A.24; 144A.251; 144A.2511; 144A.26; 144A.27;​
76.18 144A.4791, subdivision 10; 144D.01, subdivisions 2a, 4, 5, by adding subdivisions;​
76.19 144D.015; 144D.02; 144D.04, subdivision 1; 144D.05; 144D.06; 144D.09;​
76.20 144D.10; 144D.11; 325F.72, subdivisions 1, 4; proposing coding for new law in​
76.21 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota​
76.22 Statutes, chapters 144I; 144J; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 144A.44;​
76.23 144A.441; 144A.442; 144D.01, subdivision 6; 144D.025; 144D.04, subdivisions​
76.24 2, 3; 144D.045; 144D.065; 144D.066; 144D.07; 144D.09; 144G.01; 144G.02;​
76.25 144G.03, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6; 144G.04; 144G.05; 144G.06."​
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